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Fax 916.845.3800

Introduction

Taxes can be complex and confusing to your broadcast audience. We try to take the hassle out of tax time by offering 
innovative ways to get tax help and to file via the Internet. We appreciate your help in getting this information to the 
people in your community who need it.

Frequently Asked Questions

The following questions might assist you in planning your interview. Feel free to use these questions, frequently asked 
by the public, or choose your own. 

Q. What’s New This Year?

For 2009 and 2010, a new temporary tax increase law 
raised tax rates by one quarter of 1 percent and decreased 
the dependent exemption credit from $309 to $98 per 
dependent. 

The new state schedule for quarterly estimated tax 
payments is as follows:

•  30 percent for the first quarter.

•  40 percent for the second quarter.

•  Zero for the third quarter. 

•  30 percent for the fourth quarter. 

Who does this apply to? This schedule generally applies 
to taxpayers who do not pay through withholding and 
need to make estimated tax payments. 

New jobs tax credit – For 2009, qualified employers can 
claim a $3,000 tax credit for each additional qualified 
full-time employee they hired. Qualified taxpayers need to 

act fast as the funding is limited to $400 million. 
Employers must claim the credit on a timely filed original 
return received by the last day of the calendar quarter 
within which FTB estimates that the allocated credit 
amount will reach the $400 million limit. This credit is not 
subject to the 50 percent limitation for business credits.

An employer qualifies for the credit if both of the 
following apply:

•  It employed a total of 20 or fewer employees on the 
last day of the preceding taxable year (for calendar year 
taxpayers this would be December 31, 2008). 

•  It has  a net increase in qualified California full-time 
employees compared to the number of full-time 
employees it employed in the preceding taxable year.

Effective for 2009, federal law provides that nonresident 
civilian spouses of military personnel who are in 
California only because of their spouses’ military orders, 
are exempt from state income tax on their “service 
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income” earnings such as wages, commissions, or other 
personal service income. To qualify, civilian spouses must 
have the same “domicile” as their military spouses. The place 
you consider your true home and where you intend to return 
to make your permanent home is generally considered your 
domicile.  

Taxpayers with taxable income of more than $500,000 must 
limit their business tax credits to 50 percent of the net tax for 
2008 and 2009. Be sure to review our tax form instructions for 
specific details.  

We remind you that taxpayers can contribute to any of 15 
charitable funds featured on the tax form. Contributions reduce 
your refund or increase taxes you owe. Taxpayers who 
contribute can take a charitable contribution deduction on next 
year’s return if they itemize their deductions.

 

Q. Who Has to File? 

Surprisingly, not everyone has to file. Each year we get  
thousands of tax returns from people who have no filing 
requirements. We base our filing requirements on income 
amounts and exemption credits. For 2009, you will not  
have to file if: 

• You are single or head of household and your total income
was less than $14,622. 

• You are married or a registered domestic partner and your
total combined income was less than $29,245. 

These income threshold amounts are higher if you have  
dependent or senior exemptions. Also, the rules differ if you 
can be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s return. 

Keep in mind that if you had withholding taken from your  
pay or you made estimated tax payments, you must file a  
tax return to get your refund. 

Q. What is ReadyReturn? 

ReadyReturn is our free direct-to-government filing option 
that provides a completed state income tax return to taxpayers 
who file simple returns. You will need to review the completed 
ReadyReturn and make any necessary changes before you file. 

ReadyReturn is based on a simple premise: we use information 
we already have from you and your employers, such as W-2 
information and last year’s tax return, to provide you with a 
completed tax return. You benefit because we do most of the 
work.

You are eligible if last year you filed as single or head of 
household, earned wages from one employer, and took the 
standard deduction. You are still eligible if you claimed up to 
five dependents, claimed the nonrefundable renter’s credit, 
or have been claimed as a dependent on another person’s 
return – typically college students. 

We estimate that nearly 2 million California taxpayers qualify 
to use ReadyReturn. To see if we have a ReadyReturn waiting 
for you, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for ReadyReturn. 

Q. What is CalFile?

Available to more than 6.5 million taxpayers, CalFile is our 
free direct-to-government filing option that allows you to  
complete and e-file your state income tax return. 

CalFile accepts income up to $321,483, itemized deductions, 
and tax credits such as the nonrefundable renter’s credit and 
the child and dependent care expenses credit.

To see if you qualify to use CalFile, go to ftb.ca.gov and 
search for CalFile. 

Q. Why e-file?

• You’ll get a quick refund, normally within seven days, if you
choose direct deposit. If you mail your return in January or 
February, you’ll generally get your refund in a couple of 
weeks. However, if you wait until late March or April, expect 
to wait 6-8 weeks for your refund.  

