
 
 
 

2014 Legislative Proposals  
 
 

 

LP  Title 

LP - A Conform to the Federal Research 
Credit Methods 

LP - B 
Dependant Taxpayer Identification 
Numbers 

LP - C 
Business Entities e-Filing 
Requirement 

LP - D 
First-Time Abatement of Timeliness 
Penalties 



LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL - A 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 
 
 Title:  Conform to the Federal Research Credit Methods  
 
 
 Problem:  The California research credit uses outdated methods and rules that complicate its 

calculation. 
 
 
 Proposed Solution:  This proposal would simplify the calculation of the California research 

credit by generally conforming to the federal methods of calculating the research credit and to 
the recent federal changes to the credit’s calculation rules for acquisitions, dispositions, and 
aggregations. 

 
 
 Fiscal Impact:  This proposal would not significantly impact the department’s costs.  
 
 
 Revenue:   

 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP - A 
For Taxable Years Beginning On or After January 1, 2014 

Enactment Assumed After June 30, 2014 
($ in Millions) 

2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 

- $75 - $80 - $80 
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Title 
 
Conform to the Federal Research Credit Methods  
 
Introduction 
 
This proposal would simplify the calculation of the California research credit. 
 
Program History/Background  
 
The Research Credit 
 
Technological development is an important component of economic growth.  However, although 
an individual business may find it profitable to undertake some research, it may not find it 
profitable to invest in research as much as it otherwise might because it is difficult to capture the 
full benefits from the research and prevent such benefits from being used by competitors.  In 
general, businesses acting in their own self interest will not necessarily invest in research to the 
extent that would be consistent with the best interests of the overall economy.  The reason for this 
behavior is because costly scientific and technological advances made by one firm may be 
cheaply copied by its competitors.  Research is one area where economists generally agree that 
government intervention in the marketplace may improve overall economic efficiency.1

  
 
Congress enacted the federal research credit in 1981 “to encourage business firms to perform the 
research necessary to increase the innovative qualities and efficiency of the U.S. economy.”2 
The general purpose of the federal research credit is to increase research activities beyond what 
they otherwise would be.  California enacted a similar research credit in 1987 by conforming, with 
modifications, to the federal credit, for research conducted in this state.   
 
Based on the most recent data available, the following table shows the amounts of California 
research credits that were allowed in tax years 2007 through 2010: 
 

California Research Credits Allowed 
Personal Income Tax  Corporation Tax 

Tax Year  Returns          Credit Allowed   Tax Year  Returns      Credit Allowed  

2007 3,769 $74,879,522   2007 2,020 $1,099,287,499  
2008 3,618 $58,315,512   2008 2,483 $1,234,539,271  
2009 3,817 $57,589,786   2009 2,441 $992,887,123  
2010 4,738 $81,689,930   2010 3,069 $1,800,187,225  

 

                                            
1 JCX-45-11, Tax Incentives for Research, Experimentation, and Innovation, issued on September 16, 2011, by the 
Staff of the Joint Committee on Taxation. 
 

2 See House Report 99-426, at 177 (1985), and Senate Report 99-313, at 694 (1986).  
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The California Research Credit Becomes Outdated 
 
The federal and state research credits have been significantly modified since their inceptions, 
generally with changes occurring first at the federal level followed by California conforming to 
those changes, with applicable modifications.  However, in recent years, California has not 
modified its credit to follow significant federal changes, resulting in complicated differences 
between federal and state law.    
 
Current Federal/State Law 
 
California conforms to the federal research credit, with modifications.  Explanations of the general 
federal research credit rules are provided below, followed by applicable state modifications.   
 
The Research Credit’s Separate Components  
 
Federal Law 
 
The federal research credit is the sum of three separate credit components, the general research 
credit, the university “basic research” credit, and the energy research credit, as described below:  
 

1. The General Research Credit – There are two methods of calculating the general research 
credit, the “standard method” and the “alternative simplified method” (herein referred to as 
the “simplified method”).  More detail on calculating these methods is provided below 
under “Calculating the General Research Credit,” but generally they function as follows:   
 

• The Standard Method - For general research expenditures, a taxpayer may claim a 
research credit equal to 20 percent of the amount by which the taxpayer’s qualified 
research expenses for a taxable year exceed a complicated-to-calculate base amount. 
 

• The Simplified Method - In lieu of claiming the general research credit under the 
“standard method,” taxpayers may elect to claim a research credit under the “simplified 
method” generally equal to 14 percent of the amount by which the taxpayer’s qualified 
research expenses for the taxable year exceed a simplified base amount. 

 
2. The University “Basic Research” Credit – This separate component of the research credit is 

only available to corporations,3 and provides a research credit for corporate cash 
expenses paid for basic research conducted by universities and scientific research 
organizations.   

 
3. The Energy Research Credit – This separate component of the research credit is available 

for a taxpayer’s expenditures on research undertaken by an energy research consortium. 
 
This proposal would generally impact the California calculation of the general research credit, 
therefore detailed descriptions of the university “basic research” credit and the energy research 
credit are not provided.   
 
                                            
3 IRC section 41(e). 
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State Law 
 
California law conforms, with modifications, to two of the three separate federal research credit 
components, the general research credit and the university “basic research” credit, but does not 
conform to the energy research credit.4   
 
For purposes of the California research credit, the terms “qualified research” and “basic research” 
include only research conducted in California. 
 
Calculating the General Research Credit 
 
Federal Law 
 
Federal law currently allows two methods to calculate the general research credit, the “standard 
method” and the “simplified method.”  A third calculation method, the “alternative incremental 
method” (herein referred to as the “incremental method”), expired for federal purposes in 2008; 
however, this method is also described below because California continues to allow it. 
 
The Standard Method  
 
For general research expenditures, a taxpayer may claim a federal research credit equal to  
20 percent of the amount by which the taxpayer’s qualified research expenses for a taxable year 
exceed a base amount. 
 

• Base Amount - The base amount for the current year is generally computed by multiplying 
the taxpayer’s fixed-base percentage by the average amount of the taxpayer’s gross 
receipts for the four preceding years.  If a taxpayer both incurred qualified research 
expenses and had gross receipts during each of at least three years from 1984 through 
1988, then its fixed-base percentage is the ratio that its total qualified research expenses 
for the 1984–1988 period bears to its total gross receipts for that period (subject to a 
maximum fixed-base percentage of 16 percent).  Special rules apply to all other taxpayers 
(so called start-up firms).5   

 
In calculating the general research credit under the “standard method,” a taxpayer’s base 
amount cannot be less than 50 percent of its current-year qualified research expenses.  

 

                                            
4 R&TC sections 17052.12 and 23609. 
 

5 The Small Business Job Protection Act of 1996 expanded the definition of start-up firms under IRC section 
41(c)(3)(B)(i) to include any firm if the first taxable year in which such firm had both gross receipts and qualified 
research expenses began after 1983.  A special rule (enacted in 1993) is designed to gradually re-compute a start-up 
firm’s fixed-base percentage based on its actual research experience.  Under this special rule, a start-up firm is 
assigned a fixed-base percentage of three percent for each of its first five taxable years after 1993 in which it incurs 
qualified research expenses.  A start-up firm’s fixed-base percentage for its sixth through tenth taxable years after 
1993 in which it incurs qualified research expenses is a phased-in ratio based on the firm’s actual research 
experience.  For all subsequent taxable years, the taxpayer’s fixed-base percentage is its actual ratio of qualified 
research expenses to gross receipts for any five years selected by the taxpayer from its fifth through tenth taxable 
years after 1993.  IRC section 41(c)(3)(B). 
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• Gross Receipts - For purposes of measuring gross receipts for the research credit, gross 
receipts generally means the total amount, as determined under the taxpayer’s method of 
accounting, derived by the taxpayer from all its activities and from all sources (e.g., 
revenues derived from the sale of inventory before reduction of cost of goods sold), 
reduced by returns and allowances.  However, gross receipts do not include receipts from 
the sale or exchange of a capital asset, repayments of loans or similar instruments, or 
receipts from a sale or exchange not in the ordinary course of business, such as the sale 
of an entire trade or business.6  

 
The Simplified Method  
 
For amounts paid or incurred after 2006, taxpayers are allowed to elect to calculate their general 
research credit using the “simplified method” in lieu of the “standard method.”7   
 
The research credit calculated under the “simplified method” is equal to 14 percent of qualified 
research expenses that exceed 50 percent of the average qualified research expenses for the 
three preceding taxable years.  The rate is reduced to 6 percent if a taxpayer has no qualified 
research expenses in any one of the three preceding taxable years.  An election to use the 
“simplified method” in lieu of the “standard method” applies to all succeeding taxable years unless 
revoked with the consent of the Secretary of the Treasury.  
 
The Incremental Method 
 
For taxable years beginning after June 30, 1996, and before January 1, 2009, taxpayers were 
allowed to elect to calculate their general research credit using the “incremental method” in lieu of 
the “standard method.”8  A taxpayer electing the “incremental method” was assigned a three-
tiered fixed-base percentage (that was lower than the fixed-base percentage otherwise 
applicable) and the credit rate likewise was reduced.   
 

• Credit Rates & Base Amounts - Generally, for amounts paid or incurred after 2006 and before 
2009,9 under the “incremental method:” 

 

o A credit rate of 3 percent applied to the extent that a taxpayer's current-year research 
expenses exceeded a base amount computed by using a fixed-base percentage of one 
percent (i.e., the base amount equaled one percent of the taxpayer's average gross 
receipts for the four preceding years) but did not exceed a base amount computed by 
using a fixed-base percentage of 1.5 percent; 

 

o A credit rate of 4 percent applied to the extent that a taxpayer's current-year research 
expenses exceeded a base amount computed by using a fixed-base percentage of  
1.5 percent but did not exceed a base amount computed by using a fixed-base 
percentage of 2 percent; and 

                                            
6 Treasury Reg. Section 1.41-3(c). 
 

7 IRC section 41(c)(5). 
 

8 IRC section 41(c)(4). 
 

9 Lower credit rates applied to years that preceded 2007, and a special transition rule applied for fiscal-year 2006-
2007 taxpayers. 
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o A credit rate of 5 percent applied to the extent that a taxpayer's current-year research 
expenses exceeded a base amount computed by using a fixed-base percentage of 
2 percent.     

 
• Gross Receipts - For purposes of calculating the general research credit using the 

“incremental method,” gross receipts had the same definition that’s provided above for the 
“standard method.” 

 
State Law 
 
California currently conforms, with modifications, to two of the federal methods used to calculate 
the general research credit—the “standard method” and the “incremental method.”  California 
does not conform to the “simplified method.”  
 
The Standard Method 
 
California conforms to the federal “standard method” of calculating the general research credit, 
with modifications.  For general research expenditures, a taxpayer may claim a state research 
credit equal to 15 percent of the amount by which the taxpayer’s California qualified research 
expenses for a taxable year exceed a base amount. 
 

• Base Amount - California generally conforms to the federal rules for determining the base 
amount, with the gross-receipts modification described below.  And, similar to federal law, 
a taxpayer’s California base amount cannot be less than 50 percent of its current-year 
California qualified research expenses.  

 

• Gross Receipts - California law generally conforms to the federal definition of gross receipts 
to calculate the research credit under the “standard method,” modified to take into account 
only those gross receipts from the sale of property held for sale in the ordinary course of 
business that is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within California, regardless of f.o.b. 
point or any other condition of the sale.10   

 
The Simplified Method 
 
California law specifically does not conform to the “simplified method,”11 meaning taxpayers may 
elect the “simplified method” for federal purposes but not for state purposes. 
 
