
   Contact Us

Website
Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
nonresident withholding.

Phone or Fax
Phone:   888.792.4900 

	    916.845.4900 (outside U.S.)

	    800.822.6268 (TTY/TDD)

Fax:	    916.845.9512
 

Email
wscs.gen@ftb.ca.gov

(This is not a secure email address. 
Do not send confidential information.)
 

Mailing Address
WITHHOLDING SERVICES 

    AND COMPLIANCE MS F182

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942867

SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0651

  

   Withholding Services and   
   Compliance Section

The information in this brochure is 
intended to provide basic information 
to determine if you have a withholding 
requirement. There are specific rules, 
guidelines, and forms associated with 
each withholding type. For more information, 
refer to FTB Pub. 1017, Resident and 
Nonresident Withholding Guidelines.

Have a smartphone? Scan this QR 
code for more information.

FTB 4060 (NEW 01-2013)

California’s Other 
Withholding

 
   A basic overview of 
   your nonresident 
   withholding requirements

State of California
Franchise Tax Board



  When To Withhold 

Do you pay independent contractors
to provide services in California for 
your business?

Is the independent contractor a 
resident of another state?

Do you pay the independent 
contractor more than $1,500 in a 
calendar year?

If you answered yes to all three 
questions, we may require you 
to withhold 7 percent from the 
payments you make and send 
us the withheld amount.

The 7 percent withheld amount is a 
prepayment of the tax the nonresident 
independent contractor may owe on 
the income earned in our state.

This withholding requirement does not 
apply to:

   Wages you paid to employees. (The     
    Employment Development  
    Department [EDD] administers 
    wage withholding.)

   Payments for goods, supplies, 
and merchandise.

  Payments for services performed 
    outside of California.

    What To Do Now

Follow these simple steps to report 
your withholding responsibility:

1.  Deduct 7 percent from the 
 payment amount.

2.  Complete and print FTB Form 592, 
 Resident and Nonresident 
 Withholding Statement.

3.  Complete and print FTB Form 592-V, 
 Payment Voucher for Resident and      
 Nonresident Withholding.

4.  Send the withholding payment and 
 completed Forms 592 and 592-V
 to FTB. 

5.  Complete Form 592-B, Resident 
 and Nonresident Withholding Tax  
 Statement, for each independent   
 contractor, and send it to them by  
 January 31 annually.

It is important you comply with the 
withholding requirement because if 
you don’t, you could be liable for the 
amount you should have withheld, 
plus penalties and interest.

   Withholding Examples

Your business pays a nonresident 
$3,500 to perform a service 
in California.

We require nonresident withholding 
because the nonresident performed 
the service in California. Withholding 
is optional on the first $1,500, so 
you withhold:

$3,500 x 7% = $245 or 
($3,500 - $1,500) x 7% = $140

Your business pays a nonresident 
$3,500 to perform a service outside 
of California.

We do not require nonresident 
withholding on services the nonresident 
performs outside California.

Your business pays a nonresident 
$3,500 for goods used in 
your business.

We do not require nonresident 
withholding on payments for goods.

Your business pays an employee 
(resident or nonresident) wages of 
$3,500 to perform a service in or 
outside of California.

We do not require nonresident 
withholding on wages you pay to 
employees. EDD administers 
wage withholding.

  




