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New California law authorizes the Franchise Tax Board to aggressively combat abusive tax 
shelters and transactions by adding substantial penalties, along with new registration and 
reporting requirements for both investors and promoters of abusive tax shelters.   
 
The law also provides an opportunity for taxpayers who underreported their income or tax 
liability using abusive tax shelters and transactions to amend their returns and limit the risk of 
penalties, before we step-up our enforcement activities. These penalties are substantial and can 
range from 20 percent to 75 percent of the underpayment, and include an added penalty equal 
to 100 percent of the interest charged on any deficiency assessment.  
 
This opportunity to come forward, which by statute is called the Voluntary Compliance Initiative, 
applies to tax year 2002 and prior tax years. It is effective through April 15, 2004. To participate 
in the Voluntary Compliance Initiative or get more information about the new abusive tax 
shelter and transaction penalties, read the enclosed brochure, or: 
 

• Visit our Voluntary Compliance Initiative Website at www.ftb.ca.gov. 
• Email us at vci@ftb.ca.gov. 
• Call our Voluntary Compliance Initiative hotline at (916) 845-3232, Monday – Friday, 

9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
 
 
This letter constitutes formal notification of the Voluntary Compliance Initiative pursuant to 
California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 19751(e).  If you invested in an abusive tax 
shelter, and do not participate in this initiative, you cannot avoid the abusive tax shelter and 
transaction penalties by filing an amended return after April 15, 2004.  If you did not invest in 
any abusive tax shelter or transaction, please disregard this letter. 
  
 
 
 
Winston Mah, Chief 
Audit Division 
 

http://www.ca.gov/

