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LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL 09-16 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 
 

 Title:  Notification To Professional Licensing Board When Certain Penalties Are Assessed 
 

 Problem:  Current state law lacks an effective method to deter tax practitioners from aiding 
and abetting in the understatement of a tax liability and from promoting and engaging in 
abusive tax shelters, which contribute to California’s Tax Gap. 

 
 Proposed Solution:  Amend the Revenue and Taxation Code to allow FTB to disclose 

taxpayer information to specified licensing authorities for purposes of investigating reasons for 
the assessed penalties. 

 
Amend the Business and Professions Code to include promoter, preparer, and aiding and 
abetting penalties as grounds for sanctions against accountants and attorneys. 

 
 Major Concerns/Issues:  None. 

 
 Revenue:  This proposal would result in the following revenue gains: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP 09-16 
Effective On Penalties Assessed After January 1, 2010 

Enactment Assumed On Or After June 30, 2009 
Tax Preparer 
Misconduct 

2011-12 2012-13 2013-14 
+<$250,000 +<$500,000 +<$500,000 
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Title 

Notification To Professional Licensing Board When Certain Penalties Are Assessed 

Introduction 

This proposal would allow the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to disclose taxpayer information to a 
licensing authority as evidence of a licensee engaging in or promoting abusive tax shelters.  In 
addition, the proposal would provide that being assessed a penalty for preparing fraudulent 
returns, promoting an abusive tax shelter, or aiding and abetting an understatement of tax liability 
may be cause for disbarment as an attorney or decertification as a certified public accountant 
(CPA). 

Program History/Background  

In 2005, FTB’s Audit division established the Abusive Tax Shelter and Tax Gap section to 
address abusive tax shelters and the tax gap.  California's income tax gap has grown over the 
years and now stands at an estimated $6.5 billion annually.  The tax gap is defined as the 
difference between what taxpayers owe and what they voluntarily pay.  In one effort to close 
the tax gap, FTB has increased enforcement efforts aimed at unscrupulous tax preparers.  
Auditors use modeling techniques to detect trends in questionable preparation practices, 
including overstating deductions on Federal Form 1040’s Schedule A-Itemized Deductions 
and Schedule C- Business Income, or claiming credits for which taxpayers are not eligible. 

FTB audits taxpayers that claim questionable deductions or credits and will issue tax 
assessments on understated tax liabilities or request that these taxpayers file amended 
returns to correct their tax liabilities.  When invalid credits or deductions are claimed on 
returns prepared by tax preparers, FTB may assess preparer or promoter penalties on those 
preparers.  In addition to these penalties, FTB uses other enforcement tools to address the 
issue, including educating tax practitioners and taxpayers about the consequences of 
investing in abusive tax shelters, extending the statute of limitations to eight years for a 
deficiency assessment on abusive tax shelters, and other state voluntary compliance 
initiatives.  These enforcement tools have proven to be insufficient in preventing tax preparers 
from continuing to engage in unscrupulous conduct. 

Current Federal/State Law 
Federal law imposes a two-tiered preparer penalty—the first tier is for understating a taxpayer’s 
liability and the second tier is for willful or reckless conduct in the preparation of the income tax 
return.  The first-tier penalty is the greater of $1,000 or 50% of the income derived (or to be 
derived) by the preparer.  The second-tier penalty is the greater of $5,000 or 50% of the income 
derived (or to be derived) by the preparer.   

The California first-tier penalty is $250 (except for potentially abusive tax shelters) and is imposed 
on tax preparers if a taxpayer’s liability is understated for the following reasons: 

• The understatement is the result of a position where there is no reasonable belief that the 
tax treatment in the position was more likely than not the proper treatment.   

• The tax preparer knew or should have known that the position lacked merit. 
• The reason for taking the position was not disclosed in the return or there was no 

reasonable basis for the item's tax treatment.  
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The California second-tier penalty $5,000 and is imposed on tax preparers if the taxpayer’s 
liability is understated for the following reasons: 
 

• A willful attempt to understate the tax liability. 
• A reckless and intentional disregard of the rules and regulations.  
 

The California preparer penalty for potentially abusive tax shelters is $1,0001. 

Additionally, current federal and state law imposes a penalty for promoting an abusive tax 
shelter2.  The penalty is one of the following: 

1. The lesser of $1,000 or 100 percent of the income earned from the promotion of the tax 
shelter, or  

2. Fifty percent of the income earned from promoting the abusive tax shelter where the 
promoter issued a tax opinion regarding the legality of the tax shelter. 

Federal and state law provides for a $1,000 ($10,000 in the case of corporations) penalty for 
aiding and abetting a taxpayer in understating a tax liability.  The penalty can be assessed if the 
person knows, or has reason to know, that the information being provided to the taxpayer would 
result in an understatement of tax liability of the taxpayer3. 
 
Under current state law, CPAs and attorneys must adhere to the California Business and 
Professions Code (B&P).  The B&P provides a list of causes that could result in the licensing 
board revoking, suspending, or refusing to renew a professional certificate.  These causes 
include, but are not limited to the following4: 
 

• Dishonesty, fraud, gross negligence, or repeated negligent acts; 
• Suspension or revocation of the right to practice before any governmental body or agency; 
• Fiscal dishonesty or breach of fiduciary responsibility of any kind; or 
• Knowing preparation, publication, or dissemination of false, fraudulent, or materially 

misleading financial statements, reports, or information. 
 

Additionally, under current state law, FTB is generally prohibited from disclosing any confidential 
taxpayer information, unless a specific exception to the general disclosure law authorizes such 
disclosure.  Confidential taxpayer information includes the following: 5  
 

• Social security number, 
• Taxpayer return information, 
• Taxpayer name and address, 
• Information related to any current or potential audit/investigation activity, and 
• Corporate financial information and other documents filed. 

 
                                                 
1 California Revenue and Taxation Code (CR&TC) section 19166: preparer penalty 
2 IRC 6700 and CR&TC section 19177: promoter penalty 
3 IRC 6701 and CR&TC section 19178: aiding and abetting penalty 
4 B&P Code sections 5100 (accountants disciplinary proceedings) and  6100 (attorney disciplinary proceedings) 
5 CR&TC sections 19542-19570: disclosure of information prohibited 
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Under current state law, if the United States Secretary of the Treasury has suspended or 
disbarred a person from practice before the United States Department of Treasury, FTB is 
required to, after notice and opportunity for a proceeding, suspend or disbar that person from 
practice before FTB during the period of federal suspension or disbarment, unless the action was 
clearly erroneous6. 
 
Problem  
 
Current state law needs additional methods to deter tax practitioners from aiding and abetting in 
the understatement of a tax liability and from promoting and engaging in abusive tax shelters, 
which contribute to California’s Tax Gap. 
 
Proposed Solution 

Amend the Revenue and Taxation Code to allow FTB to disclose taxpayer information to 
specified licensing authorities for purposes of investigating reasons for the assessed penalties. 

Amend the B&P Code to include promoter, preparer, and aiding and abetting penalties as 
grounds for sanctions against accountants and attorneys. 
 
Effective/Operative Date of Solution 
 
If enacted in the 2009 legislative session, this proposal would be effective January 1, 2010, and 
specifically operative for penalties assessed on or after January 1, 2010, for activities occurring 
on or after January 1, 2010, and for conduct associated with the returns filed on or after  
January 1, 2010. 

