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Important Dates

When the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline to file and pay without penalty is extended to the next business day.

April 18, 2016**
See form FTB 3519 for more information.

considered timely.

Last day to file and pay the 2015 amount you owe to avoid penalties and interest.* See form FTB 3519 for more information.
* If you are living or traveling outside the United States on April 18, 2016, the dates for filing your tax return and paying your tax are different.

**Due to the Emancipation Day holiday on April 16, 2016, tax returns filed and payments mailed or submitted on April 18, 2016, will be

October 17, 2016

Last day to file or e-file your 2015 tax return to avoid a late filing penalty and interest computed from the original due date of April 15, 2016.

April 18, 2016*
June 15, 2016
September 15, 2016
January 17, 2017

questions, and enter code 208.

considered timely.

The dates for 2016 estimated tax payments. Generally, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if your California withholding in

each payment period totals 90% of your required annual payment. Also, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if you will pay
enough through withholding to keep the amount you owe with your tax return under $500 ($250 if married/registered domestic partner (RDP)
filing separately). However, if you do not pay enough tax either through withholding or by making estimated tax payments, you may have an
underpayment of estimated tax penalty. For more information call 800.338.0505, select personal income tax, then select frequently asked

* Due to the Emancipation Day holiday on April 16, 2016, tax returns filed and payments mailed or submitted on April 18, 2016, will be

$$9 for You
Earned Income Tax Credit

e Federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EIC) — EIC reduces your federal tax
obligation, or allows a refund if no federal tax is due. You may qualify if
you earned less than $47,747 ($53,267 if married filing jointly) and have
qualifying children or you have no qualifying children and you earned less
than $14,820 ($20,330 if married filing jointly). Call the Internal Revenue
Service (IRS) at 800.829.4477 and when instructed enter topic 601, see the
federal income tax booklet; or go to the IRS website at irs.gov and search for
eitc assistant.

e (California Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) — EITC reduces your California
tax obligation, or allows a refund if no California tax is due. You may qualify if
you have wage income earned in California of less than $13,870. You do not
need a child to qualify. For more information go to fth.ca.gov and search for
EITC or get form FTB 3514 — California Earned Income Tax Credit.

Refund of Excess State Disahility Insurance (SDI) - If you worked for at least
two employers during 2015 who together paid you more than $104,378 in wages,
you may qualify for a refund of excess SDI. See the instructions on page 29.

Common Errors and How to Prevent Them

Help us process your tax return quickly and accurately. When we find an error,

it requires us to stop to verify the information on the tax return, which slows

processing. The most common errors consist of:

e (laiming the wrong amount of estimated tax payments
Claiming the wrong amount of standard deduction or itemized deductions

e Making tax computation errors

e (laiming the wrong amount of real estate and other withholding

e (laiming the wrong amount of withholding tax credit by incorrectly totaling or
transferring the amounts from your withholding documents.

To avoid errors and to help process your tax return faster, use these helpful hints
when preparing your tax return.

CIalmlng estimated tax payments:
Verify the amount of estimated tax payments claimed on your tax return
matches what you sent to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) for that year. Go
to fth.ca.gov and search for myfth account to view your total estimated tax
payments before you file your tax return.

e \Verify the overpayment amount from your 2014 tax return you requested to
be applied to your 2015 estimated tax.

e |fthe FTB records do not match the amount of estimated tax payments
claimed, a “Return Information Notice” will be sent explaining the difference.

Claiming state disability insurance:

e Verify the amount of State Disability Insurance (SDI) used to figure the
amount of excess SDI claimed on Form 540NR, line 84, matches amounts
from your W-2’s.

Claiming standard deduction or itemized deductions:

e \Verify the adjusted gross income amount on Form 540NR, line 17 is
calculated correctly

e See Form 540NR, line 18 instructions and worksheets for the amount of
standard deduction or itemized deductions you can claim.

Computing your tax:

e (Carry all percentages out four digits to the right of the decimal.

e Verify the total tax amount on Form 540NR, line 74 is calculated correctly.

e (o to fth.ca.gov and search for tax calculator to compute your tax with the
tax calculator or with the tax tables.

e | ocate the correct tax amount from the tax table and transfer it to your tax
return correctly.

e Verify any affected schedule to ensure that the total tax amount is correctly
transferred over.

Claiming real estate and other withholding:

e Only claim withholding from Forms 592-B and 593 for tax year 2015.

e (Claim withholding from Forms 592-B and 593 on Form 540NR Long, line 83. Do
not include withholding from Form W-2 or estimated tax payments on line 83.

By using the helpful hints above, you assist in preventing delays in processing
your tax return and unnecessary account adjustments.
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Do | Have to File?

Steps to Determine Filing Requirement

If you are a nonresident of California and received income in 2015 with
sources in California, go to Step 1. For more details see page 6.

Step 1: Is your gross income (gross income is computed under California law
and consists of all income you received from all sources in the form of money,
goods, property, and services, that is not exempt from tax) more than the amount
shown in the California Gross Income chart below for your filing status, age, and
number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, go to Step 2.

Step 2: Is your adjusted gross income (adjusted gross income is computed
under California law and consists of your federal adjusted gross income from
all sources, reduced or increased by all California income adjustments) more

than the amount shown in the California Adjusted Gross Income chart below

for your filing status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing
requirement. If no, go to Step 3.

Step 3: If your income is less than the amounts on the chart you may still have a
filing requirement. See “Requirements for Children with Investment Income” and
“Other Situations When You Must File.” Do those instructions apply to you? If
yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, go to step 4.

Step 4: Are you married/registered domestic partner (RDP) filing separately with
separate property income? If no, you do not have a filing requirement. If yes,
prepare a tax return. If you owe tax, you have a filing requirement.

Active duty military personnel, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military
Personnel.

On 12/31/15, and on 12/31/15, California Gross Income California Adjusted Gross Income
my filing status was: my age was: Dependents Dependents
(If your 65th birthday is on January 1,
2016, you are considered to be age 65 on 2 2
December 31, 2015) 1 or more 0 1 or more
Single or Under 65 16,256 27,489 35,914 13,005 24,238 32,663
Head of household 65 or older 21,706 30,131 36,871 18,455 26,880 33,620
Married/RDP filing jointly Under 65 (both spouses/RDPs) 32,514 43,747 52,172 26,012 37,245 45,670
Married/RDP filing separately 65 or older (one spouse/RDP) 37,964 46,389 53,129 31,462 39,887 46,627
(The income of both spouses/RDPs must
bo combinbd: both spevseuRDPe may ne | 00 OF Older (both spouses/RDPs) | 43,414 51,839 58,579 36,912 45,337 52,077
required to file a tax return even if only one
spouse/RDP had income over the amounts
listed.)
Qualifying widow(er) Under 65 27,489 35,914 24,238 32,663
65 or older 30,131 36,871 26,880 33,620
Dependent of another person |Any age More than your standard deduction (Use the California Standard Deduction
Any filing status Worksheet for Dependents on page 25 to figure your standard deduction.)

Requirements for Children with Investment Income

California law conforms to federal law which allows parents’ election to report
a child’s interest and dividend income from children under age 19 or a student
under age 24 on the parent’s tax return. For each child under age 19 and
student under age 24 who received more than $2,100 of investment income in
2015, complete Long Form 540NR and form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for
Certain Children with Investment Income, to figure the tax on a separate Long
Form 540NR for your child.

If you qualify, you may elect to report your child’s income of $10,500 or less (but
not less than fl 1,050) on your return by completing form FTB 3803, Parents’
Election to Report Chlld s Interest and Dividends. To make this elecnon your
child’s income must be only from interest and/or dividends. See “Order Forms
and Publications” or go to fth.ca.gov.

Other Situations When You Must File

If you have a tax liability for 2015 or owe any of the following taxes for 2015, you
must file Long Form 540NR.
Tax on a lump-sum distribution.
¢ Tax on a qualified retirement plan including an Individual Retirement
Arrangement (IRA) or an Archer Medical Savings Account.
e Tax for children under age 19 or a student under age 24 who have investment
income greater than $2,100 (see paragraph above).
Alternative minimum tax.
Recapture taxes.
Deferred tax on certain installment obligations.
Tax on an accumulation distribution from a trust.

Filing Status

Use the same filing status for California that you used for your federal income tax
return, unless you are an RDP. If you are an RDP and file single for federal, you
must file married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately for California.
If you are an RDP and file head of household for federal, you may file head of
household for California only if you meet the requirements to be considered not in
a domestic partnership.

Exception: If you file a joint tax return for federal, you may file separately for

Callfornla if either spouse was:
An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary military
branch during 2015.

e Anonresident for the entire year and had no income from California sources
during 2015.

Community Property States: If the spouse earning the California source
income is domiciled in a community property state, community income

will be split equally between the spouses. Both spouses will have California
source income and they will not qualify for the nonresident spouse exception.

If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for California
you would have used to file a federal income tax return.

Single

You are single if any of the following is true on December 31, 2015:

e You were never married or an RDP.

e You were divorced under a final decree of divorce, legally separated under a final
decree of legal separation, or terminated your registered domestic partnership.

e You were widowed before January 1, 2015, and did not remarry or enter into
another registered domestic partnership in 2015.

Married/RDP Filing Jointly

You may file married/RDP filing jointly if any of the following is true:

e You were married or an RDP as of December 31, 2015, even if you did not live
with your spouse/RDP at the end of 2015.

e Your spouse/RDP died in 2015 and you did not remarry or enter another
registered domestic partnership in 2015.

e Your spouse/RDP died in 2016 before you filed a 2015 tax return.

Marrled/RDP Filing Separately
Community property rules apply to the division of income if you use
the married/RDP filing separately status. For more information, get FTB
Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status, FTB PU. 737, Tax
Information for Registered Domestic Partners, FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for
Married/RDP Filing Separate Returns, or FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for
Military Personnel. See “Order Forms and Publications” or go to fth.ca.gov.

e You cannot claim a personal exemption credit for your spouse/RDP even if
your spouse/RDP had no income, Is not filing a tax return, and is not claimed
as a dependent on another person’s tax return.

e You may be able to file as head of household if you had a child living with you
a?%/?u lived apart from your spouse/RDP during the entire last six months
0 5.

Head of Household

For the specific requirements that must be met to qualify for head of household

(HOH) filing status, get FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of Household Filing

Status. In general, head of household filing status is for unmarried individuals

and certain married individuals or RDPs living apart who provide a home for a

specified relative. You may be entitled to use head of household filing status if all

of the following apply:
You were unmarried and not in a registered domestic partnership, or you met
the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered not in a registered
domestic partnership on December 31, 2015.

° _\(01210p1aSid more than one-half the cost of keeping up your home for the year
in .

e For more than half the year, your home was the main home for you and one of the
specified relatives who by law can qualify you for head of household filing status.

e You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.

For a child to qualify as your foster child for head of household purposes, the

child must either be placed with you by an authorized placement agency or by

order of a court.

California requires taxpayers who use head of household filing status to file form

FTB 3532, Head of Household Filing Status Schedule to report how the HOH filing

status was determined.
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For more information, get FTB Pub. 1540 at fth.ca.gov or see code 934 on
page 83 to order FTB Pub.1540 by telephone.

Qualifying Widow(er) with Dependent Child

Check the box on Long or Short Form 540NR, line 5 and use the joint tax return

tax rates for 2015 if all five of the following apply:

e Your spouse/RDP died in 2013 or 2014 and you did not remarry or enter into
another registered domestic partnership in 2015.

e You have a child, stepchild, adopted child, or foster child whom you claim as
a dependent.

e This child lived in your home for all of 2015. Temporary absences, such as for
vacation or school, count as time lived in the home.

e You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for this child.
You could have filed a joint tax return with your spouse/RDP the year he or
she died, even if you actually did not do so.

What’s New and Other Important Information for 2015

Differences between California and Federal Law

In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, California law
conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015. However,
there are continuing differences between California and federal law. When
California conforms to federal tax law changes, we do not always adopt all of the
changes made at the federal level. For more information, go to fth.ca.gov and
search for conformity. Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001,
Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California
Schedule CA (540NR), and the Business Entity tax booklets.

The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of California
tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing their state income
tax returns. We include information that is most useful to the greatest number
of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is not possible to include all
requirements of the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax
booklets. Taxpayers should not consider the tax booklets as authoritative law.

Conformity — For updates regarding federal acts, go to fth.ca.gov and search for
conformity.

2015 Tax Law Changes/What’s New

Voluntary Contributions — You may contribute to the following new funds:

e State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse
e Prevention of Animal Homelessness & Cruelty Fund

Earned Income Tax Credit — For taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
2015, the refundable California Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) is available to
taxpayers who earned wage income within California. This credit is similar to
the federal Earned Income Credit (EIC). This credit is available to taxpayers with
earned income of less than $13,870. Additional information can be found on
California Form FTB 3514 - California Earned Income Tax Credit.

Payments and Credits Applied to Use Tax — For taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 2015, if a taxpayer includes use tax on their personal income tax
return, payments and credits will be applied to use tax first, then towards income
tax, interest, and penalties. Additional information can be found in the instructions
for California Form 540.

Dependent Social Security Number (SSN) - For taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 2015, taxpayers claiming an exemption credit must write
each dependent’s SSN in the spaces provided within Line 10 for the California
Form 540 and California Form 540NR (long and short).

Financial Incentive for Seismic Improvement - For taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 2015, taxpayers can exclude from gross income any amount
received as loan forgiveness, grant, credit, rebate, voucher, or other financial
incentive issued by the California Residential Mitigation Program or the California
Earthquake Authority to assist a residential property owner or occupant with
expenses paid, or obligations incurred, for earthquake loss mitigation. Additional
information can be found in the instructions for California Schedule CA (540 and
540NR).

Natural Heritage Preservation Credit — For qualified contributions made on or
after January 1, 2015, the credit carryover period has been extended to 15 years
or until exhausted, whichever occurs first. Any unused credits remaining before
January 1, 2015, will remain subject to an eight-year carryover provision. In
addition, the period for when a qualified contribution is made, for which a tax
credit will be allowed, has been extended to June 30, 2020.

Disaster Losses — For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014,

and before January 1, 2024, taxpayers may deduct a disaster loss for any loss
sustained in any city, county, or city and county in California that is proclaimed
by the Governor to be in a state of emergency. For these Governor-only declared
disasters, subsequent state legislation is not required to activate the disaster loss
provisions. Additional information can be found in the instructions for California
form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL Disaster Loss
Limitations — Individuals, Estates, and Trusts.

Slain Officer Family Support Contribution - California does not conform to

the federal Slain Officer Family Support Act of 2015, enacted April 1, 2015.

For federal, taxpayers can choose to treat cash contributions for the relief of

the families of slain New York Police Department detectives made between
January 1, 2015 and April 15, 2015, as if made on December 31, 2014. Eligible
contributions can be claimed on either a 2014 or 2015 federal tax return, but not
both. Contributions made after April 14, 2015, but on or before December 31,
2015, can only be claimed on a 2015 federal tax return. For California purposes,
contributions may only be claimed on your 2015 tax return. If you claimed
contributions under the Slain Officer Family Support Act on your 2014 federal tax
return, make an adjustment to your 2015 California tax return to add the amount
of the contribution to your charitable deductions. If you erroneously deducted the
contribution on your 2014 California tax return, you will need to amend your 2014
tax return to reduce the contribution.

Head of Household - For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015,
California requires taxpayers who use head of household (HOH) filing status to
file form FTB 3532, Head of Household Filing Status Schedule, to report how the
HOH filing status was determined.

Other Important Information

Financial Incentive for Turf Removal — For taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2019, taxpayers can exclude from gross
income any amount received as a rebate, voucher, or other financial incentive
issued by a local water agency or supplier for participation in a turf removal water
conservation program. Additional information can be found in the instructions for
California Schedule CA (540NR).

Penalty Assessed by Professional Sports League - For taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2014, an owner of all or part of a professional sports
franchise will not be allowed a deduction for the amount of any fine or penalty
paid or incurred, that was assessed or imposed by the professional sports
league that includes that franchise. Additional information can be found in the
instructions for Galifornia Schedule CA (540NR).

New Employment Credit — For taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
2014, and before January 1, 2021, the New Employment Credit (NEC) is
available to a qualified taxpayer that hires a qualified full-time employee on or
after January 1, 2014, and pays or incurs qualified wages attributable to work
performed by the qualified full-time employee in a designated census tract or
economic development area, and receives a tentative credit reservation for that
qualified full-time employee. In addition, an annual certification of employment
is required with respect to each qualified full-time employee hired in a previous
taxable year. In order to be allowed a credit, the qualified taxpayer must have a
net increase in the total number of full-time employees in California. Any credits
not used in the taxable year may be carried forward up to five years. If a qualified
employee is terminated within the first 36 months after beginning employment,
the employer may be required to recapture previously taken credits. For more
information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for nec or get form FTB 3554, New
Employment Credit.

Repeal of Geographically Targeted Economic Development Area Tax
Incentives — The California legislature repealed and made changes to all

of the Geographically Targeted Economic Development Area (G-TEDA) Tax
Incentives. Enterprise Zones (EZ) and Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas
(LAMBRA) were repealed on January 1, 2014. The Targeted Tax Areas (TTA) and
Manufacturing Enhancement Areas (MEA) both expired on December 31, 2012.
For more information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for repeal tax incentives.

California Competes Tax Credit — For taxable years beginning on and after
January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2025, the California Competes Tax Credit
is available to businesses that want to come to California or stay and grow in
California. Tax credit agreements will be negotiated by the Governor’s Office of
Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz) and approved by the California
Competes Tax Credit Committee. The California Competes Tax Credit only applies
to state income or franchise tax. Taxpayers who are awarded a contract by the
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committee will claim the credit on their income or franchise tax returns using
credit code 233. The credit can reduce tax below the tentative minimum tax. Any
credits not used in the taxable year may be carried forward up to six years. For
more information, go to the GO-Biz website at business.ca.gov or fth.ca.gov and
search for ca competes or get form FTB 3531, California Competes Tax Credit.

Like-Kind Exchanges — For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014,
California requires taxpayers who exchange property located in California for
like-kind property located outside of California, and meet all of the requirements
of the Internal Revenue Code Section 1031, to file an annual information return
with the Franchise Tax Board (FTB). For more information, get form FTB 3840,
California Like-Kind Exchanges, or go to fth.ca.gov and search for like kind.

College Access Tax Credit — For taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
2014, and before January 1, 2017, a credit is available to taxpayers who
contribute to the College Access Tax Credit Fund. Taxpayers who receive

a certificate from the California Educational Facilities Authority (CEFA)

may claim the credit on their income or franchise tax returns using credit

code 235. The CEFA will provide a copy of each credit certificate issued, to the
Franchise Tax Board (FTB). Any credits not used in the taxable year may be
carried forward to future years for up to six years. For more information, go

to treasurer.ca.gov/cefa or get form FTB 3592, College Access Tax Credit.

Minimum Wage - On and after July 1, 2014, the minimum wage for all industries
shall not be less than nine dollars ($9) per hour.

Cancellation of Debt Income (CODI) - For taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2019, California did not conform to the
federal recognition of business debt reacquisition CODI under IRC Section 108(i).
If you recognized the CODI for federal tax purposes, then you must deduct the
federal CODI amount. See Sch. CA (540/540NR) line 12 instructions for more
information.

Net Operating Loss (NOL) Carryback — NOLs incurred in taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2013, shall be carried back to each of the preceding two
taxable years.

The allowable NOL carryback percentage varies. For an NOL incurred in a taxable
year beginning on or after:

e January 1, 2013, and before January 1, 2014, the carryback amount shall not
exceed 50% of the NOL.

e January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2015, the carryback amount shall not
exceed 75% of the NOL.

e January 1, 2015, the carryback amount shall be 100% of the NOL.

To make the election, check the box in Part | under Section C — Election to Waive
Carryback, of form FTB 3805V, and attach form FTB 3805V to the tax return. For
more information, get form FTB 3805V.

Individuals, Estates, and Trusts compute the NOL carryback in Part IV of
form FTB 3805V. For more information, get form FTB 3805V.

Election to Waive Carryback — Any taxpayer entitled to a carryback period
pursuant to Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 172(b)(3) may elect to
relinquish/waive the entire carryback period with respect to an NOL incurred in
the 2013 taxable year. By making the election, the taxpayer is electing to carry an
NOL forward instead of carrying it back in the previous two years.

To make the election, check the box in Part | under Section C — Election to Waive
Carryback, of form FTB 3805V, and attach form FTB 3805V to the tax return.For
more information, get form FTB 3805V.

Mandatory Electronic Payments — You are required to remit all your payments
electronically once you make an estimate or extension payment exceeding
$20,000 or you file an original tax return with a total tax liability over $80,000.
Once you meet this threshold, all subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax
type, or taxable year must be remitted electronically. The first payment that would
trigger the mandatory e-pay requirement does not have to be made electronically.
Individuals who do not send the payment electronically may be subject to a 1%
noncompliance penalty.

You can request a waiver from mandatory e-pay if one or more of the following
is true:

e You have not made an estimated tax or extension payment in excess of
$20,000 during the current or previous taxable year.

e Your total tax liability reported for the previous taxable year did not exceed
$80,000.

e The amount you paid is not representative of your total tax liability.

For more information or to obtain the waiver form, go to fth.ca.gov and search
for mandatory epay. Electronic payments can be made using Web Pay on FTB’s
website, electronic funds withdrawal (EFW) as part of the e-file tax return, or your
credit card.

Estimated Tax Payments — Taxpayers are required to pay 30% of the required
annual payment for the 1st required installment, 40% of the required annual
payment for the 2nd required installment, no installment is due for the 3rd
required instaliment, and 30% of the required annual payment for the 4th
required installment.

Taxpayers with a tax liability less than $500 ($250 for married/RDP filing
separately) do not need to make estimated tax payments.

Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief — California law does not conform to federal
law regarding the discharge of indebtedness from the disposition of your
principal residence occurring on or after January 1, 2014. For more information,
get Schedule CA (540NR).

Backup Withholding — With certain limited exceptions, payers that are required to
withhold and remit backup withholding to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) are
also required to withhold and remit to the FTB on income sourced to California.

If the payee has backup withholding, the payee must contact the FTB to provide

a valid taxpayer identification number, before filing the tax return. Failure to
provide a valid taxpayer identification number may result in a denial of the backup
withholding credit. For more information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for backup
withholding.

Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) — Under California law, RDPs must file
their California income tax return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or
married/RDP filing separately filing status. RDPs have the same legal benefits,
protections, and responsibilities as married couples unless otherwise specified.

If you entered into a same sex legal union in another state, other than a marriage,
and that union has been determined to be substantially equivalent to a California
registered domestic partnership, you are required to file a California income tax
return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately
filing status.

For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, hushand, or wife
also refer to a California RDP, unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials
RDP they refer to both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California
registered domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs,
get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.

Direct Deposit Refund — You can request a direct deposit refund on your tax
return whether you e-file or file a paper tax return. Please be sure to fill in the
routing and account numbers carefully and double-check the numbers for
accuracy to avoid it being rejected by your bank.

Direct Deposit for ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plans - If you have a
ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plan account maintained by the ScholarShare
Investment Board, you may have your refund directly deposited to your
ScholarShare account.

Group Nonresident Returns (also known as Composite Returns) — For taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 2009:

e Group nonresident returns may include less than two nonresident individuals.

e Nonresident individuals with more than $1,000,000 of California taxable
income are eligible to be included in group nonresident returns. An additional
1% tax will be assessed on their entire California taxable income if they elect
to be part of the group return.

See FTB Pub. 1067, Guidelines for Filing a Group Form 540NR, for more
information.

California Disclosure Obligations — If the individual was involved in a reportable
transaction, including a listed transaction, the individual may have a disclosure
requirement. Attach federal Form 8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure
Statement, to the back of the California tax return along with any other supporting
schedules. If this is the first time the reportable transaction is disclosed on the
tax return, send a duplicate copy of the federal Form 8886 to the address below.
The FTB may impose penalties if the individual fails to file federal Form 8886 or
fails to provide any other required information. A material advisor is required to
provide a reportable transaction number to all taxpayers and material advisors for
whom the material advisor acts as a material advisor.

TAX SHELTER FILING

ATSU 398 MS F385
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 1673

SACRAMENTO CA 95812-9900

For more information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for tax shelters.
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How Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents Are Taxed

General Information

Nonresidents of California who received California sourced income in 2015, or
moved into or out of California in 2015, file either the Long or Short Form 540NR,
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. California taxes
all income received while you resided in California and the income you received
from California sources while a nonresident. See “Which Form Should | Use?” to
determine which form to use (Long or Short Form 540NR).

If you file the Long Form 540NR, use Schedule CA (540NR), California
Adjustments — Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, column A through
column D to compute your total adjusted gross income as if you were a resident
of California for the entire year. Use column E to compute all items of total
adjusted gross income you received while a resident of California and those

you received from California sources while a nonresident. You determine your
California tax by multiplying your California taxable income by an effective tax
rate. The effective tax rate is the tax on total taxable income, taken from the tax
table, divided by total taxable income. You may also qualify for California tax
credits, which reduces the amount of California tax you owe.

If you file the Short Form 540NR, use line 13, line 14, and line 17 to compute
your total adjusted gross income as if you were a resident of California for the
entire year. Use line 32 to compute all items of total adjusted gross income you
received while a resident of California and those you received from California
sources while a nonresident.

If you were a resident of California for all of 2015 get a California Resident
Personal Income Tax Booklet and file Form 540, California Resident Income Tax
Return; or Form 540 2EZ, California Resident Income Tax Return.

For more information on the taxation of nonresidents and part-year residents, get
FTB Pub. 1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency.
Go to fth.ca.gov or see “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

Pension Income of Retirees Who Move to
Another State

Nonresidents of California Receiving a California Pension
California does not impose tax on retirement income attributable to services
performed in California received by a nonresident after December 31, 1995.

California Residents Receiving an Qut-of-State Pension

In general California residents are taxed on all income, including income

from sources outside California. Therefore, a pension attributable to services
performed outside California but received after you become a California resident
is taxable.

For more information about pensions, get FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity
Guidelines. Go to fth.ca.gov or see “Where to Get Income Tax Forms and
Publications.”

Temporary and Transitory Absences from
California

If you are domiciled in California and you worked outside of California for an
uninterrupted period of at least 546 consecutive days under an employment
contract, you are considered a nonresident. This provision also applies to

the spouse/RDP who accompanies the employed individual during those 546
consecutive days. However, you will not qualify under this provision if you are
present in California for a total of more than 45 days during any taxable year
covered by the contract, or if you have income from stocks, bonds, notes, or
other intangible property in excess of $200,000 for any taxable year covered by
the contract. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1031. Go to fth.ca.gov or see
“Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

Group Nonresident Return

Nonresident partners, nonresident members, and nonresident shareholders of

a partnership, limited liability company, or S corporation that does business

in California or has income from California sources may elect to file a group
nonresident return on the Long Form 540NR. For more information get FTB

Pub. 1067, Guidelines for Filing a Group Form 540NR. This publication includes
form FTB1067A, Nonresident Group Return Schedule, which must be attached to
the group Long Form 540NR. Go to fth.ca.gov or see “Where to Get Income Tax
Forms and Publications.”

Military Servicemembers

Active duty military servicemembers refer to FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for
Military Personnel. Go to fth.ca.gov or see “Where to Get Income Tax Forms and
Publications.”

Servicemembers domiciled outside of California, and their spouses/RDPs, exclude
the member’s military compensation from gross income when computing the

tax rate on nonmilitary income. Requirements for military servicemembers
domiciled in California remain unchanged. Military servicemembers domiciled in
California must include their military pay in total income. In addition, they must
include their military pay in California source income when stationed in California.
However, military pay is not California source income when a servicemember

is permanently stationed outside of California. Beginning 2009, the federal
Military Spouses Residency Relief Act may affect the California income tax filing
requirements for spouses of military personnel.

Page 6 540NR Tax Booklet 2015



Which Form Should | Use?

Were you and your spouse/RDP California residents during the entire year 2015?

No. Check the chart below to see which form to use.

Yes. Use Forms 540, or 540 2EZ. To download or order the Form 540 Personal Income Tax Booklet or the Form 540 2EZ Personal
Income Tax Booklet, go to fth.ca.gov or see, “Where to Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

Short Form 540NR

L ong Form 540NR

Filing Status Single, married/RDP filing jointly, head of Any filing status
household, qualifying widow(er)
Dependents 0-5 allowed All dependents you are entitled to claim

Amount of Income

Total income of $100,000 or less

Any amount of income

Sources of Income

Only income from:

¢ \Wages, salaries, tips

* Taxable interest

e Unemployment compensation
¢ Paid Family Leave Insurance

California does not tax unemployment compensation

All sources of income

California Adjustments
to Income

e Unemployment compensation
e Military pay adjustment (R&TC Section 17140.5)
e Paid Family Leave Insurance

All adjustments to income

Standard Deduction

Allowed

Allowed

Itemized Deductions

No itemized deductions

All itemized deductions

Payments Only withholding on Form(s) W-2 and 1099's ¢ Withholding from all sources
showing California tax withheld ¢ Estimated tax payments
e Payments made with extension
¢ Excess state disability insurance (SDI) or
voluntary plan disability insurance (VPDI)
Tax Credits e California earned income tax credit All tax credits
* Personal exemption credits
e Blind exemption credit
e Up to 5 dependent exemption credits
¢ Nonrefundable renter’s credit
Other Taxes Taxes computed using only the tax table All taxes
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Frequently Asked Questions

(Go to ftb.ca.gov for more frequently asked questions.)

1.

2.
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What if | can’t file by April 18, 2016, and I think |

owe tax?

You must pay 100% of the amount you owe by April 18, 2016, to
avoid interest and penalties. If you cannot file because you have not
received all your Form(s) W-2, estimate the amount of tax you owe

by completing form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic Extension for
Individuals. Mail it to the FTB with your payment by April 18, 2016, or
pay online at fth.ca.gov. Then, when you receive all your Form(s) W-2,
complete and mail your tax return by October 17, 2016, (you must use
Long Form 540NR).

I never received a Form W-2. What should | do?

If not all your Forms W-2 were received by January 31, 2016,
contact your employer. Only an employer issues or corrects

a Form W-2. For more information, call 800.338.0505, select
“Personal Income Tax,” then “Frequently Asked Questions,” and
enter code 204 when instructed.

If you cannot get a copy of your Form(s) W-2, complete form

FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, or
Form 1099-R, Distributions from Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, or
Profit Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. Go to fth.ca.gov
or see “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.” For online
wage and withholding information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for
myfth account.

How can | get help?

Throughout California more than 1,200 sites provide trained volunteers
offering free help during the tax filing season to persons who file
simple federal and state income tax returns. Many military bases also
provide this service for members of the U.S. Armed Forces. Go to
ftb.ca.gov and search for vita to find a list of participating locations or
call the FTB at 800.852.5711 to find a location near you.

What do I do if | can’t pay what | owe with my 2015

tax return?

Pay as much as possible when you file your tax return. If unable to

pay your tax in full with your tax return, make a request for monthly
payments. However, interest accrues and an underpayment penalty may
be charged on the tax not paid by April 18, 2016, even if your request
for monthly payments is approved. To make monthly payments,
complete form FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request, online or
mail it to the address on the form. Do not mail it with your tax return.

The Installment Agreement Request might not be processed and
approved until after your tax return is processed, and you may
receive a bill before you receive approval of your request.

To order this form, go to fth.ca.gov or call 800.338.0505, select
“Personal Income Tax,” then select “Forms and Publications,” and

949  enter code 949 when instructed.

For information on how to pay by credit card, go to fth.ca.gov
and search for credit card, or call 800.338.0505, select “Personal
610 Income Tax,” then select “Frequently Asked Questions,” and enter

code 610 when instructed.

5. How long will it take to get my refund?

L=~ ]
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If you e-file, you get the fastest possible refund. Your refund

check is generally mailed within seven to ten calendar days (or

if you request direct deposit, the refund generally posts to your
checking or savings account within five to seven banking days)
from the time the FTB receives your electronic return. For more
information about e-file, go to fth.ca.gov and search for efile,

or call 800.338.0505, select “Personal Income Tax,” then select
“Frequently Asked Questions” and enter code 112 when instructed.

If you do not e-file your tax return, you will generally receive
your refund check within six to eight weeks after you file your
tax return. If you request direct deposit, the refund posts to your
account within six to eight weeks after you file your tax return.

6. | expected my refund by now. How can I check on

the status?

Go to fth.ca.gov and search for refund status. You will need your social
security number (SSN) or individual taxpayer identification number
(ITIN) and the refund amount from your tax return.

You can also call our automated phone service.

1. 1 discovered an error on my tax return. What should

1do?

—n If you discover an error on your Galifornia income tax return, after

you filed it (paper or e-file), use Form 540X, Amended Individual

908 Income Tax Return, to correct your return. Get Form 540X at

ftb.ca.gov or call 800.338.0505 and enter code 908. You cannot e-file
an amended tax return.

8. The IRS made changes to my federal tax return.

10

11

What should 1do?

If your federal income tax return is examined and changed by the IRS
and you owe additional tax, report these changes to the FTB within

six months of the date of the final federal determination. If the changes
the IRS made result in a refund due for California, claim a refund within
two years of the date of the final federal determination. Either use

Form 540X, to correct the California income tax return you already filed,
or send a copy of the federal changes to:

ATTN RAR/VOL MS F310
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 1998

RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1998

or Fax the information to 916.843.2269.

If you have any questions relating to the IRS audit adjustments,
call 916.845.4028.

For general tax information or questions, call 800.852.5711.

Regardless of which method you use to notify the FTB, you must
include a copy of the final federal determination along with all data

and schedules on which the federal adjustment was based. Get

FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments and Your Notification
Responsibilities to California, for more information. Go to fth.ca.gov or
see “Order Forms and Publications.”

File Form 540X only if the change affected your California tax liability.

How long should | keep my tax information?

Requests for information from you regarding your California income tax
return usually occurs within the California statute of limitations period,
which is usually the later of four years from the due date of the tax
return or four years from the file date of the tax return. (Exception: An
extended statute of limitations period may apply for California or federal
tax returns that are related to or subject to a federal audit.)

Keep a copy of your tax return and the records that verify the income,
deductions, adjustments, or credits reported on your return. Some
records should be kept longer. For example, keep property records as
long as needed to figure the basis of the property or records needed
to verify carryover losses (e.g., net operating losses, capital losses,
passive losses, casualty losses, etc.).

I will be moving after | file my tax return. How do |

notify the FTB of my new address?

Notify the FTB of your new address by using form FTB 3533, Change of
Address. This form is available at fth.ca.gov. You may also go to
ftb.ca.gov and search for myfth account or call 800.852.5711, select
“Personal Income Tax,” then select option 6 to report a change of
address. If you change your address online or by phone, you do not
need to file form FTB 3533.

After filing your tax return, report a change of address to us for up

to four years, especially if you leave the state and no longer have a
requirement to file a California tax return.

Are all domestic partners required to file joint or

separate tax returns?

No, only domestic partners who are registered with the California
Secretary of State are required to file using the married/RDP filing
jointly or married/RDP filing separately filing status.
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2015 Instructions for Short Form 540NR
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return

References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before You Begin

Complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040, Form 1040A,
Form 1040EZ, Form 1040NR, or Form 1040NR-EZ) before you begin
your Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident
Income Tax Return. You will use information from your federal income
tax return to complete your Short Form 540NR. Complete and mail
Short Form 540NR by April 18, 2016. Due to the Emancipation Day
holiday on April 16, 2016, tax returns filed and payments mailed or
submitted on April 18, 2016, will be considered timely. If unable to mail
your tax return by this date, see page 2.

To get forms and publications referred to in these instructions, go to
ftb.ca.gov or see “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

You cannot use Short Form 540NR if any of the items below apply to
you. Instead use Long Form 540NR.

e Your filing status is married/RDP filing separately.

You or your spouse/RDP are 65 or older.

You are claiming more than five dependents.

Your total income is more than $100,000.

You have interest income from U.S. Obligations, U.S. Treasury Bills,

Notes, Bonds, or other sources that is taxable for federal purposes

and exempt for state purposes.

e You qualify for the California Nonrefundable Child and Dependent
Care Expenses Credit.

e You have withholding from Form 592-B, Resident and Nonresident
Withholding Tax Statement or Form 593, Real Estate Withholding Tax
Statement.

e You made estimated tax payments or have an estimated tax transfer
available from 2014.

You may qualify for the federal earned income tax credit. See
@ page 2 for more information.

Note: The lines on Short Form 540NR are numbered with gaps in the
line number sequence. For example, lines 20 through 30 do not appear
on Short Form 540NR, so the line number that follows line 19 on
Short Form 540NR is line 31.

Name(s) and Address

Print your first name, middle initial, last name, and street address,
in black or blue ink, in the spaces provided at the top of Short Form
540NR.

Suffix
Use the Suffix field for generational name suffixes such as “SR”, “JR”,
“lI”, “IV”. Do not enter academic, professional, or honorary suffixes.

Additional Information
Use the Additional Information field for “In-Care-Of” name and other
supplemental address information only.

Foreign Address

If you have a foreign address, follow the country’s practice for entering
the city, county, province, state, country, and postal code, as applicable,
in the appropriate boxes. Do not abbreviate the country name.

Date of Birth (DOB)
Enter your DOBs (mm/dd/yyyy) in the spaces provided. If you file a joint
tax return, enter the DOBs in the same order as the names.

Prior Name
If you or your spouse/RDP filed your 2014 tax return under a different
name, write the last name only from the 2014 tax return.

Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)

Enter your SSNs in the spaces provided. If you file a joint tax return,
enter the SSNs in the same order as the names.

If you do not have an SSN because you are a nonresident or a resident
alien for federal tax purposes, and the IRS issued you an ITIN, enter the
ITIN in the space provided for the SSN.

An ITIN is a tax processing number issued by the IRS to foreign
nationals and others who have a federal tax filing requirement and do
not qualify for an SSN. It is a nine-digit number that always starts with
the number 9.

Filing Status

Line 1 through Line 5 - Filing Status

See page 3 for the requirements for each of the filing statuses. Then
check the box on the Short Form 540NR that applies to you. If your
filing status is married/RDP filing separately, use the Long Form 540NR.

Nonresident Alien

A joint tax return may be filed if, in the case of a nonresident alien
married/RDP to a United States citizen or resident, both spouses/RDPs
elect to treat the nonresident alien spouse/RDP as a resident for tax
purposes.

Residency

Complete the residency portion by checking all of the boxes that apply to
you and your spouse/RDP, and provide the applicable information.

“Residence” is the place where you have the closest ties.

“Domicile” is the place where you voluntarily establish yourself and your
family, not merely for a special or limited purpose, but with a present
intention of making it your true, fixed and permanent home and principal
establishment. It is the place where, whenever you are absent or away,
you intend to return.

Get FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status, for
more information. Go to fth.ca.gov or see “Where To Get Income Tax
Forms and Publications.”

Exemptions

Caution: If you or your spouse/RDP are 65 or older, use
the Long Form 540NR.

Line 6 — Can be Claimed as Dependent
Check the box on line 6 if someone else can claim you or your spouse/
RDP as a dependent on their tax return, even if they choose not to.

Line 7 — Personal Exemptions
Did you check the box on line 67

No Follow the instructions on Short Form 540NR, line 7.

Yes Ignore the instructions on Short Form 540NR, line 7. Instead, enter

the amount shown below for your filing status:

e Single, enter -0-.

e Head of household, enter -0-.

e Married/RDP filing jointly and both you and your spouse/RDP
can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-.

e Married/RDP filing jointly and only one spouse/RDP can be
claimed as a dependent, enter 1.

Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent
on their tax return.
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Instructions: Short Form 540NR

e-file at fth.ca.gov

Line 8 — Blind Exemptions

The first year you claim this exemption credit, attach a doctor’s
statement to the back of Short Form 540NR indicating that you or your
spouse/RDP is visually impaired. Visually impaired means not capable of
seeing better than 20/200 while wearing glasses or contact lenses, or if
your field of vision is not more than 20 degrees.

Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent
on their tax return.

Line 10 — Dependent Exemptions

To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents, you must
write each dependent’s first and last name, SSN and relationship to

you in the space provided. The persons you list as dependents must be
the same persons you listed as dependents on your federal income tax
return. Count the number of dependents listed and enter the total in the
box on line 10. Multiply the number you entered by the pre-printed dollar
amount and enter the result.

If you are claiming more than three dependents attach a separate
schedule. If you are claiming more than five dependents, use Long
Form 540NR.

If your dependent child was born and died in 2015 and you do not have
an SSN for the child, enter “Died” in the space provided for the SSN and
include a copy of the child’s birth certificate, death certificate, or hospital
records. The document must show the child was born alive.

Line 11 — Exemption Amount
Add line 7 through line 10 and enter the total amount of all exemptions
for personal, blind, and dependent.

Total Taxable Income

Refer to your completed federal income tax return to complete

this section. If your total income from federal Form 1040, line 37;
Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040NR, line 36; or
Form 1040NR-EZ, line 10 is more than $100,000, you cannot file this
form. File the Long Form 540NR.

Line 12 - Total California Wages
Enter the total amount of your California wages from your Form(s) W-2,
Wage and Tax Statement. This amount is reported on Form W-2, box 16.

Line 14 - California Adjustments To Income

California does not tax unemployment compensation or Paid Family
Leave Insurance benefits. Enter the total of any unemployment
compensation and/or Paid Family Leave Insurance benefits reported
on federal Form(s) 1099-G, Certain Government Payments, and shown
on your federal Form 1040EZ, line 3; Form 1040A, line 13; Form 1040,
line 19; or Form 1040NR, line 20.

If you have interest income from U.S. Obligations, U.S. Treasury Bills,
Notes, Bonds, or other sources that is taxable for federal purposes
and exempt for state purposes, you cannot file this form. File the Long
Form 540NR.

Military Pay Adjustment

Compensation for military service of a servicemember domiciled
outside of Galifornia is exempt from California tax. It is excluded from
adjusted gross income. If you are an active duty military servicemember
domiciled outside of California, your active duty military pay is excluded
from adjusted gross income.

To claim your adjustment, write “MPA” on the dotted line to the left of
line 14. Add this amount to any unemployment compensation and/or
Paid Family Leave Insurance benefits and enter on line 14. You will also
exclude this amount from adjusted gross income on line 32. Attach a
copy of your Form(s) W-2, reflecting your military compensation, to
your tax return. See “Assembling Your Tax Return.”

Line 18 — California Standard Deduction

Did you check the box on line 67 If yes, use the California Standard
Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on page 25 of the Long

Form 540NR instructions. If no, use the standard deduction amount for
your filing status.

California Taxable Income

e-file and you won'’t have to do the math. Go to fth.ca.gov
and search for efile.

Line 31 - Tax on Total Taxable Income

Figure the tax on the amount on line 19 (see California tax table that
begins on page 75). Use the correct filing status and taxable income
amount.

To automatically figure your tax or to verify your tax calculation, use our
online tax calculator. Go to fth.ca.gov and search for tax calculator.

Line 32 - CA Adjusted Gross Income
If married/RDP filing jointly, each spouse/RDP reports income based on
his or her residency status.

Full-year nonresident — Enter your California wages from Form(s) W-2,
box 16.

Part-year resident — Enter your:

e (alifornia wages from Form(s) W-2, box 16.

e Non-California wages received while you were a California resident
from Form(s) W-2, box 16.

e Interest income received while you were a California resident.

Full-year resident — Enter your:

e (alifornia and non-California wages from all your Form(s) W-2,
box 16.
e All of your interest income.

Line 36 — CA Tax Rate

In this computation, the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) rounds the tax rate
to four digits after the decimal. If your computation is different, you
may receive a notice due to the difference in rounding. Contact us at
800.852.5711 if you disagree with this notice.

Line 38 — CA Exemption Credit Percentage

Divide the California Taxable Income (line 35) by Total Taxable Income
(line 19). This percentage does not apply to the Nonrefundable
Renter’s Credit, Other State Tax Credit, or credits that are conditional
upon a transaction occurring wholly within California. If more than 1,
enter 1.0000.

Credits

Line 61 — Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit

If you paid rent on your principal California residence in 2015, you may
be eligible for a credit to reduce your tax. See “Nonrefundable Renter’s
Credit Qualification Record” to find out if you qualify.

Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit - You may
be eligible for the California nonrefundable child and dependent care
expenses credit. If you qualify for the credit, file the Long Form 540NR.
See line 50 for more information.

Payments

Line 81 - California Income Tax Withheld

Enter your total California income tax withheld from your Form(s) W-2,
box 17. Attach a copy of your Form(s) W-2, to your tax return. See
“Assembling Your Tax Return.”

Line 85 — Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)
Enter your Earned Income Tax Credit from form FTB 3514, California
Earned Income Tax Credit.
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e-file is fast, easy, and secure!

Instructions: Short Form 540NR

Contributions

You can make contributions to the funds listed on Short Form 540NR,
Side 2. See “Voluntary Contribution Fund Descriptions” for more
information.

You may also contribute any amount to the State Parks

Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase. To receive a single annual park
pass, your contribution must equal or exceed $195. When applicable,
FTB will forward your name and address from your tax return to the
Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) who will issue a single
Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass to you. Only one pass will be provided
per tax return. You may contact DPR directly to purchase additional
passes. If there is an error on your tax return in the computation of total
contributions or if we disallow the contribution you requested because
there is no credit available for the tax year, your name and address

will not be forwarded to DPR. Any contribution less than $195 will be
treated as a voluntary contribution and may be deducted as a charitable
contribution. For more information go to parks.ca.gov/annualpass/ or
email info@parks.ca.gov.

Amount You Owe

Line 121 — Amount You Owe

If you did not enter an amount on line 120, enter the amount
from line 104 on line 121. This is the amount you owe with your
Short Form 540NR.

If you entered an amount on line 120, add line 104 and line 120.
Enter the total on line 121. This is the amount you owe with your
Short Form 540NR.

If you have an amount on line 103 and line 120, subtract line 120
from line 103. If line 120 is more than line 103 enter the difference on
line 121. This is the amount you owe with your Short Form 540NR.

Web Pay - Pay the amount you owe using our secure online payment
service. Go to fth.ca.gov for more information.

Using black or blue ink, make your check or money order payable
to the “Franchise Tax Board” for this amount, or see “Paying
Your Taxes.” Do not send cash. Write your SSN or ITIN and
“2015 Short Form 540NR” on the check or money order. Make all

checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn against a U.S.

financial institution. Enclose, but do not staple, your payment with your
return.

To avoid a late filing penalty, file your Short Form 540NR by the due date
even if unable to pay the amount you owe.

Refund and Direct Deposit

Line 125 — Refund or No Amount Due
If you did not enter an amount on line 120, enter the amount from
line 103.

If you entered an amount on line 120, subtract that amount from the
amount on line 103. If the result is zero or more, enter the amount on
line 125. If the result is less than zero, your contributions are more than
your overpaid tax available on line 103. In this case, do not enter an
amount on line 125. Enter the result on line 121 and see the instructions
for line 121.

Line 126 and Line 127 — Direct Deposit of Refund

Direct deposit is fast, safe, and convenient. To have your refund directly
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on
Short Form 540NR, Side 3, line 126 and line 127. Fill in the routing

and account numbers and indicate the account type. Verify routing and
account numbers with your financial institution. See the illustration
below. Do not attach a voided check or deposit slip.

Individual taxpayers may request that their refund be electronically
deposited into more than one checking or savings account. This allows
more options for managing your refund. For example, you can request
part of your refund go to your checking account to use now and the rest
to your savings account to save for later.

The routing number must be nine digits. The first two digits must be
01 through 12 or 21 through 32. On the sample check, the routing
number is 250250025. The account number can be up to 17 characters
and can include numbers and letters. Include hyphens, but omit spaces
and special symbols. On the sample check, the account number is
202020.

Check the appropriate box for the type of account. Do not check more
than one box for each line.

Enter the portion of your refund you want directly deposited into each
account. Each deposit must be at least $1. The total of line 126 and
line 127 must equal the total amount of your refund on line 125. If
line 126 and line 127 do not equal line 125, the FTB will issue a paper
check.

Caution: Check with your financial institution to make sure your deposit
will be accepted and to get the correct routing and account numbers.
The FTB is not responsible for a lost refund due to incorrect account
information entered by you or your representative.

Some financial institutions will not allow a joint refund to be deposited to
an individual account. If the direct deposit is rejected, the FTB will issue
a paper check.

John Doe 1234
Mary Doe

1234 Main Street 15-0000/0000
Anytown, CA 99999 20

PAY TO THE $ I_l
ORDER OF

DOLLARS

ANYTOWN BANK Routing\  (Accoun _
Anytown, CA 99999 number number Do not include
the check number
For
K

1 {250250025 )1 {202020) 1234

Direct Deposit for ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plans - If you
have a ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plan account maintained by
the ScholarShare Investment Board, you may have your refund directly
deposited to your ScholarShare account.

Fill in the routing number, account type and account number. To
obtain the nine-digit routing number go to scholarshare.com or

call 800.544.5248. Check “Checking” as type of account. Enter your
complete account number that includes (1) the “CA” prefix, (2) your
four-digit investment portfolio number, and (3) your ScholarShare
account number (for account numbers less than 11 digits, add leading
Zeros).

Type

Routing number mChecking Account number
"XXXXXXXXX"DSaVings [[c.A]x x x x]o 0 x x x x X x X x x|

9-digit routing (1) (2) (3)

number from “CA” investment ScholarShare

ScholarShare prefix portfolio account number
website number with leading zeroes
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Instructions: Short Form 540NR

e-file at fth.ca.gov

Sign Your Tax Return

Sign your tax return in the designated space on Side 3. If you file a joint
tax return, your spouse/RDP must sign the tax return also.

Include your phone number and email address in case the FTB needs

to contact you for information needed to process your tax return. By
providing this information the FTB will be able to process your tax return
or issue your refund faster.

Joint Tax Return. If you file a joint tax return, both you and your spouse/
RDP are generally responsible for the tax and any interest or penalties
due on the tax return. If one spouse/RDP neglects to pay the tax, the
other spouse/RDP may have to pay. See “Innocent Joint Filer Relief” for
more information.

Paid Preparer Information. If you pay a person to prepare your

Short Form 540NR, that person signs and completes the area near
the bottom of Side 3 including an identification number. Effective
January 1, 2011, the IRS requires a paid tax preparer to get and use a
preparer tax identification number (PTIN). Tax preparers must provide
their PTIN on the tax returns they prepare. Preparers who want a PTIN
should go to the IRS website at irs.gov and search for ptin. If the
preparer has a federal employer identification number (FEIN), it should
be entered only in the space provided. A paid preparer must give you a
copy of your tax return.

Third Party Designee. If you want to allow your preparer, a friend,
family member, or any other person you choose to discuss your 2015
tax return with the FTB, check the “Yes” box in the signature area of your
tax return. Also print the designee’s name and telephone number.

If you check the “Yes” box, you and your spouse/RDP, if filing a joint
tax return, are authorizing the FTB to call the designee to answer any
questions that may arise during the processing of your tax return. You
are also authorizing the designee to:

e Give the FTB any information that is missing from your tax return.

e (all the FTB for information about the processing of your tax return
or the status of your refund or payments.

e Receive copies of notices or transcripts related to your tax return,
upon request.

e Respond to certain FTB notices about math errors, offsets, and tax
return preparation.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive any refund check, bind
you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise
represent you before the FTB. If you want to expand or change the
designee’s authorization, go to fth.ca.gov and search for poa.

The authorization will automatically end no later than the due date
(without regard to extensions) for filing your 2016 tax return. This is
April 15, 2017, for most people. If you wish to revoke the authorization
before it ends, notify us by telephone at 800.852.5711 or by writing to
Franchise Tax Board, PO Box 942840, Sacramento, CA 94240-0040,
include your name, SSN, and the designee’s name.

Power of Attorney. If another person prepared your tax return, he or
she is not automatically granted access to your tax information in future
dealings with us. At some point, you may wish to designate someone to
act on your behalf in matters related or unrelated to your 2015 tax return
(e.g., an audit examination). To protect your privacy, you must submit
to us a legal document called a “Power of Attorney” (POA) authorizing
another person to discuss or receive personal information about your
income tax records.

For more information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for poa.

Assembling Your Tax Return
Assemble your tax return in the order shown below.

| Short Form 540NR
[ Short Form 540NR
Short Form 540NR

Enclose, but do not
staple, any payment.

W-2
1099
Side
Side| 3

Side | 2

Make sure to attach all federal Form(s) W-2 and 1099 you received to
the front of your tax return.

Do not attach a copy of your federal tax return or any other document to
your Short Form 540NR unless specifically instructed. This will help us
reduce government processing and storage costs.

Mailing Your Tax Return
If you owe, mail your tax return to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

If you have a refund, or if no amount due, mail your tax return to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001
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Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit Qualification Record

e-file and skip this page! The tax software product you use to e-file will help you find out if you qualify for this credit and will figure the correct
amount of the credit automatically. Go to fth.ca.gov to check your e-file options.

If you were a resident of California for at least six months in 2015 and paid rent on property in California, which was your principal residence, you may qualify for
a credit that you can use to reduce your tax. Answer the questions below to see if you qualify. For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, hus-
band, or wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP), unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to both a California
registered domestic “partner” and a California registered domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737. Do not mail
this record. Keep with your tax records.

1. Were you a resident of California for at least six full months of the tax year in 2015?

Military personnel. If you are not a legal resident of California, you do not qualify for this credit. Your spouse/RDP may claim up to a maximum of $60 if he or she was a
resident, did not live in military housing during 2015, and is otherwise qualified.

YES. Go to question 2. NO. Stop. You do not qualify for this credit.

2. Is your adjusted gross income from all sources on your Long or Short 540NR, line 17:
o $38,259 or less if single or married/RDP filing separately
e $76,518 or less if married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er)?
YES. Go to question 3. NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

3. Did you pay rent, for at least half of 2015, on property (including a mobile home that you owned on rented land) in California, which was your
principal residence?
YES. Go to question 4. NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

4. Can you be claimed as a dependent by a parent, foster parent, legal guardian, or any other person in 2015?
NO. Go to question 6. YES. Go to question 5.

5. For more than half the year in 2015, did you live in the home of the person who can claim you as a dependent?
NO. Go to question 6. YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

6. Was the property you rented exempt from property tax in 2015?

You do not qualify for this credit if, for more than half of the year, you rented property that was exempt from property taxes. Exempt property includes most
government-owned buildings, church-owned parsonages, college dormitories, and military barracks. However, if you or your landlord paid possessory interest taxes for
the property you rented, then you may claim this credit.

NO. Go to question 7. YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

7. Did you claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2015?

You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from

your spouse/RDP for the entire year and your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if

you are otherwise qualified.

NO. Go to question 8. YES. If your filing status is single or married/RDP filing separately, stop here, you do not qualify for
this credit. If your filing status is married/RDP filing jointly, go to question 9.

8. Were you single in 2015?
YES. Go to question 11. NO. Go to question 9.

9. Did your spouse/RDP claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2015?
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from
your spouse/RDP for the entire year and your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if
you are otherwise qualified.
NO. Go to question 11. YES. If both you and your spouse/RDP claimed the homeowner’s property tax exemption,

stop here, you do not qualify for this credit. Otherwise, go to question 10.

10. Did you and your spouse/RDP maintain separate residences for the entire year in 2015?
YES. Go to question 11. NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

11.Use the following chart to find the amount of your credit based on the number of full months you were a resident of and rented property in California
in 2015. Enter the amount on the line below. If married/RDP filing jointly where one spouse/RDP claimed the homeowner’s property tax exemption and both
spouses/RDPs lived apart for the entire year, enter half of the amount listed on the chart for married/RDP filing jointly on the line below. Follow the instructions
next to the chart.

Number of months $
Filing status 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 e
Singl ied/RDP
fillirr:g Z;‘;ar?;trer;; $30 | $35 | $40 | $45 | $50 | $55 | $60 If this credit is the only special credit you are claiming, enter the amount on
Married/RDP filing File | Your Long or Short Form 540NR, line 61.
. If you are a Long Form 540NR filer and are claiming additional special credits
Jr?cl)r;tsl)(la’hho?g%ro;ualifying $60 | $70 | $80 | $90 |$100 |$110 Fsoé{gn in addition to this credit, go to the instructions on page 26 for Long Form 540NR.
widow(er)
Street Address City, State, and ZIP Code Dates Rented in 2015 (From to )
a
b
Enter the name, address, and telephone number of your landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above.
Name Street Address City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number
a
b
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Additional Information

California Sales and Use Tax

In general, the purchase of goods outside California that are brought into the state
for storage, use, or other consumption may be subject to use tax. The use tax rate
is the same as the sales tax rate in effect where the goods will be stored, used,

or consumed; usually your residence address. The tax is based on the purchase
price of the goods.

¢ |fyou purchased goods from an out-of-state retailer (such as a mail order
firm) and sales tax would have been charged if you purchased the goods
in Galifornia, you may owe the use tax on your purchase if the out-of-state
retailer did not collect the California tax.

e If you traveled to a foreign country and brought goods home with you,
the use tax will be based on the purchase price of the goods you listed on
your U.S. Customs Declaration after deduction of the $800 per individual
exemption allowable by law within any 30-day period. This deduction does
not apply to goods sent or shipped to California by common carrier.

You should report and pay your use tax directly to the State Board of Equalization
using the electronic registration system (eReg) on their website at boe.ca.gov/
elecsrv/ereg/index.html. On the eReg page, click on the “Get Started” button
and select the option “Pay use tax on one-time purchase item(s)” from the

Main Menu. For more information about use tax, please visit the State Board of
Equalization’s website at boe.ca.gov/taxprograms/usetax/index.html.

If you file a Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Business, with your
federal income tax return and are in the business of selling tangible personal
property, you may be required to obtain a seller’s permit with the State Board of
Equalization. If you do not sell tangible personal property, but you have at least
$100,000 in business gross receipts, you may be required to register with the
State Board of Equalization to report use tax.

If you have any questions concerning the taxability of a purchase, or want
information about obtaining a seller’s permit, or registering to report use tax, go
to the State Board of Equalization’s website at boe.ca.gov or call their Taxpayer
Information Section at 800.400.7115 or California Relay Service (CRS) 711 (for
hearing and speech disabilities). Income tax information is not available at these
numbers.

Collection Fees

The FTB is required to assess collection and filing enforcement cost recovery fees
on delinquent accounts.

Deceased Taxpayers

A final tax return must be filed for a person who died in 2015 if a tax return
normally would be required. The administrator or executor, if one is appointed, or
beneficiary must file the tax return. Please print “deceased” and the date of death
next to the taxpayer’s name at the top of the tax return.

If you are a surviving spouse/RDP and no administrator or executor has been
appointed, file a joint tax return if you did not remarry or entered into another
registered domestic partnership during 2015. Indicate next to your signature that
you are the surviving spouse/RDP.

You may also file a joint tax return with an administrator or executor acting on
behalf of the deceased taxpayer.

If you file a tax return and claim a refund due to a deceased taxpayer, you are
certifying under penalty of perjury either that you are the legal representative of
the deceased taxpayer’s estate (in this case, attach certified copies of the letters
of administration or letters testamentary) or that you are entitled to the refund
as the deceased’s surviving relative or sole beneficiary under the provisions of
the California Probate Code. You must also attach a copy of federal Form 1310,
Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, or a copy of the
death certificate when you file a tax return and claim a refund due.

Innocent Joint Filer Relief

If you file a joint tax return, both you and your spouse/RDP are generally
responsible for paying the tax and any interest or penalties due on the tax return.
However, you may qualify for relief of payment on all or part of the balance

as an innocent joint filer. For more information, get FTB Pub. 705, Innocent
Joint Filer — Relief From Paying California Income Taxes, at fth.ca.gov or call
916.845.7072, Monday - Friday between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except holidays.

Requesting a Copy of Your Tax Return

The FTB keeps personal income tax returns for three and one-half years from the
original due date. To obtain a copy of your tax return, write a letter or complete
form FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal Income Tax or Fiduciary Return.

In most cases, a $20 fee is charged for each taxable year you request. However,
no charge applies for victims of a designated California or federal disaster, or you
request copies from a field office that assisted you in completing your tax return.
See “Order Forms and Publications.”

Local Benefits

You cannot deduct the amounts you pay for local benefits that apply to property
in a limited area (construction of streets, sidewalks, or water and sewer systems).
You must look at your real estate tax bill to determine if any nondeductible
itemized charges are included in your bill. For more information, go to fth.ca.gov
and search for real estate tax or get federal Publication 17, Your Federal Income
Taxes-For Individuals, Chapter 22.

Vehicle License Fees for Federal Schedule A

On your federal Schedule A (Form 1040), you may deduct the California motor
vehicle license fee listed on your Vehicle Registration Billing Notice from the
Department of Motor Vehicles. The other fees listed on your billing notice such as
registration fee, weight fee, and county fees are not deductible.

Voting Is Everybody’s Business
You may register to vote if you meet these requirements:

e You are a United States citizen.

e You are a resident of California.

e You will be 18 years old by the date of the next election.

e You are not in prison or on parole for the conviction of a felony.

You need to re-register every time you move, change your name, or wish to
change political parties. In order to vote in an election, you must be registered to
vote at least 15 days before that election. If you need to get a Voter Registration
Card, call the California Secretary of State’s office voter hotline at 800.345.VOTE
or go to sos.ca.gov.

It’s Your Right . . . Register and Vote
If You File Electronically

If you e-file your tax return, make sure all the amounts entered on the paper copy
of your California tax return are correct before you sign form FTB 8453, California
e-file Return Authorization for Individuals, or form FTB 8879, California e-file
Signature Authorization for Individuals. If you are requesting direct deposit of a
refund, make sure that your account and routing information is correct. Your tax
return can be transmitted to the FTB by your preparer or e-file service only after
you sign form FTB 8453 or FTB 8879. The preparer or e-file service must provide
you with:

e Acopy of forms FTB 8453 or FTB 8879.

e Any original Forms W-2, 592-B, 593, 1099-G, and any other Form(s) 1099
that you provided.

e A paper copy of your California tax return showing the data transmitted
to the FTB.

You cannot retransmit an e-filed tax return once we’ve accepted the original.
You can correct an error only by completing a Form 540X, Amended Individual
Income Tax Return, and mailing the paper copy to us. Go to fth.ca.gov or see
“Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”
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CREDIT CHART

Credit Name Code | Description
California Competes Tax — FTB 3531 233 | The credit, which is allocated and certified by the California Competes Tax Credit Committee,
is available for businesses that want to come to California or to stay and grow in California.
Website: business.ca.gov
California Motion Picture and Television Production — 223 | The credit, which is allocated and certified by the California Film Commission, is 20% of
FTB 3541 expenditures attributable to a qualified motion picture and 25% of production expenditures
attributable to an independent film or a TV series that relocates to California.
Child Adoption Costs — Worksheet on page 27 197 | 50% of qualified costs in the year an adoption is ordered
Child and Dependent Care Expenses — FTB 3506 232 | Similar to the federal credit except that the California credit amount is based on a
See the instructions on page 26 specified percentage of the federal credit.
College Access Tax — FTB 3592 235 | The credit, which is allocated and certified by the California Educational Facilities Authority, is
available for taxpayers who contribute to the College Access Tax Credit Fund.
Website: treasurer.ca.gov/cefa
Community Development Financial Institutions 209 | 20% of each qualified investment made to a community development financial institution
Investments — Certification Required Obtain certification from: California Organized Investment Network (COIN), Department of Insurance,
300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1600, Sacramento CA 95814. Website: insurance.ca.gov.
Dependent Parent — See page 27 173 | Must use married/RDP filing separately status and have a dependent parent
Disabled Access for Eligible Small Business — 205 | Similar to the federal credit but limited to $125 based on 50% of qualified expenditures
FTB 3548 that do not exceed $250
Donated Agricultural Products Transportation — 204 | 50% of the costs paid or incurred for the transportation of agricultural products donated
FTB 3547 to nonprofit charitable organizations
Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables — FTB 3811 224 | 10% of the donation’s costs for qualified taxpayers who donate fresh fruits or fresh vegetables to a
California food bank
Earned Income Tax — FTB 3514 None | This credit is similar to the federal Earned Income Credit (EIC) but with different income limitations.
Enhanced Oil Recovery — FTB 3546 203 | One third of the similar federal credit and limited to qualified enhanced oil recovery projects located
within California.
Enterprise Zone Hiring — FTB 3805Z 176 | Hiring credit for an enterprise zone
Environmental Tax — FTB 3511 218 | Five cents ($.05) for each gallon of ultra low sulfur diesel fuel produced during the taxable year by a
small refiner at any facility located in this state
Joint Custody Head of Household — 170 | 30% of tax up to $431 for taxpayers who are single or married/RDP filing separately, who have a
Worksheet on page 27 child and meet the support test
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area 198 | Hiring credit for a local agency military base recovery area.
Hiring — FTB 3807
Low-Income Housing — FTB 3521 172 | Similar to the federal credit but limited to low-income housing in California
Manufacturing Enhancement Area Hiring — FTB 3808 211 | Hiring credit for a manufacturing enhancement area
Natural Heritage Preservation — FTB 3503 213 | 55% of the fair market value of any qualified contribution of property donated to the state, any local
government, or any nonprofit organization designated by a local government
New Employment — FTB 3554 234 | The credit is available for a taxpayer that hires a full-time employee and pays or incurs wages in a
designated census tract or economic development area, and receives a tentative credit reservation
for that full-time employee.
Nonrefundable Renter’s — See page 13 None | For California residents who paid rent for their principal residence for at least 6 months in 2015 and
whose AGI does not exceed a certain limit
Other State Tax — Schedule S 187 | Net income tax paid to another state or a U.S. possession on income also taxed by California
Prior Year Alternative Minimum Tax — FTB 3510 188 | Must have paid alternative minimum tax in a prior year and have no alternative minimum tax liability
in 2015
Prison Inmate Labor — FTB 3507 162 | 10% of wages paid to prison inmates
Research — FTB 3523 183 | Similar to the federal credit but limited to costs for research activities in California
Senior Head of Household — 163 | 2% of taxable income up to $1,317 for seniors who qualified for head of household in 2013 or 2014
Worksheet on page 27 and whose qualifying individual died during 2013 or 2014
Targeted Tax Area Hiring — FTB 3809 210 | Hiring credit for a targeted tax area

Repealed Credits:

The expiration dates for these credits have passed. However, these credits had carryover provisions. You may claim these credits only if you have

an unused carryover available from prior years. If you are not required to complete Schedule P (540NR), Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit
Limitations — Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, get form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and Recapture Summary, to figure your credit carryover to
future years. For LAMBRA or TTA credit carryovers, get form FTB 3807 or form FTB 3809. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications”.

Agricultural Products ...................... 175
Commercial Solar Electric System ............ 196
Commercial SolarEnergy . .................. 181
Employer Childcare Contribution ............. 190
Employer Childcare Program ................ 189
Employee Ridesharing ..................... 194
Employer Ridesharing: ~ Large employer. .. ... 191

Small employer. ..... 192

Transit passes. ...... 193
Energy Conservation. ...................... 182
Enterprise Zone SalesorUseTax............. 176

Farmworker Housing. .. .................... 207 | Residential Rental & Farm Sales.............. 186
Joint Strike Fighter Wages .................. 215 | RiceStraw........ ... ... ... 206
Joint Strike Fighter Property Cost............. 216 | Ridesharing.............. ... ... ... ... . ... 171
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Salmon & Steelhead Trout Habitat
AreaSalesorUseTax.................... 198 Restoration.............. ... ... ... ... 200
Low-Emission Vehicles. .................... 160 | SolarEnergy....................... ... 180
Manufacturers’ Investment. . ................ 199 | SolarPump.............. ... ...l 179
Newdobs ...... ... .. 220 | Solar or Wind Energy System................ 217
OrphanDrug..........cooviiniiiiiinnn. 185 | Targeted Tax Area Sales or Use Tax............ 210
Political Contributions. . .................... 184 | Water Conservation. ....................... 178
Recycling Equipment . ......... ... ... .. ... 174 | YounglInfant............. ... ... ... ... .... 161

Owe Money? Web Pay lets you pay online, so you can schedule it and forget it! Go to ftb.ca.gov for more information.
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Voluntary Contribution Fund Descriptions

Make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole dollar amounts to the funds listed below. To contribute to the California Seniors Special Fund, use
the instructions for code 400 below. The amount you contribute either reduces your overpaid tax or increases your tax due. You may contribute only
to the funds listed and cannot change the amount you contribute after you file your tax return. For more information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for

voluntary contributions.

Code 400, California Seniors Special Fund - If you and/or your
spouse/RDP are 65 years of age or older as of January 1, 2016, and
claim the Senior Exemption Credit on line 7, you may make a combined
total contribution of up to $218 or $109 per spouse/RDP. Contributions
made to this fund will be distributed to the Area Agency on Aging
Councils (TACC) to provide advice on and sponsorship of Senior
Citizens issues. Any excess contributions not required by TACC will be
distributed to senior citizen service organizations throughout California
for meals, adult day care, and transportation.

Code 401, Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund — Contributions
will be used to provide grants to California scientists to study Alzheimer’s
disease and related disorders. This research includes basic science,
diagnosis, treatment, prevention, behavioral problems, and caregiving.
With almost 600,000 Californians living with the disease and another 2
million providing care to a loved one with Alzheimer’s, our state is in the
early stages of a major public health crisis. Your contribution will ensure
that Alzheimer’s disease receives the attention, research, and resources

it deserves. For more information go to cdph.ca.gov and search for
Alzheimer.

Code 403, Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program —
Contributions will be used to help protect and conserve California’s
many threatened and endangered species and the wild lands that
they need to survive, for the enjoyment and benefit of you and future
generations of Californians.

Code 405, California Breast Cancer Research Fund — Contributions
will fund research toward preventing and curing breast cancer. Breast
cancer is the most common cancer to strike women in Galifornia. It kills
4,000 California women each year. Contributions also fund research

on prevention and better treatment, and keep doctors up-to-date on
research progress. For more about the research your contributions
support, go to cherp.org. Your contribution can help make breast cancer
a disease of the past.

Code 406, California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund — Contributions will
be used for the repair and maintenance of the California Firefighters’
Memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol, ceremonies to honor the
memory of fallen firefighters and to assist surviving loved ones, and for
an informational guide detailing survivor benefits to assist the spouses/
RDPs and children of fallen firefighters.

Code 407, Emergency Food for Families Fund — Contributions will be
used to help local food banks feed California’s hungry. Your contribution
will fund the purchase of much-needed food for delivery to food banks,
pantries, and soup kitchens throughout the state. The State Department
of Social Services will monitor its distribution to ensure the food is given
to those most in need.

Code 408, California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund -
Contributions will be used to preserve the memory of California’s fallen
peace officers and assist the families they left behind. Since statehood,
over 1,300 courageous California peace officers have made the ultimate
sacrifice while protecting law-abiding citizens. The non-profit charitable
organization, California Peace Officers’ Memorial Foundation, has
accepted the privilege and responsibility of maintaining a memorial for
fallen officers on the State Capitol grounds. Each May, the Memorial
Foundation conducts a dignified ceremony honoring fallen officers and
their surviving families by offering moral support, crisis counseling, and
financial support that includes academic scholarships for the children
of those officers who have made the supreme sacrifice. On behalf of

all of us and the law-abiding citizens of California, thank you for your
participation.

Code 410, California Sea Otter Fund — The California Coastal
Conservancy and the Department of Fish and Wildlife will each be
allocated 50% of the contributions. Contributions allocated to the
California Coastal Conservancy will be used for research, science,
protection, projects, or programs related to the Federal Sea Otter
Recovery Plan or improving the nearshore ocean ecosystem, including,

program activities to reduce sea otter mortality. Contributions allocated
to the Department of Fish and Wildlife will be used to establish a sea
otter fund within the department’s index coding system for increased
investigation, prevention, and enforcement action.

Code 413, California Cancer Research Fund — Contributions will

be used to conduct research relating to the causes, detection, and
prevention of cancer and to expand community-based education

on cancer, and to provide prevention and awareness activities for
communities that are disproportionately at risk or afflicted by cancer.

Code 419, Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund — Contributions will
be used to fund, through grants, eligible community-based organizations
that agree to provide services to minors who are victims of human
trafficking.

Code 422, School Supplies for Homeless Children Fund -
Contributions will be used to provide school supplies and health-related
products to homeless children.

Code 423, State Parks Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase —
Contributions will be used for the protection and preservation of
California’s state parks and for the cost of a Vehicle Day Use Annual
Pass valid at most park units where day use fees are collected. The
pass is not valid at off-highway vehicle units, or for camping, oversized
vehicle, extra vehicle, per-person, or supplemental fees. If a taxpayer’s
contribution equals or exceeds $195 the taxpayer will receive a single
Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass. Amounts contributed in excess of the
parks pass cost may be deducted as a charitable contribution for the
year in which the voluntary contribution is made. Any contribution
less than $195 will be treated as a voluntary contribution and may be
deducted as a charitable contribution. For more information go to
parks.ca.gov/annualpass/ or email info@parks.ca.gov.

Code 424, Protect Our Coast and Oceans Fund — Contributions will be
used to provide grants to community organizations working to protect,
restore, and enhance the California coast and ocean. Gontributions

will support shoreline cleanups, habitat restoration, coastal access
improvements, and ocean education programs.

Code 425, Keep Arts in Schools Fund - Contributions will be used
by the Arts Council for the allocation of grants to individuals or
organizations administering arts programs for children in preschool
through 12th grade.

Code 427, California Senior Legislature Fund — The California Senior
Legislature (CSL) is a non-partisan, all volunteer group of 120 senior
volunteers that work to identify senior issues statewide and write
proposals to improve those issues. Additionally, CSL works directly
with the current Legislators to get those proposals turned into bills

and eventually into law. In its 35+ years, over 198 CSL bills have been
signed by the California Governor. Laws that have been sponsored by
CSL include those covering Adult Day Health Care Centers, nutrition
centers, respite care, long-term care, elder abuse prevention programs,
Alzheimer day care programs, and more.

Code 429, California Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund -
Contributions will be used to further the services that California’s rape
crisis centers provide for victims of rape or sexual assault.

Code 430, State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child
Abuse — Contributions will be used to support child abuse prevention
programs with demonstrated success, public education efforts to
change adult behaviors and educate parents, innovative research to
identify best practices, and the replication of those practices to prevent
child abuse and neglect.

Code 431, Prevention of Animal Homelessness & Cruelty Fund -
Contributions will be used to provide funding to programs designed
to prevent and eliminate animal homelessness and cruelty, research
that explores novel approaches to preventing and eliminating pet
homelessness and the prevention, investigation, and prosecution of
animal cruelty and neglect.
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TAXABLE YEAR

California Nonresident or Part-Year

. FORM

2015 Resident Income Tax Return Short Form 540NR
Your first name Initial| Last name Suffix Your SSN or ITIN
If joint tax return, spouse’s/RDP’s first name |[Initial| Last name Suffix Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

Additional Information (See instructions)

PBA code

Street address (number and street) or PO box

Apt. no./ste. no. PMB/private mailbox

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions)

State |ZIP code

Foreign country name

Foreign province/state/county

Foreign postal code

@ Your DOB (mm/dd/yyyy)

@ Spouse’s/RDP’s DOB (mm/dd/yyyy)

If you filed your 2014 tax return under a different last name, write the last name only from the 2014 tax return.

@ Taxpayer

@® Spouse/RDP

1 [] Single
2 [ Married/RDP filing jointly. See inst.

Head of household (with qualifying person). See instructions.

5[ Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouﬁDP died
If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, check the box here

[ state of residence: Yourself Spouse/RDP
[ Dates of California residency: Yourself from to Spouse/RDP from to
[ State or country of domicile: Yourself Spouse/RDP
6 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, check the box here. Seeinst . ............... ([ J ﬁ|:|
» For line 7, line 8, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line. Whole dollars only
7 Personal: If you checked box 1 or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2 in the box.
If you checked the box on ling 6, See INStrUCHONS. . . . ... oo\ e e et ® 7] x $100 =@

8 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both are visually impaired, enter 20 8 |:| X $109 = ®$
10 Dependents: Do not include yourself or your spouse/RDP.

Dependent 1 Dependent 2 Dependent 3

First Name @ @ @

Last Name @ @ @

SSN P P P

relationehi ® ® ®

to you

Total dependent eXemMpPLiONS . . ... ...t o1 Ix $337 = @$
11 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. .. ... ... .. .. . 1 (OF
12 Total California wages from your Form(s) W-2,box 16 ....................... ® 12 00
13 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 37; Form 1040A, line 21;

Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040NR, line 36; or Form 1040NR-EZ, line 10 . .......... ... ... s, ® 13 00

If the amount on line 13 is more than $100,000, stop here and use Long Form 540NR.
14 Unemployment compensation and military pay adjustment. See instructions................... ... .......... @ 14 00
17 Adjusted gross income from all sources. Subtract line 14 fromline 13....... .. ... ... . ... . .. @ 17 00
18 Standard deduction for your filing status. If you checked the box on line 6, see instructions.

O SINglE .. $4,044

e Married/RDP filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) .............. $8,088............... ® 18 00
19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total taxable income. If less than zero, enter-0- .................. @ 19 00

T
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Your name: Your SSN or ITIN:
31 Tax on the amount shown on line 19, see line 31 iNStructions. .. ... ... i et @ 31 ‘00
32 CA adjusted gross income. Add wages from line 12 and California taxable interest
(Form 1099, box 1). Military servicemembers see line 14 instructions . . .......... @ 32 ‘00
33 CA Standard Deduction Percentage. Divide line 32 by line 17. If more than 1, enter 1.0000 . ................... @ 33 .
34 CA Prorated Standard Deduction. Multiply line 18 by line 33. .. .. ... .. .. o @ 34 00
35 CA Taxable Income. Subtract line 34 from line 32. If less than zero, enter -0-. .. .......... ... .. ... .......... ® 35 00
36 CA Tax Rate. Divide line 31 by lINe 19 ... o i e e @ 36 .
37 CA Tax Before Exemption Credits. Multiply line 35 by line 36. .. ... i @ 37 ‘00
38 CA Exemption Credit Percentage. Divide line 35 by line 19. If more than 1, enter 1.0000 . ..................... @ 38 .
39 CA Prorated Exemption Credits. Multiply line 11 by line 38 .. ... ... ... . . . . @ 39 00
42 CA Regular Tax Before Credits. Subtract line 39 from line 37. If less than zero, enter-0- . ..................... ® 42 00
61 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. See instructions . . ........... .. ... . . ® 61 00
74 Total tax. Subtract line 61 from line 42. If less than zero, enter-0- . .......... .. ... ... .. ... ... ... ........ ® 74 00
81 California income tax withheld (Form(s) W-2, box 17). .. ... ... o o 81 00
85 Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) . .. ... o e ® 85 00
86 Total payments. Add line 81 and liNe 85. .. .. ... . i i @ 86 00
103 Overpaid tax. If line 86 is larger than line 74, subtract line 74 from line 86 .......... ... ... ... ... .......... @103 00
104 Tax due. If line 86 is less than line 74, subtract line 86 from line 74 . ...... ... ... ... ... ... ... ........... @104 00
Code Amount Code Amount
Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . .. e 401 100 Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund .. ... ... o 419 100
Rare and Endangered Species School Supplies for Homeless Children Fund. . . .. o 422 100
Preservation Program..................... e 403 100 State Parks Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase e 423 100
2 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . .. .. ... e 405 00 Protect Our Coast and Oceans Fund . ........... o 424 00
.g California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund .......... o 406 100 Keep Artsin Schools Fund ................... e 425 100
> Emergency Food for Families Fund............. o 407 100 California Senior Legislature Fund ............. o 427 100
-‘:’ California Peace Officer Memorial Habitat for Humanity Fund . .................. o 428 100
c FoundationFund......................... o 408 100 California Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund . .e 429 100
8 California Sea Otter Fund .................... e 410 100 State Children's Trust Fund for the Prevention of
California Cancer Research Fund .............. o 413 100 Child Abuse. .. ... e 430 100
Prevention of Animal Homelessness & Cruelty Fund.. o 431 100
120 Add code 401 through code 431. This is your total contribution . ................ ... ... ... . ... ..... @ 120 ‘00
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Your name: Your SSN or ITIN:

121 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 104 and line 120. See instructions. Do Not Send Cash.
Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 ............... @ 121 5 > .00
Pay Online — Go to fth.ca.gov for more information.

