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Subject:  Employer Wages Paid to Disabled Employees  

Summary 

This bill would, under the Personal Income Tax Law (PITL) and Corporation Tax Law (CTL), 
create an income tax credit for certain employers that hire employees eligible to be paid a 
“special minimum wage” and pay them at least the regular minimum wage. 

Recommendation – No position. 

Reason for the Bill 

The reason for the bill is to encourage employers to employ individuals that may be paid a 
“special minimum wage” and to pay them at least the minimum wage.  

Effective/Operative Date 

As a tax levy, this bill would be operative immediately upon enactment and specifically 
operative for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, and before January 1, 2024. 

PROGRAM BACKGROUND 

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act1 authorizes employers, after receiving a certificate from 
the Wage and Hour Division of the Federal Department of Labor, to pay a “special minimum 
wage” to individuals whose earning or productive capacity is impaired by age, physical or 
mental deficiency, or injury.  A special minimum wage is less than the federal minimum wage 
and is determined on a case by case basis.  

The California Labor Code2 specifies that tor any occupation in which a minimum wage has 
been established, the commission may issue to an employee who is mentally or physically 
handicapped, or both, a special license authorizing the employment of the licensee for a period 

                                            

 

1 Section 14(c) [29 U.S.C. §214(c)]. 
2 Labor Code section 1191. 
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not to exceed one year from date of issue, at a wage less than the legal minimum wage.  The 
commission shall fix a special minimum wage for the licensee.  Such license may be renewed 
on a yearly basis. 

Federal/State Law 

Existing federal law provides special tax incentives for empowerment zones and enterprise 
communities to provide economic revitalization of distressed urban and rural areas.  

Current state and federal laws generally allow taxpayers engaged in a trade or business to 
deduct all expenses that are considered ordinary and necessary in conducting that trade or 
business.   

Current state law allows a New Employment Credit that is available to a qualified taxpayer that 
hires a qualified full-time employee, has an overall net increase in employment, and pays or 
incurs qualified wages attributable to work performed by the qualified full-time employee in a 
designated census tract or former Enterprise Zone.  The qualified taxpayer must receive a 
tentative credit reservation from the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) for that qualified full-time 
employee. 

As of January 1, 2019, California’s minimum wage is generally $11 per hour3 for those 
employers with 25 or fewer employees and $12 per hour for those with 26 or more employees.  

This Bill 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, and before January 1, 2024, under 
the PITL and CTL, this bill would allow a credit to a qualified employer that pays a qualified 
employee a wage that equals or exceeds the state minimum wage during the taxable year.  
The credit would be in an amount equal to the difference between the special minimum wage 
paid or incurred to the qualified employee and the minimum wage, multiplied by the number of 
hours worked by the qualified employee for the qualified employer during the taxable year.  

The bill would define the following terms:  

 “Minimum wage” means the wage established by the Industrial Welfare Commission. 
 “Qualified employee” means an individual who may be paid a special minimum wage, 

pursuant to Section 214 (c) of Title 29 of the United States Code or Section 1191 or 
1191.5 of the Labor Code, that is subject to withholding under the Unemployment 
Insurance Code.   

 “Qualified employer” means a taxpayer that employs a qualified employee in this state.  

                                            

 

3 Labor Code section 1182.12.  Those employees classified as “learners” may be paid a lesser wage.  See Labor 
Code section 1192.  Additionally, those employees that are the parent, spouse, or child of the employer are not 
subject to the minimum wage requirement.  
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In the case of any pass-thru entity, the determination of whether a taxpayer is a qualified 
employer would be made at the entity level and any credit under this bill would be allowed to 
the pass-thru entity and passed through to the partners or shareholders. 

 For purposes of this bill, the term “pass-thru entity” would mean any partnership or  
S Corporation. 

A qualified employer would be required to do both of the following: 

 Obtain from the Industrial Welfare Commission a certification that a qualified employee 
meets the eligibility requirements, as specified.  The certification would include the 
dollar amount of special minimum wage applicable to each qualified employee. 

 Retain the certification and provide a copy of it upon request to the FTB. 

This bill would allow the FTB to prescribe rules, guidelines, or procedures necessary or 
appropriate to implement the credit and exempt from the requirements of the Administrative 
Procedure Act any standard, criterion, procedure, determination, rule, notice or guideline 
issued by the FTB.  

Unused credits could be carried over for up to five years.  

Any deduction otherwise allowed would be required to be reduced by the credit allowed. 

On or before June 1, 2024, the FTB would be required to submit a report to the Legislature that 
contains the following:  

 The number of Californians with developmental disabilities employed during each year 
this bill is operative, 

 The number of employers who used and applied for a credit each year, and 
 The number of employees for whom a credit was authorized by this bill was claimed. 

The bill states that it is the intent of the legislature to comply with the provisions of Section 41. 

This bill would remain in effect only until December 1, 2024, and would be repealed as of that 
date.  

Implementation Considerations 

The department has identified the following implementation concern.  Department staff is 
available to work with the author’s office to resolve this and other concerns that may be 
identified.  

