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Important Dates
When the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline to file and pay without penalty is extended to the next business day. Due to the federal 
Emancipation Day holiday observed on April 15, 2022, tax returns filed and payments mailed or submitted on April 18, 2022, will be considered timely. 

April 18, 2022*
*If you are living or traveling outside the United States on April 18, 2022, the dates for filing your tax return and paying your 

tax are different. See form FTB 3519 for more information. 

Last day to file and pay the 2021 amount you owe to avoid penalties and interest.* See form FTB 3519 for more information. 

October 17, 2022 Last day to file or e-file your 2021 tax return to avoid a late filing penalty and interest computed from the original due date of 
April 18, 2022.

April 18, 2022 
June 15, 2022 
September 15, 2022 
January 17, 2023 

The dates for 2022 estimated tax payments. Generally, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if the total of your 
California withholdings is 90% of your required annual payment. Also, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if you 
will pay enough through withholding to keep the amount you owe with your tax return under $500 ($250 if married/registered 
domestic partner (RDP) filing separately). However, if you do not pay enough tax either through withholding or by making 
estimated tax payments, you may have an underpayment of estimated tax penalty. For more information, call 800.338.0505, 
select personal income tax, then select frequently asked questions, and enter code 208.

$$$ for You
Earned Income Tax Credit 
• Federal Earned Income Credit (EIC) – Go to the Internal Revenue Service 

(IRS) website at irs.gov/taxtopics and choose topic 601, get the federal 
income tax booklet; or go to irs.gov and search for eitc assistant.

• California Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) – EITC reduces your California 
tax obligation, or allows a refund if no California tax is due. You may 
qualify if you have wage income earned in California and/or net earnings 
from self-employment of less than $30,001. You do not need a child to 
qualify. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for eitc or get 
form FTB 3514, California Earned Income Tax Credit.

Young Child Tax Credit 
•  Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC) – YCTC reduces your California tax obligation, 

or allows a refund if no California tax is due. You may qualify for the credit 
if you qualified for the CA EITC and you have at least one qualifying child 
who is younger than six years old as of the last day of the taxable year. For 
more information, see the instructions for line 86, Form 540NR, California 
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, and get form 
FTB 3514.

Refund of Excess State Disability Insurance (SDI) – If you worked for at least 
two employers during 2021 who together paid you more than $128,298 in wages, 
you may qualify for a refund of excess SDI. See the instructions on page 15.

Common Errors and How to Prevent Them
Help us process your tax return quickly and accurately. When we find an error, 
it requires us to stop to verify the information on the tax return, which slows 
processing. The most common errors consist of: 
• Claiming the wrong amount of estimated tax payments.
• Claiming the wrong amount of standard deduction or itemized deductions.
• Claiming a dependent already claimed on another return.
• The amount of refund or payments made on an original return does not match 

our records when amending your tax return.
• Claiming the wrong amount of withholding by incorrectly totaling or transferring 

the amounts from your federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement.
• Claiming the wrong amount of real estate withholding.
• Claiming the wrong amount of SDI.
• Claiming the wrong amount of exemption credits.

To avoid errors and to help process your tax return faster, use these helpful hints 
when preparing your tax return.

Claiming estimated tax payments:
• Verify the amount of estimated tax payments claimed on your tax return 

matches what you sent to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) for that year. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB to view your total estimated tax 
payments before you file your tax return.

• Verify the overpayment amount from your 2020 tax return you requested to 
be applied to your 2021 estimated tax.

Claiming state disability insurance: 
• Verify the amount of SDI used to figure the amount of excess SDI claimed on 

Form 540NR, line 84, matches amounts from your W-2’s.

Claiming standard deduction or itemized deductions:
• See Form 540NR, line 18 instructions and worksheets for the amount of 

standard deduction or itemized deductions you can claim.

Claiming withholding amounts:
• Go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB to verify withheld amount or 

see instructions for line 81 of Form 540NR. Confirm only California income 
tax withheld is claimed.

• Verify real estate or other withholding amount from Form 592-B, Resident 
and Nonresident Withholding Tax Statement, and Form 593, Real Estate 
Withholding Statement. See instructions for line 83 for Form 540NR.

Claiming refund or payments made on an original return when 
amending your tax return:
• Go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB to check tax return records 

for refund or payments made.
• Verify the amount from your original return Form 540NR, line 125, and 

include any adjustment by FTB.

Use e-file:
• By using e-file, you can eliminate many common errors. Go to ftb.ca.gov and 

search for efile options.
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Do I Have to File? 
Steps to Determine Filing Requirement
If you are a nonresident of California and received income in 2021 with 
sources in California, go to Step 1. For more details see page 8.
Step 1: Is your gross income (gross income is computed under California law 
and consists of all income received from all sources in the form of money, goods, 
property, and services, that are not exempt from tax) more than the amount 
shown in the California Gross Income chart below for your filing status, age, and 
number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, go to Step 2.
Step 2: Is your adjusted gross income (adjusted gross income is  computed 
under California law and consists of your federal adjusted gross income from 
all sources, reduced or increased by all California income adjustments) more 

than the amount shown in the California Adjusted Gross Income chart below 
for your filing status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing 
requirement. If no, go to Step 3.
Step 3: If your income is less than the amounts on the chart you may still have a 
filing requirement. See “Requirements for Children with Investment Income” and 
“Other Situations When You Must File.” Do those instructions apply to you? If 
yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, go to step 4.
Step 4: Are you married/RDP filing separately with separate property income? If 
no, you do not have a filing requirement. If yes, prepare a tax return. If you owe 
tax, you have a filing requirement. 
Active duty military personnel, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military 
Personnel.

On 12/31/21, 
my filing status was:

and on 12/31/21, 
my age was: 
(If your 65th birthday is on 
January 1, 2022, you are considered to be 
age 65 on December 31, 2021)

California Gross Income California Adjusted Gross Income 

Dependents Dependents 

0 1
2 

or more 0 1
2 

or more

Single or 
Head of household 

Under 65 19,310 32,643 42,643 15,448 28,781 38,781
65 or older 25,760 35,760 43,760 21,898 31,898 39,898

Married/RDP filing jointly 
Married/RDP filing separately 
(The income of both spouses/RDPs must 
be combined; both spouses/RDPs may be 
required to file a tax return even if only one 
spouse/RDP had income over the amounts 
listed.)

Under 65 (both spouses/RDPs) 38,624 51,957 61,957 30,901 44,234 54,234
65 or older (one spouse/RDP) 45,074 55,074 63,074 37,351 47,351 55,351
65 or older (both spouses/RDPs) 51,524 61,524 69,524 43,801 53,801 61,801

Qualifying widow(er) Under 65  32,643 42,643  28,781 38,781
65 or older  35,760 43,760  31,898 39,898

Dependent of another person – 
Any filing status

Any age More than your standard deduction (Use the California Standard Deduction 
Worksheet for Dependents on page 11 to figure your standard deduction.)

Requirements for Children with Investment Income
California law conforms to federal law which allows parents’ election to report 
a child’s interest and dividend income from children under age 19 or a student 
under age 24 on the parent’s tax return. For each child under age 19 and student 
under age 24 who received more than $2,200 of investment income in 2021, 
complete Form 540NR and form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Certain Children 
with Unearned Income, to figure the tax on a separate Form 540NR for your child.
If you qualify, you may elect to report your child’s income of $11,000 or less (but 
not less than $1,100) on your return by completing form FTB 3803, Parents’ 
Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. To make this election, your 
child’s income must be only from interest and/or dividends. See “Order Forms 
and Publications” or go to ftb.ca.gov/forms.

Other Situations When You Must File
If you have a tax liability for 2021 or owe any of the following taxes for 2021, you 
must file Form 540NR.
• Tax on a lump-sum distribution.
• Tax on a qualified retirement plan including an Individual Retirement 

Arrangement (IRA) or an Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA).
• Tax for children under age 19 or a student under age 24 who have investment 

income greater than $2,200 (see paragraph above).
• Alternative minimum tax.
• Recapture taxes.
• Deferred tax on certain installment obligations.
• Tax on an accumulation distribution from a trust.

Filing Status
Use the same filing status for California that you used for your federal income tax 
return, unless you are an RDP. If you are an RDP and file single for federal, you 
must file married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately for California. 
If you are an RDP and file head of household for federal purposes, you may file 
head of household for California purposes only if you meet the requirements to be 
considered unmarried or considered not in a domestic partnership.
Exception: If you file a joint tax return for federal, you may file separately for 
California if either spouse was either of the following:
• An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary military 

branch during 2021.
• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California sources 

during 2021. 
Community Property States: If the spouse earning the California source 
income is domiciled in a community property state, community income 
will be split equally between the spouses. Both spouses will have California 
source income and they will not qualify for the nonresident spouse exception.

If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for California 
you would have used to file a federal income tax return.

Single
You are single if any of the following is true on December 31, 2021:
• You were never married or an RDP.
• You were divorced under a final decree of divorce, legally separated under a final 

decree of legal separation, or terminated your registered domestic partnership.
• You were widowed before January 1, 2021, and did not remarry or enter into 

another registered domestic partnership in 2021.
Married/RDP Filing Jointly 
You may file married/RDP filing jointly if any of the following is true:
• You were married or an RDP as of December 31, 2021, even if you did not 

live with your spouse/RDP at the end of 2021.
• Your spouse/RDP died in 2021 and you did not remarry or enter into another 

registered domestic partnership in 2021.
• Your spouse/RDP died in 2022 before you filed a 2021 tax return.
Married/RDP Filing Separately 
• Community property rules apply to the division of income if you use 

the married/RDP filing separately status. For more information, get 
FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status, FTB Pub. 737, 
Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners, or FTB Pub. 1032. See 
“Order Forms and Publications” or go to ftb.ca.gov/forms.

• You cannot claim a personal exemption credit for your spouse/RDP even if 
your spouse/RDP had no income, is not filing a tax return, and is not claimed 
as a dependent on another person’s tax return.

• You may be able to file as head of household if your child lived with you 
and you lived apart from your spouse/RDP during the entire last six months 
of 2021.

Head of Household
For the specific requirements that must be met to qualify for head of household 
(HOH) filing status, get FTB Pub. 1540, Tax Information for Head of Household 
Filing Status. In general, HOH filing status is for unmarried individuals and certain 
married individuals or RDPs living apart who provide a home for a specified 
relative. You may be entitled to use HOH filing status if all of the following apply:
• You were unmarried and not in a registered domestic partnership, or you 

met the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered not in a 
registered domestic partnership on December 31, 2021.

• You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up your home for the year 
in 2021.

• For more than half the year, your home was the main home for you and one of the 
specified relatives who by law can qualify you for HOH filing status.

• You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.
For a child to qualify as your foster child for HOH purposes, the child must either 
be placed with you by an authorized placement agency or by order of a court.
California requires taxpayers who use HOH filing status to file form FTB 3532, 
Head of Household Filing Status Schedule, to report how the HOH filing status 
was determined.
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Beginning in tax year 2018, if you do not attach a completed form FTB 3532 to 
your tax return, we will deny your HOH filing status. For more information about 
the HOH filing requirements, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for hoh. To get form 
FTB 3532, see “Order Forms and Publications” or go to ftb.ca.gov/forms.
Qualifying Widow(er)
Check the box on Form 540NR, line 5 and use the joint tax return tax rates for 
2021 if all five of the following apply:
• Your spouse/RDP died in 2019 or 2020 and you did not remarry or enter into 

another registered domestic partnership in 2021.
• You have a child, stepchild, or adopted child (not a foster child) whom you 

can claim as a dependent or could claim as a dependent except that, for 2021:
= The child had gross income of $4,300 or more;
= The child filed a joint return, or
= You could be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s return.

If the child isn’t claimed as your dependent, enter the child’s name in the entry 
space under the “Qualifying widow(er)” filing status.

• This child lived in your home for all of 2021. Temporary absences, such as for 
vacation or school, count as time lived in the home.

• You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for this child.
• You could have filed a joint tax return with your spouse/RDP the year he or 

she died, even if you actually did not do so.

Which Form To Use
Beginning in tax year 2019, Short Form 540NR, has been eliminated. Use 
Form 540NR if either you or your spouse/RDP were a nonresident or part-year 
resident in tax year 2021.
If you and your spouse/RDP were California residents during the entire 
tax year 2021, use Forms 540, California Resident Income Tax Return, or 
540 2EZ, California Resident Income Tax Return. To download or order the 540 
Personal Income Tax Booklet or the 540 2EZ Personal Income Tax Booklet, go to 
ftb.ca.gov/forms or see “Where to Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

What’s New and Other Important Information for 2021
Differences between California and Federal Law
In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, California law 
conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015. However, 
there are continuing differences between California and federal law. When 
California conforms to federal tax law changes, we do not always adopt all of the 
changes made at the federal level. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and 
search for conformity. Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, 
Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California 
Schedule CA (540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or Part-Year 
Residents, and the Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of California 
tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing their state income 
tax returns. We include information that is most useful to the greatest number 
of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is not possible to include all 
requirements of the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) in the 
instructions. Taxpayers should not consider the instructions as authoritative law.
Conformity – For updates regarding federal acts, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
conformity.

2021 Tax Law Changes/What’s New
Voluntary Contributions – You may contribute to the following new funds: 
• Mental Health Crisis Prevention Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund
• California Community and Neighborhood Tree Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund
COBRA Premium Assistance – The American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) of 2021, 
enacted on March 11, 2021, allows an exclusion from gross income for COBRA 
premium assistance subsidies received by eligible individuals for the COBRA 
coverage period beginning on April 1, 2021 and ending on September 30, 2021. 
California law does not conform to this federal provision. For more information, 
see Schedule CA (540NR) instructions. 
Employer-Provided Dependent Care Assistance Exclusion – California conforms 
to the employer-provided dependent care assistance exclusion from gross income 
as of the specified date of January 1, 2015, without any modifications. The ARPA 
of 2021, enacted on March 11, 2021, temporarily increases the amount of the 
exclusion from gross income from $5,000 to $10,500 (and half of that amount for 
married filing separate) for employer-provided dependent care assistance. CA law 
does not conform to this change  under the federal ARPA. For more information, 
see Schedule CA (540NR) instructions.
Expanded Definition of Qualified Higher Education Expenses – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2021, California law conforms to the expanded 
definition of qualified higher education expenses associated with participation in 
a registered apprenticeship program and payment on the principal or interest of 
a qualified education loan under the federal Further Consolidated Appropriations 
Act, 2020.
Federal Acts – In general, R&TC does not conform to the changes under the 
following federal acts. California taxpayers continue to follow the IRC as of the 
specified date of January 1, 2015, with modifications. For specific adjustments 
due to the following acts, see the Schedule CA (540NR) instructions.
• American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) of 2021 (enacted on March 11, 2021)
• Consolidated Appropriations Act (CAA), 2021 (enacted on December 27, 2020)
• Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act (enacted on 

March 27, 2020)
• Setting Every Community Up for Retirement Enhancement (SECURE) Act 

(enacted on December 20, 2019)

California Microbusiness COVID-19 Relief Grant – For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023, California law allows 
an exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by a taxpayer 
pursuant to the California Microbusiness COVID-19 Relief Program that is 
administered by the Office of Small Business Advocate (CalOSBA). For more 
information, see R&TC Section 17158.1 and Schedule CA (540NR) instructions. 
Shuttered Venue Operator Grant – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, California law allows an exclusion from gross income for 
amounts awarded as a shuttered venue operator grant under the CAA, 2021. 
The CAA, 2021, allows deductions for eligible expenses paid for with grant 
amounts. California law conforms to this federal provision, with modifications. 
For California purposes, these deductions do not apply to an ineligible entity. 
“Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that is either a publicly-traded company 
or does not meet the 25% reduction from gross receipts requirements under 
Section 311 of Division N of the CAA, 2021. For more information, see R&TC 
Section 17158.3 and Schedule CA (540NR) instructions. 
California Venues Grant – For taxable years beginning on or after 
September 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2030, California law allows an 
exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by a taxpayer 
pursuant to the California Venues Grant Program that is administered by 
CalOSBA. For more information, see R&TC Section 17158 and Schedule 
CA (540NR) instructions.  
Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant Program – For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2030, California allows 
an exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by a taxpayer 
pursuant to the COVID-19 Relief Grant under Executive Order No.E 20/21-182 
and the California Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant Program established by 
Section 12100.83 of the Government Code. For more information, see Schedule 
CA (540NR) instructions.
Income Exclusion for Rent Forgiveness – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2025, gross income shall not include a 
tenant’s rent liability that is forgiven by a landlord or rent forgiveness provided 
through funds grantees received as a direct allocation from the Secretary of the 
Treasury based on the federal CAA, 2021. For more information, see Schedule 
CA (540NR) instructions.
Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) Loans Forgiveness – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2019, California law allows an exclusion from 
gross income for covered loan amounts forgiven under the federal CARES Act, 
Paycheck Protection Program and Health Care Enhancement Act, Paycheck 
Protection Program Flexibility Act of 2020, the CAA, 2021, or the PPP Extension 
Act of 2021.
Also, the ARPA expands PPP eligibility to include “additional covered nonprofit 
entities” which includes certain Code 501(c) nonprofit organizations and Internet-
only news publishers and Internet-only periodical publishers. California law 
does not conform to this expansion of PPP eligibility. For more information, see 
Schedule CA (540NR) instructions.
The CAA, 2021, allows deductions for eligible expenses paid for with covered loan 
amounts. California law conforms to this federal provision, with modifications. 
For California purposes, these deductions do not apply to an ineligible entity. 
“Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that is either a publicly-traded company 
or does not meet the 25% reduction from gross receipts requirements under 
Section 311 of Division N of the CAA, 2021. For more information, see Schedule 
CA (540NR) instructions or R&TC Section 17131.8 or go to ftb.ca.gov and 
search for AB 80.
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Revenue Procedure 2021-20 allows taxpayers to make an election to report 
the eligible expense deductions related to a PPP loan on a timely filed original 
2021 tax return including extensions. If a taxpayer makes an election for federal 
purposes, California will follow the federal treatment for California tax purposes.
Advance Grant Amount – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, 
California law conforms to the federal law regarding the treatment for an 
emergency Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) grant under the federal CARES 
Act or a targeted EIDL advance under the CAA, 2021.
Other Loan Forgiveness – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, California law allows an exclusion from gross income for 
borrowers of forgiveness of indebtedness described in Section 1109(d)(2)(D) 
of the federal CARES Act as stated by section 278, Division N of the federal 
CAA, 2021. The CAA, 2021, allows deductions for eligible expenses paid for 
with covered loan amounts. California law conforms to this federal provision, 
with modifications. For California purposes, these deductions generally do not 
apply to an ineligible entity. “Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that is either a 
publicly-traded company or does not meet the 25% reduction from gross receipts 
requirements under Section 311 of the CAA, 2021. For more information, see 
Schedule CA (540NR) instructions or go to ftb.ca.gov and search for AB 80.
Gross Income Exclusion for Bruce’s Beach – Effective September 30, 2021, California 
law allows an exclusion from gross income for the first time sale in the taxable year 
in which the land within Manhattan State Beach, known as “Peck’s Manhattan Beach 
Tract Block 5” and commonly referred to as “Bruce’s Beach” is sold, transferred, or 
encumbered. A recipient’s gross income does not include the following: 
• Any sale, transfer, or encumbrance of Bruce’s Beach; 
• Any gain, income, or proceeds received that is directly derived from the sale, 

transfer, or encumbrance of Bruce’s Beach. 
For more information, get Schedule D (540NR), California Capital Gain or Loss 
Adjustment.
Reporting Requirements – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, 
taxpayers who benefited from the exclusion from gross income for the PPP 
loans forgiveness, other loan forgiveness, the EIDL advance grant, restaurant 
revitalization grant, or shuttered venue operator grant, and related eligible expense 
deductions under the federal CARES Act, Paycheck Protection Program and Health 
Care Enhancement Act, Paycheck Protection Program Flexibility Act of 2020, 
the ARPA of 2021, the CAA, 2021, or the PPP Extension Act of 2021, should file 
form FTB 4197, Information on Tax Expenditure Items, as part of the FTB’s annual 
reporting requirement. For more information, get form FTB 4197.
Moving Expense Deduction – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2021, taxpayers should file California form FTB 3913, Moving Expense 
Deduction, to claim moving expense deductions. Attach the completed form FTB 3913 
to Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. For 
more information, see Schedule CA (540NR) instructions and get form FTB 3913.  
Homeless Hiring Tax Credit – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2022, and before January 1, 2027, a Homeless Hiring Tax Credit 
(HHTC) will be available to a qualified taxpayer that hires individuals who are, 
or recently were, homeless. The amount of the tax credit will be based on the 
number of hours the employee works in the taxable year. Employers must obtain 
a certification of the individual’s homeless status from an organization that 
works with the homeless and must receive a tentative credit reservation for that 
employee. Any credits not used in the taxable year may be carried forward up to 
three years. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for hhtc. 
Elective Tax for Pass-Through Entities (PTE) and Credit for Owners – For 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, and before January 1, 2026, 
California law allows an entity taxed as a partnership or an “S” corporation to 
annually elect to pay an elective tax at a rate of 9.3 percent based on its qualified 
net income. The election shall be made on an original, timely filed return and is 
irrevocable for the taxable year. 
The law allows a credit against the personal income tax to a taxpayer, other than 
a partnership, that is a partner, shareholder, or member of a qualified entity that 
elects to pay the elective tax, in an amount equal to 9.3 percent of the partner’s, 
shareholder’s, or member’s pro rata share or distributive share and guaranteed 
payments of qualified net income subject to the election made by the qualified 
entity. A disregarded business entity and its partners or members cannot claim the 
credit, except for a disregarded single member limited liability company (SMLLC) 
that is owned by an individual, fiduciary, estate, or trust subject to personal income 
tax. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for pte elective tax and get 
the following new PTE elective tax forms and instructions: 
• Form FTB 3893, Pass-Through Entity Elective Tax Payment Voucher 
• Form FTB 3804, Pass-Through Entity Elective Tax Calculation 
• Form FTB 3804-CR, Pass-Through Entity Elective Tax Credit 
Main Street Small Business Tax Credit II – For the taxable year beginning on 
or after January 1, 2021, and before January 1, 2022, a new Main Street Small 
Business Tax Credit is available to a qualified small business employer that 
received a tentative credit reservation from the California Department of Tax and 

Fee Administration (CDTFA). For more information, get form FTB 3866, Main 
Street Small Business Tax Credits. 
New Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables Credit – The sunset date for the 
New Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables Credit is extended until taxable years 
beginning before January 1, 2027. For more information, get form FTB 3814, New 
Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables Credit. 
Natural Heritage Preservation Credit – The Natural Heritage Preservation Credit 
is available for qualified contributions made on or after January 1, 2021, and no 
later than June 30, 2026. This credit may not be claimed for any contributions 
made on or after July 1, 2020, and on or before December 31, 2020. For more 
information, get form FTB 3503, Natural Heritage Preservation Credit.

Other Important Information
Dependent Exemption Credit with No ID – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2018, taxpayers claiming a dependent exemption credit for a dependent 
who is ineligible for a Social Security Number (SSN) and a federal Individual 
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) may provide alternative information to the 
FTB to identify the dependent. To claim the dependent exemption credit, taxpayers 
complete form FTB 3568, Alternative Identifying Information for the Dependent 
Exemption Credit, attach the form and required documentation to their tax return, 
and write “no id” in the SSN field of line 10, Dependents, on Form 540NR. For each 
dependent being claimed that does not have an SSN and an ITIN, a form FTB 3568 
must be provided along with supporting documentation.
Taxpayers may amend their tax return beginning with taxable year 2018 to claim 
the dependent exemption credit. For more information on how to amend your tax 
returns, see “Instructions for Filing a 2021 Amended Return” on page 26.
CARES Act Qualified Employer Plan Loans – For taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2020, California conforms to the qualified employer plan loans 
provision under the federal CARES Act which temporarily increases the amount 
of loans allowable from a qualified employer plan to $100,000 for coronavirus-
related relief and delays by one year the due date for any repayment for an 
outstanding loan from a qualified employer plan if requirements are met.  
Expansion for Credits Eligibility – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, California expanded EITC and YCTC eligibility to allow either 
the federal ITIN or the SSN to be used by all eligible individuals, their spouses, 
and qualifying children. If an ITIN is used, eligible individuals should provide 
identifying documents upon request of the FTB. Any valid SSN can be used, not 
only those that are valid for work. Additionally, upon receiving a valid SSN, the 
individual should notify the FTB in the time and manner prescribed by the FTB. 
The YCTC is available if the eligible individual or spouse has a qualifying child 
younger than six years old. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
eitc, or get form FTB 3514.
Worker Status: Employees and Independent Contractors – Some individuals 
may be classified as independent contractors for federal purposes and employees 
for California purposes, which may also cause changes in how their income and 
deductions are classified. Proposition 22 was operative as of December 16, 2020 
and may affect a taxpayer’s worker classification. For more information, see the 
instructions for Schedule CA (540NR).
Minimum Essential Coverage Individual Mandate – For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2020, California law requires residents and their 
dependents to obtain and maintain minimum essential coverage (MEC), also 
referred to as qualifying health care coverage. Individuals who fail to maintain 
qualifying health care coverage for any month during the taxable year will be 
subject to a penalty unless they qualify for an exemption. For more information, 
see specific line instructions for Form 540NR, lines 74, 87, and 91, or get the 
following health care forms, instructions, and publications: 
• Form FTB 3849, Premium Assistance Subsidy 
• Form FTB 3853, Health Coverage Exemptions and Individual Shared 

Responsibility Penalty
• Form FTB 3895, California Health Insurance Marketplace Statement 
• Publication 3849A, Premium Assistance Subsidy (PAS) 
• Publication 3895B, California Instructions for Filing Federal Forms 1094-B 

and 1095-B
• Publication 3895C, California Instructions for Filing Federal Forms 1094-C 

and 1095-C 
Rental Real Estate Activities – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, the dollar limitation for the offset for rental real estate activities 
shall not apply to the low income housing credit program. For more information, 
see R&TC Section 17561(d)(1). Get form FTB 3801-CR, Passive Activity Credit 
Limitations, for more information.
R&TC Section 41 Reporting Requirements – Beginning in taxable year 2020, 
California allows individuals and other taxpayers operating under the personal 
income tax law to claim credits and deductions of business expenses paid or 
incurred during the taxable year in conducting commercial cannabis activity. Sole 
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proprietors conducting a commercial cannabis activity that is licensed under 
California Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act should 
file form FTB 4197. The FTB uses information from form FTB 4197 for reports 
required by the California Legislature. Get form FTB 4197 for more information. 
Net Operating Loss Suspension – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023, California has suspended the net 
operating loss (NOL) carryover deduction. Taxpayers may continue to compute 
and carryover an NOL during the suspension period. However, taxpayers with net 
business income or modified adjusted gross income of less than $1,000,000 or 
with disaster loss carryovers are not affected by the NOL suspension rules. 
The carryover period for suspended losses is extended by: 
• Three years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning before 

January 1, 2020. 
• Two years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2021. 
• One year for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2021, and before January 1, 2022. 
For more information, see R&TC Section 17276.23, and get form FTB 3805V, 
Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss 
Limitations – Individuals, Estates, and Trusts.
Excess Business Loss Limitation – The federal CARES Act made amendments 
to IRC Section 461(l) by eliminating the excess business loss limitation of 
noncorporate taxpayers for taxable year 2020 and retroactively removing the 
limitation for taxable years 2018 and 2019. California does not conform to those 
amendments. Also, California law does not conform to the federal changes in 
the ARPA that extends the limitation on excess business losses of noncorporate 
taxpayers for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2020 and ending 
before January 1, 2027. Complete form FTB 3461, California Limitation on 
Business Losses, if you are a noncorporate taxpayer and your net losses from 
all of your trades or businesses are more than $262,000 ($524,000 for married 
taxpayers filing a joint return). For more information, get form FTB 3461 and the 
instructions for Schedule CA (540NR). 
Program 3.0 California Motion Picture and Television Production Credit – For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, California R&TC Section 17053.98 allows 
a third film credit, program 3.0, against tax. The credit is allocated and certified by the 
California Film Commission (CFC). The qualified taxpayer can:
• Offset the credit against income tax liability. 
• Sell the credit to an unrelated party (independent films only). 
• Assign the credit to an affiliated corporation. 
• Apply the credit against qualified sales and use taxes. 
For more information, get form FTB 3541, California Motion Picture and 
Television Production Credit, form FTB 3551, Sale of Credit Attributable to an 
Independent Film, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for motion picture, or go to the 
CFC website at film.ca.gov and search for incentives. 
Business Credit Limitation – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023, there is a $5,000,000 limitation on 
the application of business credits for taxpayers. The total of all business credits 
including the carryover of any business credit for the taxable year may not reduce 
the “net tax” by more than $5,000,000. Business credits should be applied against 
“net tax” before other credits. Business credits disallowed due to the limitation 
may be carried over. The carryover period for disallowed credits is extended by 
the number of taxable years the credit was not allowed. For more information, 
get Schedule P (540NR), Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations – 
Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents.
Loophole Closure and Small Business and Working Families Tax Relief Act of 
2019 – The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) signed into law on December 22, 2017, 
made changes to the IRC. California R&TC does not conform to all of the 
changes. In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, 
California conforms to the following TCJA provisions:
• California Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program 
• Student loan discharged on account of death or disability 
• Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) Premiums 
• Excess employee compensation
• Excess business loss
Like-Kind Exchanges – The TCJA amended IRC Section 1031 limiting the 
nonrecognition of gain or loss on like-kind exchanges to real property held for 
productive use or investment. California conforms to this change under the TCJA 
for exchanges initiated after January 10, 2019. However, for California purposes, 
with regard to individuals, this limitation only applies to:
• A taxpayer who is a head of household, a surviving spouse, or spouse filing 

a joint return with adjusted gross income (AGI) of $500,000 or more for the 
taxable year in which the exchange begins.

• Any other taxpayer filing an individual return with AGI of $250,000 or more 
for the taxable year in which the exchange begins.

Get Schedule D-1, Sales of Business Property, for more information.
California requires taxpayers who exchange property located in California for 
like-kind property located outside of California under IRC Section 1031, to file an 
annual information return with the FTB. For more information, get form FTB 3840, 
California Like-Kind Exchanges, or go to ftb.ca.gov and search for like kind.
Young Child Tax Credit – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, 
the refundable YCTC is available to taxpayers who also qualify for the California 
EITC and who have at least one qualifying child who is younger than six years old 
as of the last day of the taxable year. The maximum amount of credit allowable for 
a qualified taxpayer is $1,000. The credit amount phases out as earned income 
exceeds the threshold amount of $25,000, and completely phases out at $30,000. 
For more information, see specific line instructions for Form 540NR, line 86, and 
get form FTB 3514.
Net Operating Loss Carrybacks – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, net operating loss carrybacks are not allowed. 
Alimony – California law does not conform to changes made by the TCJA to federal 
law regarding alimony and separate maintenance payments that are not deductible 
by the payor spouse, and are not includable in the income of the receiving 
spouse, if made under any divorce or separation agreement executed after 
December 31, 2018, or executed on or before December 31, 2018, and modified 
after that date (if the modification expressly provides that the amendments apply). 
See Schedule CA (540NR) specific line instructions for more information. 
Small Business Accounting/Percentage of Completion Method – For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, California law generally conforms 
to the TCJA’s definition of small businesses as taxpayers whose average 
annual gross receipts over three years do not exceed $25 million. These 
small businesses are exempt from the requirement of using the Percentage of 
Completion Method of accounting for any construction contract if the contract 
is estimated to be completed within two years from the date the contract was 
entered into. A taxpayer may elect to apply the provision regarding accounting for 
long term contracts to contracts entered into on or after January 1, 2018.
Student Loan Discharged Due to Closure of a For-Profit School – California law 
allows an income exclusion for an eligible individual who is granted a discharge 
of any student loan under specified conditions. This income exclusion has now 
been expanded to include a discharge of student loans occurring on or after 
January 1, 2019, and before January 1, 2024, for individuals who attended a 
Brightwood College school or a location of The Art Institute of California. Additional 
information can be found in the instructions for California Schedule CA (540NR).
Charitable Contribution and Business Expense Deductions Disallowance – 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, California law disallows 
a charitable contribution deduction to an educational organization that is a 
postsecondary institution or to the Key Worldwide Foundation, and a deduction for 
a business expense related to a payment to the Edge College and Career Network, 
LLC, to a taxpayer who meets specific conditions, including that they are named 
in any of several specified criminal complaints. For taxable years beginning on or 
after 2014, file an amended Form 540NR and Schedule X, California Explanation of 
Amended Return Changes, to report the correct amount of charitable contribution 
and business expense deductions, as applicable. Additional information can be 
found in the instructions of California Schedule CA (540NR).
Real Estate Withholding Statement – Effective January 1, 2020, the real estate 
withholding forms and instructions have been consolidated into one new Form 593, 
Real Estate Withholding Statement. For more information, get Form 593.
California Earned Income Tax Credit – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2018, the age limit for an eligible individual without a qualifying child 
is revised to 18 years or older. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search 
for eitc or get form FTB 3514. 
Native American Earned Income Exemption – For taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2018, federally recognized tribal members living in California 
Indian country who earn income from any federally recognized California Indian 
country are exempt from California taxation. This exemption applies only to 
earned income. Enrolled tribal members who receive per capita income must 
reside in their affiliated tribe’s Indian country to qualify for tax exempt status. 
Additional information can be found in the instructions for Schedule CA (540NR) 
and form FTB 3504, Enrolled Tribal Member Certification. 
IRC Section 965 Deferred Foreign Income – Under federal law, if you own 
(directly or indirectly) certain foreign corporations, you may have to include on 
your return certain deferred foreign income. California does not conform. For 
more information, see the Schedule CA (540NR) instructions.
Global Intangible Low-Taxed Income (GILTI) Under IRC Section 951A – Under 
federal law, if you are a U.S. shareholder of a controlled foreign corporation, you 
must include your GILTI in your income. California does not conform. For more 
information, see the Schedule CA (540NR) instructions. 
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Wrongful Incarceration Exclusion – California law conforms to federal law 
excluding from gross income certain amounts received by wrongfully incarcerated 
individuals for taxable years beginning before, on, or after January 1, 2018. If you 
included income for wrongful incarceration in a prior taxable year, you can file an 
amended California personal income tax return for that year. If the normal statute 
of limitations has expired, you must file a claim by January 1, 2019.
College Access Tax Credit – For taxable years beginning on and after 
January 1, 2017, and before January 1, 2023, the College Access Tax Credit 
(CATC) is available to entities awarded the credit from the California Educational 
Facilities Authority (CEFA). The credit is 50% of the amount contributed by the 
taxpayer for the taxable year to the College Access Tax Credit Fund. The amount 
of the credit is allocated and certified by the CEFA. For more information, go to 
the CEFA website at treasurer.ca.gov and search for catc.
Schedule X, California Explanation of Amended Return Changes – For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, use Schedule X to determine any 
additional amount you owe or refund due to you, and to provide reason(s) for 
amending your previously filed income tax return. For additional information, see 
“Instructions for Filing a 2021 Amended Return” on page 26.
Improper Withholding on Severance Paid to Veterans – The Combat-Injured 
Veterans Tax Fairness Act of 2016 gives veterans who retired from the Armed 
Forces for medical reasons additional time to claim a refund if they had taxes 
improperly withheld from their severance pay. If you filed an amended return with 
the IRS on this issue, you have two years to file your amended California return.
California Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program – For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, the California Qualified ABLE 
Program was established and California generally conforms to the federal income 
tax treatment of ABLE accounts. This program was established to help blind or 
disabled U.S. residents save money in a tax-favored ABLE account to maintain 
health, independence, and quality of life. Additional information can be found in 
the instructions of form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including 
IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored Accounts.
Electronic Funds Withdrawal (EFW) – Make extension or estimated tax payments 
using tax preparation software. Check with your software provider to determine if 
they support EFW for extension or estimated tax payments.
Payments and Credits Applied to Use Tax – For taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2015, if a taxpayer includes use tax on their personal income tax 
return, payments and credits will be applied to use tax first, then towards income 
tax, interest, and penalties. Additional information can be found in the instructions 
for California Form 540.
Dependent Social Security Number – Taxpayers claiming an exemption credit 
must write each dependent’s SSN in the spaces provided within line 10 for 
California Form 540NR. If you are claiming an exemption credit for a dependent 
who is ineligible for an SSN and a federal ITIN, you may complete and provide 
form FTB 3568 with required documentation attached to the tax return and write 
“no id” in the SSN field of line 10. For more information, see Form 540NR specific 
instructions for line 10 and get FTB 3568.
Financial Incentive for Seismic Improvement – Taxpayers can exclude from 
gross income any amount received as loan forgiveness, grant, credit, rebate, 
voucher, or other financial incentive issued by the California Residential Mitigation 
Program or the California Earthquake Authority to assist a residential property 
owner or occupant with expenses paid, or obligations incurred, for earthquake 
loss mitigation. Additional information can be found in the instructions for 
California Schedule CA (540NR).
Disaster Losses – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and 
before January 1, 2024, taxpayers may deduct a disaster loss for any loss sustained 
in any city, county, or city and county in California that is proclaimed by the 
Governor to be in a state of emergency. For these Governor-only declared disasters, 
subsequent state legislation is not required to activate the disaster loss provisions. 
Additional information can be found in the instructions for California form FTB 3805V.
Penalty Assessed by Professional Sports League – An owner of all or part of a 
professional sports franchise will not be allowed a deduction for the amount of any 
fine or penalty paid or incurred, that was assessed or imposed by the professional 
sports league that includes that franchise. Additional information can be found in 
the instructions for California Schedule CA (540NR).
Mandatory Electronic Payments – You are required to remit all your payments 
electronically once you make an estimate or extension payment exceeding $20,000 
or you file an original tax return with a total tax liability over $80,000. Once you 
meet this threshold, all subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax type, 
or taxable year must be remitted electronically. The first payment that would 
trigger the mandatory e-pay requirement does not have to be made electronically. 
Individuals who do not send the payment electronically may be subject to a 1% 
noncompliance penalty. 

You can request a waiver from mandatory e-pay if one or more of the following is true:
• You have not made an estimated tax or extension payment in excess of 

$20,000 during the current or previous taxable year.
• Your total tax liability reported for the previous taxable year did not exceed 

$80,000.
• The amount you paid is not representative of your total tax liability.
For more information or to obtain the waiver form, go to ftb.ca.gov/e-pay. Electronic 
payments can be made using Web Pay on FTB’s website, EFW as part of the e-file tax 
return, or your credit card.
Estimated Tax Payments – Taxpayers are required to pay 30% of the required annual 
payment for the 1st required installment, 40% of the required annual payment for the 
2nd required installment, no installment is due for the 3rd required installment, and 
30% of the required annual payment for the 4th required installment. 
Taxpayers with a tax liability less than $500 ($250 for married/RDP filing 
separately) do not need to make estimated tax payments.
Backup Withholding – With certain limited exceptions, payers that are required 
to withhold and remit backup withholding to the IRS are also required to 
withhold and remit to the FTB on income sourced to California. If the payee has 
backup withholding, the payee must contact the FTB to provide a valid taxpayer 
identification number, before filing the tax return. Failure to provide a valid taxpayer 
identification number may result in a denial of the backup withholding credit. For 
more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for backup withholding.
Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) – Under California law, RDPs must file 
their California income tax return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or 
married/RDP filing separately filing status. RDPs have the same legal benefits, 
protections, and responsibilities as married couples unless otherwise specified.
If you entered into a same sex legal union in another state, other than a marriage, 
and that union has been determined to be substantially equivalent to a California 
registered domestic partnership, you are required to file a California income tax 
return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately 
filing status. 
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, husband, or wife 
also refer to a California RDP, unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials 
RDP they refer to both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California 
registered domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, 
get FTB Pub. 737.
Direct Deposit Refund – You can request a direct deposit refund on your tax 
return whether you e-file or file a paper tax return. Be sure to fill in the routing 
and account numbers carefully and double-check the numbers for accuracy to 
avoid it being rejected by your bank.
Direct Deposit for ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plans – If you have a 
ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plan account maintained by the ScholarShare 
Investment Board, you may have your refund directly deposited to your 
ScholarShare account. Go to scholarshare529.com for instructions.
Group Nonresident Returns (also known as Composite Returns) – For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2009:
• Group nonresident returns may include less than two nonresident individuals. 
• Nonresident individuals with more than $1,000,000 of California taxable 

income are eligible to be included in group nonresident returns. An additional 
1% tax will be assessed on their entire California taxable income if they elect 
to be part of the group return.

See FTB Pub. 1067, Guidelines for Filing a Group Form 540NR, for more information.
California Disclosure Obligations – If the individual was involved in a reportable 
transaction, including a listed transaction, the individual may have a disclosure 
requirement. Attach federal Form 8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure 
Statement, to the back of the California tax return along with any other supporting 
schedules. If this is the first time the reportable transaction is disclosed on the 
tax return, send a duplicate copy of the federal Form 8886 to the address below. 
The FTB may impose penalties if the individual fails to file federal Form 8886 or 
fails to provide any other required information. A material advisor is required to 
provide a reportable transaction number to all taxpayers and material advisors for 
whom the material advisor acts as a material advisor.

TAX SHELTER FILING 
ABS 389 MS F340 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1673 
SACRAMENTO CA 95812-9900

For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for disclosure obligation.
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How Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents Are Taxed
General Information
Nonresidents of California who received California sourced income in 2021, or 
moved into or out of California in 2021, file Form 540NR. California taxes all 
income received while you resided in California and the income you received from 
California sources while a nonresident. 
If you file Form 540NR, use Schedule CA (540NR) column A through column D to 
compute your total adjusted gross income as if you were a resident of California 
for the entire year. Use column E to compute all items of total adjusted gross 
income you received while a resident of California and those you received from 
California sources while a nonresident. You determine your California tax by 
multiplying your California taxable income by an effective tax rate. The effective 
tax rate is the tax on total taxable income, taken from the tax table, divided 
by total taxable income. You may also qualify for California tax credits, which 
reduces the amount of California tax you owe. 
If you were a resident of California for all of 2021, get a California Resident 
Personal Income Tax Booklet and file Form 540 or Form 540 2EZ.
For more information on the taxation of nonresidents and part-year residents, get 
FTB Pub. 1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency. 
Go to ftb.ca.gov/forms or see “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

Pension Income of Retirees Who Move to 
Another State
Nonresidents of California Receiving a California Pension
California does not impose tax on retirement income attributable to services 
performed in California received by a nonresident after December 31, 1995.
California Residents Receiving an Out-of-State Pension
In general California residents are taxed on all income, including income 
from sources outside California. Therefore, a pension attributable to services 
performed outside California but received after you become a California resident 
is taxable.
For more information about pensions, go to ftb.ca.gov/forms and get 
FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines.

Temporary and Transitory Absences from 
California
If you are domiciled in California and you worked outside of California for an 
uninterrupted period of at least 546 consecutive days under an employment 
contract, you are considered a nonresident. This provision also applies to 
the spouse/RDP who accompanies the employed individual during those 546 
consecutive days. However, you will not qualify under this provision if you 
are present in California for a total of more than 45 days during any taxable 
year covered by the contract, or if you have income from stocks, bonds, 
notes, or other intangible property in excess of $200,000 for any taxable year 
covered by the contract. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov/forms and get 
FTB Pub. 1031. 

Group Nonresident Return
Nonresident partners, nonresident members, and nonresident shareholders of 
a partnership, limited liability company, or S corporation that does business 
in California or has income from California sources may elect to file a group 
nonresident return on Form 540NR. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov/forms 
and get FTB Pub. 1067, Guidelines for Filing a Group Form 540NR. This 
publication includes form FTB 1067A, Nonresident Group Return Schedule, which 
must be attached to the group Form 540NR.

Military Servicemembers
Active duty military servicemembers go to ftb.ca.gov/forms and get 
FTB Pub. 1032. 
Servicemembers domiciled outside of California, and their spouses/RDPs, 
exclude the member’s military compensation from gross income when computing 
the tax rate on nonmilitary income. Requirements for military servicemembers 
domiciled in California remain unchanged. Military servicemembers domiciled in 
California must include their military pay in total income. In addition, they must 
include their military pay in California source income when stationed in California. 
However, military pay is not California source income when a servicemember 
is permanently stationed outside of California. Beginning 2009, the federal 
Military Spouses Residency Relief Act may affect the California income tax filing 
requirements for spouses of military personnel.
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2021 Instructions for Form 540NR 
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and the  California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before You Begin
Complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040, U.S. Individual 
Income Tax Return; Form 1040-SR, U.S. Tax Return for Seniors; or 
Form 1040-NR, U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return) before you 
begin your Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident 
Income Tax Return. Use information from your federal income tax return 
to complete your Form 540NR. Complete and mail Form 540NR by 
April 18, 2022. If unable to mail your return by this date, see page 2.
To get forms and publications referred to in these instructions, go 
to ftb.ca.gov/forms or see “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and 
Publications.”

Tip You may qualify for the federal earned income tax credit. See 
page 2 for more information. 

Note: The lines on Form 540NR are numbered with gaps in the line 
number sequence. For example, lines 20 through 30 do not appear on 
Form 540NR, so the line number that follows line 19 on Form 540NR is 
line 31.
Caution: Form 540NR has five sides. If filing Form 540NR, you must 
send all five sides to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB).
If you need to amend your Form 540NR, complete an amended 
Form 540NR and check the box at the top of Form 540NR indicating 
AMENDED return. Attach Schedule X, California Explanation of Amended 
Return Changes, to the amended Form 540NR. For specific instructions, 
see “Instructions for Filing a 2021 Amended Return” on page 26.

Filling in Your Return 
• Use black or blue ink on the tax return you send to the FTB.
• Enter your Social Security Number(s) or Individual Taxpayer 

Identification Number(s) at the top of Form 540NR, Side 1.
• Print numbers and CAPITAL LETTERS in the space provided. Be sure 

to line up dollar amounts.
• If you do not have an entry for a line, leave it blank unless the 

instructions for a line specifically tell you to enter zero. Do not enter a 
dash or the word “NONE.”

Name(s) and Address
Print your first name, middle initial, last name, and street address in the 
spaces provided at the top of Form 540NR.
Suffix
Use the Suffix field for generational name suffixes such as “SR”, “JR”, 
“III”, “IV”. Do not enter academic, professional, or honorary suffixes.
Additional Information
Use the Additional Information field for “In-Care-of” name and other 
supplemental address information only. 
Foreign Address
If you have a foreign address, follow the country’s practice for entering 
the city, county, province, state, country, and postal code, as applicable, 
in the appropriate boxes. Do not abbreviate the country name.
Principal Business Activity (PBA) Code
For federal Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Business (Sole 
Proprietorship) business filers, enter the numeric PBA code from federal 
Schedule C (Form 1040), line B.
Date of Birth (DOB)
Enter your DOBs (mm/dd/yyyy) in the spaces provided. If your filing 
status is married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately, 
enter the DOBs in the same order as the names.
Prior Name
If you or your spouse/RDP filed your 2020 tax return under a different 
last name, write the last name only from the 2020 tax return.

Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual 
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)
Enter your SSNs in the spaces provided. If you file a joint tax return, 
enter the SSNs in the same order as the names.
If you do not have an SSN because you are a nonresident or a resident 
alien for federal tax purposes, and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
issued you an ITIN, enter the ITIN in the space provided for the SSN.
An ITIN is a tax processing number issued by the IRS to foreign 
nationals and others who have a federal tax filing requirement and do 
not qualify for an SSN. It is a nine-digit number that always starts with 
the number 9.

Filing Status
Line 1 through Line 5 – Filing Status
Check only one box for line 1 through line 5. Enter the required 
additional information if you checked the box on line 3 or line 5. For 
filing status requirements, see page 3.
Usually, your California filing status must be the same as the filing status 
you used on your federal income tax return. 
Exception for Married Taxpayers Who File a Joint Federal Income Tax 
Return – You may file separate California returns if either spouse was 
either of the following:
• An active member of the United States Armed Forces or any auxiliary 

military branch during 2021.
• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California 

sources during 2021.
Caution – Community Property States: If either spouse earned 
California source income while domiciled in a community property 
state, the community income will be split equally between the 
spouses. Both spouses will have California source income and they 
will not qualify for the nonresident spouse exception. For more 
information, get FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident 
Status.

If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for 
California you would have used to file a federal income tax return.
Registered domestic partners (RDPs) who file single for federal must 
file married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately for 
California. If you are an RDP and file head of household for federal 
purposes, you may file head of household for California purposes only 
if you meet the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered 
not in a domestic partnership.
Nonresident Alien – A joint tax return may be filed if, in the case of a 
nonresident alien married to a United States citizen or resident, both 
spouses/RDPs elect to treat the nonresident alien spouse/RDP as a 
resident for tax purposes.
If You Filed Federal Form 1040-NR, you do not qualify to use the head 
of household or married/RDP filing jointly filing statuses. Instead, use 
single, married/RDP filing separately, or qualifying widow(er) filing 
status, whichever applies to you.
If You File as Head of Household, do not claim yourself or a nonrelative 
as the qualifying individual for head of household. Get FTB Pub. 1540, 
Tax Information for Head of Household Filing Status, for more 
information. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

Exemptions
Line 6 – Can be Claimed as a Dependent
Check the box on line 6 if someone else can claim you or your 
spouse/RDP as a dependent on their tax return, even if they chose not to.
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Line 7 – Personal Exemptions
Did you check the box on line 6?
No Follow the instructions on Form 540NR, line 7.
Yes Ignore the instructions on Form 540NR, line 7. Instead, enter in the 

box on line 7 as shown below for your filing status:
• Single or married/RDP filing separately, enter 0 .- -
• Head of household, enter 0 .- -
• Married/RDP filing jointly and both you and your spouse/RDP 

can be claimed as dependents, enter 0 .- -
	 • Married/RDP filing jointly and only one spouse/RDP can be 

claimed as a dependent, enter 1.
Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent 
on their tax return.

Line 8 – Blind Exemptions
The first year you claim this exemption credit, attach a doctor’s 
statement to the back of Form 540NR indicating you or your 
spouse/RDP are visually impaired. If you e-file, attach any requested 
forms, schedules and documents according to your software’s 
instructions. Visually impaired means not capable of seeing better than 
20/200 while wearing glasses or contact lenses, or if your field of vision 
is not more than 20 degrees.
Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent 
on their tax return.

Line 9 – Senior Exemptions
If you were 65 years of age or older by December 31, 2021*

*If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2022, you are considered to be 
age 65 on December 31, 2021.

, you should 
claim an additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are married/or 
an RDP, each spouse/RDP 65 years of age or older should claim an 
additional credit. You may contribute all or part of this credit to the 
California Seniors Special Fund. See “Voluntary Contribution Fund 
Descriptions” for more information.

Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent 
on their tax return.

Line 10 – Dependent Exemptions
To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents, you must 
write each dependent’s first and last name, SSN or ITIN and relationship 
to you in the space provided. If you are claiming more than three 
dependents, attach a statement with the required dependent information 
to your tax return. The persons you list as dependents must be the same 
persons you listed as dependents on your federal income tax return. 
If you filed form FTB 3568, Alternative Identifying Information for the 
Dependent Exemption Credit, to qualify to claim your dependents for 
California purposes, the dependents you claim on your California income 
tax return may not match those claimed on your federal income tax 
return. Count the number of dependents listed and enter the total in the 
box on line 10. Multiply the number you entered by the pre-printed dollar 
amount and enter the result. 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, taxpayers 
claiming a dependent exemption credit for a dependent who is ineligible 
for an SSN and a federal ITIN may provide alternative information to the 
FTB to identify the dependent.
To claim the dependent exemption credit, taxpayers complete form 
FTB 3568, attach the form and required documentation to their tax 
return, and write “no id” in the SSN field of line 10, Dependents, on 
Form 540NR. For each dependent being claimed that does not have 
an SSN and an ITIN, a form FTB 3568 must be provided along with 
supporting documentation. If you e-file, attach any requested forms, 
schedules and documents according to your software’s instructions. 
Taxpayers may amend their tax returns beginning with taxable year 2018 
to claim the dependent exemption credit. These taxpayers should 
complete an amended Form 540NR, write “no id” in the SSN field on 
the Dependents line, and attach Schedule X. To complete Schedule X, 
check box m for “Other” on Part II, line 1, and write the explanation 

“Claim dependent exemption credit with no id and form FTB 3568 is 
attached” on Part II, line 2. Make sure to attach form FTB 3568 and the 
required supporting documents in addition to the amended tax return 
and Schedule X. If taxpayers do not claim the dependent exemption 
credit on their original 2021 tax return, they may amend their 2021 tax 
return following the same procedures used to amend their previous 
year amended tax returns beginning with taxable year 2018. For more 
information, get FTB Notice 2021-01. 
If your dependent child was born and died in 2021 and you do not have 
an SSN or an ITIN for the child, write “Died” in the space provided 
for the SSN and include a copy of the child’s birth certificate, death 
certificate, or hospital records. The document must show the child was 
born alive. If you e-file, attach any requested forms, schedules and 
documents according to your software’s instructions.

Line 11 – Exemption Amount
Add line 7 through line 10 and enter the total dollar amount of all 
exemptions for personal, blind, senior, and dependent.

Total Taxable Income
Refer to your completed federal income tax return to complete this 
section.

Line 12 – California Wages
Enter the total amount of your California wages from your federal 
Form(s) W-2, Wage and Tax Statement. This amount appears on 
Form W-2, box 16.

Line 13 – Federal Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) from federal 
Form 1040, 1040-SR, or 1040-NR, line 11
RDPs who file a California tax return as married/RDP filing jointly and 
have no RDP adjustments between federal and California, combine their 
individual AGIs from their federal tax returns filed with the IRS. Enter the 
combined AGI on Form 540NR, line 13.
RDP adjustments include but are not limited to the following:
• Transfer of property between spouses/RDPs
• Capital loss
• Transactions between spouses/RDPs
• Sale of residence
• Dependent care assistance
• Investment interest
• Qualified residence interest acquisition loan & equity loan
• Expense depreciation property limits
• Individual Retirement Account
• Interest education loan
• Rental real estate passive loss
• Rollover of publicly traded securities gain into specialized small 

business investment companies
RDPs filing as married/RDP filing separately, former RDPs filing single, 
and RDPs with RDP adjustments will use the California RDP Adjustments 
Worksheet in FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic 
Partners, or complete a federal pro forma Form 1040 or 1040-SR. 
Transfer the amount from the California RDP Adjustments Worksheet, 
line 27, column D, or federal pro forma Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11, 
to Form 540NR, line 13.