The Incremental Method 
 
Taxpayers are allowed to elect to calculate their general research credit using the “incremental 
method” in lieu of the “standard method.”  California conforms to the federal “incremental method” 
with modifications, including the modification that specifically provides that the federal  

                                            
10 R&TC sections 17052.12(g)(3) and 23609(h)(3).  
 

11 R&TC sections 17052.12(g)(4) and 23609(g)(4). 
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December 31, 2008, termination date does not apply.12  As a result, taxpayers may continue to 
elect the “incremental method” under California law even though such an election may no longer 
be made for federal purposes.   
 
An election to use the “incremental method” in lieu of the “standard method” applies to all 
succeeding taxable years unless revoked with the consent of the Franchise Tax Board.  Other 
modifications are described below:  
 

• Credit Rates & Base Amounts - Under the California “incremental  method:”13 
 

o A credit rate of 1.49 percent applies to the extent that a taxpayer's current-year 
research expenses exceed a base amount computed by using a fixed-base percentage 
of one percent (i.e., the base amount equals one percent of the taxpayer's average 
gross receipts for the four preceding years) but does not exceed a base amount 
computed by using a fixed-base percentage of 1.5 percent;   

 

o A credit rate of 1.98 percent applies to the extent that a taxpayer's current-year 
research expenses exceed a base amount computed by using a fixed-base percentage 
of 1.5 percent but does not exceed a base amount computed by using a fixed-base 
percentage of two percent; and 

 

o A credit rate of 2.48 percent applies to the extent that a taxpayer's current-year 
research expenses exceed a base amount computed by using a fixed-base percentage 
of two percent. 

 
• Gross Receipts - For purposes of calculating the general research credit under the 

“incremental method,” gross receipts have the same meaning that they have for purposes 
of calculating the general research credit under the “standard method,” as described 
above.   

 
Eligible Expenses  
 
Federal Law  
 
Qualified research expenses eligible for the research credit consist of: (1) in-house expenses of 
the taxpayer for wages and supplies attributable to qualified research; (2) certain time-sharing 
costs for computer use in qualified research; and (3) 65 percent of amounts paid or incurred by 
the taxpayer to certain other persons for qualified research conducted on the taxpayer’s behalf 
(so-called contract research expenses).14   

                                            
12 R&TC sections 17052.12(h) and 23609(i). 
 

13 R&TC sections 17052.12(g)(1) and 23609(h)(1). 
 

14 Under a special rule, 75 percent of amounts paid to a research consortium for qualified research are treated as 
qualified research expenses eligible for the research credit (rather than 65 percent under the general rule under IRC 
section 41(b)(3) governing contract research expenses) if (1) such research consortium is a tax-exempt organization 
that is described in IRC section 501(c)(3) (other than a private foundation) or IRC section 501(c)(6) and is organized 
and operated primarily to conduct scientific research, and (2) such qualified research is conducted by the consortium 
on behalf of the taxpayer and one or more persons not related to the taxpayer.  IRC section 41(b)(3)(C). 
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Notwithstanding the limitation for contract research expenses, qualified research expenses 
include 100 percent of amounts paid or incurred by the taxpayer to an eligible small business, 
university, or federal laboratory for qualified energy research.  
 
To be eligible for the credit, the research not only has to satisfy the requirements of present-law 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 174,15 but also must be undertaken for the purpose of 
discovering information that is technological in nature,16 the application of which is intended to be 
useful in the development of a new or improved business component of the taxpayer, and 
substantially all of the activities of which constitute elements of a process of experimentation for 
functional aspects, performance, reliability, or quality of a business component.  Research does 
not qualify for the credit if substantially all of the activities relate to style, taste, cosmetic, or 
seasonal design factors.17   
 
In addition, research does not qualify for the credit if: (1) conducted after the beginning of 
commercial production of the business component; (2) related to the adaptation of an existing 
business component to a particular customer’s requirements; (3) related to the duplication of an 
existing business component from a physical examination of the component itself or certain other 
information; (4) related to certain efficiency surveys, management function or technique, market 
research, market testing, or market development, routine data collection or routine quality control; 
(5) related to software developed primarily for internal use by the taxpayer; (6) related to social 
sciences, arts, or humanities; or (7) funded by any grant, contract, or otherwise by another person 
(or governmental entity).18  Research does not qualify for the credit if it is conducted outside the 
United States, Puerto Rico, or any U.S. possession.  
 
State Law  
 
California law generally conforms to the federal rules for expenses eligible for the research credit, 
but does not conform to the special rules that allow contract research expenses to include 100 
percent of amounts paid or incurred by the taxpayer to an eligible small business, university, or 
federal laboratory for qualified energy research.  And, research does not qualify for the state 
research credit if it is conducted outside of California.  
 
 
 
                                            
15 Notwithstanding the general rule that business expenses to develop or create an asset that has a useful life 
extending beyond the current year must be capitalized, IRC section 174 provides that taxpayers may elect to deduct 
currently the amount of certain research or experimental expenditures paid or incurred in connection with a trade or 
business that represent research and development costs in the experimental or laboratory sense, and the term 
“research or experimental expenditures” generally includes all such costs attributable to the development or 
improvement of a product.  Under California law, R&TC sections 17201 and 24365 generally conform to IRC section 
174, with applicable state modifications.   
 

16 For purposes of the research credit, information is technological in nature if the process of experimentation used 
to discover such information fundamentally relies on principles of the physical or biological sciences, engineering, or 
computer science.  Treasury Reg. section 1-41-4(a)(4). 
 
 

17 IRC section 41(d)(3). 
 

18 IRC section 41(d)(4). 
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2013 Federal Modifications to Acquisitions, Dispositions, and Aggregation of Expenditures 
 
Federal Law 
 
Special rules apply for computing the research credit when a major portion of a trade or business 
(or unit thereof) changes hands, and for the aggregation of expenditures among commonly-
controlled or otherwise-related entities, and these rules were modified in 2013.19   
 
For taxable years beginning before January 1, 2012: 
 

• Qualified research expenses and gross receipts arising in taxable years prior to the 
change of ownership of a trade or business are treated as transferred to the acquiring 
taxpayer with the trade or business that gave rise to those expenses and receipts for 
purposes of re-computing the acquiring taxpayer’s fixed-base percentage.20  Qualified 
research expenses incurred during the taxable year including or ending with a change of 
ownership are treated as transferred to the acquiring taxpayer with the trade or business 
for purposes of determining the credit for the acquiring taxpayer’s first taxable year 
including the acquisition.  And, to prevent artificial increases in research expenditures by 
shifting expenditures among commonly-controlled or otherwise-related entities, a special 
aggregation rule provides that all members of the same controlled group of corporations or 
all members of a group of businesses under common control are treated as a single 
taxpayer.21   
 

• The credit allowable to each member of a controlled group has a two-prong calculation:    
(1) to the extent the group credit does not exceed the sum of the stand-alone entity credits 
of all of the group members, such group credit is allocated among the members in 
proportion to the stand-alone credits of the controlled group; and (2) to the extent the 
group credit exceeds the sum of the stand-alone entity credits of all of the group members, 
that excess is allocated among the members in proportion to the qualified research 
expenses of the members.  

 
For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2011, the special rules for taxpayers under 
common control, and the special rules for computing the credit when a major portion of a trade or 
business (or unit thereof) changes hands, are modified as follows: 
 

• Qualified research expenses paid or incurred by the disposing taxpayer in a taxable year 
that includes or ends with a change in ownership are treated as current year qualified 
research expenses of the disposing taxpayer and such expenses are not treated as 
current year qualified research expenses of the acquiring taxpayer.  Further, the disposing 
taxpayer’s and acquiring taxpayer’s base period amounts are adjusted by a pro-rated 
amount.   

 

                                            
19 On January 2, 2013, Congress modified the rules relating to acquisitions, dispositions, and aggregation of 
expenditures under Section 301 of the American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 (Public Law 112-240). 
 

20 IRC section 41(f)(3). 
 

21 IRC section 41(f)(1). 
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• The credit allowable to each member of a controlled group of corporations or each 
member of a group of businesses under common control is determined on a proportionate 
basis to its share of the current year aggregate qualified research expenses (i.e., the gross 
qualified research expense allocation method).22 

 
State Law  
 
California law conforms to the federal rules23 that relate to the research credit aggregation of 
expenditures, allocations, and adjustments for certain acquisitions, etc., as of the “specified date” 
of January 1, 2009, and as a result does not conform to the modifications that were made in 
2013.  Thus, the federal rules that apply to taxable years beginning before January 1, 2012, 
continue to apply under California law.   
 
Problem 
 
The California research credit uses outdated methods and rules that complicate its calculation.   
 
Proposed Solution 
 
This proposal would simplify the calculation of the California research credit by conforming to 
federal methods of calculating the general research credit and to the recent federal changes to 
the credit’s calculation rules for acquisitions, dispositions, and aggregations, as described below. 
 
Conforming to the Federal Methods of Calculating the General Research Credit  
 
This proposal would bring California into conformity with the federal calculation methods by 
eliminating the election to use the “incremental method” for taxable years beginning after 2013, 
and instead would allow taxpayers to elect to use the “simplified method,” with the following 
California modifications:  
 

• Qualified research would mean research conducted in California; and 
 

• The California research credit under the “simplified method” would allow a research credit 
equal to 10.5 percent of California qualified research expenses that exceed 50 percent of 
the average California qualified research expenses for the three preceding taxable years.24  

 
An election to use the “simplified method” in lieu of the “standard method” would apply to all 
succeeding taxable years unless revoked with the consent of the Franchise Tax Board.   
 
 
 

                                            
22 The provision overturns the stand-alone entity credit approach contained in Treas. Reg. section 1.41–6(c). 
 

23 The federal rules under IRC section 41(f). 
24 The credit rate under the California “simplified method” would be reduced to 4.5 percent if a taxpayer has no 
California qualified research expenses in any one of the three preceding taxable years. 
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2013 Federal Modifications to Acquisitions, Dispositions, and Aggregation of Expenditures 
 
This proposal would conform to the recent federal modifications to the special rules that apply for 
computing the research credit when a major portion of a trade or business (or unit thereof) 
changes hands, and for the aggregation of expenditures among commonly-controlled or 
otherwise-related entities. 
 
Effective/Operative Date of Solution 
 
If enacted during the 2014 legislative session, this proposal would be effective immediately and 
operative for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  
 
Justification 
 
Conforming to the federal methods used to calculate the general credit, and to the recent federal 
changes to acquisitions, dispositions, and aggregations, would provide businesses conducting 
research in California with a simplified calculation option, eliminate confusing differences between 
federal and state law, and reduce recordkeeping requirements.  
 
Implementation 
 
Implementing this proposal would not significantly impact the department’s programs or 
operations. 
 
Fiscal Impact 
 
This proposal would not significantly impact the department’s costs.  
 
Economic Impact 
 
Revenue Estimate 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP - A 
For Taxable Years Beginning On or After January 1, 2014 

Enactment Assumed After June 30, 2014 
($ in Millions) 

2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 

- $75 - $80 - $80 
 
This estimate does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state 
product that could result from this proposal.  
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Revenue Discussion 
 
In General 
 
Approximately $1.8 billion of California research credits are currently allowed annually.  The 
revenue impact of this proposal would depend on the number of taxpayers claiming the research 
credit and the calculation method used. 
 
Conforming to Federal Methods and Changes to Acquisitions, Dispositions, and Aggregations 
 
Conforming to Federal Methods 
 
The amount of the California general research credit that’s calculated using the “incremental 
method” is approximately 3 percent, or $55 million, of the total research credit allowed 
($1,800,000,000 x 3% ≈ $55,000,000).  Using actual tax return data, a micro-simulation model 
was used to estimate the revenue impact of eliminating the election to calculate the general 
research credit under the “incremental method” and instead allowing an election of the “simplified 
method” at a general credit rate of 10.5 percent.25  The simulation assumed that taxpayers that 
have been calculating their general credit using the “incremental method” would instead use the 
“simplified method,” and that taxpayers that are currently calculating their general research credit 
using the “standard method” would elect the “simplified method” if it increases the amount of their 
credit.  This change is estimated to result in a revenue loss of approximately $75 million.   
 