• It’s safe, accurate, and fast. e-file returns have fewer
errors, which means you’re less likely to hear from us later.  

• You’ll know we got it. FTB sends a confirmation almost 
immediately when we receive your tax return. 

• It’s free to use CalFile or ReadyReturn. And, some
commercial software companies offer free e-file for  
selected customers. 

It also reduces the cost of government. 

Besides CalFile, there are many e-file software packages 
available to help ease the tax filing process. The programs 
walk you through a virtual tax interview and prompt you to 
take advantage of relevant tax credits. Our website provides 
links to many software vendors. You can e-file from your 
home computer or through a professional tax preparer. 

Q. Does FTB Split Refunds? 

Yes. Taxpayers can request that we electronically deposit their 
refunds into more than one account. The purpose of  
allowing you to split your refund is to encourage you to  
save at least some of your refund money. Refunds can be 
split into two accounts such as: 

• Checking  
• Savings  
• IRA  
• Money Market 

Taxpayers should make sure their financial institutions accept 
deposits into certain accounts. 



Franchise Tax Board    Media Host Guide 3

Q. What Other Services are Available at ftb.ca.gov? 

You can do many tax chores online: 

• Get your refund status. 
• Check MyFTB Account for your wage and withholding

data, plus your balance due or payments made—great for 
estimate paying taxpayers. 

• Use Web Pay to make payments via your bank account. 
• Use your credit card to make payments.  
• Apply for payment plans.  
• Email your tax questions.  
• Calculate your taxes.
• Respond to a Head of Household questionnaire.  
• Find answers to tax questions.  
• Report tax fraud.

Q. What is the Tax Gap? 

The tax gap is the difference between taxes owed and paid.  
It continues to receive a lot of attention at both the state and 
federal levels. We estimate it costs California $6.5 billion a 
year in lost tax revenue. Economists estimate that honest  
taxpayers pay nearly 15 to 20 percent more in taxes each 
year because of taxpayers who fail to pay what they owe. 

Most of the tax gap comes from people and businesses that 
underreport their income or overstate their deductions. 

You can now help solve the tax gap by reporting suspected 
tax fraud. Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for Report Tax Fraud 
or call 800.540.3453.

To encourage people to pay what they owe, we publish an  
annual list of the largest 250 tax debtors who owe $100,000  
or more. This list is updated each spring. 

We are also concentrating on conducting criminal investigations 
and prosecutions of tax evasion, fraud, and employee  
misconduct to encourage compliance and maintain the public’s 
trust. Approximately 98 percent of our criminal prosecutions 
resulted in convictions and included sentences to prison,  
jail, or probation.

Q. If I Want to Prepare My Own Tax Return, How Do I Start? 

For many people, it’s not that hard. Some points to keep in 
mind are: 

• Gather the needed documents to prepare your state tax
return, such as W-2s and 1099s to report your income.  
If you have tax deductions, gather those documents as well, 
such as property tax payment records, mortgage interest 
expense, charitable contributions, etc. 

• Complete your federal tax return first. That’s because 
the California tax return starts with your federal adjusted 
gross income. 

Follow the instructions on the California tax return. To arrive at 
California taxable income, you start with your federal adjusted 
gross income and then make adjustments for differences 
between federal and state law. 

If you don’t know, don’t guess. Contact us for answers to your 
tax questions. 

Q. Where Can I Get Tax Help? 

Internet and Telephone Assistance

Website:      ftb.ca.gov

Telephone:  800.852.5711 from within the United States
                   916.845.6500 from outside the United States

TTY/TDD:    800.822.6268 for persons with hearing or    
                   speech impairments

We are ready to answer your questions from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
weekdays, except state holidays. 

Our automated telephone line is 800.338.0505.

Field Offices  
If you want to see us in person, visit one of our six field offices 
located throughout California. Our office hours are 8 a.m. to
4 p.m. weekdays. We offer walk-in service in Los Angeles, 
Oakland, Sacramento, San Diego, San Francisco, and Santa 
Ana.

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance  
We also have free help available through the Volunteer  
Income Tax Assistance and Tax Counseling for the Elderly 
Programs. 

These programs are staffed with trained volunteers at more 
than 1,000 sites throughout California. Our volunteers provide  
free help completing tax forms for low-income, senior, disabled, 
and non-English speaking persons who need to file simple 
federal and state tax returns. 

Starting February 1 through April 15, you can search for  
the location closest to you online at ftb.ca.gov by zip code, 
city, or county.

Many military bases also provide this service for the U.S. 
Armed Forces. Go to ftb.ca.gov or call us to find a location 
nearest you. 

