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Important Dates 
When the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline to file and pay without penalty is extended to the next business day. 

April 15, 2021* Last day to file and pay the 2020 amount you owe to avoid penalties and interest.*See form FTB 3519 for more information.
*If you are living or traveling outside the United States on April 15, 2021, the dates for filing your tax return and paying  
your tax are different. See form FTB 3519 for more information.

October 15, 2021 Last day to file or e-file your 2020 tax return to avoid a late filing penalty and interest computed from the original due date 
of April 15, 2021.

April 15, 2021 
June 15, 2021 
September 15, 2021 
January 18, 2022 

The dates for 2021 estimated tax payments. Generally, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if the total of your 
California withholdings is 90% of your required annual payment. Also, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if 
you will pay enough through withholding to keep the amount you owe with your tax return under $500 ($250 if married/ 
registered domestic partner (RDP) filing separately). However, if you do not pay enough tax either through withholding 
or by making estimated tax payments, you may have an underpayment penalty. See Form 540-ES instructions for more 
information.
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$$$ for You 
Earned Income Tax Credit 

	• Federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EIC) – EIC reduces your federal 
tax obligation, or allows a refund if no federal tax is due. You may 
qualify if you earned less than $50,954 ($56,844 if married filing 
jointly) and have qualifying children or you have no qualifying 
children and you earned less than $15,820 ($21,710 if married 
filing jointly). Go to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) website at 
irs.gov/taxtopics and choose topic 601, get the federal income tax 
booklet, or go to irs.gov and search for eitc assistant.

	• California Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) – EITC reduces your 
California tax obligation, or allows a refund if no California tax is due. 
You may qualify if you have wage income earned in California and/or 
net earnings from self‑employment of less than $30,001. You do 
not need a child to qualify. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov 
and search for eitc or get form FTB 3514, California Earned Income 
Tax Credit.

Young Child Tax Credit 
	• Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC) – YCTC reduces your California tax 

obligation, or allows a refund if no California tax is due. You may 
qualify for the credit if you qualified for the CA EITC and you have 
at least one qualifying child who is younger than six years old as 
of the last day of the taxable year. For more information, see the 
instructions for Form 540, line 76, and get form FTB 3514.

Refund of Excess State Disability Insurance (SDI) – If you worked for 
at least two employers during 2020 who together paid you more than 
$122,909 in wages, you may qualify for a refund of excess SDI. See the 
instructions on page 17.

Common Errors and How to Prevent Them 
Help us process your tax return quickly and accurately. When we find an 
error, it requires us to stop to verify the information on the tax return, 
which slows processing. The most common errors consist of: 

	• Claiming the wrong amount of estimated tax payments.
	• Claiming the wrong amount of standard deduction or itemized 

deductions.
	• Claiming a dependent already claimed on another return.
	• The amount of refund or payments made on an original return does 

not match our records when amending your tax return.

	• Claiming the wrong amount of withholding by incorrectly totaling or 
transferring the amounts from your federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax 
Statement.

	• Claiming the wrong amount of real estate withholding. 
	• Claiming the wrong amount of SDI.
	• Claiming the wrong amount of exemption credits.

To avoid errors and help process your tax return faster, use these helpful 
hints when preparing your tax return.
Claiming estimated tax payments: 

	• Verify the amount of estimated tax payments claimed on your tax 
return matches what you sent to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) for 
that year. Go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB to view 
your total estimated tax payments before you file your tax return.

	• Verify the overpayment amount from your 2019 tax return you 
requested to be applied to your 2020 estimated tax. 

Claiming state disability insurance: 
	• Verify the amount of SDI used to figure the amount of excess SDI 

claimed on Form 540, line 74, matches amounts from your W-2’s.
Claiming standard deduction or itemized deductions: 

	• See Form 540, line 18 instructions and worksheets for the amount of 
standard deduction or itemized deductions you can claim.

Claiming withholding amounts: 
	• Go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB to verify withheld 

amount or see instructions for line 71 of Form 540. Confirm only 
California income tax withheld is claimed.

	• Verify real estate or other withholding amount from Form 592-B, 
Resident and Nonresident Withholding Statement, and Form 593, 
Real Estate Withholding Statement. See instructions for line 73 of 
Form 540.

Claiming refund or payments made on an original return when 
amending your tax return: 

	• Go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB to check tax return 
records for refund or payments made.

	• Verify the amount from your original return Form 540, line 115 and 
include any adjustment by FTB. 

Use e-file: 
	• By using e-file, you can eliminate many common errors. Go to 

ftb.ca.gov and search for efile options.



Personal Income Tax Booklet 2020 (REV 03-22)  Page 3

Requirements for Children with Investment Income 
California law conforms to federal law which allows parents’ election to 
report a child’s interest and dividend income from children under age 19 
or a student under age 24 on the parent’s tax return. For each child 
under age 19 or student under age 24 who received more than $2,200 of 
investment income in 2020, complete Form 540 and form FTB 3800, Tax 
Computation for Certain Children with Unearned Income, to figure the 
tax on a separate Form 540 for your child.
If you qualify, you may elect to report your child’s income of $11,000 or 
less (but not less than $1,100) on your tax return by completing form 
FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. 
To make this election, your child’s income must be only from interest 
and/or dividends. To get forms FTB 3800 or FTB 3803, see “Order Forms 
and Publications” or go to ftb.ca.gov/forms.

Other Situations When You Must File 
If you have a tax liability for 2020 or owe any of the following taxes for 
2020, you must file Form 540.
• Tax on a lump-sum distribution.
• Tax on a qualified retirement plan including an Individual Retirement 

Arrangement (IRA) or an Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA).

	

• Tax for children under age 19 or student under age 24 who have 
investment income greater than $2,200 (see paragraph above).

• Alternative minimum tax.
• Recapture taxes.
• Deferred tax on certain installment obligations.
• Tax on an accumulation distribution from a trust.

Filing Status 
Use the same filing status for California that you used for your federal 
income tax return, unless you are a registered domestic partnership 
(RDP). If you are an RDP and file single for federal, you must file 
married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately for California. 
If you are an RDP and file head of household for federal purposes, you 
may file head of household for California purposes only if you meet 
the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered not in a 
domestic partnership.
Exception: If you file a joint tax return for federal purposes, you may file 
separately for California if either spouse was either of the following: 
• An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary 

military branch during 2020.

• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California 
sources during 2020.
Community Property States: If the spouse earning the California 
source income is domiciled in a community property state, 
community income will be split equally between the spouses. Both 
spouses will have California source income and they will not qualify 
for the nonresident spouse exception.

If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for 
California that you would have used to file a federal income tax return.
If you filed a joint tax return and either you or your spouse/RDP was 
a nonresident for 2020, file Form 540NR, California Nonresident or 
Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.
Single 
You are single if any of the following was true on December 31, 2020: 
• You were not married or an RDP.
• You were divorced under a final decree of divorce, legally separated 

under a final decree of legal separation, or terminated your registered 
domestic partnership.

• You were widowed before January 1, 2020, and did not remarry or 
enter into another registered domestic partnership in 2020.

Married/RDP Filing Jointly 
You may file married/RDP filing jointly if any of the following is true: 
• You were married or an RDP as of December 31, 2020, even if you 

did not live with your spouse/RDP at the end of 2020.
• Your spouse/RDP died in 2020 and you did not remarry or enter into 

another registered domestic partnership in 2020.
• Your spouse/RDP died in 2021 before you filed a 2020 tax return.
Married/RDP Filing Separately 
• Community property rules apply to the division of income if you 

use the married/RDP filing separately status. For more information, 
get FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status, 
FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners, or 
FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel. To get forms 
see “Order Forms and Publications” or go to ftb.ca.gov/forms. 

• You cannot claim a personal exemption credit for your spouse/RDP 
even if your spouse/RDP had no income, is not filing a tax return, 
and is not claimed as a dependent on another person’s tax return.

• You may be able to file as head of household if your child lived with 
you and you lived apart from your spouse/RDP during the entire last 
six months of 2020.

On 12/31/20, 
my filing status was: 

and on 12/31/20, 
my age was: 
(If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 
2021, you are considered to be age 65 on 
December 31, 2020) 

California Gross Income 
Dependents 

0

California Adjusted Gross Income 
Dependents 

01 
2 

or more 1 
2 

or more 

Single or 
Head of household 

Under 65
65 or older

18,496
24,696

31,263
34,271

40,838
41,931

14,797
20,997

27,564
30,572

37,139 
38,232 

Married/RDP filing jointly 
Married/RDP filing separately 
(The income of both spouses/RDPs must 
be combined; both spouses/RDPs may be 
required to file a tax return even if only one 
spouse/RDP had income over the amounts 
listed.) 

Under 65 (both spouses/RDPs)
65 or older (one spouse/RDP)
65 or older (both spouses/RDPs)

36,996
43,196
49,396

49,763
52,771
58,971

59,338
60,431
66,631

29,599
35,799
41,999

42,366
45,374
51,574

51,941 
53,034 
59,234 

Qualifying widow(er) Under 65
65 or older

31,263
34,271

40,838
41,931

27,564
30,572

37,139 
38,232 

Dependent of another person 
Any filing status 

Any age More than your standard deduction (Use the California Standard Deduction 
Worksheet for Dependents on page 13 to figure your standard deduction.) 

Steps to Determine Filing Requirement 
Step 1: Is your gross income (all income received from all sources in the 
form of money, goods, property, and services that are not exempt from 
tax) more than the amount shown in the California Gross Income chart 
below for your filing status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you 
have a filing requirement. If no, go to Step 2.
Step 2: Is your adjusted gross income (federal adjusted gross 
income from all sources reduced or increased by all California income 
adjustments) more than the amount shown in the California Adjusted 
Gross Income chart below for your filing status, age, and number of 
dependents? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, go to Step 3.

Step 3: If your income is less than the amounts on the chart you may 
still have a filing requirement. See “Requirements for Children with 
Investment Income” and “Other Situations When You Must File.” Do 
those instructions apply to you? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If 
no, go to Step 4.
Step 4: Are you married/RDP filing separately with separate property 
income? If no, you do not have a filing requirement. If yes, prepare a tax 
return. If you owe tax, you have a filing requirement.

Do I Have to File? 
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What’s New and Other Important Information for 2020 
Differences between California and Federal Law 
In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, 
California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of 
January 1, 2015. However, there are continuing differences between 
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law 
changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal 
level. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. 
Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental 
Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California 
Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments – Residents, and the 
Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most 
useful to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. 
It is not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue 
and Taxation Code (R&TC) in the instructions. Taxpayers should not 
consider the instructions as authoritative law.
Conformity – For updates regarding federal acts, go to ftb.ca.gov and 
search for conformity.

2020 Tax Law Changes/What’s New 
American Rescue Plan Unemployment Compensation – The American 
Rescue Plan Act of 2021 enacted on March 11, 2021, allows an exclusion 
from income up to $10,200 of unemployment compensation paid in 2020, 
if your modified adjusted gross income (AGI) is less than $150,000. In 
general, California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) does not conform 
to the changes. For California purposes, all unemployment compensation 
is excluded from income. For specific adjustments due to the American 
Rescue Plan Act of 2021 unemployment compensation exclusion, see 
Schedule CA (540) instructions.
California Microbusiness COVID-19 Relief Grant – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023, 
California law allows an exclusion from gross income for grant allocations 
received by a taxpayer pursuant to the California Microbusiness COVID-19 
Relief Program that is administered by the Office of Small Business 
Advocate (CalOSBA). For more information, see R&TC Section 17158.1 
and Schedule CA (540) instructions.
Shuttered Venue Operator Grant – For taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2019, California law allows an exclusion from gross 
income for amounts awarded as a shuttered venue operator grant under 
the federal Consolidated Appropriations Act (CAA), 2021. The CAA, 2021, 
allows deductions for eligible expenses paid for with grant amounts. 
California law conforms to this federal provision, with modifications. For 
California purposes, these deductions do not apply to an ineligible entity. 
“Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that is either a publicly-traded company 
or does not meet the 25% reduction from gross receipts requirements 
under Section 311 of Division N of the CAA, 2021. For more information, 
see R&TC Section 17158.3 and Schedule CA (540) instructions.

Head of Household 
For the specific requirements that must be met to qualify for head of 
household (HOH) filing status, get FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of 
Household Filing Status. In general, HOH filing status is for unmarried 
individuals and certain married individuals or RDPs living apart who 
provide a home for a specified relative. You may be entitled to use HOH 
filing status if all of the following apply: 

	• You were unmarried and not in a registered domestic partnership, or 
you met the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered 
not in a registered domestic partnership on December 31, 2020.

	• You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up your home for 
the year in 2020.

	• For more than half the year, your home was the main home for you 
and one of the specified relatives who by law can qualify you for HOH 
filing status.

	• You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.
For a child to qualify as your foster child for HOH purposes, the child 
must either be placed with you by an authorized placement agency or by 
order of a court.
California requires taxpayers who use HOH filing status to file form 
FTB 3532, Head of Household Filing Status Schedule, to report how the 
HOH filing status was determined.

Beginning in tax year 2018, if you do not attach a completed form 
FTB 3532 to your tax return, we will deny your HOH filing status. For 
more information about the HOH filing requirements, go to ftb.ca.gov 
and search for hoh. To get form FTB 3532, see “Order Forms and 
Publications” or go to ftb.ca.gov/forms. 
Qualifying Widow(er) 
Check the box on Form 540, line 5 and use the joint return tax rates for 
2020 if all five of the following apply: 

	• Your spouse/RDP died in 2018 or 2019 and you did not remarry or 
enter into another registered domestic partnership in 2020.

	• You have a child, stepchild, or adopted child (not a foster child) 
whom you can claim as a dependent or could claim as a dependent 
except that, for 2020: 

	> The child had gross income of $4,300 or more; 
	> The child filed a joint return, or 
	> You could be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s return.

	 If the child isn’t claimed as your dependent, enter the child’s name in 	
	 the entry space under the “Qualifying widow(er)” filing status.

	• This child lived in your home for all of 2020. Temporary absences, 
such as for vacation or school, count as time lived in the home.

	• You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for this child.
	• You could have filed a joint tax return with your spouse/RDP the year 

he or she died, even if you actually did not do so.

California Venues Grant – For taxable years beginning on or after 
September 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2030, California law allows an 
exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by a taxpayer 
pursuant to the California Venues Grant Program that is administered by 
CalOSBA . For more information, see R&TC Section 17158 and Schedule 
CA (540) instructions.
Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant Program – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2030, California 
allows an exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by 
a taxpayer pursuant to the COVID-19 Relief Grant under Executive Order 
No. E 20/21-182 and the California Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant 
Program established by Section 12100.83 of the Government Code. For 
more information, see Schedule CA (540) instructions.
Income Exclusion for Rent Forgiveness – For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2025, gross income 
shall not include a tenant’s rent liability that is forgiven by a landlord or 
rent forgiveness provided through funds grantees received as a direct 
allocation from the Secretary of the Treasury based on the federal 
Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021. For more information, see 
Schedule CA (540) instructions.
Resident State Tax Filers List – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, taxpayers will include on their Form 540 the address 
and county of their principal residence as part of the FTB’s annual 
reporting requirements to the jury commissioner. Taxpayers that are 
required to provide this information include persons who are 18 years of 
age or older and have filed a California resident income tax return for the 
preceding taxable year. The list of resident state tax filers will be used as 
one of the source lists for jury selection by the jury commissioner’s office. 
For more information, see specific line instructions or California R&TC 
Sections 19548.4 and 19585.
Dependent Exemption Credit with No ID – For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2018, taxpayers claiming a dependent exemption 
credit for a dependent who is ineligible for a Social Security Number (SSN) 
and a federal Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) may provide 
alternative information to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to identify the 
dependent. To claim the dependent exemption credit, taxpayers complete 
form FTB 3568, Alternative Identifying Information for the Dependent 
Exemption Credit, attach the form and required documentation to their tax 
return, and write “no id” in the SSN field of line 10, Dependents, on Form 
540, California Resident Income Tax Return. For each dependent being 
claimed that does not have an SSN and an ITIN, a form FTB 3568 must be 
provided along with supporting documentation.
Taxpayers may amend their 2018 and 2019 tax returns to claim the 
dependent exemption credit. For more information on how to amend your tax 
returns, see “Instructions for Filing a 2020 Amended Return” on page 29.
Federal Acts – The federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic 
Security (CARES) Act was enacted on March 27, 2020, and the Setting 
Every Community Up for Retirement Enhancement (SECURE) Act was 
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enacted on December 20, 2019. In general, R&TC does not conform to the 
changes under these federal acts. California taxpayers continue to follow 
the IRC as of the specified date of January 1, 2015, with modifications. 
For specific adjustments due to the CARES Act and SECURE Act, see the 
Schedule CA (540) instructions.
Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) Loans Forgiveness – For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, California law allows an 
exclusion from gross income for covered loan amounts forgiven under 
the federal CARES Act, Paycheck Protection Program and Health Care 
Enhancement Act, Paycheck Protection Program Flexibility Act of 2020, 
or the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021.
The Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, allows deductions for 
eligible expenses paid for with covered loan amounts. California law 
conforms to this federal provision, with modifications. For California 
purposes, these deductions do not apply to an ineligible entity. 
“Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that is either a publicly-traded 
company or does not meet the 25% reduction from gross receipts 
requirements under Section 311 of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 
2021. For more information, see specific line instructions for Schedule 
CA (540) in Part I, Section B, line 3 or R&TC Section 17131.8.
Revenue Procedure 2021-20 allows taxpayers to make an election to 
report the eligible expense deductions related to a PPP loan on a timely 
filed original 2021 tax return including extensions. If a taxpayer makes an 
election for federal purposes, California will follow the federal treatment 
for California tax purposes.
Advance Grant Amount – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, California law conforms to the federal law regarding 
the treatment for an emergency Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) 
grant under the federal CARES Act or a targeted EIDL advance under the 
Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021.
Other Loan Forgiveness – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, California law allows an exclusion from gross income 
for borrowers of forgiveness of indebtedness described in Section 
1109(d)(2)(D) of the federal CARES Act as stated by section 278, 
Division N of the federal CAA, 2021. The CAA, 2021, allows deductions 
for eligible expenses paid for with covered loan amounts. California law 
conforms to this federal provision, with modifications. For California 
purposes, these deductions generally do not apply to an ineligible 
entity. “Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that is either a publicly-
traded company or does not meet the 25% reduction from gross 
receipts requirements under Section 311 of the CAA, 2021. For more 
information, see Schedule CA (540) instructions or go to ftb.ca.gov and 
search for AB 80.
CARES Act Qualified Employer Plan Loans – For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2020, California conforms to the qualified 
employer plan loans provision under the federal CARES Act which 
temporarily increases the amount of loans allowable from a qualified 
employer plan to $100,000 for coronavirus-related relief and delays by 
one year the due date for any repayment for an outstanding loan from a 
qualified employer plan if requirements are met.
Main Street Small Business Tax Credit – For the taxable year 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2021, a 
Main Street Small Business Tax Credit is available to a qualified small 
business employer that received a tentative credit reservation from the 
California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA). For more 
information, get form FTB 3866, Main Street Small Business Tax Credit.
Expansion for Credits Eligibility – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, California expanded EITC and YCTC eligibility to allow either 
the federal ITIN or the SSN to be used by all eligible individuals, their spouses, 
and qualifying children. If an ITIN is used, eligible individuals should provide 
identifying documents upon request of the FTB. Any valid SSN can be used, 
not only those that are valid for work. Additionally, upon receiving a valid SSN, 
the individual should notify the FTB in the time and manner prescribed by the 
FTB. The YCTC is available if the eligible individual or spouse has a qualifying 
child younger than six years old. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and 
search for eitc, or get form FTB 3514.
Worker Status: Employees and Independent Contractors – Some 
individuals may be classified as independent contractors for federal 
purposes and employees for California purposes, which may also cause 
changes in how their income and deductions are classified. For more 
information, see the instructions for Schedule CA (540).
Minimum Essential Coverage Individual Mandate – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, California requires residents and 
their dependents to obtain and maintain minimum essential coverage 
(MEC), also referred to as qualifying health care coverage. Individuals 

who fail to maintain qualifying health care coverage for any month 
during taxable year 2020 will be subject to a penalty unless they qualify 
for an exemption. For more information, see specific line instructions 
for Form 540, lines 64, 77, and 92, or get the following new health care 
forms, instructions, and publications: 

	• Form FTB 3849, Premium Assistance Subsidy 
	• Form FTB 3853, Health Coverage Exemptions and Individual Shared 

Responsibility Penalty 
	• Form FTB 3895, California Health Insurance Marketplace Statement 
	• Publication 3849A, Premium Assistance Subsidy (PAS) 
	• Publication 3895B, California Instructions for Filing Federal Forms 

1094-B and 1095-B 
	• Publication 3895C, California Instructions for Filing Federal Forms 

1094-C and 1095-C 
Rental Real Estate Activities – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, the dollar limitation for the offset for rental real estate 
activities shall not apply to the low income housing credit program. 
For more information, see R&TC Section 17561(d)(1). Get form 
FTB 3801-CR, Passive Activity Credit Limitations, for more information.
R&TC Section 41 Reporting Requirements – Beginning in taxable 
year 2020, California allows individuals and other taxpayers operating 
under the personal income tax law to claim credits and deductions 
of business expenses paid or incurred during the taxable year in 
conducting commercial cannabis activity. Sole proprietors conducting 
a commercial cannabis activity that is licensed under California 
Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act should file 
form FTB 4197, Information on Tax Expenditure Items. The FTB uses 
information from form FTB 4197 for reports required by the California 
Legislature. Get form FTB 4197 for more information.
Net Operating Loss Suspension – For taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023, California has 
suspended the net operating loss (NOL) carryover deduction. Taxpayers 
may continue to compute and carryover an NOL during the suspension 
period. However, taxpayers with net business income or modified 
adjusted gross income of less than $1,000,000 or with disaster loss 
carryovers are not affected by the NOL suspension rules.
The carryover period for suspended losses is extended by: 

	• Three years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning before 
January 1, 2020.

	• Two years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2021.

	• One year for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2021, and before January 1, 2022.

For more information, see R&TC Section 17276.23, and get form FTB 
3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster 
Loss Limitations – Individuals, Estates, and Trusts.
Excess Business Loss Limitation – The federal CARES Act made 
amendments to IRC Section 461(l) by eliminating the excess business 
loss limitation of noncorporate taxpayers for taxable year 2020 and 
retroactively removing the limitation for taxable years 2018 and 2019. 
California does not conform to those amendments. For taxable year 
2020, complete form FTB 3461, California Limitation on Business 
Losses, if you are a noncorporate taxpayer and your net losses from 
all of your trades or businesses are more than $259,000 ($518,000 for 
married taxpayers filing a joint return). For more information, get form 
FTB 3461 and the instructions for Schedule CA (540).
Program 3.0 California Motion Picture and Television Production 
Credit – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, 
California R&TC Section 17053.98 allows a third film credit, 
program 3.0, against tax. The credit is allocated and certified by the 
California Film Commission (CFC). The qualified taxpayer can: 

	• Offset the credit against income tax liability.
	• Sell the credit to an unrelated party (independent films only).
	• Assign the credit to an affiliated corporation.
	• Apply the credit against qualified sales and use taxes.

For more information, get form FTB 3541, California Motion Picture and 
Television Production Credit, form FTB 3551, Sale of Credit Attributable 
to an Independent Film, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for motion picture, 
or go to the CFC website at film.ca.gov and search for incentives.
Business Credit Limitation – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023, there is a $5,000,000 
limitation on the application of business credits for taxpayers. The total 
of all business credits including the carryover of any business credit for 
the taxable year may not reduce the “net tax” by more than $5,000,000. 
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Business credits should be applied against “net tax” before other credits. 
Business credits disallowed due to the limitation may be carried over. The 
carryover period for disallowed credits is extended by the number of taxable 
years the credit was not allowed. For more information, get Schedule P 
(540), Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations – Residents.
Natural Heritage Preservation Credit – The Natural Heritage 
Preservation Credit expired on June 30, 2020. All qualified contributions 
must be made on or before that date. For more information, get form 
FTB 3503, Natural Heritage Preservation Credit.
New Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables Credit – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2022, 
the list of qualified donation items has been expanded to include raw 
agricultural products and processed foods. For more information, get 
form FTB 3814, New Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables Credit.

Other Important Information 
Loophole Closure and Small Business and Working Families Tax 
Relief Act of 2019 – The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) signed into law 
on December 22, 2017, made changes to the IRC. California R&TC does 
not conform to all of the changes. In general, for taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2019, California conforms to the following TCJA 
provisions: 

	• California Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program 
	• Student loan discharged on account of death or disability 
	• Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) Premiums 
	• Excess employee compensation 
	• Excess business loss 

Like-Kind Exchanges – The TCJA amended IRC Section 1031 
limiting the nonrecognition of gain or loss on like-kind exchanges 
to real property held for productive use or investment. California 
conforms to this change under the TCJA for exchanges initiated after 
January 10, 2019. However, for California purposes, with regard to 
individuals, this limitation only applies to: 

	• A taxpayer who is a head of household, a surviving spouse, or 
spouse filing a joint return with adjusted gross income (AGI) of 
$500,000 or more for the taxable year in which the exchange begins. 

	• Any other taxpayer filing an individual return with AGI of $250,000 or 
more for the taxable year in which the exchange begins.

Get Schedule D-1, Sales of Business Property, for more information.
California requires taxpayers who exchange property located in 
California for like‑kind property located outside of California under 
IRC Section 1031, to file an annual information return with the FTB. For 
more information, get form FTB 3840, California Like‑Kind Exchanges, 
or go to ftb.ca.gov and search for like kind.
Young Child Tax Credit – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, the refundable YCTC is available to taxpayers who 
also qualify for the California EITC and who have at least one qualifying 
child who is younger than six years old as of the last day of the taxable 
year. The maximum amount of credit allowable for a qualified taxpayer 
is $1,000. The credit amount phases out as earned income exceeds the 
threshold amount of $25,000, and completely phases out at $30,000. 
For more information, see the instructions for line 76 of Form 540, 
California Resident Income Tax Return and get form FTB 3514.
Net Operating Loss Carrybacks – For taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2019, net operating loss carrybacks are not allowed. 
Alimony – California law does not conform to changes made by the 
TCJA to federal law regarding alimony and separate maintenance 
payments that are not deductible by the payor spouse, and are not 
includable in the income of the receiving spouse, if made under any 
divorce or separation agreement executed after December 31, 2018, or 
executed on or before December 31, 2018, and modified after that date 
(if the modification expressly provides that the amendments apply). See 
Schedule CA (540) specific line instructions for more information. 
Small Business Accounting/Percentage of Completion Method – For 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, California law 
generally conforms to the TCJA’s definition of small businesses as 
taxpayers whose average annual gross receipts over three years do 
not exceed $25 million. These small businesses are exempt from the 
requirement of using the Percentage of Completion Method of accounting 
for any construction contract if the contract is estimated to be completed 
within two years from the date the contract was entered into. A taxpayer 
may elect to apply the provision regarding accounting for long term 
contracts to contracts entered into on or after January 1, 2018.

Student Loan Discharged Due to Closure of a For-Profit School – 
California law allows an income exclusion for an eligible individual 
who is granted a discharge of any student loan under specified 
conditions. This income exclusion has now been expanded to include 
a discharge of student loans occurring on or after January 1, 2019, 
and before January 1, 2024, for individuals who attended a Brightwood 
College school or a location of The Art Institute of California. 
Additional information can be found in the instructions for California 
Schedule CA (540).
Charitable Contribution and Business Expense Deductions 
Disallowance – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, 
California law disallows a charitable contribution deduction to an 
educational organization that is a postsecondary institution or to the Key 
Worldwide Foundation, and a deduction for a business expense related 
to a payment to the Edge College and Career Network, LLC, to a taxpayer 
who meets specific conditions, including that they are named in any of 
several specified criminal complaints. For taxable years 2014 through 
2019, file an amended Form 540 and Schedule X, California Explanation 
of Amended Return Changes, to report the correct amount of charitable 
contribution and business expense deductions, as applicable. 
Additional information can be found in the instructions of California 
Schedule CA (540).
Real Estate Withholding Statement – Effective January 1, 2020, the 
real estate withholding forms and instructions have been consolidated 
into one new Form 593, Real Estate Withholding Statement. For more 
information, get Form 593.
California Earned Income Tax Credit – For taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2018, the age limit for an eligible individual without a 
qualifying child is revised to 18 years or older. For more information, go 
to ftb.ca.gov and search for eitc or get form FTB 3514.  
Native American Earned Income Exemption – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, federally recognized tribal 
members living in California Indian country who earn income from any 
federally recognized California Indian country are exempt from California 
taxation. This exemption applies only to earned income. Enrolled tribal 
members who receive per capita income must reside in their affiliated 
tribe’s Indian country to qualify for tax exempt status. Additional 
information can be found in the instructions for Schedule CA (540) and 
form FTB 3504, Enrolled Tribal Member Certification. 
IRC Section 965 Deferred Foreign Income – Under federal law, if you 
own (directly or indirectly) certain foreign corporations, you may have to 
include on your return certain deferred foreign income. California does not 
conform. For more information, see the Schedule CA (540) instructions.
Global Intangible Low-Taxed Income (GILTI) Under IRC Section 951A – 
Under federal law, if you are a U.S. shareholder of a controlled foreign 
corporation, you must include your GILTI in your income. California 
does not conform. For more information, see the Schedule CA (540) 
instructions. 
Wrongful Incarceration Exclusion – California law conforms to 
federal law excluding from gross income certain amounts received by 
wrongfully incarcerated individuals for taxable years beginning before, 
on, or after January 1, 2018. If you included income for wrongful 
incarceration in a prior taxable year, you can file an amended California 
personal income tax return for that year. If the normal statute of 
limitations has expired, you must file a claim by January 1, 2019.
College Access Tax Credit – For taxable years beginning on and after 
January 1, 2017, and before January 1, 2023, the College Access 
Tax Credit (CATC) is available to entities awarded the credit from the 
California Educational Facilities Authority (CEFA). The credit is 50% 
of the amount contributed by the taxpayer for the taxable year to the 
College Access Tax Credit Fund. The amount of the credit is allocated 
and certified by the CEFA. For more information, go to the CEFA website 
at treasurer.ca.gov and search for catc.
Schedule X, California Explanation of Amended Return Changes – For 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, use Schedule X to 
determine any additional amount you owe or refund due to you, and to 
provide reason(s) for amending your previously filed income tax return.  
For additional information, see “Instructions for Filing a 2020 Amended 
Return” on page 29.
Improper Withholding on Severance Paid to Veterans – The 
Combat‑Injured Veterans Tax Fairness Act of 2016 gives veterans who 
retired from the Armed Forces for medical reasons additional time 
to claim a refund if they had taxes improperly withheld from their 
severance pay. If you filed an amended return with the IRS on this issue, 
you have two years to file your amended California return.
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Low-Income Housing Credit-Allocation to Partners – The sunset date 
for the requirement that a partnership allocate the low-income housing 
credits (LIHC) among partners based upon the partnership agreement 
was removed.
Sale of Credit – The sunset date regarding the provision that a taxpayer 
may make an election to sell all or any portion of the LIHC subject to 
certain conditions was removed. A taxpayer may make a one-time 
revocation of the election to sell all or any portion of the LIHC at any 
time before the California Tax Credit Allocation Committee (CTCAC) 
allocates a final credit amount for a project, at which point, the election 
would become irrevocable.
California Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program – For 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, the California 
Qualified ABLE Program was established and California generally 
conforms to the federal income tax treatment of ABLE accounts. 
This program was established to help blind or disabled U.S. residents 
save money in a tax-favored ABLE account to maintain health, 
independence, and quality of life. Additional information can be found in 
the instructions of form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans 
(Including IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored Accounts.
New California Motion Picture and Television Production Credit – For 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, a new California 
motion picture and television production credit will be allowed to a 
qualified taxpayer. The credit is allocated and certified by the California 
Film Commission (CFC). The qualified taxpayer can: 

	• Offset the credit against income tax liability.
	• Sell the credit to an unrelated party (independent films only).
	• Assign the credit to an affiliated corporation.
	• Apply the credit against qualified sales and use taxes.

For more information, get form FTB 3541, form FTB 3551, go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for motion picture, or go to the CFC website at 
film.ca.gov and search for incentives.
Electronic Funds Withdrawal (EFW) – Make extension or estimated tax 
payments using tax preparation software. Check with your software provider 
to determine if they support EFW for extension or estimated tax payments.
Payments and Credits Applied to Use Tax – For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2015, if a taxpayer includes use tax on their 
personal income tax return, payments and credits will be applied to use 
tax first, then towards income tax, interest, and penalties. Additional 
information can be found in the instructions for California Form 540.
Dependent Social Security Number – Taxpayers claiming an exemption 
credit must write each dependent’s SSN in the spaces provided within 
line 10 for the California Form 540. If you are claiming an exemption 
credit for a dependent who is ineligible for an SSN and a federal ITIN, 
you may complete and provide form FTB 3568 with required 
documentation attached to the tax return and write “no id” in the SSN 
field of line 10. For more information, see Form 540 specific instructions 
for line 10 and get form FTB 3568.
Financial Incentive for Seismic Improvement – Taxpayers can exclude 
from gross income any amount received as loan forgiveness, grant, 
credit, rebate, voucher, or other financial incentive issued by the California 
Residential Mitigation Program or the California Earthquake Authority to 
assist a residential property owner or occupant with expenses paid, or 
obligations incurred, for earthquake loss mitigation. Additional information 
can be found in the instructions for California Schedule CA (540).
Disaster Losses – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2024, taxpayers may deduct 
a disaster loss for any loss sustained in any city, county, or city and 
county in California that is proclaimed by the Governor to be in a state 
of emergency. For these Governor-only declared disasters, subsequent 
state legislation is not required to activate the disaster loss provisions. 
Additional information can be found in the instructions for California 
form FTB 3805V.
Penalty Assessed by Professional Sports League – An owner of all or 
part of a professional sports franchise will not be allowed a deduction for the 
amount of any fine or penalty paid or incurred, that was assessed or imposed 
by the professional sports league that includes that franchise. Additional 
information can be found in the instructions for California Schedule CA (540).
New Employment Credit – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2026, the New Employment 
Credit (NEC) is available to a qualified taxpayer that hires a qualified 
full-time employee on or after January 1, 2014, and pays or incurs 
qualified wages attributable to work performed by the qualified full‑time 
employee in a designated census tract or economic development 

area, and receives a tentative credit reservation for that qualified 
full‑time employee. In addition, an annual certification of employment 
is required with respect to each qualified full-time employee hired in 
a previous taxable year. In order to be allowed a credit, the qualified 
taxpayer must have a net increase in the total number of full-time 
employees in California. Any credits not used in the taxable year may be 
carried forward up to five years. If a qualified employee is terminated 
within the first 36 months after beginning employment, the employer 
may be required to recapture previously taken credits. For more 
information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for nec or get form FTB 3554, 
New Employment Credit.
Repeal of Geographically Targeted Economic Development Area Tax 
Incentives – The California legislature repealed and made changes to all 
of the Geographically Targeted Economic Development Area (G-TEDA) 
Tax Incentives. Enterprise Zones (EZ) and Local Agency Military Base 
Recovery Areas (LAMBRA) were repealed on January 1, 2014. The 
Targeted Tax Areas (TTA) and Manufacturing Enhancement Areas (MEA) 
both expired on December 31, 2012. For more information, get the 
applicable EDA booklet.
California Competes Tax Credit – For taxable years beginning on 
and after January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2030, the California 
Competes Tax Credit is available to businesses that want to come to 
California or stay and grow in California. Tax credit agreements will 
be negotiated by the Governor’s Office of Business and Economic 
Development (GO-Biz) and approved by the California Competes Tax 
Credit Committee. The California Competes Tax Credit only applies to 
state income or franchise tax. Taxpayers who are awarded a contract 
by the committee will claim the credit on their income or franchise 
tax returns using credit code 233. The credit can reduce tax below the 
tentative minimum tax. Any credits not used in the taxable year may be 
carried forward up to six years. For more information, go to the GO‑Biz 
website at business.ca.gov or ftb.ca.gov and search for ca competes 
or get form FTB 3531, California Competes Tax Credit.
Mandatory Electronic Payments – You are required to remit all your 
payments electronically once you make an estimate or extension 
payment exceeding $20,000 or you file an original tax return with 
a total tax liability over $80,000. Once you meet this threshold, all 
subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax type, or taxable year 
must be remitted electronically. The first payment that would trigger the 
mandatory e-pay requirement does not have to be made electronically. 
Individuals that do not send the payment electronically will be subject to 
a 1% noncompliance penalty.
You can request a waiver from mandatory e-pay if one or more of the 
following is true: 

	• You have not made an estimated tax or extension payment in excess 
of $20,000 during the current or previous taxable year.

	• Your total tax liability reported for the previous taxable year did not 
exceed $80,000.

	• The amount you paid is not representative of your total tax liability.
For more information or to obtain the waiver form, go to 
ftb.ca.gov/e-pay. Electronic payments can be made using Web Pay on 
FTB’s website, EFW as part of the e-file return, or your credit card.
Estimated Tax Payments – Taxpayers are required to pay 30% of the 
required annual payment for the 1st required installment, 40% of the 
required annual payment for the 2nd required installment, no installment 
is due for the 3rd required installment, and 30% of the required annual 
payment for the 4th required installment.
Taxpayers with a tax liability less than $500 ($250 for married/RDP filing 
separately) do not need to make estimated tax payments.
Backup Withholding – With certain limited exceptions, payers that 
are required to withhold and remit backup withholding to the IRS are 
also required to withhold and remit to the FTB on income sourced to 
California. If the payee has backup withholding, the payee must contact 
the FTB to provide a valid taxpayer identification number, before filing 
the tax return. Failure to provide a valid taxpayer identification number 
may result in a denial of the backup withholding credit. For more 
information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for backup withholding.
Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) – Under California law, RDPs 
must file their California income tax return using either the married/RDP 
filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately filing status. RDPs have the 
same legal benefits, protections, and responsibilities as married couples 
unless otherwise specified.
If you entered into a same sex legal union in another state, other than 
a marriage, and that union has been determined to be substantially 
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equivalent to a California registered domestic partnership, you are 
required to file a California income tax return using either the married/ 
RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately filing status. 
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, husband, 
or wife also refer to a California RDP, unless otherwise specified. 
When we use the initials RDP they refer to both a California registered 
domestic “partner” and a California registered domestic “partnership,” 
as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737.
Direct Deposit Refund – You can request a direct deposit refund on 
your tax return whether you e-file or file a paper tax return. Be sure to 
fill in the routing and account numbers carefully and double-check the 
numbers for accuracy to avoid it being rejected by your bank. 
Direct Deposit for ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plans – If you 
have a ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plan account maintained 
by the ScholarShare Investment Board, you may have your refund 
directly deposited to your ScholarShare account. Please visit 
scholarshare529.com for instructions. 
California Disclosure Obligations – If the individual was involved in a 
reportable transaction, including a listed transaction, the individual may 
have a disclosure requirement. Attach federal Form 8886, Reportable 
Transaction Disclosure Statement, to the back of the California tax return 
along with any other supporting schedules. If this is the first time the 
reportable transaction is disclosed on the tax return, send a duplicate 
copy of the federal Form 8886 to the address below. The FTB may 
impose penalties if the individual fails to file federal Form 8886, or fails 
to provide any other required information. A material advisor is required 
to provide a reportable transaction number to all taxpayers and material 
advisors for whom the material advisor acts as a material advisor.
	 TAX SHELTER FILING 

ABS 389 MS F340 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1673 
SACRAMENTO  CA  95812-9900 

For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for disclosure 
obligation. 
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Which Form Should I Use? 
e-file and you won’t have to 
decide which form to use! 
The software will select the 
correct form for you. 

Were you and your spouse/RDP residents during the entire year 2020? 
Yes.	Check the chart below to see which form to use. 
No.	 Use Form 540NR. To download or order the California Nonresident or Part‑Year Resident Income Tax 

Booklet, go to ftb.ca.gov/forms or see, “Where to Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

Form 540 2EZ 
Form not included in this booklet. If you qualify 
to use Form 540 2EZ, see “Where To Get Income 
Tax Forms and Publications” to download or 
order this form. 

Form 540 

Filing Status Single, married/RDP filing jointly, head of 
household, qualifying widow(er) 

Any filing status 

Dependents 0-3 allowed All dependents you are entitled to claim 

Amount of Income Total income of: 
• $100,000 or less if single or head of household 
• $200,000 or less if married/RDP filing jointly or 

qualifying widow(er) 
You cannot use Form 540 2EZ if you (or your 
spouse/RDP) can be claimed as a dependent 
by another taxpayer, and your TOTAL income is 
less than or equal to $15,251 if single; $30,552 if 
married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er); or 
$21,652 if head of household. 

Any amount of income 

Sources of Income Only income from: 
• Wages, salaries, and tips 
• Taxable interest, dividends, and pensions 
• Taxable scholarship and fellowship grants (only if 

reported on federal Form(s) W‑2) 
• Capital gains from mutual funds (reported on 

federal Form 1099‑DIV, box 2a only) 
• Unemployment compensation reported on federal 

Form 1099-G 
• Paid Family Leave Insurance 
• U.S. social security benefits 
• Tier 1 and tier 2 railroad retirement payments 

All sources of income 

Adjustments to 
Income 

No adjustments to income All adjustments to income 

Standard Deduction Allowed Allowed 

Itemized Deductions No itemized deductions All itemized deductions 

Payments Only withholding shown on federal Form(s) W-2 
and 1099‑R 

• Withholding from all sources 
• Estimated tax payments 
• Payments made with extension 
• Excess State Disability Insurance (SDI) or 

Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) 

Tax Credits • Refundable California earned income tax credit 
• Refundable young child tax credit 
• Personal exemption credit 
• Senior exemption credit 
• Up to three dependent exemption credits 
• Nonrefundable renter’s credit 

All tax credits 

Other Taxes Only tax computed using the 540 2EZ Table All taxes 

If you qualify to use Form 540 2EZ, you may be eligible to use CalFile. 
Visit ftb.ca.gov and search for calfile. It’s fast, easy, and free. 
If you don’t qualify for CalFile, you qualify for e-file. 
Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for efile options.
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2020 Instructions for Form 540 — California Resident Income Tax Return
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and the  California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC). 

Before You Begin 
Complete your federal income tax return Form 1040, U.S. Individual 
Income Tax Return, or Form 1040-SR, U.S. Tax Return for Seniors, 
before you begin your Form 540, California Resident Income Tax Return. 
Use information from your federal income tax return to complete your 
Form 540. Complete and mail Form 540 by April 15, 2021. If unable to 
mail your tax return by this date, see page 2. 

Tip You may qualify for the federal earned income credit. See 
page 2 for more information. 

To use our automated phone service and codes, call 
800.338.0505. For the complete code list, see Automated 
Phone Service section. 

Filling in Your Tax Return 
• Use black or blue ink on the tax return you send to the FTB. 
• Enter your social security number(s) or individual taxpayer 

identification number(s) at the top of Form 540, Side 1. 
• Print numbers and CAPITAL LETTERS in the space provided. Be sure 

to line up dollar amounts. 
• If you do not have an entry for a line, leave it blank unless the 

instructions for a line specifically tell you to enter -0 -. Do not enter a 
dash, or the word “NONE.” 

Name(s) and Address 
• Print your first name, middle initial, last name, and street address in 

the spaces provided at the top of the form. 
Suffix 
Use the Suffix field for generational name suffixes such as “SR”, “JR”, 
“III”, “IV”. Do not enter academic, professional, or honorary suffixes. 
Additional Information 
Use the Additional Information field for “In-Care-Of” name and other 
supplemental address information only. 
Foreign Address 
If you have a foreign address, follow the country’s practice for entering 
the city, county, province, state, country, and postal code, as applicable, 
in the appropriate boxes. Do not abbreviate the country name. 
Principal Business Activity (PBA) Code 
For federal Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Business (Sole 
Proprietorship) business filers, enter the numeric PBA code from federal 
Schedule C (Form 1040), line B. 
Date of Birth (DOB) 
Enter your DOBs (mm/dd/yyyy) in the spaces provided. If your filing 
status is married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately, 
enter the DOBs in the same order as the names. 
Prior Name 
If you or your spouse/RDP filed your 2019 tax return under a different 
last name, write the last name only from the 2019 tax return. 

Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual 
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) 
Enter your SSN in the spaces provided. If filing a joint tax return, enter 
the SSNs in the same order as the names. 
If you do not have an SSN because you are a nonresident or resident 
alien for federal tax purposes, and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
issued you an ITIN, enter the ITIN in the space for the SSN. An ITIN is a 
tax processing number issued by the IRS to foreign nationals and others 
who have a federal tax filing requirement and do not qualify for an SSN. 
It is a nine-digit number that always starts with the number 9. 

Principal Residence 
Only complete this section if you are 18 or older and you have filed a 
California resident income tax return in the prior year.  

• County – Enter the county where you have your principal/physical 
residence on the date that you file your Form 540. If you reside in a 
foreign country at the time of filing, leave the county field blank. 

• If your principal/physical residence address at the time of filing is the 
same as the address you provided at the top of this form, check the 
box provided on this line. 

• If your principal/physical residence address at the time of filing is 
different from the address at the top of this form, provide the address 
of your principal/physical residence in the spaces provided. 

• If you reside in a foreign country at the time of filing, enter the city, 
province or state, and country in the city field. Follow the country’s 
practice for entering the postal code. Do not abbreviate the country 
name. 

If you are under 18 years old or have not filed a California resident 
income tax return in the prior year, then leave the county and 
principal/physical address fields blank. 

Filing Status 
Line 1 through Line 5 – Filing Status 
Check only one box for line 1 through line 5. Enter the required 
additional information if you checked the box on line 3 or line 5. For 
filing status requirements, see page 3. 
Usually, your California filing status must be the same as the filing status 
you used on your federal income tax return. 
Exception for Married Taxpayers Who File a Joint Federal Income Tax  
Return – You may file separate California returns if either spouse was 
either of the following:  
• An active member of the United States Armed Forces or any auxiliary 

military branch during 2020. 
• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California 

sources during 2020. 
 Caution – Community Property States: If either spouse earned 
California source income while domiciled in a community property 
state, the community income will be split equally between the 
spouses. Both spouses will have California source income and they 
will not qualify for the nonresident spouse exception. For more 
information, get FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident 
Status. 

If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for 
California you would have used to file a federal income tax return. 
Registered domestic partners (RDPs) who file single for federal must 
file married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately for 
California. If you are an RDP and file head of household for federal 
purposes, you may file head of household for California purposes only 
if you meet the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered 
not in a domestic partnership.
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Note: The lines on Form 540 are numbered with gaps in the line number 
sequence. For example, lines 20 through 30 do not appear on Form 540, 
so the line number that follows line 19 on Form 540 is line 31. 
Caution: Form 540 has five sides. When filing Form 540, you must send 
all five sides to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB). 
If you need to amend your California resident income tax return, 
complete an amended Form 540 and check the box at the top of 
Form 540 indicating AMENDED return. Attach Schedule X, California 
Explanation of Amended Return Changes, to the amended Form 540. 
For specific instructions, see “Instructions for Filing a 2020 Amended 
Return” on page 29. 
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If you filed a joint tax return and either you or your spouse/RDP was 
a  nonresident for 2020, you must file the Form 540NR, California 
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. 

Exemptions 
Line 6 – Can be Claimed as Dependent 

601 

Check the box on line 6 if someone else can claim you or 
your spouse/RDP as a dependent on their tax return, even if 
they chose not to. 

Line 7 – Personal Exemptions 
Did you check the box on line 6? 
No Follow the instructions on Form 540, line 7. 
Yes Ignore the instructions on Form 540, line 7. Instead, enter in the 

box on line 7 the amount shown below for your filing status: 
• Single or married/RDP filing separately, enter -0 -. 
• Head of household, enter -0 -. 
• Married/RDP filing jointly and both you and your spouse/RDP 

can be claimed as dependents, enter -0 -. 
• Married/RDP filing jointly and only one spouse/RDP can be 

claimed as a dependent, enter 1. 
Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a  dependent 
on their tax return. 

Line 8 – Blind Exemptions 
The first year you claim this exemption credit, attach a doctor’s 
statement to the back of Form 540 indicating you or your spouse/RDP 
are visually impaired. If you e-file, attach any requested forms, 
schedules and documents according to your software’s instructions. 
Visually impaired means not capable of seeing better than 20/200 while 
wearing glasses or contact lenses, or if your field of vision is not more 
than 20 degrees. 
Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent 
on their tax return. 

Line 9 – Senior Exemptions 
If you were 65 years of age or older by December 31, 2020,* 

*If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2021, you are considered to be 
age 65 on December 31, 2020.

 you should 
claim an additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are married/or 
an RDP, each spouse/RDP 65 years of age or older should claim an 
additional credit. You may contribute all or part of this credit to the 
California Seniors Special Fund. See “Voluntary Contribution Fund 
Descriptions” for more information. 

Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent 
on their tax return. 

Line 10 – Dependent Exemptions 
To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents, you must 
write each dependent’s first and last name, SSN and relationship to you 
in the space provided. If you are claiming more than three dependents, 
attach a statement with the required dependent information to your tax 
return. The persons you list as dependents must be the same persons 
you listed as dependents on your federal income tax return. If you 
filed form FTB 3568 to qualify to claim your dependents for California 
purposes, the dependents you claim on your California income tax return 
may not match those claimed on your federal income tax return. Count 
the number of dependents listed and enter the total in the box on line 10. 
Multiply the number you entered by the pre-printed dollar amount and 
enter the result. 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, taxpayers 
claiming a dependent exemption credit for a dependent who is ineligible 
for an SSN and a federal ITIN may provide alternative information to the 
FTB to identify the dependent. 

To claim the dependent exemption credit, taxpayers complete form 
FTB 3568, Alternative Identifying Information for the Dependent Exemption 
Credit, attach the form and required documentation to their tax return, and 
write “no id” in the SSN field of line 10, Dependents, on Form 540. For 
each dependent being claimed that does not have an SSN and an ITIN, a 
form FTB 3568 must be provided along with supporting documentation. 
Taxpayers may amend their 2018 and 2019 tax returns to claim the 
dependent exemption credit. These taxpayers should complete an 
amended Form 540, write “no id” in the SSN field on the Dependents line, 
and attach Schedule X. To complete Schedule X, check box m for “Other” 
on Part II, line 1, and write the explanation “Claim dependent exemption 
credit with no id and form FTB 3568 is attached” on Part II, line 2. Make 
sure to attach form FTB 3568 and the required supporting documents in 
addition to the amended tax return and Schedule X. If taxpayers do not 
claim the dependent exemption credit on their original 2020 tax return, 
they may amend their 2020 tax return following the same procedure as for 
2018 and 2019 amended tax returns. 
If your dependent child was born and died in 2020 and you do not have 
an SSN for the child, enter “Died” in the space provided for the SSN and 
include a copy of the child’s birth certificate, death certificate, or hospital 
records. The document must show the child was born alive. If you e-file, 
attach any requested forms, schedules and documents according to your 
software’s instructions. 

Line 11 – Exemption Amount 
Add line 7 through line 10 and enter the total dollar amount of all 
exemptions for personal, blind, senior, and  dependent. 

Taxable Income 
Refer to your completed federal income tax return to complete this 
section. 

Line 12 – State Wages 

204 

Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states 
from each of your federal Form(s) W-2, Wage and Tax 
Statement. This amount  appears on Form W-2, box 16. 

If you received wages and do not have a Form W-2, see “Attachments to 
your tax return.” 

Line 13 – Federal Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) from 
federal Form 1040 or Form 1040-SR, line 11 
RDPs who file a California tax return as married/RDP filing jointly and 
have no RDP adjustments between federal and California, combine their 
individual AGIs from their federal tax returns filed with the IRS. Enter the 
combined AGI on line 13. 
RDP adjustments include but are not limited to the following: 
• Transfer of property between spouses/RDPs 
• Capital loss 
• Transactions between spouses/RDPs 
• Sale of residence 
• Dependent care assistance 
• Investment interest 
• Qualified residence interest acquisition loan & equity loan 
• Expense depreciation property limits 
• Individual Retirement Account 
• Interest education loan 
• Rental real estate passive loss 
• Rollover of publicly traded securities gain into specialized small 

business investment companies 
RDPs filing as married/RDP filing separately, former RDPs filing 
single, and RDPs with RDP adjustments will use the California RDP 
Adjustments Worksheet in FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered 
Domestic Partners, or complete a federal pro forma Form 1040 or 
1040-SR. Transfer the amount from the California RDP Adjustments 
Worksheet, line 23, column D, or federal pro forma Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 11, to Form 540, line 13.
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Line 14 – California Adjustments – Subtractions 
[from Schedule CA (540), Part I, line 23, column B] 
If there are no differences between your federal and California income or 
deductions, do not file a Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments — 
Residents. 
If there are differences between your federal and California income, 
i.e. social security, complete Schedule CA (540). Follow the 
instructions for Schedule CA (540). Enter on line 14 the amount from 
Schedule CA (540), Part I, line 23, column B. If a negative amount, see 
Schedule CA (540), Part I, line 23 instructions. 

Line 15 – Subtotal 
Subtract the amount on line 14 from the amount on line 13. Enter the 
result on line 15. If the amount on line 13 is less than zero, combine 
the amounts on line 13 and line 14 and enter the result in parentheses. 
For example: “(12,325).” 

Line 16 – California Adjustments – Additions 
[from Schedule CA (540), Part I, line 23, column C] 
If there are differences between your federal and  California 
deductions, complete Schedule CA (540). Follow the instructions 
for Schedule CA (540). Enter on line 16 the amount from 
Schedule CA (540), Part I, line 23, column C. If a negative amount, see 
Schedule CA (540), Part I, line 23 instructions. 

Line 18 – California Itemized Deductions or California 
Standard Deduction 
Decide whether to itemize your charitable contributions, medical 
expenses, mortgage interest paid, taxes, etc., or take the standard 
deduction. Your  California income tax will be less if you take the larger of:  
• Your  California itemized deductions. 
• Your  California standard deduction. 
California itemized deductions may be limited based on federal AGI. To 
compute limitations, use Schedule CA (540). RDPs use your recalculated 
federal AGI to figure your itemized deductions. 
On federal tax returns, individual taxpayers who claim the standard 
deduction are allowed an additional deduction for net disaster losses. 
For California, deductions for disaster losses are only allowed for those 
individual taxpayers who itemized their deductions. 
If married/or an RDP and filing separate tax returns, you and your 
spouse/RDP must either both itemize your deductions (even if the 
itemized deductions of one spouse/RDP are less than the standard 
deduction) or both take the standard  deduction. 
If someone else can claim you as a dependent, you may claim the 
greater of the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. To 
figure your standard deduction, use the Form 540 – California Standard 
Deduction Worksheet for Dependents. 
Itemized deductions. Figure your  California itemized deductions by 
completing Schedule CA (540), Part II, lines 1 through 30. Enter the 
result on Form 540, line 18. 
If you did not itemize deductions on your federal income tax return 
but will itemize deductions for your Form 540, first complete 
federal Schedule A (Form 1040), Itemized Deductions. Then check 
the box on Side 2, Part II of the Schedule CA (540) and complete 
Part II. Attach both the federal Schedule A (Form 1040) and 
California Schedule CA (540) to the back of your tax return. 
Standard deduction. Find your standard deduction on the  California 
Standard Deduction Chart for Most People. If you checked the box on 
Form 540, line 6, use the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for 
Dependents. 

California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People 
Do not use this chart if your parent, or someone else, can claim you 
(or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent on their tax return. 
Your Filing Status Enter On Line 18 
1 – Single . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $4,601 
2 – Married/RDP filing jointly . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $9,202 
3 – Married/RDP filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $4,601 
4 – Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $9,202 
5 – Qualifying widow(er). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $9,202 
The California standard deduction amounts are less than the federal 
standard deduction amounts. 

California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents 
Use this worksheet only if your parent, or someone else, can 
claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent on their return. 
Use whole dollars only. 
1. Enter your earned income from: line 2 of the 

“Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents’’ 
in the instructions for federal Form 1040 
or 1040-SR  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              1

2. Minimum standard deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              2  $1,100.00 
3. Enter the larger of line 1 or line 2 here  . . . . . . . .          3
4. Enter the amount shown for your filing status 

• Single or married/RDP filing separately, 
enter $4,601  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       

• Married/RDP filing jointly, head of 
household, or qualifying widow(er), 
enter $9,202 

 4 
 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       

5.  Standard deduction. Enter the smaller of 
line 3 or line 4 here and on Form 540, line 18       . . .     5

Line 19 – Taxable Income 
Capital Construction Fund (CCF). If you claim a deduction on your 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 15 for the contribution made to a 
capital construction fund set up under the Merchant Marine Act of 1936, 
reduce the amount you would otherwise enter on line 19 by the amount 
of the deduction. Next to line 19, enter “CCF” and the amount of the 
deduction. For details, see federal Publication 595, Capital Construction 
Fund for Commercial Fishermen. 

Tax 
When figuring your tax, use the correct filing status and taxable income 
amount. 

Line 31 – Tax 
To figure your tax, use one of the following methods and check the 
matching box on line 31:  

}
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• Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 19 is $100,000 or less, 
use the tax table beginning on page 91. Use the correct filing status 
column in the tax table. 

• Tax Rate Schedules. If your taxable income on line 19 is over 
$100,000, use the tax rate schedule for your filing status on page 97. 

