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General Information
This guide is intended to help you file your 
corporation’s first:
•	 Form 100, California Corporation Franchise or Income 

Tax Return 
•	 Form 100S, California S Corporation Franchise or 

Income Tax Return 
•	 Form 100-ES, Bank and Corporation Estimated Tax 

Payment Voucher 
It will help you:
•	 Understand the basis of the tax.
•	 Request forms and instructions.
•	 File tax returns correctly.
•	 Avoid unnecessary penalties and interest.
Water’s-Edge Filers – For information regarding filing a  
Water’s-Edge tax return in California, see Form 100W, 
California Corporation Franchise or Income Tax Return – 
Water’s‑Edge Filers.

Definitions
Corporation —  A legal entity that exists separately 
from the people who own, manage, control, and operate 
it. It can make contracts, pay taxes, and is liable for 
debts. Contact the California Secretary of State (SOS) to 
incorporate or qualify your business at 916.657.5448, or 
go to sos.ca.gov. 
Calendar year — An accounting period of 12 months or 
less ending on the last day of December.
Fiscal year — An accounting period of 12 months or less 
ending on the last day of any month other than December.
Accounting period — Calendar, fiscal, or short-period 
year used by the corporation to compute their net income.
Tax year — Calendar, fiscal, or short-period year used by 
the corporation to compute their net income. We require 
your California tax year to be the same as your federal 
tax year, unless we initiated or approved a different 
accounting period.
Doing business — Beginning with the 2011 tax year, a 
business is considered to be doing business in California 
during the year if it meets one of these tests:
•	 The entity is actively engaging in any transaction for the 

purpose of financial gain or profit.
•	 The entity is organized or commercially domiciled 

in this state. To be commercially domiciled in this 
state generally means that this state is the principal 
place from which the trade or business of the entity is 
directed or managed.

•	 The entity’s California sales exceed either $536,446 
(annually adjusted for inflation) or 25 percent of their 
total sales. Sales include sales made by an agent or 
independent contractor of the entity.

•	 The entity’s California real property and tangible 
personal property exceeds either $53,644 (annually 
adjusted for inflation) or 25 percent of their total real 
property and tangible personal property.

•	 The entity’s California compensation exceeds either 
$53,644 (annually adjusted for inflation) or 25 percent 
of the total compensation paid by the entity



FTB Pub. 1060  (REV 07-2016) PAGE 2

For the above tests, the sales, property, and payroll of 
the entity include their pro rata or distributive share of 
pass-through entities. “Pass-through entities” means 
a partnership, an LLC treated as a partnership, or an 
S corporation.
Before 2011, doing business was defined as actively 
engaging in any transaction for the purpose of financial 
gain or profit. 

Closing Your Business
If you cease business, you must file the necessary 
paperwork to properly end your corporation’s existence 
with the Secretary of State and the Franchise Tax 
Board.  If you fail to close your corporation properly, 
the requirement to file tax returns and Statements of 
Information and to pay at least the minimum tax could run 
on indefinitely.

Newly Incorporated or 
Qualified Corporations
To compute the tax for your corporation’s first tax year, 
multiply your California net income by the appropriate 
tax rate. Your first tax year is not subject to the minimum 
franchise tax.
After the first year, your tax is the larger of your California 
net income multiplied by the appropriate tax rate or the 
minimum franchise tax.

Tax Year of 15 Days or Less 
We do not require a corporation to file a tax return for a 
tax year if both of the following are true:
•	 Tax year is 15 days or less.
•	 Corporation did no business during the 15 days.
See Election of Annual Accounting Period and 
Method, which has more information on incorporating in 
the last 15 days of your tax year.

First Year Estimated Tax Requirement
All corporations with a tax liability are required to pay 
estimated tax. See Estimated Tax for more information.

