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Subject:  Child & Dependent Care Expenses Credit/Refundable 

Summary 

This bill would, under the Personal Income Tax Law (PITL), make the Child and Dependent 
Care Expenses Credit refundable, subject to an appropriation in the annual Budget Act. 

Recommendation – No position. 

Reason for the Bill 

The reason for this bill is to minimize the financial strains of childcare for low-to-middle-income 
working families. 

Effective/Operative Date 

This bill would be effective January 1, 2020, and specifically operative for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2025. 

Federal Law 

Existing federal law allows a tax credit called the Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit 
for 20 to 35 percent (depending on the taxpayer's adjusted gross income (AGI)) of 
employment-related costs of care for a qualifying individual.  A qualifying individual is defined 
as a dependent of the taxpayer that is under the age of 13, or a dependent or spouse who is 
physically or mentally unable to provide self-care.  Employment-related expenses are generally 
defined as those expenses incurred to enable gainful employment.  These expenses are 
limited to the lesser of the taxpayer’s earned income or $3,000 per taxable year for one 
qualifying individual, or $6,000 if there are two or more qualifying individuals. 

State Law 

State law allows a Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit similar to the federal Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses Credit.  In general, California conforms to federal law regarding 
qualifying individuals and the maximum amount and types of expenses eligible for the credit.  
However, state law limits expenses to care provided in California, and for purposes of the 
earned income limitation, uses earned income from California sources.  
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The state credit is computed by first applying the federal credit percentage (20 to 35 percent) 
to the smallest of three amounts: the expense cap, California expenses, or California earned 
income.  The state credit percentage is then applied.  

The state credit percentage varies from 34 to 50 percent based on the taxpayer’s federal AGI,1 
and is limited to taxpayers with AGI of $100,000 or less.  

This Bill 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2025, this bill, 
under the PITL, would provide that if the amount of allowable Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit exceeds the tax liability for the taxable year, the excess would be credited 
against other amounts due, if any, and the balance, if any, subject to the limitations below and 
upon appropriation by the Legislature, would be paid to the taxpayer.  

The amount paid to the taxpayer would be $0 unless otherwise specified in the annual Budget 
Act or any bill providing appropriations related to the Budget Act.  

The amount paid to the taxpayer would be limited to: 

 Two hundred fifty dollars ($250) for one qualifying individual. 
 Five hundred dollars ($500) for two or more qualifying individuals.  

Implementation Considerations 

Implementing this bill would require changes to existing tax forms and instructions, robust 
education and outreach, and substantial changes to information systems to limit improper 
payments.  

Capping the refundable portion of the Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit rather than 
the credit itself would add complexity for the taxpayer and the department.  Additionally, the bill 
lacks administrative details related to the annual appropriation that would be required to pay 
for the refundable portion of the credit.  For example: 

 It is unclear when the refund and appropriation amounts would be known or whether the 
appropriation would be sufficient.  Refunds in excess of the appropriation would be 
denied.  This concern would be alleviated by providing for a continuous appropriation.  

 By setting the refund amount at zero for years without an appropriation, the refund 
provision could be intermittently operative.  Thus, making it unclear how the department 
would effectively employ staff and resources necessary to administer the refund 

                                            

 

1 Revenue & Taxation Code section 17024.5(h)(2) provides that for purposes of computing limitations, AGI means 
the amount required to be shown on the federal tax return for the same taxable year.  In addition, for Registered 
Domestic Partners (RDPs) or former RDPs, AGI on the federal return is computed as if the RDP or former RDP 
was treated as a spouse or former spouse and used the same filing status that was used on the state tax return 
for the same taxable year. 
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provision.  This concern could be alleviated by providing that the refund authorized by 
this section would only be operative for taxable years for which resources are 
authorized in the annual Budget Act for the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to oversee and 
audit refund returns associated with this credit. 

For clarity and ease of administration, the bill should be amended. 

Technical Considerations 

For consistency of terminology, the following changes are recommended: 

 On page 3, line 30, the term “paid” should be replaced with “refunded”. 
 

 On page 3, lines 33 and 35, the term “amount paid” should be replaced with “amount 
refunded”.  

Legislative History 

AB 2023 (Caballero, 2017/2018), substantially similar to this bill, would have made the Child 
and Dependent Care Expenses Credit refundable, subject to an appropriation in the annual 
Budget Act.  AB 2023 failed to pass by the constitutional deadline. 

SB 86 (Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee, Chapter 14, Statutes of 2011) made the 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit nonrefundable for taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2011. 

Program Background 

Legislative Analyst Office (LAO) Report 

On April 7, 2016, the LAO issued a report titled, “Options for Modifying the State Child Care 
Tax Credit.”  This report discussed the option of restoring refundability to the State’s Child 
Care Tax Credit (referred to as “Option 1”).  The report also discussed the potential for 
improper claims, including administrative methods to limit these claims.2 

Other States’ Information 

The states surveyed include Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York.  
These states were selected due to their similarities to California's economy, business entity 
types, and tax laws. 

Illinois, Massachusetts, and Michigan do not offer a child and dependent care expenses credit; 
however, Massachusetts offers a deduction for child and dependent care expenses.  

                                            

 

2 https://lao.ca.gov/Publications/Report/3417.   

 

http://www.lao.ca.gov/Publications/Report/3417
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Minnesota and New York offer a refundable child and dependent care expenses credit. 

Fiscal Impact 

The department’s costs to implement this bill have yet to be determined, but are anticipated to 
be significant.  As the bill moves through the legislative process, costs will be identified. 

Economic Impact  

Revenue Estimate 

This bill would result in the following revenue loss:  

Estimated Revenue Impact of SB 26 as Introduced December 3, 2018 
Assumed Enactment after June 30, 2019 

($ in Millions) 

Fiscal Year Revenue3 

2019-2020 - $33 

2020-2021 - $56 

2021-2022 - $56 

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state 
product that could result from this bill or for the net final payment method of accrual.  

Revenue Discussion 

Using 2016 FTB Child and Dependent Care Credit data, it is estimated that taxpayers 
generated approximately $75 million in Child and Dependent Care Credits.  Taxpayers applied 
$33 million of the credits against their tax liabilities, leaving $42 million in nonrefundable credits 
unused.  The amount of refundable credit, the lesser of either $250 or $500 as specified in the 
bill or the amount of credit available, was calculated resulting in estimated tax refunds of  
$35 million.  The estimated credit refunded is then increased to $55 million, to account for 
additional qualifying taxpayers that would file returns to claim the refundable credit.  This 
amount was then adjusted to reflect changes over time, resulting in an estimated revenue loss 
from the refundable credit of $56 million in 2020. 

                                            

 

3 This estimate assumes the annual Budget Act or any bill providing for appropriations related to the Budget Act 
would allow for a refundable Child and Dependent Care credit. 
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The tax-year estimates are converted to fiscal-year estimates, and then rounded to arrive at 
the amounts shown in the above table. 

Policy Concerns 

The department is concerned that another refundable credit could increase the trend in refund 
fraud and identity theft.  Historically, both the Internal Revenue Service and the FTB have 
experienced fraud and improper claims with refundable credits.  These concerns are 
heightened because if a refund is determined to be fraudulent, the refund commonly cannot be 
recovered. 
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