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LAW SUMMARY 
California Child and Dependent Care Expenses (CDC) Credit 

 
1. INTRODUCTION 
 
This Law Summary explains the requirements that must 
be met for a taxpayer to establish qualification for the 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses (CDC) Credit.  
 
Revenue and Taxation (Rev. & Tax) Code section 
17052.6 provides that a CDC tax credit shall be allowed 
for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2000 
in an amount equal to a percentage (based on federal 
adjusted gross income) of the federal CDC Credit 
determined in accordance with Section 21 of the Internal 
Revenue Code.   
 
The federal CDC Credit is a tax credit based on qualifying 
expenses incurred for the care of a qualifying person 
which made it possible for a taxpayer to work or to seek 
employment. 
 
For tax years ending prior to January 1, 2011, the 
California CDC Credit is refundable.  For tax years 
beginning January 1, 2011, the California CDC Credit is 
nonrefundable, so the credit cannot reduce tax liability 
below zero. 
 
2.  THE CALCULATION/PERCENTAGES 
 
 
 
The California credit is a percentage of the federal credit, 
based on the taxpayer's federal AGI as follows: 
 

Federal AGI California Credit 

$40,000 or less 50% of federal credit 

More than $40,000, but 
not over $70,000 43% of federal credit 

More than $70,000 but 
not over $100,000 34% of federal credit 

Over $100,000 No California credit 

 
(Rev. &Tax. Code section 17052.6 (b)(2).) 
 
A taxpayer who did not file a federal return or claim the 
federal credit may still claim the credit for California, by 
completing FTB Form 3506 and attaching it to his or her 
California income tax return.   
 
3.  FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR CDC CREDIT  
 
Rev. & Tax. Code section 17052.6 sets forth the rules for 
who is entitled to the California CDC Credit by reference 
to Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 21. 

 
Filing Status.  A taxpayer who is married or a Registered 
Domestic Partner (RDP) must file a joint income tax 
return to claim the California credit.  (IRC section 
21(e)(2) and California Family Code sections 297 and 
297.5.)  
 
However, if a married/RDP taxpayer meets the following 
requirements, the taxpayer is treated as not married and 
may claim the credit on a separate return either using 
head of household filing status or married filing separate 
filing status.  (IRC section 21(e)(4) and California Family 
Code sections 297 and 297.5.) 
 
a. The taxpayer lived apart from his or her 

spouse/RDP at all times during the last six months 
of the taxable year. 

b. The qualifying person(s) lived in the taxpayer's 
home more than half of the taxable year. 

c. The taxpayer provided over half the cost of keeping 
up the taxpayer's home. 

 
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS INCLUDE: 

 
a. Care services must be provided in California for one 

or more qualifying persons.  (Rev. & Tax. Code 
section 17052.6(d)(1).) 

b. The taxpayer's adjusted gross income must be less 
than $100,000. (Rev. & Tax. Code section 
17052.6(b)(2).) 

c. The taxpayer must have earned income to qualify 
for the credit.  If the taxpayer is married or an RDP 
and files a joint tax return, both the taxpayer and 
spouse or RDP must have earned income.  (See 
section 11, Earned Income.)  If the taxpayer (or his 
or her spouse or RDP) is a student or disabled, the 
taxpayer or spouse/RDP may be deemed to have 
earned income.  (For further explanation and 
authorities, see section 11, Earned Income.)  

d. The qualifying person must live with the taxpayer in 
the taxpayer's home for more than half the year.  
(IRC section 21(b)(1).)  

e. If a taxpayer claims the CDC Credit for his or her 
child, the taxpayer must be the custodial parent.  
(IRC section 21(e)(5).) 

f. A taxpayer must incur employment-related 
expenses for household services or for care of a 
qualifying person that allowed the taxpayer to work 
or look for work.  (IRC section 21(b)(2).)  Full-time or 
part-time positions qualify as work.  Actively looking 
for work also qualifies as work, but the taxpayer 
must have earned income for the taxable year to be 
eligible for the CDC Credit. 

g. A taxpayer must provide the name, address, and 
taxpayer ID, of the child or dependent care provider 
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and the amount paid to the care provider.  (IRC 
section 21(e)(9).) 

