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SUBJECT 

Repeal of Corporate Minimum Franchise Tax 

SUMMARY 

This bill would, under the Corporation Tax Law (CTL), repeal the $800 corporate 
minimum franchise tax for corporations doing business in the state for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020. 

RECOMMENDATION 

No position. 

SUMMARY OF AMENDMENTS 

Not applicable. 

REASON FOR THE BILL 

The reason for this bill is to remove the minimum tax imposed on corporations doing 
business in the state. 

ANALYSIS 

This bill would, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, repeal the 
corporate minimum franchise tax for corporations doing business in the state. 

Corporations doing business within the limits of this state, and not expressly exempted 
from taxation by the provisions of the California Constitution, pay tax for the privilege 
of exercising their corporate franchises within this state.  The franchise tax is 
determined by multiplying the corporation’s net taxable income by the current tax 
rate of 8.84 percent.  Currently, corporations pay the greater of the measured tax 
amount, or the minimum franchise tax of $800. 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, corporations doing business in 
the state would continue to pay the measured franchise tax as described above, but 
would no longer be subject to the $800 minimum franchise tax. 
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Effective/Operative Date 

As a tax levy, this bill would be effective immediately upon enactment and specifically 
operative for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020. 

Federal/State Law 

Unless specifically exempted by statute, every corporation that is incorporated in 
California, qualified to transact business in California, or doing business in California 
(whether organized in state or out-of-state), is subject to the minimum franchise tax of 
$800.  Taxpayers must pay the minimum franchise tax unless their measured franchise 
tax is greater.  For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1997, the measured 
tax is imposed on net income at a rate of 8.84 percent.  Thus under current law, only 
corporations with net income less than approximately $9,040 pay the minimum 
franchise tax because their measured tax would be less than $800 
($9,039 x 8.84% = $799). 

Every corporation that incorporates or qualifies to do business in this state on or after 
January 1, 2000, is exempt from the minimum franchise tax for its first taxable year.  This 
exemption is inapplicable to a corporation that reorganizes solely for the purpose of 
avoiding payment of its minimum franchise tax.  The first taxable year exemption also 
does not apply to limited partnerships (LPs); limited liability companies (LLCs) not 
classified as corporations, limited liability partnerships (LLPs), charitable organizations, 
regulated investment companies (RICs), real estate investment trusts (REITs), real estate 
mortgage investment conduits (REMICs), and financial asset securitization investment 
trusts (FASITs). 

In general, under the CTL, corporations, Subchapter S corporations, RICs, REITs, REMICs, 
and FASITs are subject to the $800 minimum franchise tax. 

In general, under the Personal Income Tax Law (PITL), LPs, LLCs not classified as 
corporations, and LLPs, are subject to an annual tax. 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, an LLC or corporation that is a 
small business solely owned by a deployed member of the United States (U.S.) Armed 
Forces is not subject to the annual or minimum franchise tax for any taxable year that 
the owner is deployed and the LLC or corporation operates at a loss or ceases 
operation. 

Federal law does not require payment of an annual or minimum tax. 

  



Bill Analysis  Bill Number:  AB 2306 
Introduced February 14, 2020 

Page 3 

Implementation Considerations 

Department staff has identified the following implementation considerations for 
purposes of a high-level discussion; additional concerns may be identified as the bill 
moves through the legislative process.  Department staff is available to work with the 
author’s office to resolve these and other concerns that may be identified. 

In Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) sections 23153(b)(1) and 23153(d)(2), the bill 
provides, “For taxable years beginning before January 1, 2020.”  The author may want 
to amend the bill to include the date in which this provision would first be operative to 
ensure that this section is applied to the appropriate taxable years. 

Technical Considerations 

Department staff has identified technical issues with the bill language that could 
cause confusion about how the bill is to be applied to corporations not doing business 
in California, but are subject to the minimum franchise tax.  If this bill goes forward, 
department staff is available to work with the author’s office to resolve these and 
other concerns that may be identified. 

Policy Concerns 

Under R&TC section 41, legislation that would create a new tax expenditure, which 
includes a credit, deduction, exclusion, exemption, or any other tax benefit as 
provided for by the state, is required to include specific goals, purposes, objectives, 
and performance measures to allow the Legislature to evaluate the effectiveness of 
the tax benefit.  The author may want to amend the bill to include these requirements. 

This bill lacks a sunset date, which is generally provided to allow periodic review of the 
effectiveness of income tax law changes by the Legislature. 

