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TITLE 18. FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PROPOSED REGULATIONS  

 

 

Text of Modified Regulations 

 

The original proposed amended text is in single underline with single strikeout for proposed 

deletions. Changes made to Regulation Sections 18662-3, 18662-4 and 18662-8 as 

explained in the April 24, 2019 notice are illustrated by double strikeout for the proposed 

deletions and double underline for the proposed additions. 

 

California Code of Regulations Title 18 

Division 3, Chapter 2.6, Subchapter 2,  

Article 5, Regulation Section 18662-3 

 

Section 18662-3 is amended to read: 

 

§ 18662-3. Real Estate Withholding.  

 

(a) General. Withholding of tax at source is required on any disposition from the sale or 

exchange of California real estate by a seller/transferor California resident and nonresident 

individuals and non-California business entities. The rate of withholding is 3 1/3 percent of 

the sales price, but the seller/transferor may elect an alternate alternative withholding 

calculation based on the gain required to be recognized from the sale as set forth in FTB 

Form 593-E, Real Estate Withholding StatementComputation of Estimated Gain or Loss, or 

any successor form designated by the Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov 

("FTB Form 593-E"). The required information specified in FTB Form 593-E is set forth in 

subsection (h), below.  The requirement to withhold is the responsibility of the 

buyer/transferee, but may be performed by the real estate escrow person on the 

buyer's/transferee’s behalf. No withholding is required under the provisions set forth in 

Revenue and Taxation Code section 18662, subdivision (e)(3), or if an exemption certificate, 

on FTB Form 593-C, Real Estate Withholding Certificate, or any successor form designated 

by the Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 593-C"), is 

completed, signed, and submitted to the real estate escrow person prior to the close of 

escrow. The required information specified in FTB Form 593-C is set forth in subsection (i), 

below.  For example, the seller/transferor may certify on FTB Form 593-C that the property 

was the seller's/transferor’s principal residence or that no gain is recognized from the sale.  

The Franchise Tax Board may audit escrow documents to verify compliance.   

 

(b) Statutory Basis and Rates.  Revenue and Taxation Code section 18662, subdivision 

(e), requires withholding of tax at source from any disposition, sale or transfer of California 

real property at an amount equal to 3 1/3 percent of the sales price, unless an election is 

made to use an alternative withholding calculation based on gain required to be recognized 

from the sale on FTB Form 593-E. The alternative withholding calculation shall be based on 

the maximum applicable tax rate under Revenue and Taxation Code sections 17041, 

23151, and 23186.   
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(c) Who Must Withhold - Required Notification and Responsibility.   

 

(1) Notification.  Revenue and Taxation Code section 18668, subdivision (e)(1), 

requires the real estate escrow person to provide the buyer/transferee with written 

notice of the withholding requirements, unless the buyer/transferee is an intermediary 

or accommodator in a deferred exchange. 

 

(2) Penalties for Failure to Provide Notice.  If the real estate escrow person fails to 

provide the buyer/transferee with written notice, a penalty may be assessed of $500 

or 10 percent of the amount required to be withheld, whichever is greater, unless it is 

shown that the failure to notify the buyer/transferee is due to reasonable cause. 

 

(3) The Real Estate Escrow Person May Assist the Buyer/Transferee With the 

Buyer's/Transferee’s Withholding Obligations.  Once the buyer/transferee is notified, it 

is the buyer’s/transferee’s responsibility to withhold. However, the real estate escrow 

person may assist the buyer/transferee in complying with the withholding 

requirements by performing or assisting in the withholding, remitting the required 

withholding, and completing FTB Form 593, Real Estate Withholding Statement, or any 

successor form designated by the Franchise Tax Board on its website at 

www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 593"), and FTB Form 593-V, Payment Voucher for Real 

Estate Withholding, or any successor form designated by the Franchise Tax Board on 

its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 593-V"). The required information specified in 

FTB Form 593 and FTB Form 593-V is set forth in subsection (j)(h) and subsection 

(k)(i), respectively, below. The real estate escrow person may charge a fee for this 

assistance not to exceed the amount set forth in Revenue and Taxation Code section 

18662, subdivision (e).   

 

(d) Exemption and Withholding Requirements.  No withholding is required if the 

seller/transferor establishes one of the following under subsection (d)(1) or (d)(2): 

 

(1) Full Exemption Under FTB Form 593-C.  The Franchise Tax Board on FTB Form 

593-C may establish that no withholding is required in the following instances: 

 

(A) Seller/Transferor is a Corporation or Partnership.  No withholding is required 

for a corporation or partnership incorporated or qualified to do business in 

California (or where the entity continues to have a permanent place of business 

and maintains a permanent staff within California after the sale.)  Where the 

seller/transferor is a disregarded entity for tax purposes, no withholding is 

required if the owner of the disregarded entity  is incorporated or qualified to do 

business in California or continues to have a permanent place of business and 

maintains a permanent staff within California after the sale. 

 

(B) Total Sales Price of $100,000 or Less.  No withholding is required unless 

the sales price of the real property conveyed exceeds $100,000. "Total The "sales 

price" is normally the same amount as the "gross proceeds" required for 

information reporting purposes as shown on the federal form 1099-S. (See 

Treasury Regulation section 1.6045-4.) 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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(C) Deferred Exchange.  No withholding is required other than by an 

intermediary or an accommodator in a deferred exchangeunless written 

notification of the withholding requirements (set forth in Revenue and Taxation 

Code section 18662, subdivision (e)) has been provided by the real estate escrow 

person. An intermediary or an accommodator in a deferred exchange is required 

to withhold, even if the real estate escrow person fails to provide written notice. 

 

(D) Foreclosure.  No withholding is required as part of a foreclosure when the 

buyer/transferee acquires California real property under one of the following 

circumstances: 

 

1. At a sale pursuant to a power of sale under a mortgage or deed of 

trust. 

2. At a sale pursuant to a decree of foreclosure. 

3. By a deed in lieu of foreclosure. 

 

(E) Bank Acting as a Trustee.  No withholding is required when the 

seller/transferor is a bank acting as a trustee, other than a trustee of a deed of 

trust. 

 

(2) Transfers Requiring an Exemption Certificate to Exempt the Sale From 

Withholding on FTB Form 593-C.  No withholding is required if the transferor or 

seller/transferor completes and signs an exemption certificate on FTB Form 593-C 

stating, under penalty of perjury, that one of the following applies: 

 

(A) Principal Residence.  No withholding is required if the seller certifies that the 

property conveyed was his or her principal residence within the meaning of 

Internal Revenue Code section 121, as incorporated and modified by the 

Revenue and Taxation Code, or that the last use of the property was as the 

seller’s/transferor's principal residence. 

 

1. Generally, a home will qualify as a principal residence if, during the 

five-year period ending on the date of sale, the seller/transferor owned and 

used the property as his or her main home for at least two years. 

2. There are exceptions to the two-year rule if the primary reason the 

seller/transferor is selling the home is due to a change in the place of 

employment, health, or other unforeseen circumstance, such as death, 

divorce, or loss of job.  (See Internal Revenue Code section 121 and 

Treasury Regulation sections 1.121-1 through 1.121-5.)  

3. If the property does not qualify for an exclusion under Internal Revenue 

Code section 121, the seller/transferor may claim the exclusion from 

withholding if the property was last used as the seller's/transferor’s principal 

residence within the meaning of Internal Revenue Code section 121, 

without regard to the two-year time period. 

4. Where California law differs from federal law, California law applies.   
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(B) Involuntary Conversions.  No withholding is required if the seller/transferor 

certifies on FTB Form 593-C that the transfer is the result of an involuntary 

conversion that qualifies for deferral of gain under Internal Revenue Code section 

1033, and that he or she intends to replace the property with qualified property 

within the required time period under Internal Revenue Code section 1033. 

 

(C) Loss or Zero Gain.  No withholding is required if the seller/transferor 

certifies on FTB Form 593-C that there is either a loss or zero gain for California 

income tax purposes from the sale on FTB Form 593-E, which results when the 

seller's/transferor’s adjusted basis in the property is more than or equal to the 

selling price (less selling expenses). In computing gain, the seller/transferor may 

use previously deferred passive activity losses that directly relate to the property 

being sold.  He or she may not use losses that are not directly related to the 

property, such as passive activity losses or carry forwards from a different 

property, capital loss carry forwards, stock losses, or net operating losses. 

 

(D) Contributed Capital – Transfers to a Controlled Corporation or Partnership.  

No withholding is required where the transferor or seller/transferor certifies on 

FTB Form 593-C that the transfer qualifies for nonrecognition treatment under 

Internal Revenue Code section 351 (property transferred to a corporation 

controlled by the transferor) or Internal Revenue Code section 721 (property 

contributed to a partnership in exchange for a partnership interest). 

 

(E) Seller/Transferor is a Corporation.  No withholding is required if the 

seller/transferor certifies on FTB Form 593-C that it has either qualified with the 

California Secretary of State or has a permanent place of business in California.  

This includes a limited liability company (LLC) taxable as a corporation for federal 

and California income tax purposes.   

 

(F) Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs).  No withholding is required if the 

seller/transferor certifies on FTB Form 593-C that it is a REIT that is treated as a 

corporation and that the REIT has a permanent place of business in California. 

 

(G) Seller/Transferor is a Partnership.  No withholding is required if the 

seller/transferor  certifies on FTB Form 593-C it is a California partnership, or 

qualified to do business in California (or an LLC that is classified as a partnership 

for federal and California income tax purposes) that is not a single member LLC 

that is disregarded for federal and California income tax purposes). 

 

(H) Tax Exempt Entities.  No withholding is required if the seller/transferor 

certifies on FTB Form 593-C that it is a tax-exempt entity under California or 

federal law (e.g., government agency, Resolution Trust Corporation, or exempt, 

charitable, religious, or educational organization). 

 

(I) Insurance Companies.  No withholding is required if the seller/transferor 

certifies on FTB Form 593-C that it is an insurer within the meaning of Section 28 
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of Article XIII of the California Constitution that pays the California gross 

premiums tax.  
 

(J) Other Entities.  No withholding is required if the seller/transferor certifies on 

FTB Form 593-C that it is either an individual retirement account (IRA), qualified 

pension plan, or charitable remainder trust. 