Conforming to Changes to Acquisitions, Dispositions, and Aggregations 
 
Conforming to the recent federal changes to acquisitions, dispositions, and aggregations is 
estimated to have a negligible revenue impact.  
 
Pro & Con Arguments  
 
Pro:  This proposal would simplify the calculation of the California research credit, which could 
encourage more small businesses to conduct research in California. 
 
Con:  This proposal would not conform to all of the components of the federal research credit.  
 
Other States 
 
The states surveyed include Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York. 
These states were selected due to their similarities to California’s economy, business entity types, 
and tax laws.  A review of these states’ laws found that each state provides its own research 
credit for research conducted within the state, as described below.  
 
 

                                            
25 The credit rate under the California “simplified method” would be reduced to 4.5 percent if a taxpayer has no 
California qualified research expenses in any one of the three preceding taxable years. 
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Florida allows a corporate research tax credit of 10 percent of qualified research expenses in 
excess of a base amount for research conducted within Florida.  The combined total amount of 
tax credits which may be granted to all business enterprises during any calendar year is  
$9 million; taxpayers must apply for the credit, which is allocated in the order in which 
applications are received.  Florida calculates its base amount using the average amount of 
Florida research expenses for the prior four years.  
 
Illinois allows an individual and corporate tax research credit of 6.5 percent of qualified research 
expenses in excess of a base amount for research conducted within Illinois.  Illinois calculates its 
base amount using the average amount of Illinois research expenses for the prior three years.  
 
Massachusetts allows corporate taxpayers to claim an excise-tax research credit of 10 percent of 
qualified research expenses in excess of a base amount for research conducted within 
Massachusetts.  Massachusetts uses the federal definition of gross receipts to compute its base 
amount, and that base amount is calculated the same way as the federal base amount under the 
“standard method,” using only state amounts.   
 
Michigan replaced the Michigan Business Tax with a corporate income tax for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2012.  There is no research credit under the state’s new 
corporate or personal income tax.   
 
Minnesota allows a two-tiered individual and corporate tax research credit for research conducted 
within Minnesota: (1) for qualified research expenses up to $2 million, the credit is 10 percent of 
expenses in excess of a base amount; and (2) for qualified research expenses in excess of  
$2 million, the credit is 2.5 percent of expenses in excess of a base amount.  Minnesota uses the 
federal definition of gross receipts to compute its base amount, and that base amount is 
calculated the same way as the federal base amount under the “standard method,” using only 
state amounts.    
 
New York allows a research credit equal to 50 percent of the taxpayer’s federal research credit, 
subject to a limit of 3 percent of qualified research expenses attributable to research conducted in 
New York.  The research credit is only available to firms in targeted industries such as 
biotechnology, pharmaceutical, cutting-edge technology, clean technology, green technology, 
financial services, agriculture, and manufacturing. 
 
LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 
 
Scott McFarlane Mandy Hayes Gail Hall 
Legislative Analyst, FTB Revenue Manager, FTB Legislative Director, FTB 
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FRANCHISE TAX BOARD’S 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS FOR LP - A   

 
 
 SECTION 1. Section 17052.12 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read:  
 
 17052.12. For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1987, there shall be 
allowed as a credit against the “net tax” (as defined by Section 17039) for the taxable year an 
amount determined in accordance with Section 41 of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to credit 
for increasing research activities, except as follows: 

(a) For each taxable year beginning before January 1, 1997, the reference to “20 percent” 
in Section 41(a)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code is modified to read “8 percent.” 

(b)(1) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1997, and before  
January 1, 1999, the reference to “20 percent” in Section 41(a)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code 
is modified to read “11 percent.” 

(2) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1999, and before  
January 1, 2000, the reference to “20 percent” in Section 41(a)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code 
is modified to read “12 percent.” 

(3) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2000, the reference to  
“20 percent” in Section 41(a)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code is modified to read “15 percent.” 

(c) Section 41(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code shall not apply. 
(d) “Qualified research” shall include only research conducted in California. 
(e) In the case where the credit allowed under this section exceeds the “net tax,” the 

excess may be carried over to reduce the “net tax” in the following year, and succeeding years if 
necessary, until the credit has been exhausted. 

(f)(1) With respect to any expense paid or incurred after the operative date of Section 
6378, Section 41(b)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to qualified research expenses,  is 
modified to exclude from the definition of “qualified research expense” any amount paid or 
incurred for tangible personal property that is eligible for the exemption from sales or use tax 
provided by Section 6378. 

(2) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1998, the reference to “Section 
501(a)” in Section 41(b)(3)(C) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to contract research 
expenses, is modified to read “this part or Part 11 (commencing with Section 23001).” 

(g)(1)(A) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2000, and before  
January 1, 2014: 

(A)(i) The reference to “3 percent” in Section 41(c)(4)(A)(i) of the Internal Revenue Code 
is modified to read “one and forty-nine hundredths of one percent.” 

(B)(ii) The reference to “4 percent” in Section 41(c)(4)(A)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code 
is modified to read “one and ninety-eight hundredths of one percent.” 

(C)(iii) The reference to “5 percent” in Section 41(c)(4)(A)(iii) of the Internal Revenue Code 
is modified to read “two and forty-eight hundredths of one percent.” 

(2)(B) Section 41(c)(4)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code shall not apply and in lieu thereof 
an election under Section 41(c)(4)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code may be made for any taxable 
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year of the taxpayer beginning on or after January 1, 1998, and before January 1, 2014.  That 
election shall apply to the taxable year for which made and all succeeding taxable years unless 
revoked with the consent of the Franchise Tax Board. 

(C) Section 41(h)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to termination of alternative 
incremental credit, is modified by substituting “beginning on or after January 1, 2014” for 
“beginning after December 31, 2008”.  

(2)(A) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, Section 41(c)(5) of the 
Internal Revenue Code, relating to election of alternative simplified credit, shall apply, except as 
otherwise provided. 

(i) The reference to “14 percent” in Section 41(c)(5)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “10.5 percent.” 

(ii) The reference to “6 percent” in Section 41(c)(5)(B)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “4.5 percent.” 

(B) Section 41(c)(5)(C), relating to election, shall not apply and in lieu thereof an election 
under Sections 41(c)(5)(A) and 41(c)(5)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code may be made for any 
taxable year of the taxpayer beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  That election shall apply to 
the taxable year for which made and all succeeding taxable years unless revoked with the 
consent of the Franchise Tax Board. 

(3) Section 41(c)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to gross receipts, is modified to 
take into account only those gross receipts from the sale of property held primarily for sale to 
customers in the ordinary course of the taxpayer’s trade or business that is delivered or shipped 
to a purchaser within this state, regardless of f.o.b. point or any other condition of the sale.   

(4) Section 41(c)(5) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to election of alternative 
simplified credit, shall not apply.   

(h) Except as otherwise provided in this section, Section 41(h) of the Internal Revenue 
Code, relating to termination, shall not apply. 

(i) Section 41(g) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to special rule for passthrough of 
credit, is modified by each of the following: 

(1) The last sentence shall not apply. 
(2) If the amount determined under Section 41(a) of the Internal Revenue Code for any 

taxable year exceeds the limitation of Section 41(g) of the Internal Revenue Code, that amount 
may be carried over to other taxable years under the rules of subdivision (e); except that the 
limitation of Section 41(g) of the Internal Revenue Code shall be taken into account in each 
subsequent taxable year. 

(j) Section 41(a)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code shall not apply. 
(k) Section 41(b)(3)(D) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to amounts paid to eligible 

small businesses, universities, and federal laboratories, shall not apply. 
(l) Section 41(f)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to energy research consortium, 

shall not apply. 
(m) The amendments made by subdivisions (b) and (c) of Section 301 of the American 

Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 (Public Law 112-240), relating to inclusion of qualified research 
expenses and gross receipts of an acquired person and aggregation of expenditures, shall apply, 
except as otherwise provided. 

(n) The amendments made to this section by the act adding this subdivision shall apply to 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014. 
 
 
 SEC. 2. Section 23609 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read:  



 
 

Page 3 of 5 
 

 
 23609.  For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1987, there shall be 

allowed as a credit against the “tax” (as defined by Section 23036) an amount determined in 
accordance with Section 41 of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to credit for increasing 
research activities, except as follows: 

(a) For each taxable year beginning before January 1, 1997, both of the following 
modifications shall apply: 

(1) The reference to “20 percent” in Section 41(a)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “8 percent.” 

(2) The reference to “20 percent” in Section 41(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “12 percent.” 

(b)(1) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1997, and before  
January 1, 1999, both of the following modifications shall apply: 

(A) The reference to “20 percent” in Section 41(a)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “11 percent.” 

(B) The reference to “20 percent” in Section 41(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “24 percent.” 

(2) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1999, and before  
January 1, 2000, both of the following shall apply: 

(A) The reference to “20 percent” in Section 41(a)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “12 percent.” 

(B) The reference to “20 percent” in Section 41(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “24 percent.” 

(3) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2000, both of the following shall 
apply: 

(A) The reference to “20 percent” in Section 41(a)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “15 percent.” 

(B) The reference to “20 percent” in Section 41(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “24 percent.” 

(c)(1) With respect to any expense paid or incurred after the operative date of Section 
6378, Section 41(b)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to qualified research expenses,  is 
modified to exclude from the definition of “qualified research expense” any amount paid or 
incurred for tangible personal property that is eligible for the exemption from sales or use tax 
provided by Section 6378. 

(2) “Qualified research” and “basic research” shall include only research conducted in 
California. 

(d) The provisions of Section 41(e)(7)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to basic 
research, shall be modified so that “basic research,” for purposes of this section, includes any 
basic or applied research including scientific inquiry or original investigation for the advancement 
of scientific or engineering knowledge or the improved effectiveness of commercial products, 
except that the term does not include any of the following: 

(1) Basic research conducted outside California. 
(2) Basic research in the social sciences, arts, or humanities. 
(3) Basic research for the purpose of improving a commercial product if the improvements 

relate to style, taste, cosmetic, or seasonal design factors. 
(4) Any expenditure paid or incurred for the purpose of ascertaining the existence, 

location, extent, or quality of any deposit of ore or other mineral (including oil and gas). 
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(e)(1) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in any biopharmaceutical research activities that 
are described in codes 2833 to 2836, inclusive, or any research activities that are described in 
codes 3826, 3829, or 3841 to 3845, inclusive, of the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) 
Manual published by the United States Office of Management and Budget, 1987 edition, or any 
other biotechnology research and development activities, the provisions of Section 41(e)(6) of the 
Internal Revenue Code, relating to qualified organizations, shall be modified to include both of the 
following: 

(A) A qualified organization as described in Section 170(b)(1)(A)(iii) of the Internal 
Revenue Code and owned by an institution of higher education as described in Section 3304(f) of 
the Internal Revenue Code, relating to definition of institution of higher education. 

(B) A charitable research hospital owned by an organization that is described in Section 
501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to list of exempt organizations, is exempt from 
taxation under Section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to exemption from taxation, 
is not a private foundation, is designated a “specialized laboratory cancer center,” and has 
received Clinical Cancer Research Center status from the National Cancer Institute. 

(2) For purposes of this subdivision: 
(A) “Biopharmaceutical research activities” means those activities that use organisms or 

materials derived from organisms, and their cellular, subcellular, or molecular components, in 
order to provide pharmaceutical products for human or animal therapeutics and diagnostics. 
Biopharmaceutical activities make use of living organisms to make commercial products, as 
opposed to pharmaceutical activities that make use of chemical compounds to produce 
commercial products. 

(B) “Other biotechnology research and development activities” means research and 
development activities consisting of the application of recombinant DNA technology to produce 
commercial products, as well as research and development activities regarding pharmaceutical 
delivery systems designed to provide a measure of control over the rate, duration, and site of 
pharmaceutical delivery. 

