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Introduction 
Homeowners’ associations (HOA) provide maintenance, 
care, and management of residential real property. This 
publication answers the most frequently asked questions 
for tax-exempt homeowners’ associations.

HOA Tax-Exempt Status Requirements
Property Type* To Qualify for Tax-Exempt 

Status
Condominium management 
associations

Membership in the 
association is a condition of 
owning a unit, home, or lot 
in the development.

Residential real estate 
management associations
Cooperative housing 
corporations
Time-share associations
Mutual water companies Provide water to residential 

members.

*The property must be at least 85 percent residential.

California State and Federal Differences
The table below outlines the California and federal 
differences for each organization type.

Organization 
Type California Law Federal Law

Homeowners’ 
associations

Apply for and 
receive a 
determination 
letter from us to 
get tax-exempt 
status under 
Revenue and 
Taxation Code 
(R&TC) Section 
23701t (patterned 
after Internal 
Revenue Code 
Section 528 and 
Federal Treasury 
Regulations 
Section 1.528)

Under IRC 
Section 528 and 
Federal Treasury 
Regulations 
Section 1.528, 
organizations 
may make an 
annual election 
for exemption by 
filing an Internal 
Revenue Service
Form 1120H, U.S. 
Income Tax Return 
for Homeowners 
Associations.

Mutual ditch 
or irrigation 
companies. (also 
known as mutual 
water companies)

California does 
not have a 
similar law to 
IRS. A mutual 
water company 
may qualify 
for tax‑exempt 
status as an HOA 
under R&TC 
Section 23701t.

May be exempt 
under Internal 
Revenue 
Code (IRC) 
Section 501(c)(12).

HOA Tax-Exempt Status 
Application Process 
To obtain state tax-exempt status, you must complete 
Form 3500, Exemption Application, and receive an 
exempt determination letter from us. To get the form, go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for 3500.

Organizations that do not receive tax-exempt status from 
California remain subject to the minimum franchise or 
income tax. 
Submit the application at least 90 calendar days 
before you need tax-exempt status to allow adequate 
processing time.
You must provide all information required for Form 3500, 
Exemption Application, specifically:
•	 The information and documents required on: 

•	 Sides 1 through 8. 
•	 Side 15, Section T. 

•	 The original signature of an authorized individual, 
such as: 
•	 An elected officer. 
•	 A director. 
•	 An authorized representative. 

Mail your completed application with the $25 application 
fee, check or money order payable to the Franchise Tax 
Board, to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942857, 
SACRAMENTO, CA 94257-0501.

Homeowners’ Association Tax-Exempt 
Qualification Requirements 
Each organization must meet two general requirements 
or tests (regardless of the section of law under which it 
applies for tax-exempt status).
The first test is the organizational test. The 
organization must create a document that contains the 
appropriate language for the section under which the 
organization is applying for tax-exempt status. Refer to 
the Organizational Test: Corporations or Organizational 
Test: Unincorporated Associations sections below for 
document samples.
The second test is the operational test. Each 
organization must:
•	 Be active and the section of law under which the 

organization is applying for exemption must permit its 
activities. If the organization is inactive, it will not qualify 
for tax-exempt status.

•	 Operate for the purposes specified under the applicable 
law section. As part of the operational test, the HOA 
must meet the requirements of the source of income 
test and the expenditures test (R&TC Section 23701t).

•	 Meet the membership definition with a minimum of two 
units owned by different persons.

Organizational Test: Corporations 
A corporation is created when the Secretary of State 
endorses the Articles of Incorporation. The Articles must 
meet the California Corporations Code requirements 
(mutual benefit) and, if the corporation applies for 
tax‑exempt status, the California Revenue and Taxation 
Code Section 23701t requirements. The following 
example meets both code requirements for homeowners’ 
associations (except cooperative housing corporations):
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Articles of Incorporation

I
The name of this corporation is _____________________
______________________________________________.

II
This corporation is a nonprofit mutual benefit corporation 
and is not organized for the private gain of any person. 
The purpose of this corporation is to engage in any lawful 
act or activity for which a corporation may be organized 
under such law.

III
The specific purpose of this corporation is to operate 
a homeowners’ association within the meaning of 
Section 23701t of the Revenue and Taxation Code.

IV
The name and address in the State of California of this 
corporation’s initial agent for service of process is_______
______________________________________________.

