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SUBJECT:  Minimum Franchise and Annual Tax/Reduce to $100 for 1st or 2nd Taxable  
Year 

SUMMARY 

This bill would, under the Personal Income Tax Law and the Corporation Tax Law, reduce the 
minimum franchise or annual tax for new entities in California.  

RECOMMENDATION – NO POSITION 

REASON FOR THE BILL 

The reason for this bill is to provide tax relief for entities forming in California, by reducing the 
minimum franchise or annual tax. 

EFFECTIVE/OPERATIVE DATE 

As a tax levy, this bill would be effective immediately upon enactment and specifically 
operative for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018. 

FEDERAL/STATE LAW 

Federal law lacks a corporation minimum tax 

Unless specifically exempted by statute, every corporation that is organized or qualified to do 
business or doing business in this state (whether organized in state or out-of-state) is subject 
to the minimum franchise tax.  Taxpayers must pay the minimum franchise tax only if it is more 
than their measured franchise tax.  For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1997, 
only taxpayers whose net income is less than approximately $9,040 pay the minimum 
franchise tax because their measured tax would be less than $800 ($9,039 x 8.84% = $799). 

Every corporation that incorporates or qualifies to do business in this state on or after  
January 1, 2000, is exempt from the minimum franchise tax for its first taxable year.  This 
exemption does not apply to any corporation that reorganizes solely for the purpose of 
avoiding payment of its minimum franchise tax.  It also does not apply to limited partnerships 
(LPs), limited liability companies (LLCs) not classified as corporations, limited liability 
partnerships (LLPs), charitable organizations, regulated investment companies, real estate 
investment trusts, real estate mortgage investment conduits, financial asset securitization 
investment trusts, and qualified Subchapter S subsidiaries. 

Real estate mortgage investment conduits are subject to and required to pay the minimum 
franchise tax.  Regulated investment companies and real estate investment trusts organized 
as corporations also are subject to and required to pay the minimum franchise tax. 

Franchise Tax Board 
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Under existing state law, the annual tax on LP’s, LLC’s not classified as corporations, and 
LLP’s is set at $800 by reference to the minimum franchise tax. 

THIS BILL 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, this bill would allow every: 

 New LLC, LLP, and LP that is a small business to pay an annual tax of $100 for its first 
taxable year. 

 New corporation that is a small business to pay a minimum franchise tax of $100 for its 
second taxable year. 

The bill provides the following definitions: 

 “New Limited Liability Company,” “New Limited Liability Partnership,” “New Partnership,” 
or “New Corporation” means an LLC, LLP, LP or corporation that on or after  
January 1, 2018, is organized under the laws of this state or has qualified to transact 
intrastate business in this state that begins business operations at or after the time of its 
organization.  “New LLC, LLP, LP, or Corporation” does not include any LLC, LLP, LP or 
corporation that began business operations as, or acquired its business operations 
from, a sole proprietorship, an LLC, LLP, LP or corporation, or any other form of 
business entity prior to its organization. 

 “Gross receipts, less return and allowances reportable to this state,” means the sum of 
the gross receipts from the production of business income,1 and the gross receipts from 
the production of nonbusiness income.2 

 “Small business” means an LLP or LP that has, or an LLC or corporation that 
reasonably estimates it will have, gross receipts, less returns and allowances, 
reportable to this state for the taxable year of $5,000 or less.  If the gross receipts, less 
returns and allowances, of an LLC or corporation for a taxable year exceeds $5,000, an 
additional tax of $100 is due and payable on the due date for the return, without regard 
to extension.     

The bill states that the reduction would be unavailable to any LLC, LLP, LP or corporation that: 
(1) fails to file a return on the due date of its return, without regard to extension, for that year; 
or (2) that reorganizes solely for the purpose of reducing its annual tax. 

IMPLEMENTATION CONSIDERATIONS 

The department has identified the following implementation concern.  Department staff is 
available to work with the author’s office to resolve this and other concerns that may be 
identified. 

                                            

 

1 As defined in Section 25120(a). 
2 As defined in Section 25120(d). 
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An LLC, LLP, LP or corporation that organized prior to the effective date of this bill that meets 
the definition of a “New LLC, LLP, LP or Corporation” would qualify for a reduced minimum 
franchise tax; therefore, existing business entities, not just new business entities, could qualify 
for this bill’s exemption.  If this is contrary to the author’s intent, this bill should be amended.  

TECHNICAL CONSIDERATIONS 

On page 6, line 34, in the LLC provisions, the word “corporation” should be replaced by the 
phrase “limited liability company”. 

On page 8, line 13, the phrase “limited partnership” should be replace by the phrase “limited 
liability partnership”.  

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY 

AB 1432 (Melendez, 2017/2018) would eliminate the minimum franchise tax for every new 
corporation for the first five taxable years.  AB 1432 was introduced on February 17, 2017. 

SB 248 (Morrell, 2017/2018) would eliminate the annual tax for the first taxable year and 
reduce the minimum franchise or annual tax to $400 for new, small business corporations, 
LLCs, LLP, and LPs. SB 248 was introduced on February 7, 2017. 

AB 612 (Patterson, 2015/2016) would have reduced the annual tax to $400 for new, small 
business LLCs, LLPs, and LPs. AB 612 failed passage out of the Assembly by the 
constitutional deadline. 