(f) In the case where the credit allowed by this section exceeds the “tax,” the excess may 
be carried over to reduce the “tax” in the following year, and succeeding years if necessary, until 
the credit has been exhausted. 

(g) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1998, the reference to “Section 
501(a)” in Section 41(b)(3)(C) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to contract research 
expenses, is modified to read “this part or Part 10 (commencing with Section 17001).” 

(h)(1)(A) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2000, and before  
January 1, 2014: 

(A)(i) The reference to “3 percent” in Section 41(c)(4)(A)(i) of the Internal Revenue Code 
is modified to read “one and forty-nine hundredths of one percent.” 

(B)(ii) The reference to “4 percent” in Section 41(c)(4)(A)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code 
is modified to read “one and ninety-eight hundredths of one percent.” 

(C)(iii) The reference to “5 percent” in Section 41(c)(4)(A)(iii) of the Internal Revenue Code 
is modified to read “two and forty-eight hundredths of one percent.” 

(2)(B) Section 41(c)(4)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code shall not apply and in lieu thereof 
an election under Section 41(c)(4)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code may be made for any taxable 
year of the taxpayer beginning on or after January 1, 1998, and before January 1, 2014. That 
election shall apply to the taxable year for which made and all succeeding taxable years unless 
revoked with the consent of the Franchise Tax Board. 
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(C) Section 41(h)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to termination of alternative 
incremental credit, is modified by substituting “beginning on or after January 1, 2014” for 
“beginning after December 31, 2008”.  

 (2)(A) Section 41(c)(5) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to election of alternative 
simplified credit, shall apply, except as otherwise provided. 

(i)  The reference to “14 percent” in Section 41(c)(5)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “10.5 percent.” 

(ii) The reference to “6 percent” in Section 41(c)(5)(B)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code is 
modified to read “4.5 percent.” 

(B) Section 41(c)(5)(C), relating to election, shall not apply and in lieu thereof an election 
under Sections 41(c)(5)(A) and 41(c)(5)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code may be made for any 
taxable year of the taxpayer beginning on or after January 1, 2014.  That election shall apply to 
the taxable year for which made and all succeeding taxable years unless revoked with the 
consent of the Franchise Tax Board. 

 (3) Section 41(c)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to gross receipts, is modified to 
take into account only those gross receipts from the sale of property held primarily for sale to 
customers in the ordinary course of the taxpayer’s trade or business that is delivered or shipped 
to a purchaser within this state, regardless of f.o.b. point or any other condition of the sale. 

 (4) Section 41(c)(5) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to election of the alternative 
simplified credit, shall not apply. 

(i) Except as otherwise provided in this section, Section 41(h) of the Internal Revenue 
Code, relating to termination, shall not apply. 

(j) Section 41(g) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to special rule for passthrough of 
credit, is modified by each of the following: 

(1) The last sentence shall not apply. 
(2) If the amount determined under Section 41(a) of the Internal Revenue Code for any 

taxable year exceeds the limitation of Section 41(g) of the Internal Revenue Code, that amount 
may be carried over to other taxable years under the rules of subdivision (f), except that the 
limitation of Section 41(g) of the Internal Revenue Code shall be taken into account in each 
subsequent taxable year. 

(k) Section 41(a)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code shall not apply. 
(l) Section 41(b)(3)(D) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to amounts paid to eligible 

small businesses, universities, and federal laboratories, shall not apply. 
(m) Section 41(f)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to energy research consortium, 

shall not apply. 
(n) The amendments made by subdivisions (b) and (c) of Section 301 of the American 

Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 (Public Law 112-240), relating to inclusion of qualified research 
expenses and gross receipts of an acquired person and aggregation of expenditures, shall apply, 
except as otherwise provided. 

(o) The amendments made to this section by the act adding this subdivision shall apply to 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014. 

 
 



 
 

LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL - B 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 
 
 Title:  Dependent Taxpayer Identification Numbers 
 
 
 Problem:  Lack of a requirement that a Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) for each 

dependent be included on the state tax return precludes the department from validating 
Dependent Exemption Credits (Dependent Credits) during return processing, which delays the 
correction of erroneous or duplicated Dependent Credits and increases the cost of correcting 
these errors for taxpayers and the department. 
 
 

 Proposed Solution:  Amend current state law to provide that no Dependent Credit would be 
allowed unless the dependent’s TIN is included on the respective return.   
 
 

 Fiscal Impact:  This proposal would require the department to respond to and resolve 
taxpayer contacts when their Dependent Credit has been disallowed resulting in additional 
costs of approximately $512,000 for the first year, fiscal year 2014-15, and $504,000 annually 
thereafter.  Any costs attributable to system changes are expected to be absorbable. 

 
 
 Revenue:   

 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP - B 
Dependent Taxpayer Identification Numbers on Tax Returns 
For Taxable Years Beginning On or After January 1, 2015 

Enactment Assumed After June 30, 2014 
($ in Millions) 

2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 

+ $10 + $10 + $11 
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Title 
 
Dependent Taxpayer Identification Numbers 
 
Introduction 
 
This proposal would require a taxpayer identification number (TIN) for each dependent claimed 
on the state tax return. 
 
Current Federal Law   
 
Under federal law, no dependent exemption is allowed unless the TIN of the dependent is 
included on the federal return.1   
 
A TIN is an identification number used by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) in the 
administration of tax laws.  A social security number is issued by the Social Security 
Administration whereas all other TINs are issued by the IRS.  Examples of TINs are as follows:  
 

• Social Security Number “SSN”  
• Individual Taxpayer Identification Number “ITIN” 
• Taxpayer Identification Number for Pending U.S. Adoptions “ATIN”  

 
Current State Law 
 
Existing state law prohibits the disallowance of the Dependent Credit if the return lacks a TIN.2  
This provision was added in 19973 following the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) change that 
required the TIN of dependents on the personal income tax return in response to concerns about 
obtaining a TIN for newborns in time to include the TIN on the return.   
 
Additionally, state law provides that a return information notice (RIN) that includes any amount of 
tax that is more than the amount reported on the tax return due to a mathematical error, e.g., an 
inaccuracy in computation, is not a deficiency assessment and the taxpayer lacks protest or 
appeal rights on that RIN.  However, the department may choose to collect the amount 
inaccurately omitted via a Notice of Proposed Assessment (NPA).4  
 
Program History/Background  
 
In order to claim the Dependent Credit, a taxpayer is required to provide the name and 
relationship of the related individual.  Conversely, for each dependent exemption reported, the 
IRS requires the name, relationship, and, since 1987, the TIN.   

                                            
1 Internal Revenue Code section 151 (e) 
2 Revenue and Taxation Code section 17054 (d) (2)  
3 SB 1233 (Lockyear, Chapter 612, Statutes of 1997) and SB 455 (Alpert, Chapter 611, Statutes of 1997) 
4 Revenue and Taxation Code section 19051 
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Requiring the TIN has allowed the federal government to verify the dependent TIN against the 
social security data base during return processing, and deny the dependent exemption when an 
inaccurate TIN is provided, or the same TIN has been reported on another return.  The IRC was 
amended to require dependent TINs on individual tax returns because Congress viewed the TIN 
requirement as an enforcement mechanism for ensuring the same dependent was not claimed on 
multiple returns.  As a result of this new requirement, seven million fewer dependent exemptions 
were claimed on the 1987 federal tax returns than on the 1986 federal tax returns. 
 
Recently, the department conducted a study that confirms that failing to require the dependent 
TIN on the California personal income tax return (return) results in substantial noncompliance.  
Specific examples are situations where the same dependent is claimed three or more times on 
different returns, and usually this turns out to be a wholly fictitious dependent.  Another common 
situation is where a Dependent Credit is claimed by the primary or secondary filer.  The most 
prevalent error is the same dependent claimed exactly twice, which may indicate two parents 
have improperly claimed the same child, such as separated parents, or a parent has claimed their 
child as a dependent and that child has filed a return and claimed himself or herself.   
 
Because state law lacks a requirement to include a dependent TIN on the return, the majority of 
disallowed Dependent Credits are identified when the department receives shared information 
from the IRS.  On average, this information is received 18 months after the return’s due date and 
includes information on the federal disallowance of dependent exemptions for failure to provide or 
validate the accuracy of the dependent’s TIN.  The remaining disallowed Dependent Credits are 
identified during the department’s audits of the Head of Household filing status or the Child and 
Dependent Care Credit.  Taxpayers are notified via an NPA when the Dependent Credit is 
proposed to be disallowed.   
 
The department is currently implementing the Enterprise Data to Revenue (EDR) project that 
uses new technologies with the department’s current systems with a projected goal to facilitate 
the validation and correction of data reported on returns through the return analysis process.  
This process will be performed upfront when returns are filed.  If this proposal’s requirement to 
include a dependent’s TIN is enacted into law, inaccuracies identified on a taxpayer’s return, such 
as a dependent’s TIN that has been claimed on multiple returns or that do not exist, could be 
adjusted immediately.  Requiring dependent TINs on the return would increase the department’s 
accuracy and customer service as the adjustments could be completed at the time of return 
processing instead of many months later.    
 
Problem   
 
Lack of a requirement that a TIN for each dependent be included on the return precludes the 
department from validating Dependent Credits during return processing, which delays the 
correction of erroneous or duplicated Dependent Credits and increases the cost of correcting 
these errors for taxpayers and the department. 
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Proposed Solution 
 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, amend current state law to provide that 
no Dependent Credit would be allowed unless the identification number of that individual is 
included on the return claiming the Dependent Credit. 
 
Any disallowance of the Dependent Credit due to the omission of a TIN would be treated as a 
math error by the department. 
 
Effective/Operative Date of Solution 
 
If enacted in the 2014 legislative session, the provisions of this proposal would be effective and 
operative beginning January 1, 2015, and specifically operative for taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2015.  
 
Justification 
 
This proposal would allow the department to confirm that a dependent’s TIN is used only once, 
which would increase the integrity of the returns, reduce inaccurate returns, and erroneous 
Dependent Credits.  This proposal would also increase the timeliness of the department’s 
compliance efforts, and decrease the amount of incorrect refunds issued to taxpayers. 
 
Additionally, this proposal would allow the department to create an automated versus manual 
method for examining Dependent Credits that could reduce departmental cost by implementing a 
less expensive method of verifying Dependent Credits and notifying taxpayers of deficiencies, 
whereas a result of timely notifying a taxpayer that improperly claimed Dependent Credits could 
have less interest and penalties applied. 
  
Implementation 
 
Implementing this bill would require some changes to existing tax forms and instructions, and 
information systems, which could be accomplished during the normal annual update. 
 
Fiscal Impact  
 
This proposal would require the department to respond to and resolve taxpayer contacts when 
their Dependent Credit has been disallowed resulting in additional costs of approximately 
$512,000 for the first year, fiscal year 2014-15, and $504,000 for each subsequent year.  Any 
costs attributable to system changes are expected to be absorbable.  
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Economic Impact  
 
Revenue Estimate 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP - B 
Dependent Taxpayer Identification Numbers on Tax Returns  

For Taxable Years Beginning On or After January 1, 2015 
Enactment Assumed After June 30, 2014 

($ in Millions) 
2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 

+ $10 + $10 + $11 
 
This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state 
product that could result from this proposal. 
 
Revenue Discussion 
 
The estimated revenue impact of this proposal depends on the number of taxpayers that 
improperly claim Dependent Credits.  The resulting revenue from this proposal is due to an 
administrative change rather than a change to the calculation of tax liability. 
 