4.   QUALIFYING PERSON DEFINED 
 
A qualifying person is: 

 
a. A child under age 13 who meets the requirements to 

be the taxpayer's dependent as a qualifying child 
(see section 5 below).  A child who turned 13 during 
the year qualifies only for the part of the year when 
he or she was 12 years old.  (IRC section 
21(b)(1)(A).) 

b. The taxpayer's spouse or RDP who was physically or 
mentally incapable of self-care.  (IRC section 
21(b)(1)(C) and California Family Code sections 297 
and 297.5.)  

c. Any person who was physically or mentally incapable 
of self-care and either: 
i. Was the taxpayer's dependent, or 
ii. Would have been the taxpayer's dependent 

except that: 
(1) He or she received gross income greater 

than the federal exemption amount for the 
taxable year at issue.  

(2) He or she filed a joint return 
(3) The taxpayer or the taxpayer's 

spouse/RDP, if filing a joint return, could 
be claimed as a dependent on someone 
else's return for the taxable year at issue.   

(IRC sections 21(b)(1)(B) and 152 and 
California Family Code sections 297 and 
297.5.)  

 
5.  QUALIFYING CHILD DEFINED 
 
A qualifying child is a child who meets all of the following 
tests: 
 
a. Relationship Test - The child must be the taxpayer's 

birth child, stepchild, grandchild, adopted child, 
foster child, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, 
stepbrother, stepsister, nephew, or niece.  An 
adopted child includes a child who has been lawfully 
placed with the taxpayer for legal adoption even if 
the adoption is not yet final.  A foster child must be 
placed with the taxpayer by an authorized placement 
agency or by a court.  (IRC section 152(c)(2).) 

b. Age Test - The child must be under 13 years of age.  
(IRC sections 21(b)(1)(A) and 152(c)(3).) 

c. Residency Test – The child must live with the 
taxpayer for more than half the year.  (IRC section 
152(c)(1)(B).) 

d. Support Test – The child must not have provided 
more than half of his or her own support during the 
year.  (IRC section 152(c)(1)(D).) 

e. Citizenship Test – The child must be a citizen or 
national of the U.S., or a resident of the U.S., 
Canada, or Mexico.  (IRC section 152(b)(3). 

    6.   CHILDCARE PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS  
 

a. The care provider can be a licensed or unlicensed 
individual or organization.  

b. The care provider cannot be: 
i. The taxpayer's spouse/RDP.  (Treasury 

Regulation section 1.21-4(a)(3).) 
ii.  Someone the taxpayer can claim as a 

dependent on the taxpayer's tax return.  (IRC 
section 21(e)(6)(A); California Family Code 
sections 297 and 297.5; Treasury Regulation 
section 1.21-4(a)(1).) 

iii. The taxpayer's child under age 19, even if the 
care provider is not the taxpayer's dependent.  
(IRC section 21(e)(6)(B).) 

iv. The qualifying person's parent, unless the 
qualifying person does not meet the 
requirement to be the taxpayer's dependent as 
a qualifying child.  (IRC section 21(e)(6)(B); 
Treasury Regulation section 1.21-4(a)(1).)  

v. An overnight camp (IRC section 21(b)(2)(A)(ii); 
Treasury Regulation section 1.21-1(d)(6).) 

c. In general, care provided outside of the taxpayer's 
home can qualify, including care at a dependent 
care/daycare center, preschool, or church.  (IRC 
section 21(b)(2)(B), (C) and (D); Treasury Regulation 
section 1.21-1(d)(5) and (e).) 
 

7.   QUALIFYING EXPENSES 
 
Qualifying expenses are amounts that the taxpayer pays 
for the well being and protection of a qualifying person. 
The expenses must be to provide care for a qualifying 
person and must be incurred for the care of the 
qualifying person while the taxpayer (and spouse/RDP, if 
married or an RDP) are working or looking for work. (IRC 
section 21(b)(2); Treasury Regulation section 1.21-1(d).) 