Q. What if I Want to Use a Tax Return Preparer?

If you decide to use an income tax preparer, you may want  
to read FTB 982 - How to Select an Income Tax Return 
Preparer. It offers tips from IRS and us about selecting 
someone you can trust. Remember, it is you, the taxpayer, 
who is responsible for the correctness of your tax return 
information. 
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Q. What Tax Credits are Available to Reduce My Tax Bill? 

We have several credits that many people can use to lower 
their taxes. 

Personal Exemption Credit  
This year’s credit totals $98 per person and $196 for married 
couples and registered domestic partners. Seniors who are 
65 years or older and blind individuals receive double the 
individual amount. 

Dependent Exemption Credit  
Families can reduce their tax bill by $98 for each dependent. 

Renter’s Credit  
Single renters can claim a $60 credit if their adjusted gross 
income is $34,412 or less. Married couples, registered  
domestic partners, or head of household filers can claim 
$120 if their adjusted gross income is $68,824 or less. 

Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit  
For individuals who pay for child or dependent care so they 
can seek or maintain employment, this credit provides up to 
$1,050. 

Federal Earned Income Tax Credit  
This is a federal incentive for low-income individuals and 
families. Taxpayers earning less than $43,279 can qualify  
for a “refundable” credit that can total up to $5,657. 

Refundable means that you do not have to have a tax liability 
to get a refund check from the government. If you think you 
might qualify, go to irs.gov and search for EITC Assistant. 
California has no comparable state credit. 

Q. What Are the Common Errors and How Do I Avoid Them? 

The most common errors are claiming the wrong estimated 
tax payments, followed by taking the wrong amount for either 
the standard or itemized deductions, and selecting the wrong 
amount of tax from the tax table on paper returns. To avoid 
these errors, we suggest you: 

• Go to ftb.ca.gov and select MyFTB Account to verify the
amounts we have on record for your estimated tax payments, 
wage and withholding information, and your current  
balance due.  

• Accurately add and transfer your total deductions to
the correct line of the tax return.

• Double-check that you look up the correct amount of tax  
   from the correct tax table.

Q. What Should I Do if I Find I Can’t File by April 15?

No problem. All taxpayers get an automatic six-month filing 
extension to October 15. The extension is only for filing the 
return and not for payment of any taxes that may be due. Be 
sure to pay by April 15 to avoid penalties and interest.  

Q. What if I Owe and Can’t Pay? 

First, always file on time and pay as much as you can with 
the return. This will save you money in penalties and interest. 
We realize that unforeseen events occur that prevent you 
from paying your taxes on time. 

If you have a financial hardship and can’t pay your taxes in 
full, you can generally arrange to make monthly installment 
payments if you owe $25,000 or less and can repay it within 
five years.

You can apply online or by mail. Go to ftb.ca.gov and search 
for installment agreement. We can approve most requests 
within a few days. 

Website:       ftb.ca.gov
Telephone:   800.689.4776, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.       

                 weekdays, except state holidays
Fax:             916.845.0993 

Mail: 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 2952
SACRAMENTO, CA 95812-2952

You may also want to consider paying by credit card. 
You can use your Discover/NOVUS, MasterCard, Visa, or 
American Express Card to pay online or by telephone:
Website:       officialpayments.com
Telephone:   800.272.9829

Keep in mind that service providers will charge you a  
convenience fee for this service based on the amount charged. 

 

Q. What if I Made an Error on My Return, Forgot to
Claim a Deduction, or Received a Late W-2? 

You can correct your California tax return by filing Form 540X, 
Amended Individual Income Tax Return. Amended returns  
do take longer to process than original returns. 

For simple math errors or missing documents, you generally 
do not need to file an amended return, as we typically correct 
math errors when we process the return. We will contact you 
about any missing documents. 

Q. What Should I Do if I Changed My Address During the  		
     Year? 

Notify us immediately! Either write to us or call, but be sure 
we have your current address, even if you leave the state. You 
can use Form 3533, Change of Address, to send us your  
new mailing address. 

Each year millions of dollars in refund checks are returned  
to us as undeliverable by the U.S. Post Office. This is  
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generally because taxpayers moved between the time they 
filed their taxes and the refunds were mailed. Refund checks 
are not forwarded by the Post Office.

Q. Why Do I Have to File Separate Federal and California          
     Returns? 

Federal tax laws differ from California tax laws, which is why 
you need to file separate tax returns for each government 
agency. To make it as easy as possible, California’s return 
starts with federal adjusted gross income and then makes 
adjustments for state differences. 

Q. What Form Do I File if I Moved into or out of California? 

You need to complete a nonresident or part-year resident 
return for the year you moved. 

Nonresidents and part-year residents can use Form 540NR, 
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax 
Return, long or short form. The short form is for those whose 
income is made up mostly from wages. 

