
Comparison of New Federal Tax Shelter Law to California’s Current Tax Shelter Law 
As of October 27, 2004 

 
 

STATUTE TITLE 
 

SB 614 
California Tax Shelter Law 

2004 HR.4520 
American Jobs Creation Act  

 
INVESTOR PENALTIES   
Non-economic substance transaction 
   

� Penalty is: 
- 20% of understatement if 

adequately disclosed. 
- 40% of understatement if not 

adequately disclosed. 
� FTB Chief Counsel may rescind 

reportable transaction penalty.  No 
appeal for refusal to rescind penalty 

 
 

� None 

Reportable transaction understatement 
   

� Penalty is: 
- 20% if transaction adequately 

disclosed. 
- 30% if transaction not adequately 

disclosed. 
� The 20% penalty can only be avoided 

if the taxpayer (1) satisfies 
“strengthened reasonable cause” 
exception and (2) has been contacted 
by the FTB regarding a potentially 
ATS.  

� FTB Chief Counsel may rescind the 
penalty.  No appeal for refusal to 
rescind penalty. 

� Penalty is the same as CA. 
� The 20% penalty can only be avoided if 

the taxpayer satisfies the “strengthened 
reasonable cause” exception.   

� Any understatement upon which penalty 
is imposed is not subject to the valuation 
misstatement penalty under Sections 
6662(e) and (h). 

 

Failure to disclose reportable transaction  
 

y Penalty is: 
- $15K for reportable transactions. 
- $30K for listed transactions. 

y Applies only to large entities or high 

y Penalty is 
- $10K – individuals; increased to 

$100K for listed transaction. 
- $50K – all other taxpayers; 
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PASS
The federal provisions shown are effective after the date of enactment (October 23, 2004).   That is, returns/statements due after that date, taxable years ending after that date, activities occurring after that date, communications after that date, etc.

PASS
The strengthened reasonable cause exception is available only if the relevant facts affecting the tax treatment are adequately disclosed, there is or was substantial authority for the claimed tax treatment, and the taxpayer reasonably believed that the claimed tax treatment was more likely than not the proper treatment.
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net worth individuals. 

y FTB Chief Counsel may rescind 
reportable transaction penalty.  No 
appeal for refusal to rescind penalty. 

y Applies to taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2003, except for: 
(1) Taxpayers who invested in a 

transaction after February 28, 2000 
and before January 1, 2004, and 
that transaction becomes listed at 
any time, or  

(2) Taxpayers who invested in 
California listed transactions on or 
after September 2, 2003. 

 

increased to $200K for listed 
transaction. 

y Commissioner may rescind reportable 
transaction penalty.  No judicial appeal 
for refusal to rescind penalty. 

y IRS must send Congress an annual 
report summarizing application of 
penalties, description of penalties 
rescinded and reason for rescission. 

y A public entity required to pay a 
penalty for failing to disclose a listed 
transaction must disclose the imposition 
of the penalty in reports to the SEC for 
the period as the Secretary shall specify.

Frivolous submission penalty 
 

� Penalty is  $5000 for submitting a 
“specified frivolous submission”. 

� FTB Chief Counsel may rescind 
penalty.  No appeal for FTB’s refusal 
to rescind penalty.  

 

� None  

Frivolous return penalty 
   

� Penalty is $5000 if FTB contacts 
taxpayer regarding a potentially ATS. 

� FTB Chief Counsel may rescind 
penalty.  No appeal for FTB’s refusal to 
rescind penalty. 

� No change to existing federal law.  
Current penalty is $500. 

Accuracy related penalty changes 
 

y Modifies definition of “substantial” for 
corporate taxpayers contacted by FTB 
regarding potentially abusive tax 
shelter. 

y Modifies definition of “substantial” for 
corporate taxpayers.   

y A corporate taxpayer has a substantial 
understatement if the amount of the 
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PASS
The penalty must be disclosed in reports to the SEC once the taxpayer has exhausted its administrative and judicial remedies with respect to the penalty (or if earlier, when paid).  However, the taxpayer is only required to report the penalty one time. This requirement also applies to a public entity that is subject to a gross valuation misstatement penalty under 6662(h) attributable to a non-disclosed listed transaction or non-disclosed reportable avoidance transaction.  
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y Corporate taxpayer has a substantial 

understatement if the understatement 
for taxable year exceeds the lesser of 
(1) 10% of tax required to be shown on 
the return (or, if greater, $2,500), or 
(2) $5 M.   

y Elevates the standard a taxpayer must 
satisfy to reduce the amount of the 
understatement for items not 
adequately disclosed.  The 
understatement is only reduced if 
taxpayer had a reasonable belief that 
the tax treatment was more likely than 
not the proper treatment.  

 

understatement for the taxable year 
exceeds, the lesser of (1) 10% of tax 
required to be shown on return (or, if 
greater, $10K), or (2) $10 M. 

y Does not raise standard to “more likely 
than not”. 

