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Request for Permission to Adopt Emergency Regulations under Title 18, Sections 19195-1 
and 19195-2, relating to Business and Professions Code Section 494.5, and to Proceed with 

the Formal Regulatory Process. 
 

 
Under Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) Section 19195(a), the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) is 
required to publish at least twice each year a list of the 500 largest tax delinquencies in excess of 
$100,000 (Top 500 List).  Before including a taxpayer’s name on the Top 500 list, FTB must 
inform the taxpayer that the taxpayer’s name will be included on the list unless the taxpayer pays 
the amount due or makes arrangements with FTB for payment of the amount due. (RTC Section 
19195(d).) 
 
Under Business and Professions Code (BPC) Section 494.5(c), FTB forwards a list of the 
taxpayers on the Top 500 List to the following California state governmental licensing entities 
(Licensing Entities): 
 

•         Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
•         State Bar of California 
•         California Highway Patrol 
•         Department of Business Oversight 
•         Commission on Teacher Credentialing 
•         Department of Consumer Affairs 
•         Department of General Services - Office of the State Architect 
•         Department of Motor Vehicles 
•         Department of Real Estate 
•         Department of Insurance 
•         Office of Real Estate Appraisers 
•         Horse Racing Board 
•         Housing and Community Development 
•         Toxic Substances Control 

 
The Licensing Entities must (or may in the case of the State Bar of California and the 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control) send a preliminary notice (Preliminary Notice) to an 
applicant for a license or a licensee (hereinafter, Taxpayer) appearing on the list received from 
FTB, of the Licensing Entities’ intent to suspend or withhold issuance or renewal of the 
Taxpayer’s license unless the Licensing Entity receives a release from FTB. (BPC Section 
494.5(e)(2) and (f)(1).)) If FTB provides a release, the Taxpayer’s license will not be suspended 
or a license will be issued or renewed upon payment of any required fees. 
 
The Taxpayer has the right to request a release from FTB and FTB is required to immediately 
send a release to the appropriate Licensing Entity and the Taxpayer, if the Taxpayer (1) pays the 
unpaid taxes, (2) enters into an installment payment arrangement with FTB under RTC Section 
19008 to satisfy the unpaid taxes, (3) submits a request for release within 45 days after receipt of 
the Preliminary Notice, but FTB is unable to make a determination related to whether to issue a 
release within 45 days of its receipt of the request for release through no fault of the Taxpayer, or 
(4) has a current financial hardship. (BPC Section 494.5(h).) Under the statute, “financial 
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hardship” means financial hardship as determined by FTB, where the Taxpayer is unable to pay 
any part of the outstanding tax liability and the Taxpayer is unable to qualify for an installment 
payment arrangement as provided by RTC Section 19008. (BPC Section 494.5(h)(3).) 
 
Several taxpayers have recently challenged FTB’s procedures for determining whether a release 
must be provided.  (See Franceschi v. Chiang, Case No. 14-01960 (C.D. Cal.); Berjikian v. 
Franchise Tax Board, B252427 (Cal. Ct. App.); and Berjikian v. Franchise Tax Board, Case No. 
13-06301 (C.D. Cal.).) Although the decisions in these cases are not controlling, staff has 
reexamined its procedures and has determined that FTB should: (1) publish procedures under 
which taxpayers would be allowed a hearing on the issue of whether FTB must provide a release; 
and (2) publish standards to be used in connection with such a hearing.  The hearing procedure is 
contained in proposed Regulation section 19195-1, and the standards are contained in proposed 
Regulation 19195-2.  These regulations will assist FTB in its efforts to publically ensure 
taxpayers are treated fairly and in accordance with law. 
 
BPC Section 494.5(o) specifically authorizes FTB to adopt these regulations as emergency 
regulations.  It is appropriate to do so, because taxpayers may be facing the suspension or denial 
of their licenses in connection with the October 2016 publication of the Top 500 List. 
 
If approved, staff will send the attached draft language as part of an emergency regulatory 
package to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL).  This approval includes authority to make 
changes as required by the OAL during the emergency regulation process.  After the 
promulgation of the emergency regulations, staff will immediately proceed with the formal 
regulatory process on these regulations, and this request, if approved, will also provide staff with 
the authority to proceed into the formal regulatory process to ultimately adopt the emergency 
regulations as final regulations.   
 



 
Page 1 

 

 

Title 18, California Code of Regulations 
Adopt Sections 19195-1 and 19195-2 

Text of Regulation 
 
Section 19195-1 is adopted to read:  
 
19195-1. Hearing on Requests for Release under Section 494.5 of the Business and Professions 
Code  
 
(a) Applicability of Regulation. This regulation applies to hearings provided by the Franchise 
Tax Board in connection with requests for release under section 494.5 of the Business and 
Professions Code. 
 
 (b) Right to Request Hearing, Notification of Right, and Limitation on Scope and Effect of 
Hearing. 
 
 (1) Unless the Franchise Tax Board determines to send a release to the appropriate 
state governmental licensing entity under section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code 
without a hearing under this regulation, an applicant or licensee who receives a preliminary 
notice or preliminary notices under subdivision (e)(2) of section 494.5 of the Business and 
Professions Code and who has made a request for release to the Franchise Tax Board under 
section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code shall have the right to one (1) hearing before 
a Franchise Tax Board hearing officer related solely to the issue of whether the Franchise Tax 
Board shall send a release to the appropriate state governmental licensing entity under section 
494.5 of the Business and Professions Code. An applicant or licensee who has had a hearing 
under this regulation related to a request for release shall have the right to a hearing under this 
regulation related to another request for release only upon a showing of a material change of 
circumstances.  
 