• FTB 3800. Generally, use form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for 
Certain Children with Unearned Income, to figure the tax on a 
separate Form 540 for your child who was 18 and under or a student 
under age 24 on January 1, 2021, and who had more than $2,200 of 
investment income. Attach form FTB 3800 to the child’s Form 540. 

• FTB 3803. If, as a parent, you elect to report your child’s interest 
and dividend income of $11,000 or less (but not less than $1,100) 
on your tax return, complete form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to 
Report Child’s  Interest and Dividends. File a separate form FTB 3803 
for each child whose income you elect to include on your Form 540. 
Add the amount of tax, if any, from each form FTB 3803, line 9, to the  
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}

amount of your tax from the tax table or tax rate schedules and enter 
the result on Form 540, line 31. Attach form(s) FTB 3803 to your tax 
return. 

To prevent possible delays in processing your tax return or refund, 
enter the correct tax amount on this line. To automatically figure your 
tax or to verify your tax calculation, use our online tax calculator. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov/tax-rates. 

Tip 
CalFile or e-file and you won’t have to do the math. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for efile. 

Line 32 – Exemption Credits 
Exemption credits reduce your tax. If your federal adjusted gross income 
(AGI) on line 13 is more than the amount shown below for your filing 
status, your credits will be limited. 
For purposes of computing limitations based upon AGI, RDPs, 
recalculate their AGI using a federal pro forma or California RDP 
Adjustments Worksheet (located in FTB Pub. 737). If your recalculated 
federal AGI is more than the amount shown below for your filing status, 
your credits will be limited. 
If your filing status is: Is line 13 more than: 
Single or married/RDP filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 . . . . . . . . . .
 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

$203,341 
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) $406,687 
Head of household $305,016 

Yes Complete the AGI Limitation Worksheet below. 
No Follow the instructions on Form 540, line 32. 

AGI Limitation Worksheet 
Use whole dollars only. 

a Enter the amount from line 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     a______
b Enter the amount for your filing status on line b: 

• Single or married/RDP filing separately  . .  $203,341 
• Married/RDP filing jointly or 

 qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 $406,687 b______
• Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $305,016 

c Subtract line b from line a  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        c______
d Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married/RDP filing 

separately). If the result is not a whole number, round it 
to the next higher whole number 	  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   d______

e Multiply line d by $6  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            e______
f Add the numbers from the boxes on  

lines 7, 8, and 9 (not the dollar amounts)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             f______ 
g Multiply line e by line f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           g______
h Add the total dollar amount from lines 7, 8, and 9  . . . . . .     h______
i Subtract line g from line h. If zero or less, enter 0 - - . . . . . .      i______
j Enter the number from the box on  

line 10 (not the dollar amount) 	  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     j______
k Multiply line e by line j  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           k______
l Enter the dollar amount from line 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                l______
m Subtract line k from line l. If zero or less, enter 0 - -  . . . . .     m______
n Add line i and line m. Enter the result here and on line 32 . n______

Line 34 – Tax from Schedule G-1 and Form FTB 5870A 
If you received a qualified lump-sum distribution in 2020 and you were born 
before January 2, 1936, get California Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum 
Distributions, to figure your tax by special methods that may result in less 
tax. Attach Schedule G-1 to your tax return. 
If you received accumulation distributions from foreign trusts or from 
certain domestic trusts, get form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation 
Distribution of Trusts, to figure the additional tax. Attach form FTB 5870A to 
your tax return. 
To get these forms, see “Order Forms and Publications.” 

Box A – Did you complete federal Schedule C, D, E, or F and claim 
or receive any of the following (Note: If your business 
gross receipts are less than $1,000,000 from all trades or 
businesses, you do not have to report alternative minimum tax 
(AMT). For more information, see line 61 instructions.): 

• Accelerated depreciation in excess of straight-line 
• Intangible drilling costs 
• Depletion 
• Circulation expenditures 
• Research and experimental expenditures 
• Mining exploration/development costs 
• Amortization of pollution control facilities 
• Income/loss from tax shelter farm activities 
• Income/loss from passive activities 
• Income from long-term contracts using the percentage of 

completion method 
• Pass-through AMT adjustment from an estate or trust 

reported on Schedule K-1 (541) 
Yes  Complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and 

Publications.” 
No Go to Box B. 

Box B – Did you claim or receive any of the following: 
• Investment interest expense 
• Income from incentive stock options in excess of the 

amount reported on your tax return 
• Income from installment sales of certain property 
Yes Complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and 

Publications.” 
No Go to Box C. 

Box C – If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 17 more than: 
Single or head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       $280,424 
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . .      $373,899 
Married/RDP filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      $186,946 

Yes  Complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and 
Publications.” 

No  Your credits are not limited. Go to the instructions for 
line 40. 

Line 40 – Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit 
Claim this credit if you paid someone to care for your qualifying child 
under the age of 13, other dependent who is physically or mentally 
incapable of caring for him or herself, or spouse/RDP if physically 
or mentally incapable of caring for him or herself. The care must be 
provided in California. To claim this credit, your federal AGI must be 
$100,000 or less and you must complete and attach form FTB 3506, 
Child and  Dependent Care Expenses Credit, included in this booklet. 

Line 43 through Line 45 – Additional Special Credits 
A code identifies each credit. To claim only one or two credits, enter the 
credit name, code, and amount of the credit on line 43 and line 44.
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Special Credits and Nonrefundable Credits 
A variety of California tax credits are available to reduce your tax if you 
qualify. To figure and claim most special credits, you must complete a 
separate form or schedule and attach it to your Form 540. The Credit 
Chart on page 25 describes the credits and provides the name, credit 
code, and number of the required form or schedule. Many credits are 
limited to a certain percentage or a certain dollar amount. In addition, 
the total amount you may claim for all credits is limited by tentative 
minimum tax (TMT); go to Box A to see if your credits are limited. 
If you are not claiming any special credits go to line 40 and line 46 
to see if you qualify for the nonrefundable child and dependent care 
expenses credit or the nonrefundable renter’s credit. 
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To claim more than two credits, use Schedule P (540), Part III. See 
Schedule P (540) instructions, “How to Claim Your Credits.” 
Important: Attach Schedule P (540) and any supporting schedules or 
statements to your Form 540. 
Carryovers: If you claim a credit with carryover provisions and the 
amount of the credit available this year exceeds your tax, carry over any 
excess credit to future years until the credit is used (unless the carryover 
period is a fixed number of years). If you claim a credit carryover for 
an expired credit, use form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and Recapture 
Summary, to figure the amount of the credit. Otherwise, enter the 
amount of the credit on Schedule P (540), Part III, and do not attach 
form FTB 3540. 

Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household — Code 170 
You may not claim this credit if you used the married/RDP filing jointly, 
head of household, or qualifying widow(er) filing status. 
Claim the credit if unmarried and not an RDP at the end of 2020 (or 
if married/or an RDP, you lived apart from your spouse/RDP for all 
of 2020 and you used the married/RDP filing separately filing status); 
and if you furnished more than one-half the household expenses for 
your home that also served as the main home of your child, step-child, 
or grandchild for at least 146 days but not more than 219 days of the 
taxable year. If the child is married/or an RDP, you must be entitled to 
claim a dependent exemption credit for the child. 
Also, the custody arrangement for the child must be part of a decree of 
dissolution or legal separation or part of a written agreement between 
the parents where the proceedings have been initiated, but a decree of 
dissolution or legal separation has not yet been issued. 
Use the worksheet below to figure the Joint Custody Head of Household 
credit using whole dollars only. 

1. Enter the amount from Form 540, line 35  . . . . . . . . .        1
2. Credit percentage — 30%  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    2 x  .30 
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Enter the result or $491, whichever is less  . . . . . . . .        3

If you qualify for the Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household and the 
Credit for Dependent Parent, claim only one credit. Select the credit that 
allows the maximum benefit. 

Credit for Dependent Parent — Code 173 
You may not claim this credit if you used the single, head of household, 
qualifying widow(er), or married/RDP filing jointly filing status. 
Claim this credit only if all of the following apply: 
• You were married/or an RDP at the end of 2020 and you used the 

married/RDP filing separately filing status. 
• Your spouse/RDP was not a member of your household during the 

last six months of the year. 
• You furnished over one-half the household expenses for your 

dependent mother’s or father’s home, whether or not she or he lived 
in your home. 

To figure the amount of this credit, use the worksheet for the Credit for 
Joint Custody Head of Household above. If you qualify for the Credit for 
Joint Custody Head of Household and the Credit for Dependent Parent, 
claim only one. Select the credit that will allow the maximum benefit. 

Credit for Senior Head of Household — Code 163 
You may claim this credit if you: 
• Were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 2020.* 

* If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2021, you are considered to be 
age 65 on December 31, 2020. 

• Qualified as a head of household in 2018 or 2019 by providing a 
household for a qualifying individual who died during 2018 or 2019. 

• Did not have AGI over $79,539 for 2020. 

If you meet all the conditions listed above, you do not need to qualify to use 
the head of household filing status for 2020 in order to claim this credit. 

Use this worksheet to figure this credit using whole dollars only. 

1. Enter the amount from Form 540, line 19  . . . . . . . . .          1
2. Credit percentage — 2%  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      2	 x  .02 
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Enter the result or $1,499, whichever is less  . . . . . .       3

Credit for Child Adoption Costs — Code 197 
For the year in which an adoption decree or an order of adoption is 
entered (e.g., adoption is final), claim a credit for 50% of the cost of 
adopting a child who was both: 
• A citizen or legal resident of the United States. 
• In the custody of a California public agency or a California political

subdivision. 
Treat a prior unsuccessful attempt to adopt a child (even when the 
costs were incurred in a prior year) and a later successful adoption 
of a different child as one effort when computing the cost of adopting 
the child. Include the following costs if directly related to the adoption 
process: 
• Fees for Department of Social Services or a licensed adoption 

agency. 
• Medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance. 
• Travel expenses for the adoptive family. 
Note: 
• This credit does not apply when a child is adopted from another 

country or another state, or was not in the custody of a California 
public agency or a California political subdivision. 

• Any deduction for the expenses used to claim this credit must be 
reduced by the amount of the child adoption costs credit claimed. 

Use the worksheet below to figure this credit using whole dollars only. 
If more than one adoption qualifies for this credit, complete a separate 
worksheet for each adoption. The maximum credit is limited to $2,500 
per minor child. 

1. Enter qualifying costs for the child  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              1
2. Credit percentage — 50%  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    2	 x  .50 
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Do not enter more than $2,500  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                3

Other Taxes 
Attach the specific form or statement required for each item below. 

Line 61 – Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT) 
If you claim certain types of deductions, exclusions, and credits, you 
may owe AMT if your total income is more than: 
• $99,707 married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) 
• $74,780 single or head of household 
• $49,851 married/RDP filing separately 
A child under age 19 or a student under age 24 may owe AMT if the sum 
of the amount on line 19 (taxable income) and any preference items 
listed on Schedule P (540) and included on the return is more than the 
sum of $7,950 and the child’s earned income.
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Your allowable credit is limited to $2,500 for 2020. Carry over the excess 
credit to future years until the credit is used. 

Line 46 – Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit 
If you paid rent for at least six months in 2020 on your principal 
residence located in California you may qualify to claim the 
nonrefundable renter’s credit which may reduce your tax. Complete the 
qualification record on page 23. 

Line 48 
Subtract the amount on line 47 from the amount on line 35. Enter the 
result on line 48. If the amount on line 47 is more than the amount on 
line 35, enter 0 . - -



Instructions: Form 540	 e-file at ftb.ca.gov
AMT income does not include income, adjustments, and items of tax 
preference related to any trade or business of a qualified taxpayer who 
has gross receipts, less returns and allowances, during the taxable year 
of less than $1,000,000 from all trades or businesses. 
Get Schedule P (540) for more information. See “Order Forms and 
Publications.” 

Line 62 – Mental Health Services Tax 
If your taxable income is more than $1,000,000, compute the Mental 
Health Services Tax using whole dollars only: 

1. Taxable income from Form 540, line 19  . . . . . . .        1
2. Less . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 $(1,000,000) 
3. Subtotal  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
4. Tax rate – 1%   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            4 x  .01 
5. Mental Health Services Tax – Multiply line 3 by 

line 4. Enter this amount here and on line 62  . . .    5

Line 63 – Other Taxes and Credit Recapture 
If you received an early distribution of a qualified retirement plan and were 
required to report additional tax on your federal tax return, you may also 
be required to report additional tax on your California tax return. Get form 
FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs) and Other 
Tax-Favored Accounts. If required to report additional tax, report it on line 63 
and write “FTB 3805P” to the left of the amount. 
In general, California conforms to federal law for income received under IRC 
Section 409A on a nonqualified deferred compensation (NQDC) plan and 
discounted stock options and stock appreciation rights. Income received 
under IRC Section 409A is subject to an additional 5% tax of the amount 
required to be included in income plus interest. Include the additional tax, if 
any, on line 63. Write “NQDC” on the dotted line to the left of the amount. 
If you owe interest on deferred tax from installment obligations, include 
the additional tax, if any, in the amount you enter on line 63. Write “IRC 
Section 453A interest” and the amount on the dotted line to the left of the 
amount on line 63. 
If you used form(s): 
• FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and Recapture Summary 
• FTB 3554, New Employment Credit 
Include the additional tax for credit recapture, if any, on line 63. Write 
the form number and the amount on the dotted line to the left of the 
amount on line 63. 

Line 64 – Excess Advance Premium Assistance Subsidy 
(APAS) Repayment 
Enter your excess APAS repayment amount from form FTB 3849, 
line 29. 
You may have to repay excess APAS even if someone else enrolled 
you, your spouse, or your dependent in coverage purchased through 
Covered California (Marketplace). In that case, another individual may 
have received form FTB 3895, California Health Insurance Marketplace 
Statement, for the coverage. 
You also may have to repay excess APAS if you enrolled an individual 
in coverage through the Marketplace, you don't claim the individual 
as a dependent on your return, and no one else claims that individual 
as a dependent. For more information, get the instructions for form 
FTB 3849, Premium Assistance Subsidy, and FTB Pub 3849A, Premium 
Assistance Subsidy (PAS). 

Payments 
To avoid a delay in the processing of your tax return, enter the correct 
amounts on line 71 through line 74. 

Line 71 – California Income Tax Withheld 
Enter the total  California income tax withheld from your federal Forms: 
• W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, box 17 
• W-2G, Certain Gambling Winnings, box 15 

• 1099-DIV, Dividends and Distributions, box 15 
• 1099-INT, Interest Income, box 17 
• 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous Income, box 15 
• 1099-NEC, Nonemployee Compensation, box 5 
• 1099-OID, Original Issue Discount, box 14 
• 1099-R, Distributions from Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, or Profit 

Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc., box 14 
Do not include city, local, or county tax withheld, tax withheld by 
other states, or nonconsenting nonresident (NCNR) member’s tax 
from Schedule K-1 (568), line 15e. Do not include withholding from 
Forms 592-B, Resident and Nonresident Withholding Tax Statement, 
or Form 593, Real Estate Withholding Statement, on this line. For more 
details, see instructions for line 73. 
Generally, tax should not be withheld on federal Form 1099-MISC 
or Form 1099-NEC. If you want to pre-pay tax on income reported 
on federal Form 1099-MISC or Form 1099-NEC, use Form 540-ES, 
Estimated Tax for Individuals. 

Line 72 – 2020 CA Estimated Tax and Other Payments 
Enter the total of any: 
• California estimated tax payments you made using 2020 

Form 540-ES, electronic funds withdrawal, Web Pay, or credit card. 
• Overpayment from your 2019  California income tax return that you 

applied to your 2020 estimated tax. 
• Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic 

Extension for Individuals. 
• California estimated tax payments made on your behalf by 

an estate, trust, or S corporation on Schedule K-1 (541) or 
Schedule K-1 (100S). 

Tip To view payments made or get your current account 
balance, go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB. 

If you and your spouse/RDP paid joint estimated taxes but are now filing 
separate income tax returns, either of you may claim the entire amount 
paid, or each may claim part of the joint estimated tax payments. If you 
want the estimated tax payments to be divided, notify the FTB before 
you file the tax returns so the payments can be applied to the proper 
account. The FTB will accept in writing, any divorce agreement (or 
court-ordered settlement) or a statement showing the allocation of the 
payments along with a notarized signature of both taxpayers. 
Send statements to:  

JOINT ESTIMATED CREDIT ALLOCATION MS F283 
TAXPAYER SERVICES CENTER 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  
PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040 

If you or your spouse/RDP made separate estimated tax payments, but 
are now filing a joint income tax return, add the amounts you each paid. 
Attach a statement to the front of Form 540 explaining that payments 
were made under both SSNs. If you e-file, attach any requested forms, 
schedules and documents according to your software’s instructions. 
You do not have to make estimated tax payments if you are a 
nonresident or new resident of California in 2021 and did not have a 
California tax liability in 2020. 

Line 73 – Withholding (Form 592-B and/or 593) 
Enter the total of California withholding from Form 592-B and Form 593. 
Attach a copy of Form(s) 592-B and 593 to the lower front of Form 540, 
Side 1. 
If your filing status changed after escrow closed and before filing 
your California tax return, please contact us at 888.792.4900, prior to 
filing your California tax return, for instructions on how to claim your 
withholding credit. 
Caution: Do not include withholding from federal Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 
or 1099, or NCNR member’s tax from Schedule K-1 (568), line 15e on 
this line.
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Line 74 – Excess  California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld 
You may claim a credit for excess State Disability  Insurance (SDI) 
or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) if you meet all of the 
following conditions:  
• You had two or more California employers during 2020. 
• You received more than $122,909 in gross wages from California 

sources. 
• The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your Form(s) W-2. Be 

sure to attach your Form(s) W -2 to the lower front of your Form 540. 
If SDI (or VPDI) was withheld from your wages by a single employer, at 
more than 1.00% of your gross wages, you may not claim excess SDI 
(or VPDI) on your Form 540. Contact the employer for a refund. 
To determine the amount to enter on line 74, complete the Excess SDI 
(or VPDI) Worksheet below. If married/RDP filing jointly, figure the 
amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately for each spouse/RDP. 

Excess SDI (or VPDI) Worksheet 
Use whole dollars only. 

Follow the instructions below to figure the amount of excess SDI to 
enter on Form 540, line 74. If you are married/RDP and file a joint 
return, you must figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately 
for each spouse/RDP. 

You 
Your 

Spouse/ 
RDP 

1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld 
shown on your federal Forms W-2. 
Enter the total here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  1

2. 2020 SDI (or VPDI) limit  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             2 $1,229.09 $1,229.09 

3. Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. 
Subtract line 2 from line 1. 
Enter the results here. Combine the 
amounts on line 3 and enter 
the total, in whole dollars only 
on line 74  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         3

If zero or less, enter 0  on line 74. - -

Line 75 – Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) 
Enter your Earned Income Tax Credit from form FTB 3514, California 
Earned Income Tax Credit, line 20. 

Line 76 – Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC) 
Enter your Young Child Tax Credit from form FTB 3514, line 28. 

Line 77 – Net Premium Assistance Subsidy (PAS) 
Enter your net PAS amount from form FTB 3849, line 26. 

Line 78 
For the Claim of Right credit, follow the reporting instructions in 
Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 16 under the Claim of Right. 
Claim of Right: If you are claiming the tax credit on your California tax 
return, include the amount of the credit in the total for this line. Write in 
“IRC 1341” and the amount of the credit to the left of the amount column. 
To determine if you are entitled to this credit, refer to your prior year 
California Form 540, or Schedule CA (540) to verify the amount was 
included in your CA taxable income. If the amount repaid under a “Claim 
of Right” was not originally taxed by California, you are not entitled to 
claim the credit. 

Use Tax 
Line 91 – Use Tax. 
You are required to enter a number on this line. If the amount due is 
zero, you must check the applicable box to indicate that you either owe 
no use tax, or you paid your use tax obligation directly to the California 
Department of Tax and Fee Administration. 

You may owe use tax if you make purchases from out-of-state retailers 
(for example, purchases made by telephone, online, by mail, or in 
person) where California sales or use tax was not paid and you use 
those items in California. 
If you have questions about whether a purchase is taxable, go to the 
California Department of Tax and Fee Administration’s website at 
cdtfa.ca.gov, or call its Customer Service Center at 1.800.400.7115 
(CRS:711) (for hearing and speech disabilities). 
Some taxpayers are required to report business purchases subject 
to use tax directly to the California Department of Tax and Fee 
Administration. However, they may report certain personal purchases 
subject to use tax on the FTB income tax return. 
You may not report business purchases subject to use tax on your 
income tax return if you: 
• Have or are required to hold a California seller’s permit 
• Receive $100,000 or more per year in gross receipts from business 

operations. 
• Are otherwise registered or required to be registered with the 

California Department of Tax and Fee Administration to report use 
tax. 

Use Tax Worksheet 
You must use the Use Tax Worksheet to calculate your use tax liability, if 
any of these apply: 
• You prefer to calculate the amount of use tax due based upon 

your actual purchases subject to use tax, rather than based on an 
estimate. 

• You owe use tax on any item purchased for use in a trade or business 
and you are not registered or required to be registered with the 
California Department of Tax and Fee Administration to report sales 
or use tax. 

• You owe use tax on purchases of individual items with a purchase 
price of $1,000 or more each. 

Example 1: You purchased a television for $2,000 from an out-of-state 
retailer that did not collect tax. You must use the Use Tax Worksheet to 
calculate the tax due on the price of the television, since the price of the 
television is $1,000 or more. 
Example 2: You purchased a computer monitor for $300, a rare coin 
for $500, and designer clothing for $250 from out-of-state retailers that 
did not collect tax. Although the total price of all the items is $1,050, the 
price of each item is less than $1,000. Since none of these individual 
items are $1,000 or more, you are not required to use the Use Tax 
Worksheet and may choose to use the Estimated Use Tax Lookup Table. 
If you have a combination of individual non-business items purchased 
for $1,000 or more each, and/or items purchased for use in a trade or 
business in addition to individual, non-business items purchased for 
less than $1,000, you may either: 
• Use the Use Tax Worksheet to compute use tax due on all purchases, 

or
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Note: You may not report use tax on your income tax return for certain 
types of transactions. These types of transactions are described in detail 
below in the instructions. 
The Use Tax Worksheet and Estimated Use Tax Lookup Table will help 
you determine how much use tax to report. If you owe use tax but you 
do not report it on your income tax return, you must report and pay 
the tax to the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration. 
For information on how to report use tax directly to the California 
Department of Tax and Fee Administration, go to their website at 
cdtfa.ca.gov and type “Find Information About Use Tax” in the 
search bar. 
Failure to report and pay timely may result in the assessment of interest, 
penalties, and fees. 
See page 27 for a general explanation of California use tax. 

 



Instructions: Form 540	 e-file at ftb.ca.gov
• Use the Use Tax Worksheet to compute use tax due on all individual 

items purchased for $1,000 or more plus all items purchased for use 
in a trade or business. 

• Use the Estimated Use Tax Lookup Table to estimate the use tax due 
on individual, non-business items purchased for less than $1,000, 
then add the amounts and report the total use tax on Line 91. 

Example 3: The total price of the items you purchased from out-of-state 
retailers that did not collect use tax is $2,300, which includes a $1,000 
television, a $900 painting, and a $400 table for your living room. 
• You may choose to calculate the use tax due on the total price of 

$2,300 using the Use Tax Worksheet, or 
• You may choose to calculate the use tax due on the $1,000 price of 

the television using the Use Tax Worksheet and estimate your use tax 
liability for the painting and table by using the Estimated Use Tax Lookup 
Table, then add the amounts and report the total use tax on Line 91. 

Use Tax Worksheet (See Instructions Below) 
Use whole dollars only 

1. Enter purchases from out-of-state sellers made 
without payment of California sales/use tax. If you 
choose to estimate the use tax due on individual, 
non-business items purchased for less than $1,000 
each, only enter purchases of items with a purchase 
price of $1,000 or more plus items purchased for 
use in a trade or business not registered with the 
California Department of Tax and Fee Administration $ .  ________.00

2. Enter the applicable sales and use tax rate . . . . . . . . .          ___________

3. Multiply Line 1 by the tax rate on Line 2. 
Enter result here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              ________.00

4. If you choose to estimate the use tax due on 
individual, non-business items purchased for less 
than $1,000 each, enter the use tax amount due from 
the Estimated Use Tax Lookup Table. If all of your 
purchases are included in Line 1, enter 0 - - . . . . . . . . .         ________.00

5. Add Lines 3 and 4. This is your total use tax. . . . . . . .        ________.00

6. Enter any sales or use tax you paid to another state 
for purchases included on Line 1. See worksheet 
instructions on this page . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       ________.00

7. Subtract Line 6 from Line 5. This is the total use tax 
due. Enter the amount due on Line 91. If the amount 
is less than zero, enter 0 - - . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      ________.00

Worksheet, Line 1, Purchases Subject to Use Tax 
Report purchases of items that would have been subject to sales tax 
if purchased from a California retailer unless your receipt shows that 
California tax was paid directly to the retailer. For example, generally, you 
would include purchases of clothing, but not exempt purchases of food 
products or prescription medicine. For more information on nontaxable 
and exempt purchases, you may visit the California Department of Tax 
and Fee Administration’s website at cdtfa.ca.gov. 
• Include handling charges. 
• Do not include any other state’s sales or use tax paid on the 

purchases. 
• Enter only purchases made during the year that corresponds with the 

tax return you are filing. 
• If you traveled to a foreign country and hand-carried items back 

to California, generally use tax is due on the purchase price of the 
goods you listed on your U.S. Customs Declaration less an $800 per 
person exemption. For the hand carried items, you should report the 
amount of purchases in excess of the $800 per-person exemption. 
This $800 exemption does not apply to goods sent or shipped 
to California by mail or other common carrier. For goods sent or 
shipped, you should report the entire amount of the purchases. 

• If your filing status is “married/RDP filing separately,” you may elect 
to report one-half of the use tax due or the entire amount on your 
income tax return. If you elect to report one-half, your spouse/RDP 
may report the remaining half on his or her income tax return or on 
the individual use tax return available from the California Department 
of Tax and Fee Administration. 

Note: You cannot report the following types of purchases on your 
income tax return. 
• Vehicles, vessels, and trailers that must be registered with the 

Department of Motor Vehicles. 
• Mobile homes or commercial coaches that must be registered 

annually as required by the Health and Safety Code. 
• Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard. 
• Aircraft. 
• Rental receipts from leasing machinery, equipment, vehicles, and 

other tangible personal property to your customers. 
• Cigarettes and tobacco products when the purchaser is registered 

with the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration as a 
cigarette and/or tobacco products consumer. 

Worksheet, Line 2, Sales and Use Tax Rate 
Enter the sales and use tax rate applicable to the place in California 
where the property was used, stored, consumed, or given away. To find 
your sales and use tax rate, please go to the California Department of 
Tax and Fee Administration’s website at cdtfa.ca.gov and type “City and 
County Sales and Use Tax Rates” in the search bar. You may also call 
their Customer Service Center at 800.400.7115 (CRS:711) (for hearing 
and speech disabilities). 
Worksheet, Line 6, Credit for Tax Paid to Another State 
This is a credit for tax paid to other states on purchases reported on Line 
1. You cannot claim a credit for more than the amount of use tax that is 
imposed on your use of property in this state. For example, if you paid 
$8.00 sales tax to another state for a purchase, and would have paid $6.00 
in California, you can claim a credit of only $6.00 for that purchase. 

Estimated Use Tax Lookup Table 
You may use the Estimated Use Tax Lookup Table to estimate and report 
the use tax due on individual non-business items you purchased for 
less than $1,000 each. This option is only available if you are permitted 
to report use tax on your income tax return and you are not required 
to use the Use Tax Worksheet to calculate the use tax owed on all your 
purchases. Simply include the use tax liability that corresponds to your 
California Adjusted Gross Income (found on Line 17) and enter it on 
Line 91. You will not be assessed additional use tax on the individual 
non-business items you purchased for less than $1,000 each. 
You may not use the Estimated Use Tax Lookup Table to estimate and 
report the use tax due on purchases of items for use in your business 
or on purchases of individual non-business items you purchased for 
$1,000 or more each. See the instructions for the Use Tax Worksheet if 
you have a combination of purchases of individual non-business items 
for less than $1,000 each and purchases of individual non-business 
items for $1,000 or more. 

Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) Range Use Tax Liability 
Less Than $10,000 $0 
$10,000 to $19,999 $1 
$20,000 to $29,999 $2 
$30,000 to $39,999 $3 
$40,000 to $49,999 $4 
$50,000 to $59,999 $4 
$60,000 to $69,999 $5 
$70,000 to $79,999 $6 
$80,000 to $89,999 $7 
$90,000 to $99,999 $8 
$100,000 to $124,999 $9 
$125,000 to $149,999 $11 
$150,000 to $174,999 $13 
$175,000 to $199,999 $15 

More than $199,999 – Multiply AGI by 0.008% (x 0.00008) 
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Enter your use tax liability on Line 4 of the worksheet, or if you are not 
required to use the worksheet, enter the amount on Line 91 of your 
income tax return. 

ISR Penalty 
Line 92 – Individual Shared Responsibility (ISR) Penalty 
Enter your Individual Shared Responsibility Penalty from form 
FTB 3853, Health Coverage Exemptions and Individual Shared 
Responsibility Penalty, Part IV, line 1. 
If you, your spouse/RDP (if filing a joint return), and anyone you can or 
do claim as a dependent had minimum essential coverage (also referred 
to as qualifying health care coverage) that covered all of 2020, check the 
“Full-year health care coverage” box on Form 540, line 92. If you check 
the box on Form 540, line 92, you do not owe the individual shared 
responsibility penalty and do not need to file form FTB 3853. For more 
information, get form FTB 3853. 

Overpaid Tax or Tax Due 
To avoid delay in processing of your tax return, enter the correct 
amounts on line 97 through line 100. 
If you received a refund for 2019, you may receive a federal 
Form 1099-G. The refund amount reported on your federal Form 1099-G 
will be different from the amount shown on your tax return if you 
claimed the refundable California Earned Income Tax Credit and/or the 
Young Child Tax Credit. This is because the credit is not part of the 
refund from withholding or estimated tax payments. 

Line 97 – Overpaid Tax 
If the amount on line 95 is more than the amount on line 65, your 
payments and credits are more than your tax. Subtract the amount on 
line 65 from the amount on line 95. Enter the result on line 97. 
Refund Intercept – FTB administers the Interagency Intercept Collection 
(IIC) program on behalf of the State Controller’s Office. The IIC program 
intercepts (offsets) refunds when individuals and business entities 
owe delinquent debts to government agencies including the IRS and 
California colleges. All refunds are subject to interception. FTB only 
intercepts the amount owed. 

Refunds from joint tax returns may be applied to the debts of the 
taxpayer or spouse/RDP. After all tax liabilities are paid, any remaining 
credit will be applied to requested voluntary contributions, if any, and the 
remainder will be refunded. 
If the debt was previously paid to the requestor and FTB also intercepted 
the refund, any overpayment will be refunded by the agency that 
received the funds. 
For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for interagency 
intercept collection. 

Line 98 – Amount You Want Applied to Your 2021 
Estimated Tax 
Apply all or part of the amount on line 97 to your estimated tax for 2021. 
Enter on line 98 the amount of line 97 that you want applied to your 
2021 estimated tax. 
An election to apply an overpayment to estimated tax is binding. Once 
the election is made, the overpayment cannot be applied to a deficiency 
after the due date of the tax return. 

Line 99 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year 
If you entered an amount on line 98, subtract it from the amount on 
line 97. Enter the result on line 99. Choose to have this entire amount 
refunded to you or make voluntary contributions from this amount. See 
“Voluntary Contribution Fund Descriptions” for more information. 

Line 100 – Tax Due 
If the amount on line 95 is less than the amount on line 65, subtract 
the amount on line 95 from the amount on line 65. Enter the result on 
line 100. Your tax is more than your payments and credits. 

There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year. You may 
have to pay a penalty if:  
• The tax due on line 100 is $500 or more ($250 or more if 

married/RDP filing separately). 
• The amount of state income tax withheld on line 71 is less than 90% 

of the amount of your total tax on line 65. 
If this applies to you, see instructions on line 113. 
Increasing your withholding could eliminate the need to make a large 
payment with your tax return. To increase your withholding, complete 
EDD Form DE 4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate, and give 
it to your employer’s appropriate payroll staff. Get this form from your 
employer or by calling EDD at 888.745.3886. Download the DE 4 at 
edd.ca.gov or to use the online calculator, go to ftb.ca.gov and search 
for de 4. 
Form DE 4 specifically adjusts your California state withholding and 
is not the same as the federal Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding 
Certificate. 

Contributions 
You can make voluntary contributions to the funds listed on Side 4. See 
“Voluntary Contributions Fund Descriptions” for more information. 
You may also contribute any amount to the State Parks Protection 
Fund/Parks Pass Purchase. To receive a single annual park pass, your 
contribution must equal or exceed $195. When applicable, FTB will 
forward your name and address from your tax return to the Department 
of Parks and Recreation (DPR) who will issue a single Vehicle Day 
Use Annual Pass to you. Only one pass will be provided per tax return. 
You may contact DPR directly to purchase additional passes. If there 
is an error on your tax return in the computation of total contributions 
or if we disallow the contribution you requested because there is no 
credit available for the tax year, your name and address will not be 
forwarded to DPR. Any contribution less than $195 will be treated as a 
voluntary contribution and may be deducted as a charitable contribution. 
For more information, go to parks.ca.gov/annualpass/ or email 
info@parks.ca.gov. 

Line 110 – Total Contributions 
Add code 400 through code 444. Enter the result on line 110. 

Amount You Owe 
Add or subtract correctly to figure the amount you owe. 

Line 111 – Amount You Owe 
If you do not have an amount on line 99, add the amount on line 94, 
line 96, line 100, and line 110, if any. Enter the result on line 111. 
If you have an amount on line 99 and the amount on line 110 is more than 
line 99, subtract line 99 from line 110 and enter the difference on line 111. 
To avoid a late filing penalty, file your Form 540 by the extended due date 
even if you cannot pay the amount you owe. 
Mandatory Electronic Payments. You are required to remit all your 
payments electronically once you make an estimate or extension 
payment exceeding $20,000 or you file an original return with a total 
tax liability over $80,000. Once you meet this threshold, all subsequent 
payments regardless of amount, tax type, or taxable year must be 
remitted electronically. The first payment that would trigger the 
mandatory e-pay requirement does not have to be made electronically. 
Individuals that do not send the payment electronically will be subject to 
a 1% noncompliance penalty. 
You can request a waiver from mandatory e-pay if one or more of the 
following is true:  
• You have not made an estimated tax or extension payment in excess 

of $20,000 during the current or previous taxable year. 
• Your total tax liability reported for the previous taxable year did not 

exceed $80,000. 
• The amount you paid is not representative of your total tax liability.
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Instructions: Form 540	 e-file at ftb.ca.gov
Electronic payments can be made using Web Pay on FTB’s website, 
electronic funds withdrawal (EFW) as part of the e-file return, or your 
credit card. For more information or to obtain the waiver form, go to 
ftb.ca.gov/e-pay. 
Payment Options 
• Electronic Funds Withdrawal – Instead of paying by check or money 

order, use this convenient option if you e-file. Simply provide your 
bank information, amount you want to pay, and the date you want the 
balance due to be withdrawn from your account. Your tax preparation 
software will offer this option. 

• Web Pay – Pay the amount you owe using our secure online 
payment service. Go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more information. 

• Credit Card – Use your Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American 
Express card to pay your tax. If you pay by credit card, do not 
mail form FTB 3519 to us. Call 800.272.9829 or go to the Official 
Payments Corporation website at officialpayments.com, and use 
the jurisdiction code 1555. Official Payments Corporation charges a 
convenience fee for using this service. 

• Check or Money Order – Using black or blue ink, make your check 
or money order payable to the “Franchise Tax Board.” Do not send 
cash or other items of value (such as stamps, lottery tickets, 
foreign currency, and gift cards). Write your SSN or ITIN and “2020 
Form 540” as applicable on the check or money order. Enclose, but 
do not staple, your payment with your tax return. 
Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution. Do not combine your 2020 tax 
payment and any 2021 estimated tax payment in the same check. 
Prepare two separate checks and mail each in a separate envelope. 
If you e-filed your tax return, mail your check or money order with 
form FTB 3582, Payment Voucher for Individual e-filed Returns. 
Do not mail a copy of your e-filed tax return. 
A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your bank for 
insufficient funds. 

Paying by Credit Card – Whether you e-file or file by mail, use your 
Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card to pay your 
personal income taxes (tax return balance due, extension payment, 
estimated tax payment, or tax due with bill notice). There is a 
convenience fee for this service. This fee is paid directly to Official 
Payments Corporation based on the amount of your tax payment. 
Convenience Fee 
• 2.30% of the tax amount charged (rounded to the nearest cent) 
• Minimum fee: $1 
Example: 
Tax Payment = $753.56 Convenience Fee = $17.33 
When will my payments be effective? 
Your payment is effective on the date you charge it. 
What if I change my mind? 
If you pay your tax liability by credit card and later reverse the credit 
card transaction, you may be subject to penalties, interest, and other 
fees imposed by the FTB for nonpayment or late payment of your tax 
liability. 
How do I use my credit card to pay my income tax bill? 
Once you have determined the type of payment and how much you owe, 
have the following ready: 
• Your Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card 
• Credit card number 
• Expiration date 
• Amount you are paying 
• Your and your spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN 
• First 4 letters of your and your spouse’s/RDP’s last name 
• Taxable year 
• Home phone number (including area code) 
• ZIP code for address where your monthly credit card bill is sent 
• FTB Jurisdiction Code: 1555 

Go to the Official Payments Corporation online payment center at 
officialpayments.com or call 800.2PAY.TAX or 800.272.9829 and follow 
the recorded instructions. Official Payments Corporation provides 
customer assistance at 877.297.7457 Monday through Friday, 5:00 a.m. 
to 5:00 p.m. PST. 
Payment Date: __________________
Confirmation Number: ___________________
If you cannot pay the full amount or can only make a partial payment for 
the amount shown on Form 540, line 114, see the information regarding 
installment payments in Question 4 of the “Frequently Asked Questions” 
included in this booklet. 

Interest and Penalties 
If you file your tax return or pay your tax after the due date, you may 
owe interest and penalties on the tax due. 
Do not reduce the amount on line 97 or increase the amount on line 100 
by any penalty or interest amounts. Enter on Form 540, line 112 the 
amount of interest and penalties. 

Line 112 – Interest and Penalties 
Interest. Interest will be charged on any late filing or late payment 
penalty from the original due date of the return to the date paid. In 
addition, if other penalties are not paid within 15 days, interest will be 
charged from the date of the billing notice until the date of payment. 
Interest compounds daily and the interest rate is adjusted twice a year. 
The FTB website has a chart of interest rates in effect since 1976. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for interest rates. 
Late Filing of Tax Return. If you do not file your tax return by 
October 15, 2021, you will incur a late filing penalty plus interest from 
the original due date of the tax return. The maximum total penalty is 
25% of the tax not paid if the tax return is filed after October 15, 2021. 
The minimum penalty for filing a tax return more than 60 days late is 
$135 or 100% of the balance due, whichever is less. 
Late Payment of Tax. If you fail to pay your total tax liability by 
April 15, 2021, you will incur a late payment penalty plus interest. The 
penalty is 5% of the tax not paid when due plus 1/2% for each month, or 
part of a month, the tax remains unpaid. We may waive the late payment 
penalty based on reasonable cause. Reasonable cause is presumed 
when 90% of the tax shown on the return is paid by the original due 
date of the return. However, the imposition of interest is mandatory. If, 
after April 15, 2021, you find that your estimate of tax due was too low, 
pay the additional tax as soon as possible to avoid or minimize further 
accumulation of penalties and interest. 
Late Payment of Use Tax. To avoid late payment penalties for use 
tax, you must report and pay the use tax with a timely filed income tax 
return, or California Individual Use Tax return. 
Other Penalties. We may impose other penalties if a payment is 
returned for insufficient funds. We may also impose penalties for 
negligence, substantial understatement of tax, and fraud. 

Line 113 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax 
You may be subject to an estimated tax penalty if any of the following is 
true: 
• Your withholding and credits are less than 90% of your current tax 

year liability. 
• Your withholding and credits are less than 100% of your prior 

year tax liability (110% if AGI is more than $150,000 or $75,000 if 
married/RDP filing separately). 

• You did not pay enough through withholding to keep the amount 
you owe with your tax return under $500 ($250 if married/RDP filing 
separately). 

• You did not make the required estimate payments, if you pay an 
installment after the date it is due, or if you underpay any installment, 
a penalty may be assessed on the portion of estimated tax that was 
underpaid from the due date of the installment to the date of payment 
or the due date of your return, whichever is earlier. Get the 2020
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e-file is fast, easy, and secure! Instructions: Form 540
form FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and 
Fiduciaries, for more information. 

The FTB can figure the penalty for you when you file your tax return and 
send you a bill. 
Is line 100 less than $500 ($250 if married/RDP filing separately)? 
Yes Stop. You may not be subject to an estimated payment penalty. 
No Continue. You may be subject to an estimated payment penalty. 
Is line 100 less than 10% of the amount on line 48? Form 540 filers: this 
excludes the tax on lump-sum distributions on Form 540, line 34. 
Yes Stop. You may not be subject to an estimated payment penalty. 
No You may be subject to an estimated payment penalty; get form 

FTB 5805 (or form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by 
Farmers and Fishermen). 

The underpayment of estimated tax penalty shall not apply to the extent 
the underpayment of an installment was created or increased by any 
provision of law that is chaptered during and operative for the taxable 
year of the underpayment. To request a waiver of the underpayment 
of estimated tax penalty, get form FTB 5805 or form FTB 5805F. See 
“Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.” 
If you complete one of these forms, attach it to the back of your 
Form 540. Enter the amount of the penalty on line 113 and check the 
correct box on line 113. Complete and attach the form if you claim 
a waiver, use the  annualized income installment method, or pay tax 
according to the schedule for farmers and fishermen, even if you do not 
owe a penalty. 
See “Important Dates” for more information on estimated tax payments 
and how to avoid the underpayment penalty. 
See the instructions for Form 540, line 114 for information about 
figuring your payment, if any. 

Line 114 – Total Amount Due 
Is there an amount on line 111? 
Yes Add line 111, line 112, and line 113. Enter the result on line 114. 

For payment options, see line 111 instructions. 
No Go to line 115. 
Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution. 

Refund or No Amount Due 
Line 115 – Refund or No Amount Due 
Did you report amounts on line 110, line 112, or line 113? 
No Enter the amount from line 99 on line 115. This is your refund 

amount. If it is less than $1, attach a written statement to your 
Form 540 requesting the refund. 

Yes Combine the amounts from line 110, line 112, and line 113. 
If the result is: 

• Less than line 99, subtract the sum of line 110, line 112, and 
line 113 from line 99 and enter the result on line 115. This is your 
refund amount. 

• More than line 99, subtract line 99 from the sum of line 110, 
line 112, and line 113 and enter the result on line 114. This 
is your total amount due. For payment options, see line 111 
instructions. 

Direct Deposit (Refund Only) 
Line 116 and Line 117 – Direct Deposit of Refund 
Direct deposit is safe and convenient. To have your refund directly 
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on 
line 116 and line 117. Fill in the routing and account numbers and 
indicate the account type. Verify routing and account numbers with your 
financial institution. Do not attach a voided check or deposit slip. See the 
illustration in the next column. 

Individual taxpayers may request that their refund be electronically 
deposited into more than one checking or savings account. This allows 
more options for managing your refund. For example, you can request 
part of your refund go to your checking account to use now and the rest 
to your savings account to save for later. 
The routing number must be nine digits. The first two digits must be 01 
through 12 or 21 through 32. On the sample check, the routing number 
is 250250025. The account number can be up to 17 characters and 
can include numbers and letters. Include hyphens but omit spaces and 
special symbols. On the sample check, the account number is 202020. 
Check the appropriate box for the type of account. Do not check more 
than one box for each line. 
Enter the portion of your refund you want directly deposited into each 
account. Each deposit must be at least $1. When filing an original return, 
the total of line 116 and line 117 must equal the total amount of your 
refund on line 115. If line 116 and line 117 do not equal line 115, the 
FTB will issue a paper check. 
When filing an amended return, only complete the amended Form 540 
through line 115. Next complete the California Schedule X. The amount 
from Schedule X, line 11 is your additional refund amount. This amount 
will be carried over to your amended Form 540 and will be entered on 
line 116 and line 117. The total of the amended Form 540, line 116 and 
line 117 must equal the total amount of your refund on Schedule X, 
line 11. If the total of the amended Form 540, line 116 and line 117 do 
not equal Schedule X, line 11, the FTB will issue a paper check. 
Adjusted Refunds – If there is a change made to your refund, you will 
still receive your refund via direct deposit. For more information on 
direct deposit of adjusted refunds, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for direct 
deposit. 
Caution: Check with your financial institution to make sure your deposit 
will be accepted and to get the correct routing and account numbers. 
The FTB is not responsible for a lost refund due to incorrect account 
information entered by you or your representative. 
Prior to depositing the refund, FTB may first verify with your financial 
institution that the name on the account you designated to receive the 
direct deposit refund matches the name provided on the tax return. 
Some financial institutions will not allow a joint refund to be deposited to 
an individual account. If the direct deposit is rejected, the FTB will issue 
a paper check. 

John Doe
Mary Doe
1234 Main Street
Anytown, CA 99999

1234
15-0000/0000

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF

ANYTOWN BANK
Anytown, CA 99999

I:250250025 I:202020•1234

DOLLARS

20

For

$

Do not include
the check number

Routing
number

Account
number

Direct Deposit for ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plans – If you 
have a ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plan account maintained 
by the ScholarShare Investment Board, you may have your refund 
directly deposited to your ScholarShare account. Please visit 
scholarshare529.com for instructions. 

Sign Your Tax Return 
You must sign your tax return in the space provided on Form 540, 
Side 5. If you file a joint tax return, your spouse/RDP must also sign it. 
Include your preferred phone number and email address in case the 
FTB needs to contact you regarding your tax return. By providing this 
information the FTB will be able to provide you better customer service. 
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Instructions: Form 540	 e-file at ftb.ca.gov
Joint Tax Return. If you file a joint tax return, both you and your 
spouse/RDP are generally responsible for the tax and any interest or 
penalties due on the tax return. This means that if one spouse/RDP does 
not pay the tax due, the other may be liable. See “Innocent Joint Filer 
Relief” under Additional Information section for more information. 
Paid Preparer’s Information. If you pay a person to prepare your 
Form 540, that person must sign and complete the area at the bottom 
of Side 5 including an identification number. The IRS requires a paid 
tax preparer to get and use a preparer tax identification number (PTIN). 
If the preparer has a federal employer identification number (FEIN), it 
should be entered only in the space provided. A paid preparer must give 
you a copy of your tax return to keep for your records. 
Third Party Designee. If you want to allow your preparer, a friend, 
family member, or any other person you choose to discuss your 2020 
tax return with the FTB, check the “Yes” box in the signature area of your 
tax return. Also print the designee’s name and telephone number. 
If you check the “Yes” box you, and your spouse/RDP, if filing a joint 
tax return, are authorizing the FTB to call the designee to answer any 
questions that may arise during the processing of your tax return. You 
are also authorizing the designee to: 
• Give the FTB any information that is missing from your tax return. 
• Call the FTB for information about the processing of your tax return 

or the status of your refund or payments. 
• Receive copies of notices or transcripts related to your tax return, 

upon request. 
• Respond to certain FTB notices about math errors, offsets, and tax 

return preparation. 
You are not authorizing the designee to receive any refund check, bind 
you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise 
represent you before the FTB. If you want to expand or change the 
designee’s authorization, go to ftb.ca.gov/poa. 
The authorization will automatically end no later than the due date 
(without regard to extensions) for filing your 2021 tax return. This is 
April 15, 2022, for most people. If you wish to revoke the authorization 
before it ends, notify us by telephone at 800.852.5711 or by writing to 
Franchise Tax Board, PO Box 942840, Sacramento, CA 94240-0040, 
include your name, SSN, and the designee’s name. 
Power of Attorney. If another person prepared your tax return, he or 
she is not automatically granted access to your tax information in future 
dealings with us. At some point, you may wish to designate someone to 
act on your behalf in matters related or unrelated to this tax return (e.g., 
an audit examination). To protect your privacy, you must submit to us a 
legal document called a “Power of Attorney” (POA) authorizing another 
person to discuss or receive personal information about your income tax 
records. 
For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov/poa. 

Filing Your Tax Return 
Attachments to your tax return. 
Do I need to attach a copy of federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR? 

Other than Schedule A (Form 1040) or Schedule B (Form 1040), did 
you attach any federal forms or schedules to your federal Form 1040 
or 1040-SR? 
If No, do not attach a copy of your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR 
return to Form 540. 
If Yes, attach a copy of your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR return and 
all supporting federal forms and schedules to Form 540. 
Exception: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal tax return 
but will itemize deductions on your California tax return, complete and 
attach a copy of the federal Schedule A (Form 1040) to Form 540. 

Do not attach any documents to your tax return unless specifically 
instructed. This will help us reduce government processing and storage 
costs. 

Federal Form(s) W-2, W-2G, and 1099, and CA Form(s) 592-B and 593. 
Attach all the Form(s) W-2 and W-2G you received to the lower front 
of your tax return. Also, attach any Forms(s) 1099, 592-B, and 593 
showing California income tax withheld. 
If you do not receive your Form(s) W-2 by January 31, 2021, contact 
your employer or go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB. Only 
your employer can issue or correct a Form W-2. If you cannot get a 
copy of your Form W-2, you must complete form FTB 3525, Substitute 
for Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, or Form 1099-R, Distributions 
From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit Sharing Plans, IRAs, 
Insurance Contracts, etc. See “Order Forms and Publications” or go to 
ftb.ca.gov/forms. 
If you forget to send your Form(s) W-2 or other withholding forms with 
your income tax return, do not send them separately, or with another 
copy of your tax return. Wait until the FTB requests them from you. 

Assembling Your Tax Return 
Assemble your tax return in the order shown below. 

Copy of other state tax return (if required)

Copy of federal tax return (if required)
Supporting California Schedules

Side
 5

Form 540

Side
 4Side

 3

Form 540

Form 540

Form 540

Side
 2

Form 540

Side
 1

Enclose, but do not 
staple, any payment.

W-2
W-2G
1099
592-B
593

Caution: Form 540 has five sides. When filing Form 540, you must send 
all five sides to the FTB. 

Mailing Your Tax Return 
If your tax return has an amount due, mail your tax return to the 
following address: 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942867 
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 

If your tax return shows a refund or no amount due, mail your tax return 
to the following address: 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001
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Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit Qualification Record 
Tip e-file and skip this page! The tax software product you use to e-file will help you find out if you qualify for this credit and will figure the correct amount 

of the credit automatically. Go to ftb.ca.gov to check your e-file options. You can claim the nonrefundable renter’s credit using CalFile. 

If you were a resident of California and paid rent on property in California, which was your principal residence, you may qualify for a credit that you can use to reduce your 
tax. Answer the questions below to see if you qualify. For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, husband, or wife also refer to a California  Registered 
Domestic Partner (RDP), unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to both a California registered domestic “partner” and a  California registered 
domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737. Do not mail this record. Keep with your tax records. 

1. Were you a resident of California for the entire year in 2020? 
Military personnel. If you are not a legal resident of California, you do not qualify for this credit. However, your spouse/RDP may claim this credit if he or she was a 
resident during 2020, and is otherwise qualified. 
YES. Go to question 2. NO. Stop here. File Form 540NR. See “Order Forms and Publications.” 

2. Is your California adjusted gross income the amount on line 17: 
• $43,533  or less if single or married/RDP filing separately; or 
• $87,066 or less if married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er)? 

YES. Go to question 3. NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit. 

3. Did you pay rent, for at least half of 2020, on property (including a mobile home that you owned on rented land) in California, which was your 
principal residence? 
YES. Go to question 4. NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit. 

4. Can you be claimed as a dependent by a parent, foster parent, legal guardian, or any other person in 2020? 
NO. Go to question 6. YES. Go to question 5. 

5. For more than half the year in 2020, did you live in the home of the person who can claim you as a dependent? 
NO. Go to question 6. YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit. 

6. Was the property you rented exempt from property tax in 2020? 
You do not qualify for this credit if, for more than half of the year, you rented property that was exempt from property taxes.  Exempt property includes most 
government-owned buildings, church-owned parsonages, college dormitories, and military barracks. However, if you or your landlord paid possessory interest taxes for 
the property you rented, then you may claim this credit. 
NO. Go to question 7. YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit. 

7. Did you claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2020? 
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time  during the year. However, if you lived apart from 
your spouse/RDP for the entire year and your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate  residence, then you may claim this credit if 
you are otherwise qualified. 
NO. Go to question 8. YES. If your filing status is single or married/RDP filing separately, stop here, you do not 

         qualify for this credit. If your filing status is married/RDP filing jointly, go to question 9. 

8. Were you single in 2020? 
YES. Go to question 11. NO. Go to question 9. 

9. Did your spouse/RDP claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2020? 
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from 
your spouse/RDP for the entire year and your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if 
you are otherwise qualified. 
NO. Go to question 11. YES. If both you and your spouse/RDP claimed the homeowner’s property tax exemption, 

         stop here, you do not qualify for this credit. Otherwise, go to question 10. 

10. Did you and your spouse/RDP maintain separate residences for the entire year in 2020? 
YES. Go to question 11. NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit. 

11. If you are: 
• Single, enter $60 on Form 540, line 46. 
• Head of household or qualifying widow(er), enter $120 on Form 540, line 46. 
• Married/RDP filing separately: if you and your spouse/RDP lived in the same rental property and both qualify for this credit, one spouse/RDP may claim the full 

amount of the credit ($120), or each spouse/RDP may claim half the amount ($60 each). If you and your spouse/RDP lived apart for the entire year and you 
qualify for this credit, you may claim half the amount of the credit ($60). Enter your credit amount on Form 540, line 46. 

• Married/RDP filing jointly, enter $120 on line 46. (Exception: If one spouse/RDP claimed the homeowner’s tax exemption and you lived apart from your 
spouse/RDP for the entire year, enter $60 on Form 540, line 46.) 

Fill in the street address(es) and landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2020, which qualified you for this credit. 

Street Address City, State, and ZIP Code Dates Rented in 2020 (From to ) 

a 
b 
Enter the name, address, and telephone number of your landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above. 
Name Street Address City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number 

a 
b
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Voluntary Contribution Fund Descriptions 
Make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole dollar amounts to the funds listed below. To contribute to the California Seniors Special Fund, use 
the instructions for code 400 below. The amount you contribute either reduces your overpaid tax or increases your tax due. You may contribute only 
to the funds listed and cannot change the amount you contribute after you file your tax return. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
voluntary contributions. 

