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SUBJECT:  Renter’s Credit/Homeowner’s Property Tax Exemption/ Increase Credit and 
Exemption Amount 

SUMMARY 

This bill would increase the amount of the homeowners’ property tax exemption and modify the 
Renter’s Credit under the Personal Income Tax Law. 

RECOMMENDATION – NO POSITION 

REASON FOR THE BILL 

The reason for this bill is to reduce the financial burden on taxpayers by increasing the 
property tax exemption and the renters’ credit. 

EFFECTIVE/OPERATIVE DATE 

As a tax levy, this bill would be effective immediately upon enactment and specifically 
operative beginning with the 2018-2019 lien year for the property tax exemption and for 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, for the Renter’s Credit. 

FEDERAL/STATE LAW 

Homeowners’ Property Tax Exemption  

California conforms to federal law and allows real estate taxes as an itemized deduction.  An 
itemized deduction is an eligible expense that individual taxpayers can report on their tax 
return in order to decrease their taxable income.  

Current state law requires a taxpayer who owns real estate not used for business to be 
assessed a tax on that property at a specified percentage.  The county where the property is 
located generally assesses this tax.  The first $7,000 of the full value of a homeowners’ 
dwelling is exempt from that property tax. 

Renters’ Credit 

Federal law lacks a credit comparable to the state’s Renter’s Credit. 

Current state law allows a nonrefundable credit for qualified renters in the following amounts 
for tax year 2016: 

 $120 for spouses filing joint returns, heads of household, and surviving spouses, 

with an adjusted gross income (AGI) of $78,125 or less. 

Franchise Tax Board 
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 $60 for all other individuals with an adjusted gross income (AGI) of $39,062 or less.  
 Current state law requires the AGI limits to be adjusted annually for inflation.  There is 

no provision under current law for an annual adjustment to the credit amount.  
 The California Constitution requires the Legislature to provide increases in benefits to 

qualified renters that are comparable to the average increase in benefits provided to 
homeowners under the homeowners’ property tax exemption.  However, if the 
Legislature increases the Renter’s Credit, no increase in the amount of the 
homeowners' property tax exemption is required.  

THIS BILL 

Homeowners’ Property Tax Exemption  

This bill would increase the homeowners’ property tax exemption from $7,000 to $25,000 
beginning with the lien date for the 2018-2019 fiscal year, thus reducing the property tax paid 
for purposes of the income tax deduction.  

Beginning on the lien date for the 2019-20 fiscal year and each fiscal year thereafter, the 
assessor would adjust the exemption amount of the prior fiscal year by the percentage change 
in the House Price Index for California. 

Renter’s Credit 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, this bill would increase the amount of 
Renter’s Credit as follows: 

 From $120 to $428 for spouses filing joint returns, heads of household, and surviving 
spouses with an AGI of $ 82,090 (estimated) or less; and 

 From $60 to $214 for other individual taxpayers with an AGI of $41,045 (estimated) or 
less. 

The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) would be required to annually adjust the amount of the 
renters’ credit by the Consumer Price Index beginning with the 2019 taxable year. 

IMPLEMENTATION CONSIDERATIONS 

Implementing this bill would require some changes to existing tax forms and instructions and 
information systems, which could be accomplished during the normal annual update. 

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY  

AB 476 (Chang, 2015/2016) would have increased the amount of homeowners’ property tax 
exemption and increased the Renter’s Credit.  AB 476 failed to pass the Assembly Revenue 
and Taxation Committee. 

AB 2694 (Lackey, et al., 2015/2016) would have increased the Renter’s Credit and temporarily 
eliminated the AGI thresholds for 2016-2019.  AB 2694 failed to pass out of the Assembly 
Appropriations Committee. 
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SB 1103 (Cannella, 2015/2016) would have increased the Renter’s Credit.  SB 1103 failed to 
pass out of the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

SB 1216 (Morrell, 2013/2014) would have increased the amount of homeowners’ property tax 
exemption and increased the Renter’s Credit.  SB 1216 failed to pass out of the Senate by the 
constitutional deadline. 

AB 2097 (Morrell, 2013/2014) would have increased the amount of homeowners’ property tax 
exemption and increased the Renter’s Credit.  AB 2097 failed to pass the Assembly Revenue 
and Taxation Committee.  