 (2) If an applicant or licensee is entitled to a hearing under subsection (b)(1) and if 
the Franchise Tax Board has not done so previously, the Franchise Tax Board shall, within five 
(5) business days after the Franchise Tax Board receives a request for release, send written 
notification to the applicant or licensee requesting the release, of the applicant’s or licensee’s 
right to submit a written request for a hearing in accordance with this regulation.   
 
 (3) The applicant or licensee shall not be permitted to contest the applicant’s or 
licensee’s obligation to pay the outstanding tax obligation through the procedures contained in 
section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code or in this regulation. 
 
 (4) The decision of the hearing officer, the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate’s designee under this regulation shall be binding on the applicant or 
licensee and the Franchise Tax Board only in connection with the request for release that was the 
subject of the hearing and not in connection with any other request for release or any other 
matter. 
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 (c) Time, Date, Place and Manner of Hearing.  

 
 (1) Upon receipt of a written request for a hearing in accordance with this regulation, 
the Franchise Tax Board shall use reasonable diligence to hold a hearing in accordance with this 
regulation within twenty (20) business days of the Franchise Tax Board’s receipt of the request 
for a hearing.  The failure of the Franchise Tax Board to hold a hearing within twenty (20) 
business days shall not require the Franchise Tax Board to send a release under section 494.5 of 
the Business and Professions Code, except as required by subdivision (h)(2) of section 494.5 of 
the Business and Professions Code. 
 
 (2) The time, date and place of the hearing under this regulation shall, when possible, 
be determined by mutual agreement of the applicant or licensee and the Franchise Tax Board. If 
a mutual agreement cannot be reached as to the time, date and place of the hearing, the Franchise 
Tax Board shall determine the time, date and place of the hearing and send written notification to 
the applicant or licensee of that determination. 
 
 (3) Hearings shall be held at a Franchise Tax Board office and scheduled Monday 
through Friday during normal business hours for the office where the hearing is to be held 
(generally between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., local time).  
 
 (4) A hearing may be conducted by telephone, videoconferencing or similar means if 
the applicant or licensee and the Franchise Tax Board mutually consent. 
 
 (5) The applicant or licensee may request that the hearing be rescheduled; however, 
the determination of whether to reschedule the hearing shall be made by the Franchise Tax 
Board. 
 
 (6) An applicant or licensee who does not appear at the scheduled hearing shall be 
deemed to have waived the right to a hearing under this regulation unless good cause, not within 
the applicant’s or licensee’s control, exists for the failure to appear. The hearing officer will 
determine whether good cause exists. If good cause exists, the hearing shall be rescheduled as 
soon as practical.  
 
(d) Hearing. 
 

(1) Hearing Officer and Hearing Witnesses. 
 

(A) The Franchise Tax Board shall designate a member of its staff as the 
hearing officer for the hearing in connection with the request for release under section 494.5 of 
the Business and Professions Code. The Franchise Tax Board may change the designation of the 
hearing officer at any time. The Franchise Tax Board shall not appoint any member of its staff as 
the hearing officer if that staff member had any prior involvement with respect to the applicant or 
licensee. 
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(B) The hearing officer shall have the authority to conduct the hearing and 

make the determination as to whether the Franchise Tax Board should send a release. 
 
(C) The Franchise Tax Board may designate one or more members of its staff 

as hearing witnesses for the hearing in connection with a request for release. The Franchise Tax 
Board may change the designation of the hearing witnesses at any time.   
 

(2) Representative. 
 

(A) The applicant or licensee shall have the right to have a representative or 
representatives at the hearing, provided each representative is designated by the applicant or 
licensee in a written notice signed by the applicant or licensee that is received by the Franchise 
Tax Board at or prior to the commencement of the hearing. 
 

(B) The representative may be any person of the applicant’s or licensee’s 
choosing, including, but not limited to, an attorney, accountant, bookkeeper, employee, 
consultant or business associate. 
 

(C) The hearing officer may limit the number of representatives of the 
applicant or licensee at a hearing. No more than one active representative will be allowed at the 
hearing unless the hearing officer determines that more than one active representative 
participating in the hearing would be beneficial to the proper determination of the matter. 
 

(3) Conduct of Hearing. 
 

(A) Purpose of Hearing. The purpose of the hearing is to allow the hearing 
officer and the applicant or licensee to address the relevant issues raised by the request for 
release and to develop the factual basis for a decision on the request for release.  
 

(B) Reasonable Accommodations. The Franchise Tax Board shall provide 
reasonable accommodations to any applicant, licensee, representative or witness who has a 
disability and requires such accommodations to facilitate the hearing process. An applicant or 
licensee shall notify the Franchise Tax Board in writing of the need for reasonable 
accommodations at the same time that the applicant or licensee submits a written request to the 
Franchise Tax Board for a hearing in accordance with this regulation.  Such notification shall 
specify the accommodations needed. 
 

(C) Language Assistance. An applicant or licensee may receive language 
assistance at the hearing if such assistance is necessary to facilitate the hearing process and if 
such assistance is reasonably available. 

 
 (i) The assistance may be provided by: 

 
 (I) An interpreter supplied by the applicant or licensee, 
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 (II) An interpreter who is a member of the Franchise Tax 

Board’s staff, other than the hearing officer, or 
 

 (III) A certified administrative hearing interpreter from the list 
of such interpreters maintained by the State Personal Board, if one is reasonably available.   
 