S Corporations 
Federal — S corporations are pass-through entities. 
They do not pay tax at the S corporation level. They 
pass-through items of income, losses, deductions, and 
credits to their shareholders and the shareholders report 
these items on their tax returns. S corporations file Form 
IRS 1120S, U.S. Income Tax Return for an S Corporation.
California — We require S corporations to pay tax. In 
addition, they pass-through items of income, losses, 
deductions, and credits to their shareholders and the 
shareholders report these items on their tax returns. 
S corporations file FTB 100S, California S Corporation 
Franchise or Income Tax Return.
Corporations that elect federal S corporation status and 
have a California filing requirement are deemed to have 
made a California S election effective on the same date as 
the federal S election.

Terminations
Terminating the taxpayer’s federal S election 
simultaneously terminates its California S election. If the 
taxpayer terminates its S corporation status, short-period 
tax returns are required for the S corporation short year 
and the C corporation short year, if applicable.

Franchise Tax
Corporations pay franchise tax if they meet any of 
the following:
•	 Incorporated or organized in California
•	 Qualified or registered to do business in California
•	 Doing business in California, whether or not 

incorporated, organized, qualified, or registered under 
California law

The franchise tax is equal to the larger of your California 
net income multiplied by the appropriate tax rate or the 
$800 minimum franchise tax.

Partner or Member in a Pass-Through Entity
Corporations pay franchise tax if they are:
•	 A general partner of a partnership that is doing 

business in California.
•	 A member of a limited liability company (LLC) that is 

doing business in California.
•	 For tax year 2011 and after, a limited partner in a 

limited partnership that is doing business in California, 
if the corporation’s pro rata or distributive share of the 
limited partnership’s sales, property, and payroll meets 
one of the tests for doing business.

Minimum Franchise Tax 
All corporations are required to pay at least the $800 
minimum franchise tax if they are:
•	 Incorporated or organized in California.
•	 Qualified or registered to do business in California.
•	 Doing business in California, whether or not 

incorporated, organized, qualified, or registered under 
California law.

Corporations are required to pay the minimum franchise 
tax if they are:
•	 Active.
•	 Inactive.
•	 Operating at a loss.
•	 Filing a short-period tax return (less than 12 months).

Newly Incorporated or 
Qualified Corporation 
Exception 
Newly incorporated or qualified corporations are not 
required to pay the minimum franchise tax in their first 
taxable year.
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Deployed Military Exemption
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, and 
before January 1, 2018, a corporation will not be subject 
to the minimum franchise tax if it meets all the following:
•	 The corporation is a small business solely owned by a 

deployed member of the United States Armed Forces.
•	 The owner is deployed during the tax year.
•	 The corporation operates at a loss, or 

ceases operation.
For the purpose of this exemption:
•	 “Deployed” means being called to active duty or active 

service during a period when the United States is 
engaged in combat or homeland defense. “Deployed” 
does not include temporary duty for the sole purpose of 
training, processing, or a permanent change of station.

•	 “Operates at a loss” means negative net income 
as defined in Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) 
Section 24341.

•	 “Small business” means a corporation with $250,000 
or less of total income from all sources derived from, or 
attributable to, California. 

Income Tax
Corporations are subject to the income tax if they receive 
income from California sources but are not doing business 
in the state. To compute the income tax, multiply your 
California net income by the appropriate tax rate.

Partner or Member in a Pass-Through Entity
For tax year 2011 and after, corporations pay income tax 
if they are a limited partner in a limited partnership that 
is doing business in California if the corporations pro rata 
or distributive share of the limited partnership’s sales, 
property, and payroll does not meet one of the tests for 
doing business. 
Before tax year 2011, corporations pay income tax if they 
are a limited partner in a limited partnership that is doing 
business in California.

No Minimum Franchise Tax
There is no minimum franchise tax for income tax filers.

Apportionment of Income
Corporations that conduct business inside and outside 
California must apportion their income. See Schedule R, 
Apportionment and Allocation of Income.

