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Is my corporation subject to California income tax?

Corporation Franchise Tax
You are responsible for the corporation franchise tax if your
corporation or limited liability company treated as a
corporation is doing business in California. Doing business in
California is defined as actively engaging in any transaction
in California for the purpose of financial gain or profit.
Foreign corporations that are general partners of partnerships
or members of limited liability companies (treated as
partnerships for tax purposes) doing business in California
are also responsible for the corporation franchise tax.

Corporation Income Tax
You are responsible for the corporation income tax if your
corporation or limited liability company treated as a
corporation receives income from sources within California
but is not doing business in California. Foreign corporations
that are limited partners of partnerships doing business in
California are also subject to the income tax.

Alternative Minimum Tax
You are responsible for the alternative minimum tax set forth
in federal tax law as modified by California law unless you
are an S corporation.

Do I have to pay a minimum franchise tax for my corporation
doing business in California?

For your first taxable year:

• If your corporation incorporates or qualifies to do
business in California on or after January 1, 2000, you are
not subject to the minimum franchise tax. Your
corporation is still liable for a franchise tax on its net
income.

• If your corporation is a limited liability company treated
as a corporation doing business in California, you are also
not subject to the minimum franchise tax if your limited
liability company was organized or registered to do
business in California on or after January 1, 2000.

• If you are a foreign corporation that is not qualified to do
business in California, but are doing business in the state,
you are subject to the minimum franchise tax.

All other years:
Your corporation is subject to an annual $800 minimum
franchise tax if it is doing business in the state, whether your
corporation is active, inactive, operating at a loss, or filing a
short period return for less than 12 months.

Can I use S corporation status in California?
Yes, California has adopted most of the federal provisions for
S corporations. However, if you are a federal S corporation
doing business in California or having California source
income, you are subject to the franchise or income tax at the
corporate level in addition to the shareholder tax on the pass-
through income.

What is my tax rate?
The tax rates below apply to your corporation subject to
either the corporation franchise or income tax.

C corporations, other than banks and
financial corporations  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8.84%
C corporations that are banks or
financial corporations  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10.84%
S corporations, other than banks and
financial corporations  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1.5%
S corporations that are banks or
financial corporations  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3.5%

What taxes can my corporation deduct?
Under California law, you cannot take a deduction for:

• Corporation franchise or income taxes.
• Any taxes on or measured by income.

Generally, you can deduct other taxes.

What depreciation method can I use as a C corporation doing
business in California?

As a C corporation doing business in California, you should
be aware of some important differences that exist between
federal and California laws affecting the calculation of
depreciation and amortization:

• California recognizes additional first-year depreciation
under California Revenue and Taxation Code section
24356, not under Internal Revenue Code section 179.

• California has not conformed to federal statutes allowing
depreciation under the Modified Accelerated Cost
Recovery System.

• California has adopted provisions of the federal Class Life
Asset Depreciation Range System, which specifies a
useful life for various types of property.

• California law does not recognize the federal provision
enabling a corporation to choose a depreciation period
that varies from the specified asset guideline system.

What depreciation method can I use as an S corporation doing
business in California?

For assets placed into service in 1987 and after, you can use
the same depreciation method you used for federal purposes,
unless California law modifies it.

Beginning in 1999, California law also conforms to the
applicable amount of the Internal Revenue Code section 179
deduction. However, we do not conform to federal law on the
following allowances:

• The additional 30 percent first-year depreciation
allowance for qualified property.

• The additional 30 percent depreciation allowance for
Qualified New York Liberty Zone property added by the
federal Jobs Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002.

My corporation earned income from sources both within and
outside California, how do you determine my California tax
liability?

California applies the unitary method to determine your tax
liability. Under this method, all of the elements comprising
your trade or business are viewed as one unitary business,
whether or not the activities of your business are conducted
in separate corporate forms. The business income of your
unitary business is then divided and assigned to California by
means of an apportionment formula. This formula takes into
account your worldwide property, payroll, and sales factors.
In the case of multiple C corporations, we include your
business income and apportionment factors of all the C
corporations in your unitary business in a combined report.

What is a combined report?
A combined report is the calculations by which multiple
entities engaged in a unitary business divide and assign
income on a geographic basis. In a worldwide combined
report, the combined business income from worldwide
members of the unitary group is divided and assigned to
California using the apportionment formula. For more
information get Guide for Corporations Filing a Combined
Report (FTB 1061).