Code 400, California Seniors Special Fund – If you and/or your 
spouse/RDP are 65 years of age or older as of January 1, 2021, and 
claim the Senior Exemption Credit, you may make a combined total 
contribution of up to $248 or $124 per spouse/RDP. Contributions made 
to this fund will be distributed to the Area Agency on Aging Councils 
(TACC) to provide advice on and sponsorship of Senior Citizens issues. 
Any excess contributions not required by TACC will be distributed to 
senior citizen service organizations throughout California for meals, 
adult day care, and transportation. 
Code 401, Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Dementia Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to provide grants to 
California scientists to study Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders. 
This research includes basic science, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, 
behavioral problems, and caregiving. With almost 600,000 Californians 
living with the disease and another 2 million providing care to a loved 
one with Alzheimer’s, our state is in the early stages of a major public 
health crisis. Your contribution will ensure that Alzheimer’s disease 
receives the attention, research, and resources it deserves. For more 
information, go to cdph.ca.gov and search for Alzheimer. 
Code 403, Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Program – Contributions will be used to help protect and 
conserve California’s many threatened and endangered species and the 
wild lands that they need to survive, for the enjoyment and benefit of you 
and future generations of Californians. 
Code 405, California Breast Cancer Research Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Fund – Contributions will fund research toward preventing 
and curing breast cancer. Breast cancer is the most common cancer to 
strike women in California. It kills 4,000 California women each year. 
Contributions also fund research on prevention and better treatment, 
and keep doctors up-to-date on research progress. For more information 
about the research your contributions support, go to cbcrp.org. Your 
contribution can help make breast cancer a disease of the past. 
Code 406, California Firefighters’ Memorial Voluntary Tax Contribution 
Fund – Contributions will be used for the repair and maintenance of the 
California Firefighters’ Memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol, 
ceremonies to honor the memory of fallen firefighters and to assist 
surviving loved ones, and for an informational guide detailing survivor 
benefits to assist the spouses/RDPs and children of fallen firefighters. 
Code 407, Emergency Food for Families Voluntary Tax Contribution 
Fund – Contributions will be used to help local food banks feed 
California’s hungry. Your contribution will fund the purchase of 
much‑needed food for delivery to food banks, pantries, and soup kitchens 
throughout the state. The State Department of Social Services will 
monitor its distribution to ensure the food is given to those most in need. 
Code 408, California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Voluntary 
Tax Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to preserve the 
memory of California’s fallen peace officers and assist the families they 
left behind. Since statehood, over 1,300 courageous California peace 
officers have made the ultimate sacrifice while protecting law-abiding 
citizens. The non-profit charitable organization, California Peace Officers’ 
Memorial Foundation, has accepted the privilege and responsibility of 
maintaining a memorial for fallen officers on the State Capitol grounds. 
Each May, the Memorial Foundation conducts a dignified ceremony 
honoring fallen officers and their surviving families by offering moral 
support, crisis counseling, and financial support that includes academic 
scholarships for the children of those officers who have made the 
supreme sacrifice. On behalf of all of us and the law-abiding citizens of 
California, thank you for your participation. 
Code 410, California Sea Otter Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund – The 
California Coastal Conservancy and the Department of Fish and Wildlife 
will each be allocated 50% of the contributions. Contributions allocated 

to the California Coastal Conservancy will be used for research, science, 
protection, projects, or programs related to the Federal Sea Otter 
Recovery Plan or improving the nearshore ocean ecosystem, including, 
program activities to reduce sea otter mortality. Contributions allocated 
to the Department of Fish and Wildlife will be used to establish a sea 
otter fund within the department’s index coding system for increased 
investigation, prevention, and enforcement action. 
Code 413, California Cancer Research Voluntary Tax Contribution 
Fund – Contributions will be used to conduct research relating 
to the causes, detection, and prevention of cancer and to expand 
community-based education on cancer, and to provide prevention and 
awareness activities for communities that are disproportionately at risk 
or afflicted by cancer. 
Code 422, School Supplies for Homeless Children Fund – 
Contributions will be used to provide school supplies and health-related 
products to homeless children. 
Code 423, State Parks Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase – 
Contributions will be used for the protection and preservation of 
California’s state parks and for the cost of a Vehicle Day Use Annual 
Pass valid at most park units where day use fees are collected. The 
pass is not valid at off-highway vehicle units, or for camping, oversized 
vehicle, extra vehicle, per-person, or supplemental fees. If a taxpayer’s 
contribution equals or exceeds $195 the taxpayer will receive a single 
Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass. Amounts contributed in excess of the 
parks pass cost may be deducted as a charitable contribution for the 
year in which the voluntary contribution is made. Any contribution 
less than $195 will be treated as a voluntary contribution and may be 
deducted as a charitable contribution. For more information, go to 
parks.ca.gov/annualpass/ or email info@parks.ca.gov. 
Code 424, Protect Our Coast and Oceans Voluntary Tax Contribution 
Fund – Contributions will be used to provide grants to community 
organizations working to protect, restore, and enhance the California 
coast and ocean. Contributions will support shoreline cleanups, habitat 
restoration, coastal access improvements, and ocean education programs. 
Code 425, Keep Arts in Schools Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund – 
Contributions will be used by the Arts Council for the allocation of grants 
to individuals or organizations administering arts programs for children 
in preschool through 12th grade. 
Code 431, Prevention of Animal Homelessness and Cruelty Voluntary 
Tax Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to provide funding 
to programs designed to prevent and eliminate animal homelessness 
and cruelty, research that explores novel approaches to preventing and 
eliminating pet homelessness and the prevention, investigation, and 
prosecution of animal cruelty and neglect. 
Code 438, California Senior Citizen Advocacy Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to conduct the sessions 
of the California Senior Legislature and to support its ongoing activities 
on behalf of older persons. 
Code 439, Native California Wildlife Rehabilitation Voluntary Tax 
Contribution Fund – Contributions will be used to support the recovery 
and rehabilitation of injured, sick, or orphaned native wildlife, and 
conservation education. 
Code 440, Rape Kit Backlog Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund – 
Contributions will be used for DNA testing in the processing of rape kits. 
Code 443, Schools Not Prisons Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund – 
Contributions will be used to fund academic and career readiness 
programs that seek to break the school-to-prison pipeline. 
Code 444, Suicide Prevention Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund –  
Contributions will be used to fund crisis center programs designed to 
provide suicide prevention services.
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CREDIT CHART
Credit Name Code Description 
California Competes Tax – FTB 3531 233 The credit, which is allocated and certified by the California Competes Tax Credit Committee, 

is available for businesses that want to come to California or to stay and grow in California. 
Website: business.ca.gov 

Child Adoption Costs – Worksheet on page 15 197 50% of qualified costs in the year an adoption is ordered 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses – FTB 3506 

See the instructions on page 69 
232 Similar to the federal credit except that the California credit amount is based on a specified 

percentage of the federal credit. 
College Access Tax – FTB 3592 235 The credit, which is allocated and certified by the California Educational Facilities Authority, is 

available for taxpayers who contribute to the College Access Tax Credit Fund. 
Website: treasurer.ca.gov/cefa 

Dependent Parent – See page 15 173 Must use married/RDP filing separately status and have a dependent parent 
Disabled Access for Eligible Small Business – 

FTB 3548 
205 Similar to the federal credit but limited to $125 based on 50% of qualified expenditures 

that do not exceed $250 
Donated  Agricultural Products Transportation – 

FTB 3547 
204 50% of the costs paid or incurred for the transportation of agricultural products donated to nonprofit 

charitable organizations 
Earned Income Tax – FTB 3514 None This refundable credit is similar to the federal Earned Income Credit (EIC) but with different income 

limitations. 
Young Child Tax – FTB 3514 None This refundable credit is available to taxpayers who also qualify for the CA Earned Income Tax Credit 

(EITC ) and who have at least one qualifying child who is younger than six years old as of the last day 
of the taxable year. 

Enhanced Oil Recovery – FTB 3546 203 One third of the similar federal credit and limited to qualified enhanced oil recovery projects located 
within California. 

Joint Custody Head of Household – 
Worksheet on page 15 

170 30% of tax up to $491 for taxpayers who are single or married/RDP filing separately, who have a 
child and meet the support test 

Low-Income Housing – FTB 3521 172 Similar to the federal credit but limited to low-income housing in California 
Natural Heritage Preservation – FTB 3503 213 55% of the fair market value of any qualified contribution of property donated to the state, any local 

government, or any nonprofit organization designated by a local government. This credit expired on 
June 30, 2020. All qualified contributions must be made on or before that date. 

New California Motion Picture and Television Production – 
FTB 3541 

237 For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, the new credit is allocated and certified by 
the California Film Commission, and is available for qualified production expenditures attributable to 
a qualified motion picture, an independent film, or a TV series that relocates to California. 
Website: film.ca.gov 

New Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables – FTB 3814 238 15% of the qualified value of the donated fresh fruits, vegetables, or other qualified donated items    
made to California food banks, based on weighted average wholesale price 

New Employment – FTB 3554 234 The credit is available for a taxpayer that hires a full-time employee and pays or incurs wages in a 
designated census tract or economic development area, and receives a tentative credit reservation 
for that full-time employee. 

Nonrefundable Renter’s – See page 23 None For California residents who paid rent for their principal residence for at least 6 months in 2020 and 
whose AGI does not exceed a certain limit 

Other State Tax – Schedule S 187 Net income tax paid to another state or a U.S. possession on income also taxed by California 
Prior Year Alternative Minimum Tax – FTB 3510 188 Must have paid alternative minimum tax in a prior year and have no alternative minimum tax liability 

in 2020 
Prison Inmate Labor – FTB 3507 162 10% of wages paid to prison inmates 
Program 3.0 California Motion Picture and Television 
Production – FTB 3541 

239 For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, the newest credit is allocated and certified 
by the California Film Commission, and is available for qualified production expenditures attributable 
to a qualified motion picture, an independent film, or a TV series that relocates to California. 
Website: film.ca.gov 

Research – FTB 3523 183 Similar to the federal credit but limited to costs for research activities in California 
Senior Head of Household – 
  Worksheet on page 15 

163 2% of taxable income up to $1,499 for seniors who qualified for head of household in 2018 or 2019 
and whose qualifying individual died during 2018 or 2019 

Main Street Small Business Tax – FTB 3866 240 The credit is available to qualified small business employers that received a tentative credit 
reservation from the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA). 

Repealed Credits:	 The expiration dates for the credits listed below have passed. However, these credits had carryover provisions. You may claim these credits only 
if you have an unused carryover available from prior years. If you are not required to complete Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax and 
Credit Limitations – Residents, get form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and Recapture Summary to figure your credit carryover to future years. For EZ, 
LAMBRA, MEA, or TTA credit carryovers, get form FTB 3805Z, form FTB 3807, form FTB 3808, or form FTB 3809. See “Where To Get Income Tax 
Forms and Publications”. 

Agricultural Products . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       175 
California Motion Picture and Television  
	 Production . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         223 
Commercial Solar Electric System . . . . . . . . . . . .             196 
Commercial Solar Energy . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   181 
Community Development Financial Institutions 
Investment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               209 
Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables . . . . . . . . . . .            224 
Employer Childcare Contribution . . . . . . . . . . . . .              190 
Employer Childcare Program . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 189 
Employee Ridesharing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      194 
Employer Ridesharing:	 Large employer  . . . . .      191 

Small employer  . . . . .      192 
Transit passes  . . . . . .       193 

Energy Conservation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       182 
Enterprise Zone Hiring . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      176 
Enterprise Zone Sales or Use Tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             176 
Environmental Tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         218 
Farmworker Housing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       207 
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area 
  Hiring . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 198 
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area 

Sales or Use Tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 198 
Low-Emission Vehicles  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     160 
Manufacturing Enhancement Area Hiring . . . . . . . .       211 
New Jobs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                220 
Orphan Drug  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             185 
Political Contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      184 

Recycling Equipment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       174 
Residential Rental & Farm Sales  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              186 
Ridesharing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              171 
Salmon & Steelhead Trout Habitat 
  Restoration  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            200 
Solar Energy  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             180 
Solar Pump . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              179 
Targeted Tax Area Hiring  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    210 
Targeted Tax Area Sales or Use Tax . . . . . . . . . . . .            210 
Water Conservation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        178 
Young Infant  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             161



Frequently Asked Questions 
(Go to ftb.ca.gov for more frequently asked questions.) 

1. What if I can’t file by April 15, 2021, and I think I owe tax? 
You must pay 100% of the amount you owe by April 15, 2021, to avoid 
interest and penalties. If you cannot file because you have not received 
all your federal Form(s) W-2, estimate the amount of tax you owe 
by completing form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic Extension for 
Individuals. Mail it to the FTB with your payment by April 15, 2021 or 
pay online at ftb.ca.gov/pay. Then, when you receive all your federal 
Form(s) W-2, complete and mail your tax return by  October 15, 2021 
(you must use Form 540). 

2. I never received a federal Form W-2. What should I do? 

204 

If all of your federal Form(s) W-2 were not received by 
January 31, 2021, contact your employer. Only an employer  issues 
or  corrects a Form W-2. For more information, call 800.338.0505, 
follow the recorded instructions and enter code 204 when 
instructed. 

If you cannot get a copy of your federal Form(s) W-2, complete 
form FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, or 
Form 1099-R,  Distributions from Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit 
Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. See “Where To Get Income 
Tax Forms and Publications.” For online wage and withhold information, 
go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB. 

3. How can I get help? 
Throughout California more than 1,200 sites provide trained  volunteers 
offering free help during the tax filing season to persons who need to file 
simple federal and state income tax returns. Many military bases also 
provide this service for members of the U.S. Armed Forces. Go to ftb.ca.gov 
and search for vita to find a list of participating locations or call the FTB at 
800.852.5711 to find a location near you. 

4. What do I do if I can’t pay what I owe with my 2020 
tax return? 
Pay as much as possible when you file your tax return. If unable to pay 
your tax in full with your tax return, make a request for monthly  payments. 
However, interest accrues and an underpayment  penalty may be charged 
on the tax not paid by April 15, 2021, even if your  request for monthly 
payments is approved. To make monthly  payments, complete form 
FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request, online or mail it to the address 
on the form. Do not mail it with your tax return. 

949 

The Installment Agreement Request might not be processed and 
approved until after your tax return is processed, and you may 
receive a bill before you receive approval of your request. 
To order this form, go to ftb.ca.gov/forms or call 800.338.0505, 
follow the recorded instructions and enter code 949 when instructed. 
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For information on how to pay by credit card, go to ftb.ca.gov/pay, 
or call 800.338.0505, follow the recorded instructions and enter 
code 610 when instructed. 

5. Is direct deposit safe? 
Direct deposit is safe, and convenient. To have your refund directly 
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on 
Form 540, Side 5, line 116 and line 117. Fill in the routing and account 
numbers and indicate the account type. 

6. How can I check on the status of my refund? 
Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for refund status. You will need your social 
security number (SSN) or individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) 
and the refund amount from your tax return. 
You can also call our automated phone service. See page 95 for more 
information. 

7. I discovered an error on my tax return. What should I do? 

908 

If you discover that you made an error on your California income tax 
return after you filed it (paper or e-filed), file an amended Form 540 
and attach Schedule X, California Explanation of Amended Return 
Changes, to correct your previously filed tax return. Get Schedule X 
at ftb.ca.gov/forms or call 800.338.0505, follow the recorded 
instructions and enter code 908 when instructed. 

8. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) made changes to my 
federal tax return. What should I do? 
If your federal income tax return is examined and changed by the IRS and 
you owe additional tax, report these changes to the FTB within six months of 
the date of the final federal determination. If the changes the IRS made result 
in a refund due for California, claim a refund within two years of the date of 
the final federal determination. File an amended Form 540 and Schedule X to 
correct your previously filed income tax return and mail them to the following 
address, as applicable: 
Without payment 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001 

With payment 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942867 
SACRAMENTO CA 92467-0001 

or send a copy of the federal changes to: 
ATTN RAR/VOL MS F310 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1998 
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1998 

or fax the information to 916.843.2269. 
If you have a question relating to the IRS audit adjustment 
call 916.845.4028. 
For general tax information or questions, call 800.852.5711. 
Regardless of which method you use to notify the FTB, you must  include a 
copy of the final federal determination along with all data and schedules on 
which the federal adjustment was based. Get FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax 
Adjustments and Your Notification  Responsibilities to California, for more 
information. See “Order Forms and Publications.” 
File an amended Form 540 and Schedule X only if the change affected your 
California tax liability. 

9. How long should I keep my tax information? 
Requests for information regarding your California income tax return 
usually occurs within the California statute of limitations period, which is 
usually the later of four years from the due date of the tax return or four 
years from the file date of the tax return. (Exception: An extended statute 
of limitations period applies for California or federal tax returns related or 
subject to a federal audit.) 
Keep a copy of your tax return and the records that verify the income, 
deductions, adjustments, or credits reported on your return. Some records 
should be kept longer. For example, keep property records as long as 
needed to figure the basis of the property or records needed to verify 
carryover items (i.e., net operating losses) or records needed to track 
deferred gains on a 1031 exchange. 

10. I will be moving after I file my tax return. How do I notify 
the FTB of my new address? 
Go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB or call 800. 852.5711, 
and follow the recorded instructions to report a change of address. You 
may also use form FTB 3533, Change of Address for Individuals. This form 
is available at ftb.ca.gov/forms. If you change your address online or by 
phone, you do not need to file form FTB 3533. 
After filing your tax return, report a change of address to us for up to four 
years, especially if you leave the state and no longer have a  requirement to 
file a California tax return. 

11. Are all domestic partners required to file joint or 
separate tax returns? 
No, only domestic partners who are registered with the California Secretary 
of State are required to file using the married/RDP filing jointly or 
married/RDP filing separately filing status. 

Owe Money? Web Pay lets you pay online, so you can schedule it and forget it! Go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more information.
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Additional Information 
California Use Tax General Information 
The use tax has been in effect in California since July 1, 1935. It applies 
to purchases of merchandise for use in California from out-of-state 
sellers and is similar to the sales tax paid on purchases you make in 
California. If you have not already paid all use tax due to the California 
Department of Tax and Fee Administration, you may be able to report 
and pay the use tax due on your state income tax return. See the 
information below and the instructions for Line 91 of your income 
tax return. 
In general, you must pay California use tax on purchases of merchandise 
for use in California made from out-of-state sellers, for example, by 
telephone, over the Internet, by mail, or in person. 
You must pay California use tax on taxable items if: 
• The seller does not collect California sales or use tax, and 
• You use, gift, store, or consume the item in this state. 
Example: You live in California and purchase a dining table from a 
company in North Carolina. The company ships the table from North 
Carolina to your home for your use and does not charge California sales 
or use tax. You owe use tax on the purchase. 
However, not all purchases require you to pay use tax. For example, you 
would include purchases of clothing, but not exempt purchases of food 
products or prescription medicine. 
For more information on nontaxable and exempt purchases, you 
may refer to Publication 61, Sales and Use Taxes: Exemptions and 
Exclusions, on the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration’s 
website at cdtfa.ca.gov. 
For information about California use tax, please refer to the California 
Department of Tax and Fee Administration’s website at cdtfa.ca.gov and 
type “Find Information About Use Tax” in the search bar. 
Complete the Use Tax Worksheet or use the Use Tax Lookup Table on 
page 16, to calculate the amount due. 
Extensions to File. If you request an extension to file your income 
tax return, wait until you file your tax return to report your purchases 
subject to use tax and make your use tax payment. 
Interest, Penalties and Fees. Failure to timely report and pay the use 
tax due may result in the assessment of interest, penalties, and fees. 
Application of Payments. For purchases made during taxable years 
starting on or after January 1, 2015, payments and credits reported on 
an income tax return will be applied first to the use tax liability, instead 
of income tax liabilities, penalties, and interest. 
Changes in Use Tax Reported. Do not file an Amended Income Tax 
Return to revise the use tax previously reported. If you have changes to 
the amount of use tax previously reported on the original return, contact 
the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration. 
For assistance with your use tax questions, go to the California 
Department of Tax and Fee Administration’s website at cdtfa.ca.gov 
or call their Customer Service Center at 800.400.7115 (CRS:711) (for 
hearing and speech disabilities). For California income tax information, 
contact the Franchise Tax Board at ftb.ca.gov. 

Collection Fees 
The FTB is required to assess collection and filing enforcement cost 
recovery fees on delinquent accounts. 

Deceased Taxpayers 
A final return must be filed for a person who died in 2020 if a tax return 
normally would be required. The administrator or executor, if one is 
appointed, or  beneficiary must file the tax return. Print “deceased” and 
the date of death next to the taxpayer’s name at the top of the tax return. 
If you are a surviving spouse/RDP and no administrator or executor has 
been appointed, file a joint tax return if you did not remarry or enter into 
another registered domestic partnership during 2020. Indicate next to 
your signature that you are the surviving spouse/RDP. 
You may also file a joint tax return with an administrator or executor 
acting on behalf of the deceased taxpayer. 
If you file a tax return and claim a refund due to a deceased taxpayer, 
you are certifying under penalty of perjury either that you are the legal 
representative of the deceased taxpayer’s estate (in this case, attach 
certified copies of the letters of administration or letters testamentary) 
or that you are entitled to the refund as the deceased’s surviving relative 
or sole beneficiary under the provisions of the  California Probate Code. 
You must also attach a copy of federal Form 1310, Statement of Person 
Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, or a copy of the death 
certificate when you file a tax return and claim a refund due. 

Innocent Joint Filer Relief 
If you file a joint tax return, both you and your spouse/RDP are generally 
responsible for paying the tax and any interest or penalties due on the 
tax return. However, you may qualify for relief of payment on all or 
part of the balance as an innocent joint filer. For more information, get 
form FTB 705, Innocent Joint Filer Relief Request, at ftb.ca.gov/forms 
or call 916.845.7072, Monday – Friday between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. except 
holidays. 

Military Personnel 
If you are a member of the military and need additional information 
on how to file your tax return, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for 
Military Personnel. See “Order Forms and Publications.” 

Requesting a Copy of Your Tax Return 
The FTB keeps personal income tax returns for three and one-half years 
from the original due date. To get a copy of your tax return, write a letter 
or complete form FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal Income or 
Fiduciary Tax Return. In most cases, a $20 fee is charged for each 
taxable year you request. However, no charge applies for victims of a 
designated California or federal disaster; or you request copies from 
a field office that assisted you in completing your tax return. See 
“Where To Get Tax Forms and Publications” to download or order 
form FTB 3516. 

Local Benefits 
You cannot deduct the amounts you pay for local benefits that apply 
to property in a limited area (construction of streets, sidewalks, or 
water and sewer systems). You must look at your real estate tax bill 
to determine if any nondeductible itemized charges are included in 
your bill. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for real 
estate tax or get federal Publication 17, Your Federal Income Tax-For 
Individuals, Chapter 11. 

Vehicle License Fees for Federal Schedule A 
On your federal Schedule A (Form 1040), you may deduct the  California 
motor vehicle license fee listed on your Vehicle Registration Billing 
Notice from the Department of Motor Vehicles. The other fees listed on 
your billing notice such as registration fee, weight fee, and county fees 
are not deductible.
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Voting Is Everybody’s Business 
You may register to vote if you meet these requirements: 
• You are a United States citizen. 
• You are a resident of  California. 
• You will be 18 years old by the date of the next election. 
• You are not in prison or on parole for the conviction of a felony. 
You need to re-register every time you move, change your name, or wish 
to change political parties. In order to vote in an election, you must be 
registered to vote at least 15 days before that election. If you need to get 
a Voter Registration Card, call the California Secretary of State’s voter 
hotline at 800.345.VOTE or go to sos.ca.gov. 
To register to vote in California, you must be: 
• A United States citizen and a resident of California, 
• 18 years old or older on Election Day, 
• Not currently in state or federal prison or on parole for the conviction 

of a felony, and 
• Not currently found mentally incompetent to vote by a court. 
Pre-register at 16. Vote at 18. Voter pre-registration is now available for 
16 and 17 year olds who otherwise meet the voter registration eligibility 
requirements. California youth who pre-register to vote will have their 
registration become active once they turn 18 years old. 
If you wish to receive a paper Voter Registration or Pre-Registration 
Application, call the California Secretary of State’s Voter Hotline at 
800‑345-VOTE or simply register online at RegisterToVote.ca.gov. 
For more information about how and when to register to vote, visit 
sos.ca.gov/elections. 

It’s Your Right . . . Register and Vote 

If You File Electronically 
If you e-file your tax return, make sure all the amounts entered on the 
paper copy of your California return are correct before you sign form 
FTB 8453, California e-file Return Authorization for Individuals, or form 
FTB 8879, California e-file Signature Authorization for Individuals. If you 
are requesting direct deposit of a refund, make sure your account and 
routing information is correct. Your tax return can be transmitted to FTB 
by your preparer or electronic e-file service only after you sign form 
FTB 8453 or form FTB 8879. The preparer or electronic e-file service 
must provide you with: 
• A copy of forms FTB 8453 or FTB 8879. 
• Any original CA Forms 592-B, 593, and federal Forms W-2, 1099-G, 

and other Form(s) 1099 that you provided. 
• A paper copy of your California tax return showing the data 

transmitted to the FTB. 
You cannot retransmit an e-filed tax return once we’ve accepted the 
original. You can correct an error by filing an amended Form 540 and 
Schedule X to correct your previously filed tax return.
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Instructions for Filing a 2020 Amended Return 
Important Information 
Protective Claim – If you are filing a claim for refund for a taxable year 
where an audit is being conducted by another state’s taxing agency, 
litigation is pending or where a final determination by the IRS is 
pending, check box a for “Protective claim for refund” on Schedule X, 
Part II, line 1. Specify the pending litigation or reference to the federal 
determination on Part II, line 2 so we can properly process your claim. 
Do not attach your previously filed return to your amended return. 
Do not file an amended return to correct your SSN, name, or address, 
instead, call or write us. See “Contacting the Franchise Tax Board” for 
more information. 
Use Tax – Do not amend your return to correct a “use tax” error 
reported on your original tax return. Enter the amount from your original 
return. The California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) 
administers this tax. Refer all questions or requests relating to use tax to 
the CDTFA at cdtfa.ca.gov or call 800.400.7115. 
Amount You Want Applied To Your 2021 Estimated Tax – Enter zero on 
amended Form 540, line 98 and get the instructions for Schedule X for 
the actual amount you want applied to your 2021 estimated tax. 
Voluntary Contributions – You cannot amend voluntary contributions. 
Enter the amount from your original return. 
Direct Deposit – You can now use direct deposit on your amended 
return. 
When filing an amended return, only complete the amended Form 540 
through line 115. Next complete the Schedule X. The amount from 
Schedule X, line 11 is your additional refund amount. This amount 
will be carried over to your amended Form 540 and will be entered on 
line 116 and line 117. The total of the amended Form 540, line 116 and 
line 117 must equal the total amount of your refund on Schedule X, 
line 11. If the total of the amended Form 540, line 116 and line 117 do 
not equal Schedule X, line 11, the FTB will issue a paper check. 
Dependent Exemption Credit with No ID – For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2018, taxpayers claiming a dependent exemption 
credit for a dependent who is ineligible for an SSN and a federal ITIN 
may provide alternative information to the FTB to identify the dependent. 
To claim the dependent exemption credit, taxpayers complete form 
FTB 3568, attach the form and required documentation to their tax 
return, and write “no id” in the SSN field of line 10, Dependents, on 
Form 540. For each dependent being claimed that does not have an SSN 
and an ITIN, a form FTB 3568 must be provided along with supporting 
documentation. 
If you are amending a return to claim dependent exemption credit for 
tax years 2018 and 2019, complete an amended Form 540, and write 
“no id” in the SSN field on the Dependents line, and attach Schedule X. 
To complete Schedule X, check box m for “Other” on Part II, line 1, and 
write the explanation “Claim dependent exemption credit with no id 
and form FTB 3568 is attached” on Part II, line 2. Make sure to attach 
form FTB 3568 and the required supporting documents in addition to 
the amended return and Schedule X. If you do not claim the dependent 
exemption credit on the original 2020 tax return, you may amend the 
2020 tax return following the same procedure as for 2018 and 2019 
amended tax returns. 

Purpose 
Use Form 540 to amend your original or previously filed California 
resident income tax return. If the FTB adjusted your return, you should 
use the amounts as adjusted by the FTB. Check the box at the top of 
Form 540 indicating AMENDED return and follow the instructions. 
Submit the completed amended Form 540 and Schedule X along with all 
required schedules and supporting forms. 

When to File 
Generally, if you filed federal Form 1040-X, Amended U.S. Individual 
Income Tax Return, file an amended California tax return within six 

months unless the changes do not affect your California tax liability. File 
an amended return only after you have filed your original or previously 
filed California tax return. 

California Statute of Limitations 
Original tax return was filed on or before April 15th: If you are making 
a claim for refund, file an amended tax return within four years from the 
original due date of the tax return or within one year from the date of 
overpayment, whichever period expires later. 
Original tax return was filed within the extension period (April 15th – 
October 15th): If you are making a claim for refund, file an amended tax 
return within four years from the date the original tax return was filed or 
within one year from the date of overpayment, whichever period expires 
later. 
Original tax return was filed after October 15th: If you are making a 
claim for refund, file an amended tax return within four years from the 
original due date of the tax return (April 15th) or within one year from 
the date of overpayment, whichever period expires later. 
If you are filing your amended tax return after the normal statute 
of limitation period (four years after the due date of the original 
tax return), attach a statement explaining why the normal statute of 
limitations does not apply. 
If you are filing your amended return in response to a billing notice 
you received, you will continue to receive billing notices until your 
amended tax return is accepted. You may file an informal claim for 
refund even though the full amount due including tax, penalty, and 
interest has not yet been paid. After the full amount due has been paid, 
you have the right to appeal to the Office of Tax Appeals at ota.ca.gov or 
to file suit in court if your claim for refund is disallowed. 
To file an informal claim for refund, check box l for “Informal claim” on 
Schedule X, Part II, line 1 and mail the claim to:  

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  
PO BOX 942840  
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040 

Financially Disabled Taxpayers 
The statute of limitations for filing claims for refunds is suspended 
during periods when a taxpayer is “financially disabled.” You are 
considered “financially disabled” when you are unable to manage your 
financial affairs due to a medically determinable physical or mental 
impairment that is deemed to be either a terminal impairment or is 
expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months. You 
are not considered “financially disabled” during any period that your 
spouse/RDP or any other person is legally authorized to act on your 
behalf on financial matters. For more information, get form FTB 1564, 
Financially Disabled – Suspension of the Statute of Limitations. 

Federal Notices 
If you were notified of an error on your federal income tax return that 
changed your AGI, you may need to amend your California income tax 
return for that year. 
If the IRS examines and changes your federal income tax return, and you 
owe additional tax, report these changes to the FTB within six months. 
You do not need to inform the FTB if the changes do not increase your 
California tax liability. If the changes made by the IRS result in a refund 
due, you must file a claim for refund within two years. Use an amended 
Form 540 and Schedule X to make any changes to your California 
income tax returns previously filed. 
Include a copy of the final federal determination, along with all 
underlying data and schedules that explain or support the federal 
adjustment. Note: Most penalties assessed by the IRS also apply under 
California law. If you are including penalties in a payment with your 
amended tax return, see Schedule X, line 8a instructions.
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Children With Investment Income 
If your child was required to file form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for 
Certain Children with Unearned Income, and your taxable income has 
changed, review your child’s tax return to see if you need to file an 
amended tax return. Get form FTB 3800 for more information. 

Contacting the Franchise Tax Board 
If you have not received a refund within six months of filing your 
amended return, do not file a duplicate amended return for the same 
year. For information on the status of your refund, you may write to:  

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  
PO BOX 942840  
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040 

• An active member of the United States armed forces (or any auxiliary 
military branch) during the year being amended. 

• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California 
sources during the year being amended. 

Changing Your Filing Status – If you changed your filing status on your 
federal amended tax return, also change your filing status for California 
unless you meet one of the exceptions listed above. 
Married/RDP Filing Jointly to Married/RDP Filing Separately – You 
cannot change from married/RDP filing jointly to married/RDP filing 
separately after the due date of the tax return. 
Exception: A married couple who meets the “Exception for filing a 
separate tax return” shown above may change from joint to separate tax 
returns after the due date of the tax return. 
Filing Separate Tax Returns to Married/RDP Filing Jointly – If you 
or your spouse/RDP (or both of you) filed a separate tax return, you 
generally can change to a joint tax return any time within four years from 
the original due date of the separate tax return(s). To change to a joint 
tax return, you and your spouse/RDP must have been legally married or 
an RDP on the last day of the taxable year. 
To amend from separate tax returns to a joint tax return, follow the 
Form 540 instructions to complete only one amended tax return. Both 
you and your spouse/RDP must sign the amended joint tax return.

Page 30 Personal Income Tax Booklet 2020 (REV 03-22)

For telephone assistance, see General Phone Service on page 99. 

Filing Status 
Your filing status for California must be the same as the filing status you 
used on your federal income tax return, unless you are in a RDP. If you 
are an RDP and file single for federal, you must file married/RDP filing 
jointly or married/RDP filing separately for California. If you entered into 
a same-sex marriage, your filing status for California would generally 
be the same as the filing status that was used for federal. If you are a 
same-sex married individual or an RDP and file head of household for 
federal, you may file head of household for California only if you meet 
the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered not in a 
registered domestic partnership. 
Exception for Filing a Separate Tax Return – A married couple who 
filed a joint federal tax return may file separate state tax returns if either 
spouse was either of the following: 
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TAXABLE YEAR 

2020 California Resident Income Tax Return
FORM 

540 
Check here if this is an AMENDED return. Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month  year 2021. 

Your first name Initial Last name Suffix Your SSN or ITIN 

If joint tax return, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Initial Last name Suffix Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN 

Additional information (see instructions) PBA code 

Street address (number and street) or PO box Apt. no/ste. no. PMB/private mailbox 

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP code 

Foreign country name Foreign province/state/county Foreign postal code 

D
at

e 
o

f 
B

ir
th

 

Your DOB (mm/dd/yyyy) Spouse’s/RDP’s DOB (mm/dd/yyyy) 

P
ri

o
r 

N
am

e Your prior name (see instructions) Spouse’s/RDP’s prior name (see instructions) 

P
ri

n
ci

p
al

 R
es

id
en

ce
 

Enter your county at time of filing (see instructions) 

If your address above is the same as your principal/physical residence address at the time of filing, check this box 

If not, enter below your principal/physical residence address at the time of filing. 

Street address (number and street) (If foreign address, see instructions.) Apt. no/ste. no. 

City State ZIP code 

Fi
lin

g
 S

ta
tu

s 

If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, check the box here 

1 Single 

2  Married/RDP filing jointly. See inst. 

3 Married/RDP filing separately. Enter spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here. 

4 Head of household (with qualifying person). See instructions. 

5 Qualifying widow(er). Enter year spouse/RDP died. 

See instructions. 

6  If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, check the box here. See inst 

E
xe

m
p

ti
o

n
s 

For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the number you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line. 
Whole dollars only 

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you checked 
box 2 or 5, enter 2 in the box. If you checked the box on line 6, see instructions. X $124 = $ 

8 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1;  
if both are visually impaired, enter 2 X $124 = $ 

9 Senior: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are 65 or older, enter 1;  
if both are 65 or older, enter 2 X $124 = $
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. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     

Your name: Your SSN or ITIN: 

10 Dependents: Do not include yourself or your spouse/RDP.
Dependent 1 Dependent 2 Dependent 3 

First Name 

Last Name 

SSN. See 
instructions. 

Dependent’s 
relationship 
to you 

Total dependent exemptions X $383 = $ 

11 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 32  $ 

Ta
xa

b
le

 In
co

m
e 

12 State wages from your federal  
Form(s) W-2, box 16 

13 Enter federal adjusted gross income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 
14 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540),  

Part I, line 23, column B 
15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. 

See instructions 
16 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540),  

Part I, line 23, column C 

17 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16 

18  Enter the 
larger of 

Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 30; OR 

Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status: 
• Single or Married/RDP filing separately  $4,601 
• Married/RDP filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er)  $9,202 

If Married/RDP filing separately or the box on line 6 is checked, STOP. See instructions 
19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income.  

If less than zero, enter 0 

Ta
x 

31 Tax. Check the box if from: 
Tax Table Tax Rate Schedule

FTB 3800  FTB 3803  
32 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11. If your federal AGI is more than  

$203,341, see instructions 

33 Subtract line 32 from line 31. If less than zero, enter 0 

34 Tax. See instructions. Check the box if from: Schedule G-1 FTB 5870A  

35 Add line 33 and line 34 

S
p

ec
ia

l C
re

d
it

s 

40 Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. See instructions 

43  Enter credit name code and amount 

44 Enter credit name code and amount



3103203 Form 540  2020  Side 3333

. 00 . . . . . . . . . . . . .              45

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

00

00

00

00

00

00

00

00

00

00

00

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 

  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         

	  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         

71

72

73

74

75

76

77

78

. 00. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      91

 . . . . . . . . . .        

 . . . . . . . . . . .

 . . . . . . .      

93

94

92•
•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

.

.

.

00

00

00

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          

- -  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          

46

47

48

•

.

.

.

.

.

00

00

00

00

00

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               

. . . . . . .     

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               

61

62

63

64

65

•

•

•

•

•

S
p

ec
ia

l C
re

d
it

s

.

.

00

00

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                
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95

96

Your name: Your SSN or ITIN: 

45 To claim more than two credits. See instructions. Attach Schedule P (540) 

46 Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit. See instructions 

47 Add line 40 through line 46. These are your total credits 

48 Subtract line 47 from line 35. If less than zero, enter 0 

O
th

er
 T

ax
es

 

61 Alternative Minimum Tax. Attach Schedule P (540) 

62 Mental Health Services Tax. See instructions 

63 Other taxes and credit recapture. See instructions 

64 Excess Advance Premium Assistance Subsidy (APAS) repayment. See instructions 

65 Add line 48, line 61, line 62, line 63, and line 64. This is your total tax 

P
ay

m
en

ts
 

71 California income tax withheld. See instructions 

72 2020 CA estimated tax and other payments. See instructions 

73 Withholding (Form 592-B and/or 593). See instructions 

74 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. See instructions 

75 Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) 

76 Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC). See instructions 

77 Net Premium Assistance Subsidy (PAS). See instructions 
78 Add line 71 through line 77. These are your total payments.  

See instructions 

U
se

 T
ax

 

91 Use Tax. Do not leave blank. See instructions 

If line 91 is zero, check if: No use tax is owed. You paid your use tax obligation directly to CDTFA. 

IS
R

 
P

en
al

ty 92 Individual Shared Responsibility (ISR) Penalty. See instructions 

Full-year health care coverage. 

O
ve

rp
ai

d
 T

ax
/T

ax
 D

u
e 

93 Payments balance. If line 78 is more than line 91, subtract line 91 from line 78 

94 Use Tax balance. If line 91 is more than line 78, subtract line 78 from line 91 
95 Payments after Individual Shared Responsibility Penalty. If line 93 is more than line 92, 

subtract line 92 from line 93 
96 Individual Shared Responsibility Penalty Balance. If line 92 is more than line 93, then  

subtract line 93 from line 92
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Your name: Your SSN or ITIN: 

97 Overpaid tax. If line 95 is more than line 65, subtract line 65 from line 95 

98  Amount of line 97 you want applied to your 2021 estimated tax 

99 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 98 from line 97 

100 Tax due. If line 95 is less than line 65, subtract line 95 from line 65 

C
o

n
tr

ib
u

ti
o

n
s

 Code Amount 

California Seniors Special Fund. See instructions 400 

Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Dementia Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 401 

Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Voluntary Tax Contribution Program 403 

California Breast Cancer Research Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 405 

California Firefighters’ Memorial Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 406 

Emergency Food for Families Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 407 

California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 408 

California Sea Otter Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 410 

California Cancer Research Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 413 

School Supplies for Homeless Children Fund 422 

State Parks Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase 423 

Protect Our Coast and Oceans Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 424 

Keep Arts in Schools Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 425 

Prevention of Animal Homelessness and Cruelty Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 431 

California Senior Citizen Advocacy Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 438 

Native California Wildlife Rehabilitation Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 439 

Rape Kit Backlog Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 440 

Schools Not Prisons Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 443 

Suicide Prevention Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund 444 

110 Add code 400 through code 444. This is your total contribution 110
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Your name: Your SSN or ITIN: 

A
m
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n
t  

Yo
u

 O
w

e 111 AMOUNT YOU OWE. If you do not have an amount on line 99, add line 94, line 96, line 100, and line 110. See instructions. Do not send cash. 

Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 
Pay Online – Go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more information. 

In
te

re
st

 a
n

d
 

P
en

al
ti

es
 112 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties 

113 Underpayment of estimated tax. 

Check the box: FTB 5805 attached FTB 5805F attached   

114 Total amount due. See instructions. Enclose, but do not staple, any payment 

R
ef

u
n

d
 a

n
d

 D
ir

ec
t 

D
ep

o
si

t 

115 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract the sum of line 110, line 112 and line 113 from line 99. See instructions. 

Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001 

Fill in the information to authorize direct deposit of your refund into one or two accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip. 
See instructions. Have you verified the routing and account numbers? Use whole dollars only. 
All or the following amount of my refund (line 115) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below: 

116 Direct deposit amountRouting number 
Type  

Checking 

Savings 

Account number 

The remaining amount of my refund (line 115) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below: 

117 Direct deposit amountRouting number 
Type   

Checking  

Savings 

Account number 

IMPORTANT: See the instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal tax return. 

To learn about your privacy rights, how we may use your information, and the consequences for not providing the requested information, go to 
ftb.ca.gov/forms and search for 1131. To request this notice by mail, call 800.852.5711. 
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this tax return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my 
knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. 

Sign 
Here 
It is unlawful 
to forge a 
spouse’s/ 
RDP’s 
signature. 

Joint tax 
return? 
(See 
instructions) 

Your signature Date Spouse’s/RDP’s signature (if a joint tax return, both must sign) 

Your email address. Enter only one email address. Preferred phone number 

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge) 

Firm’s name (or yours, if self-employed) PTIN 

Firm’s address Firm’s FEIN 

Do you want to allow another person to discuss this tax return with us? See instructions  Yes No  

Print Third Party Designee’s Name Telephone Number
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{

7

1
2a
3
4
5
6
7

8

9

10

11
12
13
14
15
16
17

18a
19
20
21

22

23

TAXABLE YEAR 

2020 California Adjustments — Residents 
SCHEDULE 

CA (540) 
Important: Attach this schedule behind Form 540, Side 5 as a supporting California schedule. 
Name(s) as shown on tax return SSN or I T I N 

Part I Income Adjustment Schedule A Federal Amounts 
(taxable amounts from 
your federal tax return) 

B Subtractions 
See instructions C Additions 

See instructions 
Section A – Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR 

1  Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions before making an entry in column B or C 

2  Taxable interest. a 2b 
3  Ordinary dividends. See instructions. a 3b 
4  IRA distributions. See instructions. a 4b 

5   Pensions and annuities. See instructions. a 5b 
6  Social security benefits. a 6b 
7  Capital gain or (loss). See instructions 

Section B – Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) A Federal Amounts 
(taxable amounts from 
your federal tax return)

B Subtractions 
See instructions C Additions 

See instructions

1  Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes 

2a  Alimony received. See instructions 
3  Business income or (loss). See instructions 
4  Other gains or (losses) 

5  Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc 

6  Farm income or (loss) 
7  Unemployment compensation 
8  Other income. 

a  California lottery winnings 
b  Disaster loss deduction from FTB 3805V 
c  Federal NOL (federal Schedule 1 

(Form 1040), line 8) 

d  NOL deduction from FTB 3805V 

e  NOL from FTB 3805Z, 
3807, or 3809 

f  Other (describe): 

g  Student loan discharged due to 
closure of a for-profit school 

a 
b 
c 
d 
e 
f 

g 

a 
b 
c 
d 
e 
f 

g 

9 Total. Combine Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 8 in 
column A. Add Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 8g in 
column B and column C. Go to Section C 

Section C – Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) A Federal Amounts 
(taxable amounts from 
your federal tax return)

B Subtractions 
See instructions C Additions 

See instructions

10  Educator expenses 
11  Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis 

government officials 
12  Health savings account deduction 
13  Moving expenses. Attach federal Form 3903. See instructions 
14  Deductible part of self-employment tax. See instructions 
15  Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans 
16  Self-employed health insurance deduction. See instructions 
17  Penalty on early withdrawal of savings 

18a Alimony paid. b Recipient’s:     SSN 

Last name  
19  IRA deduction 
20  Student loan interest deduction 

21  Tuition and fees 

22  Add line 10 through line 18a and line 19 through line 21 in columns A, B, and C. 
See instructions 

23  Total. Subtract line 22 from line 9 in columns A, B, and C. See instructions 

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP.
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16

5a
5b
5c
5d

5e
6
7

8a
8b
8c
8d
8e
9

10

11
12
13
14

15

 . . . . . . . . .
Part II Adjustments to Federal Itemized Deductions 
Check the box if you did NOT itemize for federal but will itemize for California 

 A Federal Amounts 
(from federal Schedule A 
(Form 1040) 

B Subtractions 
See instructions C Additions 

See instructions 

Medical and Dental Expenses See instructions. 

1  Medical and dental expenses 
2  Enter amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 
3  Multiply line 2 by 7.5% (0.075) 

4  Subtract line 3 from line 1. If line 3 is more than line 1, enter 0 
Taxes You Paid 

5a  State and local income tax or general sales taxes 
5b  State and local real estate taxes 
5c  State and local personal property taxes 

5d  Add line 5a through line 5c 
5e Enter the smaller of line 5d or $10,000 ($5,000 if married filing separately) in column A  

Enter the amount from line 5a, column B in line 5e, column B 
Enter the difference from line 5d and line 5e, column A in line 5e, column C 

6  Other taxes. List type 
7  Add line 5e and line 6 

Interest You Paid 

8a  Home mortgage interest and points reported to you on federal Form 1098 
8b  Home mortgage interest not reported to you on federal Form 1098 
8c  Points not reported to you on federal Form 1098 
8d  Mortgage insurance premiums 

8e  Add line 8a through line 8d 

9  Investment interest 
10  Add line 8e and line 9 
Gifts to Charity 

11  Gifts by cash or check 
12  Other than by cash or check 
13 Carryover from prior year 
14 Add line 11 through line 13 
Casualty and Theft Losses 

15 Casualty or theft loss(es) (other than net qualified disaster losses). Attach federal 
Form 4684. See instructions. 

Other Itemized Deductions 

16  Other—from list in federal instructions 
17  Add lines 4, 7, 10, 14, 15, and 16 in columns A, B, and C 

18  Total. Combine line 17 column A less column B plus column C 

17
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29

30

19

20

21

22

24

25

26

27

28

Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions 

19  Unreimbursed employee expenses - job travel, union dues, job education, etc. 
Attach federal Form 2106 if required. See instructions 

20  Tax preparation fees 

21  Other expenses - investment, safe deposit box, etc. List type 

22  Add line 19 through line 21 

23  Enter amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 

24  Multiply line 23 by 2% (0.02). If less than zero, enter 0 

25  Subtract line 24 from line 22. If line 24 is more than line 22, enter 0 

26  Total Itemized Deductions. Add line 18 and line 25 

27  Other adjustments. See instructions. Specify. 

28  Combine line 26 and line 27 

29  Is your federal AGI (Form 540, line 13) more than the amount shown below for your filing status? 

Single or married/RDP filing separately $203,341 

Head of household  $305,016 

Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) $406,687 

No. Transfer the amount on line 28 to line 29. 

Yes. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in the instructions for Schedule CA (540), line 29 

30  Enter the larger of the amount on line 29 or your standard deduction listed below 

Single or married/RDP filing separately. See instructions $4,601 

Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) $9,202 

Transfer the amount on line 30 to Form 540, line 18 

This space reserved for 2D barcode 

This space reserved for 2D barcode
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2020 Instructions for Schedule CA (540) 
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC). 

What’s New 
California Venues Grant – For taxable years beginning on or after 
September 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2030, California law allows an 
exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by a taxpayer 
pursuant to the California Venues Grant Program that is administered by 
the Office of Small Business Advocate (CalOSBA). For more information, 
see California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 17158 and 
Schedule CA (540) specific line instructions in Part I, Section B, line 8f. 
California Microbusiness COVID-19 Relief Grant – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023, California 
law allows an exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received 
by a taxpayer pursuant to the California Microbusiness COVID-19 Relief 
Program that is administered by CalOSBA. Federal law has no similar 
exclusion. For more information, see Schedule CA (540) specific line 
instructions in Part I, Section B, line 8f. 
Other Loan Forgiveness – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, California law allows an exclusion from gross 
income for borrowers of forgiveness of indebtedness described in 
Section 1109(d)(2)(D) of the federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and 
Economic Security (CARES) Act as stated by section 278, Division N 
of the federal Consolidated Appropriations Act (CAA), 2021. The CAA, 
2021, allows deductions for eligible expenses paid for with covered 
loan amounts. California law conforms to this federal provision, with 
modifications. For California purposes, these deductions generally do 
not apply to an ineligible entity. “Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that 
is either a publicly-traded company or does not meet the 25% reduction 
from gross receipts requirements under Section 311 of the CAA, 2021. 
For more information, see Schedule CA (540) specific line instructions in 
Part I, Section B, line 3 or go to ftb.ca.gov and search for AB 80. 
Shuttered Venue Operator Grant – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, California law allows an exclusion from gross income 
for amounts awarded as a shuttered venue operator grant under the CAA, 
2021. The CAA, 2021, allows deductions for eligible expenses paid for 
with grant amounts. California law conforms to this federal provision, with 
modifications. For California purposes, these deductions do not apply to an 
ineligible entity. “Ineligible entity” means a taxpayer that is either a publicly-
traded company or does not meet the 25% reduction from gross receipts 
requirements under Section 311 of Division N of the CAA, 2021. For more 
information, see Schedule CA (540) specific line instructions in Part I, 
Section B, line 3, or R&TC Section 17158.3. 
Setting Every Community Up for Retirement Enhancement (SECURE) 
Act – The SECURE Act was enacted on December 20, 2019. In general, 
California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) does not conform to the 
changes. California taxpayers continue to follow the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) as of the specified date of January 1, 2015, with modifications. California 
law does not conform to the federal provision under the SECURE Act for the 
expansion of IRC Section 529 qualified tuition program accounts to cover 
costs associated with registered apprenticeship and qualified education loan 
repayments. See specific line instructions for more information. 
Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act – The 
federal CARES Act was enacted on March 27, 2020. In general, California 
R&TC does not conform to the changes. California taxpayers continue 
to follow the IRC as of the specified date of January 1, 2015, with 
modifications. California law does not conform to the following federal 
provisions under the CARES Act: 
• Charitable contributions changes 
• Exclusion for certain employer payment of student loans 
• Business interest limitations 
• Health-savings account changes 
California law conforms to the following federal provision under the 
CARES Act: 
• Temporarily increases the amount of loans allowable from a qualified 

employer plan to $100,000 for coronavirus-related relief and delays by 
one year the due date for any repayment for an outstanding loan from 
a qualified employer plan if requirements are met. 

The above lists are not intended to be all-inclusive of the federal and state 
conformities and differences. For more information, see specific line 
instructions or refer to the R&TC. 

Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) Loans Forgiveness – For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, California law allows an 
exclusion from gross income for covered loan amounts forgiven under 
the federal CARES Act, Paycheck Protection Program and Health Care 
Enhancement Act, Paycheck Protection Program Flexibility Act of 2020, 
or the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021. 
The Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021, allows deductions for eligible 
expenses paid for with covered loan amounts. California law conforms to 
this federal provision, with modifications. For California purposes, these 
deductions do not apply to an ineligible entity. “Ineligible entity” means 
a taxpayer that is either a publicly-traded company or does not meet the 
25% reduction from gross receipts requirements under Section 311 of 
the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021. For more information, see 
specific line instructions for Schedule CA (540) in Part I, Section B, line 3 
or R&TC Section 17131.8. 
Revenue Procedure 2021-20 allows taxpayers to make an election to 
report the eligible expense deductions related to a PPP loan on a timely 
filed original 2021 tax return including extensions. If a taxpayer makes an 
election for federal purposes, California will follow the federal treatment 
for California tax purposes. 
Advance Grant Amount – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, California law conforms to the federal law regarding 
the treatment for an emergency Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) 
grant under the federal CARES Act or a targeted EIDL advance under the 
Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021. 
Worker Status: Employees and Independent Contractors – Some 
individuals may be classified as independent contractors for federal 
purposes and employees for California purposes, which may also cause 
changes in how their income and deductions are classified. For more 
information, see Schedule CA (540) specific line instructions in Part I, 
Section A, line 1; Part I, Section B, line 3; Part I, Section C, line 14 and 
line 16; and Part II, line 4. 
Rental Real Estate Activities – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, the dollar limitation for the offset for rental real estate 
activities shall not apply to the low income housing credit program. 
For more information, see R&TC Section 17561(d)(1). Get form 
FTB 3801-CR, Passive Activity Credit Limitations, for more information. 
R&TC Section 41 Reporting Requirements – Beginning in taxable 
year 2020, California allows individuals and other taxpayers operating 
under the personal income tax law to claim credits and deductions of 
business expenses paid or incurred during the taxable year in conducting 
commercial cannabis activity. Sole proprietors conducting a commercial 
cannabis activity that is licensed under California Medicinal and 
Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act should file form FTB 4197, 
Information on Tax Expenditure Items. The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 
uses information from form FTB 4197 for reports required by the 
California Legislature. For more information, see Schedule CA (540) 
specific line instructions in Part I, Section B, line 3, and get form 
FTB 4197 for more information. 
Net Operating Loss Suspension – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2023, California has suspended 
the net operating loss (NOL) carryover deduction. Taxpayers may 
continue to compute and carryover an NOL during the suspension period. 
However, taxpayers with net business income or modified adjusted gross 
income of less than $1,000,000 or with disaster loss carryovers are not 
affected by the NOL suspension rules. 
The carryover period for suspended losses is extended by: 
• Three years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning before 

January 1, 2020. 
• Two years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2021. 
• One year for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2021, and before January 1, 2022. 
For more information, see R&TC Section 17276.23, and get form 
FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and  and 
Disaster Loss Limitations – Individuals, Estates, and Trusts. 

NOL
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Excess Business Loss Limitation – The federal CARES Act made 
amendments to IRC Section 461(l) by eliminating the excess business 
loss limitation of noncorporate taxpayers for taxable year 2020 and 
retroactively removing the limitation for taxable years 2018 and 
2019. California does not conform to those amendments. For taxable 
year 2020, complete form FTB 3461, California Limitation on Business 
Losses, if you are a noncorporate taxpayer and your net losses from 
all of your trades or businesses are more than $259,000 ($518,000 
for married taxpayers filing a joint return). For more information, see 
Schedule CA (540) specific line instructions in Part I, Section B, line 8f, 
and get form FTB 3461. 

General Information 
In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, 
California law conforms to the IRC as of January 1, 2015. However, 
there are continuing differences between California and federal law. 
When California conforms to federal tax law changes, we do not always 
adopt all of the changes made at the federal level. For more information, 
go to ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. Additional information 
can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California 
Adjustments, and the Business Entity tax booklets. 
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the R&TC in the instructions. 
Taxpayers should not consider the instructions as authoritative law. 
Conformity 
For updates regarding federal acts, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. 
Loophole Closure and Small Business and Working Families Tax Relief 
Act of 2019 – The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) signed into law on 
December 22, 2017, made changes to the IRC. California R&TC does not 
conform to all of the changes. In general, for taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2019, California conforms to the following TCJA provisions: 
• California Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program 
• Student loan discharged on account of death or disability 
• Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) Premiums 
• Excess employee compensation 
• Excess business loss 
Federal Tax Reform – In general, California R&TC does not conform to 
all of the changes under the TCJA. For adjustments due to the TCJA, see 
the specific line instructions for the following items: 
• Combat zone extended to Egypt’s Sinai Peninsula 
• Moving expenses and reimbursements 
• Limitation on deduction of business interest 
• Limitation on employer’s deduction for fringe benefit expenses 
• Limitation on wagering losses 
• Sexual harrasment settlements 
• IRC Section 965 deferred foreign income 
• Global intangible low-taxed income (GILTI) under IRC Section 951A 
• Qualified equity grants 
• Expanded use of 529 account funds 
• Living expenses for members of Congress 
• Limitation on state and local tax deduction 
• Mortgage & home equity indebtedness interest deduction 
• Limitation on charitable contribution deduction 
• College athletic seating rights 
• Casualty or theft loss(es) 
• Miscellaneous itemized deductions 
Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) – RDPs will compute their limitations 
based on the combined federal adjusted gross income (AGI) of each partner’s 
individual tax return filed with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). 
For column A, Part I and Part II, combine each line item of your federal 
amounts from each partner’s individual federal tax return. For more 
information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered 
Domestic Partners. The combined federal AGI used to compute 
limitations is different from the recalculated federal AGI used on 
Form 540, California Resident Income Tax Return, line 13. In situations 
where RDPs have no RDP adjustments, these amounts may be the same. 
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Military Personnel – Servicemembers domiciled outside of California, 
and their spouses/RDPs, may exclude the servicemember’s military 
compensation from gross income when computing the tax rate on 
nonmilitary income. Requirements for military servicemembers 
domiciled in California remain unchanged. Military servicemembers 
domiciled in California must include their military pay in total income. In 
addition, they must include their military pay as California source income 
when stationed in California. However, military pay is not California 
source income when a servicemember is permanently stationed outside 
of California. Beginning 2009, the federal Military Spouses Residency 
Relief Act may affect the California income tax filing requirements for 
spouses of military personnel. For more information, get Form 540NR, 
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, and FTB 
Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel. 
Single Member Limited Liability Company (SMLLC) – If you are a 
single member limited liability company, that is organized or doing 
business in California, or registered with the California Secretary of State 
(SOS), you are required to file Form 568, Limited Liability Company 
Return of Income, pay the annual tax and LLC Fee (if applicable), 
in addition to filing your tax return. Get Form 568, Limited Liability 
Company Tax Booklet for more information. 

Purpose 
Use Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments – Residents, to make 
adjustments to your federal adjusted gross income and to your federal 
itemized deductions using California law. 

Specific Line Instructions 

Part I  Income Adjustment Schedule 
Column A — Federal Amounts 
Section A, Line 1 through Line 7, and Section B, Line 1 through Line 8 
Enter in Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through 
line 8 the same amounts you entered on your federal Form 1040, U.S. 
Individual Income Tax Return or Form 1040-SR, U.S. Tax Return for 
Seniors, line 1 through 7; and federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), Additional 
Income and Adjustments to Income, line 1 through line 8. 
Line 9 – Total 
Combine the amounts in Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, 
line 1 through line 8. 
Section C, Line 10 through Line 17 and Line 19 through Line 21 
Enter the same amounts entered on your federal Schedule 1 
(Form 1040), line 10 through line 17 and line 19 through line 21. 
Line 18a and Line 18b 
Enter on line 18a the same amount entered on your federal Schedule 1 
(Form 1040), line 18a. Enter on line 18b the social security number 
(SSN) or individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) and last name 
of the person to whom you paid alimony. 
Line 22 
Add line 10 through line 18a and line 19 through line 21. However, if you 
claimed any of the following deductions below or if you made any of the 
adjustments described in the instructions for federal Schedule 1 (Form 
1040), line 22, include that amount in the total you enter in column A, 
line 22. 
• Charitable contribution with your standard deduction (CCSD) on 

federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 10b 
• Foreign housing deduction from federal Form 2555, Foreign Earned 

Income from Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 22 
Line 23 – Total 
Subtract line 22 from line 9. This amount should match the amount 
entered on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11. 