V
Notwithstanding any of the above statements of purposes 
and powers, this corporation shall not, except to an 
insubstantial degree, engage in any activities or exercise 
any powers that are not in furtherance of the specific 
purpose of this corporation.
__________________________________________
(Incorporator Signature)

__________________________________________
(Type or Print Incorporator Name)

Organizational Test: Unincorporated 
Associations
An unincorporated association may be created by a 
constitution, articles of association, or bylaws that contain 
required language to meet the organizational requirement. 
The following format is acceptable:
1.	 The name of the organization.
2.	 A statement that indicates the organization is organized 

for nonprofit purposes and that the individual members 
will not derive profit from the organization. An 
appropriate clause example:

	 “This organization does not contemplate financial 
gain or profit for its members and is organized for 
nonprofit purposes.”

3.	 The specific and primary purpose of the organization. 
An acceptable clause example:

	 “The specific and primary purpose of the association 
is to operate a homeowners’ association within the 
meaning of Section 23701t of the California Revenue 
and Taxation Code.”

4.	 A limitation clause. An appropriate clause example:
	 “Notwithstanding any of the above statements of 

purposes and powers, this organization shall not, 
except to an insubstantial degree, engage in any 
activities or exercise any powers that are not in 
furtherance of the specific purpose of this organization.”

You can amend an existing document (bylaws) to include 
these provisions or you can adopt a new document. In 
either case, board of directors’ members must sign the 
new instrument or amendments.

Operational Test
General Requirements
Your organization must operate within the requirements 
of R&TC Section 23701t (patterned after IRC Section 528 
and Federal Treasury Regulations Section 1.528). If 
the organization is not active and does not meet the 
operational test, then it will not qualify for tax-exempt 
status. We will consider your organization to operate 
within the requirements of R&TC Section 23701 if it meets 
all of the following requirements:
1.	 Must meet the 85 percent residential test as defined 

under IRC Section 528 and Federal Treasury 
Regulations Section 1.528. 

2.	 Source of income test: 60 percent or more of gross 
income comes from membership dues, fees, and 
assessments. In the case of a cooperative housing 
corporation, payments from stockholder members 
to pay acquisition indebtedness or other fees are 
considered fees and assessments.

3.	 Expenditure test: 90 percent or more of the expenses 
for the year are for acquisition, construction, 
management, maintenance, and care of association 
property or, in the case of a time-share association, for 
activities provided to or on behalf of the members of 
the association.

4.	 No part of the net earnings are used to benefit any 
private individual other than in the normal course of 
activities of the association.

5.	 Amounts received as membership dues, fees, and 
assessments are transferred and held in trust to 
provide for the management, maintenance, and care of 
association property if they are not used for association 
purposes during the year.

6.	 To meet the memberhip definition, a minimum of two 
units or lots must be owned by different persons.

Mutual Water Company Requirements
If your organization is a mutual water company, it must 
meet the operational test general requirements and all of 
the following must be true to qualify for tax-exempt status:
1.	 Your members use the water for residential 

purposes only.
2.	 You do not charge members based on water usage 

amounts. Instead, you assess or charge the members 
for water on an equal basis or based on the size or 
value of each member’s property.

3.	 If you use water meters, then income from metered 
assessments, when combined with other nonexempt 
function income, does not exceed 40 percent of the 
total receipts.

We consider metered charges for water exempt function 
income to the extent the amount assessed is a flat rate 
for a specified quantity of water. We consider metered 
charges based on use as income for services and taxable.
California law does not cover anything comparable to 
Section 501(c)(12) of the Internal Revenue Code granting 
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exemption to certain mutual ditch or irrigation companies 
(also known as mutual water companies). Therefore, 
federal exemption under Section 501(c)(12) does not 
guarantee the company qualifies for California tax-exempt 
status.

Filing Requirements
Refer to the tables below for  filing requirements. 
Then, refer to the next sections for specific filing 
instructions.
If your homeowners’ association is granted tax-exempt 
status, it may be required to file Form 199, FTB 199N 
and/or Form 100. The requirement to file Form 199 or 
FTB 199N is independent of the requirement to file 
Form 100.The amount and type of income received are 
the determining factors.
Organizations that are tax-exempt in California may be 
required to file one or more of the following:

Form Title
199 Exempt Organization Annual Information Return
199N Annual Electronic Filing Requirement for Small 

Exempt Organization (California e-Postcard)
100 Corporation Franchise or Income Tax Return

Use the chart below to determine your filing requirements.