What is the apportionment formula?
Once you establish your unitary combined reporting group,
the combined business income is apportioned to California
by a mathematical formula. The formula is based on the three
primary contributions to income earned by your unitary
business: property, payroll and sales (which is generally
counted twice.) The formula works as follows:

Property Factor or percentage = California Property/
Property Everywhere

Payroll Factor or percentage = California Payroll/
Payroll Everywhere

Sales Factor or percentage = California Sales/
Sales Everywhere X 2

Percentage of Business Income to be Apportioned to
California = Property Percentage + Payroll Percentage +
Sales Percentage + Sales Percentage/4

NOTE: If your corporation receives more than 50 percent of
its gross business receipts from agricultural, extractive,
savings and loan, banking or financial activities, you should
not multiply your sales factor by 2 and your denominator
should be 3, instead of 4, in the above formula to determine
your income apportionable to the state.

For more information, refer to California Revenue and
Taxation Code section 25128(c).

If the standard apportionment formula does not fairly
represent your business activities in this state, you can
petition in advance for modification of the standard appor-
tionment formula. For more information regarding the
apportionment formula, see the Unitary and Water’s-Edge
Reporting section of the most commonly used Franchise Tax
Board booklets. Forms and publications relating to
corporations are listed on the last page of this publication.

What if my corporation makes a water’s-edge election?
If you make a water’s-edge election, only the income and
apportionment factors of your corporation and members of
its water’s-edge group are included in a combined report. The
effect of this election is generally to exclude the income and
apportionment factors of foreign incorporated entities from
the combined report. You make this election by contract with
the Franchise Tax Board for 84 months.

NOTE: For more information, refer to Form 100W Booklet
(Water’s-Edge Booklet).

How do you compute the California net operating loss
deduction?

For taxable years beginning in 2002 and 2003, California
suspended the net operating loss deduction. You can continue
to compute and carryover a net operating loss during the
suspension period. The net operating loss suspension rules do
not affect the deduction for disaster losses.

NOTE: For more information regarding the net operating loss
suspension, refer to Form 3805Q (Net Operating Loss
Computation and Net Operating Loss and Disaster Loss
Limitations – Corporations form).

Generally, the California net operating loss is computed in
the same manner as the federal net operating loss, except that
for California:

• You can only carryover a net operating loss to future
years. You cannot carryback a net operating loss.

• Your carryover period is 5 years for net operating losses
generated in taxable years beginning before January 1,
2000, and your carryover period is 10 years for net

operating losses generated in taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 2000. These rules don’t apply to
disaster losses and enterprise zone, Local Agency Military
Base Recovery Act and Los Angeles Revitalization Zone
net operating losses, which can carryover for 15 years.

 • Your carryover deductions vary from 50 to 100 percent.
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2004,
you can carry forward 100 percent of the net operating
loss.

Do you authorize limited liability companies and recognize out-
of-state limited liability companies doing business in
California?

California law authorizes the formation of limited liability
companies and recognizes out-of-state limited liability
companies doing business in California and registered with
the Secretary of State. In general, the taxation of a limited
liability company by California depends upon its election to
be taxed as a corporation, partnership, or disregarded entity
for federal tax purposes.

Is your classification of an eligible business entity the same as
federal classification?

California law conforms to the federal rules, also known as
“check-the-box” regulations, for the classification of business
entities. The classification of an eligible business entity for
purposes of California income and franchise tax is the same
as the classification of the entity for federal tax purposes. If
you elect to change the classification of your eligible
business entity for federal purposes, it is also applicable for
California purposes. Except for certain entities (i.e., business
trusts and single member entities that filed as partnerships) in
existence prior to January 1, 1997, there is no separate
California election regarding the classification of your entity
for tax purposes.

Do you have a program to waive taxes and penalties for my out-
of-state non-filing corporation if I agree to file?

California has adopted a Voluntary Disclosure Program to
encourage out-of-state corporations and qualified
S corporation shareholders to disclose their tax liabilities if
they owe California taxes or have an unfulfilled tax return
filing requirement. If you participate in the Voluntary
Disclosure Program, you are only required to file returns for
the six tax years ending immediately prior to the date you
sign the agreement. We will waive penalties associated with
the return filing.

For more information refer to Guidelines For Voluntary
Disclosure Agreements publication (FTB 1071).

Can my California corporation claim any significant credits?
If you qualify, your corporation can claim a variety of tax
credits to reduce California tax, including those listed below.
Your corporation cannot reduce the tax below the minimum
franchise tax. With certain exceptions, you can carry forward
California credits until exhausted. If your corporation is an
S corporation, it can pass through most credits to its
shareholders.