The FTB would be required to report the number of Californians with developmental disabilities 
employed during the year.  It is unclear how the FTB could determine this reporting 
requirement or whether another state agency currently gathers this information.  It is 
recommended that this reporting requirement be removed or assigned to an appropriate state 
agency.  
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Legislative History 

AB 1629 (Maienschein, 2017/2018) substantially similar to this bill, would have allowed a credit 
for employers that hire employees eligible to be paid a special minimum wage and chose to 
pay them at or above the minimum wage.  AB 1629 failed to pass out of the Assembly by the 
constitutional deadline. 

AB 1404 (Grove, 2015/2016) substantially similar to this bill, would have allowed a credit for 
employers that hire employees eligible to be paid a special minimum wage and chose to pay 
them at or above the minimum wage.  AB 1404 failed to pass out of the house of origin by the 
constitutional deadline. 

AB 2582 (Maienschein, 2015/2016) substantially similar to this bill, would have allowed a credit 
for employers that hire employees eligible to be paid a special minimum wage and chose to 
pay them at or above minimum wage.  AB 2582 failed to pass out of the house of origin by the 
constitutional deadline. 

AB 236 (Swanson, 2011/2012) would have allowed a credit of $5,000 for each full-time 
employee hired that is either an ex-offender or has been unemployed for 12 consecutive 
months.  AB 236 failed to pass out of the Assembly Appropriations Committee by the 
constitutional deadline. 

AB 304 (Knight, 2011/2012), would have allowed a credit of either $3,000 or $5,000 for each 
qualified employee that was paid wages greater than or equal to 200 percent of the average 
wage in the county in which the employee completes at least 50 percent of their work.  AB 304 
failed to pass out of the Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee by the constitutional 
deadline.  

Other States’ Information 

Review of Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York laws found no 
comparable tax credits relating to a special minimum wage.  These states were selected and 
reviewed due to their similarities to California's economy, business entity types, and tax laws. 

Fiscal Impact 

The department’s costs to implement this bill have yet to be determined.  As the bill moves 
through the legislative process, costs will be identified. 

Economic Impact 

Revenue Estimate 

This bill would result in the following revenue loss: 

Estimated Revenue Impact of AB 3127 as Introduced February 16, 2018 
For Taxable Years Beginning On or After January 1, 2019 
Assumed Enactment after June 30, 2018  
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($ in Millions) 

Fiscal Year Revenue 

2018-2019 - $1.3 

2019-2020 - $5.0 

2020-2021 - $10.0 

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state 
product that could result from this bill or for the net final payment method of accrual.  

Revenue Discussion 

The revenue impact of this bill would depend on the number of California employers who have 
qualified employees who are certified special minimum wage workers and are paid the 
prevailing minimum wage in California. 

Using US Department of Labor statistics for certificate holders, the number of workers paid 
special minimum wages in California would be approximately 20,900 in 2019.  It is assumed 
that 10 percent of these disabled persons work for for-profit entities that would claim this credit. 
It is further assumed that for-profit employers would learn about the new law over time and 
gradually increase wages paid to qualified employees.  It is estimated that, 20 percent of for-
profit employers would generate a credit in 2019, 50 percent in 2020, 85 percent in 2021, and 
90 percent each year thereafter.  It is assumed this bill would provide a small incentive for 
hiring disabled employees and the estimated number of qualified employees would increase 
10 percent each year. 

Using studies prepared by the US General Accounting Office on the special minimum wage, it 
is estimated the average special minimum wage worker would be paid 50 percent of 
California's minimum wage rate.  Under current California law, the minimum wage is scheduled 
to increase incrementally each year.  The minimum wage in California would be $12 in 2019, 
$13 in 2020, and increase to $15 by 2022.  Taxpayers would earn a credit for the difference 
between the special minimum wage and the California minimum wage.  In 2019, the average 
special minimum wage is estimated to be $6.00 per hour.  The estimated average credit would 
be equal to $6.00 per employee per hour of wages earned ($12.00 - $6.00 = $6.00).  Assuming 
each qualified employee works 20 hours per week and 50 weeks per year, the total estimated 
tax credit generated would be $2.8 million in 2019, $7.8 million in 2020, and $15 million in 
2021. 

It is assumed that 80 percent of the credit generated would be used in the year generated and 
the remaining credits would be used over the next several years.  Adjustments were made to 
account for the offsetting tax effect of the reduced wage deduction that would be otherwise 
allowed under current law.  

The tax-year estimates are converted to fiscal years and then rounded to arrive at the amounts 
reflected in the above table. 
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Support/Opposition 

Support:  None provided. 

Opposition:  None provided. 

Arguments 

Proponents:  Some may argue that this bill could increase the amount paid to employees that 
receive a “special minimum wage” designation by providing employers with a tax credit to 
encourage higher pay for these employees. 

Opponents:  Some may argue that providing a tax credit limited to employees that may be paid 
a “special minimum wage” may be overly narrow and inadvertently exclude other groups of 
employees who could benefit from an incentive to pay higher wages. 

Policy Concerns 

The requirement that employees be located in this state may be interpreted to discourage 
intrastate commerce. Because the wages are already subject to California withholding, this 
requirement may be unnecessary.   

Legislative Staff Contact 

Jessica Deitchman 
Legislative Analyst, FTB 
(916) 845-6310
jessica.deitchman@ftb.ca.gov

Jame Eiserman 
Revenue Manager, FTB 
(916) 845-7484
jame.eiserman@ftb.ca.gov

Diane Deatherage 
Legislative Director, FTB 
(916) 845-6333
diane.deatherage@ftb.ca.gov
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