Column B and Column C — Subtractions and 
Additions 
Use these columns to enter subtractions and additions to the federal 
amounts in column A that are necessary because of differences between 



  

 
  
 
 
 
 

 

  
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
  
 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
  

 
 

 

  

 

California and federal law. Enter all amounts as positive numbers unless 
instructed otherwise. 
You may need one or more of the following FTB publications to complete 
column B and column C: 
• 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments 
• 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines 
• 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status 
• 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel 
• 1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency 
To get forms and publications, go to ftb.ca.gov/forms. 
Section A – Income 
Line 1 – Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc. 
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. If you did not 
receive any of the following types of income, make no entry on this line in 
either column B or column C. 
Employees and independent contractors. Some taxpayers may be 
classified as independent contractors for federal purposes and as 
employees for California purposes. If the taxpayer is classified as an 
employee for California purposes, enter the amount reported as gross 
income of the business from federal Schedule C (Form 1040), line 7, as 
wages on line 1, column C. 
Active duty military pay. Special rules apply to active duty military 
taxpayers. Get FTB Pub. 1032 for more information. 
Combat zone foreign earned income exclusion. For taxable years 
beginning on and after January 1, 2018, California does not conform 
to the federal foreign earned income exclusion for amounts received 
by certain U.S. citizens or resident aliens with an abode in the U.S., 
specifically contractors or employees of contractors supporting the U.S. 
Armed Forces in designated combat zones. Enter the amount excluded 
from federal income on line 8f, column C. 
Combat zone extended to Egypt’s Sinai Peninsula. Federal law extended 
combat zone tax benefits to the Sinai Peninsula of Egypt. California does 
not conform. Enter the amount of combat pay excluded from federal 
income on line 1, column C. Get FTB Pub. 1032 for more information. 
Sick pay received under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act and 
Railroad Retirement Act. California excludes this item from income. Enter in 
column B the amount of these benefits included in the amount in column A. 
Ridesharing fringe benefit differences. Under federal law, certain 
qualified transportation benefits are excluded from gross income. Under 
the California R&TC, there are no monthly limits for the exclusion of 
these benefits and California’s definitions are more expansive. Enter the 
amount of ridesharing benefits received and included in federal income 
on line 1, column B. 
Foreign income. If you excluded income exempted by U.S. tax treaties 
on your federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) (unless specifically exempt 
for state purposes), enter the excluded amount in column C. If you 
claimed foreign earned income or housing cost exclusion on your federal 
Schedule 1 (Form 1040) (under IRC Section 911), see the instructions for 
line 8. 
Exclusion for compensation from exercising a California Qualified 
Stock Option (CQSO). To claim this exclusion: 
• Your earned income is $40,000 or less from the corporation granting 

the CQSO. 
• The market value of the options granted to you must be less than 

$100,000. 
• The total number of shares must be 1,000 or less. 
• The corporation issuing the stock must designate that the stock issued 

is a CQSO at the time the option is granted. 
If you included an amount qualifying for this exclusion in federal income, 
enter that amount on line 1, column B. 
Employer health savings account (HSA) contribution. Enter the amount 
of any employer HSA contribution from federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax 
Statement, box 12, code W on line 1, column C. 
Income exclusion for In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) 
supplementary payments . If you are an IHSS provider who received 
IHSS supplementary payments that were included in federal wages, enter 

the IHSS supplementary payments on line 1, column B. IHSS providers 
only receive a supplementary payment if they paid a sales tax on the 
IHSS services they provide. The supplementary payment is equal to the 
sales tax paid plus any increase in the federal payroll withholding paid 
due to the supplementary payment. 
Native American earned income exemption. California does not tax 
federally recognized tribal members living in California Indian country 
who earn income from any federally recognized California Indian country. 
Military compensation is considered income from reservation sources. 
Enrolled members who receive reservation sourced per capita income 
must reside in their affiliated tribe’s Indian country to qualify for tax 
exempt status. Enter on line 1, column B the earnings included in federal 
income that are exempt for California. Attach form FTB 3504, Enrolled 
Tribal Member Certification, to Form 540. For more information, get form 
FTB 3504. 

Line 2 – Taxable Interest 
If you did not receive any of the kinds of income listed below, make no 
entry on this line in either column B or column C. 
Enter in column B the interest you received from: 
• U.S. savings bonds (except for interest from series EE U.S. savings 

bonds issued after 1989 that qualified for the Education Savings Bond 
Program exclusion). 

• U.S. Treasury bills, notes, and bonds. 
• Any other bonds or obligations of the United States and its territories. 
• Interest from Ottoman Turkish Empire Settlement Payments. 
• Interest income from children under age 19 or students under age 24 

included on the child’s federal tax return and reported on the California 
tax return by the parent. For more information, get form FTB 3803, 
Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. 

Certain mutual funds pay “exempt-interest dividends.” If the mutual fund 
has at least 50% of its assets invested in tax-exempt U.S. obligations 
and/or in California or its municipal obligations, that amount of dividend 
is exempt from California tax. The proportion of dividends that are 
tax-exempt will be shown on your annual statement or statement issued 
with federal Form 1099-DIV, Dividends and Distributions. 
Enter in column C the interest you identified as tax-exempt interest on 
your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 2a, and which you received from: 
• The federally exempt interest dividends from other states, or their 

municipal obligations and/or from mutual funds that do not meet the 
50% rule above. 

• Non-California state bonds. 
• Non-California municipal bonds issued by a county, city, town, or other 

local government unit. 
• Obligations of the District of Columbia issued after December 27, 1973. 
• Non-California bonds if the interest was passed through to you from 

S corporations, trusts, partnerships, or Limited Liability Companies (LLCs). 
• Interest or other earnings earned from a Health Savings Account (HSA) 

are not treated as taxed deferred. Interest or earnings in a HSA are 
taxable in the year earned. 

• Interest on any bond or other obligation issued by the Government of 
American Samoa. 

• Interest income from children under age 19 or students under age 24 
included on the parent’s federal tax return and reported on the 
California tax return by the child. 

Make no entries in either column B or column C for interest you 
earned on Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) Bonds, 
Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) Bonds, and 
Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporations (FHLMC) securities, or grants 
paid to low income individuals. 
Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received interest income from the items listed 
above passed through to you from S corporations, trusts, estates, 
partnerships, or LLCs. 

Line 3 – Ordinary Dividends 
Generally, no difference exists between the amount of dividends reported 
in column A and the amount reported using California law. However, 
California taxes dividends derived from other states and their municipal 
obligations. 
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Add dividends received from the following and enter in column B: 
• Dividend income from children under age 19 or students under age 24 

included on the parent’s or child’s federal tax return and reported 
on the California tax return by the opposite taxpayer. For more 
information, get form FTB 3803. 

Add dividends received from the following and enter in column C: 
• Controlled foreign corporation (CFC) dividends in the year distributed. 
• Regulated investment company (RIC) capital gains in the year 

distributed. 
• Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from an S corporation. 
• Dividend income from children under age 19 or students under age 24 

excluded on the parent’s or child’s federal tax return and reported 
on the California tax return by the opposite taxpayer. For more 
information, get form FTB 3803. 

Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received dividends from: 
• Non-cash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or 

mutual associations. 
• A CFC. 
• Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from S corporations. 
• Undistributed capital gains for RIC shareholders. 
Line 4a and b – IRA Distributions 
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, there may be 
significant differences in the taxable amount of a distribution (including 
a distribution from conversion of a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA), 
depending on when you made your contributions to the IRA. Differences 
also occur if your California IRA deductions were different from your 
federal deductions because of differences between California and federal 
self-employment income. 
If the taxable amount using California law is: 
• Less than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in 

column B. 
• More than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in 

column C. 
Get FTB Pub. 1005 for more information and worksheets for figuring the 
adjustment to enter on this line, if any. 
If you have an IRA basis and were a nonresident in prior years, you may 
need to restate your California IRA basis. Get FTB Pub. 1100 for more 
information. 
Coverdell Education Savings Account (ESA) formerly known as 
Education (ED) IRA – If column A includes a taxable distribution from 
an ED IRA, you may owe additional tax on that amount. Get form 
FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) and 
Other Tax-Favored Accounts. 
Line 5a and b – Pensions and Annuities 
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, if you received 
Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits or partially taxable distributions from a 
pension plan, you may need to make the following adjustments. 
If you received a federal Form RRB-1099-R, Annuities or Pensions by the 
Railroad Retirement Board, for railroad retirement benefits and included 
all or part of these benefits in taxable income in column A, enter the 
taxable benefit amount in column B. 
If you began receiving a retirement annuity between July 1, 1986, and 
January 1, 1987, and elected to use the three-year rule for California 
purposes and the annuity rules for federal purposes, enter in column C 
the amount of the annuity payments you excluded for federal purposes. 
You may have to pay an additional tax if you received a taxable 
distribution from a qualified retirement plan before reaching age 59½ and 
the distribution was not rolled over into another qualified plan. Get form 
FTB 3805P for more information. 
Line 6 – Social Security Benefits 
California excludes U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 
railroad retirement benefits from taxable income. Enter in column B 
the amount of taxable U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 
railroad retirement benefits shown in column A, line 6(b). 

Line 7 – Capital Gain or (Loss) 
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. California taxes long 
and short term capital gains as regular income. No special rate for long 
term capital gains exists. However, the California basis of the assets listed 
below may be different from the federal basis due to differences between 
California and federal laws. If there are differences, use Schedule D (540), 
California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment, to calculate the amount to 
enter on line 7. 
• Gain on sale of qualified small business stock under IRC Section 1045 

and IRC Section 1202. 
• Basis amounts resulting from differences between California and 

federal law in prior years. 
• Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions. 
• Installment sale gain reported on form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale 

Income. 
• Gain on the sale of personal residence where depreciation was 

allowable. 
• Pass-through gain or loss from partnerships, fiduciaries, 

S corporations, or LLCs. 
• Capital loss carryover from your 2019 California Schedule D (540). 
• Capital gain from children under age 19 or students under age 24 

included on the parent’s or child’s federal tax return and reported 
on the California tax return by the opposite taxpayer. For more 
information, get form FTB 3803. 

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about: 
• Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before 1987. 
• Capital gain exclusion for sale of principal residence by a surviving 

spouse. 
• Gain on sale or disposition of qualified assisted housing development 

to low-income residents or to specified entities maintaining housing 
for low-income residents. 

• Undistributed capital gain for RIC shareholders. 
• Gain or loss on the sale of property inherited before January 1, 1987. 
• Capital loss carrybacks. 
Section B – Additional Income 
Line 1 – Taxable Refunds, Credits, or Offsets of State and Local 
Income Taxes 
California does not tax the state income tax refund. Enter in column B the 
amount of state tax refund entered in column A. 
Line 2a – Alimony Received 
Under federal law (TCJA), alimony and separate maintenance payments 
are not includable in the income of the receiving spouse, if made under 
any divorce or separation agreement executed after December 31, 2018, 
or executed on or before December 31, 2018 and modified after that 
date (if the modification expressly provides that the amendments apply). 
California does not conform. If you received alimony not included in your 
federal income, enter the alimony received in column C. 
If you are a nonresident alien and received alimony not included in your 
federal income, enter the alimony on this line in column C. 
Line 3 – Business Income or (Loss) 
Adjustments to federal business income or loss you reported in column A 
generally are necessary because of the difference between California 
and federal law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and 
accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis used to 
figure California depreciation may be different from the amount used for 
federal purposes. 
Adjustments are figured on form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and 
Amortization Adjustments, and are most commonly necessary because of 
the following: 
• Before January 1, 1987, California did not allow depreciation under the 

federal accelerated cost recovery system. Continue to figure California 
depreciation for those assets in the same manner as prior years . 

• On or after January 1, 1987, California provides special credits and 
accelerated write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying 
assets. Refer to the bulleted list on the following page. 
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Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, to figure the total 
adjustment for line 3 if you have: 
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss. 
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss 
From Business. 

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the total adjustment for line 3 if you have: 
• Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or 

combination of gains and losses). 
• Passive activities that produce gains. 
Other loan forgiveness – Under federal law, the CAA, 2021, allows 
deductions for eligible expenses paid for with covered loan amounts. 
California law conforms to this federal provision, with modifications. For 
California purposes, if you are an ineligible entity and deducted eligible 
expenses for federal purposes, enter the total amount of those expenses 
deducted on line 3, column C. 
Shuttered venue operator grant – Under federal law, the CAA, 2021, 
allows deductions for eligible expenses paid for with grant amounts. 
California law conforms to this federal provision with modifications. For 
California purposes, if you are an ineligible entity and deducted eligible 
expenses for federal purposes, enter the total amount of those expenses 
deducted on line 3, column C. 
Paycheck Protection Program loans forgiveness. Under federal law, 
the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 allows deductions for eligible 
expenses paid for with covered loan amounts. California law conforms 
to this federal provision with modifications. For California purposes, if 
you are an ineligible entity and deducted eligible expenses for federal 
purposes, enter the total amount of those expenses deducted on line 3, 
column C. 
Employees and independent contractors. Some taxpayers may be 
classified as independent contractors for federal purposes and as 
employees for California purposes. If the taxpayer is classified as an 
employee for California purposes, enter the amount of federal business 
income from line 3, column A, on line 3, column B. 
Commercial cannabis activity. Under federal law, deductions for 
business expenses of a trade or business paid or incurred during the 
taxable year in conducting commercial cannabis activity are disallowed. 
California does not conform. California allows cannabis business licensed 
under California Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety 
Act (CA MAUCRSA) to claim these expenses. Enter the amount of these 
expenses on line 3, column B. 
Limitation on deduction of business interest. Under federal law, every 
business, regardless of its form, is generally subject to a disallowance of 
a deduction for net interest expense in excess of 50% of the business’s 
adjustable taxable income. California does not conform. Figure the 
difference between the amounts allowed using federal law and California 
law. Enter the difference on line 3, column B. 
Limitation on employer’s deduction for fringe benefit expenses. Under 
federal law, deductions for entertainment expenses are disallowed; the 
current 50% limit on the deductibility of business meals is expanded 
to meals provided through an in-house cafeteria or otherwise on the 
premises of the employer; deductions for employee transportation fringe 
benefits (e.g., parking and mass transit) are denied; and no deduction is 
allowed for transportation expenses that are the equivalent of commuting 
for employees (e.g., between the employee’s home and the workplace), 
except as provided for the safety of the employee. California does not 
conform. Figure the difference between the amounts allowed using 
federal law and California law. Enter the difference on line 3, column B or 
column C. 
Limitation on wagering losses. Under federal law, all deductions 
for expenses incurred in carrying out wagering transactions, and not 
just gambling losses, are limited to the extent of gambling winnings. 
California does not conform. Figure the difference between the amounts 
allowed using federal law and California law. Enter the difference on 
line 3, column B. 

Sexual harassment settlements. Under federal law, no deduction 
is allowed for any settlement, payout, or attorney fees related to 
sexual harassment or sexual abuse if such payments are subject to a 
nondisclosure agreement. California does not conform. Enter the amount 
received and included in federal income on line 3, column B. 

Penalty Assessed by Professional Sports League. California does 
not allow a business expense deduction for any fine or penalty paid or 
incurred by an owner of a professional sports franchise assessed or 
imposed by the professional sports league that includes that franchise. If 
the fine or penalty was deducted for federal purposes, enter this amount 
on line 3, column C. 

Business Expense Deduction Disallowance – California disallows a 
deduction for a business expense related to a payment to the Edge College 
and Career Network, LLC, to a taxpayer who meets all of the following: 
• They are charged as a defendant in any of several specified criminal 

complaints as listed in R&TC Section 17275.4. 
• There is a final determination of their guilt with regard to a violation of 

any offense arising out of that criminal complaint. 
• There is a finding that they took the deduction unlawfully. 
For more information, see R&TC Section 17275.4. Enter the amount of 
this deduction on line 3, column C. 

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about: 
Income related to: 
• Business, trade, or profession carried on within California that is 

an integral part of a unitary business carried on both within and 
outside California. 

• Pro-rata share of income received from a CFC by a U.S. shareholder. 

Basis adjustments related to: 
• Property acquired prior to becoming a California resident. 
• Sales or use tax credit for property used in a former Enterprise 

Zone (EZ), Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area (LAMBRA), or 
Targeted Tax Area (TTA). 

• Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing grapevines replaced 
in a California vineyard on or after January 1, 1992, as a result of 
phylloxera infestation; or on or after January 1, 1997, as a result of 
Pierce’s disease. 

• Expenditures for tertiary injectants. 
• Property placed in service on an Indian reservation after 

December 31, 2017, and before January 1, 2021. 
• Amortization of pollution control facilities. 
• Discharge of real property business indebtedness. 
• Vehicles used in an employer-sponsored ridesharing program. 
• An enhanced oil recovery system. 
• Joint Strike Fighter property costs. 
• The cost of making a business accessible to disabled individuals. 
• Property for which you received an energy conservation subsidy from a 

public utility on or after January 1, 1995, and before January 1, 1997. 
• Research and experimental expenditures. 
• Reduction of capitalized costs attributable to the Work Opportunity Credit. 

Business deductions related to: 
• Wages paid in a former EZ, LAMBRA, Manufacturing Enhancement 

Area (MEA), or TTA. 
• Certain employer costs for employees who are also enrolled members 

of Indian tribes. 
• Abandonment or tax recoupment fees for open-space easements and 

timberland preserves. 
• Research expense. 
• Employer wage expense for the Work Opportunity Credit. 
• Employer wage expense for the federal Employee Retention Credit. 
• Pro-rata share of deductions received from a CFC by a U.S. 

shareholder. 
• Interest paid on indebtedness in connection with company-owned life 

insurance policies. 
• Premiums paid on life insurance policies, annuities, or endowment 

contracts issued after June 8, 1997, where the owner of the business 
is directly or indirectly a policy beneficiary. 
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• Commercial Revitalization Deductions for Renewal Communities. 
• Small Employer Health Insurance Credit. 

Line 4 – Other Gains or (Losses) 
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, the California 
basis of your other assets may differ from your federal basis due to 
differences between California and federal law. Therefore, you may have 
to adjust the amount of other gains or losses. Get Schedule D-1, Sales of 
Business Property. 

Line 5 – Rental Real Estate, Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations, 
Trusts, etc. 
Adjustments to federal income or loss you reported in column A 
generally are necessary because of the difference between California 
and federal law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and 
accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis used to 
figure California depreciation may be different from the recovery period 
or amount used for federal. For more information, see the instructions for 
column B and column C, line 3. 
California law does not conform to federal law for material participation 
in rental real estate activities. Beginning in 1994, and for federal purposes 
only, rental real estate activities conducted by persons in real property 
business are not automatically treated as passive activities. Get form 
FTB 3801 for more information. 
Use form FTB 3801 to figure the total adjustment for line 5 if you have: 
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss. 
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule E (Form 1040), Supplemental 
Income and Loss. 

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the total adjustment for line 5 if you have: 
• Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or 

combination of gains and losses). 
• Passive activities that produce gains. 
LLCs that are classified as partnerships for California purposes and 
limited liability partnerships (LLPs) are subject to the same rules as 
other partnerships. LLCs report distributive items to members on 
Schedule K-1 (568), Member’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, 
etc. LLPs report to partners on Schedule K-1 (565), Partner’s Share of 
Income, Deductions, Credits, etc. 
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about accumulation distributions 
to beneficiaries for which the trust was not required to pay California tax 
because the beneficiary’s interest was contingent. 

Line 6 – Farm Income or (Loss) 
Adjustments to federal income or loss you report in column A generally 
are necessary because of the difference between California and federal 
law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, NOLs, and 
accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis you use to 
figure California depreciation may be different from the amount used for 
federal purposes, and you may need to make an adjustment to your farm 
income or loss. For more information, see the instructions for column B 
and column C, line 3. 
Use form FTB 3801 to figure the total adjustment for line 6 if you have: 
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss. 
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive activity 

reported on federal Schedule F (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Farming. 
Use form FTB 3885A to figure the total adjustment for line 6 if you have: 
• Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or 

combination of gains and losses). 
• Passive activities that produce gains. 
Line 7 – Unemployment Compensation 
California excludes unemployment compensation from taxable income. 
Enter on line 7, column B the amount of unemployment compensation 
shown in column A. 
Paid Family Leave Insurance (PFL) benefits, also known as Family 
Temporary Disability Insurance. Payments received from the PFL 
Program are reported on federal Form 1099-G, Certain Government 
Payments. California excludes payments received from the PFL program 
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from taxable income. Enter on line 7, column B the amount of PFL 
payments shown in column A. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1001. 
Line 8 – Other Income 
a. California Lottery Winnings. California excludes California lottery 
winnings from taxable income. Enter in column B the amount of California 
lottery winnings included in the federal amount on line 8, column A. 
Make no adjustment for lottery winnings from other states. They are 
taxable by California. If you reduced gambling income for California 
lottery income, you may need to reduce the losses included in the federal 
itemized deductions on Part II, line 16, column A. Enter these losses on 
Part II, line 16, column B. 
b. Disaster Loss Deduction. If you have a California disaster loss 
carryover deduction and there is income in the current taxable year, enter 
the total amount from your 2020 form FTB 3805V, Part III, line 2 and/or 
line 3, column (f), as a positive number in column B. 

NOL Attributable to a Qualified Disaster – If you deduct a 2020 disaster loss 
in the 2020 taxable year and have remaining disaster loss that results in an 
NOL, the NOL can be carried forward. Get FTB 3805V for more information. 
c. Federal NOL from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 8. If the 
amount on line 8 in column A includes a federal NOL, enter the amount of 
the federal NOL as a positive number in column C. Get form FTB 3805V, 
to figure the allowable California NOL. 
d. NOL Carryover from Form FTB 3805V. The allowable NOL carryover under 
California law is different from the allowable NOL carryover under federal 
law. If you have a California NOL carryover from prior years, enter the total 
allowable California NOL carryover deduction for the current year from form 
FTB 3805V, Part III, line 2, column (f), as a positive number in column B. 
e.  NOL from Forms FTB 3805Z, FTB 3807, or FTB 3809. Enter in 
column B the total NOL figured on the following forms. 
• FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit Summary, line 3b 
• FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction and 

Credit Summary, line 3b 
• FTB 3809, Targeted Tax Area Deduction and Credit Summary, line 3b 
f. Other (describe). Identify the type of income reported in the space 
provided. If there is more than one item to report on line 8f, attach a 
statement that lists each item and enter the total of all individual items in 
column B or column C as instructed below. 

Unemployment compensation exclusion – For federal purposes, if 
your modified AGI is less than $150,000, the American Rescue Plan Act 
excludes from income up to $10,200 of unemployment compensation 
paid to you in 2020. For married taxpayers, you and your spouse can 
each exclude up to $10,200 of unemployment compensation. If for 
federal purposes, you excluded unemployment compensation from 
your income on Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 8, enter this amount as a 
positive number on line 8f, column C and write “UCE” on line 8f. 

California microbusiness COVID-19 relief grant – California law allows 
an exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by a 
taxpayer pursuant to the California Microbusiness COVID-19 Relief 
Program that is administered by CalOSBA. Federal law has no similar 
exclusion. Enter on line 8f, column B the amount of this type of income. 

California venues grant – California law allows an exclusion from gross 
income for grant allocations received by a taxpayer pursuant to the 
California Venues Grant Program that is administered by the CalOSBA. 
Federal law has no similar exclusion. Enter on line 8f, column B the 
amount of this type of income. 

Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant Program – California allows an 
exclusion from gross income for grant allocations received by a taxpayer 
pursuant to the COVID-19 Relief Grant under Executive Order No. E 
20/21-182 and the California Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant 
Program established by Section 12100.83 of the Government Code. 
If you included any amount as income for federal purposes on line 8, 
column A, enter the amount on line 8f, column B. 
Income exclusion for rent forgiveness – If for federal purposes gross 
income includes a tenant’s rent liability that is forgiven by a landlord or 
rent forgiveness provided through funds grantees received as a direct 



  

 

  
 

 
 

 
 

 

  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

allocation from the Secretary of the Treasury, enter in line 8f, column B 
the amount of this type of income included in line 8, column A. 

IRC Section 965 deferred foreign income. If you included IRC 965 
deferred foreign income on your federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), enter 
the amount on line 8f, column B and write “IRC 965” on line 8f and at the 
top of Form 540. 

Global intangible low-taxed income (GILTI) under IRC Section 951A. 
If you included GILTI on your federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), enter the 
amount on line 8f, column B and write “IRC 951A” on line 8f. 
Excess business loss. For taxable years beginning after 
December 31, 2018, California law generally conforms to the changes 
under the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act in regard to the disallowance of excess 
business loss deductions of non-corporate taxpayers. For California 
purposes, any disallowed loss will be treated as a carryover excess 
business loss instead of an NOL carryover for the subsequent taxable year. 
The federal CARES Act made amendments to IRC Section 461(l) by 
eliminating the excess business loss limitation of noncorporate taxpayers 
for taxable year 2020 and retroactively removing the limitation for 
taxable years 2018 and 2019. California does not conform to those 
amendments. For taxable year 2020, complete form FTB 3461, if you 
are a noncorporate taxpayer and your net losses from all of your trades 
or businesses are more than $259,000 ($518,000 for married taxpayers 
filing a joint return). Enter the amount from form FTB 3461, line 16, on 
line 8f, column C. Attach form FTB 3461 to the tax return. 
Qualified equity grants . California does not conform to federal law 
regarding the election to defer the recognition of income attributable to 
qualified stock. If you elected to defer income for federal purposes, make 
an adjustment on line 8f, column C. 

Expanded use of 529 account funds . California does not conform to 
federal law regarding the IRC Section 529 account funding for elementary 
and secondary education or to the maximum distribution amount. If 
the amount was excluded for federal purposes, make an adjustment on 
line 8f, column C. 
California does not conform to federal law under the SECURE Act 
regarding tax free distributions from an IRC Section 529 plan to cover 
costs associated with registered apprenticeship and qualified education 
loan repayments. If the amount was excluded for federal purposes, make 
an adjustment on line 8f, column C. 

Olympic Medals and Prize Money. If you excluded the value of any 
award, medal, or prize money on your federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), 
enter the excluded amount on line 8f, column C. For more information, 
get FTB Pub. 1001. 

Native American Earned Income Exemption. California does not tax 
federally recognized tribal members living in California Indian country 
who earn income from any federally recognized California Indian country. 
Military compensation is considered income from reservation sources. 
Enrolled members who receive reservation sourced per capita income 
must reside in their affiliated tribe’s Indian country to qualify for tax exempt 
status. For more information, see form FTB 3504. Enter in column B the 
income included in federal income that is exempt for California and write 
“FTB 3504” on line 8f. Attach form FTB 3504 to Form 540. 

Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. California 
conforms to federal law for elections made by parents reporting their 
child’s interest and dividends. Parents may elect to report their child’s 
income on their California income tax return by completing form 
FTB 3803. If you make this election, the child will not have to file a tax 
return. You may report your child’s income on your California income tax 
return even if you do not do so on your federal income tax return. 

If the amount of your child’s income you are reporting on your California 
income tax return is different than the amount you reported on your 
federal income tax return, enter the difference on line 8f, column B or column C 
and write “FTB 3803” on line 8f. Get form FTB 3803 for more information. 
Reward from a crime hotline. Enter in column B the amount of a reward 
authorized by a government agency received from a crime hotline 
established by a government agency or nonprofit organization that is 
included in the amount on line 8, column A. 

You may not make this adjustment if you are an employee of the hotline 
or someone who sponsors rewards for the hotline. 

Federal foreign earned income or housing exclusion. Enter in column C 
the amount deducted from federal income on federal Schedule 1 
(Form 1040), line 8. 

Combat zone foreign earned income exclusion. Enter the amount 
excluded from federal income on line 8f, column C. 

Beverage container recycling income. Enter in column B the amount of 
recycling income included in the amount on line 8, column A. 

Rebates or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or 
energy supplier. California law allows an income exclusion for rebates 
or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or energy supplier 
for the purchase and installation of water conservation appliances and 
devices. Enter in column B the amount of this type of income included in 
the amount on line 8, column A. 

Financial Incentive for Seismic Improvement. California law allows an 
income exclusion for loan forgiveness, grant, credit, rebate, voucher, or 
other financial incentive issued by the California Residential Mitigation 
Program or California Earthquake Authority to assist a residential 
property owner or occupant with expenses paid, or obligation incurred 
for earthquake loss mitigation. Enter in column B the amount of this type 
of income included in the amount on line 8, column A. 

Original issue discount (OID) for debt instruments issued in 1985 and 
1986. In the year of sale or other disposition, you must recognize the 
difference between the amount reported on your federal tax return and 
the amount reported for California purposes. Issuers: Enter the difference 
between the federal deductible amount and the California deductible 
amount on line 8f in column B. Holders: Enter the difference between the 
amount included in federal gross income and the amount included for 
California purposes on line 8f, column C. 

Foreign income of nonresident aliens. Adjust federal income to reflect 
worldwide income computed under California law. Enter losses from 
foreign sources in column B. Enter foreign source income in column C. 

Cost-share payments received by forest landowners. Enter in column B 
the cost-share payments received from the Department of Forestry and 
Fire Protection under the California Forest Improvement Act of 1978 
or from the United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, 
under the Forest Stewardship Program and the Stewardship Incentives 
Program, pursuant to the Cooperative Forestry Assistance Act. 

Coverdell ESA distributions. If you received a distribution from a 
Coverdell ESA, report the difference between the federal taxable amount 
and the California taxable amount in column B or column C. 

Grants paid to low-income individuals. California excludes grants paid 
to low-income individuals to construct or retrofit buildings to make them 
more energy efficient. Federal has no similar exclusion. Enter on line 8f, 
column B the amount of this type of income. 

Health savings account (HSA) distributions for unqualified medical 
expense. Distributions from an HSA not used for qualified medical 
expenses, and included in federal income, are not taxable for California 
purposes. Enter the distribution not used for qualified medical expenses 
on line 8f, column B. 

California National Guard Surviving Spouse & Children Relief Act of 
2004. Death benefits received from the State of California by a surviving 
spouse/RDP or member-designated beneficiary of certain military 
personnel killed in the performance of duty is excluded from gross 
income. Military personnel include the California National Guard, State 
Military Reserve, or the Naval Militia. If you reported a death benefit on 
line 8, column A, enter the death benefit amount in column B. 

Ottoman Turkish Empire settlement payments. If you received 
settlement payments as a person persecuted by the regime that was in 
control of the Ottoman Turkish Empire from 1915 until 1923 your gross 
income does not include those excludable settlement payments, or 
interest, received by you, your heirs, or your estate for payments received 
on or after January 1, 2005. If you reported settlement payments on 
line 8, column A, enter the amount of settlement payments in column B. 
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Mortgage forgiveness debt relief. California law does not conform 
to federal law regarding the exclusion of income from discharge of 
indebtedness from the disposition of your principal residence occurring 
after December 31, 2017. Enter the amount of discharge on line 8f, 
column C. 
Certain employer payments of student loans. California does not 
conform to the federal CARES Act regarding the exclusion of student 
loan payments made on behalf of an employee by an employer. Enter the 
amount of loan payment on line 8f, column C. 
g. Student Loan Discharged Due to Closure of a For-Profit School. 
California law allows an income exclusion for income that would result 
from the discharge of any student loan of an eligible individual. An 
individual is eligible for the exclusion if any of the following apply during 
the taxable year. 

1. The individual is granted a discharge of any student loan because: 
a. The individual successfully asserts that the school did something 

wrong or failed to do something that it should have done. 
b. The individual could not complete a program of study due to the 

school closing. 
2. The individual attended a Brightwood College school on or before 

December 5, 2018, and is granted a discharge of any student loan 
made in connection with attending that school, and that discharge is 
not covered under item 1 above. 

3. The individual attended a location of The Art Institute of California and 
is granted a discharge of any student loan made in connection with 
attending that school, and that discharge is not covered under item 1 
above. 

Enter in column B the amount of this type of income included in the 
amount on line 8g, column A. 

Line 9 – Total 
Add Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 8g 
in column B and column C. Enter the totals on line 9. 

Section C – Adjustments to Income 
Line 10 through Line 18a and Line 19 through Line 21 – California law 
is the same as federal law with the exception of the following: 
• Line 10 Educator Expenses – California does not conform to federal 

law regarding educator expenses. Enter the amount from column A, 
line 10 to column B, line 10. 

• Line 11 Certain Business Expense of Reservists, Performing Artists, 
and Fee Basis Government Officials – If claiming a depreciation 
deduction as an unreimbursed employee business expense on federal 
Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses, you may have an adjustment 
in column B or column C. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1001. 
Federal law eliminated the $3,000 deduction for living expenses for 
members of Congress while away from home. California does not 
conform. Enter the amount of living expenses on line 11, column C. 

• Line 12 Health Savings Account (HSA) Deduction – Federal law 
allows a deduction for contributions to an HSA account. California 
does not conform. Transfer the amount from column A, line 12, to 
column B, line 12. 

• Line 13 Moving Expenses – California does not conform to 
federal law regarding the suspension of the deduction for moving 
expenses, except for members of the Armed Forces on active duty. 
Non-military taxpayers prepare federal Form 3903, Moving Expenses, 
using California amounts. If you have excess moving expense 
reimbursements, enter the amount of moving expenses from line 3 
of federal Form 3903 on Schedule CA (540), line 13, column C. If 
your reimbursements are less than your moving expenses, enter the 
amount of moving expenses from line 5 of federal Form 3903 on 
Schedule CA (540), line 13, column C. 

• Line 14 Deductible Part of Self-employment Tax – A taxpayer may 
be classified as an independent contractor for federal purposes and as 
an employee for California purposes. This deduction is not allowed to 
an employee. If for California purposes, the taxpayer is classified as 
an employee, an adjustment is needed in column B. Enter the amount 
from column A, line 14, on column B, line 14. 
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• Line 16 Self-employed Health Insurance Deduction – A taxpayer may 
be classified as an independent contractor for federal purposes and as 
an employee for California purposes. This deduction is not allowed to 
an employee. If for California purposes, the taxpayer is classified as 
an employee, an adjustment is needed in column B. Enter the amount 
from column A, line 16, on column B, line 16. 
Note: A taxpayer classified as an employee for California purposes who 
makes an adjustment on this line may be able to claim this amount as 
a deduction for medical and dental expenses. For more information, 
see instructions for Part II, line 4. 

• Line 18a (Alimony Paid) – Under federal law (TCJA), alimony 
and separate maintenance payments are not deductible by the 
payor spouse, if made under any divorce or separation agreement 
executed after December 31, 2018, or executed on or before 
December 31, 2018, and modified after that date (if the modification 
expressly provides that the amendments apply). California does not 
conform. If you paid alimony and did not deduct it on your federal tax 
return, enter the alimony in column C. 
If you are a nonresident alien and did not deduct alimony on your 
federal tax return, enter the amount you paid in column C. 
Line 18b (Recipient’s SSN/Last Name) – Enter the SSN or ITIN and last 
name of the person to whom you paid alimony. 

• Line 20 Student Loan Interest Deduction – California conforms to 
federal law regarding student loan interest deduction except for a 
spouse/RDP of a non-California domiciled military taxpayer residing in 
a community property state. Use the Student Loan Interest Deduction 
Worksheet below to compute the amount to enter on line 20. For more 
information, get FTB Pub. 1032. 

Student Loan Interest Deduction Worksheet 
1 Enter the total amount from Schedule CA (540), 

line 20, column A. If the amount on line 1 is zero, 
STOP. You are not allowed a deduction for California . . . . .1_________ 

2 Enter the total interest you paid in 2020 
on qualified student loans but not more than $2,500 here  . .2_________ 

3 Add federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 20 
(student loan interest deduction) to 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 (AGI). 
Enter the result here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  3 _________ 

4 Enter the amount shown below for 
your filing status. 
• Single, head of household, or 

qualifying widow(er) – $60,000 
• Married/RDP filing jointly – $120,000 }4 _________ 

5 Is the amount on line 3 more than the 
amount on line 4? 
m No. Skip lines 5 and 6, enter 0  on 

line 7, and go to line 8.  
- -

m Yes. Subtract line 4 from line 3  . . . . . .  5 _________ 
6 Divide line 5 by $15,000 ($30,000 if married/RDP filing 

jointly). Enter the result as a decimal (rounded to at least 
three places). If the result is 1.000 or more, enter 1.000 . .  6 _ . _ _ _ _ 

7 Multiply line 2 by line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .7_________ 
8 Student loan interest deduction. Subtract line 7 

from line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .8_________ 
9 Student loan interest adjustment. If line 1 is less than 

line 8, enter the difference here and 
on Schedule CA (540), line 20, column C. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .9_________ 

• Line 21 Tuition and Fees – California does not conform to federal 
law regarding the tuition and fees deduction. Enter the amount from 
column A, line 21 on column B, line 21. 

Line 22 – Add line 10 through line 18a and line 19 through line 21 in 
column B and column C. 
If you claimed a charitable contribution with your standard deduction 
(CCSD) from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 10b, include that 
amount in the total you enter on column B, line 22. Enter the amount 
and “1040, CCSD” on the dotted line next to line 22. This amount may 
only be claimed for California purposes as an itemized deduction. See 
instructions for Part II, line 11, for more information. 



  

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you claimed the foreign housing deduction, include that amount in the 
total you enter in column B, line 22. Enter the amount and “Form 2555” 
on the dotted line next to line 22. 
If you claimed the excess deduction on termination of an estate or 
trust for federal purposes, include that amount in the total you enter in 
column B, line 22. Enter the amount and “ED67(e)” on the dotted line 
next to line 22. For California purposes, this amount is claimed as a 
miscellaneous itemized deduction. For more information, see instructions 
in Part II for line 21. 

Line 23 – Total 
Subtract line 22 from line 9 in column B and column C. 
Also, transfer the amount from: 
• Line 23, column B to Form 540, line 14 
If column B is a negative number, transfer the amount as a positive 
number to Form 540, line 16. 
• Line 23, column C to Form 540, line 16 
If column C is a negative number, transfer the amount as a positive 
number to Form 540, line 14. 

Part II Adjustments to Federal Itemized Deductions 
Important: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal tax return 
but will itemize deductions on your California tax return, first complete 
federal Schedule A (Form 1040), Itemized Deductions. Then check 
the box at the top of Schedule CA (540), Part II and complete line 1 
through line 30. Attach a copy of federal Schedule A (Form 1040) to your 
Form 540. 

Column A — Federal Amounts 
Line 1 through Line 16 
Enter on line 1 through line 16 the same amounts you entered on your 
federal Schedule A (Form 1040). 

Column B and Column C — Subtractions and 
Additions 
Use these columns to enter subtractions and additions to the federal 
amounts in column A that are necessary because of differences between 
California and federal law. Enter all amounts as positive numbers unless 
instructed otherwise. 

Line 1 through Line 4 
Employees and independent contractors – Taxpayers classified as 
independent contractors for federal purposes and classified as employees 
for California purposes may claim the amount of self-employed health 
insurance deduction for federal purposes as a medical and dental 
expense deduction for California purposes. Combine the amount paid for 
self-employed health insurance with other medical and dental expenses 
(as applicable). The total amount of the medical and dental expenses is 
subject to the 7.5% of federal AGI threshold. Enter the difference between 
the medical and dental expense deduction allowed for California and 
federal on line 4, column C 
Health Savings Account (HSA) Distributions – If you received a tax-free 
HSA distribution for qualified medical expenses, enter the qualified 
expenses paid that exceed 7.5% of federal AGI on line 4, column C. 

Line 5a – State and Local Taxes 
California does not allow a deduction for state and local income tax 
(including limited partnership tax and income or franchise tax paid by 
corporations) and State Disability Insurance (SDI) or state and local 
general sales tax. Enter that amount on line 5a, column B. 

Line 5e – The federal deduction for state and local tax is limited to 
$10,000 ($5,000 for married filing separate) for the aggregate of state 
and local income taxes and property taxes. California does not conform. 
If your deduction was limited under federal law, enter an adjustment on 
line 5e, column C for the amount over the federal limit. 

Line 6 – Other Taxes 
California does not allow a deduction for foreign income taxes. Enter that 
amount on line 6, column B. 

Federal law suspended the deduction for foreign property taxes. 
California does not conform. Enter the amount on line 6, column C. 
Generation Skipping Transfer Tax – Tax paid on generation skipping 
transfers is not deductible under California law. Enter the amount of 
generation skipping tax included in line 6, column A on line 6, column B. 

Line 8 – Home Mortgage Interest 
Federal law limited the mortgage interest deduction acquisition debt 
maximum from $1,000,000 ($500,000 for married filing separately) 
to $750,000 ($375,000 for married filing separately). California does 
not conform. If your deduction was limited under federal law, enter an 
adjustment on line 8, column C for the amount over the federal limit. 
Federal law suspended the deduction on up to $100,000 ($50,000 for 
married filing separately) for interest on home equity indebtedness, 
unless the loan is used to buy, build, or substantially improve the 
taxpayer’s home that secures the loan. California does not conform. If 
your deduction was limited under the federal law, enter an adjustment on 
line 8, column C for the amount over the federal limit. 
Mortgage Interest Credit – If you reduced your federal mortgage interest 
deduction by the amount of your mortgage interest credit (from federal 
Form 8396, Mortgage Interest Credit), increase your California itemized 
deductions by the same amount. Enter the amount of your federal 
mortgage interest credit on line 8, column C. 

Line 8d – Mortgage Insurance Premiums 
California does not allow a deduction for mortgage insurance premiums. 
Enter the amount from column A, line 8d on column B, line 8d. 

Line 9 – Investment Interest Expense 
Your California deduction for investment interest expense may be 
different from your federal deduction. Use form FTB 3526, Investment 
Interest Expense Deduction, to figure the amount to enter on line 9, 
column B or column C. 

Line 11 – Gifts By Cash Or Check 
Qualified Charitable Contributions – Your California deduction may be 
different from your federal deduction. California limits the amount of 
your deduction to 50% of your federal adjusted gross income. Figure the 
difference between the amount allowed using federal law and the amount 
allowed using California law. Enter the difference on line 11, column B. 
Cash Charitable Contributions With Your Standard Deduction – If you 
claimed a charitable contribution with your standard deduction (CCSD) 
from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 10b, this amount may only 
be claimed for California purposes as an itemized deduction. Enter the 
amount allowed using California law on line 11, column C. 
College Athletic Seating Rights – Federal law no longer allows a 
charitable deduction for amounts paid to an institution of higher 
education in exchange for college athletic seating rights. California does 
not conform. Enter the amount on line 11, column C. 
College Access Tax Credit – If you deducted a charitable contribution 
amount for the College Access Tax Credit Fund on your federal 
Schedule A (Form 1040) and are claiming the College Access Tax Credit 
on your Form 540, enter the amount used to calculate the College Access 
Tax Credit on line 11, column B. 
Charitable Contribution Deduction Disallowance – California disallows 
a charitable contribution deduction to an educational organization that 
is a postsecondary institution or to the Key Worldwide Foundation to a 
taxpayer who meets all of the following: 
• They are charged as a defendant in any of several specified criminal 

complaints as listed in R&TC Section 17275.4. 
• There is a final determination of their guilt with regard to a violation of 

any offense arising out of that criminal complaint. 
• There is a finding that they took the deduction unlawfully. 
For more information, see R&TC Section 17275.4. Enter the amount of 
this deduction on line 11, column B. 

Line 12 – Other Than By Cash or Check 
Qualified Charitable Contributions – Your California deduction may be 
different from your federal deduction. California limits the amount of 
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your deduction to 50% of your federal adjusted gross income. Figure the 
difference between the amount allowed using federal law and the amount 
allowed using California law. Enter the difference on line 12, column B. 
Charitable Contribution Deduction Disallowance – California disallows 
a charitable contribution deduction to an educational organization that 
is a postsecondary institution or to the Key Worldwide Foundation to a 
taxpayer who meets all of the following: 
• They are charged as a defendant in any of several specified criminal 

complaints as listed in R&TC Section 17275.4. 
• There is a final determination of their guilt with regard to a violation of 

any offense arising out of that criminal complaint. 
• There is a finding that they took the deduction unlawfully. 
For more information, see R&TC Section 17275.4. Enter the amount of 
this deduction on line 12, column B. 

Line 13 – Carryover From Prior Year 
Charitable Contribution Carryover Deduction – If deducting a prior 
year charitable contribution carryover, and the California carryover is 
larger than the federal carryover, enter the additional amount on line 13, 
column C. 
Carryover Deduction of Appreciated Stock Contributed to a Private 
Foundation prior to January 1, 2002 – If deducting a charitable 
contribution carryover of appreciated stock donated to a private operating 
foundation prior to January 1, 2002, and the fair market value allowed for 
federal purposes is larger than the basis allowed for California purposes, 
enter the difference on line 13, column B. 

Line 15 – Casualty or Theft Loss(es) 
Under federal law, the personal casualty and theft loss deduction is 
suspended, with exception for personal casualty gains. Federal allows 
a deduction for personal casualty and theft loss incurred in a federally 
declared disaster. California does not conform. 
California allows personal casualty and theft loss and disaster loss 
deductions. If you have personal casualty and theft loss and/or disaster 
loss, complete another federal Form 4684, Casualties and Thefts, 
using California amounts. Enter the difference between the federal and 
California amount in column B or column C. 

Line 16 – Other Itemized Deductions 
Unreimbursed Impairment-Related Work Expenses – If you completed 
federal Form 2106, prepare a second set of forms reflecting your 
employee business expense using California amounts (i.e., following 
California law). Include your entertainment expenses, if any, on line 5 of 
federal Form 2106 for California purposes. 
Generally, California law conforms with federal law and no adjustment is 
needed. However, differences occur when: 
• Assets (requiring depreciation) were placed in service before 

January 1, 1987. Figure the depreciation based on California law. 
• Federal employees who were on temporary duty status. California 

does not conform to the federal provision that expanded temporary 
duties to include prosecution duties, in addition to investigative 
duties. Therefore, travel expenses paid or incurred in connection with 
temporary duty status (exceeding one year), involving the prosecution 
(or support of the prosecution) of a federal crime, should not be 
included in the California amount. 

Compare federal Form 2106, line 10 and the form completed using 
California amounts. Enter the difference between the federal and 
California amount in column B or column C. 
Gambling Losses – California lottery losses are not deductible for 
California. Enter the amount of California lottery losses included in 
line 16, column A on line 16, column B. 
Federal Estate Tax – Federal estate tax paid on income in respect of a 
decedent is not deductible for California. Enter the amount of federal 
estate tax included in line 16, column A on line 16, column B. 
Claim of Right – If you had to repay an amount that you included in your 
income in an earlier year, because at the time you thought you had an 
unrestricted right to it, you may be able to deduct the amount repaid from 
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your income for the year in which you repaid it. Or, if the amount you 
repaid is more than $3,000, you may take a credit against your tax for the 
year in which you repaid it, whichever results in the least tax. 
If the amount repaid was not taxed by California, no deduction or credit 
is allowed. 
Social security benefits are not taxable by California and the repayment 
would not qualify for claim of right deduction or credit. If you deducted 
the repayment of Social Security benefits on your federal tax return, enter 
the amount of the federal deduction on line 16, column B. 
If you claimed a credit for the repayment on your federal tax return and 
are deducting the repayment for California, enter the allowable deduction 
on line 16, column C. 
If you deducted the repayment on your federal tax return and are taking 
a credit for California, enter the amount of the federal deduction on 
line 16, column B. To help you determine whether to take a credit or 
deduction, see the Repayment section of federal Publication 525, Taxable 
and Nontaxable Income. Remember to use the California tax rate in your 
computations. If you choose to take the credit instead of the deduction 
for California, add the credit amount on line 78, the total payment line, of 
the Form 540. To the left of the total, write “IRC 1341” and the amount of 
the credit. 

Line 19 through Line 22 – Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous 
Deductions 
Under federal law, the deduction for miscellaneous itemized deductions 
subject to the 2% floor is suspended. California does not conform. 

Line 19 – Unreimbursed Employee Expenses 
Prepare federal Form 2106 reflecting your employee business expense 
using California amounts (i.e., following California law). Include your 
entertainment expenses, if any, on line 5 of federal Form 2106 for 
California purposes. 
Enter the amount from line 10 of federal Form 2106 on line 19. 

Line 20 – Tax Preparation Fees 
Enter the fees you paid for preparation of your tax return, including fees 
paid for filing your return electronically. If you paid your tax by credit 
or debit card, include the convenience fee you were charged on line 21 
instead of this line. 

Line 21 – Other Expenses 
Enter the total amount you paid to produce or collect taxable income and 
manage or protect property held for earning income. 
List the type of each expense next to line 21 and enter the total of these 
expenses on line 21. If you are filing a paper return and you can’t fit all 
your expenses on the dotted lines next to line 21, attach a statement 
showing the type and amount of each expense. 
Examples of expenses to include on line 21 are: 
• Certain legal and accounting fees. 
• Custodial fees (for example, trust account). 
• Casualty and theft losses of property used in performing services 

as an employee from federal Form 4684, line 32 and 38b, or federal 
Form 4797, line 18a. 

• Deduction for repayment of amounts under a claim of right if $3,000 
or less. 

• Excess deduction on termination of an estate or trust. 
Claim of Right – If you had to repay an amount that you included in 
your income in an earlier year, because at the time you thought you had 
an unrestricted right to it, you may be able to deduct the amount repaid 
from your income for the year in which you repaid it. If the amount you 
repaid is less than $3,000, the deduction is subject to the 2% AGI limit 
for California purposes. If you are deducting the repayment for California, 
enter the allowable deduction on line 21. 
If the amount repaid was not taxed by California, no deduction is allowed. 

Line 27 – Other Adjustments 
Adoption-Related Expenses – If you deducted adoption-related expenses 
on your federal Schedule A (Form 1040) and are claiming the adoption 



  

  
 

 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

   
   

 
 

    
  

   
   
   
    
  

   
   

  
 

cost credit for the same amounts on your Form 540, enter the amount of 
the adoption cost credit claimed as a negative number on line 27. 
Nontaxable Income Expenses – If, on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), you 
claim expenses related to producing income taxed under federal law but not 
taxed by California, enter the amount as a negative number on line 27. 
You may claim expenses related to producing income taxed by California 
law but not taxed under federal law by entering the amount as a positive 
number on line 27. 
State Legislator’s Travel Expenses – Under California law, deductible 
travel expenses for state legislators include only those incurred while 
away from their place of residence overnight. Figure the difference 
between the amount allowed using federal law and the amount allowed 
using California law. Enter the difference as a negative number on line 27. 
Interest on Loans from Utility Companies – Taxpayers are allowed a 
tax deduction for interest paid or incurred on a public utility company 
financed loan that is used to purchase and install energy efficient 
equipment or products, including zone-heating products for a qualified 
residence located in California . Federal law has no equivalent deduction. 
Enter the amount as a positive number on line 27. 

Line 29 – California Itemized Deductions 
Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the amount shown below 
for your filing status? 
Single or married/RDP filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $203,341 
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $305,016 
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . .  $406,687 
NO Transfer the amount from line 28 to line 29. Do not complete the 

Itemized Deductions Worksheet. 
YES Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet below. 
Note: 
• If married or an RDP and filing a separate tax return, you and your 

spouse/RDP must either both itemize your deductions (even if the 
itemized deductions of one spouse/RDP are less than the standard 
deduction) or both take the standard deduction. 

• Also, if someone else can claim you as a dependent, claim the 
greater of the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. See 
the instructions for “California Standard Deduction Worksheet for 
Dependents” within the Form 540 Personal Income Tax Booklet to 
figure your standard deduction. 

Itemized Deductions Worksheet 
1. Amount from Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 28 . . . . .  1 _______ 
2. Add the amounts on federal Schedule A 

(Form 1040), line 4, line 9, and line 15 
plus any gambling losses included on line 16  . . . . . . .  2 _______ 

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  3 _______ 
If zero, STOP. Enter the amount from line 1 on 
Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 29. 

4. Multiply line 3 by 80% (.80) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  4 _______ 
5. Amount from Form 540, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  5 _______ 
6. Enter the amount shown above for your filing status . .  6 _______ 
7. Subtract line 6 from line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  7 _______ 

Note: If zero or less, STOP. Enter the amount from 
line 1 on Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 29. 

8. Multiply line 7 by 6% (.06) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  8 _______ 
9. Compare line 4 and line 8. Enter the smaller 

amount here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  9 _______ 
10. Total itemized deductions. Subtract line 9 from line 1. 

Enter here and on Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 29 . 10 _______ 

Line 30 – Amount from Line 29 or Standard Deduction 
If your filing status is Married/RDP filing separately and your spouse 
itemizes, enter the amount from line 29 (even if the standard deduction 
is larger). 
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TAXABLE YEAR 

2020 
California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment SCHEDULE 

D (540)Do not complete this schedule if all of your California gains (losses) are the same as your federal gains (losses). 

Name(s) as shown on return SSN or ITIN 

1 

(a) 
Description of property  

Example: 100 shares of “Z” Co. 

(b) 
Sales price 

(c)  
Cost or other basis 

(d)  
Loss  

If (c) is more than (b),  
subtract (b) from (c) 

(e) 
Gain 

If (b) is more than (c),  
subtract (c) from (b) 

a 

b 

c 

d 

e 

f 

g 

h 

i 

j 

k 

l 

m 

n 

o 

p 

q 

r 

s 

t 

u 

v 

 2 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568).  . . . . . . . . .  2

  3 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a)   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             3

4 Total 2020 gains from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line 1, line 2, and line 3  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       4

5 2020 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line 1 and line 2 .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              5	 (	 ) 

6 California capital loss carryover from 2019, if any. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   6	 ( ) 

7 Total 2020 loss. Add line 5 and line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7	 ( ) 

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP.For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP.



   

  8 Combine line 4 and line 7. If a loss, go to line 9. If a gain, go to line 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    	 8

  9 If line 8 is a loss, enter the smaller of:  a the loss on line 8. 

b $3,000 ($1,500 if married/RDP filing separate). See instructions  . . . . . .     	 9	 (	 ) 

10 Enter the gain or (loss) from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 7  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       	10

11 Enter the California gain from line 8 or (loss) from line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               	11

12 a If line 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540), Part I,  

Section A, line 7, column B 	  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                   	12a

	 b If line 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540), Part I,  
Section A, line 7, column C 	  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                   	12b
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2020 Instructions for California Schedule D (540) 
California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment 
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC). 

General Information 
In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, 
California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of 
January 1, 2015. However, there are continuing differences between 
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law 
changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal 
level. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. 
Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental 
Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California 
Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments - Residents, or Schedule CA 
(540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, 
and the Business Entity tax booklets. 
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the instructions. Taxpayers should not consider 
the instructions as authoritative law. 
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, husband, 
or wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP), 
unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to 
both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered 
domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, 
get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners. 

Purpose 
Use  California Schedule D (540), California Capital Gain or Loss 
Adjustment, only if there is a difference between your California and 
federal capital gains and losses. 
Get FTB Pub. 1001, for more information about the following: 
• Disposition of property inherited before 1987. 
• Gain on the sale or disposition of a qualified assisted housing 

development to low-income residents or to specific entities 
maintaining housing for low-income residents. 

• Capital loss carryback. 

Important Information 
Installment Sales. 
If you sold property at a gain (other than publicly traded stocks or 
securities) and you will receive a payment in a tax year after the year of 
sale, report the sale on the installment method unless you elect not to do 
so. Get form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income. Also, use that form if 
you received a payment in 2020, for an installment sale made in an earlier 
year. 
You may elect not to use the installment sale method for  California by 
reporting the entire gain on Schedule D (540) (or Schedule D-1, Sales of 
Business Property, for business assets) in the year of the sale and filing 
your return on or before the due date. 

At-Risk Rules and Passive Activity Limitations. 
If you dispose of (1) an asset used in an activity to which the at-risk rules 
apply, or (2) any part of your interest in an activity to which the at-risk 
rules apply, and the amounts in the activity for which you are not at risk, 
get and complete federal Form 6198, At-Risk Limitations, using  California 
amounts to figure your  California deductible loss under the at-risk rules. 
Once a loss becomes allowable under the at-risk rules, it becomes 
subject to the  passive activity rules. Get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity 
Loss Limitations. 

Capital Assets. 
The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) amended IRC Section 1221 excluding 
a patent, invention, model or design (whether or not patented), and 
a secret formula or process held by the taxpayer who created the 
property (and certain other taxpayers) from the definition of a capital 
asset. California does not conform. Report your capital assets on 
Schedule D (540). 

Specific Line Instructions 
Line 1 – List each capital asset transaction. 
Column (a) – Description of Property. Describe the asset you sold or 
exchanged. 
Column (b) – Sales Price. Enter in this column either the gross sales 
price or the net sales price. If you received federal Form 1099-B, 
Proceeds From Broker and Barter Exchange Transactions; federal Form 
1099-S, Proceeds From Real Estate Transactions; or similar statement 
showing the gross sales price, enter that amount in column (b). 
However, if box 6 of federal Form 1099-B indicates that net proceeds 
were reported to the Internal Revenue Service, enter that net amount in 
column (b). If you entered the net amount in column (b), do not include 
the commissions and option premiums in column (c). 
Column (c) – Cost or Other Basis. In general, the cost or other basis 
represents the cost of the property plus purchase commissions and 
improvements, minus depreciation, amortization, and depletion. Enter 
the cost or adjusted basis of the asset for California purposes. Use your 
records and California tax returns for years before 1987 to determine the 
California amount to enter in column (c). If you used an amount other 
than cost as the original basis, your federal basis may be different from 
your California basis. Other reasons for differences include: 
• Depreciation Methods and Property Expensing – Before 1987, 

California law disallowed the use of accelerated cost recovery system 
and disallowed the use of an asset depreciation range 20% above 
or below the standard rate. California has different limits on the 
expensing of property under IRC Section 179. California law permits 
rapid write-off of certain property such as solar energy systems, 
pollution control devices, and property used in an Enterprise Zone, 
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area, Targeted Tax Area, 
or Los Angeles Revitalization Zone. 

• Inherited Property – The  California basis of property inherited from a 
decedent is generally the fair market value at the time of death. 