Justification 

Assessing higher penalties alone has not stopped the promotion of all shelters.  A promoter who 
markets ten different abusive tax shelters, and has only two or three abusive tax shelters 
identified and challenged by the taxing agencies, will continue to profit from the prohibited 
activities.  FTB’s efforts to address the Tax Gap would be more effective if the law allows FTB to 
work with the professional licensing entities so that the licensing entities that oversee tax 
professionals can revoke or suspend licensees that abuse the tax code.   

Implementation 
 
Implementing this proposal would include a one-time system enhancement that would require 
changes to existing notices, letters and instructions, and information systems.   
 
 
 
 

 

 
                                                 
6 CR&TC section 19523.5: FTB follows IRS suspension and disbarment  
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Fiscal Impact 
 
Staff estimates a one-time cost of approximately $117,000 (1.3 PYs) to program, develop, and 
test a new process within existing systems and add audit staff to review amended returns.  This 
new function would be operative in the later part of the 2009-10 fiscal year.  

Economic Impact  
 
Revenue Estimate 
 
This proposal would result in the following revenue gains: 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP 09-16 
Effective On Penalties Assessed After January 1, 2010 

Enactment Assumed On Or After June 30, 2009 
Tax Preparer 
Misconduct 

2011-12 2012-13 2013-14 
+<$250,000 +<$500,000 +<$500,000 

 
This estimate does not consider the possible changes in employment, personal income, or gross 
state product that could result from this proposal. 
 
Revenue Discussion 
 
The revenue impact of this bill would depend on the number of tax preparers that are dishonest, 
fraudulent, negligent or reckless in their practice, the amount of tax liability that is misstated, and 
the aggressiveness of licensing agencies in sanctioning licensees. 
Departmental data indicate that income tax revenues lost due to misconduct by tax preparers 
averages approximately $25,000 per preparer subject to the preparer penalty.  It is expected that, 
even without this proposal, FTB will be assessing penalties by 2013 on approximately 50 
preparers per year.  It is estimated that these preparers underreport $1.25 million in tax liability  
(50 X $25,000 = $1.25 million).  
 
Under current law, it is assumed that approximately 40% of tax preparers that are dishonest, 
fraudulent, negligent or reckless in their practice, and are assessed a preparer penalty, will 
respond by halting the filing of fraudulent returns in the next year.  Thus, the preparer penalty by 
itself under current law is expected to improve compliance so as to increase revenue by $500,000 
($1.25 million X 40%). 
 
It is assumed that the timing of the improved compliance would depend on the timing of the 
penalty assessments.  Penalties assessed early in tax year 2012 may affect the filing of tax year 
2011 returns in tax year 2012; however, penalties assessed later in the year would only affect the 
filing of tax year 2012 returns in tax year 2013.  It is estimated that after tax year 2012 
approximately 25% of penalties issued in tax year 2012 would affect filing of returns in April of 
that year, and that, conversely, 75% would affect the filing of returns in April of the following year.  
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Tax year 2013 would be the first year that this proposal would affect the majority of cases in 
which tax preparer penalties are assessed.  That is, it would be the first year that almost all of the 
preparer penalties assessed are for tax returns filed in tax year 2010 or later.  For tax year 2013, 
it is expected that, absent the provisions in this proposal, of the $500,000 in improved compliance 
$125,000 ($500,000 X 25%) would be realized in fiscal year 2012-13 (returns filed in April 2013) 
and $375,000 ($500,000 X 75%) would be realized in fiscal year 2013-14 (returns filed in  
April 2014). 
 
Under this proposal, it is assumed that approximately 60% (up from the 40% assumed under 
current law) of tax preparers who are negligent or reckless in their practice, and are assessed 
and reported to the appropriate board, will respond by not filing fraudulent returns in the next 
year.  For tax year 2013, this would result in revenue from increased compliance of approximately 
$750,000 ($1.25 million X 60% = $750,000).   
 
The timing of the assessments, as discussed above, would result in additional revenue of 
approximately $190,000 ($750,000 X 25% ≈ $190,000) in fiscal year 2012-13, and approximately 
$560,000 ($750,000 X 75% ≈ $560,000) in fiscal year 2013-14.  Therefore, it is estimated that the 
net cash flow gain in fiscal year 2013-14 from assessments made in tax year 2013 is $185,000 
($560,000 under proposed law minus $375,000 under current law).  There are additional net cash 
flow gains in fiscal year 2013-14 from assessments made in tax year 2012 and tax year 2014 as 
well as from preparers that started filing correctly in April 2013, based on tax year 2013 
assessment, and continued to file correctly in tax year 2014.  The total revenue gain for fiscal 
year 2013-14 is estimated to be approximately $400,000. 
 
It is assumed that there would be some cumulative effect of increased compliance, under both 
current law and proposed law, as preparers that have become compliant, stay compliant.  It is 
assumed that the cumulative effect would be stronger under the proposal than under current law 
(i.e., the proposal will lead to longer periods of compliance by preparers). 
 
This proposal would be enacted after January 1, 2009, and would be effective for penalties 
assessed on conduct associated with the returns filed on or after January 1, 2010.  Estimates are 
accrued back one year to reflect the recovery of prior year liabilities.  Revenue is expected to 
flatten and then decline in future years.  
 
Other Agency/Industry Impacted  
 
This proposal would impact the California Board of Accountancy, the IRS Office of Professional 
Responsibility, and the California State Bar.  Disclosing the penalties assessed and the reason 
for the penalty may result in an investigation and sanction by those agencies.  
 
Other States 
 
The laws of Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York were surveyed 
because their tax laws are similar to California income tax laws.  Florida and Michigan do not 
have preparer or promoter penalties comparable to federal or California law.   
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Illinois assesses a promoter penalty for promoting abusive tax shelters.  Illinois does not refer 
complaints of these penalties to the licensing boards. 
Massachusetts assesses a penalty for promoting abusive tax shelters.  Massachusetts does not 
provide penalty information to the licensing authorities. 
 
New York assesses a penalty for aiding and assisting in giving fraudulent returns, reports, and 
statements.  Additionally, New York assesses a person who organizes or participates in 
promoting abusive tax shelters.  New York does not provide information related to the penalties to 
licensing boards or registering entities. 
 
Minnesota has a tax preparer, aiding and abetting, and abusive tax shelter promoter penalty.  
Minnesota’s Commissioner of Revenue is directed to refer complaints received about tax 
preparers that are accountants to the State Board of Accountancy and attorneys to the Lawyers 
Board of Professional Responsibility.   
 
LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 
 
Legislative Analyst      Revenue Manager    Asst. Legislative Director 
Angela Raygoza      Rebecca Schlussler    Patrice Gau-Johnson 
(916) 845-7814      (916) 845-5986     (916) 845-5521 
angela.raygoza@ftb.ca.gov   rebecca.schlussler@ftb.ca.gov    patrice.gau-johnson@ftb.ca.gov 
 



 
 

Analyst Name Angela Raygoza 
Telephone # 916-845-7814 
Attorney  Patrick Kusiak 

 
 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO LP 09-16 

 

SEC. 1. Section 5100 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to 
read:    

5100.  After notice and hearing the board may revoke, suspend, or 
refuse to renew any permit or certificate granted under Article 4 
(commencing with Section 5070) and Article 5 (commencing with Section 
5080), or may censure the holder of that permit or certificate for 
unprofessional conduct that includes, but is not limited to, one or 
any combination of the following causes: 
   (a) Conviction of any crime substantially related to the 
qualifications, functions and duties of a certified public accountant 
or a public accountant. 
   (b) A violation of Section 478, 498, or 499 dealing with false 
statements or omissions in the application for a license, in 
obtaining a certificate as a certified public accountant, in 
obtaining registration under this chapter, or in obtaining a permit 
to practice public accountancy under this chapter. 
   (c) Dishonesty, fraud, gross negligence, or repeated negligent 
acts committed in the same or different engagements, for the same or 
different clients, or any combination of engagements or clients, each 
resulting in a violation of applicable professional standards that 
indicate a lack of competency in the practice of public accountancy 
or in the performance of the bookkeeping operations described in 
Section 5052. 
   (d) Cancellation, revocation, or suspension of a certificate or 
other authority to practice as a certified public accountant or a 
public accountant, refusal to renew the certificate or other 
authority to practice as a certified public accountant or a public 
accountant, or any other discipline by any other state or foreign 
country. 
   (e) Violation of Section 5097. 
   (f) Violation of Section 5120. 
   (g) Willful violation of this chapter or any rule or regulation 
promulgated by the board under the authority granted under this 
chapter. 
   (h) Suspension or revocation of the right to practice before any 
governmental body or agency. 
   (i) Fiscal dishonesty or breach of fiduciary responsibility of 
any kind. 
   (j) Knowing preparation, publication, or dissemination of false, 
fraudulent, or materially misleading financial statements, reports, 
or information. 



 
 
   (k) Embezzlement, theft, misappropriation of funds or property, or 
obtaining money, property, or other valuable consideration by 
fraudulent means or false pretenses. 
   (l) The imposition of any discipline, penalty, or sanction on a 
registered public accounting firm or any associated person of such 
firm, or both, or on any other holder of a permit, certificate, 
license, or other authority to practice in this state, by the Public 
Company Accounting Oversight Board or the United States Securities 
and Exchange Commission, or their designees under the Sarbanes-Oxley 
Act of 2002 or other federal legislation. 
   (m) Unlawfully engaging in the practice of public accountancy in 
another state. 
   (n) The assessment by the Franchise Tax Board of a penalty pursuant 
to Section 19166, 19177, or 19178 of the Revenue and Taxation Code on a 
registered public accounting firm, any person associated with a public 
accounting firm, or any other holder of a permit, certificate, license, 
or other authority to practice in this state.  

SEC. 2. Section 6106.3 is added to the Business and Professions Code, 
to read: 

6106.3 (a) It shall constitute cause for disbarment or suspension for 
an attorney to engage in conduct for which a penalty is assessed 
pursuant to Section 19166, 19177 or 19178 of the Revenue and Taxation 
Code. 
 
SEC. 3. Section 19571 is added to the Revenue and Taxation 
Code, to read: 
 
19571. (a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law, and subject to 
the provisions of this section, the Franchise Tax Board shall notify 
any and all appropriate licensing entities that issue a license to a 
licensee when a licensee has been assessed a penalty under either 
Section 19166, 19177, or 19178 . 
(b) (1) The Franchise Tax Board may disclose to the licensing entity 
tax return and return information solely for use in an action or 
proceeding affecting the license of a licensee, or in preparation of 
the action or proceeding, but only to the extent the licensing entity 
determines that the return or return information is, or may be, 
relevant and material to the action or proceeding.  Tax return and 
return information may be disclosed in connection with notification 
provided by the Franchise Tax Board to a licensing entity pursuant to 
this section.  
(2) For purposes of this section, an action or proceeding affecting the 
license of a licensee means an action or proceeding arising under 
Chapter 5 (commencing at Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of 
Title 2 of the Government Code or United States Treasury Department 
Circular 230 (31 C.F.R.§§10.0-10.93 (2007)). 
(3) Any unauthorized disclosure by a licensing entity or any officer, 
employee, agent, former officer, or agent of the licensing entity of 



 
 
any tax return or return information disclosed to that licensing entity 
pursuant to this section shall be subject to criminal penalty and civil 
liability under this part for that unauthorized disclosure. 
(c) For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply: 
(1) “License” includes a license, certificate, registration, or any 
other authorization to engage in a profession or occupation by a 
licensing entity.   
(2) “Licensee” means any person authorized by a license, 
certificate, registration, or other authorization to engage in a 
profession or occupation issued by a licensing entity. 
(3) “Licensing entity” means State Board of Accountancy, State Bar, and 
the Internal Revenue Service Office of Professional Responsibility.  
 
SEC. 4. (a) Section 19571 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, as added by 
section 3 of this act, shall apply with respect to any penalty assessed 
on or after January 1, 2010, with respect to activities occurring on or 
after January 1, 2010, or conduct associated with returns filed on or 
after January 1, 2010. All other provisions of this act shall apply on 
and after January 1, 2010. 
 



LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL 09-18 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 
 

 Title:  Limited Partnership Revival-Account Fees, Tax Returns, And Expedited Service Fees 
 

 Problem:  Current law allows a canceled domestic limited partnership (LP) to revive without 
paying outstanding fees, filing required tax returns, or paying a service fee for expedited 
certification letter requests, which is different from the requirements for a corporation to revive, 
resulting in inequitable treatment of taxpayers based on entity type. 

 
 Proposed Solution:  Amend Corporations Code section 15902.09 to require a domestic LP 

to pay any fees due and file any required tax returns to receive the certification letter from the 
Franchise Tax Board (FTB) needed for the domestic LP to revive and amend Revenue and 
Taxation Code section 19591 to require payment of a service fee if a domestic LP requests 
expedited processing of their certification letter request.  The service fee would be $100 until 
January 1, 2011.  Thereafter, the expedited service fee amount would be established by 
regulation, which is consistent with how the amount of other service fees authorized by 
Revenue and Taxation Code section 19591 is determined. 

 
 Major Concerns/Issues:  None. 

 
 Revenue:  This proposal would result in the following revenue gains: 

 
Estimated Revenue Impact of LP 09-18 
Effective On Or After January 1, 2010 

Enactment Assumed After June 30, 2009 
 2009-10 2010-11 2011-12 

Domestic Limited 
Partnership Revival 

+ <$150,000 + <$150,000 + <$150,000 
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Title 
 
Limited Partnership Revival-Account Fees, Tax Returns, And Expedited Service Fees 
 
Introduction 
 
This proposal would require a canceled domestic limited partnership (LP) to pay outstanding fees, 
file missing tax returns, and pay a service fee for expedited revival requests, in addition to the 
current requirements to revive. 
 
Current State Law 
 
Under existing state law, the provisions of the Uniform Limited Partnership Act (ULPA) of 2008 
are mandatory for a domestic LP formed on or after January 1, 2008, and are elective for a 
domestic LP formed before January 1, 2008.  The ULPA of 2008 will govern all domestic limited 
partnerships, regardless of when they were formed, on or after January 1, 2010.  
 
