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SUBJECT 

Childcare Costs Tax Credit 

SUMMARY 

This bill, under the Personal Income Tax Law (PITL), would allow a qualified taxpayer a 
credit equal to childcare costs paid or incurred in the state.  The credit would equal 
the lesser of $500, or the difference between the existing state child and dependent 
care expenses credit and the allowable federal child and dependent care expenses 
credit.  This credit would be in addition to the current California child and dependent 
care expenses credit. 

RECOMMENDATION 

No position. 

SUMMARY OF AMENDMENTS 

The March 2, 2023, amendments removed intent language relating to tax-preferred 
childcare saving and investment accounts and replaced it with the provisions 
discussed in this analysis. 

This is the department’s first analysis of the bill. 

REASON FOR THE BILL 

The reason for the bill is to provide financial relief for taxpayers to offset the cost of 
childcare.  

ANALYSIS 

This bill, under the PITL, for each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2025, 
and before January 1, 2030, would allow a qualified taxpayer a credit equal to 
childcare costs paid or incurred in the state.  The credit would total the lesser of $500, 
or the difference between the existing federal and state child and dependent care 
expenses credit. 
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This bill would define the following terms: 

• “Childcare costs” means employment-related expenses, within the meaning of 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 21 but limited to expenses for household 
services and care provided in this state, as described under the California Child 
and Dependent Care credit per PITL, section 17052.6. 

• “Qualified taxpayer” means a taxpayer who is qualified to receive the 
California child and dependent care credit. 

The unused credits could be carried over for eight years until exhausted. 

This bill would allow the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to prescribe rules, guidelines, 
procedures, or other guidance to administer the credit, including any guidelines 
regarding the allocation of the credit. 

For purposes of complying with RTC section 41, this bill would require the FTB to issue a 
report to the Legislature by June 1, 2029, on the following:  

The number of taxpayers claiming the credit. 

• The average credit amount on tax returns claiming the credit. 
• This credit would be repealed on December 1, 2030, and unused credits would 

be eligible to be carried forward. 

Effective/Operative Date 

As a tax levy, this bill would be effective immediately upon enactment, and 
specifically operative for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, and 
before January 1, 2030.  

Federal/State Law 

Existing federal law allows a Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit for 20 to  
35 percent (depending on the taxpayer's adjusted gross income (AGI)) of 
employment-related expenses of care for a qualifying individual.  A qualifying 
individual is defined as a dependent of the taxpayer that is under the age of 13, or a 
dependent or spouse who is physically or mentally unable to provide self-care. 
Employment-related expenses are generally defined as those expenses incurred to 
enable gainful employment.  These expenses are limited to the lesser of the taxpayer’s 
earned income or $3,000 per taxable year for one qualifying individual, or $6,000 if 
there are two or more qualifying individuals. 
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State law allows a Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit similar to the federal 
credit. In general, California conforms to federal law regarding qualifying individuals 
and the maximum amount and types of expenses eligible for the credit.  However, 
state law limits expenses to care provided in California, and for purposes of the earned 
income limitation, uses California earned income. 

The state credit is computed by first applying the federal credit percentage (20 to 35 
percent) to the smallest of three amounts: the expense cap, California expenses, or 
California earned income.  The state credit percentage is then applied.  The state 
credit percentage varies from 34 to 50 percent based on the taxpayer’s AGI and is 
limited to taxpayers with AGI of $100,000 or less.  

Implementation Considerations 

The department has identified the following considerations and is available to work 
with the author’s office to resolve these and other considerations that may be 
identified. 

This bill would require the FTB to prepare a report on the performance of the credit 
allowed by this bill by June 1, 2029.  If the author’s intent is to review a report that 
contains complete information through the 2029 taxable year, it is recommended that 
the reporting due date be extended to April of 2031.  This date would allow time for 
the FTB to complete processing of personal income tax returns.  The department needs 
approximately six months to complete return processing and to compile the needed 
data to prepare a report.  As a result, it is recommended that the reporting due date 
be no earlier than April of 2031 to provide information for the 2029 taxable year.  If the 
reporting due date remains unchanged, the report would include the information 
available as of the date the report is prepared. 

Technical Considerations 

For clarity, in Section 17052.6.1(e)(4)(A), it is recommended to replace “(c)” with 
“(e)(3)”.  

The bill language that would allow the credit to be carried over after it has been 
repealed could cause conflict between whether a credit is allowed to be used until 
exhausted or only for eight years until exhausted.  Because existing law, RTC section 
17039, subdivision (d), provides the general rule for credits with carryover provisions 
after the credit becomes repealed or inoperative, it is recommended that section 
17052.5.1(f) be amended by removing:” However, any unused credit may continue to 
be carried forward, as provided in subdivision (c), until the credit is exhausted.”  

The bill provides FTB with regulatory authority, including any guidelines regarding the 
allocation of the credit.  However, this credit does not have an allocation requirement. 
The author may want to remove or clarify this provision. 
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Policy Considerations 

This bill would allow a credit for qualified expenses that are currently eligible for the 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit.  Providing an additional credit on the 
same expense item may have the effect of providing a double benefit for the same 
item.  

The bill would create a new credit.  Although the bill mirrors the existing Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses Credit, the new credit provides a carryover provision, while 
the existing credit does not.  This may make it difficult for taxpayers to keep track of 
eligible credits and would result in additional department resources to administer each 
credit separately.  

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY 

SB 86 (Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee, Chapter 14, Statutes of 2011) 
made the Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit nonrefundable for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2011. 

SB 26 (Caballero, 2019/2020) would have made the Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit refundable.  SB 26 did not pass out of the Senate Appropriations 
Committee.  

AB 2023 (Caballero, 2017/2018) would have made the Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit refundable, subject to an appropriation in the annual Budget Act. 
AB 2023 did not pass out of the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

PROGRAM BACKGROUND 

None noted. 

FISCAL IMPACT 

The department’s costs to implement this bill have yet to be determined.  As the bill 
moves through the legislative process, costs will be determined. 
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ECONOMIC IMPACT 

Revenue Estimate 

This bill would result in the following revenue loss: 

Estimated Revenue Impact of AB 14 as Amended March 2, 2023 
Assumed Enactment after June 30, 2023 

($ in Millions) 

Fiscal Year Revenue 

2023-2024 $0 

2024-2025 -$28 

2025-2026 -$55 

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross 
state product that could result from this bill or for the net final payment method of 
accrual. 

LEGAL IMPACT 

None noted. 

APPOINTMENTS 

None noted. 

SUPPORT/OPPOSITION 

To be determined. 

ARGUMENTS 

To be determined. 

LEGISLATIVE CONTACT 

FTBLegislativeServices@ftb.ca.gov 
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