STATE OF CALIFORNIA
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0651

Small Business Withholding Tool

If you pay California source income® to a California nonresident, generally, you must withhold on all payments that
exceed $1,500 in a calendar year. If you backup withhold for the Internal Revenue Service, you must also backup
withhold for us on California source income. Backup withholding applies to California residents and nonresidents who do
not provide a taxpayer identification number or do not certify exemption from backup withholding when required.

Use these three stages to determine when you need to withhold. For forms, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for
withholding forms and publications.

Stage 1 Forms Tasks
Before you Form 590, Withholding Give Form 590 to your payee. A payee who is a California
make a Exemption Certificate resident or a business with resident status can use this form to
payment . certify exemption from withholding. When certified, no withholding
Due: Prior to payment. . :
is required.
Keep a copy for your records. Form 590 does not apply to
payments subject to backup withholding.
Form 587, Nonresident A payee can use Form 587 to allocate California source
Withholding Allocation Worksheet | payments and determine if withholding is required. This form
Due: Prior to bavment must be certified and is valid for the duration of the contract
' pay ' provided there is no material change in the facts.
Keep a copy for your records. This form applies to payments
subject to backup withholding.
Form 588, Nonresident A payee must use Form 588 to apply for a waiver. We must
Withholding Waiver Request approve the waiver. No withholding is required with an
Due: 21 business days prior to approved waiver.
payment. Keep a copy of the approved waiver for your records. Form 588
does not apply to payments subject to backup withholding.
Form 589, Nonresident Reduced | A payee must use Form 589 to request a reduction in
Withholding Request withholding. If we approve the reduced withholding, our approval
) . . letter will state the reduced amount for you to withhold.
Due: 10 days when filed online or
21 business days prior to Keep a copy of the approval letter for your records. Form 589
payment if submitted by mail. does not apply to payments subject to backup withholding.
Stage 2 Forms Tasks
At the time None. Withhold 7 percent on all California source payments exceeding
you make a $1,500 in a calendar year, unless you receive one of the following
payment forms or approval letters as described above: Form 587, 588,

589, or 590. If backup withholding applies, withhold 7 percent.

! Payment for services performed and income received on assets located in California.
2 We use the term “payee” to describe any person or entity that receives payment. Payees may be residents or nonresidents of California.
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Stage 3

Forms

Tasks

After you make
a payment

Form 592, Resident and
Nonresident Withholding

Statement

Payment period Due date
U1-331.iiiiicee, 4/15
4/1-5/31 ... 6/15
6/1-8/31..ccceeiiien, 9/15
9/1-12/31..cccviiiinn. 1/15

Prepare and send us a timely Form 592, either electronically or
by mail. List all payees withheld upon during the filing period. FTB
credits the withholding to the payees’ accounts.

We assess a penalty for failure to file complete, correct, and
timely returns. The penalty is calculated per payee as follows:

e $30if filed 1 to 30 days after due date.

e $60 if filed 31 days to 6 months after due date.

e $100 if filed more than 6 months after due date.
(R&TC Section 19183)

Form 592-V, Payment Voucher
for Resident and Nonresident
Withholding

Due: See Form 592 due dates.

Send Form 592-V with a check or money order when you submit
a completed Form 592 to us.

Form 592-B, Resident and
Nonresident Withholding Tax
Statement

Due:

e January 31 (Stockbrokers —
February 15) following the
close of the calendar year.

e Foreign partners or members
on or before the fifteenth day
of the fourth month following
the close of the taxable year.

Send each payee Form 592-B and keep a copy for your records.

A payee attaches a copy of Form 592-B when filing the required
California tax return as proof of California source income and
withholding credit.

We assess a penalty for failure to file complete, correct, and
timely returns. The penalty is calculated per payee as follows:

e $100 for each payee statement not provided by due date.

e $250 or 10 percent of amount required to be reported
(whichever is greater) if failure is due to intentional disregard
of the requirement.

(R&TC Section 19183)

Internet and Telephone Assistance

Website:
Telephone:

ftb.ca.gov
800.852.5711 from within the United States

916.845.6500 from outside the United States

TTY/TDD:
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800.822.6268 for persons with hearing or speech impairments
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