Each year approximately 12 million Dependent Credits are claimed on 7.6 million returns.  It was 
assumed that less than 1 percent, or approximately 65,000 of these returns will be initially 
disallowed or rejected during processing as a result of the requirements of this proposal.  It is 
estimated that 15 percent of these rejections would be reversed because the taxpayer had 
correctly claimed the Dependent Credit.  The remaining 85 percent or 55,000 represent the 
number of returns with one or more disallowed Dependent Credits.  The average tax impact per 
return is estimated to be $209, for an initial revenue impact of $11,000,000.  However, a portion 
of this amount, approximately $850,000, would result in assessments that would need to be 
collected from taxpayers because they owed tax before the credit was disallowed.  However, it is 
estimated that only 60 percent of this portion would actually be collected over the next five years.  
The result is an estimated revenue impact of approximately $10,000,000 in the first year.  This 
number is grown, fiscalized, and standard rounding was applied to arrive at the numbers above.  
 
Pro & Con Arguments  
 
Pro:  Requiring taxpayers to provide TINs for dependents would reduce inaccurate Dependent 
Credit claims and increase compliance. 
 
Con:  Increasing the information on the return could add to the complexity of the return and 
increase the perception of the return as a more cumbersome document.  
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Other States 
 
The states surveyed include Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York.  
These states were selected due to their similarities to California’s economy, business entity types, 
and tax laws.  
 
Florida only has a corporation income tax; therefore a comparison Florida law is irrelevant.  
 
Generally, Illinois does not require a TIN to be reported on the return in order to claim a 
dependent exemption.  However, a Nonresident Alien is required to attach the federal 1040 NR or 
the 1040 NR-EZ when filing the state return.  
 
Massachusetts has a Dependent Information Schedule that requires the dependent’s name, 
relationship, TIN, and date of birth. 
 
Michigan does not require a TIN to be reported on the return or an attached federal return in 
order to claim a dependent exemption.   
 
Minnesota has a Child and Dependent Care Credit Schedule, Minnesota Working Family Credit 
Schedule, and a K-12 Education Credit Schedule that requires, among other information, the 
dependent’s name, TIN, and date of birth.  
 
New York requires a dependent’s name, relationship, TIN, and date of birth to be reported on the 
return in order to claim the dependent exemption.  
 
Additional Comments  
 
The proposed procedure to notify a taxpayer that the Dependent Credit was disallowed through a 
RIN would permit the department to adjust the return during processing.  If the taxpayer disputes 
the adjustment, he or she would have an opportunity to provide documentation supporting 
eligibility for the credit, or file a formal claim for refund.   
 
LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 
 
Janet Jennings  Mandy Hayes Gail Hall 
Legislative Analyst, FTB Revenue Manager, FTB Legislative Director, FTB 
(916) 845-3495 (916) 845-5125 (916) 845-6333 
janet.jennings@ftb.ca.gov mandy.hayes@ftb.ca.gov gail.hall@ftb.ca.gov 
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FRANCHISE TAX BOARD’S 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS FOR LP - B 

 
 

SECTION 1.  Section 17054 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read: 
 

17054.  In the case of individuals, the following credits for personal exemption may be 
deducted from the tax imposed under Section 17041 or 17048, less any increases imposed under 
paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) or paragraph (1) of subdivision (e), or both, of Section 17560.  
(a) In the case of a single individual, a head of household, or a married individual making a 
separate return, a credit of fifty-two dollars ($52). 
(b) In the case of a surviving spouse (as defined in Section 17046), or a husband and wife 
making a joint return, a credit of one hundred four dollars ($104). If one spouse was a resident for 
the entire taxable year and the other spouse was a nonresident for all or any portion of the 
taxable year, the personal exemption shall be divided equally. 
(c) In addition to any other credit provided in this section, in the case of an individual who is  
65 years of age or over by the end of the taxable year, a credit of fifty-two dollars ($52). 
(d) (1) A credit of two hundred twenty-seven dollars ($227) for each dependent (as defined in 
Section 17056) for whom an exemption is allowable under Section 151(c) of the Internal Revenue 
Code, relating to additional exemption for dependents. The credit allowed under this subdivision 
for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1999, shall not be adjusted pursuant to 
subdivision (i) for any taxable year beginning before January 1, 2000. 
(2) (A) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, no credit may be allowed under 
paragraph (1) with respect to any individual unless the identification number, as defined in 
Section 6109 of the Internal Revenue Code, of that individual is included on the return claiming 
the credit.  
The credit allowed under paragraph (1) may not be denied on the basis that the identification 
number of the dependent, as defined in Section 17056, for whom an exemption is allowable 
under Section 151(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, relating to additional exemption for 
dependents, is not included on the return claiming the credit. 
(B) Any disallowance of a credit due to the omission of a correct identification number required 
under this subdivision, may be assessed by the Franchise Tax Board in the same manner as is 
provided by Section 19051 in the case of a mathematical error appearing on the return. 
(3)(A) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, the credit allowed under 
paragraph (1) for each dependent shall be equal to the credit allowed under subdivision (a). This 
subparagraph shall cease to be operative for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, 
unless the Director of Finance makes the notification pursuant to Section 99040 of the 
Government Code, in which case this subparagraph shall cease to be operative for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2013. 
(B) For taxable years that subparagraph (A) ceases to be operative, the credit allowed under 
paragraph (1) for each dependent shall be equal to the amount that would be allowed if 
subparagraph (A) had never been operative. 
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(e) A credit for personal exemption of fifty-two dollars ($52) for the taxpayer if he or she is blind at 
the end of his or her taxable year. 
(f) A credit for personal exemption of fifty-two dollars ($52) for the spouse of the taxpayer if a 
separate return is made by the taxpayer, and if the spouse is blind and, for the calendar year in 
which the taxable year of the taxpayer begins, has no gross income and is not the dependent of 
another taxpayer. 
(g) For the purposes of this section, an individual is blind only if either (1) his or her central visual 
acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with correcting lenses, or (2) his or her visual 
acuity is greater than 20/200 but is accompanied by a limitation in the fields of vision such that the 
widest diameter of the visual field subtends an angle no greater than 20 degrees. 
(h) In the case of an individual with respect to whom a credit under this section is allowable to 
another taxpayer for a taxable year beginning in the calendar year in which the individual’s 
taxable year begins, the credit amount applicable to that individual for that individual’s taxable 
year is zero. 
(i) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1989, the Franchise Tax Board shall 
compute the credits prescribed in this section. That computation shall be made as follows: 
(1) The California Department of Industrial Relations shall transmit annually to the Franchise Tax 
Board the percentage change in the California Consumer Price Index for all items from June of 
the prior calendar year to June of the current calendar year, no later than August 1 of the current 
calendar year. 
(2) The Franchise Tax Board shall add 100 percent to the percentage change figure which is 
furnished to them pursuant to paragraph (1), and divide the result by 100. 
(3) The Franchise Tax Board shall multiply the immediately preceding taxable year credits by the 
inflation adjustment factor determined in paragraph (2), and round off the resulting products to the 
nearest one dollar ($1). 
(4) In computing the credits pursuant to this subdivision, the credit provided in subdivision (b) 
shall be twice the credit provided in subdivision (a). 
 
 



 
 

LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL - C 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 
 
 Title:  Business Entities e-Filing Requirement 
 
 
 Problem:  If the return of a business entity is prepared using tax preparation software, but a 

paper return for that business entity is filed, the department must process that return using 
costly manual data capture methods that lack the accuracy and efficiency associated with  
e-filing. 
 
 

 Proposed Solution:  Require a business entity that files a return that was prepared using tax 
preparation software, to file the return by electronic technology, unless the business entity, upon 
request, is granted a waiver.  The FTB may grant a waiver if it determines the business entity is 
unable to comply with the requirements due to, but not limited to, technology constraints, where 
compliance would result in undue financial burden, or due to circumstances that constitute 
reasonable cause, and not willful neglect. 
 
In addition, a provision would be added that would impose a $500 penalty on a business entity 
that files a return but fails to e-file that return when required to do so under the requirements 
discussed above, unless the failure is due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect. 
 
 

 Fiscal Impact:  To the extent that this proposal would increase the number of taxpayers filing 
electronic returns verses paper, it would generate cost savings in the earlier years of 
implementation.  The department estimates a cost savings of approximately $935,000, for fiscal 
year 2014-15 attributable to a reduction in personnel and equipment needed to key the business 
entity returns that convert from paper to e-filing and assumes that in the first year of requiring a 
business to e-file, a 76 percent e-file compliance rate will be achieved.  The fiscal year 2014-15 
savings would be offset by a onetime implementation cost of approximately $95,000, for a net 
savings of approximately $840,000.  In addition, approximately $510,000 in aggregate cost 
savings is estimated for fiscal years two through four (2015-16 through 2017-18); and cost 
savings in fiscal year five (2018-19) of approximately $1.2 million, that assumes a 90 percent  
e-file compliance rate, by reducing work performed by vendors as the work transitions back to 
the department and through the elimination of maintenance support contracts.  The cost savings 
that would result from this proposal would allow staff to work higher priority workloads. 

 
 
 Revenue:  This proposal would not accelerate revenue because of the following reasons: 

 
• The timing or amount of estimated tax payments made by a business entity would remain 

unchanged. 
• The department does not prioritize e-filed returns over paper returns. 
• The fact that refunds would be expected to reach taxpayers faster if they choose to e-file is 

estimated as having an insignificant impact to revenue. 
• The penalty would be imposed so infrequently that the revenue would be negligible because 

the department anticipates business entities would either comply with the e-file requirements 
or obtain a waiver. 
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Title 
 
Business Entities e-Filing Requirement 
 
Introduction 
 
This proposal would require certain business entities to use electronic filing (e-filing).  
 
Program History/Background  
 
The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) offers voluntary e-filing1 of personal income tax returns and returns 
for corporations, partnerships, exempt organizations,2 and limited liability companies.   
 
The Business e-Filing Program process allows the return of a business entity to be transmitted 
electronically.  There are several tax preparation software brands available to business entities to 
utilize for e-filing.3  The tax preparation software formats the electronic return from the business 
entity to an acceptable standardized readable tax record for batching and transmission through the 
Internet to the FTB.  The FTB validates the data and sends an acknowledgement back to the filer 
on every e-filed return received.  The Business e-Filing Program accepts the current year and  
two prior tax years for e-filing.  An estimated 46 percent of business entities voluntarily e-filed with 
the FTB for filing season 2012.  See Exhibit A, “FTB e-File Process.” 
 
The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has an e-file system referred to as Modernized e-File (MeF).  
MeF is a federal web-based system that allows e-filing of corporate, individual, partnership, exempt 
organization, and excise returns.  The IRS MeF format utilizes the same standardized technology 
as California’s Business e-File Program.  Several states that lack an e-file program participate in the 
Federal and State (Fed/State) program.  Both the federal and state returns are transmitted to the 
IRS, and the IRS forwards the state return to the appropriate state tax authority.4   
 
Current Federal Law 
 
Under federal regulations, certain large corporations and other business entities are required to file 
federal income and information returns electronically.  E-filing is optional, but encouraged, for 
smaller entities. 
 
The IRS mandates e-filing for the following: 
 

• Large corporations with $10 million or more in total assets.  
• A partnership with more than 100 partners.5  A partnership that fails to file Schedules K-1 is 

assessed a penalty of $50.00 for each Schedule K-1. 
• Certain large tax-exempt organizations with total assets of $10 million.  
• Private foundations and charitable trusts regardless of their asset size.   

                                            
1  FTB Publication 1346B, “2012 Business e-file Guide for Software Developers and Transmitters,” 

<https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/efile/forms/1346b/1346b.pdf >. 
2  Excluding California Exempt Organization Business Income, Form 109. 
3  “Approved e-File Software for California,”  <https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/efile/prosoftware.shtml>, dated 

October 11, 2013. 
4  California is an independent state and receives state returns directly from the tax software provider, via Secure Web 

Internet File Transfer system, known as SWIFT. 
5  Schedules K-1. 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/efile/prosoftware.shtml
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In addition, tax preparers that file at least 250 returns, including income tax returns, exempt 
organization returns, information returns, excise tax returns, and employment tax returns, are 
mandated to e-file. 
 
