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FTB 7281 PLLC
Partnership and 
Limited Liability 
Company 
Collections 
Information
In this document, we refer to the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code as R&TC.
We divided this document into three sections. Section A 
applies to all general partnerships, limited partnerships, real 
estate mortgage investment conduits, and limited liability 
companies. Section B has additional information for limited 
partnerships and real estate mortgage investment conduits. 
Section C has additional information for limited liability 
companies.

Section A: This applies to all general partnerships, 
limited partnerships, real estate mortgage investment 
conduits, and limited liability companies.

Bill of Rights Highlights
The California Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights requires that we 
adequately protect the rights, privacy, and property of all 
California taxpayers during the process of assessing and 
collecting taxes. The following information may be helpful if 
we begin collection actions on your entity’s unpaid liability.

Alternatives to Collection Actions
You can prevent collection actions if you do any of the 
following:
•	 Pay your entity’s unpaid liability in full.
•	 Enter into an installment agreement.
•	 File required entity returns or provide proof that your entity 

has no filing requirement.

Offer in Compromise
We provide an Offer in Compromise program for entities that 
cannot pay their unpaid liability. The program allows you to offer 
a lesser amount in payment of an undisputed final liability. For 
more information regarding this program, go to ftb.ca.gov and 
search for 4905BCT. (R&TC Section 19443) 

Laws Regarding Collection Actions
Third Party Contacts
We may contact third parties to determine or collect your 
entity’s liabilities. Subject to privacy laws and your rights as 
a taxpayer, you may obtain a list of those contacts within the 
12-month period following the date of the enclosed notice. 
We must receive your request no later than 60 days after 
the 12-month period has ended. For more information, write 
to: DISCLOSURE OFFICE, FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO 
BOX 1468, SACRAMENTO CA 95812-1468. (Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 19504.7)

Installment Agreement Rejection or Termination
If we deny your request for an installment agreement 
or terminate your formal installment agreement, we 
will notify you in writing 30 days prior to the denial or 
termination of our intent. We will include an explanation 
for the denial or termination. If you received an Installment 
Agreement Cancellation Notice, and wish to reset your 
installment agreement, write to FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, 
PO BOX 942857, SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0511 or call 
888‑635‑0494. If we deny or terminate your installment 
agreement, you have a right to an administrative review. 
To stop collection actions, you must send us your written 
request for an administrative review within 30 days after the 
date of your denial notice or termination. Collection actions 
will resume after a determination of the administrative review 
has been made. If you would like to request an administrative 
review, see the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Review section.

Tax Liens
If we record a notice of state tax lien, you can get it released 
by paying the total tax liability (including any penalties and 
accrued interest) for the tax years represented by the lien. 
We record a certificate of release in the office of the county 
recorder where we filed the tax lien and/or with the California 
Secretary of State no later than 40 days after you pay the 
liability. If you pay by check, the 40-day period does not 
begin until your entity’s financial institution honors the check. 
(Government Code Sections 7174(c)(1) and 7174(e) (1))
Unfortunately, we sometimes record a notice of state tax 
lien in error. If this happens to your entity, please write to us 
and explain why the notice of state tax lien was recorded 
in error. If we agree with you, we will send a notice to the 
applicable county recorder’s office and to credit reporting 
companies stating that we filed the tax lien in error. (R&TC 
Section 21019)

Bank, Wage, or Other Levies
If we take your property and you believe our action is 
improper, you have the right to a hearing. To request 
a hearing, you must contact the Accounts Receivable 
Management Division within 30 days after we seize your 
property. At the hearing, you should provide information that 
demonstrates the need to change or withdraw our levy or 
stop the sale of your entity’s property.
If we seize your bank account in error, and you did not 
contribute to that error, we may reimburse you for related 
bank charges. You must file your reimbursement claim within 
90 days of the levy. (R&TC Section 21018)
The California Code of Civil Procedure Sections 700.010 
through 704.995, and R&TC Sections 18670 and 18671 
governs the seizure and sale of real and personal property.
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Claim for Refund – Time Limit 
There is a time limit for to request a refund from us. 
Generally, you can file a claim for refund until the later of four 
years from the due date of your return, or one year from the 
date of overpayment. (R&TC Section 19306)
Generally, you may only request a refund when you have 
paid the full amount due. For claims filed on or after 
January 1, 2002, even if you have not yet paid the amount 
due in full, you can file an informal claim for refund within the 
time frames indicated above. An informal claim for refund 
will protect your right to file an appeal with the California 
State Board of Equalization or to file suit against us in court 
until you have paid the total amount due. However, amounts 
paid more than seven years ago cannot be refunded. (R&TC 
Section 19322.1)

Internet and Telephone Assistance
Website:	 ftb.ca.gov
Telephone:	 800.852.5711 from within the United States 

916.845.6500 from outside the United States
TTY/TDD	 800.822.6268 for persons with hearing or speech 

impairments.