Exempt Under 
All R&TC 
Sections 23701

File Form 199 or FTB 199N

Form 199 FTB 199N
Tax year 2012 
and subsequent – 
Gross receipts 
normally equal 
to or less than 
$50,000

No Yes

Tax year 2010 
and 2011 – Gross 
receipts normally 
equal to or less 
than $25,000

No Yes

Tax year 2009 
and prior – Gross 
receipts normally 
equal to or less 
than $25,000

No requirement to file

Tax year 2012 
and subsequent – 
Gross receipts 
greater than 
$50,000

Yes No

Tax year 2011 
and prior – Gross 
receipts greater 
than $25,000

Yes No

Exempt Under R&TC 
Section 23701t

Form 100 Filing 
Requirement

Taxable income greater 
than $100

Yes

Taxable income equal to or 
less than $100

No

Form 199, Exempt Organization 
Annual Information Return
We define gross receipts as the total amounts the 
organization received from all sources during its annual 
account period – without subtracting any costs or 
expenses (includes cost of goods sold, cost of operations, 
or expenses to earn, raise, or collect such amounts).
To determine your gross receipts average, use the 
charts below.
Tax Year 2012 and Subsequent

If your organization 
has existed:

File Form 199 if the gross 
receipts threshold exceed:

1 year or less $75,000
More than 1 year, but 
less than 3 years

$60,000 (average for current 
year and immediately 
prior year)

3 years or more $50,000 or less (average for 
current year and immediately 
prior 2 years)

Tax Years 2011 and Prior

If your organization 
has existed:

File Form 199 if the gross 
receipts threshold exceed:

1 year or less $37,500
More than 1 year, but 
less than 3 years

$30,000 (average for current 
year and immediately 
prior year)

3 years or more $25,000 (average for current 
year and immediately prior 
2 years)

Due Date
You must file Form 199 on or before the 15th day of the 
5th month after the close of your organization’s tax year. 
For example, if your tax year ends on December 31, the 
due date is May 15. If the due date falls on a weekend or 
state holiday, file by the next regular business day.

Extension of Time to File
An extension allows you more time to file the return, not 
an extension of time to pay any fee that may be due.
We will grant an automatic 7-month extension to file a 
return if both of the following conditions exist:
•	 Your organization is not suspended on the original 

due date.
•	 You file your organization’s return on or before the 

extended due date.
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Filing Fee
Generally, if you file Form 199, you pay a fee with the 
return. The amount depends upon when you file and when 
you make the payment. (R&TC Section 23772)

File your return Filing fee paid Fee 
amount

By original due date. By original due date. $10

After original due 
date, but on or before 
the extended due 
date.

After the original due 
date, but on or before 
the extended due 
date.

By original due date. After original due 
date.

$25

After original due 
date, but on or before 
the extended due 
date.

After the extended 
due date.

Exceptions
The filing fee does not apply if your average gross receipts 
are less than the filing threshold.

Delinquent Form 199 Penalty
We impose a penalty if you do not file your organization’s 
Form 199 by the extended due date, regardless of 
whether you pay the fee. The penalty is $5 per month 
or part of a month the Form 199 is late. The maximum 
penalty is $40. We impose the penalty from the original 
due date of the return. (R&TC Section 23772)

FTB 199N, Annual Electronic 
Filing Requirement for 
Small Exempt Organizations 
(California e‑Postcard)
Starting January 1, 2011, California requires small 
tax-exempt organizations with normal gross receipts 
below the filing threshold to electronically file an annual 
informational notice with us beginning with their 2010 tax 
year. We do not offer a paper form; we accept only the 
electronic filing. (R&TC Section 23772)
You cannot file FTB 199N, California e-Postcard, for a tax 
year prior to 2010. If you need to file for a tax year prior to 
2010, then you must file Form 199.
There is no cost to file FTB 199N, California e-Postcard. If 
your average gross receipts threshold is greater than the 
allowable threshold, then we may send a bill.

Who Must File
We do not require organizations with gross receipts 
that are normally equal to or less than the threshold to 
file Form 199, Exempt Organization Annual Information 
Return, but require them to electronically file FTB 
199N, California e-Postcard. Organizations that meet 
the requirement to file FTB 199N may choose to file a 
complete Form 199.