Line 14 – California Adjustments — Subtractions 
(from Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, line 27, column B)
If there are differences between your federal and California income, i.e 
social security, complete Schedule CA (540NR). Follow the instructions 
for Schedule CA (540NR). Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), 
Part II, line 27, column B on Form 540NR, line 14.
If the amount on Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, line 27, column B 
is a negative number, do not transfer it to Form 540NR, line 14 as a 
negative number. Instead, transfer the number as a positive number to 
Form 540NR, line 16.
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Line 15 – Subtotal
Subtract the amount on line 14 from the amount on line 13. Enter the 
result on line 15. If the amount on line 13 is less than zero, combine the 
amounts on line 13 and line 14 and enter the amount in parentheses. 
For example: “(12,325).”
Line 16 – California Adjustments — Additions 
(from Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, line 27, column C)
If there are differences between your federal and California deductions, 
complete Schedule CA (540NR). Follow the instructions for Schedule 
CA (540NR). Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, 
line 27, column C on Form 540NR, line 16.
If the amount on Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, line 27, column C 
is a negative number, do not transfer it to Form 540NR, line 16 as a 
negative number. Instead, transfer the number as a positive number to 
Form 540NR, line 14.
Line 17 – Adjusted Gross Income From All Sources
Combine line 15 and line 16. This amount should match the amount on 
Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, line 27, column D.
Line 18 – California Itemized Deductions or California 
Standard Deduction
Decide whether to itemize your deductions, such as charitable 
contributions, medical expenses, etc., or take the standard deduction. 
Your California income tax will be less if you take the larger of your 
California:
• Itemized deductions (total itemized deductions allowed under 

California law).
• Standard deduction.
On federal tax returns, individual taxpayers who claim the standard 
deduction are allowed an additional deduction for net disaster losses. 
For California, deductions for disaster losses are only allowed for those 
individual taxpayers who itemized their deductions. 
If married/or an RDP and filing separate Form 540NR, you and your 
spouse/RDP must either both itemize your deductions (even if the 
itemized deductions of one spouse/RDP are less than the standard 
deduction) or both take the standard deduction.
Also, if someone else can claim you as a dependent, you may claim 
the greater of the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. To 
figure your standard deduction, see the California Standard Deduction 
Worksheet for Dependents.
Itemized Deductions – Figure your California itemized deductions by 
completing Schedule CA (540NR), Part III, lines 1 through 30. Enter the 
result on Form 540NR, line 18.
If you did not itemize deductions on your federal income tax return but 
will itemize deductions for your Form 540NR, first complete federal 
Schedule A (Form 1040), Itemized Deductions. Then check the box 
on Side 4, Part III of the Schedule CA (540NR), and complete Part III. 
Attach both the federal Schedule A (Form 1040) and California Schedule 
CA (540NR) to the back of your tax return.
Standard Deduction – Find your standard deduction on the California 
Standard Deduction Chart for Most People. If you checked the box on 
Form 540NR, line 6, use the California Standard Deduction Worksheet 
for Dependents, instead.

California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People
Do not use this chart if your parent, or someone else, can claim you 
(or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent on their tax return.
Your Filing Status Enter On Line 18
1 – Single  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       $4,803
2 – Married/RDP filing jointly  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        $9,606
3 – Married/RDP filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     $4,803
4 – Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             $9,606
5 – Qualifying widow(er)   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            $9,606
The California standard deduction amounts are less than the federal 
standard deduction amounts.

California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if your parent, or someone else, can claim you 
(or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent on their tax return. Use whole 
dollars only.
1. Enter your earned income from: line 2 of the 

“Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents” in 
the instructions for federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR  .  1

2. Minimum standard deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  2	 $1,100.00

3. Enter the larger of line 1 or line 2 here  . . . . . . . . . .           3
4. Enter the amount shown for your filing status: 

• Single or married/RDP filing separately, 
enter $4,803  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         4

	
• Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, 

or qualifying widow(er), enter $9,606 . . . . . .	
5. Standard deduction. Enter the smaller of 

line 3 or line 4 here and on the Form 540NR, 
line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    5

Line 19 – Taxable Income
Capital Construction Fund (CCF) – If you claim a deduction on your 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 15 for a contribution made to a 
CCF set up under the Merchant Marine Act of 1936, reduce the amount 
you would otherwise enter on line 19 by the amount of the deduction. 
Next to line 19, enter “CCF” and the amount of the deduction. For more 
information, get federal Publication 595, Capital Construction Fund for 
Commercial Fishermen.

California Taxable Income
When you figure your tax, use the correct filing status and taxable 
income amount.

Line 31 – Tax

Tip e-file and you won’t have to do the math. Go to ftb.ca.gov 
and search for efile.

To figure your tax on the amount on line 19, use one of the following 
methods and check the matching box on line 31:
• Tax Table – If your taxable income on line 19 is $100,000 or less, 

use the tax table beginning on page 87. Use the correct filing status 
column in the tax table.

• Tax Rate Schedules – If your taxable income on line 19 is over 
$100,000, use the tax rate schedule for your filing status on page 92.

• FTB 3800 – Generally, you use form FTB 3800, Tax Computation 
for Certain Children with Unearned Income, to figure the tax on a 
separate Form 540NR for your child who was age 18 and under or a 
student under age 24 on January 1, 2022, and who had more than 
$2,200 of investment income. Attach form FTB 3800 to the child’s 
Form 540NR.

• FTB 3803 – If, as a parent, you elect to report your child’s interest 
and dividend income of $11,000 or less (but not less than $1,100) 
on your return, complete form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report 
Child’s Interest and Dividends. File a separate form FTB 3803 for 
each child whose income you elect to include on your Form 540NR. 
Add the amount of tax, if any, from each form FTB 3803, line 9, to the 
amount of your tax from the tax table or tax rate schedules and enter 
the result on Form 540NR, line 31. Attach form(s) FTB 3803 to your 
return.

To prevent possible delays in processing your tax return or refund, 
enter the correct tax amount on this line. To automatically figure your 
tax or to verify your tax calculation, use our online tax calculator. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov/tax-rates.

Line 32 – CA Adjusted Gross Income
Complete Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 1 to determine your 
California adjusted gross income. Follow the instructions for 

}



Instructions: Form 540NR	 e-file at ftb.ca.gov

Page 12  540NR Tax Booklet  2021

Schedule CA (540NR). Enter on Form 540NR, line 32 the amount from 
Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 1.

Line 36 – CA Tax Rate
In this computation, the FTB rounds the tax rate to four digits after the 
decimal. If your computation is different, you may receive a notice due 
to the difference in rounding. Contact us at 800.852.5711 if you disagree 
with this notice. 

Line 38 – CA Exemption Credit Percentage
Divide the California Taxable Income (line 35) by Total Taxable Income 
(line 19). This percentage does not apply to the Nonrefundable Renter’s 
Credit, Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit, 
Other State Tax Credit, or credits that are conditional upon a transaction 
occurring wholly within California. If more than 1, enter 1.0000.

Line 39 – CA Prorated Exemption Credits 
Use your exemption credits to reduce your tax. If your federal AGI on 
line 13 is more than the amount listed below for your filing status, your 
credits will be limited.

If your filing status is: 
Is Form 540NR, 

line 13 more than: 
Single or married/RDP filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $212,288
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . .           $424,581
Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   $318,437
Yes  Complete the AGI Limitation Worksheet below.
No Multiply line 11 by line 38.

AGI Limitation Worksheet 
Use whole dollars only

a Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 13  . . . . . . . . . .           a_________ 
b Enter the amount for your filing status on line b: 

• Single or married/RDP filing separately $212,288
• Married/RDP filing jointly or 

qualifying widow(er) $424,581  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               b_________

	 • Head of household $318,437 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              
c Subtract line b from line a  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         c_________
d Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married/RDP filing 

separately). If the result is not a whole number, round it 
to the next higher whole number  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    d_________

e Multiply line d by $6  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             e_________ 
f Add the numbers from the boxes on Form 540NR, 

line 7, line 8, and line 9 (not the dollar amounts)  . . . . . . .       f_________

g Multiply line e by line f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           g_________
h Add the total dollar amounts from Form 540NR, 

line 7, line 8, and line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           h_________ 

i Subtract line g from line h. If zero or less enter 0  - - . . . . . i_________ 
j Enter the number from the box on Form 540NR, 

line 10 (not the dollar amount)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     j_________ 

k Multiply line e by line j  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           k_________ 
l Enter the dollar amount from 

Form 540NR, line 10   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            l_________

m Subtract line k from line l. If zero or less, enter 0  - - . . . . .    m_________ 

n Add line i and line m. Enter the result here  . . . . . . . . . . .            n_________
o Multiply the amount on line n by the CA Exemption 

Credit Percentage on Form 540NR, line 38. Enter 
the result here and on Form 540NR, line 39  . . . . . . . . . .           o_________

Line 41 – Tax from Schedule G-1 and Form FTB 5870A
If you received a qualified lump-sum distribution in 2021 and you 
were born before January 2, 1936, get California Schedule G-1, Tax on 
Lump-Sum Distributions, to figure your tax by special methods that may 
result in less tax. Attach Schedule G-1 to your tax return.

If you received accumulation distributions from foreign trusts or from 
certain domestic trusts, get form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation 
Distribution of Trusts, to figure the additional tax. Attach form 
FTB 5870A to your tax return.
To get these forms, see “Order Forms and Publications.”

Special Credits and Nonrefundable Credits
A variety of California tax credits are available to reduce your tax if you 
qualify. To figure and claim most special credits, you must complete a 
separate form or schedule and attach it to your Form 540NR. The Credit 
Chart on page 23 describes the credits and provides the name, credit 
code, and number of the required form or schedule. Many credits are 
limited to a certain percentage or a certain dollar amount. In addition, 
the total amount you may claim for all credits is limited by tentative 
minimum tax (TMT); go to Box A to see if your credits are limited. 
If you are not claiming any other special credits go to line 50 and line 61 
to see if you qualify for the Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit or the Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit.

Box A – Did you complete federal Schedule C, D, E, or F and claim 
or receive any of the following (Note: If your business 
gross receipts are less than $1,000,000 from all trades or 
businesses, you do not have to report alternative minimum 
tax (AMT). For more information, see line 71 instructions.):

• Accelerated depreciation in excess of straight-line
• Intangible drilling costs
• Depletion
• Circulation expenditures
• Research and experimental expenditures
• Mining exploration/development costs
• Amortization of pollution control facilities
• Income/loss from tax shelter farm activities
• Income/loss from passive activities
• Income from long-term contracts using the percentage of 

completion method
• Pass-through AMT adjustment from an estate or trust 

reported on Schedule K-1 (541)
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540NR). See “Order Forms 

and Publications.”
No  Go to Box B.

Box B – Did you claim or receive any of the following:
• Investment interest expense
• Income from incentive stock options in excess of the amount 

reported on your return
• Income from installment sales of certain property
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540NR). See “Order Forms 

and Publications.”
No Go to Box C.

				  
Box C – If your filing status is: 

Is Form 540NR, 
line 17 more than:

Single or head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       $292,763
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . .      $390,351
Married/RDP filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      $195,172 

Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540NR). See “Order Forms 
and Publications.”

No Your credits are not limited.

Line 50 – Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit — Code 232
Claim this credit if you paid someone to care for your qualifying child 
under the age of 13, other dependent who is physically or mentally 
incapable of caring for him or herself, or spouse/RDP if physically or 
mentally incapable of caring for him or herself. To claim this credit, 
your federal AGI must be $100,000 or less. Complete and attach form 

}
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FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. See “Where To 
Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

The care must have been provided in California. You must have 
California-sourced income (wages earned working in California or 
self-employment income from California business activities).
A servicemember’s active duty military pay is considered earned income, 
regardless of whether the servicemember is domiciled in California. 
Get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel, for more 
information.
Schedule P (540NR) – If you need to complete Schedule P (540NR) 
and you claim any of the credits on line 51 through line 53, do not enter 
an amount on line 51 through line 53. Instead, enter the total amount 
of these credits from  Schedule P (540NR), Part III, Section B1, line 12 
through line 14, on Form 540NR, line 55. Do not follow the instructions 
for line 55. Write “Schedule P (540NR)” to the left of the amount entered 
on line 55. 

Line 51 – Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household — 
Code 170
You may not claim this credit if you used the head of household, 
married/RDP filing jointly, or the qualifying widow(er) filing status.
Claim the credit if unmarried and not an RDP at the end of 2021 (or 
if married/or an RDP, you lived apart from your spouse/RDP for all of 
2021 and you used the married/RDP filing separately filing status); and 
if you furnished more than one-half the household expenses for your 
home that also served as the main home of your child, step-child, or 
grandchild for at least 146 days but not more than 219 days of your 
taxable year. If the child is married/or an RDP, you must be entitled to 
claim a dependent exemption for the child.
Also, the custody arrangement for the child must be part of a decree of 
dissolution or legal separation or part of a written agreement between 
the parents where the proceedings have been initiated, but a decree of 
dissolution or legal separation has not yet been issued.
If your Federal AGI is more than $212,288, subtract line n from the 
AGI Limitation Worksheet on page 12 from line 31 of the Form 540NR 
and enter this amount on line 1 of the worksheet below to calculate 
your credit.
Use the worksheet below to figure this credit using whole dollars only:

1. Subtract line 11 from line 31 on Form 540NR 
and enter the result here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        	1

2. Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 41  . . . . . . .        	2
3. Add line 1 and line 2   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           	3
4. Credit percentage — 30% .30 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      4       
5. Credit amount. Multiply line 3 by line 4. Enter on this 

line the result or $513, whichever is less. Enter this 
amount on Form 540NR, line 51  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  	5

If you qualify for both the Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household 
and the Credit for Dependent Parent, you are only allowed to claim one 
or the other, not both. Select the credit that will allow the maximum 
benefit.

Line 52 – Credit for Dependent Parent — Code 173
You may not claim this credit if you used the single, head of household, 
qualifying widow(er), or married/RDP filing jointly filing status.
Claim this credit only if all of the following apply:
• You were married/or an RDP at the end of 2021 and you used the 

married/RDP filing separately filing status.
• Your spouse/RDP was not a member of your household during the 

last six months of the year.
• You furnished over one-half the household expenses for your 

dependent mother’s or father’s home, whether or not she or he lived 
in your home.

To figure the amount of this credit, use the worksheet for the Credit for 
Joint Custody Head of Household, on this page.

On the last line of the worksheet, enter the result or $513, whichever is 
less. Enter this amount on Form 540NR, line 52.
If you qualify for both the Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household 
and the Credit for Dependent Parent, you are only allowed to claim one 
or the other, not both. Select the credit that will allow the maximum 
benefit.

Line 53 – Credit for Senior Head of Household — Code 163
Claim this credit if you:
• Were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 2021*

* If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2022, you are considered to be 
age 65 on December 31, 2021.

,
• Qualified as a head of household in 2019 or 2020 by providing a 

household for a qualifying individual who died during 2019 or 2020.
• Did not have adjusted gross income over $83,039 for 2021.

If you meet all the conditions listed, you do not need to qualify to use the 
head of household filing status for 2021 in order to claim this credit.
Use the worksheet below to figure this credit using whole dollars only:

1. Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 19  . . . . . . .        	 1
2. Credit percentage — 2%  .02 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       2       
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Enter on this line the result or $1,565, whichever is less. 
Enter this amount on Form 540NR, line 53  . . . . . . . .         	 3

Line 54 and Line 55 – Credit Percentage and Credit Amount
If you claimed credits on line 51, line 52, or line 53, complete the 
worksheet below to compute your credit percentage and the allowable 
prorated credit to enter on line 55 using whole dollars only. If you 
completed Schedule P (540NR), see the instructions above the line 51 
instructions.

Part I – Credit Percentage
1. Enter the percentage amount from line 38 here and on Form 

540NR, line 54. If more than 1, enter 1.0000  . . . . . .       	1	_ . _ _ _ _
Part II – Credit Amount 
Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household
1. Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 51 . . . . . .        1 
2. Credit Percentage from Part I, line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . .              2	
3. Multiply line 1 by line 2. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        3	
4. Enter the lesser of the amount from line 3 or $513 . . . . .    4
Credit for Dependent Parent
5. Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 52 . . . . . .        5	
6. Credit Percentage from Part I, line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . .              6	
7. Multiply line 5 by line 6. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        7	
8. Enter the lesser of the amount on line 7 or $513 . . . . . . . .        8
Credit for Senior Head of Household
9. Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 53 . . . . . . .      9	
10. Credit Percentage from Part I, line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . .           10		
11. Multiply line 9 by line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    11	
12. Enter the lesser of the amount on line 11 or $1,565 . . .  12	
Total Prorated Credits
13. Add line 4, line 8, and line 12. Enter the 

result here and on Form 540NR, line 55. . . . . . . . . . . . . .            13	

Line 58 through Line 60 – Additional Special Credits
A code identifies each credit. To claim only one or two credits, enter the 
credit name, code, and amount of the credit on line 58 and line 59. 
To claim more than two credits, use Schedule P (540NR), Part III. Get 
Schedule P (540NR) instructions, “How to Claim Your Credits.”
Important: Attach Schedule P (540NR) and any required supporting 
schedules or statements to your Form 540NR.
Carryovers: If you claim a credit with carryover provisions and the 
amount of the credit available this year exceeds your tax, carry over any 
excess credit to future years until the credit is used (unless the carryover 
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period is a fixed number of years). If you claim a credit carryover for 
an expired credit, use form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and Recapture 
Summary, to figure the amount of the credit.

Credit for Child Adoption Costs — Code 197
For the year in which an adoption decree or an order of adoption is 
entered (e.g. adoption is final), claim a credit for 50% of the cost of 
adopting a child who was both:
• A citizen or legal resident of the United States
• In the custody of a California public agency or a California political 

subdivision
Treat a prior unsuccessful attempt to adopt a child (even when the 
costs were incurred in a prior year) and a later successful adoption 
of a different child as one effort when computing the cost of adopting 
the child. Include the following costs if directly related to the adoption 
process:
• Fees for Department of Social Services or a licensed adoption agency
• Medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance
• Travel expenses for the adoptive family
Note:
• This credit does not apply when a child is adopted from another 

country or another state, or who was not in the custody of a 
California public agency or a California political subdivision.

• Any deduction for the expenses used to claim this credit must be 
reduced by the amount of the child adoption costs credit claimed.

Use the following worksheet to figure this credit using whole dollars 
only. If more than one adoption qualifies for this credit, complete a 
separate worksheet for each adoption. The maximum credit is limited to 
$2,500 per minor child.

1. Enter qualifying costs for the child  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                	1
2. Credit percentage — 50% .50 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      	2         
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Do not enter more than $2,500 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   	3

Your allowable credit is limited to $2,500 for 2021. You may carryover 
the excess credit to future years until the credit is used.

Line 61 – Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit
If you paid rent for at least six months in 2021 on your principal 
residence located in California you may qualify to claim the 
nonrefundable renter’s credit which may reduce your tax. Complete the 
qualification record on page 21.

Line 63
Subtract the amount on line 62 from the amount on line 42. Enter the 
result on line 63. If the amount on line 62 is more than the amount on 
line 42, enter 0 .- -

Other Taxes
Attach the specific form or statement required for each item below.

Line 71 – Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)
If you claim certain types of deductions, exclusions, and credits, you 
may owe AMT if your total income is more than:
• $104,094 married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)
• $78,070 single or head of household
• $52,044 married/RDP filing separately
A child under age 19 or a student under age 24 may owe AMT if the sum 
of the amount on line 19 (taxable income) and any preference items 
listed on Schedule P (540NR) and included on the return is more than 
the sum of $7,850 and the child’s earned income.
AMT income does not include income, adjustments, and items of tax 
preference related to any trade or business of a qualified taxpayer who 
has gross receipts, less returns and allowances, during the taxable year 
of less than $1,000,000 from all trades or businesses.

Get Schedule P (540NR) for more information. See “Where To Get 
Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

Line 72 – Mental Health Services Tax
If your taxable income or nonresident CA source taxable income is 
more than $1,000,000, compute the Mental Health Services tax using 
whole dollars only:

1. CA Taxable income from Form 540NR, 
line 35  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  1	 __________

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    2	2. Less $(1,000,000)
3. Subtotal  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 3	 __________
4. Tax rate – 1% .01 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             4	                
5. Mental Health Services Tax – Multiply line 3 by line 4. 

Enter this amount here and on Form 540NR, 
line 72  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   5	 __________

Line 73 – Other Taxes and Credit Recapture
If you received an early distribution of a qualified retirement plan and 
were required to report additional tax on your federal tax return, you may 
also be required to report additional tax on your California tax return. Get 
form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) 
and Other Tax-Favored Accounts. If required to report additional tax, 
report it on line 73 and write “FTB 3805P” to the left of the amount.
In general, California conforms to federal law for income received under 
IRC Section 409A on a nonqualified deferred compensation (NQDC) plan 
and discounted stock options and stock appreciation rights. Income 
received under IRC Section 409A is subject to an additional 5% tax plus 
interest. Include the additional tax, if any, on line 73. Write “NQDC” on 
the dotted line to the left of the amount.
If you owe interest on deferred tax from installment obligations, include 
the additional tax, if any, in the amount you enter on line 73. Write “IRC 
Section 453A interest” and the amount on the dotted line to the left of 
the amount on line 73.
If you used form(s): 
• FTB 3531, California Competes Tax Credit – Enter only the recaptured 

amount used. Get the instructions for form FTB 3531, Part III, Credit 
Recapture, for more information.

• FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and Recapture Summary
• FTB 3554, New Employment Credit
Include the additional tax for credit recapture, if any, on line 73. Write 
the form number on the dotted line to the left of the amount on line 73.

Line 74 – Excess Advance Premium Assistance Subsidy (APAS) 
Repayment
Enter your excess APAS repayment amount from form FTB 3849, 
line 29.
You may have to repay excess APAS even if someone else enrolled you, 
your spouse, or your dependent in coverage purchased through Covered 
California (Marketplace). In that case, another individual may have 
received form FTB 3895 for the coverage.
You also may have to repay excess APAS if you enrolled an individual 
in coverage through the Marketplace, you don’t claim the individual 
as a dependent on your return, and no one else claims that individual 
as a dependent. For more information, get the instructions for form 
FTB 3849 and FTB Pub 3849A.

Payments
Before you begin this section, have the following federal Form(s) 
available:
• W-2, Wage and Tax Statement
• W-2G, Certain Gambling Winnings
• 1099-DIV, Dividends and Distributions
• 1099-INT, Interest Income
• 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous Information
• 1099-NEC, Nonemployee Compensation
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• 1099-OID, Original Issue Discount
• 1099-R, Distributions from Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-

Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc.
Also, have your California Form(s) 592-B, Resident and Nonresident 
Withholding Tax Statement, and 593, Real Estate Withholding Statement, 
available.
If you received wages and do not have a federal Form W-2, see page 24, 
Frequently Asked Questions, Question 2.

Line 81 – California Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total California income tax withheld from your federal Form(s):
• W-2, box 17
• W-2G, box 15
• 1099-DIV, box 15
• 1099-INT, box 17
• 1099-MISC, box 15
• 1099-NEC, box 5
• 1099-OID, box 14
• 1099-R, box 14
Do not include city, local, or county tax withheld, tax withheld by other 
states, or nonconsenting nonresident (NCNR) member’s tax from 
Schedule K-1 (568), line 15e. Do not include nonresident or real estate 
withholding from Form(s) 592-B or 593, on this line as withholding. For 
more information, see instructions for line 83. If you had California tax 
withheld and did not receive Form(s) W-2 or 1099, contact the entity 
that paid the income.
If you received Form(s) 1099-DIV, 1099-INT, 1099-MISC, 1099-NEC, 
1099-OID, or 1099-R showing California income tax withheld, include 
in the total on line 81 the amount(s) withheld and attach a copy of the 
Form(s) 1099 to the lower front of your tax return.
Generally, tax should not be withheld on federal Form 1099-MISC 
or Form 1099-NEC. If you want to pre-pay tax on income reported 
on federal Form 1099-MISC or Form 1099-NEC, use Form 540-ES, 
Estimated Tax for Individuals.

Line 82 – 2021 CA Estimated Tax and Other Payments
Enter the total of any:
• California estimated tax payments you made using 2021 

Form 540-ES, electronic funds withdrawal, Web Pay, or credit card.
• Overpayment from your 2020 California income tax return that you 

applied to your 2021 estimated tax.
• Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic 

Extension for Individuals.
• California estimated tax payments made on your behalf by an 

estate or trust on Schedule K-1 (541) or an S corporation on 
Schedule K-1(100S).

If you are including NCNR tax, write “LLC” on the dotted line to the 
left of the amount on line 82, and attach Schedule K-1 (568) with the 
amount of the NCNR tax claimed. The LLC’s return must be filed before 
an individual member’s account can be credited. If you e-file, attach any 
requested forms, schedules and documents according to your software’s 
instructions.
If you and your spouse/RDP paid joint estimated taxes but are now filing 
separate income tax returns, either of you may claim the entire amount 
paid, or each may claim part of the joint estimated tax payments. If you 
want the estimated tax payments to be divided, notify the FTB before 
you file the tax returns so the payments can be applied to the proper 
account. The FTB will accept in writing, any divorce agreement (or 
court-ordered settlement) or a statement showing the allocation of the 
payments along with a notarized signature of both taxpayers.
Send statements to:

JOINT ESTIMATE CREDIT ALLOCATION MS F283 
TAXPAYER SERVICES CENTER 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

To view payments made or get your current account balance, go to 
ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB.
If you or your spouse/RDP made separate estimated tax payments, 
but are now filing a joint income tax return, add the amounts you each 
paid. Attach a statement to the front of your Form 540NR explaining 
that payments were made under both SSNs. If you e-file, attach any 
requested forms, schedules and documents according to your software’s 
instructions.
You do not have to make estimated tax payments if you are a 
nonresident or new resident of California in 2022 and did not have a 
California tax liability in 2021.

Line 83 – Withholding (Form 592-B and/or 593) 
If you were a nonresident who received California source income or sold 
California real estate, enter the total California tax withheld from your 
Form(s) 592-B and 593. Attach a copy of Form(s) 592-B and 593 to the 
lower front of Form 540NR, Side 1.
If your filing status changed after escrow closed and before filing 
your California tax return, please contact us at 888.792.4900, prior to 
filing your California tax return, for instructions on how to claim your 
withholding credit.
Do not include withholding from other forms on this line. Do not include 
NCNR member’s tax from Schedule K-1 (568), line 15e as withholding; 
see instructions for line 82.

Line 84 – Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld
You may be entitled to claim a credit for excess State Disability 
Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) if you 
meet all of the following conditions:
• You had two or more California employers during 2021.
• You received more than $128,298 in gross wages from California 

sources.
• The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your federal 

Form(s) W-2. Be sure to attach your Form(s) W-2 to your 
Form 540NR.

If SDI (or VPDI) was withheld from your wages by a single employer, at a 
rate of more than 1.20% of your gross wages, you may not claim excess 
SDI (or VPDI) on your Form 540NR. Contact the employer for a refund.
To determine the amount to enter on line 84, complete the Excess SDI 
(or VPDI) Worksheet below. If married/RDP filing jointly, figure the 
amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately for each spouse/RDP.

Excess SDI (or VPDI) Worksheet 

Use whole dollars only.
Follow the instructions below to figure the amount of excess SDI to 
enter on Form 540NR, line 84. If you are married/or an RDP and file a 
joint tax return, you must figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) 
separately for each spouse/RDP.

 You
Your 

Spouse/
RDP

1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld 
shown on your federal Forms W-2. 
Enter the total here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   1

2. 2021 SDI (or VPDI) limit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               2 $1,539.58 $1,539.58
3. Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. Subtract 

line 2 from line 1. Enter the results here. 
Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter 
the total, in whole dollars only, on line 84  . 3

	 If zero or less, enter 0  on line 84.- -

Line 85 – Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)
Enter your Earned Income Tax Credit from form FTB 3514, California 
Earned Income Tax Credit, line 22.

Line 86 – Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC) 
Enter your Young Child Tax Credit from form FTB 3514, line 30. 
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Line 87 – Net Premium Assistance Subsidy (PAS) 
Enter your net PAS amount from form FTB 3849, line 26.

Line 88
For the Claim of Right credit, follow the reporting instructions in 
Schedule CA (540NR), Part III, line 16 under the Claim of Right.
Claim of Right: If you are claiming the tax credit on your California tax 
return, include the amount of the credit in the total for this line. Write in 
“IRC 1341” and the amount of the credit to the left of the amount column.
To determine if you are entitled to this credit, refer to your prior year 
California Form 540NR or Schedule CA (540NR), column E, to verify the 
amount was included in your CA taxable income. If the amount repaid 
under a “Claim of Right” was not originally taxed by California, you are 
not entitled to claim the credit.

ISR Penalty
Line 91 – Individual Shared Responsibility (ISR) Penalty
Check the box on Form 540NR, line 91, if you, your spouse/RDP (if 
filing a joint return), and anyone you can or do claim as a dependent 
had minimum essential coverage (also referred to as qualifying health 
care coverage) that covered all of 2021. Medicare Part A or C qualifies 
as minimum essential coverage. If you check the box on Form 540NR, 
line 91, you do not owe the individual shared responsibility penalty 
and do not need to file form FTB 3853. For more information, get 
form FTB 3853.
If you and your household did not have full-year health care coverage, 
then go to form FTB 3853 to determine if you have an individual shared 
responsibility penalty.  Enter your individual shared responsibility penalty 
from form FTB 3853, Part IV, line 1.

Overpaid Tax or Tax Due
To avoid a delay in the processing of your tax return, enter the correct 
amounts on line 101 through line 104.

Line 101 – Overpaid Tax
If the amount on line 92 is more than the amount on line 75, subtract 
the amount on line 75 from the amount on line 92. Enter the result on 
line 101. Your payments and credits are more than your tax.
Refund Intercept – The FTB administers the Interagency Intercept 
Collection (IIC) program on behalf of the State Controller’s Office. The 
IIC program intercepts (offsets) refunds when individuals and business 
entities owe delinquent debts to government agencies including the IRS 
and California colleges. All refunds are subject to interception. The FTB 
only intercepts the amount owed.
Refunds from joint tax returns may be applied to the debts of the 
taxpayer or spouse/RDP. After all tax liabilities are paid, any remaining 
credit will be applied to requested voluntary contributions, if any, and the 
remainder will be refunded.
If the debt was previously paid to the requestor and the FTB also 
intercepted the refund, any overpayment will be refunded by the agency 
that received the funds. 
For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for interagency 
intercept collection.

Line 102 – Amount You Want Applied to Your 
2022 Estimated Tax
Apply all or part of the amount on line 101 to your estimated tax for 
2022. Enter on line 102 the amount of line 101 you want applied to 2022.
An election to apply an overpayment against estimated tax is binding. 
Once the election is made, the overpayment cannot be applied to a 
deficiency after the due date of the tax return.

Line 103 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year
If you entered an amount on line 102, subtract it from the amount on 
line 101. Enter the result on line 103. You may have this entire amount 
refunded to you or make contributions to the  California Seniors Special 

Fund or make other voluntary contributions from this amount. If 
you make a contribution, skip line 104 and go to the instructions for 
contributions.

Line 104 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 92 is less than the amount on line 75, subtract 
the amount on line 92 from the amount on line 75. Enter the result on 
line 104. Your tax is more than your payments and credits.
There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year. You may 
have to pay a penalty if:
• The tax due on line 104 is $500 or more ($250 or more if 

married/RDP filing separately).
• The amount of state income tax withheld on line 81 is less than 90% 

of the amount of your total tax on line 75.
If you owe a penalty, the FTB will figure the penalty and send you a bill.

Contributions
You can make voluntary contributions to the funds listed on Side 4. See 
“Voluntary Contributions Fund Descriptions” for more information.
You may also contribute any amount to the State Parks 
Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase. To receive a single annual park 
pass, your contribution must equal or exceed $195. When applicable, 
the FTB will forward your name and address from your tax return to 
the Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) who will issue a single 
Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass to you. Only one pass will be provided 
per tax return. You may contact DPR directly to purchase additional 
passes. If there is an error on your tax return in the computation of total 
contributions or if we disallow the contribution you requested because 
there is no credit available for the tax year, your name and address 
will not be forwarded to DPR. Any contribution less than $195 will be 
treated as a voluntary contribution and may be deducted as a charitable 
contribution. For more information, go to parks.ca.gov/annualpass/ or 
email info@parks.ca.gov. 

Code 400 – Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund
If you and/or your spouse/RDP are 65 years of age or older and claim 
the Senior Exemption Credit on line 9, you may make a combined total 
contribution of up to $258 or $129 per spouse/RDP. Contributions 
entered on code 400 will be distributed to The Area Agency on Aging 
Council of California (TACC) to provide advice on and sponsorship of 
Senior Citizen issues. Any excess contributions not required by TACC 
will be distributed to senior citizen service organizations throughout 
California for meals, adult day care, and transportation.
Use the worksheet below to figure your contribution:

1. If you contribute, enter $129; if you and 
your spouse/RDP contribute, enter $258  . . . . . . .       1 ____________

2. Enter the ratio from Form 540NR, line 38  . . . . . . .      2 ____________
3. Contribution amount. Multiply line 1 

by line 2. Enter the result (rounded to the 
nearest whole dollar) here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  3 ____________

You may contribute any amount up to the amount on line 3. Enter your 

contribution on the line for code 400.

Line 120 – Total Contributions
Add amounts in code 400 through code 446. Enter the result on line 120. 

Amount You Owe
Add or subtract correctly to figure the amount you owe.

Line 121 – Amount You Owe
If you did not enter an amount on line 120, enter the amount from 
line 104 on line 121. This is the amount you owe with your Form 540NR.
If you entered an amount on line 120, add that amount to the amount on 
line 104. Enter the result on line 121. This is the amount you owe with 
your Form 540NR.
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If you have an amount on line 103 and line 120, subtract line 120 
from line 103. If line 120 is more than line 103 enter the difference on 
line 121.
To avoid a late filing penalty, file your Form 540NR by the extended due 
date even if unable to pay the amount you owe. 
Mandatory Electronic Payments – You are required to remit all your 
payments electronically once you make an estimate or extension 
payment exceeding $20,000 or you file an original return with a total 
tax liability over $80,000. Once you meet this threshold, all subsequent 
payments regardless of amount, tax type, or taxable year must be 
remitted electronically. The first payment that would trigger the 
mandatory e-pay requirement does not have to be made electronically. 
Individuals that do not send the payment electronically will be subject to 
a 1% noncompliance penalty.
You can request a waiver from mandatory e-pay if one or more of the 
following is true:
• You have not made an estimated tax or extension payment in excess 

of $20,000 during the current or previous taxable year.
• Your total tax liability reported for the previous taxable year did not 

exceed $80,000.
• The amount you paid is not representative of your total tax liability.
For more information or to obtain the waiver form, go to ftb.ca.gov/e-pay. 
Electronic payments can be made using Web Pay on the FTB’s website, 
electronic funds withdrawal (EFW) as part of the e-file tax return, or your 
credit card.
Payment Options 
• Electronic Funds Withdrawal – Instead of paying by check or money 

order, you may use this convenient option if you e-file. Provide your 
bank information, amount you want to pay, and the date you want the 
balance due to be withdrawn from your account. Your tax preparation 
software will offer this option.

• Web Pay – Pay the amount you owe using our secure online payment 
service. Go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more information.

• Credit Card – Whether you e-file or file by mail, you can use your 
Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card to pay your 
personal income taxes. If you pay by credit card, do not mail form 
FTB 3519 to us. Call 800.272.9829 or go to the ACI Payments, Inc. 
(formerly Official Payments) website at officialpayments.com, 
and use the jurisdiction code 1555. ACI Payments, Inc. charges a 
convenience fee for using this service.

• Check or Money Order – Using black or blue ink, make your check or 
money order payable to the “Franchise Tax Board.” Do not send cash or 
other items of value (such as stamps, lottery tickets, foreign currency, 
and gift cards). Write your SSN or ITIN and “2021 Form 540NR” on the 
check or money order. Enclose, but do not staple, your payment with 
your return. 
Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution. Do not combine your 2021 tax 
payment and any 2022 estimated tax payment in the same check. 
Prepare two separate checks and mail each in a separate envelope. 
If you e-filed your tax return, mail your check or money order with 
form FTB 3582, Payment Voucher for Individual e-filed Returns. 
Do not mail a copy of your e-filed tax return. 
A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your bank for 
insufficient funds. 
If you enter an amount on line 122 or line 123, see the instructions 
for line 124 for information about how to prepare your check or 
money order.

Paying by Credit Card – Whether you e-file or file by mail, use your 
Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card to pay your 
personal income taxes (tax return balance due, extension payment, 
estimated tax payment, or tax due with bill notice). There is a 
convenience fee for this service. This fee is paid directly to ACI 
Payments, Inc. based on the amount of your tax payment.

Convenience Fee
• 2.30% of the tax amount charged (rounded to the nearest cent)
• Minimum fee: $1
Example: 
Tax Payment = $753.56 Convenience Fee = $17.33
When will my payments be effective?
Your payment is effective on the date you charge it.
What if I change my mind?
If you pay your tax liability by credit card and later reverse the credit card 
transaction, you may be subject to penalties, interest, and other fees 
imposed by the FTB for nonpayment or late payment of your tax liability.
How do I use my credit card to pay my income tax bill?
Once you have determined the type of payment and how much you owe, 
the following information is needed:
• Your Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card
• Credit card number
• Expiration date
• Amount you are paying
• Your and your spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN
• First 4 letters of your and your spouse’s/RDP’s last name
• Taxable year
• Home phone number (including area code)
• ZIP code for address where your monthly credit card bill is sent
• FTB Jurisdiction Code: 1555
Go to the ACI Payments, Inc. website at officialpayments.com and 
select Payment Center, or call 800.2PAY.TAX or 800.272.9829 and 
follow the recorded instructions. ACI Payments, Inc. provides customer 
assistance at 877.297.7457 Monday through Friday, 5:00 a.m. to 
5:00 p.m. PST. ACI Payments, Inc. will tell you the convenience fee 
before you complete your transaction. Decide whether to complete the 
transaction at that time.
Payment Date : ___________ Confirmation Number: _______________
If you cannot pay the full amount or can only make a partial payment 
for the amount shown on Form 540NR, line 121, see the information 
regarding installment payments in Question 4 of the “Frequently Asked 
Questions” included in this booklet. 

Interest and Penalties
If you file your tax return or pay your tax after the original due date, you 
may owe interest and penalties on the tax due.
Do not reduce the amount on line 101 or increase the amount on 
line 104 by any penalty or interest amounts. Enter on Form 540NR, 
line 122 the amount of interest and penalties. 

Line 122 – Interest and Penalties
Interest – Interest will be charged on any late filing or late payment 
penalty from the original due date of the return to the date paid. In 
addition, if other penalties are not paid within 15 days, interest will be 
charged from the date of the billing notice until the date of payment. 
Interest compounds daily and the interest rate is adjusted twice a year. 
The FTB website has a chart of interest rates in effect since 1976. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for interest rates.
Late Filing of Tax Return – If you do not file your tax return by 
October 17, 2022, you will incur a late filing penalty plus interest from 
the original due date of the tax return. The maximum total penalty is 
25% of the tax not paid if the tax return is filed after October 17, 2022. 
The minimum penalty for filing a tax return more than 60 days late is 
$135 or 100% of the balance of tax due, whichever is less.
Late Payment of Tax – If you fail to pay your total tax liability 
by April 18, 2022, you will incur a late payment penalty plus interest. The 
penalty is 5% of the tax not paid when due plus 1/2% for each month, or 
part of a month, the tax remains unpaid. We may waive the late payment 
penalty based on reasonable cause. Reasonable cause is presumed 
when 90% of the tax shown on the return is paid by the original due 
date of the return. However, the imposition of interest is mandatory. 
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If, after April 18, 2022, you find that your estimate of tax due was too 
low, pay the additional tax as soon as possible to avoid or minimize 
further accumulation of penalties and interest. 
Other Penalties – We may impose other penalties if a payment is 
returned for insufficient funds. We may also impose penalties for 
negligence, substantial understatement of tax, and fraud.

Line 123 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax
You may be subject to an estimated tax penalty if any of the following is true:
• Your withholding and credits are less than 90% of your current tax 

year liability.
• Your withholding and credits are less than 100% of your prior 

year tax liability (110% if AGI is more than $150,000 or $75,000 if 
married/RDP filing separately).

• You did not pay enough through withholding to keep the amount 
you owe with your tax return under $500 ($250 if married/RDP filing 
separately).

• You did not make the required estimate payments, if you pay an 
installment after the date it is due, or if you underpay any installment, 
a penalty may be assessed on the portion of estimated tax that was 
underpaid from the due date of the installment to the date of payment 
or the due date of your return, whichever is earlier. Get the 2021 
form FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and 
Fiduciaries, for more information.

The FTB can figure the penalty for you when you file your tax return and 
send you a bill.
Is line 104 less than $500 ($250 if married/RDP filing separately)?
Yes  Stop. You may not be subject to an estimated payment penalty.
No  Continue. You may be subject to an estimated payment penalty.
Is line 104 less than 10% of the amount on line 63 (excluding the tax on 
lump-sum distributions on line 41)?
Yes  Stop. You may not be subject to an estimated payment penalty.
No  You may be subject to an estimated payment penalty, get form 

FTB 5805 (or form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by 
Farmers and Fishermen).

The underpayment of estimated tax penalty shall not apply to the extent 
the underpayment of an installment was created or increased by any 
provision of law that is chaptered during and operative for the taxable 
year of the underpayment. To request a waiver of underpayment of 
estimated tax penalty, get form FTB 5805 or form FTB 5805F. See 
“Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”
If you complete one of these forms, enter the amount of the penalty on 
line 123 and check the correct box on line 123. Complete and attach 
the form if you claim a waiver, use the annualized income installment 
method, or pay tax according to the schedule for farmers and fishermen, 
even if no penalty is owed.
See “Important Dates” for more information on estimated tax payments 
and how to avoid the underpayment penalty.

Line 124 – Total Amount Due 
Is there an amount on line 121?
Yes  Add line 121, line 122, and line 123. Enter the result on line 124. 

For payment options, see line 121 instructions.
No Go to line 125.
Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution.

Refund and Direct Deposit
Line 125 – Refund or No Amount Due
Did you report amounts on line 120, line 122, or line 123? 
No Enter the amount from line 103 on line 125. This is your refund 

amount. If it is less than $1, attach a written statement to your 
Form 540NR requesting the refund.

Yes Combine the amounts from line 120, line 122, and line 123. If the 
result is:

• More than line 103, subtract line 103 from the sum of line 120, 
line 122, and line 123 and enter the result on line 124. This 
is your total amount due. For payment options, see line 121 
instructions. 

• Less than line 103, subtract the sum of line 120, line 122, and 
line 123 from line 103 and enter the result on line 125. This is 
your refund amount. 

Line 126 and Line 127 – Direct Deposit of Refund
Direct deposit is safe and convenient. To have your refund directly 
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on 
Form 540NR, Side 5, line 126 and line 127. Fill in the routing and 
account numbers and indicate the account type. Verify routing and 
account numbers with your financial institution. Do not attach a voided 
check or deposit slip. See the illustration on this page.
Individual taxpayers may request that their refund be electronically 
deposited into more than one checking or savings account. This allows 
more options for managing your refund. For example, you can request 
part of your refund go to your checking account to use now and the rest 
to your savings account to save for later.
The routing number must be nine digits. The first two digits must be 01 
through 12 or 21 through 32. On the sample check, the routing number 
is 250250025. The account number can be up to 17 characters and 
can include numbers and letters. Include hyphens but omit spaces and 
special symbols. On the sample check, the account number is 202020.
Check the appropriate box for the type of account. Do not check more 
than one box for each line.
Enter the portion of your refund you want directly deposited into each 
account. Each deposit must be at least $1. When filing an original return, 
the total of line 126 and line 127 must equal the total amount of your 
refund on line 125. If line 126 and line 127 do not equal line 125, the 
FTB will issue a paper check. 
When filing an amended return, only complete the amended Form 540NR 
through line 125. Next complete the California Schedule X. The amount 
from Schedule X, line 11 is your additional refund amount. This amount 
will be carried over to your amended Form 540NR and will be entered on 
line 126 and line 127. The total of the amended Form 540NR, line 126 and 
line 127 must equal the total amount of your refund on Schedule X, line 
11. If the total of the amended Form 540NR, line 126 and line 127 do not 
equal Schedule X, line 11, the FTB will issue a paper check.
Adjusted Refunds – If there is a change made to your refund, you will 
still receive your refund via direct deposit. For more information on direct 
deposit of adjusted refunds, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for direct deposit.
Caution: Check with your financial institution to make sure your deposit 
will be accepted and to get the correct routing and account numbers. 
The FTB is not responsible for a lost refund due to incorrect account 
information entered by you or your representative.
Prior to depositing the refund, the FTB may first verify with your financial 
institution that the name on the account you designated to receive the 
direct deposit refund matches the name provided on the tax return. 
Some financial institutions will not allow a joint refund to be deposited to 
an individual account. If the direct deposit is rejected, the FTB will issue 
a paper check.

John Doe
Mary Doe
1234 Main Street
Anytown, CA 99999

1234
15-0000/0000

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF

ANYTOWN BANK
Anytown, CA 99999

I:250250025 I:202020•1234

DOLLARS

20

For

$

Do not include
the check number

Routing
number

Account
number
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Direct Deposit for ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plans – If you 
have a ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plan account maintained 
by the ScholarShare Investment Board, you may have your refund 
directly deposited to your ScholarShare account. Please visit 
scholarshare529.com for instructions.

Sign Your Tax Return
Sign your tax return in the designated space on Form 540NR, Side 5. If 
you file a joint tax return, your spouse/RDP must also sign it.
Include your preferred phone number and email address in case the 
FTB needs to contact you regarding your tax return. By providing this 
information, the FTB will be able to provide you better customer service. 
Joint Tax Return – If you file a joint tax return, both you and your 
spouse/RDP are generally responsible for the tax and any interest or 
penalties due on the tax return. This means that if one spouse/RDP does 
not pay the tax due, the other spouse/RDP may have to pay the tax due. 
See “Innocent Joint Filer Relief” under Additional Information section for 
more information. 
Paid Preparer’s Information – If you pay a person to prepare your 
Form 540NR, that person must sign and complete the area at the bottom 
of Side 5 including an identification number. The IRS requires a paid 
tax preparer to get and use a preparer tax identification number (PTIN). 
If the preparer has a federal employer identification number (FEIN), it 
should be entered only in the space provided. A paid preparer must give 
you a copy of your tax return to keep for your records.
Third Party Designee – If you want to allow your preparer, a friend, 
family member, or any other person you choose to discuss your 2021 
tax return with the FTB, check the “Yes” box in the signature area of your 
tax return. Also, print the designee’s name and telephone number. 
If you check the “Yes” box, you, and your spouse/RDP if filing a joint 
tax return, are authorizing the FTB to call the designee to answer any 
questions that may arise during the processing of your tax return. You 
are also authorizing the designee to: 
• Give the FTB any information that is missing from your tax return.
• Call the FTB for information about the processing of your tax return 

or the status of your refund or payments.
• Receive copies of notices or transcripts related to your tax return, 

upon request.
• Respond to certain FTB notices about math errors, offsets, and tax 

return preparation.
You are not authorizing the designee to receive any refund check, bind 
you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise 
represent you before the FTB. If you want to expand or change the 
designee’s authorization, go to ftb.ca.gov/poa.
The authorization will automatically end no later than the due date 
(without regard to extensions) for filing your 2022 tax return. This is 
April 15, 2023, for most people. If you wish to revoke the authorization 
before it ends, notify us by telephone at 800.852.5711 or by writing to 
Franchise Tax Board, PO Box 942840, Sacramento, CA 94240-0040, 
include your name, SSN, and the designee’s name.
Power of Attorney – If another person prepared your tax return, he or 
she is not automatically granted access to your tax information in future 
dealings with us. At some point, you may wish to designate someone to 
act on your behalf in matters related or unrelated to this tax return (e.g., an 
audit examination). To protect your privacy, you must submit to us a legal 
document called a “Power of Attorney” (POA) authorizing another person 
to discuss or receive personal information about your income tax records. 
For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov/poa.
Check Your Social Security Number (or ITIN) – Verify that you have 
written your social security number (or ITIN) in the spaces provided at 
the top of Form 540NR. If you file a joint tax return, verify that you and 
your spouse’s/RDP’s numbers are entered in the same order as your 
names.

Filing Your Tax Return
Important: Attach a copy of your federal income tax return, and all 
 supporting federal forms and schedules to the back of Form 540NR.
Federal Form(s) W-2, W-2G, and 1099, and CA Form(s) 592-B, and 
593. Attach all the Form(s) W-2 and W-2G you received to the lower 
front of your tax return. Also, attach any Form(s) 1099, 592-B, and 593 
showing California income tax withheld.
If you do not receive your Form(s) W-2 by January 31, 2022, contact 
your employer or go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB. Only 
your employer can issue or correct a Form W-2. If you cannot get a copy 
of your Form W-2, complete form FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2, 
Wage and Tax Statement, or Form 1099-R. See “Where To Get Income 
Tax Forms and Publications.”
If you forget to send your Form(s) W-2 or any other withholding form(s) 
with your income tax return, do not send it separately, or with another 
copy of your tax return. Wait until the FTB requests it from you. 

Assembling Your Tax Return
Assemble your tax return in the order shown below.

Caution: Form 540NR has five sides. If filing Form 540NR, you must file 
all five sides with the FTB.

Mailing Your Tax Return
If you owe, mail your tax return to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942867 
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

If you have a refund, or if no amount due, mail your tax return to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001

Copy of other state tax return
Copy of federal tax return

Supporting California Schedules

Side
 5

Form 540NR

Side
 4

Form 540NR

Side
 3

Form 540NR

Side
 2

Form 540NR

Side
 1

Form 540NR

W-2
W-2G
1099
592-B
593

Enclose, but do not 
staple, any payment.
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Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit Qualification Record
Tip e-file and skip this page! The tax software product you use to e-file will help you find out if you qualify for this credit and will figure the correct 

amount of the credit automatically. Go to ftb.ca.gov to check your e-file options.

If you were a resident of California for at least six months in 2021 and paid rent on property in California, which was your principal residence, you may qualify 
for a credit that you can use to reduce your tax. Answer the questions below to see if you qualify. For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, 
husband, or wife also refer to a California Registered Domestic Partner (RDP), unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP, they refer to both a 
California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737. 
Do not mail this record. Keep with your tax records.

1. Were you a resident of California for at least six full months of the tax year in 2021?
Military personnel. If you are not a legal resident of California, you do not qualify for this credit. Your spouse/RDP may claim up to a maximum of $60 if he or she was a 
resident during 2021, and is otherwise qualified.
YES. Go to question 2. NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

2. Is your adjusted gross income from all sources on your Form 540NR, line 17:
• $45,448 or less if single or married/RDP filing separately
• $90,896  or less if married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er)?

YES. Go to question 3.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

3. Did you pay rent, for at least half of 2021, on property (including a mobile home that you owned on rented land) in California, which was your 
principal residence?
YES. Go to question 4.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

4. Can you be claimed as a dependent by a parent, foster parent, legal guardian, or any other person in 2021?
NO. Go to question 6. YES. Go to question 5.	

5. For more than half the year in 2021, did you live in the home of the person who can claim you as a dependent?
	NO. Go to question 6. YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

6. Was the property you rented exempt from property tax in 2021?
You do not qualify for this credit if, for more than half of the year, you rented property that was exempt from property taxes. Exempt property includes most 
government-owned buildings, church-owned parsonages, college dormitories, and military barracks. However, if you or your landlord paid possessory interest taxes for 
the property you rented, then you may claim this credit.
NO. Go to question 7. YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

7. Did you claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2021? 
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from 
your spouse/RDP for the entire year and your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if 
you are otherwise qualified.
NO. Go to question 8. YES. If your filing status is single or married/RDP filing separately, stop here, you do not qualify for 

this credit. If your filing status is married/RDP filing jointly, go to question 9.

8. Were you single in 2021?
YES. Go to question 11. NO. Go to question 9.

9. Did your spouse/RDP claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2021?
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from 
your spouse/RDP for the entire year and your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if 
you are otherwise qualified.
NO. Go to question 11. YES. If both you and your spouse/RDP claimed the homeowner’s property tax exemption, 

stop here, you do not qualify for this credit. Otherwise, go to question 10.

10. Did you and your spouse/RDP maintain separate residences for the entire year in 2021?
YES. Go to question 11. NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

11. Use the following chart to find the amount of your credit based on the number of full months you were a resident of and rented property in California 
in 2021. Enter the amount on the line below. If married/RDP filing jointly where one spouse/RDP claimed the homeowner’s property tax exemption and both 
spouses/RDPs lived apart for the entire year, enter half of the amount listed on the chart for married/RDP filing jointly on the line below. Follow the instructions 
next to the chart.

Filing status 
Number of months

6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Single or married/RDP 
filing separately $30 $35 $40 $45 $50 $55 $60
Married/RDP filing 
jointly, head of 
household or qualifying 
widow(er)

$60 $70 $80 $90 $100 $110 
File 

Form 
540

$ ___ ___ ___

If this credit is the only special credit you are claiming, enter the amount on 
your Form 540NR, line 61.
If you are a Form 540NR filer and are claiming additional special credits in 
addition to this credit, go to the instructions on page 12 for Form 540NR.

Fill in the street address(es) and landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2021, which qualified you for this credit.

Street Address City, State, and ZIP Code Dates Rented in 2021 (From______to______)

a_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
b_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Enter the name, address, and telephone number of your landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above.

Name Street Address City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number

a_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
b_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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Voluntary Contribution Fund Descriptions
Make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole dollar amounts to the funds listed below. To contribute to the California Seniors Special Fund, use 
the instructions for code 400 below. The amount you contribute either reduces your overpaid tax or increases your tax due. You may contribute only 
to the funds listed and cannot change the amount you contribute after you file your tax return. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
voluntary contributions. 

Code 400, California Seniors Special Fund – If you and/or your 
spouse/RDP are 65 years of age or older as of January 1, 2022, and 
claim the Senior Exemption Credit, you may make a combined total 
contribution of up to $258 or $129 per spouse/RDP. Contributions made 
to this fund will be distributed to the Area Agency on Aging Councils 
(TACC) to provide advice on and sponsorship of Senior Citizens issues. 
Any excess contributions not required by TACC will be distributed to 
senior citizen service organizations throughout California for meals, 
adult day care, and transportation. 
Code 401, Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Dementia Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to provide grants to 
California scientists to study Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders. 
This research includes basic science, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, 
behavioral problems, and caregiving. With almost 600,000 Californians 
living with the disease and another 2 million providing care to a loved 
one with Alzheimer’s, our state is in the early stages of a major public 
health crisis. Your contribution will ensure that Alzheimer’s disease 
receives the attention, research, and resources it deserves. For more 
information, go to cdph.ca.gov and search for Alzheimer. 
Code 403, Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Program – Contributions will be used to help protect and 
conserve California’s many threatened and endangered species and the 
wild lands that they need to survive, for the enjoyment and benefit of you 
and future generations of Californians. 
Code 405, California Breast Cancer Research Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Fund – Contributions will fund research toward preventing 
and curing breast cancer. Breast cancer is the most common cancer to 
strike women in California. It kills 4,000 California women each year. 
Contributions also fund research on prevention and better treatment, 
and keep doctors up-to-date on research progress. For more information 
about the research your contributions support, go to cbcrp.org. Your 
contribution can help make breast cancer a disease of the past. 
Code 406, California Firefighters’ Memorial Voluntary Tax Contribution 
Fund – Contributions will be used for the repair and maintenance of the 
California Firefighters’ Memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol, 
ceremonies to honor the memory of fallen firefighters and to assist 
surviving loved ones, and for an informational guide detailing survivor 
benefits to assist the spouses/RDPs and children of fallen firefighters.
Code 407, Emergency Food for Families Voluntary Tax Contribution 
Fund – Contributions will be used to help local food banks feed 
California’s hungry. Your contribution will fund the purchase of 
much-needed food for delivery to food banks, pantries, and soup kitchens 
throughout the state. The State Department of Social Services will 
monitor its distribution to ensure the food is given to those most in need. 
Code 408, California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Voluntary 
Tax Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to preserve the 
memory of California’s fallen peace officers and assist the families they 
left behind. Since statehood, over 1,300 courageous California peace 
officers have made the ultimate sacrifice while protecting law-abiding 
citizens. The non-profit charitable organization, California Peace Officers’ 
Memorial Foundation, has accepted the privilege and responsibility of 
maintaining a memorial for fallen officers on the State Capitol grounds. 
Each May, the Memorial Foundation conducts a dignified ceremony 
honoring fallen officers and their surviving families by offering moral 
support, crisis counseling, and financial support that includes academic 
scholarships for the children of those officers who have made the 
supreme sacrifice. On behalf of all of us and the law-abiding citizens of 
California, thank you for your participation. 
Code 410, California Sea Otter Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund – The 
California Coastal Conservancy and the Department of Fish and Wildlife 
will each be allocated 50% of the contributions. Contributions allocated 
to the California Coastal Conservancy will be used for research, science, 
protection, projects, or programs related to the Federal Sea Otter 
Recovery Plan or improving the nearshore ocean ecosystem, including, 
program activities to reduce sea otter mortality. Contributions allocated 
to the Department of Fish and Wildlife will be used to establish a sea 
otter fund within the department’s index coding system for increased 
investigation, prevention, and enforcement action. 