The IRS allows for exceptions and hardship waivers from the e-filing requirement.  A taxpayer may 
request a waiver if the taxpayer is unable to meet e-filing requirements due to technology 
constraints or where compliance with the requirements would result in undue financial burden on 
the taxpayer.6 
 
The IRS may issue a failure to file penalty if a business entity chooses to file a paper return rather 
than e-file.  A failure to file penalty is generally five percent of the tax owed for each month, up to a 
maximum of 25 percent.  If the return is over 60 days late, the minimum penalty for late filing is the 
lesser of $135 or 100 percent of the tax owed.   
 
Current State Law 
 
Current state law lacks a requirement for a business entity to e-file.  The department’s Business  
e-File Program allows business entities to voluntarily e-file returns.  
 
State law requires income tax preparers who prepare more than 100 California individual income 
tax returns annually or prepare one or more using tax preparation software to e-file all personal 
income tax returns.  
 
The failure to e-file penalty is $50 per return filed on paper that should have been e-filed, unless it is 
shown that the failure to e-file is due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect.   
 
Problem 
 
If the return of a business entity is prepared using tax preparation software, but a paper return for 
that business entity is filed, the department must process that return using costly manual data 
capture methods that lack the accuracy and efficiency associated with e-filing. 
 
Proposed Solution 
 
Add a provision to the Revenue and Taxation Code that would require a business entity that files an 
acceptable return that was prepared using tax preparation software, to file the return by electronic 
technology in a form and manner prescribed by the FTB, unless the business entity, upon request, 
is granted a waiver.    
 
Any business entity required to file a return electronically may annually request a waiver of the e-file 
requirements from the FTB.  The FTB may grant a waiver if it determines the business entity is 
unable to comply with the requirements due to, but not limited to, technology constraints, where 
compliance would result in undue financial burden, or due to circumstances that constitute 
reasonable cause, and not willful neglect.  
 
  

                                            
6  IRS Notice 2010-13. 
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This provision would provide the following definitions: 
 

• “Acceptable return” means any original return or amended return that is required to be filed, 
other than the exempt organization return for unrelated business taxable income (Form 
109). 

• “Business entity” means a corporation, including an S corporation, an organization exempt 
from tax, partnership, or limited liability company classified as a corporation or a partnership. 

• “Tax preparation software” means any computer software program used to prepare an 
acceptable return or for use in tax compliance, that uses electronic technology. 

• “Electronic technology” includes, but is not limited to, internet, cloud computing, or an 
electronic information delivery system. 

• "Technology constraints” means an inability of the tax preparation software used by a 
taxpayer to electronically file the acceptable return as required by this section as a result of 
the complex nature of the return or inadequacy of the software. 

 
In addition, a provision would be added that would impose a $500 penalty on a business entity that 
files a return but fails to e-file that return when required to do so under the requirements discussed 
above, unless the failure is due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect. 
 
Effective/Operative Date of Solution 
 
This proposal would be effective January 1, 2015.  The e-filing requirements would specifically 
apply to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and to acceptable returns filed on or 
after January 1, 2015.  The penalty provision would be delayed by one year and would apply to 
returns filed for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015.   
 
Justification 
 
Requiring a business entity to e-file a return when a taxpayer uses tax preparation software would 
result in the FTB processing returns more quickly, which would expedite approved refunds and 
utilize cost-effective technology to meet operational goals.   
 
Department staff reports that 86 percent of the paper returns filed by business entities are produced 
using approved tax preparation software ready for e-filing.  However, only 46 percent of these 
returns are e-filed.  The department anticipates that approximately 80 percent would e-file in the 
first year of the requirement with the remainder of the population obtaining a waiver of the 
requirement based on, but not limited to, technology constraints, undue financial burden, or 
reasonable cause.  As a result, the additional burden to taxpayers subject to the proposed e-filing 
requirement is expected to be minor.  
 
E-filing a return lowers the initial cost of processing returns.  The FTB estimates that the average 
cost to the department to process a business entity paper filed return is $6.00 (includes complex 
and smaller taxpayer returns), as opposed to 36 cents (primarily based on smaller taxpayer returns) 
for an e-filed return. 
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Requiring a business entity to e-file rather than file a paper return that was prepared using tax 
preparation software would simplify the department’s tax-filing process because of the following: 
 

• E-filing a return shortens the processing time for returns because FTB’s e-file processes 
verify and validate certain aspects of the return before it is accepted for processing, ensuring 
a more accurate return, with fewer errors.   

• E-filing a return reduces data entry errors because rekeying data into FTB’s systems is not 
needed.  

• E-filing a return automates a substantial amount of tax data collected by taxpayers and 
processed by the FTB.  For example, CA Form 100 has up to 40 pages of forms and 
schedules manually keyed by data operators into FTB systems.   

 
Business e-file benefits include the following: 
 

• Fast Processing - The FTB can process an e-filed return quicker than a paper return.  Time 
saved in processing translates to quicker refunds. 

• Accurate Returns - The e-file program checks returns for common error conditions before the 
returns are processed.  This provides the business entity with the opportunity to correct the 
return and avoid a notice.  The error rate for paper returns is approximately 10 percent, while 
e-file returns have an error rate of less than 1 percent. 

• Proof of Filing - Generally within 24 to 48 hours the FTB provides an acknowledgment that 
the business entity’s return has been received and accepted. 

 
Implementation 
 
Implementing this proposal would require the development of procedures and forms, taxpayer 
education and outreach efforts, and staff training to respond to questions and requests regarding 
the e-filing requirement and waiver process. 
 
Fiscal Impact 
 
To the extent that this proposal would increase the number of taxpayers filing electronic returns 
verses paper, it would generate cost savings in the earlier years of implementation.  The 
department estimates a cost savings of approximately $935,000, for fiscal year 2014-15 attributable 
to a reduction in personnel and equipment needed to key the business entity returns that convert 
from paper to e-filing and assumes that in the first year of requiring a business to e-file, a  
76 percent e-file compliance rate will be achieved.  The fiscal year 2014-15 savings would be offset 
by a onetime implementation cost of approximately $95,000, for a net savings of approximately 
$840,000. 
 
In addition, approximately $510,000 in aggregate cost savings is estimated for fiscal years two 
through four (2015-16 through 2017-18); and cost savings in fiscal year five (2018-19) of 
approximately $1.2 million, that assumes a 90 percent e-file compliance rate, by reducing work 
performed by vendors as the work transitions back to the department and through the elimination of 
maintenance support contracts.  The cost savings that would result from this proposal would allow 
staff to work higher priority workloads. 
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Economic Impact 
 
This proposal would not accelerate revenue because: 
 

• The timing or amount of estimated tax payments made by a business entity would remain 
unchanged. 

• The department does not prioritize e-filed returns over paper returns. 
• The fact that refunds would be expected to reach taxpayers faster if they choose to e-file is 

estimated as having an insignificant impact to revenue. 
 

Although this proposal would impose a $500 penalty on a business entity that fails to e-file when 
required to do so, the estimated revenue associated with this penalty would be negligible because 
the department anticipates business entities that would be required to e-file would comply with the 
requirement or obtain a waiver under the provisions of the proposal.  This has been the 
department’s experience with current law’s mandated e-file for certain tax preparers preparing 
individual tax returns.  Although certain tax preparers have been subject to the penalty, the 
department has been able to work with the tax preparers to either comply with the law or obtain a 
waiver of the e-file requirement. 
 
Pro & Con Arguments  
 
Pro:  Some may say that requiring e-filing for certain business entities would improve taxpayer 
service and governmental efficiency.  
 
Con:  Some may say that it will be costly for certain software providers to implement e-filing 
because they may absorb the cost of developing e-filing for California purposes.   
 
Other States 
 
The states surveyed include Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York 
because of similarities to California's economy, business entity types, and tax laws.   
 
Under Florida law, a taxpayer required to e-file a federal corporate income tax return is required 
to file their Florida corporate income tax returns electronically via the IRS’s MeF Fed/State 
Program using approved software.   
 
Illinois and the IRS have developed the Illinois Business Income Tax MeF Program.  Illinois 
requires any corporation, S corporation, and partnership that e-files its federal income tax to file 
its equivalent Illinois income tax return for the same taxable year electronically.  Illinois does not 
require e-filing of amended returns.   
 
A Massachusetts S corporation that has income from customers or clients of $100,000 or more is 
required to e-file a corporation tax return.  A Massachusetts partnership with 25 or more partners 
must e-file, and a partnership with less than 25 partners that has income or loss of $50,000 or more 
is required to e-file. 
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Michigan has an enforced e-file requirement for Michigan Business Tax (MBT) and Corporation 
Income Tax (CIT).  All eligible MBT and CIT returns prepared using tax preparation software or a 
computer-generated form are required to be e-filed.  Michigan participates in the IRS MeF program: 
accepting both MBT and CIT Fed/State e-file returns.   
   
Minnesota accepts e-filed corporate franchise, fiduciary, S corporation, and partnership returns 
through participating tax software providers.  Minnesota will begin its transition to the Fed/State 
MeF program.  An internet based e-filing platform allows a tax preparer to transmit both federal and 
Minnesota state returns through the IRS system. 
 
New York requires a corporation and a partnership to e-file if they self-prepare tax documents 
without the assistance of a tax professional, utilize approved e-file tax software to prepare the 
return, or utilize a computer to prepare, document, or calculate an extension or estimated tax 
payment; and the corporation and partnership has broadband internet access. 
 
LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 
 
Jane Raboy Mandy Hayes Gail Hall 
Legislative Analyst, FTB Revenue Manager, FTB Legislative Director, FTB 
(916) 845-5718 (916) 845-5125 (916) 845-6333 
jane.raboy@ftb.ca.gov mandy.hayes@ftb.c.agov gail.hall@ftb.ca.gov 

http://www.michigan.gov/taxes/0,1607,7-238-46621_51942-201108--,00.html
mailto:jane.raboy@ftb.ca.gov
mailto:mandy.hayes@ftb.c.agov
mailto:gail.hall@ftb.ca.gov


 
 
Exhibit A - FTB e-File Process 

• Business e-file performs Business Rule Validation

• Creates Acknowledgment File (Rejected or 
Accepted)

• Accepted returns are sent for additional processing

• FTB returns acknowledgement back to the filer on 
every e-file return received

Business Entity Return e-file Process
Transmits to FTB
Using the Internet

FTB Business Entity

FTB Validates Data  
and Returns Acknowledgement

• Tax software providers approved 
in the IRS e-file Program are 
automatically enrolled in the 
California e-file program. 

• The e-file Program allows the state 
return to be transmitted 
independent of the federal return 
and does not require the federal 
return to be accepted prior to the 
state return being transmitted. 