Organizations Not Permitted to File 
FTB 199N, California e-Postcard
Tax-exempt organizations with annual gross receipts 
normally greater than the threshold, cannot file FTB 199N 
but must file Form 199 instead.

Due Date
You must file FTB 199N on or before the 15th day of the 
5th month after the close of your organization’s tax year. 
For example, if your tax year ends on December 31, the 
due date is May 15. If the due date falls on a weekend or 
state holiday, file by the next regular business day.

Extension of Time to File
There is no extension of time to file

Form 100, Corporation 
Franchise or Income Tax Return
Homeowners’ associations use Form 100 to report the 
entity’s taxable income.

Taxable income
Taxable income is the association’s total gross income 
minus exempt function income (dues, fees, assessments 
from members) and any deductions directly connected 
with the production of the gross nonexempt function 
income. Taxable income includes: 
•	 Interest income (includes interest from members).
•	 Dividends.
•	 Nonmember receipts.
•	 Gains from the sale of property.
•	 Health service fees from members.
•	 Meals or food service fees from members.
•	 Housekeeping service fees from members.
•	 Laundry use fees from members.
•	 Amounts received from members for use of a facility for 

an evening, weekend, week, etc.
If the nonexempt function income (subject to tax) for 
the year exceeds $100, then the organization must file 
Form 100.

Expenses
Expenses or losses relating to production of exempt 
function income cannot be used as deductions or offsets 
against taxable income. Identifying expenses attributable 
to taxable nonmember income can be difficult.
Direct expenses, such as fees on the sale of property, 
are deductible because they are directly related to the 
income from the sale. However, deciding whether other 
expenses are deductible can be difficult to determine. 
For instance, the association may have expenses for 
accounting and bookkeeping services, collecting member 
dues and fees, making deposits, and paying bills. The 
association will incur these expenses whether or not the 
activity produces taxable income. If the bank account 
accrues interest, that interest is taxable income. The 
association may incur some additional expense to cause 
that interest to accrue. However, the additional expense is 
incidental to, rather than directly related to, the accrual 
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of the interest income. Our policy allows a deduction 
for the greater of one percent of taxable nonmember 
investment income or $100 to organizations unable to 
determine and fully substantiate deductions directly 
attributable to the nonexempt function income.

Tax Rate
•	 Use the general corporate tax rate to compute the tax.
•	 Tax-exempt organizations are not subject to the 

minimum franchise tax.
•	 Estimated tax payments may be required.

Due Date
The due date is the 15th day of the 3rd month after the 
close of the taxable year. If the taxable year ends on 
December 31, the due date is March 15.

Nonexempt Organizations 
An HOA is not exempt from state franchise or income tax 
if any of the following apply:
•	 It has not filed Form 3500, Exemption Application, to 

request tax-exempt status.
•	 It filed Form 3500, but we denied tax-exempt status.
•	 We revoked the organization’s tax-exempt status 

because the organization: 
•	 No longer qualified for exemption.
•	 Failed to comply with exempt organization 

filing requirements.
•	 Failed to pay a balance due.

Filing Requirements for Nonexempt Organizations

If your 
organization is:

And is: Filing 
requirement:*

Payment:

Incorporated. Not tax- 
exempt.

Form 100, 
Corporation 
Franchise or 
Income Tax 
Return, by the 
15th day of 
the 3rd month 
after the 
close of each 
accounting 
period.

At least the 
minimum 
franchise tax.

Unincorporated. Not tax- 
exempt.

Form 100, 
Corporation 
Franchise or 
Income Tax 
Return.

Tax at the 
corporate 
rate on any 
taxable 
income for 
the year.

No franchise 
tax.

*Corporations and unincorporated associations that 
are not tax-exempt should not file Form 199, California 
Exempt Organization Annual Information Return.

