2019 Instructions for Form FTB 3586



What's New

Net Operating Loss (NOL) Carrybacks – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, NOL carrybacks are not allowed. The provision under California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 19131.5 which allowed corporations or exempt organizations expecting a NOL carryback an extension of time to pay tax, is also no longer allowed.

General Information

Use form FTB 3586, Payment Voucher for Corporations and Exempt Organizations e-filed Returns, to pay the tax due only if the corporation or exempt organization meets all of the following:

- Files its tax return electronically
- · Has a balance due
- Remits payment with a check or money order
- Is not required to remit payment electronically

If a limited liability company (LLC) elects to be taxed as a corporation for federal tax purposes, the LLC must file form FTB 3586 and enter the California corporation number, Federal employer identification number (FEIN), and California Secretary of State (CA SOS) file number, if applicable, in the space provided. The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) will (1) assign an identification number to an LLC that files as a corporation, and (2) notify the LLC with the identification number upon receipt of the first estimated tax payment, first tax payment, or the first tax return. The LLC will be subject to the applicable provisions of the Corporation Tax Law and should be considered a corporation for purpose of all instructions unless otherwise indicated.

Private Mail Box (PMB) – Include the PMB in the address field. Write "PMB" first, then the box number. Example: 111 Main Street PMB 123.

Electronic Payment

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

Corporations or exempt organizations remitting an estimated tax payment or extension payment in excess of \$20,000 or having a total tax liability in excess of \$80,000 must remit all payments through EFT. Once a corporation or exempt organization meets the threshold, all subsequent payments regardless of amount. tax type, or taxable year must be remitted electronically to avoid a 10% non-compliance penalty. The first payment that would trigger the mandatory EFT requirement does not have to be made electronically. Corporations or exempt organizations required to remit payments electronically may use electronic funds withdrawal (EFW), Web Pay, or a credit card and be considered in compliance with that requirement. The FTB notifies corporations or exempt organizations that are subject to this requirement. Those that do not meet these requirements may participate on a voluntary basis. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for eft or call 916.845.4025.

Electronic Funds Withdrawal (EFW)

Corporations can make an estimated tax and extension payment using tax preparation software. Check with the software provider to determine if they support EFW for estimated tax or extension payments. Exempt organizations can use EFW to make a return payment when e-filing Form 199, California Exempt Organization Annual Information Return.

Neb Pay

Corporations or exempt organizations can make payments online using Web Pay for Businesses. Corporations or exempt organizations can make an immediate payment or schedule payments up to a year in advance. Go to **ftb.ca.gov/pay** for more information.

Credit Card

Corporations or exempt organizations can use Discover, MasterCard, Visa or American Express Card to pay business taxes. Go to **officialpayments.com**. Official Payments Corporation charges a convenience fee for using this service.

If the corporation or exempt organization remits its payment electronically, **do not** mail the payment voucher.

Specific Instructions

Is form FTB 3586 preprinted with the corporation's or exempt organization's information?

Yes. Go to number 1. No. Go to number 2.

 Verify the corporation's or exempt organization's name and address, California corporation number, FEIN, CA SOS file number, telephone number, and amount of payment information is correct before mailing the voucher and the check or money order.

If a change is needed to the information, use black or blue ink to draw a line through the incorrect information. Scanning machines may not be able to read other colors. Clearly print the new information. Then, go to number 3.

continued on next page

	IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO N	OT MAIL THIS VOUCHER Calendar year S corporatio		
Calendar year exempt organ	ns – File and Pay by April 15, 2020. nizations – File and Pay_by May_15, 2020.	•		r filers – See instructions.
TAXABLE YEAR Payme	nt Voucher for Corpora	itions		CALIFORNIA FORM
2019 and Ex	empt Organizations e-	filed Returns		3586 (e-file)
or calendar year 2019 or fisca	ıl year beginning (mm/dd/yyyy)	, and ending (mm/dd/	уууу)	
California corporation number	FEIN	California Secretary of State (SOS	6) file numbe	er
Corporation/exempt organization name				payment is for Form: 00, 100W, or 100S
Address (suite, room, or PMB no.)			'	
Dity			State	ZIP code
Telephone	Do not mail a copy of the tax return wit Caution: You may be required to pay elect		Amount of	payment

6181193 FTB 3586 2019

- If there is a balance due, complete the voucher included in these instructions with black or blue ink. Scanning machines may not be able to read other ink colors. Print the corporation's or exempt organization's name and address (in CAPITAL LETTERS), California corporation number, FEIN, CA SOS file number, telephone number, and amount of payment in the space provided.
- The information on form FTB 3586 should match the information that was electronically transmitted to the FTB and the information printed on the paper copy of the corporation's or exempt organization's 2019 tax return.

Using black or blue ink, make the check or money order payable to the "Franchise Tax Board." Write the California corporation number, FEIN, CA SOS file number and "2019 FTB 3586" on the check or money order. A penalty may be imposed if the payment is returned by the bank for insufficient funds.

Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn against a U.S. financial institution.

4. Enclose, but **do not** staple the check or money order with voucher and mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD PO BOX 942857 SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0531

When to Make Payment

If there is a balance due on the corporation's or exempt organization's 2019 tax return, mail form FTB 3586 with the payment to the address listed under Specific Instructions, number 4.

Payment of Tax Due Dates:

Form 100 or 100W

Calendar Year April 15, 2020

Fiscal Year 15th day of the 4th month following the close of the

taxable year.

Form 100S

Calendar Year March 16, 2020

Fiscal Year 15th day of the 3rd month following the close of the

taxable year.

Form 100 for farmers' cooperative

Calendar Year September 15, 2020

Fiscal Year 15th day of the 9th month following the close of the

taxable year.

Form 199

Calendar Year May 15, 2020

Fiscal Year 15th day of the 5th month

following the close of the

taxable year.

When the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline to file and pay without penalty is extended to the next business day.

Penalties and Interest

If the corporation or exempt organization fails to pay its total tax liability by the original due date, the corporation or exempt organization will incur a late payment penalty plus interest. The FTB may waive the late payment penalty based on reasonable cause. Reasonable cause is presumed when 90% of the tax shown on the return, but not less than minimum franchise tax if applicable, is paid by the original due date of the return. However, the imposition of interest is mandatory.

If the corporation or exempt organization does not file its California tax return by the extended due date, or the corporation's powers, rights, and privileges have been suspended or forfeited by the FTB or the CA SOS as of the original due date, the automatic extension will not apply and a delinquency penalty plus interest will be assessed from the original due date of the California tax return.

If the corporation or exempt organization is required to remit all of its payments electronically and pays by another method, a 10% non-compliance penalty will be assessed.