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I filed a nonresident return, why are you sending me this notice? 
You did not include the correct amount of income in your adjusted gross income from all sources on  Form 540NR, California 
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. This notice adds back the income you excluded so that we can tax 
your California income at the correct rate. 

I filed a resident return, why are you sending me this notice? 
The enclosed notice points out the specific error on your tax return. An example of that would be if you underreported your 
federal adjusted gross income by excluding  your non-California sourced income or you incorrectly subtracted income as a 
California income adjustment. 
It appears you made this error because you were not a California resident all year and tried to exclude non-California sourced 
income. The enclosed notice makes two adjustments: 

1. It adds back the excluded income. 
2. It revises your resident return to reflect the correct tax for a nonresident or part-year resident return. 

Why did you use non-California sourced income to figure my California tax rate? 
California law provides the specific method to determine the tax liability of nonresidents or part-year residents. We use your 
total income to compute the rate at which to tax your California income. We: 

1. Determine your total taxable income and tax as if you were a California resident all year. 
2. Calculate the tax rate by dividing the ‘Tax on your Total Taxable Income’ by the ‘Total Taxable Income’ itself. 
3. Multiply only your California taxable income by this rate. 

References: California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 17041, subdivisions (b) and (d) and Appeal of Dennis L. Boone, 93-SBE-015, 
October 28, 1993. 

What are the steps for calculating the tax of nonresidents or part-year residents applying the California method? 
The following example demonstrates the California method of calculating tax for nonresidents or part-year residents. 

Sally moved to California from New York on September 1, 2002. Her: 
Total income and expenses from California and New York were: 

• Wages of $30,000. 
• $300 in interest on a savings account. 
• $3,300 in itemized deductions, including $3,000 in mortgage interest she paid on her New York home. 

California income included: 
• Wages of $10,000 earned after September 1, 2002. 
• $100 in interest earned after September 1, 2002. 

Steps used to compute Sally's California tax 

Step 1 

Adjusted 
Gross Income 
(AGI) from 
All Sources 

Sally determines her AGI from all sources as if 
she was a California resident all year. This in­
cludes income both from sources inside and 
outside California. 
Note: Sally did not exclude her New York 
income in this step. 

Wages 
Interest 

AGI from all sources 

$30,000 
+ 300 

$30,300 

Step 2 Sally computes her tax on her total taxable income AGI from all sources $30,300 

Tax on Total 
Taxable 

as if she was a resident of California the entire 
year 

Itemized deductions  -3,300 

Income Note: A California resident pays this amount of Total taxable income $27,000 
tax. Tax on total taxable income $ 949 

Step 3 Sally calculates her California tax rate by dividing Tax on total taxable income  $949 

California Tax 
Rate 

the tax computed on the total taxable income by 
the total taxable income. 

Total taxable income  $27,000 

Note: This is the same tax rate we charge a California tax rate .0351 
California resident. 

Step 4 Sally's California AGI only includes income from Wages $10,000 

California 
sources inside California. Interest + 100 

Adjusted 
Gross Income 

Note: While a California resident, Sally did not 
earn or receive income from non-California California AGI $10,100 

(AGI) sources. 



Step 5 

California 
Prorated 
Itemized or 
Standard 
Deductions 

Sally's California prorated itemized 
deductions are the total deductions 
allowed a California resident multiplied 
by a ratio - California AGI divided by the 
AGI from all sources. This same 
proration formula is used if Sally claims 
the standard deduction. 

Itemized deductions  x California AGI  = CA Prorated ID 
AGI from all sources 

$ 3,300 x $10,100 = $1,100 
$30,300 

California prorated $1,100 

Note: Since Sally pays only a portion 
itemized deductions 

of the tax a California resident pays, 
her deductions are also prorated. 

Step 6 

California 
Taxable 
Income 

Sally's California taxable income is her 
California AGI minus her California 
prorated itemized deductions. 

California AGI  $10,100 

California prorated deductions -1,100 

California taxable income $ 9,000 

Step 7 Sally multiplies her California taxable California taxable income $ 9,000 

California Tax 
Before Credits 

income (Step 6) by the California tax 
rate (Step 3). California tax rate x .0351 

California tax before credits $315.90 

Step 8 

California 
Prorated 
Exemption 
Credits 

Sally multiplies her exemption credits by 
a ratio – California taxable income 
divided by the total taxable income. 

Note: Since Sally pays only a portion 
of the tax a California resident pays, 
her exemption credits are also 
prorated. 

