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LAW SUMMARY 

California Child and Dependent Care Expenses (CDC) Credit 

 
1. INTRODUCTION 

 

This Law Summary explains the requirements that must 

be met for a taxpayer to establish qualification for the 

Child and Dependent Care Expenses (CDC) Credit.  

 

Revenue and Taxation (Rev. & Tax.) Code section 

17052.6 sets forth the rules for who is entitled to the 

California CDC Credit by reference to Internal Revenue 

Code (IRC) section 21. 

 

It is well settled that credits (and deductions) are a 

matter of legislative grace, and the taxpayer bears the 

burden of establishing entitlement to claimed credits.  

(See section 12, Burden of Proof, for further explanation 

and authorities.) 

 

A taxpayer, who qualified for the federal CDC Credit and 

whose federal adjusted gross income (AGI) is not over 

$100,000, can claim a percentage of the federal CDC 

Credit on his or her California tax return.  

 

A taxpayer who did not file a federal return or claim the 

federal credit may still claim the credit for California.  The 

taxpayer must complete FTB Form 3506 and attach it to 

his or her California income tax return.   

 

California allows this refundable credit only for care 

provided in California.  (Rev. & Tax. Code section 

17052.6(e)(1).)   

 

2.  THE CALCULATION/PERCENTAGES 

 

The California credit is a percentage of the federal credit, 

based on the taxpayer's federal AGI as follows: 

 

Federal AGI California Credit 

$40,000 or less 50% of federal credit 

More than $40,000, but 

not over $70,000 
43% of federal credit 

More than $70,000 but 

not over $100,000 
34% of federal credit 

Over $100,000 No California credit 

 

(Rev. &Tax. Code section 17052.6 (b)(2).) 

 

3.  FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR CDC CREDIT  

 

A taxpayer who is married or a Registered Domestic 

Partner (RDP) must file a joint income tax return to claim 

the California credit.  (IRC section 21(e)(2) and California 

Family Code sections 297 and 297.5.)  

 

However, if a married/RDP taxpayer meets the following 

requirements, the taxpayer is treated as not married and 

may claim the credit on a separate return either using 

head of household filing status or married filing separate 

filing status.  (IRC section 21(e)(4) and California Family 

Code sections 297 and 297.5.) 

 

a. The taxpayer lived apart from his or her 

spouse/RDP at all times during the last six months 

of the taxable year. 

b. The qualifying person(s) lived in the taxpayer's 

home more than half of the taxable year. 

c. The taxpayer provided over half the cost of keeping 

up the taxpayer's home. 

 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS INCLUDE: 

 

a. Care services must be provided in California.  (Rev. 

& Tax. Code section 17052.6(e)(1).) 

b. The taxpayer must have earned income to qualify 

for the credit.  If the taxpayer is married or an RDP 

and files a joint tax return, both the taxpayer and 

spouse or RDP must have earned income.  If the 

taxpayer (or his or her spouse or RDP) is a student 

or disabled, the taxpayer or spouse/RDP may be 

deemed to have earned income.  (For further 

explanation and authorities, see section 11, 

Deemed Earned Income.)  

c. The taxpayer's spouse or RDP does not need to be 

the taxpayer's dependent to qualify the taxpayer for 

the credit, but the taxpayer's child under the age of 

13 or a disabled person must be the taxpayer's 

dependent to qualify the taxpayer for the credit.  

(IRC section 21(b)(1).) 

d. The qualifying person must live with the taxpayer in 

the taxpayer's home for more than half the year.  

(IRC section 21(b)(1).)  

e. The person who provides the care services cannot 

be the taxpayer's spouse/RDP or the parent of the 

qualifying person. 

f. The person who provides the care services cannot 

be a person for whom the taxpayer can claim a 

dependent exemption credit, or a child of the 

taxpayer who has not reached the age of 19 years 

by the end of the taxable year.  (IRC section 

21(e)(6)(A) and (B).) 
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g. If a taxpayer claims the CDC Credit for his or her 

child, the taxpayer must be the custodial parent.  