125 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 120 from line 103. .. ..................... ... ... ® 125 5 5 .00

Mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001

Fill in the information to authorize direct deposit of your refund into one or two accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip. See instructions

Have you verified the routing and account numbers? Use whole dollars only.
All or the following amount of my refund (line 125) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:

[ Checking
[ Savings

@ Routing number @ Type @ Account number

, ; ..00

@ 126 Direct deposit amount

The remaining amount of my refund (line 125) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:

1 Checking

@ Routing number @ Type @ Account number

X ..00

[ Savings

@ 127 Direct deposit amount

To learn about your privacy rights, how we may use your information, and the consequences for not providing the requested information, go to

ftb.ca.gov and search for privacy notice. To request this notice by mail, call 800.852.5711.

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this tax return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my
knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.

Your signature

X

Spouse’s/RDP’s signature (if a joint tax return, both must sign)

Sign
Here

It is unlawful to

Your email address (optional). Enter only one email address.

Daytime phone number (optional)

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

forge a
spouse’s/RDP’s Firm's name (or yours, if self-employed) @® PTIN
signature.
Joint tax return?
(See instructions) Firm's address @ FEIN
Do you want to allow another person to discuss this tax return with us? See instructions. . . . . o E Yes ’: No

Print Third Party Designee’s Name

Telephone Number

T

3143153
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2015 Instructions for Long Form 540NR
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return

References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before You Begin

Complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040, Form 1040A,
Form 1040EZ, Form 1040NR, or Form 1040NR-EZ) before you begin
your Long Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident
Income Tax Return. Use information from your federal income tax

return to complete your Long Form 540NR. Complete and mail Long
Form 540NR by April 18, 2016. Due to the Emancipation Day holiday on
April 16, 2016, tax returns filed and payments mailed or submitted on
April 18, 2016, will be considered timely. If unable to mail your return by
this date see page 2.

To get forms and publications referred to in these instructions, go to
ftb.ca.gov or see “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

You may qualify for the federal earned income tax credit. See
page 2 for more information.

Note: The lines on Long Form 540NR are numbered with gaps in the
line number sequence. For example, lines 20 through 30 do not appear
on Long Form 540NR. So the line number that follows line 19 on Long
Form 540NR is line 31.

Caution: Long Form 540NR has three sides. If filing Long Form 540NR,
you must send all three sides to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB).

Filling in Your Return

e Use black or blue ink on the tax return you send to the FTB.

e Enter your Social Security Number(s) (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer
Identification Number(s) (ITIN) at the top of Long Form 540NR,
Side 1.

e Print numbers and CAPITAL LETTERS between the combed lines. Be
sure to line up dollar amounts.

e |f you do not have an entry for a line, leave it blank unless the
instructions for a line specifically tell you to enter zero. Do not enter a
dash or the word “NONE.”

Name(s) and Address

Print your first name, middle initial, last name, and street address in the
spaces provided at the top of Long Form 540NR.

Suffix
Use the Suffix field for generational name suffixes such as “SR”, “JR”,
“I”, “IV”. Do not enter academic, professional, or honorary suffixes.

Additional Information
Use the Additional Information field for “In-Care-of” name and other
supplemental address information only.

Foreign Address

If you have a foreign address, follow the country’s practice for entering
the city, county, province, state, country, and postal code, as applicable,
in the appropriate boxes. Do not abbreviate the country name.

Principal Business Activity (PBA) Code

For federal Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Business (Sole
Proprietorship) business filers, enter the numeric PBA code from federal
Schedule C (Form 1040), line B.

Date of Birth (DOB)

Enter your DOBs (mm/dd/yyyy) in the spaces provided. If your filing
status is married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately,
enter the DOBs in the same order as the names.

Prior Name
If you or your spouse/RDP filed your 2014 tax return under a different
last name, write the last name only from the 2014 tax return.

Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)

Enter your SSNs in the spaces provided. If you file a joint tax return,
enter the SSNs in the same order as the names.

If you do not have an SSN because you are a nonresident or a resident
alien for federal tax purposes, and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
issued you an ITIN, enter the ITIN in the space provided for the SSN.

An ITIN is a tax processing number issued by the IRS to foreign
nationals and others who have a federal tax filing requirement and do
not qualify for an SSN. It is a nine-digit number that always starts with
the number 9.

Filing Status

Check only one box for line 1 through line 5. Enter the required
additional information if you checked the box on line 3 or line 5. For
filing status requirements, see page 3.

Usually, your California filing status must be the same as the filing status
you used on your federal income tax return.

Exception for Married Taxpayers Who File a Joint Federal Income Tax
Return — You may file separate California returns if either spouse was:

e An active member of the United States Armed Forces or any auxiliary
military branch during 2015.

e A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California
sources during 2015.

Community Property. If either spouse earned California source
income while domiciled in a community property state, the
community income will be split equally between the spouses. Both
spouses will have California source income and they will not qualify
for the nonresident spouse exception. For more information, get FTB
Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status, and FTB
Pub. 1051A, Guidelines For Married/RDP Filing Separate Returns.

If you did not file a federal tax return because you did not have a federal
filing requirement, use the filing status you would have used had you
been required to file.

Registered domestic partners (RDPs) who file single for federal must
file married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately for
California. If you are an RDP and file head of household for federal
purposes, you may file head of household for California purposes only
if you meet the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered
not in a domestic partnership.

Nonresident Alien — A joint tax return may be filed if, in the case of a
nonresident alien married to a United States citizen or resident, both
spouses/RDPs elect to treat the nonresident alien spouse/RDP as a
resident for tax purposes.

If You Filed Federal Form 1040NR or Form 1040NR-EZ, you do not
qualify to use the head of household or married/RDP filing jointly filing
statuses. Instead, use single, married/RDP filing separately, or qualifying
widow(er) filing status, whichever applies to you.

If You File as Head of Household, do not claim yourself or a nonrelative
as the qualifying individual for head of household. Get FTB Pub. 1540,
California Head of Household Filing Status, for more information. See
“Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”
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Instructions: Long Form 540NR

e-file at fth.ca.gov

Exemptions

Line 6 — Can be Claimed as a Dependent
Check the box on line 6 if someone else can claim you or your spouse/
RDP as a dependent on their tax return, even if they chose not to.

Line 7 - Personal Exemptions
Did you check the box on line 67

No Follow the instructions on Long Form 540NR, line 7.

Yes Ignore the instructions on Long Form 540NR, line 7. Instead, enter

the amount shown below for your filing status:
Single or married/RDP filing separately, enter -0-.
Head of household, enter -0-.

e Married/RDP filing jointly and both you and your spouse/RDP
can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-.

e Married/RDP filing jointly and only one spouse/RDP can be
claimed as a dependent, enter 1.

Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent
on their tax return.

Line 8 — Blind Exemptions

The first year you claim this exemption credit, attach a doctor’s
statement to the back of Long Form 540NR indicating that you or your
spouse/RDP is visually impaired. Visually impaired means not capable of
seeing better than 20/200 while wearing glasses or contact lenses, or if
your field of vision is not more than 20 degrees.

Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent
on their tax return.

Line 9 — Senior Exemptions

If you were 65 years of age or older by December 31, 2015*, you should
claim an additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are married or

an RDP, each spouse/RDP 65 years of age or older should claim an
additional credit. You may contribute all or part of this credit to the
California Seniors Special Fund. See “Voluntary Contribution Fund
Descriptions” for more information.

* If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2016, you are considered to be
age 65 on December 31, 2015.

Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent
on their tax return.

Line 10 — Dependent Exemptions

To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents, you must
write each dependent’s first and last name, SSN and relationship to you
in the space provided. If you are claiming more than three dependents,
attach a statement with the required dependent information to your tax
return. The persons you list as dependents must be the same persons
you listed as dependents on your federal income tax return. Count the
number of dependents listed and enter the total in the box on line 10.
Multiply the number you entered by the pre-printed dollar amount and
enter the result.

If your dependent child was born and died in 2015 and you do not have
an SSN for the child, enter “Died” in the space provided for the SSN and
include a copy of the child’s birth certificate, death certificate, or hospital
records. The document must show the child was born alive

Line 11 — Exemption Amount
Add line 7 through line 10 and enter the total dollar amount of all
exemptions for personal, blind, senior, and dependent.

Total Taxable Income

Refer to your completed federal income tax return to complete this
section.

Line 12 - California Wages

Enter the total amount of your California wages from your Form(s) W-2,
Wage and Tax Statement. This amount appears on Form W-2, box 16.

Line 13 — Federal AGI from Form 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21;
1040EZ, line 4; 1040NR, line 36; or 1040NR-EZ, line 10
Registered domestic partners (RDPs) who file a California tax return

as married/RDP filing jointly and have no RDP adjustments between
federal and California, combine their individual AGIs from their federal
tax returns filed with the IRS. Enter the combined AGI on Long Form
540NR, line 13.

RDP adjustments include but are not limited to the following:

Transfer of property between spouses/RDPs

Capital loss

Transactions between spouses/RDPs

Sale of residence

Dependent care assistance

Investment interest

Qualified residence interest acquisition loan & equity loan
Expense depreciation property limits

Individual Retirement Account

Interest education loan

Rental real estate passive loss

Rollover of publicly traded securities gain into specialized small
business investment companies

RDPs filing as married/RDP filing separately, former RDPs filing
separately, and RDPs with RDP adjustments will use the California
RDP Adjustments Worksheet in FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for
Registered Domestic Partners, or complete a federal pro forma

Form 1040. Transfer the amount from the California RDP Adjustments
Worksheet, line 37, column D, or federal pro forma Form 1040, line 37,
to Long Form 540NR, line 13.

Line 14 - California Adjustments — Subtractions

(from Schedule CA (540NR), line 37, column B)
Complete Schedule CA (540NR), California Adjustments — Nonresidents
or Part-Year Residents, to find the amount to enter on Long
Form 540NR, line 14. Follow the instructions for Schedule CA (540NR).
Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), line 37, column B on Long
Form 540NR, line 14.

If the amount on Schedule CA (540NR) line 37, column B is a negative
number, do not transfer it to Long Form 540NR, line 14 as a negative
number. Instead, transfer the number as a positive number to Long
Form 540NR, line 16.

Line 15 — Subtotal

Subtract the amount on line 14 from the amount on line 13. Enter the
result on line 15. If the amount on line 13 is less than zero, combine the
amounts on line 13 and line 14 and enter the amount in parentheses.
For example: “(12,325).”

Line 16 — California Adjustments — Additions

(from Schedule CA (540NR), line 37, column C)
Complete Schedule CA (540NR), to find the amount to enter on Long
Form 540NR, line 16. Follow the instructions for Schedule CA (540NR).
Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), line 37, column C on Long
Form 540NR, line 16.

If the amount on Schedule CA (540NR) line 37, column C is a negative
number, do not transfer it to Long Form 540NR, line 16 as a negative
number. Instead, transfer the number as a positive number to Long
Form 540NR, line 14.

Line 17 — Adjusted Gross Income From All Sources

Combine line 15 and line 16. This amount should match the amount on
Schedule CA (540NR), line 37, column D.
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e-file is fast, easy, and secure!

Instructions: Long Form 540NR

Line 18 - Galifornia Iltemized Deductions or California
Standard Deduction

Decide whether to itemize your deductions, such as charitable

contributions, medical expenses, etc., or take the standard deduction.

Your California income tax will be less if you take the larger of your

California:

e |temized deductions (total itemized deductions allowed under
California law).
e Standard deduction.

On federal tax returns, individual taxpayers who claim the standard
deduction are allowed an additional deduction for net disaster losses.
For California, deductions for disaster losses are only allowed for those
individual taxpayers who itemized their deductions.

If married or an RDP and filing separate Long Form 540NR, you and
your spouse/RDP must either both itemize your deductions (even if
the itemized deductions of one spouse/RDP are less than the standard
deduction) or both take the standard deduction.

Also, if someone else can claim you as a dependent, you may claim
the greater of the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. To
figure your standard deduction, see the California Standard Deduction
Worksheet for Dependents.

Itemized Deductions. Figure your California itemized deductions by
completing Schedule CA (540NR), Part 111, line 38 through line 44. Enter
the result on Long Form 540NR, line 18.

If you did not itemize deductions on your federal income tax return
but will itemize deductions for your Long Form 540NR, first complete
federal Schedule A (Form 1040), ltemized Deductions. Then complete
Schedule CA (540NR), Part 11, line 38 through line 44.

Standard Deduction. Find your standard deduction on the California
Standard Deduction Chart for Most People. If you checked the box
on Long Form 540NR, line 6, use the California Standard Deduction
Worksheet for Dependents, instead.

California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People
Do not use this chart if your parent, or someone else, can claim you
(oryour spouse/RDP) as a dependent on their tax return.

Your Filing Status Enter On Line 18

1-Single. ... $4,044
2 —Married/RDPfilingjointly . .. ..................... $8,088
3—Married/RDP filing separately. . . .................. $4,044
4—-Headofhousehold . ............................ $8,088
5—Qualifyingwidow(er) ........... ..o, $8,088

The California standard deduction amounts are less than the federal
standard deduction amounts.

California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if your parent, or someone else, can claim you
(oryour spouse/RDP) as a dependent on their tax return. Use whole
dollars only.

1. Enter your earned income from: line 1 of the
“Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents”
in the instructions for federal Form 1040;
Form 1040A; or from line A of the worksheet
on the back of Form 1040EZ . ... .............. 1

2. Minimum standard deduction . ................ 2 $1,050.00

3. Enter the larger of line 1 orline2here .......... 3
4. Enter the amount shown for your filing status:
e Single or married/RDP filing separately,
enter $4,044 4
e Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household,
or qualifying widow(er), enter $8,088
5. Standard deduction. Enter the smaller of
line 3 or line 4 here and on the Short or
Long Form 540NR, line18. . .................. 5

Line 19 — Taxable Income

Capital Construction Fund (CCF). If you claim a deduction on your
federal Form 1040, line 43 for a contribution made to a CCF set up
under the Merchant Marine Act of 1936, reduce the amount you would
otherwise enter on line 19 by the amount of the deduction. Next to
line 19, enter “CCF” and the amount of the deduction. For details, see
federal Publication 595, Capital Construction Fund for Commercial
Fishermen.

California Taxable Income

When you figure your tax, use the correct filing status and taxable
income amount.

Line 31 - Tax

@ e-file and you won'’t have to do the math. Go to fth.ca.gov
and search for efile.

To figure your tax on the amount on line 19, use one of the following
methods and check the matching box on line 31:

¢ Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 19 is $100,000 or less,
use the tax table beginning on page 75. Use the correct filing status
column in the tax table.

¢ Tax Rate Schedules. If your taxable income on line 19 is over
$100,000, use the tax rate schedules on page 80.

e FTB 3800. Generally, you use form FTB 3800, Tax Computation
for Certain Children with Investment Income, to figure the tax on a
separate Long Form 540NR for your child who was 18 and under or
a student under age 24 on January 1, 2016, and who had more than
$2,100 of investment income. Attach form FTB 3800 to the child’s
Long Form 540NR.

e FTB 3803. If, as a parent, you elect to report your child’s interest
and dividend income of $10,500 or less (but not less than $1,050)
on your return, complete form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report
Child’s Interest and Dividends. File a separate form FTB 3803 for each
child whose income you elect to include on your Long Form 540NR.
Add the amount of tax, if any, from each form FTB 3803, line 9, to the
amount of your tax from the tax table or tax rate schedules and enter
the result on Long Form 540NR, line 31. Attach form(s) FTB 3803 to
your return.

To prevent possible delays in processing your tax return or refund, enter
the correct tax amount on this line. To automatically figure your tax or to
verify your tax calculation, use our online tax calculator. Go to fth.ca.gov
and search for tax calculator.

Line 32 — CA Adjusted Gross Income

Complete Schedule CA (540NR), line 45 to determine your California
adjusted gross income. Follow the instructions for Schedule CA
(540NR). Enter on Long Form 540NR, line 32 the amount from
Schedule CA (540NR), line 45.

Line 36 — CA Tax Rate

In this computation, the FTB rounds the tax rate to four digits after the
decimal. If your computation is different, you may receive a notice due
to the difference in rounding. Contact us at 800.852.5711 if you disagree
with this notice.

Line 38 — CA Exemption Credit Percentage

Divide the California Taxable Income (line 35) by Total Taxable Income
(line 19). This percentage does not apply to the Nonrefundable Renter’s
Credit, Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit,
Other State Tax Credit, or credits that are conditional upon a transaction
occurring wholly within California. If more than 1, enter 1.0000.

Line 39 — CA Prorated Exemption Credits

Use your exemption credits to reduce your tax. If your federal adjusted
gross income (AGI) on line 13 is more than the amount listed below for
your filing status, your credits will be limited.
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Instructions: Long Form 540NR

e-file at fth.ca.gov

Is Long Form 540NR,

If your filing status is: line 13 more than:

Single or married/RDP filing separately .................. $178,706
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) .......... $357,417
Head of household ............. ... ... ............. $268,063

Yes Complete the AGI Limitation Worksheet below.
No Multiply line 11 by line 38.

AGI Limitation Worksheet
Use whole dollars only

a Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 13. ... .. a
b Enter the amount for your filing status on line b:

e Single or married/RDP filing separately $178,706

e Married/RDP filing jointly or b

qualifying widow(er) .............. $357,417

e Head of household . . .............. $268,063
¢ Subtractlinebfromlinea........................ c
d Divide line ¢ by $2,500 ($1,250 if married/RDP filing

separately). If the result is not a whole number, round it

to the next higher whole number . .................. d
e Multiplylinedby $6............................. e
f Add the numbers from the boxes on Long Form 540NR,

line 7, line 8, and line 9 (not the dollar amounts) . .. .... f
g Multiplylineebylinef........................... g
h Add the total dollar amounts from Long Form 540NR,

line7,line8,andline9........................... h

i Subtract line g from line h. If zero or less enter -0- . . . .. i
j  Enter the number from the box on Long Form 540NR,
line 10 (not the dollaramount). . ................... i

k Multiply lineebylinej........................... k
| Enter the dollar amount from
Long Form 540NR, line10 ....................... |

m Subtract line k from line 1. If zero or less, enter-0- .... m

n Addlineiand line m. Enter the result here. . .......... n
0 Multiply the amount on line n by the CA Exemption

Credit Percentage on Long Form 540NR, line 38. Enter

the result here and on Long Form 540NR, line 39 ... ... 0

Line 41 - Tax from Schedule G-1 and Form FTB 5870A

If you received a qualified lump-sum distribution in 2015 and you were
born before January 2, 1936, get Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum
Distributions, to figure your tax by special methods that may result in
less tax.

If you received accumulation distributions from foreign trusts or from
certain domestic trusts, get form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation
Distribution of Trusts, to figure the additional tax.

To get these forms, see “Order Forms and Publications.”

Special Credits and Nonrefundable Credits

A variety of California tax credits are available to reduce your tax if you
qualify. To figure and claim most special credits, you must complete a
separate form or schedule and attach it to your Long Form 540NR. The
Credit Chart on page 16 describes the credits and provides the name,
credit code, and number of the required form or schedule. Many credits
are limited to a certain percentage or a certain dollar amount. In addition,
the total amount you may claim for all credits is limited by tentative
minimum tax (TMT); go to Box A to see if your credits are limited.

If you are not claiming any other special credits go to line 50 and line 61
to see if you qualify for the nonrefundable child and dependent care
expenses credit or the nonrefundable renter’s credit.

Box A - Did you complete federal Schedule C, D, E, or F and claim
or receive any of the following (Note: If your business
gross receipts are less than $1,000,000 from all trades
or businesses, you do not have to report AMT. For more
information, see line 71 instructions.):

Accelerated depreciation in excess of straight-line
Intangible drilling costs

Depletion

Circulation expenditures

Research and experimental expenditures

Mining exploration/development costs

Amortization of pollution control facilities
Income/loss from tax shelter farm activities
Income/loss from passive activities

Income from long-term contracts using the percentage of
completion method

Pass-through AMT adjustment from an estate or trust
reported on Schedule K-1 (541)

Yes Getand complete Schedule P (540NR). See “Order Forms
and Publications.”
No Go to Box B.

Box B — Did you claim or receive any of the following:

e |nvestment interest expense 226

e |ncome from incentive stock options in excess of the amount
reported on your return (@8 225

e Income from installment sales of certain property

Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540NR). See “Order Forms
and Publications.”
No Go toBoxC.

Is Long Form 540NR,

Box C - If your filing status is: line 17 more than:

e Single or head of household ................... $246,451
o Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . .$328,601
e Married/RDP filing separately . ................. $164,299

Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540NR). See “Order Forms
and Publications.”
No Your credits are not limited.

Line 50 — Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care

Expenses Credit
Claim this credit if you paid someone to care for your child under the
age of 13, other dependent who is physically or mentally incapable
of caring for him or herself, or spouse/RDP if physically or mentally
incapable of caring for him or herself. To claim this credit, your federal
adjusted gross income must be $100,000 or less. Complete and attach
form FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. See “Where
To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

The care must have been provided in California. You must have
California-sourced income (wages earned working in California or self-
employment income from California business activities).

A servicemember’s active duty military pay is considered earned income,
regardless of whether the servicemember is domiciled in California.

Get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel, for more
information.

Schedule P (540NR) - If you need to complete Schedule P (540NR)
and you claim any of the credits on line 51 through line 53, do not
enter an amount on line 51 through line 53. Instead, enter the total
amount of these credits from Schedule P (540NR), Part Ill, Section B1,
line 14 through line 16, on Long Form 540NR, line 55. Do not follow the
instructions for line 55. Write “Schedule P (540NR)” to the left of the
amount entered on line 55.
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Line 51 — Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household —
Code 170

You may not claim this credit if you used the head of household,
married/RDP filing jointly, or the qualifying widow(er) filing status.

Claim the credit if unmarried and not an RDP at the end of 2015 (or

if married or an RDP, you lived apart from your spouse/RDP for all of
2015 and you used the married/RDP filing separately filing status); and
if you furnished more than one-half the household expenses for your
home that also served as the main home of your child, step-child, or
grandchild for at least 146 days but not more than 219 days of your
taxable year. If the child is married or an RDP, you must be entitled to
claim a dependent exemption for the child.

Also, the custody arrangement for the child must be part of a decree of
dissolution or legal separation or part of a written agreement between
the parents where the proceedings have been initiated, but a decree of
dissolution or legal separation has not yet been issued.

If your Federal AGI is more than $178,706, subtract line n from

the AGI Limitation Worksheet on page 26 from line 31 of the Long
Form 540NR and enter this amount on line 1 of the worksheet below
to calculate your credit.

Use the worksheet below to figure this credit using whole dollars only:

1. Subtract line 11 from line 31 on Long Form 540NR

and entertheresulthere ....................... 1
2. Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 41 ... 2
3. Addlinetandline2 .......................... 3
4. Credit percentage —30% . ..................... 4 x .30
5. Credit amount. Multiply line 3 by line 4. Enter on this

line the result or $431, whichever is less. Enter this
amount on Long Form 540NR, lined1............. 5

If you qualify for both the Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household

and the Credit for Dependent Parent, you are only allowed to claim one
or the other, not both. Select the credit that will allow the maximum
benefit.

Line 52 - Credit for Dependent Parent — Code 173
You may not claim this credit if you used the single, head of household,
qualifying widow(er), or married/RDP filing jointly filing status.

Claim this credit only if all of the following apply:

e You were married or an RDP at the end of 2015 and you used the
married/RDP filing separately filing status.

e Your spouse/RDP was not a member of your household during the
last six months of the year.

e You furnished over one-half the household expenses for your
dependent mother’s or father's home, whether or not she or he lived
in your home.

To figure the amount of this credit, use the worksheet for the Credit for
Joint Custody Head of Household, on this page.

On the last line of the worksheet, enter the result or $431, whichever is
less. Enter this amount on Long Form 540NR, line 52.

If you qualify for both the Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household
and the Credit for Dependent Parent, you are only allowed to claim one
or the other, not both. Select the credit that will allow the maximum
benefit.

Line 53 - Credit for Senior Head of Household — Code 163
Claim this credit if you:

e Were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 2015*.

e (Qualified as a head of household in 2013 or 2014 by providing a

household for a qualifying individual who died during 2013 or 2014.
¢ Did not have adjusted gross income over $69,902 for 2015.

*If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2016, you are considered to be
age 65 on December 31, 2015.

If you meet all the conditions listed, you do not need to qualify to use the
head of household filing status for 2015 in order to claim this credit.

Use the worksheet below to figure this credit using whole dollars only:

1. Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 19 ... 1
2. Credit percentage —2% ....................... 2 X .02
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2.

Enter on this line the result or $1,317, whichever is less.

Enter this amount on Long Form 540NR, line 53 .... 3

Line 54 and Line 55 — Credit Percentage and Credit Amount
If you claimed credits on line 51, line 52, or line 53, complete the
worksheet below to compute your credit percentage and the allowable
prorated credit to enter on line 55 using whole dollars only. If you
completed Schedule P (540NR), see the instructions above the Line 51
instructions.

Part | - Credit Percentage

1. Divide Long Form 540NR, line 35 by line 19. Enter
the result here and on Long Form 540NR, line 54.
If more than 1, enter1.0000 ................... 1

Part Il - Credit Amount
Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household
1. Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 51 . .1

2. Credit Percentage from Part I, line 1............. 2 X
3. Multiplylinetbyline2....................... 3
4. Enter the lesser of the amount from line 3or $431.... 4

Credit for Dependent Parent
5. Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 52 . .5

6. Credit Percentage from Part I, line1............. 6 x
7. Multiply line5byline6....................... 7
8. Enter the lesser of the amount on line 7or $431...... .. 8

Credit for Senior Head of Household

9. Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 53 . .9

10. Credit Percentage from Part I, line1............ 10 x
11. Multiply line 9 by line10..................... 11

12. Enter the lesser of the amount on line 11 or $1,317 .. 12

Total Prorated Credits

13.Add line 4, line 8, and line 12. Enter the
result here and on Long Form 540NR, line 55......... 13

Line 58 through Line 60 — Additional Special Credits
A code identifies each credit. To claim only one or two credits, enter the
credit name, code, and amount of the credit on line 58 and line 59.

To claim more than two credits, use Schedule P (540NR), Part I1I. See
Schedule P (540NR) instructions, “How to Claim Your Credits.”

Important: Attach Schedule P (540NR) and any required supporting
schedules or statements to your Long Form 540NR.

Carryovers: If you claim a credit with carryover provisions and the
amount of the credit available this year exceeds your tax, carry over any
excess credit to future years until the credit is used (unless the carryover
period is a fixed number of years). If you claim a credit carryover for

an expired credit, use form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and Recapture
Summary, to figure the amount of the credit.

Credit for Child Adoption Costs — Code 197

For the year in which an adoption decree or an order of adoption is
entered (e.g. adoption is final), claim a credit for 50% of the cost of
adopting a child who was both:

e Acitizen or legal resident of the United States

e |n the custody of a California public agency or a California political
subdivision

540NR Tax Booklet 2015 Page 27



Instructions: Long Form 540NR

e-file at fth.ca.gov

Treat a prior unsuccessful attempt to adopt a child (even when the
costs were incurred in a prior year) and a later successful adoption

of a different child as one effort when computing the cost of adopting
the child. Include the following costs if directly related to the adoption
process:

e Fees for Department of Social Services or a licensed adoption agency
e Medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance
e Travel expenses for the adoptive family

Note:

e This credit does not apply when a child is adopted from another
country or another state, or who was not in the custody of a
California public agency or a California political subdivision.

e Any deduction for the expenses used to claim this credit must be
reduced by the amount of the child adoption costs credit claimed.

Use the following worksheet to figure this credit using whole dollars
only. If more than one adoption qualifies for this credit, complete a
separate worksheet for each adoption. The maximum credit is limited to
$2,500 per minor child.

1. Enter qualifying costs forthe child ............... 1

2. Credit percentage —50% ... ..., 2 x .50

3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2.
Do not enter more than $2,500 . . ................ 3

Your allowable credit is limited to $2,500 for 2015. You may carryover

the excess credit to future years until the credit is used.

Line 61 — Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit

If you paid rent for at least six months in 2015 on your principal
residence located in California you may qualify to claim the
nonrefundable renter’s credit which may reduce your tax. Complete the
qualification record on page 13.

Line 63
Subtract the amount on line 62 from the amount on line 42. Enter the

result on line 63. If the amount on line 62 is more than the amount on
line 42, enter -0-.

Other Taxes
Attach the specific form or statement required for each item below.

Line 71 - Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)

If you claim certain types of deductions, exclusions, and credits, you
may owe AMT if your total income is more than:

e $87,627 married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)

e $65,721 single or head of household

e $43,812 married/RDP filing separately

A child under age 19 or a student under age 24 may owe AMT if the sum
of the amount on line 19 (taxable income) and any preference items
listed on Schedule P (540NR) and included on the return is more than
the sum of $7,400 plus the child’s earned income.

AMT income does not include income, adjustments, and items of tax
preference related to any trade or business of a qualified taxpayer who
has gross receipts, less returns and allowances, during the taxable year
of less than $1,000,000 from all trades or businesses.

Get Schedule P (540NR) for more information. See “Where To Get
Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

Line 72 — Mental Health Services Tax

If your taxable income or nonresident CA source taxable income is more
than $1,000,000, compute the Mental Health Services tax below using
whole dollars only:

1. CA Taxable income from Long Form 540NR,

line35 .. .. 1
2. LSS, 2 $(1.000.000)
3. Subtotal. ... 3
4, Taxrate=1%. ... 4 x .01
5. Mental Health Services Tax — Multiply line 3 by line 4.

Enter this amount here and on Long Form 540NR,
iNe72 . . . . . 5

Line 73 — Other Taxes and Credit Recapture

If you received an early distribution of a qualified retirement plan and
were required to report additional tax on your federal tax return, you may
also be required to report additional tax on your California tax return. Get
form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including IRAS)
and Other Tax-Favored Accounts. If required to report additional tax,
report it on line 73 and write “FTB 3805P” to the left of the amount.

California conforms to federal law for income received under IRC
Section 409A on a nonqualified deferred compensation (NQDC) plan and
discounted stock options and stock appreciation rights. Income received
under IRC Section 409A is subject to an additional 5% tax plus interest.
Include the additional tax, if any, on line 73. Write “NQDC” on the dotted
line to the left of the amount.

If you owe interest on deferred tax from installment obligations, include
the additional tax, if any, in the amount you enter on line 73. Write “IRC
Section 453A interest” and the amount on the dotted line to the left of
the amount on line 73.

If you used form(s):

e FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and Recapture Summary

e FTB 3554, New Employment Credit

e FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit Summary

e F[TB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction and
Credit Summary

e F[TB 3808, Manufacturing Enhancement Area Credit Summary

e FTB 3809, Targeted Tax Area Deduction and Credit Summary

Include the additional tax for credit recapture, if any, on line 73. Write the
form number on the dotted line to the left of the amount on line 73.

Payments

Have your Form(s) W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, W-2G, Certain
Gambling Winnings, 1099-DIV, Dividends and Distributions, 1099-

INT, Interest Income, 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous Income, 1099-01D,
Original Issue Discount, 1099-R, Distributions from Pensions, Annuities,
Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc.,
592-B, Resident and Nonresident Withholding Tax Statement, and 593,
Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement, before you begin this section.

If you received wages and do not have a Form W-2, see page 8,
Question 2.
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Line 81 - California Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total California income tax withheld from your Form(s):

e \W-2 box17

W-2G, box 15

1099-DIV, Dividends and Distributions, box 14
1099-INT, Interest Income, box 17
1099-MISC, box 16

1099-0ID, Original Issue Discount, box 13

e 1099-R, box 12

Do not include city, local, or county tax withheld, tax withheld by other
states,or nonconsenting nonresident (NCNR) member’s tax from
Schedule K-1 (568), line 15e. Do not include nonresident or real estate
withholding from Form(s) 592-B or 593, on this line. Do not include
NCNR member’s tax from Schedule K-1 (568), line 15e as withholding.
See line 82. If you had California tax withheld and did not receive
Form(s) W-2 or 1099, contact the entity that paid the income.

If you received Form(s) 1099-DIV, 1099-INT, 1099-MISC, 1099-0ID, or
1099-R showing California income tax withheld, include in the total on
line 81 the amount(s) withheld and attach a copy of the Form(s) 1099 to
the lower front of your tax return.

Generally, tax should not be withheld on Form 1099-MISC. If you
want to pre-pay tax on income reported on Form 1099-MISC, use
Form 540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals.

Line 82 — 2015 CA Estimated Tax and Other Payments
Enter the total of any:

e (alifornia estimated tax payments you made using 2015
Form 540-ES, electronic funds withdrawal, Web Pay, or credit card.

e (Qverpayment from your 2014 California income tax return that you
applied to your 2015 estimated tax.

e Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic
Extension for Individuals.

e (alifornia estimated tax payments made on your behalf by an
estate or trust on Schedule K-1 (541) or an S corporation on
Schedule K-1(100S).

If you are including NCNR tax, write “LLC” on the dotted line to the

left of the amount on line 82, and attach Schedule K-1 (568) with the
amount of the NCNR tax claimed. The LLC’s return must be filed before
an individual member’s account can be credited.

If you and your spouse/RDP paid joint estimated taxes but are now filing
separate income tax returns, either of you may claim the entire amount
paid, or each may claim part of the joint estimated tax payments. If you
want the estimated tax payments to be divided, notify the FTB before
you file the tax returns so the payments can be applied to the proper
account. The FTB will accept in writing, any divorce agreement (or
court-ordered settlement) or a statement showing the allocation of the
payments along with a notarized signature of both taxpayers.

Send statements to:

JOINT ESTIMATED CREDIT ALLOCATION MS F225
TAXPAYER SERVICES CENTER

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942840

SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

To view payments made or get your current account balance, go to
fth.ca.gov and search for myfth account.

If you or your spouse/RDP made separate estimated tax payments, but
are now filing a joint income tax return, add the amounts you each paid.
Attach a statement to the front of your Long Form 540NR explaining that
payments were made under both SSNs.

You do not have to make estimated tax payments if you are a
nonresident or new resident of California in 2016 and did not have a
California tax liability in 2015.

Line 83 — Withholding (Form 592-B and/or 593)

If you were a nonresident who received California source income or sold
California real estate, enter the total California tax withheld from your
Form(s) 592-B, Resident and Nonresident Withholding Tax Statement
and and 593, Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement. Attach a copy of
Form(s) 592-B and 593 to the lower front of Long Form 540NR, Side 1.

Do not include withholding from other forms on this line. Do not include
NCNR member’s tax from Schedule K-1 (568), line 15e as withholding.
See line 82.

Line 84 - Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld

You may be entitled to claim a credit for excess State Disability
Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) only if you
meet all of the following conditions:

e You had two or more California employers during 2015.

¢ You received more than $104,378 in social security wages (Box 3
on your Form W-2) from California sources. If you have no social
security wages (Box 3) then use total wages (Box 16).

e The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your Form(s) W-2.
Be sure to attach your Form(s) W-2 to your Long Form 540NR.

If SDI (or VPDI) was withheld from your wages by a single employer,
at a rate of more than 0.9% of your social security wages, you may not
claim excess SDI (or VPDI) on your Long Form 540NR. Contact the
employer for a refund.

To determine the amount to enter on line 84, complete the Excess SDI
(or VPDI) Worksheet below. If married/RDP filing jointly, figure the
amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately for each spouse/RDP.

Excess SDI (or VPDI) Worksheet
Use whole dollars only

Follow the instructions below to figure the amount of excess SDI to
enter on Long Form 540NR, line 84. If you are married or an RDP and
file a joint tax return, you must figure the amount of excess SDI (or
VPDI) separately for each spouse/RDP.

Your
You Spouse/
, RDP
1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld
shown on your Forms W-2.
Enter the total here . .................. 1
2. 2015 SDI (or VPDI) limit. . ............. 2 $939.40 |$939.40

3. Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. Subtract
line 2 from line 1. Enter the results here.
Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter
the total, in whole dollars only, on
Long Form 540NR, line 84 ............. 3

If zero or less, enter -0- on line 84.

Line 85 — Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)
Enter your Earned Income Tax Credit from form FTB 3514, California
Earned Income Tax Credit.

Line 86
For the Claim of Right credit, follow the reporting instructions in
Schedule CA (540NR), line 41 under the Claim of Right.

Claim of Right: If you are claiming the tax credit on your California tax
return, include the amount of the credit in the total for this line. Write
in “IRC 1341” and the amount of the credit to the left of the amount
column.

To determine if you are entitled to this credit, refer to your prior year
California Form 540, Form 540NR (Long or Short), Schedule CA (540),
or Schedule CA (540NR), column E, to verify the amount was included
in your CA taxable income. If the amount repaid under a “Claim of Right”
was not originally taxed by California, you are not entitled to claim the
credit.
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Overpaid Tax or Tax Due

To avoid a delay in the processing of your tax return, enter the correct
amounts on line 101 through line 104.

Line 101 - Overpaid Tax

If the amount on line 86 is more than the amount on line 74, subtract
the amount on line 74 from the amount on line 86. Enter the result on
line 101. Your payments and credits are more than your tax.

Line 102 — Amount You Want Applied to Your
2016 Estimated Tax
Apply all or part of the amount on line 101 to your estimated tax for

2016. Enter on line 102 the amount of line 101 you want applied to
2016.

An election to apply an overpayment against estimated tax is binding.
Once the election is made, the overpayment cannot be applied to a
deficiency after the due date of the tax return.

Line 103 — Overpaid Tax Available This Year

If you entered an amount on line 102, subtract it from the amount on
line 101. Enter the result on line 103. You may have this entire amount
refunded to you or make contributions to the California Seniors Special
Fund or make other voluntary contributions from this amount. If

you make a contribution, skip line 104 and go to the instructions for
contributions.

Line 104 — Tax Due

If the amount on line 86 is less than the amount on line 74, subtract
the amount on line 86 from the amount on line 74. Enter the result on
line 104. Your tax is more than your payments and credits.

There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year. You may
have to pay a penalty if:

e The tax due on line 104 is $500 or more ($250 or more if married/
RDP filing separately).

e The amount of state income tax withheld on line 81 is less than 90%
of the amount of your total tax on line 74.