A domestic LP subject to the ULPA of 2008 must file a certificate of cancellation with the 
Secretary of State to complete the dissolution process.  A domestic LP that has filed a certificate 
of cancellation may file a certificate of revival with the Secretary of State to revive to active status.  
Upon filing the certificate of revival, the domestic LP is treated as if it had not been canceled, 
which includes the validation of all contracts.  The certificate of revival must be accompanied by 
certification from Franchise Tax Board (FTB) that the domestic LP has paid all of the annual tax, 
penalties, and interest due, including those amounts for each year between cancellation and 
revival.  A requirement that the domestic LP pay any fees due and file any required tax returns 
prior to certification from FTB is absent under current law.   
 
Additionally, present law lacks provisions for FTB to charge a service fee in instances where a 
domestic LP requests expedited processing of their request for the certification letter needed to 
file the certificate of revival. 
 
Under current state law, FTB may suspend a corporation’s powers, rights and privileges for non-
payment and non-filing of tax returns.  Corporations suspended by FTB may revive by filing an 
Application for Certificate of Revivor, filing all delinquent tax returns, and paying any balance due, 
which includes taxes, penalties, interest, and fees. 
 
Corporations that request expedited processing of their revivor request must pay a service fee, 
currently $100. 
 
Problem 
 
Current law allows a canceled domestic limited partnership (LP) to revive without paying 
outstanding fees, filing required tax returns, or paying a service fee for expedited certification 
letter requests, which is different from the requirements for a corporation to revive, resulting in 
inequitable treatment of taxpayers based on entity type. 
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Proposed Solution 

Amend Corporations Code section 15902.09 to require a domestic LP to pay any fees due and 
file any required tax returns to receive the certification letter from FTB needed for the domestic LP 
to revive, and amend Revenue and Taxation Code section 19591 to require payment of a service 
fee if a domestic LP requests expedited processing of their certification letter request.  The 
service fee would be $100 until January 1, 2011.  Thereafter, the expedited service fee amount 
would be established by regulation, which is consistent with how the amount of other service fees 
authorized by Revenue and Taxation Code section 19591 is determined. 

Effective/Operative Date of Solution 

If enacted in 2009, this proposal would be effective and operative January 1, 2010. 

Justification 

The requirements for a domestic LP to revive should be comparable to the requirements for a 
corporation to revive to maintain equitable treatment of taxpayers. 

Additionally, aligning the requirements for a domestic LP to revive with the requirements for a 
corporation to revive would reduce inefficiency and confusion.  A domestic LP that revives without 
paying the fees due on their account results in the department having to issue additional billing 
notices.  Because a domestic LP is required to pay the annual tax, penalties, and interest prior to 
revival, the domestic LP may become confused by FTB issuing a billing notice for the fees due 
after their revival. 

Finally, the imposition of a service fee when a domestic LP requests expedited processing of their 
certification letter is appropriate because the fee reimburses the department for the additional 
costs associated with providing the expedited services. 

Implementation 

Implementing this proposal would not significantly impact the department’s programs or 
operations. 

Fiscal Impact 

This proposal would not significantly impact the department’s costs. 

Economic Impact 

Based on data and assumptions discussed below, the revenue gain from this proposal would be 
as follows: 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP09-18 
Effective On Or After January 1, 2010 

Enactment Assumed After June 30, 2009 
 2009-10 2010-11 2011-12 

Domestic Limited 
Partnership Revival 

+<$150,000 +<$150,000 +<$150,000 
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This estimate does not consider the possible changes in employment, personal income, or gross 
state product that could result from this proposal. 
 
Revenue Discussion: 
 
The revenue impact of this proposal depends on the number of canceled domestic LPs that 
revive and would pay the proposed additional fee for expedited processing of the certification 
letter request. 
 
Data from the Secretary of State’s office indicates that approximately 240 domestic LPs cancelled 
their registration in fiscal year 2007-2008.  Assuming that 5% of the dissolved domestic LPs 
would revive and that additional fees are $100 per domestic LP, the revenue gain would be 
$1,200 annually (240 cancelled LPs X 5% revival rate X $100 fee). 
 
The requirement for a domestic LP to pay any outstanding fees prior to revival would have 
minimal impact on the revenue estimate because the number of cancelled LPs that would revive 
with outstanding fees is estimated to be low.  
 
Additionally, the requirement for a domestic LP to file any required tax return prior to revival would 
have minimal impact on the revenue estimate because current law requires a cancelled LP to pay 
any annual tax due prior to revival. 
 
Other States 
 
Review of Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York laws found no comparable 
revival process for cancelled limited partnerships.  These states were reviewed because of the 
similarities between California income tax laws and their tax laws. 
 
LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 
 
Legislative Analyst  Revenue Manager   Asst. Legislative Director 
William Koch   Rebecca Schlussler   Patrice Gau-Johnson 
(916) 845-4372  (916) 845-5986   (916) 845-5521 
william.koch@ftb.ca.gov  rebecca.schlussler@ftb.ca.gov patrice.gau-johnson@ftb.ca.gov 



 
 

Analyst William Koch 
Telephone # 845-4372 
Attorney Patrick Kusiak 

 
 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD’S 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO LP 09-18  

 
 

AMENDMENT 1 
 

SEC. 1. Corporations Code Section 15902.09 is amended to read: 
 
15902.09. (a) A domestic limited partnership whose certificate of limited partnership 
has been canceled pursuant to Section 15902.03 may be revived by filing with, and on a 
form prescribed by, the Secretary of State a certificate of revival. The certificate 
of revival shall be accompanied by written confirmation by the Franchise Tax Board 
that all of the following have occurred been paid to the Franchise Tax Board: 
   (1) All of the following have been paid to the Franchise Tax Board: 
   (1A) The annual tax due under Section 17935 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 
   (2B) All penalties, and interest, and fees thereof for each year for which the 
domestic limited partnership failed to pay such annual tax, including each year 
between the cancellation of its certificate of limited partnership and its revival. 
   (2) All required tax returns have been filed, including returns for each taxable 
year between the cancellation of its certificate of limited partnership and its 
revival.   
   (b) The certificate of revival shall set forth all of the following: 
   (1) The name of the limited partnership at the time its certificate of limited 
partnership was cancelled, and if the name is not available at the time of revival, 
the name under which the limited partnership is to be revived. 
   (2) The date of filing of the original certificate of limited partnership. 
   (3) The address of the limited partnership's designated office. 
   (4) The name and address of the initial agent for service of process in accordance 
with paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) of Section 15901.16. 
   (5) A statement that the certificate of revival is filed by one or more general 
partners of the limited partnership authorized to execute and file the certificate of 
revival to revive the limited partnership. 
   (6) The Secretary of State's file number for the original limited partnership. 
   (7) The name and address of each general partner. 
   (8) Any other matters the general partner or partners executing the certificate of 
revival determine to include therein. 
   (c) The certificate of revival should be deemed to be an amendment to the 
certificate of limited partnership, and the limited partnership shall not be required 
to take any further action to amend its certificate of limited partnership pursuant to 
Section 15902.02 with respect to the matter set forth in the certificate of revival. 
   (d) Upon the filing of the certificate of revival, the limited partnership shall be 
revived with the same force and effect as if the certificate of limited partnership 
had not been canceled pursuant to Section 15902.03. The revival shall validate all 
contracts, acts, matters, and things made, done, and performed by the limited 
partnership, its partners, employees, and agents following the time its certificate of 
limited partnership was canceled pursuant to Section 15902.03 with the same force and 
effect and all intents and purposes as if the certificate of limited partnership had 
remained in full force and effect. This provision shall apply provided that third 
parties are relying on the acts of the partnership, its partners, employees, and 
agents. All real and personal property, and all rights and interests, that belong to a 
limited partnership at the time its certificate of limited partnership was cancelled 
pursuant to Section 15902.03 or that were acquired by the limited partnership 
following the cancellation of the certificate of limited partnership, that were not 
disposed of prior to the time of its revival, shall be vested in the limited 
partnership after its revival as fully as if they were held by the limited partnership 