(ii) An applicant or licensee requesting the Franchise Tax Board to 
supply language assistance services under subsection (d)(3)(C)(i)(II) or (III) shall notify the 
Franchise Tax Board in writing of the need for language assistance services at the same time as 
the applicant or licensee submits a written request to the Franchise Tax Board for a hearing in 
accordance with this regulation.  Such notification shall specify the language assistance needed. 
 

(iii) If the applicant or licensee requests a certified administrative 
hearing interpreter pursuant to subsection (d)(3)(C)(i)(III) and one is supplied, the cost of 
supplying the interpreter shall be paid by the applicant or licensee, unless, upon request of the 
applicant or licensee, the hearing officer directs the Franchise Tax Board to pay such cost.  The 
hearing officer’s decision to direct the Franchise Tax Board to pay such cost shall be based upon 
an equitable consideration of all the circumstances of the case, such as the ability of the applicant 
or licensee to pay.   
 

(iv) A person providing language assistance under subsection 
(d)(3)(C)(i)(I) shall not be considered a representative for purposes of subsection (d)(2), unless 
so designated by the applicant or licensee. 
 

(D) Confidentiality.  The hearings under this regulation are part of the 
administrative process of the Franchise Tax Board and are covered by the confidentiality 
provisions contained in Article 2 of Chapter 7 of Part 10.2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code.  

 
(E) Attendance of Persons Other Than Applicant, Licensee, Staff of the 

Franchise Tax Board, Hearing Witnesses of the Franchise Tax Board, and Hearing Officer.  No 
person other than the applicant, licensee, staff of the Franchise Tax Board, hearing witnesses of 
the Franchise Tax Board and the hearing officer shall be entitled to attend the hearing unless the 
hearing officer receives: 

 
 (i) Written notice signed by the applicant or licensee authorizing such 

person to attend the hearing, and 
 
  (ii) Such person provides the hearing officer with a signed written 

statement that: 
 
  (I) Such person shall not record the hearing by means of an 

audio or video recording or any other means, and 
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  (II) Such person shall follow any instructions given by the 
hearing officer. 

      
(F) Recording, Transcript and Records of Hearing. 
 

(i) The Franchise Tax Board is not required to record the hearing by 
means of an audio or video recording or any other means or to prepare a transcript of a hearing 
under this regulation.  The Franchise Tax Board is not required to maintain a record of the 
documents submitted or statements made during the course of a hearing after the applicant’s or 
licensee’s entitlement to a release has been decided. 

 
(ii) An audio recording of the hearing will only occur if, at least five 

(5) business days before the hearing, the applicant or licensee and the Franchise Tax Board agree 
that an audio recording of the hearing will occur. 

 
(iii)  If the applicant or licensee and the Franchise Tax Board agree that 

an audio recording of the hearing will occur under subsection (d)(3)(F)(ii): 
 
 (I) The applicant or licensee and the Franchise Tax Board shall 

each be entitled to separately record the hearing, and 
 
 (II) The Franchise Tax Board shall provide the applicant or 

licensee with a copy of the Franchise Tax Board’s audio recording of the hearing upon written 
request received by the hearing officer or the Franchise Tax Board no later than five (5) business 
days after the hearing.   

 
(iv) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection (d)(3)(F), no one 

shall have the right to record the hearing by means of an audio or video recording or any other 
means.   
 

(v) If the hearing officer determines that a recording of a hearing is 
disruptive, the hearing officer may require the termination of the recording of the hearing. 
 

(G) Witnesses and Documentary Evidence. At a hearing, the applicant or 
licensee may present witnesses and/or offer documentary evidence in support of the applicant’s 
or licensee’s request that the Franchise Tax Board send a release under section 494.5 of the 
Business and Professions Code and to rebut evidence of the Franchise Tax Board. 
 

(i) Witnesses. 
 

(I) Oral testimony will be evaluated by the hearing officer in 
making a decision on the request for release. 

 
(II) Oral testimony does not need to be under oath, unless the 

hearing officer determines that it must be under oath. 
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(III) The applicant or licensee and the Franchise Tax Board shall 

exchange a list of the names of witnesses who will be present at the hearing so that such lists are 
received at least five (5) business days prior to the hearing; provided, however, the hearing 
officer may shorten the five (5) business day period. 

 
(IV) The hearing officer may allow witnesses not on the lists 

described in subsection (d)(3)(G)(i)(III) to testify at the hearing. 
 

(V) The hearing officer may limit the testimony of witnesses if 
and when the hearing officer determines testimony to be repetitious, redundant, or irrelevant. 
 

(VI) The Franchise Tax Board is not required to compel 
witnesses to appear at a hearing. 
 

(ii) Documentary Evidence. 
 

(I) Documentary evidence will be evaluated by the hearing 
officer in making a decision on the request for release. 

 
(II) Documentary evidence does not need to be submitted under 

penalty of perjury, unless the hearing officer determines that it must be submitted under penalty 
of perjury. 

 
(III) The applicant or licensee and the Franchise Tax Board shall 

exchange a copy of any documentary evidence to be offered in support of their positions so that 
such documentary evidence is received at least five (5) business days prior to the hearing; 
provided, however, the hearing officer may shorten the five (5) business day period. 

 
(IV) The hearing officer may allow presentation of documentary 

evidence not on the lists described in subsection (d)(3)(G)(ii)(III) at the hearing. 
 
(V) The Franchise Tax Board is not required to compel 

production of documents at a hearing. 
 