(IRC section 21(e)(5).) 

h. A taxpayer must incur employment-related 

expenses for household services or for care of a 

qualifying person that allowed the taxpayer to work 

or look for work.  (IRC section 21(b)(2).)  Full-time or 

part-time positions qualify as work.  Actively looking 

for work also qualifies as work, but the taxpayer 

must have earned income for the taxable year to be 

eligible for the CDC Credit. 

i. A taxpayer must provide the name, address, and 

taxpayer ID, of the child care or dependent care 

provider and the amount paid to the care provider 

on FTB Form 3506.  (IRC section 21(e)(9).) 

 

4.   QUALIFYING PERSON DEFINED 

 

A qualifying person is: 

 

a. A child under age 13 who meets the requirements to 

be the taxpayer's dependent as a qualifying child 

(see section 5 below).  A child who turned 13 during 

the year qualifies only for the part of the year when 

he or she was 12 years old.  (IRC section 

21(b)(1)(A).) 

b. The taxpayer's spouse or RDP who was physically or 

mentally incapable of self-care.  (IRC section 

21(b)(1)(C) and California Family Code sections 297 

and 297.5.)  
c. Any person who was physically or mentally incapable 

of self-care and either: 

i. Was the taxpayer's dependent, or 

ii. Would have been the taxpayer's dependent 

except that: 

 

(1) He or she received gross income greater 

than the federal exemption amount for the 

taxable year at issue.  

(2) He or she filed a joint return 

(3) The taxpayer or the taxpayer's 

spouse/RDP, if filing a joint return, could 

be claimed as a dependent on someone 

else's return for the taxable year at issue.   

 

(IRC sections 21(b)(1)(B) and 152 and 

California Family Code sections 297 and 

297.5.)  

 

5.  QUALIFYING CHILD DEFINED 

A qualifying child is a child who meets all of the following 

tests: 

a. Relationship Test - The child must be the taxpayer's 

birth child, stepchild, grandchild, adopted child, 

foster child, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, 

stepbrother, stepsister, nephew, or niece.  An 

adopted child includes a child who has been lawfully 

placed with the taxpayer for legal adoption even if 

the adoption is not yet final.  A foster child must be 

placed with the taxpayer by an authorized placement 

agency or by a court.  (IRC section 152(c)(2).) 

b. Age Test - The child must be under 13 years of age.  

(IRC sections 21(b)(1)(A) and 152(c)(3).) 

c. Residency Test – The child must live with the 

taxpayer for more than half the year.  (IRC section 

152(c)(1)(B).) 

d. Support Test – The child must not have provided 

more than half of his or her own support during the 

year.  (IRC section 152(c)(1)(D).) 

e. Citizenship Test – The child must be a citizen or 

national of the U.S., or a resident of the U.S., 

Canada, or Mexico.  (IRC section 152(b)(3).) 

    6.   CHILDCARE PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS  
 

a. The care provider can be a licensed or unlicensed 

individual or organization.  

b. The care provider cannot be the taxpayer's 

spouse/RDP or someone the taxpayer can claim as 

a dependent on the taxpayer's tax return.  (IRC 

section 21(e)(6)(A); California Family Code sections 

297 and 297.5; Treasury Regulation section 1.21-

4(a)(3).) 

c. The care provider cannot be the taxpayer's child 

under age 19, even if the taxpayer's child is not the 

taxpayer's dependent.  (IRC section 21(e)(6)(B).) 

d. An overnight camp is not a care provider (IRC 

section 21(b)(2)(A)(ii).) 

e. If the qualifying person is the taxpayer's child, the 

care provider cannot be the child's other parent.  