If you owe a penalty, the FTB will figure the penalty and send you a bill.

Contributions

You can make voluntary contributions to the funds listed on
Long Form 540NR, Side 3. See “Voluntary Contributions Fund
Descriptions” for more information.

You may also contribute any amount to the State Parks

Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase. To receive a single annual park
pass, your contribution must equal or exceed $195. When applicable,
FTB will forward your name and address from your tax return to the
Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) who will issue a single
Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass to you. Only one pass will be provided
per tax return. You may contact DPR directly to purchase additional
passes. If there is an error on your tax return in the computation of total
contributions or if we disallow the contribution you requested because
there is no credit available for the tax year, your name and address

will not be forwarded to DPR. Any contribution less than $195 will be
treated as a voluntary contribution and may be deducted as a charitable
contribution. For more information go to parks.ca.gov/annualpass/ or
email info@parks.ca.gov.

Code 400 - Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund

If you and/or your spouse/RDP are 65 years of age or older and claim
the Senior Exemption Credit on line 9, you may make a combined total
contribution of up to $218 or $109 per spouse/RDP. Contributions
entered on code 400 will be distributed to The Area Agency on Aging
Council of California (TACC) to provide advice on and sponsorship of
Senior Gitizen issues. Any excess contributions not required by TAGC
will be distributed to senior citizen service organizations throughout
California for meals, adult day care, and transportation.

Use the worksheet below to figure your contribution:

1. If you contribute, enter $109; if you and

your spouse/RDP contribute, enter $218...... ... 1
2. Enter the ratio from Long Form 540NR, line 38. ... 2
3. Contribution amount. Multiply line 1

by line 2. Enter the result (rounded to the

nearest whole dollar) here.................... 3

You may contribute any amount up to the amount on line 3. Enter your
contribution on the line for code 400.

Line 120 - Total Contributions
Add code 400 through code 429. Enter the result on line 120.

Amount You Owe
Add or subtract correctly to figure the amount you owe.

Line 121 — Amount You Owe

If you did not enter an amount on line 120, enter the amount from
line 104 on line 121. This is the amount you owe with your Long
Form 540NR.

If you entered an amount on line 120, add that amount to the amount on
line 104. Enter the result on line 121. This is the amount you owe with
your Long Form 540NR.

If you have an amount on line 103 and line 120, subtract line 120
from line 103. If line 120 is more than line 103 enter the difference on
line 121.

To avoid a late filing penalty, file your Long Form 540NR by the extended
due date even if unable to pay the amount you owe.

Mandatory Electronic Payments. You are required to remit all your
payments electronically once you make an estimate or extension
payment exceeding $20,000 or you file an original return with a total
tax liability over $80,000. Once you meet this threshold, all subsequent
payments regardless of amount, tax type, or taxable year must be
remitted electronically. The first payment that would trigger the
mandatory e-pay requirement does not have to be made electronically.
Individuals that do not send the payment electronically will be subject to
a 1% noncompliance penalty.

You can request a waiver from mandatory e-pay if one or more of the
following is true:

e You have not made an estimated tax or extension payment in excess
of $20,000 during the current or previous taxable year.

e Your total tax liability reported for the previous taxable year did not
exceed $80,000.

e The amount you paid is not representative of your total tax liability.

For more information or to obtain the waiver form, go to fth.ca.gov and
search for mandatory epay. Electronic payments can be made using
Web Pay on FTB’s website, electronic funds withdrawal (EFW) as part of
the e-file tax return, or your credit card.

Payment Options

e Electronic Funds Withdrawal - Instead of paying by check or money
order, you may use this convenient option if you e-file. Provide your
bank information, amount you want to pay, and the date you want the
balance due to be withdrawn from your account. Your tax preparation
software will offer this option.

e \Web Pay - Pay the amount you owe using our secure online
payment service. Go to fth.ca.gov for more information.

e (Credit Card - Whether you e-file or file by mail, you can use your
Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card to pay your
personal income taxes. If you pay by credit card, do not mail form
FTB 3519 to us. Call 800.272.9829 or go to the Official Payments
Corp. website at officialpayments.com, and use the jurisdiction
code 1555. Official Payments Corp. charges a convenience fee for
using this service.
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e-file is fast, easy, and secure!

Instructions: Long Form 540NR

e Check or Money Order — Using black or blue ink, make your check
or money order payable to the “Franchise Tax Board.” Do not send
cash. Write your SSN or ITIN and “2015 Long Form 540NR” on the
check or money order. Enclose, but do not staple, your payment with
your return.

Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn
against a U.S. financial institution. Do not combine your 2015 tax
payment and any 2016 estimated tax payment in the same check.
Prepare two separate checks and mail each in a separate envelope.

If you e-filed your tax return, mail your check or money order with
form FTB 3582, Payment Voucher for Individual e-filed Returns. Do
not mail a copy of your e-filed tax return.

A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your bank for
insufficient funds.

If you enter an amount on line 122 or line 123, see the instructions
for line 124 for information about how to prepare your check or
money order.

Paying by Credit Card — Whether you e-file or file by mail, use your
Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card to pay your
personal income taxes (tax return balance due, extension payment,
estimated tax payment, or tax due with bill notice). There is a
convenience fee for this service. This fee is paid directly to Official
Payments Corp. based on the amount of your tax payment.

Convenience Fee

e 2.30% of the tax amount charged (rounded to the nearest cent)
e Minimum fee: $1

Example: Tax Payment = $753.56 Convenience Fee = $17.33

When will my payments be effective?
Your payment is effective on the date you charge it.

What if | change my mind?

If you pay your tax liability by credit card and later reverse the credit card
transaction, you may be subject to penalties, interest, and other fees
imposed by the FTB for nonpayment or late payment of your tax liability.

How do I use my credit card to pay my income tax bill?
Once you have determined the type of payment and how much you owe,
the following information is needed:

e Your Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card
Credit card number

Expiration date

Amount you are paying

Your and your spouse’s/RDP’s SSN (or ITIN)

First 4 letters of your and your spouse’s/RDP’s last name
Taxable year

Home phone number (including area code)

ZIP Code for address where your monthly credit card bill is sent
FTB Jurisdiction Code: 1555

Go to the Official Payments Corp. website at officialpayments.com

and select Payment Center, or call 800.2PAY.TAX or 800.272.9829

and follow the recorded instructions. Official Payments Corp. provides
customer assistance at 877.297.7457 Monday through Friday, 5:00 a.m.
to 5:00 p.m. PST. Official Payments Corp. will tell you the convenience
fee before you complete your transaction. Decide whether to complete
the transaction at that time.

Payment Date : Confirmation Number:

If you cannot pay the full amount shown on Long Form 540NR, line 121,
see the information regarding monthly payments on page 8, question 4.

Interest and Penalties
If you file your tax return or pay your tax after the original due date, you
may owe interest and penalties on the tax due.

Do not reduce the amount on line 101 or increase the amount on
line 104 by any penalty or interest amounts. Enter on Long Form 540NR,
line 122 the amount of interest and penalties.

Line 122 - Interest and Penalties

Interest. Interest will be charged on any late filing or late payment
penalty from the original due date of the return to the date paid. In
addition, if other penalties are not paid within 15 days, interest will be
charged from the date of the billing notice until the date of payment.
Interest compounds daily and the interest rate is adjusted twice a year.
The FTB website has a chart of interest rates in effect since 1976. Go to
ftb.ca.gov and search for interest rates.

Late Filing of Tax Return. If you do not file your tax return by
October 17, 2016, you will incur a late filing penalty plus interest from
the original due date of the tax return. The maximum total penalty is
25% of the tax not paid if the tax return is filed after October 17, 2016.
The minimum penalty for filing a tax return more than 60 days late is
$135 or 100% of the balance of tax due, whichever is less.

Late Payment of Tax. If you fail to pay your total tax liability

by April 18, 2016, you will incur a late payment penalty plus interest. The
penalty is 5% of the tax not paid when due plus 1/2% for each month, or
part of a month, the tax remains unpaid. We may waive the late payment
penalty based on reasonable cause. Reasonable cause is presumed
when 90% of the tax shown on the return is paid by the original due
date of the return. However, the imposition of interest is mandatory. If,
after April 18, 2016, you find that your estimate of tax due was too low,
pay the additional tax as soon as possible to avoid or minimize further
accumulation of penalties and interest.

Other Penalties. We may impose other penalties if a payment is
returned for insufficient funds. We may also impose penalties for
negligence, substantial understatement of tax, and fraud.

Line 123 — Underpayment of Estimated Tax
You may be subject to an estimated tax penalty if any of the following is
true:

e Your withholding and credits are less than 90% of your current tax
year liability.

e Your withholding and credits are less than 100% of your prior
year tax liability (110% if AGI is more than $150,000 or $75,000 if
married/RDP filing separately).

e You did not pay enough through withholding to keep the amount
you owe with your tax return under $500 ($250 if married/RDP filing
separately).

The FTB can figure the penalty for you when you file your tax return and
send you a bill.

Is line 104 less than $500 ($250 if married/RDP filing separately)?

Yes Stop. You are not subject to an estimated payment penalty.
No  Continue. You may be subject to an estimated payment penalty.

Is line 104 less than 10% of the amount on line 63 (excluding the tax on
lump-sum distributions on line 41)?

Yes Stop. You are not subject to an estimated payment penalty.

No  You may be subject to an estimated payment penalty, see form
FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and
Fiduciaries (or form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated Tax
by Farmers and Fishermen).

The underpayment of estimated tax penalty shall not apply to the extent
the underpayment of an installment was created or increased by any
provision of law that is chaptered during and operative for the taxable
year of the underpayment. To request a waiver of underpayment of
estimated tax penalty, get form FTB 5805 or form FTB 5805F. See
“Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”
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Instructions: Long Form 540NR

e-file at fth.ca.gov

If you complete one of these forms, enter the amount of the penalty on
line 123 and check the correct box on line 123. Complete and attach

the form if you claim a waiver, use the annualized income installment
method, or pay tax according to the schedule for farmers and fishermen,
even if no penalty is owed.

See “Important Dates” for more information on estimated tax payments
and how to avoid the underpayment penalty.

Line 124 — Total Amount Due

Is there an amount on line 1217

Yes Add line 121, line 122, and line 123. Enter the result on line 124.
For payment options, see line 121 instructions.
No Go to line 125.

Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn
against a U.S. financial institution.

Refund and Direct Deposit

Line 125 — Refund or No Amount Due
Did you report amounts on line 120, line 122, or line 123?

No Enter the amount from line 103 on line 125. This is your refund
amount. If it is less than $1, attach a written statement to your Long
Form 540NR requesting the refund.

Yes Combine the amounts from line 120, line 122, and line 123. If the
result is:

° More than line 103, subtract line 103 from the sum of line 120,

line 122, and line 123 and enter the result on line 124. This
is your total amount due. For payment options, see line 121
instructions.

o Less than line 103, subtract the sum of line 120, line 122, and

line 123 from line 103 and enter on line 125. This is your refund
amount.

Of L Want a fast refund? Get your refund in 10 days
112 ' or less when you e-file your tax return!

Line 126 and Line 127 - Direct Deposit of Refund

Direct deposit is fast, safe, and convenient. To have your refund directly
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on
Long Form 540NR, Side 3, line 126 and line 127. Fill in the routing and
account numbers and indicate the account type. Verify routing and
account numbers with your financial institution. Do net attach a voided
check or deposit slip. See the illustration on this page.

Individual taxpayers may request that their refund be electronically
deposited into more than one checking or savings account. This allows
more options for managing your refund. For example, you can request
part of your refund go to your checking account to use now and the rest
to your savings account to save for later.

The routing number must be nine digits. The first two digits must be 01
through 12 or 21 through 32. On the sample check, the routing number
is 250250025. The account number can be up to 17 characters and

can include numbers and letters. Include hyphens but omit spaces and

special symbols. On the sample check, the account number is 202020.

Check the appropriate box for the type of account. Do not check more
than one box for each line.

Enter the portion of your refund you want directly deposited into each
account. Each deposit must be at least $1. The total of line 126 and

line 127 must equal the total amount of your refund on line 125. If line
126 and line 127 do not equal line 125, the FTB will issue a paper check.

Caution: Check with your financial institution to make sure your deposit
will be accepted and to get the correct routing and account numbers.
The FTB is not responsible for a lost refund due to incorrect account
information entered by you or your representative.

Some financial institutions will not allow a joint refund to be deposited to
an individual account. If the direct deposit is rejected, the FTB will issue
a paper check.

John Doe 1234
Mary Doe

1234 Main Street 15-0000/0000
Anytown, CA 99999 20

PAY TO THE $

ORDER OF | |

DOLLARS
Do not include

ANYTOWN BANK Routing ’Accoun
Anytown, CA 99999 number number,
For

the check number
I:(250250025) I{202020s 1234

Direct Deposit for ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plans - If you
have a ScholarShare 529 College Savings Plan account maintained by
the ScholarShare Investment Board, you may have your refund directly
deposited to your ScholarShare account.

Fill in the routing number, account type and account number. To
obtain the nine-digit routing number go to scholarshare.com or
call 800.544.5248. Check “Checking” as type of account. Enter your
complete account number that includes (1) the “CA” prefix, (2) your
four-digit investment portfolio number, and (3) your ScholarShare
account number (for account numbers less than 11 digits, add leading
Zeros).

Type

Routing number @Checking Account number
||><><xx><xx><><||DSaVings [[c.a]x x x x[o 0 x x X x X x X x x|

9-digit routing (1) 2)

number from “CA” investment

ScholarShare prefix portfolio
website number

3)
ScholarShare
account number
with leading zeroes

Sign Your Tax Return
Sign your tax return in the designated space on Side 3. If you file a joint
tax return, your spouse/RDP must sign the tax return also.

Include your phone number and email address in case the FTB needs

to contact you for information needed to process your tax return. By
providing this information the FTB will be able to process your tax return
or issue your refund faster.

Joint Tax Return. If you file a joint tax return, both you and your spouse/
RDP are generally responsible for the tax and any interest or penalties
due on the tax return. This means that if one spouse/RDP does not pay
the tax due, the other spouse/RDP may have to pay the tax due. See
“Innocent Joint Filer Relief.”

Paid Preparer’s Information. If you pay a person to prepare your Long
Form 540NR, that person signs and completes the area at the bottom
of Side 3 including an identification number. The IRS requires a paid
tax preparer to get and use a preparer tax identification number (PTIN).
If the preparer has a federal employer identification number (FEIN), it
should be entered only in the space provided. A paid preparer must give
you a copy of your tax return to keep for your records.

Third Party Designee. If you want to allow your preparer, a friend,
family member, or any other person you choose to discuss your 2015
tax return with the FTB, check the “Yes” box in the signature area of your
tax return. Also print the designee’s name and telephone number.
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e-file is fast, easy, and secure!

Instructions: Long Form 540NR

If you check the “Yes” box, you, and your spouse/RDP if filing a joint
tax return, are authorizing the FTB to call the designee to answer any
questions that may arise during the processing of your tax return. You
are also authorizing the designee to:

e Give the FTB any information that is missing from your tax return.

e (all the FTB for information about the processing of your tax return
or the status of your refund or payments.

e Receive copies of notices or transcripts related to your tax return,
upon request.

e Respond to certain FTB notices about math errors, offsets, and tax
return preparation.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive any refund check, bind
you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise
represent you before the FTB. If you want to expand or change the
designee’s authorization, go to fth.ca.gov and search for poa.

The authorization will automatically end no later than the due date
(without regard to extensions) for filing your 2016 tax return. This is
April 15, 2017, for most people. If you wish to revoke the authorization
before it ends, notify us by telephone at 800.852.5711 or by writing to
Franchise Tax Board, PO Box 942840, Sacramento, CA 94240-0040,
include your name, SSN, and the designee’s name.

Power of Attorney. If another person prepared your tax return, he or she is
not automatically granted access to your tax information in future dealings
with us. At some point, you may wish to designate someone to act on
your behalf in matters related or unrelated to your 2015 tax return (e.g., an
audit examination). To protect your privacy, you must submit to us a legal
document called a “Power of Attorney” (POA) authorizing another person
to discuss or receive personal information about your income tax records.

For more information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for poa.

Check Your Social Security Number (or ITIN). Verify that you have
written your social security number (or ITIN) in the spaces provided at
the top of Long Form 540NR. If you file a joint tax return, verify that you
and your spouse’s/RDP’s numbers are entered in the same order as your
names.

Filing Your Tax Return

Important: Attach a copy of your federal income tax return,
and all supporting federal forms and schedules to the back of
Long Form 540NR.

Federal Form(s) W-2, W-2G, and 1099, and CA Form(s) 592-B, and
593. Attach all the Form(s) W-2 and W-2G you received to the lower
front of your tax return. Also, attach any Form(s) 1099, 592-B, and 593
showing California income tax withheld.

If you do not receive your Form(s) W-2 by January 31, 2016, contact
your employer or go to fth.ca.gov and search for myfth account. Only
your employer can issue or correct a Form W-2. If you cannot get a copy
of your Form W-2, complete form FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2,
Wage and Tax Statement, or Form 1099-R, Distributions from Pensions,
Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance
Contracts, etc. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”
If you forget to send your Form(s) W-2 or any other withholding form(s)
with your income tax return, do not send it separately, or with another
copy of your tax return. Wait until the FTB requests it from you.

Assembling Your Tax Return
Assemble your tax return in the order shown below.

Copy of other state tax return

Copy of federal tax return

Supporting California Schedules
Long Form 540NR

Long Form 540NR

Lorg Form 540NR!

Enclose, but do not
staple, any payment.

W-2
WG -
1099 Side
592-B Side | 3
593 Side | 2

1

Caution: Long Form 540NR has three sides. If filing Long Form 540NR,
you must file all three sides with the FTB.

Mailing Your Tax Return
If you owe, mail your tax return to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

If you have a refund, or if no amount due, mail your tax return to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001
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TAXABLE YEAR

California Nonresident or Part-Year

FORM

2015 Resident Income Tax Return Long Form 540NR
Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month year 2016.
Your first name Initial | Last name Suffix Your SSN or ITIN
If joint tax return, spouse’s/RDP’s first name  [Initial| Last name Suffix Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN
Additional information (See instructions) PBA code
Street address (number and street) or PO box Apt. no./ste. no. PMB/private mailbox
City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State |ZIP code
Foreign country name Foreign province/state/county Foreign postal code

@ Your DOB (mm/dd/yyyy) @ Spouse’s/RDP’s DOB (mm/dd/yyyy)

If you filed your 2014 tax return under a different last name, write the last name only from the 2014 tax return.

@ Taxpayer @ Spouse/RDP
1[I Single 4 [] Head of household (with qualifying person). See instructions.
2 [ Married/RDP filing jointly. See inst. 5 [ Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse/RDP died
3 [ Married/RDP filing separately. Enter spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here
If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, check the box here ............ [l
6 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, check the box here. Seeinst........ e 6]
» Forline 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line. Whole dollars only
7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you checked box 2 or 5,
enter 2. If you checked the box on line 6, see instructions. . .......................... ®701X$109 - ®$
8 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1;
if both are visually impaired, 6N 2 ... ... ..o\t @8l 1x$109 - @$

9 Senior: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both are 65 or older, enter2. @ 9 [ 1 X$109 = (O}

10 Dependents: Do not include yourself or your spouse/RDP.

Dependent 1 Dependent 2 Dependent 3

First Name @ @ @

Last Name @ @ @

SSN ° ° °

e @ ® ®

to you
Total dependent eXemMpPLionNS . . . .. ...ttt e e o0 X $337=@%
11 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10 ... ......... . ... ... ... ... ... ...... 1 ®@$%
12 Total California wages from your Form(s) W-2,box 16 ...................... @ 12 ‘00
13 Enter federal AGI from Form 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21; 1040EZ, line 4; 1040NR, line 36;

Or T040NR-EZ, e 10 . ..o e ® 13 00
14 California adjustments — subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), line 37, columnB.. .. .. @ 14 00
15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. See instructions .............. 15 00
16 California adjustments — additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), line 37, column C. ....... ® 16 00
17 Adjusted gross income from all sources. Combine line 15and line16.................. ... ... ...... @ 17 00
18 Enter the larger of: Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540NR), line 44; OR

Your California standard deduction. See instructions ......... ... ... . ® 18 00
19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total taxable income. If less than zero, enter-0-............... @ 19 00
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Your name: Your SSN or ITIN:

31 Tax. Check the box if from: [ Tax Table [ Tax Rate Schedule @ [|FTB3800 @ [/FTB3803 ....... @ 31 ‘00
32 CA adjusted gross income from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 45. . . . . @ 32 ‘OO
35 CA Taxable Income from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 49 .. ... .. s ® 35 ‘00
36 CA Tax Rate. Divide line 31 by line 19 ... . s ®3%__ .
37 CA Tax Before Exemption Credits. Multiply line 35 by line36. ........ . ... i @® 37 ‘00
38 CA Exemption Credit Percentage. Divide line 35 by line 19. If more than 1, enter 1.0000.® 38 .
39 CA Prorated Exemption Credits. Multiply line 11 by line 38. If the amount on line 13 is more than

$178,706, SEE INSITUCHIONS. . .« o o oot e e e e e e @ 39 00
40 CA Regular Tax Before Credits. Subtract line 39 from line 37. If less than zero, enter-0- . ................ ® 40 00
41 Tax. See instructions. Check the box if from: @ [ !Schedule G-1 @ [IFTB5870A .................. @ 41 00
42 Add line 40 and [N 4. . . ... ® 42 00
50 Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. See instructions. Attach form FTB 3506 . ....... ® 50 00
51 Credit for joint custody head of household. See instructions. ............ ® 51 00
52 Credit for dependent parent. See instructions......................... @ 52 00
53 Credit for senior head of household. See instructions.. . ................ ® 53 00
54 Credit percentage. Divide line 35 by line 19.

If more than 1, enter 1.0000. See instructions. . ................... ® 54
55 Creditamount. See inStruCtions. ... ... .. ® 55 00
58 Enter credit name code @ and amount.. . ... .. @ 58 00
59 Enter credit name code @ and amount.. . ..... @ 59 00
60 To claim more than two credits. See inStructions. ... ... ® 60 00
61 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. See instructions.. . ... .. . @ 61 00
62 Add line 50 and line 55 through 61. These are your total credits . .. ........ ... ... ... ... .. ....... @ 62 00
63 Subtract line 62 from line 42. If less than zero, enter-0-. . ............. ... i ® 63 00
71 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540NR) . ... ... . e 00
72 Mental Health Services Tax. See inStruCtions. .. ... ... ...t ees ® 72 00
73 Other taxes and credit recapture. See instructions. . ........ ... ... ... . . ® 73 00
74 Add line 63, line 71, line 72, and line 73. Thisisyourtotaltax. .. ......... ... ... ... .. . . ... . .. ... ® 74 00
81 California income tax withheld. See instructions.. ......... .. .. e o 81 00
82 2015 CA estimated tax and other payments. See instructions.. . .......... ..o, @ 82 00
83 Withholding (Form 592-B and/or 593). See instructions.. . ... ® 83 00
84 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. See instructions. . .......... ... i @ 84 00
85 Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) . . .. ..ot ® 85 00
86 Add lines 81 through 85. These are your total payments. See instructions.. . ......................... @® 86 00
101 Overpaid tax. If line 86 is more than line 74, subtract line 74 fromline 86 ... ......................... @101 00
102 Amount of line 101 you want applied to your 2016 estimated tax. . ............ ... ... ... ........... ® 102 00
103 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 102 from line 101. .. ........ ... ... ... ... .. ... ...... @103 00
104 Tax due. If line 86 is less than line 74, subtract line 86 fromline 74 . ... ... ... .. ciiiiiiiiinin. @104 00
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Your name: Your SSN or ITIN:
Code Amount Code Amount
California Seniors Special Fund See inst. .. .. ... e 400 100 Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund ... o 419 100
Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . ... o 401 100 School Supplies for Homeless Ghildren Fund.. . . .e 422 100
Rare and Endangered Species State Parks Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase e 423 100
g Preservation Program.................... e 403 100 Protect Our Coast and Oceans Fund . ........... e 424 100
.S California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . .. ... o 405 100 KeepArtsin Schools Fund ................... o 425 100
2 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund ......... o 406 100 Cahfprma Senior Legislature Fund ............. o 427 100
s Emergency Food for Families Fund . ........... o 407 100 Habitat for Humanity Fund ................... e 428 100
s California Peace Officer Memorial California Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund. . .e 429 100
O Foundation Fund........................ o 408 100 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention
California Sea Otter Fund ................... e 410 100 of Child Abuse. ..., e 430 100
California Cancer Research Fund ............. o M3 |00 Prevention of Animal Homelessness & Cruelty Fund. e 431 |00
120 Add code 400 through code 431. This is your total contribution ............. .. ... ... . ... ... ... ® 120 \00
121 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 104 and line 120. See instructions. Do not send cash.
Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 ......... @ 121 5 5 00
Pay Online — Go to ftb.ca.gov for more information.
122 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties. .. ......... ... .. 122 00
123 Underpayment of estimated tax. Check the box: @ [ FTB 5805 attached @ [ |FTB 5805F attached . ® 123 00
124 Total amount due. See instructions. Enclose, but do not staple, any payment . ......................... 124 00
125 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 120 from line 103.
Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0001 .......... ® 125 5 5 .00
Fill in the information to authorize direct deposit of your refund into one or two accounts. Do net attach a voided check or a deposit slip.
See instructions. Have you verified the routing and account numbers? Use whole dollars only.
All or the following amount of my refund (line 125) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:
I"1 Checking
"1 Savings ) N ..00
@ Routing number ® Type @ Account number @ 126 Direct deposit amount
The remaining amount of my refund (line 125) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:
["] Checking
[J Savings N N ..00
@ Routing number @ Type @ Account number @ 127 Direct deposit amount

IMPORTANT: Attach a copy of your complete federal return.

To learn about your privacy rights, how we may use your information, and the consequences for not providing the requested information, go to ftb.ca.gov

and search for privacy notice. To request this notice by mail, call 800.852.5711.

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this tax return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my
knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.

Your signature Date Spouse’s/RDP’s signature (if a joint tax return, both must sign)

X X

Your email address (optional). Enter only one email address. Daytime phone number (optional)
Sign

Here Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)
Itis unlawful
to forge a — -
Firm’s name (or yours, if self-employed @® PTIN
spouse’s/RDP’s ory ployed)
signature.
Jointtax return? 5o @ FEIN
(See instructions)
Do you want to allow another person to discuss this tax return with us? See instructions. . . . . ® [ Ives [ Ino
Print Third Party Designee’s Name Telephone Number
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—weeever  California Adjustments —
2015 Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents

SCHEDULE

CA (540NR)

Important: Attach this schedule behind Long Form 540NR, Side 3 as a supporting California schedule.

Name(s) as shown on tax return SSNor ITIN
Part I Residency Information. Complete all lines that apply to you and your spouse/RDP for taxable year 2015.
During 2015:
1 My California (CA) Residency (Check one)
a Mysel: @ [ Nonresident (® [ Part-Year Resident (@ [ Resident
b Spouse: @ [ Nonresident (® [ Part-Year Resident (@ [ Resident
Yourself Spouse/RDP
2 a | was domiciled in (enter two letter code, see instructions). ..................... O) N O) _
b | was in the military and stationed in (enter two lettercode)..................... O) N O) _
3 | became a CA resident (enter state of prior residence and date (mm/dd/yy) of move) ... @ __ _ _ _/ _/ I SR
4 | became a CA nonresident (enter new state of residence and date (mm/dd/yy) of move). Y SR S [ Y S
5 | was a CA nonresident the entire year (enter state of residence). ................... O) N O) S
6 The number of days | spent in CA for any purpose was: ...............c..ooiiinnn. O) N O) _
7 1 owned a home/property in CA (enter Y for Yes, NforNo) ........................ O) _ @ _
8 Before 2015: | was a CA resident for the period of ......... -] ®_ ] -]
Part Il Income Adjustment Schedule A B C D E
Section A — Income Federal Amounts Subtractions Additions Total Amounts CA Amounts
(taxable amounts from See instructions See instructions Using CA Law (income earned or
your federal tax return)| (difference between | (difference between As If You Were a received as a CA
CA & federal law) CA & federal law) CA Resident resident and income
(subtract col. B from | earned or received
col. A; add col. C from CA sources
to the result) as a nonresident)
7 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions
hefore making an entry incol. BorC. .. ... 7 @ ® ® ® ®
8 Taxable interest. (b) 8(a)|® ® ® ® ®
9 Ordinary dividends. See instructions.
b® 9(a)| @ ® ® ® ®
10 Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state
and local income taxes. . . .............. 10 |@® ®
11 Alimony received. See instructions 1 |@® ® ® ®
12 Business income or (10SS).............. 12 |@® ® ® ® ®
13 Capital gain or (loss). See instructions.....13 | ® ® ® ® ®
14 Other gains or (I0SSES) ................ 14 |@® ® ® ® ®
15 [RA distributions. See instructions.
@® 15(b)| @ ® ® ® ®
16 Pensions and annuities. See
instructions. (a) @ ...16(h)|@® ® ® ® ®
17 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships,
S corporations, trusts, etc............... 17 |@® ® ® ® ®
18 Farmincome or (10SS) . ................ 18 |@® ® ® ® ®
19 Unemployment compensation........... 19 |@® ®
20 Social security benefits. (a) (@ 20(b) ® ®
21 Other income.
a California lottery winnings a@® a
b Disaster loss deduction from FTB 3805V rh ® b
¢ Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21) c JO)
d NOL deduction from FTB 3805V 21 |@® { i@ d 210 21®
e NOL from FTB 3805D, FTB 3805Z,
FTB 3806, FTB 3807, or FTB 3809 e(® e
f Other (describe): ST10) HO)
22 a Total: Combine line 7 through line 21
in each column. Continue to Side 2. . . . . 22a |@® ® ® ® ®
. For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP. I 7741153 | Schedule CA (540NR) 2015 Side 1 .



Income Adjustment Schedule A B c D E
Section B — Adjustments to Income Federal Amounts Subtractions Additions Total Amounts CA Amounts
(taxable amounts from See instructions See instructions Using CA Law (income earned or
your federal tax return) | (difference between | (difference between As If You Were a received as a CA
CA & federal law) CA & federal law) CA Resident resident and income
(subtract col. B from | earned or received
col. A; add col. C from CA sources
to the result) as a nonresident)
22 b Enter totals from Side 1, line 22a,
col. A through col. E 22h|(® O ® ® O
23 Educator eXpenses ................... 23 |@® O
24 Certain business expenses of reservists,
performing artists, and fee-basis
government officials . ................. 24 |® O ® ® ®
25 Health savings account deduction . . . .. ... 25 |® O
26 MOVING EXPENSES . . o v\ v v, 26 |@® ® O
27 Deductible part of self-employment tax . ... 27 |@® ® O
28 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and
qualified plans .. ... 28 |® ® O
29 Self-employed health insurance deduction . 29 |(® ® O
30 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings . ... 30 |(® ® O
31a Alimony paid. b Enter recipient’s:
sSSN® - -
Last name (® . 31a|@® ® ® ®
32 IRAdeduction ....................... 32 |@® ® ®
33 Student loan interest deduction . . .. ... ... 33 @ ® ® O
34 Tuitionandfees...................... 31 @ O
35 Domestic production activities deduction .. 35 |(® O
36 Add line 23 through line 35 in each column,
Athrough E. . ..o 36 |@® ® ® ® ®
37 Total. Subtract line 36 from line 22b in
each column, A through E. See instructions.. 37 |@® ® O O O

Part 111 Adjustments to Federal ltemized Deductions

38 Federal ltemized Deductions. Enter the amount from federal Schedule A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 15, 19, 20, 27, and 28
(or Schedule A (Form 1040NR), lines 1,5, 6,13, and 14) . . .. ... @ 38
39 Enter total of federal Schedule A (Form 1040), line 5 (State Disability Insurance, and state and local income tax,
or General Sales Tax), and line 8 (foreign taxes only) (or Schedule A (Form 1040NR), line 1). See instructions. .............. ® 39
40 Subtract line 39 from liNe B8 . . . ... @ 40
41 Other adjustments including California lottery losses. See instructions. Specify .~~~ ... ® a1
42 Combine line 40 and line 4. . . ... @ 42
43 Is your federal AGI (Long Form 540NR, line 13) more than the amount shown below for your filing status?
Single or married/RDP filing separately . ................... ... ... $178,706
Head of household .. ....... ... .. i $268,063
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . .................. $357,417
No. Transfer the amount on line 42 to line 43.
Yes. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in the instructions for Schedule CA (540NR), line43 ................... ® 43
44 Enter the larger of the amount on line 43 or your standard deduction. See instructions. . . ............................ @ 44
Part IV California Taxable Income
45 California AGI. Enter your California AGI from line 37, column E . . ... .. . @ 45
46 Enteryour deductions from line 44 . ... ... . ® 46
47 Deduction Percentage. Divide line 37, column E by line 37, column D. Carry the decimal
to four places. If the result is greater than 1.0000, enter 1.0000. If less than zero, enter-0-.......... @ 47 -
48 California Itemized/Standard Deductions. Multiply line 46 by the percentage online 47 .............. ... ... ... ... ..... @® 48
49 California Taxable Income. Subtract line 48 from line 45. Transfer this amount to Long Form 540NR, line 35. If less than
ZE10, BT -0 oot @ 49

T
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2015 Instructions for Schedule CA (540NR)

References to these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Information

In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, California
law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015.
However, there are continuing differences between California and federal

law. When California conforms to federal tax law changes, we do not always
adopt all of the changes made at the federal level. For more information, go
to fth.ca.gov and search for conformity. Additional information can be found
in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, and
the Business Entity tax booklets.

The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing their
state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful to the
greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is not possible
to include all requirements of the California Revenue and Taxation Code
(R&TC) in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider the tax booklets
as authoritative law.

Conformity
For updates regarding federal acts, go to fth.ca.gov and search for
conformity.

Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) — RDPs will compute their limitations
based on the combined federal adjusted gross income (AGI) of each
partner’s individual tax return filed with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).
For column A, line 7 through line 21, and line 23 through line 35, combine
your federal amounts from each partner’s individual federal tax return. For
more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered
Domestic Partners.

The combined federal AGI used to compute limitations is different from the
recalculated federal AGI used on Form 540NR, California Resident or Part-
Year Resident Income Tax Return, line 13. In situations where RDPs have no
RDP adjustments, these amounts may be the same.

Military Personnel — Servicemembers domiciled outside of California and
their spouses may exclude the servicemember’s military compensation
from gross income when computing the tax rate on nonmilitary income.
Requirements for military servicemembers domiciled in California remain
unchanged. Military servicemembers domiciled in California must include
their military pay in total income. In addition, they must include their military
pay as California source income when stationed in California. However,
military pay is not California source income when a servicemember is
permanently stationed outside of California. Beginning 2009, the federal
Military Spouses Residency Relief Act may affect the California income tax
filing requirements for spouses of military personnel. For more information,
get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.

Amended Tax Returns — If you are an active duty military servicemember
domiciled outside California and you included your military compensation in
income from all sources, you may file an amended tax return for tax years
with an open statute of limitations. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1032
and Form 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax Return.

Part-Year Residents — Complete the Part-Year Resident Worksheet on
page 10 to determine the amounts to enter on Part I1, line 7 through line 22a,
column E.

Avoid Common Mistakes on this Schedule.

Column A - Copy the amounts from your federal tax return. Use the

(a) amounts on line 8 and line 9 and the (b) amounts on line 15, line 16,
and line 20, from your federal tax return. Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income
Tax Return, line 37, should equal Sch CA (540NR), California Adjustments -
Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents, line 37, column A.

Column B (line 7 through line 21) — Subtract income that is not taxable to
a California resident such as California lottery winnings and social security
benefits. Do not use column B to deduct income that was earned while a
nonresident of California or from sources outside of California. There must
be a difference in state and federal tax law. Generally, if a full-year California
resident cannot subtract the income in column B, a nonresident or part-year
resident may not subtract the income in column B.

Column C (line 7 through line 21) — Add income that was not taxed on
your federal tax return but is taxable to a California resident such as foreign
income or interest/dividends from non-California municipal bonds.

Column D - Combine the columns (column A - column B + column C).
Line 37, column D, should equal Long Form 540NR, line 17. The amounts
in this column represent income earned from all sources as if you were

a full-year California resident, after applying California and federal law
differences.

Column E - Enter all income from all sources while a resident of California
and income from California sources while a nonresident.

Purpose

Use Schedule CA (540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or
Part-Year Residents, to determine California taxable income by doing the
following:

e |dentify the domiciles and also, current and past residency information.

e Enter the amounts of income and deductions reported on your federal tax
return.

e Adjust the income and deductions reported on your federal tax return for
differences in California and federal law.

e Determine the portion of income reported on your federal tax return that
was earned or received while you were a California resident.

e Determine the portion of income reported on your federal tax return
that was earned or received from California sources while you were a
nonresident.

e Determine your allowable standard deduction or itemized deductions.

Specific Line Instructions for
Part | Residency Information

Answer all the questions in this part for you and your spouse/RDP. If a
question does not apply, then leave the line blank. For more information get:

e FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status
e FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel

Use the two letter state abbreviations to complete this section. If you do not
know your state abbreviation, visit the United States Postal Service website
at https://www.usps.com/send/official-abbreviations.htm for assistance. If
you did not reside in the United States or a U.S. Possession, use the code
“FC.” The code “FC” is the abbreviation for foreign country.

Line 2 - Domicile and Military

If you served in the military, your state of domicile is generally the state
where you were living when you first entered military service. If you were
not in the military, your domicile is the place you consider your permanent
home, the place to which you, whenever absent, intend to return

Line 6 — The number of days | spent in California
The total number of days in California should include all days in California for
any purpose including residency, business, and vacation.

Line 7 - 1 owned a home/property in California
This includes property owned directly or indirectly through a trust or other
entity.

Line 8 — Before 2015: | was a California resident for the period of

Enter your most recent period of California residency. If you became a
nonresident during taxable year 2015, use December 31, 2014 as your end
date.

Specific Line Instructions for
Part Il Income Adjustment Schedule

Column A - Federal Amounts

Enter all the amounts shown on your federal tax return on the corresponding
lines in column A.

If married/RDP filing separately under either exception described in the
instructions for Long Form 540NR, enter in column A the amounts you
would have reported on a separate federal tax return. Attach a statement to
the tax return showing how the income and expenses were split between you
and your spouse/RDP.
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Line 7 through Line 21

Enter on line 7 through line 21 the same amounts you entered on federal
Form 1040, line 7 through line 21; Form 1040A, U.S. Individual Income
Tax Return, line 7 through line 14b; Form 1040EZ, Income Tax Return for
Single and Joint Filers with No Dependents, line 1, line 2, and line 3; or
Form 1040NR, U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return, line 8 through
line 21 for the same types of income.

Line 22a - Total

Combine the amounts on line 7 through line 21. Enter the total on line 22a.
This number should be the same as the amount on federal Form 1040,

line 22; Form 1040A, line 15; Form 1040EZ, line 4; or Form 1040NR, line 23.

Line 22b — Balance Carried Forward
Enter on line 22b the total from Side 1, line 22a, column A.

Line 23 through Line 30 and Line 32 through Line 35

Enter the same amounts you entered on federal Form 1040, line 23 through
line 30 and line 32 through line 35; Form 1040A, line 16 through line 19; or
Form 1040NR, line 24 through line 34.

Line 31a and Line 31b

Enter on line 31a the same amount entered on federal Form 1040, line 31a.
Enter on line 31b the social security number (SSN) or individual taxpayer
identification number (ITIN) and last name of the person to whom you paid
alimony.