A C corporation’s credits may be limited by alternative
minimum tax. For more information see Schedule P,
Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations –
Corporations.



Manufacturers’ Investment Credit
You can claim this credit if you are a manufacturer (Standard
Industrial Classification codes 2011 to 3999) or a taxpayer
with activities related to computer programming or computer
software design (Standard Industrial Classification code 7371
to 7373) that purchases qualified property placed in service
in California after January 1, 1994. Qualified property for
codes 7371 to 7373 must be placed in service on or after
January 1, 1998.

The amount of the credit is 6 percent of the cost of the
qualified property. For more information, refer to Frequently
Asked Questions about California’s Manufacturers’ Invest-
ment Credit (FTB 1113).

Research Credit
You can claim this credit for costs attributable to research
activities conducted in California. For more information,
refer to Form 3523 (Research Credit) or Research and
Development Credit: Frequently Asked Questions (FTB
1082).

Enterprise Zones, Local Agency Military Base Recovery
Areas, Manufacturing Enhancement Areas or Targeted Tax
Areas

If you are a corporation operating in an enterprise zone,
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area, Manufacturing
Enhancement Area, or Targeted Tax Area, you may be
eligible for a hiring credit that you can claim for a portion of
wages you paid to qualified employees.

You may also be eligible for:

• A sales or use tax credit that you can claim for the sales or
use tax you paid to purchase qualified property.

• A special net operating loss carryover provision.
• A deduction for a portion of the cost of qualified property.

For more information see Guidelines for Businesses
Claiming Economic Development Area Tax Incentives
(FTB 1158).

Employer Child Care Credit Program
If you are an employer, you can claim a credit, not to exceed
$50,000, equal to 30 percent of the costs for establishing a
child care program or constructing a childcare facility for use
primarily for your employees’ children or tenants’
employees’ children. For more information, see Form 3501
(Employer Child Care Program/Contribution Credit).

Employer Child Care Contribution Credit
If you are an employer, you can claim a credit, not to exceed
$360 per dependent, equal to 30 percent of your contribution
to a qualified childcare plan made on behalf of any
dependents, under age 12, of your California employees.

Commonly used Franchise Tax Board booklets,
forms, and publications relating to corporations

General Interest
Form 100 Booklet California Corporation Franchise or

Income Tax Return
Form 100S Booklet S Corporation Tax Booklet
Form 568 Limited Liability Company Return of

Income
FTB 1038 Instructions for Corporations

Requesting a Tax Clearance Certificate

FTB 1060 Guide for Corporations Starting a
Business in California

FTB 1071 Guidelines for Voluntary Disclosure
Agreement

FTB 1113 Frequently Asked Questions about
California’s Manufacturers’ Investment
Credit

Form 3535 Manufacturers’ Investment Credit
FTB 3805Q Net Operating Loss Computation and

Net Operating Loss and Disaster Loss
Limitations-Corporations

FTB 3817 Electronic Funds Transfer Program

Worldwide and Water’s-Edge Combined Reporting
Form 100W Booklet Water’s-Edge Booklet
Schedule R Apportionment and Allocation of

Income and Instructions
FTB 1061 Guidelines for Corporations Filing a

Combined Report
FTB 1063 Guide for Corporations That May Be

Subject to the Provisions of the
California Bank and Corporation Tax
Law

Economic Development Areas
FTB 1158 Guidelines for Businesses Claiming

Economic Development Area Tax
Incentives

Form 3805Z Booklet Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit
Summary

Form 3807 Booklet Local Agency Military Base Recovery
Area Deduction and Credit Summary

Form 3808 Booklet Manufacturing Enhancement Area
Business Booklet

Form 3809 Booklet Targeted Tax Area Business Booklet

Need Franchise Tax Board forms or publications?
You can get our forms and publications from our Website
at: www.ftb.ca.gov

If you wish to order by mail, please write to:

Tax Forms Request Unit
PO Box 307
Rancho Cordova CA 95741-0307

If you have further questions or wish to order by phone,
please contact us

Within the U.S., call  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (800) 852-5711
Outside the U.S., call (not toll-free)  . . . . . . . (916) 845-6500

Assistance for persons with disabilities: We comply with
the Americans with Disabilities Act. Persons with hearing or
speech impairments, please call TTY/TDD (800) 822-6268.
Or you can write to:

Franchise Tax Board
PO Box 942857
Sacramento CA 94257-0540
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