Skip to Main Content
State of California Franchise Tax Board

Federal law limits the standard deduction. Is the state law the same?

EspaƱol

California law is the same as federal law concerning the standard deduction on the dependent child's tax return.

If your child has investment income only during the calendar year, he or she may claim a maximum of $1,000 as a standard deduction.

If your child has earned income also, the standard deduction is limited to $1,000 or the amount of their earned income plus $300, not to exceed the regular standard deduction.

Chat with an FTB Representative