Convention and Trade Shows
Corporations in California for conventions and trade 
shows are considered deriving income from the state if 
they meet all of the following:
•	 Not incorporated in California
•	 Sole activity in California is engaging in convention and 

trade show activities
•	 Were in California for seven or fewer calendar days 

during the tax year
•	 Did not make more than $10,000 gross California 

income from those activities

These corporations are required to file a tax return and 
pay income tax.
Not meeting the requirements: We consider 
corporations that do not meet the above requirements 
to be doing business in California and subject to the 
franchise tax.

Tax Rates
The following tax rates apply to both the corporation 
franchise tax and income tax:

C corporations 8.84%

S corporations   1.5%

Accounting Periods and 
Methods
Federal Accounting Periods and Methods
Corporations must figure taxable income on an annual 
accounting period called a tax year. The calendar year is 
the most common tax year.
Corporations are required to use a consistent accounting 
method. An accounting method is a set of rules to 
determine when to report income and expenses. The 
most common accounting methods are the cash or 
accrual method. For more information, refer to IRS 
Publication 538, Accounting Periods and Methods.

California Accounting Periods and Methods
The corporation’s accounting period and method must be 
the same as the federal, unless we initiate or approve a 
change. The first accounting period cannot end more than 
12 months after the date of incorporation or qualification 
in California.

Change in Accounting Period 
or Method
A change in accounting period or method requires 
our consent. However, if a corporation obtains federal 
approval to change its accounting period or method, or is 
permitted or required by federal law to make a change in 
its accounting period or method without prior approval and 
does so, it is deemed to have the Franchise Tax Board’s 
approval. For additional information go to ftb.ca.gov and 
search for ftb notice 2000-8.

When Your Tax Year is Less Than 15 Days 
(15-Day Rule)  
Corporations with a first tax year of 15 days or less 
will not have a filing requirement if they meet both of 
the following:  
•	 Incorporates within the last 15 days of their tax year
•	 Conducts no business during those 15 days
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The corporation’s Articles of Incorporation must be filed 
with the California Secretary of State on or after one of 
the following dates:

Month Incorporated and Tax 
Year Ending

Day of the Month

January, March, May, 
July, August, October, and 
December (31-day month)

17th or after

April, June, September, and 
November (30-day month)

16th or after

February (29-day month) 15th or after

February (28-day month) 14th or after

Since a corporation that meets the 15-day rule is not 
required to file a tax return, this time period is not 
considered the first tax year. The following tax year will be 
considered the first tax year and will not be subject to the 
minimum franchise tax.
Example: ABC Corp. incorporates on 
December 20, 2012. The corporation is a calendar year 
taxpayer. It did no business from December 20, 2012, to 
December 31, 2012. The corporation meets the 15‑day 
rule and does not need to file a 2012 tax return. The 
corporation’s first tax year starts on January 1, 2013.

Filing Tax Returns
Form 100, California Corporation Franchise or Income Tax 
Return, or Form 100S, California S Corporation Franchise 
or Income Tax Return, is due on the 15th day of the 3rd 
month after the close of the corporation’s tax year.

Farmer’s Cooperatives
Tax returns are due on the 15th day of the 9th month after 
the close of the tax year.

Extension to File
California allows an additional seven-month filing 
extension beyond the original due date of the tax return. 
The extension is automatic; it requires no action on the 
corporation’s part. An extension to file is not an extension 
to pay. Tax is due on or before the original due date of the 
tax return regardless of an extension to file.

Short-Period Tax Returns
The original due date of a short-period tax return is 
the 15th day of the 3rd month after the close of the 
short‑period tax year. The seven-month paperless 
extension also applies to this type of short-period tax 
return.

When a Federal Short-Period Tax Return is 
Required
Corporations that file a short-period federal tax return 
must also file a short-period tax return with California.
The original due date of the California tax return is the 
same due date as the federal tax return. In addition, the 
seven-month paperless extension also applies to this type 
of short-period tax return.

