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Limited Liability Company Filing Information

General LLC Information 15-Day Exception

Limited liability companies (LLCs) combine traditional
corporate and partnership characteristics. The California
Revised Uniform Limited Liability Company Act (California
Corporations Code Sections 17701.01 through 17713.13)
authorizes the formation of LLCs in California. It also
recognizes out-of-state LLCs that do business in California.
           To view or download instructions and Form 568, Limited Liability
Company Return of Income, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for
form 568.
           
To register or organize an LLC in California, contact the
California Secretary of State (SOS):
        
Website:           sos.ca.gov
        
Telephone:       916.657.5448
                   
By Mail:            CALIFORNIA SECRETARY OF STATE
                         DOCUMENT FILING SUPPORT
                         PO BOX 944228
                         SACRAMENTO CA 94244-2280
                   
In Person:        CALIFORNIA SECRETARY OF STATE
                         1500 11TH STREET
               
               

          SACRAMENTO CA 95814

LLCs are not subject to the annual tax and fee if
both of the following are true:
                   
      ●    They did not conduct any business in 
             California during the tax year.
      ●    Their tax year was 15 days or fewer.

       
Filing Status
                      
For California income and franchise tax purposes,
generally LLCs are classified into three categories:
                      
      ●     Single member LLCs classified as disregarded
             entities (SMLLC) generally do not report
             their own income separately from their owners.
             However, they are treated as separate entities for
             purposes of the annual tax, LLC fee, tax return
             requirements, and credit limitations. If certain
             items of income/loss or payments attributable to
             a disregarded LLC's activities exceed certain
             levels, the disregarded LLC must separately
             report its income on its tax return.
   
      ●     LLCs classified as partnerships (more than
             one member) generally determine and report
             their California income, deductions, and credits
             separately under the personal income tax law.
             These items pass through to their owners for
             purposes of taxation.
           
      ●     LLCs that elect to be classified as an
             association (taxable as a corporation) for
             federal purposes generally determine their
             California income under corporation tax law.
             Refer to FTB Publication 1060, Guide for 
             Corporations Starting Business in California, for
             these types of LLCs.
                                 
Under Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 23038
and the related regulations, an LLC must have the same
classification for both California and federal tax purposes.

Annual Tax
LLCs classified as disregarded entities or as partnerships are
subject to an $800 annual tax. This applies if they do business
in California or if the SOS accepts their Articles of Organization
(LLC-1) or Application for Registration as a Foreign Limited
Liability Company (LLC-5). LLCs organized or registered in
California are subject to the annual tax even if they conduct no
business in California (R&TC Section 17941(b)(1)). For taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, an LLC organized
in California is doing business in California (R&TC Section 
23101(b)(1)).

                   
Deployed Military Exception
                   
For tax years that begin on or after January 1, 2010,
and before January 1, 2018, an LLC that is a small
business solely owned by a deployed member of the
United States Armed Forces shall not be subject to
the annual tax if both of the following apply:
       
      ●    The owner is deployed during the tax year.
      ●    The LLC operates at a loss or ceases operation.
            
For the purpose of this exception:
                      
      ●     "Deployed" means called to active duty or active
             service during a period when the United States
             is engaged in combat or homeland defense.
             "Deployed" does not include temporary duty
             for the sole purpose of training, processing,
             or permanent change of station.
      ●     "Operates at a loss" means an LLC's expenses
             exceed its receipts.
      ●     "Small business" means an LLC with $250,000 or
             less of total income from all sources derived
             from or attributable to California.
               
Due Dates for First-Year Annual Tax
Payment
                    
Domestic LLCs have until the 15th day of the 4th 
month after they file their Articles of Organization with
the SOS to pay the first-year annual tax. For the LLC's
first year, this is measured from the date the business files
its Articles of Organization. For example, if you filed your
Articles of Organization on June 19, your annual tax is due
on September 15.
                     