 

(3) Transfers That May Partially or Fully Exempt the Sale From Withholding. 

 

(A) IRC Section 1031 Exchanges.  No withholding is required on the initial 

transfer where the seller/transferor certifies on FTB Form 593-C that the transfer 

will qualify as: 

 

1. A Simultaneous Like-Kind Exchange.  However, if the seller/transferor 

receives proceeds (including excess debt relief) or non-like-kind property 

from the sale (boot) in excess of $1,500, withholding is required at 3 1/3 

percent of that amount, unless an election is made to use the alternative 

withholding calculation on FTB Form 593-E. 

 

2. A Deferred Like-Kind Exchange.  If the seller/transferor receives any 

proceeds (including excess debt relief) or non-like-kind property from the 

sale (boot) in excess of $1,500, withholding is required the intermediary or 

accommodator must withhold at 3 1/3 percent of that amount, unless an 

election is made to use the alternative withholding calculation on Form FTB 

593-E.   

 

3. Failed Exchange.  Notwithstanding a seller's/transferor’s certification 

on FTB Form 593-C, if the exchange fails, does not occur, or does not meet 

the Internal Revenue Code section 1031 requirements, the intermediary or 

accommodator must withhold at 3 1/3 percent of the sales price, unless an 

election is made to use the alternative withholding calculation on FTB Form 

593-E. 

 

(B) Installment Sales.   

 

1.     The buyer/transferee real estate escrow person must withhold 3 1/3 

percent or the alternative withholding calculation certified on FTB Form 593 

on the principal portion (e.g., down payment or first installment payment) 

received in escrow upon closing.1. The buyermust complete and sign 

FTB Form 593-I, Real Estate Withholding Installment Sale 

Acknowledgement, or any successor form designated by the Franchise Tax 

Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 593-I"). The required 

information specified in FTB Form 593-I is set forth in subsection (l), below. 

The buyer/transferee must provide give FTB Form 593-I, along with the 

installment agreement terms and give a copy of the promissory note, to the 

real estate escrow person to remit on with FTB Form 593 and FTB Form 

593-V to the Franchise Tax Board.  
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2.     The buyer/transferee must withhold and remit 3 1/3 percent or the 

alternative withholding calculation certified on FTB Form 593 on the 

principal portion of all subsequent installment payments following the close 

of escrow. 

 

2.3. Installment Sale Payoff.  The buyer/transferee real estate escrow 

person must withhold 3 1/3 percent or the alternative withholding 

calculation certified on FTB Form 593 on the principal portion of a 

seller/transferor-financed installment sale payoff or prepayment in escrow 

upon closing. 

 

(e) Withholding on Special Entities. 

 

(1) Grantor Trusts.  If the trust is a grantor trust, then the seller/transferor is the 

grantor and withholding is required, unless an exemption applies under FTB Form 593-

C.  A grantor trust is a trust where the grantor retains substantial control and remains 

the owner (e.g., the right to cancel or revoke the trust). A grantor trust is disregarded 

for federal and California income tax purposes. Where the seller/transferor is the 

grantor trust and unless an exemption applies under FTB Form 593-C, withholding is 

remitted on FTB Form 593 and FTB Form 593-V and credited to the grantor. Where 

applicable, FTB Form 593, and FTB Form 593-V, FTB Form 593-C, FTB Form 593-E, 

and FTB Form 593-I should be completed using the individual's (grantor's) information. 

 

(2) Trusts.  If the trust is other than a disregarded grantor trust, then the 

seller/transferor is the trust and withholding is required, unless an exemption applies 

under FTB Form 593-C.  Where applicable, FTB Form 593, and FTB Form 593-V, FTB 

Form 593-C, FTB Form 593-E, and FTB Form 593-I should be completed using the 

name of the trust and the trust's federal employer identification number (FEIN). 

 

(3) Bankruptcy Trusts and Estates.  Withholding is required when a bankruptcy trust 

or estate sells the property.   

 

(4) Estates.  Withholding is required when an estate sells real property, unless the 

property being sold qualifies as the decedent's principal residence or otherwise 

qualifies under FTB Form 593-C. 

 

(5) Conservatorships and Receiverships.  Withholding is required unless the 

conservatee or debtor (in receivership) qualifies under the requirements of FTB Form 

593-C. The conservator or receiver should complete FTB Form 593-C using the 

conservatee's or debtor's information. 

 

(6) Relocation Companies.  Sales to relocation companies are subject to the same 

rules as other sales, and withholding is required. There is no withholding on the sale if 

the relocating seller/transferor certifies on FTB Form 593-C that the property was the 

seller's/transferor’s principal residence or if the seller/transferor otherwise qualifies 
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under the requirements contained in FTB Form 593-C.  Relocation companies 

themselves are subject to the same rules as other non-individuals. 

 

Example 1.  A relocation company resells California real property to a third party.  There 

is no withholding on the sale if the relocation company certifies it is a California 

corporation, hasis qualified to do business in California, or otherwise qualifies under 

the requirements of FTB Form 593-C. If the relocation company is not a California 

corporation, hasis not qualified to do business in California, or does not meet the 

requirements of FTB Form 593-C, withholding is required. 

 

Example 2.  An employer that holds title to California real property gives a relocation 

company power of attorney to act on its behalf in the sale of the property to a third 

party.  No withholding is required on the sale if the employer certifies on FTB Form 

593-C that it is a California corporation, hasis qualified to do business in California, or 

has a permanent place of business in California, or otherwise qualifies under the 

requirements of FTB Form 593-C.  If the employer has not met any of the above 

requirements set forth in this Example 2, withholding is required.  Because the 

relocation company does not hold title, the employer must meet the withholding 

obligations. 

 

(f) Procedures. 

 

(1) Exemption Certificate and Estimated Gain or Loss Certificate.  If a 

seller/transferor seeks to qualify for no withholding under the requirements set forth in 

the real estate withholding exemption certificate on FTB Form 593-C, the 

seller/transferor must complete, sign, and submit to the real estate escrow person the 

withholding exemption certificate on FTB Form 593-C prior to the close of escrow, the 

real estate transaction the real estate transaction to claim an exemption from 

withholding. Failure to provide a completed and signed real estate withholding 

exemption certificate on FTB Form 593-C by the close of the real estate transaction will 

result in withholding. If the seller/transferor seeks to establish a loss or zero gain, the 

seller/transferor must also complete and sign a withholding exemption certificate on 

FTB Form 593-C and a the real estate withholding--computation of estimated gain or 

loss certificate on FTB Form 593-E. All real estate sales/transfers qualifying for an 

exemption from withholding are reportable to the Franchise Tax Board on FTB Form 

593, which can be filed on paper or electronically (where allowable).  

 

(2) Retention of Withholding Exemption Certificate on FTB Form 593-C. The 

Franchise Tax Board may specify in FTB Form 593-C whether the exemption certificate, 

FTB Form 593-C, must be filed with the Franchise Tax Board, or retained by the real 

estate escrow person for submission, upon request, at a later date to the Franchise 

Tax Board. If required to be filed immediately, the Franchise Tax Board may specify the 

conditions for filing and the due date of such filing. The real estate escrow person must 

retain a copy of the withholding exemption certificate, FTB Form 593-C, for five years 

following the closing date of the transaction. 
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(3)(2) Verification.  Real estate escrow persons are only required to verify exemption 

certifications on FTB Form 593-C to the extent that they have actual knowledge of the 

facts. If they have no actual knowledge of the facts, then they must only verify that the 

certificate, FTB Form 593-C, is complete and signed. The real estate escrow persons 

will be relieved of the withholding requirements if they rely in good faith on a 

completed and signed real estate withholding certificate, FTB Form 593-C. Real estate 

escrow persons should not rely upon an incomplete or unsigned certificate, FTB Form 

593-C. 

 

Example 1: A seller/transferor completes a worksheet calculatesing the estimated gain 

or loss and certifies on FTB Form 593-E a loss on the transaction. The real estate 

escrow person is not required to verify the amounts shown on the worksheet used in 

the calculation.  

 

Example 2: A seller/transferor completes, signs, and submits to the real estate escrow 

person a real estate withholding exemption certificate on FTB Form 593-C prior to the 

close of escrow and certifies that the sale is an installment sale. However, the 

buyer/transferee has not provided the installment agreement terms a completed and 

signed installment sale acknowledgement on FTB Form 593-I and or promissory note 

to the real estate escrow person. The real estate escrow person may not rely on the 

real estate withholding exemption certificate, FTB Form 593-C, and is required to 

withhold on this transaction. 

 

Example 3: A seller/transferor completes, signs, and submits to the real estate escrow 

person a real estate withholding exemption certificate on FTB Form 593-C prior to the 

close of escrow and certifies therein that a California partnership is selling the 

property, but the real estate escrow person has actual knowledge that the recorded 

title of the property is not in the name of the California partnership. The real estate 

escrow person may not rely on the real estate withholding exemption certificate, FTB 

Form 593-C, and is required to withhold on this transaction. 

 

(4)(3) Electing the Alternate Alternative Withholding Calculation. The 

seller/transferor making the election must complete and sign the FTB Form 593-E, and 

sign a completed Form 593. The signature on FTB Form 593-E, and Form 593 certifies 

the gain required to be recognized and the alternate alternative withholding 

calculation. The Franchise Tax Board may specify in FTB Form 593-C and FTB Form 

593-E whether FTB Form 593-C and FTB Form 593-E must be filed with the Franchise 

Tax Board, or retained by the real estate escrow person for submission, upon request, 

at a later date to the Franchise Tax Board. If FTB Form 593-C and FTB Form 593-E are 

required to be filed immediately, the Franchise Tax Board may specify on FTB Form 

593-C and FTB Form 593-E the conditions for filing and the due date of such filing. The 

seller must retain FTB Form 593-C and FTB Form 593-E for five years following the 

closing date of the transaction. 

 

(g) Special Rules. 
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(1) Multiple Family Units.  If the property sold is a multiple family unit (duplex, triplex, 

apartment building, etc.) and the seller/transferor lived in one of the units as his or her 

principal residence, withholding is required for the portion of the sales price that is not 

certified on FTB Form 593-C as a principal residence. The sales price should be 

allocated between the principal residence and the remainder of the units using the 

same method that the seller/transferor used to determine depreciation deductions. 