Estimated Tax 
All corporations must make estimated tax payments if they 
are: 
•	 Incorporated in California.
•	 Qualified to do business in California.
•	 Doing business in California.
•	 Inactive.
•	 Deriving income in California.
Corporations use Form 100-ES, Corporation Estimated 
Tax and Instructions to:
•	 Compute their estimated tax payment requirements.
•	 Determine the due dates for those payments.
You can view and download Form 100-ES at ftb.ca.gov.

Minimum Franchise Tax
Corporations subject to the franchise tax must pay at least 
the minimum franchise tax by the first installment due 
date, unless this is the corporation’s first tax year.

Newly Incorporated or Qualified 
Corporations
Newly incorporated or qualified corporations must pay 
estimated tax. Your estimated tax payments are based 
on the corporation’s estimated tax liability after credits for 
its first tax year. In the corporation’s second tax year, the 
corporation pays at least the minimum franchise tax by the 
first estimated tax installment due date.
Example 1: No tax in first year: Corporation A 
incorporates in California on February 1, 2012, and 
selects a calendar tax year. It did not make an estimated 
tax payment on April 15, 2012 (first installment due date). 
On March 15, 2013, it files the 2012 tax return showing a 
net loss of $8,500 and no tax liability. Since it had no tax 
liability, it is not assessed an estimated tax penalty.
Corporation A makes an $800 estimated tax payment 
on April 15, 2013 (first installment due date). On March 
15, 2014, it files its 2013 tax return showing a net loss of 
$5,000 and tax of $800 (minimum franchise tax). Since it 
made an $800 estimated tax payment on April 15, 2013, it 
is not assessed an estimated tax penalty.
Example 2: First year tax liability: Corporation B 
incorporates in California on January 11, 2012, and 
selects a calendar tax year. It did not make an estimated 
tax payment on April 15, 2012 (first installment due date). 
On March 15, 2013, it files its 2012 tax return showing net 
income of $6,300 and tax of $557 ($6,300 x 8.84 percent). 
It pays the $557 tax when it files its tax return. Since it did 
not make any estimated tax payments, an estimated tax 
penalty is due, based on the tax of $557.
Corporation B makes an $800 estimated tax payment on 
April 15, 2013 (first installment due date). On March 15, 
2014, it files its 2013 tax return showing a net loss of 
$14,000 and tax of $800 (minimum franchise tax). Since it 
made an $800 estimated tax payment on April 15, 2013, it 
is not assessed an estimated tax penalty. 
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Penalties
Estimated Tax Penalty
We impose a penalty if your entity does not pay, pays late, 
or underpays an estimated tax installment. We calculate 
the penalty on the unpaid amount from the due date of 
the estimated tax installment to the date we receive your 
payment or to the due date of the return, whichever is 
earlier. To locate both past and current interest rates, go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for interest rates. (R&TC Sections 
19142 and 19161)

Underpayment and Monthly Penalty
We impose a penalty if you do not pay the total amount 
due shown on your entity’s tax return by the original due 
date. The penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid tax, plus 
0.5 percent of the unpaid tax for each month or part of a 
month it remains unpaid—not to exceed 40 months. The 
maximum penalty is 25 percent of the unpaid tax. (R&TC 
Section 19132)
If a corporation is subject to both the penalty for failure to 
file a timely return and the penalty for failure to pay the 
total tax by the due date, a combination of, or the greater 
of the two penalties may be assessed, but the total 
penalty may not exceed 25 percent of the unpaid tax.