Existing foreign LLCs that register or commence
business in California after the 15th day of the 4th 
month of their tax year must pay the annual tax by
one of the following, whichever occurs first:
               
      ●    Immediately when they commence business in
            California.
      ●    When they register with SOS.
             
Effective January 1, 2005, an LLC can avoid the first
year's $800 annual tax if they file a short-form cancellation
with the SOS. See Canceling an LLC section for more 
information on short form cancellations.

                                                             



LLC Fee
               
LLCs are subject to an annual fee based on their total          
income "from all sources derived from or attributable to Although Cali
California" (R&TC Section 17942). Total income for LLC classification 
fee purposes is "gross income, as defined in R&TC Section and disregar
24271, plus the cost of goods sold, paid, or incurred in                  
connection with the trade or business of the taxpayer."       ●     File 
                       ●     Pay 
LLCs determine total income from California sources by using       ●     Pay 
the rules for sales assignment under R&TC Sections 25135 and              all so
25136 and the related regulations, as modified by regulations              
under R&TC Section 25137, other than those provisions LLCs must fil
that exclude receipts from the sales factor (R&TC the following 
Section 17942(b)(1)).              
                   ●     They
LLCs must estimate and pay the annual fee by the 15th day       ●     They
of the 6th month, of the current tax year. If the LLC's tax year              Calif
ends prior to the 15th day of the 6th month, the LLC must pay       ●     They
the fee by the due date for filing its Form 568, Limited Liability              See 
Company Return of income.              infor

           
Under R&TC 

The fee amount is: that is a mem
 If the disregarded  Total   1994         1996   2001
 Income*    and             to  1999   2000    and in California i
 is:   1995         1998              after under R&TC 
                                                          partnership d
 $250,000 -  $500  $500  $865  $1,042  $900 activities in th
 $499,999                                              For tax years                                                          that are limite $500,000 -  $1,000  $1,500  $2,595  $3,126  $2,500
 $999,999                                               doing busine
                                                           California se
 $1,000,000 -  $2,000  $3,000  $5,190  $6,251  $6,000                       
 $4,999,999                                                      An LLC class                                                                  
 $5,000,000  $4,000  $4,500  $7,785  $9,377  $11,790 conditions ab
 or more files to report

must file For
*Rounded to the nearest whole dollar.            
                                      FTB 3522, L
For tax years that begin on or after January 1, 2001, the tax payment 
definition of total income excludes amounts already tax year.
included in the calculation of the fee of another LLC.                  
                                       Send payme
Example                      
                           FRA
LLC A does business only in California during 2010. LLC B               PO 
has a 50 percent member interest in LLC A. LLC A has               SAC
$1,200,000 of total income derived from California during 2010.                  
LLC B has $900,000 of total income derived from California FTB 3536, E
during 2010. LLC B's total income includes $600,000 from begin on or a
LLC A ($1.2 million X 50 percent member interest). and pay their
          month of the 
The filing requirements are: pay the estim

2010 Tax Year fee will be su
ends prior to amount of th

Entity         Annual Total LLC Feethe 15th day avoid the 10 
          Tax Income        of the 6th month penalty if its 
                                        year is equal 
LLC A     Form 568   $800 $1,200,000   $6,000 LLC for its pr
                                                         
LLC B     Form 568   $800 $300,000*   $900 If the estimat
* For tax year 2010, LLC B excludes $600,000 of total income because the amount of th
$600,000 was already subject to the fee on LLC A. LLC must pa

due date of t
the 4th montThe guidelines on how LLCs calculate total income changed subject to a l

for tax years that begin on or after January 1, 2007. Refer to
the instructions for Form 568, Limited Liability Company 
Return of Income, for information and examples about
conducting business within and outside of California.
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Filing Requirements, Forms, and Mailing
Addresses

Section 23101(a), a foreign nonregistered LLC
ber of an LLC (classified as a partnership or

entity for tax purposes) that is doing business
s also doing business in California. In addition
Section 23101(a), a general  partner in a limited
oing business in California by virtue of its
is state, is also doing business in California.
 that begin on or after January 1, 2011, LLCs
d partners in a limited partnership may be

ss in California. See Doing Business in 
ction for more information.
        
ified as a partnership that does not meet the
ove, but has California source income or
 an election on behalf of a California resident,
m 565, Partnership Return of Income.