Withholding is required when the total sales price of the property (all units) exceeds 

$100,000, even if the portion of the sales price allocable to the non-principal 

residence portion of the property does not exceed $100,000. 

 

(2) Multiple Sellers/Transferors.  When there are multiple sellers/transferors, the 

withholding amount is calculated by applying the withholding rate to each 

seller’s/transferor’s proportionate share of the total sales price. 

 

Example 1:  Withholding at 3 1/3 percent of total sales price: 

 

Total sSales price $200,000 

Sellers’/Transferors' ownership percentages: 

A = 20%, B = 30%, C = 50% 

Withholding per seller/transferor: 

A $200,000 x 20% x .0333 = $1,332 

B 200,000 x 30% x .0333 = $1,998 

C 200,000 x 50% x .0333 = $3,330 

 

Example 2:  Alternative withholding calculation, assuming a maximum tax rate of 912.3 

percent in the year of sale:* 

 

Gain on sale $200,000 

Sellers'/Transferors' ownership percentages: 

A = 20%, B = 30%, C = 50% 

Withholding for individual seller/transferor: 

A $200,000 x 20% x .09123 = $3,720$4,920 

B $200,000 x 30% x .09123 = 5,580$7,380 

C $200,000 x 50% x .09123 = 9,300$12,300 

 

*Note: The applicable tax rate is subject to change. 

 

(3) Sellers/Transferors on Title for Incidental Purposes.  If the incidental 

sellers/transferors have no financial ownership, then their ownership percentage is 

zero and there is no withholding required for them. 

 

Examples of sellers/transferors who are on title for incidental purposes are: 

 

Example 1: A father is on title only because he cosigned to help his daughter qualify for 

a loan. The first name on the loan is that of the daughter who pays the loan payments.  

If father completes FTB Form 593-C showing zero percentage of ownership, no 

withholding is required on the proceeds due to the father's ownership interest. The 
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daughter is the beneficial owner of all of the property and is subject to the withholding 

requirements. 

 

Example 2: A son is on title only to receive the real property as a beneficiary upon his 

mother’s death. The real property is sold while the mother is alive. If the son completes 

FTB Form 593-C showing zero percentage of current ownership, no withholding is 

required on the proceeds due to the son's ownership interest. The mother is the owner 

of all of the property and is subject to the withholding requirements. 

 

(4) Sale of Multiple Parcels.  Sales of multiple parcels within the same escrow 

agreement constitute one transaction for purposes of determining the withholding 

requirements under this regulation. Withholding is required where the total sale price 

of all properties exceeds $100,000 even though the sale price of each separate parcel 

in the transaction is under $100,000.   

 

Example:  Parcel A is sold for $50,000.  Parcel B and Parcel C are sold for $10,000 

and $60,000, respectively. All three parcels are sold within the same escrow 

agreement. Because the total sales price equals $120,000, withholding is required.  

 

(5) Leaseholds/Options.  The sale of a leasehold is considered a sale of a real 

property interest and withholding is required. Withholding is required on an option to 

buy real property that has been exercised where the property has been transferred by 

the owner.  

 

(6) Personal Property Included in Real Estate Transaction.  If personal property is 

included in the sales price of the real property, withholding is computed on the full 

amount.  If the price of the personal property is stated separately in the sales contract, 

withholding on the personal property amount is not required. 

 

(7) Short Sale Transactions.  Real property sold for less than the amount owed on the 

mortgage is not excluded from withholding, unless the seller/transferor qualifies under 

the requirements of FTB Form 593-C. The parties must arrange to cover payment of 

the withholding. 

 

(h) FTB Form 593-E, Real Estate Withholding - Computation of Estimated Gain or Loss.  

FTB Form 593-E shall contain the following information: 

 

(1) Seller or Transferor information, which includes the person's name and 

identification number (SSN or ITIN), the spouse's/registered domestic partner's (RDP's) 

name and identification number (SSN or ITIN), business identification number (FEIN, 

California corporation number, or California Secretary of State file number) (if 

applicable), seller's address, and property address. 

 
(2) Selling price. 

 

(3) Selling expenses. 
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(4) Net amount realized (selling price less selling expenses). 

 

(5) Basis in property. 

 

(6) Seller or transferor points paid. 

 

(7) Depreciation. 

 

(8) Other decreases in basis. 

 

(9) Total decreases to basis (total of points paid, depreciation, and other decreases 

in basis). 

 

(10) Total decreases to basis, less basis in property. 

 

(11) Cost of additions and improvements. 

 

(12) Other increases to basis. 

 

(13) Total increases to basis (total of additions/improvements and other increases to 

basis). 

 

(14) Adjusted basis (total increases to basis plus total decreases to basis). 

 

(15) Suspended passive activity losses from the property. 

 

(16) Total of adjusted basis and suspended passive activity losses from the property. 

 

(17) Estimated gain or loss on sale (total of adjusted basis and suspended passive 

activity losses from the property, less the net amount realized (selling price less selling 

expenses)). 

 

(18) A check box to indicate one of the following withholding calculations for the 

optional gain on sale election: an individual, non-California partnership, corporation, 

bank and financial corporation, S corporation, or financial S corporation.  

 

(19) Total amount based on the gain on sale election. 

 

(20) Total sales price withholding amount.  

 

(21) The name and dated signature of the seller/transferor. 

 

(22) The name and dated signature of the seller's/transferor's spouse/RDP. 

 

(i) FTB Form 593-C, Real Estate Withholding Certificate. FTB Form 593-C shall contain the 

following information: 
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(1) Seller or Transferor information, which includes the person's name (business or 

individual, as applicable) and identification number (SSN or ITIN), the 

spouse's/registered domestic partner's (RDP's) name and identification number (SSN 

or ITIN), business name (if applicable), business identification number (FEIN, California 

corporation number, or California Secretary of State file number), seller’s or 

transferor's address, ownership percentage, and property address. 

   

(2) A check box indicating one of the following reasons the seller/transferor or real 

estate sale transaction is exempt from California withholding requirements: 

 

(A) The property qualifies as the seller’s/transferor’s (or decedent’s, if sold by 

the decedent’s estate or trust) principal residence within the meaning of Internal 

Revenue Code section 121. 

 

(B) The seller/transferor (or decedent, if sold by the decedent’s estate or trust) 

last used the property as the seller’s/transferor’s (decedent’s) principal residence 

within the meaning of IRC section 121 without regard to the two-year time period. 

 

(C) The seller/transferor has a loss or zero gain for California income tax 

purposes on this sale.  

 

(D) The property is being compulsorily or involuntarily converted, and the seller 

or transferor intends to acquire property that is similar or related in service or use 

to qualify for nonrecognition of gain for California income tax purposes under IRC 

section 1033. 

 

(E) The transfer qualifies for nonrecognition treatment under IRC section 351 

(transfer to a corporation controlled by the transferor) or IRC section 721 

(contribution to a partnership in exchange for a partnership interest). 

 

(F) The seller/transferor is a corporation or LLC (classified as a corporation for 

federal and California income tax purposes) that is either qualified through the 

Secretary of State or has a permanent place of business in California. 

 

(G) The seller/transferor is a California partnership or a partnership qualified to 

do business in California (or an LLC that is classified as a partnership for federal 

and California income tax purposes and is not a single member LLC that is 

disregarded for federal and California income tax purposes). 

 

(H) The seller/transferor is a tax-exempt entity under California or federal law. 

 

(I) The seller/transferor is an insurance company, individual retirement 

account, qualified pension/profit sharing plan, or charitable remainder trust. 

 

(3) A check box indicating one of the following reasons the seller/transferor or real 

estate sale transaction may partially or fully exempt the sale from California 

withholding requirements: 
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(A) The transfer qualifies as a simultaneous like-kind exchange within the 

meaning of IRC section 1031. 

 

(B) The transfer qualifies as a deferred like-kind exchange within the meaning 

of IRC section 1031. 

 

(C) The transfer of this property is an installment sale where the buyer is 

required to withhold on the principal portion of each installment payment. 

 

(4) The name and dated signature of the seller/transferor. 

 

(j)(h) FTB Form 593, Real Estate Withholding Statement. FTB Form 593 shall contain the 

following information: 

 

(1) A check box indicating whether the form is filed as an amended FTB Form 593. 

 
(2) Withholding Agent Remitter information, which includes a check box to indicate 

one of the following types of remitters: an escrow/title company; an 

accommodator/intermediary; a buyer/transferee; or other type of remitter. The 

following information shall also be included: the business name; business 

identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or California 

Secretary of State file number); contact individual name (if applicable); at the business, 

and withholding agent’s remitter’s address; and telephone number. 

 
(3) Seller/Transferor or Transferor information, which includes a check box to 

indicate whether the seller/transferor is a grantor or nongrantor trust (if applicable).  

The following information shall also be included: the person's name and identification 

number (SSN or ITIN); the spouse's/registered domestic partner's (RDP's) name and 

identification number (SSN or ITIN);business/nongrantor trust name (if applicable); 

business identification number (FEIN, California corporation number, or California 

Secretary of State file number); seller’s/transferor’s or transferor's address; ownership 

percentage; and property address. 

   

(4) Buyer/transferee information, which includes the person's name and 

identification number (SSN or ITIN), the spouse's/registered domestic partner's (RDP's) 

name and identification number (SSN or ITIN), business name (if applicable), business 

identification number (FEIN, California corporation number, or California Secretary of 

State file number), buyer’s/transferee’s address, and telephone number. 

  

(4)(5) Escrow or Exchange Information, consisting of the following: 

 
(A) Escrow or exchange number. 

 
(B) Month, day, and year of the transfer, exchange completion, failed exchange, 

or installment payment. 
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(C) Sales price, and amount of failed exchange. 

 

(C)(D) A check box to indicate one of the following transaction types: 

conventional sale or transfer; installment sale payment; boot; or failed exchange. 

 

(E) Installment Agreement Terms, which includes the principal amount of the 

promissory note, installment amount, interest rate, and repayment period in 

number of months. 

 

(F) Deferred Exchange Terms, which includes the exchange amount, and boot 

amount.   

