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Author: Portantino Bill Number: SB 349

Subject: Minimum Franchise Tax/Reduce for Corporations
Summary

This bill would, under the Corporation Tax Law (CTL), modify the minimum franchise tax
for corporations having less than $15 million in gross receipts and allow an exemption
from the annual tax or the minimum franchise tax for certain small business limited
liability companies (LLCs) and corporations that are solely owned by a deployed
member of the United States (U.S.) Armed Forces.

Reason for the Bill

The reason for this bill is to provide tax relief for certain small businesses in California.
Effective/Operative Date

As a tax levy, this bill would be effective immediately upon enactment.

The modified minimum franchise tax provision would be specifically operative for
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2025.

The provision exempting certain small businesses and corporations from the annual tax
or minimum franchise tax would be specifically operative for taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2030, if both this bill and AB 308:

1) Are enacted and become effective on or before January 1, 2020, and
2) Amend Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) section 17941, and
3) This bill is enacted after AB 308.

State Law

Unless specifically exempted by statute, every corporation that is organized or
qualified to do business in California, or doing business in this state (whether organized
in state or out-of-state), is subject to the minimum franchise tax of $800. Taxpayers
must pay the minimum franchise tax unless their measured franchise tax is greater. For
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1997, the measured tax is imposed on
netincome at a rate of 8.84 percent. Thus under current law, only corporations with
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netincome less than approximately $9,040 pay the minimum franchise tax because
their measured tax would be less than $800 ($9,039 x 8.84% = $799).

Every corporation that incorporates or qualifies to do business in this state on or after
January 1, 2000, is exempt from the minimum franchise tax for its first taxable year. This
exemption is inapplicable to a corporation that reorganizes solely for the purpose of
avoiding payment of its minimum franchise tax. It also does not apply to limited
partnerships (LPs); LLCs not classified as corporations, limited liability partnerships (LLPs),
charitable organizations, regulated investment companies (RICs), real estate
investment trusts (REITs), real estate mortgage investment conduits (REMICs), financial
asset securitization investment frusts, and qualified Subchapter S subsidiaries.

Under existing state law, the annual tax on LPs, LLCs not classified as corporations, LLPs,
RICs, REITs, REMICs, and S corporations, is set at $800 by reference to the minimum
franchise tax.

This Bill

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2025,
this bill would, under the CTL, modify the minimum franchise tax imposed on
corporations, based on gross receipts during the taxable year, as shown below and
recast the cross references in the annual tax provisions to retain the $800 minimum for
entities subject to the annual tax.

The minimum franchise tax would be determined as follows:

Gross receipts less Gross receipts of Gross receipts of Gross receipts of
than $2,500,000 $2,500,000 or more = $7,500,000 or more $15,000,000 or
but less than but less than more
$7,500,000 $15,000,000
$200 $400 $600 $800

In uncodified law, this bill would require the FTB to submit a report to the Legislature on
or before January 1, 2020, and on or before each January 1 annually thereafter
through January 1, 2025, on the performance of small businesses affected by the bill’s
reduction in the minimum franchise tax.

This bill also contains double-joining language that would incorporate provisions from
AB 308 (Muratsuchi & Smith), re-establishing for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2030, an exemption from the annual tax or
minimum franchise tax as applicable, for LLCs and corporations that are small
businesses solely owned by a deployed member of the U.S. Armed Forces that
operates at aloss or ceases operation for the taxable year.
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Legislative History

AB 250 (Choi, 2019/2020), substantially similar to this bill, would modify the minimum
franchise tax for corporations having less than $15 million in gross receipts and retain
the $800 minimum annual tax. AB 250 failed to pass out of the Assembly Revenue and
Taxation Committee.

AB 2131 (Melendez, 2017/2018) would have reduced the minimum franchise tax from
$800 to $400. AB 2131 failed to pass out of the Assembly by the constitutional
deadline.