 

Waive suspension of interest � Interest not suspended for individual 
taxpayers with revised taxable income 
greater than $200K if FTB contacts the 
taxpayer regarding the use of a 
potentially ATS.  

� No change to existing federal law, 
which allows suspension of interest on 
tax shelter assessments.  

Interest Based Penalty � Penalty is equal to 100% of the accrued 
interest on the underpayment of tax if 
taxpayer contacted by FTB regarding a 
potentially ATS.  

� None 

Qualified amended return interest rate � Amended returns self-assessing tax that 
are filed after 4/15/04 are subject to a 
50% increased interest rate for 
understatements of tax related to a 
reportable transaction. 

� None 
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PROMOTER/ORGANIZER 
PENALTIES 

  

Promoter penalty 
 

y Penalty is 50% of gross income derived 
by the person from the activity. 

y Does not apply to a gross valuation 
overstatement. 

y Same 

Failure to register tax shelter 
 

y Penalty for failing to register tax shelter 
or filing incomplete registration. - 
$15K 

y Penalty for listed transaction is the 
greater of: 
(1) $100K, or   
(2) 50% of gross income derived from 
the activity. Intentional disregard – 
penalty is 75% of gross income. 

y FTB Chief Counsel cannot waive 
penalty for listed transactions.  No right 
to appeal refusal to rescind penalty.   

y Repealed registration regime and 
associated penalties.   

y Created information return reporting 
requirements.  

Failure of Material Advisor to File 
Information Return for Reportable 
Transactions 
 

� None � Penalty - $50K 
� For listed transaction penalty is greater 

of: 
(1) $200K, or  
(2) 50% gross income with respect to 
the transaction.  Intentional disregard – 
penalty is 75% of gross income. 

y Commissioner cannot waive penalty 
with respect to listed transaction.  No 
right to judicial appeal for refusal to 
rescind penalty. 

y IRS must send Congress an annual 
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report summarizing application of 
penalties, description of penalties 
rescinded and reason for rescission. 

Failure to Provide Investor List for 
Reportable Transactions  
 

y Penalty is $10K a day after 20th day for 
reportable transactions.  

y Licensed attorneys, who are material 
advisors due solely to the practice of 
law, do not have to maintain investor 
lists if a transaction was entered into 
before January 1, 2004.  

y SOL for imposing penalty is 8 yrs after 
failure to provide or maintain list. 

y FTB Chief Counsel can only waive 
penalty for reportable transactions.  No 
right to appeal refusal to rescind 
penalty.   

y Penalty is the same as for CA. 
y Penalty can be waived if failure to make 

the list available is due to reasonable 
cause. 

Failure to Automatically Provide Investor 
List for Listed Transactions 

y Penalty is the greater of: 
- $100K, or  
- 50% of gross income derived from 

the activity.  Intentional disregard –
75% of gross income. 

y SOL for imposing penalty is 8 yrs after 
failure to provide or maintain list. 

y FTB Chief Counsel cannot waive 
penalty for listed transactions.  No right 
to appeal refusal to rescind penalty.   

 

� None 

Preparer penalty 
 

� Penalty  - $1000.  If willful/reckless 
conduct - $5,000 

� Replaced “possibility standard” with 

� No change to existing federal law.  
Current penalty is $250. 

� If willful/reckless conduct penalty 
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requirement that there be a reasonable 
belief the tax treatment of the position 
was more likely than not standard. 

� Replaced the not frivolous standard 
with the requirement that there be a 
reasonable basis for the tax treatment of 
the position.  

increased to $1000. 

Extended SOL 
 

� FTB has 8 years after taxpayer files a 
return to mail a proposed deficiency 
assessment relating to an abusive tax 
avoidance transaction. 

� If listed transaction not properly 
disclosed on return, the SOL is 
extended 1 year after the earlier of the 
date: 
(1) Disclosure information is furnished 
to IRS, or  
(2) Material advisor satisfies list 
maintenance requirements with respect 
to IRS request.   

Confidentiality related to taxpayer 
communications 

� Communications with respect to tax 
shelters are not subject to the 
confidentiality provision that applies to 
communications between a taxpayer 
and a tax practitioner.   

� Ch. 412 (AB 1416) extends repeal 
date from 1/1/05 to 1/1/09. 

� Same – except no sunset date. 

Tax Shelter Injunctions  y An injunction may be sought against a 
material advisor to enjoin the advisor 
from failing to: 
(1) File an information return with 

respect to a reportable transaction, 
or 

(2) Maintain, or to timely furnish upon 

y Same   
y May also seek injunctions for violations 

of any of the rules under Circular 230. 
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written request by FTB, a list of 
investors for each reportable 
transaction. 

Interest Deduction y Allows deduction for interest paid on 
underpayment of tax attributable to 
potentially ATS. 

y Disallows deduction for interest paid or 
accrued within a taxable year on 
underpayment of tax attributable to 
non-disclosed reportable and listed 
transactions. 
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