Raffles 
As of July 1, 2001, certain tax-exempt organizations 
(includes homeowners’ associations) may conduct raffles 
if they meet the requirements specified in California Penal 
Code Section 320.5. 
The Registry of Charitable Trusts, through the office 
of the California Attorney General, is responsible for 
administering the law. If you have questions regarding 
the detailed requirements or how to register, contact that 
office by:
•	 Website: ag.ca.gov select Programs A-Z and select 

Charities.
•	 Phone: 916.445.2021
•	 Mail:
	 NONPROFIT RAFFLE PROGRAM
	 OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
	 1300 I STREET SUITE 1130
	 PO BOX 903447
	 SACRAMENTO CA 94203-4470

Definitions
To determine whether your organization qualifies for 
tax‑exempt status as a homeowners’ association, refer to 
the following information and definitions:

Association Property
Real or personal property held by the organization or held 
in common by members of the organization is considered 
association property if it is available for the common benefit 
of all members of the organization and tends to increase 
the enjoyment of the private residences by their owners 
(for example, swimming pools and tennis courts). On the 
other hand, facilities or areas set aside for nonmembers, 
or used primarily by nonmembers, are not association 
property (for example, property owned by an organization 
for the purpose of leasing it to nonmembers is not 
association property).
Property held privately by members of the association 
qualifies as association property if:
•	 It affects the overall appearance or structure of 

the property (for example, exterior walls, roofs, 
and landscaping).

•	 A covenant relating to the exterior appearance or 
maintenance that applies to all property in the project.

•	 A mandatory assessment at least once a year on all 
association members for property maintenance.

•	 Association membership is a condition of every 
person’s property ownership within the project.

Areas and facilities traditionally thought of as 
government-owned units are included in association 
property (for example, roadways, parklands, sidewalks, 
streetlights, etc.).

Time-share association members have the right to use 
association property because of recorded easements, 
covenants, or recorded instruments related to the 
time‑share project (effective for taxable years beginning 
January 1, 1998, or later).
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Condominium Management Association
This association manages a condominium development. 
It is composed of owners of separate units within a 
condominium project. The owners also are co-owners or 
tenants-in-common in the common areas of the project.

Residential Real Estate Management Association 
An association composed, generally, of single-family 
dwelling owners located in a subdivision, development, 
or similar area. It is formed to enforce the covenants 
that relate to the architecture and appearance of the 
development and to maintain the common areas.

Time-Share Association
Any organization (other than a condominium management 
association) organized and operated to provide for the 
acquisition, construction, management, maintenance, and 
care of association property if any member thereof holds a 
time-share right to use, or a time-share ownership interest 
in, real property constituting association property.

Cooperative Housing Corporation
A cooperative housing corporation is an incorporated 
entity that holds title to improved real property. The 
members of the association receive a right of exclusive 
occupancy in a portion of the property through
stock ownership.
•	 For federal purposes, a cooperative housing 

corporation does not qualify for tax-exempt status as a 
homeowners’ association.

•	 A limited-equity housing cooperative is included in 
the definition of cooperative housing corporation. 
However, the organizational requirements for a limited-
equity housing cooperative are different from those 
for homeowners’ associations in general. Refer to the 
definition for Limited‑Equity Housing Cooperative.

Limited-Equity Housing Cooperative
This definition is found in Section 33413.7 of the California 
Health and Safety Code. A limited-equity housing 
cooperative is a corporation that is organized on a 
cooperative basis and is one of the following:
•	 Incorporated under the nonprofit public benefit law.
•	 Holds title to real property as the beneficiary of a trust 

that provides for the distribution of the property to a 
public or charitable entity upon termination of the trust.

•	 Holds title to real property subject to conditions that 
will result in distribution of the property to a public or 
charitable entity upon dissolution of the corporation.

•	 Holds a leasehold interest of at least 20 years duration 
and conditioned on the corporation’s continued 
qualification as a limited-equity housing cooperative. 
The property must revert to a public or charitable entity.

The Articles of Incorporation or the bylaws require:
•	 The corporation to buy back the stock or membership 

interest of resident owners who cease to be permanent 
residents.

•	 The corporation to sell the stock or membership 
interest bought back from former members to new 
members at the same price it paid for the stock or 
membership interest.

•	 The affirmative vote of two-thirds of the resident owners 
or shareholders to amend the Articles of Incorporation 
or bylaws.

Substantially All Test
“Substantially all” means almost all. The test is, of 
necessity, somewhat different depending upon the type of
residences that are owned by members of the association. 
All association types are subject to the substantially all 
85 percent test as defined in IRC Section 528 and Federal 
Regulations Section 1.528.

Condominium Management Association
Individuals use at least 85 percent of the units’ total 
square footage in the association for residential purposes. 
The phrase “residential purposes” includes the following:
•	 A unit constructed for use as a residence but 

never occupied.
•	 A unit, which is not occupied but has been in the 

past, constructed for residence use and the individual 
occupied as a residence.