(H) Termination of Hearing. The hearing officer shall have the authority to 
terminate a hearing. Grounds for terminating a hearing include, but are not limited to: 

 
(i) The applicant or licensee or the applicant’s or licensee’s 

representative persists in making repetitious or irrelevant statements, or 
 

(ii) The applicant or licensee, the applicant’s or licensee’s 
representative, or any other individual permitted to be at the hearing by the applicant or licensee 
behaves in a disruptive manner or does not follow the hearing officer’s instructions. 
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(e) Decision. 
 
 (1) In reaching a decision, the hearing officer shall consider the following: 
 
  (A) Any documents or other evidence, including, but not limited to, any 
financial statements, submitted by or on behalf of the Franchise Tax Board in accordance with 
this regulation,  
 
  (B) Any documents or other evidence, including, but not limited to, any 
financial statements, submitted by or on behalf of the applicant or licensee in accordance with 
this regulation, 
 
  (C) Whether the applicant or licensee has submitted the information and 
documentation related to assets, income or expenses or any other information or documentation 
requested by the Franchise Tax Board for the purposes of making the determination of whether 
the applicant or licensee is unable to pay the outstanding tax obligation due to a current financial 
hardship under subdivision (h)(3) of section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code in the 
form requested by the Franchise Tax Board and under penalty of perjury if requested by the 
Franchise Tax Board, 
 
  (D) Whether the applicant or licensee has acted with diligence in responding 
to notices from the applicable state governmental licensing entity and the Franchise Tax Board as 
required by subdivision (i) of section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code, 
 
  (E) Any argument made by the applicant or licensee, the applicant’s or 
licensee’s representative or the Franchise Tax Board, and 
 
  (F) The hearing officer’s experience, technical competence and specialized 
knowledge. 
 
 (2) In determining whether the applicant or licensee is entitled to a release under 
section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code, the hearing officer shall apply Regulation 
section 19195-2. 
 
 (3) Within five (5) business days of the completion of the hearing, the hearing officer 
shall decide whether the applicant or licensee is entitled to a release under section 494.5 of the 
Business and Professions Code. 
 
  (A) If the hearing officer decides that the applicant or licensee is entitled to a 
release under section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code, the Franchise Tax Board shall 
immediately send a release to the applicant or licensee and the applicable governmental licensing 
entity. 
 
  (B) If the hearing officer decides that the applicant or licensee is not entitled to 
a release under section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code, the Franchise Tax Board 
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shall, within five (5) business days of the completion of the hearing, send a written notification to 
the applicant or licensing that: 
 
   (i) Informs the applicant or licensee that the hearing officer has 
decided that the applicant or licensee is not entitled to a release, and 
 
   (ii) Provides the applicant or licensee with the hearing officer’s written 
decision that the applicant or licensee is not entitled to a release. The decision shall be based on 
the record and include a statement of the factual and legal basis of the decision related to whether 
the applicant or licensee is entitled to a release under section 494.5 of the Business and 
Professions Code and the names of all persons in attendance at the hearing. If the decision is 
based substantially on the credibility of one or more witnesses, the decision shall identify any 
specific evidence of the observed demeanor, manner or attitude of the witnesses that supports the 
determination, and 
 
   (iii) Informs the applicant or licensee of the right to request 
reconsideration of the hearing officer’s decision under this regulation and the procedure for 
requesting reconsideration, and 
 
   (iv) Informs the applicant or licensee of the right to request review of 
the hearing officer’s decision by the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the Taxpayers’ Rights 
Advocate’s designee under this regulation and the procedure for requesting review. 
 
 (4) If a hearing is provided, the Franchise Tax Board shall be deemed to have 
completed its release review and to have sent notice of its findings to the applicant or licensee as 
required by subdivisions (h)(2) of section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code once the 
Franchise Tax Board has either sent: 
 
  (A) A release to the applicant or licensee and the applicable governmental 
licensing entity, or 
 
   (B) The notification as required by subsection (e)(3)(B) to the applicant or 
licensee. 
 
(f) Request for Reconsideration. 
 
 (1) The applicant or licensee has the right to submit one (1) written request that the 
hearing officer reconsider the hearing officer’s decision that the applicant or licensee is not 
entitled to a release, provided:  
 
  (A) The applicant or licensee submits the request so that it is received by the 
Franchise Tax Board within ten (10) business days of the date the applicant or licensee receives 
the notification under subsection (e)(3)(B), and 
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  (B) The applicant or licensee has not and does not request a review of the 
hearing officer’s decision by the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the Taxpayers’ Rights 
Advocate’s designee under this regulation, prior to the time the hearing officer makes a decision 
related to the request for reconsideration by the applicant or licensee. 
 
 (2) Within seven (7) business days of the Franchise Tax Board’s receipt of the 
request for reconsideration, the hearing officer shall decide whether the applicant or licensee is 
entitled to a release based on the items described in subsection (e)(1), the information and 
argument included in the request for reconsideration and any other information the hearing 
officer determines is appropriate. 
 
  (A) If the hearing officer decides that the applicant or licensee is entitled to a 
release under section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code, the Franchise Tax Board shall 
immediately send a release to the applicant or licensee and the applicable governmental licensing 
entity. 
 
  (B) If the hearing officer decides that the applicant or licensee is not entitled to 
a release under section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code, the Franchise Tax Board 
shall immediately send a written notification to the applicant or licensee that: 
 
   (i) Notifies the applicant or licensee that the hearing officer has 
decided that the applicant or licensee is not entitled to a release, and 
 
   (ii) Notifies the applicant or licensee of the right to request review of 
the hearing officer’s decision by the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the Taxpayers’ Rights 
Advocate’s designee and the procedure for requesting such review. 
 
 (3) The applicant or licensee shall not have a right to a hearing in connection with a 
request for reconsideration under this subsection (f). 
 
