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Bill Number: AB 91 

Introduced: December 7, 2020

SUBJECT 

Reduced Annual & Minimum Franchise Tax for Small Businesses and Microbusinesses 

SUMMARY 

This bill, under the Personal Income Tax Law (PITL), would reduce the annual tax for 
limited partnerships (LPs), limited liability partnerships (LLPs), and limited liability 
companies (LLCs) not classified as corporations, that are small businesses or 
microbusinesses, as defined, from $800 to $400 or $200, respectively.  In addition, under 
the Corporation Tax Law (CTL), this bill would reduce the minimum franchise tax for 
corporations that are small businesses or microbusinesses, as defined, from $800 to 
$400 or $200, respectively. 

RECOMMENDATION 

No position. 

SUMMARY OF AMENDMENTS 

Not applicable. 

REASON FOR THE BILL 

The reason for this bill is to prov ide relief to California’s struggling small businesses by 
reducing the annual $800 minimum franchise tax to $400 for small businesses and to 
$200 for microbusinesses. 

ANALYSIS 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, this bill would reduce the 
annual tax or minimum franchise tax for certain entities doing business in the state. 

This bill, under the PITL, would reduce the annual tax for LPs, LLPs, and LLCs not 
classified as corporations, which are small businesses, as defined, from $800 to $400, 
and that are microbusinesses, as defined, from $800 to $200. 
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In addition, this bill, under the CTL, would reduce the minimum franchise tax for 
corporations that are small businesses, as defined, from $800 to $400, and that are 
microbusinesses, as defined, from $800 to $200. 

This bill states that “small business” and “microbusiness” have the same meaning as 
those terms defined under Government Code (GC) Section 14837.  For purposes of this 
bill: 

A “small business” means either: 

An independently owned and operated business that is not dominant in its 
field of operation, the principal office of which is located in California, the 
officers of which are domiciled in California, and which, together with 
affiliates, has 100 or fewer employees, and average annual gross receipts of 
fifteen million dollars ($15,000,000) or less over the prev ious three years. 
Or is a manufacturer with 100 or fewer employees. 

A “microbusiness” is either: 

A small business which, together with affiliates, has average annual gross 
receipts of five million dollars ($5,000,000) or less over the prev ious three years. 

Or is a manufacturer with 25 or fewer employees.  

A “manufacturer” means a business that meets both of the following requirements, 
it is: 

Primarily engaged in the chemical or mechanical transformation of raw 
materials or processed substances into new products. 

Classified between Codes 31 to 33, inclusive, of the North American Industry 
Classification System. 

Section 5 of this bill contains language that would not be included in the numbered 
sections of the Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC), and prov ides that it is the intent of 
the Legislature to comply with the requirements of RTC section 41. 

Effective/Operative Date 

As a tax levy, this bill would be effective immediately upon enactment and specifically 
operative for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021. 

Federal/State Law 

Federal Law 

Federal law does not require payment of an annual or minimum tax for LPs, LLPs, LLCs, 
or corporations. 
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State Law 

Unless specifically exempted by statute, every corporation or LLC classified as a 
corporation that is organized or qualified to do business, or doing business in this state 
(whether organized in-state or out-of-state), is subject to the minimum franchise tax of 
$800. 

In general, LPs, LLPs, and LLCs not classified as corporations are subject to an annual 
tax equal to the $800 minimum franchise tax. 

Every corporation that incorporates or qualifies to do business in this state on or after 
January 1, 2000, is exempt from the minimum franchise tax for its first taxable year.  This 
exemption is inapplicable to a corporation that reorganizes solely for the purpose of 
avoiding payment of its minimum franchise tax. 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, an LLC or corporation that is a 
small business solely owned by a deployed member of the United States (U.S.) Armed 
Forces is not subject to the annual tax or minimum franchise tax for any taxable year 
that the owner is deployed and the LLC or corporation operates at a loss or ceases 
operation. 

In addition, every LP, LLP and LLC not classified as a corporation that organizes, 
registers, or files with the California Secretary of State on or after January 1, 2021, and 
before January 1, 2024, is exempt from the annual tax for its first taxable year. 

Implementation Considerations 

Department staff has identified the following implementation consideration, and is 
available to work with the author’s office to resolve this and other concerns that may 
be identified. 

The bill’s definition of a “small business,” “microbusiness,” or “manufacturer,” pursuant 
to GC 14837, refers to the term “gross receipts.”  Typically, these thresholds would refer 
to the term “gross income.”  For clarity, and consistency within the RTC, it is 
recommended that the bill be amended to refer to “gross income.” 

Technical Considerations 

For clarity that exceptions, i.e., first taxable year exception and small business solely 
owned by a deployed member of the U.S. Armed Forces exception, do apply before 
application of this bill, the following changes are recommended: 

17935. (g) (1) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (f), for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2021, a limited partnership shall pay to the state an 
annual tax of: 
(A) I f the limited partnership is a small business, four hundred dollars ($400). 

(B) I f the limited partnership is a microbusiness, two hundred dollars ($200). 



Bill Analysis  Bill Number:  AB 91 
Introduced December 7, 2020 

Page 4 

17941. (h) (1) Except as otherwise prov ided in subdivisions (f) and (g), for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, a limited liability company shall pay to 
the state an annual tax of: 
(A) I f the limited liability company is a small business, four hundred dollars ($400). 

(B) I f the limited liability company is a microbusiness, two hundred dollars ($200). 

