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I filed a nonresident return, why are you sending me this notice?
You did not include the correct amount of income in your “adjusted gross income (AGI) from all sources” on Form 540NR, 
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. Our notice adds back the income you excluded so that we can 
tax your California income at the correct rate.

I filed a resident return, why are you sending me this notice?
The enclosed notice points out the specific error on your tax return. For example, you may have underreported your federal AGI 
by excluding your non-California sourced income, or you incorrectly subtracted income as a California income adjustment.
It appears you made this error because you were not a California resident the entire year and tried to exclude non-California 
sourced income. The enclosed notice makes two adjustments:

	 1.	 It adds back the excluded income.
	 2.	 It revises your resident return to reflect the correct tax for a nonresident or part-year resident return.

Why did you use non-California sourced income to figure my California tax rate?
California law provides the specific method to determine the tax liability of nonresidents or part-year residents. We use your total 
income to compute the rate at which to tax your California income. We:

	 1.	 Determine your total taxable income and tax as if you were a California resident the entire year.
	 2.	 Calculate the tax rate by dividing the ‘Tax on your Total Taxable Income’ by the ‘Total Taxable Income’ itself.
	 3.	 Multiply only your California taxable income by this rate.  

References: California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 17041, subdivisions (b) and (d).

What are the steps for calculating the tax of nonresidents or part-year residents applying the California method?
The following example demonstrates the California method of calculating tax for nonresidents or part-year residents.
	 Sally moved to California from New York on September 1, 2002.
	 Her total income and expenses from California and New York were:
	 •	 $30,000 in wages.
	 •	 $300 in interest on a savings account.
	 •	 $3,300 in itemized deductions, including $3,000 in mortgage interest she paid on her New York home.
	 Her California income included:
	 •	 $10,000 in wages earned after September 1, 2002.
	 •	 $100 in interest earned after September 1, 2002.

Steps used to compute Sally’s California tax

Step 1

Adjusted
Gross Income
(AGI) from 
All Sources

Sally determines her AGI from all sources as 
if she was a California resident the entire year. 
This includes income from sources inside and 
outside California.
Note: Sally does not exclude her New York 
income in this step.

Wages 	 $30,000
Interest	  + 300

AGI from all sources	 $30,300

Step 2

Tax on Total 
Taxable 
Income

Sally computes her tax on her total taxable 
income as if she was a resident of California 
the entire year.

AGI from all sources	 $30,300
Total Itemized deductions	  -3,300

Total taxable income	  $27,000
Tax on total taxable income	  $      949

Step 3

California  
Tax Rate

Sally calculates her California tax rate by 
dividing the tax computed on the total taxable 
income by the total taxable income.

	 $949	 ÷	 $27,000	 =	 .0351
	Tax on total		  Total taxable	 	 California
	taxable income	 	 income		  tax rate

Step 4

California AGI

Sally’s California AGI includes only income 
from sources inside California. 

Note: While a California resident, Sally 
did not earn or receive income from non-
California sources.

Wages	 $10,000
Interest	  + 100

California AGI	 $10,100
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Is California taxing my non-California sourced income?
No. Your non-California sourced income is used only to determine the rate of tax and the ratios used to compute your California 
tax liability. The California State Board of Equalization has consistently held that the California method of computing your 
nonresident tax liability is not taxing your non-California sourced income.

Does it violate the U.S. Constitution for California to use income from outside California to determine my California 
tax liability?
No. It has long been established by the courts that states may use nontaxable out-of-state assets to calculate the state’s tax 
liability. Therefore, we include income from outside the state to calculate your California income tax liability.

When I use the California method, I owe more tax than if I did not include the non-California income. Is this appropriate?
Yes. California bases its progressive rate structure on the “ability to pay” concept. Individuals with higher income pay tax at a 
higher rate than low-income individuals. The courts have reasoned that similarly situated taxpayers are those with the same total 
income from all sources.
For example, a nonresident earning $20,000 in California, but with reported total income of $100,000, is taxed at the same rate 
as a resident with an income of $100,000. In effect, the $20,000 is taxed at the same tax rate as a California resident. Not using 
your total income to determine your tax rate would unfairly benefit you when compared with other resident taxpayers.

Step 5

California 
Prorated 
Itemized or 
Standard 
Deductions

Sally’s California prorated itemized deductions 
(ID) are the total deductions allowed a 
California resident multiplied by the ratio of 
California AGI divided by the AGI from all 
sources. This same proration formula is used 
if Sally claims the standard deduction.