 
 
at, and during the time after, as the case may be, the time the certificate of limited 
partnership was cancelled. After its revival, the limited partnership and its partners 
shall have all of the same liability for contracts, acts, matters, and things made, 
done, or performed in the limited partnership's name and on behalf of its partners, 
employees, and agents, as the limited partnership and its partners would have had if 
the limited partnership's certificate of limited partnership had at all times remained 
in full force and effect. 
 
SEC. 2. Revenue and Taxation Code Section 19591 is amended to read: 
 
19591.  (a) Specialized tax services fees shall be imposed upon the following services 
provided by the board: 
    (1) Installment payment programs. 
    (2) Expedited services for: 
    (A) Corporation revivor requests. 
    (B) Tax clearance certificate requests. 
    (C) Tax-exempt status requests. 
    (D) Limited partnership revival confirmation letter requests. 
    (b) (1) For periods on or after the effective date of this section and prior to 
January 1, 2006, the Franchise Tax Board shall publish by notice a schedule of 
specialized tax services fees to be imposed, which notice shall be exempt from the 
requirements of Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of 
Title 2 of the Government Code.  The amounts of these fees under this paragraph shall 
be calculated in the same general manner as required under paragraph (2). 
    (2) Commencing on January 1, 2006, the amount of the specialized tax services fees 
shall be established by the board through regulations adopted pursuant to Chapter 3.5 
(commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government 
Code, and shall be established in the manner and in the amounts necessary to reimburse 
the board for the costs of administering the specialized services, including the 
board's direct and indirect costs for providing specialized tax services. 
 
SEC. 3. (a) The amendments to Section 15902.09 of the Corporations Code by Section 1 
of this act shall apply to written confirmations made by the Franchise Tax Board on 
and after January 1, 2010.  
    (b) The amendments to Section 19591 of the Revenue and Taxation Code by Section 2 
of this act, which authorize the Franchise Tax Board to impose a specialized tax 
service fee under that section on limited partnership revival confirmation letter 
requests, shall be implemented by allowing the Franchise Tax Board to charge a fee of 
$100.00 for periods on or after the effective date of this act and prior to January 1, 
2011. Commencing on January 1, 2011, the amount of the fee in the preceding sentence 
shall be required to be established by the Franchise Tax Board in the same manner as 
set forth in paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of Section 19591 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code. 
     
 
 



 
 

LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL 09-24 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 
 Title:  Homeowner’s and Renter’s Assistance (HRA)/Validate HRA Disability Claims By 

Requiring That Claimants Receive Disability Payments Under Specified Federal Or State 
Programs. 

 
 Problem:  For some HRA claimants, current law requires Franchise Tax Board (FTB) staff to 

make subjective medical determinations of whether the claimant is disabled as defined by 
statute—which FTB staff lacks the necessary medical expertise to make. 

 
 Proposed Solution:  Amend Revenue and Taxation Code section 20505 to allow validation 

of HRA disability claims using determinations that the claimant is disabled made by one of the 
following government entities: 

1. Social Security Administration,  
2. Federal Department of Veterans Affairs,  
3. California Health and Human Services Agency, or  
4. California Department of Social Services, Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants 

(CAPI).   
This proposal would eliminate use of a physician’s statement to prove that a claimant is 
disabled.   

 
 Major Concerns/Issues:  None. 

 
 Revenue: Staff estimates that 1,080 HRA claims currently allowed will be denied.  Denying 

1,080 additional claims with an expected refund of $312 each would reduce General Fund 
expenditures by $336,960 a year, which is rounded up to $500,000 a year.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP 09-24 
Effective for Claim Years 

Filed On or After July 1, 2010 
2009 -10 2010 -11 2011-12 
No impact +$<500,000 +$<500,000 



 
Title 
 
Homeowner’s And Renter’s Assistance (HRA)/Validate HRA Disability Claims By Requiring That 
Claimants Receive Disability Payments Under Specified Federal Or State Programs 
 
Introduction 
 
This proposal would remove Franchise Tax Board (FTB) staff, who lack medical expertise, from 
the role of making determinations whether HRA claimants are disabled based on physician 
statements.  Instead, FTB staff would validate a claimant’s status as disabled by using the prior 
determinations of several specified federal and state disability programs. 
 
Current State Law 

Under state law, the HRA program allows a once-a-year payment from the State of California to 
qualified individuals based on part of the property taxes assessed and paid on their homes or 
taxes indirectly paid as rent.  The filing period for the 2007 claim year was from July 1, 2007, to 
June 30, 2008.  A claimant’s qualification for benefits is determined as of December 31. 

Individuals are eligible to receive HRA benefits if all of the following apply: 
 

1. They own and live in their own home or live in a qualified rented residence in California 
and pay $50 or more per month in rent on that residence, 

2. They are either a United States citizen or other prescribed designation when they file 
the claim,  

3. They meet or are below an income threshold, and 
4. They are 62 years of age or older, blind, or disabled. 

 
The HRA statutes define disabled by reference to a federal definition.  That statute provides that 
a person is disabled if he or she is unable to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason 
of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment that can be expected to result in 
death or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of at least 12 
months.  An individual is disabled only if their physical or mental impairment is of such severity 
that they are unable to work in their previous job or engage in any other kind of substantial gainful 
work.1 
 
Program History/Background 
 
Each year, FTB staff denies numerous HRA claims where the basis for eligibility is that the 
claimant is disabled.  Typically these claims are denied because the claimant fails to provide 
adequate documentation to support the claim that he or she is disabled.  Many of the denied 
claimants appeal to the Board of Equalization (BOE), where the claim is likewise denied for lack 
of documentation.   
 

                                                 
1 Welfare and Institutions Code Section 12050 defines disabled by using the definition of disabled in Section 1614 (a) 
of Part A of Title XVI of the Social Security Act.  
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FTB validates HRA disability claims by first running an electronic data match against the records 
of DHS to find claimants who receive Medi-Cal and Social Security Income benefits based on 
being disabled.  These matches validate 96% of all HRA disability claims. 
 