(g) Request for Review by Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate. 
 
 (1) The applicant or licensee has the right to submit one (1) written request for review 
of the hearing officer’s decision that the applicant or licensee is not entitled to a release to the 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate’s designee, provided: 
 
  (A) The applicant or licensee submits the request so that it is received by the 
Franchise Tax Board on or before the later of: 
 
   (i) Ten (10) business days after the date the applicant or licensee 
receives the notification under subsection (e)(3)(B), and 
 
   (ii) Ten (10) business days after the date the applicant or licensee 
receives notification from the Franchise Tax Board under subsection (f)(2)(B), if the applicant or 
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license has submitted a request for reconsideration that complies with subsection (f)(1)(A) and 
(B), and 
 
  (B) If the applicant or licensee has submitted a request for reconsideration that 
complies with subsections (f)(1)(A) and (B), the applicant or licensee has received notification 
under subsection (f)(2)(B).  
 
 (2) If an applicant or licensee submits a request for review by the Taxpayers’ Rights 
Advocate or the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate’s designee prior to receiving notification from the 
Franchise Tax Board under subsection (f)(2)(B), the applicant or licensee waives the right to a 
decision by the hearing officer under subsection (f)(2). 
 
 (3) Within seven (7) business days of the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate’s receipt of a 
request that complies with subsections (g)(1)(A) and (B), the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate’s designee shall decide whether the applicant or licensee is entitled 
to a release based on the items described in subsection (e)(1), the decision of the hearing officer, 
the information and argument included in the request for review and any other information the 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate’s designee determines is 
appropriate. 
 
  (A) If the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate’s 
designee decides that the applicant or licensee is entitled to a release under section 494.5 of the 
Business and Professions Code, the Franchise Tax Board shall immediately send a release to 
licensee or applicant and the applicable governmental licensing entity. 
 
  (B) If the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate’s 
designee decides that the applicant or licensee is not entitled to a release under section 494.5 of 
the Business and Professions Code, the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the Taxpayers’ Rights 
Advocate’s designee shall immediately send a written notification to the applicant or licensee 
that the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate or the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate’s designee has decided 
that the applicant or licensee is not entitled to a release. 
 
 (4) The applicant or licensee shall not have a right to a hearing in connection with a 
request for review under this subsection (g). 
 
(h) Resolution Outside Hearing Process. 
 
 At any time, an applicant or licensee may discuss with the collector assigned to the 
applicant’s or licensee’s account the resolution of the request for release and resolve the request 
for release. 
 
(i) Other Requests for Release. 
 
 Even if an applicant or licensee is not entitled to a hearing under this regulation, the 
Franchise Tax Board shall consider and respond to any request for release received from an 
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applicant or licensee, provided that, in the case of multiple requests for release in connection 
with the same preliminary notice or preliminary notices, such request is based on a material 
change of circumstances. 
 
(j) Notifications, Notices and Requests. 
 
 (1) Notifications and Notices to Applicant or Licensee.  All notifications and notices 
to the applicant or licensee under this regulation shall be mailed by first-class mail to the address 
of the applicant or licensee on the request for a release or, in the absence of such address, to the 
last known address of the applicant or licensee pursuant to section 18416 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code, unless the applicant or licensee notifies the Franchise Tax Board in a writing 
signed by the applicant or licensee of an alternative address.  If the applicant or licensee notifies 
the Franchise Tax Board in a writing signed by the applicant or licensee of an alternative 
address, all future notices to the applicant or licensee under this regulation shall be mailed by 
first-class mail to that address.  In addition to sending notices and notifications by first-class 
mail, all notifications and notices to the applicant or licensee under this regulation may be sent 
by facsimile or encrypted email, if the applicant or licensee requests in writing that the Franchise 
Tax Board send notifications and notices to the applicant or licensee by facsimile or encrypted 
email and provides sufficient instructions to do so.     
 
 (2) Notifications, Notices and Requests to Franchise Tax Board.  All notifications, 
notices and requests to the Franchise Tax Board under this regulation shall be mailed by first-
class mail to the address and unit that the Franchise Tax Board shall designate by FTB Notice.  
In addition to sending notifications, notices and requests by first-class mail, all notifications, 
notices and requests may also be sent by facsimile or email, if such method is described in the 
FTB Notice.      
   
(k) Applicability of Regulation.  This regulation shall apply to any request for release under 
section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code received by the Franchise Tax Board on or 
after the effective date of this regulation under subdivision (o) of Business and Professions Code 
section 494.5. 

 

 
Note: Authority Cited: Section 494.5, Business and Professions Code; Section 19503, Revenue 
and Taxation Code.  Reference: Section 19195, Revenue and Taxation Code. 
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Section 19195-2 is adopted to read:  
 
19195-2. Determination of Current Financial Hardship under Subdivision (h)(3) of Section 494.5 
of the Business and Professions Code 
 
(a) Applicability of Regulation. This regulation applies to determinations of whether an 
applicant or licensee is unable to pay the outstanding tax obligation due to a current financial 
hardship under subdivision (h)(3) of section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code. 
 
(b) Applicant or Licensee Required to Provide Information. Notwithstanding any other 
provision of this regulation, the Franchise Tax Board shall not send a release under subdivision 
(h)(3) of section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code if the applicant or licensee fails to 
submit: 
 
 (1) Any and all information and documentation related to assets, income or expenses, 
and 
 
 (2) Any and all other information or documentation 
 
requested by the Franchise Tax Board for the purposes of making a determination of whether the 
applicant or licensee is unable to pay the outstanding tax obligation due to a current financial 
hardship pursuant to subdivision (h)(3) of section 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code in 
the form and manner requested by the Franchise Tax Board and under penalty of perjury if 
requested by the Franchise Tax Board.  
 