Depending on the laws of the state that you moved to or  
from, you may have to file a return for that state too. If you  
are reporting the same income to two states, California has  
agreements with nearly all the states to allow a credit for the 
tax paid when the same income is taxed by both states. 

Q. When or Why Does FTB Do Audits? 

We select returns for audit to verify the correctness of income, 
exemptions, credits, and deductions. Most returns are 
computer selected based on the information reported on the 
return and information we receive from third parties. 

Q. What Do I Need to Do if IRS Audited Me?

Once your IRS audit is done, you should let us know within six 
months. You have the option of filing an amended tax return 
or sending us a copy of the federal changes. We eventually 
receive federal audit information, but notifying us as quickly as 
possible will save you money in interest and penalties. 

For more information, refer to FTB 1008, Federal Tax 
Adjustments and Your Notification Responsibilities to 
California.

Website:       ftb.ca.gov
Telephone:   916.845.4028
Fax:             916.843.2269

Mail:
RAR/VOL MS F310
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 1998
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1998

Q. What If I Receive Mail from FTB? 

Most notices you receive from us are to inform you of changes 
we made. You do not need to do anything. However, if we are 
asking for information, be sure to respond. 

Information notices include:
• Notice of Tax Change 
• Return Information Notice

We send these notices after we find and correct one or more 
errors while processing your tax return.

Q. What is Use Tax and How Do I Know if I Owe it? 

California residents are required to pay California use tax on 
purchases made from out-of-state sellers, such as by telephone, 
over the Internet, by mail, or in person if: 

• The seller does not collect California sales or use tax.
• You use, give away, store, or consume the item in California. 

To get more information about use tax, go to boe.ca.gov. 

Q. What Can I Do if I Think FTB is Unreasonable? 

Contact us. We equip our employees to help you with your 
problems. If you feel that you are unable to resolve your  
problem through normal channels, we have a Taxpayers’ 
Rights Advocate. You can contact the advocate’s office by: 

Website:       ftb.ca.gov
Telephone:   800.883.5910
Fax:             916.843.6022 

Mail: EXECUTIVE LIAISON SECTION MS A381 
        PO BOX 157 
        RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0157 

Q. Any Last Minute Thoughts You Want to Leave With Us     
    Today? 

ReadyReturn—Your tax return may already be done! Go to   
ftb.ca.gov and search for ReadyReturn to see if we have one 
waiting for you. 

e-file and use direct deposit to get your tax refund fast—generally 
within seven days. FTB’s ReadyReturn and CalFile are no-cost, 
easy-to-use filing options.

If you owe tax, consider using Web Pay, which allows you  
to authorize a payment from your bank account on a specific 
date to satisfy a return balance due or extension payment. 
Pay on or before April 15 to avoid penalties and interest. 

After you file, be sure to keep a copy of your tax return and 
all supporting records. We may request information from you 
regarding your tax return at any time within the California 
statute of limitations period, which is generally four years from 
the due date of the return. 
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Tax Trivia: Did You Know?

Last year, Californians filed more than 15 million tax returns 
annually and contributed nearly $50 billion toward the state’s 
general fund. 

Last year 10 million Californians received refunds  
averaging $970. 

The most common tax error is claiming the wrong amount of 
estimated tax payments. 

Last year 11 million California returns, or about 70 percent of 
the total, were filed electronically. 

FTB was established in 1929 to administer the new Bank 
and Corporation Franchise Tax Act. The first year California 
taxpayers had to file a state tax return was 1935. 

Website: ftb.ca.gov

• e-file your tax return for free using ReadyReturn, CalFile or  
   other participating online filing services.
• Check your refund status. 
• Check your account status for payments made or a balance  
   due. 
• Choose a payment option, including Web Pay. 
• Apply for an installment payment plan.
• Request an email reminder to file or to make estimated tax 
   payments.
• Find answers to frequently asked questions. 
• Get tax forms and publications. 
• Research legal rulings, reports, statistics, and much more. 

Tax Assistance Telephone Numbers  
Automated Telephone Service: 800.338.0505

Taxpayers can refer to the back of their tax booklet for 
instructions on using our automated telephone service.

General Telephone Service: 800.852.5711

If you prefer to speak to someone, call us on our general  
tax assistance line open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays.

Federal Tax Questions: 800.829.1040

Field Offices 

Los Angeles ................................300 S. Spring St. 
Oakland .....................................1515 Clay St. 
Sacramento ................................3321 Power Inn Rd. 
San Diego ..................................7575 Metropolitan Dr. 
San Francisco .............................121 Spear St. 
Santa Ana ..................................600 W. Santa Ana Blvd. 

Field office hours are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays. 
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