• S Corporation Stock – Prior to 1987, California law did not recognize 
S corporations; therefore, your  California basis in S corporation stock 
may differ from your federal basis. In general, your California basis 
will be cost-adjusted for income, loss, and distributions received 
after 1986, while your stock was California S corporation stock. Your 
federal basis will be cost-adjusted for income, loss, and distributions 
received during the time your stock qualified for federal S corporation 
treatment. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2002, any corporation with a valid federal S corporation 
election is considered an S corporation for California purposes. 
Existing law already requires federal C corporations to be treated as 
C corporations for California purposes. 

• Special Credits – California law authorizes special tax credits not 
allowed under federal law or computed differently under federal law. In 
many  instances if you claimed special credits related to capital assets, 
you must reduce your basis in the assets by the amount of credit. 

Other adjustments may apply differently to the federal and California 
basis of your capital assets. Figure the original basis of your asset using 
the California law in effect when the asset was acquired, and adjust it 
according to provisions of California law in effect during the period of 
your ownership.
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Column (e) – Gain. 
• Qualified Small Business Stock – California does not conform to the 

qualified small business stock deferral and gain exclusion under IRC 
Section 1045 and IRC Section 1202. Enter the entire gain realized in 
column (e). 

• Qualified Opportunity Zone Funds – California does not conform to 
the deferral and exclusion of capital gains reinvested or invested in 
qualified opportunity zone funds under IRC Sections 1400Z-1 and 
1400Z-2. Enter the entire gain amount in column (e). If, for California 
purposes, gains from investment in qualified opportunity zone 
property had been included in income during previous taxable years, 
do not include the gain in the current year income. 

Line 2 – Net Gain or (Loss) Shown on California 
Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568). 
Combine gain(s) and loss(es) from all California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 
541, 565, and 568), Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc. See 
California Schedule K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568) instructions for more 
information on capital gains and losses. Enter the net loss on line 2, 
column (d), or the net gain on line 2, column (e). 

Line 3 – Capital Gain Distributions. 
If you receive federal Form 2439, Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed 
Long-Term Capital Gains, from a mutual fund, do not include the 
undistributed capital gain dividends on Schedule D (540). If you receive 
federal Form 1099-DIV, Dividends and Distributions, enter the amount of 
distributed capital gain dividends. 

Line 6 – 2019  California Capital Loss Carryover. 
If you were a resident of California for all prior years, enter your California 
capital loss carryover from 2019. However, if you were a nonresident of 
California during any taxable year that generated a portion of your 2019 
capital loss carryover, recalculate your 2019 capital loss carryover 
as if you resided in  California for all prior years. Get FTB Pub. 1100, 
Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency, for 
more information. Enter your California capital loss carryover amount 
from 2019 on line 6. 

Line 8 – Net Gain or Loss. 
If the amount on line 4 is more than the amount on line 7, subtract line 7 
from line 4. Enter the difference as a gain on line 8. 
If the amount on line 7 is more than the amount on line 4, subtract line 4 
from line 7 and enter the difference as a negative amount on line 8. 
Use the worksheet on this page to figure your capital loss carryover to 
2021. 

Line 9 
If line 8 is a net capital loss, enter the smaller of the loss on line 8 or 
$3,000 ($1,500 if you are married or an RDP filing a separate return). 

Line 12a 
Compare the amounts entered on line 10 and line 11 to figure the 
adjustment to enter on Schedule CA (540), Part I, Section A, line 7, 
column B. 
For example: 
Loss on line 10 is less than loss on line 11. 

Federal loss on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($1,000) 
California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($2,000) 
Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $1,000 

Gain on line 10 and loss on line 11. 
Federal gain on line 10 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              $3,000 
California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($3,000) 
Difference between line 10 and line 11. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    $6,000 

Line 12b 
Compare the amounts on line 10 and line 11 to figure the adjustment to 
enter on Schedule CA (540), Part I, Section A, line 7, column C. 
For example: 
Loss on line 10 is more than loss on line 11. 

Federal loss on line 10 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($2,000) 
California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($1,000) 
Difference between line 11 and line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $1,000 

Loss on line 10 and gain on line 11. 
Federal loss on line 10 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($2,000) 
California gain on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            $5,000 
Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $7,000 

California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet 
1. Loss from Schedule D (540), line 11, stated as a 

positive number  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              1 _________
2. Amount from Form 540, line 17  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  2 _________
3. Amount from Form 540, line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  3 _________
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less than zero, enter 

as a negative amount  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          4 _________
5. Combine line 1 and line 4. If less than zero, 

enter 0 - - . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    5 _________
6. Loss from Schedule D (540), line 8  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               6 _________
7. Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7 _________
8. Subtract line 7 from line 6. This is your capital loss 

carryover to 2021 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             8 _________
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2020 Instructions for Form FTB 3519 
Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals 
General Information 
Mandatory Electronic Payments 
You are required to remit all your payments electronically once you make 
an estimate or extension payment exceeding $20,000 or you file an 
original tax return with a total tax liability over $80,000. Once you meet 
this threshold, all subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax type, 
or taxable year must be remitted electronically. The first payment that 
would trigger the mandatory e-pay requirement does not have to be made 
electronically. Individuals who do not send the payment electronically will 
be subject to a 1% noncompliance penalty. For more information or to 
obtain the waiver form, go to ftb.ca.gov/e-pay. Electronic payments can 
be made using Web Pay on the Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB’s) website, 
electronic funds withdrawal (EFW) as part of the e-file tax return, or your 
credit card. 
Use form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals, 
only if both of the following apply: 
• You cannot file your 2020 tax return by April 15, 2021. 

Note: Fiscal Year Filers, your tax return is due the 15th day of the 4th 
month following the close of your fiscal year. 

• You owe tax for 2020. 
When you file your 2020 tax return, you can e-file or CalFile. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for e-file options. If you use form FTB 3519, you 
may not file Form 540 2EZ, California Resident Income Tax Return. 
Use the worksheet on the next page to determine if you owe tax. If you 
do not owe tax, do not complete or mail form FTB 3519. However, file 
your tax return by October 15, 2021. If you owe tax, choose one of the 
following payment options: 
• Web Pay: Individuals can make payments online using Web Pay for 

Individuals. Taxpayers can make an immediate payment or schedule 
payments up to a year in advance. Go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more 
information. Do not mail form FTB 3519 to the FTB. 

• EFW: Individuals can make an extension or estimated tax payment 
using tax preparation software. Check with your software provider 
to determine if they support EFW for extension and estimated tax 
payments. Do not mail form FTB 3519 to the FTB. 

• Credit Card: Use your major credit card. Call 800.272.9829 or go to 
officialpayments.com, use code 1555. Official Payments Corporation 
charges a convenience fee for using this service. Do not mail form 
FTB 3519 to the FTB. 

• Check or Money Order: Using black or blue ink, complete your check 
or money order and the payment form below and mail both to the 
“Franchise Tax Board.” Make all checks or money orders payable in 
U.S. dollars and drawn against a U.S. financial institution. 

Penalties and Interest 
If you fail to pay your total tax liability by April 15, 2021, you will incur 
a late payment penalty plus interest. We may waive the late payment 
penalty based on reasonable cause. Reasonable cause is presumed when 
90% of the tax is paid by the original due date of the tax return. However, 
the imposition of interest is mandatory. If, after April 15, 2021, you find 
that your estimate of tax due was too low, pay the additional tax as soon 
as possible to avoid or minimize further accumulation of penalties and 
interest. Pay your additional tax with another form FTB 3519. If you do 
not file your tax return by October 15, 2021, you will incur a late filing 
penalty plus interest from the original due date of the tax return. For 
Fiscal Year Filers, your tax return is due the 15th day of the 10th month 
following the close of your fiscal year. 

Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Outside the USA 
If you are residing or traveling outside the USA on April 15, 2021, the 
deadline to file your tax return and pay the tax is June 15, 2021. Interest 
will accrue from the original due date until the date of payment. If you 
need additional time to file, you will be allowed a six-month extension 
without filing a request. To qualify for the extension, file your tax return 
by December 15, 2021. To avoid any late-payment penalties, pay your 
tax liability by June 15, 2021. When filing your tax return, write “Outside 
the USA on April 15, 2021” at the top of your tax return in BLUE INK, or 
include it according to your software’s instructions. 

Save the stamp – pay online with Web Pay! 
IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE DETACH HERE

(Calendar year filers – File and Pay by April 15, 2021) (Fiscal year filers – see instructions) 
CAUTION: You may be required to pay electronically. See instructions.TAXABLE YEAR 

2020  Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals 
CALIFORNIA  FORM 

3519 (PIT) 
For calendar year 2020 or fiscal year beginning (mm/dd/yyyy) , and ending (mm/dd/yyyy) . 
Your first name Initial Last name Your SSN or ITIN 

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Initial Last name Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN 

Address (number and street, PO box, or PMB no.) Apt. no./ste. no. 

City State ZIP code 

IF PAYMENT IS DUE, MAIL TO: 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942867 
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008 

If amount of payment is 
zero, do not mail this form } ▶

Amount of payment 

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP.

00.



TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET (KEEP FOR YOUR RECORDS) 

1 Total tax you expect to owe. This is the amount you expect to enter on Form 540, line 65; or Form 540NR, line 75  . . . . . . . . . . .           1	 00

2 Payments and credits: 

a California income tax withheld (including real estate and nonresident withholding)  . . . .    2a	 00

	 b	 California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 2019 tax return 

(To check your estimated tax payments go to ftb.ca.gov and login or register for MyFTB.) 

 . . . . .     2b	 00

		

	 c Other payments and credits (including any tax payments made with any previous 

form FTB 3519)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        2c	 00

3 Total tax payments and credits. Add line 2a, line 2b, and line 2c  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             3	 00

4 Tax due. Is line 1 more than line 3?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                  4	 00
• No. Stop here. You have no tax due. Do not mail form FTB 3519. If you file your tax return by October 15, 2021 (fiscal year filer – see 

instructions), the automatic extension will apply. 
• Yes. Subtract line 3 from line 1 and enter on line 4. This is your tax due. For online payments, do not mail the form, go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more 

information. If you meet the requirements of the Mandatory e-Pay program, you must make all payments electronically, regardless of the taxable 
year or amount. Go to ftb.ca.gov/e-pay. For check or money order payments, using black or blue ink, complete your check or money order and form 
FTB 3519. Enter the tax due amount from line 4 as the “Amount of payment.” Make your check or money order payable to the “Franchise Tax Board,” 

and write your SSN or ITIN and “2020 FTB 3519” in the “For” section. Enclose, but do not staple your payment to form FTB 3519 and mail to: 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008.
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1201213 Form 540-ES  2020

DETACH HERE

. 00

540-ES Form 1 at bottom of page 

ONLINE SERVICES:  Use Web Pay and enjoy the ease of our free online payment service.  
Go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more information. You can schedule your 
payments up to one year in advance. 
Do not mail this form if you use Web Pay. 

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE 

CAUTION: You may be required to pay electronically. See instructions.
TAXABLE YEAR 

2021  Estimated Tax for Individuals 
CALIFORNIA FORM 

540-ES 

Payment 
Form 

1 

File and Pay by April 15, 2021 
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: Year 2022 
Your first name Initial Last name Your SSN or ITIN 

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Initial Last name Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN 

Address (number and street) PO box or PMB no. Apt no./ste. no. 

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP code 

Amount of paymentDo not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2020. Using black or blue ink, make your check or money order  payable 
to the  “Franchise Tax Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “2021 Form 540-ES” on it.  
Mail this form and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008. 
If no payment is due, do not mail this form. 
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form. 

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP.



. 00

         

DETACH HERE
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DETACH HERE

. 00
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. 00

3 Form 540-ES  2020

CAUTION: You may be required to pay electronically. See instructions. 
TAXABLE YEAR 

2021  Estimated Tax for Individuals 

CALIFORNIA FORM  

540-ES  

Payment  

Form 

2 

File and Pay by June 15, 2021 
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: Year 2022 
Your first name Initial Last name Your SSN or ITIN 

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Initial Last name Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN 

Address (number and street) PO box or PMB no. Apt no./ste. no. 

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP code 

Amount of paymentDo not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2020. Using black or blue ink, make your check or money order  payable 
to the  “Franchise Tax Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “2021 Form 540-ES” on it.  
Mail this form and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008. 
If no payment is due, do not mail this form. 
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form. 

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP. 

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE 

CAUTION: You may be required to pay electronically. See instructions.TAXABLE YEAR  

2021  Estimated Tax for Individuals  

CALIFORNIA FORM 

540-ES  

Payment  

Form 

3 

File and Pay by Sept. 15, 2021 
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: Year 2022 
Your first name Initial Last name Your SSN or ITIN 

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Initial Last name Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN 

Address (number and street) PO box or PMB no. Apt no./ste. no. 

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP code 

Amount of paymentDo not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2020. Using black or blue ink, make your check or money order  payable 
to the  “Franchise Tax Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “2021 Form 540-ES” on it.  
Mail this form and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008. 
If no payment is due, do not mail this form. 
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form. 

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP. 

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE 

CAUTION: You may be required to pay electronically. See instructions.
TAXABLE YEAR 

2021  Estimated Tax for Individuals  

CALIFORNIA FORM 

540-ES  

Payment  

Form  

4 

File and Pay by Jan. 18, 2022 
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: Year 2022 
Your first name Initial Last name Your SSN or ITIN 

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Initial Last name Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN 

Address (number and street) PO box or PMB no. Apt no./ste. no. 

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP code 

Amount of paymentDo not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2020. Using black or blue ink, make your check or money order  payable 
to the  “Franchise Tax Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “2021 Form 540-ES” on it.  
Mail this form and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008. 
If no payment is due, do not mail this form. 
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form. 

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP.
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2021 Instructions for Form 540-ES Estimated Tax For Individuals 
General Information 
Installment Payments – Installments due shall be 30% of the required 
annual payment for the 1st required installment, 40% of the required 
annual payment for the 2nd required installment, no installment is due for 
the 3rd required installment, and 30% of the required annual payment for 
the 4th required installment. 
Mandatory Electronic Payments – You are required to remit all your 
payments electronically once you make an estimate or extension 
payment exceeding $20,000 or you file an original tax return with 
a total tax liability over $80,000. Once you meet the threshold, all 
subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax type, or taxable year 
must be remitted electronically. The first payment that would trigger the 
mandatory e-pay requirement does not have to be made electronically. 
Individuals who do not send the payment electronically will be 
subject to a 1% noncompliance penalty. For more information, go to 
ftb.ca.gov/e-pay. Electronic payments can be made using Web Pay on 
the Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB’s) website, electronic funds withdrawal 
(EFW) using tax preparation software, or your credit card. 

A Purpose 
Use Form 540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals, and the 2021 CA 
Estimated Tax Worksheet, to determine if you owe estimated tax for 2021 
and to figure the required amounts. Estimated tax is the tax you expect 
to owe in 2021 after subtracting the credits you plan to take and tax you 
expect to have withheld. 
If you need to make a payment for your 2020 tax liability or make a 
separate payment for any balance due on your 2020 tax return, use 
form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals. 
Certain taxpayers are limited in their use of the prior year’s tax as a basis 
for figuring their estimated tax. See Section C for more information. 
Check for estimated payments we’ve received at ftb.ca.gov and login or 
register for MyFTB. 
Increasing your withholding could eliminate the need to make a large 
payment with your tax return. To increase your withholding, complete 
Employment  Development Department (EDD) Form DE 4, Employee’s 
Withholding Allowance Certificate, and give it to your employer’s 
appropriate payroll staff. You can get this form from your employer, or by 
calling EDD at 888.745.3886. You can download Form DE 4 from EDD’s 
website at edd.ca.gov or go to ftb.ca.gov and search for de 4. 
Form DE 4 specifically adjusts your California state withholding and is not 
the same as the federal Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Certificate. 

B Who Must Make Estimated Tax Payments 
Generally, you must make estimated tax payments if you expect to owe at 
least $500 ($250 if married/RDP filing separately) in tax for 2021 (after 
subtracting  withholding and credits) and you expect your withholding 
and credits to be less than the smaller of:  

1. 90% of the tax shown on your 2021 tax return; or 
2. 100% of the tax shown on your 2020 tax return including Alternative 

Minimum Tax (AMT). 
Note: 
• You do not have to make estimated tax payments if you are a 

nonresident or new resident of California in 2021 and did not have a 
California tax liability in 2020, see Section C for more information. 

• If you are a military servicemember not domiciled in California, do 
not include your military pay in your computation of estimated tax 
payments. If you are the nonmilitary spouse of a servicemember 
you may or may not need to include your pay in your computation of 
estimated tax payments. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1032, 
Tax Information for Military  Personnel. 

If you and your spouse/RDP paid joint estimated tax payments, but 
are now filing separate income tax returns, either of you may claim all 
of the amount paid, or you may each claim part of the joint estimated 
payments. If you want the estimated tax payments to be divided, notify 
the FTB before you file the income tax returns so that the payments can 
be applied to the proper account. The FTB will accept in writing, any 
divorce agreement (or court ordered settlement) or a statement showing 
the allocation of the payments along with a notarized  signature of both 
taxpayers. The statements should be sent to:  

JOINT ESTIMATE CREDIT ALLOCATION MS F283 
TAXPAYER SERVICES CENTER  
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942840  
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040  

C Limit on the Use of Prior Year’s Tax 
Individuals who are required to make estimated tax payments, and 
whose 2020 California adjusted gross income is more than $150,000 
(or $75,000 if married/RDP filing separately), must figure estimated tax 
based on the lesser of 90% of their tax for 2021 or 110% of their tax for 
2020 including AMT. This rule does not apply to farmers or fishermen. 
Taxpayers with 2021 California adjusted gross income equal to or greater 
than $1,000,000 (or $500,000 if married/RDP filing separately), must 
figure estimated tax based on their tax for 2021. 

D When to Make Your Estimated Tax Payments 
Pay your estimated payments by the dates shown below: 
1st payment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     April 15, 2021 
2nd payment  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    June 15, 2021 
3rd payment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                September 15, 2021 
4th payment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 January 18, 2022 
Filing an Early Tax Return In Place of the 4th Installment. If you file 
your 2021 tax return by January 31, 2022, and pay the entire balance 
due, you do not have to make your last estimated tax payment. In 
addition, you will not owe a penalty for the fourth installment. 
Annualization Option. If you do not receive your taxable income 
evenly during the year, it may be to your advantage to annualize 
your income. This method allows you to match your estimated tax 
payments to the actual period when you earned the income. You may 
use the annualization schedule included with the 2020 form FTB 5805, 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries. 
Farmers and Fishermen. If you are a farmer or fisherman, and at least 
two-thirds of your 2020 and 2021 gross income is from farming or 
fishing, you may do either of the following: 
• Pay all of your estimated tax by January 18, 2022. 
• File your tax return for 2021 on or before March 1, 2022, and pay the 

total tax due. In this case, you need not make estimated tax payments 
for 2021. Use the 2020 form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax by Farmers and Fishermen, to determine if you paid the required 
estimated tax. If the estimated tax is underpaid, attach the completed 
form FTB 5805F to the back of your tax return. 

Fiscal Year. If you file your tax return on a fiscal year basis, your due 
dates will be the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, and 9th months of your fiscal 
year and the 1st month of the following fiscal year. If the due date falls on 
a weekend, or legal holiday, use the next business day.
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Mental Health Services Tax. If your taxable income or nonresident CA 
source taxable income is more than $1,000,000, complete the worksheet 
below. 

A. Taxable income from Form 540, line 19, 
or Form 540NR, line 35  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        ____________

B. Less:   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                         $(1,000,000) 
C. Subtotal  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   ____________
D. Tax rate – 1% . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 x .01 
E. Mental Health Services Tax – Multiply line C by line D. 

Enter this amount here and on line 17 of the 2021 CA 
Estimated Tax Worksheet, on the next page . . . . . . . . .        ____________

E How to Use Form 540-ES Payment Form 
Use the CA Estimated Tax Worksheet and your 2020 California income tax 
return as a guide for figuring your 2021 estimated tax. Be sure that the 
amount shown on line 21 of the CA Estimated Tax Worksheet has been 
reduced by any overpaid tax on your 2020 tax return which you chose to 
apply toward your 2021 estimated tax payment. 
Note: 
• If you filed Form 540 2EZ for 2020, do not use the Form 540 2EZ 

instructions to figure amounts on this worksheet. Instead, get the 2020 
California 540 Personal Income Tax Booklet. 

• Complete Form 540-ES using black or blue ink: 
1. Complete the Record of Estimated Tax Payments on the next page 

for your files. 
2. Paying your tax: 

Web Pay – Make a payment online or schedule a future payment 
(up to one year in advance), go to ftb.ca.gov/pay for more 
information. Do not mail Forms 540-ES to us. 
Electronic Funds Withdrawal (EFW) – Individuals can make 
an extension or estimated tax payment using tax preparation 
software. Check with your software provider to determine if they 
support EFW for extension or estimated tax payments. 
Credit card – Use your Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or 
American Express Card to pay your tax. Call 800.272.9829 or 
go to officialpayments.com, use code 1555. Official Payments 
Corporation charges a fee for this service. Do not mail 
Forms 540-ES if you pay by credit card. 
Check or money order – There is a separate payment form for 
each due date. Be sure you use the form with the correct due date 
shown in the top margin of the form. 

Fiscal year filers: Enter the month of your fiscal year end 
(located directly below the form’s title).  

Print your name, address, and social security number (SSN) 
or individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) in the space 
provided on Form 540-ES. If you have a foreign address, 
enter the information in the following order: City, Country, 
Province/Region, and Postal Code. Follow the country’s 
practice for entering the postal code. Do not abbreviate the 
country name.  
Complete the amount of payment line of the form by entering 
the amount of the payment that you are sending. Using black 
or blue ink, make your check or money order payable to the 
“Franchise Tax Board.” Write your SSN or ITIN and “2021 
Form 540-ES” on it and mail to the address in Section F.  

Make all checks and money orders payable in U.S. dollars and 
drawn against a U.S. financial institution. 

F Where to Mail Estimated Tax Payments 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  
PO BOX 942867  
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008 

G Failure to Make Estimated Tax Payments 
If you do not make the required estimate payments, if you pay an 
installment after the date it is due, or if you underpay any installment, 
a penalty may be assessed on the portion of estimated tax that was 
underpaid from the due date of the  installment to the date of payment 
or the due date of your tax return, whichever is earlier. Get the 2020 
form FTB 5805 for more information.
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. . . . . . . .        	 1  _________________
  . . . . . . . . . .          	2a  _________________

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  	2b  _________________
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                     	 2c_________________

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                	 3  _________________
 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        	 4  _________________
 

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         	 5a_________________ 
  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                	 5b___.___ ___ ___ ___

   
 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    	 5c_________________

   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               	 6a_________________	
 .  	 6b___.___ ___ ___ ___

  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       	 7  _________________
  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   	    8  _________________
 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                      	  10  _________________
	 11  _________________

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                	 12  _________________
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       	 13  _________________

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                	 14  _________________
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   	 15  _________________

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         	 16  _________________

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 	 18  _________________
. . . . . . . .       	19a_________________

	
		 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          	19b_________________

	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                        	 19c_________________
	

		 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   	 19d_________________
	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                          	 19e_________________
	

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  	 19f _________________

. . . . . .       	 20  _________________

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       	 21  _________________

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          ▶

2021 California Estimated Tax Worksheet Keep this worksheet for your records. 
1 Residents: Enter your estimated 2021 California AGI. Nonresidents and part-year residents: Enter your estimated 2021 

total AGI from all sources. Military servicemember/spouses, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel  
2 a If you plan to itemize deductions, enter the estimated total of your itemized deductions 

b If you do not plan to itemize deductions, enter the standard deduction for your filing status: 
$4,601 single or married/RDP filing separately 
$9,202 married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er)  

c Enter the amount from line 2a or line 2b, whichever applies 
3 Subtract line 2c from line 1 
4 Tax. Figure your tax on the amount on line 3 using the 2020 tax table for Form 540, or Form 540NR.  

Also, include any tax from form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Certain Children with Unearned Income, and form FTB 3803, 
Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends  

5 Residents: Skip to line 6a. Nonresidents and part-year residents: 
a Enter your estimated 2021 California taxable income from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 5 
b Compute the CA Tax Rate: Tax on total taxable income from line 4  

Total taxable income from line 3 

c Multiply the amount on line 5a by the CA Tax Rate on line 5b 
6 a Residents: Enter the exemption credit amount from the 2020 instructions for Form 540 

b Nonresidents or part-year residents: Enter the CA credit proration percentage. Divide line 5a by line 3. If more than 1 enter 1.0000 
7 Nonresidents: CA prorated exemption credits. Multiply the total exemption credit amount by line 6b 
8 Residents: Subtract line 6a from line 4. Nonresidents or part-year residents: Subtract line 7 from line 5c 
9 Tax on accumulation distribution of trusts. See instructions for form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts . . . . .     	    9  _________________

10 Add line 8 and line 9 
11 Credits for joint custody head of household, dependent parent, senior head of household, and child and dependent care expenses. 

Nonresidents and part-year residents: For the child and dependent care expenses credit, use the amount from your 2020 
Form 540NR, line 50. For the other credits listed on line 11, multiply the total 2020 credit amount by the ratio on line 6b. 

12 Subtract line 11 from line 10 
13 Other credits (such as other state tax credit). See the 2020 instructions for Form 540, or Form 540NR 
14 Subtract line 13 from line 12 
15 Interest on deferred tax from installment obligations under IRC Sections 453 or 453A 
16 Alternative Minimum Tax. See Schedule P (540 or 540NR) 

18 2021 Estimated Tax. Add line 14 through line 17. Enter the result, but not less than zero  
19 a Multiply line 18 by 90% (.90). Farmers and fishermen multiply line 18 by 66 2/3% (.6667) 

b Enter the sum of line 48, line 61, and line 62 from your 2020 Form 540  
or the sum of line 63, line 71, and line 72 from your Form 540NR 

c Enter the amount from your 2020 Form 540, line 17; or Form 540NR, line 32 
d Is the amount on line 19c more than $150,000 ($75,000 if married/RDP filing separately)? 

Yes. Go to line 19e. No. Enter the lesser of line 19a or line 19b. Skip line 19e and 19f and go to line 20 
e Multiply 110% (1.10) by line 19b  
f Enter the lesser of line 19a or line 19e and go to line 20 ( If your California AGI is equal to or greater than 

$1,000,000/$500,000 for married filing separately, use line 19a.) 
Caution: Generally, if you do not prepay at least the amount on line 19d (or line 19f if no amount on line 19d), you may owe a 
penalty for not paying enough estimated tax. To avoid a penalty, make sure your estimated tax on line 18 is as accurate as 
possible. If you prefer, you may pay 100% of your 2021 estimated tax (line 18). 

20 California income tax withheld and estimated to be withheld during 2021 (include withholding on pensions, annuities, etc.) 
21 Balance. Subtract line 20 from line 19d (or line 19f if no amount on line 19d). If less than $500 (or less than $250, 

if married/RDP filing separately), you do not have to make a payment at this time 
22 Installment amount. Multiply the amount on line 21 by 30%. Enter the results on the 1st and 4th installments of your Forms 540-ES. 

Multiply the amount on line 21 by 40%. Enter the result on the 2nd installment of your Forms 540-ES. There is not a required 3rd  
installment payment. If you will earn your income at an uneven rate during the year, see Annualization Option in the instructions under Section D. 

Record of Estimated Tax Payments 
Payment form number (a) Date (b) Web Pay/Credit card and confirmation number (c) Amount paid (d) 2020 overpayment applied (e) Total amount paid and credited add (c) and (d) 

1 $ $ $ 
2 
3 
4 

Total $ $ $
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17 Mental Health Services Tax Worksheet, line E (on page 64 of these instructions) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  17 



THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK 

Visit our website: 

ftb.ca.gov

Page 66 Personal Income Tax Booklet 2020



 

 
 

 

TAXABLE YEAR 

2020 Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit 
CALIFORNIA FORM 

3506 
Attach to your California Form 540 or Form 540NR. 
Name(s) as shown on tax return SSN or ITIN 

. ___ ___

. ___ ___

Part I Unearned Income and Other Funds Received in 2020. See instructions. 
Source of Income/Funds Amount Source of Income/Funds Amount 

Part II Persons or Organizations Who Provided the Care in California – You must complete this part. See instructions. 
1  Enter the following information for each person or organization that provided care in California. Only care provided in California qualifies for the credit. 

If you need more space, attach a separate sheet. 
Provider Provider 

a. Care provider’s name 
b. Care provider’s address 

(number, street, apt. no., city, state, 
and ZIP code) 

c. Care provider’s telephone number 

d. Is provider a person or organization? □ Person □ Organization □ Person □ Organization 
e. Identification number (SSN, ITIN, or FEIN) 
f. Address where care was provided 

(number, street, apt. no., city, state, and 
ZIP code) PO Box not acceptable. 

g. Amount paid for care provided 

Did you receive dependent care benefits? ▶ ▶ ▶ ▶ ▶ No. Complete Part III below. 
Yes. Complete Part IV on Side 2 before you complete Part III. 

Part III Credit for Child and Dependent Care Expenses 
2  Information about your qualifying person(s). See instructions. 

(a) 
Qualifying person’s name 

(b)

 

Qualifying person’s
 

social security number (SSN) 
(See instructions) 

(c) 
Qualifying person’s 

date of birth 
(DOB – mm/dd/yyyy) 

or disability status 

(d) 
Percentage of 

physical custody 
(See instructions) 

(e) 
Qualified expenses you 

incurred and paid in 2020 for 
the qualifying person’s 

care in California First Last 
DOB: _____________

Disabled □  Yes 

DOB: _____________

Disabled □  Yes 

DOB: _____________ 

 Disabled □  Yes 

3 Add the amounts in column (e) of line 2. Do not enter more than $3,000 for one qualifying person or $6,000 for two 
or more qualifying persons. If you completed Side 2, Part IV, enter the amount from line 33 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        3 00

4 Enter YOUR earned income. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            4 00
Nonresidents: Enter only your earned income from California sources. If you do not have earned income from California 
sources, stop, you do not qualify for the credit. Military servicemembers, see instructions. 
Part-year residents: Enter the total of (1) your earned income from California sources received while you were a 
nonresident and (2) all earned income received while you were a resident. Military servicemembers, see instructions. 

5 If married or an RDP filing a joint return, enter YOUR SPOUSE’S/RDP’s earned income. (If your spouse/RDP was a 
student or was disabled, see the instructions.) If you are not filing a joint tax return, enter the amount from line 4 . . . . . . . .       5 00
Nonresidents: Enter only your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income from California sources. If your spouse/RDP does not have 
earned income from California sources, stop, you do not qualify for the credit. Military servicemembers, see line 4 instructions. 
Part-year residents: Enter the total of (1) your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income from California sources received while he 
or she was a nonresident and (2) all earned income your spouse/RDP received while he or she was a resident. Military 
servicemembers, see line 4 instructions. 

6 Enter the smallest of line 3, line 4, or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                             6 00
7 Enter the decimal amount shown in the chart of the instructions for line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      7
8 Multiply line 6 by the decimal amount on line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                           8 00
9 Enter the decimal amount listed in the chart of the instructions for line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       9

10 Multiply the amount on line 8 by the decimal amount on line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               10 00
11 Credit for prior year expenses paid in 2020. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                11 00
12 Add line 10 and line 11. Enter the amount here and on Form 540, line 40; or Form 540NR, line 50 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        12 00
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Part IV Dependent Care Benefits 
13 Enter the total amount of dependent care benefits you received for 2020. This amount should be shown in box 10 of 

your federal Form(s) W-2. Do not include amounts that were reported to you as wages in box 1 of federal Form(s) W-2. 
If you were self-employed or a partner, include amounts you received under a dependent care assistance program from 
your sole proprietorship or partnership  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                 13 00

14 Enter the amount, if any, you carried over from 2019 and used in 2020 during the grace period  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     14 00
15 Enter the amount, if any, you forfeited or carried forward to 2021  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 00
16 Combine line 13 through line 15  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                      16 00
17 Enter the total amount of qualified expenses incurred in 2020 for the 

care of the qualifying person(s). See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             17 00
18 Enter the smaller of line 16 or line 17  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      18 00
19 Enter YOUR earned income  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                              19 00
20 If married or an RDP filing a joint return, enter YOUR SPOUSE’S/RDP’s earned 

income (if your spouse/RDP was a student or was disabled, see the instructions 
for line 5); if married or an RDP filing a separate tax return, see the instructions  
for the amount to enter; all others, enter the amount from line 19  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 20 00

21 Enter the smallest of line 18, line 19, or line 20  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              21 00
22 Enter $5,000 ($2,500 if married or an RDP filing separately and you were required 

to enter your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income on line 20)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        22 00
23 Enter the amount from line 13 that you received from your sole proprietorship or partnership. 

If you did not receive any amounts, enter 0 - -  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            23 00
24 Subtract line 23 from line 16  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             24 00
25 Deductible benefits. Enter the smallest of line 21, line 22, or line 23  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          25 00
26 Excluded benefits. Subtract line 25 from the smaller of line 21 or line 22. If zero or less, enter 0 - - . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   26 00
27 Taxable benefits. Subtract line 26 from line 24. If zero or less, enter 0 - -  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       27 00
28 Enter $3,000 ($6,000 if two or more qualifying persons)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                   28 00
29 Add line 25 and line 26  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                             29 00
30 Subtract the amount on line 29 from the amount on line 28. If zero or less, stop. You do not qualify for the credit. 

Exception – If you paid 2019 expenses in 2020, see instructions for line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     30 00
31 Complete Side 1, Part III, line 2. Add the amounts in column (e) and enter the total here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           31 00
32 Enter the amount from your federal Form 2441, Part III, line 31  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                              32 00
33 Enter the smaller of line 30, line 31, or line 32. Also, enter this amount on Side 1, Part III, line 3 and 

complete Part III, line 4 through line 12  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                 33 00
Worksheet – Credit for 2019 Expenses Paid in 2020 
1. Enter your 2019 qualified expenses paid in 2019. If you did not claim the credit for these expenses on your 2019 

tax return, get and complete a 2019 form FTB 3506 for these expenses. You may need to amend your 2019 tax return  . . . . . . .  1. 
2. Enter your 2019 qualified expenses paid in 2020 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                               2.
3. Add the amounts on line 1 and line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                         3.
4. Enter $3,000 if care was for one qualifying person ($6,000 for two or more) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          4.
5. Enter any dependent care benefits received for 2019 and excluded from your income 

(from your 2019 form FTB 3506, Part IV, line 26) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                5.

6. Subtract amount on line 5 from amount on line 4 and enter the result . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                6.
7. Compare your and your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income for 2019 and enter the smaller amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            7.
8. If filing a joint tax return, compare the amounts on line 3, line 6, and line 7 and enter the smallest amount. If not filing 

a joint tax return, enter your earned income. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                    8.
9. Enter the amount from your 2019 form FTB 3506, Side 1, Part III, line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                              9.

10. Subtract amount on line 9 from amount on line 8 and enter the result. If zero or less, stop here. You cannot increase 
your credit by any previous year’s expenses . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                  10.

11. Enter your 2019 federal adjusted gross income (AGI) (from your 2019 Form 540, line 13; 
or Form 540NR, line 13) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                 11.

12. 2019 federal AGI decimal amount (from 2019 form FTB 3506, instructions for line 7) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  12.______ . ______ ______
13. Multiply line 10 by line 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                13.

14. 2019 California AGI decimal amount (from 2019 form FTB 3506, instructions for line 9) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                14.______ . ______ ______
15. Multiply line 13 by line 14. Enter the result here and on your 2020 form FTB 3506, Side 1, Part III, line 11. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  15.
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2020 Instructions for Form FTB 3506 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit 

General Information 
Attach the completed form FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care Expenses 
Credit, to your Form 540, California Resident Income Tax Return, or Form 
540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, if 
you claim the child and dependent care expenses credit. 
The child and dependent care expenses credit is nonrefundable. 
Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) – For purposes of California income 
tax, references to a spouse, husband, or wife also refer to a California RDP, 
unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP, they refer to 
both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered 
domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get 
FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners. 

A Purpose 
You may qualify to claim the 2020 credit for child and dependent care 
expenses, if you (and your spouse/RDP) paid someone in California to care 
for your child or other qualifying person while you worked or looked for 
employment. You must have earned income to do so. If you qualify to claim 
the credit, use form FTB 3506 to figure the amount of your credit. 
If you received dependent care benefits for 2020 but do not qualify to claim 
the credit, you are not required to complete form FTB 3506. For additional 
definitions, requirements, and instructions, get federal Form 2441, Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses. 

B Differences in California and Federal Law 
The differences between California and federal law are as follows: 
• California allows this credit only for care provided in California. 
• If you were a nonresident, you must have earned wages from working in 

California or earned self-employment income from California business 
activities. 

• The California credit is a percentage of the federal credit. 
• RDPs may file a joint California return and claim this credit. For more 

information, get FTB Pub. 737. 

C Qualifications 
You may take the credit if all eight of the following apply. 
1. If you are married or an RDP, you must file a joint tax return. For an 

exception, see Section E, Married Persons or RDPs Filing Separate 
Returns. 

2. Care must be provided in California for one or more qualifying persons. 
See Section D, Qualifying Person Defined. 

3. You paid for care so you (and your spouse/RDP) could work or look for 
work. However, if you did not find a job and have no earned income, 
you do not qualify for the credit. If your spouse/RDP was a student or 
disabled, see the instructions for Part III, line 5. 

4. You (and your spouse/RDP) must have earned income (wages or
self-employment income) during the year. See the instructions for 
Part III, line 4, for more information on earned income. 

5. You and the qualifying person(s) live in the same home for more than 
half the year. 

6. The person who provided care was not your spouse/RDP, the parent of 
your qualifying child, or a person for whom you can claim a dependent 
exemption. If your child provided the care, the child must have been 
age 19 or older by the end of 2020. 

7. You report the required information about the care provider(s) in Part II, 
line 1, and the information about the qualifying person(s) in Part III, 
line 2. 

8. Your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) is $100,000 or less. 

D Qualifying Person Defined 
Rules for Most People 

A qualifying person is: 
1. A child under age 13 who meets the requirements to be your dependent 

as a Qualifying Child. A child who turned 13 during the year qualifies 
only for the part of the year when he or she was 12 years old; or 

2. Your spouse/RDP who was physically or mentally incapable of 
self‑care; or 

3. Any person who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care and 
either: 
a. Was your dependent. 
b. Would have been your dependent except that: 

i. He or she received gross income of $4,300 or more. 
ii. He or she filed a joint tax return. 
iii. You, or your spouse/RDP if filing a joint tax return, could be 

claimed as a dependent on someone else’s 2020 tax return. 

Qualifying Child 
A Qualifying Child is a child who meets all of the following tests: 
• Relationship Test – The child must be your son, daughter, stepchild, 

adopted child, eligible foster child, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, 
stepbrother, stepsister, or a descendant of one of these. An adopted child 
includes a child who has been lawfully placed with you for legal adoption 
even if the adoption is not yet final. An eligible foster child must be placed 
with you by an authorized placement agency or by a court. 

• Age Test – For the purposes of qualifying for the Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit, the child must be under 13. 

• Residency Test – The child must live with you for more than half the year. 
• Support Test – The child must not have provided more than half of his or 

her own support. 
• Joint Return Test – The child must not have filed a joint federal or state 

income tax return with his or her spouse/RDP. 
• Citizenship Test – The child must be a citizen or national of the U.S. or a 

resident of the U.S., Canada, or Mexico. 

Tie-Breaker Rules: Qualifying Child of More Than One Person* 

*These rules assume all other qualifying child requirements are satisfied. 

If an individual may be claimed as a qualifying child by two or more 
taxpayers for the same taxable year, the following rules apply: 

If… Then the child will be treated as the qualifying 
child of the… 

Only one of the 
persons is the child’s 
parent 

Parent. 

Both of the persons 
are the child’s parent 
but they do not file a 
joint return 

Parent with whom the child lived for the longer 
period of time during the year. 
If the child lived with both parents for the same 
amount of time, the parent who had the higher AGI 
for the year. 

The child’s parents 
can claim the child 
as a qualifying 
person but neither 
parent does 

Person with the highest AGI of all persons claiming 
the child, but only if that person’s AGI is higher than 
the highest AGI of any of the child’s parents.  

No parent can 
claim the child as a 
qualifying child 

Person with the highest AGI of all persons claiming 
the child. 

Divorced, RDP Terminated, Separated, or Never-Married Parents 
For divorced, RDP terminated, separated, or never-married parents, special 
rules apply in determining if your child meets the requirements to be your 
qualifying person. When parents file separate returns, only one parent 
qualifies to claim a child as a qualifying person. 
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Even if both parents pay for child care for the same child, both parents 
cannot qualify for the credit. Some custody agreements designate which 
parent is entitled to the credit. However, the designated parent must meet all 
the qualifications in Section C, Qualifications, to claim the credit. To verify 
that your child meets the requirements to be your qualifying person, use the 
table below. 

RULES FOR DIVORCED, RDP TERMINATED, SEPARATED, OR 
NEVER-MARRIED PARENTS 

IF AND THEN 

ALL four of the following apply: 
1. Your child was under 13 and/ 

or physically or mentally 
incapable of self-care when 
the care was provided. 
Children turning 13 during 
the year qualify only for the 
part of the year they were 
12 years old. 

2. One of the following applies 
a. You are divorced, legally 

separated, or have 
terminated a registered 
domestic partnership. 

b. You are separated under 
a written separation 
agreement. 

c. You and the other parent 
lived apart at all times 
during the last 6 months 
of the year. (This includes 
parents never married to 
each other.) 

3. One or both parents had 
custody of the child for more 
than half the year. 

4.  One or both parents provided 
more than half the child’s 
support for the year. 

You were the 
custodial parent and 
you can claim the 
dependent exemption 
credit for the child. 

The child 
is your 
qualifying 
person. 

You were the custodial 
parent and under 
the provisions of a 
decree of divorce, legal 
separation, termination 
of registered domestic 
partnership, or a 
written separation 
agreement, the 
noncustodial parent 
claimed the dependent 
exemption credit, 
or you signed a 
statement releasing 
the dependent 
exemption credit to the 
noncustodial parent. 

The child 
is your 
qualifying 
person. 

You are not the 
custodial parent. 

The child 
is not your 
qualifying 
person. 

One or more of the four 
statements above do not apply. 

Use the “Rules 
for Most 
People” in 
Section D. 

Custodial Parent and Noncustodial Parent. The custodial parent is the 
parent with whom the child lived for the greater number of nights during the 
year. The other parent is the noncustodial parent. If the child lived with each 
parent for an equal number of nights during the year, the custodial parent is 
the parent with the higher AGI. 
Parent Works at Night. If, due to a parent’s night-time work schedule, a 
child lives for a greater number of days, but not nights, with the parent who 
works at night, that parent is treated as the custodial parent. On a school 
day, the child is treated as living at the primary residence registered with the 
school. 

E Married Persons or RDPs Filing Separate 
Tax Returns 

Generally, if you are married or an RDP, you must file a joint tax return to 
claim the credit. However, you can take the credit on your separate tax return 
if: 
1. You meet all three requirements below: 

• You lived apart from your spouse/RDP at all times during the last six 
months of 2020. 

• The qualifying person(s) lived in your home more than half of 2020. 
• You provided over half the cost of keeping up your home. 

2. You meet all the other qualifications in Section C, Qualifications. 

F Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents 
1. You must complete and attach Schedule CA (540NR), California 

Adjustments – Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, to your tax return, 
Form 540NR. If Part I of Schedule CA (540NR) is not fully completed, we 
may disallow your credit. 

2. Nonresidents must have earned income from California sources to 
qualify for the credit. A nonresident servicemember’s military wages are 
considered earned income from a California source for the purpose of 
qualifying for the credit. 

3. Part-year residents must have earned income while a California resident 
or earned income from California sources while a nonresident to qualify 
for the credit. 

G Military Personnel 
For the purposes of this credit, active duty pay is considered earned income 
from California sources, regardless of whether the servicemember is 
domiciled in California. The federal Military Spouses Residency Relief Act 
may affect the credit requirements for spouses of military servicemembers. 
For more information, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military 
Personnel. 

Specific Line Instructions 
Part I – Unearned Income and Other Funds 
Received in 2020 
List the source and amount of any money you received in 2020 that is not 
included in your earned income (Part III, line 4 and line 5) but that was used 
to support your household. Include child support, property settlements, 
public assistance benefits, court awards, inheritances, insurance proceeds, 
pensions and annuities, social security payments, workers’ compensation, 
unemployment compensation, interest, and dividends. 

Part II – Persons or Organizations Who Provided 
the Care in California 

Line 1 
Complete line 1a through line 1g for each person or organization that 
provided the care in California. Only care provided in California qualifies for 
the credit. Use federal Form W-10, Dependent Care Provider’s Identification 
and Certification, or any other source listed in the instructions for federal 
Form W-10 to get the information from your care provider. If your provider 
does not give you the information, complete as much of the information as 
possible and explain that your provider did not give you the information you 
requested. 
If you do not give correct and complete information, we may disallow your 
credit unless you can show you used due diligence in trying to get the 
required information. 

Line 1a through Line 1c 
Enter your California care provider’s complete name (or business name), 
address, and telephone number (including the area code). If you do not give 
complete information, we may disallow your credit. We may contact your 
care provider to verify the information you provide. 
If you were covered by your employer’s dependent care plan and your 
employer furnished the care (either at your workplace or by hiring a care 
provider), enter your employer’s name on line 1a. Next, enter “See W-2” on 
line 1b. Complete line 1c through line 1f. Then leave line 1g blank. But, if 
your employer paid a third party (not hired by your employer) on your behalf 
to provide care, you must provide information on the third party on line 1a 
through line 1g. 

Line 1d 
For each care provider, check one box indicating whether the care provider is 
a person or organization.
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Line 1e 
If your care provider is Then enter on line 1e 
An individual The provider’s social security 

number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer 
Identification Number (ITIN). 

Not an individual The provider’s federal employer 
identification number (FEIN). 

A tax-exempt organization “Tax-exempt.” 

Line 1f 
Enter the complete physical address where the care was provided. A post 
office box is not acceptable. If you do not provide correct or complete 
information, your credit may be disallowed. Only care provided in California 
qualifies for the credit. 

Line 1g 
Enter the total amount you actually paid in 2020 to your care provider for 
care provided in California. Also include amounts your employer paid to 
a third party on your behalf. It does not matter when the expenses were 
incurred. Do not reduce this amount by any reimbursement you received. 
We may ask you to provide proof of payment. Cash payments without 
verifiable documentation may not be accepted. 

Part III – Credit for Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses 

Line 2 
Complete column (a) through column (e) for each qualifying person for 
whom care was provided in California. If claiming more than three qualifying 
persons, attach a sheet of paper to your tax return with the required 
information and write “see attached.” Write your name and SSN or ITIN on 
the sheet. 
Column (a) 
Enter each qualifying person’s name. 
Column (b) 
Enter each qualifying person’s SSN. Verify that the name and SSN match 
the qualifying person’s social security card to avoid the reduction or 
disallowance of your credit. If the person was born in, and later died in, 
2020, and does not have a SSN, enter “Died” in column (b) and attach a 
copy of the person’s birth and death certificates. 
Column (c) 
Enter the qualifying person’s date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) in the space 
provided or if the qualifying person is disabled (physically or mentally 
incapable of self-care), check the “Yes” box. Incomplete information could 
result in a delay or disallowance of your credit. 
Column (d) 
If you shared custody of the qualifying person(s), enter the percentage of 
time you possessed physical custody during 2020. If you have 50% or less 
physical custody of your child, you do not qualify for the credit. 
Column (e) 
Qualified Expenses are amounts paid for the care of your qualifying person 
while you worked or looked for work. 
Enter the qualified expenses you incurred and paid in 2020 for the qualifying 
person(s). Include only the qualified expenses for care provided in California. 
If the child turned 13 years old during the year, include only the qualified 
expenses for the part of the year the child was 12 years old. 
Do not include in column (e) qualified expenses: 
• You incurred in 2020 but did not pay until 2021. You may be able to use 

these expenses to increase your 2021 credit. 
• You incurred in 2019 but did not pay until 2020. Instead, see instructions 

for line 11. 
• You prepaid in 2020 for care to be provided in 2021. These expenses may 

only be used to figure your 2021 credit. 
A qualified expense does not include the amount you paid for education 
(school tuition) or the amount you received through a subsidy program. 

Qualified expenses include: Qualified expenses do not include: 

• The cost of care for the qualifying 
person’s well-being and 
protection. If care was provided 
by a dependent care center, the 
center must meet all applicable 
state and local regulations. 

• Cost of pre-school or similar 
program below the kindergarten 
level. 

• Day camp, even if it specialized 
in a particular activity, such as 
soccer. 

• Child support payments. 
• Payments made to the parent of 

your qualifying child. 
• Payments made to your 

spouse/RDP. 
• Payments made to your child who 

is under age 19 at the end of the 
year, even if he or she is not your 
dependent. 

• Payments made to a dependent 
for whom you (or your 
spouse/RDP) can claim a 
dependent exemption. 

• Expenses paid by or reimbursed 
through a subsidy program. 

• Cost for education (school tuition) 
at the kindergarten level and 
above. 

• Overnight camp. 

Line 4 
Earned income includes: Earned income does not include: 

• Wages, salary, tips, and other 
taxable employee compensation, 
as well as, military compensation 
including compensation for service 
in a combat zone. 

• Net earnings from 
self‑employment. 

• Strike benefits. 
• Disability payments you report as 

wages. 
• Active duty pay received by 

servicemembers of the armed 
forces is considered earned 
income regardless of whether the 
servicemember is domiciled in this 
state or elsewhere. 

• Pensions or annuities 
• Social security payments 
• Workers’ compensation 
• Interest 
• Dividends 
• Capital gains 
• Unemployment compensation 
• Public assistance 
• California service income excluded 

under the Military Spouses 
Residency Relief Act. 

Nonresidents and Part-Year 
Residents Only: Earned income 
from California sources includes: Earned income does not include: 

• Wages, salary, tips, and other 
taxable employee compensation 
for working in California, as 
well as, military compensation 
including compensation for 
service in a combat zone. 

• Net earnings from 
self‑employment from California 
business activities. 

• Strike benefits related to California 
employment. 

• Disability payments you report as 
California wages. 

• Active duty pay received by 
servicemembers of the armed 
forces is considered earned 
income regardless of whether the 
servicemember is domiciled in 
this state or elsewhere. 

• Pensions or annuities 
• Social security payments 
• Workers’ compensation 
• Interest 
• Dividends 
• Capital gains 
• Unemployment compensation 
• Public assistance 
• California service income excluded 

under the Military Spouses 
Residency Relief Act.
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Line 5 
Spouse/RDP Who Was a Student or Disabled 
Your spouse/RDP was a student if he or she was enrolled as a full-time 
student at a school during any 5 months of 2020. A school does not include 
a night school or correspondence school. 
Your spouse/RDP was disabled if he or she was not capable of self-care. 
Figure your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income on a monthly basis. 
For each month your spouse/RDP was a full-time student or disabled, enter 
on line 5 the larger of the following: 
• Your spouse’s/RDP’s actual earned income for that month. 
• $250 ($500, if you have 2 or more qualifying persons). 
If, in the same month, both you and your spouse/RDP qualified as either 
full‑time students or disabled, only one of you receive treatment as 
having earned income of $250 (or $500) in that month. For any month 
that your spouse/RDP was not a full-time student or disabled, use your 
spouse’s/RDP’s actual earned income for that month. 

Line 7 
Use the chart below to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 7. 
Your federal AGI is on Form 540, line 13 or Form 540NR, line 13. For military 
personnel domiciled outside of California, use your federal AGI less your 
military pay to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 7. 

If your Federal AGI is: 
Over But not over 

The decimal amount 
on Line 7 is: 

$0 $15,000 .35 
15,000 17,000 .34 
17,000 19,000 .33 
19,000 21,000 .32 
21,000 23,000 .31 
23,000 25,000 .30 
25,000 27,000 .29 
27,000 29,000 .28 
29,000 31,000 .27 
31,000 33,000 .26 
33,000 35,000  .25 
35,000 37,000  .24 
37,000 39,000  .23 
39,000 41,000  .22 
41,000 43,000  .21 
43,000 No limit  .20 

 
 
 

 
  
 

 
 

 
 

Line 9 
Use the chart below to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 9. For 
military personnel domiciled outside of California, use your federal AGI less 
your military pay to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 9. 

If your federal AGI from Form 540, 
line 13 or Form 540NR, line 13 is: 

The decimal amount to 
enter on line 9 is: 

$40,000 or less .50 
Over $40,000 but not over $70,000 .43 
Over $70,000 but not over $100,000 .34 
Over $100,000 Stop. You do not qualify for this credit. 

Line 11 
If you had qualified expenses for care that was provided in 2019 that you 
paid for in 2020, you may be able to increase your credit for 2020. Complete 
the Worksheet on Side 2 of form FTB 3506. See Worksheet instructions on 
this page. 

Part IV – Dependent Care Benefits 

Line 13 
Dependent care benefits are: 
• Amounts an employer paid directly to you (or your spouse/RDP), or to 

your care provider for the care of your qualifying person(s), while you 
worked. 

• A day-care facility provided by your employer. 
• Generally deducted from your salary. 
• Shown in box 10 of your 2020 federal Form(s) W-2. 

Line 14 
Enter the amount from federal Form 2441, line 13. 

Line 15 
If you had a flexible spending account, any amount included on line 13 that 
you did not receive because you did not incur the expense is considered 
forfeited. Do not include amounts you expect to receive at a future date. 

Line 17 
Enter the total of all qualified expenses incurred in 2020. It does not matter 
when the expenses were paid. 
A qualified expense does not include the amount you paid for education 
(school tuition) or the amount you received through a subsidy program. 
Example: You received $2,000 cash under your employer’s dependent care 
plan for 2020. The $2,000 is shown in box 10 of your federal Form W-2. You 
incurred $900 of qualified expenses in 2020 for the care of your 3-year-old 
dependent child. Enter $900 on line 17, but report the entire $2,000 on 
line 13. 
For all other lines, follow specific line instructions on the form. For additional 
information, get federal Form 2441 or federal Publication 503, Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses. 

Line 20 
If you are married or an RDP filing a separate return and you meet the 
requirements of Section E, Married Persons or RDPs Filing Separate Tax 
Returns, item 1, then enter your earned income from line 19. On line 22, 
enter $5,000. 
If you were married or an RDP and filed a separate return but did not meet 
the requirements of Section E, Married Persons or RDPs Filing Separate Tax 
Returns, item 1, then enter your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income. If your 
spouse/RDP was a student or disabled in 2020, see the instructions for 
line 5. On line 22, enter $2,500. 

Worksheet – Credit for 2019 Expenses Paid 
in 2020 
You will need a copy of your 2019 California tax return to complete the 
worksheet. 

Line 12 and line 14 
You need the 2019 form FTB 3506 instructions to complete the Credit for 
2019 Expenses Paid in 2020 Worksheet, on Side 2. Forms are available at 
ftb.ca.gov/forms or by calling 800.338.0505. 

Line 12 
Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 7 instructions of the 
2019 form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2019 federal AGI. 

Line 14 
Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 9 instructions of the 
2019 form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2019 California AGI.

Page 72 FTB 3506 Instructions 2020



TAXABLE YEAR 

2020 California Earned Income Tax Credit 
FORM 

3514 
Attach to your California Form 540, Form 540 2EZ or Form 540NR. 
Name(s) as shown on tax return Your SSN or ITIN 

Before you begin: 
If you claim the California Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) even though you know you are not eligible, you may not be allowed to take the credit for up 
to 10 years. 
If you are claiming the California EITC, you must provide your date of birth (DOB), and spouse’s/ Registered Domestic Partner’s (RDP’s) DOB if filing 
jointly, on your California Form 540, Form 540 2EZ, or Form 540NR. 
If you qualify for the California EITC you may also qualify for the Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC). See instructions for additional information. 
Follow Step 1 through Step 9 in the instructions to determine if you meet the requirements, to complete this form, and to figure the amount of 
the credit(s). 

 

Part I Qualifying Information See Specific Instructions. 

1 a Has the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) previously disallowed your federal Earned Income Credit (EIC)?  . . . . . □ Yes □ No 

b Has the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) previously disallowed your California EITC?   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . □ Yes □ No 

 2 Federal AGI (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                • 2 . 00

 3 Federal EIC (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 27) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                • 3 . 00

Part II Investment Income Information 

  4 Investment Income. See instructions for Step 2 – Investment Income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   • 4 . 00

Part III Qualifying Child Information 
You must complete Part I and Part II before filling out Part III. If you are not claiming a qualifying child, skip Part III and go to Step 4 in the instructions. 

Qualifying Child Information Child 1 Child 2 Child 3 

 5 First name  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    
 

 6 Last name  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    
 

 7 SSN or ITIN. See instructions.  . . . . . .       •• •
 8 Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy). If born 

after 2001 and the child is younger 
than you (or your spouse/RDP, if 
filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b; 
go to line 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  

 9 a Was the child under age 24 
at the end of 2020, a student, 
and younger than you (or your 
spouse/RDP, if filing jointly)? If 
yes, go to line 10. If no, go to 
line 9b. See instructions. . . . . . . . .         □ Yes □ No □ Yes □ No □ Yes □ No 

 b Was the child permanently and 
totally disabled during any part 
of 2020? If yes, go to line 10. If 
no, stop here. The child is not a 
qualifying child. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                □ Yes □ No □ Yes □ No □ Yes □ No 

10 Child’s relationship to you. 
See instructions.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              

11 Number of days child lived with you 
in California during 2020. 
Do not enter more than 366 days. 
See instructions.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
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Child 1 Child 2 Child 3

12 a Child’s physical address during 
2020 (number, street, and apt. 
no./ste. no.). See instructions.  . . . 

b City  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      

c State  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     

d ZIP code  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  

Part IV California Earned Income 

13 Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation, subject to California withholding. See instructions. . . . .   • 13 . 00

14 IHSS payments. See instructions.  . . . .     . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                          14 . 00

15 Prison inmate wages and/or pension or annuity from a nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a 
nongovernmental IRC Section 457 plan. See instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             15 . 00

16 Subtract line 14 and line 15 from line 13. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        • 16 . 00

17 Nontaxable combat pay. See instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                          17 . 00

18 Business income or (loss). Enter amount from Worksheet 3, line 5. See instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        18 . 00

a Business name  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  

	 b Business address  . . . . . . . . . . . . .               

