Skip to Main Content
State of California Franchise Tax Board

VITA - Quiz

Welcome to the Form 540 Quiz. This quiz is not submitted for scoring, nor will it be recorded. This is just a chance for you to see how much you know about each section. Your answers will be evaluated upon your clicking the Submit button. If your answer is incorrect, we urge you to try again and then go back and study that particular sub-section which pertains to that question.

If you have taken some practice quizzes and feel comfortable with your results, please proceed to the final exam. This exam is graded and will determine if the Franchise Tax Board can grant you a certification as a Volunteer Income Tax Assistant. You may take the final exam at any time by clicking the link on the upper right of this page.

Good luck!

1 . The sales tax tables in the California Volunteer Reference Manual list the total sales tax assessed by county.  

2 . Complete a Form 3506 using child care amount $3,000 for one qualifying child with earned income of $50,000. The amount of the California credit is?  

3 . Use tax information is found in which section of the Volunteer Manual?  

4 . It is beyond the scope of the VITA program to calculate the underpayment of estimated tax penalty on line 113.  

5 . Unemployment, social security, railroad retirement, US Savings Bonds, state tax refunds and California Lottery winnings are  

6 . When using software, where is the information on blindness input?  

7 . Line 63, Other Taxes, Form 540 options, which is the only tax in scope for the volunteer program?  

8 . California withholding is found in which box on the W-2?  

9 . IRA distributions are generally taxed the same by federal and state unless  

10 . If your client does not receive a W-2 by January 31 they should contact:  


You are leaving

We do not control the destination site and cannot accept any responsibility for its contents, links, or offers. Review the site's security and confidentiality statements before using the site.

If you have any issues or technical problems, contact that site for assistance.

Ahora está saliendo de

Nosotros no controlamos el sitio web al que se destina y no podemos aceptar ninguna responsabilidad por su contenido, enlaces, u ofertas. Revise las declaraciones de seguridad y confidencialidad del sitio antes de usar el sitio. Si tiene algún problema en general o técnico, comuníquese con ese sitio para obtener asistencia.

Si tiene algún problema en general o técnico, comuníquese con ese sitio para obtener asistencia.