Collection Cost Recovery 
Fees
Collection Fee
We charge a collection fee to entities that require us to take 
collection action to resolve filing and payment delinquencies. 
(R&TC Section 19254)

Lien Fee
We charge a lien fee to entities with delinquent liabilities 
when we file a state tax lien with the county recorder or the 
California Secretary of State. (R&TC Section 19221 and 
Government Code Section 7171)

Penalties
40 Percent Accuracy Penalty
For tax years that were eligible for tax amnesty (beginning 
before January 1, 2003), we may impose an accuracy-related 
penalty if you understated your entity’s liability. The penalty 
is equal to 40 percent of the related underpayment. (R&TC 
Section 19164)

50 Percent Interest-Based Amnesty 
Penalty
We impose a penalty because your entity had a past-due tax 
liability that qualified for tax amnesty, but it did not resolve its 
tax obligations. Check ftb.ca.gov for more information. The 
penalty is equal to 50 percent of the interest that accrued on 
the balance from the original due date of the tax to March 31, 
2005. You can file a claim for refund only on the grounds that 
the amount of the penalty was not properly computed by us. 
(R&TC Section 19777.5(a)(1))

Dishonored Payment Penalty
We impose a penalty if your entity’s financial institution 
does not honor a payment you make to us by check, money 
order, or electronic funds transfer. For a payment of $1250 or 
more, the penalty is 2 percent of the payment amount. For a 
payment less than $1250, the penalty is $25 or the payment 
amount; whichever is less. (R&TC Section 19134)

Late Filing Penalty – Partnership and 
Limited Liability Company
We impose a penalty if you do not file your tax return by 
the due date. The penalty is $18 per member/partner for 
each month or part of the month the tax return is late. The 
maximum penalty is $216 per member/partner. We impose 
the penalty from the original due date of the tax return. 
(R&TC Section 19172) 

Post-Amnesty Penalty
We impose a penalty when your entity owes new or 
additional tax on a tax year that qualified for amnesty. The 
penalty is equal to 50 percent of the interest that accrued on 
the tax assessment from the original due date of the tax to 
March 31, 2005. You can file a claim for refund of this penalty 
only on the grounds that the amount of the penalty was not 
properly computed by us. (R&TC Section 19777.5(a)(2))

Information Return Penalty
We assess a penalty for failure to file complete, correct, 
and timely information returns. The penalty is calculated per 
payee: 
•	 $15 if filed 1 to 30 days after the due date. 
•	 $30 if filed 31 days to 6 months after the due date.
•	 $50 if filed more than 6 months after the due date. 
	 (R&TC Section 19183) 

Nonnotification Liability 
We assess a liability when the real estate escrow person fails 
to provide written notice of the withholding requirements to 
the buyer. The penalty is the greater of $500 or 10 percent of 
the required withholding. (R&TC Section 18662 and 18668)

Intentional Disregard Penalty 
We assess a penalty on any person, including the 
withholding agent, who intentionally disregards the filing 
or correct information reporting requirements. The penalty 
assessment is the greater of $100 or 10 percent of the 
required withholding. (R&TC Section 19183 and Internal 
Revenue Code 6721(e)) 

Failure to Remit Withholding 
We assess a liability for failure to remit withholding. Any 
person, including the withholding agent, who fails to remit or 
under remits withholding, is liable for the greater of: 
•	 The amount actually withheld, plus interest. 
•	 The amount of taxes due from the nonresident, but not 

more than the amount required to be withheld, plus 
interest. 

	 (R&TC Sections 18662 and 18668)
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Failure to Withhold 
We assess a liability for failure to withhold. Any person, 
including the withholding agent, who fails to withhold or under 
withholds withholding is liable for the greater of:
•	 The amount actually withheld, plus interest.
•	 The amount of taxes due from the nonresident, but not 

more than the amount required to be withheld, plus 
interest.