Line 36

Add line 23 through line 31a and line 32 through line 35. This amount should
be the same as the amount on federal Form 1040, line 36; Form 1040A,

line 20; or Form 1040NR, line 35. However, if you made any of the
adjustments described in the instructions for federal Form 1040, line 36, or if
you claimed the foreign housing deduction from federal Form 2555, Foreign
Earned Income, or Form 2555-EZ, Foreign Earned Income Exclusion, enter
the amount from Form 1040, line 36 on this line.

If you used Form 1040NR and reported an amount on Form 1040NR, line 31
for excluded scholarship and fellowship grants, enter the amount from
Form 1040NR, line 35 on this line.

Line 37 — Total

Subtract line 36 from line 22b. This amount should be the same as the
amount on federal Form 1040, line 37; Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ,
line 4; or Form 1040NR, line 36.

Column B and Column G - Subtractions and
Additions

Use these columns to enter subtractions and additions to federal amounts in
column A that are necessary because of the differences between California
and federal law. Enter all amounts on line 7 through line 36 as positive
numbers.

Do not deduct income that was earned while a nonresident of California or
from sources outside of California. There must be a difference in tax law.

Generally, if a California resident cannot subtract the income in column B, a
nonresident or part-year resident may not subtract income from column B.

If you are a nonresident alien, use column B and column C to adjust federal
AGI to include income from all sources, even if you were not required to
report it on your federal tax return. California does not have special rules
limiting total AGI from all sources to U.S. source or effectively connected
income of nonresident aliens.

You may need one of the following FTB publications to complete column B
and column C:

e 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments

1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines

1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status

1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel

1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency

To get forms and publications, go to fth.ca.gov.

Line 7 - Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.

Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. If you did not receive any of
the following types of income, make no entry on this line in either column B
or column C.

Military pay adjustment. Compensation for military service of a
servicemember domiciled outside of California is exempt from California
tax. It is excluded from adjusted gross income from all sources. For more
information, get FTB Pub. 1032.

Active duty military servicemembers domiciled outside of California, may
claim an adjustment for active duty military pay.

To claim the adjustment, write “MPA” to the left of column A or include it
according to your software’s instructions and enter only the amount of your
active duty military pay in column B. Exclude this amount from column E.

Sick pay received under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act and
Railroad Retirement Act. California excludes these items from income. Enter
in column B the amount of these benefits included in the amount in column A.

Ride-sharing fringe benefit differences. Under federal law, qualified
transportation benefits are excluded from gross income. Under the California
R&TC, there are no monthly limits for the exclusion of these benefits and
California’s definitions are more expansive. Enter the amount of ridesharing
benefits received and included in federal income on line 7, column B.

Foreign income. If you excluded income exempted by U.S. tax treaties on
your federal Form 1040 (unless specifically exempt for state purposes), enter
the excluded amount in column C. If you claimed foreign earned income or
housing cost exclusion on your federal Form 1040 (under IRC Section 911),
see the instructions for line 21.

Exclusion for compensation from exercising a California Qualified Stock
Option (€CQSO0). To claim this exclusion:

e Your earned income is $40,000 or less from the corporation granting the
CQS0.

e The market value of the options granted to you must be less than
$100,000.

e The total number of shares must be 1,000 or less.

e The corporation issuing the stock must designate that the stock issued is
a CQSO at the time the option is granted.

If you included in federal income an amount qualifying for this exclusion,
enter that amount in column B.

Nonresident compensation of merchant seamen and employees of rail
carriers, motor carriers, and air carriers. Exclude the following from gross
income: compensation for the performance of duties of certain merchant
seamen, rail carriers, motor carriers, and air carriers. Enter the amount
included in federal income on line 7, column B. For more information, get FTB
Pub. 1031.

Employer health savings account (HSA) contribution. Enter the amount of
any employer HSA contribution from federal Form W-2, box 12, code W on
line 7, column C.

Income exclusion for In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) supplementary
payments — If you are an IHSS provider who received IHSS supplementary
payments that were included in federal wages, enter the IHSS supplementary
payments on line 7, column B. IHSS providers only receive a supplementary
payment if they paid a sales tax on the IHSS services they provide. The
supplementary payment is equal to the sales tax paid plus any increase in the
federal payroll withholding paid due to the supplementary payment.

Line 8 — Taxable Interest
If you did not receive any of the kinds of income listed below, make no entry
on this line in either column B or column C.

Enter in column B, the interest that you received from:

e U.S. saving bonds (except for interest from series EE U.S. savings bonds
issued after 1989 that qualified for the Education Savings Bond Program
exclusion).

U.S. Treasury Bills, notes, and bonds.

Any other bonds or obligations of the United States and its territories.
Interest from Ottoman Turkish Empire settlement payments.

Interest income from children under age 19 or students under age 24
included on the child’s federal tax return and reported on the California tax
return by the parent. For more information, get form FTB 3803, Parents’
Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends.

Certain mutual funds pay “exempt-interest dividends.” If the mutual fund has
at least 50% of its assets invested in tax-exempt U.S. obligations and/or in
California or its municipal obligations, that amount of dividend is exempt from
California tax. The proportion of dividends tax-exempt will be shown on your
annual statement or statement issued with Form 1099-DIV, Dividends and
Distributions. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1001.

Enter in column C, the interest you identified as tax-exempt interest on
your federal Form 1040 (or Form 1040A), line 8b or Form 1040NR, line 9b;
and which you received from:

e The federally exempt interest dividends from other states, or their
municipal obligations and/or from mutual funds that do not meet the 50%
rule above.

e Non-California state bonds.

e Non-California municipal bonds issued by a county, city, town, or other
local government unit.
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e Obligations of the District of Columbia issued after December 27, 1973.

e Non-California bonds if the interest was passed through to you from
S corporations, trusts, partnerships, or Limited Liability Companies
(LLCs).

e |Interest or other earnings from a Health Savings Account (HSA) are not
treated as tax deferred. Interest or earnings in an HSA are taxable in the
year earned.

e |nterest on any bond or other obligation issued by the Government of
American Samoa.

e Interest income from children under the age of 19 or students under
age 24 included on the parent’s federal tax return and reported on the
California tax return by the child.

Make no entries in either column B or column C for interest earned on Federal
National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) Bonds, Government National
Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) Bonds, and Federal Home Loan Mortgage
Corporations (FHLMC) securities, or grants paid to low-income individuals.

Get FTB Pub. 1001, if you received interest income from the items listed
above passed through to you from S corporations, trusts, partnerships, or
LLCs.

Line 9 - Ordinary Dividends

Generally, no difference exists between the amount of dividends reported in
column A and the amount reported using California law. However, California
taxes dividends derived from other states and their municipal obligations.

Enter in column B dividend income from children under age 19 and students
under age 24, included on the parent’s or child’s federal tax return and
reported on the California tax return by the opposite taxpayer.

Enter in column C dividend income from children under age 19 and students
under age 24, excluded on the parent’s or child’s federal tax return and
reported on the California tax return by the opposite taxpayer.

Get FTB Pub. 1001, if you received dividend income from:

e Noncash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or mutual
associations.

e A controlled foreign corporation (CFC).

e Distribution of pre-1987 earnings from S corporations.

e Undistributed capital gains for regulated investment company (RIC)
shareholders.

Line 10 — Taxable Refunds, Credits, or Offsets of State and Local Income
Taxes

California does not tax the state income tax refund received in 2015. Enter in
column B, the amount of state tax refund entered in column A.

Line 11 — Alimony Received

If you are a nonresident alien and received alimony not included in your
federal income, enter the alimony on this line in column C. Otherwise, make
no entry on this line.

Line 12 — Business Income or (Loss)

Adjustments to federal business income or loss you reported in column A
generally are necessary because of the difference between California and
federal law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and accelerated
write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis used to figure California
depreciation may be different from the amount used for federal purposes.

Adjustments are figured on form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amortization
Adjustments, and are most commonly necessary because of the following:

e Before January 1, 1987, California did not allow depreciation under the
federal accelerated cost recovery system. Continue to figure California
depreciation for those assets in the same manner as prior years.

e 0On or after January 1, 1987, California provides special credits and
accelerated write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying assets.
Refer to the bulleted list below.

Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, to figure the total
adjustment for line 12 if you have:

e (One or more passive activities that produce a loss.

e One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive
activity reported on federal Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From
Business.

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the total adjustment for line 12 if you have:

e Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or a
combination of gains and losses).
e Passive activities that produce gains.

Penalty Assessed by Professional Sports League — For taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 2014, California does not allow a business
expense deduction for any fine or penalty paid or incurred by an owner of a
professional sports franchise assessed or imposed by the professional sports
league that includes that franchise. If the fine or penalty was deducted for
federal purposes, enter this amount in column C.

Cancellation of Debt Income (CODI). California did not conform to the
federal election under IRC Section 108(i) to defer the recognition of CODI
in connection with the reacquisition of an applicable debt instrument after
December 31, 2008, and before January 1, 2011. The deferral period is five
taxable years for CODI generated in 2009, or four taxable years for CODI
generated in 2010.

For federal tax purposes, at the end of the deferral period (taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2019), the
income is reported ratably over five years. If for California purposes, the
CODI had been included in income during previous taxable years and you
recognized the CODI for federal tax purposes in the current year, enter the
federal CODI amount on line 12, column B.

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
Income related to:

e Business, trade, or profession carried on within California that is an
integral part of a unitary business carried on both within and outside
California.

e Pro-rata share of income received from a CFC by a U.S. shareholder.

Basis adjustments related to:

e Property acquired prior to becoming a California resident.

e Sales or use tax credit for property used in a former EZ, Local Agency
Military Base Recovery Area (LAMBRA), Targeted Tax Area (TTA),
or LARZ.

e Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing grapevines replaced in a
California vineyard on or after January 1, 1992, as a result of phylloxera
infestation; or on or after January 1, 1997, as a result of Pierce’s disease.

e Expenditures for tertiary injectants.

Property placed in service on an Indian reservation after January 1, 1994,

and before January 1, 2014.

Amortization of pollution control facilities.

Discharge of real property business indebtedness.

Vehicles used in an employer-sponsored ridesharing program.

An enhanced oil recovery system.

Joint Strike Fighter property costs.

The cost of making a business accessible to disabled individuals.

Property for which you received an energy conservation subsidy from a

public utility on or after January 1, 1995, and before January 1, 1997.

e Research and experimental expenditures.

e Reduction of capitalized costs attributable to the Work Opportunity Credit.

Business deductions related to:

e Wages paid in a former EZ, LAMBRA, Manufacturing Enhancement Area
(MEA), or TTA.

e (Certain employer costs for employees who are also enrolled members of
Indian tribes.

e Abandonment or tax recoupment fees for open-space easements and

timberland preserves.

Research expense.

Employer wage expense for the Work Opportunity Credit.

Pro-rata share of deductions received from a CFC by a U.S. shareholder.

Interest paid on indebtedness in connection with company-owned life

insurance policies.

e Premiums paid on life insurance policies, annuities or endowment
contracts issued after June 8, 1997, where the owner of the business is
directly or indirectly a policy beneficiary.

e Commercial Revitalization Deductions for Renewal Communities.

e Small Employer Health Insurance Credit

Line 13 - Capital Gain or (Loss)

Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. California taxes long
and short term capital gains as regular income. No special rate for long
term capital gains exists. However, the California basis of the assets
listed below may be different from the federal basis due to differences
between California and federal laws. If there are differences, use
Schedule D (540NR), California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment, to
calculate the amount to enter on line 13:

e (ain on the sale of qualified small business stock under IRC Section 1045
and IRC Section 1202.

Schedule CA (540NR) Instructions 2015 Page 43



e Basis amounts resulting from differences between California and federal
law in prior years.

e (ain or loss on stock and bond transactions.

e |nstallment sale gain reported on form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale
Income.

e (Gain on the sale of personal residence where depreciation was allowable.

e Pass-through gain or loss from partnerships, fiduciaries, S corporations,
or LLCs.

e (apital loss carryover from your 2014 California Schedule D (540NR).

e (apital gain from children under age 19 or students under age 24 included
on the parent’s or child’s federal tax return and reported on the California
tax return by the opposite taxpayer. For more information, get form
FTB 3803.

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:

e Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before 1987.

e (apital gain exclusion for sale of principal residence by a surviving
spouse.

e (ain on the sale or disposition of a qualified assisted housing
development to low-income residents or to specified entities maintaining
housing for low-income residents.

e Undistributed capital gain for RIC shareholders.

e (Gain or loss on the sale of property inherited before January 1, 1987.

e (Capital loss carrybacks.

Line 14 - Other Gains or (Losses)

Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, the California basis
of your other assets may differ from your federal basis due to differences
between California and federal law. Therefore, you may have to adjust the
amount of other gains or losses. Get Schedule D-1, Sales of Business
Property, for more information.

Line 15 — IRA Distributions

Beginning with tax year 2002, calculate your IRA basis as if you were

a California resident for all prior years. Generally, no adjustments are

made on this line. However, there may be significant differences in the
taxable amount of a distribution (including a distribution from conversion

of a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA) depending on when you made your

IRA contributions. California did not conform to the $2,000 or 100% of
compensation annual contribution limit permitted under federal law from
1982 through 1986. During these years, California limited the deduction to
the lesser of 15% of compensation or $1,500 and disallowed a deduction
altogether to individuals who were active participants in qualified government
plans. Any amount an individual contributed in excess of California deduction
limits during these years creates a basis in the IRA.

Differences also occur if your California IRA deductions were different from
your federal deductions because of differences between California and federal
self-employment income.

If the taxable amount using California law is:

e |ess than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in
column B.

e More than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in
column C.

Get FTB Pub. 1005, for more information and worksheets for figuring the
adjustment to enter on this line, if any.

Coverdell Education Savings Account (ESA) formerly known as
Education (ED) IRA - If column A includes a taxable distribution from an
ED IRA, you may owe additional tax on that amount. Get form FTB 3805P,
Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored
Accounts. Report only the taxable amount of the distribution on line 21f.

Line 16 — Pensions and Annuities

Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, if you received
Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits or partially taxable distributions from a
pension plan, you may need to make the adjustments.

If you received a federal Form RRB-1099-R, Annuities or Pensions by the
Railroad Retirement Board, for railroad retirement benefits and included all or
part of these benefits in taxable income in column A, enter the taxable benefit
amount in column B.

If you began receiving a retirement annuity between July 1, 1986, and
January 1, 1987, and elected to use the three-year rule for California purposes
and the annuity rules for federal purposes, enter in column C the amount of
the annuity payments you excluded for federal purposes.

You may have to pay an additional tax if you received a taxable distribution
from a qualified retirement plan before reaching age 59% and the distribution
was not rolled over into another qualified plan. See Long Form 540NR, line 73
instructions; or form FTB 3805P.

Line 17 — Rental Real Estate, Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations,
Trusts, etc.

Adjustments to federal income or loss you reported in column A generally
are necessary because of the difference between California and federal law
relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and accelerated write-

offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis used to figure California
depreciation may be different from the recovery period or amount used for
federal purposes. For more information, see the instructions for Schedule CA
(540NR), column B and column C, line 12.

California law does not conform to federal law for material participation in
rental real estate activities. Beginning in 1994, and for federal purposes only,
rental real estate activities conducted by persons in real property businesses
are not automatically treated as passive activities. Get form FTB 3801, for
more information.

Use form FTB 3801, to figure the total adjustment for line 17 if you have:

e One or more passive activities that produce a loss.

e One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive
activity reported on federal Schedule E (Form 1040), Supplemental
Income and Loss.

Use form FTB 3885A, to figure the total adjustment for line 17 if you have:

e Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or a
combination of gains and losses).
e Passive activities that produce gains.

LLCs that are classified as partnerships for California purposes and

limited liability partnerships (LLPs) are subject to the same rules as other
partnerships. LLCs report distributive items to members on Schedule K-1
(568), Member’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc. LLPs report to
partners on Schedule K-1 (565), Partner’s Share of Income, Deductions,
Credits, etc.

Get FTB Pub. 1001, for more information about accumulation distributions
to beneficiaries for which the trust was not required to pay California tax
because the beneficiary’s interest was contingent.

Line 18 — Farm Income or (Loss)

Adjustments to federal income or loss you report in column A generally

are necessary because of the difference between California and federal law
relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and accelerated write-

offs. As a result, the recovery period or the basis you should use to figure
California depreciation may be different from the amount used for federal
purposes. For more information about the types of income and adjustments
that often require adjustments, see the instructions for Schedule CA (540NR),
column B and column G, line 12.

Use form FTB 3801, to figure the total adjustment for line 18 if you have:

e One or more passive activities that produce a loss.

e (One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive
activity reported on federal Schedule F (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From
Farming.

Use form FTB 3885A, to figure the total adjustment for line 18 if you have:

e Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or a
combination of gains and losses).
e Passive activities that produce gains.

Line 19 — Unemployment Compensation

California excludes unemployment compensation from taxable income. Enter
on line 19, column B, the amount of unemployment compensation shown in
column A.

Paid Family Leave Insurance (PFL) benefits, also known as, Family
Temporary Disability Insurance. California excludes payments received
from the PFL program from taxable income. Enter on line 19, column B, the
amount of PFL program payments shown in column A. For more information,
get FTB Pub. 1001.

Line 20 - Social Security Benefits

California excludes U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 railroad
retirement benefits from taxable income. Enter in column B the amount of
taxable U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 railroad retirement
benefits shown in column A, line 20(b).
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Line 21 - Other Income
a. California Lottery Winnings

California excludes California lottery winnings from taxable income. Enter
in column B the amount of California lottery winnings included in the
federal amount on line 21 in column A.

Make no adjustment for lottery winnings from other states. They are
taxable by California.

California and federal laws allow gambling losses only to the extent you
report gambling income. If you reduced gambling income for California
lottery income, you may need to reduce the losses included in the federal
itemized deductions on line 38. Enter these losses on line 41 as a negative
number.

. Disaster Loss Deduction

If you have a California disaster loss carryover deduction and there is
income in the current taxable year, enter the total amount from your 2014
form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and
Disaster Loss Limitations — Individuals, Estates, and Trusts, Part I, line 6
as a positive number in column B.

NOL Attributable to a Qualified Disaster — If you deduct a 2015 disaster
loss in the 2015 taxable year that results in an NOL, then the NOL must
be carried back or elected to be carried forward. Get FTB 3805V for more
information.

. Federal NOL from Form 1040, line 21

If the amount on line 21 in column A includes a federal NOL, enter the
amount of the federal NOL as a positive number in column C. Get form
FTB 3805V to figure the allowable California NOL.

. NOL Carryover from Form FTB 3805V, Part lll, line 5

The allowable NOL carryover under California law is different from the
allowable NOL carryover under federal law. If you have a California NOL
carryover from your 2014 form FTB 3805V, enter it as a positive number in
column B.

. NOL from Forms FTB 3805D, FTB 38052, FTB 3806, FTB 3807, or
FTB 3809

Enter in column B the total NOL figured on the following forms.

e FTB 3805D, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Carryover Computation and
Limitation — Pierce’s Disease, line 7, column C.

e FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit Summary, line 4b.

e FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone Net Operating Loss (NOL)
Carryover line 2b.

e F[TB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction and
Credit Summary, line 4b.

e FTB 3809, Targeted Tax Area Deduction and Credit Summary, line 3b.

Other (describe)

Identify the type of income reported in the space provided. If there is

more than one item to report on line 21f, attach a statement that lists each

item and enter the total of all individual items in column B or column C as

instructed below.

Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. California
conforms to federal law for elections made by parents reporting their
child’s interest and dividends. Parents may elect to report their child’s
income on their California income tax return by completing form FTB
3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. If you
make this election, the child will not have to file a tax return. You may
report your child’s income on your Galifornia income tax return even if you
do not do so on your federal income tax return.

If the amount of your child’s income you are reporting on your California
income tax return is different than the amount you reported on your
federal income tax return, enter the difference on line 21f, column B or
column C and write “FTB 3803” on line 21f. Get form FTB 3803 for more
information.

Reward from a crime hotline. Enter in column B the amount of a reward
authorized by a government agency received from a crime hotline
established by a government agency or nonprofit organization and that is
included in the amount on line 21, column A.

You may not make this adjustment if you are an employee of the hotline or
someone who sponsors rewards for the hotline.

Federal foreign income or housing exclusion. Enter in column C the
amount deducted from federal income on Form 1040, line 21.

Beverage container recycling income. Enter in column B the amount of
recycling income included in the amount on line 21, column A.

Rebates or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or
energy supplier. California law allows an income exclusion for rebates
or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or energy supplier
for the purchase and installation of water conservation appliances and
devices. Enter in column B the amount of this type of income included in
the amount on line 21, column A.

Financial Incentive for Turf Removal - California law allows an income
exclusion for rebates, vouchers or other financial incentive issued by

a local water agency or supplier in a turf removal water conservation
program. Enter in column B the amount of this type of income included in
the amount on line 21, column A.

Financial Incentive for Seismic Improvement - For taxable years
beginning on or after July 1, 2015, California law allows an income
exclusion for loan forgiveness, grant, credit, rebate, voucher, or other
financial incentive issued by the California Residential Mitigation Program
or California Earthquake Authority to assist a residential property owner or
occupant with expenses paid, or obligation incurred for earthquake loss
mitigation. Enter in column B the amount of this type of income included
in the amount on line 21, column A.

Original issue discount (0ID) for debt instruments issued in 1985 and
1986. In the year of sale or other disposition, you must recognize the
difference between the amount reported on your federal tax return and
the amount reported for California purposes. Issuers: Enter the difference
between the federal deductible amount and the California deductible
amount on line 21f in column B. Holders: Enter the difference between
the amount included in federal gross income and the amount included for
California purposes on line 21f in column C.

Foreign income of nonresident aliens. Adjust federal income to reflect
worldwide income computed under California law. Enter losses from
foreign sources in column B. Enter foreign source income in column C.

Cost-share payments received by forest landowners. Enter in column B
the cost-share payments received from the Department of Forestry and
Fire Protection under the California Forest Improvement Act of 1978 or
from the United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, under
the Forest Stewardship Program and the Stewardship Incentives Program,
pursuant to the Cooperative Forestry Assistance Act.

Compensation for false imprisonment. California excludes compensation
for false imprisonment from income. Enter the amount of compensation
on line 211, column B.

Coverdell ESA distributions. If you received a distribution from a
Coverdell ESA, report only the taxable amount of the distribution on
line 21f.

Grants paid to low-income individuals. California excludes grants paid
to low-income individuals to construct or retrofit buildings to make them
more energy efficient. Federal has no similar exclusion. Enter on line 21f,
column B the amount of this type of income.

Health Savings Account (HSA) distributions for unqualified medical
expense. Distributions from an HSA not used for qualified medical
expenses and included in federal income, are not taxable for California
purposes. Enter the distribution not used for qualified medical expenses
on line 211, column B.

California National Guard Surviving Spouse & Children Relief Act of
2004. Death benefits received from the State of California by a surviving
spouse/RDP or member-designated beneficiary of certain military
personnel killed in the performance of duty is excluded from gross
income. Military personnel include the California National Guard, State
Military Reserve, or the Naval Militia. If you reported a death benefit on
line 21, column A, enter the death benefit amount in column B.

Ottoman Turkish Empire settlement payments. If you received settlement
payments as a person persecuted by the regime that was in control of

the Ottoman Turkish Empire from 1915 until 1923 your gross income
does not include those excludable settlement payments, or interest,
received by you, your heirs, or your estate for payments received on or
after January 1, 2005. If you reported settlement payments on line 21,
column A, enter the amount of settlement payments in column B.
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Mortgage forgiveness debt relief. California law does not conform to
federal law regarding the discharge of indebtedness from the disposition
of your principal residence occurring on or after January 1, 2014. Enter
the amount of discharge on line 21f, column C.

Line 22a - Total
Add line 7 through line 21f in column B and column C. Enter the totals on
line 22a.

Line 22b — Balance Carried Forward
Enter the totals from Side 1, line 22a, column B and column C.

Line 23 through Line 31a and Line 32 through Line 35
California law is the same as federal with the exception of the following:

e Line 23 (Educator Expenses) — California does not conform to federal law
regarding educator expenses. Enter the amount from column A, line 23 to
column B, line 23.

e Line 24 (Certain Business Expense of Reservists, Performing Artists, and
Fee Basis Government Officials) — If claiming a depreciation deduction
as an unreimbursed employee business expense on federal Form 2106,
Employee Business Expenses, or Form 2106-EZ, Unreimbursed Employee
Business Expenses, you may have an adjustment in column B or
column C. For more information, get Pub. 1001.

e Line 25 (Health Savings Account (HSA) Deduction) — Federal law allows
the taxpayer a deduction for contributions to an HSA account. California
does not conform to this provision. Transfer the amount from column A,
line 25, to column B, line 25.

e Line 31a (Alimony Paid) — Enter the SSN or ITIN and last name of the
person to whom you paid alimony. If you are a nonresident alien and you
did not deduct alimony on your federal tax return, enter the amount you
paid on this line in column C.

e Line 32 (IRA Deduction) — If you are an active duty military
servicemember domiciled outside of California, you may have an
adjustment. See line 36 instructions.

e Line 33 (Student Loan Interest Deduction) — California conforms to federal
law regarding student loan interest deduction except for non-California
domiciled military taxpayers. Military taxpayers use the Student Loan
Interest Deduction Worksheet to compute the amount to enter on line 33.
For more information, get FTB Pub. 1032.

Student Loan Interest Deduction Worksheet

1 Enter the total amount from Schedule CA (540NR),
line 33, column A. If the amount on line 1 is zero,

STOP. You are not allowed a deduction for California.. . ... ... 1
2 Enter the total interest you paid in 2015
on qualified student loans but not more than $2,500 here . . . . . 2

3 From Form 1040, add line 33
(student loan interest deduction) to
line 37 (AGI). Enter the result here . ........ 3
4 Enter the total military income
included in federal adjusted gross
income (get FTB Pub. 1032) .. ............ 4
Subtract line 4 from line3................ 5
Enter. the amount shown below for
your filing status.
e Single, head of household, or
qualifying widow(er) — $60,000
e Married/RDP filing jointly — $120,000. . . . . 6
7 Is the amount on line 5 more than the
amount on line 62.
[ZI No. Skip lines 7 and 8, enter -0- on
line 9, and go to line 10.
[1 Yes. Subtract line 6 from line5 ......... 7
8 Divide line 7 by $15,000 ($30,000 if married/RDP filing jointly).
Enter the result as a decimal (rounded to at least three

o ol

places). If the result is 1.000 or more, enter 1.000.......... 8 .
9 Multiply line2byline8............................... 9
10 Student loan interest deduction. Subtract line 9

from line 2. Enter the result here and on,

Schedule CA (540NR), line 33, columnD................ 10
11 Student loan interest adjustment. Enter the result here.

If line 1 is less than line 10, enter the difference on

Schedule CA (540NR), line 33, columnC................. 11

e Line 34 (Tuition and Fees) — California does not conform to federal
law regarding the tuition and fees deduction. Enter the amount from
column A, line 34 to column B, line 34.

e Line 35 (Domestic production activities deduction) — California does not
conform to the federal law regarding the domestic production activities
deduction. Enter the amount from column A, line 35, to column B, line 35.

Line 36 — Add line 23 through line 31a and line 32 through line 35 in
column B and column C. Enter the totals on this line in the appropriate
columns.

If you claimed the foreign housing deduction, include that amount in the
total you enter in column B, line 36. Enter the amount on “Form 2555” or
“Form 2555-EZ” on the dotted line next to line 36.

If you are active duty military and not domiciled in California and your

IRA deduction was limited because of a federal AGI limitation, recalculate
your deduction excluding your active duty military pay. If the recalculated
amount is larger than the amount on line 32, column A, enter the difference
between the two amounts in column C, line 36. Enter the amount and “MPA
Adjustment” on the dotted line next to line 36.

Line 37 - Total

Subtract line 36 from line 22b in column B and column C. Enter the
totals on this line in the appropriate column. These amounts should be
the same as Long Form 540NR, line 14 and line 16, respectively.

In some cases the total on line 37 in column B or column C will be a negative
number. Read the caution note when you get to line 37, column E.

Column D — Total Amounts Using California Law

Use this column to show the amount remaining after adjustments
(subtractions or additions).

For each line, 7 through 37:

1. Subtract the amounts in column B from the amounts in column A.

2. Add the amounts in column C to the result of the calculation made in
1 above.

3. Enter the total in column D.

Line 21 - Other Income
If you made any adjustments on line 21 in column B or column C:

Step1  Add the adjustments in column B, lines a, b, d, e, and f.

Step 2  Subtract that total from line 21, column A.

Step 3 Add the adjustments in column C, lines ¢ and f.

Step4  Add that total to the result of Step 2; then continue as instructed

above for all other lines.

The total on line 37, column D should be the same as the amount on
Long Form 540NR, line 17.

Column E — CGalifornia Amounts

Column E is used to show how much of the amount of income reported on
Schedule CA (540NR), column D is taxable by California. The taxable amount
depends on your residency status.

e Full-year California resident: A resident is taxed on all income from all
sources, including income from sources outside California. Follow the
“California Resident Amounts” instructions for each line below. Full-year
residents use Long Form 540NR if filing jointly with a spouse/RDP who is
anonresident or a part-year resident.

e Full-year nonresident: A nonresident is only taxed on income derived
from California sources. Follow the “California Nonresident Amounts”
instructions for each line below.

e Part-year resident: A part-year resident is taxed on all income from all
sources while a resident and only on income derived from California
sources while a nonresident. Follow the instructions as stated in the
Part-Year Resident Worksheet instructions.

Refer to instructions for each line below to be sure you are including the
correct amounts.

Line 7 - Wages, Salaries, Tips, Etc.

California resident amounts - Enter the wages, salaries, tips, or other
compensation that you received while a California resident. Active duty
military personnel, who are domiciled in California and stationed in California,
report their military income here. Get FTB Pub. 1032 for more information.

California nonresident amounts - If you worked in California while a
nonresident, enter the wages, salaries, tips, or other compensation received
for those California services.
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Line 8 — Taxable Interest

California resident amounts — Enter the interest income received while a
California resident.

California nonresident amounts - Enter the interest income received while a
nonresident from an account or security that was used in a trade or business
or was pledged as security for a loan, the proceeds of which were used in a
trade or business located in California.

Line 9 - Ordinary Dividends

California resident amounts — Enter the ordinary dividends received while a
California resident.

California nonresident amounts — Enter the ordinary dividends received
while a nonresident from an account or security that was used in a trade or
business or was pledged as security for a loan, the proceeds of which were
used in a trade or business located in California.

Line 11 — Alimony Received

California resident amounts — Enter the alimony received while a California
resident.

California nonresident amounts - Alimony received by a nonresident is not
taxable.

Line 12 - Business Income or (Loss)

California resident amounts - Enter the total profits or losses (including
losses allowed from passive activities) from all businesses conducted while a
California resident.

California nonresident amounts - Enter the total amount of profits or losses
(including losses allowed from passive activities) from all businesses sourced
to California while a nonresident of California. California uses a mandatory
market assignment method and single-sales factor apportionment to
apportion business income to California. A nonresident may have California
sourced income or apportionable business income if receiving income from
intangibles or services from California sources.

If, as a nonresident, you derived income from a business, trade, or profession
conducted partly within California and partly outside California, only income
from the part conducted within California is considered California source
income that you must report in column E. If there is any business relationship
between the parts within and outside Galifornia (flow of goods, etc.),
apportion the gross income or loss from the entire business. To determine
the portion of income or loss from businesses engaged in multistate
activities that you must report, use the apportionment formula described in
Schedule R, Apportionment and Allocation of Income.

Line 13 - Capital Gain or (Loss)

California resident amounts - Enter capital gains and losses from all sources
while a California resident.

California nonresident amounts - Enter capital gains and losses from
sources within California while a nonresident. Complete Schedule D (540NR)
Worksheet for Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents, to compute this
amount.

Part-year resident amounts — Complete Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet

for Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents. Enter the amount from column E,
line 4 (if there is an overall gain) or line 5 (if there is a loss) of that worksheet
on the Part-Year Resident Worksheet, line 13, column C.

Line 14 - Other Gains or (Losses)

California resident amounts - Enter gains and losses (including losses
allowed from passive activities) from all sources while a resident.

California nonresident amounts - Enter gains and losses from sources
within California while a nonresident.

Line 15 - IRA Distributions (Taxable Amount)

California resident amounts — Enter the taxable portion of the IRA
distributions received while a California resident. Include regular distributions,
premature distributions, and any other money or property received from your
IRA account or annuity.

For more information on traditional, Coverdell ESA, and Roth IRAs, get FTB
Pub. 1005.

If this amount is a premature distribution and you owed the early distribution
tax on your federal tax return, you generally owe this tax to California. Get
form FTB 3805P, to figure any additional tax due on this amount.

California nonresident amounts - IRA distributions received by a
nonresident are not taxable.

Line 16 — Pensions and Annuities (Taxable Amount)

California resident amounts - Enter the portion of taxable pension and
annuity income received while a resident of California.

If this amount is a premature distribution and you owed the early distribution
tax on your federal tax return, you generally owe this tax to California. Get
form FTB 3805P to figure any additional tax due on this amount.

California nonresident amounts - Qualified retirement distributions received
by a nonresident are not taxable.

For more information, get FTB Pub. 1005.

Line 17 — Rental Real Estate, Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations,
Trusts, Etc.

California resident amounts - Enter your profit or loss (including losses
allowed from passive activities) from all rents, royalties, partnerships,

S corporations, LLCs, estates, and trusts that accrued while a California
resident.

California nonresident amounts — Enter your profit or loss related to
property or business located in California while a nonresident of California.
Your Schedule K-1 (100S, 541, 565, or 568) will indicate the amount of

S corporation, estate, trust, partnership, or LLC profit or loss derived from
California sources.

Part-year resident amounts — Allocate income between the period of
residency and the period of non residency in a manner that reflects the actual
date of realization of partnership, S corporation, and certain trust income.

In the absence of information that reflects the actual date of realization, the
taxpayer allocates an annual amount on a proportional basis between the two
periods, using a daily pro-rata methodology. For more information, get FTB
Pub. 1100.

Line 18 - Farm Income or (Loss)

California resident amounts — Enter profit or loss (including losses allowed
from passive activities) from all farming activity while a California resident.

California nonresident amounts - Enter profit or loss (including losses
allowed from passive activities) for farming activity conducted in California
while a nonresident of California.

Line 21 - Other Income

Identify the type of income reported in the space provided. If there is more
than one item to report on line 211, attach a statement that lists each item and
enter the total of all individual items in column E.

Line 22a - Total
Add line 7 through line 21 in column E. Enter the result on this line.

Line 22b - Balance Carried Forward
Enter the total from Side 1, line 22a, column E on this line.

Line 26 — Moving Expenses
California law and federal law are the same for moving expenses. If you
moved:

e [nto California in connection with your new job, enter the amount from
line 26, column A, in line 26, column E.

e Qut of California in connection with your new job, enter -0- on line 26,
column E.

Exception: If you moved out of California in connection with your new job and
received compensation from that job attributable to a California source, your
moving expense adjustment will be limited by the ratio of California source
compensation from the new job to total compensation from the new job.

Line 27 — Deductible part of Self-Employment Tax

If you claimed a deduction in column A for self-employment tax paid,
your California deduction is limited to a percentage of the total California
deduction, line 27, column D. That percentage is the ratio of:

Self-employment income Self-employment

reported income reported
incolumn A in column A
from all sources + from CA sources

while a CA resident while a nonresident = California ratio
Total self-employment income
reported in column A

Multiply your total California deduction, line 27, column D by the California
ratio described above and enter the result on line 27, column E. If the
California ratio is greater than 1.00, enter the amount from line 27,

column D on line 27, column E. If the California ratio is less than zero,
enter -0- on line 27, column E.
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Line 28 and Line 32 — IRA, Keogh, SEP, and SIMPLE Deduction

The amount of the California deduction for IRA, Keogh, SEP, and SIMPLE
contributions is the same as the federal deduction. However, the California
deduction may be limited by California compensation or by California
self-employment income.

Example: Susan moved into California on December 1. She made
contributions to her IRA and claimed a deduction of $2,000 on her federal
tax return. Her California wages were $500. Her allowable deduction is the
lesser of:

e The federal deduction of $2,000.
e The California compensation of $500.
Therefore, she enters $500 on line 28, column E. She will make no entry in
column B or column C.
Keogh, SEP, and SIMPLE deductions are limited to a percentage of the federal
deduction.

Self-employment income

reported in column E - California ratio

Total self-employment

income reported

in column D

Multiply federal deductions by the California ratio described above and enter
the result on line 28, column E. If the California ratio is greater than 1.00,
enter the amount from line 28, column D on line 28, column E. If the
California ratio is less than zero, enter -0- on line 28, column E. Get FTB
Pub. 1005 for more information.

Line 29 - Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction

If you claimed a deduction in column A for payments you made to a health
insurance plan while you were self-employed, your California deduction

is limited to a percentage of the federal deduction. That percentage is the
ratio of:

Total self-employment income

reported in column E - California ratio
Total self-employment income

reported in column D

Multiply your federal deduction on line 29, by the California ratio described
above and enter the result on line 29, column E. If the California ratio is
greater than 1.00, enter the amount from line 29, column D on line 29,
column E . If the California ratio is less than zero, enter -0- on line 29,
column E.

Line 30 - Penalty on Early Withdrawal of Savings
Enter the interest penalties charged while a California resident.

Line 31a - Alimony Paid
If you claimed a deduction in column D for alimony payments, first compute
your California ratio:

California AGI (line 37, column E)
(without the alimony deduction) = (California ratio

Total AGI (line 37, column D)
(without the alimony deduction)

California nonresident amounts — Multiply the deduction (line 31a,

column D) by the California ratio (see above) and enter the amount in

line 31a, column E. If the California ratio is greater than 1.00, enter the
amount from line 31a, column D on line 31a, column E . If the California ratio
is less than zero, enter -0- on line 31a, column E.

Part-year resident amounts — Multiply the alimony paid while a nonresident
by the California ratio (see above) to determine the nonresident portion. If
the California ratio is greater than 1.00, use 1.00 for the California ratio. If the
California ratio is less than zero, your nonresident portion of alimony paid is
zero. Add the nonresident portion of alimony paid to the alimony paid while a
resident. Enter the total in line 31a, column E.

Line 36
Add line 23 through line 31a and line 32 through line 35 in column E. Enter
the result on this line.

Line 37 - Total

Subtract line 36 from line 22b in column E. This is your California adjusted
gross income (AGI). Enter the result on this line. Also enter this amount on
line 45.

Also, transfer the amount from:

e Line 37, column B to Long Form 540NR, line 14.
If column B is a negative number, transfer the amount as a positive
number to Long Form 540NR, line 16.

e Line 37, column C to Long Form 540NR, line 16.
If column C is a negative number, transfer the amount as a positive
number to Long Form 540NR, line 14.

e Line 37, column E to Long Form 540NR, line 32.
If you plan to itemize deductions, go to Part IlI.

Specific Line Instructions for
Part lll Adjustments to
Federal Itemized Deductions

Line 38 — Federal Itemized Deductions

Enter the total amount of itemized deductions from your federal Schedule A
(Form 1040), Itemized Deductions, lines 4, 9, 15, 19, 20, 27, and 28 or
Schedule A (Form 1040NR), lines 1, 5, 6, 13, and 14.

