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General Information

Business entities doing or transacting business in
Callifornia or registered with the California Secretary of
State (SOS) can dissolve, surrender, or cancel when they
cease operations in California and need to terminate their
legal existence here.

Steps to Dissolve, Surrender,
or Cancel a Business Entity

Requirements for Franchise Tax Board (FTB)

1. File all delinquent tax returns and pay all tax balances,
including any penalties, fees, and interest.

2. File the final/current year tax return. Check the
applicable Final Return box on the first page of the
return, and write “final” at the top of the first page. All
tax returns remain subject to audit until the statute of
limitations expires.

3. Must cease doing or transacting business in California
after the final taxable year.

Requirements for Entities Registered
with SOS

File the appropriate dissolution, surrender, or cancellation
form(s) with the SOS within 12 months of filing your final
tax return. Go to PAGE 2 for a list of forms to file with

the SOS.

e Domestic corporations (those originally incorporated
in California) legally dissolve.

e Foreign corporations (those originally incorporated
outside California) legally surrender.

e Limited liability companies and partnerships (both
domestic and foreign) legally cancel.

Minimum Franchise or Annual
Tax

Your entity may avoid the minimum franchise or annual
tax for current and subsequent taxable years if you meet
all of the following requirements:

* Timely file your final franchise or annual tax return,
including extension, for the preceding taxable year.

e Must cease doing or transacting business in California
after the last day of the preceding taxable year.

* File the appropriate documents with the SOS within
12 months of the filing date of your final tax return.

Domestic Public Benefit,
Religious, and Mutual Benefit
Corporations

To complete dissolution, all domestic public benefit,
religious, and mutual benefit corporations holding
charitable assets in a trust must obtain a Dissolution
Waiver from the California Office of the Attorney General
(AG). Refer to the California Office of the Attorney
General’s publication, General Guide for Dissolving a
California Nonprofit Corporation at ag.ca.gov for more
information. The Dissolution Waiver must be filed with
SOS along with the other required documents.

Domestic or Foreign Nonprofit
Tax-Exempt Corporations Final
Tax Return Filing Requirements

The law requires tax-exempt corporations to file a

final tax return. File a Form 199, California Exempt
Organization Annual Information Return, FTB 199N,
Annual Electronic Filing Requirement for Small Exempt
Organizations (California e-Postcard), or Form 109,
Exempt Organization Business Income Tax Return,
whichever is appropriate. File the appropriate dissolution,
surrender, or cancellation documents with SOS within

12 months of the filing date of your final tax return.
Tax-exempt churches are not required to file a final return.

FTB offers telephone assistance for tax-exempt
corporations. Call FTB’s Exempt Organizations Unit at
916.845.4171, 7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays, except
state holidays.
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Suspended or Forfeited

SOS cannot accept termination documents if FTB
suspended or forfeited the entity. You must complete all
of the following FTB requirements before you submit your
termination documents to SOS:

e Pay all outstanding balances due.

¢ File all delinquent tax returns.

» File FTB 3557 BC, Application for Certificate of Revivor,
(Banks and Corporations), FTB 3557 LLC, Application
for Certificate of Revivor, (LLCs), or FTB 3557 E,
Application for Certificate of Revivor, (Tax-Exempt
Corporations).

For more information regarding the revivor process, go

to ftb.ca.gov and search for revive my entity or call
800.852.5711.

Forms to File with the California
Secretary of State

Go to sos.ca.gov to get any of the following SOS forms or
call 916.657.5448.

Domestic Stock Corporations — File one or more of the
following forms:

* Certificate of Election to Wind Up and Dissolve
(Form ELEC STK).

* Certificate of Dissolution (Form DISS STK).

e Short Form Certificate of Dissolution (Form DSF STK).
You must meet specific requirements to file this form.

Qualified Foreign and Qualified Foreign Tax-Exempt
Corporations — File a Certificate of Surrender of Right to
Transact Intrastate Business.

Domestic Limited Liability Companies Organized in
California — File one or more of the following forms:

* Certificate of Dissolution (LLC-3).
* Certificate of Cancellation (LLC-4/7).

* Short Form Certificate of Cancellation (LLC- 4/8). You
must meet specific requirements to file this form.

Connect With Us

Foreign Limited Liability Companies — File a Limited
Liability Company Certificate of Cancellation (LLC — 4/7).
A foreign limited liability company is not eligible to file the
Short Form Certificate of Cancellation.

Domestic and Foreign Limited Liability Partnerships —
File a Limited Liability Partnership Notice of Change of
Status (LLP-4).

Domestic and Foreign Registered Limited Liability
Partnerships — File a Limited Liability Partnership Notice
of Change of Status (LLP-4).

Domestic Taxable Nonprofit Corporations and
Domestic Tax-Exempt Corporations — File one or more
of the following forms:

e Certificate of Election to Wind Up and Dissolve
(Form ELEC NP).

¢ Certificate of Dissolution (Form DISS NP).

¢ A Dissolution Waiver obtained from the California Office
of the Attorney General. For information regarding the
letter or approval, call 916.445.2021.

Nonqualified Tax-Exempt Organizations — If your
tax-exempt organization is not incorporated or qualified in
California, SOS does not require any action to dissolve or
surrender. However, the organization must file a final tax
return with the FTB.

Forms and Publications

Go to ftb.ca.gov to get FTB forms and publications
or to sos.ca.gov for SOS forms. To get AG forms, call
916.445.2021.

Web: fth.ca.gov Phone:

800.852.5711 | 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays, except state holidays

916.845.6500 | from outside the United States
TTY/TDD: 800.822.6268 | for persons with hearing or speech impairments
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