 

(6)    Real Estate Withholding Exemption Information, which includes a check box 

indicating one of the following reasons the seller/transferor or real estate sale 

transaction is fully or partially exempt from California withholding requirements, or that 

no exemptions apply:   

 

(A) The property qualifies as the seller’s/transferor’s (or decedent’s, if sold by 

the decedent’s estate or trust) principal residence within the meaning of Internal 

Revenue Code section 121. 

 

(B) The seller/transferor (or decedent, if sold by the decedent’s estate or trust) 

last used the property as the seller’s/transferor’s (decedent’s) principal residence 

within the meaning of IRC section 121 without regard to the two-year time period. 

 

(C) The seller/transferor has a loss or zero gain for California income tax 

purposes on this sale.  

 

(D) The property is being compulsorily or involuntarily converted, and the 

seller/transferor intends to acquire property that is similar or related in service or 

use to qualify for nonrecognition of gain for California income tax purposes under 

IRC section 1033. 

 

(E) The transfer qualifies for nonrecognition treatment under IRC section 351 

(transfer to a corporation controlled by the transferor) or IRC section 721 

(contribution to a partnership in exchange for a partnership interest). 

 

(F) The seller/transferor is a corporation or LLC (classified as a corporation for 

federal and California income tax purposes) that is either qualified through the 

Secretary of State or has a permanent place of business in California. 

 

(G) The seller/transferor is a California partnership or a partnership qualified to 

do business in California (or an LLC that is classified as a partnership for federal 

and California income tax purposes and is not a single member LLC that is 

disregarded for federal and California income tax purposes). 

 

(H) The seller/transferor is a tax-exempt entity under California or federal law. 



Page 15 
 

 

(I) The seller/transferor is an insurance company, individual retirement 

account, qualified pension/profit sharing plan, or charitable remainder trust. 

 

(J) The transfer qualifies as a simultaneous like-kind exchange within the 

meaning of IRC section 1031. 

 

(K) The transfer qualifies as a deferred like-kind exchange within the meaning 

of IRC section 1031. 

 

(L) The transfer of this property is an installment sale where the 

buyer/transferee is required to withhold on the principal portion of each 

installment payment. 

 

(M) No exemptions apply.  

 

(7) Computation of Estimated Gain or Loss:    

 

(A) Selling price. 

 

(B) Selling expenses. 

 

(C) Net amount realized (selling price less selling expenses). 

 

(D) Basis in property. 

 

(E) Seller/transferor points paid. 

 

(F) Depreciation. 

 

(G) Other decreases in basis. 

 

(H) Total decreases to basis (total of points paid, depreciation, and other 

decreases in basis). 

 

(I) Total decreases to basis, less basis in property. 

 

(J) Cost of additions and improvements. 

 

(K) Other increases to basis. 

 

(L) Total increases to basis (total of additions/improvements and other increases 

to basis). 

 

(M) Adjusted basis (total increases to basis plus total decreases to basis). 

 

(N) Suspended passive activity losses from the property. 
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(O) Total of adjusted basis and suspended passive activity losses from the 

property. 

 

(P) Estimated gain or loss on sale (total of adjusted basis and suspended passive 

activity losses from the property, less the net amount realized (selling price less 

selling expenses)). 

 

(Q) A check box to indicate one of the following withholding calculations for the 

alternative withholding calculation election: an individual; trust; non-California 

partnership; corporation; bank and financial corporation; S corporation; or 

financial S corporation.  

 

(R) Total amount based on the gain on sale election. 

 

(S) Sales price withholding amount.  

 

(8) (D) Withholding Calculation and Amount of Withholding.  A check box to indicate 

one of the following withholding calculations:  total sales price method; or alternative 

withholding calculation optional gain on sale election (with special check boxes) for an 

individual, trust, non-California partnership, corporation, bank and financial 

corporation, S corporation, or financial S corporation.; amount of payment (sales price, 

installment payment, boot, or failed exchange); and the amount withheld from the 

seller/transferor. 

 

(5) Amount withheld from the seller/transferor.  

 

(6)(9) The dated signature of the seller/transferor. 

 

(7)(10) The dated signature of the seller's/transferor's spouse/RDP. 

 

(8) The name and telephone number of the preparer and title/escrow business. 

 

(k)(i)  FTB Form 593-V, Payment Voucher for Real Estate Withholding. FTB Form 593-V shall 

contain the following information: 
 

(1) A check box to indicate how FTB Form 593 was submitted, by one of two methods 

(electronic or paper). 

 
(2) Total number of FTB Forms 593 submitted. 

 
(3) Withholding Agent Remitter information, which includes the business or individual 

name (not both), business identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California 

corporation number, or California Secretary of State file number), contact name at the 

business, telephone number, and withholding agent's remitter’s address. 

 
(4) Amount of payment submitted with FTB Form 593-V.  
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(l) FTB Form 593-I, Real Estate Withholding Installment Sale Acknowledgement. FTB Form 

593-I shall contain the following information: 

 

(1) Buyer information, which includes the person's name and identification number 

(SSN or ITIN), the spouse's/registered domestic partner's (RDP's) name and 

identification number (SSN or ITIN), business name (if applicable), business 

identification number (FEIN, California corporation number, or California Secretary of 

State file number), buyer’s address, and telephone number. 

   

(2) Seller or Transferor information, which includes the person's name and 

identification number (SSN or ITIN), the spouse's/registered domestic partner's (RDP's) 

name and identification number (SSN or ITIN), business name (if applicable), business 

identification number (FEIN, California corporation number, or California Secretary of 

State file number), seller’s or transferor's address, installment withholding percent 

(applied to all installment payments), and property address.  

  

(3) Installment Agreement Terms, which includes the principal amount of the 

promissory note, the installment payment amount, the interest rate percentage, and 

the repayment period (stated in number of months). 

 
(4) The name and dated signature of the buyer. 

 

(5) The name and dated signature of the buyer's spouse/RDP. 

 

 

Note: Authority cited:  Section 19503, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

 Reference:  Section 18662, Revenue and Taxation Code. 
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California Code of Regulations Title 18 

Division 3, Chapter 2.6, Subchapter 2,  

Article 5, Regulation Section 18662-4 

 

Section 18662-4 is amended to read: 

 

§ 18662-4. Withholding on Payments (Nonresident Individuals and Non-California Business 

Entities) – General.  

 

(a) Nonresident Individuals and Non-California Business Entities; De Minimis Amounts; 

and Rate. 

 

(1) Nonresident Individuals and Non-California Business Entities.  Except as 

otherwise provided in Revenue and Taxation Code section 18662 and Regulation 

sections 18662-0 through 18662-8, withholding of tax at source is required for 

payments of California source income made to nonresident individuals  and non-

California business entities, including, but not limited to, such other entities as 

nonresident estates or trusts, suspended or forfeited corporations, and foreign (non-

U.S.) entities. Withholding on payments of income to resident individuals and California 

business entities is optional; however, if withholding and remitting of tax at source is 

performed, it must be performed according to the rules applicable to mandatory 

withholding of tax as set forth in Revenue and Taxation Code section 18662 and 

Regulation sections 18662-0 through 18662-8.  

 

(2) De Minimis Amounts.  Withholding of tax at source is optional and at the 

discretion of the withholding agent on the first $1,500 of income paid for the calendar 

year to each payee.   

 

(3) Rate.  The withholding rate is 7 percent of the gross payment or distribution 

amount. 

 

(4) Cross-References.  See Regulation sections 18662-5 (Other Types of Payments 

and Withholding), 18662-6 (Nonresident Withholding, Entertainers, Athletes and 

Speakers), 18662-7 (Withholding Rules for Domestic (U.S.) Pass-through Entities) 

[reserved], and Regulation section 18662-8 (Reporting and Remitting Amounts 

Withheld, Penalties and Interest; Other Procedures) for specific requirements.  

 

(b) Optional Withholding or No Withholding Required.  Unless otherwise stated in this 

subsection (b) or any of the forms referenced herein, withholding of tax at source is optional 

and not required on payments of California source income to the following: 

 

(1) California Residents.  If a California resident receives California source income, 

withholding is not required. Withholding agents may use reasonable methods to 

determine the California residency of payees.  

 

Example 1: Withholding agents may send their payees an exemption certificate, on FTB 

Form 590, Withholding Exemption Certificate, or any successor form designated by the 
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Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 590"). The required 

information specified in FTB Form 590 is set forth in subsection (h), below. Payees may 

use this form to certify their residency status, provided that the withholding agent may 

only rely upon an exemption certificate, on FTB Form 590, if payees include their 

taxpayer identification number.  

 

Example 2: Withholding agents may rely on a California street address as an indication 

of a payee’s residency status.  If the payee has a California street address, no 

withholding is required. An exemption certificate, on FTB Form 590, may be used to 

verify residency status. A valid California street address does not include a California 

post office box, or an "in care of" address. If a change of address occurs, the 

withholding agent must reevaluate the payee’s residency status. 

 

(2) California Business Entities.  

 

If a non-California business entity payee is doing business in California within the 

meaning of Revenue and Taxation Code section 23101 and is receiving California 

source income, withholding is required unless the payee qualifies under the 

requirements of the exemption certificate, on FTB Form 590, or the amount is excluded 

from amounts subject to withholding.   

 

If a corporate payee has not qualified with the Office of the California Secretary of 

State (SOS) and does not have a permanent place of business in this State, but is a 

member of a combined report filed under Regulation section 25106.5 and included in 

a group return filed pursuant to that regulation, then the key corporation is treated as a 

guarantor and surety for the other members, so that the corporate payee is deemed to 

be a California Business Entity. 

 

The following are examples of methods the Franchise Tax Board will consider 

reasonable for withholding agents to rely upon in determining if a corporation has a 

permanent place of business in California or is qualified to do business in this State for 

purposes of the withholding regulations (Regulation sections 18662-0 through 18662-

8): 

 

Example 1: Withholding agents may rely on a completed exemption certificate, on FTB 

Form 590. A completed exemption certificate, on FTB Form 590, showing the payee's 

taxpayer identification number and stating that the corporation has a permanent place 

of business in California (or is included in a combined return with a California key 

corporation) protects the withholding agent from penalties for failure to withhold, 

unless the withholding agent has actual knowledge that the statement in the 

exemption certificate, on FTB Form 590, is false. 