Code 413, California Cancer Research Voluntary Tax Contribution 
Fund – Contributions will be used to conduct research relating 
to the causes, detection, and prevention of cancer and to expand 
community-based education on cancer, and to provide prevention and 
awareness activities for communities that are disproportionately at risk 
or afflicted by cancer.
Code 422, School Supplies for Homeless Children Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to provide school 
supplies and health-related products to homeless children.
Code 423, State Parks Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase – 
Contributions will be used for the protection and preservation of 
California’s state parks and for the cost of a Vehicle Day Use Annual 
Pass valid at most park units where day use fees are collected. The 
pass is not valid at off-highway vehicle units, or for camping, oversized 
vehicle, extra vehicle, per-person, or supplemental fees. If a taxpayer’s 
contribution equals or exceeds $195, the taxpayer will receive a single 
Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass. Amounts contributed in excess of the 
parks pass cost may be deducted as a charitable contribution for the 
year in which the voluntary contribution is made. Any contribution 
less than $195 will be treated as a voluntary contribution and may be 
deducted as a charitable contribution. For more information, go to 
parks.ca.gov/annualpass/ or email info@parks.ca.gov.
Code 424, Protect Our Coast and Oceans Voluntary Tax Contribution 
Fund – Contributions will be used to provide grants to community 
organizations working to protect, restore, and enhance the California 
coast and ocean. Contributions will support shoreline cleanups, habitat 
restoration, coastal access improvements, and ocean education programs.
Code 425, Keep Arts in Schools Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund – 
Contributions will be used by the Arts Council for the allocation of grants 
to individuals or organizations administering arts programs for children 
in preschool through 12th grade.
Code 431, Prevention of Animal Homelessness and Cruelty Voluntary 
Tax Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to provide funding 
to programs designed to prevent and eliminate animal homelessness 
and cruelty, research that explores novel approaches to preventing and 
eliminating pet homelessness, and the prevention, investigation, and 
prosecution of animal cruelty and neglect. 
Code 438, California Senior Citizen Advocacy Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to conduct the sessions 
of the California Senior Legislature and to support its ongoing activities 
on behalf of older persons.
Code 439, Native California Wildlife Rehabilitation Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to support the recovery 
and rehabilitation of injured, sick, or orphaned native wildlife, and 
conservation education.
Code 440, Rape Kit Backlog Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund – 
Contributions will be used for DNA testing in the processing of rape kits.
Code 443, Schools Not Prisons Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund – 
Contributions will be used to fund academic and career readiness 
programs that seek to break the school-to-prison pipeline. 
Code 444, Suicide Prevention Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund – 
Contributions will be used to fund crisis center programs designed to 
provide suicide prevention services.
Code 445, Mental Health Crisis Prevention Voluntary Tax Contribution 
Fund – Contributions will be used to fund the Crisis Intervention Team 
program that trains peace officers to assist and engage safely with 
persons living with mental illness.
Code 446, California Community and Neighborhood Tree Voluntary 
Tax Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to support the 
Department of Forestry and Fire Protection’s grant program for urban 
forest management activities under the California Urban Forestry 
Act of 1978. This program focuses on bringing trees to communities 
that are disadvantaged or lack government infrastructure needed to enter 
into and support urban tree planting and care agreements.
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CREDIT CHART
Credit Name Code Description
California Competes Tax – FTB 3531 233 The credit, which is allocated and certified by the California Competes Tax Credit Committee, 

is available for businesses that want to come to California or to stay and grow in California. 
Website: business.ca.gov

California Motion Picture and Television Production – 
     FTB 3541

223 For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, the original credit is allocated and certified 
by the California Film Commission, and is available for qualified production expenditures attributable 
to a qualified motion picture, an independent film, or a TV series that relocates to California. 
Website: film.ca.gov

Child Adoption Costs – Worksheet on page 14 197 50% of qualified costs in the year an adoption is ordered
Child and Dependent Care Expenses – FTB 3506 

See the instructions on page 12
232 Similar to the federal credit except that the California credit amount is based on a specified 

percentage of the federal credit.
College Access Tax – FTB 3592 235 The credit, which is allocated and certified by the California Educational Facilities Authority, is 

available for taxpayers who contribute to the College Access Tax Credit Fund. 
Website: treasurer.ca.gov/cefa

Dependent Parent – See page 13 173 Must use married/RDP filing separately status and have a dependent parent
Disabled Access for Eligible Small Business – FTB 3548 205 Similar to the federal credit but limited to $125 based on 50% of qualified expenditures 

that do not exceed $250
Donated Agricultural Products Transportation – FTB 3547 204 50% of the costs paid or incurred for the transportation of agricultural products donated 

to nonprofit charitable organizations
Earned Income Tax – FTB 3514 None This refundable credit is similar to the federal Earned Income Credit (EIC) but with different income 

limitations.
Young Child Tax – FTB 3514 None This refundable credit is available to taxpayers who also qualify for the CA Earned Income Tax Credit 

(EITC) and who have at least one qualifying child who is younger than six years old as of the last day 
of the taxable year.

Enhanced Oil Recovery – FTB 3546 203 One third of the similar federal credit and limited to qualified enhanced oil recovery projects located 
within California.

Joint Custody Head of Household – 
Worksheet on page 13

170 30% of tax up to $513 for taxpayers who are single or married/RDP filing separately, who have a 
child and meet the support test

Low-Income Housing – FTB 3521 172 Similar to the federal credit but limited to low-income housing in California
Main Street Small Business Tax II – FTB 3866 241 The credit is available to qualified small business employers that received a tentative credit 

reservation from the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA).
Natural Heritage Preservation – FTB 3503 213 55% of the fair market value of any qualified contribution of property donated to the state, any local 

government, or any nonprofit organization designated by a local government.
New California Motion Picture and Television Production – 

FTB 3541
237 For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, the new credit is allocated and certified by 

the California Film Commission, and is available for qualified production expenditures attributable to 
a qualified motion picture, an independent film, or a TV series that relocates to California. 
Website: film.ca.gov

New Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables – FTB 3814 238 15% of the qualified value of the donated fresh fruits, vegetables, or other qualified donated items 
made to California food banks, based on weighted average wholesale price

New Employment – FTB 3554 234 The credit is available for a taxpayer that hires a full-time employee and pays or incurs wages in a 
designated census tract or economic development area, and receives a tentative credit reservation 
for that full-time employee.

Nonrefundable Renter’s – See page 21 None For California residents who paid rent for their principal residence for at least 6 months in 2021 and 
whose AGI does not exceed a certain limit

Other State Tax – Schedule S 187 Net income tax paid to another state or a U.S. possession on income also taxed by California
Pass-Through Entity Elective Tax – FTB 3804-CR 242 For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, and before January 1, 2026, California 

allows a credit against the personal income tax to a taxpayer, other than a partnership, that is a 
partner, shareholder, or member of a qualified entity that elects to pay the elective tax.

Prior Year Alternative Minimum Tax – FTB 3510 188 Must have paid alternative minimum tax in a prior year and have no alternative minimum tax liability in 2021
Prison Inmate Labor – FTB 3507 162 10% of wages paid to prison inmates
Program 3.0 California Motion Picture and Television 
Production – FTB 3541 

239 For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, the newest credit is allocated and certified 
by the California Film Commission, and is available for qualified production expenditures attributable 
to a qualified motion picture, an independent film, or a TV series that relocates to California. 
Website: film.ca.gov

Research – FTB 3523 183 Similar to the federal credit but limited to costs for research activities in California
Senior Head of Household – 

Worksheet on page 13
163 2% of taxable income up to $1,565 for seniors who qualified for head of household in 2019 or 2020 

and whose qualifying individual died during 2019 or 2020
Repealed Credits: The expiration dates for the credits listed below have passed. However, these credits had carryover provisions. You may claim these credits only 

if you have an unused carryover available from prior years. If you are not required to complete Schedule P (540NR), Alternative Minimum Tax 
and Credit Limitations – Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, get form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and Recapture Summary, to figure your credit 
carryover to future years. For EZ, LAMBRA, MEA or TTA credit carryovers, get form FTB 3805Z, form FTB 3807, form FTB 3808, or form FTB 3809. 
See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications”.

Agricultural Products 175 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     
Commercial Solar Electric System  196 . . . . . . . . . . . .           
Commercial Solar Energy  181 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  
Community Development Financial Institutions 
Investment  209 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             
Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables 224 . . . . . . . . . . .          
Employer Childcare Contribution 190 . . . . . . . . . . . . .            
Employer Childcare Program 189 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               
Employee Ridesharing 194 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    
Employer Ridesharing: Large employer 191 . . . . .    

Small employer 192 . . . . .    
Transit passes 193 . . . . . .     

Energy Conservation 182 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     

Enterprise Zone Hiring 176 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    
Enterprise Zone Sales or Use Tax 176 . . . . . . . . . . . . .            
Environmental Tax  218 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       
Farmworker Housing 207 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     
Local Agency Military Base Recovery 

Area Hiring 198 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           
Local Agency Military Base Recovery 

Area Sales or Use Tax 198 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  
Low-Emission Vehicles 160 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   
Main Street Small Business Tax 240 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             
Manufacturing Enhancement Area Hiring 211 . . . . . . .      
New Jobs 220 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              
Orphan Drug 185 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           

Political Contributions 184 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    
Recycling Equipment  174 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     
Residential Rental & Farm Sales 186 . . . . . . . . . . . . .            
Ridesharing 171 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            
Salmon & Steelhead Trout Habitat 

Restoration 200 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          
Solar Energy 180 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           
Solar Pump 179 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            
Targeted Tax Area Hiring 210 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  
Targeted Tax Area Sales or Use Tax 210 . . . . . . . . . . .          
Water Conservation 178 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      
Young Infant 161 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           
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Frequently Asked Questions 
(Go to ftb.ca.gov for more frequently asked questions.)

1. What if I can’t file by April 18, 2022, and I think I owe tax?
You must pay 100% of the amount you owe by April 18, 2022, to avoid 
interest and penalties. If you cannot file because you have not received 
all your federal Form(s) W-2, estimate the amount of tax you owe 
by completing form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic Extension for 
Individuals. Mail it to the FTB with your payment by April 18, 2022, or 
pay online at ftb.ca.gov/pay. Then, when you receive all your federal 
Forms W-2, complete and mail your tax return by October 17, 2022, 
(you must use Form 540NR).

2. I never received a federal Form W-2. What should I do?

204

If not all your federal Forms W-2 were received by 
January 31, 2022, contact your employer. Only an employer 
issues or corrects a federal Form W-2. For more information, 
call 800.338.0505, follow the recorded instructions and enter 
code 204 when instructed.

If you cannot get a copy of your federal Form W-2, complete form 
FTB 3525 or federal Form 1099-R. Go to ftb.ca.gov/forms or see 
“Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.” For online wage 
and withholding information, go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for 
MyFTB.

3. How can I get help?
Throughout California more than 1,200 sites provide trained volunteers 
offering free help during the tax filing season to persons who need to 
file simple federal and state income tax returns. Many military bases 
also provide this service for members of the U.S. Armed Forces. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for vita to find a list of participating locations or 
call the FTB at 800.852.5711 to find a location near you. 

4. What do I do if I can’t pay what I owe with my 2021 
tax return?
Pay as much as possible when you file your tax return. If unable to 
pay your tax in full with your tax return, make a request for monthly 
payments. However, interest accrues and an underpayment penalty may 
be charged on the tax not paid by April 18, 2022, even if your request 
for monthly payments is approved. To make monthly payments, 
complete form FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request, online or 
mail it to the address on the form. Do not mail it with your tax return.

949

The Installment Agreement Request might not be processed 
and approved until after your tax return is processed, and you 
may receive a bill before you receive approval of your request.
To order this form, go to ftb.ca.gov/forms or call 800.338.0505, 
follow the recorded instructions and enter code 949 when 
instructed.

610

For information on how to pay by credit card, go to 
ftb.ca.gov/pay, or call 800.338.0505, follow the recorded 
instructions and enter code 610 when instructed.

5. Is direct deposit safe?
Direct deposit is safe and convenient. To have your refund directly 
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on 
Form 540NR, Side 5, line 126 and line 127. Fill in the routing and 
account numbers and indicate the account type.

6. How can I check on the status of my refund?
Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for refund status. You will need your social 
security number (SSN) or individual taxpayer identification number 
(ITIN) and the refund amount from your tax return.
You can also call our automated phone service. 

7. I discovered an error on my tax return. What should I do?

908

If you discover an error on your California income tax return, 
after you filed it (paper or e-file), file an amended Form 540NR 
and attach Schedule X, California Explanation of Amended 
Return Changes, to correct your previously filed tax return. Get 
Schedule X at ftb.ca.gov/forms or call 800.338.0505, follow 
the recorded instructions and enter code 908 when instructed.

8. The IRS made changes to my federal tax return. What 
should I do?
If your federal income tax return is examined and changed by the IRS 
and you owe additional tax, report these changes to the FTB within 
six months of the date of the final federal determination. If the changes 
the IRS made result in a refund due for California, claim a refund within 
two years of the date of the final federal determination. File an amended 
Form 540NR and Schedule X to correct your previously filed income tax 
return and mail them to the following address, as applicable:
Without payment

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001

With payment
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX  942867 
SACRAMENTO  CA 92467-0001

or send a copy of the federal changes to: 
ATTN RAR/VOL MS F310 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1998 
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1998

or fax the information to 916.843.2269.
If you have any questions relating to the IRS audit adjustments, 
call 916.845.4028. 
For general tax information or questions, call 800.852.5711.
Regardless of which method you use to notify the FTB, you must include 
a copy of the final federal determination along with all data and schedules 
on which the federal adjustment was based. Get FTB Pub. 1008, Federal 
Tax Adjustments and Your Notification Responsibilities to California, 
for more information. Go to ftb.ca.gov/forms or see “Order Forms and 
Publications.”
File an amended Form 540NR and Schedule X only if the change 
affected your California tax liability.

9. How long should I keep my tax information?
Requests for information from you regarding your California income tax 
return usually occurs within the California statute of limitations period, 
which is usually the later of four years from the due date of the tax 
return or four years from the file date of the tax return. (Exception: An 
extended statute of limitations period may apply for California or federal 
tax returns that are related to or subject to a federal audit.)
Keep a copy of your tax return and the records that verify the income, 
deductions, adjustments, or credits reported on your return. Some 
records should be kept longer. For example, keep property records as 
long as needed to figure the basis of the property or records needed to 
verify carryover items (i.e., net operating losses, capital losses, passive 
losses, casualty losses, etc.) or records needed to track deferred gains 
on a 1031 exchange.

10. I will be moving after I file my tax return. How do I notify 
the FTB of my new address?
Go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB or call 800.852.5711 
and follow the recorded instructions to report a change of address. 
You may also use form FTB 3533, Change of Address for Individuals. 
This form is available at ftb.ca.gov/forms. If you change your address 
online or by phone, you do not need to file form FTB 3533.
After filing your tax return, report a change of address to us for up 
to four years, especially if you leave the state and no longer have a 
requirement to file a California tax return.

11. Are all domestic partners required to file joint or separate 
tax returns?
No, only domestic partners who are registered with the California 
Secretary of State are required to file using the married/RDP filing 
jointly or married/RDP filing separately filing status.

Owe Money? Web Pay lets you pay online, so you can schedule it and forget it! Go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more information.
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Additional Information
California Sales and Use Tax
In general, the purchase of goods outside California that are brought into the state 
for storage, use, or other consumption may be subject to use tax. The use tax rate 
is the same as the sales tax rate in effect where the goods will be stored, used, 
or consumed; usually your residence address. The tax is based on the purchase 
price of the goods.
• If you purchased goods from an out-of-state retailer (such as a mail order 

firm) and sales tax would have been charged if you purchased the goods 
in California, you may owe the use tax on your purchase if the out-of-state 
retailer did not collect the California tax.

• If you traveled to a foreign country and brought goods home with you, 
the use tax will be based on the purchase price of the goods you listed on 
your U.S. Customs Declaration after deduction of the $800 per individual 
exemption allowable by law within any 30-day period. This deduction does 
not apply to goods sent or shipped to California by common carrier.

You should report and pay your use tax directly to the California Department of 
Tax and Fee Administration by going to their website at cdtfa.ca.gov.
If you file a federal Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Business, with 
your federal income tax return and are in the business of selling tangible personal 
property, you may be required to obtain a seller’s permit with the California 
Department of Tax and Fee Administration. If you do not sell tangible personal 
property, but you have at least $100,000 in business gross receipts, you may be 
required to register with the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 
to report use tax.
If you have any questions concerning the taxability of a purchase, or want 
information about obtaining a seller’s permit, or registering to report use tax, 
go to the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration’s website at 
cdtfa.ca.gov or call their Customer Service Center at 1.800.400.7115 (CRS:711) 
(for hearing and speech disabilities). Income tax information is not available at 
these numbers.

Collection Fees
The FTB is required to assess collection and filing enforcement cost recovery fees 
on delinquent accounts.

Deceased Taxpayers
A final tax return must be filed for a person who died in 2021 if a tax return 
normally would be required. The administrator or executor, if one is appointed, or 
beneficiary must file the tax return. Please print “deceased” and the date of death 
next to the taxpayer’s name at the top of the tax return.
If you are a surviving spouse/RDP and no administrator or executor has been 
appointed, file a joint tax return if you did not remarry or entered into another 
registered domestic partnership during 2021. Indicate next to your signature that 
you are the surviving spouse/RDP.
You may also file a joint tax return with an administrator or executor acting on 
behalf of the deceased taxpayer.
If you file a tax return and claim a refund due to a deceased taxpayer, you are 
certifying under penalty of perjury either that you are the legal representative of 
the deceased taxpayer’s estate (in this case, attach certified copies of the letters 
of administration or letters testamentary) or that you are entitled to the refund 
as the deceased’s surviving relative or sole beneficiary under the provisions of 
the California Probate Code. You must also attach a copy of federal Form 1310, 
Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, and a copy of 
the death certificate when you file a tax return and claim a refund due.

Innocent Joint Filer Relief
If you file a joint tax return, both you and your spouse/RDP are generally 
responsible for paying the tax and any interest or penalties due on the tax return. 
However, you may qualify for relief of payment on all or part of the balance as 
an innocent joint filer. For more information, get form FTB 705, Innocent Joint 
Filer Relief Request, at ftb.ca.gov/forms or call 916.845.7072, Monday – Friday 
between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except holidays.

Requesting a Copy of Your Tax Return
The FTB keeps personal income tax returns for three and one-half years from the 
original due date. To obtain a copy of your tax return, write a letter or complete 
form FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal Income or Fiduciary Tax Return. 
In most cases, a $20 fee is charged for each taxable year you request. However, 
no charge applies for victims of a designated California or federal disaster, or you 
request copies from a field office that assisted you in completing your tax return. 
See “Order Forms and Publications.”

Local Benefits
You cannot deduct the amounts you pay for local benefits that apply to property 
in a limited area (construction of streets, sidewalks, or water and sewer systems). 
You must look at your real estate tax bill to determine if any nondeductible 
itemized charges are included in your bill. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov 
and search for real estate tax or get federal Publication 17, Your Federal Income 
Taxes-For Individuals, Chapter 11.

Vehicle License Fees for Federal Schedule A
On your federal Schedule A (Form 1040), Itemized Deductions, you may deduct 
the California motor vehicle license fee listed on your Vehicle Registration 
Billing Notice from the Department of Motor Vehicles. The other fees listed on 
your billing notice such as registration fee, weight fee, and county fees are not 
deductible. 

Voting Is Everybody’s Business
To register to vote in California, you must be:
• A United States citizen and a resident of California,
• 18 years old or older on Election Day,
• Not currently in state or federal prison or on parole for the conviction of a 

felony, and
• Not currently found mentally incompetent to vote by a court.
Pre-register at 16. Vote at 18. Voter pre-registration is now available for 16 and 
17 year olds who otherwise meet the voter registration eligibility requirements. 
California youth who pre-register to vote will have their registration become active 
once they turn 18 years old.
If you wish to receive a paper Voter Registration or Pre-Registration Application, 
call the California Secretary of State’s Voter Hotline at 800-345-VOTE or simply 
register online at RegisterToVote.ca.gov. For more information about how and 
when to register to vote, visit sos.ca.gov/elections.

It’s Your Right . . . Register and Vote

If You File Electronically
If you e-file your tax return, make sure all the amounts entered on the paper copy 
of your California tax return are correct before you sign form FTB 8453, California 
e-file Return Authorization for Individuals, or form FTB 8879, California e-file 
Signature Authorization for Individuals. If you are requesting direct deposit of 
a refund, make sure that your account and routing information is correct. Your 
tax return can be transmitted to the FTB by your preparer or e-file service only 
after you sign forms FTB 8453 or FTB 8879. The preparer or e-file service must 
provide you with:
• A copy of forms FTB 8453 or FTB 8879.
• Any original CA Forms 592-B, 593, and federal Forms W-2, 1099-G, and other 

Form(s) 1099.
• A paper copy of your California tax return showing the data transmitted 

to the FTB.
You cannot retransmit an e-filed tax return once we have accepted the original. 
You can correct an error by filing an amended Form 540NR and Schedule X to 
correct your previously filed tax return.
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Instructions for Filing a 2021 Amended Return
Important Information
Protective Claim – If you are filing a claim for refund for a taxable year 
where an audit is being conducted by another state’s taxing agency, 
litigation is pending or where a final determination by the IRS is 
pending, check box a for “Protective claim for refund” on Schedule X, 
Part II, line 1. Specify the pending litigation or reference to the federal 
determination on Part II, line 2 so we can properly process your claim.
Military Compensation – If you are filing an amended return to exclude 
military compensation as a result of the Servicemembers Civil Relief 
Act (P.L. 108-189), check box k for “Military HR 100” on Schedule X, 
Part II, line 1. In addition, attach a copy of your military Form W-2, 
Wage and Tax Statement, revised Schedule CA (540NR), and any other 
affected forms or schedules to your amended Form 540NR. If you are 
amending a taxable year for which the normal statute of limitations 
(SOL) has expired, attach a statement explaining why the SOL is still 
open. If the SOL is open because of military service in a combat zone 
or outside the United States, attach copies of any documents that show 
when you served in a combat zone or overseas. Beginning in 2009, the 
Military Spouses Residency Relief Act may affect the California income 
tax filing requirements for spouses of military personnel. For additional 
information, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.
Do not attach your previously filed return to your amended return.
Do not file an amended return to correct your SSN, name, or address, 
instead, call or write us. See “Contacting the Franchise Tax Board” for 
more information.
Use Tax – Do not amend your return to correct a use tax error reported 
on your original tax return. Enter the amount from your original return. 
The California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) 
administers this tax. Refer all questions or requests relating to use tax to 
the CDTFA at cdtfa.ca.gov or call 800.400.7115.
Amount You Want Applied To Your 2022 Estimated Tax – Enter zero on 
amended Form 540NR, line 102 and get the instructions for Schedule X 
for the actual amount you want applied to your 2022 estimated tax.
Voluntary Contributions – You cannot amend voluntary contributions. 
Enter the amount from your original return.
Direct Deposit – You can now use direct deposit on your amended 
return. 
When filing an amended return, only complete the amended Form 540NR 
through line 125. Next complete the Schedule X. The amount from 
Schedule X, line 11 is your additional refund amount. This amount will 
be carried over to your amended Form 540NR and will be entered on 
line 126 and line 127. The total of the amended Form 540NR, line 126 
and line 127 must equal the total amount of your refund on Schedule X, 
line 11. If the total of the amended Form 540NR, line 126 and line 127 
do not equal Schedule X, line 11, the FTB will issue a paper check. 
Dependent Exemption Credit with No ID – For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2018, taxpayers claiming a dependent exemption 
credit for a dependent who is ineligible for an SSN and a federal ITIN 
may provide alternative information to the FTB to identify the dependent. 
To claim the dependent exemption credit, taxpayers complete form 
FTB 3568, attach the form and required documentation to their tax 
return, and write “no id” in the SSN field of line 10, Dependents, on 
Form 540NR. For each dependent being claimed that does not have 
an SSN and an ITIN, a form FTB 3568 must be provided along with 
supporting documentation.
If you are amending a return beginning with taxable year 2018 to claim 
the dependent exemption credit, complete an amended Form 540NR, 
and write “no id” in the SSN field on the Dependents line, and attach 
Schedule X. To complete Schedule X, check box m for “Other” on 
Part II, line 1, and write the explanation “Claim dependent exemption 
credit with no id and form FTB 3568 is attached” on Part II, line 2. Make 
sure to attach form FTB 3568 and the required supporting documents 
in addition to the amended return and Schedule X. If you do not claim 
the dependent exemption credit on the original 2021 tax return, you 

may amend the 2021 tax return following the same procedures used to 
amend your previous year amended tax returns beginning with taxable 
year 2018. For more information, get FTB Notice 2021-01.

Purpose
Use Form 540NR to amend your original or previously filed California 
nonresident or part-year resident income tax return. If the FTB adjusted 
your return, you should use the amounts as adjusted by the FTB. Check 
the box at the top of Form 540NR indicating AMENDED return and follow 
the instructions. Submit the completed amended Form 540NR and 
Schedule X along with all required schedules and supporting forms.

When to File
Generally, if you filed federal Form 1040-X, Amended U.S. Individual 
Income Tax Return, file an amended California tax return within six 
months unless the changes do not affect your California tax liability. File 
an amended return only after you have filed your original or previously 
filed California tax return. 

California Statute of Limitations
Original tax return was filed on or before April 15th: If you are making 
a claim for refund, file an amended tax return within four years from the 
original due date of the tax return or within one year from the date of 
overpayment, whichever period expires later.
Original tax return was filed within the extension period (April 15th – 
October 15th): If you are making a claim for refund, file an amended tax 
return within four years from the date the original tax return was filed or 
within one year from the date of overpayment, whichever period expires 
later. 
Original tax return was filed after October 15th: If you are making a 
claim for refund, file an amended tax return within four years from the 
original due date of the tax return (April 15th) or within one year from 
the date of overpayment, whichever period expires later. 
If you are filing your amended tax return after the normal statute 
of limitation period (four years after the due date of the original 
tax return), attach a statement explaining why the normal statute of 
limitations does not apply.
If you are filing your amended return in response to a billing notice 
you received, you will continue to receive billing notices until your 
amended tax return is accepted. You may file an informal claim for 
refund even though the full amount due including tax, penalty, and 
interest has not yet been paid. After the full amount due has been paid, 
you have the right to appeal to the Office of Tax Appeals at ota.ca.gov or 
to file suit in court if your claim for refund is disallowed.
To file an informal claim for refund, check box l for “Informal claim” on 
Schedule X, Part II, line 1 and mail the claim to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

Financially Disabled Taxpayers
The statute of limitations for filing claims for refunds is suspended 
during periods when a taxpayer is “financially disabled.” You are 
considered “financially disabled” when you are unable to manage your 
financial affairs due to a medically determinable physical or mental 
impairment that is deemed to be either a terminal impairment or is 
expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months. You 
are not considered “financially disabled” during any period that your 
spouse/RDP or any other person is legally authorized to act on your 
behalf on financial matters. For more information, get form FTB 1564, 
Financially Disabled – Suspension of the Statute of Limitations.
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Federal Notices
If you were notified of an error on your federal income tax return that 
changed your AGI, you may need to amend your California income tax 
return for that year. 
If the IRS examines and changes your federal income tax return, and you 
owe additional tax, report these changes to the FTB within six months. 
You do not need to inform the FTB if the changes do not increase your 
California tax liability. If the changes made by the IRS result in a refund 
due, you must file a claim for refund within two years. Use an amended 
Form 540NR and Schedule X to make any changes to your California 
income tax returns previously filed.
Include a copy of the final federal determination, along with all 
underlying data and schedules that explain or support the federal 
adjustment. 
Note: Most penalties assessed by the IRS also apply under California 
law. If you are including penalties in a payment with your amended tax 
return, see Schedule X, line 8a instructions.

Children With Investment Income 
If your child was required to file form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for 
Certain Children with Unearned Income, and your taxable income has 
changed, review your child’s tax return to see if you need to file an 
amended tax return. Get form FTB 3800 for more information. 

Contacting the Franchise Tax Board
If you have not received a refund within six months of filing your 
amended return, do not file a duplicate amended return for the same 
year. For information on the status of your refund, you may write to: 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

For telephone assistance, see General Phone Service on page 95.

Filing Status
Your filing status for California must be the same as the filing status you 
used on your federal income tax return, unless you are in a RDP. If you 
are an RDP and file single for federal, you must file married/RDP filing 
jointly or married/RDP filing separately for California. If you entered into 
a same-sex marriage, your filing status for California would generally 
be the same as the filing status that was used for federal. If you are a 
same-sex married individual or an RDP and file head of household for 
federal, you may file head of household for California only if you meet 
the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered not in a 
registered domestic partnership. 
Exception for Filing a Separate Tax Return – A married couple who 
filed a joint federal tax return may file separate state tax returns if either 
spouse was either of the following: 
• An active member of the United States armed forces (or any auxiliary 

military branch) during the year being amended. 
• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California 

sources during the year being amended.
Changing Your Filing Status – If you changed your filing status on your 
federal amended tax return, also change your filing status for California 
unless you meet one of the exceptions listed above. 
Married/RDP Filing Jointly to Married/RDP Filing Separately – You 
cannot change from married/RDP filing jointly to married/RDP filing 
separately after the due date of the tax return. 
Exception: A married couple who meets the “Exception for Filing a 
Separate Tax Return” shown above may change from joint to separate 
tax returns after the due date of the tax return. 

Filing Separate Tax Returns to Married/RDP Filing Jointly – If you 
or your spouse/RDP (or both of you) filed a separate tax return, you 
generally can change to a joint tax return any time within four years from 
the original due date of the separate tax return(s). To change to a joint 
tax return, you and your spouse/RDP must have been legally married or 
an RDP on the last day of the taxable year. 
To amend from separate tax returns to a joint tax return, follow Form 
540NR instructions to complete only one amended tax return. Both you 
and your spouse/RDP must sign the amended joint tax return.
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A

R

RP

TAXABLE YEAR 

2021 

California Nonresident or Part-Year 
Resident Income Tax Return 

CALIFORNIA FORM 

540NR
Check here if this is an AMENDED return. Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month________ year 2022.

Your first name Initial Last name Suffix Your SSN or ITIN

If joint tax return, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Initial Last name Suffix Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

Additional information (see instructions) PBA code

Street address (number and street) or PO box Apt. no/ste. no. PMB/private mailbox

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP code

Foreign country name Foreign province/state/county Foreign postal code

D
at

e 
o

f 
B

ir
th Your DOB (mm/dd/yyyy) Spouse's/RDP's DOB (mm/dd/yyyy)

P
ri

o
r 

N
am

e Your prior name (see instructions) Spouse’s/RDP’s prior name (see instructions)

Fi
lin

g
 

S
ta

tu
s

If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, check the box here 

1 Single 

2 Married/RDP filing jointly. See inst. 

3 Married/RDP filing separately. Enter spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here 

4 Head of household (with qualifying person). See instructions. 

5 Qualifying widow(er).  Enter year spouse/RDP died. 

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

See instructions.

6 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, check the box here. See inst 

E
xe

m
p

ti
o

n
s

For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the number you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.
Whole dollars only

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you 
checked box 2 or 5, enter 2. If you checked the box on line 6, see instructions. X $129 = $ 

8 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1; 
if both are visually impaired, enter 2 X $129 = $ 

9 Senior: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are 65 or older, enter 1; 
if both are 65 or older, enter 2. See instructions. X $129 = $ 

10 Dependents: Do not include yourself or your spouse/RDP.
 Dependent 1 Dependent 2 Dependent 3

First Name

Last Name

SSN. See 
instructions.

Dependent's 
relationship 
to you

Total dependent exemptions X $400 = $ • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10



Your name: Your SSN or ITIN:

11 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10 $

To
ta

l T
ax

ab
le

 In
co

m
e

12 Total California wages from your federal 
Form(s) W-2, box 16

13  Enter federal AGI from federal Form 1040, 1040-SR, or 1040-NR, line 11

14  California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), 
Part II, line 27, column B 

15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. 
See instructions

16 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, 
line 27, column C 

17 Adjusted gross income from all sources. Combine line 15 and line 16
18 Enter the larger of: Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540NR), 

Part III, line 30; OR Your California standard deduction. See instructions

19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total taxable income. If less than zero, 
enter 0- -

C
A

 T
ax

ab
le

 In
co

m
e

31 Tax. Check the box if from: 
Tax Table Tax Rate Schedule 

FTB 3800 FTB 3803 
32 CA adjusted gross income from Schedule CA 

(540NR), Part IV, line 1.

35 CA Taxable Income from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 5

36 CA Tax Rate. Divide line 31 by line 19

37 CA Tax Before Exemption Credits. Multiply line 35 by line 36

38 CA Exemption Credit Percentage. Divide line 35 by line 19. 
If more than 1, enter 1.0000

39 CA Prorated Exemption Credits. Multiply line 11 by line 38. 
If the amount on line 13 is more than $212,288, see instructions 

40 CA Regular Tax Before Credits. Subtract line 39 from line 37. If less than zero, enter 0- -

41 Tax. See instructions. Check the box if from: Schedule G-1 FTB 5870A 

42 Add line 40 and line 41

S
p

ec
ia

l C
re

d
it

s

50 Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. See instructions. 
Attach form FTB 3506

51 Credit for joint custody head of household. 
See instructions

52 Credit for dependent parent. See instructions
53 Credit for senior head of household. 

See instructions.

54 Credit percentage. Enter the amount from line 38 here. 
If more than 1, enter 1.0000. See instructions

55 Credit amount. See instructions
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32

35

37

40

42

51

52

53

50

41

39

36

38

18

19

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31

.

.

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 54 .
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Your name: Your SSN or ITIN:

S
p

ec
ia

l C
re

d
it

s 
co

n
ti

n
u

ed

58 Enter credit name code and amount

59 Enter credit name code and amount

60 To claim more than two credits. See instructions

61 Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit. See instructions

62 Add line 50 and line 55 through 61. These are your total credits

63 Subtract line 62 from line 42. If less than zero, enter 0

O
th

er
 T

ax
es

71 Alternative Minimum Tax. Attach Schedule P (540NR)

72 Mental Health Services Tax. See instructions

73 Other taxes and credit recapture. See instructions

74 Excess Advance Premium Assistance Subsidy (APAS) repayment. See instructions

75 Add line 63, line 71, line 72, line 73, and line 74. This is your total tax

P
ay

m
en

ts

81 California income tax withheld. See instructions

82 2021 CA estimated tax and other payments. See instructions 

83 Withholding (Form 592-B and/or 593). See instructions

84 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. See instructions

85 Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)

86 Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC). See instructions

87 Net Premium Assistance Subsidy (PAS). See instructions

88 Add line 81 through line 87. These are your total payments. See instructions

IS
R

 P
en

al
ty 91 If you and your household had full-year health care coverage, check the box. 

See instructions. Medicare Part A or C coverage is qualifying health care coverage  
If you did not check the box, see instructions. 

Individual Shared Responsibility (ISR) Penalty. See instructions

O
ve

rp
ai

d
 T

ax
/T

ax
 D

u
e 92  Payments after Individual Shared Responsibility Penalty. If line 88 is more than line 91, 

subtract line 91 from line 88
93  Individual Shared Responsibility Penalty Balance. If line 91 is more than line 88, 

subtract line 88 from line 91

101 Overpaid tax. If line 92 is more than line 75, subtract line 75 from line 92

102 Amount of line 101 you want applied to your 2022 estimated tax 

60

61

62

63

58

59

. . .

. . .

.

.

.

.

.

00

00

00

00

00

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
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. . . . . . .
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75
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Your name: Your SSN or ITIN:

103 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 102 from line 101

104 Tax due. If line 92 is less than line 75, subtract line 92 from line 75

C
o

n
tr

ib
u

ti
o

n
s

. . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

 . . . . . . .

 Code Amount

California Seniors Special Fund. See instructions

Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Dementia Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Voluntary Tax Contribution Program

California Breast Cancer Research Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

California Firefighters’ Memorial Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

Emergency Food for Families Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

California Sea Otter Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

California Cancer Research Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

School Supplies for Homeless Children Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 

State Parks Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase

Protect Our Coast and Oceans Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

Keep Arts in Schools Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

Prevention of Animal Homelessness and Cruelty Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

California Senior Citizen Advocacy Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

Native California Wildlife Rehabilitation Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

Rape Kit Backlog Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

Schools Not Prisons Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

Suicide Prevention Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

Mental Health Crisis Prevention Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund.

California Community and Neighborhood Tree Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund

120 Add code 400 through code 446. This is your total contribution 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
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. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

408

425

410

443

444

413

431

405

422

438

406

423

439

407

424

440

120

•
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00

00

00

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . .

 . . . . . . . .

400

401

403

. 00 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 104

• . 00 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 103

446•

445• . 00

. 00

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 . . . . . . . . . .
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Your name: Your SSN or ITIN:

A
m

o
u

n
t  

Yo
u

 O
w

e 

121 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 93, line 104, and line 120. See instructions. Do not send cash. 

Mail to:  FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001.  
Pay Online – Go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more information.

In
te

re
st

 a
n

d
 

P
en

al
ti

es

122 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties

123 Underpayment of estimated tax. 

Check the box: FTB 5805 attached FTB 5805F attached 

124 Total amount due. See instructions. Enclose, but do not staple, any payment

R
ef

u
n

d
 a

n
d

 D
ir

ec
t 

D
ep

o
si

t

125 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 120 from line 103. See instructions. 

Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001. . . . . .

Fill in the information to authorize direct deposit of your refund into one or two accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip. 
See instructions. Have you verified the routing and account numbers? Use whole dollars only.
All or the following amount of my refund (line 125) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:

126 Direct deposit amountRouting number
Type 

Checking 

Savings 

Account number

The remaining amount of my refund (line 125) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:

127 Direct deposit amountRouting number
Type 

Checking 

Savings 

Account number

IMPORTANT: Attach a copy of your complete federal return.

Our privacy notice can be found in annual tax booklets or online. Go to ftb.ca.gov/privacy  to learn about our privacy policy statement, or go to ftb.ca.gov/forms and search for 1131 
to locate FTB 1131 EN-SP, Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection. To request this notice by mail, call 800.338.0505 and enter form code 948 when instructed.  
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this tax return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my 
knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.

Sign 
Here
It is unlawful 
to forge a 
spouse’s/
RDP’s 
signature.

Joint tax 
return? 
(See 
instructions)

Your signature Date Spouse’s/RDP’s signature (if a joint tax return, both must sign)

.

.

.

.

00

00

00

00

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 . . . .

 . . . . . . . . . . .

122

121

124

123 . . . . . . . . . . .

.

.

.

00

00

00

125

Your email address. Enter only one email address. Preferred phone number

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours, if self-employed) PTIN

Firm’s address Firm’s FEIN

Do you want to allow another person to discuss this tax return with us? See instructions Yes No 

Print Third Party Designee’s Name Telephone Number

. . . . . .
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TAXABLE YEAR 

2021 
California Adjustments —
Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents

SCHEDULE 

CA (540NR) 
Important: Attach this schedule behind Form 540NR, Side 5 as a supporting California schedule. 
Name(s) as shown on tax return SSN or ITIN 

Part I Residency Information. Complete all lines that apply to you and your spouse/RDP for taxable year 2021. 
During 2021: 
1 My California (CA) Residency (Check one) 

a  Myself: Nonresident Part-Year Resident Resident b Spouse: Nonresident Part-Year Resident Resident 

Yourself Spouse/RDP 
2 a I was domiciled in (enter two letter code, see instructions) 

b I was in the military and stationed in (enter two letter code) 
3 I became a CA resident (enter state of prior residence and date (mm/dd/yyyy) of move)  
4 I became a CA nonresident (enter new state of residence and date (mm/dd/yyyy) of move) 
5 I was a CA nonresident the entire year (enter state of residence) 
6 The number of days I spent in CA for any purpose was:  
7 I owned a home/property in CA (enter Y for Yes, N for No) 
8 Before 2021: I was a CA resident for the period of   –  – 

Part II Income Adjustment Schedule 
Section A — Income 

from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR 

 A B C D E 

 
Federal Amounts 

(taxable amounts from 
your federal tax return)

Subtractions 
See instructions 

(difference between 
CA & federal law)

Additions 
See instructions 

(difference between 
CA & federal law)

Total Amounts 
Using CA Law 

As If You Were a 
CA Resident 

(subtract col. B from 
col. A; add col. C 

to the result)

CA Amounts 
(income earned or 
received as a CA 

resident and income 
earned or received 
from CA sources 
as a nonresident)

1 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions 
before making an entry in col. B or C 

2 Taxable interest. a 2b 
3 Ordinary dividends. See instructions. 

a 3b 
4 IRA distributions. See instructions. 

a 4b 
5 Pensions and annuities. See 

instructions. a 5b 
6 Social security benefits. 

a 6b 
7 Capital gain or (loss). See instructions 

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 EN-SP.

Section B — Additional Income 
from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040)  

A B C D E 
Federal Amounts 

(taxable amounts from 

your federal tax return) 

Subtractions 
See instructions 

(difference between 

CA & federal law) 

Additions 

See instructions 

(difference between 

CA & federal law) 

Total Amounts 

Using CA Law 

As If You Were a 

CA Resident 

(subtract col. B from 

col. A; add col. C 

to the result) 

CA Amounts 

(income earned or 

received as a CA 
resident and income 

earned or received 

from CA sources 

as a nonresident) 

1 Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state 
and local income taxes 

2a Alimony received. See instructions 

3 Business income or (loss). See instructions
4 Other gains or (losses) 
5 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, 

S corporations, trusts, etc 

6 Farm income or (loss) 

7 Unemployment compensation 

1 

7 

1 

2a 

3 
4 

5 

6 

7 
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. . . . . . . . . 8a

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  8b

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8c
 

. . . . . . . . . .  8d

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  8e

. .  8f

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  8g

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8h

 8i

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  8j

. . . . . . . . . . . .  8k

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .  8l

. . . . . .  8m

. . . . .  8n

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8o

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  8p

 

 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  9a

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  9b1

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  9b2

. . . . . . . . . .  9b3

. . . . . .  9b4

. . . . . . .  10

Section B — Additional Income 
 Continued

8z
 

 A B C D E 

 Federal Amounts 
(taxable amounts from 
your federal tax return)

Subtractions 
See instructions 

(difference between 
CA & federal law)

Additions 
See instructions 

(difference between 
CA & federal law)

Total Amounts 
Using CA Law 

As If You Were a 
CA Resident 

(subtract col. B from 
col. A; add col. C 

to the result)

CA Amounts 
(income earned or 
received as a CA 

resident and income 
earned or received 
from CA sources 
as a nonresident)

8 Other income: 
a Federal net operating loss 

 

b Gambling income  
c Cancellation of debt  
d Foreign earned income exclusion 

from federal Form 2555  
e Taxable Health Savings Account 

distribution    
f Alaska Permanent Fund dividends   
g Jury duty pay   
h Prizes and awards   
i Activity not engaged in for profit income   
j Stock options   
k Income from the rental of personal 

property if you engaged in the rental for 
profit but were not in the business of 
renting such property 

  

l Olympic and Paralympic medals and 
USOC prize money   

m  IRC Section 951(a) inclusion    
n IRC Section 951A(a) inclusion    
o IRC Section 461(l) excess business 

loss adjustment  
p Taxable distributions from an ABLE 

account   

z Other income. List type and amount. 

9 a   Total other income. Add lines 8a 
through 8z 

b1 Disaster loss deduction from form 
FTB 3805V   

b2 NOL deduction from form 
FTB 3805V   

b3 NOL from form FTB 3805Z, 
FTB 3807, or FTB 3809    

b4 Student loan discharged due to 
closure of a for-profit school  

10 Total. Combine Section A, line 1 through 
line 7, and Section B, line 1 through 
line 7, line 9a and line 9b1 through line 9b4 
(as applicable) in each column. 
See instructions. Go to Section C 
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Section C — Adjustments to Income 
from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040)

 A B C D E 

 Federal Amounts 
(taxable amounts from 
your federal tax return)

Subtractions 
See instructions 

(difference between 
CA & federal law)

Additions 
See instructions 

(difference between 
CA & federal law)

Total Amounts 
Using CA Law 

As If You Were a 
CA Resident 

(subtract col. B from 
col. A; add col. C 

to the result)

CA Amounts 
(income earned or 
received as a CA 

resident and income 
earned or received 
from CA sources 
as a nonresident)

11 Educator expenses    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .11
12 Certain business expenses of reservists, 

performing artists, and fee-basis 
government officials . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .12

13 Health savings account deduction    . . . . . . . .13 
14 Moving expenses. Attach form FTB 3913. 

See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .14
15 Deductible part of self-employment tax. 

See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .15 
16 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and 

qualified plans . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .16   
17 Self-employed health insurance deduction. 

See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .17 
18 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings   . . . .18 
19a Alimony paid. b Enter recipient’s: 

SSN 
Last name 

 
 

       –     –        
  19a

20 IRA deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .20

21 Student loan interest deduction  . . . . . . . . . .21

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .2222 Reserved for future use      
23 Archer MSA deduction   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23

24 Other adjustments: 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  24aa Jury duty pay   

b Deductible expenses related to income 
reported on line 8k from the rental 
of personal property engaged in for 
profit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24b

c Nontaxable amount of the value of 
Olympic and Paralympic medals and 
USOC prize money reported on line 8l  24c

   
d Reforestation amortization and 

expenses . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24d  
e Repayment of supplemental 

unemployment benefits under the Trade 
Act of 1974 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24e

  

f Contributions to IRC 
Section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans . . 24f

g Contributions by certain chaplains to 
IRC Section 403(b) plans . . . . . . . . . .  24g

h Attorney fees and court costs for 
actions involving certain unlawful 
discrimination claims . . . . . . . . . . . . .  24h

  
i Attorney fees and court costs you paid in 

connection with an award from the IRS for 
information you provided that helped the 
IRS detect tax law violations . . . . . . . .  24i

   

j Housing deduction from federal 
Form 2555 

 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24j    

k Excess deductions of IRC Section 67(e) 
expenses from federal Schedule K-1 
(Form 1041) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  24k

  

z Other adjustments. List type and amount.  

24z
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Section C — Adjustments to Income 
Continued

A
Federal Amounts

(taxable amounts from
your federal tax return)

B
Subtractions

See instructions
(difference between
CA & federal law)

C
Additions

See instructions
(difference between
CA & federal law)

D
Total Amounts
Using CA Law

As If You Were a
CA Resident

(subtract col. B from
col. A; add col. C

to the result)

E
CA Amounts

(income earned or
received as a CA

resident and income
earned or received
from CA sources
as a nonresident)

1
2
3
4

5a
5b
5c
5d

5e
6

8a
8b
8c
8d
8e
9

10

11
12
13
14

15

	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
	 . .

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
. .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
. . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  7

. . . . . . . . . .  
	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

		
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25

. . . . . . . . . . . . . 26

. . . . 27

.. . . . . . . . .

 

18

16
17

25 Total other adjustments. Add lines 24a 
through 24z 

26 Add line 11 through line 23 and line 25 in 
each column, A through E 

27 Total. Subtract line 26 from line 10 in each 
column, A through E. See instructions 

Part III Adjustments to Federal Itemized Deductions 
Check the box if you did NOT itemize for federal but will itemize for California 

 A Federal Amounts 
(from federal Schedule A 
(Form 1040))

B Subtractions 
See instructions C Additions 

See instructions

Medical and Dental Expenses See instructions. 

1 Medical and dental expenses    

2 Enter amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11    

3 Multiply line 2 by 7.5% (0.075)    

4 Subtract line 3 from line 1. If line 3 is more than line 1, enter 0  
Taxes You Paid 

5a State and local income tax or general sales taxes   

5b State and local real estate taxes   

5c State and local personal property taxes   

5d Add line 5a through line 5c   

5e Enter the smaller of line 5d or $10,000 ($5,000 if married filing separately) in column A 
Enter the amount from line 5a, column B in line 5e, column B 
Enter the difference from line 5d and line 5e, column A in line 5e, column C 

6 Other taxes. List type 
7 Add line 5e and line 6 

Interest You Paid 

8a Home mortgage interest and points reported to you on federal Form 1098  

8b Home mortgage interest not reported to you on federal Form 1098  

8c Points not reported to you on federal Form 1098  

8d Mortgage insurance premiums  

8e Add line 8a through line 8d 

9 Investment interest 
10 Add line 8e and line 9 
Gifts to Charity 
11 Gifts by cash or check 
12 Other than by cash or check 
13 Carryover from prior year 
14 Add line 11 through line 13 
Casualty and Theft Losses 

15 Casualty or theft loss(es) (other than net qualified disaster losses). 
Attach federal Form 4684. See instructions 

Other Itemized Deductions

16 Other—from list in federal instructions 
17 Add lines 4, 7, 10, 14, 15, and 16 in columns A, B, and C 

18 Total. Combine line 17 column A less column B plus column C 
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. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

	  
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

	  	

	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

	  	  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
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	 .  	 . . . . . . .

	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .











19

20

21

22

24









25

26

27

28

 29

 30

Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions 

19 Unreimbursed employee expenses - job travel, union dues, job education, etc. 
Attach federal Form 2106 if required. See instructions 

20 Tax preparation fees  

21 Other expenses- investment, safe deposit box, etc. List type 

22 Add line 19 through line 21 

23 Enter amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 

24 Multiply line 23 by 2% (0.02). If less than zero, enter 0 

25 Subtract line 24 from line 22. If line 24 is more than line 22, enter 0  

26 Total Itemized Deductions. Add line 18 and line 25  

27 Other adjustments. See instructions. Specify  

28 Combine line 26 and line 27  

29 Is your federal AGI (Form 540NR, line 13) more than the amount shown below for your filing status?

Single or married/RDP filing separately $212,288 

Head of household $318,437 

Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) $424,581 

No. Transfer the amount on line 28 to line 29.

Yes. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in the instructions for Schedule CA (540NR), line 29 

30 Enter the larger of the amount on line 29 or your standard deduction listed below 

Single or married/RDP filing separately. See instructions $4,803

Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) $9,606 

Part IV California Taxable Income

1 California AGI. Enter your California AGI from Part II, line 27, column E 
2 Enter your deductions from line 30 
3 Deduction Percentage. Divide Part II, line 27, column E by Part II, line 27, column D. Carry the decimal 

to four places. If the result is greater than 1.0000, enter 1.0000. If less than zero, enter 0  - -
4 California Itemized/Standard Deductions. Multiply line 2 by the percentage on line 3 
5 California Taxable Income. Subtract line 4 from line 1. Transfer this amount to Form 540NR, line 35. If less than 

zero, enter 0  
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2021 Instructions for Schedule CA (540NR)
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC). 

What’s New 
Reporting Requirements – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2021, taxpayers who benefited from the exclusion from gross 
income for the Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans forgiveness, 
other loan forgiveness, the Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) advance 
grant, restaurant revitalization grant, or shuttered venue operator grant, 
and related eligible expense deductions under the federal Coronavirus 
Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act, Paycheck Protection 
Program and Health Care Enhancement Act, Paycheck Protection Program 
Flexibility Act of 2020, the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) of 2021, the 
Consolidated Appropriations Act (CAA), 2021, or the PPP Extension Act of 
2021, should file form FTB 4197, Information on Tax Expenditure Items, as 
part of the Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB) annual reporting requirement. For 
more information, get form FTB 4197. 
American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) of 2021 – The ARPA was enacted on 
March 11, 2021. In general, California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) 
does not conform to the changes. California taxpayers continue to follow 
the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of the specified date of January 1, 2015, 
with modifications. 
COBRA Premium Assistance – The ARPA allows an exclusion from gross 
income for COBRA premium assistance subsidies received by eligible 
individuals for the COBRA coverage period beginning on April 1, 2021, and 
ending on September 30, 2021. California law does not conform to this 
federal provision. For more information, see Schedule CA (540NR) specific 
line instructions in Part II, Section B, line 8z. 
Employer-Provided Dependent Care Assistance Exclusion – California 
conforms to the employer-provided dependent care assistance exclusion 
from gross income as of the specified date of January 1, 2015, without any 
modifications. The ARPA of 2021 enacted on March 11, 2021, temporarily 
increases the amount of the exclusion from gross income from $5,000 to 
$10,500 (and half of that amount for married filing separate) for employer-
provided dependent care assistance. CA law does not conform to this change  
under the federal ARPA. For more information, see Schedule CA (540NR) 
specific line instructions in Part II, Section A, line 1. 
Expanded Definition of Qualified Higher Education Expenses – For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, California law conforms to the 
expanded definition of qualified higher education expenses associated with 
participation in a registered apprenticeship program and payment on the 
principal or interest of a qualified education loan under the federal Further 
Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2020. 
Consolidated Appropriations Act (CAA), 2021 – The CAA, 2021, was 
enacted on December 27, 2020. In general, the R&TC does not conform to 
the changes under the act. California taxpayers continue to follow the IRC as 
of the specified date of January 1, 2015, with modifications. California law 
does not conform to the following federal provisions under the CAA, 2021: 
• Increased limitations and carryovers for charitable contributions that 

were made during 2020 and 2021. 
• Temporary elimination of the 50% limitation on the deduction of 

expenses for food or beverages provided by a restaurant that are paid or 
incurred after December 31, 2020, and before January 1, 2023. 

• Temporary special rules for health and dependent care Flexible Spending 
Arrangements 

California Venues Grant – For taxable years beginning on or after 
September 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2030, California law allows an 
exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by a taxpayer 
pursuant to the California Venues Grant Program that is administered by the 
Office of Small Business Advocate (CalOSBA). For more information, see 
R&TC Section 17158 and Schedule CA (540NR) specific line instructions in 
Part II, Section B, line 8z. 
California Microbusiness COVID-19 Relief Grant – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023, 
California law allows an exclusion from gross income for grant allocations 
received by a taxpayer pursuant to the California Microbusiness COVID-19 
Relief Program that is administered by CalOSBA. Federal law has no similar 
exclusion. For more information, see Schedule CA (540NR) specific line 
instructions in Part II, Section B, line 8z. 