 
Qualifying expenses include: 

 
a. Expenses related to household services, including 

babysitting, housekeeping, and other services that 
are ordinary and usual if they are at least partly for 
the care of a qualifying person. (IRC section 
21(b)(2)(A); Treasury Regulation section 1.21-
1(d)(1).) 

b. Expenses related to sending a child to a 
prekindergarten educational program. Educational 
programs include nursery school, preschool, or 
similar programs.  (Treasury Regulation section 
1.21-1(d)(5).)   

c. Expenses related to sending a child to a before- or 
after-school program while the taxpayer is at work.  
(IRC section 21(b)(2)(A); Treasury Regulation section 
1.21-1(d)(1).) 

d. Day camp, even if it specialized in a particular 
activity, such as soccer.  (Treasury Regulation 
section 1.21-1(d)(7).)   
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8.  NONQUALIFYING EXPENSES 

The following expenses do not qualify: 

a. The cost of transporting the qualifying person from 
the taxpayer's home to the care location and back.   
(Treasury Regulation section 1.21-1(d)(8).)   

b. The cost of sending the qualifying person to 
overnight camp.  (IRC section 21(b)(2)(A)(ii); 
Treasury Regulation section 1.21-1(d)(6).) 

c. Expenses related to food, clothing, education, and 
entertainment. However, if these expenses are small 
amounts and cannot be separated from the cost of 
caring for the qualifying person, these expenses may 
be included. (Treasury Regulation section 1.21-
1(d)(1).) 

d. Tuition paid for children to attend educational 
programs of kindergarten or higher. (Treasury 
Regulation section 1.21-1(d)(5).) 

e. Expenses incurred to send children to summer 
school or tutoring programs.  (Treasury Regulation 
section 1.21-1(d)(7)(i).) 

f. Expenses not paid by the taxpayer, also known as 
subsidized expenses.  (See section 9, Subsidized 
Expenses.)  
  

9.  SUBSIDIZED EXPENSES 
 
Only the care expenses that the taxpayer paid are 
eligible for the CDC Credit.  If the taxpayer's qualifying 
person receives free child or dependent care, such as 
from a state-subsidized program, charity, or from another 
person, even if that person is related to the child, that 
care cannot be used to qualify for the credit.  However, if 
only part of the care expenses are paid by someone else 
and the taxpayer pays for the rest, the amount that the 
taxpayer pays can be used to qualify for the credit. 
 
For example, the taxpayer's daughter attends daycare so 
that the taxpayer can work.  The daycare expenses total 
$3,000 for the year. The taxpayer paid $1,000 of these 
expenses, and the taxpayer's mother, the child's 
grandmother, paid $2,000 of these expenses. The 
taxpayer can only claim the CDC credit for the $1,000 of 
expenses that the taxpayer paid for the daughter's care. 
 
The taxpayer also may not claim the CDC Credit for any 
expenses for which the taxpayer is reimbursed.  This 
includes reimbursement by a government program, 
charity, church, family member, or relative.  (Treasury 
Regulation section 1.21-1(f).) 
 
For example, the taxpayer's daughter attends daycare so 
that the taxpayer can work.  The daycare expenses total 
$3,000 for the year. The taxpayer paid $3,000 of these 
expenses, but the taxpayer's mother, the child's 
grandmother, reimbursed the taxpayer $3,000 for the 

payment of these expenses. The taxpayer cannot claim 
the CDC Credit. 
 
Dependent care flexible benefit plans are also a type of 
subsidized expense for which the taxpayer cannot claim 
the CDC Credit.  A dependent care flexible benefit plan is 
a type of plan that includes an agreement to voluntarily 
reduce the taxpayer's salary in return for an employer-
provided fringe benefit, namely the provision of child or 
dependent care.  Thus, the employer pays the taxpayer 
less, but provides the child or dependent care services at 
no or a reduced fee to the taxpayer.  Because the 
taxpayer is not paying taxes on the money that is set 
aside to pay for the dependent care, the taxpayer may 
not claim the CDC Credit for the dependent care 
subsidized by the employer flexible benefit plan. 
 
10.  CARE COST LIMITS 
 
For tax years ending prior to January 1, 2011, the CDC 
Credit is refundable.  (Former Rev. & Tax. Code section 
17052.6(c).)  This means that if a taxpayer owes state 
taxes for any taxable year, the credit first is applied to 
paying the taxes and any remaining amount of the credit 
will then be refunded to the taxpayer.  (Rev. & Tax. Code 
sections 19301 and 19302.) 
 
For tax years beginning January 1, 2011, the CDC Credit 
is nonrefundable, so the credit cannot reduce tax liability 
below zero.  (Rev. & Tax. Code section 17052.6(a).) 
 