In addition, FTB accepts the following from the claimant to validate that they are disabled: 
 

1. A finding of 100% disability or unemployability from the Department of Veterans Affairs  
2. A notice of benefits issued to under the Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants (CAPI) 

from California Department of Social Services based on being disabled.  
3. A Medicare Card, if the claimant received Social Security or Supplemental Security Income 

benefits based on being disabled. 
4. A Social Security Award letter, notifying the claimant that he or she qualified for Social 

Security or Supplemental Security Income benefits based on being disabled. 
5. A Supplemental Security Income (SSI) decision based on being disabled. 
6. A document accepted by a local, state, or federal entity to support its determination of 

disability, as defined in Welfare and Institutions Code section 12050. 
 
In addition, the claimant can prove they are disabled by submitting a statement from a physician.   
 
By allowing physician statements to be offered to prove that the claimant meets the legal 
definition of disabled requires FTB staff to evaluate medical information and documentation to 
determine whether the claimant is eligible for HRA benefits.  However, FTB lacks the education 
and expertise necessary to evaluate the information and make a determination.  Physician 
statements are also problematic because often physicians are unfamiliar with the legal definition 
of disabled and fail to include all necessary facts needed to support a claim.  As a result, FTB 
must request additional documentation to support the physician’s statement or deny the claim.   
 
There are also instances where the claimant submits statements that are false, belong to 
someone else, or have been altered in some significant manner. 
 
In the 2007 Claim Year, 206,676 HRA claims were filed where eligibility for HRA benefits was 
based on disability.  FTB denied 13,472 of these claims for failure to establish that the claimants 
were disabled as defined by law.  Staff estimates that 1,350 of the denied claims were 
subsequently allowed, reducing the total denied to 12,122.  Of the 12,122 denied claims, 
114 were appealed to BOE.  BOE found in favor of FTB and against the claimants in 15 of the 
appealed claims on the grounds that the claimants failed to prove they were disabled.  BOE found 
for the claimants in 43 cases.  At this time, 56 appeals are pending decision. 
 
Problem 
 
For some HRA claimants, current law requires FTB staff to make subjective medical 
determinations of whether the claimant is disabled as defined by the statute—which FTB staff 
lacks the necessary medical expertise to make. 
 
 
 
 
 



LP 09-24 
Page 4 
 
 
Proposed Solution 
 
Amend Revenue and Taxation Code section 20505 to allow validation of HRA disability claims 
using only determinations that the claimant is disabled made by one of the following government 
entities: 
 

1. Social Security Administration, by one of the forms of verification: 
a. DHS data on recipients of Med-iCal and Social Security Income,  
b. Medicare Card, if the claimant received Social Security or Supplemental Security 

Income benefits because the claimant was disabled, 
c. Social Security award letter, notifying the claimant that he or she qualified for 

benefits because the claimant is disabled, 
d. Supplemental Security Income (SSI) decision, 

2. Federal Department of Veterans Affairs,  
3. State of California's Health and Human Services Agency, or  
4. California Department of Social Services CAPI program, for certain immigrants, i.e.,  

recipients of the Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants (CAPI).   
 
This proposal would eliminate use of physician’s statements to prove that a claimant is disabled.   
 
Effective/Operative Date of Solution 

If enacted in the 2009 legislative session in legislation that is not immediately effective, this 
proposal would be effective January 1, 2010, and language in the proposal would make it 
specifically operative for assistance provided on or after January 1, 2010, beginning with respect 
to the 2010 claim year. 
 
Justification 
 
This proposal would remove FTB staff, who lack medical expertise, from making medical 
determinations that a claimant is disabled.  Instead, allowance of HRA disability claims would be 
based on the determinations made by the Social Security Administration and the Department of 
Veterans Affairs at the federal level and the Department of Social Services at the state level to of 
whether an individual is disabled.  These government entities have the expertise necessary to 
make the medical determination of whether the individual is disabled. 
 
In addition, claimants would know with certainty what FTB would require to validate their HRA 
disability claim.  
 
This proposal would also reduce the amount of fraudulent claims that are currently associated 
with the physician’s statements. 
 
Implementation 
 
This proposal can be implemented with minimal impact to the department’s operations.  
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Fiscal Impact 

Relying on disability determinations made by other federal and state entities would reduce the 
work associated with physician statements, which would result in a savings of approximately 
$20,000 a year.  The costs to implement this proposal would be approximately $4,000 to revise  
HRA forms, thus creating a savings of approximately $16,000 a year. 

Economic Impact 

Revenue Estimate 

This proposal would result in the following annual expenditure reductions for the HRA program 
beginning in 2010 -11.2 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP 09-24 
Effective for Claim Years Filed On or After 

July 1, 2010 
2009 -10 2010 -11 2011-12 
No impact +$<500,000 +$<500,000 

This analysis does not account for changes in employment, personal income, or gross state 
product that could result from this proposal.  

Revenue Discussion 

The HRA Program is an assistance program administered by FTB.  The revenue impact of the 
proposal would depend on the number of claims that would not be paid under the proposal that 
would otherwise be paid under current law.   

DHS provides FTB with data used to validate that HRA claimants are disabled.  FTB initially 
denies approximately 13,500 claims each year.  HRA program staff estimates 10%, or 1,350, of 
the denied claims are subsequently allowed because of additional documentation.  A small 
percentage of the additional claims allowed are based on false or fraudulent documentation.  

Staff estimates that this proposal would effect the 1,350 claims that are paid only after FTB 
initially denies the claims and then receives additional information from the claimant 
(“subsequently paid claims”).  Staff further estimates that 80%, or 1,080 claims, of the 
subsequently paid claims would be denied (1,350 x 80% = 1,080 claims) and 20%, or 270, would 
still be allowed (1,350 x 20% = 270). 

Denying 1,080 additional claims would reduce General Fund expenditures by $336,960 a year.  
(1,080 additional claims denied x expected average HRA refund for claim year 2010 of $312 = 
$336,960), which is rounded to less than $500,000 a year.  
 
LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 
 
Legislative Analyst   Revenue Manager   Legislative Director 
Angela Raygoza   Rebecca Schlussler   Brian Putler 
(916) 845-7814   916) 845-5986   (916) 845-6333 
angela.raygoz@ftb.ca.gov   rebecca.schlussler@ftb.ca.gov brian.putler@ftb.ca.gov

                                                 
2  The 2008-2009 budget did not provide funding to the HRA program for the 2008 claim year. 



 
 

Analyst Angela Raygoza 
Telephone # 845-7814 
Attorney Patrick Kusiak 

 
 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD’S 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO LP 09-24 

 
 

AMENDMENT 1 
 

Revenue and Taxation Code Section 20505 is amended to read: 
 

           20505.   "Claimant" means an individual who-- 
           (a) For purposes of this chapter was either (1) 62 years of age or older on 
the last day of the calendar year or approved fiscal year designated in subdivision 
(b) or (c) of Section 20503, whichever is applicable, or (2) blind or disabled (as 
defined in Section 12050 of the Welfare and Institutions Code)), on the last day of 
the calendar year or approved fiscal year designated in subdivision (b) of Section 
20503, who was a member of the household, and who was either:  (1) the owner and 
occupier of a residential dwelling on the last day of the year designated in 
subdivision (b) or (c) of Section 20503, or (2) the renter of a rented residence on or 
before the last day of the year designated in subdivision (b) of Section 20503.  An 
individual who qualifies as an owner-claimant may not qualify as a renter-claimant for 
the same year. 
(b) For purposes of this section, a claimant shall be considered disabled only if he 
or she is a recipient of any of the following: 
(1) The following disability benefits under the Social Security Act of 1934 as a 
disabled person: 
  (A) Social Security Disability Insurance(SSDI) benefits. 
  (B) Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits. 
(2) Compensation or a pension under Title 38, United States Code, administered by the 
federal Department of Veterans Affairs on the basis of a disability rating of one 
hundred percent (100%) or on the basis of a total disability rating based on 
unemployability. 
(3) Assistance under the Cash Assistance Program for Aged, Blind, and Disabled Legal 
Immigrants, Chapter 10.3 (commencing with Section 18937) of Part 6 of Division 9 of 
the Welfare and Institutions Code. 
(c) The amendments made by the act adding this subdivision shall apply to assistance 
provided on or after January 1, 2010, with respect to the preceding calendar year. 