Exemption x  California taxable income = CA Prorated Credits 
Total taxable income 

$80 x $9,000  = $27 
$27,000 

California prorated = $27 
exemption credits 

Step 9 

California Tax 

Sally computes her California tax after 
credits by subtracting her prorated 
exemption credits from her tax before 
credits. 

California tax before credits $316 

Prorated exemption credits  -27 

California tax $289 

Is California taxing my non-California sourced income? 
No. We are not taxing your non-California sourced income. Your non-California sourced income is used only to determine the 
rate of tax and the ratios used to compute your California tax liability. The California State Board of Equalization has consistently 
held that the California method of computing your nonresident tax liability is not taxing your non-California sourced income. 
References: Appeals of Louis N. Million, 87-SBE-036, May 7, 1987, and Dennis L. Boone, 93-SBE-015, October 28, 1993. 

Does it violate the U.S. Constitution for California to use income from outside California to determine my California tax 
liability? 
No. It has long been established that states may use nontaxable out-of-state assets to calculate the state's tax liability. Therefore,

we include income from outside the state to calculate your California income tax liability.

Reference: See Maxwell v. Bugbee (1919) 250 U.S. 525 [63 L. Ed. 1124]


When I use the California method, I owe more tax than if I did not include the non-California income. Is this appropriate? 
Yes. California bases its progressive rate structure on the "ability to pay" concept. Individuals with higher income pay tax at a 
higher rate than low-income individuals. The courts have reasoned that similarly situated taxpayers are those with the same total 
income. 
For example, a nonresident earning $20,000 in California, but with repor ted total income of $100,000, is taxed at the same rate 
as a resident with an income of $100,000. In effect, the $20,000 is taxed at the same tax rate as a California resident. Not using 
your total income to determine your tax rate would unfairly benefit you when compared with other taxpayers. 
References: Brady v. New York (1992) 80 N.Y.2d 596, 605 [607 N.E.2d 1060], certiorari denied (1993) 509 U.S. 905 [125 L.Ed.2d 692; 113 S. 
Ct. 2998] 



Can I change my filing status to married filing separately after I filed a joint return? 
Generally, no. You cannot elect to change your filing status to married filing separately after the due date of the tax return, 
unless either you or your spouse was: 

•	 An active member of the armed forces or any auxiliary branch, or 
•	 A nonresident for the entire taxable year with no California sourced income. 

Note: If the spouse that earned California sourced income is domiciled in a community property state, you do not meet 
the exception above. You must split the California sourced income equally between the spouses, which means both of 
you have California sourced income. 

If you meet either of the above exceptions, you must file a Form 540X (Amended Individual Income Tax Return) to change

your filing status to married filing separately within four years of the due date of the tax return.

References: California Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 18415 (a), 18521, 18566 and 19006 (b); Appeal of Bennie A. Jefferson,

79-SBE-104, June 28, 1979. 

Another state also taxed the additional income on my notice. Do I have to pay taxes to both states? 
It depends. California allows certain taxpayers a credit against California tax for net income taxes imposed by and paid to 
another state when the income is also taxed by California. To qualify as double taxed income, the income must be included in 
your California adjusted gross income.  If the income is only in the adjusted gross income from all sources and not in your 
California adjusted gross income, it is not taxed by California.  See Schedule S (Other State Tax Credit) to determine if you 
qualify for this credit. If you qualify for the credit, send us a completed Schedule S and a copy of the other state tax return with 
your correspondence. 
For information on how to obtain a Schedule S (Other State Tax Credit), see “Where To Get Income Tax Forms” below. 

Does my withholding credit pay the additional tax due? 
No. We allowed this credit when we processed your tax return. If you had any excess credit, it was refunded to you.  Any credit

amount we did not refund to you is included in the “original or revised tax” figure on the enclosed notice.

If you have additional withholding credit that was not claimed or allowed on your return, send us a copy of the Wage and Tax

Statement, Form W2 that shows the additional California state withholding credit with your correspondence.


Telephone Assistance 
From within the United States, call (800) 852-5711 
From outside the United States, call (not toll-free) (916) 845-6500 

Website at: www.ftb.ca.gov 
Assistance for persons with disabilities: We comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Persons with hearing or 
speech impairments please call TTY/TDD (800) 822-6268. 

Where To Get Income Tax Forms 
Internet California income tax forms and publications are now available on the Franchise Tax Board Website at: 

www.ftb.ca.gov 
Telephone Call our toll-free number shown under Telephone Assistance above. 
Mail Write to:	 TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 307 
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307 

FTB Pub. 1044A (REV 12-2004) 


