Notice of Proposed Assessment (Nonresident or Part-Year Resident)

Frequently Asked Questions
Tax Year 2002 and Later

California Franchise Tax Board



| filed a nonresident return, why are you sending me this notice?
You did not include the correct amount of income in your adjusted gross income from all sources on Form 540NR, California

Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. This notice adds back the income you excluded so that we can tax
your California income at the correct rate.

| filed a resident return, why are you sending me this notice?

The enclosed notice points out the specific error on your tax return. An example of that would be if you underreported your
federal adjusted gross income by excluding your non-California sourced income or you incorrectly subtracted income as a
California income adjustment.

It appears you made this error because you were not a California resident all year and tried to exclude non-California sourced
income. The enclosed notice makes two adjustments:

1. It adds back the excluded income.
2. It revises your resident return to reflect the correct tax for a nonresident or part-year resident return.

Why did you use non-California sourced income to figure my California tax rate?

California law provides the specific method to determine the tax liability of nonresidents or part-year residents. We use your
total income to compute the rate at which to tax your California income. We:

1. Determine your total taxable income and tax as if you were a California resident all year.

2. Calculate the tax rate by dividing the ‘“Tax on your Total Taxable Income’ by the ‘Total Taxable Income’ itself.

3. Multiply only your California taxable income by this rate.

References: California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 17041, subdivisions (b) and (d) and Appeal of Dennis L. Boone, 93-SBE-015,
October 28, 1993.

What are the steps for calculating the tax of nonresidents or part-year residents applying the California method?
The following example demonstrates the California method of calculating tax for nonresidents or part-year residents.
Sally moved to California from New York on September 1, 2002. Her:
Total income and expenses from California and New York were:
e Wages of $30,000.
e $300 in interest on a savings account.
e $3,300 in itemized deductions, including $3,000 in mortgage interest she paid on her New York home.
California income included:
e Wages of $10,000 earned after September 1, 2002.
e $100 in interest earned after September 1, 2002.

Steps used to compute Sally's California tax

Step 1 Sally determines her AGI from all sources as if Wages $30,000
Adjusted she was a California resident all year. This in- Interest + 300
Gross Income clud_es income b_oth from sources inside and
(AGI) from | outside California. AGI from all sources $30,300
All Sources Note: Sally did not exclude her New York
income in this step.
Step 2 Sally computes her tax on her total taxable income | AGI from all sources $30,300
Tax on Total as if she was a resident of California the entire ltemized deductions -3.300
Taxable year .
Income Note: A California resident pays this amount of | Total taxable income $27,000
tax. Tax on total taxable income $ 949
Step 3 Sally calculates her California tax rate by dividing Tax on total taxable income $949
— the tax computed on the total taxable income by Total taxable income $27.000
gglt';om'a Tax | the total taxable income. ’
Note: This is the same tax rate we charge a California tax rate .0351
California resident.
Step 4 Sally's California AGI only includes income from Wages $10,000
California sources inside California. Interest +100
Adjusted Note: While a California resident, Sally did not o
Gross Income | earn or receive income from non-California California AGI $10,100
(AGI) sources.




Step 5 Sally's California prorated itemized ltemized deductions x California AGI = CA Prorated ID

o deductions are the total deductions AGI from all sources
ga“fotmclla allowed a California resident multiplied
rorate by a ratio - California AGI divided by the
ltemized or AGI from all sources. This same $ 3,300 x $L—;g:;gg = $1,100
Standard proration formula is used if Sally claims ’
Deductions | the standard deduction. California prorated $1,100

Note: Since Sally pays only a portion itemized deductions

of the tax a California resident pays,
her deductions are also prorated.

Step 6 Sally's California taxable income is her California AGI $10,100
Californi California AGI minus her California . . .
Income California taxable income $ 9,000
Step 7 Sally multiplies her California taxable California taxable income $ 9,000
California T income (Step 6) by the California tax , )
Bgfgcr)én(lﬁfe c?i)t(s rate (Step 3). California tax rate x .0351
California tax before credits $315.90
Step 8 Sally multiplies her exemption credits by Exemption x California taxable income = CA Prorated Credits
Californi a ratio — California taxable income Total taxable income
P?olr:trenclla divided by the total taxable income.

