Skip to Main Content
State of California Franchise Tax Board

I'm due a refund. Do I still need to file a return?

EspaƱol

Yes, you must file a return to obtain a refund of tax withheld. California law requires you to file a tax return in 2014 if:

  • You are single or not married.
  • Your gross income was more than $16,047 or your adjusted gross income was more than $12,838.
  • You are married and your combined gross income was more than $32,097 or your combined adjusted gross income was more than $25,678.

If you are required to file and you do not file, you may be subject to penalties even if you had a refund or zero balance due. If we determine you were required to file a tax return, we will compute your liability based on information available to us. We will not allow your correct withholding credits and other deductions until you file your return. We will not allow a refund if the statute of limitations has expired.

Waiting for your refund? Use our online services to check the status of your refund.

Chat with an FTB Representative