AB 2410 (Grayson, 2017/2018) would have reduced the annual tax for LLCs that are a
small business, as defined, within the first two years of operation from $800 to $400.
AB 2410 failed to pass out of the Assembly by the constitutional deadline.

SB 1417 (Cannella, 2017/2018), substantially similar to this bill, would have modified the
minimum franchise tax for corporations having less than $15 million in gross receipfts
and would retain the $800 minimum annual tax. SB 1417 failed to pass out of the
Assembly by the constitutional deadline.

AB 328 (Grove, 2015/2016) would have exempted new veteran owned small
corporations and LLCs from the minimum franchise or annual tax, as applicable.
AB 328 failed to pass out of the Assembly by the constitutional deadline.

AB 2625 (Lopez, 2015/2016) would have reduced the minimum franchise and annual
tax on certain new microbusiness entities. AB 2625 failed to pass out of the Assembly
by the constitutional deadline.

Other States’ Information

The states surveyed include Florida, lllinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and
New York. These states were selected due to their similarities to California's economy,
business entity types, and tax laws.

Florida, Michigan, and Minnesota do not impose a minimum tax on business entities.

lllinois, Massachusetts, and New York impose a minimum tax on corporations, but they
lack a graduated tax based on gross revenue similar to the one proposed in this bill.

Fiscal Impact

Staff estimates a cost of approximately $385,000 in fiscal year 2019-2020 and ongoing
costs of $374,000 in fiscal year 2020-2021, $7,000 in fiscal year 2021-2022, and $4,000 in
fiscal years 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 to develop, program, and test revisions to existing
systems for this bill. The department will pursue a budget change proposal if
necessary.
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Economic Impact
Revenue Estimate
This bill would result in the following revenue loss:

Estimated Revenue Impact of SB 349
Assumed Enactment after June 30, 2019

($ in Millions)
Fiscal Year Revenue*
2019-2020 -$120
2020-2021 -$320
2021-2022 -$340

*These values do not include the revenue impact of reinstating the minimum franchise
tax and an annual fax exemption to small businesses solely owned by deployed

members of the U.S. Armed Forces, whose business operates at a loss or cease to exist.
There is a revenue impact on the general fund, but the amount of the loss is unknown.

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross
state product that could result from this bill or for the net final payment method of
accrual.

Revenue Discussion

This bill would specify that the amount of minimum franchise tax would be determined
in accordance with the taxpayer's “gross receipts.” Based on data from the FTB for
tax years 2013 through 2016, it is estimated that in taxable year 2020 approximately
580,000 corporations would be impacted by the changes to the amount of the
minimum franchise tax as proposed in this bill.

The estimated revenue loss from the proposed changes to the minimum franchise tax
for C and S corporations would be approximately $315 million in the 2020 taxable year.
This consists of minimum franchise tax that would no longer be paid, offset by
measured tax. C and S corporate taxpayers must pay the measured tax only if it is
more than the minimum franchise tax.

The tax-year estimates are then converted to fiscal-years and rounded to arrive at the
amounts in the above table.
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Previous law allowed a minimum franchise tax and an annual fax exemption to small
businesses solely owned by deployed members of the U.S. Armed Forces, whose
business operates at a loss or ceases to exist. Because the FTB is unable to predict
future deployment and business operations, the revenue impact of reinstating the
exemptions is unknown. It is expected that for every 100 small businesses that would
have paid the annual tax there would be a revenue loss of $80,000.

Policy Concerns

This bill would provide a tax benefit for corporations under the CTL that would be
unavailable to other business entities under the PITL, such as limited partnerships, LLCs
not classified as corporations, limited liability partnerships, charitable organizations,
regulated investment companies, real estate investment trusts, real estate mortgage
investment conduits, financial asset securitization investment trusts, and qualified
Subchapter S subsidiaries. Thus, this bill would provide differing treatment based solely
on classification.

Appointments

None.

Votes
Location Date Yes Votes No Votes
Concurrence September 11, 2019 40 0
Assembly Floor September 10, 2019 78 1
Senate Floor May 22, 2019 38 0
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