LC Tax Voucher. File and pay the annual
by the 15th day of the 4th month of the LLC's

nt with a completed FTB 3522 to:

NCHISE TAX BOARD
BOX 942857
RAMENTO CA 94257-0631

stimated Fee for LLCs. For tax years that
fter January 1, 2009, LLCs must estimate
 applicable fee by the 15th day of the 6th
current tax year. LLCs use FTB 3536 to
ated fee. An LLC that underestimates its
bject to a penalty equal to 10 percent of the
e underpayment. However, an LLC can
percent estimated fee underpayment
estimated fee payment for the current tax
to or greater than the total fee owed by the
eceding tax year.

ed fee paid by an LLC is less than the
e total fee owed for the tax year, then the
y the amount of the underpayment by the
he LLC's tax return, which is the 15th day of
h after the close of its tax year, or it will be
ate payment penalty and applicable interest.

fornia law uses the same entity
as federal, LLCs classified as partnerships

ded LLCs must do all of the following:

Form 568.
an annual tax of $800.
an annual LLC fee based on total income from
urces derived from or attributable to California.

e and pay the annual tax and fee if any of
conditions apply:

 organized in California.
 registered with the SOS to do business in

ornia.
 do business in California (R&TC Section 23101).
Doing Business in California section for more
mation.



If an LLC's tax year ends prior to the 15th day of the 6th If no payment is due, send completed Form 568 and
calendar month of its tax year, then no estimated necessary schedules to:
payment is required and the LLC must pay the fee by the           

          FRANCHISE TAX BOARDdue date of the tax return.
          PO BOX 942857                                     SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0600

An LLC that is filing under the six-month automatic                                   
extension to file will also use FTB 3536 to pay by the FTB Schedule IW, Limited Liability Company (LLC)
due date of the LLC's tax return any amount of LLC fee Income Worksheet. Total income derived from or
owed that was not paid as a timely estimated fee attributable to California means gross income, as
payment. If the LLC does not owe any fee, it is not defined in R&TC Section 24271, plus the cost of
required to complete or mail FTB 3536. An LLC filing goods sold, paid, or incurred in connection with the
its tax return on a nonextended basis will include any trade or business of the taxpayer. LLCs with ownership

interest in pass-through entities must report theirrequired payment of the fee with its tax return.
distributive share of the pass-through entities' "Total                  income from all sources derived from or attributable to

Send the estimated LLC payment with a completed FTB California." The distributive share must include the
3536 to: associated cost of goods sold and any deductions
                 subtracted from gross ordinary income to obtain
             FRANCHISE TAX BOARD ordinary income. For more information, see the
             PO BOX 942857 instructions for the LLC Income Worksheet in the
             SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0651 Form 568 booklet.

                            
Disregarded LLCs also compute total income on the LLCFTB 3537, Payment for Automatic Extension for Income Worksheet. Disregarded entities that do notLLCs. We grant an automatic six-month extension to file meet the filing requirements to complete Form 568

a tax return. The automatic extension applies if LLCs file Schedule B or Schedule K should prepare the LLC
their tax return by the 15th day of the 10th month after the Income Worksheet by entering the California amounts
close of the tax year. An extension of time to file is not attributable to the disregarded entity from the member's
an extension of time to pay. LLCs must pay the full federal tax return and appropriate schedules.
balance of any LLC fee as well as any nonconsenting               
nonresident (NCNR) member's taxes by the original due An LLC that is a member of a disregarded LLC must