Nonresident military servicemembers domiciled outside of California
exclude military pay from federal AGI when calculating threshold limits for
the following federal Schedule A (Form 1040) items: medical and dental
expenses, gifts to charity, casualty and theft losses, and job expenses and
most other miscellaneous deductions. Recalculate these amounts using

the modified federal AGl amount. Subtract military pay from federal AGI,
and then recalculate itemized deductions using the new threshold limits.
Enter the recalculated Schedule A (Form 1040), total itemized deductions on
Schedule CA (540NR), line 38.

Important: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal tax return but
will itemize deductions on your California tax return, first complete federal
Schedule A (Form 1040). Then complete Schedule CA (540NR), Part IlI,
line 38 through line 44. Attach a copy of federal Schedule A (Form 1040) to
your Long Form 540NR.

Line 39 - State, Local, and Foreign Income Taxes; General Sales Tax
Add the following amounts from federal Schedule A (Form 1040) and enter
on line 39:

e Line 5, state and local income tax (including limited partnership tax
and income or franchise tax paid by corporations), and State Disability
Insurance (SDI) or state and local general sales tax.

e Line 8, foreign income taxes or Schedule A (Form 1040NR), line 1.

Line 41 — Other Adjustments

Slain Officer Family Support Contribution - If you claimed contributions
under the Slain Officer Family Support Act on your 2014 federal tax return,
enter the deduction as a positive amount on line 41.

Medical and Dental Expense Deduction — For federal purposes, a deduction
is allowed for unreimbursed allowable medical and dental expenses that
exceeds 10% of federal AGI. California allows a deduction for medical and
dental expenses that exceed 7.5% of federal AGI. To determine the amount of
the itemized deduction adjustment:

e (Calculate the medical and dental expense deduction for California.

e (Calculate the medical and dental expense deduction for federal.

e Subtract the federal amount from the California amount. Enter the amount
on line 41, as a positive number.

College Access Tax Credit — If you deducted a charitable contribution
amount for the College Access Tax Credit Fund on your federal Schedule A
(Form 1040) and are claiming the College Access Tax Credit on your Long
Form 540NR, enter the amount used to calculate the College Access Tax
Credit on line 41 as a negative number.

Adoption-related expenses - If you deducted adoption-related expenses
on your federal Schedule A (Form 1040) and are claiming the adoption cost
credit on your Long Form 540NR, enter the amount of the adoption cost
credit claimed as a negative number on line 41.

Mortgage interest credit — If you reduced your federal mortgage interest
deduction by the amount of your mortgage interest credit (from federal
Form 8396, Mortgage Interest Credit), increase your California itemized
deductions by the same amount. Enter the amount of your federal mortgage
interest credit as a positive number on line 41.

Nontaxable income expenses - If, on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), you
claim expenses related to producing income taxed under federal law but not
taxed by California, enter the amount as a negative number on line 41.
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You may claim expenses related to producing income taxed by California law
but not taxed under federal law by entering the amount as a positive number
on line 41.

Employee business expense — If you completed federal Form 2106 or
Form 2106-EZ, prepare a second set of forms reflecting your employee
business expense using California amounts (i.e., following California law).

Generally, California law conforms with federal law and no adjustment is
needed. However, differences occur when:

e Assets (requiring depreciation) were placed in service before January 1,
1987. Figure the depreciation based on California law.

e Federal employees who were on temporary duty status. California does
not conform to the federal provision that expanded temporary duties to
include prosecution duties, in addition to investigative duties. Therefore,
travel expenses paid or incurred in connection with temporary duty
status (exceeding one year), involving the prosecution (or support of the
prosecution) of a federal crime, should not be included in the California
amount.

Compare federal Form 2106, line 10 or Form 2106-EZ, line 6 and the form
completed using California amounts. If the federal amount is larger, enter the
difference as a negative number on line 41. If the California amount is larger,
enter the difference as a positive number on line 41.

Investment interest expense — Your California deduction for investment
interest expense may be different from your federal deduction. Use form
FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense Deduction, to figure the amount to
enter on line 41.

Gambling losses - California Lottery losses are not deductible for California.
Enter the amount of California Lottery losses shown on federal Schedule A
(Form 1040) as a negative number on line 41.

Federal estate tax — Federal estate tax paid on income in respect of a
decedent is not deductible for California. Enter the amount of federal estate
tax shown on federal Schedule A (Form 1040) as a negative number on
line 41.

Generation skipping transfer tax — Tax paid on generation skipping transfers
is not deductible under California law. Enter the amount of expenses shown
on federal Schedule A (Form 1040) as a negative number on line 41.

State legislator’s travel expenses — Under California law, deductible travel
expenses for state legislators include only those incurred while away from
their places of residence overnight. Figure the difference between the amount
allowed using federal law and the amount allowed using California law. Enter
the difference as a negative number on line 41.

Qualified charitable contributions — Your California deduction may be
different from your federal deduction. California limits the amount of your
deduction to 50% of your federal adjusted gross income. Figure the difference
between the amount allowed using federal law and the amount allowed using
California law. Enter the difference as a negative number on line 41.

Charitable contribution carryover deduction - If deducting a prior year
charitable contribution carryover, and the California carryover is larger than
the federal carryover, enter the additional amount as a positive number on
line 41.

Health savings account (HSA) distributions - If you received a tax-free HSA
distribution for qualified medical expenses, enter the qualified expenses paid
that exceed 7.5% of federal AGI as an adjustment to itemized deductions. To
determine the amount of the itemized deduction adjustment:

e Calculate the medical expense deduction for California.

e (alculate the medical expense deduction for federal.

e Subtract the federal amount from the California amount. Enter the
difference on line 41, as a positive amount.

Carryover deduction appreciated stock contributed to a private foundation
prior to January 1, 2002 - If deducting a charitable contribution carryover

of appreciated stock donated to a private operating foundation made prior

to January 1, 2002, and the fair market value allowed for federal purposes is
larger than the basis allowed for California purposes, enter the difference as a
negative number on line 41.

Interest on loans from utility companies — Taxpayers are allowed a tax
deduction for interest paid or incurred on a public utility company financed
loan that is used to purchase and install energy efficient equipment or
products, including zone-heating products for a qualified residence located in
California. Federal law has no equivalent deduction. Enter the difference as a
positive number on line 41.

Private mortgage insurance (PMI) - If you took the deduction on federal
Schedule A (Form 1040), line 13, then subtract the same amount on line 41.

Claim of right - If you had to repay an amount that you included in your
income in an earlier year, because at the time you thought you had an
unrestricted right to it, you may be able to deduct the amount repaid from
your income for the year in which you repaid it. Or, if the amount you repaid
is more than $3,000, you may take a credit against your tax for the year in
which you repaid it, whichever results in the least tax.

If the amount repaid was not taxed by California, then no deduction or credit
is allowed.

If you claimed a credit for the repayment on your federal tax return and are
deducting the repayment for California, enter the allowable deduction as a
positive amount on Schedule CA (540NR), line 41. Deductions of $3,000 or
less are subject to the 2% federal AGI limit.

If you deducted the repayment on your federal tax return and are taking

a credit for California, enter the amount of the federal deduction as a
negative amount on Schedule CA (540NR), line 41. To help you determine
whether to take a credit or deduction, see the Repayment section of federal
Publication 525, Taxable and Nontaxable Income. Remember to use the
California tax rate in your computations. If you choose to take the credit
instead of the deduction for California, add the credit amount on line 86, the
total payment line, of the Long Form 540NR. To the left of the total, write
“IRC 1341” and the amount of the credit.

Line 43 - California Itemized Deductions
Is the amount on Long Form 540NR, line 13 more than the amount shown
below for your filing status?

Single or married/RDP filing separately . ..................... $178,706
Head of household . ....... ... ... ... . $268,063
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) .............. $357,417

NO  Transfer the amount from line 42 to line 43. Do not complete the worksheet
on the following page.
YES Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet on the following page.

Note:

e |fyou are married/RDP and file a separate tax return, you and your
spouse/RDP must either both itemize your deductions or both take the
standard deduction.

e Also, if someone else can claim you as a dependent, claim the greater of
the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. See the “California
Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents” of your California 540NR
Booklet to figure your standard deduction.

e Military pay of a servicemember domiciled outside of California cannot be
used to reduce the amount of this deduction. Modify your federal adjusted
gross income used to compute this limitation by subtracting your military
pay from federal adjusted gross income. Get FTB Pub. 1032 for more
information.

Line 44 — Amount from Line 43 or Standard Deduction
Enter the larger of the amount on line 43 or your standard deduction listed
below:

Single or married/RDP filing separately ........................ $4,044
Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) $8,088
If your filing status is Married/RDP filing separately and your spouse itemizes,
enter the amount from line 43 (even if the standard deduction is larger).

Specific Line Instructions for
Part IV California Taxahle Income

Line 45 - California AGI
Enter your Galifornia AGI from line 37, column E.

Line 47 — Deduction Percentage

Divide line 37, column E by line 37, column D. Carry the decimal to four
places. This number may not be greater than 1.0000. If the result is greater
than 1.0000, enter 1.0000.

Line 49 - California Taxable Income
Subtract line 48 from line 45. If less than zero, enter -0-. Enter this amount on
Long Form 540NR, line 35.
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. Amount from Schedule CA (540NR), line 42 ............. 1
. Using California amounts, add the amounts on federal

. Subtract line 2 from line 1. If the result is -0-, stop. Enter the

. Multiply line 3 by 80% (.80). . ............ccoiiiii.... 4
. Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 13 ........ 5
. Enter the amount from line 43 instructions on the previous
page foryourfiling status . .......................... 6
. Subtract line6 fromline5. .......................... 7

. Multiply line 7 by 6% (.06). . ............ ..., 8
. Compare the amounts on line 4 and line 8.

10.

Itemized Deductions Worksheet

Schedule A (Form 1040), line 4, line 14, and line 20 plus any
gambling losses included on line 28 (or on Schedule A

(Form 1040NR), line 6 plus any investment interest expense
included on line 9 and any gambling losses on line 14). .. .. 2

amount from line 1 above on Schedule CA (540NR), line 43 3

If the result is -0- or less stop. Enter the amount from line 1
above on Schedule CA (540NR), line 43

Enter the smaller amounthere......................... 9
Total itemized deductions. Subtract line 9 from line 1.
Enter the result here and on Schedule CA (540NR), line 43. .10

Part-Year Resident Worksheet A B c
Important: Part-year residents use this worksheet to determine the amounts to enter California California Total
on Schedule CA (540NR), column E, line 7 through line 22a. Resident Nonresident Combine column A
Amounts Amounts and column B

Amounts reported on
Schedule CA (540NR)
column D earned or
received while you
were

Amounts reported on
Schedule CA (540NR)
column D earned or
received from CA
sources while you

Transfer amounts
to Schedule CA
(540NR), column E

Income a CA resident were
a nonresident
7 Wages, salaries, tips, €tc . ... 7
8 (a) Taxableinterest.......... ... . . 8(a)
9 (a) Ordinary dividends. See instructions. .. ........................ 9(a)
10 Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes......... 10
11 AlMOoNy received . .. ..o 1
12 Business income or (I0SS) . .. ..ot 12
13 Capital gain or (loss). See instructions .............................. 13
14 Other gains or (I0SSES) .. ..ot 14
15 (b) IRA distributions. See instructions . ........................... 15(h)
16 (b) Pensions and annuities. See instructions ....................... 16(h)
17 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc.
See instructions. ... ... 17
18 FarminCome or (10SS) . ..o v 18
19 Unemployment compensation. .............. ... .. ... .. o .... 19
20 (b) Social security benefits............... .. 20(b)
21 Other income. Identify 21
22 a Totals: Combine line 7 through line 21 in column C. Transfer the amounts

from column C, line 7 through line 22a, to Schedule CA (540NR),
column E, line 7 throughline22a.. . ...............oouvunn... 22a

Part-Year Resident Worksheet — Part-year residents use this worksheet to determine the amounts to enter on Schedule CA (540NR), column E, line 7 through line 22a.

Column A: For the part of the year you were a resident, follow the “California Resident Amounts” instructions. Enter the result in column A of the worksheet.
Column B: For the part of the year you were a nonresident, follow the “California Nonresident Amounts” instructions. Enter the result in column B of the

worksheet.

Column C: For each line, combine column A and column B of the worksheet. Transfer the amounts in column C of the worksheet to Schedule CA (540NR),

column E, line 7 through line 22a.

Important: If completing line 13 or line 17, see the column E, part-year resident instructions for those lines.
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TAXABLE YEAR

2015 California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

. SCHEDULE

D (540NR)

Name(s) as shown on return SSNor ITIN
(a) (b) (c) (d) (e)
Description of property Sales price Cost or other basis Loss Gain
Identify S corporation stock If (c) is more than (b), If (b) is more than (c),

1 Example: 100 shares of “Z” (S stock) subtract (b) from (c) subtract (c) from (b)

a|@® ® ® ® ®

b |® ® ® ® ®

¢ |® ® ® ® ®

d|® ® ® ® ®

e |® ® ® ® ®

i@ ® ® ® ®

(RO ® ® ® ®

h|® ® ® ® ®

i |© ® ® ® ®

i@ ® ® ® ®

k|® ® ® ® ®

| |® ® ® ® ®

m|@® ® ® ® ®

n|@® ® ® ® ®

0|® ® ® ® ®

p® ® ® ® ®

1@ ® ® ® ®

r @ ® ® ® ®

s |@ ® ® ® ®

t|® ® ® ® ®

u|® ® ® ® ®

v|®© ® ® ® ®

2 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568) . ............. ® ®

3 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, boX 2a) . ... ... @®3

4 Total 2015 gain from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line 1, line 2,and line3 ........... ... ... .. ........... ®a

5 2015 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line 1and line2. ....... ... .. ... ... . ... ® 5 ( )

6 California capital loss carryover from 2014, if any. See instructions. ........................ ® 6 ( )

7 Total 201510ss. Add line5and liNe 6. .. ... e @ 7 ( )

8 Combineline 4 and line 7. Ifaloss, goto line 9. Ifagain,gotoline 10. ........ ... .. i @® 8

9 |Ifline 8 is aloss, enter the smaller of: (a) the loss on line 8.

(b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married/RDP filing separate). See instructions . ............ ® 9 | )
10 Enter the gain or (loss) from federal Form 1040, line 13 . .. ... ®10
11 Enter the California gain from line 8 or (loss) from line 9. . . ... ... i ®@n
12 a |Ifline 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540NR), line 13, columnB ............ ®12a
b Ifline 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540NR), line 13, columnGC ............. @ 12h

For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP. I

7771153
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2015 Instructions for California Schedule D (540NR)

California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Information

In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015,
California law conforms to the IRC as of January 1, 2015. However,

there are continuing differences between California and federal law.
When California conforms to federal tax law changes, we do not always
adopt all of the changes made at the federal level. For more information,
go to fth.ca.gov and search for conformity. Additional information

can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California
Adjustments, the instructions for California Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
and the Business Entity tax booklets.

The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider
the tax booklets as authoritative law.

For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, husband,
or wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP),
unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to
both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered
domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs,
get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.

Purpose

Full-year nonresidents or part-year residents report gains and losses as if
they were full-year residents for the entire year using California amounts.
Therefore, all gains and losses must be reported. Full-year nonresidents
or part-year residents complete Schedule D (540NR), California Capital
Gain or Loss Adjustment, and the Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet for
Nonresident and Part-Year Residents, in order to complete column E

on Schedule CA (540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or
Part-Year Residents.

For nonresidents, the computation of California taxable income, capital
loss carryovers, and capital loss limitations are determined based upon
California source income and loss items only. For purposes of calculating
California taxable income, the character of gains and losses on the sale or
exchange of property used in the trade or business or certain involuntary
conversions (IRC Section 1231) are determined by netting California
source Section 1231 gains and losses only.

If you moved in or out of California during the year, get FTB Pub.1100,
Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency.

Get FTB Pub. 1001, for more information about the following:

e Disposition of property inherited before 1987.

e (ain on the sale or disposition of a qualified assisted housing
development to low-income residents or to specific entities
maintaining housing for low-income residents.

e (apital loss carryback.

Installment Sales. If you sold property at a gain (other than publicly
traded stocks or securities) and you will receive a payment in a tax year
after the year of sale, report the sale on the installment method unless
you elect not to do so. Get form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income.
Also, use that form if you received a payment in 2015, for an instaliment
sale made in an earlier year.

You may elect to not use the installment sale method for California by
reporting the entire gain on Schedule D (540NR) (or Schedule D-1, Sales
of Business Property, for business assets) in the year of the sale and
filing your return on or before the due date.

At-Risk Rules and Passive Activity Limitations. If you dispose of

(1) an asset used in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply, or (2)
any part of your interest in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply,
and you have amounts in the activity for which you are not at risk, get
and complete federal Form 6198, At-Risk Limitations, using California
amounts to figure your California deductible loss under the at-risk rules.
Once a loss becomes allowable under the at-risk rules, it becomes
subject to the passive activity rules. Get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity
Loss Limitations.

Specific Line Instructions
Line 1 - List each capital asset transaction.

Column (a) - Description of Property. Describe the asset you sold
or exchanged.

Column (b) — Sales Price. Enter in this column either the gross sales
price or the net sales price. If you received a Form 1099-B, Proceeds
From Broker and Barter Exchange Transactions; Form 1099-S, Proceeds
From Real Estate Transactions; or similar statement showing the gross
sales price, enter that amount in column (b). However, if box 2a of
Form 1099-B indicates that gross proceeds less commissions and
option premiums were reported to the IRS, enter that net amount in
column (b). If you entered the net amount in column (b), do not include
the commissions and option premiums in column (c).

Column (c) — Cost or Other Basis. In general, the cost or other basis is
the cost of the property plus purchase commissions and improvements,
minus depreciation, amortization, and depletion. Enter the cost or
adjusted basis of the asset for California purposes. Use your records and
California tax returns for years before 1987 to determine the California
amount to enter in column (c). If you used an amount other than cost as
the original basis, your federal basis may be different from your California
basis. Other reasons for differences include:

e Depreciation Methods and Property Expensing — Before 1987,
California law disallowed the use of accelerated cost recovery system
(ACRS) and disallowed the use of an asset depreciation range 20%
above or below the standard rate. Before 1999, California had different
limits on the expensing of property under IRC Section 179. California
law permits rapid write-off of certain property such as solar energy
systems, pollution control devices, and property used in an Enterprise
Zone, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area, Targeted Tax Area, or
Los Angeles Revitalization Zone.

¢ Inherited Property — The California basis of property inherited from a
decedent is generally the fair market value at the time of death.

o S Corporation Stock — Prior to 1987, California law did not recognize
S corporations and your California basis in S corporation stock may
differ from your federal basis. In general, your California basis will
be cost-adjusted for income, loss, and distributions received after
1986, while your stock was California S corporation stock. Your
federal basis will be cost-adjusted for income, loss, and distributions
received during the time your stock qualified for federal S corporation
treatment. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2002, any corporation with a valid federal S corporation
election is considered an S corporation for California purposes.
Existing law already requires federal G corporations to be treated as
C corporations for California purposes.

e Special Credits — California law authorizes special tax credits not
allowed under federal law or computed differently under federal law. If
you claimed special credits related to capital assets, reduce your basis
in the assets by the amount of credit.
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e Qualfied Small Business Stock — California does not conform to
the qualified small business stock deferral and gain exclusion under
IRC Section 1045 and IRC Section 1202. Enter the entire gain realized
in column (e).

Other adjustments may apply differently to the federal and California
basis of your capital assets. Figure the original basis of your asset using
the California law in effect when the asset was acquired, and adjust it
according to provisions of Galifornia law in effect during the period of
your ownership.

Line 2 — Net Gain or (Loss) Shown on California Schedule(s) K-1
(1008, 541, 565, and 568). Combine gain(s) and loss(es) from all
California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568), Share of Income,
Deductions, Credits, etc. See California Schedule K-1 (100S, 541,

565, and 568) instructions for more information on capital gains and
losses. Enter the net loss on line 2, column (d) or the net gain on line 2,
column (e).

Line 3 - Capital Gain Distributions. If you receive federal Form 2439,
Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains, from a
mutual fund, do not include the undistributed capital gain dividends on
Schedule D (540NR). If you receive federal Form 1099-DIV, Dividends
and Distributions, enter the amount of distributed capital gain dividends.

Line 6 — 2014 California Capital Loss Carryover. If you had California
capital loss carryover from 2014, recalculate those losses as if you
had been a resident for all prior years. Enter this amount on line 6. Get
FTB Pub. 1100 for more information.

Line 8 — Net Gain or Loss. If the amount on line 4 is more than the
amount on line 7, subtract line 7 from line 4. Enter the difference as a
gain on line 8.

If the amount on line 7 is more than the amount on line 4, subtract line 4
from line 7 and enter the difference as a negative amount on line 8.

Use the worksheet on the next page to figure your capital loss carryover
to 2016.

Line 9 - If line 8 is a net capital loss, enter the smaller of the loss on
line 8 or $3,000 ($1,500 if married or an RDP filing a separate return).

Line 12a - Compare the amounts entered on line 10 and line 11 to figure
the adjustment to enter on Schedule CA (540NR), line 13, column B.

For example:

Loss on line 10 is less than loss on line 11.
Federal lossonling 10is. .. ........... .. ... it ($1,000)
California losson line 110, ... .o ($2,000)
Difference between line10and line 11 ................. $1,000

Gain on line 10 and loss on line 11.
Federal gainonline10is ........................... $3,000
California loss online 11iS. .. ..o ($3,000)
Difference between line10and line 11 ................. $6,000

Line 12b — Compare the amounts entered on line 10 and line 11 to figure
the adjustment to enter on Schedule CA (540NR), line 13, column C.

For example:
Loss on line 10 is more than loss on line 11.
Federal lossonline 10is. .. ....... ... o .t ($2,000)
Californialossonline11is. ....... ... ... ... .. ..... ($1,000)
Difference between line 11 and line10................. $1,000
Loss on line 10 and gain on line 11.
Federal lossonline10is............ .. ... ($2,000)
Californiagainonline11is............ ... ... ....... $5,000
Difference between line 10and line 11 .................. $7,000
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California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet For Full-Year Residents

1. Loss from Schedule D (540NR), line 11, stated as a positive number. . ... 1
2. Amount from Long Form 540N R, lINe 7. . . ..o 2
3. Amount from Long Form 540NR, lINe 8. . . . ..o 3
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less than zero, enter as a negative amount . ......... ... .. i i 4
5. Combine line 1 and line 4. If less than zero, enter -0- . . ... .. e e 5
6. Enter loss from Schedule D (540NR), ling 8 as a positive nUMbEr .. ... ... . 6
7. Enterthe smaller of ine 1 0r lINB 5 ..o e e 7
8. Subtract line 7 from line 6. This is your capital [0S carryovert0 2016 .. ... ...ttt 8

Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet for Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents
Complete Schedule D (540NR) first.

Full-year Nonresidents: Complete column A and column B only. Enter the amount shown in column B, line 4 (if there is an overall gain) or line 5 (if
there is a loss), on Schedule CA (540NR), line 13, column E.

Part-year Residents:

Enter the number of days during the year you were a CA resident:

Enter the number of days during the year you were a nonresident:

Column A, line 1 through line 5 should be the same as the amounts shown on Schedule D (540NR), lines 4, 5, 6, 8, and 9 respectively.

Columns A and B, line 3, should show a carryover amount that has been computed as if you had been a resident in all prior years for column A and as if
you had been a nonresident for all prior years for column B.

Columns C and D should be completed taking into account the dates of the transactions. For column C, multiply the amount in column A by the number
of days you were a resident divided by 365 days. For column D, multiply the amount in column B by the number of days you were a nonresident divided
by 365 days.

Line 4 If the amount shown in column E is a gain, enter that amount on Schedule CA (540NR) Part-Year Resident Worksheet, line 13, column C. If a
loss, go to line 5.

Line 5 Enter the amount shown in column E on Schedule CA (540NR) Part-Year Resident Worksheet, line 13, column C.

A B C D E
Enter total Enter amounts Enter amounts Enter amounts Total
as if you were a CA | earned or received earned or received earned or received | Combine column C
resident for the from CA sources as | during the portion of |  from CA sources and column D.

entire year. if you were a the year you were a | during the portion
nonresident for the CA resident. of the year you
entire year. were a
nonresident.
Gains
Losses

Prior year loss carryover.

Combine line 1 through

line 3.

5 | Enter the smaller of the loss
on line 4 or $3,000 ($1,500
if married or an RDP filing
separately).

Sl —=

Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet

Complete this worksheet only if at the end of the year you were a resident and line 4, column A above shows a loss or at the end of the year you were
a nonresident and line 4, column B above shows a loss. In completing this worksheet, if you were a resident at the end of the year, use the column A
amounts shown above; if you were a nonresident, use the column B amounts.

1 | Enter the total loss from the Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet, line 5, as a positive number
Amount from Long Form 540NR, line 17

Amount from Long Form 540NR, line 18

Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less than zero, enter as a negative amount

Combine line 1 and line 4. If less than zero, enter -0-

Enter the total loss from Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet, line 4, as a positive number
Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5

Subtract line 7 from line 6. This is your capital loss carryover to 2016

O INoOog W N
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Paying Your Taxes

General You must file and pay 100% of the amount you owe by April 18, 2016, to avoid interest and penalties. There
Information are several ways to pay your tax:
e Electronic funds withdrawal
e Web Pay
e Credit card
e Check or money order (Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn
against a U.S. financial institution.)
e Pre-approved monthly payments
Electronic Use this convenient option if you e-file. Simply provide your bank information, amount you want to pay, and
Funds the date you want the balance due to be withdrawn from your account. Your tax preparation software will offer
Withdrawal this option.
Weh Pay Enjoy the convenience of online bill payment with Web Pay. Pay the amount you owe using our secure online
payment service. Go to fth.ca.gov for more information. With Web Pay, you can schedule it, and forget it!
. To make a payment using your Discover, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card go to the Official
Credit Card Payments Gorp. website or call:
e officialpayments.com and select Payment Center.
e 800.2PAY.TAX or 800.272.9829 and follow the recorded instructions.
Official Payments Corp. charges a convenience fee for this service. This fee is based on the amount of your tax
payment. Official Payments Corp. will tell you the convenience fee before you complete your transaction. You
can decide whether to complete the transaction at that time.
Fee: 2.30% of tax amount charged (round to nearest cent) Example:  Tax Payment = $753.56
Minimum fee: $1 2.30% Fee = $17.33
Assistance for persons with disabilities. If you have a hearing or speech impairment, call TTY/TDD at
800.735.2929 (California Relay Service). For all other special assistance, call 800.487.4567, Monday through
Friday, 5a.m.to 5 p.m. PST.
When will my payment be effective?
Frequently ypay . .
Asked e Web Pay: Your payment is effective on the payment date you select.
. * Credit Card: Your payment is effective on the date you charge it.
Questions

What if | change my mind?

* Web Pay: Contact our e-Programs Customer Service at 916.845.0353 at least two business days
before your scheduled payment date to cancel your payment.
* Credit Card: Contact your card issuer for information about canceling or reversing the charge.

If you change your mind and you still owe money, be sure to make your payment another way. We may charge
penalties, interest, and other fees for nonpayment or late payment of taxes.

How do | know if you received my payment?

 Your account statement is your proof of payment.
* To verify the payment, go to fth.ca.gov and search for myfth account.
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2015 Instructions for Form FTB 3519 ]

Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals

General Information

Mandatory Electronic Payments — You are required to remit all your payments
electronically once you make an estimate or extension payment exceeding $20,000
or you file an original tax return with a total tax liability over $80,000. Once you
meet this threshold, all subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax type,

or taxable year must be remitted electronically. The first payment that would
trigger the mandatory e-pay requirement does not have to be made electronically.
Individuals who do not send the payment electronically will be subject to a 1%
noncompliance penalty. For more information or to obtain the waiver form, go

to fth.ca.gov and search for mandatory epay. Electronic payments can be made
using Web Pay on the Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB’s) website, electronic funds
withdrawal (EFW) as part of the e-file tax return, or your credit card.

Use form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals, only if both

of the following apply:

e You cannot file your 2015 tax return by April 18, 2016. Due to the Emancipation
Day holiday on April 16, 2016, tax returns filed and payments mailed or
submitted on April 18, 2016, will be considered timely.

Note: Fiscal Year Filers, your tax return is due the 15th day of the 4th month
following the close of your fiscal year.

* You owe tax for 2015.

When you file your 2015 tax return, you can e-file or CalFile. Go to fth.ca.gov
and search for e-file options. If you use form FTB 3519, you may not file
Form 540 2EZ or Short Form 540NR.

Use the worksheet below to determine if you owe tax. If you do not owe tax,

do not complete or mail form FTB 3519. However, file your tax return by

October 17, 2016. If you owe tax, choose one of the following payment options:

e Web Pay: Individuals can make payments online using Web Pay for Individuals.
After a one-time online registration, taxpayers can make an immediate payment
or schedule payments up to a year in advance. Go to fth.ca.gov for more
information. Do not mail form FTB 3519 to the FTB.

e Credit Card: Use your major credit card. Call 800.272.9829 or go to
officialpayments.com, use code 1555. Official Payments Corp. charges a
convenience fee for using this service. Do not mail form FTB 3519 to the FTB.

e Check or Money Order: Using black or blue ink, complete your check or money
order and the payment form below and mail both to the “Franchise Tax Board.”
Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn against a
U.S. financial institution.

Penalties and Interest

If you fail to pay your total tax liability by April 18, 2016, you will incur a late
payment penalty plus interest. We may waive the late payment penalty based on
reasonable cause. Reasonable cause is presumed when 90% of the tax is paid
by the original due date of the tax return. However, the imposition of interest is
mandatory. If, after April 18, 2016, you find that your estimate of tax due was
too low, pay the additional tax as soon as possible to avoid or minimize further
accumulation of penalties and interest. Pay your additional tax with another form
FTB 3519. If you do not file your tax return by October 17, 2016, you will incur

a late filing penalty plus interest from the original due date of the tax return. For
Fiscal Year Filers, your tax return is due the 15th day of the 10th month following
the close of your fiscal year.

Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Outside the USA

If you are residing or traveling outside the USA on April 18, 2016, the deadline to
file your tax return and pay the tax is June 15, 2016. Interest will accrue from the
original due date until the date of payment. If you need additional time to file, you
will be allowed a six-month extension without filing a request. To qualify for the
extension, file your tax return by December 15, 2016. To avoid any late-payment
penalties, pay your tax liability by June 15, 2016. When filing your tax return, write
“Qutside the USA on April 18, 2016” at the top of your tax return in RED INK, or
include it according to your software’s instructions.

TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET KEEP FOR YOUR RECORDS

-

2 Payments and credits:

a California income tax withheld (including real estate and nonresident withholding)

b California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 2014 tax return
(To check your estimated tax payments go to fth.ca.gov and search for myfth account.)

¢ Other payments and credits (including any tax payments made with any previous
form FTB 3510) ..o

3 Total tax payments and credits. Add line 2a, line 2b, and line2c...............

Total tax you expect to owe. This is the amount you expect to enter on Form 540, line 64; or Long Form 540NR, line 74.................... 1 00

............. 2a 00

.............. 2h 00

................ 2c 00
.......................................... 3 00
.......................................... 4 00

e No. Stop here. You have no tax due. Do not mail form FTB 3519. If you file your tax return by October 17, 2016 (fiscal year filer — see instructions), the automatic

extension will apply.

e Yes. Subtract line 3 from line 1 and enter on line 4. This is your tax due. For online payments, do not mail the form, go to fth.ca.gov for more information. If you
meet the requirements of the Mandatory e-Pay program, you must make all payments electronically, regardless of the taxable year or amount. Go to fth.ca.gov and
search for mandatory epay. For check or money order payments, using black or blue ink, complete your check or money order and form FTB 3519 below. Enter the
tax due amount from line 4 as the “Amount of payment.” Make your check or money order payable to the “Franchise Tax Board,” and write your SSN or ITIN and
“2015 FTB 3519” in the “For” section. Enclose, but do net staple your payment to form FTB 3519 and mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008.

Save the stamp — pay online with Web Pay!

%<_DETACH HERE — — — —— —

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM ' — — — — — — DETACH HERE _>§

(Calendar year filers — File and Pay by April 18, 2016) (Fiscal year filers — see instructions)

TAXABLE YEAR

2015

CAUTION: You may be required to pay electronically. See instructions.

Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals

CALIFORNIA FORM

3519 (PIT)

For calendar year 2015 or fiscal year beginning (mm/dd/yyyy)

, and ending (mm/dd/yyyy)

Your first name Initial| Last name

Your SSN or ITIN

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Initial| Last name

Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

Address (humber and street, PO box, or PMB no.)

Apt. no./ste. no.

City State |ZIP code
IF PAYMENT IS DUE, MAIL TO: Amount of payment
o g BOARD If amount of payment is
zero, do not mail this form y , ..00

SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0008

. For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP.

1221153 |
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TAXABLE YEAR

2015

Depreciation and
Amortization Adjustments

. CALIFORNIA FORM

3885A

Do not complete this form if your California depreciation amounts are the same as federal amounts.

Name(s) as shown on tax return

SSN or ITIN

Part | Identify the Activity as Passive or Nonpassive. (See instructions.)
1 [OThis formis being completed for a passive activity.
Ol his form is being completed for a nonpassive activity.

Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates

Part Il Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179).

2 Enter the amount from line 12 of the Tangible Property Expense Worksheet in the instructions . ..................... @ 2
Part Il Demecla“on Description of(?)?'operty placed Date placég)in service Califor(nci)a basis Me(ﬂl)od Li*g)or Caliﬂ))rnia
in service mm/dd/yyyy for depreciation rate depreciation deduction
3
4 Add the amounts on line 3, COlUMN (F) . . . oo 4
5 California depreciation for assets placed in service priort0 2015 . ... . . . . 5
6 Total California depreciation from this activity. Add the amounts on line 2, line 4, and line 5. . .......................... 6
7 Total federal depreciation from this activity. Enter depreciation from federal Form 4562, line22......................... 7
8 a Ifline 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions . ........ ... ... ... .. ... ... .. ..., 8a
b Ifline 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions .. ........ ... ... ... ... .. ... ... 8b
Part IV Amortization Descript(lg% of cost Date amon??gtion begins Califor(ncill basis C(g e Per(lgzj or Caliﬂ))rnia
mm/dd/yyyy for amortization section percentage amortization deduction
9
10 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 9, column (f) . ........ ... ... o it 10
11 California amortization of costs that began before 2015. . . ... ... 11
12 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 10and line 11 . .......... ... ... ... ... ..., 12
13 Total federal amortization from this activity. Enter amortization from federal Form 4562, line 44 ........................ 13
14 a Ifline 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions ......... ... .. .. ... ... ... .. .... 14a
b Ifline 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions . .......... ... .. ... ... ... ... ... 14b

Instructions for Form FTB 3885A

Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments

References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Information

Purpose

In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015,
California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of
January 1, 2015. However, there are continuing differences between
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law
changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal
level. For more information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for conformity.
Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental
Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), and the Business Entity tax booklets.

The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider
the tax booklets as authoritative law.

T

. For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP.

7631153 |

Use form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments, only if
there is a difference between the amount of depreciation and amortization
allowed as a deduction using California law and the amount allowed
using federal law. California law and federal law have not always allowed
the same depreciation methods, special credits, or accelerated write-offs.
As a result, the recovery periods or the basis on which the depreciation is
figured for California may be different from the amounts used for federal
purposes. You will probably have reportable differences if all or part of
your assets were placed in service:

e Before January 1, 1987. California disallowed depreciation under the
federal accelerated cost recovery system (ACRS). Continue to figure
California depreciation for those assets in the same manner as in prior
years for those assets.

e On or after January 1, 1987. California provides special credits and
accelerated write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying assets.
California did not conform to all changes to federal law enacted in 1993;
therefore, the California basis or recovery periods may be different for
some assets.

e On or after September 11, 2001. If you claimed the 30% additional
depreciation for federal purposes, California has not conformed to the

FrB 3885A 2015 |



federal Job Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002 which allows
taxpayers to take an additional first year depreciation deduction and
Alternative Minimum Tax depreciation adjustment for property placed
in service after September 10, 2001.

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information on differences between
California and federal law for the following items:

* Amortization of certain intangibles (IRC Section 197)
Qualified Indian Reservation property

 Grapevines subject to Phylloxera or Pierce’s disease
 Additional depreciation (IRC Section 168(k))

e Startup expenses (IRC Section 195)

* Asset expense election (IRC Section 179)

California generally conforms to the federal 2003 increase (IRC

Section 280F) for the limitation on luxury automobile depreciation. In
addition, SUVs and minivans built on a truck chassis are included in

the definition of trucks and vans when applying the 6,000 pound gross
weight limit. However, Galifornia does not conform to the federal increase
to first-year depreciation for qualified vehicles placed in service in 2010.

Differences may also occur for other less common reasons, and the
instructions for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) list them on the line for
the type of income likely to be affected. Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more
information about figuring and reporting these adjustments.

If reporting a difference for assets related to a passive activity, get form
FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, for more information about
passive activities.

Do not use form FTB 3885A to report depreciation expense from federal
Form2106, Employee Business Expenses. Instead, see the instructions
for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 41.

Specific Line Instructions

Prepare and file a separate form FTB 3885A for each business or activity
on your tax return that has a difference between California and federal
depreciation or amortization. Enter the name of the business or activity in
the space provided at the top of the form. If you need more space, attach
additional sheets. However, complete Part Il, Election to Expense Certain
Tangible Property (IRC Section 179), only once.

Part| Identify the Activity as Passive or Nonpassive

Line 1 - Check the box to identify the activity as passive or nonpassive.
A passive activity is any activity involving the conduct of any trade or
business in which you did not materially participate. Get form FTB 3801
for more information.

If the activity is passive, use this form as a worksheet to figure the
depreciation adjustment to carry to form FTB 3801. Beginning in 1994,
and for federal purposes only, rental real estate activities of persons in
real property business are not automatically treated as passive activities.
California did not conform to this provision.

Part Il Election To Expense Certain Tangible Property

If you qualify, you may elect to expense part of the cost of depreciable
personal property used in your trade or business and certain other
property described in federal Publication 946, How to Depreciate
Property. To qualify, you must have purchased property, as defined in
the IRC Section 179(d)(2), and placed it in service during 2015, or have
a carryover of unused cost from 2014. If you elect this deduction, you
must reduce your California depreciable basis by the IRC Section 179
expense.

Federal limitation amounts may be different than California limitation
amounts. For California purposes, the maximum IRC Section 179
expense deduction allowed for 2015 is $25,000.

Complete the worksheet in the next column to figure IRC Section 179
expense for California. Include all assets qualifying for the deduction
because the limit applies to all qualifying assets as a group rather than to
each asset individually. Refer to federal Form 4562, Depreciation and
Amortization, for more information.

Tangible Property Expense Worksheet

1 Maximum dollar limitation for California . ...............
2 Total cost of Section 179 property placed in service . ... ... 2
3 Threshold cost of Section 179 property before

reduction in limitation ............. ... ... ... L 3 .$200.000
4 Reduction in limitation. Subtract line 3 from line 2.
Ifzeroorless,enter-0-............................. 4
5 Dollar limitation for tax year. Subtract line 4 from line 1.
Ifzeroorless,enter-0-............................. 5
(a) Description of property (b) Cost (c) Elected cost
6
7 Listed property (elected Section 179 cost) .... 7
8 Total elected cost of Section 179 property.
Add line 6 column (c)and line7 ...................... . 8
9 Tentative deduction. Enter the smaller of line5orline8.... . 9
10 Carryover of disallowed deduction from2014............ .10
11 Enter the smaller of business income (not less than zero)
orlined ... .1

12 Section 179 expense deduction for California.

Add line 9 and line 10, but do not enter more than

line 11. Also, enter the result on form FTB 3885A, line2.... . 12
13 Carryover of disallowed deduction to 2016.