•	 Units used for purposes related to residential 
use, such as laundry areas, swimming pools, 
tennis courts, storage rooms, and areas used by 
maintenance personnel.

Residential Real Estate Management Association 
We consider lots (includes unimproved lots) or buildings 
used by individuals as a residence if at least 85 percent of 
the lots are zoned for residential purposes. We consider 
lots zoned for residential purposes even if they may be 
used for parking spaces, swimming pools, tennis courts, 
schools, fire stations, libraries, churches, or some other 
purpose that is auxiliary to residential purposes. However, 
shopping areas are not residential areas.

Dual Use of Facilities or Personnel
If facilities or personnel are used, both for association 
exempt function purposes and production of nonexempt 
function income (income subject to tax), the expenses 
shall be allocated between the two activities. Only 
that portion of the expenses directly connected to the 
production of nonexempt function income is deductible. 
The association should be prepared to fully substantiate 
that the deductions taken against taxable income are not 
exempt function expenses.

Exempt Function
This function is the primary reason why a tax-exempt 
organization is formed. In the case of an exempt 
homeowners’ association, it is the acquisition, 
construction, management, maintenance, and care of 
association property.

Exempt Function Income
This income is an amount received as membership dues, 
fees, or assessments from members as owners, rather 
than as customers, of the association’s services.
Dues, fees, or assessments will not be considered 
exempt function income unless each member’s liability 
for payment arises solely from membership in the 
association. Amounts based on the value or size of 
the property are considered exempt function income. 
However, amounts based on the extent of member 
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facility use are not exempt function income. Generally, for 
membership dues, fees, or assessments on a residential 
unit to be exempt function income, the unit must be used 
for, or expected to be used for, residential purposes.
•	 Dues, fees, or assessments paid to an organization by 

a developer on unfinished or finished units or lots that 
are unsold are exempt function income, even though 
the developer does not use the units or lots.

•	 Excess assessments made during a tax year that 
are rebated to members or applied to their future 
assessments are considered exempt function income 
for that tax year. However, if the excess assessments 
are applied to a future year’s assessments, they also 
will be considered exempt function income for that 
specific future year.

Nonexempt Function Income (Income Subject  
to Tax)
Taxable income is:
•	 The gross income for the taxable year (excludes 

membership fees, dues and assessments from tenant-
shareholders or owners of residential units, residences, 
or lots), less

•	 The deductions allowed by this part which are directly 
connected with the production of the gross income 
(excludes exempt function income).

Example
	 Gross Income
	  –  Deductions       
	 =  Taxable Income
Nonexempt function income includes amounts received 
from nonmembers, such as:
•	 Interest earned on amounts set aside for future repairs 

or improvements.
•	 Laundry use fees from members.
•	 Amounts received for work done on privately owned 

property, which is not association property (for 
example, painting of interior walls).

•	 Amounts received from members to pay for their 
transportation to or from shopping areas, work 
locations, etc.

•	 Amounts received from members for special use of the 
organization’s facilities.

Exception: Amounts received from member-tenants of 
residential units owned by members for special use of 
an association’s facilities will be considered as exempt 
function income if:
•	 The member paid only once in any 12-month period.
•	 The privilege obtained from the payment lasts for the 

entire 12-month period or portion of the period in which 
the facility is commonly in use.

Examples:
•	 An annual fee for use of tennis courts or swimming 

pools is considered exempt function income.
•	 A payment for the use of a building for an evening, 

weekend, week, etc., is not considered exempt 
function income.

Amounts that would be taxable income under Section 
23701t and are excluded from gross income under 

general tax law (for example, interest earned on 
obligations of the United States) are nonexempt function 
income. As such, this income ordinarily would be taxable. 
However, since it is not subject to California corporation 
income tax, it is also not taxable to the tax-exempt 
homeowners’ association.

Qualifying Gross Income: 60 Percent Test
Sixty percent or more of the gross income of the 
organization for the taxable year consists solely of 
amounts received as membership dues, fees, and 
assessments from either of the following:
•	 Tenant-stockholders or owners of residential units, 

residences, or lots.
•	 Owners of time-share rights to use, or time-share 

ownership interests in, association property in the case 
of a time-share.