report on the member's Schedule B and K the items ofdate of the tax return to avoid penalties and interest. income, deduction, and credit attributable to the               disregarded LLC. On its LLC Income Worksheet, the
If the LLC does not owe any fee or NCNR members' single member does not separately enter any amounts
taxes, then it does not need to file any forms on the attributable to its membership interests in disregarded
regular due date of the tax return if it is filing under LLCs.
the automatic extension.                
                California Schedule K-1 (Form 568), Member's Share of
An LLC will use FTB 3537 only if both of the following Income, Deductions, Credits, etc. LLCs that elect

classification as a partnership for tax purposes use thisapply:
schedule to report each member's share of the LLC's                income, deductions, credits, etc. We accept this      ●    The LLC cannot file Form 568 by the due date. document in a paperless format on CD or portable USB

      ●    The LLC owes NCNR members' taxes. flash drive. For information about the Paperless
                Schedule K-1 Program, go to ftb.ca.gov and search
Send payment with a completed FTB 3537 to: for K-1.
                                               
          FRANCHISE TAX BOARD LLCs classified as corporations should refer to FTB
          PO BOX 942857 Publication 1060, Guide for Corporations Starting

Business in California. This publication provides          SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0651 information for these types of LLCs.                                  
FTB 568, Limited Liability Company Return of Converted Business Entities Information
Income. An LLC must file Form 568 by the 15th day of                   
the 4th month after the close of the tax year, unless it If any type of business entity converts to an LLC during
files its tax return under the automatic six-month the current year, it generally will have a tax liability and
extension. An extension of time to file is not an extension filing requirement as both the previous business entity
of time to pay. All payments owed including NCNR and the new LLC.

                  members' taxes are due on the original due date of the
Nonresident Memberstax return.                                     LLCs must file FTB 3832, Limited Liability Company

Send Form 568, necessary schedules, and payment for Nonresident Members' Consent, with Form 568. The
applicable fee to: FTB 3832 must have each nonresident member's signed
                   consent to California's jurisdiction to tax the members'
          FRANCHISE TAX BOARD distributive share of the LLC's income attributable to
          PO BOX 942857 California sources. Single-member LLCs do not file
          SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0601 FTB 3832. The nonresident member of a single member

LLC consents to California tax jurisdiction when it signs the                   Single Member LLC Information and Consent on Side 1
of Form 568.
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If an LLC fails to obtain the consent signature of a nonresident For the preceding conditions, the sales, property, and
member, the LLC must pay tax on that member's distributive payroll of the taxpayer include the taxpayer's pro rata or
share of California source income reduced by nonresident distributive share of the sales, property, and payroll
withholding paid on behalf of such member. It must pay tax of pass-through entities, such as entities classified as
at the member's highest marginal tax rate. The tax is due by partnerships for income tax purposes. (R&TC Section
the Form 568's original tax return due date. 23101(d)). Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for doing               business for more information.Use Schedule T, Nonconsenting Nonresident Members'

               Tax Liability, to calculate and report NCNR members'
taxes the LLC must pay. Filing completed FTB 3832 (or the Example 1
single member's consent) or Schedule T does not satisfy                
the member's California filing requirement. Paul is a California resident and a member of a Nevada
                 LLC. The Nevada LLC owns property in Nevada. The
Refer to the Form 568 instructions for Schedule T for LLC hires a Nevada management company to collect
additional information. rents and provide maintenance. Paul has the right to hire
                 and fire the management company. He occasionally has
Group Nonresident Tax Returns telephone discussions from California with the management
                 company in Nevada regarding the property. He is ultimately
Nonresident members of an LLC doing business or responsible for the property and oversees the managementderiving income in California may elect to file a group company. Paul conducts business in California on behalf ofnonresident tax return (R&TC Section 18535). Get