  City, state, and ZIP code  . . . . . . . .          

	 c Business license number  . . . . . . . .          

	 d SEIN   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         

	 e Business code  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  

19 California Earned Income. Add line 16, line 17, and line 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          • 19 . 00

Part V California Earned Income Tax Credit (Complete Step 6 in the instructions.) 

20 California EITC. Enter amount from California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet, Part III, line 6. 
This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 75; or Form 540 2EZ, line 23. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       • 20 . 00
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Part VI Nonresident or Part-Year Resident California Earned Income Tax Credit 

21 CA Exemption Credit Percentage from Form 540NR, line 38. See instructions. . . . .    21

22 Nonresident or Part-Year Resident EITC. Multiply line 20 by line 21. 
This amount should also be entered on Form 540NR, line 85 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          • 22 . 00

Part VII Young Child Tax Credit (See Step 8 in the instructions before completing this part.) 

23 California Earned Income. Enter the amount from form FTB 3514, line 19.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  23 

24 Available Young Child Tax Credit 1,000 . 00 . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
• If the amount on line 23 is $25,000 or less, skip lines 25 through 27 and enter $1,000 on line 28. 

If applicable, complete lines 29 and 30. 
• If the amount on line 23 is greater than $25,000, complete lines 25 through 28. If applicable, 

complete lines 29 and 30. 

25 Excess Earned Income over threshold. Subtract $25,000 from line 23  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 25 

26 Divide line 25 by 100. Enter the result as a decimal out to two decimal places, do not round.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  26 

27 Reduction amount. Multiply line 26 by $20. Enter the result as a decimal out to two decimal places, 
do not round. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 27 

28 Young Child Tax Credit. 
• If you did not need to complete lines 25 through 27, your credit is the $1,000 from line 24. 
• If you completed lines 25 through 27, to compute your credit, subtract line 27 from line 24. If your credit 

amount is between $0 and $1, enter $1. If your credit amount is over $1, round to the nearest whole dollar. 

This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 76; or Form 540 2EZ, line 24  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 28 

Part VIII Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Young Child Tax Credit (See Step 9 in the instructions.) 

29 CA Exemption Credit Percentage from Form 540NR, line 38. See instructions  . . . .  29

30 Nonresident or Part-Year Resident YCTC. Multiply line 28 by line 29. 
This amount should also be entered on Form 540NR, line 86  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 30

. 00

. 00

. 00

. 00

.

.

.

.
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2020 Instructions for Form FTB 3514 
California Earned Income Tax Credit 
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC). 

What's New 
Expansion for Credits Eligibility – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020, California expanded Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) 
and Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC) eligibility to allow either the federal 
Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) or the Social Security Number 
(SSN) to be used by all eligible individuals, their spouses, and qualifying 
children. If an ITIN is used, eligible individuals should provide identifying 
documents upon request of the Franchise Tax Board (FTB). Any valid 
SSN can be used, not only those that are valid for work. Additionally, 
upon receiving a valid SSN, the individual should notify the FTB in the 
time and manner prescribed by the FTB. The YCTC is available if the 
eligible individual or spouse has a qualifying child younger than six years 
old. For more information, see Specific Instructions for line 7 and go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for eitc. 
Worker Status: Employees and Independent Contractors – Some 
individuals may be classified as independent contractors for federal 
purposes and employees for California purposes, which may also cause 
changes in how their income and deductions are classified. For more 
information, see General Information B, Differences in California and 
Federal Law and Specific Instructions, Step 5, line 13 and line 18. 

General Information 
In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, 
California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of 
January 1, 2015. However, there are continuing differences between 
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law 
changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal 
level. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. 
Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental 
Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California 
Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments - Residents, or Schedule CA 
(540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, 
and the Business Entity tax booklets. 
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the instructions. Taxpayers should not consider 
the instructions as authoritative law. 
Registered Domestic Partners (RDPs) 
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, husband, 
or wife also refer to a California RDP, unless otherwise specified. 
When we use the initials RDP they refer to both a California registered 
domestic “partner” and a California registered domestic “partnership,” 
as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737, Tax 
Information for Registered Domestic Partners. 
California Earned Income Tax Credit 
The refundable California EITC is available to taxpayers who earned 
wage income subject to California withholding and/or have net earnings 
from self-employment. This credit is similar to the federal Earned 
Income Credit (EIC) but with different income limitations. The CA 
EITC reduces your California tax obligation, or allows a refund if no 
California tax is due. You do not need a child to qualify, but must file a 
California income tax return to claim the credit and attach a completed 
form FTB 3514, California Earned Income Tax Credit. 
Young Child Tax Credit 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, the refundable 
YCTC is available to taxpayers who also qualify for the CA EITC and who 
have at least one qualifying child who is younger than six years old as of 
the last day of the taxable year. The maximum amount of credit allowable 
for a qualified taxpayer is $1,000. The credit amount phases out as 
earned income exceeds the threshold amount of $25,000, and completely 

phases out at $30,000. For more information, see Step 8, Qualifications 
for Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC) in the instructions. 

A Purpose 
Use form FTB 3514 to determine whether you qualify to claim the credit, 
provide information about your qualifying children, if applicable, and to 
figure the amount of your credit. 

B Differences in California and Federal Law 
The differences between California and federal law for the Earned Income 
Tax Credit are as follows: 
• California allows this credit for wage income (wages, salaries, tips and 

other employee compensation) that is subject to California withholding. 
• If you were a nonresident, you must have earned wage income that is 

subject to California withholding. 
• Both your earned income and federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 

must be less than $56,844 to qualify for the federal credit, and less 
than $30,001 to qualify for the California credit. 

• An eligible individual without a qualifying child is 18 years or older for 
the California credit. 

• You may elect to include all of your (and/or all of your spouse’s/RDP’s 
if filing jointly) nontaxable military combat pay in earned income for 
California purposes, whether or not you elect to include it for federal 
purposes. Get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel, 
for special rules that apply to military personnel claiming the EITC. 

• California allows this credit to eligible individuals and their spouses 
who have a valid federal ITIN or who have qualifying children who 
have a valid federal ITIN. 

Specific Instructions 
If certain requirements are met, you or your eligible spouse may claim 
the EITC even if you do not have a valid SSN and instead have a valid 
federal ITIN. This also applies for the YCTC. If you have a valid federal 
ITIN, enter it in the Your SSN or ITIN field at the top of the form. For 
more information, see the What's New Section and specific instructions 
for line 7. 
If certain requirements are met, you may claim the EITC even if you do 
not have a qualifying child. The amount of the credit is greater if you 
have a qualifying child, and increases with each child that qualifies, up 
to a maximum of three children. Follow Step 1 through Step 7 below to 
determine if you qualify for the credit and to figure the amount of the 
credit. 
If your EITC was reduced or disallowed for any reason other than a math 
or clerical error and you now want to take the EITC then answer “Yes” 
on line 1b within the form and follow Step 1 through Step 7 below to 
determine if you qualify for the credit. 
Attach the completed form FTB 3514 to your Form 540 or 540 2EZ, 
California Resident Income Tax Return, or Form 540NR, California 
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, if you claim the 
California EITC. 

Step 1 Qualifications for All Filers 
a. Federal AGI 

In taxable year 2020, is the amount on federal Form 1040, U.S. 
Individual Income Tax Return, or Form 1040-SR, U.S. Tax Return for 
Seniors, line 11 less than $30,001? 
Yes Continue. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 

b. Do you, and your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return, have a valid SSN 
or federal ITIN? See line 7, “Valid SSN”  or “Valid ITIN” within Step 3, 
Qualifying Child, for a full definition. 
Yes If you have a qualifying child continue to question c. If you do 

not have a qualifying child, continue to question d. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the EITC.
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c. Do you, and your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return, have a qualifying 
child who has a valid SSN or federal ITIN? 
Yes Continue to question d. 
No You may qualify for the EITC as a filer without a qualifying 

child, continue to question d. 
d. Is your filing status married filing separately? 

Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Continue. 

e. Are you filing federal Form 2555, Foreign Earned Income? 
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Continue. 

f. Were you or your spouse/RDP a nonresident alien for any part 
of 2020? 
Yes If your filing status is married filing jointly, continue. Otherwise, 

stop here; you cannot take the EITC. 
No Continue. 

g. If you are filing Form 540NR, did you and your spouse/RDP live in 
California for at least 184 days? 
Yes Continue. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 

h. Complete line 1, line 2, and line 3 on the form. Then go to Step 2. 

Step 2 Investment Income 
If you are filing Form 540 or Form 540NR complete Worksheet 1. If you 
are filing Form 540 2EZ complete Worksheet 2. 

Worksheet 1 – Investment Income 
Form 540 and Form 540NR Filers 

Interest and Dividends 
1  Add and enter the amounts from federal 

Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 2a and line 2b .  1
2  Enter the amount from federal Form 8814, 

Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest 
and Dividends, line 1b  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3  Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 3b  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

4  Enter any amounts from federal Form 8814, 
line 12 for child's interest and dividends . . . 4

Capital Gain Net Income 
5  Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 

or 1040-SR, line 7. If the result is less than 
zero, enter 0 - - . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

6 Enter the gain from federal Form 4797 
Sales of Business Property, line 7. If the 
amount on that line is a loss, enter 0 . 
(But, if you completed federal Form 4797, 
line 8 and line 9, enter the amount from 
line 9 instead) 

- - 

 

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7  Subtract line 6 from line 5. 

(If the result is less than zero, enter 0 )  --  . . . 7
Passive Activities 

8  Enter the total of net income from passive 
activities included on federal Schedule 1 
(Form 1040), Additional Income and 
Adjustments to Income, line 5 . . . . . . . . . . 8

Other Activities 
9  Enter any income from the rental of 

personal property included on federal 
Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 8. If the result 
is zero or less, enter 0 - - . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10  Enter any expenses related to the rental 
of personal property included as a 
write-in adjustment on federal Schedule 1 
(Form 1040), line 22  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10

11  Subtract line 10 from line 9. 
(If the result is less than zero, enter 0 ) -  -  . . . 11

Investment Income 
12  Add the amounts on lines 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 

and 11. 
Enter the total. 
This is your investment income  . . . . . . . . . 12

13  Is the amount on line 12 more than $3,882? 
Yes  Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No  Enter the amount from line 12 on 

form FTB 3514, line 4. Go to Step 3. 

Worksheet 2 – Investment Income 
Form 540 2EZ Filer 

1  Taxable interest. Enter the amount from 
Form 540 2EZ, line 10.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

2  Nontaxable interest. Add and enter the 
amounts from federal Form 1099-INT, box 3 
and box 8, and the amount from federal 
Form 1099-DIV, box 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3  Dividends. Enter the amount from 
Form 540 2EZ, line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

4  Capital gain net income. Enter the amount 
from Form 540 2EZ, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

5  Investment Income. Add line 1, line 2, line 3 
and line 4. Enter the amount here  . . . . . . . . 5

6  Is the amount on line 5 more than $3,882? 
Yes  Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No  Enter the amount from line 5 on form 

FTB 3514, line 4. 
Go to Step 3. 

Step 3 Qualifying Child 
Qualifying Child Definition 
A qualifying child for the EITC is a child who meets the following 
conditions: 
• Is your son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, brother, sister, 

stepbrother, stepsister, half brother, half sister, or a descendant of any 
of them (for example, your grandchild, niece, or nephew). 

• Is under age 19 at the end of 2020 and younger than you (or your 
spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), or under age 24 at the end of 2020, a 
student, and younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), 
or any age and permanently and totally disabled. 

• Is not filing a joint return for 2020 or is filing a joint return for 2020 
only to claim a refund of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid. 
Get federal Publication 596, Earned Income Credit, for examples. 

• Lived with you in California for more than half of 2020. If the child 
did not live with you for the required time, see exceptions in the 
instructions for line 11. 

Note: If the child was married or meets the conditions to be a 
qualifying child of another person (other than your spouse/RDP if 
filing a joint return), special rules apply. Get federal Publication 596 
for more information. 

Qualifying Child Questionnaire 
a. Do you have at least one child who meets the conditions to be your 

qualifying child? 
Yes Continue. 
No Go to Step 4. 

b. Are you filing a joint return for 2020? 
Yes Complete form FTB 3514, Part III, line 5 through line 12. 

Go to Step 5. 
No Continue. 
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c. Could you be a qualifying child of another person for 2020? (Answer 
“No” if the other person is not required to file, and is not filing, a 2020 
tax return or is filing a 2020 return only to claim a refund of withheld 
income tax or estimated tax paid. Get federal Publication 596 for 
examples.) 
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Complete form FTB 3514, Part III, line 5 through line 12. 

Go to Step 5. 
Note: If your qualifying child is younger than six years old as of the last 
day of the taxable year, you must list that child information under Child 1, 
Child 2 or Child 3 column. Do not include any child younger than six years 
old as an attachment to the form FTB 3514. See Step 8 and Step 9 in the 
instructions to see if you qualify for the Young Child Tax Credit. 

Line 7 – SSN or ITIN 
The child must have a valid SSN or ITIN, as defined below, unless the 
child was born and died in 2020. If your child was born alive and died 
in 2020 and did not have an SSN, enter “Died” on this line and attach a 
copy of the child’s birth certificate, death certificate, or hospital medical 
records or include it according to your software's instructions. 
Valid SSN. A valid SSN is a number issued by the Social Security 
Administration without regard to whether it was issued for employment 
or issued solely for the purpose of receiving federally funded benefits. 
Valid ITIN. A valid ITIN is a federal tax processing number issued by the 
Internal Revenue Service that is not expired or revoked. For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, a valid federal ITIN can be used 
to claim the EITC and YCTC. If an ITIN is used, eligible individuals should 
provide the documents listed below upon request by FTB: 
# Identifying documents acceptable for purposes of obtaining a 

California driver’s license as authorized by the Vehicle code and 
related regulations for purposes of establishing documents acceptable 
to prove identity. 

# Identifying documents used to report earned income for the taxable 
year. 

Additionally, upon receiving a valid SSN, the individual should notify the 
FTB in the time and manner prescribed by the FTB. For more information, 
go to ftb.ca.gov and search for eitc. 
An Adoption Taxpayer Identification Number (ATIN) cannot be used to 
claim EITC. If you or your child has an ATIN and later gets a valid SSN 
or a valid federal ITIN, you may be able to file an amended return. Use 
Form 540, 540 2EZ, or 540NR to amend your original or previously filed 
tax return with Schedule X, California Explanation of Amended Return 
Changes, attached to the amended return. 
If you did not have an SSN or federal ITIN by the due date of your 2020 
return (including extensions), you cannot claim the EITC (or YCTC) on 
either your original or an amended 2020 return, even if you later get an 
SSN or federal ITIN. Also, if a child did not have an SSN or federal ITIN 
by the due date of your return (including extensions), you cannot count 
that child as a qualifying child in figuring the EITC (or YCTC) on either 
your original or an amended 2020 return, even if that child later gets 
an SSN or federal ITIN. 

Line 9a – Student 
A student is a child who during any part of 5 calendar months of 2020 
was enrolled as a full-time student at a school, or took a full-time, 
on-farm training course given by a school or a state, county, or local 
government agency. A school includes a technical, trade, or mechanical 
school. It does not include an on-the-job training course, correspondence 
school, or school offering courses only through the Internet. 

Line 9b – Permanently and totally disabled 
A person is permanently and totally disabled if, at any time in 2020, the 
person could not engage in any substantial gainful activity because of 
a physical or mental condition and a doctor has determined that this 
condition (a) has lasted or can be expected to last continuously for at 
least a year, or (b) can be expected to lead to death. 

Line 10 – Child’s relationship to you 
For additional information see qualifying child definition. 

Line 11 – Number of days child lived with you 
Enter the number of days the child lived with you in California during 
2020. To qualify, the child must have the same principal place of 
residence in California as you for more than half of 2020, defined as 
184 days or more. If the child was born or died in 2020 and your home 
was the child’s home for more than half the time he or she was alive 
during 2020, enter “366”. Do not enter more than 366 days. If the 
child did not live with you for the required time, temporary absences 
may count as time lived at home. For more information get federal 
Publication 596. 

Line 12 – Child’s physical address 
Enter the physical address where the child resided during 2020. This 
should be the address of the principal place of residence in California 
where the child lived with you for more than half of 2020. If the child 
lived with you in California for more than half of 2020, but moved within 
California during this period, this should be the address of the principal 
place of residence that was shared the longest. 

Step 4 Filer Without a Qualifying Child 
a. Is the amount on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 less than 

$30,001? 
Yes Continue. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 

b. Were you (or your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return) at least age 
18 at the end of 2020? (Answer “Yes” if you, or your spouse/RDP 
if filing a joint return, were born on or before January 1, 2003.) If 
your spouse/RDP died in 2020 (or if you are preparing a return for 
someone who died in 2020), get federal Publication 596 for more 
information before you answer. 
Yes Continue. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 

c. Was your main home, and your spouse’s/RDP’s if filing a joint return, 
in California for more than half of 2020? 
Yes Continue. 
No Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 

d. Are you filing a joint return for 2020? For more information get federal 
Publication 596. 
Yes Skip questions e and f; go to Step 5. 
No Continue. 

e. Could you be a qualifying child of another person for 2020? (Answer 
“No” if the other person is not required to file, and is not filing, a 2020 
tax return or is filing a 2020 return only to claim a refund of withheld 
income tax or estimated tax paid. Get federal Publication 596 for 
examples.) 
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Continue. 

f. Can you be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s 2020 tax 
return? 
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit. 
No Go to Step 5. 

Step 5 California Earned Income 
Complete lines 13 through 19 to figure your California earned income. 

Line 13 – Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee 
compensation, subject to California withholding 
Enter the total amount of your California wages from your federal 
Form(s) W-2, Wage and Tax Statement. This amount appears on 
Form W-2, box 16. Include all of your Medicaid waiver payments or In 
Home Supportive Services (IHSS) payments that are nontaxable for 
federal purposes. 
Note: If you have clergy wages, subtract the self employment tax, if any, 
that was reported on federal Schedule SE (Form 1040), Self-Employment 
Tax, and enter the result on form FTB 3514, line 13. 
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Employees and independent contractors − If the taxpayer’s classification 
for California and federal purposes is different, enter the earned 
income as wages on line 13 or as business income on line 18 based 
on the federal classification of income. For example, a taxpayer may be 
classified as an independent contractor for federal purposes, but as an 
employee for California purposes. Based on this example, this taxpayer 
would enter their income as business income on form FTB 3514, line 18. 
Use your federal classification for EITC purposes only and for all other 
purposes such as completing other tax forms, schedules, etc., use your 
California classification. 

Line 14 – IHSS payments 
You may elect to include or exclude your Medicaid waiver payments or 
IHSS payments that are nontaxable for federal purposes. If you elect to 
exclude such payments from your earned income for California EITC 
purposes, enter the amount you received as Medicaid waiver payments or 
IHSS payments that are nontaxable for federal purposes on line 14. If you 
elect to include such payments, leave line 14 blank. If you are filing a joint 
return, both you and/or your spouse/RDP can elect to include or exclude 
your own nontaxable Medicaid waiver payments or IHSS payments for 
California EITC purposes. Each must elect to include or exclude all such 
payments, not just a portion of it. You may elect to include or exclude 
such payments from earned income for California EITC purposes, 
whether or not you elect to include or exclude them for federal purposes.  

Line 15 – Prison inmate wages and/or pension or annuity from a 
nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a nongovernmental 
IRC Section 457 plan 
Enter the amount included on line 13, that you received for work 
performed while an inmate in a penal institution. 
Enter the amount included on line 13, that you received as a pension 
or annuity from a nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a 
nongovernmental IRC Section 457 plan. This amount may be shown on 
federal Form W-2, box 11. If you received such an amount and box 11 is 
blank, contact your employer for the amount received as a pension or 
annuity. 

Line 17 – Nontaxable combat pay 
Enter the amount from federal Form W-2, box 12, code Q, if you elect 
to include your nontaxable military combat pay in earned income for 
EITC purposes. If you are filing a joint return, both you and/or your 
spouse/RDP can elect to include your own nontaxable military combat 
pay for EITC purposes. Each must include all of their nontaxable military 
combat pay, not just a portion of it. You may elect to include nontaxable 
military combat pay in earned income for California purposes, whether or 
not you elect to include it for federal purposes. 

Line 18 – Business income or (loss) 
If you are self-employed and have net earnings from self-employment, 
go to Worksheet 3 to figure your business income or loss. Attach a 
copy of your complete federal return, including any federal Schedule 
C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Business, Schedule F (Form 1040), 
Profit or Loss From Farming, Schedule SE (Form 1040), and any 
Schedule K-1 (Form 1065), Partner’s Share of Income, Deductions, 
Credits, etc. 
Employees and independent contractors – If the taxpayer’s classification 
for California and federal purposes is different, enter the earned 
income as wages on line 13 or as business income on line 18 based 
on the federal classification of income. For example, a taxpayer may be 
classified as an independent contractor for federal purposes, but as an 
employee for California purposes. Based on this example, this taxpayer 
would enter their income as business income on form FTB 3514, line 18. 
Use your federal classification for EITC purposes only and for all other 
purposes such as completing other tax forms, schedules, etc., use your 
California classification. 

Worksheet 3 – Business Income or (Loss) 

1  Business income or (loss). Enter the amount 
from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 3 1

2  Farm income or (loss). Enter the amount 
from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 6 2

3  Self-employment earnings from 
partnerships reported on K-1s. Enter the net 
profit (or loss) from federal Schedule K-1 
(Form 1065), box 14, code A  . . . . . . . . . . . .            3

4  Deductible part of self-employment tax. 
Enter the amount from federal Schedule 1 
(Form 1040), line 14  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   4

5  Total business income or (loss). Add line 1, 
line 2, line 3, and subtract line 4. Enter the 
amount here and on form FTB 3514, 
line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

Lines 18 a-e Business information 
Enter your business information in the spaces provided. If you have 
multiple businesses, use the information from the schedule with the 
largest net profit (loss). 

Line b – Business address 
Enter your business address. Show a street address instead of a box 
number. Include the suite or room number, if any. 

Line c – Business license number 
Enter your business license number. A business license number is a 
reference number from a county, city, or state that allows you to engage 
in a specific business activity within the designated area. If you do not 
have a business license number, leave line c blank. 

Line d – SEIN 
Enter your state employer identification number (SEIN) issued by the 
California Employment Development Department. If you do not have a 
SEIN, leave line d blank.  

Line e – Business code 
Use the six-digit code from federal Schedule C or Schedule F, box B. 

After completing Step 5, line 18e, go to Step 6.
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Step 6 How to Figure the CA EITC 
Complete the California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet below. If you file Form 540 or 540 2EZ, after completing Step 6, skip Step 7 and go to 
Step 8. If you file a Form 540NR, after completing Step 6, go to Step 7. 

California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet 
Part I All Filers 

1 Enter your California earned income from form FTB 3514, line 19. If the amount is zero or less, stop here  . . . . . . . . . . . .  1  ___________________

2 Look up the amount on line 1 in the EITC Table to find the credit. Be sure you use the correct 
column for the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  2  ___________________ 
If the amount on line 2 is zero, stop here. You cannot take the credit. 

3 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  3  _________________

4 Are the amounts on lines 1 and 3 the same? 

Yes Skip line 5; and enter the amount from line 2 on line 6. 
No Go to line 5. 

Part II Filers who Answered “No” on Line 4 

5 If you have: 

• No qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than $3,757? 
• 1 qualifying child, is the amount on line 3 less than $5,642? 
• 2 or more qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than $7,920? 

Yes Leave line 5 blank; enter the amount from line 2 on line 6. 
No Look up the amount on line 3 in the EITC Table to find the credit. Be sure you use the correct 

column for the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit here. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 
Compare the amounts on line 5 and line 2, enter the smaller amount on line 6. 

Part III Your Earned Income Tax Credit 

6 This is your California earned income tax credit. 
Enter this amount on form FTB 3514, line 20.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  6

(continued on the next page)
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Step 7 How to Figure the Nonresident or Part-Year 
Resident EITC 
If you file Form 540 or 540 2EZ, skip Step 7 and go to Step 8. 

Line 21 – CA Exemption Credit Percentage 
If you file a Form 540NR, enter your CA Exemption Credit Percentage 
from Form 540NR, line 38 on form FTB 3514, line 21. However, if 
your total taxable income was less than zero and you entered $0 on 
Form 540NR, line 19, complete Worksheet 4 below to compute the 
correct CA Exemption Credit Percentage to enter on form FTB 3514, 
line 21. 

Worksheet 4 – CA Exemption Credit Percentage 
Complete this worksheet only if you are a nonresident or part-year 
resident with negative total taxable income and you entered zero on 
Form 540NR, line 19. 

Part I Total Taxable Income 

 1 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 17. 
If a negative amount, enter as negative  . . . . .  1

 2 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 18  .  2

 3 Total Taxable Income. Subtract line 2 from 
line 1. Enter the negative result here 

 
 . . . . . . .  3

Part II California Taxable Income 

4 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), 
Part IV, line 1. If a negative amount, 
enter as negative  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  4

5 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), 
Part IV, line 4  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  5

6 California Taxable Income. Subtract line 5 
from line 4. If a negative amount, 
enter as negative  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  6

Part III CA Exemption Credit Percentage 
 7 Subtract line 6 from line 3. If a negative 

amount, enter as negative  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  7

 8 Enter the amount from line 3 as a positive 
amount   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  8

 9 Divide line 7 by line 8. Enter amount as 
a decimal  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  9

10 CA Exemption Credit Percentage. Subtract 
line 9 from 1.000. If more than 1, enter 1.000. 
If less than zero, enter 0. Enter the result 
as a decimal here and on form FTB 3514, 
line 21 or line 29. 

 
 

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  10

Line 22 – Nonresident or Part-Year Resident EITC 
Multiply line 20 by line 21 and enter the result on form FTB 3514, line 22. 
This amount should also be entered on Form 540NR, line 85. 

Step 8 Qualifications for Young Child Tax 
Credit (YCTC) 
To qualify for the YCTC, you must meet all of the following: 
• You have been allowed the CA EITC on this form. 
• You have at least one qualifying child for the CA EITC. 
• Your qualifying child is younger than six years old as of the last 

day of the taxable year. 
Caution: If you do not meet all of the above requirements, you cannot 
take this credit. 
If you meet all of the above requirements, complete Part VII, Young Child 
Tax Credit. If you are a nonresident or part-year resident, also complete 
Part VIII, Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Young Child Tax Credit. 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, California 
expanded YCTC eligibility to a qualifying child who is younger than 
6 years old as of the last day of the taxable year, who has a valid federal 
ITIN. The child must be a qualifying child of an eligible individual, the 
eligible individual’s spouse (if married), who have a federal ITIN. 
Note: If your qualifying child is younger than six years old as of the last 
day of the taxable year, you must list that child information under Part III, 
Qualifying Child Information, Child 1, Child 2 or Child 3 column. Do not 
include any child younger than six years old as an attachment to the form 
FTB 3514. 

Line 23 – California Earned Income 
CA earned income for purposes of the YCTC is the same as for the 
CA EITC. Enter the amount from form FTB 3514, line 19. 

Line 25 – Excess Earned Income over threshold 
Subtract the $25,000 threshold amount from your CA earned income 
entered on line 23 and enter the excess amount on line 25. 

Line 26 and Line 27 
For every $100 over the threshold amount, your credit is reduced by $20. 

Line 28 
This is the amount of your allowable YCTC to claim on your tax 
return. This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 76; or 
Form 540 2EZ, line 24. If you file Form 540 or 540 2EZ, stop here, do not 
go to Step 9. 

Step 9 Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Young 
Child Tax Credit 
Line 29 
If you file a Form 540NR, enter your CA Exemption Credit Percentage 
from Form 540NR, line 38 on form FTB 3514, line 29. However, if you 
completed Worksheet 4, enter the CA Exemption Credit Percentage from 
Worksheet 4, line 10 on form FTB 3514, line 29. 

Line 30 
Multiply line 28 by line 29 and enter the result on form FTB 3514, line 30. 
This amount should also be entered on Form 540NR, line 86.
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Continued on next page.

2020 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued
Caution: This is not a tax table. If you are married filing separately you do not qualify for this credit. 

1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your 
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned 
Income Tax Credit Worksheet. 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is 

At 
 least 

But Not 
Over 

0 1 2 3 
Your credit is . . . 

1 50 2 7 9 10

 51  100  5  22  26  29 

 101  150  8  36  43  48 

 151  200  11  51  60  67 

 201  250  15  65  77  86 

 251  300  18  80  94  105 

 301  350  21  94  111  125 

 351  400  24  109  128  144 

 401  450  28  123  145  163 

 451  500  31  137  162  182 

 501  550  34  152  179  201 

 551  600  37  166  196  220 

 601  650  41  181  213  239 

 651  700  44  195  230  258 

 701  750  47  210  247  278 

 751  800  50  224  264  297 

 801 850   54  239  281  316 

 851  900  57  253  298  335 

 901  950  60  267  315  354 

 951  1,000  63  282  332  373 

 1,001  1,050  67  296  349  392 

 1,051  1,100  70  311  366  411 

 1,101  1,150  73  325  383  431 

 1,151  1,200  76  340  400  450 

 1,201  1,250  80  354  417  469 

 1,251  1,300  83  369  434  488 

 1,301  1,350  86  383  451  507 

 1,351  1,400  89  398  468  526 

 1,401  1,450  93  412  485  545 

 1,451  1,500  96  426  502  564 

 1,501  1,550  99  441  519  584 

 1,551  1,600  102  455  536  603 

 1,601  1,650  106  470  553  622 

 1,651  1,700  109  484  570  641 

 1,701  1,750  112  499  587  660 

 1,751  1,800  115  513  604  679 

 1,801  1,850  119  528  621  698 

 1,851  1,900  122  542  638  717 

 1,901  1,950  125  556  655  737 

 1,951  2,000  128  571  672  756 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 2,001  2,050  132  585  689  775 

 2,051  2,100  135  600  706  794 

 2,101  2,150  138  614  723  813 

 2,151  2,200  141  629  740  832 

 2,201  2,250  145  643  757  851 

 2,251  2,300  148  658  774  870 

 2,301  2,350  151  672  791  890 

 2,351  2,400  154  687  808  909 

 2,401  2,450  158  701  825  928 

 2,451  2,500  161  715  842  947 

 2,501  2,550  164  730  859  966 

 2,551  2,600  167  744  876  985 

 2,601  2,650  171  759  893  1,004 

 2,651  2,700  174  773  910  1,023 

 2,701  2,750  177  788  927  1,043 

 2,751  2,800  180  802  944  1,062 

 2,801  2,850  184  817  961  1,081 

 2,851  2,900  187  831  978  1,100 

 2,901  2,950  190  845  995  1,119 

 2,951  3,000  193  860  1,012  1,138 

 3,001  3,050  197  874  1,029  1,157 

 3,051  3,100  200  889  1,046  1,176 

 3,101  3,150  203  903  1,063  1,196 

 3,151  3,200  206  918  1,080  1,215 

 3,201  3,250  210  932  1,097  1,234 

 3,251  3,300  213  947  1,114  1,253 

 3,301  3,350  216  961  1,131  1,272 

 3,351  3,400  219  976  1,148  1,291 

 3,401  3,450  223  990  1,165  1,310 

 3,451  3,500  226  1,004  1,182  1,329 

 3,501  3,550  229  1,019  1,199  1,349 

 3,551  3,600  232  1,033  1,216  1,368 

 3,601  3,650  236  1,048  1,233  1,387 

 3,651  3,700  239  1,062  1,250  1,406 

 3,701  3,750  242  1,077  1,267  1,425 

 3,751  3,800  243  1,091  1,284  1,444 

 3,801  3,850  240  1,106  1,301  1,463 

 3,851  3,900  237  1,120  1,318  1,482 

 3,901  3,950  233  1,134  1,335  1,502 

 3,951  4,000  230  1,149  1,352  1,521 
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If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 4,001  4,050  227  1,163  1,369  1,540 

 4,051  4,100  224  1,178  1,386  1,559 

 4,101  4,150  220  1,192  1,403  1,578 

 4,151  4,200  217  1,207  1,420  1,597 

 4,201  4,250  214  1,221  1,437  1,616 

 4,251  4,300  211  1,236  1,454  1,635 

 4,301  4,350  207  1,250  1,471  1,655 

 4,351  4,400  204  1,265  1,488  1,674 

 4,401  4,450  203  1,279  1,505  1,693 

 4,451  4,500  202  1,293  1,522  1,712 

 4,501  4,550  202  1,308  1,539  1,731 

 4,551  4,600  201  1,322  1,556  1,750 

 4,601  4,650  201  1,337  1,573  1,769 

 4,651  4,700  201  1,351  1,590  1,788 

 4,701  4,750  200  1,366  1,607  1,808 

 4,751  4,800  200  1,380  1,624  1,827 

 4,801  4,850  199  1,395  1,641  1,846 

 4,851  4,900  199  1,409  1,658  1,865 

 4,901  4,950  199  1,423  1,675  1,884 

 4,951  5,000  198  1,438  1,692  1,903 

 5,001  5,050  198  1,452  1,709  1,922 

 5,051  5,100  197  1,467  1,726  1,941 

 5,101  5,150  197  1,481  1,743  1,961 

 5,151  5,200  197  1,496  1,760  1,980 

 5,201  5,250  196  1,510  1,777  1,999 

 5,251  5,300  196  1,525  1,794  2,018 

 5,301  5,350  195  1,539  1,811  2,037 

 5,351  5,400  195  1,554  1,828  2,056 

 5,401  5,450  195  1,568  1,845  2,075 

 5,451  5,500  194  1,582  1,862  2,094 

 5,501  5,550  194  1,597  1,879  2,114 

 5,551  5,600  194  1,611  1,896  2,133 

 5,601  5,650  193  1,626  1,913  2,152 

 5,651  5,700  193  1,621  1,930  2,171 

 5,701  5,750  192  1,606  1,947  2,190 

 5,751  5,800  192  1,592  1,964  2,209 

 5,801  5,850  192  1,578  1,981  2,228 

 5,851  5,900  191  1,563  1,998  2,247 

 5,901  5,950  191  1,549  2,015  2,267 

 5,951  6,000  190  1,534  2,032  2,286 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 6,001  6,050  190  1,520  2,049  2,305 

 6,051  6,100  190  1,505  2,066  2,324 

 6,101  6,150  189  1,491  2,083  2,343 

 6,151  6,200  189  1,476  2,100  2,362 

 6,201  6,250  188  1,462  2,117  2,381 

 6,251  6,300  188  1,447  2,134  2,400 

 6,301  6,350  188  1,433  2,151  2,420 

 6,351  6,400  187  1,419  2,168  2,439 

 6,401  6,450  187  1,404  2,185  2,458 

 6,451  6,500  186  1,390  2,202  2,477 

 6,501  6,550  186  1,375  2,219  2,496 

 6,551  6,600  186  1,361  2,236  2,515 

 6,601  6,650  185  1,346  2,253  2,534 

 6,651  6,700  185  1,332  2,270  2,553 

 6,701  6,750  184  1,317  2,287  2,573 

 6,751  6,800  184  1,303  2,304  2,592 

 6,801  6,850  184  1,289  2,321  2,611 

 6,851  6,900  183  1,274  2,338  2,630 

 6,901  6,950  183  1,260  2,355  2,649 

 6,951  7,000  182  1,245  2,372  2,668 

 7,001  7,050  182  1,231  2,389  2,687 

 7,051  7,100  182  1,216  2,406  2,706 

 7,101  7,150  181  1,202  2,423  2,726 

 7,151  7,200  181  1,187  2,440  2,745 

 7,201  7,250  180  1,173  2,457  2,764 

 7,251  7,300  180  1,158  2,474  2,783 

 7,301  7,350  180  1,144  2,491  2,802 

 7,351  7,400  179  1,130  2,508  2,821 

 7,401  7,450  179  1,115  2,525  2,840 

 7,451  7,500  178  1,101  2,542  2,859 

 7,501  7,550  178  1,086  2,559  2,879 

 7,551  7,600  178  1,072  2,576  2,898 

 7,601  7,650  177  1,057  2,593  2,917 

 7,651  7,700  177  1,043  2,610  2,936 

 7,701  7,750  177  1,028  2,627  2,955 

 7,751  7,800  176  1,014  2,644  2,974 

 7,801  7,850  176  1,000  2,661  2,993 

 7,851  7,900  175  985  2,678  3,012 

 7,901  7,950  175  971  2,691  3,027 

 7,951  8,000  175  956  2,674  3,008 

1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned
Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2020 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
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If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 8,001  8,050  174  942  2,657  2,989 

 8,051  8,100  174  927  2,640  2,970 

 8,101  8,150  173  913  2,623  2,951 

 8,151  8,200  173  898  2,606  2,932 

 8,201  8,250  173  884  2,589  2,913 

 8,251  8,300  172  869  2,572  2,893 

 8,301  8,350  172  855  2,555  2,874 

 8,351  8,400  171  841  2,538  2,855 

 8,401  8,450  171  826  2,521  2,836 

 8,451  8,500  171  812  2,504  2,817 

 8,501  8,550  170  797  2,487  2,798 

 8,551  8,600  170  783  2,470  2,779 

 8,601  8,650  169  768  2,453  2,760 

 8,651  8,700  169  754  2,436  2,740 

 8,701  8,750  169  739  2,419  2,721 

 8,751  8,800  168  725  2,402  2,702 

 8,801  8,850  168  711  2,385  2,683 

 8,851  8,900  167  696  2,368  2,664 

 8,901  8,950  167  682  2,351  2,645 

 8,951  9,000  167  667  2,334  2,626 

 9,001  9,050  166  653  2,317  2,607 

 9,051  9,100  166  638  2,300  2,587 

 9,101  9,150  165  624  2,283  2,568 

 9,151  9,200  165  609  2,266  2,549 

 9,201  9,250  165  595  2,249  2,530 

 9,251  9,300  164  580  2,232  2,511 

 9,301  9,350  164  566  2,215  2,492 

 9,351  9,400  163  552  2,198  2,473 

 9,401  9,450  163  537  2,181  2,454 

 9,451  9,500  163  523  2,164  2,434 

 9,501  9,550  162  511  2,147  2,415 

 9,551  9,600  162  510  2,130  2,396 

 9,601  9,650  162  509  2,113  2,377 

 9,651  9,700  161  508  2,096  2,358 

 9,701  9,750  161  506  2,079  2,339 

 9,751  9,800  160  505  2,062  2,320 

 9,801  9,850  160  504  2,045  2,301 

 9,851  9,900  160  503  2,028  2,281 

 9,901  9,950  159  501  2,011  2,262 

 9,951  10,000  159  500  1,994  2,243 

If the amount you are 
looking up from 

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 10,001  10,050  158  499  1,977  2,224 

 10,051  10,100  158  498  1,960  2,205 

 10,101  10,150  158  496  1,943  2,186 

 10,151  10,200  157  495  1,926  2,167 

 10,201  10,250  157  494  1,909  2,148 

 10,251  10,300  156  493  1,892  2,128 

 10,301  10,350  156  491  1,875  2,109 

 10,351  10,400  156  490  1,858  2,090 

 10,401  10,450  155  489  1,841  2,071 

 10,451  10,500  155  488  1,824  2,052 

 10,501  10,550  154  486  1,807  2,033 

 10,551  10,600  154  485  1,790  2,014 

 10,601  10,650  154  484  1,773  1,995 

 10,651  10,700  153  483  1,756  1,975 

 10,701  10,750  153  481  1,739  1,956 

 10,751  10,800  152  480  1,722  1,937 

 10,801  10,850  152  479  1,705  1,918 

 10,851  10,900  152  478  1,688  1,899 

 10,901  10,950  151  476  1,671  1,880 

 10,951  11,000  151  475  1,654  1,861 

 11,001  11,050  150  474  1,637  1,842 

 11,051  11,100  150  473  1,620  1,822 

 11,101  11,150  150  471  1,603  1,803 

 11,151  11,200  149  470  1,586  1,784 

 11,201  11,250  149  469  1,569  1,765 

 11,251  11,300  148  468  1,552  1,746 

 11,301  11,350  148  466  1,535  1,727 

 11,351  11,400  148  465  1,518  1,708 

 11,401  11,450  147  464  1,501  1,689 

 11,451  11,500  147  463  1,484  1,669 

 11,501  11,550  146  461  1,467  1,650 

 11,551  11,600  146  460  1,450  1,631 

 11,601  11,650  146  459  1,433  1,612 

 11,651  11,700  145  458  1,416  1,593 

 11,701  11,750  145  456  1,399  1,574 

 11,751  11,800  145  455  1,382  1,555 

 11,801  11,850  144  454  1,365  1,536 

 11,851  11,900  144  453  1,348  1,516 

 11,901  11,950  143  451  1,331  1,497 

 11,951  12,000  143  450  1,314  1,478 
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the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
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But Not 
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0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 12,001  12,050  143  449  1,297  1,459 

 12,051  12,100  142  448  1,280  1,440 

 12,101  12,150  142  446  1,263  1,421 

 12,151  12,200  141  445  1,246  1,402 

 12,201  12,250  141  444  1,229  1,383 

 12,251  12,300  141  443  1,212  1,363 

 12,301  12,350  140  441  1,195  1,344 

 12,351  12,400  140  440  1,178  1,325 

 12,401  12,450  139  439  1,161  1,306 

 12,451  12,500  139  438  1,144  1,287 

 12,501  12,550  139  436  1,127  1,268 

 12,551  12,600  138  435  1,110  1,249 

 12,601  12,650  138  434  1,093  1,230 

 12,651  12,700  137  433  1,076  1,210 

 12,701  12,750  137  431  1,059  1,191 

 12,751  12,800  137  430  1,042  1,172 

 12,801  12,850  136  429  1,025  1,153 

 12,851  12,900  136  428  1,008  1,134 

 12,901  12,950  135  426  991  1,115 

 12,951  13,000  135  425  974  1,096 

 13,001  13,050  135  424  957  1,077 

 13,051  13,100  134  423  940  1,057 

 13,101  13,150  134  421  923  1,038 

 13,151  13,200  133  420  906  1,019 

 13,201  13,250  133  419  889  1,000 

 13,251  13,300  133  418  872  981 

 13,301  13,350  132  416  855  962 

 13,351  13,400  132  415  838  943 

 13,401  13,450  131  414  821  924 

 13,451  13,500  131  413  804  904 

 13,501  13,550  131  411  787  885 

 13,551  13,600  130  410  770  866 

 13,601  13,650  130  409  753  847 

 13,651  13,700  129  408  736  828 

 13,701  13,750  129  406  719  809 

 13,751  13,800  129  405  702  790 

 13,801  13,850  128  404  685  771 

 13,851  13,900  128  403  668  751 

 13,901  13,950  128  401  651  732 

 13,951  14,000  127  400  634  713 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 14,001  14,050  127  399  617  694 

 14,051  14,100  126  398  600  675 

 14,101  14,150  126  397  583  656 

 14,151  14,200  126  395  566  637 

 14,201  14,250  125  394  549  618 

 14,251  14,300  125  393  532  598 

 14,301  14,350  124  392  515  579 

 14,351  14,400  124  390  510  560 

 14,401  14,450  124  389  509  541 

 14,451  14,500  123  388  507  522 

 14,501  14,550  123  387  506  511 

 14,551  14,600  122  385  504  509 

 14,601  14,650  122  384  502  507 

 14,651  14,700  122  383  501  506 

 14,701  14,750  121  382  499  504 

 14,751  14,800  121  380  497  503 

 14,801  14,850  120  379  496  501 

 14,851  14,900  120  378  494  499 

 14,901  14,950  120  377  492  498 

 14,951  15,000  119  375  491  496 

 15,001  15,050  119  374  489  494 

 15,051  15,100  118  373  488  493 

 15,101  15,150  118  372  486  491 

 15,151  15,200  118  370  484  489 

 15,201  15,250  117  369  483  488 

 15,251  15,300  117  368  481  486 

 15,301  15,350  116  367  479  484 

 15,351  15,400  116  365  478  483 

 15,401  15,450  116  364  476  481 

 15,451  15,500  115  363  474  479 

 15,501  15,550  115  362  473  478 

 15,551  15,600  114  360  471  476 

 15,601  15,650  114  359  470  474 

 15,651  15,700  114  358  468  473 

 15,701  15,750  113  357  466  471 

 15,751  15,800  113  355  465  469 

 15,801  15,850  112  354  463  468 

 15,851  15,900  112  353  461  466 

 15,901  15,950  112  352  460  464 

 15,951  16,000  111  350  458  463 

1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned
Income Tax Credit Worksheet.
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 16,001  16,050  111  349  456  461 

 16,051  16,100  111  348  455  460 

 16,101  16,150  110  347  453  458 

 16,151  16,200  110  345  452  456 

 16,201  16,250  109  344  450  455 

 16,251  16,300  109  343  448  453 

 16,301  16,350  109  342  447  451 

 16,351  16,400  108  340  445  450 

 16,401  16,450  108  339  443  448 

 16,451  16,500  107  338  442  446 

 16,501  16,550  107  337  440  445 

 16,551  16,600  107  335  438  443 

 16,601  16,650  106  334  437  441 

 16,651  16,700  106  333  435  440 

 16,701  16,750  105  332  434  438 

 16,751  16,800  105  330  432  436 

 16,801  16,850  105  329  430  435 

 16,851  16,900  104  328  429  433 

 16,901  16,950  104  327  427  431 

 16,951  17,000  103  325  425  430 

 17,001  17,050  103  324  424  428 

 17,051  17,100  103  323  422  426 

 17,101  17,150  102  322  420  425 

 17,151  17,200  102  320  419  423 

 17,201  17,250  101  319  417  422 

 17,251  17,300  101  318  416  420 

 17,301  17,350  101  317  414  418 

 17,351  17,400  100  315  412  417 

 17,401  17,450  100  314  411  415 

 17,451  17,500  99  313  409  413 

 17,501  17,550  99  312  407  412 

 17,551  17,600  99  310  406  410 

 17,601  17,650  98  309  404  408 

 17,651  17,700  98  308  402  407 

 17,701  17,750  97  307  401  405 

 17,751  17,800  97  305  399  403 

 17,801  17,850  97  304  398  402 

 17,851  17,900  96  303  396  400 

 17,901  17,950  96  302  394  398 

 17,951  18,000  95  300  393  397 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 18,001  18,050  95  299  391  395 

 18,051  18,100  95  298  389  393 

 18,101  18,150  94  297  388  392 

 18,151  18,200  94  295  386  390 

 18,201  18,250  94  294  384  388 

 18,251  18,300  93  293  383  387 

 18,301  18,350  93  292  381  385 

 18,351  18,400  92  290  380  383 

 18,401  18,450  92  289  378  382 

 18,451  18,500  92  288  376  380 

 18,501  18,550  91  287  375  379 

 18,551  18,600  91  285  373  377 

 18,601  18,650  90  284  371  375 

 18,651  18,700  90  283  370  374 

 18,701  18,750  90  282  368  372 

 18,751  18,800  89  280  366  370 

 18,801  18,850  89  279  365  369 

 18,851  18,900  88  278  363  367 

 18,901  18,950  88  277  362  365 

 18,951  19,000  88  275  360  364 

 19,001  19,050  87  274  358  362 

 19,051  19,100  87  273  357  360 

 19,101  19,150  86  272  355  359 

 19,151  19,200  86  270  353  357 

 19,201  19,250  86  269  352  355 

 19,251  19,300  85  268  350  354 

 19,301  19,350  85  267  348  352 

 19,351  19,400  84  265  347  350 

 19,401  19,450  84  264  345  349 

 19,451  19,500  84  263  344  347 

 19,501  19,550  83  262  342  345 

 19,551  19,600  83  260  340  344 

 19,601  19,650  82  259  339  342 

 19,651  19,700  82  258  337  340 

 19,701  19,750  82  257  335  339 

 19,751  19,800  81  255  334  337 

 19,801  19,850  81  254  332  336 

 19,851  19,900  80  253  330  334 

 19,901  19,950  80  252  329  332 

 19,951  20,000  80  250  327  331 
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1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned
Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2020 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table. If you are married filing separately you do not qualify for this credit.

the worksheet is . . .



Continued on next page.

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 20,001  20,050  79  249  326  329 

 20,051  20,100  79  248  324  327 

 20,101  20,150  79  247  322  326 

 20,151  20,200  78  245  321  324 

 20,201  20,250  78  244  319  322 

 20,251  20,300  77  243  317  321 

 20,301  20,350  77  242  316  319 

 20,351  20,400  77  240  314  317 

 20,401  20,450  76  239  312  316 

 20,451  20,500  76  238  311  314 

 20,501  20,550  75  237  309  312 

 20,551  20,600  75  235  308  311 

 20,601  20,650  75  234  306  309 

 20,651  20,700  74  233  304  307 

 20,701  20,750  74  232  303  306 

 20,751  20,800  73  230  301  304 

 20,801  20,850  73  229  299  302 

 20,851  20,900  73  228  298  301 

 20,901  20,950  72  227  296  299 

 20,951  21,000  72  225  294  298 

 21,001  21,050  71  224  293  296 

 21,051  21,100  71  223  291  294 

 21,101  21,150  71  222  290  293 

 21,151  21,200  70  220  288  291 

 21,201  21,250  70  219  286  289 

 21,251  21,300  69  218  285  288 

 21,301  21,350  69  217  283  286 

 21,351  21,400  69  215  281  284 

 21,401  21,450  68  214  280  283 

 21,451  21,500  68  213  278  281 

 21,501  21,550  67  212  276  279 

 21,551  21,600  67  210  275  278 

 21,601  21,650  67  209  273  276 

 21,651  21,700  66  208  272  274 

 21,701  21,750  66  207  270  273 

 21,751  21,800  65  205  268  271 

 21,801  21,850  65  204  267  269 

 21,851  21,900  65  203  265  268 

 21,901  21,950  64  202  263  266 

 21,951  22,000  64  200  262  264 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 22,001  22,050  63  199  260  263 

 22,051  22,100  63  198  258  261 

 22,101  22,150  63  197  257  259 

 22,151  22,200  62  195  255  258 

 22,201  22,250  62  194  254  256 

 22,251  22,300  62  193  252  255 

 22,301  22,350  61  192  250  253 

 22,351  22,400  61  190  249  251 

 22,401  22,450  60  189  247  250 

 22,451  22,500  60  188  245  248 

 22,501  22,550  60  187  244  246 

 22,551  22,600  59  185  242  245 

 22,601  22,650  59  184  240  243 

 22,651  22,700  58  183  239  241 

 22,701  22,750  58  182  237  240 

 22,751  22,800  58  180  236  238 

 22,801  22,850  57  179  234  236 

 22,851  22,900  57  178  232  235 

 22,901  22,950  56  177  231  233 

 22,951  23,000  56  175  229  231 

 23,001  23,050  56  174  227  230 

 23,051  23,100  55  173  226  228 

 23,101  23,150  55  172  224  226 

 23,151  23,200  54  170  222  225 

 23,201  23,250  54  169  221  223 

 23,251  23,300  54  168  219  221 

 23,301  23,350  53  167  218  220 

 23,351  23,400  53  165  216  218 

 23,401  23,450  52  164  214  217 

 23,451  23,500  52  163  213  215 

 23,501  23,550  52  162  211  213 

 23,551  23,600  51  160  209  212 

 23,601  23,650  51  159  208  210 

 23,651  23,700  50  158  206  208 

 23,701  23,750  50  157  204  207 

 23,751  23,800  50  155  203  205 

 23,801  23,850  49  154  201  203 

 23,851  23,900  49  153  200  202 

 23,901  23,950  48  152  198  200 

 23,951  24,000  48  150  196  198 

1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned
Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2020 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table. If you are married filing separately you do not qualify for this credit.
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Continued on next page.

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 24,001  24,050  48  149  195  197 

 24,051  24,100  47  148  193  195 

 24,101  24,150  47  147  191  193 

 24,151  24,200  46  145  190  192 

 24,201  24,250  46  144  188  190 

 24,251  24,300  46  143  186  188 

 24,301  24,350  45  142  185  187 

 24,351  24,400  45  140  183  185 

 24,401  24,450  45  139  182  183 

 24,451  24,500  44  138  180  182 

 24,501  24,550  44  137  178  180 

 24,551  24,600  43  135  177  178 

 24,601  24,650  43  134  175  177 

 24,651  24,700  43  133  173  175 

 24,701  24,750  42  132  172  174 

 24,751  24,800  42  130  170  172 

 24,801  24,850  41  129  168  170 

 24,851  24,900  41  128  167  169 

 24,901  24,950  41  127  165  167 

 24,951  25,000  40  125  164  165 

 25,001  25,050  40  124  162  164 

 25,051  25,100  39  123  160  162 

 25,101  25,150  39  122  159  160 

 25,151  25,200  39  120  157  159 

 25,201  25,250  38  119  155  157 

 25,251  25,300  38  118  154  155 

 25,301  25,350  37  117  152  154 

 25,351  25,400  37  115  150  152 

 25,401  25,450  37  114  149  150 

 25,451  25,500  36  113  147  149 

 25,501  25,550  36  112  146  147 

 25,551  25,600  35  110  144  145 

 25,601  25,650  35  109  142  144 

 25,651  25,700  35  108  141  142 

 25,701  25,750  34  107  139  140 

 25,751  25,800  34  105  137  139 

 25,801  25,850  33  104  136  137 

 25,851  25,900  33  103  134  135 

 25,901  25,950  33  102  132  134 

 25,951  26,000  32  100  131  132 

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 26,001  26,050  32  99  129  131 

 26,051  26,100  31  98  128  129 

 26,101  26,150  31  97  126  127 

 26,151  26,200  31  95  124  126 

 26,201  26,250  30  94  123  124 

 26,251  26,300  30  93  121  122 

 26,301  26,350  29  92  119  121 

 26,351  26,400  29  90  118  119 

 26,401  26,450  29  89  116  117 

 26,451  26,500  28  88  114  116 

 26,501  26,550  28  87  113  114 

 26,551  26,600  28  85  111  112 

 26,601  26,650  27  84  110  111 

 26,651  26,700  27  83  108  109 

 26,701  26,750  26  82  106  107 

 26,751  26,800  26  80  105  106 

 26,801  26,850  26  79  103  104 

 26,851  26,900  25  78  101  102 

 26,901  26,950  25  77  100  101 

 26,951  27,000  24  75  98  99 

 27,001  27,050  24  74  96  97 

 27,051  27,100  24  73  95  96 

 27,101  27,150  23  72  93  94 

 27,151  27,200  23  70  92  93 

 27,201  27,250  22  69  90  91 

 27,251  27,300  22  68  88  89 

 27,301  27,350  22  67  87  88 

 27,351  27,400  21  65  85  86 

 27,401  27,450  21  64  83  84 

 27,451  27,500  20  63  82  83 

 27,501  27,550  20  62  80  81 

 27,551  27,600  20  60  78  79 

 27,601  27,650  19  59  77  78 

 27,651  27,700  19  58  75  76 

 27,701  27,750  18  57  74  74 

 27,751  27,800  18  55  72  73 

 27,801  27,850  18  54  70  71 

 27,851  27,900  17  53  69  69 

 27,901  27,950  17  52  67  68 

 27,951  28,000  16  50  65  66 
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1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned
Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2020 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table. If you are married filing separately you do not qualify for this credit.



1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned
Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2020 Earned Income Tax Credit Table – Continued 
Caution: This is not a tax table. If you are married filing separately you do not qualify for this credit.

If the amount you are 
looking up from  

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is

At 
 least

But Not 
Over

0 1 2 3
Your credit is . . .

 28,001  28,050  16  49  64  64 

 28,051  28,100  16  48  62  63 

 28,101  28,150  15  47  60  61 

 28,151  28,200  15  45  59  59 

 28,201  28,250  14  44  57  58 

 28,251  28,300  14  43  56  56 

 28,301  28,350  14  42  54  54 

 28,351  28,400  13  40  52  53 

 28,401  28,450  13  39  51  51 

 28,451  28,500  12  38  49  50 

 28,501  28,550  12  37  47  48 

 28,551  28,600  12  35  46  46 

 28,601  28,650  11  34  44  45 

 28,651  28,700  11  33  42  43 

 28,701  28,750  11  32  41  41 

 28,751  28,800  10  30  39  40 

 28,801  28,850  10  29  38  38 

 28,851  28,900  9  28  36  36 

 28,901  28,950  9  27  34  35 

 28,951  29,000  9  25  33  33 

 29,001  29,050  8  24  31  31 

 29,051  29,100  8  23  29  30 

 29,101  29,150  7  22  28  28 

 29,151  29,200  7  20  26  26 

 29,201  29,250  7  19  24  25 

 29,251  29,300  6  18  23  23 

 29,301  29,350  6  17  21  21 

 29,351  29,400  5  15  20  20 

 29,401  29,450  5  14  18  18 

 29,451  29,500  5  13  16  16 

 29,501  29,550  4  12  15  15 

 29,551  29,600  4  10  13  13 

 29,601  29,650  3  9  11  11 

 29,651  29,700  3  8  10  10 

 29,701  29,750  3  7  8  8 

 29,751  29,800  2  5  6  7 

 29,801  29,850  2  4  5  5 

 29,851  29,900  1  3  3  3 

 29,901  29,950  1  2  2  2 

 29,951  30,000  1  1  1  1 
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2020 California Tax Table 
To Find Your Tax: 
• Read down the column labeled “If Your Taxable Income Is . . .” to find the range that includes your taxable income from Form 540, line 19. 
• Read across the columns labeled “The Tax For Filing Status” until you find the tax that applies for your taxable income and filing status. 