X . . 80 $9,000 = $1,100
Exemption Note: Since Sally pays only a portion $ X $27.000 $
Credits of the tax a California resident pays, ’

her exemption credits are also California prorated = $27
prorated. exemption credits
Step 9 Sally computes her California tax after California tax before credits $316
. credits by subtracting her prorated . :
California Tax exemption credits from her tax before Prorated exemption credits 27
credits. California tax $289

Is California taxing my non-California sourced income?

No. We are not taxing your non-California sourced income. Your non-California sourced income is used only to determine the
rate of tax and the ratios used to compute your California tax liability. The California State Board of Equalization has consis-
tently held that the California method of computing your nonresident tax liability is not taxing your non-California sourced
income.

References: Appeals of Louis N. Million, 87-SBE-036, May 7, 1987, and Dennis L. Boone, 93-SBE-015, October 28, 1993.

Does it violate the U.S. Constitution for California to use income from outside California to determine my California
tax liability?

No. It has long been established that states may use nontaxable out-of-state assets to calculate the state's tax liability.
Therefore, we include income from outside the state to calculate your California income tax liability.

Reference: See Maxwell v. Bugbee (1919) 250 U.S. 525 [63 L. Ed. 1124]

When | use the California method, | owe more tax than if | did not include the non-California income. Is this
appropriate?

Yes. California bases its progressive rate structure on the "ability to pay" concept. Individuals with higher income pay tax at a
higher rate than low-income individuals. The courts have reasoned that similarly situated taxpayers are those with the same
total income.

For example, a nonresident earning $20,000 in California, but with reported total income of $100,000, is taxed at the same
rate as a resident with an income of $100,000. In effect, the $20,000 is taxed at the same tax rate as a California resident. Not
using your total income to determine your tax rate would unfairly benefit you when compared with other taxpayers.



References: Brady v. New York (1992) 80 N.Y.2d 596, 605 [607 N.E.2d 1060], certiorari denied (1993) 509 U.S. 905 [125 L.Ed.2d 692; 113 S.
Ct. 2998]

Can | change my filing status to married filing separately after I filed a joint return?
Generally, no. You cannot elect to change your filing status to married filing separately after the due date of the tax return,
unless either you or your spouse was:

e An active member of the armed forces or any auxiliary branch, or

e A nonresident for the entire taxable year with no California sourced income.

Note: If the spouse that earned California sourced income is domiciled in a community property state, you do not meet
the exception above. You must split the California sourced income equally between the spouses, which means both of
you have California sourced income.

If you meet either of the above exceptions, you must file a Form 540X (Amended Individual Income Tax Return) to change
your filing status to married filing separately within four years of the due date of the tax return.

References: California Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 18415 (a), 18521, 18566 and 19006 (b); Appeal of Bennie A. Jefferson,
79-SBE-104, June 28, 1979.

Another state also taxed the additional income on my notice. Do | have to pay taxes to both states?

It depends. California allows certain taxpayers a credit against California tax for net income taxes imposed by and paid to
another state when the income is also taxed by California. To qualify as double taxed income, the income must be included in
your California adjusted gross income. If the income is only in the adjusted gross income from all sources and not in your
California adjusted gross income, it is not taxed by California. See Schedule S (Other State Tax Credit) to determine if you
qualify for this credit. If you qualify for the credit, send us a completed Schedule S and a copy of the other state tax return with
your correspondence.

For information on how to obtain a Schedule S (Other State Tax Credit), see “Where To Get Income Tax Forms” below.

Does my withholding credit pay the additional tax due?
No. We allowed this credit when we processed your tax return. If you had any excess credit, it was refunded to you. Any credit
amount we did not refund to you is included in the “original or revised tax” figure on the enclosed notice.

If you have additional withholding credit that was not claimed or allowed on your return, send us a copy of the Wage and Tax
Statement, Form W2 that shows the additional California state withholding credit with your correspondence.

Telephone Assistance

From within the United States, call (800) 852-5711
From outside the United States, call (not toll-free) (916) 845-6500

Website at: www.ftb.ca.gov

Assistance for persons with disabilities: We comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Persons with hearing or
speech impairments please call TTY/TDD (800) 822-6268.

Where To Get Income Tax Forms

Internet California income tax forms and publications are now available on the Franchise Tax Board Website at:
www.ftb.ca.gov

Telephone Call our toll-free number shown under Telephone Assistance above.

Mail Write to:  TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 307
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307
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