1 Million People Did Not File
We are contacting more than 1 million people who did not file a state income tax return for last year. The deadline to file a 2011 state tax return was October 15, 2012.
We contact those who earned California income, but did not file a tax return for the 2011 filing year. We compare our records of filed tax returns with the more than 400 million income records we receive each year from third parties. We receive income information from the IRS, banks, employers, state departments, and other sources. We also use occupational licenses and mortgage interest payment information to detect others who may also have a requirement to file a state tax return.
Last year, we collected more than $714 million through these efforts.
Since the 1950s, we have contacted people who may have a filing requirement, but did not file a tax return. Those contacted have 30 days to file a state tax return or show why one is not due. When a required tax return is not filed, we issue a tax assessment using income records to estimate the amount of state tax due. The assessment includes interest, fees, and penalties that can total up to 50 percent.
For more information about a notice received, go to ftb.ca.gov and search request/demand for tax return. Using this online service, individuals can request more time to respond, retrieve information that can assist in filing a tax return, request tax forms, learn about payment options, sign up to receive an email reminder to file, and access other services. They can also call us at 866.204.7902 to get information.Last year, California taxpayers filed more than 15.8 million tax returns for the 2011 tax year.