 

Example 2: If a corporation is incorporated in California or qualified to do business in 

California with the Office of the Secretary of StateSOS, it is a California business entity 

for withholding purposes. Withholding agents can determine if a corporate payee is a 

California corporation or qualified to do business in this State by contacting the Office 

of the Secretary of StateSOS. Withholding agents may rely on a printout from the SOS’s 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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website showing the payee's entity number, that the corporation has a permanent 

place of business in California (e.g., the "jurisdiction" field shows "California" or the 

"entity city, state, zip" field shows "CA" for the state), and that the corporation is in good 

standing (e.g., the "status" field shows "active").  The SOS website printout—which must 

be printed within 30 days prior to making a payment—protects the withholding agent 

from penalties for failure to withhold, unless the withholding agent has actual 

knowledge that the information received from the SOS is false. 

 

(3) Tax Exempt Organizations.  Withholding of tax at source is not required on 

payments of California source income to tax exempt organizations that are exempt 

either under California or federal law.     

 

(4) California Estates and Trusts.  Withholding of tax at source is not required on 

payments of California source income to California estates and trusts. 

 

(5) Banks and Banking Associations.  Withholding of tax at source is not required on 

payments of California source income where the payee is a bank or banking 

association. 

 

(6) Sale of Goods.  Withholding of tax at source is not required on payments for the 

sale of goods. 

 

(7) Services of a Nonresident Outside of California.  Withholding of tax at source is 

not required on payments for services provided by a nonresident that were performed 

outside of California. 

 

(8) Intangible Personal Property.  Withholding of tax at source is not required on 

payments of California source income from intangible personal property, such as 

interest and dividends, unless the property has acquired a business situs in California.  

(See Regulation section 18662-5.) 

 

(9) Motor Carrier Compensation.  Withholding of tax at source is not required on 

payments of California source income to a motor carrier providing transportation in two 

or more states, subject to section 11504(b) of Title 49 of the United States Code. 

 

(10) Wages Paid to Employees.   Withholding of tax at source is not required on 

payments of California source wages to employees. However, wages are subject to 

wage withholding. Employee wage withholding is covered by the Unemployment 

Insurance Code and administered by the Employment Development Department. 

 

(11) Nonresident Corporate Directors.  Withholding of tax at source is not required on 

payments of California source income to a nonresident corporate director for director's 

services. However, information returns for nonresident corporate directors for director's 

services must be filed in accordance with Revenue and Taxation Code section 18662, 

subdivision (g). Nonresident directors must file California tax returns if they otherwise 

meet return filing requirements or may elect to be included in a group return pursuant 

to Revenue and Taxation Code section 18536.  
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(12) Insurance Companies, Individual Retirement Plans, Pension or Profit Sharing 

Plans. Withholding of tax at source is not required on gross premiums paid to 

insurance companies. Withholding of tax at source is not required on payments of 

income made to individual retirement accounts or federally qualified pension or profit 

sharing plans. 

 

(13)  Income from Qualified Investment Securities.  Withholding of tax at source is not 

required on payments of income from qualified investment securities excluded from 

taxable income of a nonresident or part-year resident under Revenue and Taxation 

Code sections 17955 and 23040.1. 

 

(c)   Withholding Exemption Certificates.    

 

(1) General.  Where the payee otherwise properly certifies that it qualifies under the 

requirements of an exemption certificate, as set forth in FTB Form 590, no withholding 

is required. The certification on FTB Form 590 does not need to be renewed annually.  

The certification on FTB Form 590 remains valid until the payee's status changes. The 

withholding agent should evaluate the need for securing a new certificate, on FTB Form 

590, when any indication of a change in residency status occurs, such as a change of 

address. 

 

(2) Incomplete or Invalid Exemption Certificates.  An incomplete exemption 

certificate, on FTB Form 590, is invalid and the withholding agent should not accept it. 

If the withholding agent receives an incomplete exemption certificate, on FTB Form 

590, the withholding agent is required to withhold tax on payments made to the payee 

until a valid certificate, on FTB Form 590, is received. In lieu of a completed exemption 

certificate, on FTB Form 590, on the preprinted form, the withholding agent may accept 

as a substitute a letter from the payee explaining why the payee is not subject to 

withholding. The letter must contain all the information required on the certificate, on 

FTB Form 590, in substantially similar language, including the penalty of perjury 

statement and the payee’s taxpayer identification number. The withholding agent may 

accept facsimiles or photocopies of the withholding forms. 

 

(3) California Address.  Withholding agents may accept a completed exemption 

certificate, on FTB Form 590, when an individual certifies residency but does not show 

a California address, unless the withholding agent reasonably believes the exemption 

certification, on FTB Form 590, is fraudulent. Regardless of whether a copy of the 

exemption certificate, on FTB Form 590, is required to be filed, the withholding agent 

must retain a copy of the exemption certificate, on FTB Form 590, or substitute for at 

least five years after the last payment to which the certificate, on FTB Form 590, 

applies, and provide it upon request to the Franchise Tax Board. 

 

(4) False Certificate.  A withholding agent who knowingly accepts a false exemption 

certificate, on FTB Form 590, is subject to the liabilities and penalties relating to failure 

to withhold set forth in Revenue and Taxation Code section 18668 and Regulation 

section 18662-8. 
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(d) Information Returns Also Required.  A withholding agent who withholds tax at source 

may also be required to file an information return, on FTB Form 592, Resident and 

Nonresident Withholding Statement, or any successor form designated by the Franchise Tax 

Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 592"), FTB Form 592-PTE, Pass-Through 

Entity Annual Withholding Return, or any successor form designated by the Franchise Tax 

Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 592-PTE"), or FTB Form 592-F, Foreign 

Partner or Member Annual Withholding Return, or any successor form designated by the 

Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 592-F"). The required 

information specified in FTB Form 592, FTB Form 592-PTE, and FTB Form 592-F is set forth 

in subsection (i), subsection (j) and subsection (j)(k), respectively, below. The Franchise Tax 

Board may provide the form and manner of filing information returns, on FTB Form 592, FTB 

Form 592-PTE, or FTB Form 592-F, and withholding statements by forms and instructions on 

its website at www.ftb.ca.gov, including circumstances where they may be filed together on a 

single document or filed electronically. 

 

(e) Waivers and Reduced Amounts.  In certain circumstances set forth more specifically in 

the forms referenced in this subsection (e), the Franchise Tax Board may authorize a waiver 

with respect to withholding requirements or a reduced withholding amount.    

 

(1) Waivers.  Requests shall be made in the form and manner that the Franchise Tax 

Board shall provide on FTB Form 588, Nonresident Withholding Waiver Request, or any 

successor form designated by the Franchise Tax Board on its website at 

www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 588"). The required information specified in FTB Form 588 

is set forth in subsection (k)(l), below. As set forth in FTB Form 588, the payee must 

show that the payee must have has a history of timely filing and payment. Waivers may 

also be requested as provided in FTB Form 588, where the payee is a newly-admitted 

partner, member, or S corporation shareholder, a member of a combined report 

electing to be included in a California combined return with a key corporation within 

the meaning of Regulation section 25106.5, subsection (b)(13) and (14), or in certain 

circumstances where withholding would not be administratively practical. Requests for 

waivers, on FTB Form 588, must be submitted before the payment is made so the 

Franchise Tax Board can issue a determination notice authorizing a waiver before the 

withholding is required.  Withholding is required unless the Franchise Tax Board issues 

a determination notice authorizing a waiver.   

 

(2) Request for Reduced Withholding Amount.  Payees in some circumstances, as set 

forth in FTB Form 589, Nonresident Reduced Withholding Request, or any successor 

form designated by the Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB 

Form 589"), can request a reduced withholding amount to reflect expenses and costs 

or other special circumstances that would justify a reduced amount whereby the total 

amount of expenses as calculated on FTB Form 589, Part IV (Withholding 

Computation), at line 12, cannot exceed 50 percent of the gross California source 

payment as calculated on FTB Form 589, Part IV (Withholding Computation) at line 1. 

The required information specified in FTB Form 589 is set forth in subsection (l)(m), 

below. Requests shall be made in the form and manner that the Franchise Tax Board 

shall set forth in FTB Form 589.  

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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(3) Other Conditions As May Be Required.  After considering requests for waiver, on 

FTB Form 588, or reduced withholding amount, on FTB Form 589, the Franchise Tax 

Board may, as a further condition, require the payee to assure the Franchise Tax Board 

by bond, deposit, or other reasonable requirements as necessary, that the payee will 

comply with the withholding requirements applicable to the payee.  

 

(f) Requirement to File a California Return.  Withholding does not relieve the payee of the 

obligation to file a California income tax return. For individuals, a California return is required 

if the nonresident individual has any income from California sources and has a California tax 

liability. (See Revenue and Taxation Code section 18501.) Business entities must file 

returns if they are subject to franchise or income tax, are doing business in California, or 

have any California source income for the taxable year. No refund or credit of withholding 

may be made to an individual or entity that fails to file a tax return for the year.  (See 

Revenue and Taxation Code section 19307.) 

 

(g) Suspended and Forfeited Corporations.  Withholding of tax at source is required from 

any payment to a suspended or forfeited corporation if the payer has knowledge of, or has 

reason to know of, the suspension or forfeiture.  

 

(h) FTB Form 590, Withholding Exemption Certificate. FTB Form 590 shall contain the 

following information: 

 

(1) Withholding Agent's name. 

 

(2) Payee information, which includes the payee's name, identification number (SSN 

or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or California Secretary of StateSOS file 

number), and address. 

 

(3) A check box indicating one of the following reasons the payee is exempt from the 

California withholding requirements on payments made to the entity or individual: 

 

(A) The payee is a resident of California at the payee address shown on FTB 

Form 590.  

 

(B) The payee is a corporation having a permanent place of business in 

California at the payee address shown on FTB Form 590, or is qualified through 

the California Secretary of StateSOS to do business in California.  

 

(C) The payee is a partnership or LLC having a permanent place of business in 

California at the payee address shown on FTB Form 590, or is registered with the 

California Secretary of StateSOS. 

 

(D) The payee entity is exempt from tax under Revenue and Taxation Code 

section 23701 or Internal Revenue Code section 501(c).  
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(E) The payee entity is an insurance company, IRA, or a federally qualified 

pension or profit-sharing plan.  

 

(F) At least one trustee and one noncontingent beneficiary of the payee trust is 

a California resident.  