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY 

AB 2929 (Arambula and Muratsuchi, 2019/2020) would, under the PITL and the CTL, 
reduce the annual tax for certain single-member LLCs and the minimum franchise tax 
for certain single-owner corporations to provide that these taxpayers would not be 
subject to the tax in their first taxable year, and for the following four years, the tax 
would incrementally increase annually by  two hundred dollars ($200); with a limitation 
of minimum tax reduction of  one hundred million dollars ($100,000,000) per taxable 
year and annual tax reduction of one hundred million dollars ($100,000,000) per 
taxable year, administered by the FTB on a first-come-first-served basis.  AB 2929 is 
currently referred to the Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee. 
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AB 308 (Muratsuchi, et al., Chapter 421, Statutes of 2019), under the PITL and the CTL, 
allowed an exemption from the annual tax or the minimum franchise tax for certain 
small business LLCs, and corporations that are solely owned by a deployed member of 
the U.S. Armed Forces for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and 
before January 1, 2030. 

SB 349 (Portantino, 2019/2020) would have reduced the minimum franchise tax for 
corporations having less than $15 million in gross receipts.  SB 349 was vetoed by the 
governor whose veto message stated in part, “The intent of this measure is to provide 
tax relief for smaller California businesses and to encourage economic growth.  Both 
are important goals which I support, and helping small businesses is certainly a priority I 
share with the Legislature.  However, this proposal would be better addressed through 
the annual budget process.” 

AB 250 (Choi, 2019-2020), substantially similar to SB 349 (Portantino, 2019/2020), would 
have also reduced the minimum franchise tax for corporations having less than  
$15 million in gross receipts.  AB 250 failed to pass out of the Assembly by the 
constitutional deadline. 

AB 2131 (Melendez, 2017/2018) would have reduced the minimum franchise tax from 
$800 to $400.  AB 2131 failed to pass out of the Assembly by the constitutional 
deadline. 

AB 2410 (Grayson, 2017/2018) would have reduced the annual tax for LLCs that are a 
small business, as defined, within the first two years of operation from $800 to $400.  
AB 2410 failed to pass out of the Assembly by the constitutional deadline. 

AB 328 (Grove, 2015/2016) would have exempted new veteran-owned small 
corporations and LLCs from the minimum franchise or annual tax, as applicable.  
AB 328 failed to pass out of the Assembly by the constitutional deadline. 

AB 2625 (Lopez, 2015/2016) would have reduced the minimum franchise and annual 
tax on certain new microbusiness entities.  AB 2625 failed to pass out of the Assembly 
by the constitutional deadline. 

PROGRAM BACKGROUND 

None noted. 

FISCAL IMPACT 

This bill would impact the department’s systems, resulting in programming and 
processing revisions.  The department’s costs to implement this bill have yet to be 
determined, but would be significant.  As the bill continues to move through the 
legislative process, costs will be identified. 
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ECONOMIC IMPACT 

Revenue Estimate 

This bill would result in the following revenue loss: 

Estimated Revenue Impact of AB 2306 as Introduced February 14, 2020 
Assumed Enactment after June 30, 2020 

($ in Millions) 

Fiscal Year Revenue 

2020-2021 -$1,000 

2021-2022 -$900 

2022-2023 -$850 

Using data from taxable year 2017 returns filed with FTB, it is estimated that in taxable 
year 2020 approximately 700,000 C and S corporations would be impacted by the 
repeal of the minimum franchise tax as proposed in this bill. 

The estimated revenue loss consists of the minimum franchise tax that would no longer 
be paid offset by calculated measured franchise tax.  This is determined by multiplying 
the S or C corporation’s net taxable income by their current tax rate.  The revenue loss 
would be approximately $1 billion in the 2020 taxable year. 

The tax year estimates are converted to fiscal year estimates, and then rounded to 
arrive at the amounts reflected in the above table. 

LEGAL IMPACT 

None noted. 

APPOINTMENTS 

None noted. 

SUPPORT/OPPOSITION 

To be determined. 

ARGUMENTS 

To be determined. 
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LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 

Elaine Segarra Warneke 
Legislative Analyst, FTB 
(916) 845-7746 
elaine.warneke@ftb.ca.gov 

Tiffany Christiansen 
Revenue Manager, FTB 
(916) 845-5346 
tiffany.christiansen@ftb.ca.gov 

Annette Kunze 
Legislative Director, FTB 
(916) 845-6333 
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