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History

Subject: Personal Exemption Credit Increase to $700 for Each Dependent for Taxable Years
Beginning on or after January 1, 2019

Summary

Under the Personal Income Tax Law (PITL), this bill would increase the dependent exemption
credit.

Recommendation — No position.
Reason for the Bill

The reason for this bill is to help families by providing discretionary money that could help
offset the high cost of living in California, including helping families pay for housing, food,
childcare, healthcare, and transportation.

Effective/Operative Date

As a tax levy, this bill would be effective immediately upon enactment and specifically
operative for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019.

Federal/State Law

Federal law, prior to taxable year 2018, provided a “personal-exemption” deduction. An
exemption deduction is a reduction to adjusted gross income (AGI) to arrive at taxable income.
Taxpayers were generally allowed one personal exemption for themselves, and an exemption
for each claimed dependent. Each exemption was worth the same amount, and taxpayers
multiplied the total number of exemptions by the current-year exemption amount. In addition to
the personal exemptions, federal law also provided exemption deductions for senior, blind, and
disabled taxpayers. Each dependent's taxpayer identification number (TIN) must have been
be provided on the federal tax return or the dependent exemption was disallowed.
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For taxable year 2017, the exemption deduction was $4,050. For taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 2018, and before January 1, 2026, federal law suspended the personal
exemptions.” The exemption deductions will resume for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2026.

State Law

State law rather than providing “personal-exemption” deductions, provides “personal-
exemption” tax credits. A tax credit is a dollar-for-dollar reduction to tax.

State law provides various exemption credits, including a personal exemption credit and
exemption credits for dependents, blind persons, and individuals 65 or older. The exemption
credit amounts for the 2017 taxable year are $ 353 per dependent and $ 114 per all other
exemptions.

The exemption credit amounts are indexed annually for inflation. The exemption credits are
not refundable and may not be carried over to future years. Exemption credits begin to phase
out at federal AGI levels in excess of the amounts listed below:

Filing Status AGI (2017)
Single/Married/RDP Filing Separate $187,203
Head of Household $280,808

Married Filing Joint/Qualifying widow(er) $374,411

The exemption credit amount is reduced by $6 for every $2,500 ($1,250 for married filing a
separate return) that the taxpayer's federal AGI exceeds the above threshold amounts, not to
exceed the full amount of the credit. Taxpayers who file a joint return or who file as a surviving
spouse must reduce their credit by $12 for every $2,500.

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, the dependent's TIN must be
provided on the California tax return or the dependent exemption credit will be disallowed.

This Bill

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, this bill would increase the dependent
exemption credit amount subject to the existing AGI limitations from $3532 to $700 per
dependent.

" On December 22, 2017, President Trump signed into law H.R. 1, originally known as the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act
of 2017. Under Public Law (PL) 115-97, the personal exemption deduction for 2018 through 2015 is set at zero
dollars ($ 0), and then resumes for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2026.

2 The dependent exemption credit amount of $353 reflects the base credit of $227 adjusted for inflation pursuant
to R&TC section 17054.
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For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, the increased dependent exemption
amount would be indexed for inflation.

Implementation Considerations

Implementing this bill would require some changes to existing tax forms and instructions and
information systems.

Technical Considerations

The annual adjustment provision provided by this bill in subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of
subdivision (d) is unclear as to how the adjustment would be determined and the year the
adjustment would commence. For clarity, it is recommended that the bill be amended to
specify that the amount would be “adjusted” under subdivision (i) using “January 1, 2020,”
instead of “January 1, 1989.”

Legislative History

SB 31 (Gaines, 2015/2016) would have increased the dependent credit to $652. SB 31 failed
to pass by the constitutional deadline.

SB 874 (Gaines, 2015/2016) would have increased the dependent exemption credit to $371
per dependent. SB 874 failed to pass by the constitutional deadline.

ABX1 18 (Blumenfield, 2011/2012) would have continued the decrease in the dependent
exemption credit to the same amount as the personal exemption credit for taxable years 2011
and 2012. ABX1 18 failed to pass by the constitutional deadline.

ABX3 3 (Evans, Chapter 18, Statutes of 2009) decreased the dependent exemption credit to
the same amount as the personal exemption credit amount for taxable years 2009 and 2010.

SB 952 (Wyland, 2009/2010) and AB 1700 (Gaines, 2009/2010) would have repealed the
reduction of the dependent exemption credit enacted in 2009, and for taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2010, would have increased the dependent exemption credit amount to
the amount it would have been if the reduction had never become operative. Both bills failed
to pass by the constitutional deadline.

Other States’ Information

The states surveyed include /llinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York.
These states were selected due to their similarities to California's economy, business entity
types, and tax laws.

lllinois allows an exemption deduction for taxpayers and their qualifying dependents. For tax
year 2017, the exemption amount was $2,175.

Massachusetts allows a $1,000 exemption deduction for each dependent claimed on the
taxpayer’s federal income tax return.
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Michigan allows an exemption deduction of $4,000 for the taxpayer, the taxpayer’s spouse,
and each dependent.

Minnesota allows a $4,050 exemption deduction for each dependent claimed on the taxpayer’s
federal income tax return.

New York allows a $1,000 exemption deduction for each dependent.
Fiscal Impact

The department’s costs to implement this bill have yet to be determined. As the bill moves
through the legislative process, costs will be identified and an appropriation will be requested,
if necessary.

Economic Impact
Revenue Estimate
This bill would result in the following revenue loss:

Estimated Revenue Impact of SB 1176 as Introduced February 14, 2018
For Taxable Years Beginning On or After January 1, 2019
Assumed Enactment after June 30, 2018

($ in Millions)
Fiscal Year Revenue
2018-2019 - $850
2019-2020 - $1,500
2020-2021 - $1,600

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state
product that could result from this bill.

Revenue Discussion

Based on data from the Franchise Tax Board’s PITL micro-simulation model, the amount of
dependent exemption credits that taxpayers currently claim was recalculated using the
proposed credit amounts, and then reduced by the amount currently claimed. The amount of
additional credit each taxpayer could use would be limited by their current tax liability. As a
result, the revenue loss from the increase in the dependent exemption is estimated to be
$1.5 billion in the 2019 taxable year. The exemption amounts were indexed for inflation
beginning in 2020.

The tax-year estimates are converted to fiscal-year estimates, and then rounded to arrive at
the amounts shown in the above table.
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Support/Opposition
Support: None provided.
Opposition: None provided.
Arguments

Proponents: Supporters may say that this bill would increase the disposable income of
California’s working families and strengthen the state’s economy.

Opponents: Some may argue that this bill should be broadened to increase the personal
exemption credit in an effort to assist all California taxpayers rather than only those taxpayers
with dependents.

Legislative Staff Contact

Davi Milam Jame Eiserman Diane Deatherage

Legislative Analyst, FTB Revenue Manager, FTB Legislative Director, FTB
(916) 845-2551 (916) 845-7484 (916) 845-6333
davi.milam@ftb.ca.gov jame.eiserman@ftb.ca.gov diane.deatherage@ftb.ca.gov
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