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Penalties

Information Return Penalty

We assess a penalty for failure to file complete, correct,

and timely information returns. The penalty is calculated

per payee. For information returns filed before

01/01/2016, the penalty is:

e $15if filed 1 to 30 days after the due date.

* $30 if filed 31 days to 6 months after the due date.

»  $50 if filed more than 6 months after the due date.

For information returns filed on or after 01/01/2016, the

penalty amount is:

e $30 if filed 1 to 30 days after the due date.

e $60 if filed 31 days to 6 months after the due date.

* $100 if filed more than 6 months after the due date.
(R&TC Section 19183)

Intentional Disregard Penalty

We assess a penalty on any person, including the
withholding agent, who intentionally disregards the filing
or correct information reporting requirements. For
information returns filed before 01/01/2016, the penalty
assessment is the greater of $100 or 10 percent of the
required withholding. For information returns filed on or
after 1/1/2016, the penalty assessment is the greater of
$250 or 10 percent of the required withholding.

(R&TC Section 19183 and IRC 6721(e))

Nonnotification Liability

We assess a liability when the real estate escrow person
fails to provide written notice of the withholding
requirements to the buyer. The penalty is the greater of
$500 or 10 percent of the required withholding.

(R&TC Sections 18662 and 18668)

Failure to Withhold and Remit

We assess a liability for not withholding and remitting

when required. Any person, including the withholding

agent, who fails to remit or under remits withholding is

liable for the greater of:

e The amount actually withheld, plus interest.

* The amount of taxes due from the nonresident, but
not more than the amount required to be withheld,
plus interest. (R&TC Sections 18662 and 18668)
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Interest Rates

Interest

We assess interest on withholding late payments at the
adjusted annual rate. We compute interest from the due
date of the withholding payment to the date paid

(R&TC Section 18668). To find current and prior interest
rates, go to fth.ca.gov and search for interest rates.

Bill of Rights and

Your Rights as a Taxpayer

The California Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights (R&TC
Sections 21001-21028) requires that we adequately
protect the rights, privacy, and property of all California
taxpayers during the process of assessing and
collecting taxes. Our goal is to make certain we protect
your rights. We want you to have the highest confidence
in the integrity, efficiency, and fairness of our state tax
system. FTB 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights,
includes information on state taxpayers’ rights. Get
FTB 4058 at ftb.ca.gov or call us at 800.338.0505
(select Personal Income Tax), or mail us at
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840,
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040.

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Review
You may contact the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate if you
have an ongoing state income tax problem that you have
been unable to resolve through normal channels.
Contacting the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate, however, is
not an appeal and does not extend the period of time for
filing one. You have the right to an independent
administrative review if we notify you that we may levy
your income or assets, file or record a notice of lien,
reject your request for an installment agreement, or
terminate your existing installment agreement. You must
submit your request for review within 30 days of the date
of Final Notice Before Levy or within 30 days of the date
of the Notice of State Tax Lien. (R&TC Sections
19008(e), 19225, and 21015.5) You may contact
Executive and Advocate Services for additional
information or to submit your request for review. To
request an independent administrative review, call:
800.883.5910, by fax: 916.843.6022, or by mail: Executive
and Advocate Services MS-A381, PO Box 157, Rancho
Cordova, 95741-0157.

Internet and Telephone Assistance

Website: ftb.ca.gov

Telephone:  800.852.5711 from within the

United States

916.845.6500 from outside the

United States

800.822.6268 for persons with hearing or
speech impairments
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