When calculating the credit, a taxpayer may claim up to 
$3,000 of the care expenses paid for one qualifying 
person and up to $6,000 if the taxpayer has two or more 
qualifying persons.  However, this amount cannot exceed 
the taxpayer's earned income, or, if the taxpayer is 
married as of the last day of the year, the lesser of the 
taxpayer's or the spouse's earned income.   
 
11.  EARNED INCOME 

 
Earned income is wages, salaries, tips, or net earnings 
from self-employment that the taxpayer and his or her 
spouse/RDP received during the taxable year.  The 
taxpayer's income from pensions, social security, 
worker's compensation, interest, dividends, 
unemployment benefits, child support, alimony, and 
nontaxable workfare payments are not earned income 
for the purpose of qualifying for the credit.  (IRC section 
32(c)(2) and California Family Code sections 297 and 
297.5.) 
 
If a taxpayer is a military service member domiciled 
outside of California and earned military compensation 
during the taxable year, the compensation is considered 
earned income sourced in California and therefore, is 
used in computation of the credit. (Rev. & Tax. Code 
section 17052.6(d)(2). However, care services must be 
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provided in California.  (Rev. & Tax. Code section 
17052.6(d)(1).) 
 
Under the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act, the 
earned income of the spouse of a service member is not 
taxable by California if the spouse and service member 
are domiciled elsewhere.  As a result, if a service 
member’s spouse moves to California with the service 
member who is stationed in California, and the spouse 
keeps the same domicile outside California as the 
service member, the service member and spouse do not 
qualify for the CDC Credit on their joint California return 
because the spouse’s earned income is not taxable in 
California.  Earned income for purposes of the California 
CDC Credit is limited to earned income subject to 
California tax.  (Rev. & Tax. Code section 17052.6(d)(2).)  
The credit is not allowed on a joint California return 
because it is limited to the lesser of the service 
member's earned income, whether or not taxable by 
California, or the spouse’s earned income subject to 
California tax, which is zero.  (IRC section 21(d)(1).) 

 
Special rules apply for calculating earned income when 
the taxpayer is married or an RDP and the taxpayer 
and/or the taxpayer's spouse or RDP is a student or 
disabled.  For each month that the taxpayer or the 
taxpayer's spouse or RDP was a full-time student or 
disabled, the taxpayer or the taxpayer's spouse or RDP is 
deemed to have earned income of $250 per month for 
one qualifying person and $500 per month if there are 
two or more qualifying persons.  (IRC section 21(d)(2)(A) 
and (B) and California Family Code sections 297 and 
297.5.) 

 
If, in the same month, both the taxpayer and the 
taxpayer's spouse or RDP were either disabled or full-
time students, only one of them is deemed to have 
earned income in that month.  (IRC section 21(d)(2) and 
California Family Code sections 297 and 297.5.) 
 
The taxpayer's spouse or RDP was a student if he or she 
was enrolled as a full-time student at an educational 
organization during any five months of the taxable year.  
(IRC section 21(e)(7) and (8) and California Family Code 
sections 297 and 297.5.)  An educational organization 
does not include a correspondence school, unless the 
correspondence school meets the requirements of an 
educational organization as defined in IRC section 
170(b)(1)(A), which includes, but is not limited to, an 
educational organization that normally maintains a 
regular faculty and curriculum and normally has a 
enrolled body of pupils or students in attendance at the 
place where its educational activities are regularly 
carried on. 
 

 
 
 

12.  BURDEN OF PROOF 
 

The CDC is a credit.  It is well settled by the courts that 
credits (and deductions) are a matter of legislative grace 
and the taxpayer bears the burden of establishing 
entitlement to claimed credits.  (Segel v.Comm'r, 89 T.C. 
816, 842 (1987), citing to Interstate Transit Lines v. 
Commissioner, 319 U.S. 590, 593 (1943); Appeal of 
Robert R. Telles, 86-SBE-061, Mar. 4, 1986.)  The 
concept of legislative grace refers to income that would 
normally be taxed but is either exempt from tax or 
subject to a lower tax rate due to special rules.  For 
example, these can be provisions in the law, such as the 
Internal Revenue Code enacted by Congress or its 
equivalent at the state level. 
 
