Skip to Main Content

VITA - Quiz

Welcome to the Introduction Section Quiz. This quiz is not submitted for scoring, nor will it be recorded. This is just a chance for you to see how much you know about each section. Your answers will be evaluated upon your clicking the Submit button. If your answer is incorrect, we urge you to try again and then go back and study that particular sub-section which pertains to that question.

If you have taken some practice quizzes and feel comfortable with your results, please proceed to the final exam. This exam is graded and will determine if the Franchise Tax Board can grant you a certification as a Volunteer Income Tax Assistant. You may take the final exam at any time by clicking the link on the upper right of this page.

Good luck!

1 . State and federal rules differ for children under age 19 who received more than $2,000 of investment income in 2015.   1 . State and federal rules differ for children under age 19 who received more than $2,000 of investment income in 2015.  
2 . If a taxpayer's 65th birthday is on January 1, 2016, they are considered to be age 65 on December 31, 2015.   2 . If a taxpayer's 65th birthday is on January 1, 2016, they are considered to be age 65 on December 31, 2015.  
3 . California offers a short form for nonresident returns.   3 . California offers a short form for nonresident returns.  
4 . Only three dependents are allowed on FTB Form 540 2EZ.   4 . Only three dependents are allowed on FTB Form 540 2EZ.  
5 . The standard deduction amount for Single and Married Filing Separate is   5 . The standard deduction amount for Single and Married Filing Separate is  


6 . We have conformed to Federal's Mortgage Debt Forgiveness.   6 . We have conformed to Federal's Mortgage Debt Forgiveness.  
7 . Itemized deductions may be different for federal and state.   7 . Itemized deductions may be different for federal and state.  
8 . The personal exemption credit for 2015 is $109.   8 . The personal exemption credit for 2015 is $109.  
9 . State tax law follows federal for children under 19 with more than $2,000 in investment income   9 . State tax law follows federal for children under 19 with more than $2,000 in investment income  
10 . Injured spouse provisions do not apply in California.   10 . Injured spouse provisions do not apply in California.  
 
 

You are leaving ftb.ca.gov

We do not control the destination site and cannot accept any responsibility for its contents, links, or offers. Review the site's security and confidentiality statements before using the site.

If you have any issues or technical problems, contact that site for assistance.

Ahora está saliendo de ftb.ca.gov

Nosotros no controlamos el sitio web al que se destina y no podemos aceptar ninguna responsabilidad por su contenido, enlaces, u ofertas. Revise las declaraciones de seguridad y confidencialidad del sitio antes de usar el sitio. Si tiene algún problema en general o técnico, comuníquese con ese sitio para obtener asistencia.

Si tiene algún problema en general o técnico, comuníquese con ese sitio para obtener asistencia.