Add line 9 and line 10.

Subtract line 12 from the result.............. 13

Part lll Depreciation

Line 3 — Complete column (a) through column (f) for each tangible asset
or group of assets placed in service during the tax year. Use the Galifornia
basis for assets on which you elected to take the Section 179 deduction.
It will be the difference between line 6, column (b) and line 6, column (c)
of the Tangible Property Expense Worksheet in Part II.

Line 8a and Line 8b — Are you using this form as a worksheet in
connection with form FTB 38017

Yes Enter the amount from line 8a or line 8b on form FTB 3801, Side 2,
California Passive Activity Worksheet, column (e).

No Include the amount from line 8a on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR)
in column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C (Form 1040),
Profit or Loss From Business, activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E (Form 1040), Supplemental Income and Loss,
activities; and on line 18 for federal Schedule F (Form 1040), Profit
or Loss From Farming, activities.

Include the amount from line 8b on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR)
in column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on

line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal
Schedule F activities.

Part IV Amortization

Line 9 - Complete column (a) through column (f) for intangible assets
placed in service during the tax year. Use the California basis and the
California recovery period.

Line 14a and Line 14b — Are you using this form as a worksheet in
connection with form FTB 38017

Yes Enter the amount from line 14a or line 14b on form FTB 3801,
Side 2, California Passive Activity Worksheet, column (g).

No Include the amount from line 14a on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR)
in column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on
line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal
Schedule F activities.

Include the amount from line 14b on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR)
in column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on

line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal
Schedule F activities.
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TAXABLE YEAR . CALIFORNIA FORM

2015 California Earned Income Tax Credit 3514

Attach to your California Form 540, Form 540 2EZ or Long or Short Form 540NR
Name(s) as shown on tax return SSN

Before you begin:
If you claim the EITC even though you know you are not eligible, you may not be allowed to take the credit for up to 10 years.

Follow Step 1 through Step 6 in the instructions to determine if you meet the requirements, to complete this form, and to figure the amount of
the credit.

If you are claiming the California Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), you must provide your date of birth (DOB), and spouse's/RDP's DOB if filing jointly,
on your Galifornia Form 540, Form 540 2EZ, or Long or Short Form 540NR.

Part1 Federal Information See the instructions for Step 1 - Qualifications for All Filers.

1 Has the IRS previously disallowed your federal Earned Income Credit (EIC)? . ........ ..o, ® 1 |_ Yes |_ No
2 Federal AGI (federal Form 1040, line 38; Form 1040A, line 22; or Form 1040EZ, lined) ..................... e 2 @I
3 Federal EIC (federal Form 1040, line 66a; Form 1040A, line 42a; or Form 1040EZ, line 8a). . ................. ® 3 @I

Part Il Investment Income Information

4 Investment Income. See instructions for Step 2 — Investment Income ........ ... ..o o 4 @I

Part Il Qualifying Child Information
You must complete Part | and Part Il before filling out Part II. If you are not claiming a qualifying child, skip Part Ill and go to Step 4 in the instructions.

Qualifying Child Information Child 1 Child 2 Child 3
5 Firstname ..................... ® ® ®

6 Lastname...................... ® ® ®

7 SSN ... [ ] [ ] [

8 Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy). If born
after 1996 and the child is younger
than you (or your spouse/RDP, if
filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b;
gotoline10.................... O] O] O]

9 a Was the child under age 24

at the end of 2015, a student,
and younger than you (or your
spouse/RDP, if filing jointly)? If
yes, go to line 10. If no, go to
line 9b. See instructions. .. ... ... @ lves [ Tno @[ Jves [ Ino @[ Ives [ Ino
b Was the child permanently and
totally disabled during any part
of 20157 If yes, go to line 10. If
no, stop here. The child is not a

qualifying child. ............... O] ’:Yes ’: No O] I:Yes I: No O] I_Yes I_ No

10 Child's relationship to you. See

instructions. . .................. @ @ @

11 Number of days child lived with
you in California during 2015. Do
not enter more than 365 days. See

instructions. . ................... O] ® O]

B~ riae notice, get T8 1131 EnGis | 8461153 | FTB 3514 (NEW 2015) (REV 12-15) side 1 [l



Child 1 Child 2 Child 3
12 a. Child's physical address during
2015 (number, street, and apt.
no./ste. no.). See instructions. . . . ® ® ®
b.City........................ ® ® ®
c.State. ... ... ® ® ®
d.ZIPcode.................... ® ® ®

Part IV California Earned Income

13 Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation, subject to California withholding. See instructions.. ... ® 13

B

14 Prison inmate wages. See iNStruCtioNS. . . ... ... ®14
15 Pension or annuity from a nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a nongovernmental IRC Section 457 plan.

SEE INSITUCHIONS. .o ®@15
16 California Earned Income. Subtract line 14 and line 15 fromline 13... ... ... .. . ... ® 16

818

PartV California Earned Income Tax Credit (Complete Step 6 in the instructions.)

17 California EITC. Enter amount from California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet, Part 11, line 6.

This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 75; Form 540NR Long, Line 85; Form 540NR Short,
Line 85; 0r Form 540 2EZ, LiNe 23. . . ..ottt @17

B sice2 FTB3514 (NEW 2015) | 8462153 |



2015 Instructions for Form FTB 3514

California Earned Income Tax Credit

References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

What's New

Specific Instructions

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, the refundable
California Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) is available to taxpayers who
earned wage income in Galifornia. This credit is similar to the federal
Earned Income Credit (EIC) but with different income limitations. EITC
reduces your California tax obligation, or allows a refund if no California
tax is due. You may qualify if you have earned income of less than
$13,870. You do not need a child to qualify, but must file a California tax
return to claim the credit and attach a completed form FTB 3514.

General Information

In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015,
California law conforms to the IRC as of January 1, 2015. However,

there are continuing differences between California and federal law.
When California conforms to federal tax law changes, we do not always
adopt all of the changes made at the federal level. For more information,
go to fth.ca.gov and search for conformity. Additional information

can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California
Adjustments, the instructions for California Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
and the Business Entity tax booklets.

The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider
the tax booklets as authoritative law.

Registered Domestic Partners (RDPs)

For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, hushand,
or wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP),
unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to
both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered
domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs,
get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.

A Purpose

You may qualify to claim the 2015 California EITC if you (and your
spouse/RDP) earned wage income in California. You do not need a
child to qualify. Use form FTB 3514 to determine whether you qualify to
claim the credit, provide information about your qualifying children, if
applicable, and to figure the amount of your credit.

B Differences in California and Federal Law

The differences between California and federal law are as follows:

e (California allows this credit for wage income earned in California
(wages, salaries, tips and other employee compensation) that is
subject to California withholding.

e (California does not allow the credit for self-employment income.

e |f you were a nonresident, you must have earned income from
working in California.

e Both your earned income and federal adjusted gross income (AGI)
must be less than $53,267 to qualify for the federal credit, and less
than $13,870 to qualify for the California credit.

e You may elect to include all of your (and/or all of your spouse/RDP’s
if filing jointly) nontaxable military combat pay in earned income for
California purposes, whether or not you elect to include it for federal
purposes. Get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel,
for special rules that apply to military personnel claiming the EITC.

If certain requirements are met, you may claim the EITC even if you do
not have a qualifying child. The amount of the credit is greater if you
have a qualifying child, and increases with each child that qualifies, up
to a maximum of three children. Follow Step 1 through Step 6 below to
determine if you qualify for the credit and to figure the amount of the
credit.

Attach the completed form FTB 3514, California Earned Income Tax
Credit, to your Form 540 or 540 2EZ, California Resident Income

Tax Return; or Long or Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident or
Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, if you claim the Galifornia EITC.

Step 1 Qualifications for All Filers

a. Federal AGI
If, in taxable year 2015:

e 2 or more qualifying children lived with you, is the amount on
federal Form 1040, line 38; or federal Form 1040A, line 22, less
than $13,870?

e 1 qualifying child lived with you, is the amount on federal
Form 1040, line 38; or federal Form 1040A, line 22, less than
$9,880?

e No qualifying children lived with you, is the amount on federal
Form 1040, line 38; federal Form 1040A, line 22; or federal
Form 1040EZ, line 4, less than $6,580?

Yes Continue.
No  Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

b. Do you, and your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return, have a social
security number (SSN) that allows you to work and is valid for EITC
purposes? See "Valid SSN" section within Step 3, Qualifying Child, for
a full definition.

Yes Continue.

No  Stop here, you cannot take the credit.
¢. Isyour filing status married filing separately?

Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

No  Continue.

d. Are you filing federal Forms 2555, Foreign Earned Income or 2555-EZ,
Foreign Earned Income Exclusion (relating to foreign earned income)?
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

No Continue.

e. Were you or your spouse/RDP a nonresident alien for any part

of 20157

Yes If your filing status is married filing jointly, continue. Otherwise,
stop; you cannot take the EITC.
No  Continue.

f. If you are filing a Long or Short Form 540NR, did you and your
spouse/RDP live in California for at least 183 days?
Yes Continue.
No  Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

g. Complete line 1, line 2, and line 3 on the form. Then go to Step 2.
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Step 2 Investment Income

If you are filing Form 540 2EZ or Short Form 540NR complete
Worksheet 1. If you are filing Form 540 or Long Form 540NR complete
Worksheet 2.

Worksheet 1 — Investment Income

Form 540 2EZ and Short Form 540NR Filers

1 Taxable interest. Enter the amount from

Form 540 2EZ, line 10. Short Form 540NR filers

add and enter the amounts from federal

Form 1099-INT, box 1...................... 1
2 Nontaxable interest Add and enter the

amounts from federal Form 1099-INT, box 3 and

box 8, and the amount from federal

Form 1099-DIV, box10.................... 2
3 Dividends. Enter the amount from

form 540 2EZ, line11...................... 3
4 Capital gain net income. Enter the amount

from Form 540 2EZ, line 13. ................ 4
5 Investment Income. Add line 1, line 2,

line 3 and line 4. Enter the amount here ....... 5

6 Is the amount on line 5 more than $3,400?

Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit.
No  Enter the amount from line 5 on
form FTB 3514, line 4.
Go to Step 3.

Worksheet 2 — Investment Income
Form 540 and Long Form 540NR Filers
Interest and Dividends

1 Add and enter the amounts from Schedule CA (540) or
Schedule CA (540NR), line 8(a), column A
andline8(b) .............. ... ... 1

2 Enter the amount from form FTB 3803,

Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and
Dividends, line1b.................. ... .... 2

3 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540) or
Schedule CA (540NR), line 9(a), column A minus
columnBopluscolumnC................... 3

4.Enter any amounts from form FTB 3803 for
child's interest and dividends included on
Schedule CA (540) or Schedule CA (540NR),
line 21, column A minus line 21(f) column B
plusline 21(f) columnC.................... 4

Capital Gain Net Income
5 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540) or
Schedule CA (540NR), line 13, column A
minus column B plus column C. If the result is
less than zero, enter -0-................... 5
6 Enter the gain from Schedule D-1
Sales of Business Property, line 7.
If the amount on that line is a loss, enter -0-.
(But, if you completed Schedule D-1, line 8 and
line 9, enter the amount from line 9 instead). ... 6
7 Subtract line 6 of this worksheet from line 5
of this worksheet. (If the result is less than zero,
enter-0-). ... ... 7

Passive Activities

8 Enter the total of net income from passive
activities included on Schedule CA (540)
or Schedule CA (540NR), line 17,
column A minus column B plus columnC. .. .. 8

Other Activities

9 Enter any income from the rental of personal
property included on Schedule CA (540) or
Schedule CA (540NR), line 21, column A minus
line 21(f) column B plus line 21(f) column C. If the
result is zero or less, enter-0-.............. 9

10 Enter any expenses related to the rental of
personal property included as a write-in adjustment
on Schedule CA(540) or Schedule CA (540NR),
line 36, column A minus column B plus
columnC......... ... 10
11 Subtract line 10 of this worksheet from line 9
of this worksheet. (If the result is less than zero,
enter-0-). ... 1

Investment Income
12 Add the amounts on lines 1, 2, 3, 4,7, 8, and 11.
Enter the total.
This is your investment income . . . ......... 12
13 Is the amount on line 12 more than $3,400?
Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

No  Enter the amount from line 12 on form FTB 3514,
line 4. Go to Step 3.
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Step 3 Qualifying Child

Qualifying Child Definition

A qualifying child for the EITC is a child who meets the following

conditions:

e |s your son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, brother, sister,
stepbrother, stepsister, half brother, half sister, or a descendant of any
of them (for example, your grandchild, niece, or nephew).

e [sunder age 19 at the end of 2015 and younger than you (or your
spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), or under age 24 at the end of 2015, a
student, and younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly),
or any age and permanently and totally disabled.

e |snot filing a joint return for 2015 or is filing a joint return for 2015
only to claim a refund of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid.
Get federal Publication 596, Earned Income Credit, for examples.

e Lived with you in California for more than half of 2015. If the child
did not live with you for the required time, see exceptions in the
instructions for line 11.

Note. If the child was married or meets the conditions to be a
qualifying child of another person (other than your spouse/RDP if
filing a joint return), special rules apply. Get federal Publication 596
for more information.

Qualifying Child Questionnaire

a. Do you have at least one child who meets the conditions to be your
qualifying child?
Yes Continue.
No Goto Step 4.

b. Areyou filing a joint return for 2015?

Yes Complete form FTB 3514, Part Il1, line 5 through line 12.
Go to Step 5.
No  Continue.

¢. Could you be a qualifying child of another person for 2015?
(Answer“No” if the other person is not required to file, and is not
filing, a 2015 tax return or is filing a 2015 return only to claim a
refund of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid. Get federal
Publication 596 for examples.)

Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit.
No  Complete form FTB 3514, Part lll, line 5 through line 12.
Go to Step 5.

Line 7 - SSN

The child must have a valid SSN, as defined below, unless the child was
born and died in 2015. If your child was born alive and died in 2015 and
did not have an SSN, enter “Died” on this line and attach a copy of the
child’s birth certificate, death certificate, or hospital medical records.

Valid SSN. For the EITC, a valid SSN is a number issued by the Social
Security Administration unless “Not Valid for Employment” is printed on
the social security card and the number was issued solely to allow the
recipient of the SSN to apply for or receive a federally funded benefit.
However, if “Valid for Work Only With DHS Authorization” is printed on
the social security card, the SSN is valid for EITC purposes only as long
as the DHS authorization is still valid.

An ITIN, Individual Taxpayer Identification Number or ATIN, Adoption
Taxpayer Identification Number cannot be used to claim EITC. If you

or your child has an ITIN or ATIN and later gets a SSN that is valid for
employment, you may be able to file an amended return. Use Form 540X,
Amended Individual Income Tax Return, to correct your return. Get

Form 540X at fth.ca.gov.

If you did not have an SSN by the due date of your 2015 return (including

extensions), you cannot claim the EITC on either your original or an
amended 2015 return, even if you later get an SSN. Also, if a child did
not have an SSN by the due date of your return (including extensions),
you cannot count that child as a qualifying child in figuring the EITC on
either your original or an amended 2015 return, even if that child later
gets an SSN.

Line 9a - Student

A student is a child who during any part of 5 calendar months of 2015
was enrolled as a full-time student at a school, or took a full-time,
on-farm training course given by a school or a state, county, or local
government agency. A school includes a technical, trade, or mechanical
school. It does not include an on-the-job training course, correspondence
school, or school offering courses only through the Internet.

Line 9b — Permanently and totally disabled

A person is permanently and totally disabled if, at any time in 2015, the
person could not engage in any substantial gainful activity because of
a physical or mental condition and a doctor has determined that this
condition (a) has lasted or can be expected to last continuously for at
least a year, or (b) can be expected to lead to death.

Line 10 — Child's relationship to you
For additional information see qualifying child definition.

Line 11 — Number of days child lived with you

Enter the number of days the child lived with you in California during
2015. To qualify, the child must have the same principal place of
residence in California as you for more than half of 2015, defined

as 183 days or more. If the child was born or died in 2015 and your
home was the child’s home for more than half the time he or she was
alive during 2015, enter "365." Do not enter more than 365 days. If the
child did not live with you for the required time, temporary absences
may count as time lived at home. For more information get federal
Publication 596.

Line 12 - Child’s physical address

Enter the physical address where the child resided during 2015. This
should be the address of the principal place of residence in California
where the child lived with you for more than half of 2015. If the child
lived with you in California for more than half of 2015, but moved within
California during this period, this should be the address of the principal
place of residence that was shared the longest.

Step 4 Filer Without a Qualifying Child

a. Is the amount on federal Form 1040, line 38; federal Form 1040A,
line 22; or Form 1040EZ, line 4, less than $6,580?

Yes Continue.
No  Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

b. Were you (or your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return) at least
age 25 but under age 65 at the end of 20157 (Answer “Yes” if
you, or your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return, were born after
December 31, 1950, and before January 2, 1991.) If your spouse/RDP
died in 2015 (or if you are preparing a return for someone who died
in 2015), get federal Publication 596 for more information before you
answer.

Yes Continue.
No  Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

¢. Was your main home, and your spouse’s/RDP's if filing a joint return,
in California for more than half of 2015?

Yes Continue.
No  Stop here, you cannot take the credit.

d. Are you filing a joint return for 20157

Yes Skip questions e and f; go to Step 5.
No Continue.

e. Could you be a qualifying child of another person for 20157
(Answer“No” if the other person is not required to file, and is not
filing, a 2015 tax return or is filing a 2015 return only to claim a
refund of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid. Get federal
Publication 596 for examples.)

Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit.
No  Continue.
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f. Canyou be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s 2015 tax
return?

Yes Stop here, you cannot take the credit.
No Goto Step 5.

Step 5 California Earned Income

Complete lines 13 through 16 to figure your California earned income.
California earned income does not include self-employment income.

Line 13 — Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee
compensation, subject to California withholding

Enter the amount from Form 540, line 12; Form 540 2EZ, line 9;

Long Form 540NR, line 12; or Short Form 540NR, line 12. Exclude

any Medicaid waiver payments, In Home Supportive Services (IHSS)
payments, or IHSS supplementary payments that are nontaxable for
federal purposes that are included on Form 540, line 12; Form 540 2EZ,
line 9; Long Form 540NR, line 12; or Short Form 540NR, line 12.

If you elect to include your nontaxable military combat pay in earned
income for California EITC purposes, include the amount from federal
Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, Box 12, Code Q. If you are filing

a joint return, both you and/or your spouse/RDP can elect to include
your own nontaxable military combat pay for California EITC purposes.
Each must include all of their nontaxable military combat pay, not just a
portion of it. You may elect to include nontaxable military combat pay in
earned income for California EITC purposes, whether or not you elect to
include it for federal purposes.

Step 6 How to Figure the CA EITC

Complete the California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet below.

Line 14 - Prison inmate wages
Enter the amount included on line 13, that you received for work
performed while an inmate in a penal institution.

Line 15 — Pension or annuity from a nonqualified deferred
compensation plan or a nongovernmental Section 457 plan
Enter the amount included on line 13, that you received as a pension
or annuity from a nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a
nongovernmental Section 457 plan. This amount may be shown

on Form W-2, box 11. If you received such an amount and box 11 is
blank, contact your employer for the amount received as a pension or
annuity.

After completing Step 5 go to Step 6.

California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet

Part | - All Filers

1. Enter your California earned income from form FTB 3514, line16. . ...................... 1

2. Look up the amount on line 1 in the EITC Table to find the credit. Be sure you use the correct
column for the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credithere ................ ... .. .............. 2
If the amount on line 2 is zero, stop here. You cannot take the credit.

3. Enter the amount from federal Form 1040, line 38; federal Form 1040A, line 22; or
federal Form 1040EZ, line 4. ... .. 3

4. Are the amounts on lines 1 and 3 the same?

Yes Skip line 5; and enter the amount from line 2 on line 6.
No Gotoline 5.

Part Il - Filers who Answered “No” on Line 4

5. Ifyou have:

¢ No qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than $3,290?
e 1 qualifying child, is the amount on line 3 less than $4,940?

e 2 or more qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than $6,935?

Yes Leave line 5 blank; enter the amount from line 2 on line 6.

No Look up the amount on line 3 in the EITC Table to find the credit. Be sure you use the correct

column for the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credithere............................... 5

Look at the amounts on line 5 and line 2, enter the smaller amount on line 6.

Part lll - Your Earned Income Tax Credit

6. This is your California earned income tax credit.

Enter this amount on form FTB 3514, line17. ....................

...................................... 6
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2015 Earned Income Tax Gredit Table

Caution: This is not a tax table. If you are married filing separately you do not qualify for this credit.

1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your

California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned
Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

If the amount you are If the amount you are
looking up from looking up from
the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is
At But Not 0 1 2 3 At But Not 0 1 2 3
least Over Your creditis . . . least Over Your creditis . . .

$1 $50 2 7 9 10 2,251 2,300 148 658 774 870

51 100 5 22 26 29 2,301 2,350 151 672 791 890
101 150 8 36 43 48 2,351 2,400 154 687 808 909
151 200 1 51 60 67 2,401 2,450 158 701 825 928
201 250 15 65 77 86 2,451 2,500 161 715 842 947
251 300 18 80 94 105 2,501 2,550 164 730 859 966
301 350 21 94 111 125 2,551 2,600 167 744 876 985
351 400 24 109 128 144 2,601 2,650 171 759 893 1,004
401 450 28 123 145 163 2,651 2,700 174 773 910 1,023
451 500 31 137 162 182 2,701 2,750 177 788 927 1,043
501 550 34 152 179 201 2,751 2,800 180 802 944 1,062
551 600 37 166 196 220 2,801 2,850 184 817 961 1,081
601 650 4 181 213 239 2,851 2,900 187 831 978 1,100
651 700 44 195 230 258 2,901 2,950 190 845 995 1,119
701 750 47 210 247 278 2,951 3,000 193 860 1,012 1,138
751 800 50 224 264 297 3,001 3,050 197 874 1,029 1,157
801 850 54 239 281 316 3,051 3,100 200 889 1,046 1,176
851 900 57 253 298 335 3,101 3,150 203 903 1,063 1,196
901 950 60 267 315 354 3,151 3,200 206 918 1,080 1,215
951 1,000 63 282 332 373 3,201 3,250 210 932 1,097 1,234
1,001 1,050 67 296 349 392 3,251 3,300 214 947 1,114 1,253
1,051 1,100 70 311 366 411 3,301 3,350 212 961 1,131 1,272
1,101 1,150 73 325 383 431 3,351 3,400 208 976 1,148 1,291
1,151 1,200 76 340 400 450 3,401 3,450 205 990 1,165 1,310
1,201 1,250 80 354 417 469 3,451 3,500 202 1,004 1,182 1,329
1,251 1,300 83 369 434 488 3,501 3,550 199 1,019 1,199 1,349
1,301 1,350 86 383 451 507 3,551 3,600 195 1,033 1,216 1,368
1,351 1,400 89 398 468 526 3,601 3,650 192 1,048 1,233 1,387
1,401 1,450 93 412 485 545 3,651 3,700 189 1,062 1,250 1,406
1,451 1,500 96 426 502 564 3,701 3,750 186 1,077 1,267 1,425
1,501 1,550 99 441 519 584 3,751 3,800 182 1,091 1,284 1,444
1,551 1,600 102 455 536 603 3,801 3,850 179 1,106 1,301 1,463
1,601 1,650 106 470 553 622 3,851 3,900 176 1,120 1,318 1,482
1,651 1,700 109 484 570 641 3,901 3,950 173 1,134 1,335 1,502
1,701 1,750 112 499 587 660 3,951 4,000 169 1,149 1,352 1,521
1,751 1,800 115 513 604 679 4,001 4,050 166 1,163 1,369 1,540
1,801 1,850 119 528 621 698 4,051 4,100 163 1,178 1,386 1,559
1,851 1,900 122 542 638 717 4,101 4,150 160 1,192 1,403 1,578
1,901 1,950 125 556 655 737 4,151 4,200 156 1,207 1,420 1,597
1,951 2,000 128 571 672 756 4,201 4,250 153 1,221 1,437 1,616
2,001 2,050 132 585 689 775 4,251 4,300 150 1,236 1,454 1,635
2,051 2,100 135 600 706 794 4,301 4,350 147 1,250 1,471 1,655
2,101 2,150 138 614 723 813 4,351 4,400 143 1,265 1,488 1,674
2,151 2,200 141 629 740 832 4,401 4,450 140 1,279 1,505 1,693
2,201 2,250 145 643 757 851 4,451 4,500 137 1,293 1,522 1,712
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2015 Earned Income Tax Gredit Table

Caution: This is not a tax table. If you are married filing separately you do not qualify for this credit.

1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your

California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.
2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned

Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

If the amount you are
looking up from
the worksheet is . . .

And your number of qualifying children is

If the amount you are
looking up from
the worksheet is . . .

And your number of qualifying children is

At But Not 0 1 2 3 At But Not 0 1 2 3
least Over Your credit is . . . least Over Your credit is . . .
4,501 4,550 134 1,308 1,539 1,731 6,751 6,800 0 897 2,304 2,592
4,551 4,600 130 1,322 1,556 1,750 6,801 6,850 0 883 2,321 2,611
4,601 4,650 127 1,337 1,573 1,769 6,851 6,900 0 868 2,338 2,630
4,651 4,700 124 1,351 1,590 1,788 6,901 6,950 0 854 2,358 2,653
4,701 4,750 121 1,366 1,607 1,808 6,951 7,000 0 839 2,344 2,637
4,751 4,800 117 1,380 1,624 1,827 7,001 7,050 0 825 2,327 2,618
4,801 4,850 114 1,395 1,641 1,846 7,051 7,100 0 811 2,310 2,599
4,851 4,900 111 1,409 1,658 1,865 7,101 7,150 0 796 2,293 2,580
4,901 4,950 108 1,428 1,675 1,884 7,151 7,200 0 782 2,276 2,561
4,951 5,000 104 1,417 1,692 1,903 7,201 7,250 0 767 2,259 2,542
5,001 5,050 101 1,403 1,709 1,922 7,251 7,300 0 753 2,242 2,522
5,051 5,100 98 1,389 1,726 1,941 7,301 7,350 0 738 2,225 2,503
5,101 5,150 95 1,374 1,743 1,961 7,351 7,400 0 724 2,208 2,484
5,151 5,200 91 1,360 1,760 1,980 7,401 7,450 0 709 2,191 2,465
5,201 5,250 88 1,345 1,777 1,999 7,451 7,500 0 695 2,174 2,446
5,251 5,300 85 1,331 1,794 2,018 7,501 7,550 0 680 2,157 2,427
5,301 5,350 82 1,316 1,811 2,037 7,551 7,600 0 666 2,140 2,408
5,351 5,400 78 1,302 1,828 2,056 7,601 7,650 0 652 2,123 2,389
5,401 5,450 75 1,287 1,845 2,075 7,651 7,700 0 637 2,106 2,369
5,451 5,500 72 1,273 1,862 2,094 7,701 7,750 0 623 2,089 2,350
5,501 5,550 69 1,258 1,879 2,114 7,751 7,800 0 608 2,072 2,331
5,551 5,600 65 1,244 1,896 2,133 7,801 7,850 0 594 2,055 2,312
5,601 5,650 62 1,230 1,913 2,152 7,851 7,900 0 579 2,038 2,293
5,651 5,700 59 1,215 1,930 2,171 7,901 7,950 0 565 2,021 2,274
5,701 5,750 56 1,201 1,947 2,190 7,951 8,000 0 550 2,004 2,255
5,751 5,800 52 1,186 1,964 2,209 8,001 8,050 0 536 1,987 2,236
5,801 5,850 49 1,172 1,981 2,228 8,051 8,100 0 522 1,970 2,216
5,851 5,900 46 1,157 1,998 2,247 8,101 8,150 0 507 1,953 2,197
5,901 5,950 43 1,143 2,015 2,267 8,151 8,200 0 493 1,936 2,178
5,951 6,000 39 1,128 2,032 2,286 8,201 8,250 0 478 1,919 2,159
6,001 6,050 36 1,114 2,049 2,305 8,251 8,300 0 464 1,902 2,140
6,051 6,100 33 1,100 2,066 2,324 8,301 8,350 0 449 1,885 2,121
6,101 6,150 30 1,085 2,083 2,343 8,351 8,400 0 435 1,868 2,102
6,151 6,200 26 1,071 2,100 2,362 8,401 8,450 0 420 1,851 2,083
6,201 6,250 23 1,056 2,117 2,381 8,451 8,500 0 406 1,834 2,063
6,251 6,300 20 1,042 2,134 2,400 8,501 8,550 0 391 1,817 2,044
6,301 6,350 17 1,027 2,151 2,420 8,551 8,600 0 377 1,800 2,025
6,351 6,400 13 1,013 2,168 2,439 8,601 8,650 0 363 1,783 2,006
6,401 6,450 10 998 2,185 2,458 8,651 8,700 0 348 1,766 1,987
6,451 6,500 7 984 2,202 2,477 8,701 8,750 0 334 1,749 1,968
6,501 6,550 4 969 2,219 2,496 8,751 8,800 0 319 1,732 1,949
6,551 6,600 * 955 2,236 2,515 8,801 8,850 0 305 1,715 1,930
6,601 6,650 0 9 2,253 2,534 8,851 8,900 0 290 1,698 1,910
6,651 6,700 0 926 2,270 2,553 8,901 8,950 0 276 1,681 1,891
6,701 6,750 0 912 2,287 2,573 8,951 9,000 0 261 1,664 1,872
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2015 Earned Income Tax Gredit Table

Caution: This is not a tax table. If you are married filing separately you do not qualify for this credit.

1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your

California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned
Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

If the amount you are
looking up from
the worksheet is . . .

And your number of qualifying children is

If the amount you are
looking up from
the worksheet is . . .

And your number of qualifying children is

At But Not 0 1 2 3 At But Not 0 1 2 3

least Over Your credit is . . . least Over Your credit is . . .
9,001 9,050 0 247 1,647 1,853 11,251 11,300 0 0 882 992
9,051 9,100 0 233 1,630 1,834 11,301 11,350 0 0 865 973
9,101 9,150 0 218 1,613 1,815 11,351 11,400 0 0 848 954
9,151 9,200 0 204 1,596 1,796 11,401 11,450 0 0 831 935
9,201 9,250 0 189 1,579 1,777 11,451 11,500 0 0 814 916
9,251 9,300 0 175 1,562 1,757 11,501 11,550 0 0 797 897
9,301 9,350 0 160 1,545 1,738 11,551 11,600 0 0 780 878
9,351 9,400 0 146 1,528 1,719 11,601 11,650 0 0 763 859
9,401 9,450 0 131 1,511 1,700 11,651 11,700 0 0 746 839
9,451 9,500 0 117 1,494 1,681 11,701 11,750 0 0 729 820
9,501 9,550 0 102 1,477 1,662 11,751 11,800 0 0 712 801
9,551 9,600 0 88 1,460 1,643 11,801 11,850 0 0 695 782
9,601 9,650 0 74 1,443 1,624 11,851 11,900 0 0 678 763
9,651 9,700 0 59 1,426 1,604 11,901 11,950 0 0 661 744
9,701 9,750 0 45 1,409 1,585 11,951 12,000 0 0 644 725
9,751 9,800 0 30 1,392 1,566 12,001 12,050 0 0 627 706
9,801 9,850 0 16 1,375 1,547 12,051 12,100 0 0 610 686
9,851 9,900 0 *x 1,358 1,528 12,101 12,150 0 0 593 667
9,901 9,950 0 0 1,341 1,509 12,151 12,200 0 0 576 648
9,951 10,000 0 0 1,324 1,490 12,201 12,250 0 0 559 629
10,001 10,050 0 0 1,307 1,471 12,251 12,300 0 0 542 610
10,051 10,100 0 0 1,290 1,451 12,301 12,350 0 0 525 591
10,101 10,150 0 0 1,273 1,432 12,351 12,400 0 0 508 572
10,151 10,200 0 0 1,256 1,413 12,401 12,450 0 0 491 553
10,201 10,250 0 0 1,239 1,394 12,451 12,500 0 0 474 533
10,251 10,300 0 0 1,222 1,375 12,501 12,550 0 0 457 514
10,301 10,350 0 0 1,205 1,356 12,551 12,600 0 0 440 495
10,351 10,400 0 0 1,188 1,337 12,601 12,650 0 0 423 476
10,401 10,450 0 0 1,171 1,318 12,651 12,700 0 0 406 457
10,451 10,500 0 0 1,154 1,298 12,701 12,750 0 0 389 438
10,501 10,550 0 0 1,137 1,279 12,751 12,800 0 0 372 419
10,551 10,600 0 0 1,120 1,260 12,801 12,850 0 0 355 400
10,601 10,650 0 0 1,103 1,241 12,851 12,900 0 0 338 380
10,651 10,700 0 0 1,086 1,222 12,901 12,950 0 0 321 361
10,701 10,750 0 0 1,069 1,203 12,951 13,000 0 0 304 342
10,751 10,800 0 0 1,052 1,184 13,001 13,050 0 0 287 323
10,801 10,850 0 0 1,035 1,165 13,051 13,100 0 0 270 304
10,851 10,900 0 0 1,018 1,145 13,101 13,150 0 0 253 285
10,901 10,950 0 0 1,001 1,126 13,151 13,200 0 0 236 266
10,951 11,000 0 0 984 1,107 13,201 13,250 0 0 219 247
11,001 11,050 0 0 967 1,088 13,251 13,300 0 0 202 227
11,051 11,100 0 0 950 1,069 13,301 13,350 0 0 185 208
11,101 11,150 0 0 933 1,050 13,351 13,400 0 0 168 189
11,151 11,200 0 0 916 1,031 13,401 13,450 0 0 151 170
11,201 11,250 0 0 899 1,012 13,451 13,500 0 0 134 151
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2015 Earned Income Tax Gredit Table

Caution: This is not a tax table. If you are married filing separately you do not qualify for this credit.

1. To find your credit, read down the “At least - But not over” columns and find the line that includes the amount you were told to look up from your
California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

2. Then, go to the column that includes the number of qualifying children you have. Enter the credit from that column on your California Earned
Income Tax Credit Worksheet.

If the amount you are
looking up from

the worksheet is . . . And your number of qualifying children is
At But Not 0 1 2 3
least Over Your credit is . . .

13,501 13,550 0 0 117 132
13,551 13,600 0 0 100 113
13,601 13,650 0 0 83 94
13,651 13,700 0 0 66 74
13,701 13,750 0 0 49 55
13,751 13,800 0 0 32 36
13,801 13,850 0 0 15 17
13,851 13,900 0 0 e

* If the amount you are looking up from the worksheet is at least
$6,551 but less than $6,580, and you have no qualifying child,
your credit is $1.1f the amount you are looking up from the
worksheet is $6,580 or more, and you have no qualifying child,
you cannot take the credit.

** |f the amount you are looking up from the worksheet is at least
$9,851 but less than $9,880, and you have one qualifying child,
your credit is $4.If the amount you are looking up from the
worksheet is $9,880 or more, and you have one qualifying child,
you cannot take the credit.

*** |f the amount you are looking up from the worksheet is at least
$13,851 but less than $13,870, and you have two qualifying
children, your credit is $3.If the amount you are looking up from
the worksheet is $13,870 or more, and you have two qualifying
children, you cannot take the credit.

**** |f the amount you are looking up from the worksheet is at least
$13,851 but less than $13,870, and you have three qualifying
children, your credit is $4.1f the amount you are looking up from
the worksheet is $13,870 or more, and you have three qualifying
children, you cannot take the credit.
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TAXABLE YEAR . CALIFORNIA FORM

3532

2015 Head of Household Filing Status Schedule

Attach to your California Form 540, Long or Short Form 540NR, or Form 540 2EZ.

Name(s) as shown on tax return SSN or ITIN

Part | - Marital Status

1 Check one box below to identify your marital status. See instructions.

a Notlegally married/RDP during 2015 . .. ..o o i
b Widow/widower (my spouse/RDP died before 01/01/2015) . ... ...
¢ Marriage/RDP was annulled . . ... ... o
d Received final decree of divorce, legal separation, dissolution, or termination of marriage/RDP by 12/31/2015 . ..............

e Legally married/RDP and did not live with spouse/RDP during 2015 .. ...
f Legally married/RDP and lived with spouse/RDP during 2015. List the beginning and ending dates for each period when you

1 100 O T

Part Il - Qualifying Person

2 Check one box below to identify the relationship of the person that qualifies you for the head of household filing status. See instructions.

a Son, daughter, stepson, or stepdaughter . ........... .
b Grandchild, brother, sister, half brother, half sister, stepbrother, stepsister, nephew, orniece .......... ...,
¢ Eligible foster Child . . ... .

d Father, mother, stepfather, or StepmOther. ...

e Grandfather, grandmother, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law,
SIStEr-iN-1aw, UNCIE, OF AUNT . . . ...

1 11

Part Ill - Qualifying Person Information

3 Information about your qualifying person. See instructions.

FIrStNAME . ®
LAt NAME . o oo ®
SN ®
DOB (MDD Y Y YY) et ®
4 Enter qualifying person's gross income in 2015. See instructions. ............ . ... ... ... ... ... O]
5 Number of days your qualifying person lived with you during 2015. See instructions. ..................... O]

When calculating the total number of days your qualifying person lived with you, you may include any days your qualifying person was temporarily
absent from your home. For example, illness, education, business, vacation, military service, and, (in some circumstances), incarceration.

. For Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP. I 8481153 | FTB 3532 (NEW 2015)

Side 1
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2015 Instructions for Form FTB 3532

Head of Household Filing Status Schedule

References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2015, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

What's New

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, California
requires taxpayers who use head of household filing status to file form
FTB 3532 to report how the HOH filing status was determined.

General Information

In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015,
California law conforms to the IRC as of January 1, 2015. However,
there are continuing differences between California and federal law.
When California conforms to federal tax law changes, we do not always
adopt all of the changes made at the federal level. For more information,
go to fth.ca.gov and search for conformity. Additional information

can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California
Adjustments, the instructions for California Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
and the Business Entity tax booklets. The instructions provided with
California tax forms are a summary of California tax law and are only
intended to aid taxpayers in preparing their state income tax returns.
We include information that is most useful to the greatest number of
taxpayers in the limited space available. It is not possible to include

all requirements of the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC)

in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider the tax booklets as
authoritative law.

Attach the completed form FTB 3532, Head of Household Filing Status
Schedule to your Form 540, California Resident Income Tax Return,
Long or Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident
Income Tax Return, Form 540 2EZ, California Income Tax Return, or
Form 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax Return, if you claim head of
household filing status.

Registered Domestic Partners (RDPs) For purposes of California
income tax, references to a spouse, husband, or wife also refer to a
California registered domestic partner (RDP), unless otherwise specified.
When we use the initials RDP they refer to both a California registered
domestic “partner” and a California registered domestic “partnership,”
as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737, Tax
Information for Registered Domestic Partners.

A Purpose

Use form FTB 3532, Head of Household Filing Status Schedule, to report
how the HOH filing status was determined for taxable year 2015.

B Qualifications

You may qualify for HOH filing status if all of the following apply.

e You were unmarried and not an RDP, or met the requirements to be
considered unmarried or considered not in a registered domestic
partnership on the last day of the year.

e You paid more than one-half the costs of keeping up your home for
the year.

e Your home was the main home for you and a qualifying person who
lived with you for more than half the year.

e The qualifying person was related to you and met the requirements to
be a qualifying child or qualifying relative. (For a qualifying relative see
Gross Income.)

e You were entitled to a Dependent Exemption Credit for your qualifying
person. However, you do not have to be entitled to a Dependent
Exemption Credit for your qualifying child if you were unmarried and
not an RDP, and your qualifying child was also unmarried and not an
RDP.

e You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.

e You paid more than half the cost of a qualifying person’s total support.
e Your qualifying person is a citizen or national of the United States, or
a resident of the U.S., Canada, or Mexico.

