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History

Subject: Renter Credit/Increase Credit Beginning January 1, 2019

Summary

This bill would increase the amount of the Renter’s Credit under the Personal Income Tax Law.
Recommendation — No position.

Reason for the Bill

The reason for this bill is to provide financial relief for low- and middle-income families.
Effective/Operative Date

As a tax levy, this bill would be effective immediately upon enactment and specifically
operative for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019.

Federal/State Law
Federal law lacks a credit comparable to the state’s Renter’s Credit.

Current state law allows a nonrefundable credit for qualified renters in the following amounts
for tax year 2017:

e $60 for single or married filing separately with an adjusted gross income (AGI) of
$40,078 or less, and

e $120 for married filing jointly, head of household, or qualified widow or widower with an
AGI of $80,156 or less.

Current state law requires the AGI limits to be adjusted annually for inflation.
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This Bill

This bill would, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, modify the Renter’s
Credit by increasing the credit amount and reducing the AGI limitation as follows:

e $250 for single or married filing separately with an adjusted gross income (AGlI) of
$25,000 or less, and

e $500 for married filing jointly, head of household, or qualified widow or widower with an
AGI of $50,000 or less.

Consistent with current law, the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) would be required to adjust the
bill’'s AGI limitations annually for inflation.

Implementation Considerations

Implementing this bill would require some changes to existing tax forms and instructions and
information systems, which could be accomplished during the normal annual update.

Legislative History

AB 181 (Lackey, et al., 2017/2018) would have modified the Renter’s Credit. AB 181 failed to
pass out of the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

AB 1100 (Chen, et al., 2017/2018) would increase the amount of the homeowners’ property tax
exemption and modify the Renter’s Credit. AB 1100 is currently in the Assembly
Appropriations Committee.

AB 2833 (Santiago, 2017/2018) would increase the Renter's Credit amounts when median rent
amounts are high and make the credit refundable. AB 2833 is currently in the Assembly
Revenue and Taxation Committee.

SB 1182 (Anderson, 2017/2018) would, contingent upon an appropriation, increase the
amount of the Renter’s Credit. SB 1182 has been referred to the Senate Governance and
Finance Committee

AB 476 (Chang, 2015/2016) would have increased the amount of homeowners’ property tax
exemption and increased the Renter’s Credit. AB 476 failed to pass out of the Assembly
Revenue and Taxation Committee.

AB 2694 (Lackey, et al., 2015/2016) would have increased the Renter’s Credit and temporarily
eliminated the AGI thresholds. AB 2694 failed to pass out of the Assembly Appropriations
Committee.

SB 1103 (Cannella, 2015/2016) would have increased the Renter’s Credit. SB 1103 failed to
pass out of the Senate Appropriations Committee
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Other States’ Information

The states surveyed include /llinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York.
These states were selected due to their similarities to California's economy, business entity
types, and tax laws.

Michigan allows renters or lessees of homesteads to claim a credit based on 20 percent of the
gross rent paid. A person who rents or leases a homestead, subject to a service charge
instead of property taxes, can claim a credit based on 10 percent of the gross rent paid. Only
the renter or lessee can claim a credit on property that is rented or leased as a homestead.
The maximum credit is $1,200.

New York allows a real property tax credit for residents who have household gross income of
$18,000 or less and pay either real property taxes or rent for their residences. If all members
of the household are under age 65 the maximum credit is $75. If at least one member of the
household is age 65 or older, the maximum credit is $375.

lllinois, Massachusetts, and Minnesota do not have a comparable credit.
Fiscal Impact

The department’s costs to implement this bill have yet to be determined. As the bill moves
through the legislative process, costs will be identified and an appropriation will be requested,
if necessary.

Economic Impact
Revenue Estimate
This bill would result in the following revenue loss:

Estimated Revenue Impact of SB 1212 as Introduced February 15, 2018
For Taxable Years Beginning On or After January 1, 2019
Assumed Enactment after June 30, 2018

($ in Millions)
Fiscal Year Revenue
2018-2019 - $0
2019-2020 - $290
2020-2021 - $300

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state
product that could result from this bill or for the net final payment method of accrual.
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Revenue Discussion

Based on data from the FTB’s Personal Income Tax micro-simulation model, the amount of the
Renter’s Credit that taxpayers currently claim was recalculated using the proposed credit
amounts, annually increasing the credits based on inflation, and then reducing by the amount
currently claimed. The amount of additional credit each taxpayer could use would be limited
by their current tax liability. As a result, the revenue loss from the increase in the available
Renter’s Credit is estimated to be $ 240 million in 2015. The estimate was then adjusted to
reflect changes in the economy over time, resulting in an estimated revenue loss of $290
million in 2019, and $300 million in 2020.

The tax-year estimates are converted to fiscal-year estimates, and then rounded to arrive at
the amounts in the above table.

Support/Opposition
Support: None provided.
Opposition: None provided.
Arguments

Proponents: Some may argue that increasing the Renter’s Credit would provide assistance to
individuals that could enhance their financial security and boost the state’s economy.

Opponents: Some may argue that increasing the Renter’s Credit may discourage
homeownership and encourage landlords to increase rents.
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