Other Loan Forgiveness – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, California law allows an exclusion from gross 
income for borrowers of forgiveness of indebtedness described in 
Section 1109(d)(2)(D) of the CARES Act as stated by section 278, 
Division N of the federal CAA, 2021. The CAA, 2021, allows deductions 
for eligible expenses paid for with covered loan amounts. California law 
conforms to this federal provision, with modifications. For California 
purposes, these deductions generally do not apply to an ineligible entity. 
“Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that is either a publicly-traded company 
or does not meet the 25% reduction from gross receipts requirements 
under Section 311 of the CAA, 2021. For more information, see Schedule 
CA (540NR) specific line instructions in Part II, Section B, line 3 or go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for AB 80. 
Shuttered Venue Operator Grant – For taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2019, California law allows an exclusion from gross 
income for amounts awarded as a shuttered venue operator grant under the 
CAA, 2021. The CAA, 2021, allows deductions for eligible expenses paid 
for with grant amounts. California law conforms to this federal provision, 
with modifications. For California purposes, these deductions do not apply 
to an ineligible entity. “Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that is either a 
publicly-traded company or does not meet the 25% reduction from gross 
receipts requirements under Section 311 of Division N of the CAA, 2021. 
For more information, see Schedule CA (540NR) specific line instructions in 
Part II, Section B, line 3, or R&TC Section 17158.3.    
Income Exclusion for Rent Forgiveness – For taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2025, gross income shall 
not include a tenant’s rent liability that is forgiven by a landlord or rent 
forgiveness provided through funds grantees received as a direct allocation 
from the Secretary of the Treasury based on the federal CAA, 2021. For more 
information, see Schedule CA (540NR) specific line instructions in Part II, 
Section B, line 8z. 
Moving Expense Deduction – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2021, taxpayers should file California form FTB 3913, Moving 
Expense Deduction, to claim moving expense deductions. Attach the 
completed form FTB 3913 to Form 540NR, California Nonresident or 
Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. For more information, see Schedule 
CA (540NR) specific line instructions in Part II, Section C, line 14, and get 
form FTB 3913. 
Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) Loans Forgiveness – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2019, California law allows an exclusion 
from gross income for covered loan amounts forgiven under the federal 
CARES Act, Paycheck Protection Program and Health Care Enhancement Act, 
Paycheck Protection Program Flexibility Act of 2020, the CAA, 2021, or the 
PPP Extension Act of 2021. 
Also, the ARPA expands PPP eligibility to include “additional covered 
nonprofit entities” which includes certain Code 501(c) nonprofit 
organizations and Internet-only news publishers and Internet-only periodical 
publishers. California law does not conform to this expansion of PPP 
eligibility. For more information, see specific line instructions for Schedule 
CA (540NR) in Part II, Section B, line 3. 
The CAA, 2021, allows deductions for eligible expenses paid for with 
covered loan amounts. California law conforms to this federal provision, with 
modifications. For California purposes, these deductions do not apply to an 
ineligible entity. “Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that is either a publicly-
traded company or does not meet the 25% reduction from gross receipts 
requirements under Section 311 of Division N of the CAA, 2021. For more 
information, see specific line instructions for Schedule CA (540NR) in Part II, 
Section B, line 3 or R&TC Section 17131.8 or go to ftb.ca.gov and search 
for AB 80. 
Revenue Procedure 2021-20 allows taxpayers to make an election to report 
the eligible expense deductions related to a PPP loan on a timely filed 
original 2021 tax return including extensions. If a taxpayer makes an election 
for federal purposes, California will follow the federal treatment for California 
tax purposes. 
Advance Grant Amount – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, California law conforms to the federal law regarding the 
treatment for an emergency Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) grant under 
the federal CARES Act or a targeted EIDL advance under the CAA, 2021.
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General Information
In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, California 
law conforms to the IRC as of January 1, 2015. However, there are continuing 
differences between California and federal law. When California conforms 
to federal tax law changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made 
at the federal level. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search 
for conformity.  Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, 
Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, and the Business Entity 
tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing their 
state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful to the 
greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is not possible 
to include all requirements of the California R&TC in the instructions. 
Taxpayers should not consider the instructions as authoritative law.
Conformity
For updates regarding federal acts, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity.
Setting Every Community Up for Retirement Enhancement (SECURE) 
Act – The SECURE Act was enacted on December 20, 2019. In general, 
California R&TC does not conform to the changes. California taxpayers continue 
to follow the IRC as of the specified date of January 1, 2015, with modifications. 
SECURE Act repeal of maximum age 70½ – The SECURE Act repealed the 
maximum age of 70½ for traditional IRA contributions. California law does 
not conform to this federal provision. For more information, see Schedule 
CA (540NR) specific line instructions in Part II, Section C, line 20.
Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act – The federal 
CARES Act was enacted on March 27, 2020. In general, California R&TC does 
not conform to the changes. California taxpayers continue to follow the IRC as 
of the specified date of January 1, 2015, with modifications. California law does 
not conform to the following federal provisions under the CARES Act: 
• Charitable contributions changes 
• Exclusion for certain employer payment of student loans
• Business interest limitations 
• Health-savings account changes
California law conforms to the following federal provision under the CARES Act:
• Temporarily increases the amount of loans allowable from a qualified 

employer plan to $100,000 for coronavirus-related relief and delays by 
one year the due date for any repayment for an outstanding loan from a 
qualified employer plan if requirements are met.

The above lists are not intended to be all-inclusive of the federal and state 
conformities and differences. For more information, see specific line 
instructions or refer to the R&TC.
Worker Status: Employees and Independent Contractors – Some individuals 
may be classified as independent contractors for federal purposes and 
employees for California purposes, which may also cause changes in how 
their income and deductions are classified. Proposition 22 was operative as 
of December 16, 2020, and may affect a taxpayer’s worker classification. For 
more information, see Schedule CA (540NR) specific line instructions in Part 
II, Section A, line 1; Part II, Section B, line 3; Part II, Section C, line 15 and 
line 17; and Part III, line 4.
Rental Real Estate Activities – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, the dollar limitation for the offset for rental real estate 
activities shall not apply to the low income housing credit program. For more 
information, see R&TC Section 17561(d)(1). Get form FTB 3801-CR, Passive 
Activity Credit Limitations, for more information.
R&TC Section 41 Reporting Requirements – Beginning in taxable year 2020, 
California allows individuals and other taxpayers operating under the personal 
income tax law to claim credits and deduction of business expenses paid or 
incurred during the taxable year in conducting commercial cannabis activity. 
Sole proprietors conducting a commercial cannabis activity that is licensed 
under California Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act 
(CA MAUCRSA), should file form FTB 4197. The FTB uses information from 
form FTB 4197 for reports required by the California Legislature. For more 
information, see Schedule CA (540NR) specific line instructions in Part II, 
Section B, line 3, and get form FTB 4197 for more information. 
Net Operating Loss (NOL) Suspension – For taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023, California has suspended 
the NOL carryover deduction. Taxpayers may continue to compute and 
carryover an NOL during the suspension period. However, taxpayers with 
net business income or modified adjusted gross income (AGI) of less than 
$1,000,000 or with disaster loss carryovers are not affected by the NOL 
suspension rules. 

The carryover period for suspended losses is extended by: 
• Three years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning before 

January 1, 2020. 
• Two years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2021. 
• One year for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2021, and before January 1, 2022. 
For more information, see R&TC Section 17276.23, and get form FTB 3805V, 
Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss 
Limitations – Individuals, Estates, and Trusts.
Excess Business Loss Limitation – The federal CARES Act made 
amendments to IRC Section 461(l) by eliminating the excess business loss 
limitation of noncorporate taxpayers for taxable year 2020 and retroactively 
removing the limitation for taxable years 2018 and 2019. California does not 
conform to those amendments. Also, California law does not conform 
to the federal changes in the ARPA that extends the limitation on excess 
business losses of noncorporate taxpayers for taxable years beginning after 
December 31, 2020, and ending before January 1, 2027. Complete form 
FTB 3461, California Limitation on Business Losses, if you are a noncorporate 
taxpayer and your net losses from all of your trades or businesses are more 
than $262,000 ($524,000 for married taxpayers filing a joint return). For more 
information, see Schedule CA (540NR) specific line instructions in Part II, 
Section B, line 8o, and get form FTB 3461.
Loophole Closure and Small Business and Working Families Tax Relief 
Act of 2019 – The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) signed into law on 
December 22, 2017, made changes to the IRC. California R&TC does not 
conform to all of the changes. In general, for taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2019, California conforms to the following TCJA provisions:
• California Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program 
• Student loan discharged on account of death or disability 
• Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) Premiums 
• Excess employee compensation
• Excess business loss
Federal Tax Reform – In general, California R&TC does not conform to all 
of the changes under the TCJA. For adjustments due to the TCJA, see the 
specific line instructions for the following items:
• Combat zone extended to Egypt’s Sinai Peninsula
• Moving expenses and reimbursements 
• Limitation on deduction of business interest
• Limitation on employer’s deduction for fringe benefit expenses
• Limitation on wagering losses
• Sexual harassment settlements
• IRC Section 965 deferred foreign income
• Global intangible low-taxed income (GILTI) under IRC Section 951A
• Qualified equity grants 
• Expanded use of 529 account funds 
• Living expenses for members of Congress 
• Limitation on state and local tax deduction 
• Mortgage and home equity indebtedness interest deduction 
• Limitation on charitable contribution deduction 
• College athletic seating rights 
• Casualty or theft loss(es)
• Miscellaneous itemized deductions
Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) – RDPs will compute their limitations 
based on the combined federal AGI of each partner’s individual tax return filed 
with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). 
For column A, Part II and Part III, combine each line item of your federal 
amounts from each partner’s individual federal tax return. For more 
information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered 
Domestic Partners. The combined federal AGI used to compute limitations is 
different from the recalculated federal AGI used on Form 540NR, California 
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, line 13. In situations 
where RDPs have no RDP adjustments, these amounts may be the same.
Military Personnel – Servicemembers domiciled outside of California and 
their spouses may exclude the servicemember’s military compensation 
from gross income when computing the tax rate on nonmilitary income. 
Requirements for military servicemembers domiciled in California remain 
unchanged. Military servicemembers domiciled in California must include 
their military pay in total income. In addition, they must include their military 
pay as California source income when stationed in California. However, 
military pay is not California source income when a servicemember is 
permanently stationed outside of California. Beginning 2009, the federal 
Military Spouses Residency Relief Act may affect the California income tax 
filing requirements for spouses of military personnel. For more information, 
get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.
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Amended Tax Returns – If you are an active duty military servicemember 
domiciled outside California and you included your military compensation in 
income from all sources, you may file an amended tax return for tax years 
with an open statute of limitations. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1032 
and see instructions for amended returns in the 540NR booklet.
Single Member Limited Liability Company (SMLLC) – If you are a single 
member limited liability company, that is organized or doing business in 
California, or registered with the California Secretary of State (SOS), you are 
required to file Form 568, Limited Liability Company Return of Income, pay 
the annual tax and LLC Fee (if applicable), in addition to filing your tax return. 
Get Form 568, Limited Liability Company Tax Booklet for more information.
Part-Year Residents – Complete the Part-Year Resident Worksheet on 
page 54 to determine the amounts to enter on Part II, Section A, line 1 
through line 7 and Section B, line 1 through line 10, column E.
Tips to avoiding common mistakes on this schedule:

• Column A – Copy the amounts from your federal tax return. Use 
the (b) amounts on line 2, line 3, line 4, line 5, and line 6, from your 
federal tax return. Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, line 
11, or Form 1040-SR, U.S. Tax Return for Seniors, line 11, should 
equal Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, line 27, column A.

• Column B (Part II, Section A, Line 1 through Line 7, and Section B, 
Line 1 through Line 7 and line 9a) – Subtract income that is not taxable 
to a California resident such as California lottery winnings and social 
security benefits. Do not use column B to deduct income that was earned 
while a nonresident of California or from sources outside of California. 
There must be a difference in state and federal tax law. Generally, if 
a full-year California resident cannot subtract income in column B, a 
nonresident or part-year resident may not subtract income in column B.

• Column C (Part II, Section A, Line 1 through Line 7, and Section B, 
Line 1 through Line 7 and line 9a) – Add income that was not taxed 
on your federal tax return but is taxable to a California resident, such as 
foreign income or interest/dividends from non-California municipal bonds.

• Column D – Combine the columns (column A - column B + column C). 
Part II, line 27, column D, should equal Form 540NR, line 17. The 
amounts in this column represent income earned from all sources as 
if you were a full-year California resident, after applying California and 
federal law differences.

• Column E – Enter all income from all sources while a resident of 
California and income from California sources while a nonresident. 

Purpose
Use Schedule CA (540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or 
Part-Year Residents, to determine California taxable income by doing the 
following:
• Identify the domiciles and current and past residency information.
• Enter the amounts of income and deductions reported on your federal tax 

return.
• Adjust the income and deductions reported on your federal tax return for 

differences in California and federal law.
• Determine the portion of income reported on your federal tax return that 

was earned or received while you were a California resident.
• Determine the portion of income reported on your federal tax return that was 

earned or received from California sources while you were a nonresident.
• Determine your allowable standard deduction or itemized deductions.

Specific Line Instructions

Part I Residency Information 
Answer all the questions in this part for you and your spouse/RDP. If a 
question does not apply, then leave the line blank. For more information get:
• FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status
• FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel
Use the two letter state abbreviations to complete this section. If you do not 
know your state abbreviation, visit the United States Postal Service website at 
usps.com for assistance. If you did not reside in the United States or a U.S. 
Possession, use the code “FC.” The code “FC” is the abbreviation for foreign 
country.
Line 2 – Domicile and Military
If you served in the military, your state of domicile is generally the state where 
you were living when you first entered military service. If you were not in the 
military, your domicile is the place you consider your permanent home, the 
place to which you, whenever absent, intend to return.

Line 6 – The number of days I spent in California
The total number of days in California should include all days in California for 
any purpose including residency, business, and vacation.
Line 7 – I owned a home/property in California
This includes property owned directly or indirectly through a trust or other entity.
Line 8 – Before 2021: I was a California resident for the period of
Enter your most recent period of California residency. If you became a 
nonresident during taxable year 2021, use December 31, 2020 as your end date.

Part II Income Adjustment Schedule
Column A — Federal Amounts
Enter all the amounts shown on your federal tax return on the corresponding 
lines in column A.
If married/RDP filing separately under either exception described in the instructions 
for Form 540NR, enter in column A the amounts you would have reported on a 
separate federal tax return. Attach a statement to the tax return showing how the 
income and expenses were split between you and your spouse/RDP.
Section A, Line 1 through Line 7, and Section B, Line 1 through Line 9a
Enter in Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 9a 
the same amounts you entered on federal Form 1040, 1040-SR, or 1040-NR, 
U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return, line 1 through line 7; and federal 
Schedule 1 (Form 1040), Additional Income and Adjustments to Income, 
line 1 through line 9.
Line 10 – Total
Combine the amounts in Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 
through line 7, line 9a, and line 9b4, as applicable. Enter the total on line 10. 
This number should be the same as the amount on federal Form 1040, 
1040-SR, or 1040-NR, line 9.
Section C, Line 11 through Line 18 and Line 20 through Line 25
Enter the same amounts you entered on federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), 
line 11 through line 18 and line 20 through line 25.
Line 19a and Line 19b
Enter on line 19a the same amount entered on federal Schedule 1 
(Form 1040), line 19a. Enter on line 19b the social security number (SSN) or 
individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) and last name of the person 
to whom you paid alimony.
Line 26 – Add line 11 through line 23 and line 25. This amount should be the 
same as the amount on federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 26.
If you used federal Form 1040-NR and reported an amount on federal 
Form 1040-NR, line 10c for excluded scholarship and fellowship grants, enter 
the amount from federal Form 1040-NR, line 10d on this line.
Line 27 – Total
Subtract line 26 from line 10. This amount should be the same as the amount 
on federal Form 1040, 1040-SR, or 1040-NR, line 11.

Column B and Column C — Subtractions and 
Additions
Use these columns to enter subtractions and additions to federal amounts in 
column A that are necessary because of the differences between  California 
and federal law. Enter all amounts in Section A, line 1 through line 7 and 
Section B and Section C, line 1 through line 26 as positive numbers.
Do not deduct income that was earned while a nonresident of California or 
from sources outside of California. There must be a difference in tax law. 
Generally, if a California resident cannot subtract the income in column B, a 
nonresident or part-year resident may not subtract income from column B.
If you are a nonresident alien, use column B and column C to adjust federal 
AGI to include income from all sources, even if you were not required to 
report it on your federal tax return.  California does not have special rules 
limiting total AGI from all sources to U.S. source or effectively connected 
income of nonresident aliens.
You may need one of the following FTB publications to complete column B 
and column C:
• 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments
• 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines
• 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status
• 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel
• 1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency
To get forms and publications, go to ftb.ca.gov/forms.
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Section A – Income  
Line 1 – Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. If you did not receive any of 
the following types of income, make no entry on this line in either column B 
or column C.
Employer-provided dependent care assistance exclusion – The ARPA 
temporarily increases the amount of the exclusion from gross income from 
$5,000 to $10,500 (and half of that amount for married filing separate) 
for employer-provided dependent care assistance. California law does not 
conform to this federal provision. Figure the difference between the amounts 
allowed using federal law and California law. For California purposes, enter 
the difference on line 1, column C.
Employees and independent contractors – Some taxpayers may be classified 
as independent contractors for federal purposes and as employees for 
California purposes. If the taxpayer is classified as an employee for California 
purposes, enter the amount reported as gross income of the business from 
federal Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss from Business, line 7, as 
wages on line 1, column C.
Military pay adjustment – Compensation for military service of a 
servicemember domiciled outside of California is exempt from California 
tax. It is excluded from AGI from all sources. For more information, get 
FTB Pub. 1032.
Active duty military servicemembers domiciled outside of California, may 
claim an adjustment for active duty military pay.
To claim the adjustment, write “MPA” to the left of column A or include it 
according to your software’s instructions and enter only the amount of your 
active duty military pay in column B. Exclude this amount from column E.
Combat zone foreign earned income exclusion – For taxable years beginning 
on and after January 1, 2018, California does not conform to the federal 
foreign earned income exclusion for amounts received by certain U.S. 
citizens or resident aliens with an abode in the U.S., specifically contractors 
or employees of contractors supporting the U.S. Armed Forces in designated 
combat zones. Enter the amount excluded from federal income on line 8d, 
column C.
Combat zone extended to Egypt’s Sinai Peninsula – Federal law extended 
combat zone tax benefits to the Sinai Peninsula of Egypt. California does not 
conform. Enter the amount of combat pay excluded from federal income on 
line 1, column C. Get FTB Pub. 1032 for more information.
Sick pay received under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act and 
Railroad Retirement Act – California excludes these items from income. 
Enter in column B the amount of these benefits included in the amount in 
column A.
Ride-sharing fringe benefit differences – Under federal law, certain qualified 
transportation benefits are excluded from gross income. Under the California 
R&TC, there are no monthly limits for the exclusion of these benefits and 
California’s definitions are more expansive. Enter the amount of ridesharing 
benefits received and included in federal income on line 1, column B.
Foreign income – If you excluded income exempted by U.S. tax treaties on 
your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR (unless specifically exempt for state 
purposes), enter the excluded amount in column C. If you claimed foreign 
earned income or housing cost exclusion on your federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR (under IRC Section 911), see the instructions for line 8d.
Exclusion for compensation from exercising a California Qualified Stock 
Option (CQSO) – To claim this exclusion:
• Your earned income is $40,000 or less from the corporation granting the 

CQSO.
• The market value of the options granted to you must be less than 

$100,000.
• The total number of shares must be 1,000 or less.
• The corporation issuing the stock must designate that the stock issued is 

a CQSO at the time the option is granted.
If you included in federal income an amount qualifying for this exclusion, 
enter that amount on line 1, column B.
Nonresident compensation of merchant seamen and employees of rail 
carriers, motor carriers, and air carriers – Exclude the following from gross 
income: compensation for the performance of duties of certain merchant 
seamen, rail carriers, motor carriers, and air carriers. Enter the amount 
included in federal income on line 1, column B. For more information, get 
FTB Pub. 1031.
Employer health savings account (HSA) contribution – Enter the amount 
of any employer HSA contribution from federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax 
Statement, box 12, code W on line 1, column C.

Income exclusion for In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) supplementary 
payments – If you are an IHSS provider who received IHSS supplementary 
payments that were included in federal wages, enter the IHSS supplementary 
payments on line 1, column B. IHSS providers only receive a supplementary 
payment if they paid a sales tax on the IHSS services they provide. The 
supplementary payment is equal to the sales tax paid plus any increase in the 
federal payroll withholding paid due to the supplementary payment.
Native American earned income exemption – California does not tax 
federally recognized tribal members living in California Indian country who 
earn income from any federally recognized California Indian country. Military 
compensation is considered income from reservation sources. Enrolled 
members who receive reservation source per capita income must reside in 
their affiliated tribe’s Indian country to qualify for tax exempt status. Enter 
on line 1, column B the earnings included in federal income that are exempt 
for California. Attach form FTB 3504, Enrolled Tribal Member Certification, to 
Form 540NR. For more information, get form FTB 3504. 
Line 2 – Taxable Interest
If you did not receive any of the kinds of income listed below, make no entry 
on this line in either column B or column C. 
Enter in column B, the interest that you received from:
• U.S. saving bonds (except for interest from series EE U.S. savings bonds 

issued after 1989 that qualified for the Education Savings Bond Program 
exclusion).

• U.S. Treasury Bills, notes, and bonds.
• Any other bonds or obligations of the United States and its territories.
• Interest from Ottoman Turkish Empire settlement payments.
• Interest income from children under age 19 or students under age 24 

included on the child’s federal tax return and reported on the California tax 
return by the parent. For more information, get form FTB 3803, Parents’ 
Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends.

Certain mutual funds pay “exempt-interest dividends.” If the mutual fund has 
at least 50% of its assets invested in tax-exempt U.S. obligations and/or in 
California or its municipal obligations, that amount of dividend is exempt from 
California tax. The proportion of dividends tax-exempt will be shown on your 
annual statement or statement issued with federal Form 1099-DIV, Dividends 
and Distributions. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1001.
Enter in column C, the interest you identified as tax-exempt interest on your 
federal Form 1040, 1040-SR, or 1040-NR, line 2a; and which you received from:
• The federally exempt interest dividends from other states, or their 

municipal obligations and/or from mutual funds that do not meet the 50% 
rule as previously stated.

• Non-California state bonds.
• Non-California municipal bonds issued by a county, city, town, or other 

local government unit.
• Obligations of the District of Columbia issued after December 27, 1973.
• Non-California bonds if the interest was passed through to you from 

S corporations, trusts, partnerships, or Limited Liability Companies (LLCs).
• Interest or other earnings from an HSA are not treated as tax deferred. 

Interest or earnings in an HSA are taxable in the year earned.
• Interest on any bond or other obligation issued by the Government of 

American Samoa.
• Interest income from children under age 19 or students under age 24 

included on the parent’s federal tax return and reported on the California 
tax return by the child.

Make no entries in either column B or column C for interest earned on Federal 
National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) Bonds, Government National 
Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) Bonds, and Federal Home Loan Mortgage 
Corporations (FHLMC) securities, or grants paid to low-income individuals.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, if you received interest income from the items listed above 
passed through to you from S corporations, trusts, partnerships, or LLCs.
Line 3 – Ordinary Dividends
Generally, no difference exists between the amount of dividends reported in 
column A and the amount reported using California law. However, California 
taxes dividends derived from other states and their municipal obligations.
Enter in column B dividend income from children under age 19 and students 
under age 24, included on the parent’s or child’s federal tax return and 
reported on the California tax return by the opposite taxpayer.
Enter in column C dividend income from children under age 19 and students 
under age 24, excluded on the parent’s or child’s federal tax return and 
reported on the California tax return by the opposite taxpayer.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, if you received dividend income from:
• Noncash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or mutual 

associations.



Schedule CA (540NR) Instructions  2021 (REV 07-22)  Page 45

• A controlled foreign corporation (CFC).
• Distribution of pre-1987 earnings from S corporations.
• Undistributed capital gains for regulated investment company (RIC) 

shareholders.
Line 4a and b – IRA Distributions 
Beginning with tax year 2002, calculate your IRA basis as if you were a 
California resident for all prior years. Generally, no adjustments are made on 
this line. However, there may be significant differences in the taxable amount 
of a distribution (including a distribution from conversion of a traditional 
IRA to a Roth IRA) depending on when you made your IRA contributions. 
California did not conform to the $2,000 or 100% of compensation annual 
contribution limit permitted under federal law from 1982 through 1986. 
During these years, California limited the deduction to the lesser of 15% of 
compensation or $1,500 and disallowed a deduction altogether to individuals 
who were active participants in qualified government plans. Any amount an 
individual contributed in excess of California deduction limits during these 
years creates a basis in the IRA. 
Differences also occur if your California IRA deductions were different from 
your federal deductions because of differences between California and federal 
self-employment income. 
If the taxable amount using California law is: 
• Less than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in 

column B. 
• More than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in 

column C. 
Get FTB Pub. 1005, for more information and worksheets for figuring the 
adjustment to enter on this line, if any. 
Coverdell Education Savings Account (ESA) formerly known as Education 
(ED) IRA – If column A includes a taxable distribution from an ED IRA, you 
may owe additional tax on that amount. Get form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes 
on Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored Accounts. 
Line 5a and b – Pensions and Annuities
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, if you received 
Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits or partially taxable distributions from a 
pension plan, you may need to make the adjustments. 
If you received a federal Form RRB-1099-R, Annuities or Pensions by the 
Railroad Retirement Board, for railroad retirement benefits and included all or 
part of these benefits in taxable income in column A, enter the taxable benefit 
amount in column B. 
If you began receiving a retirement annuity between July 1, 1986, and 
January 1, 1987, and elected to use the three-year rule for California purposes 
and the annuity rules for federal purposes, enter in column C the amount of 
the annuity payments you excluded for federal purposes. 
You may have to pay an additional tax if you received a taxable distribution 
from a qualified retirement plan before reaching age 59½ and the distribution 
was not rolled over into another qualified plan. Get form FTB 3805P for more 
information. 
Line 6 – Social Security Benefits
California excludes U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 railroad 
retirement benefits from taxable income. Enter in column B the amount of 
taxable U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 railroad retirement 
benefits shown in column A, line 6(b).
Line 7 – Capital Gain or (Loss)
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. California taxes long and 
short term capital gains as regular income. No special rate for long term 
capital gains exists. However, the California basis of the assets listed below 
may be different from the federal basis due to differences between California 
and federal laws. If there are differences, use Schedule D (540NR), California 
Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment, to calculate the amount to enter on line 7:
• Gain on the sale of qualified small business stock under IRC Section 1045 

and IRC Section 1202.
• Basis amounts resulting from differences between California and federal 

law in prior years.
• Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions.
• Installment sale gain reported on form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale 

Income.
• Gain on the sale of personal residence where depreciation was allowable.
• Pass-through gain or loss from partnerships, fiduciaries, S corporations, 

or LLCs.
• Capital loss carryover from your 2020 California Schedule D (540NR).
• Capital gain from children under age 19 or students under age 24 included 

on the parent’s or child’s federal tax return and reported on the California tax 
return by the opposite taxpayer. For more information, get form FTB 3803.

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
• Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before 1987.
• Capital gain exclusion for sale of principal residence by a surviving 

spouse.
• Gain on the sale or disposition of a qualified assisted housing 

development to low-income residents or to specified entities maintaining 
housing for low-income residents.

• Undistributed capital gain for RIC shareholders.
• Gain or loss on the sale of property inherited before January 1, 1987.
• Capital loss carrybacks.

Section B – Additional Income  
Line 1 – Taxable Refunds, Credits, or Offsets of State and Local 
Income Taxes
California does not tax the state income tax refund. Enter in column B, the 
amount of state tax refund entered in column A.
Line 2a – Alimony Received
Under federal law (TCJA), alimony and separate maintenance payments 
are not includable in the income of the receiving spouse, if made under 
any divorce or separation agreement executed after December 31, 2018, or 
executed on or before December 31, 2018, and modified after that date (if the 
modification expressly provides that the amendments apply). California does 
not conform. If you received alimony not included in your federal income, 
enter the alimony received in column C. 
If you are a nonresident alien and received alimony not included in your 
federal income, enter the alimony on this line in column C.
Line 3 – Business Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal business income or loss you reported in column A 
generally are necessary because of the difference between California and 
federal law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and accelerated 
write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis used to figure California 
depreciation may be different from the amount used for federal purposes.
Adjustments are figured on form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amortization 
Adjustments, and are most commonly necessary because of the following:
• Before January 1, 1987, California did not allow depreciation under the 

federal accelerated cost recovery system. Continue to figure California 
depreciation for those assets in the same manner as prior years.

• On or after January 1, 1987, California provides special credits and 
accelerated write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying assets. 
Refer to the bulleted list below.

Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, to figure the total 
adjustment for line 3 if you have:
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss.
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule C (Form 1040).
Use form FTB 3885A to figure the total adjustment for line 3 if you have:
• Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or a 

combination of gains and losses).
• Passive activities that produce gains.
Other loan forgiveness – Under federal law, the CAA, 2021, allows 
deductions for eligible expenses paid for with covered loan amounts. 
California law conforms to this federal provision, with modifications. For 
California purposes, if you are an ineligible entity and deducted eligible 
expenses for federal purposes, enter the total amount of those expenses 
deducted on line 3, column C.
Paycheck Protection Program loans forgiveness – Under federal law, the 
CAA, 2021, allows deductions for eligible expenses paid for with covered loan 
amounts. California law conforms to this federal provision with modifications. 
For California purposes, if you are an ineligible entity and deducted eligible 
expenses for federal purposes, enter the total amount of those expenses 
deducted on line 3, column C.
Also, the ARPA expands PPP eligibility to include “additional covered 
nonprofit entities” which includes certain Code 501(c) nonprofit organizations 
and Internet-only news publishers and Internet-only periodical publishers. 
California law does not conform to this expansion of PPP eligibility. If you met 
the PPP eligibility requirements and excluded the amount from gross income 
for federal purposes, enter the excluded amount on line 3, column C.
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Shuttered venue operator grant – Under federal law, the CAA, 2021, allows 
deductions for eligible expenses paid for with grant amounts. California 
law conforms to this federal provision with modifications. For California 
purposes, if you are an ineligible entity and deducted eligible expenses for 
federal purposes, enter the total amount of those expenses deducted on 
line 3, column C.
Employees and independent contractors – Some taxpayers may be classified 
as independent contractors for federal purposes and as employees for 
California purposes. If the taxpayer is classified as an employee for California 
purposes, enter the amount of federal business income from line 3, column A, 
on line 3, column B. Enter the amount of federal business loss from line 3, 
column A, on line 3, column C.
Commercial cannabis activity – Under federal law, deductions for business 
expenses of a trade or business paid or incurred during the taxable year in 
conducting commercial cannabis activity are disallowed. California does 
not conform. California allows cannabis business licensed under California 
Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (CA MAUCRSA) to 
claim these expenses. Enter the amount of these expenses on line 3, column B.
Limitation on deduction of business interest – Under federal law, every 
business, regardless of its form, is generally subject to a disallowance of 
a deduction for net interest expense in excess of 50% of the business’s 
adjustable taxable income. California does not conform. Figure the difference 
between the amounts allowed using federal law and California law. Enter the 
difference on line 3, column B. 
Limitation on employer’s deduction for fringe benefit expenses – Under 
federal law, deductions for entertainment expenses are disallowed; the 
current 50% limit on the deductibility of business meals is expanded to 
meals provided through an in-house cafeteria or otherwise on the premises 
of the employer; the 50% limitation does not apply to expenses for food 
or beverages provided by a restaurant that are paid or incurred after 
December 31, 2020, and before January 1, 2023; deductions for employee 
transportation fringe benefits (e.g., parking and mass transit) are denied; and 
no deduction is allowed for transportation expenses that are the equivalent 
of commuting for employees (e.g., between the employee’s home and the 
workplace), except as provided for the safety of the employee. California does 
not conform. Figure the difference between the amounts allowed using federal 
law and California law. Enter the difference on line 3, column B or column C.
Limitation on wagering losses – Under federal law, all deductions for 
expenses incurred in carrying out wagering transactions, and not just 
gambling losses, are limited to the extent of gambling winnings. California 
does not conform. Figure the difference between the amounts allowed using 
federal law and California law. Enter the difference on line 3, column B. 
Sexual harassment settlements – Under federal law, no deduction is allowed 
for any settlement, payout, or attorney fees related to sexual harassment or 
sexual abuse if such payments are subject to a nondisclosure agreement. 
California does not conform. Enter the amount received and included in 
federal income on line 3, column B. 
Penalty assessed by professional sports league – California does not allow 
a business expense deduction for any fine or penalty paid or incurred by 
an owner of a professional sports franchise assessed or imposed by the 
professional sports league that includes that franchise. If the fine or penalty 
was deducted for federal purposes, enter this amount on line 3, column C.
Business expense deduction disallowance – California disallows a deduction 
for a business expense related to a payment to the Edge College and Career 
Network, LLC, to a taxpayer who meets all of the following:
• They are charged as a defendant in any of several specified criminal 

complaints as listed in R&TC Section 17275.4.
• There is a final determination of their guilt with regard to a violation of any 

offense arising out of that criminal complaint. 
• There is a finding that they took the deduction unlawfully.
For more information, see R&TC Section 17275.4. Enter the amount of this 
deduction on line 3, column C. 
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
Income related to:
• Business, trade, or profession carried on within California that is an integral 

part of a unitary business carried on both within and outside California.
• Pro-rata share of income received from a CFC by a U.S. shareholder.
Basis adjustments related to:
• Property acquired prior to becoming a California resident.
• Sales or use tax credit for property used in a former Enterprise Zone 

(EZ), Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area (LAMBRA), Targeted Tax 
Area (TTA), or Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ).

• Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing grapevines replaced in a 
California vineyard on or after January 1, 1992, as a result of phylloxera 
infestation; or on or after January 1, 1997, as a result of Pierce’s disease.

• Expenditures for tertiary injectants.
• Property placed in service on an Indian reservation after 

December 31, 2017, and before January 1, 2022.
• Amortization of pollution control facilities.
• Discharge of real property business indebtedness.
• Vehicles used in an employer-sponsored ridesharing program.
• An enhanced oil recovery system.
• Joint Strike Fighter property costs.
• The cost of making a business accessible to disabled individuals.
• Property for which you received an energy conservation subsidy from a 

public utility on or after January 1, 1995, and before January 1, 1997.
• Research and experimental expenditures.
• Reduction of capitalized costs attributable to the Work Opportunity Credit.
Business deductions related to:
• Wages paid in a former EZ, LAMBRA, Manufacturing Enhancement Area 

(MEA), or TTA.
• Certain employer costs for employees who are also enrolled members of 

Indian tribes.
• Abandonment or tax recoupment fees for open-space easements and 

timberland preserves.
• Research expense.
• Employer wage expense for the Work Opportunity Credit.
• Employer wage expense for the federal Employee Retention Credit.
• Pro-rata share of deductions received from a CFC by a U.S. shareholder.
• Interest paid on indebtedness in connection with company-owned life 

insurance policies.
• Premiums paid on life insurance policies, annuities or endowment 

contracts issued after June 8, 1997, where the owner of the business is 
directly or indirectly a policy beneficiary.

• Commercial Revitalization Deductions for Renewal Communities.
• Small Employer Health Insurance Credit
Line 4 – Other Gains or (Losses)
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, the California basis 
of your other assets may differ from your federal basis due to differences 
between California and federal law. Therefore, you may have to adjust the 
amount of other gains or losses. Get Schedule D-1, Sales of Business 
Property, for more information.
Line 5 – Rental Real Estate, Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations, 
Trusts, etc.
Adjustments to federal income or loss you reported in column A generally 
are necessary because of the difference between California and federal 
law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and accelerated 
write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis used to figure California 
depreciation may be different from the recovery period or amount used 
for federal purposes. For more information, see the instructions for 
Schedule CA (540NR), column B and column C, line 3.
California law does not conform to federal law for material participation in 
rental real estate activities. Beginning in 1994, and for federal purposes only, 
rental real estate activities conducted by persons in real property businesses 
are not automatically treated as passive activities. Get form FTB 3801, for 
more information.
Use form FTB 3801, to figure the total adjustment for line 5 if you have:
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss.
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule E (Form 1040), Supplemental 
Income and Loss.

Use form FTB 3885A, to figure the total adjustment for line 5 if you have:
• Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or a 

combination of gains and losses).
• Passive activities that produce gains.
LLCs that are classified as partnerships for California purposes and 
limited liability partnerships (LLPs) are subject to the same rules as 
other partnerships. LLCs report distributive items to members on 
Schedule K-1 (568), Member’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc. 
LLPs report to partners on Schedule K-1 (565), Partner’s Share of Income, 
Deductions, Credits, etc.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, for more information about accumulation distributions 
to beneficiaries for which the trust was not required to pay California tax 
because the beneficiary’s interest was contingent.
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Line 6 – Farm Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal income or loss you report in column A generally 
are necessary because of the difference between California and federal law 
relating to depreciation methods, special credits, NOLs, and accelerated 
write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or the basis you should use 
to figure California depreciation may be different from the amount used 
for federal purposes, and you may need to make an adjustment to your 
farm income or loss. For more information about the types of income 
and adjustments that often require adjustments, see the instructions for 
Schedule CA (540NR), column B and column C, line 3.
Use form FTB 3801, to figure the total adjustment for line 6 if you have:
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss.
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule F (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From 
Farming.

Use form FTB 3885A, to figure the total adjustment for line 6 if you have:
• Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or a 

combination of gains and losses).
• Passive activities that produce gains.
Line 7 – Unemployment Compensation
California excludes unemployment compensation from taxable income. Enter 
on line 7, column B, the amount of unemployment compensation shown in 
column A.

Paid Family Leave Insurance (PFL) benefits, also known as, Family 
Temporary Disability Insurance – Payments received from the PFL Program 
are reported on federal Form 1099-G, Certain Government Payments. 
California excludes payments received from the PFL program from taxable 
income. Enter on line 7, column B, the amount of PFL program payments 
shown in column A. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1001.
Line 8 – Other Income
a. Federal Net Operating Loss – Enter the amount of the federal NOL 

included on line 8a, column A, as a positive number in column C. Get form 
FTB 3805V, to figure the allowable California NOL.

b. Gambling Income   
	 California lottery winnings – California excludes California lottery 

winnings from taxable income. Enter in column B the amount of California 
lottery winnings included in the federal amount on line 8b, column A. 
Make no adjustment for lottery winnings from other states. They are 
taxable by California. If you reduced gambling income for California 
lottery income, you may need to reduce the losses included in the federal 
itemized deductions on Part III, line 16, column A. Enter these losses on 
Part III, line 16, column B.

c. Cancellation of Debt 
Mortgage forgiveness debt relief – California law does not conform 
to federal law regarding the exclusion of income from discharge of 
indebtedness from the disposition of your principal residence occurring 
after December 31, 2017. Enter the amount of discharge on line 8c, 
column C. 
Certain employer payments of student loans – California does not 
conform to the federal CARES Act regarding the exclusion of student 
loan payments made on behalf of an employee by an employer. Enter the 
amount of loan payment on line 8c, column C. 

d. Foreign Earned Income Exclusion from federal Form 2555 
Federal foreign earned income or housing exclusion – Enter in 
column C the amount excluded from federal income on federal Schedule 1 
(Form 1040), line 8d. 
Combat zone foreign earned income exclusion – Enter the amount 
excluded from federal income on line 8d, column C.

e. Taxable Health Savings Account Distribution 
Health savings account (HSA) distributions for unqualified medical 
expense – Distributions from an HSA not used for qualified medical 
expenses, and included in federal income, are not taxable for California 
purposes. Enter the distribution not used for qualified medical expenses 
on line 8e, column B. 
Taxable Archer MSA distributions – Enter the amount of taxable Archer 
MSA distributions included on line 8e, column A, in column B. See 
instructions for line 8z for more information.

m. IRC Section 951(a) Inclusion – Under federal law, if you are a U.S. 
shareholder of a controlled foreign corporation, you must include 
IRC Section 951(a) amount in your income. California does not 
conform. If you included the amount as income on your federal 
Schedule 1 (Form 1040), enter the amount on line 8m, column B. 

n. IRC Section 951A(a) Inclusion – Under federal law, if you are a U.S. 
shareholder of a CFC, you must include your GILTI in your income. 
California does not conform. If you included GILTI on your federal 
Schedule 1 (Form 1040), enter the amount on line 8n, column B.

o. IRC Section 461(l) Excess Business Loss Adjustment – For taxable years 
beginning after December 31, 2018, California law generally conforms 
to the changes under the TCJA in regard to the disallowance of excess 
business loss deductions of non-corporate taxpayers. For California 
purposes, any disallowed loss will be treated as a carryover excess 
business loss instead of an NOL carryover for the subsequent taxable year. 
Also, California does not conform to amendments under the federal 
CARES Act and the ARPA. See General Information for more information. 
Complete form FTB 3461, if you are a noncorporate taxpayer and your 
net losses from all of your trades or businesses are more than $262,000 
($524,000 for married taxpayers filing a joint return). Enter the amount 
from form FTB 3461, line 16 or line 17, whichever applies, on line 8o, 
column C. Attach form FTB 3461 to the tax return. 
See line 8z for further instructions on how to report the excess business 
loss adjustment.

z. Other income  
Identify the type of income reported in the space provided. If there is 
more than one item to report on line 8z, attach a statement that lists each 
item and enter the total of all individual items in column B or column C as 
instructed below. 
Taxable Archer MSA distributions – Enter the amount of taxable Archer 
MSA distributions included on line 8e, column A, on line 8z, column C and 
write “MSA” on the space provided. 
Excess business loss adjustment – Enter the amount of the federal 
excess business loss adjustment (ELA) included on line 8o, column A, on 
line 8z, column B. Write “ELA” on the space provided on line 8z.
COBRA premium assistance – The ARPA allows an exclusion from gross 
income for COBRA premium assistance subsidies received by eligible 
individuals for the COBRA coverage period beginning on April 1, 2021, 
and ending on September 30, 2021. California law does not conform to 
this federal provision. For California purposes, enter the amount excluded 
from federal income on line 8z, column C.
California microbusiness COVID-19 relief grant – California law allows 
an exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by a 
taxpayer pursuant to the California Microbusiness COVID-19 Relief 
Program that is administered by CalOSBA. Federal law has no similar 
exclusion. Enter on line 8z, column B the amount of this type of income.
California venues grant – California law allows an exclusion from gross 
income for grant allocations received by a taxpayer pursuant to the 
California Venues Grant Program that is administered by the CalOSBA. 
Federal law has no similar exclusion. Enter on line 8z, column B the 
amount of this type of income.
Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant Program – California law allows 
an exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by a 
taxpayer pursuant to the COVID-19 Relief Grant under Executive Order 
No. E 20/21-182 and the California Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant 
Program established by Section 12100.83 of the Government Code. If you 
included any amount as income for federal purposes on line 8z, column A, 
enter the amount on line 8z, column B.
Income exclusion for rent forgiveness – If for federal purposes gross 
income includes a tenant’s rent liability that is forgiven by a landlord or 
rent forgiveness provided through funds grantees received as a direct 
allocation from the Secretary of the Treasury, enter in line 8z, column B 
the amount of this type of income included in line 8z, column A.
IRC Section 965 deferred foreign income – If you included IRC 965 
deferred foreign income on your federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), enter 
the amount on line 8z, column B and write “IRC 965” on line 8z and at the 
top of Form 540NR. 
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Qualified equity grants – California does not conform to federal law 
regarding the election to defer the recognition of income attributable to 
qualified stock. If you elected to defer income for federal purposes, make 
an adjustment on line 8z, column C. 
Expanded use of 529 account funds – California does not conform to 
federal law regarding the IRC Section 529 account funding for elementary 
and secondary education or to the maximum distribution amount. If 
the amount was excluded for federal purposes, make an adjustment on 
line 8z, column C. 
Native American earned income exemption – California does not tax 
federally recognized tribal members living in California Indian country who 
earn income from any federally recognized California Indian country. Military 
compensation is considered income from reservation sources. Enrolled 
members who receive reservation sourced per capita income must reside 
in their affiliated tribe’s Indian country to qualify for tax exempt status. 
For more information, see form FTB 3504. Enter on line 8z, column B the 
income included in federal income that is exempt for California and write 
“FTB 3504” on line 8z. Attach form FTB 3504 to the Form 540NR.
Parents’ election to report child’s interest and dividends – California 
conforms to federal law for elections made by parents reporting 
their child’s interest and dividends. Parents may elect to report their 
child’s income on their California income tax return by completing 
form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. 
If you make this election, the child will not have to file a tax return. You 
may report your child’s income on your California income tax return even 
if you do not do so on your federal income tax return. 
If the amount of your child’s income you are reporting on your California 
income tax return is different than the amount you reported on your federal 
income tax return, enter the difference on line 8z, column B or column C 
and write “FTB 3803” on line 8z. Get form FTB 3803 for more information.
Reward from a crime hotline – Enter in column B the amount of a 
reward authorized by a government agency received from a crime hotline 
established by a government agency or nonprofit organization that is 
included in the amount on line 8z, column A. 
You may not make this adjustment if you are an employee of the hotline or 
someone who sponsors rewards for the hotline. 
Beverage container recycling income – Enter in column B the amount of 
recycling income included in the amount on line 8z, column A.
Rebates or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or 
energy supplier – California law allows an income exclusion for rebates 
or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or energy supplier 
for the purchase and installation of water conservation appliances and 
devices. Enter in column B the amount of this type of income included in 
the amount on line 8z, column A. 
Financial incentive for seismic improvement – California law allows an 
income exclusion for loan forgiveness, grant, credit, rebate, voucher, or 
other financial incentive issued by the California Residential Mitigation 
Program or California Earthquake Authority to assist a residential 
property owner or occupant with expenses paid, or obligation incurred for 
earthquake loss mitigation. Enter in column B the amount of this type of 
income included in the amount on line 8z, column A.
Original issue discount (OID) for debt instruments issued in 1985 and 
1986 – In the year of sale or other disposition, you must recognize the 
difference between the amount reported on your federal tax return and 
the amount reported for  California purposes. Issuers: Enter the difference 
between the federal deductible amount and the California deductible 
amount on line 8z, column B. Holders: Enter the difference between the 
amount included in federal gross income and the amount included for 
California purposes on line 8z, column C.
Foreign income of nonresident aliens – Adjust federal income to reflect 
worldwide income computed under  California law. Enter losses from 
foreign sources in column B. Enter foreign source income in column C.
Cost-share payments received by forest landowners – Enter in  column B 
the cost-share payments received from the Department of Forestry and 
Fire Protection under the  California Forest Improvement Act of 1978 or 
from the United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, under 
the Forest Stewardship Program and the Stewardship Incentives Program, 
pursuant to the Cooperative Forestry Assistance Act.
Coverdell ESA distributions – If you received a distribution from a 
Coverdell ESA, report the difference between the federal taxable amount 
and the California taxable amount in column B or column C.
Grants paid to low-income individuals – California excludes grants paid 
to low-income individuals to construct or retrofit buildings to make them 

more energy efficient. Federal has no similar exclusion. Enter on line 8z, 
column B the amount of this type of income.
California National Guard Surviving Spouse & Children Relief Act of 
2004 – Death benefits received from the State of California by a surviving 
spouse/RDP or member-designated beneficiary of certain military 
personnel killed in the performance of duty are excluded from gross 
income. Military personnel include the California National Guard, State 
Military Reserve, or the Naval Militia. If you reported a death benefit on 
line 8z, column A, enter the death benefit amount in column B.
Ottoman Turkish Empire settlement payments – If you received 
settlement payments as a person persecuted by the regime that was in 
control of the Ottoman Turkish Empire from 1915 until 1923 your gross 
income does not include those excludable settlement payments, or 
interest, received by you, your heirs, or your estate for payments received 
on or after January 1, 2005. If you reported settlement payments on 
line 8z, column A, enter the amount of settlement payments in column B.

Line 9b1 – Disaster Loss Deduction from Form FTB 3805V
If you have a California disaster loss carryover deduction and there is income in 
the current taxable year, enter the total amount from your 2021 form FTB 3805V, 
Part III, line 2 and/or line 3, column (f), as a positive number in column B. 
NOL Attributable to a Qualified Disaster – If you deduct a 2021 disaster loss 
in the 2021 taxable year and have remaining disaster loss that results in an NOL, 
the NOL can be carried forward. Get form FTB 3805V for more information.
Line 9b2 – NOL Deduction from Form FTB 3805V 
The allowable NOL carryover under California law is different from the 
allowable NOL carryover under federal law. If you have a California NOL 
carryover from prior years, enter the total allowable California NOL carryover 
deduction for the current year from form FTB 3805V, Part III, line 2, 
column (f), as a positive number in column B.
Line 9b3 – NOL from Forms FTB 3805Z, FTB 3807, or FTB 3809 
Enter in column B the total NOL figured on the following forms: 
• FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit Summary, line 3b 
• FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction and 

Credit Summary, line 3b 
• FTB 3809, Targeted Tax Area Deduction and Credit Summary, line 3b 
Line 9b4 – Student Loan Discharged Due to Closure of a For-Profit School 
California law allows an income exclusion for income that would result from 
the discharge of any student loan of an eligible individual. An individual is 
eligible for the exclusion if any of the following apply during the taxable year.
1. The individual is granted a discharge of any student loan because: 

a.  The individual successfully asserts that the school did something 
wrong or failed to do something that it should have done. 

b.  The individual could not complete a program of study due to the 
school closing. 

2.  The individual attended a Brightwood College school on or before 
December 5, 2018, and is granted a discharge of any student loan made in 
connection with attending that school, and that discharge is not covered 
under item 1. 

3.  The individual attended a location of The Art Institute of California and is 
granted a discharge of any student loan made in connection with attending 
that school, and that discharge is not covered under item 1. 

Enter in column B the amount of this type of income if it was included on 
Part II, line 8c, column A, as income for federal purposes.
Line 10 – Total
Add Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 7, 
line 9a and line 9b1 through line 9b4 in column B, and line 1 through line 7 
and line 9a, in column C. Enter the totals on line 10.

Section C − Adjustments to Income 
Line 11 through Line 19a and Line 20 through Line 23 and Line 25
California law is the same as federal with the exception of the following:
• Line 11 Educator Expenses – California does not conform to federal law 

regarding educator expenses. Enter the amount from column A, line 11, 
in column B, line 11. 

• Line 12 Certain Business Expenses of Reservists, Performing Artists, 
and Fee-Basis Government Officials – If claiming a depreciation 
deduction as an unreimbursed employee business expense on federal 
Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses, you may have an adjustment 
in column B or column C. For more information, get Pub. 1001. 
Federal law eliminated the $3,000 deduction for living expenses for 
members of Congress while away from home. California does not 
conform. Enter the amount of living expenses on line 12, column C.
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• Line 13 Health Savings Account (HSA) Deduction – Federal law allows 
the taxpayer a deduction for contributions to an HSA account. California 
does not conform. Transfer the amount from column A, line 13 to 
column B, line 13.

• Line 14 Moving Expenses – California does not conform to federal law 
regarding the suspension of the deduction for moving expenses, except 
for members of the Armed Forces on active duty. 
Non-military and military taxpayers prepare form FTB 3913. After 
completing form FTB 3913, if you are a non-military taxpayer and checked 
the No box on line 5 of form FTB 3913, enter the amount from line 5 of form 
FTB 3913 on Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, Section A, line 1, column C. 
If you are a non-military taxpayer and checked the Yes box on line 5 
of form FTB 3913, enter the amount from line 5 of form FTB 3913 on 
Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, line 14, column C.

• Line 15 Deductible Part of Self-Employment Tax – A taxpayer may 
be classified as an independent contractor for federal purposes and as 
an employee for California purposes. This deduction is not allowed to 
an employee. If for California purposes, the taxpayer is classified as 
an employee, an adjustment is needed in column B. Enter the amount 
from column A, line 15, in column B, line 15. 

• Line 17 Self-employed Health Insurance Deduction – A taxpayer may 
be classified as an independent contractor for federal purposes and as 
an employee for California purposes. This deduction is not allowed to 
an employee. If for California purposes, the taxpayer is classified as 
an employee, an adjustment is needed in column B. Enter the amount 
from column A, line 17, in column B, line 17. 
Note: A taxpayer classified as an employee for California purposes who 
makes an adjustment on this line may be able to claim this amount as a 
deduction for medical and dental expenses. For more information, see 
instructions for Part III, line 4.

• Line 19a Alimony Paid – Under federal law (TCJA), alimony and separate 
maintenance payments are not deductible by the payor spouse, if made under 
any divorce or separation agreement executed after December 31, 2018, or 
executed on or before December 31, 2018, and modified after that date (if the 
modification expressly provides that the amendments apply). California does 
not conform. If you paid alimony and did not deduct it on your federal tax 
return, enter the alimony paid in column C. 
If you are a nonresident alien and did not deduct alimony on your federal 
tax return, enter the amount you paid in column C. 
Line 19b (Recipient’s SSN/Last Name) – Enter the SSN or ITIN and last 
name of the person to whom you paid alimony.

• Line 20 IRA Deduction 
If you are active duty military and not domiciled in California and your 
IRA deduction was limited because of a federal AGI limitation, recalculate 
your deduction excluding your active duty military pay. If the recalculated 
amount is larger than the amount on line 20, column A, enter the 
difference between the two amounts in column C, line 20.
408 election – To take the election, the federal deduction is taken on 
line 20, column A. The election for California will be on line 20, column B 
or C. See Pub. 1005 for more information. 
IRA age – If you report an IRA deduction on line 20, column A at age 70½ 
or older, include that amount deducted for federal in the total you enter on 
line 20, column B. See Pub. 1005 for more information.

• Line 21 Student Loan Interest Deduction – California conforms to federal 
law regarding student loan interest deduction except for non-California 
domiciled military taxpayers. Military taxpayers use the Student Loan 
Interest Deduction Worksheet in the next column to compute the amount 
to enter on line 21. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1032.

• Line 22 (Reserved) – For taxable years beginning after 
December 31, 2020, the tuition and fees deduction was repealed.

• Line 24 – Other Adjustments
b. Deductible expenses related to income reported on line 8k from the 

rental of personal property engaged in for profit − Generally, California 
law conforms with federal law and no adjustment is needed. However, if 
differences exist, enter the difference between the federal and California 
amount in column B or column C. 

c. Nontaxable amount of the value of Olympic and Paralympic medals and 
USOC prize money reported on line 8l − Federal law allows an exclusion from 
gross income for the value of any medal awarded or prize money received from 
the U.S. Olympic Committee on account of competition in the Olympic Games 
or Paralympic Games. The exclusion does not apply to a taxpayer for any year in 
which the taxpayer’s AGI exceeds $1 million, or half of that amount in the case 
of a married individual filing a separate return. California does not conform. If 
you deducted the amount for federal purposes, enter that amount in column B.

Student Loan Interest Deduction Worksheet
1. Enter the total amount from Schedule CA (540NR), 

line 21, column A. If the amount on line 1 is zero, 
STOP. You are not allowed a deduction for California  . . . . . . . . 1_________

2. Enter the total interest you paid in 2021 
on qualified student loans but not more than $2,500 here  . . . . . 2_________

3. Add federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 21 
(student loan interest deduction) to federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 11 (AGI). Enter the result here  . .  3  _________

4. Enter the total military income 
included in federal AGI (get FTB Pub. 1032)  . .  4  _________

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                5  _________
6. Enter the amount shown below for 

your filing status. 
• Single, head of household, or 

qualifying widow(er) – $60,000 
• Married/RDP filing jointly – $120,000  . . . . .     6  _________

7. Is the amount on line 5 more than the amount on line 6? 
m 

 

No.  Skip lines 7 and 8, enter 0  on 
line 9, and go to line 10. 

- -

m Yes. Subtract line 6 from line 5  . . . . . . . . . .          7  _________
8. Divide line 7 by $15,000 ($30,000 if married/RDP filing jointly). 

Enter the result as a decimal (rounded to at least three 
places). If the result is 1.000 or more, enter 1.000  . . . . . . . . . .          8  _ . _ _ _ _

9. Multiply line 2 by line 8  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               9_________
10. Student loan interest deduction. Subtract line 9 

from line 2. Enter the result here and on 
Schedule CA (540NR), line 21, column D  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                10_________

11. Student loan interest adjustment.  
If line 1 is less than line 10, enter the difference here and on 
Schedule CA (540NR), line 21, column C. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                11_________

d. Reforestation amortization and expenses − California law allows a 
deduction for reforestation amortization and expenses with respect to 
qualified timber property located in California. Enter the amount from 
column A that is for non-California qualified timber property in column B.

f. Contributions to IRC Section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans − If the 
contribution amount for California is different than the federal amount, 
you will need to make an adjustment in column B or column C. For more 
information, get FTB Pub. 1005.

g. Contributions by certain chaplains to IRC Section 403(b) plans − If the 
contribution amount for California is different than the federal amount, 
you will need to make an adjustment in column B or column C. For more 
information, get FTB Pub. 1005.

i. Attorney fees and court costs you paid in connection with an award 
from the IRS for information you provided that helped the IRS detect tax 
law violations − California does not conform to federal law regarding the 
deduction of these attorney fees and court costs. Enter the amount from 
column A in column B. 

j. Housing deduction from federal Form 2555 − If you claimed the foreign 
housing deduction for federal purposes, enter the amount from column A in 
column B. 

Line 26 – Add line 11 through line 23 and line 25 in column B and column C. 
Enter the totals on this line in the appropriate columns.
Line 27 – Total
Subtract line 26 from line 10 in column B and column C. Enter the totals on 
this line in the appropriate column. These amounts should be the same as 
Form 540NR, line 14 and line 16, respectively.
In some cases the total on line 27 in column B or column C will be a negative 
number.