However, a person who is the taxpayer's relative 

but not the taxpayer's dependent may be a care 

provider even if the provider lives in the taxpayer's 

home.  Care can be provided by a friend, a 

neighbor, or a relative as long as the relative is not 

the taxpayer's spouse/RDP and the taxpayer is not 

entitled to claim a dependent exemption credit for 

the friend, neighbor, or relative.  (IRC section 

21(e)(6)(A); California Family Code sections 297 

and 297.5; Treasury Regulation section 1.21-

4(a)(4).)  

f. In general, any kind of child or dependent care can 

qualify including care at a center, a family day care 

home, or a church.  (IRC section 21(b)(2)(C) and 

(D); Treasury Regulation section 1.21-1(e).) 

 

8.   NON-QUALIFYING CARE COSTS 

 

a. If a taxpayer receives free child or dependent care, 

such as from a state-subsidized program or another 

person, even if the individual is related to the child, 

that care cannot be used to qualify for the credit.  

However, if only part of the taxpayer's child care is 

subsidized and the taxpayer pays for the rest, the 
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amount the taxpayer pays can be used to qualify for 

the credit.  The credit is based on the lesser of (1) 

the actual employment-related care expenses paid 

by the taxpayer; (2) the taxpayer's earned income or 

the spouse's/RDP's earned income (if the taxpayer is 

married or registered with the State as a domestic 

partner and filed a joint return); or (3) the maximum 

allowable employment-related care expenses 

($3,000 for one qualifying person; $6,000 for two or 

more qualifying persons).  (IRC section 21(a)(1), (b), 

(c), and (d) and California Family Code sections 297 

and 297.5.) 

b. Tuition/education expenses for a child in 

kindergarten or a higher level do not qualify as child 

care expenses for the CDC Credit.  (Treasury 

Regulation section 1.21-1(d)(5).) 

8.  CARE COST LIMITS 

The California CDC Credit is a percentage of the federal 

CDC Credit (Rev. & Tax. Code section 17052.6 (b).) 

The credit for child and dependent care expenses is 

refundable for California purposes.  If a taxpayer owes 

state taxes for any taxable year, the credit first is applied 

to paying the taxes and any remaining amount of the 

credit will then be refunded to the taxpayer.  (Rev. & Tax. 

Code sections 19301 and 19302.) 

a. The CDC Credit is a percentage, based on a 

taxpayer's federal AGI, of the amount of 

employment-related care expenses the taxpayer 

paid during the year.  When calculating the credit, a 

taxpayer may claim up to $3,000 of the care 

expenses paid for one qualifying dependent and up 

to $6,000 if the taxpayer has two or more qualifying 

dependents.  However, this amount cannot exceed 

the taxpayer's earned income, or, if the taxpayer is 

married as of the last day of the year, the lesser of 

the taxpayer's or the spouse's earned income.  (See 

section 2 above for the percentage calculation.)  

 

9.  SUBSIDIZED DAY CARE 

A dependent care flexible benefit plan is a type of plan 

that includes an agreement to voluntarily reduce your 

salary in return for an employer-provided fringe benefit.  

This type of plan gives the taxpayer a choice of whether 

to receive cash wages or a benefit for dependent care.  

Because the taxpayer is not paying taxes on the money 

that is set aside to pay for the dependent care, the 

taxpayer may not claim the CDC Credit for the dependent 

care subsidized by the employer flexible benefit plan. 

 

10.  EARNED INCOME 

 

Earned income is wages, salaries, tips, or net earnings 

from self-employment that the taxpayer and his or her 

spouse/RDP received during the taxable year.  The 

taxpayer's income from pensions, social security, 

worker's compensation, interest, dividends, 

unemployment benefits, child support, alimony, and 

nontaxable workfare payments are not earned income 

for the purpose of qualifying for the credit.  (IRC section 

32(c)(2) and California Family Code sections 297 and 

297.5.) 

 

If a taxpayer is a military service member domiciled 

outside of California and earned military compensation 

during the taxable year, the compensation is considered 

earned income sourced in California and therefore, is 

used in computation of the credit. However, care 

services must be provided in California.  (Rev. & Tax. 