 
 

EGISLATIVE PROPOSAL 09-26 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 
 

 Title:  Homeowners and Renter’s Assistance (HRA)/Extend Tolling Period For Medically 
Incapacitated Claimants 

 
 Problem:  A medically incapacitated HRA claimant cannot file a timely HRA claim if their 

incapacity extends throughout and beyond the three-year statute of limitations resulting in an 
otherwise valid claim being denied.  

 
 Proposed Solution:  Amend the Revenue and Taxation Code to do the following: 

 
• Allow an indefinite tolling period in cases of medical incapacity, and 
• Exclude medically incapacitated claimants from filing untimely returns if an individual is 

legally authorized to act on the claimant’s behalf in financial matters. 
 

 Major Concerns/Issues:  None. 
  

 Revenue:  
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP 09-26 
Effective for Claim Years 

Beginning On or After July 1, 2010 
2008-09 2009-10 2010-11 

No impact No impact + <$150,000
 
 



LP 09-26 
Page 2 
 
 
Title 
 
Homeowners and Renter’s Assistance (HRA)/Extend Tolling Period For Medically Incapacitated 
Claimants 
 
Introduction 
 
This proposal would allow an indefinite tolling period of the statute of limitations for filing HRA 
claims in the case of an HRA claimant that is physically or mentally incapacitated.  
 
Program Background  
 
In some cases, HRA claims are denied due to the lack of documentation to prove disability, or for 
filing untimely (late) claims.  An otherwise untimely claim can be considered timely if the claimant 
can prove medical incapacity.  The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) currently accepts signed 
physician statements that indicate the date medical incapacity began and ended or is ongoing; 
these statements must be signed under penalty of perjury by the physician.  Claimants who, 
because of a medical incapacity, are prevented from filing a timely claim are permitted to 
nonetheless file a claim within six months after the medical incapacity ends or three years 
following the end of the fiscal year for which the assistance is claimed, whichever date is earlier. 
In the 2006 claim year, the department received a total of 202,252 disability claims, of which 
approximately 8,789 were untimely.  The data for the 2007 untimely claims are unknown at this 
time.  
 
Current State Law 
 
Under state law, the HRA program allows a once-a-year payment from the State of California to 
qualified individuals based on a portion of the property taxes assessed and paid on their homes 
or taxes indirectly paid as rent.  The claim filing year for a homeowner and renter assistance 
claim is the year after the taxable year for which the assistance is claimed.  The current claim 
filing period for the 2008 claim year is from July 1, 2008, to October 15, 2008, (qualified as of 
December 31, 2007).  Any claims postmarked after June 30, 2009, will not be paid unless the 
claimant was medically incapacitated. 
 
Under state law, “medically incapacitated claimant” is defined as a claimant who is unable to file a 
timely assistance claim due to being unable to attend to personal needs and activities of daily 
living in an appropriate manner, such as personal hygiene or nutritional needs. 
 
Under state law, if a claimant was medically incapacitated and unable to file a claim in a timely 
manner, the claimant is allowed to file a claim for a period of up to six months after the end of the 
incapacity or three years after the end of the fiscal year for which assistance is claimed, 
whichever is earlier.  The claimant must submit proof of medically certified incapacitation.  If 
funding for a particular year has been depleted, claims cannot be paid until additional funds are 
received. 
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Problem 
 
A medically incapacitated HRA claimant cannot file a timely HRA claim if their incapacity extends 
throughout and beyond the three-year statute of limitations resulting in an otherwise valid claim 
being denied.  
 
Proposed Solution 
 
Amend Section 20563(c) of the Revenue and Taxation Code to allow an indefinite tolling of the 
statute of limitations period in cases of medical incapacity and adopt the terms of “financially 
disabled” as provided under the Personal Income Tax Law (PITL) by excluding medically 
incapacitated claimants from filing untimely claims if there is a conservatorship or someone 
legally authorized to act on the claimant’s behalf in financial matters. 
 
Effective/Operative Date of Solution 

If enacted in the 2009 legislative session in legislation that is not immediately effective, this 
proposal would be effective January 1, 2010, and would be specifically operative for assistance 
provided on or after January 1, 2010, with respect to the 2010 claim year and thereafter. 
 
Justification 
 
This proposal would allow otherwise qualified claimants that were prevented from filing a timely 
claim due to severe physical or mental impairments to receive assistance when they regain the 
ability to manage their personal affairs. 
 
This proposal would also require that claimants with conservators, or someone legally authorized 
to act on a claimant’s behalf, to file timely claims in order to receive assistance.   
 
For the 2006 claim year 8,789 claims were denied for untimely filing, 218 claimants appealed the 
denial with the state Board of Equalization; as a result, 15 claims were paid, 127 claims were 
denied and 76 claims are pending a decision.  The effects of this proposal could reduce the 
number of appeals filed with BOE that result from the denial of claims based on late filing due to 
medical incapacity.   
 
Implementation 
 
Implementing this proposal would require changes to forms and instructions and require 
additional programming and system modifications as discussed in the fiscal impact discussion 
below. 
 
Fiscal Impact 
 
This proposal would not significantly impact the department’s costs. 
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Economic Impact 
 
Revenue Estimate 
 
This proposal would result in insignificant revenue gains beginning in fiscal year 2010-11. 
 

Estimated Revenue Impact of LP 09-26 
Effective for Claim Years  

Beginning On Or After July 1, 2010 
2008-09 2009-10 2010-11 

No impact No impact + <$150,000
 
Revenue Discussion 

The revenue impact of this proposal would be determined by the amount of assistance payments 
that would be denied under this proposal, which would otherwise be paid under current law.  

For the 2006 claim year, 8,789 claims were denied for untimely filing, 218 claimants appealed the 
denial with the state Board of Equalization.  As a result, 15 claims were paid, 127 claims were 
denied, and 76 claims are pending a decision.  This proposal would result in an additional 5% or 
11 (218 X .05) of the appealed claims being denied under the “medically incapacitated” category.  
The revenue impact on the state’s general fund would be a savings of approximately $3,400 (11 
X $312 expected average refund for claim year 2010).   
 
For an increase in delinquent filings to occur, there would need to be claimants that are medically 
incapacitated for more than three years without an individual or person legally authorized to act 
on their behalf.  The department does not expect an increase in delinquent filings due to the 
extended tolling of the statute of limitations.  
 
LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 
 
Legislative Analyst    Revenue Manager   Asst. Legislative Director 
Angela Raygoza    Rebecca Schlussler  Patrice Gau-Johnson 
(916) 845-7814    916) 845-5986   (916) 845-5521 
angela.raygoza@ftb.ca.gov    rebecca.schlussler@ftb.ca.gov patrice.gau-johnson@ftb.ca.gov 



 
 

Analyst Angela Raygoza 
Telephone # 845-7814 
Attorney Patrick Kusiak 

 
 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD’S 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS LP 09-26 

 
 

AMENDMENT 1 
 
Section 20563 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read: 
 
20563.  (a) The claim on which the assistance is based shall be 
filed after June 30 of the fiscal year for which assistance is 
claimed but on or before October 15 of the fiscal year succeeding the 
fiscal year for which assistance is claimed.  The Franchise Tax 
Board may thereafter accept claims through June 30 of the fiscal year 
succeeding the fiscal year for which assistance is claimed. 
   (b) The state shall assist the claimant after July 15 and before 
November 15 of the calendar year in which the claim is filed, except 
that if the claim is defective, assistance shall be made as promptly 
as is practicable after the claim has been perfected. 
   (c) A claimant who, because of a medical incapacity, is prevented 
from filing a timely claim, may file a claim within six months after 
the end of his or her medical incapacity or three years succeeding 
the end of the fiscal year for which assistance is claimed, whichever 
date is later earlier , except as otherwise provided in subdivision (d). 
(d)(1) A claimant shall not be considered to be “medically incapacitated” unless proof 
of the existence thereof is furnished in such form and manner as the Franchise Tax 
Board may require.  
(2) A claimant shall not be considered to be "medically incapacitated" during any 
period for which that claimant's spouse, or any other person or entity legally 
authorized to act on that individual's behalf in financial matters, could have filed a 
claim under this section. 
(3) The amendments made by the act adding this subdivision shall apply to assistance 
provided on or after January 1, 2010, with respect to the preceding year. 
 
 



 
 

LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL 09-27 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 
 

 Title:  Use Of IRS Data Regarding Waivers Of The Federal Statute Of Limitations 
 

 Problem:  The last day for FTB to issue a proposed assessment or pay a refund when a 
taxpayer has agreed to extend the federal SOL can be difficult to determine because the 
taxpayer and the IRS have often destroyed the agreement forms. 

 
 Proposed Solution:  Amend Revenue and Taxation Code Section 19065 to clarify that FTB 

may use IRS records that reflect the extended expiration date of the federal SOL for 
assessment to determine the corresponding California SOL to issue a proposed assessment 
or pay a refund. 

 
 Major Concerns/Issues:  None. 

 
 Revenue:  This proposal would not impact state income or franchise tax revenue because the 

proposal clarifies current law and applies existing practice. 
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Title 
 
Use Of IRS Data Regarding Waivers Of The Federal Statute Of Limitations  
 
Introduction 

 
This proposal would amend existing law to clarify that the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may use 
IRS records to verify the date of expiration of the federal statute of limitations (SOL). 
 
Current State Law 
 
Under current state law, when a taxpayer agrees with the IRS to extend the federal SOL for 
assessments, it automatically extends the California SOL for FTB to issue a proposed 
assessment.  The extended SOL is the later of four years from filing the state tax return or six 
months after the agreed period for assessing federal deficiencies expires.1  Additionally, when a 
taxpayer agrees with the IRS to extend the federal SOL for assessments, the California SOL for 
FTB to issue a refund extends to the same date FTB may issue a proposed assessment.2 
 
Background 
 
Traditionally FTB has relied on the date typed or printed on the paper federal extension form as 
evidence of a taxpayer’s agreement with the IRS to extend the federal SOL for assessments.  If 
FTB is unable to obtain a copy of the agreement document from the IRS or the taxpayer, the 
department requests an IRS transcript, which indicates the agreed SOL extension date.  FTB 
determines the California SOL for issuing a proposed assessment or refund using the IRS 
transcript in the same manner as if the paper document were available. 
 
Problem 
 
The last day for FTB to issue a proposed assessment or pay a refund when a taxpayer has 
agreed to extend the federal SOL can be difficult to determine because the taxpayer and the IRS 
have often destroyed the agreement forms. 
 
Proposed Solution 
 
Amend Revenue and Taxation Code Section 19065 to clarify that FTB may use IRS records that 
reflect the extended expiration date of the federal SOL for assessment to determine the 
corresponding California SOL to issue a proposed assessment or pay a refund. 
 
Effective/Operative Date of Solution 
 
If enacted in 2009 in legislation that does not take effect immediately, this proposal would be 
effective January 1, 2010, and specifically operative for taxable years in which the period for 
mailing a proposed assessment has not expired. 
 

                                                 
1 Revenue and Taxation Code Section 19065 
2 Revenue and Taxation Code Section 19308 
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Justification 
 
This proposed law change is needed so that FTB can ascertain the extended last day to issue a 
proposed assessment or pay a refund resulting from the taxpayer’s agreement with the IRS to 
extend the federal SOL.   
 
Implementation 
 
Because this proposal would clarify existing law and would apply to existing practice, 
implementing it would not impact the department’s programs or operations. 
 
Fiscal Impact 
 
This proposal would not significantly impact the department’s costs. 
 
Economic Impact 
 
This proposal would not impact state income or franchise tax revenue because the proposal 
clarifies current law and applies existing practice. 
 
Other States 
 
The states surveyed include Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and New York.  
These states were selected due to their similarities to California's economy, business entity types, 
and tax laws. 
  
The statutes of each of these states contain provisions that provide for agreements with a 
taxpayer to extend the state SOL.  Minnesota is the only state with a statute that specifically 
refers to federal extensions, in which the term “extended federal period” is used.   
 
LEGISLATIVE STAFF CONTACT 
 
Legislative Analyst  Revenue Manager    Legislative Director 
William Koch   Rebecca Schlussler    Brian Putler 
(916) 845-4372  916) 845-5986    (916) 845-6333 
william.koch@ftb.ca.gov  rebecca.schlussler@ftb.ca.gov  brian.putler@ftb.ca.gov



 
 

Analyst William Koch 
Telephone # 845-4372 
Attorney Patrick Kusiak 

 
 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD’S 
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO LP 9-27 

 
 

AMENDMENT 1 
Section 1.Section 19065 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read: 
 
19065. (a) If any taxpayer agrees with the United States Commissioner of Internal 
Revenue for an extension or renewals thereof of the period for proposing and assessing 
deficiencies in federal income taxes for any year, the period for mailing a notice of 
a proposed deficiency shall be the later of:four years after the return was filed or 
six months after the date of the expiration of the agreed period for assessing 
deficiencies in the federal income tax, whichever period expires the later. 
   (1) Four years after the return was filed, 

 (2) Six months after the date of the expiration of the agreed period shown on 
the extension or renewal, or 

 (3) Six months after the expiration of the federal statute of limitations for 
assessment reflected in the United States Commissioner of Internal Revenue records for 
assessing deficiencies in the federal income tax. 
       (b) The amendments to this section by the act adding this subdivision shall 
apply to all taxable years for which the period for mailing a notice of proposed 
deficiency has not expired. 
 