Column D — Total Amounts Using California Law
Use this column to show the amount remaining after adjustments 
(subtractions or additions).
For each line, Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Sections B and C, line 1 
through line 27 (See separate line instructions for lines 9b1 through 9b4.):
1. Subtract the amounts in column B from the amounts in column A.
2. Add the amounts in column C to the result of the calculation made in 

1 above.
3. Enter the total in column D.
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Lines 9b1–9b4
For each line, Section B, lines 9b1 through 9b4, enter the amount from 
column B in column D as a negative number.
The total on line 27, column D should be the same as the amount on 
Form 540NR, line 17.

Column E — California Amounts
Column E is used to show how much of the amount of income reported on 
Schedule CA (540NR), column D is taxable by California. The taxable amount 
depends on your residency status.
• Full-year California resident: A resident is taxed on all income from all 

sources, including income from sources outside California. Follow the 
“California Resident Amounts” instructions for each line below. Full-year 
residents use Form 540NR if filing jointly with a spouse/RDP who is a 
nonresident or a part-year resident.

• Full-year nonresident: A nonresident is only taxed on income derived 
from California sources. Follow the “California Nonresident Amounts” 
instructions for each line below.

• Part-year resident: A part-year resident is taxed on all income from all 
sources while a resident and only on income derived from California 
sources while a nonresident. Follow the instructions as stated in the 
Part-Year Resident Worksheet instructions.

Refer to instructions for each line below to be sure you are including the 
correct amounts.
Section A – Income 
Line 1 – Wages, Salaries, Tips, Etc.
California resident amounts – Enter the wages, salaries, tips, or other 
compensation that you received while a California resident. Active duty 
military personnel, who are domiciled in California and stationed in California, 
report their military income here. Get FTB Pub. 1032 for more information.
California nonresident amounts – If you worked in California while a 
nonresident, enter the wages, salaries, tips, or other compensation received 
for those California services.
Line 2 – Taxable Interest
California resident amounts – Enter the interest income received while a 
California resident.
California nonresident amounts – Enter the interest income received while a 
nonresident from an account or security that was used in a trade or business 
or was pledged as security for a loan, the proceeds of which were used in a 
trade or business located in California.
Line 3 – Ordinary Dividends
California resident amounts – Enter the ordinary dividends received while a 
California resident.
California nonresident amounts – Enter the ordinary dividends received 
while a nonresident from an account or security that was used in a trade or 
business or was pledged as security for a loan, the proceeds of which were 
used in a trade or business located in California.
Line 4a and b – IRA Distributions
California resident amounts – Enter the taxable portion of the IRA 
distributions received while a California resident. Include regular distributions, 
premature distributions, and any other money or property received from your 
IRA account or annuity. 
For more information on traditional, Coverdell ESA, and Roth IRAs, get 
FTB Pub. 1005. 
If this amount is a premature distribution and you owed the early distribution 
tax on your federal tax return, you generally owe this tax to California. Get 
form FTB 3805P, to figure any additional tax due on this amount. 
California nonresident amounts – IRA distributions received by a 
nonresident are not taxable. 
Line 5a and b – Pensions and Annuities (Taxable Amount) 
California resident amounts – Enter the portion of taxable pension and 
annuity income received while a resident of California. 
If this amount is a premature distribution and you owed the early distribution 
tax on your federal tax return, you generally owe this tax to California. Get 
form FTB 3805P to figure any additional tax due on this amount. 
California nonresident amounts – Qualified retirement distributions received 
by a nonresident are not taxable. 
For more information, get FTB Pub. 1005.
Line 7 – Capital Gain or (Loss)
California resident amounts – Enter capital gains and losses from all sources 
while a California resident. 

California nonresident amounts – Enter capital gains and losses from 
sources within California while a nonresident. Complete Schedule D (540NR) 
Worksheet for Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents, to compute this amount. 
Part-year resident amounts – Complete Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet 
for Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents. Enter the amount from column E, 
line 4 (if there is an overall gain) or line 5 (if there is a loss) of that worksheet 
on the Part-Year Resident Worksheet, Section A, line 7, column C, that is 
located at the end of the Schedule CA (540NR) instructions.  

Section B – Additional Income 
Line 2a – Alimony Received
California resident amounts – Enter the alimony received while a California 
resident.
California nonresident amounts – Alimony received by a nonresident is not 
taxable.
Line 3 – Business Income or (Loss)
California resident amounts – Enter the total profits or losses (including 
losses allowed from passive activities) from all businesses conducted while a 
California resident.
California nonresident amounts – Enter the total amount of profits or losses 
(including losses allowed from passive activities) from all businesses sourced 
to California while a nonresident of California. California uses a mandatory 
market assignment method and single-sales factor apportionment to 
apportion business income to California. A nonresident may have California 
sourced income or apportionable business income if receiving income from 
intangibles or services from California sources.
If, as a nonresident, you derived income from a business, trade, or profession 
conducted partly within California and partly outside California, only income 
from the part conducted within California is considered California source 
income that you must report in column E. If there is any business relationship 
between the parts within and outside California (flow of goods, etc.), 
apportion the gross income or loss from the entire business. To determine 
the portion of income or loss from businesses engaged in multistate 
activities that you must report, use the apportionment formula described in 
Schedule R, Apportionment and Allocation of Income.
Line 4 – Other Gains or (Losses)
California resident amounts – Enter gains and losses (including losses 
allowed from passive activities) from all sources while a resident.
California nonresident amounts – Enter gains and losses from sources 
within California while a nonresident.
Line 5 – Rental Real Estate, Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations, 
Trusts, Etc.
California resident amounts – Enter your profit or loss (including losses 
allowed from passive activities) from all rents, royalties, partnerships, 
S corporations, LLCs, estates, and trusts that accrued while a California 
resident.
California nonresident amounts – Enter your profit or loss related to 
property or business located in California while a nonresident of California. 
Your Schedule K-1 (100S, 541, 565, or 568) will indicate the amount of 
S corporation, estate, trust, partnership, or LLC profit or loss derived from 
California sources.
Part-year resident amounts – Allocate income between the period of 
residency and the period of non residency in a manner that reflects the actual 
date of realization of partnership, S corporation, and certain trust income. 
In the absence of information that reflects the actual date of realization, the 
taxpayer allocates an annual amount on a proportional basis between the 
two periods, using a daily pro-rata methodology. For more information, get 
FTB Pub. 1100.
Line 6 – Farm Income or (Loss)
California resident amounts – Enter profit or loss (including losses allowed 
from passive activities) from all farming activity while a California resident.
California nonresident amounts – Enter profit or loss (including losses 
allowed from passive activities) for farming activity conducted in California 
while a nonresident of California.
Line 8z – Other Income
Identify the type of income reported in the space provided. If there is more 
than one item to report on line 8z, attach a statement that lists each item and 
enter the total of all individual items in column E.
Line 10 – Total
Add Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 7, 
line 9a, and line 9b1 through line 9b4, in column E. Enter the result on this line.
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Section C – Adjustments to Income 
Line 14 – Moving Expenses
California law and federal law are no longer the same for moving expenses. If 
you moved:
• Into California in connection with your new job, enter the amount from 

line 14, column D, in line 14, column E.
• Out of California in connection with your new job, enter 0  on line 14, 

column E.
- -

If you moved out of California in connection with your new job and received 
compensation from that job attributable to a California source, your 
moving expense adjustment will be limited by the ratio of California source 
compensation from the new job to total compensation from the new job.
Line 15 – Deductible Part Of Self-Employment Tax
If you claimed a deduction in column A for self-employment tax paid, 
your California deduction is limited to a percentage of the total California 
deduction, line 15, column D. That percentage is the ratio of:

Self-employment income Self-employment
reported income reported
in column A in column A
from all sources + from CA sources
while a CA resident  while a nonresident  =  California ratio

Total self-employment income
reported in column A

Multiply your total California deduction, line 15, column D by the California 
ratio described above and enter the result on line 15, column E. If the 
California ratio is greater than 1.00, enter the amount from line 15, 
column D on line 15, column E. If the California ratio is less than zero, 
enter 0  on line 15, column E.- -
Line 16 and Line 20 – IRA, Keogh, SEP, and SIMPLE Deduction
The amount of the California deduction for IRA, Keogh, SEP, and SIMPLE 
contributions is generally the same as the federal deduction. However, 
the California deduction may be limited by California compensation or by 
California self-employment income. The amount of the California deduction 
for IRA contributions may not be the same as the federal deduction due to the 
SECURE Act repeal of maximum age 70 ½ for traditional IRA contributions 
to which California does not conform. See Section C, line 20, instructions for 
more information.
Example: Susan moved into California on December 1. She made contributions 
to her IRA and claimed a deduction of $2,000 on her federal tax return. Her 
California wages were $500. Her allowable deduction is the lesser of:
• The federal deduction of $2,000. 
• The California compensation of $500.
Therefore, she enters $500 on line 16, column E. She will make no entry in 
column B or column C.
Keogh, SEP, and SIMPLE deductions are limited to a percentage of the federal 
deduction.

Self-employment income 
reported in column E ___________________        = California ratio

 Total self-employment 
income reported 
in column D

Multiply federal deductions by the California ratio described above and enter 
the result on line 16, column E. If the California ratio is greater than 1.00, 
enter the amount from line 16, column D on line 16, column E. If the 
California ratio is less than zero, enter 0  on line 16, column E. Get FTB - -
Pub. 1005 for more information.
Line 17 – Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction
If you claimed a deduction in column A for payments you made to a health 
insurance plan while you were self-employed, your California deduction is 
limited to a percentage of the federal deduction. That percentage is the ratio of:

Total self-employment income 
reported in column E __________________________        = California ratio

 Total self-employment income 
reported in column D

Multiply your federal deduction on line 17, by the California ratio described 
above and enter the result on line 17, column E. If the California ratio is greater 
than 1.00, enter the amount from line 16, column D on line 17, column E . If 
the California ratio is less than zero, enter 0  on line 17, column E.- -
Line 18 – Penalty on Early Withdrawal of Savings
Enter the interest penalties charged while a California resident.

Line 19a – Alimony Paid
If you claimed a deduction in column D for alimony payments, first compute 
your California ratio:

California AGI (line 27, column E) 
(without the alimony deduction)  = California ratio
Total AGI (line 27, column D) 
(without the alimony deduction)

California nonresident amounts – Multiply the deduction (line 19a, 
column D) by the California ratio (see above) and enter the amount in 
line 19a, column E. If the California ratio is greater than 1.00, enter the 
amount from line 19a, column D on line 19a, column E . If the California ratio 
is less than zero, enter 0  on line 19a, column E.- -
Part-year resident amounts – Multiply the alimony paid while a nonresident 
by the California ratio (see above) to determine the nonresident portion. If 
the California ratio is greater than 1.00, use 1.00 for the California ratio. If the 
California ratio is less than zero, your nonresident portion of alimony paid is 
zero. Add the nonresident portion of alimony paid to the alimony paid while a 
resident. Enter the total in line 19a, column E.
Line 26
Add line 11 through line 23 and line 25 in column E. Enter the result on this line.
Line 27 – Total
Subtract line 26 from Section B, line 10 in column E. This is your California 
AGI. Enter the result on this line. Also, enter this amount on Part IV, line 1.
Also, transfer the amount from:
• Line 27, column B to Form 540NR, line 14. 

If column B is a negative number, transfer the amount as a positive 
number to Form 540NR, line 16.

• Line 27, column C to Form 540NR, line 16. 
If column C is a negative number, transfer the amount as a positive 
number to Form 540NR, line 14.

• Line 27, column E to Form 540NR, line 32. 
If you plan to itemize deductions, go to Part III.

Part III Adjustments to Federal Itemized 
Deductions
Important: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal tax return but 
will itemize deductions on your California tax return, first complete federal 
Schedule A (Form 1040), Itemized Deductions. Then check the box at the top 
of Schedule CA (540NR), Part III and complete line 1 through line 30. Attach 
a copy of federal Schedule A (Form 1040) to your Form 540NR.

Column A — Federal Amounts
Line 1 through Line 16
Enter on line 1 through line 16 the same amounts you entered on your federal 
Schedule A (Form 1040), line 1 through line 16. 

Column B and Column C — Subtractions and 
Additions
Use these columns to enter subtractions and additions to the federal amounts 
in column A that are necessary because of differences between California and 
federal law. Enter all amounts as positive numbers unless instructed otherwise.
Line 1 through Line 4  
Employees and independent contractors – Taxpayers classified as 
independent contractors for federal purposes and classified as employees for 
California purposes may claim the amount of self-employed health insurance 
deduction for federal purposes as a medical and dental expense deduction 
for California purposes. Combine the amount paid for self-employed health 
insurance with other medical and dental expenses (as applicable). The total 
amount of the medical and dental expenses is subject to the 7.5% of federal 
AGI threshold. Enter the difference between the medical and dental expense 
deduction allowed for California and federal on line 4, column C.
Health Savings Account (HSA) Distributions – If you received a tax-free HSA 
distribution for qualified medical expenses, enter the qualified expenses paid 
that exceed 7.5% of federal AGI on line 4, column C.
Line 5a – State and Local Taxes 
California does not allow a deduction for state and local income tax (including 
limited partnership tax and income or franchise tax paid by corporations) and 
State Disability Insurance (SDI) or state and local general sales tax. Enter that 
amount on line 5a, column B. 
Line 5e – The federal deduction for state and local tax is limited to $10,000 
($5,000 for married filing separate) for the aggregate of state and local 
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income taxes and property taxes. California does not conform. If your 
deduction was limited under federal law, enter an adjustment on line 5e, 
column C for the amount over the federal limit. 
Line 6 – Other Taxes 
California does not allow a deduction for foreign income taxes. Enter that 
amount on line 6, column B. 
Federal law suspended the deduction for foreign property taxes. California 
does not conform. Enter the amount on line 6, column C.
Generation skipping transfer tax – Tax paid on generation skipping transfers 
is not deductible under California law. Enter the amount of generation 
skipping tax included in line 6, column A on line 6, column B.
Line 8 – Home Mortgage Interest 
Federal law limited the mortgage interest deduction acquisition debt 
maximum from $1,000,000 ($500,000 for married filing separately) to 
$750,000 ($375,000 for married filing separately). California does not 
conform. If your deduction was limited under federal law, enter an adjustment 
on line 8, column C for the amount over the federal limit.
Federal law suspended the deduction on up to $100,000 ($50,000 for married 
filing separately) for interest on home equity indebtedness, unless the loan is 
used to buy, build, or substantially improve the taxpayer’s home that secures 
the loan. California does not conform. If your deduction was limited under the 
federal law, enter an adjustment on line 8, column C for the amount over the 
federal limit.
Mortgage interest credit – If you reduced your federal mortgage interest 
deduction by the amount of your mortgage interest credit (from federal 
Form 8396, Mortgage Interest Credit), increase your California itemized 
deductions by the same amount. Enter the amount of your federal mortgage 
interest credit on line 8, column C. 
Line 8d – Mortgage Insurance Premiums
California does not allow a deduction for mortgage insurance premiums. Enter 
the amount from column A, line 8d on column B, line 8d.
Line 9 – Investment Interest Expense
Your California deduction for investment interest expense may be different 
from your federal deduction. Use form FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense 
Deduction, to figure the amount to enter on line 9, column B or column C.
Line 11 – Gifts By Cash Or Check 
Qualified charitable contributions – Your California deduction may be 
different from your federal deduction. California limits the amount of your 
deduction to 50% of your federal AGI. Figure the difference between the 
amount allowed using federal law and the amount allowed using California 
law. Enter the difference on line 11, column B. 
College athletic seating rights – Federal law no longer allows for a charitable 
deduction for amounts paid to an institution of higher education in exchange 
for college athletic seating rights. California does not conform. Enter the 
amount on line 11, column C. 
College access tax credit – If you deducted a charitable contribution 
amount for the College Access Tax Credit Fund on your federal Schedule 
A (Form 1040) and are claiming the College Access Tax Credit on your 
Form 540NR, enter the amount used to calculate the College Access Tax 
Credit on line 11, column B. 
Charitable contribution deduction disallowance − California disallows a 
charitable contribution deduction to an educational organization that is a 
postsecondary institution or to the Key Worldwide Foundation to a taxpayer 
who meets all of the following:
• They are charged as a defendant in any of several specified criminal 

complaints as listed in R&TC Section 17275.4.
• There is a final determination of their guilt with regard to a violation  

of any offense arising out of that criminal complaint. 
• There is a finding that they took the deduction unlawfully.
For more information, see R&TC Section 17275.4. Enter the amount of this 
deduction on line 11, column B.
Line 12 – Other Than By Cash Or Check 
Qualified charitable contributions – Your California deduction may be 
different from your federal deduction. California limits the amount of your 
deduction to 50% of your federal AGI. Figure the difference between the 
amount allowed using federal law and the amount allowed using California 
law. Enter the difference on line 12, column B. 
Charitable contribution deduction disallowance - California disallows a 
charitable contribution deduction to an educational organization that is a 
postsecondary institution or to the Key Worldwide Foundation to a taxpayer 
who meets all of the following:

• They are charged as a defendant in any of several specified criminal 
complaints as listed in R&TC Section 17275.4.

• There is a final determination of their guilt with regard to a violation  
of any offense arising out of that criminal complaint. 

• There is a finding that they took the deduction unlawfully.
For more information, see R&TC Section 17275.4. Enter the amount of this 
deduction on line 12, column B.
Line 13 – Carryover From Prior Year 
Charitable contribution carryover deduction – If deducting a prior year 
charitable contribution carryover, and the California carryover is larger than 
the federal carryover, enter the additional amount on line 13, column C. 
Carryover deduction of appreciated stock contributed to a private 
foundation prior to January 1, 2002 – If deducting a charitable contribution 
carryover of appreciated stock donated to a private operating foundation prior 
to January 1, 2002, and the fair market value allowed for federal purposes is 
larger than the basis allowed for California purposes, enter the difference on 
line 13, column B. 
Line 15 – Casualty or Theft Loss(es) 
Under federal law, the personal casualty and theft loss deduction is 
suspended, with exception for personal casualty gains. Federal allows a 
deduction for personal casualty and theft loss incurred in a federally declared 
disaster. California does not conform. 
California allows personal casualty and theft loss and disaster loss deductions. If 
you have personal casualty and theft loss and/or disaster loss, complete another 
federal Form 4684, Casualties and Thefts, using California amounts. Enter the 
difference between the federal and California amount in column B or column C.
Line 16 – Other Itemized Deductions
Unreimbursed impairment-related work expenses – If you completed 
federal Form 2106, prepare a second set of forms reflecting your employee 
business expense using California amounts (i.e., following California law). 
Include your entertainment expenses, if any, on line 5 of federal Form 2106 
for California purposes. 
Generally, California law conforms with federal law and no adjustment is 
needed. However, differences occur when: 
• Assets (requiring depreciation) were placed in service before 

January 1, 1987. Figure the depreciation based on California law. 
• Federal employees who were on temporary duty status. California does 

not conform to the federal provision that expanded temporary duties to 
include prosecution duties, in addition to investigative duties. Therefore, 
travel expenses paid or incurred in connection with temporary duty status 
(exceeding one year), involving the prosecution (or support of the prosecution) 
of a federal crime, should not be included in the California amount. 

Compare federal Form 2106, line 10 and the form completed using California 
amounts. Enter the difference between the federal and California amount in 
column B or column C. 
Gambling Losses – California lottery losses are not deductible for California. 
Enter the amount of California lottery losses included in line 16, column A on 
line 16, column B. 
Federal estate tax – Federal estate tax paid on income in respect of a 
decedent is not deductible for California. Enter the amount of federal estate 
tax included in line 16, column A on line 16, column B. 
Claim of right – If you had to repay an amount that you included in your 
income in an earlier year, because at the time you thought you had an 
unrestricted right to it, you may be able to deduct the amount repaid from 
your income for the year in which you repaid it. Or, if the amount you repaid 
is more than $3,000, you may take a credit against your tax for the year in 
which you repaid it, whichever results in the least tax. 
If the amount repaid was not taxed by California, no deduction or credit is 
allowed. 
Social security benefits are not taxable by California and the repayment 
would not qualify for claim of right deduction or credit. If you deducted the 
repayment of Social Security benefits on your federal tax return, enter the 
amount of the federal deduction on line 16, column B. 
If you claimed a credit for the repayment on your federal tax return and are 
deducting the repayment for California, enter the allowable deduction on 
line 16, column C. 
If you deducted the repayment on your federal tax return and are taking a 
credit for California, enter the amount of the federal deduction on line 16, 
column B. To help you determine whether to take a credit or deduction, see 
the Repayment section of federal Publication 525, Taxable and Nontaxable 
Income. Remember to use the California tax rate in your computations. If you 
choose to take the credit instead of the deduction for California, add the credit 
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(continued on next page)

amount on line 88, the total payment line, of the Form 540NR. To the left of 
the total, write “IRC 1341” and the amount of the credit. 
Line 19 through Line 22 – Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions 
Under federal law, the federal deduction for miscellaneous itemized 
deductions subject to the 2% floor is suspended. California does not conform. 
Line 19 – Unreimbursed Employee Expenses 
Prepare federal Form 2106 reflecting your employee business expense using 
California amounts (i.e., following California law). Include your entertainment 
expenses, if any, on line 5 of federal Form 2106 for California purposes. 
Enter the amount from line 10 of federal Form 2106 on line 19. 
Line 20 – Tax Preparation Fees
Enter the fees you paid for preparation of your tax return, including fees paid 
for filing your return electronically. If you paid your tax by credit or debit card, 
include the convenience fee you were charged on line 21 instead of this line. 
Line 21 – Other Expenses
Enter the total amount you paid to produce or collect taxable income and 
manage or protect property held for earning income.
List the type of each expense next to line 21 and enter the total of these 
expenses on line 21. If you are filing a paper return and you can’t fit all your 
expenses on the line next to line 21, attach a statement showing the type and 
amount of each expense.
Examples of expenses to include on line 21 are:
• Certain legal and accounting fees.
• Custodial fees (for example, trust account).
• Casualty and theft losses of property used in performing services as 

an employee from federal Form 4684, lines 32 and 38b, or federal 
Form 4797, line 18a.

• Deduction for repayment of amounts under a claim of right if $3,000 or 
less.

Claim of right – If you had to repay an amount that you included in your 
income in an earlier year, because at the time you thought you had an 
unrestricted right to it, you may be able to deduct the amount repaid from 
your income for the year in which you repaid it. If the amount you repaid is 
less than $3,000, the deduction is subject to the 2% AGI limit for California 
purposes. If you are deducting the repayment for California, enter the 
allowable deduction on line 21. 
If the amount repaid was not taxed by California, no deduction is allowed. 
Line 27 – Other Adjustments
Adoption-related expenses – If you deducted adoption-related expenses 
on your federal Schedule A (Form 1040) and are claiming the adoption cost 
credit on your Form 540NR, enter the amount of the adoption cost credit 
claimed as a negative number on line 27.
Nontaxable income expenses – If, on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), you 
claim expenses related to producing income taxed under federal law but not 
taxed by California, enter the amount as a negative number on line 27.
You may claim expenses related to producing income taxed by California law 
but not taxed under federal law by entering the amount as a positive number 
on line 27.
State legislator’s travel expenses – Under California law, deductible travel 
expenses for state legislators include only those incurred while away from 
their places of residence overnight. Figure the difference between the amount 
allowed using federal law and the amount allowed using California law. Enter 
the difference as a negative number on line 27.
Interest on loans from utility companies – Taxpayers are allowed a tax 
deduction for interest paid or incurred on a public utility company financed 
loan that is used to purchase and install energy efficient equipment or 
products, including zone-heating products for a qualified residence located in 
California. Federal law has no equivalent deduction. Enter the difference as a 
positive number on line 27.
Line 29 – California Itemized Deductions
Is the amount on Form 540NR, line 13 more than the amount shown below 
for your filing status?
Single or married/RDP filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      $212,288
Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      $318,437
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              $424,581
NO Transfer the amount from line 28 to line 29. Do not complete the 

Itemized Deductions Worksheet.
YES Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in the next column.

Note: 
• If you are married/RDP and file a separate tax return, you and your 

spouse/RDP must either both itemize your deductions or both take the 
standard deduction. 

• Also, if someone else can claim you as a dependent, claim the greater of 
the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. See the “California 
Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents” in your California 540NR 
Booklet to figure your standard deduction.

• Military pay of a servicemember domiciled outside of California cannot 
be used to reduce the amount of this deduction. Modify your federal AGI 
used to compute this limitation by subtracting your military pay from 
federal AGI. Get FTB Pub. 1032 for more information.

Itemized Deductions Worksheet
1. Amount from Schedule CA (540NR), Part III, line 28   . . .   1
2. Add the amounts on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), 

line 4, line 9, and line 15 plus any gambling losses 
included on line 16, if applicable (or on Schedule A (Form 1040NR), 
line 6 plus any investment interest expense and gambling 
losses included on line 7, as applicable)   . . . . . . . . . . . . .             2

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. If the result is 0 , stop. 
Enter the amount from line 1 above on Schedule 

- -

CA (540NR), Part III, line 29   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      3
4. Multiply line 3 by 80% (.80)   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      4
5. Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 13   . . . . . . . . .         5
6. Enter the amount from line 29 instructions in the previous 

column for your filing status   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     6
7. Subtract line 6 from line 5.   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       7

If the result is 0  or less stop. Enter the amount from 
line 1 above on Schedule 

- -
CA (540NR), Part III, line 29

8. Multiply line 7 by 6% (.06)   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       8
9. Compare the amounts on line 4 and line 8. 

Enter the smaller amount here   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     9
10. Total itemized deductions. Subtract line 9 from line 1. 

Enter the result here and on Schedule CA (540NR), 
Part III, line 29  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                10

Line 30 – Amount from Line 29 or Standard Deduction
If your filing status is Married/RDP filing separately and your spouse itemizes, 
enter the amount from line 29 (even if the standard deduction is larger).

Part IV California Taxable Income
Line 1 – California AGI
Enter your California AGI from Part II, line 27, column E.
Line 3 – Deduction Percentage
Divide Part II, line 27, column E by Part II, line 27, column D. Carry the 
decimal to four places. This number may not be greater than 1.0000. If the 
result is greater than 1.0000, enter 1.0000.
Line 5 – California Taxable Income
Subtract line 4 from line 1. If less than zero, enter 0 . Enter this amount on 
Form 540NR, line 35.

- -

Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on 
Collection 
Our privacy notice can be found in annual tax booklets or online. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov/privacy to learn about our privacy policy statement, or go to 
ftb.ca.gov/forms and search for 1131 to locate FTB 1131 EN-SP, Franchise 
Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection. To request this notice by mail, call 
800.338.0505 and enter form code 948 when instructed.
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Part-Year Resident Worksheet
Important: Part-year residents use this worksheet to determine the amounts to enter 
on Schedule CA (540NR), column E, Part II, Section A, line 1 through line 7, and 
Section B, line 1 through line 10.

 A B C

 
California 
Resident 
Amounts

California 
Nonresident 

Amounts

Total 
Combine column A 

and column B

 

Amounts reported on 
Schedule CA (540NR) 
column D earned or 
received while you 
were a CA resident

Amounts reported on 
Schedule CA (540NR) 
column D earned or 
received from CA 
sources while you 
were a nonresident

Transfer amounts 
to Schedule CA 
(540NR), column E

Section A – Income
1 Wages, salaries, tips, etc  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                         1
2 b Taxable interest . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               2b
3 b Ordinary dividends. See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              3b
4 b IRA distributions. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                4b  
5 b Pensions and annuities. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           5b  
6 b Social security benefits     . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                         6b
7 Capital gain or (loss). See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               7

Section B – Additional Income
1 Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes . . . . . . . .        1

   

2 a Alimony received. See instructions.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              2a  
3 Business income or (loss). See instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         3
4 Other gains or (losses) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          4
5 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc. 

 See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               5 
6 Farm income or (loss)
7 Unemployment compensation    
8 Other income. 

a Federal net operating loss
   

b Gambling income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            8b
c Cancellation of debt . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          8c
d Foreign earned income exclusion from federal Form 2555 . . . . . . . . . . . . .             8d  
e Taxable Health Savings Account distribution  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       8e    
f  Alaska Permanent Fund dividends  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               8f  
g Jury duty pay  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               8g
h Prizes and awards
i Activity not engaged in for profit income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           8i
j Stock options . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               8j  
k  Income from the rental of personal property if you engaged in the rental for 

profit but were not in the business of renting such property . . . . . . . . . . . .           8k

l Olympic and Paralympic medals and USOC prize money . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8l
m IRC Section 951(a) inclusion  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   8m    

n IRC Section 951A(a) inclusion  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  8n    
o IRC Section 461(l) excess business loss adjustment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 8o
p Taxable distributions from an ABLE account . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       8p
z Other income. List type and amount.

9 a  Total other income. Add lines 8a through 8z . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       9a
b1 Disaster loss deduction from form FTB 3805V  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     9b1
b2 NOL deduction from form FTB 3805V . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            9b2
b3 NOL from form FTB 3805Z, 3807, or 3809  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        9b3
b4 Student loan discharged due to closure of a for-profit school . . . . . . . . . .          9b4

10 Totals: Combine Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through 
line 7, and line 9a through line 9b4 in column C. Transfer the amounts from 
column C, Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through 
line 10, to Schedule CA (540NR), column E, Section A, line 1 through line 7, 
and Section B, line 1 through line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                10

  

Part-Year Resident Worksheet – Part-year residents use this worksheet to determine the amounts to enter on Schedule CA (540NR), column E, Section A, line 1 
through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 10.
Column A: For the part of the year you were a resident, follow the “California Resident Amounts” instructions. Enter the result in column A of the worksheet.
Column B: For the part of the year you were a nonresident, follow the “California Nonresident Amounts” instructions. Enter the result in column B of the worksheet.
Column C: For each line, combine column A and column B of the worksheet. Transfer the amounts in column C of the worksheet to Schedule CA (540NR), 

column E, Part II, Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 10.
Important: If completing Section A, line 7 or Section B, line 5, see the column E, part-year resident instructions for those lines.

8z

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8h

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8a

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
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TAXABLE YEAR 

2021 California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment 

SCHEDULE 

D (540NR)
Name(s) as shown on return SSN or ITIN

1 

(a) 
Description of property 

Example: 100 shares of “Z” Co.

(b) 
Sales price

(c) 
Cost or other basis

(d) 
Loss 

If (c) is more than (b), 
subtract (b) from (c)

(e) 
Gain

If (b) is more than (c), 
subtract (c) from (b)

a

b

c

d

e

f

g

h

i

j

k

l

m

n

o

p

q

r

s

t

u

v

2 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568)

3 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a) 

4 Total 2021 gain from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line 1, line 2, and line 3 

5 2021 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line 1 and line 2.  ( )

6 California capital loss carryover from 2020, if any. See instructions.  ( )

7 Total 2021 loss. Add line 5 and line 6. ( )

8 Net gain or loss. Combine line 4 and line 7. If a loss, go to line 9. If a gain, go to line 10

9 If line 8 is a loss, enter the smaller of: a the loss on line 8.
b $3,000 ($1,500 if married/RDP filing separate). See instructions ( )

10 Enter the gain or (loss) from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 7 

11 Enter the California gain from line 8 or (loss) from line 9 

12a If line 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Sch. CA (540NR), Part II, Section A, line 7, col. B 

b If line 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Sch. CA (540NR), Part II, Section A, line 7, col. C 

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 EN-SP.

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                11

 . . . . .       12a

 . . . .      12b
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2021 Instructions for California Schedule D (540NR) 
California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

What's New
Gross Income Exclusion for Bruce’s Beach – Effective September 30, 2021, 
California law allows an exclusion from gross income for the first time 
sale in the taxable year in which the land within Manhattan State Beach, 
known as “Peck’s Manhattan Beach Tract Block 5” and commonly 
referred to as “Bruce’s Beach” is sold, transferred, or encumbered. A 
recipient’s gross income does not include the following: 
# Any sale, transfer, or encumbrance of Bruce’s Beach; 
# Any gain, income, or proceeds received that is directly derived from 

the sale, transfer, or encumbrance of Bruce’s Beach. 

General Information
In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, 
California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of 
January 1, 2015. However, there are continuing differences between 
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax 
law changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the 
federal level. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
conformity. Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, 
Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions 
for California Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments - Residents, 
or Schedule CA (540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or 
Part-Year Residents, and the Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the instructions. Taxpayers should not consider 
the instructions as authoritative law.
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, husband, 
or wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP), 
unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to 
both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered 
domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, 
get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.

Purpose
Full-year nonresidents or part-year residents report gains and losses as if 
they were full-year residents for the entire year using California amounts. 
Therefore, all gains and losses must be reported. Full-year nonresidents 
or part-year residents complete Schedule D (540NR), California Capital 
Gain or Loss Adjustment, and the Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet for 
Nonresident and Part-Year Residents, in order to complete column E on 
Schedule CA (540NR).
For nonresidents, the computation of California taxable income, capital 
loss carryovers, and capital loss limitations are determined based upon 
California source income and loss items only. For purposes of calculating 
California taxable income, the character of gains and losses on the sale or 
exchange of property used in the trade or business or certain involuntary 
conversions (IRC Section 1231) are determined by netting California 
source IRC Section 1231 gains and losses only.
If you moved in or out of California during the year, get FTB Pub.1100, 
Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, for more information about the following:
# Disposition of property inherited before 1987.
# Gain on the sale or disposition of a qualified assisted housing 

development to low-income residents or to specific entities 
maintaining housing for low-income residents.

# Capital loss carryback.

Important Information
Installment Sales. 
If you sold property at a gain (other than publicly traded stocks or 
securities) and you will receive a payment in a tax year after the year of 
sale, report the sale on the installment method unless you elect not to 
do so. Get form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income. Also, use that form 
if you received a payment in 2021, for an installment sale made in an 
earlier year. 
You may elect to not use the installment sale method for California by 
reporting the entire gain on Schedule D (540NR) (or Schedule D-1, Sales 
of Business Property, for business assets) in the year of the sale and 
filing your return on or before the due date.
At-Risk Rules and Passive Activity Limitations.
If you dispose of (1) an asset used in an activity to which the at-risk rules 
apply, or (2) any part of your interest in an activity to which the at-risk 
rules apply, and you have amounts in the activity for which you are not 
at risk, get and complete federal Form 6198, At-Risk Limitations, using 
California amounts to figure your California deductible loss under the 
at-risk rules. Once a loss becomes allowable under the at-risk rules, it 
becomes subject to the passive activity rules. Get form FTB 3801, Passive 
Activity Loss Limitations.
Capital Assets.
The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) amended IRC Section 1221 excluding 
a patent, invention, model or design (whether or not patented), and 
a secret formula or process held by the taxpayer who created the 
property (and certain other taxpayers) from the definition of a capital 
asset. California does not conform. Report your capital assets on 
Schedule D (540NR).

Specific Line Instructions
Line 1 – List each capital asset transaction.
Column (a) – Description of property. Describe the asset you sold 
or exchanged.
Column (b) – Sales price. Enter in this column either the gross sales 
price or the net sales price. If you received federal Form 1099-B, 
Proceeds From Broker and Barter Exchange Transactions; federal 
Form 1099-S, Proceeds From Real Estate Transactions; or similar 
statement showing the gross sales price, enter that amount in column 
(b). However, if box 6 of federal Form 1099-B indicates that net proceeds 
were reported to the Internal Revenue Service, enter that net amount in 
column (b). If you entered the net amount in column (b), do not include 
the commissions and option premiums in column (c).
Column (c) – Cost or other basis. In general, the cost or other basis is 
the cost of the property plus purchase commissions and improvements, 
minus depreciation, amortization, and depletion. Enter the cost or 
adjusted basis of the asset for California purposes. Use your records and 
California tax returns for years before 1987 to determine the California 
amount to enter in column (c). If you used an amount other than cost as 
the original basis, your federal basis may be different from your California 
basis. Other reasons for differences include:
# Depreciation Methods and Property Expensing – Before 1987, 

California law disallowed the use of accelerated cost recovery system 
(ACRS) and disallowed the use of an asset depreciation range 20% 
above or below the standard rate. Before 1999, California had different 
limits on the expensing of property under IRC Section 179. California 
law permits rapid write-off of certain property such as solar energy 
systems, pollution control devices, and property used in an Enterprise 
Zone, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area, Targeted Tax Area, 
or Los Angeles Revitalization Zone.
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# Inherited Property – The  California basis of property inherited from a 
decedent is generally the fair market value at the time of death.

# S Corporation Stock – Prior to 1987, California law did not recognize 
S corporations and your California basis in S corporation stock may 
differ from your federal basis. In general, your California basis will 
be cost-adjusted for income, loss, and distributions received after 
1986, while your stock was California S corporation stock. Your 
federal basis will be cost-adjusted for income, loss, and distributions 
received during the time your stock qualified for federal S corporation 
treatment. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2002, any corporation with a valid federal S corporation 
election is considered an S corporation for California purposes. 
Existing law already requires federal C corporations to be treated as 
C corporations for California purposes.

# Special Credits – California law authorizes special tax credits not 
allowed under federal law or computed differently under federal law. If 
you claimed special credits related to capital assets, reduce your basis 
in the assets by the amount of credit.

Other adjustments may apply differently to the federal and California 
basis of your capital assets. Figure the original basis of your asset using 
the California law in effect when the asset was acquired, and adjust it 
according to provisions of California law in effect during the period of 
your ownership.
Column (e) – Gain.
# Qualified Small Business Stock – California does not conform 

to the qualified small business stock deferral and gain exclusion 
under IRC Sections 1045 and 1202. Enter the entire gain realized in 
column (e).

# Qualified Opportunity Zone Funds – California does not conform to 
the deferral and exclusion of capital gains reinvested or invested in 
qualified opportunity zone funds under IRC Sections 1400Z-1 and 
1400Z-2. Enter the entire gain amount in column (e). If, for California 
purposes, gains from investment in qualified opportunity zone 
property had been included in income during previous taxable years, 
do not include the gain in the current year income.

Line 2 – Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 
541, 565, and 568). 
Combine gain(s) and loss(es) from all California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 
541, 565, and 568), Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc. See 
California Schedule K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568) instructions for more 
information on capital gains and losses. Enter the net loss on line 2, 
column (d) or the net gain on line 2, column (e).
Line 3 – Capital gain distributions. 
If you receive federal Form 2439, Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed 
Long-Term Capital Gains, from a mutual fund, do not include the 
undistributed capital gain dividends on Schedule D (540NR). If you 
receive federal Form 1099-DIV, Dividends and Distributions, enter the 
amount of distributed capital gain dividends.
Line 6 – 2020 California capital loss carryover. 
If you had California capital loss carryover from 2020, recalculate those 
losses as if you had been a resident for all prior years. Enter this amount 
on line 6. Get FTB Pub. 1100 for more information.

Line 8 – Net gain or loss. 
If the amount on line 4 is more than the amount on line 7, subtract line 7 
from line 4. Enter the difference as a gain on line 8.
If the amount on line 7 is more than the amount on line 4, subtract line 4 
from line 7 and enter the difference as a negative amount on line 8.
Use the worksheet on the next page to figure your capital loss carryover 
to 2022.
Line 9 
If line 8 is a net capital loss, enter the smaller of the loss on line 8 or 
$3,000 ($1,500 if married or an RDP filing a separate return).
Line 12a 
Compare the amounts entered on line 10 and line 11 to figure the 
adjustment to enter on Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, Section A, line 7, 
column B.
For example:
Loss on line 10 is less than loss on line 11.

Federal loss on line 10 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($1,000)
California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($2,000)
Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    $1,000

Gain on line 10 and loss on line 11.
Federal gain on line 10 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              $3,000
California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($3,000)
Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    $6,000 

Line 12b  
Compare the amounts entered on line 10 and line 11 to figure the 
adjustment to enter on Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, Section A, line 7, 
column C.
For example:
Loss on line 10 is more than loss on line 11.

Federal loss on line 10 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($2,000)
California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($1,000)
Difference between line 11 and line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    $1,000 

Loss on line 10 and gain on line 11.
Federal loss on line 10 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($2,000)
California gain on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            $5,000 
Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    $7,000

Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection
Our privacy notice can be found in annual tax booklets or online. Go 
to ftb.ca.gov/privacy to learn about our privacy policy statement, or 
go to ftb.ca.gov/forms and search for 1131 to locate FTB 1131 EN-SP, 
Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection. To request this notice 
by mail, call 800.338.0505 and enter form code 948 when instructed.
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California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet For Full-Year Residents
1. Loss from Schedule D (540NR), line 11, stated as a positive number . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               1 _____________
2. Amount from Form 540NR, line 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                          2 _____________
3. Amount from Form 540NR, line 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                          3 _____________
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less than zero, enter as a negative amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             4 _____________
5. Combine line 1 and line 4. If less than zero, enter 0- - . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            5 _____________
6. Enter loss from Schedule D (540NR), line 8 as a positive number . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  6 _____________
7. Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                          7 _____________
8. Subtract line 7 from line 6. This is your capital loss carryover to 2022 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                8 _____________

Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet for Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents 
Complete Schedule D (540NR) first.

Full-year Nonresidents: Complete column A and column B only. Enter the amount shown in column B, line 4 (if there is an overall gain) or line 5 (if 
there is a loss), on Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, Section A, line 7, column E.

Part-year Residents:
Enter the number of days during the year you were a CA resident: __________ 
Enter the number of days during the year you were a nonresident: __________ 
Column A, line 1 through line 5 should be the same as the amounts shown on Schedule D (540NR), lines 4, 5, 6, 8, and 9 respectively.
Columns A and B, line 3, should show a carryover amount that has been computed as if you had been a resident in all prior years for column A and as if 
you had been a nonresident for all prior years for column B.
Columns C and D should be completed taking into account the dates of the transactions. For column C, multiply the amount in column A by the number 
of days you were a resident divided by 365 days. For column D, multiply the amount in column B by the number of days you were a nonresident divided 
by 365 days. However, if it's a leap year, use 366 days instead of 365 days.
Line 4 If the amount shown in column E is a gain, enter that amount on Schedule CA (540NR) Part-Year Resident Worksheet, Section A, line 7, 
column C. If a loss, go to line 5.
Line 5 Enter the amount shown in column E on Schedule CA (540NR) Part-Year Resident Worksheet, Section A, line 7, column C.

 A B C D E

 

Enter total 
as if you were a CA 

resident for the 
entire year.

Enter amounts 
earned or received 
from CA sources as 

if you were a 
nonresident for the 

entire year.

Enter amounts 
earned or received 

during the portion of 
the year you were a 

CA resident.

Enter amounts 
earned or received 
from CA sources 

during the portion 
of the year you 

were a 
nonresident.

Total 
Combine column C 

and column D.

1 Gains
2 Losses
3 Prior year loss carryover.
4 Combine line 1 through 

line 3.   

5 Enter the smaller of the 
loss on line 4 or $3,000 
($1,500 if married/RDP filing 
separately).

  

Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet
Complete this worksheet only if at the end of the year you were a resident and line 4, column A above shows a loss or at the end of the year you were 
a nonresident and line 4, column B above shows a loss. In completing this worksheet, if you were a resident at the end of the year, use the column A 
amounts shown above; if you were a nonresident, use the column B amounts.

1 Enter the total loss from the Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet, line 5, as a positive number
2 Amount from Form 540NR, line 17
3 Amount from Form 540NR, line 18
4 Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less than zero, enter as a negative amount
5 Combine line 1 and line 4. If less than zero, enter 0- -
6 Enter the total loss from Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet, line 4, as a positive number
7 Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5
8 Subtract line 7 from line 6. This is your capital loss carryover to 2022
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Save the stamp – pay online with Web Pay!
IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HEREDETACH HERE

(Calendar year filers – File and Pay by April 18, 2022) (Fiscal year filers – see instructions)
CAUTION: You may be required to pay electronically. See instructions.TAXABLE YEAR 

2021 Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals 
CALIFORNIA  FORM 

3519 (PIT)
For calendar year 2021 or fiscal year beginning (mm/dd/yyyy) 	 , and ending (mm/dd/yyyy) 	 .
Your first name Initial Last name  Your SSN or ITIN

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Initial Last name Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

Address (number and street, PO box, or PMB no.) 			  Apt. no./ste. no.

City State ZIP code

IF PAYMENT IS DUE, MAIL TO: 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  
PO BOX 942867  
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008

If amount of payment is 
zero, do not mail this form

Amount of payment

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 EN-SP.

2021 Instructions for Form FTB 3519 
Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals
General Information
Mandatory Electronic Payments
You are required to remit all your payments electronically once you make 
an estimate or extension payment exceeding $20,000 or you file an 
original tax return with a total tax liability over $80,000. Once you meet 
this threshold, all subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax type, 
or taxable year must be remitted electronically. The first payment that 
would trigger the mandatory e-pay requirement does not have to be made 
electronically. Individuals who do not send the payment electronically 
will be subject to a 1% noncompliance penalty. Electronic payments can 
be made using Web Pay on the Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB’s) website, 
electronic funds withdrawal (EFW) as part of the e-file tax return, or your 
credit card. For more information or to obtain the waiver form, go to 
ftb.ca.gov/e-pay.
Use form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals, 
only if both of the following apply:
• You cannot file your 2021 tax return, Form 540 or 540NR, by 

April 18, 2022. (When the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, 
the deadline to file and pay without penalty is extended to the next 
business day. Due to the federal Emancipation Day holiday observed 
on April 15, 2022, tax returns filed and payments mailed or submitted 
on April 18, 2022, will be considered timely.) 
Note: Fiscal Year Filers, your tax return is due the 15th day of the 4th 
month following the close of your fiscal year.

• You owe tax for 2021.
When you file your 2021 tax return, you can e-file or CalFile. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for e-file options. If you use form FTB 3519, you 
may not file Form 540 2EZ, California Resident Income Tax Return.
Use the worksheet on the next page to determine if you owe tax. If you 
do not owe tax, do not complete or mail form FTB 3519. However, file 
your tax return by October 17, 2022. If you owe tax, choose one of the 
following payment options: 
• Web Pay: Individuals can make payments online using Web Pay for 

Individuals. Taxpayers can make an immediate payment or schedule 
payments up to a year in advance. Go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more 
information. Do not mail form FTB 3519 to the FTB.

• EFW: Individuals can make an extension or estimated tax payment 
using tax preparation software. Check with your software provider 
to determine if they support EFW for extension and estimated tax 
payments. Do not mail form FTB 3519 to the FTB.

• Credit Card: Use your major credit card. Call 800.272.9829 or go to 
officialpayments.com, use code 1555. ACI Payments, Inc. (formerly 
Official Payments) charges a convenience fee for using this service. 
Do not mail form FTB 3519 to the FTB.

• Check or Money Order: Using black or blue ink, complete your check 
or money order and the payment form below and mail both to the 
“Franchise Tax Board.” Make all checks or money orders payable in 
U.S. dollars and drawn against a U.S. financial institution.

Penalties and Interest
If you fail to pay your total tax liability by April 18, 2022, you will incur 
a late payment penalty plus interest. We may waive the late payment 
penalty based on reasonable cause. Reasonable cause is presumed when 
90% of the tax is paid by the original due date of the tax return. However, 
the imposition of interest is mandatory. If, after April 18, 2022, you find 
that your estimate of tax due was too low, pay the additional tax as soon 
as possible to avoid or minimize further accumulation of penalties and 
interest. Pay your additional tax with another form FTB 3519. If you do 
not file your tax return by October 17, 2022, you will incur a late filing 
penalty plus interest from the original due date of the tax return. For 
Fiscal Year Filers, your tax return is due the 15th day of the 10th month 
following the close of your fiscal year.

Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Outside the USA
If you are residing or traveling outside the USA on April 18, 2022, the 
deadline to file your tax return and pay the tax is June 15, 2022. Interest 
will accrue from the original due date until the date of payment. If you 
need additional time to file, you will be allowed a six-month extension 
without filing a request. To qualify for the extension, file your tax return 
by December 15, 2022. To avoid any late-payment penalties, pay your 
tax liability by June 15, 2022. When filing your tax return, write “Outside 
the USA on April 18, 2022” at the top of your tax return in BLUE INK, or 
include it according to your software’s instructions. 

Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection
Our privacy notice can be found in annual tax booklets or online. Go 
to ftb.ca.gov/privacy to learn about our privacy policy statement, or 
go to ftb.ca.gov/forms and search for 1131 to locate FTB 1131 EN-SP, 
Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection. To request this notice 
by mail, call 800.338.0505 and enter form code 948 when instructed.

} ▶ 00.
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TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET (KEEP FOR YOUR RECORDS)

1 Total tax you expect to owe. This is the amount you expect to enter on Form 540, line 65; or Form 540NR, line 75 . . . . . . . . . . .           1	 00

2 Payments and credits:

a California income tax withheld (including real estate and nonresident withholding)  . . . .    2a	 00

b California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 2020 tax return  . . . . .     2b	 00

		  (To check your estimated tax payments go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB.)

c Other payments and credits (including any tax payments made with any previous 

form FTB 3519)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        2c	 00

3 Total tax payments and credits. Add line 2a, line 2b, and line 2c . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             3	 00

4 Tax due. Is line 1 more than line 3? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                   4	 00
• No. Stop here. You have no tax due. Do not mail form FTB 3519. If you file your tax return by October 17, 2022 (fiscal year filer – see 

instructions), the automatic extension will apply.
• Yes. Subtract line 3 from line 1 and enter on line 4. This is your tax due. For online payments, do not mail the form, go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more 

information. If you meet the requirements of the Mandatory e-Pay program, you must make all payments electronically, regardless of the taxable 
year or amount. Go to ftb.ca.gov/e-pay. For check or money order payments, using black or blue ink, complete your check or money order and form 
FTB 3519. Enter the tax due amount from line 4 as the “Amount of payment.” Make your check or money order payable to the “Franchise Tax Board,” 

and write your SSN or ITIN and “2021 FTB 3519” in the “For” section. Enclose, but do not staple your payment to form FTB 3519 and mail to: 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008.
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TAXABLE YEAR 

2021 California Earned Income Tax Credit 

FORM 

3514
Attach to your California Form 540, Form 540 2EZ or Form 540NR.
Name(s) as shown on tax return Your SSN or ITIN

Before you begin:
If you claim the California Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) even though you know you are not eligible, you may not be allowed to take the credit for up 
to 10 years.
If you are claiming the California EITC, you must provide your date of birth (DOB), and spouse’s/ Registered Domestic Partner’s (RDP’s) DOB if filing 
jointly, on your California Form 540, Form 540 2EZ, or Form 540NR. 
If you qualify for the California EITC you may also qualify for the Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC). See instructions for additional information.
Follow Step 1 through Step 9 in the instructions to determine if you meet the requirements, to complete this form, and to figure the amount of  
the credit(s). 

Part I Qualifying Information See Specific Instructions.

1 a Has the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) previously disallowed your federal Earned Income Credit (EIC)?  . . Yes No 

b Has the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) previously disallowed your California EITC?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Yes No 

2 Federal AGI (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 2

3 Federal EIC (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 27a) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 3

Part II Investment Income Information

4 Investment Income. See instructions for Step 2 – Investment Income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 4

Part III Qualifying Child Information
You must complete Part I and Part II before filling out Part III. If you are not claiming a qualifying child, skip Part III and go to Step 4 in the instructions.
Qualifying Child Information (Complete line 5 through line 12 for each child under Child 1, Child 2 or Child 3, as applicable.)

 Child 1 Child 2 Child 3

5 First name. . . . . .

6 Last name . . . . . .

7 SSN or ITIN. 
See instructions. •• •

8  Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy). If born after 2002 and the child is younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), 
skip line 9a and line 9b; go to line 10. 

9 a  Was the child under age 24 at the end of 2021, a student, and younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly)? 
If yes, go to line 10. If no, go to line 9b. See instructions. 

Yes No Yes No Yes No

b  Was the child permanently and totally disabled during any part of 2021? If yes, go to line 10. If no, stop here. 
The child is not a qualifying child.

Yes No Yes No Yes No

10 Child’s relationship to you. See instructions. 

11 Number of days child lived with you in California during 2021. Do not enter more than 365 days. See instructions.

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 EN-SP.

 

. 00

.

.

00

00
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12 Child’s physical address during 2021. See instructions. 

Child 1

a Street address (number and street and apt. no./ste. no.)

b City c State d ZIP code

Child 2

a Street address (number and street and apt. no./ste. no.)

b City c State d ZIP code

Child 3

a Street address (number and street and apt. no./ste. no.)

b City c State d ZIP code

Part IV California Earned Income

13 Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation, subject to California withholding. See instructions.  . • 13

14 IHSS payments. See instructions. . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  14

15 Prison inmate wages and/or pension or annuity from a nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a 
nongovernmental IRC Section 457 plan. See instructions.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15

16 Subtract line 14 and line 15 from line 13.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 16

17 Nontaxable combat pay. See instructions.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17

18 Business income or (loss). Enter amount from Worksheet 3, line 5. See instructions.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18

a Business name  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

b Business address  

Street address (number and street and apt. no./ste. no.)

City State ZIP code

. . . . . . . . . . . . .

c Business license number   . . . . . . .

d SEIN . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

e Business code   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

19 California Earned Income. Add line 16, line 17, and line 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 19

Part V California Earned Income Tax Credit (Complete Step 6 in the instructions.)

20 California EITC. Enter amount from California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet, Part III, line 6. 
This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 75; or Form 540 2EZ, line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 20

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

00

00

00

00

00

00

00

00
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Part VI Nonresident or Part-Year Resident California Earned Income Tax Credit

21 CA Exemption Credit Percentage from Form 540NR, line 38. See instructions.  . . .  21

22 Nonresident or Part-Year Resident EITC. Multiply line 20 by line 21. 
This amount should also be entered on Form 540NR, line 85 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 22

.

Part VII Young Child Tax Credit (See Step 8 in the instructions before completing this part.)

23 California Earned Income. Enter the amount from form FTB 3514, line 19.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  23 

24 Available Young Child Tax Credit  1,000.. . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
• If the amount on line 23 is $25,000 or less, skip lines 25 through 27 and enter $1,000 on line 28. 

If applicable, complete lines 29 and 30.
• If the amount on line 23 is greater than $25,000, complete lines 25 through 28. If applicable, 

complete lines 29 and 30.

25 Excess Earned Income over threshold. Subtract $25,000 from line 23  

26 Divide line 25 by 100. Enter the result as a decimal out to two decimal places, do not round. . . . . . . . . . . . .

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 25

 26 

27 Reduction amount. Multiply line 26 by $20. Enter the result as a decimal out to two decimal places, 
do not round. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 27 

28 Young Child Tax Credit. 
• If you did not need to complete lines 25 through 27, your credit is the $1,000 from line 24.
• If you completed lines 25 through 27, to compute your credit, subtract line 27 from line 24. If your credit  

amount is between $0 and $1, enter $1. If your credit amount is over $1, round to the nearest whole dollar.

This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 76; or Form 540 2EZ, line 24   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 28 

Part VIII Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Young Child Tax Credit (See Step 9 in the instructions.)