(c) Applicant’s or Licensee’s Entitlement to Release. An applicant or licensee has a current 
financial hardship under subdivision (h)(3) of section 494.5 of the Business and Professions 
Code and the Franchise Tax Board shall send a release under section 494.5 of the Business and 
Professions Code if both of the following are true: 
 
 (1) The applicant or licensee is unable to pay any part of the outstanding tax 
obligation; and 
 
 (2) The applicant or licensee is unable to qualify for an installment payment 
arrangement as provided for by section 19008 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 
 
(d) An applicant or licensee is able to pay part of the outstanding tax obligation within the 
meaning of subsection (c)(1) and is not entitled to a release under subsection (c) if the following 
calculated amount is greater than zero: 
 
 (1) The amount of the applicant’s or licensee’s assets that are cash or readily 
converted to cash, without regard to whether such conversion will have an adverse tax 
consequence to the applicant or licensee, including, but not limited to, assets that are separate, 
community or quasi-community property of the applicant or licensee, but excluding assets that 
are necessary for the operation of the applicant’s or licensee’s trade or business that produces 
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income for the applicant or licensee, including, but not limited to, a trade or business that is 
separate, community or quasi-community property of the applicant or licensee, less 
 
 (2) The amount described in subsection (d)(1) that is either: 
 
  (A) In the case of an individual applicant or licensee, necessary to provide for 
the applicant’s or licensee’s (and his or her family’s) health and welfare as determined in 
subsection (g), during the five (5)-year period after the date of the determination under this 
subsection (d), or  
 
  (B) Necessary to pay the reasonable costs, during the five (5)-year period after 
the date of the determination under this subsection (d), of the operation of the applicant’s or 
licensee’s trade or business that produces income for the applicant or licensee, including, but not 
limited to, a trade or business that is separate, community or quasi-community property of the 
applicant or licensee.  
 
 (3) Amounts described in subsection (d)(1) are necessary under subsection (d)(2) and, 
therefore, included in subsection (d)(2) only to the extent such amounts cannot be paid from 
sources other than those described in subsection (d)(1). 
 
(e) An applicant or licensee is able to qualify for an installment payment arrangement as 
provided for by section 19008 of the Revenue and Taxation Code within the meaning of 
subsection (c)(2) and is not entitled to a release under subsection (c) if the following calculated 
amount is greater than zero: 
 
 (1) The amount of any and all assets owned or to be owned by the applicant or 
licensee that are cash or can be converted to cash during the five (5)-year period after the date of 
the determination under this subsection (e), without regard to whether such conversion will have 
an adverse tax consequence to the applicant or licensee, including, but not limited to, assets that 
are separate, community or quasi-community property of the applicant or licensee, but excluding 
assets that are necessary for the operation of the applicant’s or licensee’s trade or business that 
produces income for the applicant or licensee, including, but not limited to, a trade or business 
that is separate, community or quasi-community property of the applicant or licensee, plus 
 
 (2) The amount of any and all income projected to be received by the applicant or 
licensee during the five (5)-year period after the date of the determination under this subsection 
(e), including, but not limited to, income that is separate, community or quasi-community 
property of the applicant or licensee, less  
 

(3)       The amount described in subsections (e)(1) and (e)(2) that is either: 

                        (A)      In the case of an individual applicant or licensee, necessary to provide for 
the applicant’s or licensee’s (and his or her family’s) health and welfare as determined under 
subsection (g) during the five (5)-year period after the date of the determination under this 
subsection (e), or 
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                        (B)       Necessary to pay the reasonable costs, during the five (5)-year period after 
the date of the determination under this subsection (e), of the operation of a trade or business of 
the applicant or licensee that produces income for the applicant or licensee, including, but not 
limited to, a trade or business that is separate, community or quasi-community property of the 
applicant or licensee. 
 
(f) Even if the Franchise Tax Board is not required to send a release under subsection (c), the 
Franchise Tax Board shall send a release under section 494.5 of the Business and Professions 
Code if both: 
 
 (1) The applicant or licensee pays the Franchise Tax Board in a manner determined 
by the Franchise Tax Board an amount equal to: 
 
  (A) The amount of the applicant’s or licensee’s assets that are cash or can be 
readily converted to cash, without regard to whether such conversion will have an adverse tax 
consequence to the applicant or licensee, including, but not limited to, assets that are separate, 
community or quasi-community property of the applicant or licensee, but excluding assets that 
are necessary for the operation of the applicant’s or licensee’s trade or business that produces 
income for the applicant or licensee, including, but not limited to, a trade or business that is the 
applicant’s or licensee’s separate, community or quasi-community property, less 
 
  (B) The amount described in subsection (f)(1)(A) that is either: 
 
   (i) In the case of an individual applicant or licensee, necessary to 
provide for the applicant’s or licensee’s (and his or her family’s) health and welfare as 
determined in subsection (g), during the five (5)-year period after the date of the determination 
under this subsection (f), or  
 
   (ii) Necessary to pay for the reasonable costs, during five (5)-year 
period after the date of the determination under this subsection (f), of the operation of the 
applicant’s or licensee’s trade or business that produces income for the applicant or licensee, 
including, but not limited to, a trade or business that is the separate, community or quasi-
community property of the applicant or licensee. 
  