The findings of the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) in 
assessing taxes are presumptively correct.  (Todd v. 
McColgan, (1949) 89 Cal.App.2d 509 [201 P.2d 414].)  
The taxpayer, therefore, has the burden of producing 
sufficient evidence to overcome the resulting 
presumption of correctness.  (Appeal of Joseph J. and 
Julia A. Battle, 71-SBE-010, Apr. 5, 1971.)  This 
presumption is not overcome by unsupported 
statements of the taxpayer.  (Appeal of Robert C., 
Deceased, and Irene Sherwood, 65-SBE-046, Nov. 30, 
1965.)  FTB's determination cannot be successfully 
rebutted when the taxpayer fails to present 
uncontradicted, credible, competent and relevant 
evidence as to the issues in dispute.  (Appeal of Oscar D. 
and Agatha E. Seltzer, 80-SBE-154, Nov. 18, 1980.)   
 
Therefore, the taxpayer has the burden of producing 
sufficient evidence to establish that he or she is entitled 
to the credit. 
 
To assist in meeting this burden, the taxpayer should 
take care to secure the appropriate documentation 
(copies of government issued identity documents, social 
security numbers or Federal Employer Identification 
Numbers (FEIN) at the time the taxpayer is securing the 
care provider's services, in case such documentation is 
necessary to prove the identity of the care provider and 
to prove that the care provider meets the legal definition 
used for a care provider.  (IRC section 21(e)(9) and see 
section 6 above.) 
 
A taxpayer must supply information about the provider by 
completing Part II of FTB Form 3506, which the taxpayer 
must attach to his or her state income tax return.  Form 
3506 requests that the taxpayer supply the provider's 
name, address, social security number or FEIN.  (IRC 
section 21(e)(9).)  In order to process the taxpayer's CDC 
Credit claim, Form 3506 also requests that the taxpayer 
supply the provider's telephone number, the address 
where the care was provided, and the amount the 
taxpayer paid the provider to supply care services during 
the year. 
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FTB may ask the taxpayer to provide documentation to 
establish entitlement to the credit.   Evidence that will 
assist a taxpayer in meeting the burden of proof 
includes, but is not limited to:  
 
a. Copies of cancelled checks or money orders made 

out to the provider, or copies of invoices and/or 
receipts issued by the provider at the time the 
service was provided.   
i. Valid receipts for payments will include the 

provider's name, the period for which care 
was provided, the amount the taxpayer paid, 
the name of the person for whom care was 
provided, and the provider's signature. 

b. In the event that the taxpayer paid the care provider 
in cash and does not have valid receipts, the 
taxpayer may provide:  
i. A notarized statement signed by the provider 

under penalty of perjury in which the provider 
supplies the amounts received from the 
taxpayer for the care of each child or 
dependent during the year.   

ii. An invoice issued by the provider (if the 
provider is a school or licensed day care 
provider, not an individual) that shows the 
amounts received from the taxpayer for the 
care of each child or dependent during the 
year.  

c. A copy of the provider's social security card and a 
picture ID.  Acceptable forms of picture ID include 
a driver's license, DMV ID card, U.S. Passport, or 
any government issued identity document that 
shows a photo and signature. 

d. A copy of the qualifying person's(s') birth 
certificate(s) and social security card(s) 

e. A copy of the custody agreement (where custody of a 
qualifying child is split between the parents). 

f. Medical records reflecting the physical or mental 
incapacity of the qualifying person. 

 
FTB may request information regarding the taxpayer's 
California income tax return within the California statute 
of limitations period, which is usually the later of four 
years from the due date of the return or the date the 
return is filed.  (Exception:  an extended statute of 
limitations period may apply when a taxpayer's federal 
tax return is subject to a federal audit). 
 
If a taxpayer cannot establish with verifiable and reliable 
documentation that he or she meets all of the legal 
requirements, then the taxpayer may not be allowed the 
CDC Credit.   
 
In general, it is recommended that a taxpayer keep a 
copy of his or her return and the records that verify the 
income, deductions, adjustments, and the claimed CDC 

Credit reported on the return for at least four years from 
the date that the return is filed.  
 
13.  OTHER CHILD AND DEPEDENT CARE 
CONSIDERATIONS 
 
If the provider cared for the taxpayer's qualifying 
person in the taxpayer's home, the taxpayer may be 
a household employer.  If the taxpayer is a 
household employer, the taxpayer may have to 
withhold and pay social security, Medicare tax and 
federal unemployment tax for the provider. 

Taxpayers are responsible for knowing and following 
state and federal employment laws which are generally 
applicable to paid care providers, including in-home child 
care providers. 
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