29 CA Exemption Credit Percentage from Form 540NR, line 38. See instructions . . . .  29

30 Nonresident or Part-Year Resident YCTC. Multiply line 28 by line 29. 
This amount should also be entered on Form 540NR, line 86 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 30

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

00

00

00

00

00

00

.
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2021 Instructions for Form FTB 3514 

California Earned Income Tax Credit
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Information
In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, 
California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of 
January 1, 2015. However, there are continuing differences between 
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law 
changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal 
level. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. 
Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental 
Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California 
Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments - Residents, or Schedule 
CA (540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or Part-Year 
Residents, and the Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the instructions. Taxpayers should not consider 
the instructions as authoritative law.
Registered Domestic Partners (RDPs)
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, husband, 
or wife also refer to a California RDP, unless otherwise specified. 
When we use the initials RDP they refer to both a California registered 
domestic “partner” and a California registered domestic “partnership,” 
as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737, Tax 
Information for Registered Domestic Partners.
California Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)
The refundable California EITC is available to taxpayers who earned 
wage income subject to California withholding and/or have net earnings 
from self-employment. This credit is similar to the federal Earned 
Income Credit (EIC) but with different income limitations. The CA 
EITC reduces your California tax obligation, or allows a refund if no 
California tax is due. You do not need a child to qualify, but must file a 
California income tax return to claim the credit and attach a completed 
form FTB 3514, California Earned Income Tax Credit.
Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC)
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, the refundable 
YCTC is available to taxpayers who also qualify for the CA EITC and who 
have at least one qualifying child who is younger than six years old as of 
the last day of the taxable year. The maximum amount of credit allowable 
for a qualified taxpayer is $1,000. The credit amount phases out as 
earned income exceeds the threshold amount of $25,000, and completely 
phases out at $30,000. For more information, see Step 8, Qualifications 
for Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC) in the instructions.
Expansion for Credits Eligibility 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, California 
expanded EITC and YCTC eligibility to allow either the federal Individual 
Tax Identification Number (ITIN) or the Social Security Number (SSN) 
to be used by all eligible individuals, their spouses, and qualifying 
children. If an ITIN is used, eligible individuals should provide identifying 
documents upon request of the Franchise Tax Board (FTB). Any valid SSN 
can be used, not only those that are valid for work. Additionally, upon 
receiving a valid SSN, the individual should notify the FTB in the time 
and manner prescribed by the FTB. The YCTC is available if the eligible 
individual or spouse has a qualifying child younger than six years old. For 
more information, see General Information B, Differences in California 
and Federal Law, Specific Instructions for line 7, and go to ftb.ca.gov and 
search for eitc.
Worker Status: Employees and Independent Contractors  
Some individuals may be classified as independent contractors for federal 
purposes and employees for California purposes, which may also cause 
changes in how their income and deductions are classified. For more 
information, see Specific Instructions, Step 5, line 13 and line 18.

A Purpose
Use form FTB 3514 to determine whether you qualify to claim the EITC 
and YCTC credits, provide information about your qualifying children, if 
applicable, and to figure the amount of your credits.

B Differences in California and Federal Law
The differences between California and federal law for the Earned Income 
Tax Credit are as follows:
# California allows this credit for wage income (wages, salaries, tips and 

other employee compensation) that is subject to California withholding.
# If you were a nonresident, you must have earned wage income that is 

subject to California withholding.
# Both your earned income and federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 

must be less than $30,001 to qualify for the California credit.
# An eligible individual without a qualifying child is 18 years or older for 

the California credit.
# You may elect to include all of your (and/or all of your spouse’s/RDP’s 

if filing jointly) nontaxable military combat pay in earned income for 
California purposes, whether or not you elect to include it for federal 
purposes. Get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel, 
for special rules that apply to military personnel claiming the EITC.

# You may elect to include or exclude Medicaid waiver payments or In 
Home Supportive Services (IHSS) payment from earned income for 
the California credit, whether or not you elect to include or exclude 
them for the federal credit.

# California allows this credit to eligible individuals and their spouses 
who have a valid federal ITIN or who have qualifying children who 
have a valid federal ITIN.

# California law does not conform to the following federal law changes 
under the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021: 
–  Application of earned income tax credit in possessions of the U.S.
–  Election to use earned income from taxable year 2019 for the 

federal credit
–  Strengthening the EITC for individuals with no qualifying children

Specific Instructions
If certain requirements are met, you or your eligible spouse may claim 
the EITC even if you do not have a valid SSN and instead have a valid 
federal ITIN. This also applies for the YCTC. If you have a valid federal 
ITIN, enter it in the Your SSN or ITIN field at the top of the form. For 
more information, see the General Information Section and Specific 
Instructions for line 7.
If certain requirements are met, you may claim the EITC even if you do 
not have a qualifying child. The amount of the credit is greater if you have 
a qualifying child, and increases with each child that qualifies, up to a 
maximum of three children. Follow Step 1 through Step 7 to determine if 
you qualify for the credit and to figure the amount of the credit.
If your EITC was reduced or disallowed for any reason other than a math 
or clerical error and you now want to take the EITC, then answer “Yes” on 
line 1b within the form and follow Step 1 through Step 7 to determine if 
you qualify for the credit.
Attach the completed form FTB 3514 to your Form 540 or 540 2EZ, 
California Resident Income Tax Return, or Form 540NR, California 
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, if you claim the 
California EITC.

Step 1 Qualifications for All Filers
a. In taxable year 2021, is the amount on federal Form 1040, U.S. 

Individual Income Tax Return, or Form 1040-SR, U.S. Tax Return for 
Seniors, line 11 (federal AGI) less than $30,001? 

Yes Continue. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the credit.
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b. Do you, and your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return, have a valid SSN 
or federal ITIN? See line 7, “Valid SSN”  or “Valid ITIN” within Step 3, 
Qualifying Child, for a full definition. 
Yes If you have a qualifying child continue to question c. If you do 

not have a qualifying child, continue to question d. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the EITC.

c. Do you, and your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return, have a qualifying 
child who has a valid SSN or federal ITIN? 
Yes Continue to question d. 
No You may qualify for the EITC as a filer without a qualifying 

child, continue to question d.

d. Is your filing status married filing separately? See note below. 
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Continue. 

Note: Special rule for separated spouses. You can claim the EITC if you 
are married, not filing a joint return for the taxable year, had a qualifying 
child who lived with you for more than half of 2021, and either of the 
following apply:

# You lived apart from your spouse for the last 6 months of 2021, or
# You are legally separated according to your state law under a written 

separation agreement or a decree of separate maintenance and you 
did not live in the same household as your spouse at the end of 2021.

If you meet the requirements above, you may continue on to question e. 

e. Are you filing federal Form 2555, Foreign Earned Income? 
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Continue.

f. Were you or your spouse/RDP a nonresident alien for any part of 2021? 

Yes If your filing status is married filing jointly, continue. Otherwise, 
stop here; you cannot take the EITC. 

No Continue.

g. If you are filing Form 540NR, did you and your spouse/RDP live in 
California for at least 183 days? 

Yes Continue. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

h. Complete line 1, line 2, and line 3 on the form. Then go to Step 2.

Step 2 Investment Income
If you are filing Form 540 or Form 540NR complete Worksheet 1. If you 
are filing Form 540 2EZ complete Worksheet 2. 

Worksheet 1 – Investment Income 
Form 540 and Form 540NR Filers

Interest and Dividends
1  Add and enter the amounts from federal 

Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 2a and line 2b .  1
2  Enter the amount from federal Form 8814, 

Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest 
and Dividends, line 1b  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 2

3  Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 3b  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      3

4  Enter any amounts from federal Form 8814, 
line 12 for child's interest and dividends  . . .   4

Capital Gain Net Income
5  Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 

or 1040-SR, line 7. If the result is less than 
zero, enter 0- - . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        5

6  Enter the gain from federal Form 4797 
Sales of Business Property, line 7. If the 
amount on that line is a loss, enter 0 . 
(But, if you completed federal Form 4797, 
line 8 and line 9, enter the amount from 
line 9 instead)

- -

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        6
7  Subtract line 6 from line 5. 

(If the result is less than zero, enter 0 ) - -  . . .    7
Passive Activities

8  Enter the total of net income from passive 
activities included on federal Schedule 1 
(Form 1040), Additional Income and 
Adjustments to Income, line 5  . . . . . . . . . .          8

Other Activities
9  Enter any income from the rental of 

personal property included on federal 
Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 8k. If the 
result is zero or less, enter 0  - -  . . . . . . . . . .           9

10  Enter any expenses related to the rental 
of personal property included on federal 
Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 24b . . . . . . . .       

10
11  Subtract line 10 from line 9. 

(If the result is less than zero, enter 0 ) - -  . . .    11

Worksheet 1 – Investment Income 
Form 540 and Form 540NR Filers

Investment Income
12  Add the amounts on lines 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 

and 11. 
Enter the total. 
This is your investment income  . . . . . . . . .          12

13  Is the amount on line 12 more than $4,053? 
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Enter the amount from line 12 on 

form FTB 3514, line 4. Go to Step 3. 

Worksheet 2 – Investment Income 
Form 540 2EZ Filer

1  Taxable interest. Enter the amount from 
Form 540 2EZ, line 10.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                1

2  Nontaxable interest. Add and enter the 
amounts from federal Form 1099-INT, box 3 
and box 8, and the amount from federal 
Form 1099-DIV, box 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                2

3  Dividends. Enter the amount from 
Form 540 2EZ, line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 3

4 Capital gain net income. Enter the amount 
from Form 540 2EZ, line 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             4

5 Investment Income. Add line 1, line 2, line 3 
and line 4. Enter the amount here  . . . . . . . . .         5

6 Is the amount on line 5 more than $4,053? 
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Enter the amount from line 5 on form 

FTB 3514, line 4. 
Go to Step 3.

Step 3 Qualifying Child
Qualifying Child Definition
A qualifying child for the EITC is a child who meets the following 
conditions:
# Is your son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, brother, sister, 

stepbrother, stepsister, half brother, half sister, or a descendant of any 
of them (for example, your grandchild, niece, or nephew).

# Is under age 19 at the end of 2021 and younger than you (or your 
spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), or under age 24 at the end of 2021, a 
student, and younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), 
or any age and permanently and totally disabled.

(continued)
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# Is not filing a joint return for 2021 or is filing a joint return for 2021 
only to claim a refund of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid. 
Get federal Publication 596, Earned Income Credit, for examples.

# Lived with you in California for more than half of 2021. If the child 
did not live with you for the required time, see exceptions in the 
instructions for line 11. 
Note: If the child was married or meets the conditions to be a 
qualifying child of another person (other than your spouse/RDP if 
filing a joint return), special rules apply. Get federal Publication 596 
for more information.

Qualifying Child Questionnaire

a. Do you have at least one child who meets the conditions to be your 
qualifying child? 
Yes Continue. 
No Go to Step 4.

b. Are you filing a joint return for 2021? 
Yes Complete form FTB 3514, Part III, line 5 through line 12. 

Go to Step 5. 
No Continue. 

c. Could you be a qualifying child of another person for 2021? (Answer 
“No” if the other person is not required to file, and is not filing, a 2021 
tax return or is filing a 2021 return only to claim a refund of withheld 
income tax or estimated tax paid. Get federal Publication 596 for 
examples.) 
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Complete form FTB 3514, Part III, line 5 through line 12. 

Go to Step 5.
Note: If your qualifying child is younger than six years old as of the last 
day of the taxable year, you must list that child information under Child 1, 
Child 2 or Child 3 column. Do not include any child younger than six years 
old as an attachment to the form FTB 3514. See Step 8 and Step 9 in the 
instructions to see if you qualify for the Young Child Tax Credit.

Line 7 – SSN or ITIN 
The child must have a valid SSN or ITIN, as defined below, unless the 
child was born and died in 2021. If your child was born alive and died in 
2021 and did not have an SSN or an ITIN, write “Died” on this line and 
attach a copy of the child’s birth certificate, death certificate, or hospital 
medical records or include it according to your software's instructions. 

Valid SSN – A valid SSN is a number issued by the Social Security 
Administration without regard to whether it was issued for employment 
or issued solely for the purpose of receiving federally funded benefits.

Valid ITIN – A valid ITIN is a federal tax processing number issued by the 
Internal Revenue Service that is not expired or revoked. For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, a valid federal ITIN can be used 
to claim the EITC and YCTC. If an ITIN is used, eligible individuals should 
provide the documents listed below upon request by FTB:
# Identifying documents acceptable for purposes of obtaining a 

California driver’s license as authorized by the Vehicle code and 
related regulations for purposes of establishing documents acceptable 
to prove identity.

# Identifying documents used to report earned income for the taxable year.
Additionally, upon receiving a valid SSN, the individual should notify the 
FTB in the time and manner prescribed by the FTB. For more information, 
go to ftb.ca.gov and search for eitc.
An Adoption Taxpayer Identification Number (ATIN) cannot be used to 
claim EITC. If you or your child has an ATIN and later gets a valid SSN 
or a valid federal ITIN, you may be able to file an amended return. Use 
Form 540, 540 2EZ, or 540NR to amend your original or previously filed 
tax return with Schedule X, California Explanation of Amended Return 
Changes, attached to the amended return.
If you did not have an SSN or federal ITIN by the due date of your 2021 
return (including extensions), you cannot claim the EITC (or YCTC) on 

either your original or an amended 2021 return, even if you later get an 
SSN or federal ITIN. Also, if a child did not have an SSN or federal ITIN 
by the due date of your return (including extensions), you cannot count 
that child as a qualifying child in figuring the EITC (or YCTC) on either 
your original or an amended 2021 return, even if that child later gets 
an SSN or federal ITIN.

Line 9a – Student
A student is a child who during any part of 5 calendar months of 2021 
was enrolled as a full-time student at a school, or took a full-time, 
on-farm training course given by a school or a state, county, or local 
government agency. A school includes a technical, trade, or mechanical 
school. It does not include an on-the-job training course, correspondence 
school, or school offering courses only through the Internet. 

Line 9b – Permanently and totally disabled
A person is permanently and totally disabled if, at any time in 2021, the 
person could not engage in any substantial gainful activity because of 
a physical or mental condition and a doctor has determined that this 
condition (a) has lasted or can be expected to last continuously for at 
least a year, or (b) can be expected to lead to death. 

Line 10 – Child’s relationship to you
For additional information see qualifying child definition. 

Line 11 – Number of days child lived with you
Enter the number of days the child lived with you in California during 
2021. To qualify, the child must have the same principal place of 
residence in California as you for more than half of 2021, defined as 
183 days or more (if a leap year, it is 184 days). If the child was born or 
died in 2021 and your home was the child’s home for more than half the 
time he or she was alive during 2021, enter “365”. Do not enter more 
than 365 days, unless it's a leap year, then enter 366 days. If the child did 
not live with you for the required time, temporary absences may count as 
time lived at home. For more information, get federal Publication 596.

Line 12 – Child’s physical address
Enter the physical address where the child resided during 2021. This 
should be the address of the principal place of residence in California 
where the child lived with you for more than half of 2021. If the child 
lived with you in California for more than half of 2021, but moved within 
California during this period, this should be the address of the principal 
place of residence that was shared the longest.

Step 4 Filer Without a Qualifying Child
a. Is the amount on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 (federal AGI), 

less than $30,001? 

Yes Continue. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

b. Were you (or your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return) at least age 
18 at the end of 2021? (Answer “Yes” if you, or your spouse/RDP 
if filing a joint return, were born on or before January 1, 2004.) If 
your spouse/RDP died in 2021 (or if you are preparing a return for 
someone who died in 2021), get federal Publication 596 for more 
information before you answer. 
Yes Continue. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

c. Was your main home, and your spouse’s/RDP’s if filing a joint return, 
in California for more than half of 2021? 
Yes Continue. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 

d. Are you filing a joint return for 2021? For more information, get 
federal Publication 596. 
Yes Skip questions e and f; go to Step 5. 
No Continue.
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e. Could you be a qualifying child of another person for 2021? (Answer 
“No” if the other person is not required to file, and is not filing, a 2021 
tax return or is filing a 2021 return only to claim a refund of withheld 
income tax or estimated tax paid. Get federal Publication 596 for 
examples.) 
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Continue.

f. Can you be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s 2021 tax 
return? 

Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Go to Step 5.

Step 5 California Earned Income
Complete lines 13 through 19 to figure your California earned income.

Line 13 – Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee 
compensation, subject to California withholding
Enter the total amount of your California wages from your federal 
Form(s) W-2, Wage and Tax Statement. This amount appears on 
Form W-2, box 16. Include all of your Medicaid waiver payments or IHSS 
payments even if the payments are nontaxable for federal purposes.
Note: If you have clergy wages, subtract the self employment tax, if any, 
that was reported on federal Schedule SE (Form 1040), Self-Employment 
Tax, and enter the result on form FTB 3514, line 13. 
Employees and independent contractors − If the taxpayer’s classification 
for California and federal purposes is different, enter the earned 
income as wages on line 13 or as business income on line 18 based 
on the federal classification of income. For example, a taxpayer may be 
classified as an independent contractor for federal purposes, but as an 
employee for California purposes. Based on this example, this taxpayer 
would enter their income as business income on form FTB 3514, line 18. 
Use your federal classification for EITC purposes only and for all other 
purposes such as completing other tax forms, schedules, etc., use your 
California classification.

Line 14 – IHSS payments
You may elect to include or exclude your Medicaid waiver payments or 
IHSS payments if the payments are nontaxable for federal purposes. 
If you elect to exclude such payments from your earned income for 
California EITC purposes, enter the amount you received as Medicaid 
waiver payments or IHSS payments that are nontaxable for federal 
purposes on line 14. If you elect to include such payments, leave line 14 
blank. If you are filing a joint return, both you and/or your spouse/RDP 
can elect to include or exclude your own nontaxable Medicaid waiver 
payments or IHSS payments for California EITC purposes. Each must 
elect to include or exclude all such payments, not just a portion of it. You 
may elect to include or exclude such payments from earned income for 
California EITC purposes, whether or not you elect to include or exclude 
them for federal purposes.  

Line 15 – Prison inmate wages and/or pension or annuity from a 
nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a nongovernmental 
IRC Section 457 plan
Enter the amount included on line 13, that you received for work 
performed while an inmate in a penal institution.
Enter the amount included on line 13, that you received as a pension 
or annuity from a nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a 
nongovernmental IRC Section 457 plan. This amount may be shown on 
federal Form W-2, box 11. If you received such an amount and box 11 
is blank, contact your employer for the amount received as a pension or 
annuity. 

Line 17 – Nontaxable combat pay
Enter the amount from federal Form W-2, box 12, code Q, if you elect 
to include your nontaxable military combat pay in earned income for 
EITC purposes. If you are filing a joint return, both you and/or your 
spouse/RDP can elect to include your own nontaxable military combat 
pay for EITC purposes. Each must include all of their nontaxable military 
combat pay, not just a portion of it. You may elect to include nontaxable 

military combat pay in earned income for California purposes, whether or 
not you elect to include it for federal purposes.

Line 18 – Business income or (loss)
If you are self-employed and have net earnings from self-employment, 
go to Worksheet 3 to figure your business income or loss. Attach 
a copy of your complete federal return, including any federal 
Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Business, Schedule F 
(Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Farming, Schedule SE (Form 1040), 
and any Schedule K-1 (Form 1065), Partner’s Share of Income, 
Deductions, Credits, etc.
Employees and independent contractors – If the taxpayer’s classification 
for California and federal purposes is different, enter the earned 
income as wages on line 13 or as business income on line 18 based 
on the federal classification of income. For example, a taxpayer may be 
classified as an independent contractor for federal purposes, but as an 
employee for California purposes. Based on this example, this taxpayer 
would enter their income as business income on form FTB 3514, line 18. 
Use your federal classification for EITC purposes only and for all other 
purposes such as completing other tax forms, schedules, etc., use your 
California classification.

Worksheet 3 – Business Income or (Loss)

1 Business income or (loss). Enter the amount 
from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 3 1

2  Farm income or (loss). Enter the amount 
from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 6 2

3  Self-employment earnings from 
partnerships reported on K-1s. Enter the net 
profit (or loss) from federal Schedule K-1 
(Form 1065), box 14, code A  . . . . . . . . . . . .            3

4  Deductible part of self-employment tax. 
Enter the amount from federal Schedule 1 
(Form 1040), line 15  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   4

5  Total business income or (loss). Add line 1, 
line 2, line 3, and subtract line 4. Enter the 
amount here and on form FTB 3514, 
line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             5

Lines 18 a-e Business information
Enter your business information in the spaces provided. If you have 
multiple businesses, use the information from the schedule with the 
largest net profit (loss). 

Line b – Business address
Enter your business address. Show a street address instead of a box 
number. Include the suite or room number, if any. 

Line c – Business license number
Enter your business license number. A business license number is a 
reference number from a county, city, or state that allows you to engage 
in a specific business activity within the designated area. If you do not 
have a business license number, leave line c blank. 

Line d – SEIN
Enter your state employer identification number (SEIN) issued by the 
California Employment Development Department. If you do not have a 
SEIN, leave line d blank.  

Line e – Business code
Use the six-digit code from federal Schedule C (Form 1040) or 
Schedule F (Form 1040), box B.

After completing Step 5, line 18e, go to Step 6.



FTB 3514 Instructions  2021  Page 73

Step 6 How to Figure the CA EITC
Complete the California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet below. If you file Form 540 or 540 2EZ, after completing Step 6, skip Step 7 and go to 
Step 8. If you file a Form 540NR, after completing Step 6, go to Step 7.

California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet
Part I All Filers

1 Enter your California earned income from form FTB 3514, line 19. If the amount is zero or less, stop here . . . . . . . . . . . . .             1 ____________________

2 Look up the amount on line 1 in the EITC Table to find the credit. Be sure you use the correct 
column for the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  2 ____________________ 
If the amount on line 2 is zero, stop here. You cannot take the credit.

3 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 (federal AGI)   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                3 __________________

4 Are the amounts on lines 1 and 3 the same? 

Yes Skip line 5; and enter the amount from line 2 on line 6. 
No Go to line 5.

Part II Filers who Answered “No” on Line 4

5 If you have:

# No qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than $3,922?
# 1 qualifying child, is the amount on line 3 less than $5,890?
# 2 or more qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than $8,268?

Yes Leave line 5 blank; enter the amount from line 2 on line 6. 
No Look up the amount on line 3 in the EITC Table to find the credit. Be sure you use the correct 

column for the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit here.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              5 
Compare the amounts on line 5 and line 2, enter the smaller amount on line 6.

Part III Your Earned Income Tax Credit

6 This is your California earned income tax credit. 
Enter this amount on form FTB 3514, line 20. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                           6

(continued on next page)
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Step 7 How to Figure the Nonresident or Part-Year 
Resident EITC
If you file Form 540 or 540 2EZ, skip Step 7 and go to Step 8. 

Line 21 – CA Exemption Credit Percentage
If you file a Form 540NR, enter your CA Exemption Credit Percentage 
from Form 540NR, line 38 on form FTB 3514, line 21. However, if 
your total taxable income was less than zero and you entered $0 on 
Form 540NR, line 19, complete Worksheet 4 below to compute the 
correct CA Exemption Credit Percentage to enter on form FTB 3514, 
line 21.

Worksheet 4 – CA Exemption Credit Percentage 
Complete this worksheet only if you are a nonresident or part-year 
resident with negative total taxable income and you entered zero on 
Form 540NR, line 19.

Part I Total Taxable Income

1 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 17. 
If a negative amount, enter as negative . . . . . .      1

2 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 18 . .  2

3 Total Taxable Income. Subtract line 2 from 
line 1. Enter the negative result here . . . . . . . .        3

Part II California Taxable Income

4 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), 
Part IV, line 1. If a negative amount, 
enter as negative . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       4

  5 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), 
Part IV, line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          5

6 California Taxable Income. Subtract line 5 
from line 4. If a negative amount, 
enter as negative . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       6

Part III CA Exemption Credit Percentage 
7 Subtract line 6 from line 3. If a negative 

amount, enter as negative . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                7

8 Enter the amount from line 3 as a positive 
amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               8

9 Divide line 7 by line 8. Enter amount as 
a decimal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             9

10 CA Exemption Credit Percentage. Subtract 
line 9 from 1.000. If more than 1, enter 1.000. 
If less than zero, enter 0. Enter the result 
as a decimal here and on form FTB 3514, 
line 21 or line 29. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      10

Line 22 – Nonresident or Part-Year Resident EITC 
Multiply line 20 by line 21 and enter the result on form FTB 3514, line 22. 
This amount should also be entered on Form 540NR, line 85. 

Step 8 Qualifications for Young Child Tax 
Credit (YCTC)
To qualify for the YCTC, you must meet all of the following:
• You have been allowed the CA EITC on this form.
• You have at least one qualifying child for the CA EITC.
• Your qualifying child is younger than six years old as of the last 

day of the taxable year.
Caution: If you do not meet all of the above requirements, you cannot 
take this credit. 
If you meet all of the above requirements, complete Part VII, Young Child 
Tax Credit. If you are a nonresident or part-year resident, also complete 
Part VIII, Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Young Child Tax Credit.
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, California 
expanded YCTC eligibility to a qualifying child who is younger than 
6 years old as of the last day of the taxable year, who has a valid federal 
ITIN. The child must be a qualifying child of an eligible individual, or the 
eligible individual’s spouse (if married), who have a valid federal ITIN.
Note: If your qualifying child is younger than six years old as of the last 
day of the taxable year, you must list that child information under Part III, 
Qualifying Child Information, Child 1, Child 2 or Child 3 column. Do not 
include any child younger than six years old as an attachment to the form 
FTB 3514.

Line 23 – California Earned Income
CA earned income for purposes of the YCTC is the same as for the 
CA EITC. Enter the amount from form FTB 3514, line 19.

Line 25 – Excess Earned Income over threshold
Subtract the $25,000 threshold amount from your CA earned income 
entered on line 23 and enter the excess amount on line 25.

Line 26 and Line 27
For every $100 over the threshold amount, your credit is reduced by $20.

Line 28 
This is the amount of your allowable YCTC to claim on your tax 
return. This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 76; or 
Form 540 2EZ, line 24. If you file Form 540 or 540 2EZ, stop here, do not 
go to Step 9.

Step 9 Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Young 
Child Tax Credit
Line 29 
If you file a Form 540NR, enter your CA Exemption Credit Percentage 
from Form 540NR, line 38 on form FTB 3514, line 29. However, if you 
completed Worksheet 4, enter the CA Exemption Credit Percentage from 
Worksheet 4, line 10 on form FTB 3514, line 29.

Line 30
Multiply line 28 by line 29 and enter the result on form FTB 3514, line 30. 
This amount should also be entered on Form 540NR, line 86.

Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection 
Our privacy notice can be found in annual tax booklets or online. Go 
to ftb.ca.gov/privacy to learn about our privacy policy statement, or 
go to ftb.ca.gov/forms and search for 1131 to locate FTB 1131 EN-SP, 
Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection. To request this notice 
by mail, call 800.338.0505 and enter form code 948 when instructed.  



Continued on next page.

 

 

 

2021 Earned Income Tax Credit Table 
Caution: This is not a tax table. 

1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your 
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned 
Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

If the amount you are 
looking up from 

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is 

At 
least 

But Not 
Over 

0 1 2 3 
Your credit is . . . 

1 50 2 7 9 10 

51 100 5 22 26 29 

101 150 8 36 43 48 

151 200 11 51 60 67 

201 250 15 65 77 86 

251 300 18 80 94 105 

301 350 21 94 111 125 

351 400 24 109 128 144 

401 450 28 123 145 163 

451 500 31 137 162 182 

501 550 34 152 179 201 

551 600 37 166 196 220 

601 650 41 181 213 239 

651 700 44 195 230 258 

701 750 47 210 247 278 

751 800 50 224 264 297 

801 850 54 239 281 316 

851 900 57 253 298 335 

901 950 60 267 315 354 

951 1000 63 282 332 373 

1001 1050 67 296 349 392 

1051 1100 70 311 366 411 

1101 1150 73 325 383 431 

1151 1200 76 340 400 450 

1201 1250 80 354 417 469 

1251 1300 83 369 434 488 

1301 1350 86 383 451 507 

1351 1400 89 398 468 526 

1401 1450 93 412 485 545 

1451 1500 96 426 502 564 

1501 1550 99 441 519 584 

1551 1600 102 455 536 603 

1601 1650 106 470 553 622 

1651 1700 109 484 570 641 

1701 1750 112 499 587 660 

1751 1800 115 513 604 679 

1801 1850 119 528 621 698 

1851 1900 122 542 638 717 

1901 1950 125 556 655 737 

1951 2000 128 571 672 756 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

2001 2050 132 585 689 775 

2051 2100 135 600 706 794 

2101 2150 138 614 723 813 

2151 2200 141 629 740 832 

2201 2250 145 643 757 851 

2251 2300 148 658 774 870 

2301 2350 151 672 791 890 

2351 2400 154 687 808 909 

2401 2450 158 701 825 928 

2451 2500 161 715 842 947 

2501 2550 164 730 859 966 

2551 2600 167 744 876 985 

2601 2650 171 759 893 1004 

2651 2700 174 773 910 1023 

2701 2750 177 788 927 1043 

2751 2800 180 802 944 1062 

2801 2850 184 817 961 1081 

2851 2900 187 831 978 1100 

2901 2950 190 845 995 1119 

2951 3000 193 860 1012 1138 

3001 3050 197 874 1029 1157 

3051 3100 200 889 1046 1176 

3101 3150 203 903 1063 1196 

3151 3200 206 918 1080 1215 

3201 3250 210 932 1097 1234 

3251 3300 213 947 1114 1253 

3301 3350 216 961 1131 1272 

3351 3400 219 976 1148 1291 

3401 3450 223 990 1165 1310 

3451 3500 226 1004 1182 1329 

3501 3550 229 1019 1199 1349 

3551 3600 232 1033 1216 1368 

3601 3650 236 1048 1233 1387 

3651 3700 239 1062 1250 1406 

3701 3750 242 1077 1267 1425 

3751 3800 246 1091 1284 1444 

3801 3850 249 1106 1301 1463 

3851 3900 252 1120 1318 1482 

3901 3950 255 1134 1335 1502 

3951 4000 252 1149 1352 1521
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1.	 To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your 
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2.	 Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned 
Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

Continued on next page.

2021 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table.

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

4001 4050 248 1163 1369 1540 

4051 4100 245 1178 1386 1559 

4101 4150 242 1192 1403 1578 

4151 4200 239 1207 1420 1597 

4201 4250 235 1221 1437 1616 

4251 4300 232 1236 1454 1635 

4301 4350 229 1250 1471 1655 

4351 4400 226 1265 1488 1674 

4401 4450 222 1279 1505 1693 

4451 4500 219 1293 1522 1712 

4501 4550 216 1308 1539 1731 

4551 4600 213 1322 1556 1750 

4601 4650 212 1337 1573 1769 

4651 4700 211 1351 1590 1788 

4701 4750 211 1366 1607 1808 

4751 4800 211 1380 1624 1827 

4801 4850 210 1395 1641 1846 

4851 4900 210 1409 1658 1865 

4901 4950 209 1423 1675 1884 

4951 5000 209 1438 1692 1903 

5001 5050 209 1452 1709 1922 

5051 5100 208 1467 1726 1941 

5101 5150 208 1481 1743 1961 

5151 5200 207 1496 1760 1980 

5201 5250 207 1510 1777 1999 

5251 5300 206 1525 1794 2018 

5301 5350 206 1539 1811 2037 

5351 5400 206 1554 1828 2056 

5401 5450 205 1568 1845 2075 

5451 5500 205 1582 1862 2094 

5501 5550 204 1597 1879 2114 

5551 5600 204 1611 1896 2133 

5601 5650 204 1626 1913 2152 

5651 5700 203 1640 1930 2171 

5701 5750 203 1655 1947 2190 

5751 5800 202 1669 1964 2209 

5801 5850 202 1684 1981 2228 

5851 5900 201 1698 1998 2247 

5901 5950 201 1692 2015 2267 

5951 6000 201 1678 2032 2286 

6001 6050 200 1663 2049 2305 

6051 6100 200 1649 2066 2324 

6101 6150 199 1634 2083 2343 

6151 6200 199 1620 2100 2362 

6201 6250 199 1605 2117 2381 

6251 6300 198 1591 2134 2400 

6301 6350 198 1576 2151 2420 

6351 6400 197 1562 2168 2439 

6401 6450 197 1547 2185 2458 

6451 6500 196 1533 2202 2477 

6501 6550 196 1519 2219 2496 

6551 6600 196 1504 2236 2515 

6601 6650 195 1490 2253 2534 

6651 6700 195 1475 2270 2553 

6701 6750 194 1461 2287 2573 

6751 6800 194 1446 2304 2592 

6801 6850 194 1432 2321 2611 

6851 6900 193 1417 2338 2630 

6901 6950 193 1403 2355 2649 

6951 7000 192 1389 2372 2668 

7001 7050 192 1374 2389 2687 

7051 7100 191 1360 2406 2706 

7101 7150 191 1345 2423 2726 

7151 7200 191 1331 2440 2745 

7201 7250 190 1316 2457 2764 

7251 7300 190 1302 2474 2783 

7301 7350 189 1287 2491 2802 

7351 7400 189 1273 2508 2821 

7401 7450 189 1258 2525 2840 

7451 7500 188 1244 2542 2859 

7501 7550 188 1230 2559 2879 

7551 7600 187 1215 2576 2898 

7601 7650 187 1201 2593 2917 

7651 7700 186 1186 2610 2936 

7701 7750 186 1172 2627 2955 

7751 7800 186 1157 2644 2974 

7801 7850 185 1143 2661 2993 

7851 7900 185 1128 2678 3012 

7901 7950 184 1114 2695 3032 

7951 8000 184 1100 2712 3051
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1.	 To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your 
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2.	 Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned 
Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

Continued on next page.

2021 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table. 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

8001 8050 184 1085 2729 3070 

8051 8100 183 1071 2746 3089 

8101 8150 183 1056 2763 3108 

8151 8200 182 1042 2780 3127 

8201 8250 182 1027 2797 3146 

8251 8300 181 1013 2809 3160 

8301 8350 181 998 2792 3141 

8351 8400 181 984 2775 3121 

8401 8450 180 969 2758 3102 

8451 8500 180 955 2741 3083 

8501 8550 179 941 2724 3064 

8551 8600 179 926 2707 3045 

8601 8650 179 912 2690 3026 

8651 8700 178 897 2673 3007 

8701 8750 178 883 2656 2988 

8751 8800 177 868 2639 2968 

8801 8850 177 854 2622 2949 

8851 8900 176 839 2605 2930 

8901 8950 176 825 2588 2911 

8951 9000 176 811 2571 2892 

9001 9050 175 796 2554 2873 

9051 9100 175 782 2537 2854 

9101 9150 174 767 2520 2835 

9151 9200 174 753 2503 2815 

9201 9250 174 738 2486 2796 

9251 9300 173 724 2469 2777 

9301 9350 173 709 2452 2758 

9351 9400 172 695 2435 2739 

9401 9450 172 680 2418 2720 

9451 9500 171 666 2401 2701 

9501 9550 171 652 2384 2682 

9551 9600 171 637 2367 2662 

9601 9650 170 623 2350 2643 

9651 9700 170 608 2333 2624 

9701 9750 169 594 2316 2605 

9751 9800 169 579 2299 2586 

9801 9850 169 565 2282 2567 

9851 9900 168 550 2265 2548 

9901 9950 168 536 2248 2529 

9951 10000 167 534 2231 2509 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

10001 10050 167 533 2214 2490 

10051 10100 166 531 2197 2471 

10101 10150 166 530 2180 2452 

10151 10200 166 529 2163 2433 

10201 10250 165 527 2146 2414 

10251 10300 165 526 2129 2395 

10301 10350 164 525 2112 2376 

10351 10400 164 523 2095 2356 

10401 10450 164 522 2078 2337 

10451 10500 163 521 2061 2318 

10501 10550 163 519 2044 2299 

10551 10600 162 518 2027 2280 

10601 10650 162 517 2010 2261 

10651 10700 161 515 1993 2242 

10701 10750 161 514 1976 2223 

10751 10800 161 513 1959 2203 

10801 10850 160 511 1942 2184 

10851 10900 160 510 1925 2165 

10901 10950 159 509 1908 2146 

10951 11000 159 507 1891 2127 

11001 11050 159 506 1874 2108 

11051 11100 158 505 1857 2089 

11101 11150 158 503 1840 2070 

11151 11200 157 502 1823 2050 

11201 11250 157 501 1806 2031 

11251 11300 156 499 1789 2012 

11301 11350 156 498 1772 1993 

11351 11400 156 497 1755 1974 

11401 11450 155 495 1738 1955 

11451 11500 155 494 1721 1936 

11501 11550 154 493 1704 1917 

11551 11600 154 491 1687 1897 

11601 11650 154 490 1670 1878 

11651 11700 153 489 1653 1859 

11701 11750 153 487 1636 1840 

11751 11800 152 486 1619 1821 

11801 11850 152 485 1602 1802 

11851 11900 151 483 1585 1783 

11901 11950 151 482 1568 1764 

11951 12000 151 481 1551 1744
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1.	 To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your 
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2.	 Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned 
Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

Continued on next page.

2021 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table.

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

12001 12050 150 479 1534 1725 

12051 12100 150 478 1517 1706 

12101 12150 149 477 1500 1687 

12151 12200 149 475 1483 1668 

12201 12250 149 474 1466 1649 

12251 12300 148 473 1449 1630 

12301 12350 148 471 1432 1611 

12351 12400 147 470 1415 1591 

12401 12450 147 469 1398 1572 

12451 12500 146 467 1381 1553 

12501 12550 146 466 1364 1534 

12551 12600 146 465 1347 1515 

12601 12650 145 463 1330 1496 

12651 12700 145 462 1313 1477 

12701 12750 144 461 1296 1458 

12751 12800 144 459 1279 1438 

12801 12850 144 458 1262 1419 

12851 12900 143 457 1245 1400 

12901 12950 143 455 1228 1381 

12951 13000 142 454 1211 1362 

13001 13050 142 453 1194 1343 

13051 13100 141 451 1177 1324 

13101 13150 141 450 1160 1305 

13151 13200 141 449 1143 1285 

13201 13250 140 447 1126 1266 

13251 13300 140 446 1109 1247 

13301 13350 139 445 1092 1228 

13351 13400 139 443 1075 1209 

13401 13450 139 442 1058 1190 

13451 13500 138 441 1041 1171 

13501 13550 138 439 1024 1152 

13551 13600 137 438 1007 1132 

13601 13650 137 437 990 1113 

13651 13700 136 435 973 1094 

13701 13750 136 434 956 1075 

13751 13800 136 433 939 1056 

13801 13850 135 431 922 1037 

13851 13900 135 430 905 1018 

13901 13950 134 429 888 999 

13951 14000 134 427 871 979 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

14001 14050 134 426 854 960 

14051 14100 133 425 837 941 

14101 14150 133 423 820 922 

14151 14200 132 422 803 903 

14201 14250 132 421 786 884 

14251 14300 131 419 769 865 

14301 14350 131 418 752 846 

14351 14400 131 417 735 826 

14401 14450 130 415 718 807 

14451 14500 130 414 701 788 

14501 14550 129 413 684 769 

14551 14600 129 411 667 750 

14601 14650 129 410 650 731 

14651 14700 128 409 633 712 

14701 14750 128 407 616 693 

14751 14800 127 406 599 673 

14801 14850 127 405 582 654 

14851 14900 126 403 565 635 

14901 14950 126 402 548 616 

14951 15000 126 401 535 597 

15001 15050 125 399 533 578 

15051 15100 125 398 532 559 

15101 15150 124 397 530 540 

15151 15200 124 395 528 534 

15201 15250 124 394 526 532 

15251 15300 123 393 525 530 

15301 15350 123 391 523 529 

15351 15400 122 390 521 527 

15401 15450 122 389 519 525 

15451 15500 121 387 517 523 

15501 15550 121 386 516 521 

15551 15600 121 385 514 520 

15601 15650 120 383 512 518 

15651 15700 120 382 510 516 

15701 15750 119 381 509 514 

15751 15800 119 379 507 512 

15801 15850 119 378 505 511 

15851 15900 118 377 503 509 

15901 15950 118 375 501 507 

15951 16000 117 374 500 505
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1.	 To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your 
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2.	 Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned 
Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

Continued on next page.

2021 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table. 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

16001 16050 117 373 498 503 

16051 16100 116 371 496 502 

16101 16150 116 370 494 500 

16151 16200 116 369 492 498 

16201 16250 115 367 491 496 

16251 16300 115 366 489 494 

16301 16350 114 365 487 493 

16351 16400 114 363 485 491 

16401 16450 114 362 484 489 

16451 16500 113 361 482 487 

16501 16550 113 359 480 485 

16551 16600 112 358 478 484 

16601 16650 112 357 476 482 

16651 16700 111 355 475 480 

16701 16750 111 354 473 478 

16751 16800 111 353 471 476 

16801 16850 110 351 469 475 

16851 16900 110 350 468 473 

16901 16950 109 348 466 471 

16951 17000 109 347 464 469 

17001 17050 109 346 462 467 

17051 17100 108 344 460 466 

17101 17150 108 343 459 464 

17151 17200 107 342 457 462 

17201 17250 107 340 455 460 

17251 17300 106 339 453 458 

17301 17350 106 338 452 457 

17351 17400 106 336 450 455 

17401 17450 105 335 448 453 

17451 17500 105 334 446 451 

17501 17550 104 332 444 449 

17551 17600 104 331 443 448 

17601 17650 104 330 441 446 

17651 17700 103 328 439 444 

17701 17750 103 327 437 442 

17751 17800 102 326 435 440 

17801 17850 102 324 434 439 

17851 17900 101 323 432 437 

17901 17950 101 322 430 435 

17951 18000 101 320 428 433 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

18001 18050 100 319 427 431 

18051 18100 100 318 425 430 

18101 18150 99 316 423 428 

18151 18200 99 315 421 426 

18201 18250 99 314 419 424 

18251 18300 98 312 418 422 

18301 18350 98 311 416 421 

18351 18400 97 310 414 419 

18401 18450 97 308 412 417 

18451 18500 96 307 411 415 

18501 18550 96 306 409 413 

18551 18600 96 304 407 412 

18601 18650 95 303 405 410 

18651 18700 95 302 403 408 

18701 18750 94 300 402 406 

18751 18800 94 299 400 404 

18801 18850 94 298 398 403 

18851 18900 93 296 396 401 

18901 18950 93 295 395 399 

18951 19000 92 294 393 397 

19001 19050 92 292 391 395 

19051 19100 91 291 389 394 

19101 19150 91 290 387 392 

19151 19200 91 288 386 390 

19201 19250 90 287 384 388 

19251 19300 90 286 382 386 

19301 19350 89 284 380 385 

19351 19400 89 283 379 383 

19401 19450 89 282 377 381 

19451 19500 88 280 375 379 

19501 19550 88 279 373 377 

19551 19600 87 278 371 375 

19601 19650 87 276 370 374 

19651 19700 86 275 368 372 

19701 19750 86 274 366 370 

19751 19800 86 272 364 368 

19801 19850 85 271 362 366 

19851 19900 85 270 361 365 

19901 19950 84 268 359 363 

19951 20000 84 267 357 361
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1.	 To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your 
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2.	 Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned 
Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

Continued on next page.

2021 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table.

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

20001 20050 84 266 355 359 

20051 20100 83 264 354 357 

20101 20150 83 263 352 356 

20151 20200 82 262 350 354 

20201 20250 82 260 348 352 

20251 20300 81 259 346 350 

20301 20350 81 258 345 348 

20351 20400 81 256 343 347 

20401 20450 80 255 341 345 

20451 20500 80 254 339 343 

20501 20550 79 252 338 341 

20551 20600 79 251 336 339 

20601 20650 79 250 334 338 

20651 20700 78 248 332 336 

20701 20750 78 247 330 334 

20751 20800 77 246 329 332 

20801 20850 77 244 327 330 

20851 20900 76 243 325 329 

20901 20950 76 242 323 327 

20951 21000 76 240 322 325 

21001 21050 75 239 320 323 

21051 21100 75 238 318 321 

21101 21150 74 236 316 320 

21151 21200 74 235 314 318 

21201 21250 74 234 313 316 

21251 21300 73 232 311 314 

21301 21350 73 231 309 312 

21351 21400 72 230 307 311 

21401 21450 72 228 306 309 

21451 21500 71 227 304 307 

21501 21550 71 226 302 305 

21551 21600 71 224 300 303 

21601 21650 70 223 298 302 

21651 21700 70 222 297 300 

21701 21750 69 220 295 298 

21751 21800 69 219 293 296 

21801 21850 69 218 291 294 

21851 21900 68 216 289 293 

21901 21950 68 215 288 291 

21951 22000 67 214 286 289 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

22001 22050 67 212 284 287 

22051 22100 66 211 282 285 

22101 22150 66 210 281 284 

22151 22200 66 208 279 282 

22201 22250 65 207 277 280 

22251 22300 65 206 275 278 

22301 22350 64 204 273 276 

22351 22400 64 203 272 275 

22401 22450 64 202 270 273 

22451 22500 63 200 268 271 

22501 22550 63 199 266 269 

22551 22600 62 198 265 267 

22601 22650 62 196 263 266 

22651 22700 61 195 261 264 

22701 22750 61 194 259 262 

22751 22800 61 192 257 260 

22801 22850 60 191 256 258 

22851 22900 60 190 254 257 

22901 22950 59 188 252 255 

22951 23000 59 187 250 253 

23001 23050 59 186 249 251 

23051 23100 58 184 247 249 

23101 23150 58 183 245 248 

23151 23200 57 182 243 246 

23201 23250 57 180 241 244 

23251 23300 56 179 240 242 

23301 23350 56 178 238 240 

23351 23400 56 176 236 239 

23401 23450 55 175 234 237 

23451 23500 55 174 232 235 

23501 23550 54 172 231 233 

23551 23600 54 171 229 231 

23601 23650 54 170 227 230 

23651 23700 53 168 225 228 

23701 23750 53 167 224 226 

23751 23800 52 166 222 224 

23801 23850 52 164 220 222 

23851 23900 51 163 218 221 

23901 23950 51 162 216 219 

23951 24000 51 160 215 217
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1.	 To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your 
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2.	 Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned 
Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

Continued on next page.

2021 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table. 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

24001 24050 50 159 213 215 

24051 24100 50 158 211 213 

24101 24150 49 156 209 212 

24151 24200 49 155 208 210 

24201 24250 49 154 206 208 

24251 24300 48 152 204 206 

24301 24350 48 151 202 204 

24351 24400 47 150 200 203 

24401 24450 47 148 199 201 

24451 24500 46 147 197 199 

24501 24550 46 146 195 197 

24551 24600 46 144 193 195 

24601 24650 45 143 192 193 

24651 24700 45 142 190 192 

24701 24750 44 140 188 190 

24751 24800 44 139 186 188 

24801 24850 44 138 184 186 

24851 24900 43 136 183 184 

24901 24950 43 135 181 183 

24951 25000 42 134 179 181 

25001 25050 42 132 177 179 

25051 25100 41 131 176 177 

25101 25150 41 130 174 175 

25151 25200 41 128 172 174 

25201 25250 40 127 170 172 

25251 25300 40 126 168 170 

25301 25350 39 124 167 168 

25351 25400 39 123 165 166 

25401 25450 39 122 163 165 

25451 25500 38 120 161 163 

25501 25550 38 119 159 161 

25551 25600 37 118 158 159 

25601 25650 37 116 156 157 

25651 25700 36 115 154 156 

25701 25750 36 114 152 154 

25751 25800 36 112 151 152 

25801 25850 35 111 149 150 

25851 25900 35 110 147 148 

25901 25950 34 108 145 147 

25951 26000 34 107 143 145 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

26001 26050 34 106 142 143 

26051 26100 33 104 140 141 

26101 26150 33 103 138 139 

26151 26200 32 102 136 138 

26201 26250 32 100 135 136 

26251 26300 31 99 133 134 

26301 26350 31 98 131 132 

26351 26400 31 96 129 130 

26401 26450 30 95 127 129 

26451 26500 30 94 126 127 

26501 26550 29 92 124 125 

26551 26600 29 91 122 123 

26601 26650 29 90 120 121 

26651 26700 28 88 119 120 

26701 26750 28 87 117 118 

26751 26800 27 86 115 116 

26801 26850 27 84 113 114 

26851 26900 26 83 111 112 

26901 26950 26 82 110 111 

26951 27000 26 80 108 109 

27001 27050 25 79 106 107 

27051 27100 25 78 104 105 

27101 27150 24 76 102 103 

27151 27200 24 75 101 102 

27201 27250 24 74 99 100 

27251 27300 23 72 97 98 

27301 27350 23 71 95 96 

27351 27400 22 70 94 94 

27401 27450 22 68 92 93 

27451 27500 21 67 90 91 

27501 27550 21 66 88 89 

27551 27600 21 64 86 87 

27601 27650 20 63 85 85 

27651 27700 20 62 83 84 

27701 27750 19 60 81 82 

27751 27800 19 59 79 80 

27801 27850 19 58 78 78 

27851 27900 18 56 76 76 

27901 27950 18 55 74 75 

27951 28000 17 54 72 73
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1.	 To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your 
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2.	 Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned 
Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

2021 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table.

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

28001 28050 17 52 70 71 

28051 28100 16 51 69 69 

28101 28150 16 50 67 67 

28151 28200 16 48 65 66 

28201 28250 15 47 63 64 

28251 28300 15 46 62 62 

28301 28350 14 44 60 60 

28351 28400 14 43 58 58 

28401 28450 14 42 56 57 

28451 28500 13 40 54 55 

28501 28550 13 39 53 53 

28551 28600 12 38 51 51 

28601 28650 12 36 49 49 

28651 28700 12 35 47 48 

28701 28750 11 34 46 46 

28751 28800 11 32 44 44 

28801 28850 10 31 42 42 

28851 28900 10 30 40 40 

28901 28950 9 28 38 39 

28951 29000 9 27 37 37 

29001 29050 9 26 35 35 

29051 29100 8 24 33 33 

29101 29150 8 23 31 31 

29151 29200 7 22 29 30 

29201 29250 7 20 28 28 

29251 29300 7 19 26 26 

29301 29350 6 18 24 24 

29351 29400 6 16 22 22 

29401 29450 5 15 21 21 

29451 29500 5 14 19 19 

29501 29550 4 12 17 17 

29551 29600 4 11 15 15 

29601 29650 4 10 13 13 

29651 29700 3 8 12 11 

29701 29750 3 7 10 10 

29751 29800 2 6 8 8 

29801 29850 2 4 6 6 

29851 29900 2 3 5 4 

29901 29950 1 2 3 2 

29951 30000 1 1 1 1
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TAXABLE YEAR 

2021 Head of Household Filing Status Schedule 

CALIFORNIA FORM 

3532

2a

2b

2c

2d

2e

3b

3a

Attach to your California Form 540, Form 540NR, or Form 540 2EZ.
Name(s) as shown on tax return SSN or ITIN

Part I Marital Status
1 Check one box below to identify your marital status. See instructions.

a Not legally married/RDP during 2021 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                        1a

b Widow/widower (my spouse/RDP died before 01/01/2021) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                       1b

c Marriage/RDP was annulled . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                1c

d Received final decree of divorce, legal separation, dissolution, or termination of marriage/RDP by 12/31/2021 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                1d

e Legally married/RDP and did not live with spouse/RDP during 2021 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            1e

f  Legally married/RDP and lived with spouse/RDP during 2021. List the beginning and ending dates for each period when you 
lived together 

From: 

(mm/dd/yyyy) 

To: 

(mm/dd/yyyy) 

From: 

(mm/dd/yyyy) 

To: 

(mm/dd/yyyy)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                          1f

Part II Qualifying Person

2 Check one box below to identify the relationship of the person that qualifies you for the head of household filing status. See instructions.

a Son, daughter, stepson, or stepdaughter . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                    

b Grandchild, brother, sister, half brother, half sister, stepbrother, stepsister, nephew, or niece . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            

c Eligible foster child . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                     

d Father, mother, stepfather, or stepmother . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                   

e Grandfather, grandmother, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, 
sister-in-law, uncle, or aunt . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                             

Part III Qualifying Person Information

3 Information about your qualifying person. See instructions.

First Name. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                              

Last Name. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                              

SSN. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                   

DOB (mm/dd/yyyy) If your qualifying person is age 19 or older in 2021, go to line 3a. If not, go to line 4.. . . . . . . .     

a Was your qualifying person a full time student under age 24 in 2021? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 Yes   No

b Was your qualifying person permanently and totally disabled in 2021? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               Yes   No

4 Enter qualifying person’s gross income in 2021. See instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    

5 Number of days your qualifying person lived with you during 2021. See instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     

When calculating the total number of days your qualifying person lived with you, you may include any days your qualifying person was temporarily 
absent from your home. For example, illness, education, business, vacation, military service, and incarceration. In the event of a birth or death of 
your qualifying person during the year, enter 365 days. See instructions.

 

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 EN-SP.



Page 84  540NR Tax Booklet  2021

THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK

Visit our website: 

ftb.ca.gov



FTB 3532 Instructions  2021  Page 85

2021 Instructions for Form FTB 3532 

Head of Household Filing Status Schedule
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Information
In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, 
California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of 
January 1, 2015. However, there are continuing differences between 
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law 
changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal 
level. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. 
Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental 
Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California 
Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments - Residents, or Schedule CA 
(540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, 
and the Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the instructions. Taxpayers should not consider 
the instructions as authoritative law.
California requires taxpayers who use head of household (HOH) filing 
status to file form FTB 3532, Head of Household Filing Status Schedule, 
to report how the HOH filing status was determined.
Attach the completed form FTB 3532, to your Form 540, California 
Resident Income Tax Return, Form 540NR, California Nonresident or 
Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, or Form 540 2EZ, California 
Resident Income Tax Return, if you claim head of household filing status.
Beginning in tax year 2018, if you do not attach a completed form 
FTB 3532 to your tax return, we will deny your Head of Household 
filing status. For more information about the Head of Household filing 
requirements, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for hoh.
Registered Domestic Partners (RDPs) – For purposes of California 
income tax, references to a spouse, husband, or wife also refer to a 
California RDP, unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials 
RDP they refer to both a California registered domestic “partner” and 
a California registered domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more 
information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered 
Domestic Partners.

A Purpose
Use form FTB 3532 to report how the HOH filing status was determined. 

B Qualifications
You may qualify for HOH filing status if all of the following apply. 
# You were unmarried and not an RDP, or met the requirements to be 

considered unmarried or considered not in a registered domestic 
partnership on the last day of the year. 

# You paid more than one-half the costs of keeping up your home for 
the year. 

# Your home was the main home for you and a qualifying person who 
lived with you for more than half the year.

# The qualifying person was related to you and met the requirements to 
be a qualifying child or qualifying relative. (For a qualifying relative see 
the instructions for Part III, line 4, Gross Income.)

# You were entitled to a Dependent Exemption Credit for your qualifying 
person. However, you do not have to be entitled to a Dependent 
Exemption Credit for your qualifying child if you were unmarried and 
not an RDP, and your qualifying child was also unmarried and not 
an RDP.

# You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.
# You paid more than half the cost of a qualifying person’s total support.
# Your qualifying person is a citizen or national of the United States, or 

a resident of the U.S., Canada, or Mexico.
If you, your spouse/RDP, or your qualifying person who lived with 
you was absent from your home during the year, see the definition 
for temporary absence in FTB Pub. 1540, Tax Information for Head 
of Household Filing Status. If your qualifying person is your father or 
mother, see the definition for Parent/Stepparent (Father or Mother) in 
FTB Pub. 1540.

Specific Line Instructions
The law allowing HOH filing status has very specific requirements that the 
taxpayer must meet. Get FTB Pub. 1540 for more information.

Part I – Marital Status
Line 1
To qualify for HOH filing status, you must be either unmarried or 
considered unmarried on the last day of the year. You are considered 
unmarried on the last day of the year if you meet all of the following tests.
Considered Unmarried or Considered Not in a Registered Domestic 
Partnership
If you were married or an RDP as of the last day of the tax year or if your 
spouse/RDP died during the tax year, you may be considered unmarried 
or considered not in a registered domestic partnership for head of 
household purposes if you meet all of the following requirements:
# Your spouse/RDP did not live in your home at any time during the last 

six months of the year (see Temporary Absence in FTB Pub. 1540).
# Your qualifying person is your birth child, stepchild, adopted child, or 

eligible foster child. 
# You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up your home for the 

year.
# Your home was the main home for you and your birth child, stepchild, 

adopted child, or eligible foster child for more than half the year.
# You must be entitled to claim a Dependent Exemption Credit for your 

child; that is, your child must meet the requirements to be either a 
qualifying child or qualifying relative and meet the joint return and 
citizenship tests. You cannot claim a Dependent Exemption Credit for 
your child if you could be claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer. 
You can still meet this requirement if the only reason you cannot 
claim a Dependent Exemption Credit for your child is because either 
of the following applies, as provided in a decree of divorce, legal 
separation, or termination of registered domestic partnership, or a 
written separation agreement that applies to the tax year at issue:
# The noncustodial parent is entitled to the Dependent Exemption 

Credit for the child.
# The custodial parent signed a written statement that he or she 

will not claim the Dependent Exemption Credit for the child. (The 
custodial parent may sign federal Form 8332, Release/Revocation 
of Release of Claim to Exemption for Child by Custodial Parent, or 
a similar statement. The custodial parent can revoke their federal 
Form 8332 or similar statement by providing written notice to the 
other parent.) The noncustodial parent must attach a copy of the 
statement to his or her income tax return.