OTHER STATES’ INFORMATION 

The states surveyed include Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York.  
These states were selected due to their similarities to California's economy, business entity 
types, and tax laws.   

Michigan allows renters or lessees of homesteads to claim a credit based on 20 percent of the 
gross rent paid.  A person who rents or leases a homestead, subject to a service charge 
instead of property taxes, can claim a credit based on 10 percent of the gross rent paid.  Only 
the renter or lessee can claim a credit on property that is rented or leased as a homestead.  
The maximum credit is $1,200.     

New York allows a real property tax credit for residents who have household gross income of 
$18,000 or less and pay either real property taxes or rent for their residences.  If all members 
of the household are under age 65, the maximum credit is $75.  If at least one member of the 
household is age 65 or older, the maximum credit is $375. 

Illinois, Massachusetts, and Minnesota do not have a comparable credit.   

FISCAL IMPACT 

This bill would not significantly impact the department’s costs. 

ECONOMIC IMPACT 

Revenue Estimate 

This bill would result in the following revenue impact: 

Estimated Revenue Impact of AB 1100*  
As Introduced February 17, 2017 

Assumed Enactment After June 30, 2017 
($ in Millions) 

 2017-18 2018-19 2019-20 
Homeowners’ Exemption $0 + $30 + $60 
Renter’s Credit $0 - $220 - $230 
Total $0 - $190 - $170 
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*This estimate does not include reimbursement for any costs to local agencies and school 
districts attributable to this bill. 

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state 
product that could result from this bill.  

Revenue Discussion 

This bill would increase the homeowner’s exemption and the renter’s credit. 

Homeowners’ Property Tax Exemption 

According to the Board of Equalization, the increase in the homeowner’s exemption results in 
an estimated property tax savings of approximately $1 billion for taxable year 2016.  Based on 
this savings, FTB estimates that itemizing taxpayers would report $900 million less in property 
taxes as itemized deductions on their California tax return, increasing their state taxable 
income.  The estimate was then adjusted to reflect changes in the economy over time.  
Applying a 6 percent tax rate to the $900 million would result in an estimated revenue gain of 
$30 million for taxable year 2018 and $60 million for taxable year 2019. 

Renter’s Credit  

Using departmental Renter's Credit data, the amount of credit for taxpayers currently claiming 
the credit was recalculated using the proposed credit amounts, and then reduced by the 
amount currently claimed.  Next, the amount available to taxpayers in the expanded AGI 
ranges was calculated.  In the expanded AGI ranges, the estimate assumes that the share of 
returns filed claiming the Renter's Credit would be similar to those who currently claim the 
credit.  The amount of additional credit each taxpayer could use would be limited by their 
current tax liability.  As a result, the revenue loss from the increase in the available Renter’s 
Credit is estimated to be $190 million in 2017.  The estimate was then adjusted to reflect 
changes in the economy over time, resulting in an estimated $210 million revenue loss in 
2017. 

The tax year estimates are converted to fiscal year estimates, and then rounded to arrive at 
the estimates shown in the above table.  

The tax year estimates are converted to fiscal year estimates, and then rounded to arrive at 
the amounts shown in the above table.  

SUPPORT/OPPOSITION 

Support:  None provided. 

Opposition:  None provided. 
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ARGUMENTS 

Proponents:  Some may argue that increasing the Renter’s Credit would provide assistance 
to individuals that could enhance their financial security and boost the state’s economy.  

Opponents:  Some may argue that increasing the Renter’s Credit may discourage 
homeownership and encourage landlords to increase rents.  Additionally increase in the 
homeowner’s property tax exemption amount could adversely affect revenues otherwise 
needed for critical firefighting and public safety services.  

LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 

Funmi Obatolu 
Legislative Analyst, FTB 
(916) 845-5845
funmi.obatolu@ftb.ca.gov

Jame Eiserman 
Revenue Manager, FTB 
(916) 845-7484
jame.eiserman@ftb.ca.gov

Diane Deatherage  
Legislative Director, FTB 
(916) 845-6333
diane.deatherage@ftb.ca.gov
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