Transmission by 
Tax Preparation Software or

Tax Software Provider 

Uses 
Tax Preparation Software

• Acknowledgement received from 
FTB
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FRANCHISE TAX BOARD’S 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS FOR LP - C 

 
 
 SECTION 1.  Section 18621.10 is added to the Revenue and Taxation Code to read: 
 

18621.10.  (a) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, if an acceptable 
return of a business entity was prepared using a tax preparation software, that return must be 
filed using electronic technology in a form and manner prescribed by the Franchise Tax Board.  
  (b) For purposes of this section: 
  (1) "Acceptable return" means any original or amended return that is required to be filed 
pursuant to Article 2 (commencing with Section 18601), Section 18633, Section 18633.5, or 
Article 3 (commencing with section 23771) of chapter 2 of Part 11, other than the return for 
unrelated business taxable income required by Section 23771. 
  (2) “Business entity” means a corporation, including an S corporation, an organization exempt 
from tax pursuant to Chapter 4 (commencing with section 23701) of Part 11, or a partnership, or a 
limited liability company. 
  (3) “Tax preparation software” means any computer software program used to prepare an 
acceptable return or for use in tax compliance. 
  (4) "Electronic technology" includes, but is not limited to internet, cloud computing, or an 
electronic information delivery system. 
 (5) "Technology constraints” means an inability of the tax preparation software used by a 
taxpayer to electronically file the acceptable return as required by this section as a result of the 
complex nature of the return or inadequacy of the software. 
  (c) Any business entity required to file a return electronically under this section may annually 
request a waiver of the requirements of this section from the Franchise Tax Board with respect to 
an acceptable return filed for a taxable year.  The Franchise Tax Board may grant a waiver if it 
determines the business entity is unable to comply with the requirements of this section due to, 
but not limited to, technology constraints, where compliance would result in undue financial 
burden, or due to circumstances that constitute reasonable cause, and not willful neglect as 
applicable with respect to the penalty imposed under Section 19171.  
  (d) This section applies to an acceptable return required filed on or after January 1, 2015. 
 
 
 SEC. 2. Section 19171 is added to the Revenue and Taxation Code to read: 
 
           19171.  (a)  A business entity required  to electronically file a return pursuant to Section 
18621.10 that files a return in a manner that fails to comply with Section 18621.10, may be 
subject to a penalty in the amount of five hundred dollars ($500) for each failure, unless the 
failure is due to reasonable cause, and not willful neglect. 
   (b) This section shall apply to returns filed for taxable years beginning on or after  
January 1, 2015. 



 
 

LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL - D 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 
 
 Title:  First-Time Abatement of Timeliness Penalties 
 
 
 Problem:  The absence of state authority for timeliness penalty abatement creates taxpayer 

confusion and results in costly taxpayer-filed protests and appeals to the Board of 
Equalization.  

 
 

 Proposed Solution:  Amend state law to establish penalty abatement for these timeliness 
penalties similar to the federal first-time abatement procedure. 

 
This proposal would require the Franchise Tax Board, upon taxpayer request, to abate a 
failure-to-file or failure-to-pay penalty when: 

 
• Reasonable cause is either absent or the taxpayer chooses to forgo a reasonable cause 

review, and for the calendar year of the request for abatement and four tax years 
immediately prior to the request for abatement: 
 

o The taxpayer is otherwise compliant with their income or franchise tax filing 
requirement; and  
 

o The taxpayer has paid, or is current on an arrangement to pay, all tax currently due.   
 
 
 Fiscal Impact:  The changes that this proposal seeks to make are estimated to cost 

approximately $449,000 to implement with on-going annual additional costs of approximately 
$380,000.   

 
 
 Revenue:   

 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP - D 
For Timeliness Penalty Relief Granted On or After January 1, 2015 

Enactment Assumed After June 30, 2014 
($ in Millions) 

2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 
- $5.4 - $24 - $23 - $21 - $18 
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Title 
 
First-Time Abatement of Timeliness Penalties 
 
Introduction 
 
This proposal would provide a penalty relief program for timeliness penalties (failure to file or 
failure to pay). 
 
Program History/Background  
 
On September 19, 2012, the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration (Inspector) 
released its final audit report on the Internal Revenue Service's (IRS's) penalty abatement 
procedures.1  The Inspector found that most taxpayers eligible for the IRS's first-time abatement 
penalty waiver were not offered, and did not receive, penalty relief.  The Inspector estimated that 
for tax year 2010, approximately 250,000 taxpayers with failure-to-file penalties and 1.2 million 
taxpayers with failure-to-pay penalties did not receive first-time abatement penalty relief even 
though they were qualified under the IRS's first-time abatement waiver criteria.  The Inspector 
estimated that the total of unabated penalties eligible for this penalty relief was in excess of  
$181 million. 
 
The Inspector further found that the first-time abatement waiver is not used to its full potential as 
a compliance tool because it is granted to taxpayers before they demonstrate full compliance by 
paying their current tax liability. 
 
Finally, the Inspector found that taxpayers qualified to receive penalty relief based on reasonable 
cause would receive first-time abatement relief instead.  This was a disadvantage to taxpayers 
because the utilization of the first-time abatement relief rendered a taxpayer ineligible for a 
specified period for a subsequent first-time abatement relief.  Performing the reasonable cause 
penalty relief could preserve the first-time abatement relief for subsequent periods.   
 
This proposal would address the issues raised in the Inspector’s report by: 
 

• Prohibiting first-time abatement penalty relief based on compliance history when 
reasonable cause exists, unless specifically elected by the taxpayer. 
 

• Requiring payment compliance before allowing penalty abatement, either by being paid in 
full or being up to date on a payment arrangement. 

 
Current Federal Law  
 
Current federal law imposes penalties for failing to timely file a tax return or to timely pay tax.  The 
penalties apply to individuals, corporations, partnerships, and S corporations.  

                                            
1 Penalty Abatement Procedures Should Be Applied Consistently to All Taxpayers and Should Encourage Voluntary 
Compliance, Final Report Issued on September 19, 2012, Reference Number 2012-40-113, Treasury Inspector 
General for Tax Administration. 

http://www.treasury.gov/tigta/auditreports/2012reports/201240113fr.pdf
http://www.treasury.gov/tigta/auditreports/2012reports/201240113fr.pdf
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Failure-to-File Penalty 
 
The penalty for failure to file an income tax return by the due date is 5 percent of the amount of 
tax required to be shown on the return, less any earlier payments or credits, for the first month the 
return is late.  The penalty increases by 5 percent, to a maximum of 25 percent, for each 
additional month the return remains unfiled.  The penalty is calculated as the lesser of $100 or the 
amount of tax required to be shown on the return for failing to file within 60 days of the due date, 
including extensions.   
 
Failure-to-Pay Penalty 
 
The penalty for failing to pay the tax shown on an income tax return or an assessed deficiency by 
the due date is generally one-half percent of the tax due for the first month the payment is late, 
increasing by one-half percent per month that the balance remains outstanding to a maximum of 
25 percent.   
 
First-Time Abatement Penalty Relief 
 
Beginning in 2001, taxpayers requesting abatement of the failure-to-file and the failure-to-pay 
penalties may be granted relief under the IRS administrative practice of abating these penalties 
for taxpayers with a history of compliance.2  First-time abatement penalty relief is available under 
the IRS’s general authority, rather than being allowed by statute or regulation.   
 
In the IRS's modified first-time abatement policy,3 dated April 5, 2013, a reasonable cause 
explanation provided by the taxpayer will be considered after considering the first-time abatement 
analysis.  If the analysis shows that the taxpayer is not eligible for penalty relief under first-time 
abatement, then the taxpayer's explanation will be used to determine if reasonable cause penalty 
relief criteria is met.  For a taxpayer that is given relief under the first-time abatement, 
correspondence sent to the taxpayer states: 
 

"We are pleased to inform you that your request to remove the (use applicable penalty, i.e. 
failure to file, failure to pay, or failure to deposit) penalty(s) has been granted.  However, 
this action has been taken based solely on your compliance history rather than on the 
information provided…IRS will base decisions on removing any future (failure to file, failure 
to pay, failure to deposit) penalties on any information you provide that meets reasonable 
cause criteria."     

 
This relief is generally available for any tax period if the taxpayer: 
 

• Has not previously been required to file a return or has no prior penalties, except the 
estimated tax penalty, for the preceding three years, and 

• Has filed, or filed a valid extension for, all currently required returns and paid, or arranged 
to pay, any tax due.  For example, a taxpayer would be considered current if they have an 
open installment agreement.  If the taxpayer is not currently in compliance with this 
requirement and all other criteria are met, the taxpayer is provided the opportunity to fully 
comply before reasonable cause is considered.  

                                            
2 Internal Revenue Manual - 20.1.1 Introduction and Penalty Relief 
3 First Time Abate Policy Modified, Taxpayers Must Be Current with Filing & Payment Requirements, Internal 
Revenue Manual Procedural Update, Number SBSE-20-0413-0690, April 5, 2013. 

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=irs%20administrative%20manual%20penalty&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CB4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.irs.gov%2Firm%2Fpart20%2Firm_20-001-001r.html&ei=U8iKUNjNH4OTyQGbtYCIDg&usg=AFQjCNExO-pSrNgDIoyMwCi0kFi3xTbRfQ
http://www.irs.gov/pub/foia/ig/spder/IPU-CPR_SBSE-20-0413-0690.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/pub/foia/ig/spder/IPU-CPR_SBSE-20-0413-0690.pdf
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A penalty assessed and subsequently reversed in full will generally be considered to show 
compliance for that period.  
 
Penalty relief can only apply to a single tax period.  For example, if a request for penalty relief is 
being considered for two or more tax periods, the earliest tax period that meets the criteria will 
receive penalty relief, not all the tax periods being considered.  
 
Reasonable Cause Exception 
 
Taxpayers have the right to ask that certain penalties be abated if they can show that there was 
reasonable cause for failure to comply.  In order for a penalty to be canceled, reasonable cause 
must exist.  Reasonable cause means the act occurred despite the exercise of ordinary business 
care and prudence and the failure was due to events beyond the filer’s control.  Some examples 
of reasons provided by a taxpayer that may be accepted as reasonable cause, if substantiated, 
are 1) the business records were destroyed by fire, 2) the taxpayer was mentally incompetent, 
and 3) the dishonored payment was due to a bank error. 
 
Current State Law 
 
Current state law imposes penalties when a taxpayer fails to file a tax return on or before its due 
date or fails to pay the tax due as shown on their tax return by the due date of the return.  The 
penalties apply to individuals, corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies (LLCs), and  
S corporations. 
 
Penalty Relief 
 
The Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) explicitly requires the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to 
impose penalties for a taxpayer's failure to timely file a return or a taxpayer's failure to timely pay 
tax, unless it is shown that the failure is due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect. 
 
The R&TC has no provision similar to the federal first-time abatement policy, nor does the FTB 
have any formal administrative policy that is similar to the federal policy for abatement of the 
timeliness penalties based on a taxpayer’s history of compliance.  Unlike the IRS, the FTB does 
not have specific legal authority to specify the circumstances of reasonable cause on this basis, 
without a statutory change, such that a first-time abatement could be applied. 
 
Failure-to-File Penalty 
 
The penalty for failure to file an income tax return by the due date is 5 percent of the amount of 
tax required to be shown on the return, less any earlier payments or credits, for the first month the 
return is late.  The penalty increases by 5 percent, to a maximum of 25 percent, for each 
additional month the return remains unfiled.  The penalty is calculated as the lesser of $100 (or 
$135 for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, for individuals or fiduciaries) or the 
amount of tax required to be shown on the return for failing to file within 60 days of the due date, 
including extensions.   
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In case of fraudulent failure to file, the penalty is increased to 15 percent per month, up to a  
75 percent maximum. 
 
If a partnership, an LLC that is classified as a partnership, or an S corporation fails to file on time, 
or files a return that does not give information with respect to gross income, deductions, and 
persons entitled to distributive shares, a monthly penalty is assessed, not to exceed 12 months at 
$18 multiplied by the number of persons who were partners, LLC members, or shareholders 
during the taxable year. 
 
Failure-to-Pay Penalty 
 
The penalty for failure to pay the tax shown on an income tax return or an assessed deficiency by 
the due date is generally 5 percent of the tax not paid by the original due date of the return.  In 
addition to the 5 percent underpayment penalty, a monthly penalty will also be charged on the tax 
unpaid as of the original due date of the return.  The monthly penalty is imposed at one-half 
percent (.005) per month, or fraction of a month that the tax remains unpaid, up to a maximum of 
40 months (20 percent).  The aggregate amount of penalty shall not exceed 25 percent of the 
total unpaid tax. 
 
Similar penalties apply for nonpayment of the $800 annual tax imposed on LLCs and the $800 tax 
imposed on limited liability partnerships. 
 