  (C) Amounts described in subsection (f)(1)(A) are necessary under subsection 
(f)(1)(B) and, therefore, included in subsection (f)(1)(B) only to the extent such amounts cannot 
be paid from sources other than those described in subsection (f)(1)(A). 
 
 (2) The applicant or licensee and the Franchise Tax Board enter into an installment 
payment arrangement as provided for by section 19008 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, if the 
applicant or licensee is able to qualify for installment payment arrangement as provided for by 
section 19008 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, and as is defined in subsection (e), that: 
 
  (A) Is consistent with the need of the applicant or licensee to pay: 
 



 
Page 15 

 

   (i) In the case of an individual applicant or licensee, expenses 
necessary to provide for the applicant’s or licensee’s (and his or her family’s) health and welfare 
as determined under subsection (g) during the period of the installment payment arrangement, 
and 
 
   (ii) Necessary and reasonable costs, during the period of the 
installment payment arrangement, of the operation of the applicant’s or licensee’s trade or 
business that produces income for the applicant or licensee, including, but not limited to, a trade 
or business that is the applicant’s or licensee’s separate, community or quasi-community 
property, and 
 
  (B) Contains such terms and conditions as are required by the Franchise Tax 
Board in exercising its discretion under Section 19008 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, which 
may include terms and conditions allowable under Sections 19008 and 21019 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code, including, but not limited to, some or all of the following terms and conditions:  
 
   (i) Terms related to timing, amounts and duration of payments, which 
duration may be five years or any time longer or shorter, 
 
   (ii) The applicant or licensee shall authorize electronic funds 
withdrawal from the applicant’s or licensee’s bank account to make payments required under the 
installment payment arrangement, 
  
   (iii) The applicant or licensee shall maintain sufficient funds in a bank 
account to make the payments required under the installment payment arrangement, 
 
   (iv) As a condition to the Franchise Tax Board’s agreement to the 
installment payment arrangement, the applicant or licensee shall provide a financial statement in 
the form requested by the Franchise Tax Board that is signed under penalty of perjury and the 
applicant or licensee shall agree that any false statement in the financial statement shall 
constitute a breach of the installment payment arrangement, 
 
   (v) The applicant or licensee shall provide information and 
documentation requested by the Franchise Tax Board during the term of the installment payment 
arrangement, including, but not limited to, financial statements submitted under penalty of 
perjury, and the applicant or licensee shall agree that the Franchise Tax Board may require that 
the installment payment arrangement be modified based on a change of circumstances, 
 
   (vi) If the applicant or licensee receives wages, the applicant or 
licensee shall confirm that the withholding rates for Employment Development Department 
Form DE 4 and Internal Revenue Service W-4 on file with the applicant’s or licensee’s employer 
will withhold enough California income tax to pay the applicant’s or licensee’s California state 
income tax liability for the next California income tax return and shall agree that the applicant or 
licensee will ensure that the withholding rates for Employment Development Department Form 
DE 4 and Internal Revenue Service W-4 on file with the applicant’s or licensee’s employer will 



 
Page 16 

 

withhold enough California income tax to pay the applicant’s or licensee’s California income tax 
liability for the future California income tax returns,  
 
   (vii) The applicant or licensee shall make any required estimated 
payments if the applicant or licensee receives income from sources other than wages,  
 
   (viii) The applicant or licensee has filed and shall agree to file all past, 
present and future tax returns that are required to be filed with the Franchise Tax Board, 
 
   (ix) The applicant or licensee shall not incur any additional obligations 
to the Franchise Tax Board that are not paid when due, and 
 
   (x) The applicant or licensee shall provide security for the Franchise 
Tax Board’s rights against the applicant or licensee.  
 
(g) The Franchise Tax Board shall determine whether expenses are necessary to provide for 
the applicant’s or licensee’s (and his or her family’s) health and welfare as follows: 
 
 (1) The Franchise Tax Board shall make its determination under this subsection (g) 
pursuant to the following Internal Revenue Service standards, as such standards are modified 
from time to time by the Internal Revenue Service, except as otherwise provided in this 
subsection (g): 
 
  (A) The Internal Revenue Service Allowable Living Expenses National 
Standards related to food, housekeeping supplies, apparel and services, personal care products 
and services, and miscellaneous, as found in internet web sites designated in an FTB Notice, 
 
  (B) The Internal Revenue Service Allowable Living Expenses Health Care 
Standards related to out-of-pocket health care expenses including medical services, prescription 
drugs, and medical supplies (e.g., eyeglasses, contact lenses, etc.), as found in internet web sites 
designated in an FTB Notice, 
 
  (C) The Internal Revenue Service Allowable Living Expense Housing and 
Utilities Standard related to mortgage or rent, property taxes, interest, insurance, maintenance, 
repairs, gas, electric, water, heating oil, garbage collection, residential telephone service, cell 
phone service, cable television, and internet service, as found in internet web sites designated in 
an FTB Notice, and 
 
  (D) The Internal Revenue Service Allowable Living Expenses Transportation 
Standards, related to loan or lease payments and amounts for monthly operating costs, as found 
in internet websites designated in an FTB Notice.   
 
 (2) In addition to the expenses covered by the standards in subsection (g)(1), the 
Franchise Tax Board may allow the following expenses to the extent they are being paid, if they 
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are reasonable and the applicant or licensee provides documentation to substantiate such 
expenses: 
 
  (A) Accounting and legal fees for representation of the applicant or licensee 
before the Franchise Tax Board, 
 
  (B) Accounting and legal fees if necessary to provide for the applicant’s or 
licensee’s (or his or her family’s) health and welfare,  
 
  (C) Charitable contributions (donations to tax exempt organizations) if such 
donations are a bona fide condition of employment, 
 
  (D) Child care (baby-sitting, day care, nursery and preschool) expenses if 
necessary for the applicant’s or licensee’s (or his or her family’s) health and welfare,  
 
  (E) Court-ordered payments for alimony, child support or restitution for 
victims, 
 
  (F) Dependent care expenses for elderly, invalid or handicapped persons if 
necessary to provide for the dependent’s health and welfare and if there is no alternative to the 
applicant or licensee paying the expenses, 
 
  (G) Education expenses if required for a physically or mentally challenged 
child and no public education providing similar services is available, 
 
  (H) Education expenses if such expenses are a bona fide condition of 
employment,  
 
  (I) Involuntary deductions that are a bona fide condition of employment, 
including, but not limited to, union dues, uniforms and work shoes, 
 
  (J) Life insurance expenses for a term policy on the life of the applicant or 
licensee,  
 
  (K) Required payments and withholdings for current year federal, FICA, 
Medicare, state and local taxes, 
 
  (L) Payments under agreements with the Internal Revenue Service, other 
states or other state agencies for delinquent taxes, 
 
  (M) Payments on student loans guaranteed by the federal government if for the 
applicant’s or licensee’s post-high school education,  
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  (N) Payments for health insurance for the applicant or licensee (or his or her 
family) if necessary to provide for the applicant’s or licensee’s (or his or her family’s) health and 
welfare, and 
 
  (O) Other expenses if necessary to provide for the applicant’s or licensee’s (or 
his or her family’s) health and welfare. 
 
 (3) In making its determination under the Internal Revenue Service standards 
described in subsection (g)(1) and under subsection (g)(2), the Franchise Tax Board shall follow 
the Internal Revenue Service rules related to Shared Expenses found in an internet website 
designated in an FTB Notice, as such rules are modified from time to time by the Internal 
Revenue Service, with the exception of the following provisions: 
 
  (A) The non-liable spouse can seek assistance from the Taxpayer Advocate 
Service. 
 
  (B) Since the facts of each individual case and state law determine if the 
taxpayer has a property right or right of reimbursement, Revenue Officers and Advisory should 
seek Counsel advice when these types of issues arise in determining the taxpayer’s interest for 
calculating income or equity in assets and any other collection alternative calculations. 
 
  (C) If an internal verification is conducted on the non-liable person, this 
information cannot be provided to the taxpayer.  This is not an Unauthorized Access (UNAX) 
violation if the revenue officer’s duties require the inspection or disclosure of this information 
for tax administration purposes.  However, it is a disclosure violation under IRC 6103 if any 
information is shared with someone other than the non-liable person in question, unless consent 
to disclose the information is obtained from the non-liable person in question, unless consent is 
obtained from the non-liable person. 
 

(h) Definitions: 

 (1) The term “asset” means all real and personal property, including, but not limited 
to, cash; cash equivalents; deposits; shares in credit unions; publically traded stocks; mutual 
funds; investment accounts; money market accounts; non-publicly traded stocks; municipal 
bonds; interests in incorporated and unincorporated businesses, including, but not limited to, an 
interest in a corporation, limited liability company, partnership, and joint venture; government 
and corporate bonds; other negotiable and non-negotiable instruments such as personal checks, 
cashier’s checks, promissory notes, and money orders; pre-paid debit cards; Individual 
Retirement Accounts, Keogh Plans, Simplified Employee Pensions, 401(k) Plans, and any other 
retirement or pension accounts and profit sharing plans; annuities; trusts; equitable or future 
interests in property; rights or powers exercisable for the benefit of the applicant or licensee or 
the applicant’s or licensee’s community or quasi-community; mineral rights; licensing 
agreements; tax refunds; interests in insurance policies; soft and hard commodities including, but 
not limited to, precious metals and agricultural products; jewelry; gems; artwork; vehicles, 
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including, but not limited to, automobiles and trucks; aircraft; vessels; collectables; antiques; 
Bitcoin; funds deposited by crowd-sourced websites; accounts receivable; notes receivable; 
obligations owed to the applicant or licensee and the applicant’s or licensee’s community or 
quasi-community; real estate, including, but not limited to, rental property; trust accounts; 
furniture; mineral rights; factories; fixtures; buildings; inventories; merchandise; stock in trade; 
raw materials; work in progress; finished products; supplies; machinery; tools; equipment; 
intangible assets, including, but not limited to, good will, patents, copyrights, trademarks, 
franchises, licenses, domain names of websites and customer lists; and any other property or 
interest.   

 (2) The term “income” means payments that the applicant or licensee or the 
applicant’s or licensee’s community or quasi-community receives or is entitled to receive from 
any source (irrespective of whether such payments would be treated as gross income for tax 
purposes to the applicant or licensee), including, but not limited to, assets; wages, salary, tips, 
meal allowance, parking allowance, or any other monetary or non-monetary compensation as an 
employee for services rendered; interest; dividends; the conduct of a trade or business; pensions; 
social security; child support, including, but not limited to, the actual amount received in 
addition to other debts or bills the non-custodial parent is paying pursuant to a child support 
order; alimony, including, but not limited to, the debts or bills the other spouse is paying 
pursuant to an alimony order; royalties; gambling winnings; oil subsidies; and payments made by 
others on behalf of the applicant or licensee or the applicant’s or licensee’s community or quasi-
community. 

Note: Authority Cited: Section 494.5, Business and Professions Code; Section 19503, Revenue 
and Taxation Code.  Reference: Section 19195, Revenue and Taxation Code. 
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