	 (R&TC Sections 18662 and 18668) 

Interest
Interest accrues on unpaid taxes from the original due date 
of the return until the date we receive full payment. Interest 
accrues on penalties from the effective date of the penalty 
until the date we receive full payment. (R&TC Section 19101) 
To find current and prior interest rates, go to ftb.ca.gov and 
search for interest rates, or call the telephone number in the 
enclosed notice.

Section B: This applies specifically to limited 
partnerships and real estate mortgage investment 
conduits. For information on general partnerships, 
please see Section A. For information on limited 
liability companies, please see Section C.

Collection Cost Recovery Fee
Filing Enforcement Fee
We charge a filing enforcement fee to entities that do not file 
a tax return by the date indicated on our written demand to 
file a tax return. (R&TC Section 19254)

Penalties
Accuracy and Fraud Penalty
Under certain circumstances, if you substantially understate 
your tax liability, we may impose one of the following 
penalties:
•	 An accuracy penalty equal to 20 percent of the related 

underpayment. 
•	 A fraud penalty equal to 75 percent of the related 

underpayment. (R&TC Section 19164)

Late Filing Penalty
If you do not file your entity’s income tax return by the due 
date, we impose a penalty of 5 percent of the tax due, after 
applying any payments and credits made on or before the 
original return due date, for each month or part of a month the 
return is late. The maximum penalty is 25 percent. We impose 
the penalty from the original due date of the return. (R&TC 
Section 19131)

Demand to File Penalty
If we send you a demand to file your income tax return or 
to provide us with information, and you do not comply, we 
impose a penalty of 25 percent of the tax on our assessment 
before applying any payments or credits. Therefore, you 
may owe penalties and interest even if your tax return 
shows that a refund is due. (R&TC section 19133) The 
demand to file penalty is in addition to the 25 percent late 
filing penalty imposed pursuant to R&TC section 19131. 

Underpayment and Monthly Penalty – 
Corporation and Partnership
We impose a penalty if you do not pay the total amount due 
shown on your entity’s tax return by the original due date. 
The penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid tax, plus .05 percent of 
the unpaid tax for each month or part of a month it remains 
unpaid - not to exceed 40 months. The maximum penalty is 
25 percent of the unpaid tax. (R&TC Section 19132)

Section C: This applies specifically to limited  
liability companies.

Fees and Tax
Filing Enforcement Fee
We charge a filing enforcement fee to entities that do not file 
a tax return by the date indicated on our written demand to 
file a tax return. (R&TC Section 19254)

Limited Liability Company Fee
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, every 
LLC subject to the LLC annual tax shall also pay an annual 
fee based on total income from all sources derived from or 
attributable to California. The LLC fee is no longer based on 
total income from worldwide sources. We treat the annual 
fee like a tax for purposes of assessment, collection, and 
penalties. (R&TC Sections 17941 and 17942)

Nonconsenting Nonresident Member’s Tax
Every nonresident individual member or foreign entity 
member must sign the Limited Liability Company’s List 
of Members and Consents (FTB 3832), and return it with 
Form 568 (Limited Liability Company Return of Income). If a 
member does not sign the List of Members and Consents, 
the company must pay tax on the member’s distributive share 
of income at the highest marginal rate. We consider any 
amount the company pays as payment from the member. 
(R&TC Section 18633.5)

Penalties
Accuracy and Fraud Penalty
Under certain circumstances, if you substantially understate 
your tax liability, we may impose one of the following 
penalties:
•	 An accuracy penalty equal to 20 percent of the related 

underpayment. 
•	 A fraud penalty equal to 75 percent of the related 

underpayment. (R&TC Section 19164)
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Late Filing Penalty – Limited Liability 
Company
We impose a penalty if you do not file limited liability 
company returns by the extended due date or if the returns 
fail to contain the required information (incomplete). For 
returns filed before January 1, 2011, the penalty is $10 per 
member for each month or part of the month the return is late 
or incomplete, not to exceed five months. For returns with 
original due dates on or after January 1, 2011, for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, the penalty is 
$18 per member for each month or part of the month that the 
failure continues, but not to exceed 12 months. The maximum 
penalty is $216 per member. We impose the late filing penalty 
in addition to the delinquent penalty. (R&TC Sections 18633.5 
and 19172) 

Demand to File Penalty
If we send you a demand to file your income tax return or 
to provide us with information, and you do not comply, we 
impose a penalty of 25 percent of the tax on our assessment 
before applying any payments or credits. Therefore, you 
may owe penalties and interest even if your tax return 
shows that a refund is due. (R&TC Section 19133) The 
demand to file penalty is in addition to the 25 percent late 
filing penalty imposed pursuant to R&TC Section 19131. 