The penalty is not assessed if, for the same year, the sum of any penalties imposed for failing to 
file a return is equal to or greater than the late-payment penalty.  If the penalty for late payment 
exceeds the failure-to-file penalty, only the excess is due in addition to those penalties. 
  
Reasonable Cause Exception 
 
In general, current state law generally conforms to the federal rules for determining reasonable 
cause. 
 
Problem 
 
The absence of state authority for timeliness penalty abatement creates taxpayer confusion and 
results in costly taxpayer-filed protests and appeals to the Board of Equalization (BOE).  
 
Proposed Solution 
 
The proposed solution would amend state law to establish penalty abatement for these timeliness 
penalties similar to the federal first-time abatement procedure. 
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This proposal would require the FTB, upon taxpayer request, to abate a failure-to-file or  
failure-to-pay penalty when: 
 

• Reasonable cause is either absent or the taxpayer chooses to forgo a reasonable cause 
review, and for the calendar year of the request for abatement and four tax years 
immediately prior to the request for abatement: 
 

o The taxpayer is otherwise compliant with their income or franchise tax filing 
requirement; and  
 

o The taxpayer has paid, or is current on an arrangement to pay, all tax currently due.   
 
Effective/Operative Date of Solution 
 
If the proposal were enacted during the 2014 legislative session in non-urgency legislation, it 
would be effective January 1, 2015, and specifically operative for requests for abatement made 
on or after that date and requests made prior to January 1, 2015, at a time when the statute of 
limitations for action was still open.   
 
Justification 
 
Historically compliant taxpayers that file or pay late are penalized with the same severity as 
noncompliant taxpayers because the FTB lacks the authority to consider compliance history in 
the determination of whether to abate these penalties. 
 
A statutory change is necessary because the FTB lacks the broad, general authority granted to 
the IRS that allows for an administrative relief program.   
 
Authorizing the FTB to grant penalty relief that is similar to the IRS practice of granting 
administrative relief to compliant taxpayers could reduce taxpayer dissatisfaction and result in 
increased filing compliance.  
 
Over the last two years, the FTB's legal division has received approximately 150 appeal cases 
where the primary issue is a timeliness penalty.  There are approximately 90 open appeal cases 
in the current inventory where a timeliness penalty is the primary issue.  
It is expected that this proposal would significantly reduce the volume of cases that are appealed 
to the BOE based on a denial of state penalty relief where a taxpayer had received federal  
first-time abatement penalty relief. 
 
This proposal would also reduce the amount of time that is expended on appeal cases that 
contain multiple issues, one of which is a timeliness penalty.  Over the last two years, the FTB's 
legal division has received approximately 300 appeal cases where one of the issues is a 
timeliness penalty.  There are approximately 180 open appeal cases in the current inventory 
where one of the issues is a timeliness penalty. 
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Implementation 
 
This proposal would require changes to the department’s accounting systems to allow tracking of 
taxpayers that have received penalty relief based on their compliance history.  Additionally, the 
department would require the development of procedures, training materials, notices, forms, 
instructions, and other documents necessary to implement the penalty relief this proposal would 
allow.   
 
Further, call center and accounts receivable staff estimates an increase in taxpayer requests for 
penalty relief and a resulting increase in the volume of “reasonable cause” determinations that 
would require additional staff to maintain acceptable response times.  
 
Fiscal Impact 
 
Staff estimates a cost of approximately $449,000 for the systems changes, additional staffing, 
and development of procedures, notices, forms, instructions, and other documents necessary to 
implement this proposal with on-going annual additional staffing costs of approximately $380,000 
to address the estimated increase in taxpayer contacts resulting from this proposal. 
 
Economic Impact 
 
Revenue Estimate 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP - D 
For Timeliness Penalty Relief Granted On or After January 1, 2015 

Enactment Assumed After June 30, 2014 
($ in Millions) 

2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 

- $5.4 - $24 - $23 - $21 - $18 
 
This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state 
product that could result from this proposal.  
 
Revenue Discussion 
 
Every year approximately $450 million in timeliness penalties are assessed by the department.  
Approximately 12 percent, or $50 million, of penalties assessed would be eligible for abatement 
under the provisions of this proposal.  The economic impact to the state is measured as the loss 
of penalties that would have otherwise been collected.   
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Of the total annual amount eligible for abatement, it is assumed that approximately 40 percent, or 
$20 million, would be abated under the terms of this proposal.  Additionally, it is assumed that 
approximately 65 percent of the penalties abated under the terms of this proposal would have 
been collected over a five-year period.  The resulting estimated abatement (loss) is grown and 
fiscalized resulting in the revenue impact reflected in the table above.   
 

Other Agency/Industry Impacted  
 

It is expected that the number of appeals to the BOE of an FTB denial of penalty relief when 
federal first-time abatement relief was granted would be significantly decreased.  A reduction in 
appeals could reduce costs incurred by taxpayers and the BOE.  
 

Pro & Con Arguments  
 

Pro:  Authorizing the FTB to implement first-time abatement penalty relief would reduce taxpayer 
dissatisfaction, result in increased filing compliance, and decrease the costs incurred by 
taxpayers and the BOE. 
 

Con:  Abating a penalty that is assessed based on a taxpayer’s voluntary action, or inaction, 
would reward the noncompliant behavior that the penalty was enacted to prevent.  
 

Other States 
 

The states surveyed include Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York.  
These states were selected due to their similarities to California's economy, business entity types, 
and tax laws.   
 

Florida has no personal income tax.  The corporate failure-to-file and failure-to-pay penalties may 
be abated if the failure is due to a reasonable cause and not willful neglect. 
 

Under Illinois law, the failure-to-file and failure-to-pay penalties may be abated for reasonable 
cause.  Additionally, the failure-to-file penalty may be abated in situations where a tax return is 
due more often than once annually, the late filing is nonfraudulent, and a late filing has not 
occurred during the two years immediately preceding the normal due date of the late-filed return. 
 

Massachusetts and New York laws allow for the abatement of the failure-to-file and failure-to-pay 
penalties if the failure is due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect.  A taxpayer’s history of 
compliance may be included in a reasonable cause determination, but is not by itself reasonable 
cause. 
 

Michigan and Minnesota laws allow for the abatement of the failure to file and failure to pay 
penalties if the failure is due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect.  Additionally, under 
Minnesota law, a taxpayer that paid 90 percent of the amount due by the normal due date, filed 
the return by the extended due date, and paid the balance of the tax due when the return was 
filed is presumed to have reasonable cause to abate the failure-to-pay penalty.  
 

LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 
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Legislative Analyst, FTB Revenue Manager, FTB Legislative Director, FTB 
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FRANCHISE TAX BOARD’S 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS FOR LP - D 

 
 
 SECTION 1.  Section 19132.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is repealed. 
 
 19132.5.  (a) In the case of a qualified taxpayer, no penalty shall be assessed under 
Section 19132 if the return is filed timely (not later than the extended due date granted under 
Section 18567 or 18604) and the tax required to be paid on or before the due date of the return, 
without regard to extension, is paid within the following time: 
   (1) In the case of an individual, partnership, or fiduciary, within six months of the original due 
date of the return. 
   (2) In the case of a corporation, within seven months of the original due date of the return. 
   (b) Any penalty imposed under Section 19132 shall be assessed from the original due date of 
the return if the taxpayer fails to pay the tax within the time specified in this section. 
   (c) This section shall apply to payment of the amount shown as tax on the original returns 
required to be filed during calendar year 1994. 
   (d) For purposes of this section, "qualified taxpayer" means any corporation, fiduciary, 
partnership, or individual taxpayer to whom one of the following applies as a result of the 
Northridge earthquake of January 1994, any related aftershock, or any related casualty: 
   (1) The qualified taxpayer sustained any significant property loss. 
   (2) The qualified taxpayer suffered a loss of employment due to property damage suffered by 
his or her employer. 
   (3) The qualified taxpayer realized significant loss of business income from a business located 
within the Northridge earthquake area. 
 

SEC. 2.  Section 19132.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is added to read as follows:  
 

Section 19132.5. A timeliness penalty shall be abated under the provisions of this section.   
   (a) For purposes of this section, the term “timeliness penalty” means a penalty imposed under 
Section 19131, 19132, 19172, or 19172.5. 
   (b) If requested by a taxpayer, either orally or in writing, a timeliness penalty, that has been 
considered and rejected for abatement, waiver, or rescission pursuant to the provisions of the 
section under which the penalty was imposed shall be abated, if: 
   (1)(A) The taxpayer has not previously been required to file a California return under Part 10 
(commencing with Section 17001), this part, or Part 11 (commencing with Section 23001); or 
       (B) No other timeliness penalty has been imposed by the Franchise Tax Board in the 
calendar year of the request for abatement or in the prior four tax years; and 
   (2) The taxpayer has filed all returns required under Part 10 (commencing with Section 17001), 
this part, or Part 11 (commencing with Section 23001), as of the date of the taxpayer's request for 
abatement; and 
   (3) Excluding the timeliness penalty that is the subject of the abatement request, the taxpayer 
has paid in full, or arranged to pay pursuant to an installment agreement, any tax, penalties, fees, 
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and interest due for all currently required returns and the taxpayer is current with all installment 
payments. 
   (c) For purposes of applying subdivision (b): 
   (1) A timeliness penalty imposed and subsequently abated due to a determination of 
reasonable cause, or reasonable cause and not willful neglect with respect to the taxpayer, or the 
taxpayer’s spouse, shall be considered to have not been imposed. 
   (2) A timeliness penalty is considered imposed on the original due date of the return for the 
taxable year for which the penalty is imposed. 
   (3) If a taxpayer requests abatement for more than one taxable year and two or more taxable 
years would be eligible for abatement under this section, then only the penalty for the earliest 
taxable year shall be abated. 
   (4) This section shall apply to requests for abatement made before, on, or after the effective 
date of the act adding this section.  
  (5)  The taxpayer may elect to forgo consideration of abatement, waiver or rescission pursuant 
to the provisions of the section under which the penalty was imposed and instead elect relief 
under this section. 
  (d) The Franchise Tax Board may issue any regulations necessary or appropriate to implement 
the purposes of this section. 
SEC. 3. The Legislature finds and declares that the abatement of timeliness penalties by this act 
serves a public purpose and does not constitute a gift of public funds within the meaning of 
Section 6 of Article XVI of the California Constitution. 

 
 
 
 
 
 


	2014 LP INDEX_Board 
	Title

	LP - A
	Title
	Introduction
	Program History/Background
	Current Federal/State Law
	Problem
	Proposed Solution
	Effective/Operative Date of Solution
	Justification
	Implementation
	Fiscal Impact
	Economic Impact
	Pro & Con Arguments
	Other States
	LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT


	LP - B
	Title
	Introduction
	Current Federal Law
	Current State Law
	Program History/Background
	Problem
	Proposed Solution
	Effective/Operative Date of Solution
	Justification
	Implementation
	Fiscal Impact
	Economic Impact
	Pro & Con Arguments
	Other States
	Additional Comments
	LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT
	17054.  In the case of individuals, the following credits for personal exemption may be deducted from the tax imposed under Section 17041 or 17048, less any increases imposed under paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) or paragraph (1) of subdivision (e), ...



	LP - C
	Title
	Introduction
	Program History/Background
	Current State Law
	Problem
	Proposed Solution
	Effective/Operative Date of Solution
	Justification
	Fiscal Impact
	Economic Impact
	Pro & Con Arguments
	Other States
	LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT


	LP - D
	Title
	Introduction
	Program History/Background
	Current Federal Law
	Current State Law
	Problem
	Proposed Solution
	Effective/Operative Date of Solution
	Justification
	Implementation
	Fiscal Impact
	Economic Impact
	Other Agency/Industry Impacted
	Pro & Con Arguments
	Other States
	LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT



