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Introduced: February 15, 2018

Subject: Child & Dependent Care Expenses Refundable Credit/ 50 percent Credit if Adjusted 
Gross Income not over $100,000 

Summary 

This bill, under the Personal Income Tax Law (PITL), would modify and make refundable the 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. 

Recommendation – No position. 

Reason for the Bill 

The reason for this bill is to minimize the financial strains of child and dependent care for low- 
to middle-income working families. 

Effective/Operative Date 

The bill would be effective January 1, 2019, and specifically operative for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2019. 

Federal Law 

Existing federal law allows a tax credit called the Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit 
of 20 to 35 percent (depending on the taxpayer's adjusted gross income (AGI)) of employment-
related costs of care for a qualifying individual.  A qualifying individual is defined as a 
dependent of the taxpayer that is under the age of 13 or a dependent or spouse who is 
physically or mentally unable to provide self-care.  Employment-related expenses are generally 
defined as those expenses incurred to enable gainful employment.  These expenses are 
limited to the lesser of the taxpayer’s earned income or $3,000 per taxable year for one 
qualifying individual, or $6,000 if there are two or more qualifying individuals. 
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State Law 

State law allows a Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit similar to the federal Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses Credit.  In general, California conforms to federal law regarding 
qualifying individuals, and the maximum amount and types of expenses eligible for the credit.  
However, state law limits expenses to care provided in California, and for purposes of the 
earned income limitation, uses earned income from California sources.  

The state credit is computed by first applying the federal credit percentage (20 to 35 percent) 
to the smallest of three amounts: the expense cap, California expenses, or California earned 
income.  The state credit percentage is then applied.  

The state credit percentage varies based on the taxpayer’s AGI1, and is limited to taxpayers 
with AGI of $100,000 or less.  

If AGI is: Credit Percentage 

$40,000 or less 50% 

Over $40,000 but not over $70,000 43% 

Over $70,000 but not over $100,000 34% 

Over $100,000  0% 

This Bill 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, this bill, under the PITL, would modify 
the Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit by reducing the existing four AGI categories 
and credit percentages to the two AGI categories shown below. 

If AGI is: Credit Percentage 

Not over $100,000 50% 

Over $100,000  .0% 

As a result of this change, the credit percentage would increase for taxpayers with AGI 
between $40,000 and $100,000, thus increasing the credit. 

  

                                            

 

1 Revenue & Taxation Code section 17024.5(h)(2) provides that for purposes of computing limitations, AGI means 
the amount required to be shown on the federal tax return for the same taxable year.  In addition, for Registered 
Domestic Partners (RDPs) or former RDPs, AGI on the federal return is computed as if the RDP or former RDP 
was treated as a spouse or former spouse and used the same filing status that was used on the state tax return 
for the same taxable year. 
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Additionally, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, this bill would provide that 
if the amount of allowable Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit exceeds the tax liability 
for the taxable year, the excess would be credited against other amounts due, if any, and the 
balance, would be paid from the Tax Relief and Refund Account and refunded to the taxpayer. 

Implementation Considerations 

Implementing this bill would require changes to existing tax forms and instructions, robust 
education and outreach, and substantial changes to information systems to limit improper 
payments. 

Legislative History 

AB 2023 (Caballero & Rubio, 2017/2018), would make the Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit refundable, upon appropriation by the Legislature.  AB 2023 is pending 
before the Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee. 

AB 230 (Chavez, 2017/2018), would have increased the Child and Dependent Care Expenses 
Credit.  AB 230 failed to pass by the constitutional deadline. 

AB 2676 (Chavez, 2015/2016), would have increased the Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit.  AB 2676 failed to pass by the constitutional deadline. 

SB 268 (Nguyen, 2015/2016) would have raised the cap on expenses for the Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses Credit.  SB 268 failed to pass by the constitutional deadline. 

SB 670 (Jackson, 2015/2016) would have increased the state credit percentages for the Child 
and Dependent Care Expenses Credit.  SB 670 failed to pass by the constitutional deadline. 

SB 86 (Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee, Chapter 14, Statutes of 2011) made the 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit nonrefundable for taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2011. 

Program Background 

Legislative Analyst Office (LAO) Report 

On April 7, 2016, the LAO issued a report titled, “Options for Modifying the State Child Care 
Tax Credit.”  This report discussed the option of restoring refundability to the State’s Child Tax 
Credit (referred to as “Option 1”).  The report also discussed the potential for improper claims, 
including administrative methods to limit these claims.2 

2 http://www.lao.ca.gov/Publications/Report/3417. 

http://www.lao.ca.gov/Publications/Report/3417
http://www.lao.ca.gov/Publications/Report/3417
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Other States’ Information 

The states surveyed include Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York.  
These states were selected due to their similarities to California's economy, business entity 
types, and tax laws. 

Illinois, Massachusetts, and Michigan do not offer a child and dependent care expenses credit; 
however, Massachusetts offers a deduction for child and dependent care expenses.  

Minnesota and New York offer a refundable child and dependent care expenses credit. 

Fiscal Impact 

The department’s costs to implement this bill have yet to be determined, but are anticipated to 
be significant.  As the bill moves through the legislative process, costs will be identified and an 
appropriation will be requested, if necessary. 

Economic Impact 

Revenue Estimate 

This bill would result in the following revenue loss: 

Estimated Revenue Impact of SB 1213 as Introduced on February 15, 2018 
For Taxable Years Beginning On or After January 1, 2019 
Assumed Enactment after June 30, 2018 

($ in Millions) 

Fiscal Year Revenue 

2018-2019 - $60.0 

2019-2020 - $100.0 

2020-2021 - $100.0 

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state 
product that could result from this bill.  

Revenue Discussion 

Using Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit data from the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS) and the Franchise Tax Board (FTB), California taxpayers reported approximately  
$400 million in federal Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit in 2015.  This bill would 
increase the California percentage to 50 percent of federal credit for taxpayers with federal AGI 
less than $100,000.  
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After applying the California percentage allowable, the estimated California Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses Credit is $100 million.  Under current law, the amount of credit 
each taxpayer can use is limited by their tax liability.  These taxpayers currently claim an 
estimated $33 million in Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit per year.  However, this 
bill would allow a refund of the credit in excess of the taxpayer’s tax liability.  The estimated 
amount of credit claimed is then increased by 30 percent, to $130 million, to account for 
additional qualified taxpayers that would file returns to claim the refundable credit.  This 
amount is then reduced by the amount of credit currently claimed.  As a result, the estimated 
revenue loss from the refundable credit is $95 million for 2015.  The estimate is then adjusted 
to reflect changes in the economy over time, resulting in an estimated $100 million revenue 
loss in 2019. 

The tax-year estimates are converted to fiscal-year estimates, and then rounded to arrive at 
the amounts shown in the above table. 

Support/Opposition 

Support:  None provided. 

Opposition:  None provided. 

Arguments 

Proponents:  Some may say that in a time when many low- to middle-income working families 
struggle to pay for the rising cost of child and dependent care, making this credit refundable 
would make childcare more affordable to these families. 

Opponents:  Some may argue that there are more effective ways to assist taxpayers with child 
and dependent care costs than providing a refundable tax credit that may be prone to improper 
claims. 

Policy Concerns 

The department is concerned that another refundable credit could increase the trend in refund 
fraud and identity theft.  Historically, both the IRS and the FTB have experienced fraud and 
improper claims with refundable credits.  These concerns are heightened because if a refund 
is determined to be fraudulent; the refund commonly cannot be recovered.  
This bill lacks a sunset date.  Sunset dates generally are provided to allow periodic review of 
the effectiveness of a tax benefit by the Legislature. 

Legislative Staff Contact 

Davi Milam 
Legislative Analyst, FTB 
(916) 845-2551
davi.milam@ftb.ca.gov

Jame Eiserman 
Revenue Manager, FTB 
(916) 845-7484
jame.eiserman@ftb.ca.gov

Diane Deatherage 
Legislative Director, FTB 
(916) 845-6333
diane.deatherage@ftb.ca.gov
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