Qualifying Expenditures: 90 Percent Test
At least 90 percent of the association’s expenses 
must be to acquire, construct, manage, maintain, and 
care for association property. They can be for current 
operating expenses or for capital expenditures. Qualifying 
expenditures include expenditures on association 
property, even if the property may produce income that is 
nonexempt function income (for example, expenditures on 
a swimming pool are qualifying expenditures even though 
guest fees are not exempt function income). Expenditures 
used both for association property and other property 
must be allocated on a reasonable basis.
Examples of qualifying expenditures include:
•	 Salaries of an association manager and secretary.
•	 Security guards.
•	 Legal and accounting fees.
•	 Current operating expenses for tennis courts, 

swimming pools, and recreation halls.
•	 Replacement of common buildings and facilities.
•	 Real estate taxes imposed on association property.

Qualifying Expenditures: 90 Percent Test 
At least 90 percent of the association’s expenses 
must be to acquire, construct, manage, maintain, and 
care for association property. They can be for current 
operating expenses or for capital expenditures. Qualifying 
expenditures include expenditures on association 
property, even if the property may produce income that is 
nonexempt function income (for example, expenditures on 
a swimming pool are qualifying expenditures even though 
guest fees are not exempt function income). Expenditures 
used both for association property and other property 
must be allocated on a reasonable basis. Examples of 
qualifying expenditures include:
•	 Salaries of an association manager and secretary.
•	 Security guards.
•	 Legal and accounting fees.
•	 Current operating expenses for tennis courts, 

swimming pools, and recreation halls.
•	 Replacement of common buildings and facilities.
•	 Real estate taxes imposed on association property.
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References
Topic California Law Federal Law
Exempt homeowners’ association Revenue and Taxation Code Section 23701t Internal Revenue Code Section 528 and 

Federal Treasury Regulations Section 1.528
Davis-Stirling Common Interest 
Development Act 

Civil Code Sections 1350-1376 N/A

Definition of a limited-equity housing Health and Safety Code Section 33007.5 N/A
Raffles Penal Code Section 320.5 N/A

Internet and Telephone Assistance
Website:	 ftb.ca.gov
Phone:	 916.845.4171 (7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays, except state holidays)
TTY/TDD:	 800.822.6268 for persons with hearing or speech impairments

Forms and Publications
Website
Form/Publication: Purpose: Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for:
Form 100, California Corporation Franchise 
or Income Tax Return

Tax Return Form 100

Form 100-ES, Corporation Estimated Tax Estimate  Voucher for Form 100 and Form 
109

Form 100ES

Form 109, Exempt Organization Business 
Income Tax Return

Tax Return Form 109

Form 199, California Exempt Organization 
Annual Information Return

Information Return Form 199

FTB 199N, California e-Postcard Electronic Information Return FTB 199N
FTB Pub. 1038, Guide to Dissolve, 
Surrender, or Cancel a California Business 
Entity

Information to dissolve or withdraw an 
organization from California

Pub. 1038

FTB Pub. 1068, Exempt Organizations 
Filing Requirements and Filing Fees

Detailed information about state filing 
requirements, fees, and penalties

Pub. 1068

Form 3509, Political or Legislative Activities 
By Section 23701d Organizations

Declare political or legislative 
activities carried out by an R&TC Section 
23701d

Form 3509

Form 3539, Payment for Automatic 
Extension for Corporations and Exempt 
Organizations

Extension voucher for Form 100, 109, and 
199

Form 3539

FTB 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill 
of Rights

Information on state taxpayers’ rights and 
how to request written tax advice from us

FTB 4058

Request Forms by Telephone
Telephone: 800.338.0505 
TTY/TDD: 800.822.6268 for persons with hearing or speech impairments
When prompted, select business entity information, then select forms and publications and enter the code for the 
form you need. (For prior year forms, call 800.852.5711.) Allow two weeks to receive your order.

Code Form
817 Form 100, California Corporation Franchise or Income Tax Return

818 Form 100-ES, Corporation Estimated Tax

814 Form 109, California Exempt Organization Business Income Tax Return

815 Form 199, California Exempt Organization Annual Information Return

802 Form 3500, Exemption Application

820 Pub. 1068, Exempt Organizations Filing Requirements and Filing Fees

Request Forms by Mail
	 TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
	 PO BOX 307
	 RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307
For California mailing addresses, allow two weeks to receive your order. For outside of California, allow three weeks. 
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