Note: Since Sally pays only a portion of 
the tax a California resident pays, her 
deductions are also prorated.

Itemized deductions  x  California AGI  = CA Prorated ID  
                  AGI from all sources

                $ 3,300  x      $10,100     =  $1,100
                                  $30,300

Prorated itemized	 $1,100 
deductions

Step 6

California 
Taxable 
Income

Sally’s California taxable income is her 
California AGI minus her prorated itemized 
deductions. 

California AGI	  $10,100

Prorated deductions	 -1,100

California taxable income	 $ 9,000

Step 7

California 
Tax Before 
Credits

Sally multiplies her California taxable income 
(Step 6) by the California tax rate (Step 3).

California taxable income	 $ 9,000

California tax rate	 x .0351

California tax before credits	 $315.90

Step 8

California 
Prorated 
Exemption 
Credits

Sally multiplies her exemption credits by the 
ratio of California taxable income divided by 
the total taxable income. 

Note: Since Sally pays only a portion of 
the tax a California resident pays, her 
exemption credits are also prorated.

	 Total
Exemption x  California taxable income = CA Prorated 		
	 Credit	 Total taxable income	 Credit

$80  x  $9,000   =    $27
	 $27,000

California prorated	 =  $27 
exemption credits

Step 9

California Tax

Sally computes her California tax after credits 
by subtracting her prorated exemption credits 
from her tax before credits. 

California tax before credits	 $316

Prorated exemption credits	  -27

California tax	 $289
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Can I change my filing status from married/registered domestic partner (RDP) filing jointly to filing separately after I 
filed a joint return?
Generally, no. You cannot elect to change your filing status to married/RDP filing separately after the due date of the tax return, 
unless you, your spouse or RDP were:
	 •	 An active member of the armed forces or any auxiliary branch.
	 •	 A nonresident for the entire taxable year with no California sourced income.
If you meet either of the above exceptions, you must file a Form 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax Return, to change your 
filing status to married/RDP filing separately within four years of the due date of the tax return.
Note: Any reference to RDPs in this publication only applies to tax years 2007 and later.
Note: If the spouse or RDP that earned California sourced income is domiciled in a community property state, you do not meet 
the exception above. You must split the California sourced income equally between the spouses or RDPs, which means both of 
you have California sourced income.

Another state also taxed the additional income on my notice. Do I have to pay taxes to both states?
It depends. California allows certain taxpayers a credit for income tax paid to another state when the income is also taxed by 
California. To qualify as double taxed income, the income must be included in your California AGI. If the income is only in the 
“AGI from all sources” and not in your California AGI, it is not taxed by California. See California Schedule S, Other State Tax 
Credit, to determine if you qualify for this credit. If you qualify for the credit, send us a completed Schedule S and a copy of the 
other state tax return with your correspondence.
For information on how to obtain a Schedule S, see “Where To Get Income Tax Forms” below.

Does my withholding credit pay the additional tax due?
No. We allowed this credit when we processed your tax return. If you had any excess credit, it was refunded to you. Any credit 
amount we did not refund to you is included in the “original or revised tax” figure on the enclosed notice. If you have additional 
withholding credit that was not claimed or allowed on your return, send us a copy of the Wage and Tax Statement, Form W2, that 
shows the additional California state withholding credit.
Telephone Assistance
	 From within the United States . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              (800) 852-5711
	 From outside the United States, call (not toll-free)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              (916) 845-6500
	 Website . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               ftb.ca.gov
Assistance for persons with disabilities: We comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Persons with hearing or speech 
impairments, please call TTY/TDD (800) 822-6268.
Asistencia en espanol
	 Dentro de los Estados Unidos, llame al . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       (800) 852-5711
	 Fuera de los Estados Unidos llame al (cargos aplican) . . . . . . . . . . .           (916) 845-6500
Asistencia para personas con discapacidades: Nosotros estamos en conformidad con la Ley sobre Estadounidenses con 
Discapacidades (ADA). Personas con discapacidades de la audición y del habla pueden llamar al TTY/TDD (800) 822-6268.

Where To Get Income Tax Forms
Internet	 California income tax forms and publications are available on the Franchise Tax Board website at ftb.ca.gov.
Telephone	 Call our toll-free number listed under Telephone Assistance above.
Mail	 Write to us at:	 TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT  MS D120 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 307 
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307 