If either of the above provisions was contained in a pre-1985 decree 
or agreement, the noncustodial parent must have provided more than 
$600 in support for the child during the year.
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Part II – Qualifying Person
Line 2 
For the purposes of HOH filing status, you must have a qualifying person 
who is related to you to qualify for head of household filing status. Your 
qualifying person must meet the requirements to be either a qualifying 
child or qualifying relative. You must also pay more than half the cost of 
keeping up your home in which you and the qualifying child or qualifying 
relative lived for more than half the year. You may not claim yourself, or 
your spouse/RDP as your qualifying person. 

Part III – Qualifying Person Information 
Line 3
Enter the qualifying person’s name.
Enter the qualifying person’s Social Security Number (SSN). Verify that 
the name and SSN match the qualifying person’s social security card to 
avoid disallowance of your HOH filing status. If the person was born in, 
and later died in, 2021, and does not have a SSN, enter “Died” and attach 
a copy of the person’s birth and death certificates. 
Enter the qualifying person’s date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) in the space 
provided. Incomplete information could result in a disallowance of your 
HOH filing status.
Your qualifying child must be under 19 years of age or a full-time student 
under 24 years of age. The person also meets the age test if he or she is 
permanently and totally disabled at any time during the calendar year. (If 
the person does not meet the age test to be a qualifying child, he or she 
may meet the requirements to be a qualifying relative).

Line 4
Gross Income
Your qualifying relative’s gross income must be less than $4,300. 
Generally, gross income for head of household purposes only includes 
income that is taxable for federal income tax purposes. It does not 
include nontaxable income such as welfare benefits or the nontaxable 
portion of social security benefits.
If your qualifying relative was married or an RDP, you must consider the 
qualifying relative’s community interest in the spouse’s/RDP’s income 
in applying the gross income test. For the federal allowable exemption 
amount, see the federal instruction booklet for that particular tax year. 
For more information, go to irs.gov and search for 17 to find federal 
Publication 17, Your Federal Income Tax For Individuals.

Line 5 
More Than Half the Year
Just because someone lived with you for six months does not mean that 
the person lived with you for more than half the year. A year has 365 
days, and more than half the year is 183 days. (A leap year has 366 days, 
and more than half a leap year is 184 days.) 
To determine how many days your home was your qualifying person’s 
main home follow these guidelines: 
# If you were not married and not an RDP at any time during the year, 

count all of the days that your qualifying person lived with you in your 
home.

# If you were married or an RDP at any time during the year and 
received a final decree of divorce, legal separation or your registered 
domestic partnership was legally terminated by the last day of the 
year, add together: 
# Half the number of days that you, your spouse/RDP, and your 

qualifying person lived together in your home. 
# All of the days that you and your qualifying person lived together 

in your home without your spouse/RDP (ex-spouse/ex-RDP).
# If you were married or an RDP as of the last day of the year, and you 

did not live with your spouse/RDP at any time during the last six 
months of the year, add together:
# Half the number of days that you, your spouse/RDP, and your 

qualifying person lived together in your home. 
# All of the days that you and your qualifying person lived together 

in your home without your spouse/RDP.
# If you were married or an RDP as of the last day of the year, and you 

lived with your spouse/RDP at any time during the last six months of 
the year, you cannot qualify for the head of household filing status. 

When calculating the above, you may include days when your qualifying 
person was temporarily absent from your home. Temporary absences 
include vacations, illness, business, school, military service, and 
incarceration. In the event of a birth or death of your qualifying person 
during the year, enter 365 days. Note: A year is 365 days, a leap year is 
366 days.

Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection 
Our privacy notice can be found in annual tax booklets or online. Go 
to ftb.ca.gov/privacy to learn about our privacy policy statement, or 
go to ftb.ca.gov/forms and search for 1131 to locate FTB 1131 EN-SP, 
Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection. To request this notice 
by mail, call 800.338.0505 and enter form code 948 when instructed.  



Continued on next page.

2021 California Tax Table 
To Find Your Tax: 
• Read down the column labeled “If Your Taxable Income Is . . .” to find the range that includes your taxable income from Form 540NR, line 19.
• Read across the columns labeled “The Tax For Filing Status” until you find the tax that applies for your taxable income and filing status. 

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately) 2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household) 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ... 

The Tax For 
Filing Status 

At 
Least 

But Not 
Over 

1 Or 3 
Is 

2 Or 5 
Is 

4 
Is 

$1 $50 $0 $0 $0 
51 150 1 1 1 

151 250 2 2 2 
251 350 3 3 3 
351 450 4 4 4 
451 550 5 5 5 
551 650 6 6 6 
651 750 7 7 7 
751 850 8 8 8 
851 950 9 9 9 
951 1,050 10 10 10 

1,051 1,150 11 11 11 
1,151 1,250 12 12 12 
1,251 1,350 13 13 13 
1,351 1,450 14 14 14 
1,451 1,550 15 15 15 
1,551 1,650 16 16 16 
1,651 1,750 17 17 17 
1,751 1,850 18 18 18 
1,851 1,950 19 19 19 
1,951 2,050 20 20 20 
2,051 2,150 21 21 21 
2,151 2,250 22 22 22 
2,251 2,350 23 23 23 
2,351 2,450 24 24 24 
2,451 2,550 25 25 25 
2,551 2,650 26 26 26 
2,651 2,750 27 27 27 
2,751 2,850 28 28 28 
2,851 2,950 29 29 29 
2,951 3,050 30 30 30 
3,051 3,150 31 31 31 
3,151 3,250 32 32 32 
3,251 3,350 33 33 33 
3,351 3,450 34 34 34 
3,451 3,550 35 35 35 
3,551 3,650 36 36 36 
3,651 3,750 37 37 37 
3,751 3,850 38 38 38 
3,851 3,950 39 39 39 
3,951 4,050 40 40 40 
4,051 4,150 41 41 41 
4,151 4,250 42 42 42 
4,251 4,350 43 43 43 
4,351 4,450 44 44 44 
4,451 4,550 45 45 45 
4,551 4,650 46 46 46 
4,651 4,750 47 47 47 
4,751 4,850 48 48 48 
4,851 4,950 49 49 49 
4,951 5,050 50 50 50 
5,051 5,150 51 51 51 
5,151 5,250 52 52 52 
5,251 5,350 53 53 53 
5,351 5,450 54 54 54 
5,451 5,550 55 55 55 
5,551 5,650 56 56 56 
5,651 5,750 57 57 57 
5,751 5,850 58 58 58 
5,851 5,950 59 59 59 
5,951 6,050 60 60 60 
6,051 6,150 61 61 61 
6,151 6,250 62 62 62 
6,251 6,350 63 63 63 
6,351 6,450 64 64 64 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

6,451 6,550 65 65 65 
6,551 6,650 66 66 66 
6,651 6,750 67 67 67 
6,751 6,850 68 68 68 
6,851 6,950 69 69 69 
6,951 7,050 70 70 70 
7,051 7,150 71 71 71 
7,151 7,250 72 72 72 
7,251 7,350 73 73 73 
7,351 7,450 74 74 74 
7,451 7,550 75 75 75 
7,551 7,650 76 76 76 
7,651 7,750 77 77 77 
7,751 7,850 78 78 78 
7,851 7,950 79 79 79 
7,951 8,050 80 80 80 
8,051 8,150 81 81 81 
8,151 8,250 82 82 82 
8,251 8,350 83 83 83 
8,351 8,450 84 84 84 
8,451 8,550 85 85 85 
8,551 8,650 86 86 86 
8,651 8,750 87 87 87 
8,751 8,850 88 88 88 
8,851 8,950 89 89 89 
8,951 9,050 90 90 90 
9,051 9,150 91 91 91 
9,151 9,250 92 92 92 
9,251 9,350 93 93 93 
9,351 9,450 95 94 94 
9,451 9,550 97 95 95 
9,551 9,650 99 96 96 
9,651 9,750 101 97 97 
9,751 9,850 103 98 98 
9,851 9,950 105 99 99 
9,951 10,050 107 100 100 

10,051 10,150 109 101 101 
10,151 10,250 111 102 102 
10,251 10,350 113 103 103 
10,351 10,450 115 104 104 
10,451 10,550 117 105 105 
10,551 10,650 119 106 106 
10,651 10,750 121 107 107 
10,751 10,850 123 108 108 
10,851 10,950 125 109 109 
10,951 11,050 127 110 110 
11,051 11,150 129 111 111 
11,151 11,250 131 112 112 
11,251 11,350 133 113 113 
11,351 11,450 135 114 114 
11,451 11,550 137 115 115 
11,551 11,650 139 116 116 
11,651 11,750 141 117 117 
11,751 11,850 143 118 118 
11,851 11,950 145 119 119 
11,951 12,050 147 120 120 
12,051 12,150 149 121 121 
12,151 12,250 151 122 122 
12,251 12,350 153 123 123 
12,351 12,450 155 124 124 
12,451 12,550 157 125 125 
12,551 12,650 159 126 126 
12,651 12,750 161 127 127 
12,751 12,850 163 128 128 
12,851 12,950 165 129 129 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

12,951 13,050 167 130 130 
13,051 13,150 169 131 131 
13,151 13,250 171 132 132 
13,251 13,350 173 133 133 
13,351 13,450 175 134 134 
13,451 13,550 177 135 135 
13,551 13,650 179 136 136 
13,651 13,750 181 137 137 
13,751 13,850 183 138 138 
13,851 13,950 185 139 139 
13,951 14,050 187 140 140 
14,051 14,150 189 141 141 
14,151 14,250 191 142 142 
14,251 14,350 193 143 143 
14,351 14,450 195 144 144 
14,451 14,550 197 145 145 
14,551 14,650 199 146 146 
14,651 14,750 201 147 147 
14,751 14,850 203 148 148 
14,851 14,950 205 149 149 
14,951 15,050 207 150 150 
15,051 15,150 209 151 151 
15,151 15,250 211 152 152 
15,251 15,350 213 153 153 
15,351 15,450 215 154 154 
15,451 15,550 217 155 155 
15,551 15,650 219 156 156 
15,651 15,750 221 157 157 
15,751 15,850 223 158 158 
15,851 15,950 225 159 159 
15,951 16,050 227 160 160 
16,051 16,150 229 161 161 
16,151 16,250 231 162 162 
16,251 16,350 233 163 163 
16,351 16,450 235 164 164 
16,451 16,550 237 165 165 
16,551 16,650 239 166 166 
16,651 16,750 241 167 167 
16,751 16,850 243 168 168 
16,851 16,950 245 169 169 
16,951 17,050 247 170 170 
17,051 17,150 249 171 171 
17,151 17,250 251 172 172 
17,251 17,350 253 173 173 
17,351 17,450 255 174 174 
17,451 17,550 257 175 175 
17,551 17,650 259 176 176 
17,651 17,750 261 177 177 
17,751 17,850 263 178 178 
17,851 17,950 265 179 179 
17,951 18,050 267 180 180 
18,051 18,150 269 181 181 
18,151 18,250 271 182 182 
18,251 18,350 273 183 183 
18,351 18,450 275 184 184 
18,451 18,550 277 185 185 
18,551 18,650 279 186 186 
18,651 18,750 281 188 187 
18,751 18,850 283 190 189 
18,851 18,950 285 192 191 
18,951 19,050 287 194 193 
19,051 19,150 289 196 195 
19,151 19,250 291 198 197 
19,251 19,350 293 200 199 
19,351 19,450 295 202 201
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Filing status:  1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately)    2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er))    4 (Head of Household)
If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

19,451 19,550 297 204 203 
19,551 19,650 299 206 205 
19,651 19,750 301 208 207 
19,751 19,850 303 210 209 
19,851 19,950 305 212 211 
19,951 20,050 307 214 213 
20,051 20,150 309 216 215 
20,151 20,250 311 218 217 
20,251 20,350 313 220 219 
20,351 20,450 315 222 221 
20,451 20,550 317 224 223 
20,551 20,650 319 226 225 
20,651 20,750 321 228 227 
20,751 20,850 323 230 229 
20,851 20,950 325 232 231 
20,951 21,050 327 234 233 
21,051 21,150 329 236 235 
21,151 21,250 331 238 237 
21,251 21,350 333 240 239 
21,351 21,450 335 242 241 
21,451 21,550 337 244 243 
21,551 21,650 339 246 245 
21,651 21,750 341 248 247 
21,751 21,850 343 250 249 
21,851 21,950 345 252 251 
21,951 22,050 347 254 253 
22,051 22,150 349 256 255 
22,151 22,250 353 258 257 
22,251 22,350 357 260 259 
22,351 22,450 361 262 261 
22,451 22,550 365 264 263 
22,551 22,650 369 266 265 
22,651 22,750 373 268 267 
22,751 22,850 377 270 269 
22,851 22,950 381 272 271 
22,951 23,050 385 274 273 
23,051 23,150 389 276 275 
23,151 23,250 393 278 277 
23,251 23,350 397 280 279 
23,351 23,450 401 282 281 
23,451 23,550 405 284 283 
23,551 23,650 409 286 285 
23,651 23,750 413 288 287 
23,751 23,850 417 290 289 
23,851 23,950 421 292 291 
23,951 24,050 425 294 293 
24,051 24,150 429 296 295 
24,151 24,250 433 298 297 
24,251 24,350 437 300 299 
24,351 24,450 441 302 301 
24,451 24,550 445 304 303 
24,551 24,650 449 306 305 
24,651 24,750 453 308 307 
24,751 24,850 457 310 309 
24,851 24,950 461 312 311 
24,951 25,050 465 314 313 
25,051 25,150 469 316 315 
25,151 25,250 473 318 317 
25,251 25,350 477 320 319 
25,351 25,450 481 322 321 
25,451 25,550 485 324 323 
25,551 25,650 489 326 325 
25,651 25,750 493 328 327 
25,751 25,850 497 330 329 
25,851 25,950 501 332 331 
25,951 26,050 505 334 333 
26,051 26,150 509 336 335 
26,151 26,250 513 338 337 
26,251 26,350 517 340 339 
26,351 26,450 521 342 341 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

26,451 26,550 525 344 343 
26,551 26,650 529 346 345 
26,651 26,750 533 348 347 
26,751 26,850 537 350 349 
26,851 26,950 541 352 351 
26,951 27,050 545 354 353 
27,051 27,150 549 356 355 
27,151 27,250 553 358 357 
27,251 27,350 557 360 359 
27,351 27,450 561 362 361 
27,451 27,550 565 364 363 
27,551 27,650 569 366 365 
27,651 27,750 573 368 367 
27,751 27,850 577 370 369 
27,851 27,950 581 372 371 
27,951 28,050 585 374 373 
28,051 28,150 589 376 375 
28,151 28,250 593 378 377 
28,251 28,350 597 380 379 
28,351 28,450 601 382 381 
28,451 28,550 605 384 383 
28,551 28,650 609 386 385 
28,651 28,750 613 388 387 
28,751 28,850 617 390 389 
28,851 28,950 621 392 391 
28,951 29,050 625 394 393 
29,051 29,150 629 396 395 
29,151 29,250 633 398 397 
29,251 29,350 637 400 399 
29,351 29,450 641 402 401 
29,451 29,550 645 404 403 
29,551 29,650 649 406 405 
29,651 29,750 653 408 407 
29,751 29,850 657 410 409 
29,851 29,950 661 412 411 
29,951 30,050 665 414 413 
30,051 30,150 669 416 415 
30,151 30,250 673 418 417 
30,251 30,350 677 420 419 
30,351 30,450 681 422 421 
30,451 30,550 685 424 423 
30,551 30,650 689 426 425 
30,651 30,750 693 428 427 
30,751 30,850 697 430 429 
30,851 30,950 701 432 431 
30,951 31,050 705 434 433 
31,051 31,150 709 436 435 
31,151 31,250 713 438 437 
31,251 31,350 717 440 439 
31,351 31,450 721 442 441 
31,451 31,550 725 444 443 
31,551 31,650 729 446 445 
31,651 31,750 733 448 447 
31,751 31,850 737 450 449 
31,851 31,950 741 452 451 
31,951 32,050 745 454 453 
32,051 32,150 749 456 455 
32,151 32,250 753 458 457 
32,251 32,350 757 460 459 
32,351 32,450 761 462 461 
32,451 32,550 765 464 463 
32,551 32,650 769 466 465 
32,651 32,750 773 468 467 
32,751 32,850 777 470 469 
32,851 32,950 781 472 471 
32,951 33,050 785 474 473 
33,051 33,150 789 476 475 
33,151 33,250 793 478 477 
33,251 33,350 797 480 479 
33,351 33,450 801 482 481 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

33,451 33,550 805 484 483 
33,551 33,650 809 486 485 
33,651 33,750 813 488 487 
33,751 33,850 817 490 489 
33,851 33,950 821 492 491 
33,951 34,050 825 494 493 
34,051 34,150 829 496 495 
34,151 34,250 833 498 497 
34,251 34,350 837 500 499 
34,351 34,450 841 502 501 
34,451 34,550 845 504 503 
34,551 34,650 849 506 505 
34,651 34,750 853 508 507 
34,751 34,850 857 510 509 
34,851 34,950 861 512 511 
34,951 35,050 867 514 513 
35,051 35,150 873 516 515 
35,151 35,250 879 518 517 
35,251 35,350 885 520 519 
35,351 35,450 891 522 521 
35,451 35,550 897 524 523 
35,551 35,650 903 526 525 
35,651 35,750 909 528 527 
35,751 35,850 915 530 529 
35,851 35,950 921 532 531 
35,951 36,050 927 534 533 
36,051 36,150 933 536 535 
36,151 36,250 939 538 537 
36,251 36,350 945 540 539 
36,351 36,450 951 542 541 
36,451 36,550 957 544 543 
36,551 36,650 963 546 545 
36,651 36,750 969 548 547 
36,751 36,850 975 550 549 
36,851 36,950 981 552 551 
36,951 37,050 987 554 553 
37,051 37,150 993 556 555 
37,151 37,250 999 558 557 
37,251 37,350 1,005 560 559 
37,351 37,450 1,011 562 561 
37,451 37,550 1,017 564 563 
37,551 37,650 1,023 566 565 
37,651 37,750 1,029 568 567 
37,751 37,850 1,035 570 569 
37,851 37,950 1,041 572 571 
37,951 38,050 1,047 574 573 
38,051 38,150 1,053 576 575 
38,151 38,250 1,059 578 577 
38,251 38,350 1,065 580 579 
38,351 38,450 1,071 582 581 
38,451 38,550 1,077 584 583 
38,551 38,650 1,083 586 585 
38,651 38,750 1,089 588 587 
38,751 38,850 1,095 590 589 
38,851 38,950 1,101 592 591 
38,951 39,050 1,107 594 593 
39,051 39,150 1,113 596 595 
39,151 39,250 1,119 598 597 
39,251 39,350 1,125 600 599 
39,351 39,450 1,131 602 601 
39,451 39,550 1,137 604 603 
39,551 39,650 1,143 606 605 
39,651 39,750 1,149 608 607 
39,751 39,850 1,155 610 609 
39,851 39,950 1,161 612 611 
39,951 40,050 1,167 614 613 
40,051 40,150 1,173 616 615 
40,151 40,250 1,179 618 617 
40,251 40,350 1,185 620 619 
40,351 40,450 1,191 622 621
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Filing status:  1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately)    2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er))    4 (Head of Household)
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The Tax For 
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Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
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2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

40,451 40,550 1,197 624 623 
40,551 40,650 1,203 626 625 
40,651 40,750 1,209 628 627 
40,751 40,850 1,215 630 629 
40,851 40,950 1,221 632 631 
40,951 41,050 1,227 634 633 
41,051 41,150 1,233 636 635 
41,151 41,250 1,239 638 637 
41,251 41,350 1,245 640 639 
41,351 41,450 1,251 642 641 
41,451 41,550 1,257 644 643 
41,551 41,650 1,263 646 645 
41,651 41,750 1,269 648 647 
41,751 41,850 1,275 650 649 
41,851 41,950 1,281 652 651 
41,951 42,050 1,287 654 653 
42,051 42,150 1,293 656 655 
42,151 42,250 1,299 658 657 
42,251 42,350 1,305 660 659 
42,351 42,450 1,311 662 661 
42,451 42,550 1,317 664 663 
42,551 42,650 1,323 666 665 
42,651 42,750 1,329 668 667 
42,751 42,850 1,335 670 669 
42,851 42,950 1,341 672 671 
42,951 43,050 1,347 674 673 
43,051 43,150 1,353 676 675 
43,151 43,250 1,359 678 677 
43,251 43,350 1,365 680 679 
43,351 43,450 1,371 682 681 
43,451 43,550 1,377 684 683 
43,551 43,650 1,383 686 685 
43,651 43,750 1,389 688 687 
43,751 43,850 1,395 690 689 
43,851 43,950 1,401 692 691 
43,951 44,050 1,407 694 693 
44,051 44,150 1,413 696 695 
44,151 44,250 1,419 698 697 
44,251 44,350 1,425 701 701 
44,351 44,450 1,431 705 705 
44,451 44,550 1,437 709 709 
44,551 44,650 1,443 713 713 
44,651 44,750 1,449 717 717 
44,751 44,850 1,455 721 721 
44,851 44,950 1,461 725 725 
44,951 45,050 1,467 729 729 
45,051 45,150 1,473 733 733 
45,151 45,250 1,479 737 737 
45,251 45,350 1,485 741 741 
45,351 45,450 1,491 745 745 
45,451 45,550 1,497 749 749 
45,551 45,650 1,503 753 753 
45,651 45,750 1,509 757 757 
45,751 45,850 1,515 761 761 
45,851 45,950 1,521 765 765 
45,951 46,050 1,527 769 769 
46,051 46,150 1,533 773 773 
46,151 46,250 1,539 777 777 
46,251 46,350 1,545 781 781 
46,351 46,450 1,551 785 785 
46,451 46,550 1,557 789 789 
46,551 46,650 1,563 793 793 
46,651 46,750 1,569 797 797 
46,751 46,850 1,575 801 801 
46,851 46,950 1,581 805 805 
46,951 47,050 1,587 809 809 
47,051 47,150 1,593 813 813 
47,151 47,250 1,599 817 817 
47,251 47,350 1,605 821 821 
47,351 47,450 1,611 825 825 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

47,451 47,550 1,617 829 829 
47,551 47,650 1,623 833 833 
47,651 47,750 1,629 837 837 
47,751 47,850 1,635 841 841 
47,851 47,950 1,641 845 845 
47,951 48,050 1,647 849 849 
48,051 48,150 1,653 853 853 
48,151 48,250 1,659 857 857 
48,251 48,350 1,665 861 861 
48,351 48,450 1,671 865 865 
48,451 48,550 1,678 869 869 
48,551 48,650 1,686 873 873 
48,651 48,750 1,694 877 877 
48,751 48,850 1,702 881 881 
48,851 48,950 1,710 885 885 
48,951 49,050 1,718 889 889 
49,051 49,150 1,726 893 893 
49,151 49,250 1,734 897 897 
49,251 49,350 1,742 901 901 
49,351 49,450 1,750 905 905 
49,451 49,550 1,758 909 909 
49,551 49,650 1,766 913 913 
49,651 49,750 1,774 917 917 
49,751 49,850 1,782 921 921 
49,851 49,950 1,790 925 925 
49,951 50,050 1,798 929 929 
50,051 50,150 1,806 933 933 
50,151 50,250 1,814 937 937 
50,251 50,350 1,822 941 941 
50,351 50,450 1,830 945 945 
50,451 50,550 1,838 949 949 
50,551 50,650 1,846 953 953 
50,651 50,750 1,854 957 957 
50,751 50,850 1,862 961 961 
50,851 50,950 1,870 965 965 
50,951 51,050 1,878 969 969 
51,051 51,150 1,886 973 973 
51,151 51,250 1,894 977 977 
51,251 51,350 1,902 981 981 
51,351 51,450 1,910 985 985 
51,451 51,550 1,918 989 989 
51,551 51,650 1,926 993 993 
51,651 51,750 1,934 997 997 
51,751 51,850 1,942 1,001 1,001 
51,851 51,950 1,950 1,005 1,005 
51,951 52,050 1,958 1,009 1,009 
52,051 52,150 1,966 1,013 1,013 
52,151 52,250 1,974 1,017 1,017 
52,251 52,350 1,982 1,021 1,021 
52,351 52,450 1,990 1,025 1,025 
52,451 52,550 1,998 1,029 1,029 
52,551 52,650 2,006 1,033 1,033 
52,651 52,750 2,014 1,037 1,037 
52,751 52,850 2,022 1,041 1,041 
52,851 52,950 2,030 1,045 1,045 
52,951 53,050 2,038 1,049 1,049 
53,051 53,150 2,046 1,053 1,053 
53,151 53,250 2,054 1,057 1,057 
53,251 53,350 2,062 1,061 1,061 
53,351 53,450 2,070 1,065 1,065 
53,451 53,550 2,078 1,069 1,069 
53,551 53,650 2,086 1,073 1,073 
53,651 53,750 2,094 1,077 1,077 
53,751 53,850 2,102 1,081 1,081 
53,851 53,950 2,110 1,085 1,085 
53,951 54,050 2,118 1,089 1,089 
54,051 54,150 2,126 1,093 1,093 
54,151 54,250 2,134 1,097 1,097 
54,251 54,350 2,142 1,101 1,101 
54,351 54,450 2,150 1,105 1,105 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

54,451 54,550 2,158 1,109 1,109 
54,551 54,650 2,166 1,113 1,113 
54,651 54,750 2,174 1,117 1,117 
54,751 54,850 2,182 1,121 1,121 
54,851 54,950 2,190 1,125 1,125 
54,951 55,050 2,198 1,129 1,129 
55,051 55,150 2,206 1,133 1,133 
55,151 55,250 2,214 1,137 1,137 
55,251 55,350 2,222 1,141 1,141 
55,351 55,450 2,230 1,145 1,145 
55,451 55,550 2,238 1,149 1,149 
55,551 55,650 2,246 1,153 1,153 
55,651 55,750 2,254 1,157 1,157 
55,751 55,850 2,262 1,161 1,161 
55,851 55,950 2,270 1,165 1,165 
55,951 56,050 2,278 1,169 1,169 
56,051 56,150 2,286 1,173 1,173 
56,151 56,250 2,294 1,177 1,177 
56,251 56,350 2,302 1,181 1,181 
56,351 56,450 2,310 1,185 1,185 
56,451 56,550 2,318 1,189 1,189 
56,551 56,650 2,326 1,193 1,193 
56,651 56,750 2,334 1,197 1,197 
56,751 56,850 2,342 1,201 1,201 
56,851 56,950 2,350 1,205 1,205 
56,951 57,050 2,358 1,209 1,209 
57,051 57,150 2,366 1,213 1,215 
57,151 57,250 2,374 1,217 1,221 
57,251 57,350 2,382 1,221 1,227 
57,351 57,450 2,390 1,225 1,233 
57,451 57,550 2,398 1,229 1,239 
57,551 57,650 2,406 1,233 1,245 
57,651 57,750 2,414 1,237 1,251 
57,751 57,850 2,422 1,241 1,257 
57,851 57,950 2,430 1,245 1,263 
57,951 58,050 2,438 1,249 1,269 
58,051 58,150 2,446 1,253 1,275 
58,151 58,250 2,454 1,257 1,281 
58,251 58,350 2,462 1,261 1,287 
58,351 58,450 2,470 1,265 1,293 
58,451 58,550 2,478 1,269 1,299 
58,551 58,650 2,486 1,273 1,305 
58,651 58,750 2,494 1,277 1,311 
58,751 58,850 2,502 1,281 1,317 
58,851 58,950 2,510 1,285 1,323 
58,951 59,050 2,518 1,289 1,329 
59,051 59,150 2,526 1,293 1,335 
59,151 59,250 2,534 1,297 1,341 
59,251 59,350 2,542 1,301 1,347 
59,351 59,450 2,550 1,305 1,353 
59,451 59,550 2,558 1,309 1,359 
59,551 59,650 2,566 1,313 1,365 
59,651 59,750 2,574 1,317 1,371 
59,751 59,850 2,582 1,321 1,377 
59,851 59,950 2,590 1,325 1,383 
59,951 60,050 2,598 1,329 1,389 
60,051 60,150 2,606 1,333 1,395 
60,151 60,250 2,614 1,337 1,401 
60,251 60,350 2,622 1,341 1,407 
60,351 60,450 2,630 1,345 1,413 
60,451 60,550 2,638 1,349 1,419 
60,551 60,650 2,646 1,353 1,425 
60,651 60,750 2,654 1,357 1,431 
60,751 60,850 2,662 1,361 1,437 
60,851 60,950 2,670 1,365 1,443 
60,951 61,050 2,678 1,369 1,449 
61,051 61,150 2,686 1,373 1,455 
61,151 61,250 2,694 1,377 1,461 
61,251 61,350 2,703 1,381 1,467 
61,351 61,450 2,712 1,385 1,473
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61,451 61,550 2,722 1,389 1,479 
61,551 61,650 2,731 1,393 1,485 
61,651 61,750 2,740 1,397 1,491 
61,751 61,850 2,750 1,401 1,497 
61,851 61,950 2,759 1,405 1,503 
61,951 62,050 2,768 1,409 1,509 
62,051 62,150 2,778 1,413 1,515 
62,151 62,250 2,787 1,417 1,521 
62,251 62,350 2,796 1,421 1,527 
62,351 62,450 2,805 1,425 1,533 
62,451 62,550 2,815 1,429 1,539 
62,551 62,650 2,824 1,433 1,545 
62,651 62,750 2,833 1,437 1,551 
62,751 62,850 2,843 1,441 1,557 
62,851 62,950 2,852 1,445 1,563 
62,951 63,050 2,861 1,449 1,569 
63,051 63,150 2,871 1,453 1,575 
63,151 63,250 2,880 1,457 1,581 
63,251 63,350 2,889 1,461 1,587 
63,351 63,450 2,898 1,465 1,593 
63,451 63,550 2,908 1,469 1,599 
63,551 63,650 2,917 1,473 1,605 
63,651 63,750 2,926 1,477 1,611 
63,751 63,850 2,936 1,481 1,617 
63,851 63,950 2,945 1,485 1,623 
63,951 64,050 2,954 1,489 1,629 
64,051 64,150 2,964 1,493 1,635 
64,151 64,250 2,973 1,497 1,641 
64,251 64,350 2,982 1,501 1,647 
64,351 64,450 2,991 1,505 1,653 
64,451 64,550 3,001 1,509 1,659 
64,551 64,650 3,010 1,513 1,665 
64,651 64,750 3,019 1,517 1,671 
64,751 64,850 3,029 1,521 1,677 
64,851 64,950 3,038 1,525 1,683 
64,951 65,050 3,047 1,529 1,689 
65,051 65,150 3,057 1,533 1,695 
65,151 65,250 3,066 1,537 1,701 
65,251 65,350 3,075 1,541 1,707 
65,351 65,450 3,084 1,545 1,713 
65,451 65,550 3,094 1,549 1,719 
65,551 65,650 3,103 1,553 1,725 
65,651 65,750 3,112 1,557 1,731 
65,751 65,850 3,122 1,561 1,737 
65,851 65,950 3,131 1,565 1,743 
65,951 66,050 3,140 1,569 1,749 
66,051 66,150 3,150 1,573 1,755 
66,151 66,250 3,159 1,577 1,761 
66,251 66,350 3,168 1,581 1,767 
66,351 66,450 3,177 1,585 1,773 
66,451 66,550 3,187 1,589 1,779 
66,551 66,650 3,196 1,593 1,785 
66,651 66,750 3,205 1,597 1,791 
66,751 66,850 3,215 1,601 1,797 
66,851 66,950 3,224 1,605 1,803 
66,951 67,050 3,233 1,609 1,809 
67,051 67,150 3,243 1,613 1,815 
67,151 67,250 3,252 1,617 1,821 
67,251 67,350 3,261 1,621 1,827 
67,351 67,450 3,270 1,625 1,833 
67,451 67,550 3,280 1,629 1,839 
67,551 67,650 3,289 1,633 1,845 
67,651 67,750 3,298 1,637 1,851 
67,751 67,850 3,308 1,641 1,857 
67,851 67,950 3,317 1,645 1,863 
67,951 68,050 3,326 1,649 1,869 
68,051 68,150 3,336 1,653 1,875 
68,151 68,250 3,345 1,657 1,881 
68,251 68,350 3,354 1,661 1,887 
68,351 68,450 3,363 1,665 1,893 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

68,451 68,550 3,373 1,669 1,899 
68,551 68,650 3,382 1,673 1,905 
68,651 68,750 3,391 1,677 1,911 
68,751 68,850 3,401 1,681 1,917 
68,851 68,950 3,410 1,685 1,923 
68,951 69,050 3,419 1,689 1,929 
69,051 69,150 3,429 1,693 1,935 
69,151 69,250 3,438 1,697 1,941 
69,251 69,350 3,447 1,701 1,947 
69,351 69,450 3,456 1,705 1,953 
69,451 69,550 3,466 1,709 1,959 
69,551 69,650 3,475 1,713 1,965 
69,651 69,750 3,484 1,717 1,971 
69,751 69,850 3,494 1,722 1,977 
69,851 69,950 3,503 1,728 1,983 
69,951 70,050 3,512 1,734 1,989 
70,051 70,150 3,522 1,740 1,995 
70,151 70,250 3,531 1,746 2,001 
70,251 70,350 3,540 1,752 2,007 
70,351 70,450 3,549 1,758 2,013 
70,451 70,550 3,559 1,764 2,019 
70,551 70,650 3,568 1,770 2,026 
70,651 70,750 3,577 1,776 2,034 
70,751 70,850 3,587 1,782 2,042 
70,851 70,950 3,596 1,788 2,050 
70,951 71,050 3,605 1,794 2,058 
71,051 71,150 3,615 1,800 2,066 
71,151 71,250 3,624 1,806 2,074 
71,251 71,350 3,633 1,812 2,082 
71,351 71,450 3,642 1,818 2,090 
71,451 71,550 3,652 1,824 2,098 
71,551 71,650 3,661 1,830 2,106 
71,651 71,750 3,670 1,836 2,114 
71,751 71,850 3,680 1,842 2,122 
71,851 71,950 3,689 1,848 2,130 
71,951 72,050 3,698 1,854 2,138 
72,051 72,150 3,708 1,860 2,146 
72,151 72,250 3,717 1,866 2,154 
72,251 72,350 3,726 1,872 2,162 
72,351 72,450 3,735 1,878 2,170 
72,451 72,550 3,745 1,884 2,178 
72,551 72,650 3,754 1,890 2,186 
72,651 72,750 3,763 1,896 2,194 
72,751 72,850 3,773 1,902 2,202 
72,851 72,950 3,782 1,908 2,210 
72,951 73,050 3,791 1,914 2,218 
73,051 73,150 3,801 1,920 2,226 
73,151 73,250 3,810 1,926 2,234 
73,251 73,350 3,819 1,932 2,242 
73,351 73,450 3,828 1,938 2,250 
73,451 73,550 3,838 1,944 2,258 
73,551 73,650 3,847 1,950 2,266 
73,651 73,750 3,856 1,956 2,274 
73,751 73,850 3,866 1,962 2,282 
73,851 73,950 3,875 1,968 2,290 
73,951 74,050 3,884 1,974 2,298 
74,051 74,150 3,894 1,980 2,306 
74,151 74,250 3,903 1,986 2,314 
74,251 74,350 3,912 1,992 2,322 
74,351 74,450 3,921 1,998 2,330 
74,451 74,550 3,931 2,004 2,338 
74,551 74,650 3,940 2,010 2,346 
74,651 74,750 3,949 2,016 2,354 
74,751 74,850 3,959 2,022 2,362 
74,851 74,950 3,968 2,028 2,370 
74,951 75,050 3,977 2,034 2,378 
75,051 75,150 3,987 2,040 2,386 
75,151 75,250 3,996 2,046 2,394 
75,251 75,350 4,005 2,052 2,402 
75,351 75,450 4,014 2,058 2,410 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

75,451 75,550 4,024 2,064 2,418 
75,551 75,650 4,033 2,070 2,426 
75,651 75,750 4,042 2,076 2,434 
75,751 75,850 4,052 2,082 2,442 
75,851 75,950 4,061 2,088 2,450 
75,951 76,050 4,070 2,094 2,458 
76,051 76,150 4,080 2,100 2,466 
76,151 76,250 4,089 2,106 2,474 
76,251 76,350 4,098 2,112 2,482 
76,351 76,450 4,107 2,118 2,490 
76,451 76,550 4,117 2,124 2,498 
76,551 76,650 4,126 2,130 2,506 
76,651 76,750 4,135 2,136 2,514 
76,751 76,850 4,145 2,142 2,522 
76,851 76,950 4,154 2,148 2,530 
76,951 77,050 4,163 2,154 2,538 
77,051 77,150 4,173 2,160 2,546 
77,151 77,250 4,182 2,166 2,554 
77,251 77,350 4,191 2,172 2,562 
77,351 77,450 4,200 2,178 2,570 
77,451 77,550 4,210 2,184 2,578 
77,551 77,650 4,219 2,190 2,586 
77,651 77,750 4,228 2,196 2,594 
77,751 77,850 4,238 2,202 2,602 
77,851 77,950 4,247 2,208 2,610 
77,951 78,050 4,256 2,214 2,618 
78,051 78,150 4,266 2,220 2,626 
78,151 78,250 4,275 2,226 2,634 
78,251 78,350 4,284 2,232 2,642 
78,351 78,450 4,293 2,238 2,650 
78,451 78,550 4,303 2,244 2,658 
78,551 78,650 4,312 2,250 2,666 
78,651 78,750 4,321 2,256 2,674 
78,751 78,850 4,331 2,262 2,682 
78,851 78,950 4,340 2,268 2,690 
78,951 79,050 4,349 2,274 2,698 
79,051 79,150 4,359 2,280 2,706 
79,151 79,250 4,368 2,286 2,714 
79,251 79,350 4,377 2,292 2,722 
79,351 79,450 4,386 2,298 2,730 
79,451 79,550 4,396 2,304 2,738 
79,551 79,650 4,405 2,310 2,746 
79,651 79,750 4,414 2,316 2,754 
79,751 79,850 4,424 2,322 2,762 
79,851 79,950 4,433 2,328 2,770 
79,951 80,050 4,442 2,334 2,778 
80,051 80,150 4,452 2,340 2,786 
80,151 80,250 4,461 2,346 2,794 
80,251 80,350 4,470 2,352 2,802 
80,351 80,450 4,479 2,358 2,810 
80,451 80,550 4,489 2,364 2,818 
80,551 80,650 4,498 2,370 2,826 
80,651 80,750 4,507 2,376 2,834 
80,751 80,850 4,517 2,382 2,842 
80,851 80,950 4,526 2,388 2,850 
80,951 81,050 4,535 2,394 2,858 
81,051 81,150 4,545 2,400 2,866 
81,151 81,250 4,554 2,406 2,874 
81,251 81,350 4,563 2,412 2,882 
81,351 81,450 4,572 2,418 2,890 
81,451 81,550 4,582 2,424 2,898 
81,551 81,650 4,591 2,430 2,906 
81,651 81,750 4,600 2,436 2,914 
81,751 81,850 4,610 2,442 2,922 
81,851 81,950 4,619 2,448 2,930 
81,951 82,050 4,628 2,454 2,938 
82,051 82,150 4,638 2,460 2,946 
82,151 82,250 4,647 2,466 2,954 
82,251 82,350 4,656 2,472 2,962 
82,351 82,450 4,665 2,478 2,970
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Filing status:  1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately)    2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er))    4 (Head of Household)

2021 California Tax Table – Continued

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

82,451 82,550 4,675 2,484 2,978 
82,551 82,650 4,684 2,490 2,986 
82,651 82,750 4,693 2,496 2,994 
82,751 82,850 4,703 2,502 3,002 
82,851 82,950 4,712 2,508 3,010 
82,951 83,050 4,721 2,514 3,018 
83,051 83,150 4,731 2,520 3,026 
83,151 83,250 4,740 2,526 3,034 
83,251 83,350 4,749 2,532 3,042 
83,351 83,450 4,758 2,538 3,051 
83,451 83,550 4,768 2,544 3,060 
83,551 83,650 4,777 2,550 3,070 
83,651 83,750 4,786 2,556 3,079 
83,751 83,850 4,796 2,562 3,088 
83,851 83,950 4,805 2,568 3,098 
83,951 84,050 4,814 2,574 3,107 
84,051 84,150 4,824 2,580 3,116 
84,151 84,250 4,833 2,586 3,126 
84,251 84,350 4,842 2,592 3,135 
84,351 84,450 4,851 2,598 3,144 
84,451 84,550 4,861 2,604 3,153 
84,551 84,650 4,870 2,610 3,163 
84,651 84,750 4,879 2,616 3,172 
84,751 84,850 4,889 2,622 3,181 
84,851 84,950 4,898 2,628 3,191 
84,951 85,050 4,907 2,634 3,200 
85,051 85,150 4,917 2,640 3,209 
85,151 85,250 4,926 2,646 3,219 
85,251 85,350 4,935 2,652 3,228 
85,351 85,450 4,944 2,658 3,237 
85,451 85,550 4,954 2,664 3,246 
85,551 85,650 4,963 2,670 3,256 
85,651 85,750 4,972 2,676 3,265 
85,751 85,850 4,982 2,682 3,274 
85,851 85,950 4,991 2,688 3,284 
85,951 86,050 5,000 2,694 3,293 
86,051 86,150 5,010 2,700 3,302 
86,151 86,250 5,019 2,706 3,312 
86,251 86,350 5,028 2,712 3,321 
86,351 86,450 5,037 2,718 3,330 
86,451 86,550 5,047 2,724 3,339 
86,551 86,650 5,056 2,730 3,349 
86,651 86,750 5,065 2,736 3,358 
86,751 86,850 5,075 2,742 3,367 
86,851 86,950 5,084 2,748 3,377 
86,951 87,050 5,093 2,754 3,386 
87,051 87,150 5,103 2,760 3,395 
87,151 87,250 5,112 2,766 3,405 
87,251 87,350 5,121 2,772 3,414 
87,351 87,450 5,130 2,778 3,423 
87,451 87,550 5,140 2,784 3,432 
87,551 87,650 5,149 2,790 3,442 
87,651 87,750 5,158 2,796 3,451 
87,751 87,850 5,168 2,802 3,460 
87,851 87,950 5,177 2,808 3,470 
87,951 88,050 5,186 2,814 3,479 
88,051 88,150 5,196 2,820 3,488 
88,151 88,250 5,205 2,826 3,498 
88,251 88,350 5,214 2,832 3,507 
88,351 88,450 5,223 2,838 3,516 
88,451 88,550 5,233 2,844 3,525 
88,551 88,650 5,242 2,850 3,535 
88,651 88,750 5,251 2,856 3,544 
88,751 88,850 5,261 2,862 3,553 
88,851 88,950 5,270 2,868 3,563 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

88,951 89,050 5,279 2,874 3,572 
89,051 89,150 5,289 2,880 3,581 
89,151 89,250 5,298 2,886 3,591 
89,251 89,350 5,307 2,892 3,600 
89,351 89,450 5,316 2,898 3,609 
89,451 89,550 5,326 2,904 3,618 
89,551 89,650 5,335 2,910 3,628 
89,651 89,750 5,344 2,916 3,637 
89,751 89,850 5,354 2,922 3,646 
89,851 89,950 5,363 2,928 3,656 
89,951 90,050 5,372 2,934 3,665 
90,051 90,150 5,382 2,940 3,674 
90,151 90,250 5,391 2,946 3,684 
90,251 90,350 5,400 2,952 3,693 
90,351 90,450 5,409 2,958 3,702 
90,451 90,550 5,419 2,964 3,711 
90,551 90,650 5,428 2,970 3,721 
90,651 90,750 5,437 2,976 3,730 
90,751 90,850 5,447 2,982 3,739 
90,851 90,950 5,456 2,988 3,749 
90,951 91,050 5,465 2,994 3,758 
91,051 91,150 5,475 3,000 3,767 
91,151 91,250 5,484 3,006 3,777 
91,251 91,350 5,493 3,012 3,786 
91,351 91,450 5,502 3,018 3,795 
91,451 91,550 5,512 3,024 3,804 
91,551 91,650 5,521 3,030 3,814 
91,651 91,750 5,530 3,036 3,823 
91,751 91,850 5,540 3,042 3,832 
91,851 91,950 5,549 3,048 3,842 
91,951 92,050 5,558 3,054 3,851 
92,051 92,150 5,568 3,060 3,860 
92,151 92,250 5,577 3,066 3,870 
92,251 92,350 5,586 3,072 3,879 
92,351 92,450 5,595 3,078 3,888 
92,451 92,550 5,605 3,084 3,897 
92,551 92,650 5,614 3,090 3,907 
92,651 92,750 5,623 3,096 3,916 
92,751 92,850 5,633 3,102 3,925 
92,851 92,950 5,642 3,108 3,935 
92,951 93,050 5,651 3,114 3,944 
93,051 93,150 5,661 3,120 3,953 
93,151 93,250 5,670 3,126 3,963 
93,251 93,350 5,679 3,132 3,972 
93,351 93,450 5,688 3,138 3,981 
93,451 93,550 5,698 3,144 3,990 
93,551 93,650 5,707 3,150 4,000 
93,651 93,750 5,716 3,156 4,009 
93,751 93,850 5,726 3,162 4,018 
93,851 93,950 5,735 3,168 4,028 
93,951 94,050 5,744 3,174 4,037 
94,051 94,150 5,754 3,180 4,046 
94,151 94,250 5,763 3,186 4,056 
94,251 94,350 5,772 3,192 4,065 
94,351 94,450 5,781 3,198 4,074 
94,451 94,550 5,791 3,204 4,083 
94,551 94,650 5,800 3,210 4,093 
94,651 94,750 5,809 3,216 4,102 
94,751 94,850 5,819 3,222 4,111 
94,851 94,950 5,828 3,228 4,121 
94,951 95,050 5,837 3,234 4,130 
95,051 95,150 5,847 3,240 4,139 
95,151 95,250 5,856 3,246 4,149 
95,251 95,350 5,865 3,252 4,158 
95,351 95,450 5,874 3,258 4,167 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

95,451 95,550 5,884 3,264 4,176 
95,551 95,650 5,893 3,270 4,186 
95,651 95,750 5,902 3,276 4,195 
95,751 95,850 5,912 3,282 4,204 
95,851 95,950 5,921 3,288 4,214 
95,951 96,050 5,930 3,294 4,223 
96,051 96,150 5,940 3,300 4,232 
96,151 96,250 5,949 3,306 4,242 
96,251 96,350 5,958 3,312 4,251 
96,351 96,450 5,967 3,318 4,260 
96,451 96,550 5,977 3,324 4,269 
96,551 96,650 5,986 3,330 4,279 
96,651 96,750 5,995 3,336 4,288 
96,751 96,850 6,005 3,342 4,297 
96,851 96,950 6,014 3,348 4,307 
96,951 97,050 6,023 3,356 4,316 
97,051 97,150 6,033 3,364 4,325 
97,151 97,250 6,042 3,372 4,335 
97,251 97,350 6,051 3,380 4,344 
97,351 97,450 6,060 3,388 4,353 
97,451 97,550 6,070 3,396 4,362 
97,551 97,650 6,079 3,404 4,372 
97,651 97,750 6,088 3,412 4,381 
97,751 97,850 6,098 3,420 4,390 
97,851 97,950 6,107 3,428 4,400 
97,951 98,050 6,116 3,436 4,409 
98,051 98,150 6,126 3,444 4,418 
98,151 98,250 6,135 3,452 4,428 
98,251 98,350 6,144 3,460 4,437 
98,351 98,450 6,153 3,468 4,446 
98,451 98,550 6,163 3,476 4,455 
98,551 98,650 6,172 3,484 4,465 
98,651 98,750 6,181 3,492 4,474 
98,751 98,850 6,191 3,500 4,483 
98,851 98,950 6,200 3,508 4,493 
98,951 99,050 6,209 3,516 4,502 
99,051 99,150 6,219 3,524 4,511 
99,151 99,250 6,228 3,532 4,521 
99,251 99,350 6,237 3,540 4,530 
99,351 99,450 6,246 3,548 4,539 
99,451 99,550 6,256 3,556 4,548 
99,551 99,650 6,265 3,564 4,558 
99,651 99,750 6,274 3,572 4,567 
99,751 99,850 6,284 3,580 4,576 
99,851 99,950 6,293 3,588 4,586 
99,951 100,000 6,300 3,594 4,593 

OVER $100,000 YOU MUST COMPUTE YOUR 
TAX USING THE TAX RATE SCHEDULES.
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2021 California Tax Rate Schedules
Tip To e-file and eliminate the math, go to ftb.ca.gov. To figure your tax online, go to ftb.ca.gov/tax-rates.

Use only if your taxable income on Form 540NR, line 19 is more than $100,000. If $100,000 or less, use the Tax Table.

Schedule X – 
Use if your filing status is 
Single or Married/RDP Filing Separately

If the amount on 
Form 540NR, line 19 is Enter on Form 540NR, 

line 31 
of the 
amount over –over – But not over – 

  
$ 0 $ 9,325 $ 0.00 + 1.00% $ 0

9,325 22,107 93.25 + 2.00% 9,325
22,107 34,892 348.89 + 4.00% 22,107
34,892 48,435 860.29 + 6.00% 34,892
48,435 61,214  1,672.87 + 8.00% 48,435
61,214 312,686 2,695.19 + 9.30% 61,214

312,686 375,221 26,082.09 + 10.30% 312,686
375,221 625,369 32,523.20 +  11.30% 375,221
625,369 AND  OVER 60,789.92  + 12.30% 625,369

Schedule Y – 
Use if your filing status is 
Married/RDP Filing Jointly or Qualifying 
Widow(er)

If the amount on Form 540, line 19 is 
Enter on Form 540, line 31 of the amount over –  over – But not over –   

$ 0 $ 18,650 $  0.00 + 1.00% $ 0
18,650 44,214 186.50 + 2.00% 18,650
44,214 69,784 697.78 + 4.00% 44,214
69,784 96,870 1,720.58 + 6.00% 69,784
96,870 122,428 3,345.74 + 8.00% 96,870

122,428 625,372 5,390.38 + 9.30% 122,428
625,372 750,442  52,164.17  +  10.30% 625,372
750,442 1,250,738 65,046.38 + 11.30% 750,442

 1,250,738 AND OVER 121,579.83 + 12.30% 1,250,738

Schedule Z – 
Use if your filing status is 
Head of Household

If the amount on Form 540, line 19 is 
Enter on Form 540, line 31 of the amount over –  over – But not over –   

$  0  $ 18,663 $  0.00 + 1.00% $ 0
18,663 44,217 186.63 + 2.00% 18,663
44,217 56,999 697.71 + 4.00% 44,217
56,999 70,542 1,208.99 + 6.00% 56,999
70,542 83,324 2,021.57 + 8.00% 70,542
83,324 425,251 3,044.13 + 9.30% 83,324

425,251 510,303 34,843.34 + 10.30% 425,251
510,303 850,503 43,603.70 + 11.30% 510,303
850,503 AND OVER 82,046.30 + 12.30% 850,503

How to Figure Tax Using the 2021 California Tax Rate Schedules
Example: Chris and Pat Smith are filing a joint tax return using Form 540NR. Their taxable income on Form 540NR, line 19 is $125,000.

Step 1: Using Schedule Y, they find the taxable income range that includes their taxable income of $125,000. 

 Example Your Income
Step 2: They subtract the amount at the beginning of their range from 

their taxable income.
$ 125,000 $
– 122,428 –
$ 2,572

                     
$

Step 3: They multiply the result from Step 2 by the percentage for 
their range.

$ 2,572 $
x    .0930 x 
$   239.20

                   
$

Step 4: They round the amount from Step 3 to two decimals (if 
necessary) and add it to the tax amount for their income 
range. After rounding the result, they will enter $5,630 on 
Form 540NR, line 31.

$5,390.38 $
+   239.20 + 
$5,629.58

                   
$
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Paying Your Taxes
General 
Information

You must file and pay 100% of the amount you owe by April 18, 2022, to avoid interest and penalties. There 
are several ways to pay your tax:

• Electronic funds withdrawal

• Web Pay

• Credit card
• Check or money order (Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 

against a U.S. financial institution.)
• Pre-approved monthly payments

Electronic 
Funds 
Withdrawal

Use this convenient option if you e-file. Simply provide your bank information, amount you want to pay, and 
the date you want the balance due to be withdrawn from your account. Your tax preparation software will offer 
this option.

Web Pay Enjoy the convenience of online bill payment with Web Pay. Pay the amount you owe using our secure online 
payment service. Go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more information. With Web Pay, you can schedule it, and forget it!

Credit Card To make a payment using your Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card go to the Official 
Payments Corporation website or call:

• officialpayments.com and select Payment Center.
• 800.2PAY.TAX or 800.272.9829 and follow the recorded instructions.

ACI Payments, Inc. (formerly Official Payments) charges a convenience fee for this service. This fee is based on 
the amount of your tax payment. ACI Payments, Inc. will tell you the convenience fee before you complete your 
transaction. You can decide whether to complete the transaction at that time.

Fee: 2.30% of tax amount charged (round to nearest cent) 
Minimum fee: $1 

Example: Tax Payment = $753.56 
2.30% Fee = $17.33

For persons with hearing or speaking limitations, call California Relay Service at 800.735.2929. For all other 
special assistance, call 800.487.4567, Monday through Friday, 5 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST.

Frequently 
Asked 
Questions

When will my payment be effective?

• Web Pay: Your payment is effective on the payment date you select.
• Credit Card: Your payment is effective on the date you charge it.

What if I change my mind?

• Web Pay: Contact our e-Programs Customer Service at 916.845.0353 at least two business days 
before your scheduled payment date to cancel your payment.

• Credit Card: Contact your card issuer for information about canceling or reversing the charge.

If you change your mind and you still owe money, be sure to make your payment another way. We may charge 
penalties, interest, and other fees for nonpayment or late payment of taxes.

How do I know if you received my payment?

• Your account statement is your proof of payment.
• To verify the payment, go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB.
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How To Get California Tax Information
Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications
By Internet – You can download, view, and print California income tax 
forms and publications at ftb.ca.gov/forms or you may have these 
forms and publications mailed to you. Our most frequently used forms 
may be filed electronically, printed out for submission, and saved for 
record keeping. 
By phone – To order California tax forms and publications:
• Refer to the list on the next page and find the code number for the 

form you want to order.
• Call 800.338.0505.
• Follow the recorded instructions
• Enter the three-digit form code when you are instructed.
Allow two weeks to receive your order. If you live outside California, 
allow three weeks to receive your order.
In person – Many post offices and libraries provide free California tax 
booklets during the filing season.
Employees at libraries and post offices cannot provide tax information or 
assistance.
By mail – Write to:

TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT MS D120 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 307 
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307

Letters
If you write to us, be sure your letter includes your social security 
number, or individual taxpayer identification number, and your daytime 
and evening telephone numbers. Send your letter to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

We will respond to your letter within 10 weeks. In some cases, we may 
call you to respond to your inquiry, or ask for additional information. Do 
not attach correspondence to your tax return unless the correspondence 
relates to an item on the tax return. 

Your Rights As A Taxpayer
The FTB’s goals include making certain that your rights are protected 
so that you have the highest confidence in the integrity, efficiency, and 
 fairness of your state tax system. For more information, get FTB 4058, 
California Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights. See “Where To Get Income Tax 
Forms and Publications.”

Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on Collection
The privacy and security of your personal information is of the utmost 
importance to us. We want you to have the highest confidence in the 
integrity, efficiency, and fairness of our state tax system.
Your Rights and Responsibilities – You have a right to know what types 
of information we gather, how we use it, and to whom we may provide 
it. Information collected is subject to the California Information Practices 
Act, Civil Code section 1798-1798.78, except as provided in Revenue 
and Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 19570.
If you meet certain requirements, you must file a valid tax return and 
related documents. You must provide your social security number or 
other identifying number on your tax return and related documents for 
identification. (R&TC Sections 18501, 18621, and 18624)
Reasons for Information Requests – We may request additional 
information to verify and collect the correct amount of tax. (R&TC 
Section 19504) You must provide all requested information, unless 
indicated as “optional.”

Consequences of Noncompliance – We charge penalties and interest if 
you:
• Meet income requirements but do not file a valid tax return.
• Do not provide the information we request.
• Provide false information.
We may also disallow your claimed exemptions, exclusions, credits, 
deductions, or adjustments. If you provide false information, you may be 
subject to civil penalties and criminal prosecution. Noncompliance can 
increase your tax liability or delay or reduce any tax refund.
Disclosure of Information – We will not disclose your personal 
information, unless authorized by law. We may disclose your tax 
information to:
• The Internal Revenue Service.
• Other states’ income tax officials.
• California government agencies and officials.
• Third parties to determine or collect your tax liabilities.
• Your authorized representative(s).
If you owe taxes, we may disclose your balance due as part of our 
collection process to: employers, financial institutions, county recorders, 
process agents, or other asset holders.
Responsibility for the Records – The director of the Processing 
Services Bureau maintains Franchise Tax Board’s records. You may 
review your records and bring any inaccuracies to our attention. You can 
obtain information about your records by:
Phone
800.852.5711 (within the United States) 
916.845.6500 (outside of the United States)
Mail

DISCLOSURE OFFICER MS A181 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1468 
SACRAMENTO CA 95812-1468

To learn more about our Privacy Policy Statement, go to ftb.ca.gov/privacy.  
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Automated Phone Service (Keep This Booklet For Future Use)
Automated Phone Service
Use our automated phone service to get 
recorded answers to many of your questions 
about California Taxes and to order current 
year Personal Income Tax Forms and 
Publications.
You can also: 
• Get current year tax refund information.
• Get balance due and payment information. 
Have paper and pencil ready to take notes.
Telephone: 800.338.0505 from within the 

United States 
916.845.6500 from outside 
the United States

Answers To Tax Questions
Call our automated phone service, follow the 
recorded instructions and enter the 
3-digit code.

Code Filing Assistance
100 Do I need to file a tax return?
111 Which form should I use?
112 How do I file electronically and get a fast 

refund?
201 How can I get an extension to file?
203 What is the nonrefundable renter’s credit 

and how do I qualify?
204 I never received a Form W-2. What do I 

do?
205 I have no withholding taken out. What do 

I do?
206 Do I have to attach a copy of my federal 

tax return?
209 I lived in California for part of the year. 

Do I have to file a tax return?
210 I did not live in California. Do I have to 

file a tax return?
215 Who qualifies me to use the head of 

household filing status?
222 How much can I deduct for vehicle 

license fees?
Code Penalties
403 What is the estimate penalty rate?
Code Notices And Bills
503 How do I file a protest against a Notice of 

Proposed Assessment?
506 How can I get information about my 

Form 1099-G?
Code Tax For Children
601 Can my child take a personal exemption 

credit when I claim her or him as a 
dependent on my tax return?

Code Miscellaneous
611 What address do I send my payment to?
619 How do I report a change of address?

Order Forms and Publications
If your current address is on file, you can order 
California tax forms and publications. Call our 
automated phone service follow the recorded 
instructions and enter the 3-digit code. 

Code California Tax Forms and Publications
900 California Resident Income Tax Booklet: 

Form 540, Resident Income Tax Return
965 Form 540 2EZ Tax Booklet
903 Schedule CA (540), California 

Adjustments – Residents, FTB 3885A, 
Depreciation & Amortization 
Adjustments, and Schedule D, California 
Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

907 Form 540-ES, Estimated Tax for 
Individuals

908 Schedule X, California Explanation of 
Amended Return Changes

909 Schedule D-1, Sales of Business 
Property

910 Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum 
Distributions

911 Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum 
Tax and Credit Limitations – Residents

913 Schedule S, Other State Tax Credit
914 California Nonresident Income Tax 

Booklet: Form 540NR, Nonresident or 
Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return

917 Schedule CA (540NR), California 
Adjustments – Nonresidents or Part -Year 
Residents

918 Schedule P (540NR), Alternative 
Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations – 
Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents

948 FTB 1131 EN-SP, Franchise Tax Board 
Privacy Notice on Collection

932 FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit

938 FTB 3514, California Earned Income Tax 
Credit

937 FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal 
Income or Fiduciary Tax Return

921 FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic 
Extension for Individuals

922 FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2, 
Wage and Tax Statement

923 FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense 
Deduction

939 FTB 3532, Head of Household Filing 
Status Schedule

940 FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and 
Recapture Summary

949 FTB 3567, Installment Agreement 
Request

924 FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Certain 
Children with Unearned Income

929 FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss 
Limitations

925 FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income
928 FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified 

Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-
Favored Accounts 

926 FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) 
Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss 
Limitations — Individuals, Estates, and 
Trusts 

943 FTB 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of 
Rights

927 FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries

919 FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines 
to California Adjustments

920 FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity 
Guidelines

945 FTB Pub. 1006, California Tax Forms and 
Related Federal Forms

946 FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments 
and Your Notification Responsibilities to 
California

941 FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for 
Determining Resident Status

942 FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for 
Military Personnel

934 FTB Pub. 1540, Tax Information for Head 
of Household Filing Status

Current Year Refund Information
If you file by mail, wait at least 8 weeks after 
you file your tax return before you call to find 
out about your refund. You need your social 
security number, the numbers in your street 
address, box number, route number, or PMB 
number, and your ZIP code to use this service.

Balance Due And Payment 
Information
Wait at least 45 days from the date you mailed 
your payment before you call to verify receipt. 
You need your social security number, the 
numbers in your street address, box number, 
route number or PMB number, and your 
ZIP code to use this service.

General Phone Service
Telephone assistance is available year-round 
from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through 
Friday, except holidays. Hours are subject to 
change.
Telephone: 800.852.5711 from within 

the United States 
916.845.6500 from outside 
the United States 

800.829.1040 for federal 
tax questions, call the IRS

California 
Relay 
Service: 711 or 800.735.2929 for 

persons with hearing or speaking 
limitations.

Asistencia En Español
Asistencia telefónica está disponible durante 
todo el año desde las 7 a.m. hasta las 5 p.m. 
de lunes a viernes, excepto días feriados. Las 
horas están sujetas a cambios.
Teléfono: 800.852.5711 dentro de los 

Estados Unidos 
916.845.6500 fuera de los 
Estados Unidos 
800.829.1040 para preguntas 
sobre impuestos federales, llame 
al IRS

Servicio de 
Retransmisión 
de California: 711 o 800.735.2929 para 

personas con limitaciones 
auditivas o del habla.
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	Line 1: 
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	 Enter qualifying costs for the child: 
	 C A Taxable income from Form 540NR, line 35: 
	 Add amounts of S D I (or V P D I) withheld shown on your federal Forms W-2: 
	 Enter the total here, You: 
	 Enter the total here, Your Spouse/R D P: 

	 Business income or (loss): 
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	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 
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	 Wages, salaries, tips, et cetera, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
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	 Gains, (B) Enter amounts earned or received from C A sources as if you were a nonresident for the entire year: 
	 Gains, (C) Enter amounts earned or received during the portion of the year you were a C A resident: 
	 Gains, (D) Enter amounts earned or received from C A sources during the portion of the year you were a nonresident: 
	 Gains, (E) Total: 
	 Combine column C and column D: 

	 Total tax you expect to owe: 
	 This is the amount you expect to enter on Form 540, line 65; or Form 540NR, line 75: 

	 Taxable interest: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540 2 E Z, line 10: 


	Line 3: 
	 Enter the larger of line 1 or line 2 here: 
	 Add line 1 and line 2: 
	 Credit amount: 
	 Multiply line 1 by line 2: 
	 Enter on this line the result or $1,565, whichever is less: 
	 Enter this amount on Form 540NR, line 53: 

	 Do not enter more than $2,500: 


	 Subtotal: 
	 Excess S D I (or V P D I) withheld: 
	 Subtract line 2 from line 1: 
	 Enter the results here: 
	 Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter the total, in whole dollars only on line 84, You: 
	 Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter the total, in whole dollars only on line 84, Your Spouse/R D P: 



	 Contribution amount: 
	 Multiply line 1 by line 2: 
	 Enter the result (rounded to the nearest whole dollar) here: 


	 Self-employment earnings from partnerships reported on K-1s: 
	 Enter the net profit (or loss) from federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1065), box 14, code A: 

	 Total Taxable Income: 
	 Subtract line 2 from line 1: 
	 Enter the negative result here: 


	 Last Name: 
	 S S N (9 digits): 
	 D O B (mm/dd/yyyy) If your qualifying person is age 19 or older in 2021, go to line 3a: 
	 If not, go to line 4: 

	 Multiply line 1 by line 2: 
	 I became a C A resident (enter state of prior residence) (2 letter State abbreviation), Yourself: 
	 I became a C A resident (enter date (mm/dd/yyyy) of move of prior residence), Yourself: 
	 I became a C A resident (enter state of prior residence) (2 letter State abbreviation), Spouse/R D P: 
	 I became a C A resident (enter date (mm/dd/yyyy) of move of prior residence), Spouse/R D P: 
	 Business income or (loss): 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 See instructions, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 See instructions, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 See instructions, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 See instructions, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	 Multiply line 2 by 7: 
	5% (0: 
	075): 


	 Deduction Percentage: 
	 Divide Part II, line 27, column E by Part 2, line 23, column D: 
	 Carry the decimal to four places: 
	 If the result is greater than 1: 
	0000, enter 1: 
	0000: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 







	 Add federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 21 (student loan interest deduction) to federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 (A G I): 
	 Enter the result here: 

	 Subtract line 2 from line 1: 
	 If the result is 0, stop: 
	 Enter the amount from line 1 above on Schedule C A (540NR), Part III, line 29: 


	 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a): 
	 Prior year loss carryover, (A) Enter total as if you were a C A resident for the entire year: 
	 Prior year loss carryover, (B) Enter amounts earned or received from C A sources as if you were a nonresident for the entire year: 
	 Prior year loss carryover, (C) Enter amounts earned or received during the portion of the year you were a C A resident: 
	 Prior year loss carryover, (D) Enter amounts earned or received from C A sources during the portion of the year you were a nonresident: 
	 Prior year loss carryover, (E) Total: 
	 Combine column C and column D: 

	 Total tax payments and credits: 
	 Add line 2a, line 2b, and line 2c: 

	 Federal E I C (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 27a): 
	 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-S R, line 3b: 
	 Dividends: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540 2 E Z, line 11: 

	 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-S R, line 11 (federal A G I): 

	Line 4: 
	 California Itemized/Standard Deductions: 
	 Multiply line 2 by the percentage on line 3: 

	 Enter any amounts from federal Form 8814, line 12 for child's interest and dividends: 
	 Deductible part of self-employment tax: 
	 Enter the amount from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 15: 

	 Enter the amount shown for your filing status: Single or married/R D P filing separately, enter $4,803, Married/R D P filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er), enter $9,606: 
	 Enter the lesser of the amount from line 3 or $513: 
	 I became a C A nonresident (enter new state of residence) (2 letter State abbreviation), Yourself: 
	 I became a C A nonresident (enter date (mm/dd/yyyy) of move of new state of residence), Yourself: 
	 I became a C A nonresident (enter new state of residence) (2 letter State abbreviation), Spouse/R D P: 
	 I became a C A nonresident (enter date (mm/dd/yyyy) of move of new state of residence), Spouse/R D P: 
	 Other gains or (losses), A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Other gains or (losses), B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Other gains or (losses), C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Other gains or (losses), D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Other gains or (losses), E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Subtract line 3 from line 1: 
	 If line 3 is more than line 1, enter 0, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 If line 3 is more than line 1, enter 0, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	 Enter the total military income included in federal A G I (get F T B Pub: 
	 1032): 

	 Multiply line 3 by 80% (: 
	80): 

	 Other gains or (losses), A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Other gains or (losses), B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Other gains or (losses), C Total Combine column A and column B: 
	 Total 2021 gains from all sources: 
	 Add column (e) amounts of line 1, line 2, and line 3: 

	 Combine line 1 through line 3, (A) Enter total as if you were a C A resident for the entire year: 
	 Combine line 1 through line 3, (B) Enter amounts earned or received from C A sources as if you were a nonresident for the entire year: 
	 Combine line 1 through line 3, (E) Total: 
	 Combine column C and column D: 

	 Tax due: 
	 Is line 1 more than line 3?: 

	 Capital gain net income: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540 2 E Z, line 13: 

	 Enter qualifying person’s gross income in 2021: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 5: 
	 Credit amount: 
	 Multiply line 3 by line 4: 
	 Enter on this line the result or $513, whichever is less: 
	 Enter this amount on Form 540NR, line 51: 



	 Mental Health Services Tax - Multiply line 3 by line 4: 
	 Enter this amount here and on Form 540NR, line 72: 

	 California Taxable Income: 
	 Subtract line 4 from line 1: 
	 Transfer this amount to Form 540NR, line 35: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 



	 Investment Income: 
	 Add line 1, line 2, line 3 and line 4: 
	 Enter the amount here: 


	 Number of days your qualifying person lived with you during 2021: 
	 See instructions: 

	 Standard deduction: 
	 Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 4 here and on Form 540 N R, line 18: 

	 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 52: 
	 I was a C A nonresident the entire year (enter state of residence), Yourself: 
	 I was a C A nonresident the entire year (enter state of residence), Spouse/R D P: 
	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, et cetera , A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, et cetera, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, et cetera, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, et cetera, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, et cetera, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Subtract line 4 from line 3: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 13: 
	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, et cetera: 
	 See instructions, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 See instructions, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 See instructions, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	 2021 loss: 
	 Add column (d) amounts of line 1 and line 2: 

	 Enter the smaller of the loss on line 4 or $3,000 ($1,500 if married/R D P filing separately), (A) Enter total as if you were a C A resident for the entire year: 
	 Enter the smaller of the loss on line 4 or $3,000 ($1,500 if married/R D P filing separately), (B) Enter amounts earned or received from C A sources as if you were a nonresident for the entire year: 
	 Enter the smaller of the loss on line 4 or $3,000 ($1,500 if married/R D P filing separately), (E) Total: 
	 Combine column C and column D: 

	 First name, Child 2: 
	 First name, Child 3: 
	 Total business income or (loss): 
	 Add line 1, line 2, line 3, and subtract line 4: 
	 Enter the amount here and on form F T B 3514, line 18: 


	 Enter the amount from Schedule C A (540N R), Part IV, line 4: 

	Line c: 
	 Subtract line b from line a: 

	Line e: 
	 Multiply line d by $6: 

	Line g: 
	 Multiply line e by line f: 

	Line i: 
	 Subtract line g from line h: 
	 If zero or less, enter 0: 


	Line k: 
	 Multiply line e by line j: 

	Line l: 
	 Enter the dollar amount from Form 540NR, line 10: 

	Line m: 
	 Subtract line k from line l: 
	 If zero or less, enter 0: 


	Line n: 
	 Add line i and line m: 
	 Enter the result here: 


	Line o: 
	 Multiply the amount on line n by the C A Exemption Credit Percentage on Form 540NR, line 38: 
	 Enter the result here and on Form 540NR, line 39: 


	Line 2: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 41: 
	 Enter your deductions from line 30: 
	 Enter the amount from federal Form 8814, Parents' Election to Report Child's Interest and Dividends, line 1b: 
	 Farm income or (loss): 
	 Enter the amount from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 6: 

	 Credit Percentage from Part I, line 1: 
	 Enter the ratio from Form 540 N R, line 38: 
	 Enter amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11: 
	 Enter the total interest you paid in 2021 on qualified student loans but not more than $2,500 here: 
	 Add the amounts on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), line 4, line 9, and line 15 plus any gambling losses included on line 16, if applicable (or on Schedule A (Form 1040NR), line 6 plus any investment interest expense and gambling losses included on line 7, as applicable): 
	 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568), (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568), (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 Losses, (A) Enter total as if you were a C A resident for the entire year: 
	 Losses, (B) Enter amounts earned or received from C A sources as if you were a nonresident for the entire year: 
	 Losses, (C) Enter amounts earned or received during the portion of the year you were a C A resident: 
	 Losses, (D) Enter amounts earned or received from C A sources during the portion of the year you were a nonresident: 
	 Losses, (E) Total: 
	 Combine column C and column D: 

	 Federal A G I (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11): 
	 Nontaxable interest: 
	 Add and enter the amounts from federal Form 1099-I N T, box 3 and box 8, and the amount from federal Form 1099-D I V, box 11: 

	 Look up the amount on line 1 in the E I T C Table to find the credit: 
	 Be sure you use the correct column for the number of qualifying children you have: 
	 Enter the credit here: 


	 Enter the amount from Form 540N R, line 18: 

	Payment Date (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Confirmation Number: 
	Line 11: 
	 Number of days child lived with you in California during 2021: 
	 Do not enter more than 365 days: 
	 See instructions, Child 1: 
	 See instructions, Child 2: 
	 See instructions, Child 3: 


	 Multiply line 9 by line 10: 
	 Amount of credit based on the number of full months you were a resident of and rented property in California in 2021: 
	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10: 
	 Educator expenses, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Gifts by cash or check, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Gifts by cash or check, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Student loan interest adjustment: 
	 If line 1 is less than line 10, enter the difference here and on Schedule C A (540NR), line 21, column C: 

	 Enter the California gain from line 8 or (loss) from line 9: 
	 Subtract line 10 from line 9: 
	 (If the result is less than zero, enter 0): 


	Check here if this is an AMENDED return: Off
	Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month (mm): 
	Filing Status: Off
	Line 6: 
	 California Taxable Income: 
	 Subtract line 5 from line 4: 
	 If a negative amount, enter as negative: 


	 Credit Percentage from Part I, line 1: 
	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/R D P) as a dependent, check the box here: 
	 See instructions: Off

	 The number of days I spent in C A for any purpose was, Yourself: 
	 The number of days I spent in C A for any purpose was, Spouse/R D P: 
	 Farm income or (loss), A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Farm income or (loss), B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Farm income or (loss), C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Farm income or (loss), D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Farm income or (loss), E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Other taxes: 
	 List type: 

	 Other taxes, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Other taxes, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Other taxes, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Enter the amount shown below for your filing status: 
	 Single, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) - $60,000 Married/R D P filing jointly - $120,000: 

	 Enter the amount from line 29 instructions on the previous page for your filing status: 
	 Farm income or (loss), A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Farm income or (loss), B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Farm income or (loss), C Total Combine column A and column B: 
	 California capital loss carryover from 2020, if any: 
	 See instructions: 

	 Last name, Child 1: 
	 Last name, Child 2: 
	 Last name, Child 3: 
	 Enter the gain from federal Form 4797 Sales of Business Property, line 7: 
	 If the amount on that line is a loss, enter 0: 
	 (But, if you completed federal Form 4797, line 8 and line 9, enter the amount from line 9 instead): 



	Your name (1): 
	Your name (2): 
	Your name (3): 
	Your name (4): 
	Your signature date (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Preferred phone number (10 digits): 
	Firm's name (or yours, if self-employed): 
	P T I N (9 digits): 
	Firm's address: 
	Firm's F E I N (9 digits): 
	Do you want to allow another person to discuss this tax return with us? See instructions: Off
	Print Third Party Designee's Name: 
	Telephone Number (10 digits): 
	Line 1a: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1b: 
	 My California (C A) Residency (Check one), Spouse: Off
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 Has the Franchise Tax Board (F T B) previously disallowed your California E I T C?: Off

	Line 2a: 
	 I was domiciled in (enter two letter code, see instructions), Yourself: 
	 I was domiciled in (enter two letter code, see instructions), Spouse/R D P: 
	 Taxable interest: 
	 Alimony received: 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 See instructions, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 See instructions, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	 Payments and credits, California income tax withheld (including real estate and nonresident withholding): 

	Line 2b: 
	 I was in the military and stationed in (enter two letter code), Yourself: 
	 I was in the military and stationed in (enter two letter code), Spouse/R D P: 
	 Taxable interest, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Taxable interest, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Taxable interest, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Taxable interest, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Taxable interest, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Taxable interest, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Taxable interest, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Taxable interest, C Total Combine column A and column B: 
	 California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 2020 tax return: 

	Line 7: 
	 Multiply line 5 by line 6: 
	 Personal, Number entered in the box multiplied by $129 equals, Whole dollars only: 
	 I owned a home/property in C A (enter Y for Yes, N for No), Yourself: 
	 I owned a home/property in C A (enter Y for Yes, N for No), Spouse/R D P: 
	 Capital gain or (loss): 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 See instructions, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 See instructions, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 See instructions, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 See instructions, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	 Unemployment compensation, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Unemployment compensation, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Add line 5e and line 6, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Add line 5e and line 6, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Add line 5e and line 6, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Is the amount on line 5 more than the amount on line 6?: Off
	 Total 2021 loss: 
	 Add line 5 and line 6: 

	 S S N or I T I N (9 digits): 
	 See instructions, Child 1: 
	 See instructions, Child 2: 
	 See instructions, Child 3: 

	 Subtract line 6 from line 5: 
	 (If the result is less than zero, enter 0): 


	Line 8: 
	 Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	 If born after 2002 and the child is younger than you (or your spouse/R D P, if filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b; go to line 10, Child 1: 
	 If born after 2002 and the child is younger than you (or your spouse/R D P, if filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b; go to line 10, Child 2: 
	 If born after 2002 and the child is younger than you (or your spouse/R D P, if filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b; go to line 10, Child 3: 

	 Enter the amount from line 3 as a positive amount: 
	 Enter the lesser of the amount on line 7 or $513: 
	 Blind: If you (or your spouse/R D P) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both are visually impaired, enter 2: 
	 Blind, Number entered in the box multiplied by $129 equals, Whole dollars only: 
	 Before 2021: I was a C A resident for the period of, Yourself (from mm/dd/yyyy): 
	 Before 2021 I was a C A resident for the period of, Yourself (to mm/dd/yyyy): 
	 Before 2021: I was a C A resident for the period of, Spouse/R D P (from mm/dd/yyyy): 
	 Before 2021: I was a C A resident for the period of, Spouse/R D P (to mm/dd/yyyy): 
	 Divide line 7 by $15,000 ($30,000 if married/R D P filing jointly): 
	 Enter the result as a decimal (rounded to at least three places): 
	 If the result is 1: 
	000 or more, enter 1: 
	000: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 





	 Multiply line 7 by 6% (: 
	06): 

	 Net gain or loss: 
	 Combine line 4 and line 7: 
	 If a loss, go to line 9: 
	 If a gain, go to line 10: 




	Line 18: 
	 Total: 
	 Combine line 17 column A less column B plus column C: 

	 Enter the larger of: Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540NR), Part III, line 30; OR Your California standard deduction: 
	 See instructions: 

	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Business income or (loss): 
	 Enter amount from Worksheet 3, line 5: 
	 See instructions: 



	Line 27: 
	 Other adjustments: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Specify: 

	  See instructions: 

	 Total: 
	 Subtract line 26 from line 10 in each column, A through E: 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 See instructions, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 



	 Reduction amount: 
	 Multiply line 26 by $20 Enter the result as a decimal out to two decimal places, do not round: 


	Line 9: 
	 Divide line 7 by line 8: 
	 Enter amount as a decimal: 

	 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 53: 
	 Senior: If you (or your spouse/R D P) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both are 65 or older, enter 2: 
	 See instructions: 

	 Senior, Number entered in the box multiplied by $129 equals, Whole dollars only: 
	 Investment interest, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Investment interest, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Investment interest, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Multiply line 2 by line 8: 
	 Compare the amounts on line 4 and line 8: 
	 Enter the smaller amount here: 

	 If line 8 is a loss, enter the smaller of: a the loss on line 8: 
	 b $3,000 ($1,500 if married/R D P filing separate): 
	 See instructions: 



	Line 10: 
	 Child's relationship to you: 
	 See instructions, Child 1: 
	 See instructions, Child 2: 
	 See instructions, Child 3: 

	 Enter any expenses related to the rental of personal property included on federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 24b: 
	 Credit Percentage from Part I, line 1: 
	 Dependent 1, First Name: 
	 Dependent 2, First Name: 
	 Dependent 3, First Name: 
	 Dependent 1, Last Name: 
	 Dependent 2, Last Name: 
	 Dependent 3, Last Name: 
	 Dependent 1, S S N (9 digits) (see instructions): 
	 Dependent 2, S S N (9 digits) (see instructions): 
	 Dependent 3, S S N (9 digits) (see instructions): 
	 Dependent 1, Dependent's relationship to you: 
	 Dependent 2, Dependent's relationship to you: 
	 Dependent 3, Dependent's relationship to you: 
	 Total: 
	 Combine Section A, line 1z through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 7, line 9a and line 9b1 through line 9b4 (as applicable) in each column: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Go to Section C, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Go to Section C, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Go to Section C, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Go to Section C, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Go to Section C, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 




	 Add line 8e and line 9, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Add line 8e and line 9, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Add line 8e and line 9, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Student loan interest deduction: 
	 Subtract line 9 from line 2: 
	 Enter the result here and on Schedule C A (540NR), line 21, column D: 


	 Total itemized deductions: 
	 Subtract line 9 from line 1: 
	 Enter the result here and on Schedule C A (540NR), Part III, line 29: 


	 Enter the gain or (loss) from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 7: 
	 Totals: Combine Section A, line 1z through line 7, and line 1 through line 7, and line 9a through line 9b4 in column C: 
	 Transfer the amounts from column C, Section A, line 1 through line 7, and line 1 through line 10, to Schedule C A (540NR), column E, Section A, line 1 through line 7, and line 1 through line 10, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	 C A Exemption Credit Percentage: 
	 Subtract line 9 from 1: 
	000: 
	 If more than 1, enter 1: 
	000: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 
	 Enter the result as a decimal here and on form F T B 3514, line 21 or line 29: 







	Enter the number of days during the year you were a C A resident: 
	Enter the number of days during the year you were a nonresident: 
	Line 9a: 
	 Total other income: 
	 Add lines 8a through 8z, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Add lines 8a through 8z, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Add lines 8a through 8z, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Add lines 8a through 8z, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Add lines 8a through 8z, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	 Total income: 
	 Add lines 8a through 8z, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Add lines 8a through 8z, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Add lines 8a through 8z, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	 Was the child under age 24 at the end of 2021, a student, and younger than you (or your spouse/R D P, if filing jointly)? If yes, go to line 10: 
	 If no, go to line 9b: 
	 See instructions, Child 1: Off
	 See instructions, Child 2: Off
	 See instructions, Child 3: Off



	Line 9b: 
	 Was the child permanently and totally disabled during any part of 2021? If yes, go to line 10: 
	 If no, stop here: 
	 The child is not a qualifying child, Child 1: Off
	 The child is not a qualifying child, Child 2: Off
	 The child is not a qualifying child, Child 3: Off



	Line 12: 
	 Child's physical address during 2021: 
	 See instructions, Child 1a: 
	 Street address (number, street, and apartment number/suite number): 


	 Enter the lesser of the amount on line 11 or $1,565: 
	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Other than by cash or check, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Other than by cash or check, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Other than by cash or check, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Line 13: 
	 Add line 4, line 8, and line 12: 
	 Enter the result here and on Form 540NR, line 55: 

	 Enter federal A G I from Form 1040-SR or 1040-NR, line 11: 
	 Health savings account deduction, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Health savings account deduction, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Carryover from prior year, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Carryover from prior year, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Carryover from prior year, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Line 14: 
	 California adjustments - subtractions: 
	 Enter the amount from Schedule C A (540), Part II, line 27, column B: 

	 Moving expenses: 
	 Attach Form F T B 3913: 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 See instructions, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	 Attach form F T B Form 3913: 
	 See instructions, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 



	 Add line 11 through line 13, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Add line 11 through line 13, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Add line 11 through line 13, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 I H S S payments: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 15: 
	 Subtract line 14 from line 13: 
	 If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Deductible part of self-employment tax: 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 See instructions, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	 Casualty or theft loss(es) (other than net qualified disaster losses): 
	 Attach federal Form 4684: 
	 See instructions, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 See instructions, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	 Prison inmate wages and/or pension or annuity from a nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a nongovernmental I R C Section 457 plan: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 16: 
	 California adjustments - additions: 
	 Enter the amount from Schedule C A (540NR), Part II, line 27, column C: 

	 Self-employed S E P, S I M P L E, and qualified plans, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Self-employed S E P, S I M P L E, and qualified plans, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Self-employed S E P, S I M P L E, and qualified plans, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Other-from list in federal instructions, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Other-from list in federal instructions, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Subtract line 14 and line 15 from line 13: 

	Line 17: 
	 Adjusted gross income: 
	 Combine line 15 and line 16: 

	 Self-employed health insurance deduction: 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 See instructions, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	 Add lines 4, 7, 10, 14, 15, and 16 in columns A, B, and C, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Add lines 4, 7, 10, 14, 15, and 16 in columns A, B, and C, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Add lines 4, 7, 10, 14, 15, and 16 in columns A, B, and C, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Nontaxable combat pay: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 18a: 
	 Business name: 

	Line 18b: 
	 Business address, Street address (number, street, and apartment number/suite number): 
	 Business address, City: 
	 Business address, 2 letter state abbreviation: 
	 Business address, ZIP code, maximum 9 digits: 

	Line 18c: 
	 Business license number: 

	Line 18d: 
	 S E I N: 

	Line 18e: 
	 Business code: 

	Line 19: 
	 Subtract line 18 from line 17: 
	 This is your total taxable income: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 


	 California Earned Income: 
	 Add line 16, line 17, and line 18: 


	Line 20: 
	 I R A deduction, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 I R A deduction, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 I R A deduction, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 I R A deduction, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 I R A deduction, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Tax preparation fees: 

	Line 21: 
	 Student loan interest deduction, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Student loan interest deduction, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Student loan interest deduction, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Student loan interest deduction, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Other expenses, investment, safe deposit box, et cetera: 
	 List type: 

	 Other expenses, List type: 

	Line 22: 
	 Add line 19 through line 21: 
	 Nonresident or Part-Year Resident E I T C: 
	 Multiply line 20 by line 21: 
	 This amount should also be entered on Form 540N R, line 85: 



	Line 23: 
	 Archer M S A deduction, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Archer M S A deduction, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Archer M S A deduction, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Enter amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11: 

	Line 25: 
	 Total other adjustments: 
	 Add lines 24a through 24z, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Add lines 24a through 24z, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Add lines 24a through 24z, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Add lines 24a through 24z, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Add lines 24a through 24z, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	 Subtract line 24 from line 22: 
	 If line 24 is more than line 22, enter 0: 

	 Excess Earned Income over threshold: 
	 Subtract $25,000 from line 23: 


	Line 26: 
	 Divide line 25 by 100: 
	 Enter the result as a decimal out to two decimal places, do not round: 

	 Add line 11 through line 23 and line 25 in each column, A through E, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Add line 11 through line 23 and line 25 in each column, A through E, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Add line 11 through line 23 and line 25 in each column, A through E, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Add line 11 through line 23 and line 25 in each column, A through E, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Add line 11 through line 23 and line 25 in each column, A through E, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Total Itemized Deductions: 
	 Add line 18 and line 25: 


	Line 28: 
	 Combine line 26 and line 27: 
	 Young Child Tax Credit: 
	 If you did not need to complete lines 25 through 27, your credit is the $1,000 from line 24: 
	 If you completed lines 25 through 27, to compute your credit, subtract line 27 from line 24: 
	 If your credit amount is between $0 and $1, enter $1: 
	 If your credit amount is over $1, round to the nearest whole dollar: 
	 This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 76; or Form 540 2E Z, line 24: 






	Line 29: 
	 Is your federal A G I (Form 540NR, line 13) more than the amount shown below for your filing status? Single or married/R D P filing separately, $212,288: 
	 Head of household, $318,437: 
	 Married/R D P filing jointly or qualifying widow(er), $424,581: 
	 If No: 
	 Transfer the amount on line 28 to line 29: 
	 If Yes: 
	 Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in the instructions for Schedule C A (540NR), line 29: 







	Line 30: 
	 Enter the larger of the amount on line 29 or your standard deduction listed below, Single or married/R D P filing separately: 
	 See instructions, $4,803: 
	 Married/R D P filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er), $9,606: 


	 Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Y C T C: 
	 Multiply line 28 by line 29: 
	 This amount should also be entered on Form 540N R, line 86: 



	Line 3a: 
	 Was your qualifying person a full time student under age 24 in 2021?: Off
	 Ordinary dividends: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 3b: 
	 Was your qualifying person permanently and totally disabled in 2021?: Off
	 Ordinary dividends: 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 See instructions, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 See instructions, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 See instructions, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 See instructions, C Total Combine column A and column B: 


	Line b: 
	 Enter the amount for your filing status on line b: Single or married/R D P filing separately $212,288 Married/R D P filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) $424,581 Head of household $318,437: 

	Line d: 
	 Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married/R D P filing separately): 
	 If the result is not a whole number, round it to the next higher whole number: 


	Line f: 
	 Add the numbers from the boxes on Form 540 NR, line 7, line 8, and line 9 (not the dollar amounts): 

	Line h: 
	 Add the total dollar amounts from Form 540 NR, line 7, line 8, and line 9: 

	Line j: 
	 Enter the number from the box on Form 540 NR, line 10 (not the dollar amount): 

	Part I, Line 1: 
	 Enter the percentage amount from line 38 here and on Form 540NR, line 54: 
	 If more than 1, enter 1: 
	0000: 


	 Enter your California earned income from form F T B 3514, Line 19: 
	 If the amount is zero or less, stop here: 

	 Enter the amount from Form 540N R, line 17: 
	 If a negative amount, enter as negative: 

	 Check one box below to identify your marital status: 
	 See instructions: Off


	Part II, Line 1: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 51: 

	Dates Rented in 2021 From (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Dates Rented in 2021 to (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2021, Street Address (a): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2021, City, 2 letter State abbreviation, and ZIP Code, maximum 9 digits (a): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2021, Dates Rented in 2021 (From (mm/dd/yyyy) to (mm/dd/yyyy)) (a): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2021, Street Address (b): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2021, City, 2 letter State abbreviation, and ZIP Code, maximum 9 digits (b): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2021, Dates Rented in 2021 (From (mm/dd/yyyy) to (mm/dd/yyyy)) (b): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above, Name (a): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above, Street Address (a): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above, City, 2 letter State abbreviation, ZIP Code, maximum 9 digits and Telephone Number (a): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above, Name (b): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above, Street Address (b): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above, City, 2 letter State abbreviation, ZIP Code, maximum 9 digits and Telephone Number (b): 
	Date of Birth, Your D O B (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Spouse's/RDP's D O B (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Prior name, Your prior name: 
	Spouse/RDP's Prior name (see instructions): 
	If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, check the box here: Off
	Enter spouse's/RDP's S S N or I T I N above and full name here: 
	Qualifying widow(er), Enter year spouse/R D P died: 
	Filing Status, See instructions: 
	Exemptions, Line 7: 
	 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box: 
	 If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2: 
	 If you checked the box on line 6, see instructions: 



	Total dependent exemptions: 
	Total dependent exemptions, Number entered in the box multiplied by $400 equals: 
	Your S S N or I T I N (9 digits) (1): 
	Taxable Income, Line 12: 
	 State wages from your federal Form(s) W-2, box 16: 

	C A Taxable Income, Line 31: 
	 Tax: 
	 Check the box if from: Off


	Line 31: 
	 Tax: 

	Line 32: 
	 C A adjusted gross income from Schedule C A (540NR), Part IV, line 1: 

	Line 35: 
	 C A Taxable Income from Schedule C A (540NR), Part IV, line 5: 

	Line 36: 
	 C A Tax Rate: 
	 Divide line 31 by line 19: 


	Line 37: 
	 C A Tax Before Exemption Credits: 
	 Multiply line 35 by line 36: 


	Line 38: 
	 C A Exemption Credit Percentage: 
	 Divide line 35 by line 19: 
	 If more than 1, enter 1: 
	0000: 




	Line 39: 
	 C A Prorated Exemption Credits: 
	 Multiply line 11 by line 38: 
	 If the amount on line 13 is more than $212,288, see instructions: 



	Line 40: 
	 C A Regular Tax Before Credits: 
	 Subtract line 39 from line 37: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 



	Line 41: 
	 Tax: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Check the box if from: Off

	 See  instructions: 


	Line 42: 
	 Add line 40 and line 41: 

	Special Credits, Line 50: 
	 Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Attach form F T B 3506: 



	Line 51: 
	 Credit for joint custody head of household: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 52: 
	 Credit for dependent parent: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 53: 
	 Credit for senior head of household: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 54: 
	 Credit percentage: 
	 Enter the amount from line 38 here: 
	 If more than 1, enter 1: 
	0000: 
	 See instructions: 





	Line 55: 
	 Credit amount: 
	 See instructions: 


	Your S S N or I T I N (9 digits) (2): 
	Line 58: 
	 Enter credit name: 
	 Code: 
	 Amount: 

	Line 59: 
	 Enter credit name: 
	 Code: 
	 Amount: 

	Line 60: 
	 To claim more than two credits: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 61: 
	 Nonrefundable Renter's Credit: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 62: 
	 Add line 50 and line 55 through 61: 
	 These are your total credits: 


	Line 63: 
	 Subtract line 62 from line 42: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 


	Other Taxes, Line 71: 
	 Alternative Minimum Tax: 
	 Attach Schedule P (540NR): 


	Line 72: 
	 Mental Health Services Tax: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 73: 
	 Other taxes and credit recapture: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 74: 
	 Excess Advance Premium Assistance Subsidy (A P A S) repayment: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 75: 
	 Add line 63, line 71, line 72, line 73, and line 74: 
	 This is your total tax: 


	Payments, Line 81: 
	 California income tax withheld: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 82: 
	 2021 C A estimated tax and other payments: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 83: 
	 Withholding (Form 592-B and/or 593): 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 84: 
	 Excess S D I (or V P D I) withheld: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 85: 
	 Earned Income Tax Credit (E I T C): 

	Line 86: 
	 Young Child Tax Credit (Y C T C): 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 87: 
	 Net Premium Assistance Subsidy (P A S): 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 88: 
	 Add line 81 through line 87: 
	 These are your total payments: 
	 See instructions: 



	I S R Penalty, Line 91: 
	 If you and your household had full-year health care coverage, check the box: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Medicare Part A or C coverage is qualifying health care coverage: 
	 If you did not check the box, see instructions: Off




	Line 91: 
	 Individual Shared Responsibility (I S R) Penalty: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 93: 
	 Individual Shared Responsibility Penalty Balance: 
	 If line 91 is more than line 88, subtract line 88 from line 91: 


	Line 101: 
	 Overpaid tax: 
	 If line 92 is more than line 75, subtract line 75 from line 92: 


	Line 102: 
	 Amount of line 101 you want applied to your 2022 estimated tax: 

	Your S S N or I T I N (9 digits) (3): 
	Line 103: 
	 Overpaid tax available this year: 
	 Subtract line 102 from line 101: 


	Line 104: 
	 Tax due: 
	 If line 92 is less than line 75, subtract line 92 from line 75: 


	California Seniors Special Fund: 
	 See instructions, Code 400, Amount: 

	Alzheimer's Disease/Related Dementia Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 401, Amount: 
	Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 403, Amount: 
	California Breast Cancer Research Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 405, Amount: 
	California Firefighter's Memorial Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 406, Amount: 
	Emergency Food for Families Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 407, Amount: 
	California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 408, Amount: 
	California Sea Otter Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 410, Amount: 
	California Cancer Research Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 413, Amount: 
	School Supplies for Homeless Children Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 422, Amount: 
	State Parks Protection Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund/Parks Pass Purchase, Code 423, Amount: 
	Protect Our Coast and Oceans Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 424, Amount: 
	Keep Arts in Schools Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 425, Amount: 
	Prevention of Animal Homelessness & Cruelty Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 431, Amount: 
	California Senior Citizen Advocacy Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 438, Amount: 
	Native California Wildlife Rehabilitation Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 439, Amount: 
	Rape Kit Backlog Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 440, Amount: 
	Schools Not Prisons Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 443, Amount: 
	Suicide Prevention Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 444, Amount: 
	Mental Health Crisis Prevention Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 445, Amount: 
	California Community and Neighborhood Tree Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund, Code 446, Amount: 
	Line 120: 
	 Add code 400 through code 446: 
	 This is your total contribution: 


	Your S S N or I T I N (9 digits) (4): 
	Amount You Owe, Line 121: 
	 AMOUNT YOU OWE: 
	 Add line 93, line 104, and line 120: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Do not send cash: 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD P O BOX 942867 SACRAMENTO C A 94267-0001: 





	Interest and Penalties, Line 122: 
	 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties: 

	Line 123: 
	 Underpayment of estimated tax: 
	 Check the box: Off

	 Underpayment of estimated  tax: 

	Line 124: 
	 Total amount due: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Enclose, but do not staple, any payment: 



	Refund and Direct Deposit, Line 125: 
	 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE: 
	 Subtract line 120 from line 103: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD P O BOX 942840 SACRAMENTO C A 94240-0001: 




	All or the following amount of my refund (line 125) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below, Routing number (9 digits): 
	All or the following amount of my refund (line 125) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below, Type: Off
	Line 126: 
	 Direct deposit amount: 

	The remaining amount of my refund (line 125) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below, Routing number (9 digits): 
	The remaining amount of my refund (line 125) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below, Type: Off
	Line 127: 
	 Direct deposit amount (9 digits): 

	Your email address (optional): 
	 Enter only one email address: 

	SCHEDULE C A (540NR), Name(s) as shown on tax return: 
	SCHEDULE C A (540NR), S S N or I T I N (9 digits): 
	Part I, Line 1a: 
	 My California (C A) Residency (Check one), Myself: Off
	 Has the Internal Revenue Service (I R S) previously disallowed your federal Earned Income Credit (E I C)?: Off

	Section A, Line 1: 
	 Wages, salaries, tips, et cetera: 
	 See instructions before making an entry in column B or C, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 


	 Wages, salaries, tips, et cetera, A California Resident Amounts: 

	Line 4a: 
	 I R A distributions: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 4b: 
	 I R A distributions: 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 See instructions, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 See instructions, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 See instructions, C Total Combine column A and column B: 


	Line 5a: 
	 Pensions and annuities: 
	 See instructions: 

	 State and local income tax or general sales taxes, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Line 5b: 
	 Pensions and annuities: 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 See instructions, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 See instructions, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 See instructions, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 See instructions, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	 State and local real estate taxes, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 


	Line 6a: 
	 Social security benefits: 

	Line 6b: 
	 Social security benefits, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Social security benefits, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 


	Section B, Line 1: 
	 Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 


	Line 8a: 
	 Other income, Federal net operating loss, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Federal net operating loss, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Federal net operating loss, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Federal net operating loss, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Home mortgage interest and points reported to you on federal Form 1098, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Line 8b: 
	 Gambling income, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Gambling income, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Gambling income, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Gambling income, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Home mortgage interest not reported to you on federal Form 1098, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Home mortgage interest not reported to you on federal Form 1098, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Gambling, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Gambling, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Gambling, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8c: 
	 Cancellation of debt, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Cancellation of debt, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Cancellation of debt, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Cancellation of debt, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Points not reported to you on federal Form 1098, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Points not reported to you on federal Form 1098, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Line 8d: 
	 Foreign earned income exclusion from federal Form 2555, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Foreign earned income exclusion from federal Form 2555, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Foreign earned income exclusion from federal Form 2555, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Foreign earned income exclusion from federal Form 2555, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Mortgage insurance premiums, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Mortgage insurance premiums, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Foreign earned income exclusion from federal Form 2555, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Foreign earned income exclusion from federal Form 2555, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8e: 
	 Taxable Health Savings Account distribution, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Taxable Health Savings Account distribution, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Add line 8a through line 8d, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Add line 8a through line 8d, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Add line 8a through line 8d, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Line 8f: 
	 Alaska Permanent Fund dividends, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Alaska Permanent Fund dividends, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Alaska Permanent Fund dividends, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Alaska Permanent Fund dividends, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Alaska Permanent Fund dividends, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8g: 
	 Jury duty pay, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Jury duty pay, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Jury duty pay, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Jury duty pay, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Jury duty pay, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Jury duty pay, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8h: 
	 Prizes and awards, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Prizes and awards, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Prizes and awards, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Prizes and awards, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Prizes and awards, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Prizes and awards, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8i: 
	 Activity not engaged in for profit income, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Activity not engaged in for profit income, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Activity not engaged in for profit income, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Activity not engaged in for profit, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Activity not engaged in for profit, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Activity not engaged in for profit, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8j: 
	 Stock options, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Stock options, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Stock options, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Stock options, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Stock options, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8k: 
	 Income from the rental of personal property if you engaged in the rental for profit but were not in the business of renting such property, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Income from the rental of personal property if you engaged in the rental for profit but were not in the business of renting such property, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Income from the rental of personal property if you engaged in the rental for profit but were not in the business of renting such property, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Income from the rental of personal property if you engaged in the rental for profit but were not in the business of renting such property, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Income from the rental of personal property if you engaged in the rental for profit but were not in the business of renting such property, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Income from the rental of personal property if you engaged in the rental for profit but were not in the business of renting such property, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8l: 
	 Olympic and Paralympic medals and U S O C prize money, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Olympic and Paralympic medals and U S O C prize money, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Olympic and Paralympic medals and U S O C prize money, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Olympic and Paralympic medals and U S O C prize money, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Olympic and Paralympic medals and U S O C prize money, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Olympic and Paralympic medals and U S O C prize money, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8m: 
	 I R C Section 951(a) inclusion, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 I R C Section 951(a) inclusion, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 


	Line 8n: 
	 I R C Section 951A(a) inclusion, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 I R C Section 951A(a) inclusion, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 


	Line 8o: 
	 I R C Section 461(l) excess business loss adjustment, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 I R C Section 461(l) excess business loss adjustment, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 I R C Section 461(l) excess business loss adjustment, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 I R C Section 461(l) excess business loss adjustment, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 I R C Section 461(l) excess business loss adjustment, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 I R C Section 461(l) excess business loss adjustment, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 I R C Section 461(l) excess business loss adjustment, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8p: 
	 Taxable distributions from an A B L E account, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Taxable distributions from an A B L E account, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Taxable distributions from an A B L E account, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Taxable distributions from an A B L E account, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Taxable distributions from an A B L E account, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Taxable distributions from an A B L E account, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 8z: 
	 Other income: 
	 List type and amount: 
	 List type and amount, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 List type and amount, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 List type and amount, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 List type and amount, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 List type and amount, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	 income: 
	 List type and amount: 
	, A California Resident Amounts: 
	, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	, C Total Combine column A and column B: 


	Line 9b1: 
	 Disaster loss deduction from form F T B 3805V, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Disaster loss deduction from form F T B 3805V, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Disaster loss deduction from form F T B 3805V, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Disaster loss deduction from form F T B 3805V, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Disaster loss deduction from form F T B 3805V, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Disaster loss deduction from form F T B 3805V, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 9b2: 
	 N O L deduction from form F T B 3805V, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 N O L deduction from form F T B 3805V, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 N O L deduction from form F T B 3805V, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 N O L deduction from form F T B 3805V, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 N O L deduction from form F T B 3805V, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 N O L deduction from form F T B 3805V, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 9b3: 
	 N O L from form F T B 3805Z, F T B 3807, or F T B 3809, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 N O L from form F T B 3805Z, F T B 3807, or F T B 3809, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 N O L from form F T B 3805Z, F T B 3807, or F T B 3809, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 N O L from form F T B 3805Z, 3807, or 3809, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 N O L from form F T B 3805Z, 3807, or 3809, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 N O L from form F T B 3805Z, 3807, or 3809, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Line 9b4: 
	 Student loan discharged due to closure of a for-profit school, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Student loan discharged due to closure of a for-profit school, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Student loan discharged due to closure of a for-profit school, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Student loan discharged due to closure of a for-profit school, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Student loan discharged due to closure of a for-profit school, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Student loan discharged due to closure of a for-profit school, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Student loan discharged due to closure of a for-profit school, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	Section C, Line 11: 
	 Educator expenses, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 


	Line 19b: 
	 Enter recipients, S S N (9 digits): 
	 Enter recipients, Last name: 

	Line 19a: 
	 Alimony paid, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Alimony paid, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Alimony paid, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Alimony paid, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	Other Adjustments, Line 24a: 
	 Other adjustments: Jury duty pay, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 


	Line 24a: 
	 Jury duty pay, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Jury duty pay, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	Line 24b: 
	 Deductible expenses related to income reported on line 8k from the rental of personal property engaged in for profit, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Deductible expenses related to income reported on line 8k from the rental of personal property engaged in for profit, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Deductible expenses related to income reported on line 8k from the rental of personal property engaged in for profit, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Deductible expenses related to income reported on line 8k from the rental of personal property engaged in for profit, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Deductible expenses related to income reported on line 8k from the rental of personal property engaged in for profit, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	Line 24c: 
	 Nontaxable amount of the value of Olympic and Paralympic medals and U S O C prize money reported on line 8l, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Nontaxable amount of the value of Olympic and Paralympic medals and U S O C prize money reported on line 8l, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 


	Line 24d: 
	 Reforestation amortization and expenses, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Reforestation amortization and expenses, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Reforestation amortization and expenses, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	 Reforestation amortization and expenses, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 


	Line 24e: 
	 Repayment of supplemental unemployment benefits under the Trade Act of 1974, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Repayment of supplemental unemployment benefits under the Trade Act of 1974, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Repayment of supplemental unemployment benefits under the Trade Act of 1974, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	Line 24f: 
	 Contributions to I R C Section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Contributions to I R C Section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Contributions to I R C Section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Contributions to I R C Section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Contributions to I R C Section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	Line 24g: 
	 Contributions by certain chaplains to I R C Section 403(b) plans, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Contributions by certain chaplains to I R C Section 403(b) plans, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Contributions by certain chaplains to I R C Section 403(b) plans, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Contributions by certain chaplains to I R C Section 403(b) plans, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Contributions by certain chaplains to I R C Section 403(b) plans, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	Line 24h: 
	 Attorney fees and court costs for actions involving certain unlawful discrimination claims, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Attorney fees and court costs for actions involving certain unlawful discrimination claims, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Attorney fees and court costs for actions involving certain unlawful discrimination claims, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	Line 24i: 
	 Other adjustments Attorney fees and court costs you paid in connection with an award from the I R S for information you provided that helped the I R S detect tax law violations, A Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 
	 Other adjustments Attorney fees and court costs you paid in connection with an award from the I R S for information you provided that helped the I R S detect tax law violations, B Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	Line 24j: 
	 Other adjustments Housing deduction from federal Form 2555, A Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 
	 Other adjustments Housing deduction from federal Form 2555, B Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	Line 24k: 
	 Excess deductions of I R C Section 67(e) expenses from federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1041), A Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 
	 Excess deductions of I R C Section 67(e) expenses from federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1041), D Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 
	 Excess deductions of I R C Section 67(e) expenses from federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1041), E C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 

	Line 24z: 
	 Other adjustments: 
	 List type and amount: 

	 Other adjustments, A Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 
	 Other adjustments, B: 
	 Subtractions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Other adjustments, C: 
	 Additions See instructions (difference between C A & federal law): 

	 Other adjustments, D: 
	 Total Amounts Using C A Law As If You Were a C A Resident (subtract column B from column A; add column C to the result): 

	 Other adjustments, E: 
	 C A Amounts (income earned or received as a C A resident and income earned or received from C A sources as a nonresident): 


	Part III, Check the box if you did NOT itemize for federal but will itemize for California: Off
	Medical and Dental Expenses, Line 1: 
	 Medical and dental expenses: 

	Taxes You Paid, Line 5a: 
	 State and local income tax or general sales taxes, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 


	Line 5c: 
	 State and local personal property taxes, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 


	Line 5d: 
	 Add line 5a through line 5c, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 


	Line 5e: 
	 Enter the smaller of line 5d or $10,000 ($5,000 if married filing separately) in column A: 
	 Enter the amount from line 5a, column B in line 5e, column B: 
	 Enter the difference from line 5d and line 5e, column A in line 5e, column C, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Enter the difference from line 5d and line 5e, column A in line 5e, column C, B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Enter the difference from line 5d and line 5e, column A in line 5e, column C, C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 





	Interest You Paid, Line 8a: 
	 Home mortgage interest and points reported to you on federal Form 1098, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 


	Gifts to Charity, Line 11: 
	 Gifts by cash or check, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 


	Casualty and Theft Losses, Line 15: 
	 Casualty or theft loss(es) (other than net qualified disaster losses): 
	 Attach federal Form 4684: 
	 See instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 




	Other Itemized Deductions, Line 16: 
	 Other-from list in federal instructions, A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 


	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions, Line 19: 
	 Unreimbursed employee expenses, job travel, union dues, job education, et cetera: 
	 Attach federal Form 2106 if required: 
	 See instructions: 



	Line 24: 
	 Multiply line 23 by 2% (0: 
	02): 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 



	Part IV, Line 1: 
	 California A G I: 
	 Enter your California A G I from Part 2, line 23, column E: 


	Student Loan Interest Deduction Worksheet, Line 7: 
	 Subtract line 6 from line 5: 

	Itemized Deductions Worksheet, Line 7: 
	 Subtract line 6 from line 5: 

	Section B, Line 2a: 
	 Alimony received: 
	 See instructions, A California Resident Amounts: 


	Line 8C: 
	 Cancellation of debt, A California Resident Amounts: 
	 Cancellation of debt, B California Nonresident Amounts: 
	 Cancellation of debt, C Total Combine column A and column B: 

	SCHEDULE D (540NR), Name(s) as shown on return: 
	SCHEDULE D (540NR), S S N or I T I N (9 digits): 
	Line 1c: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1d: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1e: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1f: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1g: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1h: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1i: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1j: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1k: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1l: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1m: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1n: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1o: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1p: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1q: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1r: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1s: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1t: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1u: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 1v: 
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 

	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 


	Line 12a: 
	 If line 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule C A (540NR), Part II, Section A, line 7, column B: 

	Line 12b: 
	 If line 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule C A (540NR), Part II, Section A, line 7, column C: 

	California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet For Full, Year Residents, Line 1: 
	 Loss from Schedule D (540NR), line 11, stated as a positive number: 

	California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet For Full-Year Residents, Line 2: 
	 Amount from Form 540NR, line 17: 

	California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet For Full-Year Residents, Line 3: 
	 Amount from Form 540NR, line 18: 

	California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet For Full-Year Residents, Line 4: 
	 Subtract line 3 from line 2: 
	 If less than zero, enter as a negative amount: 


	California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet For Full-Year Residents, Line 5: 
	 Combine line 1 and line 4: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 


	California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet For Full-Year Residents, Line 6: 
	 Enter loss from Schedule D (540NR), line 8 as a positive number: 

	California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet For Full-Year Residents, Line 7: 
	 Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5: 

	California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet For Full-Year Residents, Line 8: 
	 Subtract line 7 from line 6: 
	 This is your capital loss carryover to 2022: 


	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet, Line 1: 
	 Enter the total loss from the Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet, line 5, as a positive number: 

	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet, Line 2: 
	 Amount from Form 540NR, line 17: 

	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet, Line 3: 
	 Amount from Form 540NR, line 18: 

	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet, Line 4: 
	 Subtract line 3 from line 2: 
	 If less than zero, enter as a negative amount: 


	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet, Line 5: 
	 Combine line 1 and line 4: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 


	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet, Line 6: 
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