the LLC. The LLC must file Form 568.Publication 1067, Guidelines for Filing a Group Form
540NR, for more information.                
                 Example 2
Nonresident Withholding                
                 Rachel is a California resident and member of an
R&TC Section 18662 and related regulations require Oregon LLC. The Oregon LLC has a retail store in
withholding of California income or franchise Oregon. Rachel uses a California address for the LLC's
taxes from payments and distributions made to tax filings and a California accountant to prepare the
nonresidents of California source income. Get LLC's tax returns. Rachel conducts business in California
Publication 1017, Resident and Nonresident on behalf of the LLC. The LLC must file Form 568.
Withholding Guidelines, for more information.                                   Example 3Doing Business in California
                                  
California defines doing business as "actively engaging Sara is a California resident and a member of a Texas
in any transaction for the purpose of financial or LLC. The Texas LLC receives royalties from Texas oil
pecuniary gain or profit" (R&TC Section 23101(a)). An wells. Sara maintains a California business bank
LLC is "doing business" if any of the LLC's members, account and secures financing in California for the LLC's
managers, or other agents performs activities in Texas investments. Sara conducts business in California
California on behalf of the LLC, regardless of where the on behalf of the LLC. The LLC must file Form 568.
LLC otherwise conducts business. In addition, an LLC is               
"doing business" in California under R&TC Section 23101(a) Series LLCs
in California if:                                   California recognizes series LLCs formed in other states      ●    It is a nonregistered foreign LLC that is a member

if the laws of their formation state provide for the            of an LLC (classified as a partnership for disregarded
designation of multiple series of interests in the LLC and:            entity for tax purposes) that does business in California.

      ●    It is a general partner in a general or limited partnership               
            that does business in California.       ●    The holders of the interests in each series are limited
                            to the assets of that series upon redemption,
For tax years that begin on or after January 1, 2011,              liquidation, or termination and may share in the
a taxpayer, including an LLC, is also doing business in              income only of that series.
California if any of the following apply:       ●    Under the law of the formation state, the payment of
                            expenses, charges, and liabilities of each series is
      ●    The taxpayer is organized or commercially domiciled              limited to the assets of that series.
            in California.                     ●    Sales, as defined in subdivision (e) or (f) of R&TC For annual tax and LLC fee purposes, each series in a            Section 25120, including sales by the taxpayer's

series LLC is a separate LLC.            agents and independent contractors, in California,
                          exceed the lesser of $500,000 or 25 percent of the

            taxpayer's total sales. Each series LLC must:
      ●    Real or tangible property of the taxpayer in California,               
            exceed the lesser of $50,000 or 25 percent of the       ●    File its own Form 568.
            taxpayer's total real and tangible property.       ●    Pay its own LLC annual tax and fee.
      ●    The amount paid in California by the taxpayer for                                
            compensation, as defined in subdivision (c) of R&TC If the series LLC registered in California, the first LLC in
            Section 25120, exceeds the lesser of $50,000 or 25 the series uses the SOS number as the identification
            percent of the total compensation paid by the taxpayer. number on its initial payment voucher. All other LLCs in            the series must leave the identification numbers blank onUnder R&TC Section 23101(c), we will annually revise the their first payment vouchers.amounts for sales, property, and payroll in paragraphs (2), (3),
and (4) of subdivision (b), respectively, in accordance with
subdivision (h) of R&TC Section 17041.