Estimated Tax Penalty – LLCs with 
Form 568 Requirement
We assess a penalty if your LLC fails to estimate and pay its 
annual fee by the 15th day of the 6th month of the tax year. 
The penalty amounts to 10 percent of the unpaid fee. We will 
not assess this penalty if your LLC pays a fee that equals 
or exceeds the amount it paid for the previous year. This 
provision affects tax years that begin on or after January 1, 
2009. (R&TC Section 17942)

Secretary of State Penalty
The California Secretary of State imposes a penalty on 
corporations and limited liability companies that do not timely 
file their Statement of Information with the Secretary of State. 
(Corporations Code Sections 1502, 2117, 6210, 8210, 9660, 
and 17060)
Domestic stock corporations, foreign corporations, and 
limited liability companies are subject to a $250 penalty, and 
domestic nonprofit corporations are subject to a $50 penalty. 
(R&TC Section 19141 and Corporations Code Sections 
2204, 2206, 6810, 8810, 9690, 17651(b), and 17653)
You must file the required Statement of Information with the 
Secretary of State as follows:
•	 Domestic Stock Corporation: Due within 90 days of 

filing the original Articles of Incorporation and every year 
thereafter. 

•	 Domestic Nonprofit Corporation: Due within 90 days of 
filing the original Articles of Incorporation and every two 
years thereafter. However, credit unions and consumer 
cooperative corporations are required to filer every year 
instead of every two years.

•	 Foreign Corporation: Due within 90 days after the filing 
of its initial Statement and Designation and every year 
thereafter. 

•	 Limited Liability Company: Due within 90 days of filing 
the original Articles of Organization or Application for 
Registration and every two years thereafter. 

These statements are required every one or two years (as 
applicable to your entity type) even if there are no changes 
to your information. Contact the Secretary of State with 
questions regarding filing the statements or assessment of 
the penalty at: 

STATEMENT OF INFORMATION UNIT  
ATTENTION PENALTY 
CALIFORNIA SECRETARY OF STATE 
PO BOX 944230  
SACRAMENTO CA 94244-2300
916.657.5448

Contact us with questions regarding payment of the penalty 
at the numbers shown on this insert or at ftb.ca.gov.

Late Payment Penalty – Limited Liability 
Company
We impose a late payment penalty if your limited liability 
company does not timely pay the following: 
•	 Annual tax by the 15th day of the fourth month of its 

taxable year. 
•	 Fee or nonconsenting nonresident members’ tax by the 

15th day of the 4th month after the end of its taxable year. 
The failure-to-pay penalty begins at 5 percent of the total 
unpaid tax or fees. Every month or part of a month the 
amount is not paid the penalty increases 0.5 percent. The 
penalty continues to increase for 40 months, maximizing at 
25 percent. (R&TC Section 19132) 

Rights as a Taxpayer
The California Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights (R&TC Sections 
21001-21028) requires that we adequately protect the rights, 
privacy, and property of all California taxpayers during the 
process of assessing and collecting taxes. Our goal is to 
make certain we protect your rights. We want you to have the 
highest confidence in the integrity, efficiency, and fairness of 
our state tax system. FTB 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of 
Rights, includes information on state taxpayers’ rights and 
how to request written tax advice from us. Get FTB 4058 
at ftb.ca.gov or call us at 800.338.0505 (select Personal 
Income Tax), or mail us at FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO 
BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040.

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Review
You may contact the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate if you have 
an ongoing state income tax problem that you have been 
unable to resolve through normal channels. Contacting the 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate, however, is not an appeal and 
does not extend the period of time for filing one. You have 
the right to an independent administrative review if we notify 
you that we may levy your income or assets, file or record 
a notice of lien, or reject your request for an installment 
agreement. You must submit your request for review within 30 
days of the date of Final Notice Before Levy or within 30 days 
of the date of the Notice of State Tax Lien. (R&TC Sections 
19008(e), 19225, and 21015.5) You may contact Executive 
and Advocate Services for additional information or to submit 
your request for review.
Call: 800.883.5910, fax: 916.843.6022, or mail: Executive and 
Advocate Services MS A381, PO Box 157, Rancho Cordova, 
CA 95741-0157.