Continued on next page.

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately) 2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household) 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ... 

The Tax For 
Filing Status 

At 
Least 

But Not 
Over 

1 Or 3 
Is 

2 Or 5 
Is 

4 
Is 

$1 $50 $0 $0 $0 
51 150 1 1 1 

151 250 2 2 2 
251 350 3 3 3 
351 450 4 4 4 
451 550 5 5 5 
551 650 6 6 6 
651 750 7 7 7 
751 850 8 8 8 
851 950 9 9 9 
951 1,050 10 10 10 

1,051 1,150 11 11 11 
1,151 1,250 12 12 12 
1,251 1,350 13 13 13 
1,351 1,450 14 14 14 
1,451 1,550 15 15 15 
1,551 1,650 16 16 16 
1,651 1,750 17 17 17 
1,751 1,850 18 18 18 
1,851 1,950 19 19 19 
1,951 2,050 20 20 20 
2,051 2,150 21 21 21 
2,151 2,250 22 22 22 
2,251 2,350 23 23 23 
2,351 2,450 24 24 24 
2,451 2,550 25 25 25 
2,551 2,650 26 26 26 
2,651 2,750 27 27 27 
2,751 2,850 28 28 28 
2,851 2,950 29 29 29 
2,951 3,050 30 30 30 
3,051 3,150 31 31 31 
3,151 3,250 32 32 32 
3,251 3,350 33 33 33 
3,351 3,450 34 34 34 
3,451 3,550 35 35 35 
3,551 3,650 36 36 36 
3,651 3,750 37 37 37 
3,751 3,850 38 38 38 
3,851 3,950 39 39 39 
3,951 4,050 40 40 40 
4,051 4,150 41 41 41 
4,151 4,250 42 42 42 
4,251 4,350 43 43 43 
4,351 4,450 44 44 44 
4,451 4,550 45 45 45 
4,551 4,650 46 46 46 
4,651 4,750 47 47 47 
4,751 4,850 48 48 48 
4,851 4,950 49 49 49 
4,951 5,050 50 50 50 
5,051 5,150 51 51 51 
5,151 5,250 52 52 52 
5,251 5,350 53 53 53 
5,351 5,450 54 54 54 
5,451 5,550 55 55 55 
5,551 5,650 56 56 56 
5,651 5,750 57 57 57 
5,751 5,850 58 58 58 
5,851 5,950 59 59 59 
5,951 6,050 60 60 60 
6,051 6,150 61 61 61 
6,151 6,250 62 62 62 
6,251 6,350 63 63 63 
6,351 6,450 64 64 64 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

6,451 6,550 65 65 65 
6,551 6,650 66 66 66 
6,651 6,750 67 67 67 
6,751 6,850 68 68 68 
6,851 6,950 69 69 69 
6,951 7,050 70 70 70 
7,051 7,150 71 71 71 
7,151 7,250 72 72 72 
7,251 7,350 73 73 73 
7,351 7,450 74 74 74 
7,451 7,550 75 75 75 
7,551 7,650 76 76 76 
7,651 7,750 77 77 77 
7,751 7,850 78 78 78 
7,851 7,950 79 79 79 
7,951 8,050 80 80 80 
8,051 8,150 81 81 81 
8,151 8,250 82 82 82 
8,251 8,350 83 83 83 
8,351 8,450 84 84 84 
8,451 8,550 85 85 85 
8,551 8,650 86 86 86 
8,651 8,750 87 87 87 
8,751 8,850 88 88 88 
8,851 8,950 89 89 89 
8,951 9,050 91 90 90 
9,051 9,150 93 91 91 
9,151 9,250 95 92 92 
9,251 9,350 97 93 93 
9,351 9,450 99 94 94 
9,451 9,550 101 95 95 
9,551 9,650 103 96 96 
9,651 9,750 105 97 97 
9,751 9,850 107 98 98 
9,851 9,950 109 99 99 
9,951 10,050 111 100 100 

10,051 10,150 113 101 101 
10,151 10,250 115 102 102 
10,251 10,350 117 103 103 
10,351 10,450 119 104 104 
10,451 10,550 121 105 105 
10,551 10,650 123 106 106 
10,651 10,750 125 107 107 
10,751 10,850 127 108 108 
10,851 10,950 129 109 109 
10,951 11,050 131 110 110 
11,051 11,150 133 111 111 
11,151 11,250 135 112 112 
11,251 11,350 137 113 113 
11,351 11,450 139 114 114 
11,451 11,550 141 115 115 
11,551 11,650 143 116 116 
11,651 11,750 145 117 117 
11,751 11,850 147 118 118 
11,851 11,950 149 119 119 
11,951 12,050 151 120 120 
12,051 12,150 153 121 121 
12,151 12,250 155 122 122 
12,251 12,350 157 123 123 
12,351 12,450 159 124 124 
12,451 12,550 161 125 125 
12,551 12,650 163 126 126 
12,651 12,750 165 127 127 
12,751 12,850 167 128 128 
12,851 12,950 169 129 129 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

12,951 13,050 171 130 130 
13,051 13,150 173 131 131 
13,151 13,250 175 132 132 
13,251 13,350 177 133 133 
13,351 13,450 179 134 134 
13,451 13,550 181 135 135 
13,551 13,650 183 136 136 
13,651 13,750 185 137 137 
13,751 13,850 187 138 138 
13,851 13,950 189 139 139 
13,951 14,050 191 140 140 
14,051 14,150 193 141 141 
14,151 14,250 195 142 142 
14,251 14,350 197 143 143 
14,351 14,450 199 144 144 
14,451 14,550 201 145 145 
14,551 14,650 203 146 146 
14,651 14,750 205 147 147 
14,751 14,850 207 148 148 
14,851 14,950 209 149 149 
14,951 15,050 211 150 150 
15,051 15,150 213 151 151 
15,151 15,250 215 152 152 
15,251 15,350 217 153 153 
15,351 15,450 219 154 154 
15,451 15,550 221 155 155 
15,551 15,650 223 156 156 
15,651 15,750 225 157 157 
15,751 15,850 227 158 158 
15,851 15,950 229 159 159 
15,951 16,050 231 160 160 
16,051 16,150 233 161 161 
16,151 16,250 235 162 162 
16,251 16,350 237 163 163 
16,351 16,450 239 164 164 
16,451 16,550 241 165 165 
16,551 16,650 243 166 166 
16,651 16,750 245 167 167 
16,751 16,850 247 168 168 
16,851 16,950 249 169 169 
16,951 17,050 251 170 170 
17,051 17,150 253 171 171 
17,151 17,250 255 172 172 
17,251 17,350 257 173 173 
17,351 17,450 259 174 174 
17,451 17,550 261 175 175 
17,551 17,650 263 176 176 
17,651 17,750 265 177 177 
17,751 17,850 267 178 178 
17,851 17,950 269 179 179 
17,951 18,050 271 181 181 
18,051 18,150 273 183 183 
18,151 18,250 275 185 185 
18,251 18,350 277 187 187 
18,351 18,450 279 189 189 
18,451 18,550 281 191 191 
18,551 18,650 283 193 193 
18,651 18,750 285 195 195 
18,751 18,850 287 197 197 
18,851 18,950 289 199 199 
18,951 19,050 291 201 201 
19,051 19,150 293 203 203 
19,151 19,250 295 205 205 
19,251 19,350 297 207 207 
19,351 19,450 299 209 209
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2020 California Tax Table – Continued

Continued on next page.

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately) 2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)
If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

19,451 19,550 301 211 211 
19,551 19,650 303 213 213 
19,651 19,750 305 215 215 
19,751 19,850 307 217 217 
19,851 19,950 309 219 219 
19,951 20,050 311 221 221 
20,051 20,150 313 223 223 
20,151 20,250 315 225 225 
20,251 20,350 317 227 227 
20,351 20,450 319 229 229 
20,451 20,550 321 231 231 
20,551 20,650 323 233 233 
20,651 20,750 325 235 235 
20,751 20,850 327 237 237 
20,851 20,950 329 239 239 
20,951 21,050 331 241 241 
21,051 21,150 333 243 243 
21,151 21,250 335 245 245 
21,251 21,350 339 247 247 
21,351 21,450 343 249 249 
21,451 21,550 347 251 251 
21,551 21,650 351 253 253 
21,651 21,750 355 255 255 
21,751 21,850 359 257 257 
21,851 21,950 363 259 259 
21,951 22,050 367 261 261 
22,051 22,150 371 263 263 
22,151 22,250 375 265 265 
22,251 22,350 379 267 267 
22,351 22,450 383 269 269 
22,451 22,550 387 271 271 
22,551 22,650 391 273 273 
22,651 22,750 395 275 275 
22,751 22,850 399 277 277 
22,851 22,950 403 279 279 
22,951 23,050 407 281 281 
23,051 23,150 411 283 283 
23,151 23,250 415 285 285 
23,251 23,350 419 287 287 
23,351 23,450 423 289 289 
23,451 23,550 427 291 291 
23,551 23,650 431 293 293 
23,651 23,750 435 295 295 
23,751 23,850 439 297 297 
23,851 23,950 443 299 299 
23,951 24,050 447 301 301 
24,051 24,150 451 303 303 
24,151 24,250 455 305 305 
24,251 24,350 459 307 307 
24,351 24,450 463 309 309 
24,451 24,550 467 311 311 
24,551 24,650 471 313 313 
24,651 24,750 475 315 315 
24,751 24,850 479 317 317 
24,851 24,950 483 319 319 
24,951 25,050 487 321 321 
25,051 25,150 491 323 323 
25,151 25,250 495 325 325 
25,251 25,350 499 327 327 
25,351 25,450 503 329 329 
25,451 25,550 507 331 331 
25,551 25,650 511 333 333 
25,651 25,750 515 335 335 
25,751 25,850 519 337 337 
25,851 25,950 523 339 339 
25,951 26,050 527 341 341 
26,051 26,150 531 343 343 
26,151 26,250 535 345 345 
26,251 26,350 539 347 347 
26,351 26,450 543 349 349 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

26,451 26,550 547 351 351 
26,551 26,650 551 353 353 
26,651 26,750 555 355 355 
26,751 26,850 559 357 357 
26,851 26,950 563 359 359 
26,951 27,050 567 361 361 
27,051 27,150 571 363 363 
27,151 27,250 575 365 365 
27,251 27,350 579 367 367 
27,351 27,450 583 369 369 
27,451 27,550 587 371 371 
27,551 27,650 591 373 373 
27,651 27,750 595 375 375 
27,751 27,850 599 377 377 
27,851 27,950 603 379 379 
27,951 28,050 607 381 381 
28,051 28,150 611 383 383 
28,151 28,250 615 385 385 
28,251 28,350 619 387 387 
28,351 28,450 623 389 389 
28,451 28,550 627 391 391 
28,551 28,650 631 393 393 
28,651 28,750 635 395 395 
28,751 28,850 639 397 397 
28,851 28,950 643 399 399 
28,951 29,050 647 401 401 
29,051 29,150 651 403 403 
29,151 29,250 655 405 405 
29,251 29,350 659 407 407 
29,351 29,450 663 409 409 
29,451 29,550 667 411 411 
29,551 29,650 671 413 413 
29,651 29,750 675 415 415 
29,751 29,850 679 417 417 
29,851 29,950 683 419 419 
29,951 30,050 687 421 421 
30,051 30,150 691 423 423 
30,151 30,250 695 425 425 
30,251 30,350 699 427 427 
30,351 30,450 703 429 429 
30,451 30,550 707 431 431 
30,551 30,650 711 433 433 
30,651 30,750 715 435 435 
30,751 30,850 719 437 437 
30,851 30,950 723 439 439 
30,951 31,050 727 441 441 
31,051 31,150 731 443 443 
31,151 31,250 735 445 445 
31,251 31,350 739 447 447 
31,351 31,450 743 449 449 
31,451 31,550 747 451 451 
31,551 31,650 751 453 453 
31,651 31,750 755 455 455 
31,751 31,850 759 457 457 
31,851 31,950 763 459 459 
31,951 32,050 767 461 461 
32,051 32,150 771 463 463 
32,151 32,250 775 465 465 
32,251 32,350 779 467 467 
32,351 32,450 783 469 469 
32,451 32,550 787 471 471 
32,551 32,650 791 473 473 
32,651 32,750 795 475 475 
32,751 32,850 799 477 477 
32,851 32,950 803 479 479 
32,951 33,050 807 481 481 
33,051 33,150 811 483 483 
33,151 33,250 815 485 485 
33,251 33,350 819 487 487 
33,351 33,450 823 489 489 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

33,451 33,550 829 491 491 
33,551 33,650 835 493 493 
33,651 33,750 841 495 495 
33,751 33,850 847 497 497 
33,851 33,950 853 499 499 
33,951 34,050 859 501 501 
34,051 34,150 865 503 503 
34,151 34,250 871 505 505 
34,251 34,350 877 507 507 
34,351 34,450 883 509 509 
34,451 34,550 889 511 511 
34,551 34,650 895 513 513 
34,651 34,750 901 515 515 
34,751 34,850 907 517 517 
34,851 34,950 913 519 519 
34,951 35,050 919 521 521 
35,051 35,150 925 523 523 
35,151 35,250 931 525 525 
35,251 35,350 937 527 527 
35,351 35,450 943 529 529 
35,451 35,550 949 531 531 
35,551 35,650 955 533 533 
35,651 35,750 961 535 535 
35,751 35,850 967 537 537 
35,851 35,950 973 539 539 
35,951 36,050 979 541 541 
36,051 36,150 985 543 543 
36,151 36,250 991 545 545 
36,251 36,350 997 547 547 
36,351 36,450 1,003 549 549 
36,451 36,550 1,009 551 551 
36,551 36,650 1,015 553 553 
36,651 36,750 1,021 555 555 
36,751 36,850 1,027 557 557 
36,851 36,950 1,033 559 559 
36,951 37,050 1,039 561 561 
37,051 37,150 1,045 563 563 
37,151 37,250 1,051 565 565 
37,251 37,350 1,057 567 567 
37,351 37,450 1,063 569 569 
37,451 37,550 1,069 571 571 
37,551 37,650 1,075 573 573 
37,651 37,750 1,081 575 575 
37,751 37,850 1,087 577 577 
37,851 37,950 1,093 579 579 
37,951 38,050 1,099 581 581 
38,051 38,150 1,105 583 583 
38,151 38,250 1,111 585 585 
38,251 38,350 1,117 587 587 
38,351 38,450 1,123 589 589 
38,451 38,550 1,129 591 591 
38,551 38,650 1,135 593 593 
38,651 38,750 1,141 595 595 
38,751 38,850 1,147 597 597 
38,851 38,950 1,153 599 599 
38,951 39,050 1,159 601 601 
39,051 39,150 1,165 603 603 
39,151 39,250 1,171 605 605 
39,251 39,350 1,177 607 607 
39,351 39,450 1,183 609 609 
39,451 39,550 1,189 611 611 
39,551 39,650 1,195 613 613 
39,651 39,750 1,201 615 615 
39,751 39,850 1,207 617 617 
39,851 39,950 1,213 619 619 
39,951 40,050 1,219 621 621 
40,051 40,150 1,225 623 623 
40,151 40,250 1,231 625 625 
40,251 40,350 1,237 627 627 
40,351 40,450 1,243 629 629
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Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately) 2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)
If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

40,451 40,550 1,249 631 631 
40,551 40,650 1,255 633 633 
40,651 40,750 1,261 635 635 
40,751 40,850 1,267 637 637 
40,851 40,950 1,273 639 639 
40,951 41,050 1,279 641 641 
41,051 41,150 1,285 643 643 
41,151 41,250 1,291 645 645 
41,251 41,350 1,297 647 647 
41,351 41,450 1,303 649 649 
41,451 41,550 1,309 651 651 
41,551 41,650 1,315 653 653 
41,651 41,750 1,321 655 655 
41,751 41,850 1,327 657 657 
41,851 41,950 1,333 659 659 
41,951 42,050 1,339 661 661 
42,051 42,150 1,345 663 663 
42,151 42,250 1,351 665 665 
42,251 42,350 1,357 667 667 
42,351 42,450 1,363 670 670 
42,451 42,550 1,369 674 674 
42,551 42,650 1,375 678 678 
42,651 42,750 1,381 682 682 
42,751 42,850 1,387 686 686 
42,851 42,950 1,393 690 690 
42,951 43,050 1,399 694 694 
43,051 43,150 1,405 698 698 
43,151 43,250 1,411 702 702 
43,251 43,350 1,417 706 706 
43,351 43,450 1,423 710 710 
43,451 43,550 1,429 714 714 
43,551 43,650 1,435 718 718 
43,651 43,750 1,441 722 722 
43,751 43,850 1,447 726 726 
43,851 43,950 1,453 730 730 
43,951 44,050 1,459 734 734 
44,051 44,150 1,465 738 738 
44,151 44,250 1,471 742 742 
44,251 44,350 1,477 746 746 
44,351 44,450 1,483 750 750 
44,451 44,550 1,489 754 754 
44,551 44,650 1,495 758 758 
44,651 44,750 1,501 762 762 
44,751 44,850 1,507 766 766 
44,851 44,950 1,513 770 770 
44,951 45,050 1,519 774 774 
45,051 45,150 1,525 778 778 
45,151 45,250 1,531 782 782 
45,251 45,350 1,537 786 786 
45,351 45,450 1,543 790 790 
45,451 45,550 1,549 794 794 
45,551 45,650 1,555 798 798 
45,651 45,750 1,561 802 802 
45,751 45,850 1,567 806 806 
45,851 45,950 1,573 810 810 
45,951 46,050 1,579 814 814 
46,051 46,150 1,585 818 818 
46,151 46,250 1,591 822 822 
46,251 46,350 1,597 826 826 
46,351 46,450 1,603 830 830 
46,451 46,550 1,611 834 834 
46,551 46,650 1,619 838 838 
46,651 46,750 1,627 842 842 
46,751 46,850 1,635 846 846 
46,851 46,950 1,643 850 850 
46,951 47,050 1,651 854 854 
47,051 47,150 1,659 858 858 
47,151 47,250 1,667 862 862 
47,251 47,350 1,675 866 866 
47,351 47,450 1,683 870 870 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

47,451 47,550 1,691 874 874 
47,551 47,650 1,699 878 878 
47,651 47,750 1,707 882 882 
47,751 47,850 1,715 886 886 
47,851 47,950 1,723 890 890 
47,951 48,050 1,731 894 894 
48,051 48,150 1,739 898 898 
48,151 48,250 1,747 902 902 
48,251 48,350 1,755 906 906 
48,351 48,450 1,763 910 910 
48,451 48,550 1,771 914 914 
48,551 48,650 1,779 918 918 
48,651 48,750 1,787 922 922 
48,751 48,850 1,795 926 926 
48,851 48,950 1,803 930 930 
48,951 49,050 1,811 934 934 
49,051 49,150 1,819 938 938 
49,151 49,250 1,827 942 942 
49,251 49,350 1,835 946 946 
49,351 49,450 1,843 950 950 
49,451 49,550 1,851 954 954 
49,551 49,650 1,859 958 958 
49,651 49,750 1,867 962 962 
49,751 49,850 1,875 966 966 
49,851 49,950 1,883 970 970 
49,951 50,050 1,891 974 974 
50,051 50,150 1,899 978 978 
50,151 50,250 1,907 982 982 
50,251 50,350 1,915 986 986 
50,351 50,450 1,923 990 990 
50,451 50,550 1,931 994 994 
50,551 50,650 1,939 998 998 
50,651 50,750 1,947 1,002 1,002 
50,751 50,850 1,955 1,006 1,006 
50,851 50,950 1,963 1,010 1,010 
50,951 51,050 1,971 1,014 1,014 
51,051 51,150 1,979 1,018 1,018 
51,151 51,250 1,987 1,022 1,022 
51,251 51,350 1,995 1,026 1,026 
51,351 51,450 2,003 1,030 1,030 
51,451 51,550 2,011 1,034 1,034 
51,551 51,650 2,019 1,038 1,038 
51,651 51,750 2,027 1,042 1,042 
51,751 51,850 2,035 1,046 1,046 
51,851 51,950 2,043 1,050 1,050 
51,951 52,050 2,051 1,054 1,054 
52,051 52,150 2,059 1,058 1,058 
52,151 52,250 2,067 1,062 1,062 
52,251 52,350 2,075 1,066 1,066 
52,351 52,450 2,083 1,070 1,070 
52,451 52,550 2,091 1,074 1,074 
52,551 52,650 2,099 1,078 1,078 
52,651 52,750 2,107 1,082 1,082 
52,751 52,850 2,115 1,086 1,086 
52,851 52,950 2,123 1,090 1,090 
52,951 53,050 2,131 1,094 1,094 
53,051 53,150 2,139 1,098 1,098 
53,151 53,250 2,147 1,102 1,102 
53,251 53,350 2,155 1,106 1,106 
53,351 53,450 2,163 1,110 1,110 
53,451 53,550 2,171 1,114 1,114 
53,551 53,650 2,179 1,118 1,118 
53,651 53,750 2,187 1,122 1,122 
53,751 53,850 2,195 1,126 1,126 
53,851 53,950 2,203 1,130 1,130 
53,951 54,050 2,211 1,134 1,134 
54,051 54,150 2,219 1,138 1,138 
54,151 54,250 2,227 1,142 1,142 
54,251 54,350 2,235 1,146 1,146 
54,351 54,450 2,243 1,150 1,150 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

54,451 54,550 2,251 1,154 1,154 
54,551 54,650 2,259 1,158 1,158 
54,651 54,750 2,267 1,162 1,164 
54,751 54,850 2,275 1,166 1,170 
54,851 54,950 2,283 1,170 1,176 
54,951 55,050 2,291 1,174 1,182 
55,051 55,150 2,299 1,178 1,188 
55,151 55,250 2,307 1,182 1,194 
55,251 55,350 2,315 1,186 1,200 
55,351 55,450 2,323 1,190 1,206 
55,451 55,550 2,331 1,194 1,212 
55,551 55,650 2,339 1,198 1,218 
55,651 55,750 2,347 1,202 1,224 
55,751 55,850 2,355 1,206 1,230 
55,851 55,950 2,363 1,210 1,236 
55,951 56,050 2,371 1,214 1,242 
56,051 56,150 2,379 1,218 1,248 
56,151 56,250 2,387 1,222 1,254 
56,251 56,350 2,395 1,226 1,260 
56,351 56,450 2,403 1,230 1,266 
56,451 56,550 2,411 1,234 1,272 
56,551 56,650 2,419 1,238 1,278 
56,651 56,750 2,427 1,242 1,284 
56,751 56,850 2,435 1,246 1,290 
56,851 56,950 2,443 1,250 1,296 
56,951 57,050 2,451 1,254 1,302 
57,051 57,150 2,459 1,258 1,308 
57,151 57,250 2,467 1,262 1,314 
57,251 57,350 2,475 1,266 1,320 
57,351 57,450 2,483 1,270 1,326 
57,451 57,550 2,491 1,274 1,332 
57,551 57,650 2,499 1,278 1,338 
57,651 57,750 2,507 1,282 1,344 
57,751 57,850 2,515 1,286 1,350 
57,851 57,950 2,523 1,290 1,356 
57,951 58,050 2,531 1,294 1,362 
58,051 58,150 2,539 1,298 1,368 
58,151 58,250 2,547 1,302 1,374 
58,251 58,350 2,555 1,306 1,380 
58,351 58,450 2,563 1,310 1,386 
58,451 58,550 2,571 1,314 1,392 
58,551 58,650 2,579 1,318 1,398 
58,651 58,750 2,588 1,322 1,404 
58,751 58,850 2,597 1,326 1,410 
58,851 58,950 2,606 1,330 1,416 
58,951 59,050 2,616 1,334 1,422 
59,051 59,150 2,625 1,338 1,428 
59,151 59,250 2,634 1,342 1,434 
59,251 59,350 2,644 1,346 1,440 
59,351 59,450 2,653 1,350 1,446 
59,451 59,550 2,662 1,354 1,452 
59,551 59,650 2,671 1,358 1,458 
59,651 59,750 2,681 1,362 1,464 
59,751 59,850 2,690 1,366 1,470 
59,851 59,950 2,699 1,370 1,476 
59,951 60,050 2,709 1,374 1,482 
60,051 60,150 2,718 1,378 1,488 
60,151 60,250 2,727 1,382 1,494 
60,251 60,350 2,737 1,386 1,500 
60,351 60,450 2,746 1,390 1,506 
60,451 60,550 2,755 1,394 1,512 
60,551 60,650 2,764 1,398 1,518 
60,651 60,750 2,774 1,402 1,524 
60,751 60,850 2,783 1,406 1,530 
60,851 60,950 2,792 1,410 1,536 
60,951 61,050 2,802 1,414 1,542 
61,051 61,150 2,811 1,418 1,548 
61,151 61,250 2,820 1,422 1,554 
61,251 61,350 2,830 1,426 1,560 
61,351 61,450 2,839 1,430 1,566
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Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately) 2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)
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2 Or 5 
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61,451 61,550 2,848 1,434 1,572 
61,551 61,650 2,857 1,438 1,578 
61,651 61,750 2,867 1,442 1,584 
61,751 61,850 2,876 1,446 1,590 
61,851 61,950 2,885 1,450 1,596 
61,951 62,050 2,895 1,454 1,602 
62,051 62,150 2,904 1,458 1,608 
62,151 62,250 2,913 1,462 1,614 
62,251 62,350 2,923 1,466 1,620 
62,351 62,450 2,932 1,470 1,626 
62,451 62,550 2,941 1,474 1,632 
62,551 62,650 2,950 1,478 1,638 
62,651 62,750 2,960 1,482 1,644 
62,751 62,850 2,969 1,486 1,650 
62,851 62,950 2,978 1,490 1,656 
62,951 63,050 2,988 1,494 1,662 
63,051 63,150 2,997 1,498 1,668 
63,151 63,250 3,006 1,502 1,674 
63,251 63,350 3,016 1,506 1,680 
63,351 63,450 3,025 1,510 1,686 
63,451 63,550 3,034 1,514 1,692 
63,551 63,650 3,043 1,518 1,698 
63,651 63,750 3,053 1,522 1,704 
63,751 63,850 3,062 1,526 1,710 
63,851 63,950 3,071 1,530 1,716 
63,951 64,050 3,081 1,534 1,722 
64,051 64,150 3,090 1,538 1,728 
64,151 64,250 3,099 1,542 1,734 
64,251 64,350 3,109 1,546 1,740 
64,351 64,450 3,118 1,550 1,746 
64,451 64,550 3,127 1,554 1,752 
64,551 64,650 3,136 1,558 1,758 
64,651 64,750 3,146 1,562 1,764 
64,751 64,850 3,155 1,566 1,770 
64,851 64,950 3,164 1,570 1,776 
64,951 65,050 3,174 1,574 1,782 
65,051 65,150 3,183 1,578 1,788 
65,151 65,250 3,192 1,582 1,794 
65,251 65,350 3,202 1,586 1,800 
65,351 65,450 3,211 1,590 1,806 
65,451 65,550 3,220 1,594 1,812 
65,551 65,650 3,229 1,598 1,818 
65,651 65,750 3,239 1,602 1,824 
65,751 65,850 3,248 1,606 1,830 
65,851 65,950 3,257 1,610 1,836 
65,951 66,050 3,267 1,614 1,842 
66,051 66,150 3,276 1,618 1,848 
66,151 66,250 3,285 1,622 1,854 
66,251 66,350 3,295 1,626 1,860 
66,351 66,450 3,304 1,630 1,866 
66,451 66,550 3,313 1,634 1,872 
66,551 66,650 3,322 1,638 1,878 
66,651 66,750 3,332 1,642 1,884 
66,751 66,850 3,341 1,646 1,890 
66,851 66,950 3,350 1,652 1,896 
66,951 67,050 3,360 1,658 1,902 
67,051 67,150 3,369 1,664 1,908 
67,151 67,250 3,378 1,670 1,914 
67,251 67,350 3,388 1,676 1,920 
67,351 67,450 3,397 1,682 1,926 
67,451 67,550 3,406 1,688 1,932 
67,551 67,650 3,415 1,694 1,939 
67,651 67,750 3,425 1,700 1,947 
67,751 67,850 3,434 1,706 1,955 
67,851 67,950 3,443 1,712 1,963 
67,951 68,050 3,453 1,718 1,971 
68,051 68,150 3,462 1,724 1,979 
68,151 68,250 3,471 1,730 1,987 
68,251 68,350 3,481 1,736 1,995 
68,351 68,450 3,490 1,742 2,003 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
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68,451 68,550 3,499 1,748 2,011 
68,551 68,650 3,508 1,754 2,019 
68,651 68,750 3,518 1,760 2,027 
68,751 68,850 3,527 1,766 2,035 
68,851 68,950 3,536 1,772 2,043 
68,951 69,050 3,546 1,778 2,051 
69,051 69,150 3,555 1,784 2,059 
69,151 69,250 3,564 1,790 2,067 
69,251 69,350 3,574 1,796 2,075 
69,351 69,450 3,583 1,802 2,083 
69,451 69,550 3,592 1,808 2,091 
69,551 69,650 3,601 1,814 2,099 
69,651 69,750 3,611 1,820 2,107 
69,751 69,850 3,620 1,826 2,115 
69,851 69,950 3,629 1,832 2,123 
69,951 70,050 3,639 1,838 2,131 
70,051 70,150 3,648 1,844 2,139 
70,151 70,250 3,657 1,850 2,147 
70,251 70,350 3,667 1,856 2,155 
70,351 70,450 3,676 1,862 2,163 
70,451 70,550 3,685 1,868 2,171 
70,551 70,650 3,694 1,874 2,179 
70,651 70,750 3,704 1,880 2,187 
70,751 70,850 3,713 1,886 2,195 
70,851 70,950 3,722 1,892 2,203 
70,951 71,050 3,732 1,898 2,211 
71,051 71,150 3,741 1,904 2,219 
71,151 71,250 3,750 1,910 2,227 
71,251 71,350 3,760 1,916 2,235 
71,351 71,450 3,769 1,922 2,243 
71,451 71,550 3,778 1,928 2,251 
71,551 71,650 3,787 1,934 2,259 
71,651 71,750 3,797 1,940 2,267 
71,751 71,850 3,806 1,946 2,275 
71,851 71,950 3,815 1,952 2,283 
71,951 72,050 3,825 1,958 2,291 
72,051 72,150 3,834 1,964 2,299 
72,151 72,250 3,843 1,970 2,307 
72,251 72,350 3,853 1,976 2,315 
72,351 72,450 3,862 1,982 2,323 
72,451 72,550 3,871 1,988 2,331 
72,551 72,650 3,880 1,994 2,339 
72,651 72,750 3,890 2,000 2,347 
72,751 72,850 3,899 2,006 2,355 
72,851 72,950 3,908 2,012 2,363 
72,951 73,050 3,918 2,018 2,371 
73,051 73,150 3,927 2,024 2,379 
73,151 73,250 3,936 2,030 2,387 
73,251 73,350 3,946 2,036 2,395 
73,351 73,450 3,955 2,042 2,403 
73,451 73,550 3,964 2,048 2,411 
73,551 73,650 3,973 2,054 2,419 
73,651 73,750 3,983 2,060 2,427 
73,751 73,850 3,992 2,066 2,435 
73,851 73,950 4,001 2,072 2,443 
73,951 74,050 4,011 2,078 2,451 
74,051 74,150 4,020 2,084 2,459 
74,151 74,250 4,029 2,090 2,467 
74,251 74,350 4,039 2,096 2,475 
74,351 74,450 4,048 2,102 2,483 
74,451 74,550 4,057 2,108 2,491 
74,551 74,650 4,066 2,114 2,499 
74,651 74,750 4,076 2,120 2,507 
74,751 74,850 4,085 2,126 2,515 
74,851 74,950 4,094 2,132 2,523 
74,951 75,050 4,104 2,138 2,531 
75,051 75,150 4,113 2,144 2,539 
75,151 75,250 4,122 2,150 2,547 
75,251 75,350 4,132 2,156 2,555 
75,351 75,450 4,141 2,162 2,563 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

75,451 75,550 4,150 2,168 2,571 
75,551 75,650 4,159 2,174 2,579 
75,651 75,750 4,169 2,180 2,587 
75,751 75,850 4,178 2,186 2,595 
75,851 75,950 4,187 2,192 2,603 
75,951 76,050 4,197 2,198 2,611 
76,051 76,150 4,206 2,204 2,619 
76,151 76,250 4,215 2,210 2,627 
76,251 76,350 4,225 2,216 2,635 
76,351 76,450 4,234 2,222 2,643 
76,451 76,550 4,243 2,228 2,651 
76,551 76,650 4,252 2,234 2,659 
76,651 76,750 4,262 2,240 2,667 
76,751 76,850 4,271 2,246 2,675 
76,851 76,950 4,280 2,252 2,683 
76,951 77,050 4,290 2,258 2,691 
77,051 77,150 4,299 2,264 2,699 
77,151 77,250 4,308 2,270 2,707 
77,251 77,350 4,318 2,276 2,715 
77,351 77,450 4,327 2,282 2,723 
77,451 77,550 4,336 2,288 2,731 
77,551 77,650 4,345 2,294 2,739 
77,651 77,750 4,355 2,300 2,747 
77,751 77,850 4,364 2,306 2,755 
77,851 77,950 4,373 2,312 2,763 
77,951 78,050 4,383 2,318 2,771 
78,051 78,150 4,392 2,324 2,779 
78,151 78,250 4,401 2,330 2,787 
78,251 78,350 4,411 2,336 2,795 
78,351 78,450 4,420 2,342 2,803 
78,451 78,550 4,429 2,348 2,811 
78,551 78,650 4,438 2,354 2,819 
78,651 78,750 4,448 2,360 2,827 
78,751 78,850 4,457 2,366 2,835 
78,851 78,950 4,466 2,372 2,843 
78,951 79,050 4,476 2,378 2,851 
79,051 79,150 4,485 2,384 2,859 
79,151 79,250 4,494 2,390 2,867 
79,251 79,350 4,504 2,396 2,875 
79,351 79,450 4,513 2,402 2,883 
79,451 79,550 4,522 2,408 2,891 
79,551 79,650 4,531 2,414 2,899 
79,651 79,750 4,541 2,420 2,907 
79,751 79,850 4,550 2,426 2,915 
79,851 79,950 4,559 2,432 2,924 
79,951 80,050 4,569 2,438 2,933 
80,051 80,150 4,578 2,444 2,943 
80,151 80,250 4,587 2,450 2,952 
80,251 80,350 4,597 2,456 2,961 
80,351 80,450 4,606 2,462 2,971 
80,451 80,550 4,615 2,468 2,980 
80,551 80,650 4,624 2,474 2,989 
80,651 80,750 4,634 2,480 2,998 
80,751 80,850 4,643 2,486 3,008 
80,851 80,950 4,652 2,492 3,017 
80,951 81,050 4,662 2,498 3,026 
81,051 81,150 4,671 2,504 3,036 
81,151 81,250 4,680 2,510 3,045 
81,251 81,350 4,690 2,516 3,054 
81,351 81,450 4,699 2,522 3,064 
81,451 81,550 4,708 2,528 3,073 
81,551 81,650 4,717 2,534 3,082 
81,651 81,750 4,727 2,540 3,091 
81,751 81,850 4,736 2,546 3,101 
81,851 81,950 4,745 2,552 3,110 
81,951 82,050 4,755 2,558 3,119 
82,051 82,150 4,764 2,564 3,129 
82,151 82,250 4,773 2,570 3,138 
82,251 82,350 4,783 2,576 3,147 
82,351 82,450 4,792 2,582 3,157
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Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately) 2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)

2020 California Tax Table – Continued

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

82,451 82,550 4,801 2,588 3,166 
82,551 82,650 4,810 2,594 3,175 
82,651 82,750 4,820 2,600 3,184 
82,751 82,850 4,829 2,606 3,194 
82,851 82,950 4,838 2,612 3,203 
82,951 83,050 4,848 2,618 3,212 
83,051 83,150 4,857 2,624 3,222 
83,151 83,250 4,866 2,630 3,231 
83,251 83,350 4,876 2,636 3,240 
83,351 83,450 4,885 2,642 3,250 
83,451 83,550 4,894 2,648 3,259 
83,551 83,650 4,903 2,654 3,268 
83,651 83,750 4,913 2,660 3,277 
83,751 83,850 4,922 2,666 3,287 
83,851 83,950 4,931 2,672 3,296 
83,951 84,050 4,941 2,678 3,305 
84,051 84,150 4,950 2,684 3,315 
84,151 84,250 4,959 2,690 3,324 
84,251 84,350 4,969 2,696 3,333 
84,351 84,450 4,978 2,702 3,343 
84,451 84,550 4,987 2,708 3,352 
84,551 84,650 4,996 2,714 3,361 
84,651 84,750 5,006 2,720 3,370 
84,751 84,850 5,015 2,726 3,380 
84,851 84,950 5,024 2,732 3,389 
84,951 85,050 5,034 2,738 3,398 
85,051 85,150 5,043 2,744 3,408 
85,151 85,250 5,052 2,750 3,417 
85,251 85,350 5,062 2,756 3,426 
85,351 85,450 5,071 2,762 3,436 
85,451 85,550 5,080 2,768 3,445 
85,551 85,650 5,089 2,774 3,454 
85,651 85,750 5,099 2,780 3,463 
85,751 85,850 5,108 2,786 3,473 
85,851 85,950 5,117 2,792 3,482 
85,951 86,050 5,127 2,798 3,491 
86,051 86,150 5,136 2,804 3,501 
86,151 86,250 5,145 2,810 3,510 
86,251 86,350 5,155 2,816 3,519 
86,351 86,450 5,164 2,822 3,529 
86,451 86,550 5,173 2,828 3,538 
86,551 86,650 5,182 2,834 3,547 
86,651 86,750 5,192 2,840 3,556 
86,751 86,850 5,201 2,846 3,566 
86,851 86,950 5,210 2,852 3,575 
86,951 87,050 5,220 2,858 3,584 
87,051 87,150 5,229 2,864 3,594 
87,151 87,250 5,238 2,870 3,603 
87,251 87,350 5,248 2,876 3,612 
87,351 87,450 5,257 2,882 3,622 
87,451 87,550 5,266 2,888 3,631 
87,551 87,650 5,275 2,894 3,640 
87,651 87,750 5,285 2,900 3,649 
87,751 87,850 5,294 2,906 3,659 
87,851 87,950 5,303 2,912 3,668 
87,951 88,050 5,313 2,918 3,677 
88,051 88,150 5,322 2,924 3,687 
88,151 88,250 5,331 2,930 3,696 
88,251 88,350 5,341 2,936 3,705 
88,351 88,450 5,350 2,942 3,715 
88,451 88,550 5,359 2,948 3,724 
88,551 88,650 5,368 2,954 3,733 
88,651 88,750 5,378 2,960 3,742 
88,751 88,850 5,387 2,966 3,752 
88,851 88,950 5,396 2,972 3,761 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

88,951 89,050 5,406 2,978 3,770 
89,051 89,150 5,415 2,984 3,780 
89,151 89,250 5,424 2,990 3,789 
89,251 89,350 5,434 2,996 3,798 
89,351 89,450 5,443 3,002 3,808 
89,451 89,550 5,452 3,008 3,817 
89,551 89,650 5,461 3,014 3,826 
89,651 89,750 5,471 3,020 3,835 
89,751 89,850 5,480 3,026 3,845 
89,851 89,950 5,489 3,032 3,854 
89,951 90,050 5,499 3,038 3,863 
90,051 90,150 5,508 3,044 3,873 
90,151 90,250 5,517 3,050 3,882 
90,251 90,350 5,527 3,056 3,891 
90,351 90,450 5,536 3,062 3,901 
90,451 90,550 5,545 3,068 3,910 
90,551 90,650 5,554 3,074 3,919 
90,651 90,750 5,564 3,080 3,928 
90,751 90,850 5,573 3,086 3,938 
90,851 90,950 5,582 3,092 3,947 
90,951 91,050 5,592 3,098 3,956 
91,051 91,150 5,601 3,104 3,966 
91,151 91,250 5,610 3,110 3,975 
91,251 91,350 5,620 3,116 3,984 
91,351 91,450 5,629 3,122 3,994 
91,451 91,550 5,638 3,128 4,003 
91,551 91,650 5,647 3,134 4,012 
91,651 91,750 5,657 3,140 4,021 
91,751 91,850 5,666 3,146 4,031 
91,851 91,950 5,675 3,152 4,040 
91,951 92,050 5,685 3,158 4,049 
92,051 92,150 5,694 3,164 4,059 
92,151 92,250 5,703 3,170 4,068 
92,251 92,350 5,713 3,176 4,077 
92,351 92,450 5,722 3,182 4,087 
92,451 92,550 5,731 3,188 4,096 
92,551 92,650 5,740 3,194 4,105 
92,651 92,750 5,750 3,200 4,114 
92,751 92,850 5,759 3,206 4,124 
92,851 92,950 5,768 3,214 4,133 
92,951 93,050 5,778 3,222 4,142 
93,051 93,150 5,787 3,230 4,152 
93,151 93,250 5,796 3,238 4,161 
93,251 93,350 5,806 3,246 4,170 
93,351 93,450 5,815 3,254 4,180 
93,451 93,550 5,824 3,262 4,189 
93,551 93,650 5,833 3,270 4,198 
93,651 93,750 5,843 3,278 4,207 
93,751 93,850 5,852 3,286 4,217 
93,851 93,950 5,861 3,294 4,226 
93,951 94,050 5,871 3,302 4,235 
94,051 94,150 5,880 3,310 4,245 
94,151 94,250 5,889 3,318 4,254 
94,251 94,350 5,899 3,326 4,263 
94,351 94,450 5,908 3,334 4,273 
94,451 94,550 5,917 3,342 4,282 
94,551 94,650 5,926 3,350 4,291 
94,651 94,750 5,936 3,358 4,300 
94,751 94,850 5,945 3,366 4,310 
94,851 94,950 5,954 3,374 4,319 
94,951 95,050 5,964 3,382 4,328 
95,051 95,150 5,973 3,390 4,338 
95,151 95,250 5,982 3,398 4,347 
95,251 95,350 5,992 3,406 4,356 
95,351 95,450 6,001 3,414 4,366 

If Your Taxable 
Income Is ...

The Tax For 
Filing Status

At 
Least

But Not 
Over

1 Or 3 
Is

2 Or 5 
Is

4 
Is

95,451 95,550 6,010 3,422 4,375 
95,551 95,650 6,019 3,430 4,384 
95,651 95,750 6,029 3,438 4,393 
95,751 95,850 6,038 3,446 4,403 
95,851 95,950 6,047 3,454 4,412 
95,951 96,050 6,057 3,462 4,421 
96,051 96,150 6,066 3,470 4,431 
96,151 96,250 6,075 3,478 4,440 
96,251 96,350 6,085 3,486 4,449 
96,351 96,450 6,094 3,494 4,459 
96,451 96,550 6,103 3,502 4,468 
96,551 96,650 6,112 3,510 4,477 
96,651 96,750 6,122 3,518 4,486 
96,751 96,850 6,131 3,526 4,496 
96,851 96,950 6,140 3,534 4,505 
96,951 97,050 6,150 3,542 4,514 
97,051 97,150 6,159 3,550 4,524 
97,151 97,250 6,168 3,558 4,533 
97,251 97,350 6,178 3,566 4,542 
97,351 97,450 6,187 3,574 4,552 
97,451 97,550 6,196 3,582 4,561 
97,551 97,650 6,205 3,590 4,570 
97,651 97,750 6,215 3,598 4,579 
97,751 97,850 6,224 3,606 4,589 
97,851 97,950 6,233 3,614 4,598 
97,951 98,050 6,243 3,622 4,607 
98,051 98,150 6,252 3,630 4,617 
98,151 98,250 6,261 3,638 4,626 
98,251 98,350 6,271 3,646 4,635 
98,351 98,450 6,280 3,654 4,645 
98,451 98,550 6,289 3,662 4,654 
98,551 98,650 6,298 3,670 4,663 
98,651 98,750 6,308 3,678 4,672 
98,751 98,850 6,317 3,686 4,682 
98,851 98,950 6,326 3,694 4,691 
98,951 99,050 6,336 3,702 4,700 
99,051 99,150 6,345 3,710 4,710 
99,151 99,250 6,354 3,718 4,719 
99,251 99,350 6,364 3,726 4,728 
99,351 99,450 6,373 3,734 4,738 
99,451 99,550 6,382 3,742 4,747 
99,551 99,650 6,391 3,750 4,756 
99,651 99,750 6,401 3,758 4,765 
99,751 99,850 6,410 3,766 4,775 
99,851 99,950 6,419 3,774 4,784 
99,951 100,000 6,426 3,780 4,791 

OVER $100,000 YOU MUST COMPUTE YOUR 
TAX USING THE TAX RATE SCHEDULES.
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2020 California Tax Rate Schedules 
Tip To e-file and eliminate the math, go to ftb.ca.gov. To figure your tax online, go to ftb.ca.gov/tax-rates. 

Use only if your taxable income on Form 540, line 19 is more than $100,000. If $100,000 or less, use the Tax Table.

If the amount on 
Form 540, line 19 is Enter on Form 540, 

line 31 
of the 
amount over –over – But not over –	

Schedule X – 
Use if your filing status is 
Single or Married/RDP Filing Separately 

$ 0 $ 8,932 $ 0.00 + 1.00% $ 0 
8,932 21,175 89.32 + 2.00% 8,932 

21,175 33,421 334.18 + 4.00% 21,175 
33,421 46,394 824.02 + 6.00% 33,421 
46,394 58,634 1,602.40 + 8.00% 46,394 
58,634 299,508 2,581.60 + 9.30% 58,634 

299,508 359,407 24,982.88 + 10.30% 299,508 
359,407 599,012  31,152.48 + 11.30% 359,407 
599,012 AND OVER 58,227.85 + 12.30% 599,012

If the amount on 
Form 540, line 19 is Enter on Form 540, 

line 31 
of the  
amount over –over – But not over – 

Schedule Y – 
Use if your filing status is  
Married/RDP Filing Jointly or Qualifying 
Widow(er) 

$ 0 $ 17,864 $  0.00 + 1.00% $ 0 
17,864 42,350 178.64 + 2.00% 17,864 

 42,350  66,842  668.36 + 4.00% 42,350 
66,842 92,788  1,648.04 + 6.00% 66,842 
92,788 117,268  3,204.80 + 8.00% 92,788 
117,268 599,016  5,163.20 + 9.30% 117,268 
599,016 718,814  49,965.76 + 10.30% 599,016 
718,814 1,198,024 62,304.95 + 11.30% 718,814 

1,198,024 AND OVER 116,455.68 + 12.30% 1,198,024

 

       
       
If the amount on 
Form 540, line 19 is Enter on Form 540, 

line 31 
of the  
amount over –over – But not over – 

Schedule Z – 
Use if your filing status is 
Head of Household 

$ 0 $ 17,876 $ 0.00 + 1.00% $ 0 
17,876 42,353 178.76 + 2.00% 17,876 

 42,353  54,597  668.30 + 4.00% 42,353 
54,597 67,569  1,158.06 + 6.00% 54,597 
67,569 79,812  1,936.38 + 8.00% 67,569 
79,812 407,329  2,915.82 + 9.30% 79,812 

407,329 488,796  33,374.90 + 10.30% 407,329 
488,796 814,658  41,766.00 + 11.30% 488,796 
814,658 AND OVER 78,588.41 + 12.30% 814,658 

How to Figure Tax Using the 2020 California Tax Rate Schedules 
Example: Chris and Pat Smith are filing a joint tax return using Form 540. Their taxable income on Form 540, line 19 is $125,000. 

Step 1: Using Schedule Y, they find the taxable income range that includes their taxable income of $125,000. 

Example Your Income 
Step 2: They subtract the amount at the beginning of their range from 

their taxable income. 
$125,000 $
- 117,268 -
$    7,732 $ 

Step 3: They multiply the result from Step 2 by the percentage for 
their range. 

$     7,732 $ 
     x .0930     x 
$   719.08 $ 

Step 4: They round the amount from Step 3 to two decimals (if 
necessary) and add it to the tax amount for their income 
range. After rounding the result, they will enter $5,882 on 
Form 540, line 31. 

$5,163.20 $ 
+ 719.08 + 

$5,882.28 $
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How To Get California Tax Information 
Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications 
By Internet – You can download, view, and print  California income tax 
forms and publications at ftb.ca.gov/forms or you may have these 
forms and publications mailed to you. Many of our most frequently used 
forms may be filed electronically, printed out for  submission, and saved 
for record keeping. 
By phone – To order  California tax forms and publications: 
• Refer to the list on the next page and find the code number for the 

form you want to order. 
• Call 800.338.0505. 
• Follow the recorded instructions. 
• Enter the three-digit form code when you are instructed. 
Allow two weeks to receive your order. If you live outside California, 
allow three weeks to receive your order. 
In person – Many post offices and libraries provide free California tax 
booklets during the filing season. 
Employees at libraries and post offices cannot provide tax information or 
assistance. 
By mail – Write to: 

TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT MS D120  
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  
PO BOX 307  
RANCHO CORDOVA  CA  95741-0307 

Letters 
If you write to us, be sure your letter includes your social security 
 number or individual taxpayer identification number and your daytime 
and evening telephone numbers. Send your letter to: 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  
PO BOX 942840  
SACRAMENTO  CA  94240-0040 

We will respond to your letter within 10 weeks. In some cases, we 
may call you to respond to your inquiry, or ask you for additional 
 information. Do not attach correspondence to your tax return unless the 
 correspondence relates to an item on the return. 

Your Rights As A Taxpayer 
The FTB’s goals include making certain that your rights are protected 
so that you have the highest confidence in the integrity, efficiency, and 
fairness of our state tax system. FTB 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of 
Rights, includes information on your rights as a California taxpayer, the 
 Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Program, and how to request written advice 
from the FTB on whether a particular transaction is taxable. See “Where 
To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.” 

Franchise Tax Board Privacy Notice on 
Collection 
The privacy and security of your personal information is of the utmost 
importance to us. We want you to have the highest confidence in the 
integrity, efficiency, and fairness of our state tax system. 
Your Rights and Responsibilities – You have a right to know what types 
of information we gather, how we use it, and to whom we may provide 
it. Information collected is subject to the California Information Practices 
Act, Civil Code section 1798-1798.78, except as provided in Revenue 
and Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 19570. 
If you meet certain requirements, you must file a valid tax return and 
related documents. You must provide your social security number or 
other identifying number on your tax return and related documents for 
identification. (R&TC Sections 18501, 18621, and 18624) 
Reasons for Information Requests – We may request additional 
information to verify and collect the correct amount of tax. (R&TC 
Section 19504) You must provide all requested information, unless 
indicated as “optional.” 

Consequences of Noncompliance – We charge penalties and interest if 
you: 
• Meet income requirements but do not file a valid tax return. 
• Do not provide the information we request. 
• Provide false information. 
We may also disallow your claimed exemptions, exclusions, credits, 
deductions, or adjustments. If you provide false information, you may be 
subject to civil penalties and criminal prosecution. Noncompliance can 
increase your tax liability, or delay or reduce any tax refund. 
Disclosure of Information – We will not disclose your personal 
information, unless authorized by law. We may disclose your tax 
information to: 
• The Internal Revenue Service. 
• Other states’ income tax officials. 
• California government agencies and officials. 
• Third parties to determine or collect your tax liabilities. 
• Your authorized representative(s). 
If you owe taxes, we may disclose your balance due as part of our 
collection process to: employers, financial institutions, county recorders, 
process agents, or other asset holders. 
Responsibility for the Records – The director of the Processing 
Services Bureau maintains Franchise Tax Board’s records. You may 
review your records and bring any inaccuracies to our attention. You can 
obtain information about your records by: 
Phone 
800.852.5711 (within the United States) 
916.845.6500 (outside of the United States) 
800.822.6268 (TTY/TDD) 
Mail 

DISCLOSURE OFFICER MS A181 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  
PO BOX 1468  
SACRAMENTO  CA  95812-1468 

To learn more about our Privacy Policy Statement, go to ftb.ca.gov/privacy/
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Automated Phone Service (Keep This Booklet For Future Use) 
Automated Phone Service 
Use our automated phone service to get 
recorded answers to many of your questions 
about  California Taxes and to order current year 
Personal Income Tax Forms and Publications. 
You can also: 
• Get current year tax refund information. 
• Get balance due and payment information. 
Have paper and pencil ready to take notes. 
Telephone: 800.338.0505 from within 

the United States 
916.845.6500 from outside 

the United States 

Answers To Tax Questions 
Call our automated phone service, follow the 
recorded instructions and enter the 3‑digit code. 

Code Filing Assistance 
100 Do I need to file a tax return? 
111 Which form should I use? 
112 How do I file electronically and get a fast 

refund? 
201 How can I get an extension to file? 
203 What is the nonrefundable renter’s credit 

and how do I qualify? 
204 I never received a Form W‑2. What do I do? 
205 I have no withholding taken out. What do I 

do? 
206 Do I have to attach a copy of my federal tax 

return? 
209 I lived in  California for part of the year. Do I 

have to file a tax return? 
210 I did not live in  California. Do I have to file a 

tax return? 
215 Who qualifies me to use the head of 

 household filing status? 
222 How much can I deduct for vehicle license 

fees? 
Code Penalties 
403 What is the estimate penalty rate? 

 Code Notices And Bills 
503 How do I file a protest against a Notice of 

Proposed Assessment? 
506 How can I get information about my 

Form 1099‑G? 

Code Tax For Children 
601 Can my child take a personal  exemption 

credit when I claim her or him as a 
 dependent on my tax return? 

Code Miscellaneous 
611 What address do I send my payment to? 
619 How do I report a change of address? 

Order Forms and Publications 
If your current address is on file, you can order 
California tax forms and publications. Call our 
 automated phone service, follow the recorded 
instructions and enter the 3‑digit code. 

Code California Tax Forms and Publications 
900 California Resident Income Tax Booklet: 

Form 540, Resident Income Tax Return 
965 Form 540 2EZ Tax Booklet 
903 Schedule CA (540),  California  Adjustments 

– Residents, FTB 3885A,  Depreciation and 
Amortization  Adjustments, and Schedule D,
 California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment 

969 Large Print Resident Booklet 
907  Form 540‑ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals 
908 Schedule X, California Explanation of 

Amended Return Changes 
909 Schedule D‑1, Sales of Business  Property 
910 Schedule G‑1, Tax on Lump‑Sum 

Distributions 
911 Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax 

and Credit Limitations – Residents 
913 Schedule S, Other State Tax Credit 
914 California Nonresident Income Tax Booklet: 

Form 540NR, Nonresident or Part‑Year 
Resident Income Tax Return 

917 Schedule CA (540NR),  California 
 Adjustments – Nonresidents or Part ‑Year 
Residents 

918 Schedule P (540NR), Alternative Minimum 
Tax and Credit Limitations – Nonresidents 
or Part‑Year Residents 

932 FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit 

938 FTB 3514, California Earned Income Tax 
Credit 

937 FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal 
Income or Fiduciary Tax Return 

921 FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic 
Extension for Individuals 

922 FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W‑2, Wage 
and Tax Statement 

923 FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense 
Deduction 

939 FTB 3532, Head of Household Filing Status 
Schedule 

940 FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and Recapture 
Summary 

949 FTB 3567, Installment Agreement  Request 
924 FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Certain 

Children with Unearned Income 
929 FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss  Limitations 
925 FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income 
928 FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified 

Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax‑ 
Favored Accounts 

926 FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) 
Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss 
Limitations — Individuals, Estates, and 
Trusts 

943 FTB 4058,  California Taxpayers’ Bill of 
Rights 

927 FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax 
by Individuals and Fiduciaries 

919 FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to 
California Adjustments 

920 FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity 
Guidelines 

945 FTB Pub. 1006,  California Tax Forms and 
Related Federal Forms 

946 FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments 
and Your Notification Responsibilities to 
California 

941 FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for  Determining 
Resident Status 

942 FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military 
Personnel 

934 FTB Pub. 1540,  California Head of 
 Household Filing Status 









Current Year Refund Information 
If you file by mail, wait at least 8 weeks after you 
file your tax return before you call to find out 
about your refund. You need your social security 
number, the numbers in your street address, box 
number, route number, or PMB number, and your 
ZIP code to use this service. 

Balance Due and Payment 
Information 
Wait at least 45 days from the date you mailed 
your payment before you call to verify receipt. 
You need your social security number, the 
 numbers in your street address, box number, 
route number, or PMB number, and your ZIP code 
to use this service. 