FTB 3556 LLC MEO (REV 01-2015) PAGE 4



Write "Series LLC #_______" in red ink on the top of all To Cancel an LLC
payment vouchers, tax returns, and correspondence.           
        In general, an LLC is required to pay the $800 annual
We will assign an identification number to the rest of the tax and file a California tax return until the appropriate
LLCs in the series LLC. We will notify each series of its paperwork is filed with the SOS to cancel the LLC. In
assigned number after we receive its initial payment order to cancel an LLC, the LLC must file Form LLC-4/7,
voucher. Limited Liability Company Certificate of Cancellation,
        with SOS. The SOS also requires a domestic LLC to
Example file Form LLC-3, Certificate of Dissolution, unless the
        dissolution is made by vote of all the members. The
ABC LLC is a series LLC registered in Delaware. It Form LLC-4/7 is effective on the date it is filed with the
contains three series and files in California with the SOS.
names: ABC LLC, ABC LLC Series 1, and ABC LLC           
Series 2. An LLC is not subject to the $800 annual tax for tax
          years after it files a tax return that it designates in the
Billings and Notices manner prescribed by the Franchise Tax Board as its
          final tax return if it takes all following steps:
We bill all types of LLCs for unpaid taxes and fees.                     
Depending upon the filing situation for each LLC, we       ●    Files a timely final California tax return with us.
mail one of the following:       ●    Pays the $800 annual tax for the tax year of the
                         final tax return.
      ●    Return Information Notice to LLCs if they fail to show       ●    Conducts no business in California after the last
            the correct annual tax, annual fee, or NCNR             day of the tax year for which the final return was filed.       
            member's taxes. We mail this notice to LLCs       ●    Files Form LLC-4/7, Limited Liability Company
            classified as corporations if they fail to show the             Certificate of Cancellation, with the SOS within
            correct estimated tax.             12 months of the filing date of its final tax return.
      ●    Notice of Balance Due to LLCs if they fail to pay the                   
            annual tax, fee, or NCNR members' tax. We mail For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for
            this notice to LLCs classified as corporations if they 1038 to get FTB Publication 1038, Guide to Dissolve,
            fail to pay the estimated tax. Surrender, or Cancel a California Business Entity.
      ●    Past Due Notice to all types of LLCs for tax liabilities,                   
            penalties, and interest unpaid 45 days from the first Short Form Cancellation
            notice's mail date.                   
             Beginning January 1, 2005, a domestic LLC organized in
LLCs may be subject to penalties and interest if they: California on or after January 1, 2004, can file a Form
             LLC-4/8, Short Form Certificate of Cancellation, if all of
      ●    Pay tax (including NCNR) or fee late. the following requirements are met:
      ●    Underpay tax (including NCNR) or fee.                 
      ●    File their tax return beyond the extended due date.       ●    It files California SOS Form LLC-4/8, Limited Liability
      ●    Pay their estimated LLC fee late.             Company Short Form Cancellation, within 12 months
      ●    Underpay their estimated LLC fee.             after filing its Articles of Organization.
                    ●    It does not have any debts or other liabilities (other
We impose penalties under the following R&TC             than LLC tax liabilities).
Sections:       ●    It has filed or states it will file a timely final annual
                          LLC tax return.
      ●    Underpayment and monthly, Section 19132.       ●    All of its known assets have been distributed to the
      ●    Delinquent (does not apply to the annual tax),             persons entitled to them, or it had no known assets.
            Section 19131.       ●    It has not conducted any business since the time
      ●    Late filing, Section 19172.             it filed its Articles of Organization.
                   ●    A majority of the managers or members, or if there
If an LLC pays the balance due within 15 days of the             are no managers or members, the person or a
notice's issue date, no additional penalties or interest             majority of the persons who signed the Articles of
will accrue.             Organization, vote to dissolve the domestic LLC.
                  ●    If the LLC received payments for interests from
Suspension/Forfeiture             investors, those payments have been returned to
                    those investors.
If an LLC does not file Form 568 and/or does not pay                             
all tax, penalty, or interest due, its powers, rights, and The domestic LLC must file SOS Form LLC-4/8, with the
privileges may be suspended (domestic LLC) or SOS. It must include a statement that all of the terms
forfeited (foreign LLC). Also, any contracts entered into above, with the exception of the filing of the final tax
during suspension or forfeiture are voidable at the return, have been completed before the SOS will cancel
request of any party of the contract other than the the LLC. If the SOS files the Form LLC-4/8, the LLC will
suspended or forfeited LLC. Such contracts will remain not be subject to the annual $800 tax for its first tax year.
voidable and unenforceable unless the LLC applies However, an LLC is not entitled to a reimbursement of
for relief of contract voidability and FTB grants relief. any annual taxes or fees paid prior to cancellation for
See R&TC Sections 23301, 23305.1, and 23305.2 for its first tax year.
more information. In addition, a suspended or forfeited
LLC cannot file a claim for refund. Go to ftb.ca.gov and
search for revive for instructions to restore an LLC to
good standing.
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For more information on how to cancel your LLC, contact If an LLC wants to file a protective claim based on
SOS. Refer to the SOS contact information on PAGE 1. Bakersfield or Centerside, it must send us a letter that
               contains the following information:
LLC Fee Litigation                           
                ●    A statement, "This is a protective claim."
Four separate cases have been filed challenging the       ●    The LLC name, address, and identification
constitutionality of the LLC fee as calculated according              number issued by SOS. (Unregistered LLCs
to former R&TC Section 17942. Each case presents              use the identification number issued by the
separate factual circumstances. The following two              Franchise Tax Board.)
cases are now final:       ●    The tax years involved.
                        ●    A description of the issue (stating pending
      ●    Northwest Energetic Services, LLC v.              outcome of Bakersfield or Centerside litigation is
           Franchise Tax Board (2008) 159 Cal. App. 4th              enough).
            841 (NES)       ●    The amount of claim for refund, which should
      ●    Ventas Finance l, LLC v. Franchise Tax              match the annual fee paid by the LLC.
           Board (2008) 165 Cal. App. 4th 1207 (Ventas)       ●    Name, address, phone and fax number of
                                      person to contact.
The following two cases, which also challenge the fee                                
statute on additional grounds, are still ongoing as of The letter must be signed by a representative with a
the date of this form's publication. power of attorney or by the LLC's managing member.
                     