AB 328 (Grove, 2015/2016) would have eliminated the minimum franchise tax or annual tax for 
new veteran-owned small corporations and LLCs.  AB 328 failed passage out of the Assembly 
by the constitutional deadline. 

AB 1769 (Dababneh, 2013/2014) would have exempted certain small business LLCs from the 
minimum franchise tax for up to two taxable years.  AB 1769 failed passage out of the 
Assembly by the constitutional deadline.  

AB 1889 (Hagman, 2013/2014) would have exempted certain small business entities from the 
minimum franchise tax for up to the first two taxable years.  AB 1889 failed passage out of the 
Assembly by the constitutional deadline.  

AB 2428 (Patterson, 2013/2014) would have eliminated the minimum franchise tax for new 
business entities for up to five taxable years.  AB 2428 failed passage out of the Assembly by 
the constitutional deadline.  
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AB 2466 (Nestande, et al., 2013/2014) would have reduced or eliminated the annual fee or 
minimum franchise tax for certain veteran-owned small business LLCs and corporations.   
AB 2466 failed passage out of the Assembly by the constitutional deadline.  

AB 2495 (Melendez, 2013/2014) would have eliminated the minimum franchise tax for new 
business entities for up to five taxable years.  AB 2495 failed passage out of the Assembly by 
the constitutional deadline.  

SB 641 (Anderson, 2013/2014) would have eliminated the minimum franchise tax for certain 
new corporations for the first four taxable years.  SB 641 failed passage out of the Senate by 
the constitutional deadline.  

AB 166 (Cook, 2011/2012) would have eliminated the minimum franchise tax.  AB 166 failed 
passage out of the Assembly by the constitutional deadline. 

AB 368 (Morrell, 2011/2012) would have reduced the minimum franchise tax to $400 for 
qualified small businesses.  AB 368 failed passage out of the Assembly by the constitutional 
deadline.  

AB 821 (Garrick, 2011/2012) would have reduced the minimum franchise tax from $800 to 
$100 for a small business for the first ten years of operation.  AB 821 failed passage out of the 
Assembly by the constitutional deadline.  

AB1605 (Garrick, 2011/2012) would have exempted specified entities from the minimum 
franchise tax or annual tax and reduced the minimum franchise tax or annual tax to $99 for 
specified entities that commence business on or after January 1, 2013.  AB 1605 failed 
passage out of the Assembly by the constitutional deadline.  

OTHER STATES’ INFORMATION 

The states surveyed include Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New 
York.  These states were selected due to their similarities to California's economy, business 
entity types, and tax laws.   

Florida, Michigan, and Minnesota do not impose a minimum tax on business entities.  

Illinois imposes a $25 minimum tax on corporations.  

Massachusetts imposes a $456 minimum tax on corporations.  

New York imposes a minimum tax on corporations of $25 to $5,000 based on the corporation's 
in-state receipts.   

FISCAL IMPACT 

The department’s costs to implement this bill have yet to be determined.  As the bill moves 
through the legislative process, costs will be identified and an appropriation will be requested, 
if necessary. 
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ECONOMIC IMPACT 

Revenue Estimate 

This bill would result in the following revenue loss: 

Estimated Revenue Impact of AB 1256 
As Introduced February 17, 2017 

Assumed Enactment After June 30, 2017 
($ in Millions) 

2017-18 2018-19 2019-20 
- $14 - $47 - $70 

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state 
product that could result from this bill.  

Revenue Discussion 

Based on new business registration data from the Secretary of State and data from the 
Franchise Tax Board for years 2009-2016, it is estimated that in 2018 approximately 85,000 
corporations, and 45,000 new LLCs, LLPs, and LPs would register and be doing business per 
the limitations specified in this bill. 

The estimated revenue loss for 2018 does not include corporations because they are not 
subject to minimum franchise tax in their first year of operation under current law.  However, 
approximately 35,000 LLCs, LLPs and LPs would be subject to the annual tax and benefit from 
the reduced tax in tax year 2018, resulting in an estimated revenue loss of $25 million.  For the 
2019 tax year, it is estimated that 40,000 first year LLCs, LLPs and LPs and 60,000 second 
year corporations would benefit from the reduced minimum franchise tax and annual tax for a 
total estimated revenue loss of $70 million.  

This estimate includes an increase for existing LLCs, LLPs, LPs or corporations organized 
prior to the effective date of this bill as addressed in the implementation concern above. 

The tax year estimates are converted to fiscal year estimates, and then rounded to arrive at 
the estimates shown in the above table.  

SUPPORT/OPPOSITION 

Support:  None provided.  

Opposition:  None provided.  

ARGUMENTS 

Proponents:  Some may argue that the bill would give much needed tax relief to newly 
established small businesses in California and thus assisting them to remain in business. 
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Opponents:  Some may argue that reducing the minimum tax due from a small business for 
the first or second taxable year is inadequate to relieve the financial stress faced by new 
businesses and would overly complicate tax administration.  

LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 

Jessica Deitchman 
Legislative Analyst, FTB 
(916) 845-6310 
jessica.deitchman@ftb.ca.gov 

Jame Eiserman 
Revenue Manager, FTB 
(916) 845-7484 
jame.eiserman@ftb.ca.gov 

Diane Deatherage  
Legislative Director, FTB 
(916) 845-6333 
diane.deatherage@ftb.ca.gov 
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