 

(G) The person signing FTB Form 590 is the executor of the payee's estate, 

where the payee-decedent was a California resident at the time of death. 

  

(H) The payee is a nonmilitary spouse of a military service member and meets 

the Military Spouse Residency Relief Act requirements.  

 

(4) The name, telephone number and dated signature of the payee. 

 

(i) FTB Form 592, Resident and Nonresident Withholding Statement.  FTB Form 592 shall 

contain the following information: 

 

(1) A check box indicating whether the form is filed as an amended FTB Form 592. 

 

(2) A check box indicating whether the form is filed for a prior year's distribution. 

 

(3) A check box indicating one of four due dates for April, June, or September of the 

current year, or January of the following year, for the tax withheld. 

    

(4) Withholding Agent information, which includes the business or individual name 

(not both), business identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation 

number, or California Secretary of StateSOS file number), contact name at the 

business, and withholding agent's address, and telephone number. 

 

(5) Total number of payees reported on the FTB Form 592. 

 

(6) A check box to indicate the types of income being reported: Payments to 

Independent Contractors; Trust Distributions; Rents or Royalties; Distributions to 

Domestic Nonresident Partners, Members, Beneficiaries, or S Corporation 

Shareholders; Estate Distributions; Elective Withholding; Elective Withholding by Indian 

Tribe; or Other.  For "Other," an explanation must be provided. 

 

(7) Total tax amount withheld from all payees listed by withholding agent, excluding 

backup withholding. 

 

(8) Total backup withholding from all payees listed by withholding agent. 

 

(9) Total amount of tax withholding and backup withholding (combined). 

 

(10) Total of prior payments made to the Franchise Tax Board but not previously 

distributed to the payees on a prior FTB Form 592. 
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(11) Amounts withheld by another entity and being distributed to payees under this 

FTB Form 592. 

 

(121) Total of prior payments not previously distributed on a prior FTB Form 592, 

plus amounts withheld by another entity and being distributed under this FTB Form 

592 (combined). 

 

(132) Total amount being submitted on FTB Form 592.  

 

(143)  The name and dated signature of the withholding agent. and telephone 

number. 

  

(154)  The name, PTIN number, address, telephone number, and dated signature of 

the preparer. 

 

(165)  Payee information, which includes the business or individual name (not both), 

business identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or 

California Secretary of StateSOS file number), contact name at the business, a check 

box indicating whether the amount submitted constitutes backup withholding, address, 

total amount of income, and amount of tax withheld.  Multiple payees may be 

submitted on one form. 
 

(j) FTB Form 592-PTE, Pass-Through Entity Resident and Nonresident Annual Withholding 

Return.  FTB Form 592-PTE shall contain the following information: 

 

(1) A check box indicating whether the form is filed as an amended FTB Form 592-

PTE. 

 

(2) A check box indicating whether the form is filed for a prior year's distribution. 

 

(3) A check box indicating total withholding paid at end of year.  

 

(4) Withholding Agent information, which includes the business or individual name 

(not both), identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or 

SOS file number), withholding agent's address, and telephone number. 

 

(5) Pass-Through Entity Information: Withholding agent information for pass-through 

entity which withheld on behalf of current Form 592-PTE filer.  Withholding agent 

information includes the business or individual name (not both), identification number 

(SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or SOS file number), withholding 

agent's address, and telephone number. 

 

(6) Total number of payees reported on the FTB Form 592-PTE. 

 
(7) Total tax amount withheld from all payees listed by withholding agent, excluding 

backup withholding. 
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(8) Total backupamount of tax withholding from all payees listed by withholding 

agent. 

 

(9)  Total amount of tax withholding and backup withholding (combined). 

 

(109) Total of prior payments made to the Franchise Tax Board but not previously 

distributed to the payees on a prior FTB Form 592-PTE. 

 

(110) Amounts withheld by another entity and being distributed to partners or 

members under this FTB Form 592-PTE. 

 

(121) Total of prior payments not previously distributed on a prior FTB Form 592-

PTE, plus amounts withheld by another entity and being distributed under this FTB 

Form 592-PTE (combined). 

 

(132) Total amount being submitted on FTB Form 592-PTE.  

 

(143)  The name and dated signature of the withholding agent.  

  

(154)  The name, PTIN number, address, telephone number, and dated signature of 

the preparer. 

 

(165)  Payee information, which includes the business or individual name (not both), 

identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or SOS file 

number), a check box indicating whether the amount submitted constitutes backup 

withholding, address, total amount of income, and amount of tax withheld.  Multiple 

payees may be submitted on one form. 

 

(j)(k) FTB Form 592-F, Foreign Partner or Member Annual Withholding Return.  FTB Form 

592-F shall contain the following information: 

 

(1) A check box indicating whether the form is filed as an amended FTB Form 592-F. 

 

(2) A check box indicating whether the form is filed based on the filing of a federal 

extension. 

 

(3) A space to indicate the month, day, and year of the start of the partnership's or 

LLC's calendar or fiscal year. 

 

(4) A space to indicate the month, day, and year of the end of the partnership's or 

LLC's calendar or fiscal year. 

 

(5) Withholding Agent information, which includes the business name, identification 

number (FEIN, California corporation number, or California Secretary of StateSOS file 

number), telephone number, and address. 
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(6) Pass-Through Entity Information: Withholding agent information for pass-through 

entity which withheld on behalf of current Form 592-PTE filer.  Withholding agent 

information includes the business or individual name (not both), identification number 

(SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or SOS file number), withholding 

agent's address, and telephone number. 

 

(6)(7) Total number of foreign partners or members reported on the FTB Form 592-

F. 

 

(7)(8) Total tax amount withheld from all payees listed by withholding agent, 

excluding backup withholding excluding backup withholding. 

 

(9)   Total backup withholding from all payees listed by withholding agent. (8)

 Total backup withholding from all payees listed by withholding agent. 

 

(910) Total amount of tax withholding and backup withholding (combined) and 

backup withholding (combined). 

 

(110) Amount withheld by another entity and being allocated to partners or 

members under this FTB Form 592-F.  

 

(121)  Total of prior payments of foreign partners' or member's withholding for the 

taxable year. 

 

(132) Total amount of foreign partner or member credit carried over from the prior 

withholding year. 

 

(143) Total of the following:  (1) amount withheld by another entity and being 

allocated to partners or members under this FTB Form 592-F; (2) total of prior 

payments of foreign partners' or member's withholding for the taxable year; and (3) 

total amount of foreign partner or member credit carried over from the prior 

withholding year. 

 

(154) Total amount being submitted on FTB Form 592-F; submit withholding amount 

along with Form 592-A. 

 

(165) Overpayment amount (if applicable). 

 

(176) Credit to be applied to next year's FTB Form 592-F (if applicable). 

 

(187) Refund amount (if applicable). 
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(198) Payee information, which includes the business or individual name (not both), 

business identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or 

California Secretary of StateSOS file number), a check box indicating whether the 

amount submitted constitutes backup withholding,contact name at the business, a 

check box indicating whether the amount submitted constitutes backup withholding, 

address, total amount of income, and amount of tax withheld.  Multiple payees may be 

submitted on one form. 

 

(2019) The name and dated signature of the withholding agent. 

 

(210) The name, PTIN number, address, telephone number and dated signature of 

the preparer. 

 

(k)(l) FTB Form 588, Nonresident Withholding Waiver Request.  FTB Form 588 shall contain 

the following information: 

 

(1) Withholding Agent information, which includes the business or individual name 

(not both), business identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation 

number, or California Secretary of StateSOS file number), contact name at the 

business, daytime telephone number, fax number, and withholding agent's address. 

 
(2) Requester information, which includes the business and/or individual name (if 

applicable), business identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation 

number, or California Secretary of StateSOS file number), individual name or contact 

name at the business, daytime telephone number, fax number, and address, and a 

check box which requesters must mark to identify themselves as either.  A requester 

can be the withholding agent, the payee, or an authorized third party of either the 

withholding agent or payee. 

 
(3) A check box indicating one of the following types of income subject to withholding: 

Payments to Independent Contractors; Trust Distributions; Rents or Royalties; 

Distributions to Domestic Nonresident Partners, Members, Beneficiaries, or S 

Corporation Shareholders; Estate Distributions; or Other.  For "Other," an explanation 

must be provided. 

 

(4) Payee information, which includes the business or individual name (or both for 

grantor trusts or sole proprietorships), business identification number (SSN or ITIN, 

FEIN, California corporation number, or California Secretary of StateSOS file number), 

contact name at the business, and address.  If the payee is a newly admitted business 

entity or individual, the date of admittance must be provided.  If the payee is a grantor 

trust, the grantor’s individual name and SSN/ITIN must be provided.  Multiple payees 

may be submitted on one form along with a check box for each indicating the reason 

for the waiver request. 

 

(5) A check box indicating one of the following reasons for the waiver request: 
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(A) Payee has California state tax returns on file for the two most current 

taxable years in which the payee has a filing requirement.  Payee is considered 

current on any tax obligations with the Franchise Tax Board.  

 

(B) Payee is making timely estimated tax payments for the current taxable year. 

Payee is considered current on any tax obligations with the Franchise Tax Board. 

  

(C) Payee is a corporation that is not qualified to do business and does not have 

a permanent place of business in California, but is filing a tax return based on a 

combined report with a corporation that does have has a permanent place of 

business in California. Attach a copy of California Form 100, Schedule R-7 of 

Schedule R, Election to File a Unitary Taxpayers’ Group Return, from the 

combined report. 

  

(D) Payee is a newly admitted S corporation shareholder, partner of a 

partnership, or member of a limited liability company.  In the “Newly Admitted 

Date” box, provide the date this shareholder, partner, or member was admitted. 

during the current year must be provided.  This The waiver will expire at the end of 

the calendar year succeeding the date the payee was newly admitted. granted. 

Once expired, the payee must have the most current California tax return due on 

file, or estimated tax payments for the current taxable year in order to have a new 

waiver granted. 

 

(E) Other--For "Other," attach a the specific reason and include substantiation 

that would justify a for the waiver from withholding. If the payee is a group return 

participant, attach a copy of California Schedule 1067A, Nonresident Group 

Return Schedule, from the group return. request must be explained and 

substantiated.   