      ●    Bakersfield Mall, LLC v. Franchise Tax The claim will be held pending result of the court's
             Board (Bakersfield) final decision.
      ●    CA Centerside ll, LLC v. Franchise Tax                        
             Board (Centerside) Protective Claim or Claim for a Refund
            Submissions
An LLC with an open statute of limitations may want to file            
a protective claim for refund to withhold any action on Send the required information for your protective claim,
its claim while this litigation is pending. claim for a refund, or amended tax return to:
                                
Claims for Refund of LLC Fees Fax:                  916.845.9796
                            
Assembly Bill 198 changed the way California determines Mail:                 FEDERAL STATE SPECIAL AUDIT SECTION MS F340
the LLC fee for years beginning on or after January 1, 2007,                                 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
under R&TC Section 17942. LLCs with substantially the                                 PO BOX 1998
same factual situation as NES and Ventas who have                                 RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1998
paid an LLC fee and have an open statute of limitations                       
for years prior to 2007 may be entitled to claim a refund Courier:            FEDERAL STATE SPECIAL AUDIT SECTION MS F340
of the LLC fee paid based on the following court cases:                                 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
                                                SACRAMENTO CA 95827-1500
      1.  NES, an LLC registered in California that did not            
           earn income in California. California Business Forms
      2.  Ventas, an LLC registered in California that            
           earned income inside and outside of California. To get California forms for LLCs, go to ftb.ca.gov and search
                for the required form number.
To determine if your LLC's claim qualified under one of
these cases, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for notice
2008-2 or notice 2009-04.
  
Protective Claims
          
To protect the statute of limitations on a claim, LLCs may
file a request with us to withhold any action on their
claim while an audit determination or litigation is
pending. The LLC may file a protective claim pending
the outcome of:
               
      ●    An appeal to the State Board of Equalization.
      ●    A court case.
      ●    An audit by the Internal Revenue Service.
      ●    An audit by another California taxing agency.
      ●    Other litigation.
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