Code section 17052.6(e)(2).) 

 

Under the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act, the 

earned income of the spouse of a service member is not 

taxable by California if the spouse and service member 

are domiciled elsewhere.  As a result, if a service 

member’s spouse moves to California with the service 

member who is stationed in California, and the spouse 

keeps the same domicile outside California as the 

service member, the service member and spouse do not 

qualify for the CDC Credit on their joint California return 

because the spouse’s earned income is not taxable in 

California.  Earned income for purposes of the California 

CDC Credit is limited to earned income subject to 

California tax.  (Rev. & Tax. Code section 17052.6(e)(2).)  

The credit is not allowed on a joint California return 

because it is limited to the lesser of the service 

member's earned income, whether or not taxable by 

California, or the spouse’s earned income subject to 

California tax, which is zero.  (IRC section 21(d)(1).) 
 

11.  DEEMED EARNED INCOME 

 

For each month that the taxpayer's spouse or RDP was a 

full-time student or disabled, the spouse or RDP is 

deemed to have earned income of $250 per month for 

one qualifying person and $500 per month if there are 

two or more qualifying persons).  (IRC section 21(d)(2)(A) 

and (B) and California Family Code sections 297 and 

297.5.) 

 

If, in the same month, both the taxpayer and the 

taxpayer's spouse or RDP were either disabled or full-

time students, only one of them is deemed to have 

earned income in that month.  (IRC section 21(d)(2) and 

California Family Code sections 297 and 297.5.) 
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The taxpayer's spouse or RDP was a student if he or she 

was enrolled as a full-time student at an educational 

organization during any five months of the taxable year.  

(IRC section 21(e)(7) and (8) and California Family Code 

sections 297 and 297.5.)  An educational organization 

does not include a correspondence school, unless the 

correspondence school meets the requirements of an 

educational organization as defined in IRC section 

170(b)(1)(A), which includes, but is not limited to, an 

educational organization that normally maintains a 

regular faculty and curriculum and normally has a 

enrolled body of pupils or students in attendance at the 

place where its educational activities are regularly 

carried on. 

 

12.  BURDEN OF PROOF 

 

The CDC is a credit.  It is well settled by the courts that 

credits (and deductions) are a matter of legislative grace 

and the taxpayer bears the burden of establishing 

entitlement to claimed credits.  (Segel v.Comm'r, 89 T.C. 

816, 842 (1987), citing to Interstate Transit Lines v. 

Commissioner, 319 U.S. 590, 593 (1943); Appeal of 

Robert R. Telles, 86-SBE-061, Mar. 4, 1986.)  The 

concept of legislative grace refers to income that would 

normally be taxed but is either exempt from tax or 

subject to a lower tax rate due to special rules.  For 

example, these can be provisions in the law, such as the 

Internal Revenue Code enacted by Congress or its 

equivalent at the state level. 

 

The findings of the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) in 

assessing taxes are presumptively correct.  (Todd v. 

McColgan, (1949) 89 Cal.App.2d 509 [201 P.2d 414].)  

The taxpayer, therefore, has the burden of producing 

sufficient evidence to overcome the resulting 

presumption of correctness.  (Appeal of Joseph J. and 

Julia A. Battle, 71-SBE-010, Apr. 5, 1971.)  This 

presumption is not overcome by unsupported 

statements of the taxpayer.  (Appeal of Robert C., 

Deceased, and Irene Sherwood, 65-SBE-046, Nov. 30, 

1965.)  FTB's determination cannot be successfully 

rebutted when the taxpayer fails to present 

uncontradicted, credible, competent and relevant 

evidence as to the issues in dispute.  (Appeal of Oscar D. 

and Agatha E. Seltzer, 80-SBE-154, Nov. 18, 1980.)   

 

The taxpayer has the burden of producing sufficient 

evidence to establish that he or she is entitled to the 

credit. 