 

 (6) The name, telephone number and the dated signature of the requester. 

 

(l)(m) FTB Form 589, Nonresident Reduced Withholding Request.  FTB Form 589 shall 

contain the following information: 

 

(1) Withholding Agent information, which includes the business or individual name 

(not both), business identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation 

number, or California Secretary of StateSOS file number), contact name at the 

business, daytime telephone number, fax number, withholding agent's address, and 

name of venue or property address (if applicable). 

 
(2) Payee information, which includes the business or individual name (not both), 

business identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or 

California Secretary of StateSOS file number), contact name at the business, fictitious 

business statement name (if applicable), fax number, address, and telephone number.  

 

(3) A check box indicating one of the following types of income subject to withholding: 

Payment to Independent Contractor; Trust Distributions; Rents or Royalties; 
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Distributions to Domestic Nonresident Partners, Members, Beneficiaries, or S 

Corporation Shareholders; Estate Distributions; or Other.  For "Other," an explanation 

must be provided. 

 

(4) Date(s) of service.  

 

(5) Gross California source payment. 

 

(6) Withholding Agent Payee expenses, consisting of the following: 

 

(A) Advertising; 

 

(B) Commissions and fees; 

 

(C) Cost of labor (contract labor); 

 

(D) Insurance; 

 

(E) Legal, professional, and/or management fee; 

 

(F) Rent or lease payments; 

 

(G) Supplies; 

 

(H) Travel, meals, and entertainment; and 

 

(I) Other.  For "Other," the type of expense and amount must be explained and 

substantiated.  

 

(7) Total amount of expenses. 

 

(8) Net California source payment (gross California source payment, less total 

amount of expenses). 

 

(9) Withholding amount (multiply the net source payment by 7 percent). 

 

(10) The name and dated signature of the payee.  

 

(11) The name, PTIN number, telephone number and dated signature of the preparer. 

 

 

Note: Authority cited:  Section 19503, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

 Reference:  Sections 18662 and 18817, Revenue and Taxation Code. 
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California Code of Regulations Title 18 

Division 3, Chapter 2.6, Subchapter 2,  

Article 5, Regulation Section 18662-8 

 

Section 18662-8 is amended to read: 

 

§ 18662-8. Reporting and Remitting Amounts Withheld, Penalties, and Interest; Other 

Procedures.   

 

(a) General.  The Franchise Tax Board shall prescribe necessary forms identified in 

Regulation sections 18662-0 through 18662-8, or any successor forms designated by the 

Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov, for the reporting and remitting of 

withholding of tax amounts. 

 

(b) Real Estate Sales -- Information Returns. 

 

(1) Payment Due Dates and Form.  Real estate withholding is due by the 20th day of 

the calendar month following the month escrow closes.  For example, if escrow closes 

on January 3rd, payment is due on or before February 20th. If February 20th falls on a 

weekend or holiday, the payment may be remitted pursuant to FTB Form 593, Real 

Estate Withholding Tax Statement, or any successor form designated by the Franchise 

Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 593") and FTB Form 593-V, 

Payment Voucher for Real Estate Withholding, or any successor form designated by the 

Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 593-V") on the next 

business day without penalty. The required information specified in FTB Form 593 and 

FTB Form 593-V is set forth in subsection (g) and subsection (h), respectively, below. 

Payment of withholding on Section 1031 like-kind exchanges is due on the 20th day of 

the calendar month following the month in which the exchange was completed or 

failed. For simultaneous exchanges, the exchange is completed in the month escrow 

closes. For deferred exchanges, the exchange is completed in the month the last 

requirement of the exchange is completed. For failed exchanges, the exchange fails in 

the month when the proceeds were distributed to the seller/transferor after a 

determination that the exchange would not meet the Internal Revenue Code section 

1031 exchange requirements. For Section 1031 like-kind exchanges, payment of 

withholding on non-like-kind property from the sale (boot) in excess of $1,500 

disbursed to the seller/transferor is due on the 20th day of the calendar month 

following the month in which the boot was disbursed. Remittance shall be in the form 

and manner as the Franchise Tax Board may prescribe in FTB Form 593.      

 

(2) Reporting.   

 

(A) In General.  Real estate sales/transfers and withholding is are reportable to 

the Franchise Tax Board either by paper on FTB Form 593 for paper payments, 

which can be filed on paper or electronically (where allowable) or electronically 

here along with the remittance on. Withholding payments made via check or 

money order must be remitted with FTB Form 593-V.  Withholding payments 

made electronically do not require FTB Form 593-V.   

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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(B) Information Returns.  An FTB Form 593 stating the amount of the real estate 

withholding shall be provided to the seller/transferor payee either at the time of 

sale or not later than the 20th day following the month in which escrow closes 

January 31st of the following calendar year, and may be required to be filed with 

the Franchise Tax Board, in the form and manner that the Franchise Tax Board 

may prescribe in FTB Form 593 and FTB Form 593-V. The seller/transferor payee 

may be required to attach a copy of the FTB Form 593 to the appropriate tax 

return to be filed with the Franchise Tax Board in order to claim a credit for the 

withheld amount.  

 

(c) Withholding From Payments Other Than Real Estate Sales. 

 

(1) Payment Due Dates.   

 

(A) In General. Withholding on nonresident payments is due on the same dates 

under the same schedule as required for calendar year federal estimated tax.  

Withholding from payments made January 1st through March 31st is due April 

15th, April 1st through May 31st is due June 15th, June 1st through August 

31st is due September 15th, and September 1st through December 31st is 

due January 15th of the following year. Remittance Reporting shall be 

completed by paper or electronically pursuant to FTB Form 592, Resident and 

Nonresident Withholding Tax Statement, or any successor form designated by 

the Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 592"). 

Payments shall be remitted using and FTB Form 592-V, Payment Voucher for 

Resident or Nonresident or Resident Withholding, or any successor form 

designated by the Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB 

Form 592-V"), either electronically or by for paper checks or money orders. 

Withholding payments made electronically do not require FTB Form 592-V. 

The required information specified in FTB Form 592 and FTB Form 592-V is 

set forth in subsection (i) and subsection (j), respectively, below. 

 

(B) Domestic Pass-through Entity. Withholding on payments is due on the same 

dates as required for calendar year federal estimated tax.  Withholding from 

payments made January 1st through March 31st is due April 15th, April 1st 

through May 31st is due June 15th, June 1st through August 31st is due 

September 15th, and September 1st through December 31st is due January 

15th of the following year. Reporting shall be completed by paper or 

electronically pursuant to FTB Form 592-PTE, Pass-Through Entity Annual 

Withholding Return, or any successor form designated by the Franchise Tax 

Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 592-PTE"). Payments shall 

be remitted using FTB Form 592-Q, Payment Voucher for Pass-Through Entity 

Withholding, or any successor form designated by the Franchise Tax Board on 

its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 592-Q"), for paper checks or money 

orders. Withholding payments made electronically do not require FTB Form 

592-Q. The required information specified in FTB Form 592-PTE and FTB Form 

592-Q is set forth in subsection (k) and subsection (l), respectively, below. 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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(C) (2) Foreign (Non-U.S.) Partners or Members- Due Dates. California follows 

federal procedures for foreign partners. Therefore, the due dates for 

payments are the same as the federal due dates, as prescribed in federal 

regulations., and Remittance shall be pursuant to FTB Form 592-F, Foreign 

Partner or Member Annual Withholding Return, or any successor form 

designated by the Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov (“FTB 

Form 592-F”) and Form 592-A, Payment Voucher for Foreign Partner or 

Member Withholding, or any successor form designated by the Franchise Tax 

Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 592-A"), either 

electronically or by paper check. The required information specified in FTB 

Form 592-F and FTB Form 592-A is set forth in subsection (k)(m) and 

subsection (n), respectively, below. 

 

(3)(2) Reporting.   

 

(A) In General.  Withholding on payments should must be reported to the 

Franchise Tax Board either by paper on FTB Form 592 or FTB Form 592-F 

for paper payments, which can be filed on paper or electronically (where 

allowable) or electronically along with the remittance pursuant to FTB Form 

592-A, Payment Voucher for Foreign Partner or Member Withholding, or any 

successor form designated by the Franchise Tax Board on its website at 

www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 592-A"). Withholding payments made via check 

or money order must be remitted with FTB Form 592-V. Withholding 

payments made electronically do not require FTB Form 592-V.  

 

(B) Domestic Pass-through Entity Withholding. If the withholding agent is a 

domestic pass-through entity, FTB Form 592-Q shall be filed with each 

quarterly withholding remittance. Total quarterly withholding payments 

made throughout the year, or total withholding paid by another entity and to 

be allocated to partners or members, shall be reported to the Franchise Tax 

Board pursuant to FTB Form 592-PTE, on an annual basis no later than 

January 31st of the year following the year for which such withholding was 

required to be remitted to the Franchise Tax Board. 

 

(C) Foreign (Non-U.S.) Partner or Member. California conforms to federal 

regulations and procedures for foreign partner withholding, so the due dates 

for reporting such withholding are the same as the federal due dates, as 

prescribed in federal regulations, and pursuant to FTB Form 592-F and Form 

592-A. FTB Form 592-A, shall be filed with each quarterly remittance. 

Quarterly withholding payments shall then be reported on FTB Form 592-F, 

on or before the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of the 

partnership's or LLC's taxable year.  

 

(D) FTB Form 592-A contains five payment vouchers, one for each reporting 

period plus a supplemental voucher if there is a balance due on FTB Form 

592-F. The supplemental voucher is due on the original due date of FTB 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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Form 592-F, regardless of an extension. The required information specified 

in FTB Form 592-A is set forth in subsection (l)(n), below. The name and 

Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) of each payee should be provided so 

that the payment can be properly posted to the payee's account. 

 

(E) (B) Information Returns.  Payee Statement. Pursuant to FTB Form 592-B, 

Resident and Nonresident Withholding Tax Statement, or any successor 

form designated by the Franchise Tax Board on its website at 

www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 592-B"), an information return a payee 

statement shall be provided to the payee aggregating all withholding for the 

tax year by January 31st of the following year, and may be required to be 

filed with the Franchise Tax Board, in the form and manner that the 

Franchise Tax Board may prescribe in FTB Form 592-B and instructions. The 

required information specified in FTB Form 592-B is set forth in subsection 

(m)(o), below. The payee may be is required to attach a copy of FTB Form 

592-B to the appropriate tax return to be filed with the Franchise Tax Board 

in order to claim a credit for the withheld amount.  