17948. (f) (1) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (e), for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2021, a limited liability partnership shall pay to the 
state an annual tax of: 
(A) I f the limited liability partnership is a small business, four hundred dollars ($400). 

(B) I f the limited liability partnership is a microbusiness, two hundred dollars ($200). 

23153. (d) (1) Except as prov ided in paragraph (2), paragraph (1) of subdiv ision (f) 
of Section 23151, paragraph (1) of subdiv ision (f) of Section 23181, and paragraph 
(1) of subdiv ision (c) of Section 23183, corporations subject to the minimum 
franchise tax shall pay annually to the state a minimum franchise tax of: 

(A) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (f) and in subparagraph (B),  
eight hundred dollars ($800). 

Policy Considerations 

None noted. 

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY 

AB 632 (Ramos, 2021/2022), under the CTL, would reduce the $800 minimum franchise 
tax for corporations, and, by reference, the annual tax for LPs, LLPs, or LLCs not 
classified as corporations, based on gross receipts.  AB 632 is currently in the 
committee process. 

AB 664 (Bigelow, 2021/2022), under the PITL, would suspend the due date for payment 
of the annual tax for LPs, LLPs, and LLCs not classified as corporations, that are small 
businesses, until the end of the state of emergency declared by the Governor on 
March 4, 2020.  AB 664 is currently in the committee process. 

AB 806 (Chen, et al., 2021/2022) would, under the PITL, exempt LPs, LLPs, and LLCs not 
classified as corporations from the payment of the annual tax for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023.  In addition, this bill 
would, under the CTL, exempt corporations from the payment of minimum franchise 
tax for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before 
January 1, 2023.  AB 806 is currently in the committee process. 
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AB 85 (Committee on Budget, Chapter 8, Statutes of 2020), under the PITL, prov ided a 
first year exemption from the annual tax for LPs, LLPs, and LLCs not classified as 
corporations. 

AB 308 (Muratsuchi, Chapter 421, Statutes of 2019), under the PITL and the CTL, 
allowed an exemption from the annual tax or the minimum franchise tax for certain 
small business LLCs and corporations that are solely owned by a deployed member of 
the U.S. Armed Forces, and the LLC or corporation operates at a loss or ceases to 
operate, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020. 

AB 250 (Choi, 2019/2020) would have, under the CTL, modified the minimum franchise 
tax for corporations having less than $15 million in gross receipts, and under the PITL, 
would have retained the $800 minimum annual tax.  AB 250 did not pass out of the 
Assembly by the constitutional deadline 

AB 2306 (Melendez, 2019/2020) would, under the CTL, repeal the $800 corporate 
minimum franchise tax for corporations doing business in the state for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020.  AB 2306 did not pass out of the Assembly 
Revenue and Taxation Committee by the constitutional deadline. 

AB 2929 (Arambula and Muratsuchi, 2019/2020) would, under the PITL and the CTL, 
reduce the annual tax for certain single-member LLCs and the minimum franchise tax 
for certain single-owner corporations to prov ide that these taxpayers would not be 
subject to the tax in their first taxable year, and for the following four years, the tax 
would incrementally increase annually by two hundred dollars ($200); with a limitation 
of minimum tax reduction of one hundred million dollars ($100,000,000) per taxable 
year and annual tax reduction of one hundred million dollars ($100,000,000) per 
taxable year, administered by the FTB on a first-come-first-served basis.  AB 2929 did 
not pass out of the Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee by the constitutional 
deadline. 

SB 349 (Portantino, 2019/2020), under the PITL and the CTL, would have modified the 
minimum franchise tax for corporations having less than $15 million in gross receipts 
and would have allowed an exemption from the annual tax or the minimum franchise 
tax for certain small business LLCs and corporations that were solely owned by a 
deployed member of the U.S. Armed Forces.  SB 349 was vetoed by the governor 
whose veto message stated in part, “The intent of this bill is to prov ide tax relief for 
smaller California businesses and to encourage economic growth.  Both are important 
goals which I  support, and helping small businesses is certainly a priority I  share with the 
Legislature.  However, this bill would be better addressed through the annual budget 
process.” 

AB 2131 (Melendez, 2017/2018) would have reduced the minimum franchise tax from 
$800 to $400.  AB 2131 did not pass out of the Assembly by the constitutional deadline. 
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AB 2410 (Grayson, 2017/18) would have reduced the annual tax for LLCs that were 
small businesses, as defined, within the first two years of operation from $800 to $400.  
AB 2410 did not pass out of the Assembly by the constitutional deadline. 

PROGRAM BACKGROUND 

None noted. 

FISCAL IMPACT 

This bill would impact the department’s systems, resulting in programming and 
processing rev isions.  The department’s costs to implement this bill have yet to be 
determined.  As the bill continues to move through the legislative process, costs will be 
identified. 

ECONOMIC IMPACT 

Revenue Estimate 

This bill would result in the following revenue loss: 

Estimated Revenue Impact of AB 91 as Introduced December 7, 2020 
Assumed Enactment after June 30, 2021 

($ in Millions) 

Fiscal Year Revenue 

2021-2022 -$550 

2022-2023 -$500 

2023-2024 -$500 

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross 
state product that could result from this bill or for the net final payment method of 
accrual. 

LEGAL IMPACT 

None noted. 

APPOINTMENTS 

None noted. 
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SUPPORT/OPPOSITION 

To be determined. 

ARGUMENTS 

To be determined. 

LEGISLATIVE CONTACT 

FTBLegislativeServ ices@ftb.ca.gov 

mailto:FTBLegislativeServices@ftb.ca.gov
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