Delinquent Filing Penalty
If you do not file your entity’s income tax return by the 
due date, we impose a penalty of 5 percent of the tax 
due, after applying any payments and credits made on or 
before the original return due date, for each month or part 
of a month the return is late. The maximum penalty is 25 
percent. We impose the penalty from the original due date 
of the return. (R&TC Section 19131)

Late Filing Penalty – S Corps
We impose a late filing penalty if an S corporation 
fails to file a return by the original or extended due 
date for returns with original due dates on or after 
January 1,  2011, for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2010. (This penalty is also known as the 
per shareholder penalty.) We also impose the late filing 
penalty for incomplete returns. The late filing penalty is 
$18 per shareholder, for each month or fraction of the 
month the return is late (or incomplete), to a maximum of 
12 months. We impose the late filing penalty in addition 
to the delinquent penalty. (Revenue & Taxation Code 
Section 19172.5) 

Where to Get Tax Forms and 
Publications
By Internet – You can download, view, and print California 
tax forms and publications at ftb.ca.gov.
Our California Tax Service Center website offers 
California business tax information and forms for the 
Board of Equalization (BOE), Employment Development 
Department (EDD), FTB, and IRS at taxes.ca.gov. 

You can also download, view, and print federal forms and 
publications at irs.gov.
By phone – Call 800.338.0505 and follow the recorded 
instructions.
By mail – Allow two weeks to receive your order. If you 
live outside California, allow three weeks to receive your 
order.
Write to: 
TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  
PO BOX 307  
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307
In person – Free California tax booklets are provided at 
many libraries and post offices during the filing season.
Employees at libraries and post offices cannot provide tax 
information or assistance.

Letters
If you write to us, be sure your letter includes your 
California SOS file number, your federal employer 
identification number, your daytime and evening telephone 
numbers, and a copy of the notice.
Mail your letter to: 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942857 
SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0500
We will respond to your letter within ten weeks. In some 
cases, we may need to call you for additional information. 
Do not attach your letter to your California return.

Other Agencies
California Secretary of State
Website: 	 sos.ca.gov
Telephone:	 916.653.6814

California Board of Equalization
Website:	 boe.ca.gov
Telephone:	 800.400.7115 from within the United States
	 916.445-6362 from outside the United States 

California Employment Development Department
Website: 	 edd.ca.gov
Telephone:	 888.745.3886 from within the United States
 	 916.464.3502 from outside the United States 

Internal Revenue Service
Website:	 irs.gov
Telephone:	 800.829.1040  Individuals
	 800.829.4933  Businesses
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Frequently Asked Questions 
Use our automated phone service to get recorded 
answers to many of your questions about California taxes 
and to order current year California business entity tax 
forms and publications. This service is available in English 
and Spanish to callers with touch-tone telephones. Have 
paper and pencil ready to take notes.
Phone:	 800.338.0505 from within the United States 
	 916.845.6500 from outside the United States

Code		 Filing Assistance
715		 If my actual tax is less than the minimum franchise 

tax, what figure do I put on the Tax line of 
Form 100?

717 		 What are the tax rates for corporations?
718		 How do I get an extension of time to file?
722		 When does my corporation have to file a 

short‑period tax return?
734 		 Is my corporation subject to franchise tax or 

income tax?

		 S Corporations
704		 Is an S corporation subject to the minimum 

franchise tax?
705		 Are S corporations required to make 

estimated payments?
706		 What forms do S corporations file?
707		 The tax for my S corporation is less than the 

minimum franchise tax. What figure do I put on the 
Tax line of Form 100S?

		 Exempt Organizations
709		 How do I get tax-exempt status?

		 Minimum Tax and Estimate Tax
712		 What is the minimum franchise tax?
714		 My corporation is not doing business; does it have 

to pay the minimum franchise tax?

		 Billings and Miscellaneous Notices
723		 I received a bill for $250. What is this for?

		 Corporate Dissolution
724		 How do I dissolve my corporation?

		 Miscellaneous
700		 Who do I need to contact to start a business?
701		 I need a state Employer ID number for my 

business. Who do I contact?
703		 How do I incorporate?
737		 Where do I send my payment?

Connect With Us

Web: ftb.ca.gov Phone: 800.857.5711 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays, except state holidays

916.845.6500 from outside the United States

TTY/TDD: 800.822.6268 for persons with hearing or speech impairments
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