 

(4)(3) Electronic and Magnetic Media.  Any reference to FTB Form 592, FTB Form 

592-PTE, or FTB Form 592-F or payments on FTB Form 592-A, FTB Form 592-Q, or 

Form 592-V in these regulations shall also refer to corresponding electronic filings and 

payments. 

 

(5)(4) Withholding Adjustments.  If a withholding agent discovers that an amount 

was withheld in error, the withholding agent may file an amended FTB Form 592, FTB 

Form 592-PTE, or FTB Form 592-F showing the proper amount of withholding on the 

payment and either make an additional remittance using FTB Form 592-A, FTB Form 

592-Q, or FTB Form 592-V, or request a refund or credit of the erroneously withheld 

amount to be refunded or credited either to the withholding agent or to the payee, as 

appropriate. If the withholding agent requests that the erroneously withheld amount be 

retained as a credit against the withholding agent's future withholding obligations (in 

cases where the withholding agent has repaid the erroneously withheld funds to the 

payee), the Franchise Tax Board will retain the withholding amount in the name of the 

withholding agent who can then apply the excess withholding on a later period 

remittance as a prior payment. 

 

(d) Interest and Penalties. 

 

(1) Interest.  Revenue and Taxation Code section 18668, subdivision (b), requires the 

Franchise Tax Board to compute and assess interest on any amount not paid on or 

before the due date required by regulations, at the rate established pursuant to 

Revenue and Taxation Code section 19521, computed from the due date to the date 

paid.  This interest is not a penalty, but compensation for the use of the funds from the 

date the withheld funds were due to the date remitted. 

 

(2) Penalties and Liabilities.   

 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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(A) Information Return and Payee Statement Penalties.  Revenue and Taxation 

Code section 19183 incorporates federal information return and payee 

statement penalties by reference. FTB Form 592, FTB Form 592-PTE, FTB Form 

592-F, and FTB Form 593 and FTB Form 592-B are information returns,. FTB 

Form 592-B is a payee statement.  and fFailure to file those these returns and 

statement may subject the withholding agent or remitter to information return 

and/or payee statement penalties as specified in Regulation sections 18662-0 

through 18662-8.   

 

(B) Real Estate Information Return Penalties.  A penalty may be assessed if the 

withholding agent remitter fails to file a correct FTB Form 593 between the due 

date and 30 days after the due date. The penalty increases if a correct FTB Form 

593 is filed more than 30 days following the due date, and again more than 6 

months following the due date, or if a correct FTB Form 593 is never filed. 

 

If the noncompliance is due to an intentional disregard of the requirements of 

Regulation sections 18662-0 through 18662-8, the penalty increases to the 

greater of $100250 or 10 percent of the required withholding. The penalty is for 

each FTB Form 593 that the withholding agent remitter does not file correctly by 

the due date. 

 

(C) Liability of Withholding Agent for Required Withholding.  Revenue and 

Taxation Code section 18668, subdivision (a), provides that a withholding agent 

is liable for the amount that was required to be withheld, and applicable penalties 

and interest, unless it is shown that the failure was due to reasonable cause. 

 

When the withholding agent pays the liability under subsection (d)(2)(C) for 

required withholding and information return penalties and interest, and the 

nonresident payee subsequently files a return and pays the tax, Franchise Tax 

Board may reverse the liability for required withholding upon written request by 

the withholding agent; however, the withholding agent remains liable for any 

information return penalties and interest.   

 

(D) Special Rules for Real Estate Withholding.  

 

1. Real Estate Notification and Withholding Penalties.  The penalty for not 

properly notifying buyers/transferees is the greater of $500 or 10 percent of 

the required withholding. The penalty for failing to withhold is the greater of 

$500 or 10 percent of the required withholding. If the failure to withhold is 

shown to be due to reasonable cause, the Franchise Tax Board will withdraw 

the penalty. 

 

2. Real Estate Information Returns and False Exemption Certificates.  The 

withholding agent remitter may be subject to a $5100 penalty if the 

withholding agent does not provide the sellers/transferors with correct 

copies of FTB Form 593 by the due date.  If the noncompliance is due to an 

intentional disregard of the requirements set forth in Regulation sections 
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18662-0 through 18662-8, the penalty increases to the greater of $10250 

or 10 percent of the required withholding.  The penalty is for each FTB Form 

593 that is not furnished.  FTB Form 593 is considered correct when all 

applicable fields are completed, the information is correct, and the correct 

version of the form is used. The Franchise Tax Board will make available on 

its website at www.ftb.ca.gov and will designate the proper version of FTB 

Form 593 for each year. The pre-printed year on FTB Form 593 must match 

the year the transaction occurred. For sales, this is the year escrow closed. 

For installment payments, this is the year of the installment payment. For 

exchanges, this is the year the last requirement of the exchange was 

completed or when it was determined that the exchange would not meet the 

Internal Revenue Code section 1031 requirements and any cash or cash 

equivalent was distributed to the seller/transferor. If the seller/transferor 

knowingly certifies to executes a false exemption on FTB Form 593-C, Real 

Estate Withholding Certificate, or any successor form designated by the 

Franchise Tax Board on its website at www.ftb.ca.gov ("FTB Form 593-C"), 

the seller/transferor may be subject to a penalty of the greater of $1,000 or 

20 percent of the required withholding. The required information specified in 

FTB Form 593-C is set forth in subsection (n), below. 

 

(e) Other Information Returns. The Franchise Tax Board may prescribe in writing when 

other information returns and withholding statements must be provided to the payee and/or 

to the Franchise Tax Board. 

 

(f) Coordination With Group Returns.  Except as set forth in Revenue and Taxation Code 

sections 18534 and 18536, withholding of tax is allowed as a credit against the tax shown 

on a group nonresident return.  

 

(g) FTB Form 593, Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement.  See Regulation section 

18662-3, subsection (j)(h). 

 

(h) FTB Form 593-V, Payment Voucher for Real Estate Withholding.  See Regulation 

section 18662-3, subsection (k)(i). 

 

(i) FTB Form 592, Resident and Nonresident Withholding Tax Statement.  See Regulation 

section 18662-4, subsection (i). 

 

(j) FTB Form 592-V, Payment Voucher for Resident or Nonresident or Resident 

Withholding. FTB Form 592-V shall contain the following information: 

 

(1) A check box to indicate how FTB Form 592 was submitted, by one of two methods 

(electronic or paper). 

 

(2) Total number of payees reported on FTB Form 592-V. 

 

(3) Withholding Agent information, which includes the business and/or individual 

name, identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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California Secretary of State (SOS) file number), contact name at the business, 

telephone number, and withholding agent's address. 

 

(4) Amount of payment submitted with FTB Form 592-V.  

 

(5) A check box to indicate the types of income being reported: Payment to 

Independent Contractor; Trust Distributions; Rents or Royalties; Estate Distributions; 

Elective Withholding; Elective Withholding/Indian Tribe; or Other. For “Other,” an 

explanation must be provided. 

 

(k) FTB Form 592-PTE, Pass-Through Entity Annual Withholding Return.  See Regulation 

section 18662-4, subsection (j). 

 

(l) FTB Form 592-Q, Payment Voucher for Pass-Through Entity Withholding. FTB Form 

592-Q shall contain the following information: 

 

(1) A check box to indicate how FTB Form 592-PTE was submitted, by one of two 

methods (electronic or paper). 

 

(2) Total number of payees reported on FTB Form 592-Q. 

 

(3) Withholding Agent information, which includes the business and/or individual 

name, identification number (SSN or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or SOS 

file number), telephone number, and withholding agent's address. 

 

(4) Amount of payment submitted with FTB Form 592-Q.  

 

(k)(m) FTB Form 592-F, Foreign Partner or Member Annual Withholding Return.  See 

Regulation section 18662-4, subsection (j)(k). 

 

(l)(n) FTB Form 592-A, Payment Voucher for Foreign Partner or Member Withholding.  FTB 

Form 592-A shall contain the following information: 

 

(1)     On the supplemental voucher, a check box to indicate how FTB Form 592-F was 

submitted, by one of two methods (electronic or paper). 

 

(1)(2) A space to indicate the month, day, and year of the start of the partnership's 

or LLC's calendar or fiscal year. 

 

(2)(3) A space to indicate the month, day, and year of the end of the partnership's or 

LLC's calendar or fiscal year. 

 

(3)(4) Withholding Agent information, which includes the business name, 

identification number (FEIN, California corporation number, or California Secretary of 

StateSOS file number), contact name at the business, telephone number, and address. 
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(4)(5) Amount of payment submitted with FTB Form 592-A.  

 

(m)(o) FTB Form 592-B, Resident and Nonresident Withholding Tax Statement. FTB Form 

592-B shall contain the following information: 

 

(1) A check box indicating whether the form is filed as an amended FTB Form 592-B. 

 

(2) Withholding Agent information, which includes name, identification number (SSN 

or ITIN, FEIN, California corporation number, or California Secretary of StateSOS file 

number), address, and telephone number. 

 

(3) Payee information, which includes name, identification number (SSN or ITIN, 

FEIN, California corporation number, or California Secretary of StateSOS file number), 

and address. 

 

(4) A check box to indicate the types of income being reported: Payment to 

Independent Contractors; Trust Distributions; Rents or Royalties; Distributions to 

Domestic Nonresident Partners, Members, Beneficiaries, or S Corporation 

Shareholders; Estate Distributions; Elective Withholding; Elective Withholding/Indian 

Tribe; Allocations to Foreign (non-U.S.) Nonresident Partners/Members; or Other.  For 

"Other," an explanation must be provided. 

 

(5) Total amount subject to withholding. 

 

(6) Total California resident and/or nonresident tax withheld (excluding backup 

withholding). 

 

(7) Total backup withholding. 

 

(n) FTB Form 593-C, Real Estate Withholding Certificate.  See Regulation section 18662-3, 

subsection (i). 

 

Note: Authority cited:  Section 19503, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

 Reference:  Section 18662, Revenue and Taxation Code. 
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