General Phone Service 
Telephone assistance is available year‑round from 
7 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, except 
holidays. Hours are subject to change. 
Telephone: 800.852.5711 from within 

the United States 
916.845.6500 from outside 
the United States 
800.829.1040 for federal 
tax questions, call the IRS 

TTY/TDD: 800.822.6268 for persons with 
hearing or speech disability 
711 or 800.735.2929 California relay  
service 

Large-print forms and instructions – The 
Resident Booklet is available in large print upon 
request. See “Order Forms and Publications” 
or ‘’Where To Get Income Tax Forms and 
 Publications.’’ 
Asistencia en español 
Asistencia telefónica está disponible durante todo 
el año  desde las 7 a.m. hasta las 5 p.m. de lunes 
a viernes, excepto días feriados. Las horas están 
sujetas a cambios. 
Teléfono: 800.852.5711 dentro de los  

Estados Unidos  
916.845.6500 fuera de los 
Estados Unidos 
800.829.1040 para preguntas 
sobre impuestos federales llame  
al IRS 

TTY/TDD:  800.822.6268 para personas con 
discapacidades auditivas o 
del habla 
711 ó 800.735.2929 servicio de 
relevo de California
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	Line 3: 
	 Enter the larger of line 1 or line 2 here: 
	 Credit amount: 
	 Multiply line 1 by line 2: 
	 Enter the result or $1,499, whichever is less: 
	 Do not enter more than $2,500: 
	 Enter the result or $491, whichever is less: 


	 Subtotal: 
	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld: 
	 Subtract line 2 from line 1: 
	 Enter the results here: 
	 Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter the total, in whole dollars only on line 74 - You: 
	 Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter the total, in whole dollars only on line 74 - Your Spouse/RDP: 



	 Multiply Line 1 by the tax rate on Line 2: 
	 Enter result here ($): 

	 Add federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 20 (student loan interest deduction) to federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 (AGI): 
	 Enter the result here:: 

	 Subtract line 2 from line 1:: 
	 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a): 
	 Amount from Form 540, line 18: 
	 Total tax payments and credits: 
	 Add line 2a, line 2b, and line 2c ($): 

	 Subtract line 2c from line 1: 
	 Add the amounts on line 1 and line 2: 
	 Federal EIC (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 27) ($): 
	 Dividends: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540 2EZ, line 11: 

	 Self-employment earnings from partnerships reported on K-1s: 
	 Enter the net profit (or loss) from federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1065), box 14, code A:: 

	 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11: 

	Line 4: 
	 Enter the amount shown for your filing status: 
	 Single or married/RDP filing separately, enter $4,601: 
	 Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er), enter $9,202: 


	 If you choose to estimate the use tax due on individual, non-business items purchased for less than $1,000 each, enter the use tax amount due from the Estimated Use Tax Lookup Table: 
	 If all of your purchases are included in Line 1, enter 0 ($): 

	 Enter the amount shown below for your filing status (Single, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) - $60,000 and Married/RDP filing jointly - $120,000):: 
	 Multiply line 3 by 80% (: 
	80):: 

	 Total 2020 gains from all sources: 
	 Add column (e) amounts of line 1, line 2, and line 3: 

	 Subtract line 3 from line 2: 
	 If less than zero, enter as a negative amount: 

	 Tax due: 
	 Is line 1 more than line 3? ($): 

	 Enter $3,000 if care was for one qualifying person ($6,000 for two or more): 
	 Investment Income: 
	 See instructions for Step 2 - Investment Income ($): 

	 Capital gain net income: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540 2EZ, line 13: 

	 Deductible part of self-employment tax: 
	 Enter the amount from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 14:: 

	 Tax: 
	 Figure your tax on the amount on line 3 using the 2020 tax table for Form 540, or Form 540NR: 
	 Also, include any tax from form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Certain Children with Unearned Income, and form FTB 3803, Parents Election to Report Childs Interest and Dividends: 



	Line 5: 
	 Standard deduction: 
	 Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 4 here and on Form 540, line 18: 

	 Mental Health Services Tax - Multiply line 3 by line 4: 
	 Enter this amount here and on line 62: 

	 Add Lines 3 and 4: 
	 This is your total use tax ($): 

	 Subtract line 4 from line 3: 
	 Is the amount on line 3 more than the amount on line 4?: Off
	 Amount from Form 540, line 13:: 
	 2020 loss: 
	 Add column (d) amounts of line 1 and line 2: 

	 Combine line 1 and line 4: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 

	 Enter any dependent care benefits received for 2019 and excluded from your income (from your 2019 form FTB 3506, Part IV, line 26): 
	 Investment Income: 
	 Add line 1, line 2, line 3 and line 4: 
	 Enter the amount here: 


	 Total business income or (loss): 
	 Add line 1, line 2, line 3, and subtract line 4: 
	 Enter the amount here and on form FTB 3514, line 18:: 


	 If you have: No qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than $3,757? 1 qualifying child, is the amount on line 3 less than $5,642? 2 or more qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than $7,920? If Yes: 
	 Leave line 5 blank; enter the amount from line 2 on line 6: 
	 If No: 
	 Look up the amount on line 3 in the EITC Table to find the credit: 
	 Be sure you use the correct column for the number of qualifying children you have: 
	 Enter the credit here: 






	Line a: 
	 Enter the amount from line 13: 

	Line b: 
	 Enter the amount for your filing status on line b: 
	 Single or married/RDP filing separately - $203,341: 
	 Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) - $406,687: 
	 Head of household - $305,016: 




	Line c: 
	 Subtract line b from line a: 

	Line d: 
	 Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married/RDP filing separately): 
	 If the result is not a whole number, round it to the next higher whole number: 


	Line e: 
	 Multiply line d by $6: 

	Line f: 
	 Add the numbers from the boxes on lines 7, 8, and 9 (not the dollar amounts): 

	Line g: 
	 Multiply line e by line f: 

	Line h: 
	 Add the total dollar amount from lines 7, 8, and 9: 

	Line i: 
	 Subtract line g from line h: 
	 If zero or less, enter 0: 


	Line j: 
	 Enter the number from the box on line 10 (not the dollar amount): 

	Line k: 
	 Multiply line e by line j: 

	Line l: 
	 Enter the dollar amount from line 10: 

	Line m: 
	 Subtract line k from line l: 
	 If zero or less, enter 0: 


	Line n: 
	 Add line i and line m: 
	 Enter the result here and on line 32: 


	Line 1: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 35: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 19: 
	 Enter qualifying costs for the child: 
	 Taxable income from Form 540, line 19: 
	 Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld shown on your federal Forms W-2: 
	 Enter the total here - You: 
	 Enter the total here - Your Spouse/RDP: 

	 Enter purchases from out-of-state sellers made without payment of California sales/use tax: 
	 If you choose to estimate the use tax due on individual, non-business items purchased for less than $1,000 each, only enter purchases of items with a purchase price of 1,000 or more plus items purchased for use in a trade or business not registered with the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration ($): 

	 Enter the total amount from Schedule CA (540), line 20, column A: 
	 If the amount on line 1 is zero, STOP: 
	 You are not allowed a deduction for California:: 


	 Amount from Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 28:: 
	 Loss from Schedule D (540), line 11, stated as a positive number: 
	 Total tax you expect to owe: 
	 This is the amount you expect to enter on Form 540, line 65; or Form 540NR, line 75 ($): 

	 Residents: Enter your estimated 2021 California AGI: 
	 Nonresidents and part-year residents: Enter your estimated 2021 total AGI from all sources: 
	 Military service member/spouses, get FTB Pub: 
	 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel: 



	 Enter your 2019 qualified expenses paid in 2019: 
	 If you did not claim the credit for these expenses on your 2019 tax return, get and complete a 2019 form FTB 3506 for these expenses: 
	 You may need to amend your 2019 tax return: 


	 Taxable interest: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540 2EZ, line 10: 

	 Business income or (loss): 
	 Enter the amount from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 3:: 

	 Enter your California earned income from form FTB 3514, line 19: 
	 If the amount is zero or less, stop here: 


	Line 2: 
	 Enter the applicable sales and use tax rate: 
	 Enter the total interest you paid in 2020 on qualified student loans but not more than $2,500 here:: 
	 Add the amounts on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), line 4, line 9, and line 15 plus any gambling losses included on line 16:: 
	 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568) - (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568) - (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 Amount from Form 540, line 17: 
	 Enter your 2019 qualified expenses paid in 2020: 
	 Federal AGI (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11) ($): 
	 Nontaxable interest: 
	 Add and enter the amounts from federal Form 1099-INT, box 3 and box 8, and the amount from federal Form 1099-DIV, box 11: 

	 Farm income or (loss): 
	 Enter the amount from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 6:: 

	 Look up the amount on line 1 in the EITC Table to find the credit: 
	 Be sure you use the correct column for the number of qualifying children you have: 
	 Enter the credit here: 



	Line 6: 
	 Enter any sales or use tax you paid to another state for purchases included on Line 1: 
	 See worksheet instructions on this page ($): 

	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, check the box here: 
	 See instruction: Off

	 Enter the amount shown above for your filing status:: 
	 California capital loss carryover from 2019, if any: 
	 See instructions: 

	 Loss from Schedule D (540), line 8: 
	 Subtract amount on line 5 from amount on line 4 and enter the result: 
	 This is your California earned income tax credit: 
	 Enter this amount on form FTB 3514, line 20: 

	 Divide line 5 by $15,000 ($30,000 if married/RDP filing jointly): 
	 Enter the result as a decimal (rounded to at least three places): 
	 If the result is 1: 
	000 or more, enter 1: 
	000: Enter 6 digits including decimal: 





	Line 7: 
	 Subtract Line 6 from Line 5: 
	 This is the total use tax due: 
	 Enter the amount due on Line 91: 
	 If the amount is less than zero, enter 0 ($): 



	 Multiply line 2 by line 6:: 
	 Subtract line 6 from line 5:: 
	 Total 2020 loss: 
	 Add line 5 and line 6: 

	 Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5: 
	 Nonresidents: CA prorated exemption credits: 
	 Multiply the total exemption credit amount by line 6b: 

	 Compare your and your spouse's/RDP's earned income for 2019 and enter the smaller amount: 

	Payment Date (mm/dd/yyyy):: 
	Confirmation Number:: 
	Dates Rented in 2020 (From) (mm/dd): 
	Dates Rented in 2020 (To) (mm/dd): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2020 - Street Address (a): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2020 - City, State, and ZIP Code (a): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2020 - Dates Rented in 2020 (From (mm/dd) - To (mm/dd)) (a): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2020 - Street Address (b): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2020 - City, State, and ZIP Code (b): 
	Landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2020 - Dates Rented in 2020 (From (mm/dd) - To (mm/dd)) (b): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above - Name (a): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above - Street Address (a): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above - City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number (a): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above - Name (b): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above - Street Address (b): 
	Landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above - City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number (b): 
	Check here if this is an AMENDED return: Off
	Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month: 
	Form 540 - Your first name: 
	Form 540 - Your initial: 
	Form 540 - Your last name: 
	Form 540 - Your suffix: 
	Form 540 - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Form 540 - Additional information (see instructions): 
	Form 540 - PBA code: 
	Form 540 - Street address (number and street) or PO box: 
	Form 540 - Apartment number /suite number: 
	Form 540 - PMB/private mailbox: 
	Form 540 - City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions): 
	Form 540 - 2 letter State abbreviation: 
	Form 540 - Zip code, maximum 9 digits: 
	Form 540 - Foreign country name: 
	Form 540 - Foreign province/state/county: 
	Form 540 - Foreign postal code: 
	Date of Birth - Your DOB (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Prior Name - Your prior name (see instructions): 
	Principal Residence - Enter your county at time of filing (see instructions): 
	Principal Residence - If your address above is the same as your principal/physical residence address at the time of filing, check this box: Off
	Principal Residence - Street address (number and street) (If foreign address, see instructions: 
	): 

	Principal Residence - Apartment number /suite number: 
	Principal Residence - City: 
	Principal Residence - 2 letter State abbreviation: 
	Principal Residence - Zip code, maximum 9 digits: 
	Filing Status - If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, check the box here: Off
	Filing Status: Off
	Filing Status - Enter year spouse/RDP died (yyyy): 
	Filing Status - See instructions: 
	Exemptions - Line 7: 
	 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box: 
	 If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2 in the box: 
	 If you checked the box on line 6, see instructions: 


	 Personal: Number entered in the box multiplied by $124 equals - Whole dollars only ($): 

	Exemptions - Line 8: 
	 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both are visually impaired, enter 2: 
	 Blind: Number entered in the box multiplied by $124 equals - Whole dollars only ($): 

	Exemptions - Line 9: 
	 Senior: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both are 65 or older, enter 2: 
	 Senior: Number entered in the box multiplied by $124 equals - Whole dollars only ($): 

	Exemptions - Line 10: 
	 Dependent 1 - First Name: 
	 Dependent 2 - First Name: 
	 Dependent 3 - First Name: 
	 Dependent 1 - Last Name: 
	 Dependent 2 - Last Name: 
	 Dependent 3 - Last Name: 
	 Dependent 1 - SSN: 
	 See instructions (9 digits): 

	 Dependent 2 - SSN: 
	 See instructions (9 digits): 

	 Dependent 3 - SSN: 
	 See instructions (9 digits): 

	 Total dependent exemptions: 
	 Dependent 1 - Dependents relationship to you: 
	 Dependent 2 - Dependents relationship to you: 
	 Dependent 3 - Dependents relationship to you: 

	Line 10: 
	 Total dependent exemptions equals (Whole dollars only)-01: 
	 Total itemized deductions: 
	 Subtract line 9 from line 1: 
	 Enter here and on Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 29:: 


	 Enter the gain or (loss) from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 7: 
	 Add line 8 and line 9: 
	 Subtract amount on line 9 from amount on line 8 and enter the result: 
	 If zero or less, stop here: 
	 You cannot increase your credit by any previous year's expenses: 



	Exemptions - Line 11: 
	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10: 
	 Transfer this amount to line 32 ($): 


	Taxable Income - Line 12: 
	 State wages from your federal Form(s) W-2, box 16 ($): 

	Taxable Income - Line 13: 
	 Enter federal adjusted gross income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11 ($): 

	Taxable Income - Line 14: 
	 California adjustments - subtractions: 
	 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), Part I, line 23, column B ($): 


	Taxable Income - Line 15: 
	 Subtract line 14 from line 13: 
	 If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses: 
	 See instructions ($): 



	Taxable Income - Line 16: 
	 California adjustments - additions: 
	 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), Part I, line 23, column C ($): 


	Taxable Income - Line 17: 
	 California adjusted gross income: 
	 Combine line 15 and line 16 ($): 


	Taxable Income - Line 18: 
	 Enter the larger of - Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 30; OR Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status: 
	 Single or Married/RDP filing separately - $4,601: 
	 Married/RDP filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) - $9,202: 
	 If Married/RDP filing separately or the box on line 6 is checked, STOP: 
	 See instructions ($): 





	Taxable Income - Line 19: 
	 Subtract line 18 from line 17: 
	 This is your taxable income: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0 ($): 



	Tax - Line 31: 
	 Tax: 
	 Check the box if from: Off

	 Tax ($): 

	Tax - Line 32: 
	 Exemption credits: 
	 Enter the amount from line 11: 
	 If your federal AGI is more than $203,341, see instructions ($): 



	Tax - Line 33: 
	 Subtract line 32 from line 31: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0 ($): 


	Tax - Line 34: 
	 Tax: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Check the box if from: Off

	 See instructions ($): 


	Tax - Line 35: 
	 Add line 33 and line 34 ($): 

	Special Credits - Line 40: 
	 Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Special Credits - Line 43: 
	 Enter credit name: 
	 Code: 
	 Amount ($): 

	Special Credits - Line 44: 
	 Enter credit name: 
	 Code: 
	 Amount ($): 

	Special Credits - Line 45: 
	 To claim more than two credits: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Attach Schedule P (540) ($): 



	Special Credits - Line 46: 
	 Nonrefundable Renter's Credit: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Special Credits - Line 47: 
	 Add line 40 through line 46: 
	 These are your total credits ($): 


	Special Credits - Line 48: 
	 Subtract line 47 from line 35: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0 ($): 


	Other Taxes - Line 61: 
	 Alternative Minimum Tax: 
	 Attach Schedule P (540) ($): 


	Other Taxes - Line 62: 
	 Mental Health Services Tax: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Other Taxes - Line 63: 
	 Other taxes and credit recapture: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Other Taxes - Line 64: 
	 Excess Advance Premium Assistance Subsidy (APAS) repayment: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Other Taxes - Line 65: 
	 Add line 48, line 61, line 62, line 63, and line 64: 
	 This is your total tax ($): 


	Payments - Line 71: 
	 California income tax withheld: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Payments - Line 72: 
	 2020 CA estimated tax and other payments: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Payments - Line 73: 
	 Withholding (Form 592-B and/or 593): 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Payments - Line 74: 
	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Payments - Line 75: 
	 Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) ($): 

	Payments - Line 76: 
	 Young Child Tax Credit (YCTC): 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Payments - Line 77: 
	 Net Premium Assistance Subsidy (PAS): 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Payments - Line 78: 
	 Add line 71 through line 77: 
	 These are your total payments: 
	 See instructions ($): 



	Use Tax - Line 91: 
	 Use tax: 
	 Do not leave blank: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	 If line 91 is zero, check if: Off

	ISR Penalty - Line 92: 
	 Individual Shared Responsibility (ISR) Penalty: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	ISR Penalty - Full-year health care coverage: Off
	Overpaid Tax/Tax Due - Line 93: 
	 Payments balance: 
	 If line 78 is more than line 91, subtract line 91 from line 78 ($): 


	Overpaid Tax/Tax Due - Line 94: 
	 Use Tax balance: 
	 If line 91 is more than line 78, subtract line 78 from line 91 ($): 


	Overpaid Tax/Tax Due - Line 95: 
	 Payments after Individual Shared Responsibility Penalty: 
	 If line 93 is more than line 92, subtract line 92 from line 93 ($): 


	Overpaid Tax/Tax Due - Line 96: 
	 Individual Shared Responsibility Penalty Balance: 
	 If line 92 is more than line 93, then subtract line 93 from line 92 ($): 


	Overpaid Tax/Tax Due - Line 97: 
	 Overpaid tax: 
	 If line 95 is more than line 65, subtract line 65 from line 95 ($): 


	Overpaid Tax/Tax Due - Line 98: 
	 Amount of line 97 you want applied to your 2021 estimated tax ($): 

	Overpaid Tax/Tax Due - Line 99: 
	 Overpaid tax available this year: 
	 Subtract line 98 from line 97 ($): 


	Overpaid Tax/Tax Due - Line 100: 
	 Tax due: 
	 If line 95 is less than line 65, subtract line 95 from line 65 ($): 


	Contributions - Code 400 - California Seniors Special Fund: 
	 See instructions ($): 

	Contributions - Code 403 - Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Voluntary Tax Contribution Program ($): 
	Contributions - Code 405 - California Breast Cancer Research Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 407 - Emergency Food for Families Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 408 - California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 410 - California Sea Otter Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 413 - California Cancer Research Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 422 - School Supplies for Homeless Children Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 423 - State Parks Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase ($): 
	Contributions - Code 424 - Protect Our Coast and Oceans Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 425 - Keep Arts in Schools Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 431 - Prevention of Animal Homelessness and Cruelty Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 438 - California Senior Citizen Advocacy Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 439 - Native California Wildlife Rehabilitation Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 440 - Rape Kit Backlog Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 443 - Schools Not Prisons Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 444 - Suicide Prevention Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Line 110: 
	 Add amounts in code 400 through code 444: 
	 This is your total contributions ($): 


	Line 111: 
	 AMOUNT YOU OWE: 
	 If you do not have an amount on line 99, add line 94, line 96, line 100, and line 110: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Do not send cash: 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 ($): 





	Interest and Penalties - Line 112: 
	 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties ($): 

	Interest and Penalties - Line 113: 
	 Underpayment of estimated tax: 
	 Check the box: Off

	 Underpayment of estimated tax ($): 

	Interest and Penalties - Line 114: 
	 Total amount due: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Enclose, but do not staple, any payment ($): 



	Refund and Direct Deposit - Line 115: 
	 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE: 
	 Subtract the sum of line 110, line 112 and line 113 from line 99: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001 ($): 




	Your signature date (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Your email address: 
	 Enter only one email address: 

	Preferred phone number (10 digits): 
	PTIN (9 digits): 
	Do you want to allow another person to discuss this tax return with us? See instructions: Off
	Telephone Number (10 digits): 
	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 1: 
	 Wages, salaries, tips, etc: 
	 See instructions before making an entry in column B or C - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions before making an entry in column B or C - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 See instructions before making an entry in column B or C - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 2a: 
	 Taxable interest: 

	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 2b: 
	 Taxable interest - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Taxable interest - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Taxable interest - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 3a: 
	 Ordinary dividends: 
	 See instructions: 


	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 3b: 
	 Ordinary dividends: 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 See instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 4a: 
	 IRA distributions: 
	 See instructions: 


	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 4b: 
	 IRA distributions: 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 See instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 5a: 
	 Pensions and annuities: 
	 See instructions: 


	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 5b: 
	 Pensions and annuities: 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 See instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 6a: 
	 Social security benefits: 

	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 6b: 
	 Social security benefits - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Social security benefits - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section A - Income from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR - Line 7: 
	 Capital gain or (loss): 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 See instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 1: 
	 Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 2a: 
	 Alimony received: 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 3: 
	 Business income or (loss): 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 See instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 4: 
	 Other gains or (losses) - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Other gains or (losses) - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Other gains or (losses) - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 5: 
	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 6: 
	 Farm income or (loss) - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Farm income or (loss) - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Farm income or (loss) - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 7: 
	 Unemployment compensation - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Unemployment compensation - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 8f: 
	 Other income: 
	 Other (describe) (line 1): 
	 Other (describe) (line 2): 
	 Other - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Other - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 8: 
	 Other income - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 


	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 8a: 
	 Other income: 
	 California lottery winnings - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 8b: 
	 Other income: 
	 Disaster loss deduction from FTB 3805V - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 8d: 
	 Other income: 
	 NOL deduction from FTB 3805V - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 8e: 
	 Other income: 
	 NOL from FTB 3805Z, 3807, or 3809 - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 8g: 
	 Other income: 
	 Student loan discharged due to closure of a for-profit school - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 8c: 
	 Other income: 
	 Federal NOL (federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 8) - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section B - Additional Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 9: 
	 Total: 
	 Combine Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 8 in column A: 
	 Add Section A, line 1 through line 7, and Section B, line 1 through line 8g in column B and column C: 
	 Go to Section C - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return) - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	 Go to Section C - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 






	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 10: 
	 Educator expenses - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Educator expenses - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 11: 
	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 12: 
	 Health savings account deduction - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Health savings account deduction - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 13: 
	 Moving expenses: 
	 Attach federal Form 3903: 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 





	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 14: 
	 Deductible part of self-employment tax: 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 15: 
	 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 


	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 16: 
	 Self-employed health insurance deduction: 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 17: 
	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 


	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 18b: 
	 Recipients SSN (9 digits): 
	 Recipients Last name: 

	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 18a: 
	 Alimony paid - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Alimony paid - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 19: 
	 IRA deduction - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 


	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 20: 
	 Student loan interest deduction - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Student loan interest deduction - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 21: 
	 Tuition and fees - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 Tuition and fees - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 22: 
	 Add line 10 through line 18a and line 19 through line 21 in columns A, B, and C: 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 See instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Section C - Adjustments to Income from federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040) - Line 23: 
	 Total: 
	 Subtract line 22 from line 9 in columns A, B, and C: 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (taxable amounts from your federal tax return): 

	 See instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 See instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 





	Check the box if you did NOT itemize for federal but will itemize for California: Off
	Medical and Dental Expenses - Line 1: 
	 Medical and dental expenses: 

	Medical and Dental Expenses - Line 2: 
	 Enter amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11: 

	Medical and Dental Expenses - Line 3: 
	 Multiply line 2 by 7: 
	5% (0: 
	075): 



	Medical and Dental Expenses - Line 4: 
	 Subtract line 3 from line 1: 
	 If line 3 is more than line 1, enter 0 - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 If line 3 is more than line 1, enter 0 - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 




	Taxes You Paid - Line 5a: 
	 State and local income tax or general sales taxes - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 State and local income tax or general sales taxes - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Taxes You Paid - Line 5b: 
	 State and local real estate taxes - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 


	Taxes You Paid - Line 5c: 
	 State and local personal property taxes - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 


	Taxes You Paid - Line 5d: 
	 Add line 5a through line 5c - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 


	Taxes You Paid - Line 5e: 
	 Enter the smaller of line 5d or $10,000 ($5,000 if married filing separately) in column A: 
	 Enter the amount from line 5a, column B in line 5e, column B: 
	 Enter the difference from line 5d and line 5e, column A in line 5e, column C - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Enter the difference from line 5d and line 5e, column A in line 5e, column C - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Enter the difference from line 5d and line 5e, column A in line 5e, column C - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 





	Taxes You Paid - Line 6: 
	 Other taxes: 
	 List type: 

	 Other taxes - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Other taxes - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Other taxes - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Taxes You Paid - Line 7: 
	 Add line 5e and line 6 - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Add line 5e and line 6 - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Add line 5e and line 6 - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Interest You Paid - Line 8a: 
	 Home mortgage interest and points reported to you on federal Form 1098 - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Home mortgage interest and points reported to you on federal Form 1098 - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Interest You Paid - Line 8b: 
	 Home mortgage interest not reported to you on federal Form 1098 - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Home mortgage interest not reported to you on federal Form 1098 - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Interest You Paid - Line 8c: 
	 Points not reported to you on federal Form 1098 - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Points not reported to you on federal Form 1098 - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Interest You Paid - Line 8d: 
	 Mortgage insurance premiums - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Mortgage insurance premiums - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Interest You Paid - Line 8e: 
	 Add line 8a through line 8d - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Add line 8a through line 8d - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Add line 8a through line 8d - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Interest You Paid - Line 9: 
	 Investment interest - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Investment interest - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Investment interest - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Interest You Paid - Line 10: 
	 Add line 8e and line 9 - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Add line 8e and line 9 - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Add line 8e and line 9 - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Gifts to Charity - Line 11: 
	 Gifts by cash or check - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Gifts by cash or check - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Gifts by cash or check - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Gifts to Charity - Line 12: 
	 Other than by cash or check - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Other than by cash or check - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Other than by cash or check - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Gifts to Charity - Line 13: 
	 Carryover from prior year - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Carryover from prior year - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Carryover from prior year - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Gifts to Charity - Line 14: 
	 Add line 11 through line 13 - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Add line 11 through line 13 - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Add line 11 through line 13 - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Casualty and Theft Losses - Line 15: 
	 Casualty or theft loss(es) (other than net qualified disaster losses): 
	 Attach federal Form 4684: 
	 See instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 See instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 See instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 





	Other Itemized Deductions - Line 16: 
	 Other-from list in federal instructions - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Other-from list in federal instructions - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Other-from list in federal instructions - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 



	Line 17: 
	 Add lines 4, 7, 10, 14, 15, and 16 in columns A, B, and C - A: 
	 Federal Amounts (from federal Schedule A (Form 1040): 

	 Add lines 4, 7, 10, 14, 15, and 16 in columns A, B, and C - B: 
	 Subtractions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Add lines 4, 7, 10, 14, 15, and 16 in columns A, B, and C - C: 
	 Additions: 
	 See instructions: 


	 Nontaxable combat pay: 
	 See instructions ($): 

	 Mental Health Services Tax Worksheet, line E (on page 64 of these instructions): 

	Line 18: 
	 Total: 
	 Combine line 17 column A less column B plus column C: 

	 2021 Estimated Tax: 
	 Add line 14 through line 17: 
	 Enter the result, but not less than zero: 


	 Business income or (loss): 
	 Enter amount from Worksheet 3, line 5: 
	 See instructions ($): 



	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 19: 
	 Unreimbursed employee expenses - job travel, union dues, job education, etc: 
	 Attach federal Form 2106 if required: 
	 See instructions: 



	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 20: 
	 Tax preparation fees: 

	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 21: 
	 Other expenses - investment, safe deposit box, etc: 
	 List type: 

	 Other expenses - List type: 

	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 22: 
	 Add line 19 through line 21: 

	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 23: 
	 Enter amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 11: 

	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 25: 
	 Subtract line 24 from line 22: 
	 If line 24 is more than line 22, enter 0: 


	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 26: 
	 Total Itemized Deductions: 
	 Add line 18 and line 25: 


	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 27: 
	 Other adjustments: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Specify: 



	Line 27: 
	 Other adjustments: 
	 See instructions-01: 

	 Reduction amount: 
	 Multiply line 26 by $20: 
	 Enter the result as a decimal out to two decimal places, do not round: 



	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 28: 
	 Combine line 26 and line 27: 

	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 29: 
	 Is your federal AGI (Form 540, line 13) more than the amount shown below for your filing status? Single or married/RDP filing separately - $203,341: 
	 Head of household - $305,016: 
	 Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) - $406,687: 
	 If No: 
	 Transfer the amount on line 28 to line 29: 
	 If Yes: 
	 Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in the instructions for Schedule CA (540), line 29: 







	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 30: 
	 Enter the larger of the amount on line 29 or your standard deduction listed below - Single or married/RDP filing separately: 
	 See instructions - $4,601: 
	 Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) - $9,202: 
	 Transfer the amount on line 30 to Form 540, line 18: 




	Line 9: 
	 Student loan interest adjustment: 
	 If line 1 is less than line 8, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540), line 20, column C:: 

	 Compare line 4 and line 8: 
	 Enter the smaller amount here:: 

	 If line 8 is a loss, enter the smaller of: a the loss on line 8: 
	 b $3,000 ($1,500 if married/RDP filing separate): 
	 See instructions: 


	 Tax on accumulation distribution of trusts: 
	 See instructions for form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts: 

	 Enter the amount from your 2019 form FTB 3506, Side 1, Part III, line 6: 

	Line 8: 
	 Student loan interest deduction: 
	 Subtract line 7 from line 2:: 

	 Multiply line 7 by 6% (: 
	06):: 

	 Combine line 4 and line 7: 
	 If a loss, go to line 9: 
	 If a gain, go to line 10: 


	 Subtract line 7 from line 6: 
	 This is your capital loss carryover to 2021: 

	 Residents: Subtract line 6a from line 4: 
	 Nonresidents or part-year residents: Subtract line 7 from line 5c: 

	 If filing a joint tax return, compare the amounts on line 3, line 6, and line 7 and enter the smallest amount: 
	 If not filing a joint tax return, enter your earned income: 


	Form D (540) - Name(s) as shown on return: 
	Form D (540) - SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Line 1a: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 Has the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) previously disallowed your federal Earned Income Credit (EIC)?: Off
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1b: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 Has the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) previously disallowed your California EITC?: Off
	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1c: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1d: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1e: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1f: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1g: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1h: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1i: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1j: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1k: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1l: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1m: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1n: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1o: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1p: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1q: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1r: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1s: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1t: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1u: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 1v: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss: 
	 If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 

	 (e) Gain: 
	 If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	 (a) Description of property: 
	 Example: 100 shares of Z Co: 


	Line 11: 
	 Enter the California gain from line 8 or (loss) from line 9: 
	 Credits for joint custody head of household, dependent parent, senior head of household, and child and dependent care expenses: 
	 Nonresidents and part-year residents: For the child and dependent care expenses credit, use the amount from your 2020 Form 540NR, line 50: 
	 For the other credits listed on line 11, multiply the total 2020 credit amount by the ratio on line 6b: 


	 Enter your 2019 federal adjusted gross income (AGI) (from your 2019 Form 540, line 13; or Form 540NR, line 13): 

	Line 12a: 
	 If line 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540), Part I, Section A, line 7, column B: 

	Line 12b: 
	 If line 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540), Part I, Section A, line 7, column C: 

	For calendar year 2020 or fiscal year beginning (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	For calendar year 2020 or fiscal year ending (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - Your first name: 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - Your initial: 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - Your Last name: 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - Address (number and street, PO box, or PMB number): 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - Apartment number/suite number: 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - City: 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - 2 letter State abbreviation: 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - ZIP code, maximum 9 digits: 
	Amount of payment ($): 
	Line 2a: 
	 Payments and credits - California income tax withheld (including real estate and nonresident withholding) ($): 
	 If you plan to itemize deductions, enter the estimated total of your itemized deductions: 

	Line 2b: 
	 Payments and credits - California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 2019 tax return ($): 
	 If you do not plan to itemize deductions, enter the standard deduction for your filing status: $4,601 single or married/RDP filing separately or $9,202 married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er): 

	Line 2c: 
	 Payments and credits - Other payments and credits (including any tax payments made with any previous form FTB 3519) ($): 
	 Enter the amount from line 2a or line 2b, whichever applies: 

	Payment Form 1 - Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: 
	Payment Form 1 - Your first name: 
	Payment Form 1 - Your initial: 
	Payment Form 1 - Your Last name: 
	Payment Form 1 - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Payment Form 1 - If joint payment, spouse's/RDP's first name: 
	Payment Form 1 - Spouse's/RDP's initial: 
	Payment Form 1 - Spouse's/RDP's Last name: 
	Payment Form 1 - Spouse's/RDP's SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Payment Form 1 - Address (number and street) PO box or PMB number: 
	Payment Form 1 - Apartment number/suite number: 
	Payment Form 1 - City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions): 
	Payment Form 1 - 2 letter State abbreviation: 
	Payment Form 1 - Zip code, maximum 9 digits: 
	Payment Form 1 - Amount of payment ($): 
	Payment Form 2 - Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: 
	Payment Form 2 - Your first name: 
	Payment Form 2 - Your initial: 
	Payment Form 2 - Your Last name: 
	Payment Form 2 - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Payment Form 2 - Address (number and street) PO box or PMB number: 
	Payment Form 2 - Apartment number/suite number: 
	Payment Form 2 - City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions): 
	Payment Form 2 - 2 letter State abbreviation: 
	Payment Form 2 - Zip code, maximum 9 digits: 
	Payment Form 2 - Amount of payment ($): 
	Payment Form 3 - Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: 
	Payment Form 3 - Your first name: 
	Payment Form 3 - Your initial: 
	Payment Form 3 - Your Last name: 
	Payment Form 3 - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Payment Form 3 - Address (number and street) PO box or PMB number: 
	Payment Form 3 - Apartment number/suite number: 
	Payment Form 3 - City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions): 
	Payment Form 3 - 2 letter State abbreviation: 
	Payment Form 3 - Zip code, maximum 9 digits: 
	Payment Form 3 - Amount of payment ($): 
	Payment Form 4 - Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: 
	Payment Form 4 - Your first name: 
	Payment Form 4 - Your initial: 
	Payment Form 4 - Your Last name: 
	Payment Form 4 - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Payment Form 4 - Address (number and street) PO box or PMB number: 
	Payment Form 4 - Apartment number/suite number: 
	Payment Form 4 - City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions): 
	Payment Form 4 - 2 letter State abbreviation: 
	Payment Form 4 - Zip code, maximum 9 digits: 
	Payment Form 4 - Amount of payment ($): 
	Line A: 
	 Taxable income from Form 540, line 19, or Form 540NR, line 35: 

	Line C: 
	 Subtotal: 

	Line E: 
	 Mental Health Services Tax - Multiply line C by line D: 
	 Enter this amount here and on line 17 of the 2021 CA Estimated Tax Worksheet, on the next page: 


	Line 5a: 
	 Residents: Skip to line 6a: 
	 Nonresidents and part-year residents: Enter your estimated 2021 California taxable income from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 5: 


	Line 5b: 
	 Residents: Skip to line 6a: 
	 Nonresidents and part-year residents: Compute the CA Tax Rate: Divide Tax on total taxable income from line 4 by Total taxable income from line 3: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 



	Line 5c: 
	 Residents: Skip to line 6a: 
	 Nonresidents and part-year residents: Multiply the amount on line 5a by the CA Tax Rate on line 5b: 


	Line 6a: 
	 Residents: Enter the exemption credit amount from the 2020 instructions for Form 540: 

	Line 6b: 
	 Nonresidents or part-year residents: Enter the CA credit proration percentage: 
	 Divide line 5a by line 3: 
	 If more than 1 enter 1: 
	0000: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 





	Line 12: 
	 Subtract line 11 from line 10: 
	 2019 federal AGI decimal amount (from 2019 form FTB 3506, instructions for line 7): 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 


	Line 13: 
	 Other credits (such as other state tax credit): 
	 See the 2020 instructions for Form 540, or Form 540NR: 

	 Multiply line 10 by line 12: 
	 Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation, subject to California withholding: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Line 14: 
	 Subtract line 13 from line 12: 
	 IHSS payments: 
	 See instructions ($): 

	 2019 California AGI decimal amount (from 2019 form FTB 3506, instructions for line 9): 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 


	Line 15: 
	 Interest on deferred tax from installment obligations under IRC Sections 453 or 453A: 
	 Multiply line 13 by line 14: 
	 Enter the result here and on your 2020 form FTB 3506, Side 1, Part III, line 11: 

	 Prison inmate wages and/or pension or annuity from a nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a nongovernmental IRC Section 457 plan: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Line 16: 
	 Alternative Minimum Tax: 
	 See Schedule P (540 or 540NR): 

	 Subtract line 14 and line 15 from line 13 ($): 

	Line 19a: 
	 Multiply line 18 by 90% (: 
	90): 
	 Farmers and fishermen multiply line 18 by 66 and two-third % (: 
	6667): 




	Line 19b: 
	 Enter the sum of line 48, line 61, and line 62 from your 2020 Form 540 or the sum of line 63, line 71, and line 72 from your Form 540NR: 

	Line 19c: 
	 Enter the amount from your 2020 Form 540, line 17; or Form 540NR, line 32: 

	Line 19d: 
	 Is the amount on line 19c more than $150,000 ($75,000 if married/RDP filing separately)? If Yes: 
	 Go to line 19e: 
	 if No: 
	 Enter the lesser of line 19a or line 19b: 
	 Skip line 19e and 19f and go to line 20: 





	Line 19e: 
	 Multiply 110% (1: 
	10) by line 19b: 


	Line 19f: 
	 Enter the lesser of line 19a or line 19e and go to line 20 ( If your California AGI is equal to or greater than $1,000,000/$500,000 for married filing separately, use line 19a: 
	): 


	Line 20: 
	 California income tax withheld and estimated to be withheld during 2021 (include withholding on pensions, annuities, etc: 
	): 

	 California EITC: 
	 Enter amount from California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet, Part III, line 6: 
	 This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 75; or Form 540 2EZ, line 23 ($): 



	Line 21: 
	 Balance: 
	 Subtract line 20 from line 19d (or line 19f if no amount on line 19d): 
	 If less than $500 (or less than $250, if married/RDP filing separately), you do not have to make a payment at this time: 


	 CA Exemption Credit Percentage from Form 540NR, line 38: 
	 See instructions: 


	Payment form number 1: 
	 (a) Date (mm/dd/yyyy): 

	Payment form number 1 - (b) Web Pay/Credit card and confirmation number: 
	Payment form number 1 - (c) Amount paid ($): 
	Payment form number 1 - (d) 2020 overpayment applied ($): 
	Payment form number 1 - (e) Total amount paid and credited add (c) and (d) ($): 
	Payment form number 2: 
	 (a) Date (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	 (b) Web Pay/Credit card and confirmation number: 
	 (c) Amount paid ($): 
	 (d) 2020 overpayment applied ($): 
	 (e) Total amount paid and credited add (c) and (d) ($): 

	Payment form number 3: 
	 (a) Date (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	 (b) Web Pay/Credit card and confirmation number: 
	 (c) Amount paid ($): 
	 (d) 2020 overpayment applied ($): 
	 (e) Total amount paid and credited add (c) and (d) ($): 

	Payment form number 4: 
	 (a) Date (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	 (b) Web Pay/Credit card and confirmation number: 
	 (c) Amount paid ($): 
	 (d) 2020 overpayment applied ($): 
	 (e) Total amount paid and credited add (c) and (d) ($): 

	Total - (c) Amount paid ($): 
	Total - (d) 2020 overpayment applied ($): 
	Total - (e) Total amount paid and credited add (c) and (d) ($): 
	Form 3506 - Name(s) as shown on tax return: 
	Form 3506 - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 13: 
	 Enter the total amount of Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits you received for 2020: 
	 This amount should be shown in box 10 of your federal Form(s) W-2: 
	 Do not include amounts that were reported to you as wages in box 1 of federal Form(s) W-2: 
	 If you were self-employed or a partner, include amounts you received under a dependent care assistance program from your sole proprietorship or partnership ($): 




	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 14: 
	 Enter the amount, if any, you carried over from 2019 and used in 2020 during the grace period ($): 

	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 15: 
	 Enter the amount, if any, you forfeited or carried forward to 2021 ($): 

	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 16: 
	 Combine line 13 through line 15 ($): 

	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 17: 
	 Enter the total amount of qualified expenses incurred in 2020 for the care of the qualifying person(s): 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 18: 
	 Enter the smaller of line 16 or line 17 ($): 

	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 19: 
	 Enter YOUR earned income ($): 

	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 21: 
	 Enter the smallest of line 18, line 19, or line 20 ($): 

	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 23: 
	 Enter the amount from line 13 that you received from your sole proprietorship or partnership: 
	 If you did not receive any amounts, enter 0 ($): 


	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 24: 
	 Subtract line 23 from line 16 ($): 

	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 25: 
	 Deductible benefits: 
	 Enter the smallest of line 21, line 22, or line 23 ($): 


	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 26: 
	 Excluded benefits: 
	 Subtract line 25 from the smaller of line 21 or line 22: 
	 If zero or less, enter 0 ($): 



	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 27: 
	 Taxable benefits: 
	 Subtract line 26 from line 24: 
	 If zero or less, enter 0 ($): 



	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 28: 
	 Enter $3,000 ($6,000 if two or more qualifying persons) ($): 

	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 29: 
	 Add line 25 and line 26 ($): 

	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 30: 
	 Subtract the amount on line 29 from the amount on line 28: 
	 If zero or less, stop: 
	 You do not qualify for the credit: 
	 Exception - If you paid 2019 expenses in 2020, see instructions for line 11 ($): 




	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 31: 
	 Complete Side 1, Part III, line 2: 
	 Add the amounts in column (e) and enter the total here ($): 


	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line: 
	 32 Enter the amount from your federal Form 2441, Part III, line 31 ($): 
	 33 Enter the smaller of line 30, line 31, or line 32: 
	 Also, enter this amount on Side 1, Part III, line 3 and complete Part III, line 4 through line 12 ($): 


	Form (3514) - Name(s) as shown on tax return: 
	Form (3514) - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 5: 
	 First Name - Child 1: 
	 First Name - Child 2: 
	 First Name - Child 3: 

	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 6: 
	 Last Name - Child 1: 
	 Last Name - Child 2: 
	 Last Name - Child 3: 

	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 7: 
	 Social Security Number or ITIN (9 digits): 
	 See Instructions - Child 1: 
	 See Instructions - Child 2: 
	 See Instructions - Child 3: 


	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 8: 
	 Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	 If born after 2001 and the child is younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b; go to line 10 - Child 1: 
	 If born after 2001 and the child is younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b; go to line 10 - Child 2: 
	 If born after 2001 and the child is younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b; go to line 10 - Child 3: 


	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 9a: 
	 Was the child under age 24 at the end of 2020, a student, and younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly)? If yes, go to line 10: 
	 If no, go to line 9b: 
	 See instructions - Child 1: Off
	 See instructions - Child 2: Off
	 See instructions - Child 3: Off



	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 9b: 
	 Was the child permanently and totally disabled during any part of 2020? If yes, go to line 10: 
	 If no, stop here: 
	 The child is not a qualifying child - Child 1: Off
	 The child is not a qualifying child - Child 2: Off
	 The child is not a qualifying child - Child 3: Off



	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 10: 
	 Child's relationship to you: 
	 See instructions - Child 1: 
	 See instructions - Child 2: 
	 See instructions - Child 3: 


	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 11: 
	 Number of days child lived with you in California during 2020: 
	 Do not enter more than 366 days: 
	 See instructions - Child 1: 
	 See instructions - Child 2: 
	 See instructions - Child 3: 



	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 12a: 
	 Childs physical address during 2020 (number, street, and apartment number/suite number): 
	 See instructions - Child 1: 
	 See instructions - Child 2: 
	 See instructions - Child 3: 


	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 12b: 
	 City - Child 1: 
	 City - Child 2: 
	 City - Child 3: 

	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 12c: 
	 2 letter state abbreviation - Child 1: 
	 2 letter state abbreviation - Child 2: 
	 2 letter state abbreviation - Child 3: 

	Part III - Qualifying Child Information - Line 12d: 
	 ZIP code, maximum 9 digits - Child 1: 
	 ZIP code, maximum 9 digits - Child 2: 
	 ZIP code, maximum 9 digits - Child 3: 

	Line 18a: 
	 Business name: 

	Line 18b: 
	 Business address: 
	 City, State and Zip Code: 

	Line 18c: 
	 Business license number: 

	Line 18d: 
	 SEIN: 

	Line 18e: 
	 Business Code: 

	Line 19: 
	 California Earned Income: 
	 Add line 16, line 17 and line 18 ($): 


	Line 22: 
	 Nonresident or Part-Year Resident EITC: 
	 Multiply line 20 by line 21: 
	 This amount should also be entered on Form 540NR, line 85 ($): 



	Line 23: 
	 California Earned Income: 
	 Enter the amount from form FTB 3514, line 19 ($): 


	Line 25: 
	 Excess Earned Income over threshold: 
	 Subtract $25,000 from line 23 ($): 


	Line 26: 
	 Divide line 25 by 100: 
	 Enter the result as a decimal out to two decimal places, do not round: 


	Line 28: 
	 Young Child Tax Credit: 
	 If you did not need to complete lines 25 through 27, your credit is the $1,000 from line 24: 
	 If you completed lines 25 through 27, to compute your credit, subtract line 27 from line 24: 
	 If your credit amount is between $0 and $1, enter $1: 
	 If your credit amount is over $1, round to the nearest whole dollar: 
	 This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 76; or Form 540 2EZ, line 24 ($): 






	Line 29: 
	 CA Exemption Credit Percentage from Form 540NR, line 38: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Enter digits including decimal: 



	Line 30: 
	 Nonresident or Part-Year Resident YCTC: 
	 Multiply line 28 by line 29: 
	 This amount should also be entered on Form 540NR, line 86 ($): 



	Interest and Dividends - Line 1: 
	 Add and enter the amounts from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 2a and line 2b: 

	Interest and Dividends - Line 3: 
	 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 3b: 

	Capital Gain Net Income - Line 5: 
	 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 7: 
	 If the result is less than zero, enter 0: 


	Capital Gain Net Income - Line 6: 
	 Enter the gain from federal Form 4797 Sales of Business Property, line 7: 
	 If the amount on that line is a loss, enter 0: 
	 (But, if you completed federal Form 4797, line 8 and line 9, enter the amount from line 9 instead): 



	Capital Gain Net Income - Line 7: 
	 Subtract line 6 from line 5: 
	 (If the result is less than zero, enter 0): 


	Passive Activities - Line 8: 
	 Enter the total of net income from passive activities included on federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), Additional Income and Adjustments to Income, line 5: 

	Other Activities - Line 9: 
	 Enter any income from the rental of personal property included on federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 8: 
	 If the result is zero or less, enter 0: 


	Other Activities - Line 10: 
	 Enter any expenses related to the rental of personal property included as a write‑in adjustment on federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 22: 

	Other Activities - Line 11: 
	 Subtract line 10 from line 9: 
	 (If the result is less than zero, enter 0): 


	Investment Income - Line 12: 
	 Add the amounts on lines 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, and 11: 
	 Enter the total: 
	 This is your investment income: 



	Part I - Total Taxable Income - Line 1: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 17: 
	 If a negative amount, enter as negative: 


	Part I - Total Taxable Income - Line 2: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540NR, line 18: 

	Part I - Total Taxable Income - Line 3: 
	 Part I - Total Taxable Income: 
	 Subtract line 2 from line 1: 
	 Enter the negative result here: 



	Part II - California Taxable Income - Line 4: 
	 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 1: 
	 If a negative amount, enter as negative: 


	Part II - California Taxable Income - Line 5: 
	 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 4: 

	Part II - California Taxable Income - Line 6: 
	 California Taxable Income: 
	 Subtract line 5 from line 4: 
	 If a negative amount, enter as negative: 



	Part III - CA Exemption Credit Percentage - Line 7: 
	 Subtract line 6 from line 3: 
	 If a negative amount, enter as negative: 


	Part III - CA Exemption Credit Percentage - Line 8: 
	 Enter the amount from line 3 as a positive amount: 

	Part III - CA Exemption Credit Percentage - Line 9: 
	 Divide line 7 by line 8: 
	 Enter amount as a decimal: 


	Part III - CA Exemption Credit Percentage - Line 10: 
	 CA Exemption Credit Percentage: 
	 Subtract line 9 from 1: 
	000: 
	 If more than 1, enter 1: 
	000: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 
	 Enter the result as a decimal here and on form FTB 3514, line 21 or line 29: 







	Your Income ($): 
	Amount at the beginning of your range ($): 
	Result from Step 2 ($): 
	Step 3 - Result from Step 2 ($): 
	Percentage for your range: 
	Amount from Step 3 ($): 
	Step 4 - Amount from Step 3, rounded to two decimals ($): 
	Tax amount of your income range: 
	Step 4 - Result ($): 
	Line1: 
	 Enter your earned income from: line 2 of the Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents in the instructions for federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR: 

	Form 540 - If joint tax return, spouses/RDPs first name: 
	Form 540 - Spouses/RDPs last name: 
	Form 540 - Spouses/RDPs initial: 
	Form 540 - Spouses/RDPs suffix: 
	Form 540 - Spouses/RDPs SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Date of Birth - Spouses/RDPs DOB (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Prior Name - Spouses/RDPs prior name (see instructions): 
	Filing Status - Enter spouses/RDPs SSN or ITIN above and full name here: 
	Contributions - Code 401 - Alzheimers Disease and Related Dementia Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Contributions - Code 406 - California Firefighters Memorial Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund ($): 
	Print Third Party Designees Name: 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - If joint payment, spouses/RDPs first name: 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - Spouses/RDPs Initial: 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - Spouses/RDPs Last name: 
	Form 3519 (PIT) - Spouses/RDPs SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Payment Form 2 - If joint payment, spouses/RDPs first name: 
	Payment Form 2 - Spouses/RDPs initial: 
	Payment Form 2 - Spouses/RDPs Last name: 
	Payment Form 2 - Spouses/RDPs SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Payment Form 3 - If joint payment, spouses/RDPs first name: 
	Payment Form 3 - Spouses/RDPs initial: 
	Payment Form 3 - Spouses/RDPs Last name: 
	Payment Form 3 - Spouses/RDPs SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Payment Form 4 - If joint payment, spouses/RDPs first name: 
	Payment Form 4 - Spouses/RDPs initial: 
	Payment Form 4 - Spouses/RDPs Last name: 
	Payment Form 4 - Spouses/RDPs SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 20: 
	 If married or an RDP filing a joint return, enter YOUR SPOUSES/RDPs earned income (if your spouse/RDP was a student or was disabled, see the instructions for line 5); if married or an RDP filing a separate tax return, see the instructions for the amount to enter; all others, enter the amount from line 19 ($): 

	Part IV - Dependent Care Benefits - Line 22: 
	 Enter $5,000 ($2,500 if married or an RDP filing separately and you were required to enter your spouses/RDPs earned income on line 20) ($): 

	Interest and Dividends - Line 2: 
	 Enter the amount from federal Form 8814, Parents Election to Report Childs Interest and Dividends, line 1b: 

	Interest and Dividends - Line 4: 
	 Enter any amounts from federal Form 8814, line 12 for childs interest and dividends: 

	Page 32 - Your name: 
	Page 33 - Your name: 
	Page 34 - Your name: 
	Page 35 - Your name: 
	Page 35 - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Page 34 - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Page 33 - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Page 32 - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Refund and Direct Deposit - Line 116: 
	 All or the following amount of my refund (line 115) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below - Direct deposit amount ($): 

	Refund and Direct Deposit -  Line 116: 
	 All or the following amount of my refund (line 115) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below - Account number: 
	 All or the following amount of my refund (line 115) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below - Type: Off
	 All or the following amount of my refund (line 115) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below - Routing number (9 digits): 

	Refund and Direct Deposit -  Line 117: 
	 The remaining amount of my refund (line 115) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below - Direct deposit amount ($): 
	 The remaining amount of my refund (line 115) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below - Account number: 
	 The remaining amount of my refund (line 115) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below - Type: Off
	 The remaining amount of my refund (line 115) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below - Routing number (9 digits): 

	Firms name (or yours, if self-employed): 
	Firms FEIN (9 digits): 
	Firms address: 
	SCHEDULE CA 540 SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	SCHEDULE CA 540 Name(s) as shown on tax return: 
	Job Expenses and Certain Miscellaneous Deductions - Line 24: 
	 Multiply line 23 by 2% (0: 
	02): 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 



	Part I - Source of Income/Funds (1): 
	Part I - Source of Income/Funds (2): 
	Part I - Source of Income/Funds (3): 
	Part I -  Amount (1): 
	Part I -  Amount (2): 
	Part I -  Amount (3): 
	Part I -  Amount (4): 
	Part I -  Amount (5): 
	Part I -  Amount (6): 
	Part I - Source of Income/Funds (4): 
	Part I - Source of Income/Funds (5): 
	Part I - Source of Income/Funds (6): 
	Part II - Line 1a: 
	 Care providers name - Provider (1): 
	 Care providers name - Provider (2): 

	Part II - Line 1b: 
	 Care providers address (number, street, apartment number, city, state, and ZIP code) - Provider (1): 
	 Care providers address (number, street, apartment number, city, state, and ZIP code) - Provider (2): 

	Part II - Line 1c: 
	 Care providers telephone number - Provider (1): 
	 Care providers telephone number - Provider (2): 

	Part II - Line 1d: 
	 Is provider a person or organization? - Provider (1): Off
	 Is provider a person or organization? - Provider (2): Off

	Part II - Line 1e: 
	 Identification number (SSN, ITIN, or FEIN) (9 digits) - Provider (1): 
	 Identification number (SSN, ITIN, or FEIN) (9 digits) - Provider (2): 

	Part II - Line 1f: 
	 Address where care was provided (number, street, apartment number, city, state, and ZIP code) PO Box not acceptable - Provider (1): 
	 Address where care was provided (number, street, apartment number, city, state, and ZIP code) PO Box not acceptable - Provider (2): 

	Part II - Line 1g: 
	 Amount paid for care provided - Provider (1): 
	 Amount paid for care provided - Provider (2): 

	Part III - Line 2: 
	 Information about your qualifying person(s) - (a): 
	 Qualifying persons name - First (1): 
	 Qualifying persons name - First (2): 
	 Qualifying persons name - First (3): 
	 Qualifying persons name - Last (1): 
	 Qualifying persons name - Last (2): 
	 Qualifying persons name - Last (3): 

	 Information about your qualifying person(s) - (b): 
	 Qualifying persons social security number (S S N) (9 digits) (See instructions) (1): 
	 Qualifying persons social security number (S S N) (9 digits) (See instructions) (2): 
	 Qualifying persons social security number (S S N) (9 digits) (See instructions) (3): 

	 Information about your qualifying person(s) - (c): 
	 Qualifying persons date of birth (DOB - mm/dd/yyyy) or disability status - DOB (1): 
	 Qualifying persons date of birth (DOB - mm/dd/yyyy) or disability status - DOB (2): 
	 Qualifying persons date of birth (DOB - mm/dd/yyyy) or disability status - DOB (3): 
	 Qualifying persons date of birth (DOB - mm/dd/yyyy) or disability status - Disabled (1): Off
	 Qualifying persons date of birth (DOB - mm/dd/yyyy) or disability status - Disabled (2): Off
	 Qualifying persons date of birth (DOB - mm/dd/yyyy) or disability status - Disabled (3): Off

	 Information about your qualifying person(s) - (d): 
	 Percentage of physical custody (See instructions) (1): 
	 Percentage of physical custody (See instructions) (2): 
	 Percentage of physical custody (See instructions) (3): 

	 Information about your qualifying person(s) - (e): 
	 Qualified expenses you incurred and paid in 2020 for the qualifying persons care in California (1): 
	 Qualified expenses you incurred and paid in 2020 for the qualifying persons care in California (2): 
	 Qualified expenses you incurred and paid in 2020 for the qualifying persons care in California (3): 


	Part III - Line 3: 
	 Add the amounts in column (e) of line 2: 
	 Do not enter more than $3,000 for one qualifying person or $6,000 for two or more qualifying persons: 
	 If you completed Side 2, Part IV, enter the amount from line 33 ($): 



	Part III - Line 4: 
	 Enter YOUR earned income: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Part III - Line 5: 
	 If married or an RDP filing a joint return, enter YOUR SPOUSES/RDPs earned income: 
	 (If your spouse/RDP was a student or was disabled, see the instructions: 
	) If you are not filing a joint tax return, enter the amount from line 4 ($): 



	Part III - Line 6: 
	 Enter the smallest of line 3, line 4, or line 5 ($): 

	Part III - Line 7: 
	 Enter the decimal amount shown in the chart of the instructions for line 7: 
	  Enter 6 digits including decimal: 


	Part III - Line 8: 
	 Multiply line 6 by the decimal amount on line 7 ($): 

	Part III - Line 9: 
	 Enter the decimal amount listed in the chart of the instructions for line 9: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 


	Part III - Line 10: 
	 Multiply the amount on line 8 by the decimal amount on line 9 ($): 

	Part III - Line 11: 
	 Credit for prior year expenses paid in 2020: 
	 See instructions ($): 


	Part III - Line 12: 
	 Add line 10 and line 11: 
	 Enter the amount here and on Form 540, line 40; or Form 540NR, line 50 ($): 