 

a. To assist in meeting this burden, the taxpayer should 

take care to secure the appropriate documentation 

(copies of government issued identity documents, 

social security numbers or Federal Employer 

Identification Numbers (FEIN) at the time the 

taxpayer is securing the care provider's services, in 

case such documentation is necessary to prove the 

identity of the care provider and to prove that the 

care provider meets the legal definition used for a 

care provider.  (IRC section 21(e)(9) and see section 

6 above.) 

b. A taxpayer must supply information about the 

provider by completing Part II of FTB Form 3506, 

which the taxpayer must attach to his or her state 

income tax return.  Form 3506 requests that the 

taxpayer supply the provider's name, address, social 

security number or FEIN.  (IRC section 21(e)(9).)  In 

order to process the taxpayer's CDC Credit claim, 

Form 3506 also requests that the taxpayer supply 

the provider's telephone number, the address where 

the care was provided, and the amount the taxpayer 

paid the provider to supply care services during the 

year. 

c. To meet the burden of proof, the taxpayer may be 

required to supply evidence to show that care 

services were provided and paid for (Treasury 

Regulation section 1.21-1(k)) and that the care 

provider meets the legal requirements.  Therefore, 

securing appropriate records will assist the taxpayer 

in meeting this burden of proof.  If a taxpayer cannot 

establish with verifiable and reliable documentation 

that he or she meets all of the legal requirements, 

then the taxpayer may not be allowed the CDC 

Credit.  Evidence that will assist a taxpayer in 

meeting the burden of proof includes, but may not 

be limited to:  

i. A notarized statement signed by the provider 

under penalty of perjury in which the provider 

supplies the amounts received from the 

taxpayer for the care of each child or 

dependent during the year.   

ii. An invoice issued by the provider (if the 

provider is a school or licensed day care 

provider, not an individual) that shows the 

amounts received from the taxpayer for the 

care of each child or dependent during the 

year.  

d. Independent Notary: 

i. When asked for a statement to be notarized, 

the taxpayer should use an independent 

notary; i.e., a notary that does not have a 

working relationship with the tax preparer 

and/or practitioner. 

ii. The identity of the person making the 

notarized statement must be verified by the 

notary based on specified documents such 

as a current and valid driver's license. 

e. The taxpayer may be requested to provide 

identification of the care provider by supplying a 

copy of the provider's social security card and a 

picture ID.  Acceptable forms of picture ID include 

a driver's license, DMV ID card, or U.S. Passport. 

f. The taxpayer may be requested to provide evidence 

to show that he or she paid the care provider for the 

care services claimed.  The taxpayer may provide 
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either copies of cancelled checks or money orders 

made out to the provider, or copies of invoices 

and/or receipts issued by the provider at the time 

the service was provided.  Taxpayers will be asked to 

provide receipts which show the provider's name, 

the period for which care was provided, the amount 

the taxpayer paid, the name of the person for whom 

care was provided, and the provider's signature. 

g. The taxpayer may be requested to show a copy of 

the custody agreement (where custody of a 

qualifying child is split between the parents). 

h. FTB may request information regarding the 

taxpayer's California income tax return within the 

California statute of limitations period, which is 

usually the later of four years from the due date of 

the return or the date the return is filed.  (Exception:  

an extended statute of limitations period may apply 

for California or federal tax returns that are related 

to or subject to a federal audit). 

In general, it is recommended that a taxpayer 

keep a copy of his or her return and the records 

that verify the income, deductions, 

adjustments, and the claimed CDC Credit 

reported on the return for four years.  

If the provider cared for the taxpayer's 

qualifying child or claimed dependent in the 

taxpayer's home, the taxpayer may be a 

household employer.  If the taxpayer is a 

household employer, the taxpayer may have to 

withhold and pay social security, Medicare tax 

and federal unemployment tax for the provider. 

j. Taxpayers are responsible for knowing and following 

state and federal employment laws which are 

generally applicable to paid care providers, including 

in-home child care providers. 

 