If you, your spouse/RDP, or your qualifying person who lived with

you was absent from your home during the year, see the definition for
temporary absence in FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of Household
Filing Status. If your qualifying person is your father or mother, see the
definition for Parent/Stepparent (Father or Mother) in FTB Pub. 1540.

Specific Line Instructions

The law allowing HOH filing status has very specific requirements that the
taxpayer must meet. Get FTB Pub. 1540 for more information.

Part | - Marital Status
Line 1

To qualify for HOH filing status, you must be either unmarried or
considered unmarried on the last day of the year. You are considered
unmarried on the last day of the year if you meet all of the following tests.

Considered Unmarried or Considered Not in a Registered Domestic
Partnership

If you were married or an RDP as of the last day of the tax year or if your
spouse/RDP died during the tax year, you may be considered unmarried
or considered not in a registered domestic partnership for head of
household purposes if you meet all of the following requirements:

e Your spouse/RDP did not live in your home at any time during the last
six months of the year (see Temporary Absence in FTB Pub. 1540).

e Your qualifying person is your birth child, stepchild, adopted child, or
eligible foster child.

e You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up your home for the
year.

e Your home was the main home for you and your birth child, stepchild,
adopted child, or eligible foster child for more than half the year.

e You must be entitled to claim a Dependent Exemption Credit for your
child; that is, your child must meet the requirements to be either a
qualifying child or qualifying relative and meet the joint return and
citizenship tests. You cannot claim a Dependent Exemption Credit for
your child if you could be claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer.
You can still meet this requirement if the only reason you cannot
claim a Dependent Exemption Credit for your child is because either
of the following applies, as provided in a decree of divorce, legal
separation, or termination of registered domestic partnership, or a
written separation agreement that applies to the tax year at issue:

e The noncustodial parent is entitled to the Dependent Exemption
Credit for the child.

e The custodial parent signed a written statement that he or she
will not claim the Dependent Exemption Credit for the child. (The
custodial parent may sign federal Form 8332, Release of Claim to
Exemption for Child of Divorced or Separated Parents, or a similar
statement. The custodial parent can revoke their Form 8332 or
similar statement by providing written notice to the other parent.)
The noncustodial parent must attach a copy of the statement to his
or her income tax return.

If either of the above provisions was contained in a pre-1985 decree or
agreement, the noncustodial parent must have provided more than $600
in support for the child during the year.
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Part Il - Qualifying Person

Line 2

For the purposes of HOH filing status, you must have a qualifying person
who is related to you to qualify for head of household filing status. Your
qualifying person must meet the requirements to be either a qualifying
child or qualifying relative. You must also pay more than half the cost of
keeping up your home in which you and the qualifying child or qualifying
relative lived for more than half the year. You may not claim yourself, or
your spouse/RDP as your qualifying person.

Part lll - Qualifying Person Information

Line 3
Enter the qualifying person’s name.

Enter the qualifying person’s SSN. Verify that the name and SSN match
the qualifying person’s social security card to avoid disallowance of your
HOH filing status. If the person was born in, and later died in, 2015, and
does not have a SSN, enter “Deceased” and attach a copy of the person’s
birth and death certificates.

Enter the qualifying person’s date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) in the space
provided. Incomplete information could result in a disallowance of your
HOH filing status.

Line 4

Gross Income

Your qualifying relative’s gross income must be less than the federal
exemption amount for the year in question. Generally, gross income for
head of household purposes only includes income that is taxable for
federal income tax purposes. It does not include nontaxable income such
as welfare benefits or the nontaxable portion of social security benefits.

If your qualifying relative was married or an RDP, you must consider the
qualifying relative’s community interest in the spouse's/RDP’s income
in applying the gross income test. For the federal allowable exemption

amount, see the federal instruction booklet for that particular tax year. For

more information, go to irs.gov and search for 17 to find Publication 17,
Your Federal Income Tax For Individuals.

Line 5

More Than Half the Year

Just because someone lived with you for six months does not mean that
the person lived with you for more than half the year. A year has 365
days, and more than half the year is 183 days. (A leap year has 366 days,
and more than half a leap year is 184 days.)

To determine how many days your home was your qualifying person’s
main home follow these guidelines:

e |f you were not married and not an RDP at any time during the year,
count all of the days that your qualifying person lived with you in your
home.

e |f you were married or an RDP at any time during the year and
received a final decree of divorce, legal separation or your registered
domestic partnership was legally terminated by the last day of the
year, add together:

e Half the number of days that you, your spouse/RDP, and your
qualifying person lived together in your home.

e All of the days that you and your qualifying person lived together
in your home without your spouse/RDP (ex-spouse/ex-RDP).

e |fyou were married or an RDP as of the last day of the year, and you
did not live with your spouse/RDP at any time during the last six
months of the year, add together:

e Half the number of days that you, your spouse/RDP, and your
qualifying person lived together in your home.

e All of the days that you and your qualifying person lived together
in your home without your spouse/RDP.

e |fyou were married or an RDP as of the last day of the year, and you
lived with your spouse/RDP at any time during the last six months of
the year, you cannot qualify for the head of household filing status.

When calculating the above, you may include days when your qualifying
person was temporarily absent from your home. Temporary absences
include vacations, illness, business, school, or military service.
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2015 California Tax Table

To Find Your Tax:
® Read down the column labeled “If Your Taxable Income Is ...” to find the range that includes your taxable income from Form 540NR, line 19.
® Read across the columns labeled “The Tax For Filing Status” until you find the tax that applies for your taxable income and filing status.

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately) 2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)

If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For

Income s ... Filing Status Income s ... Filing Status Income s ... Filing Status
At ButNot | 10r3 20r5 4 |At ButNot | 10r3 20r5 4 |At ButNot | 10r3 20r5 4
Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is
$1 $50 $0 $0 $0 6,451 6,550 65 65 65 | 12,951 13,050 182 130 130
51 150 1 1 1 6,551 6,650 66 66 66 | 13,051 13,150 184 131 131
151 250 2 2 6,651 6,750 67 67 67 | 13,151 13,250 186 132 132
251 350 3 3 3 6,751 6,850 68 68 68 | 13,251 13,350 188 133 133
351 450 4 4 4 6,851 6,950 69 69 69 | 13,351 13,450 190 134 134
451 550 5 5 5 6,951 7,050 70 70 70 | 13,451 13,550 192 135 135
551 650 6 6 6 7,051 7,150 71 71 71 | 13,551 13,650 194 136 136
651 750 7 7 7 7,151 7,250 72 72 72 | 13,651 13,750 196 137 137
751 850 8 8 8 7,251 7,350 73 73 73 | 13,751 13,850 198 138 138
851 950 9 9 9 7,351 7,450 74 74 74 | 13,851 13,950 200 139 139
951 1,050 10 10 10 7,451 7,550 75 75 75 | 13,951 14,050 202 140 140
1,051 1,150 11 11 11 7,551 7,650 76 76 76 | 14,051 14,150 204 141 141
1,151 1,250 12 12 12 7,651 7,750 77 77 77 | 14,151 14,250 206 142 142
1,251 1,350 13 13 13 7,751 7,850 78 78 78 | 14,251 14,350 208 143 143
1,351 1,450 14 14 14 7,851 7,950 80 79 79 | 14,351 14,450 210 144 144
1,451 1,550 15 15 15 7,951 8,050 82 80 80 | 14,451 14,550 212 145 145
1,551 1,650 16 16 16 8,051 8,150 84 81 81 | 14,551 14,650 214 146 146
1,651 1,750 17 17 17 8,151 8,250 86 82 82 | 14,651 14,750 216 147 147
1,751 1,850 18 18 18 8,251 8,350 88 83 83 | 14,751 14,850 218 148 148
1,851 1,950 19 19 19 8,351 8,450 90 84 84 | 14,851 14,950 220 149 149
1,951 2,050 20 20 20 8,451 8,550 92 85 85 | 14,951 15,050 222 150 150
2,051 2,150 21 21 21 8,551 8,650 94 86 86 | 15,051 15,150 224 151 151
2,151 2,250 22 22 22 8,651 8,750 96 87 87 | 15,151 15,250 226 152 152
2,251 2,350 23 23 23 8,751 8,850 98 88 88 | 15,251 15,350 228 153 153
2,351 2,450 24 24 24 8,851 8,950 100 89 89 | 15,351 15,450 230 154 154
2,451 2,550 25 25 25 8,951 9,050 102 90 90 | 15,451 15,550 232 155 155
2,551 2,650 26 26 26 9,051 9,150 104 91 91 | 15,551 15,650 234 156 156
2,651 2,750 27 27 27 9,151 9,250 106 92 92 | 15,651 15,750 236 157 157
2,751 2,850 28 28 28 9,251 9,350 108 93 93 | 15,751 15,850 238 159 159
2,851 2,950 29 29 29 9,351 9,450 110 94 94 | 15,851 15,950 240 161 161
2,951 3,050 30 30 30 9,451 9,550 112 95 95 | 15,951 16,050 242 163 163
3,051 3,150 31 31 31 9,551 9,650 114 96 96 | 16,051 16,150 244 165 165
3,151 3,250 32 32 32 9,651 9,750 116 97 97 | 16,151 16,250 246 167 167
3,251 3,350 33 33 33 9,751 9,850 118 98 98 | 16,251 16,350 248 169 169
3,351 3,450 34 34 34 9,851 9,950 120 99 99 | 16,351 16,450 250 171 171
3,451 3,550 35 35 35 9,951 10,050 122 100 100 | 16,451 16,550 252 173 173
3,551 3,650 36 36 36 | 10,051 10,150 124 101 101 | 16,551 16,650 254 175 175
3,651 3,750 37 37 37 | 10,151 10,250 126 102 102 | 16,651 16,750 256 177 177
3,751 3,850 38 38 38 | 10,251 10,350 128 103 103 | 16,751 16,850 258 179 179
3,851 3,950 39 39 39 | 10,351 10,450 130 104 104 | 16,851 16,950 260 181 181
3,951 4,050 40 40 40 | 10,451 10,550 132 105 105 | 16,951 17,050 262 183 183
4,051 4,150 41 41 41 | 10,551 10,650 134 106 106 | 17,051 17,150 264 185 185
4,151 4,250 42 42 42 | 10,651 10,750 136 107 107 | 17,151 17,250 266 187 187
4,251 4,350 43 43 43 | 10,751 10,850 138 108 108 | 17,251 17,350 268 189 189
4,351 4,450 44 44 44 | 10,851 10,950 140 109 109 | 17,351 17,450 270 191 191
4,451 4,550 45 45 45 | 10,951 11,050 142 110 110 | 17,451 17,550 272 193 193
4,551 4,650 46 46 46 | 11,051 11,150 144 111 111 | 17,551 17,650 274 195 195
4,651 4,750 47 47 47 | 11,151 11,250 146 112 112 | 17,651 17,750 276 197 197
4,751 4,850 48 48 48 | 11,251 11,350 148 113 113 | 17,751 17,850 278 199 199
4,851 4,950 49 49 49 | 11,351 11,450 150 114 114 | 17,851 17,950 280 201 201
4,951 5,050 50 50 50 | 11,451 11,550 152 115 115 | 17,951 18,050 282 203 203
5,051 5,150 51 51 51 | 11,551 11,650 154 116 116 | 18,051 18,150 284 205 205
5,151 5,250 52 52 52 | 11,651 11,750 156 117 117 | 18,151 18,250 286 207 207
5,251 5,350 53 53 53 | 11,751 11,850 158 118 118 | 18,251 18,350 288 209 209
5,351 5,450 54 54 54 | 11,851 11,950 160 119 119 | 18,351 18,450 290 211 211
5,451 5,550 55 55 55 | 11,951 12,050 162 120 120 | 18,451 18,550 292 213 213
5,551 5,650 56 56 56 | 12,051 12,150 164 121 121 | 18,551 18,650 294 215 215
5,651 5,750 57 57 57 | 12,151 12,250 166 122 122 | 18,651 18,750 297 217 217
5,751 5,850 58 58 58 | 12,251 12,350 168 123 123 | 18,751 18,850 301 219 219
5,851 5,950 59 59 59 | 12,351 12,450 170 124 124 | 18,851 18,950 305 221 221
5,951 6,050 60 60 60 | 12,451 12,550 172 125 125 | 18,951 19,050 309 223 223
6,051 6,150 61 61 61 | 12,551 12,650 174 126 126 | 19,051 19,150 313 225 225
6,151 6,250 62 62 62 | 12,651 12,750 176 127 127 | 19,151 19,250 317 227 227
6,251 6,350 63 63 63 | 12,751 12,850 178 128 128 | 19,251 19,350 321 229 229
6,351 6,450 64 64 64 | 12,851 12,950 180 129 129 | 19,351 19,450 325 231 231

Continued on next page.
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2015 California Tax Table _coninuea

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately) 2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)

If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For

Income s ... Filing Status Income s ... Filing Status Income s ... Filing Status

At But Not 10r3 20r5 4 |At But Not 10r3 20r5 4 |At But Not 10r3 20r5 4

Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is
19,451 19,550 329 233 233 | 26,451 26,550 609 373 373 | 33,451 33,550 972 513 513
19,551 19,650 333 235 235 | 26,551 26,650 613 375 375 | 33,551 33,650 978 515 515
19,651 19,750 337 237 237 | 26,651 26,750 617 377 377 | 33,651 33,750 984 517 517
19,751 19,850 341 239 239 | 26,751 26,850 621 379 379 | 33,751 33,850 990 519 519
19,851 19,950 345 241 241 | 26,851 26,950 625 381 381 33,851 33,950 996 521 521
19,951 20,050 349 243 243 | 26,951 27,050 629 383 383 | 33,951 34,050 1,002 523 523
20,051 20,150 353 245 245 | 27,051 27,150 633 385 385 | 34,051 34,150 1,008 525 525
20,151 20,250 357 247 247 | 27,151 27,250 637 387 387 | 34,151 34,250 1,014 527 527
20,251 20,350 361 249 249 | 27,251 27,350 641 389 389 34,251 34,350 1,020 529 529
20,351 20,450 365 251 251 | 27,351 27,450 645 391 391 | 34,351 34,450 1,026 531 531
20,451 20,550 369 253 253 | 27,451 27,550 649 393 393 | 34,451 34,550 1,032 533 533
20,551 20,650 373 255 255 | 27,551 27,650 653 395 395 | 34,551 34,650 1,038 535 535
20,651 20,750 377 257 257 | 27,651 27,750 657 397 397 34,651 34,750 1,044 537 537
20,751 20,850 381 259 259 | 27,751 27,850 661 399 399 | 34,751 34,850 1,050 539 539
20,851 20,950 385 261 261 | 27,851 27,950 665 401 401 | 34,851 34,950 1,056 541 541
20,951 21,050 389 263 263 | 27,951 28,050 669 403 403 | 34,951 35,050 1,062 543 543
21,051 21,150 393 265 265 | 28,051 28,150 673 405 405 | 35,0561 35,150 1,068 545 545
21,151 21,250 397 267 267 | 28,151 28,250 677 407 407 35,151 35,250 1,074 547 547
21,251 21,350 401 269 269 | 28,251 28,350 681 409 409 | 35,251 35,350 1,080 549 549
21,351 21,450 405 271 271 | 28,351 28,450 685 411 411 35,351 35,450 1,086 551 551
21,451 21,550 409 273 273 | 28,451 28,550 689 413 413 | 35,451 35,550 1,092 553 553
21,551 21,650 413 275 275 | 28,551 28,650 693 415 415 | 35,551 35,650 1,098 555 555
21,651 21,750 417 277 277 | 28,651 28,750 697 417 417 | 35,651 35,750 1,104 557 557
21,751 21,850 421 279 279 | 28,751 28,850 701 419 419 35,751 35,850 1,110 559 559
21,851 21,950 425 281 281 | 28,851 28,950 705 421 421 | 35,851 35,950 1,116 561 561
21,951 22,050 429 283 283 | 28,951 29,050 709 423 423 | 35,951 36,050 1,122 563 563
22,051 22,150 433 285 285 | 29,051 29,150 713 425 425 | 36,051 36,150 1,128 565 565
22,151 22,250 437 287 287 | 29,151 29,250 717 427 427 36,151 36,250 1,134 567 567
22,251 22,350 441 289 289 | 29,251 29,350 721 429 429 | 36,251 36,350 1,140 569 569
22,351 22,450 445 291 291 | 29,351 29,450 726 431 431 | 36,351 36,450 1,146 571 571
22,451 22,550 449 293 293 | 29,451 29,550 732 433 433 | 36,451 36,550 1,152 573 573
22,551 22,650 453 295 295 | 29,551 29,650 738 435 435 | 36,551 36,650 1,158 575 575
22,651 22,750 457 297 297 | 29,651 29,750 744 437 437 36,651 36,750 1,164 577 577
22,751 22,850 461 299 299 | 29,751 29,850 750 439 439 | 36,751 36,850 1,170 579 579
22,851 22,950 465 301 301 | 29,851 29,950 756 441 441 36,851 36,950 1,176 581 581
22,951 23,050 469 303 303 | 29,951 30,050 762 443 443 | 36,951 37,050 1,182 583 583
23,051 23,150 473 305 305 | 30,051 30,150 768 445 445 | 37,051 37,150 1,188 585 585
23,151 23,250 477 307 307 | 30,151 30,250 774 447 447 | 37,151 37,250 1,194 587 587
23,251 23,350 481 309 309 | 30,251 30,350 780 449 449 37,251 37,350 1,200 591 590
23,351 23,450 485 311 311 | 30,351 30,450 786 451 451 | 37,351 37,450 1,206 595 594
23,451 23,550 489 313 313 | 30,451 30,550 792 453 453 | 37,451 37,550 1,212 599 598
23,551 23,650 493 315 315 | 30,551 30,650 798 455 455 | 37,551 37,650 1,218 603 602
23,651 23,750 497 317 317 | 30,651 30,750 804 457 457 37,651 37,750 1,224 607 606
23,751 23,850 501 319 319 | 30,751 30,850 810 459 459 | 37,751 37,850 1,230 611 610
23,851 23,950 505 321 321 | 30,851 30,950 816 461 461 | 37,851 37,950 1,236 615 614
23,951 24,050 509 323 323 | 30,951 31,050 822 463 463 | 37,951 38,050 1,242 619 618
24,051 24,150 513 325 325 | 31,051 31,150 828 465 465 | 38,051 38,150 1,248 623 622
24,151 24,250 517 327 327 | 31,151 31,250 834 467 467 38,151 38,250 1,254 627 626
24,251 24,350 521 329 329 | 31,251 31,350 840 469 469 | 38,251 38,350 1,260 631 630
24,351 24,450 525 331 331 | 31,351 31,450 846 471 471 38,351 38,450 1,266 635 634
24,451 24,550 529 333 333 | 31,451 31,550 852 473 473 | 38,451 38,550 1,272 639 638
24,551 24,650 533 335 335 | 31,551 31,650 858 475 475 | 38,551 38,650 1,278 643 642
24,651 24,750 537 337 337 | 31,651 31,750 864 477 477 | 38,651 38,750 1,284 647 646
24,751 24,850 541 339 339 | 31,751 31,850 870 479 479 38,751 38,850 1,290 651 650
24,851 24,950 545 341 341 | 31,851 31,950 876 481 481 | 38,851 38,950 1,296 655 654
24,951 25,050 549 343 343 | 31,951 32,050 882 483 483 | 38,951 39,050 1,302 659 658
25,051 25,150 553 345 345 | 32,061 32,150 888 485 485 | 39,051 39,150 1,308 663 662
25,151 25,250 557 347 347 | 32,151 32,250 894 487 487 39,151 39,250 1,314 667 666
25,251 25,350 561 349 349 | 32,251 32,350 900 489 489 | 39,251 39,350 1,320 671 670
25,351 25,450 565 351 351 | 32,351 32,450 906 491 491 | 39,351 39,450 1,326 675 674
25,451 25,550 569 353 353 | 32,451 32,550 912 493 493 | 39,451 39,550 1,332 679 678
25,551 25,650 573 355 355 | 32,551 32,650 918 495 495 | 39,551 39,650 1,338 683 682
25,651 25,750 577 357 357 | 32,651 32,750 924 497 497 | 39,651 39,750 1,344 687 686
25,751 25,850 581 359 359 | 32,751 32,850 930 499 499 | 39,751 39,850 1,350 691 690
25,851 25,950 585 361 361 | 32,851 32,950 936 501 501 39,851 39,950 1,356 695 694
25,951 26,050 589 363 363 | 32,951 33,050 942 503 503 | 39,951 40,050 1,362 699 698
26,051 26,150 593 365 365 | 33,051 33,150 948 505 505 | 40,051 40,150 1,368 703 702
26,151 26,250 597 367 367 | 33,151 33,250 954 507 507 | 40,151 40,250 1,374 707 706
26,251 26,350 601 369 369 | 33,251 33,350 960 509 509 | 40,251 40,350 1,380 711 710
26,351 26,450 605 371 371 | 33,351 33,450 966 511 511 | 40,351 40,450 1,386 715 714
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Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is
40,451 40,550 1,392 719 718 | 47,451 47,550 1,946 999 998 | 54,451 54,550 2,545 1,279 1,409
40,551 40,650 1,398 723 722 | 47,551 47,650 1,954 1,003 1,002 | 54,551 54,650 2,554 1,283 1,415
40,651 40,750 1,404 727 726 | 47,651 47,750 1,962 1,007 1,006 | 54,651 54,750 2,564 1,287 1,421
40,751 40,850 1,410 731 730 | 47,751 47,850 1,970 1,011 1,010 | 54,751 54,850 2,573 1,291 1,427
40,851 40,950 1,418 735 734 | 47,851 47,950 1,978 1,015 1,014 | 54,851 54,950 2,582 1,295 1,433
40,951 41,050 1,426 739 738 | 47,951 48,050 1,986 1,019 1,019 | 54,951 55,050 2,592 1,299 1,439
41,051 41,150 1,434 743 742 | 48,051 48,150 1,994 1,023 1,025 | 55,051 55,150 2,601 1,303 1,445
41,151 41,250 1,442 747 746 | 48,151 48,250 2,002 1,027 1,031 | 55,151 55,250 2,610 1,307 1,451
41,251 41,350 1,450 751 750 | 48,251 48,350 2,010 1,031 1,037 | 55,251 55,350 2,619 1,311 1,457
41,351 41,450 1,458 755 754 | 48,351 48,450 2,018 1,035 1,043 | 55,351 55,450 2,629 1,315 1,463
41,451 41,550 1,466 759 758 | 48,451 48,550 2,026 1,039 1,049 | 55,451 55,550 2,638 1,319 1,469
41,551 41,650 1,474 763 762 | 48,551 48,650 2,034 1,043 1,055 | 55,551 55,650 2,647 1,323 1,475
41,651 41,750 1,482 767 766 | 48,651 48,750 2,042 1,047 1,061 | 55,651 55,750 2,657 1,327 1,481
41,751 41,850 1,490 771 770 | 48,751 48,850 2,050 1,051 1,067 | 55,751 55,850 2,666 1,331 1,487
41,851 41,950 1,498 775 774 | 48,851 48,950 2,058 1,055 1,073 | 55,851 55,950 2,675 1,335 1,493
41,951 42,050 1,506 779 778 | 48,951 49,050 2,066 1,059 1,079 | 55,951 56,050 2,685 1,339 1,499
42,051 42,150 1,514 783 782 | 49,051 49,150 2,074 1,063 1,085 | 56,051 56,150 2,694 1,343 1,505
42,151 42,250 1,522 787 786 | 49,151 49,250 2,082 1,067 1,091 | 56,151 56,250 2,703 1,347 1,511
42,251 42,350 1,530 791 790 | 49,251 49,350 2,090 1,071 1,097 | 56,251 56,350 2,712 1,351 1,517
42,351 42,450 1,538 795 794 | 49,351 49,450 2,098 1,075 1,103 | 56,351 56,450 2,722 1,355 1,523
42,451 42,550 1,546 799 798 | 49,451 49,550 2,106 1,079 1,109 | 56,451 56,550 2,731 1,359 1,529
42,551 42,650 1,554 803 802 | 49,551 49,650 2,114 1,083 1,115 | 56,551 56,650 2,740 1,363 1,535
42,651 42,750 1,562 807 806 | 49,651 49,750 2,122 1,087 1,121 | 56,651 56,750 2,750 1,367 1,541
42,751 42,850 1,570 811 810 | 49,751 49,850 2,130 1,091 1,127 | 56,751 56,850 2,759 1,371 1,547
42,851 42,950 1,578 815 814 | 49,851 49,950 2,138 1,095 1,133 | 56,851 56,950 2,768 1,375 1,553
42,951 43,050 1,586 819 818 | 49,951 50,050 2,146 1,099 1,139 | 56,951 57,050 2,778 1,379 1,559
43,051 43,150 1,594 823 822 | 50,051 50,150 2,154 1,103 1,145 | 57,051 57,150 2,787 1,383 1,565
43,151 43,250 1,602 827 826 | 50,151 50,250 2,162 1,107 1,151 | 57,151 57,250 2,796 1,387 1,571
43,251 43,350 1,610 831 830 | 50,251 50,350 2,170 1,111 1,157 | 57,251 57,350 2,805 1,391 1,577
43,351 43,450 1,618 835 834 | 50,351 50,450 2,178 1,115 1,163 | 57,351 57,450 2,815 1,395 1,583
43,451 43,550 1,626 839 838 | 50,451 50,550 2,186 1,119 1,169 | 57,451 57,550 2,824 1,399 1,589
43,551 43,650 1,634 843 842 | 50,551 50,650 2,194 1,123 1,175 | 57,551 57,650 2,833 1,403 1,595
43,651 43,750 1,642 847 846 | 50,651 50,750 2,202 1,127 1,181 | 57,651 57,750 2,843 1,407 1,601
43,751 43,850 1,650 851 850 | 50,751 50,850 2,210 1,131 1,187 | 57,751 57,850 2,852 1,411 1,607
43,851 43,950 1,658 855 854 | 50,851 50,950 2,218 1,135 1,193 | 57,851 57,950 2,861 1,415 1,613
43,951 44,050 1,666 859 858 | 50,951 51,050 2,226 1,139 1,199 | 57,951 58,050 2,871 1,419 1,619
44,051 44,150 1,674 863 862 | 51,051 51,150 2,234 1,143 1,205 | 58,051 58,150 2,880 1,423 1,625
44,151 44,250 1,682 867 866 | 51,151 51,250 2,242 1,147 1,211 | 58,151 58,250 2,889 1,427 1,631
44,251 44,350 1,690 871 870 | 51,251 51,350 2,250 1,151 1,217 | 58,251 58,350 2,898 1,431 1,637
44,351 44,450 1,698 875 874 | 51,351 51,450 2,258 1,155 1,223 | 58,351 58,450 2,908 1,435 1,643
44,451 44,550 1,706 879 878 | 51,451 51,550 2,266 1,159 1,229 | 58,451 58,550 2,917 1,439 1,649
44551 44,650 1,714 883 882 | 51,551 51,650 2,275 1,163 1,235 | 58,551 58,650 2,926 1,443 1,655
44,651 44,750 1,722 887 886 | 51,651 51,750 2,285 1,167 1,241 | 58,651 58,750 2,936 1,447 1,661
44,751 44,850 1,730 891 890 | 51,751 51,850 2,294 1,171 1,247 | 58,751 58,850 2,945 1,452 1,667
44,851 44,950 1,738 895 894 | 51,851 51,950 2,303 1,175 1,253 | 58,851 58,950 2,954 1,458 1,673
44,951 45,050 1,746 899 898 | 51,951 52,050 2,313 1,179 1,259 | 58,951 59,050 2,964 1,464 1,679
45,051 45,150 1,754 903 902 | 52,051 52,150 2,322 1,183 1,265 | 59,051 59,150 2,973 1,470 1,685
45,151 45,250 1,762 907 906 | 52,151 52,250 2,331 1,187 1,271 | 59,151 59,250 2,982 1,476 1,691
45,251 45,350 1,770 911 910 | 52,251 52,350 2,340 1,191 1,277 | 59,251 59,350 2,991 1,482 1,697
45,351 45,450 1,778 915 914 | 52,351 52,450 2,350 1,195 1,283 | 59,351 59,450 3,001 1,488 1,703
45,451 45,550 1,786 919 918 | 52,451 52,550 2,359 1,199 1,289 | 59,451 59,550 3,010 1,494 1,711
45,551 45,650 1,794 923 922 | 52,551 52,650 2,368 1,203 1,295 | 59,551 59,650 3,019 1,500 1,719
45,651 45,750 1,802 927 926 | 52,651 52,750 2,378 1,207 1,301 | 59,651 59,750 3,029 1,506 1,727
45,751 45,850 1,810 931 930 | 52,751 52,850 2,387 1,211 1,307 | 59,751 59,850 3,038 1,512 1,735
45,851 45,950 1,818 935 934 | 52,851 52,950 2,396 1,215 1,313 | 59,851 59,950 3,047 1,518 1,743
45,951 46,050 1,826 939 938 | 52,951 53,050 2,406 1,219 1,319 | 59,951 60,050 3,057 1,524 1,751
46,051 46,150 1,834 943 942 | 53,051 53,150 2,415 1,223 1,325 | 60,051 60,150 3,066 1,530 1,759
46,151 46,250 1,842 947 946 | 53,151 53,250 2,424 1,227 1,331 | 60,151 60,250 3,075 1,536 1,767
46,251 46,350 1,850 951 950 | 53,251 53,350 2,433 1,231 1,337 | 60,251 60,350 3,084 1,542 1,775
46,351 46,450 1,858 955 954 | 53,351 53,450 2,443 1,235 1,343 | 60,351 60,450 3,094 1,548 1,783
46,451 46,550 1,866 959 958 | 53,451 53,550 2,452 1,239 1,349 | 60,451 60,550 3,103 1,554 1,791
46,551 46,650 1,874 963 962 | 53,551 53,650 2,461 1,243 1,355 | 60,551 60,650 3,112 1,560 1,799
46,651 46,750 1,882 967 966 | 53,651 53,750 2,471 1,247 1,361 | 60,651 60,750 3,122 1,566 1,807
46,751 46,850 1,890 971 970 | 53,751 53,850 2,480 1,251 1,367 | 60,751 60,850 3,131 1,572 1,815
46,851 46,950 1,898 975 974 | 53,851 53,950 2,489 1,255 1,373 | 60,851 60,950 3,140 1,578 1,823
46,951 47,050 1,906 979 978 | 53,951 54,050 2,499 1,259 1,379 | 60,951 61,050 3,150 1,584 1,831
47,051 47,150 1,914 983 982 | 54,051 54,150 2,508 1,263 1,385 | 61,051 61,150 3,159 1,590 1,839
47,151 47,250 1,922 987 986 | 54,151 54,250 2,517 1,267 1,391 | 61,151 61,250 3,168 1,596 1,847
47,251 47,350 1,930 991 990 | 54,251 54,350 2,526 1,271 1,397 | 61,251 61,350 3,177 1,602 1,855
47,351 47,450 1,938 995 994 | 54,351 54,450 2,536 1,275 1,403 | 61,351 61,450 3,187 1,608 1,863
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61,451 61,550 3,196 1,614 1,871 68,451 68,550 3,847 2,034 2,431 | 75,451 75,550 4,498 2,454 3,061
61,551 61,650 3,205 1,620 1,879 | 68,551 68,650 3,856 2,040 2,439 | 75,551 75,650 4,507 2,460 3,070
61,651 61,750 3,215 1,626 1,887 | 68,651 68,750 3,866 2,046 2,447 | 75,651 75,750 4517 2,466 3,079
61,751 61,850 3,224 1,632 1,895 68,751 68,850 3,875 2,052 2,455 | 75,751 75,850 4,526 2,472 3,089
61,851 61,950 3,233 1,638 1,903 | 68,851 68,950 3,884 2,058 2,463 | 75,851 75,950 4,535 2,478 3,098
61,951 62,050 3,243 1,644 1,911 | 68,951 69,050 3,894 2,064 2,471 | 75,951 76,050 4,545 2,484 3,107
62,051 62,150 3,252 1,650 1,919 | 69,051 69,150 3,903 2,070 2,479 | 76,051 76,150 4,554 2,490 3,117
62,151 62,250 3,261 1,656 1,927 69,151 69,250 3,912 2,076 2,487 | 76,151 76,250 4,563 2,496 3,126
62,251 62,350 3,270 1,662 1,935 | 69,251 69,350 3,921 2,082 2,495 | 76,251 76,350 4,572 2,502 3,135
62,351 62,450 3,280 1,668 1,943 | 69,351 69,450 3,931 2,088 2,503 | 76,351 76,450 4,582 2,508 3,145
62,451 62,550 3,289 1,674 1,951 69,451 69,550 3,940 2,094 2,511 | 76,451 76,550 4,591 2,514 3,154
62,551 62,650 3,298 1,680 1,959 69,551 69,650 3,949 2,100 2,519 | 76,551 76,650 4,600 2,520 3,163
62,651 62,750 3,308 1,686 1,967 | 69,651 69,750 3,959 2,106 2,527 | 76,651 76,750 4,610 2,526 3,172
62,751 62,850 3,317 1,692 1,975 | 69,751 69,850 3,968 2,112 2,535 | 76,751 76,850 4,619 2,532 3,182
62,851 62,950 3,326 1,698 1,983 69,851 69,950 3,977 2,118 2,543 | 76,851 76,950 4,628 2,538 3,191
62,951 63,050 3,336 1,704 1,991 69,951 70,050 3,987 2,124 2,551 | 76,951 77,050 4,638 2,544 3,200
63,051 63,150 3,345 1,710 1,999 | 70,051 70,150 3,996 2,130 2,559 | 77,051 77,150 4,647 2,550 3,210
63,151 63,250 3,354 1,716 2,007 | 70,151 70,250 4,005 2,136 2,568 | 77,151 77,250 4,656 2,556 3,219
63,251 63,350 3,363 1,722 2,015 70,251 70,350 4,014 2,142 2,577 | 77,251 77,350 4,665 2,562 3,228
63,351 63,450 3,373 1,728 2,023 | 70,351 70,450 4,024 2,148 2,587 | 77,351 77,450 4,675 2,568 3,238
63,451 63,550 3,382 1,734 2,031 | 70,451 70,550 4,033 2,154 2,596 | 77,451 77,550 4,684 2,574 3,247
63,551 63,650 3,391 1,740 2,039 | 70,551 70,650 4,042 2,160 2,605 | 77,551 77,650 4,693 2,580 3,256
63,651 63,750 3,401 1,746 2,047 70,651 70,750 4,052 2,166 2,614 | 77,651 77,750 4,703 2,586 3,265
63,751 63,850 3,410 1,752 2,055 70,751 70,850 4,061 2,172 2,624 | 77,751 77,850 4,712 2,592 3,275
63,851 63,950 3,419 1,758 2,063 | 70,851 70,950 4,070 2,178 2,633 | 77,851 77,950 4,721 2,598 3,284
63,951 64,050 3,429 1,764 2,071 | 70,951 71,050 4,080 2,184 2,642 | 77,951 78,050 4,731 2,604 3,293
64,051 64,150 3,438 1,770 2,079 71,051 71,150 4,089 2,190 2,652 | 78,051 78,150 4,740 2,610 3,303
64,151 64,250 3,447 1,776 2,087 71,151 71,250 4,098 2,196 2,661 | 78,151 78,250 4,749 2,616 3,312
64,251 64,350 3,456 1,782 2,095 | 71,251 71,350 4,107 2,202 2,670 | 78,251 78,350 4,758 2,622 3,321
64,351 64,450 3,466 1,788 2,103 71,351 71,450 4,117 2,208 2,680 | 78,351 78,450 4,768 2,628 3,331
64,451 64,550 3,475 1,794 2,111 71,451 71,550 4,126 2,214 2,689 | 78,451 78,550 4,777 2,634 3,340
64,551 64,650 3,484 1,800 2,119 | 71,551 71,650 4,135 2,220 2,698 | 78,551 78,650 4,786 2,640 3,349
64,651 64,750 3,494 1,806 2,127 71,651 71,750 4,145 2,226 2,707 | 78,651 78,750 4,796 2,646 3,358
64,751 64,850 3,503 1,812 2,135 71,751 71,850 4,154 2,232 2,717 | 78,751 78,850 4,805 2,652 3,368
64,851 64,950 3,512 1,818 2,143 | 71,851 71,950 4,163 2,238 2,726 | 78,851 78,950 4,814 2,658 3,377
64,951 65,050 3,522 1,824 2,151 | 71,951 72,050 4,173 2,244 2,735 | 78,951 79,050 4,824 2,664 3,386
65,051 65,150 3,531 1,830 2,159 | 72,051 72,150 4,182 2,250 2,745 | 79,051 79,150 4,833 2,670 3,396
65,151 65,250 3,540 1,836 2,167 72,151 72,250 4,191 2,256 2,754 | 79,151 79,250 4,842 2,676 3,405
65,251 65,350 3,549 1,842 2,175 | 72,251 72,350 4,200 2,262 2,763 | 79,251 79,350 4,851 2,682 3,414
65,351 65,450 3,559 1,848 2,183 | 72,351 72,450 4,210 2,268 2,773 | 79,351 79,450 4,861 2,688 3,424
65,451 65,550 3,568 1,854 2,191 72,451 72,550 4,219 2,274 2,782 | 79,451 79,550 4,870 2,694 3,433
65,551 65,650 3,577 1,860 2,199 72,551 72,650 4,228 2,280 2,791 | 79,551 79,650 4,879 2,700 3,442
65,651 65,750 3,587 1,866 2,207 | 72,651 72,750 4,238 2,286 2,800 | 79,651 79,750 4,889 2,706 3,451
65,751 65,850 3,596 1,872 2,215 | 72,751 72,850 4247 2,292 2,810 | 79,751 79,850 4,898 2,712 3,461
65,851 65,950 3,605 1,878 2,223 72,851 72,950 4,256 2,298 2,819 | 79,851 79,950 4,907 2,718 3,470
65,951 66,050 3,615 1,884 2,231 72,951 73,050 4,266 2,304 2,828 | 79,951 80,050 4,917 2,724 3,479
66,051 66,150 3,624 1,890 2,239 | 73,061 73,150 4,275 2,310 2,838 | 80,051 80,150 4,926 2,730 3,489
66,151 66,250 3,633 1,896 2,247 | 73,151 73,250 4,284 2,316 2,847 | 80,151 80,250 4935 2,736 3,498
66,251 66,350 3,642 1,902 2,255 73,251 73,350 4,293 2,322 2,856 | 80,251 80,350 4,944 2,742 3,507
66,351 66,450 3,652 1,908 2,263 | 73,351 73,450 4,303 2,328 2,866 | 80,351 80,450 4,954 2,748 3,517
66,451 66,550 3,661 1,914 2,271 | 73,451 73,550 4,312 2,334 2,875 | 80,451 80,550 4,963 2,754 3,526
66,551 66,650 3,670 1,920 2,279 | 73,551 73,650 4,321 2,340 2,884 | 80,551 80,650 4972 2,760 3,535
66,651 66,750 3,680 1,926 2,287 73,651 73,750 4,331 2,346 2,893 | 80,651 80,750 4,982 2,766 3,544
66,751 66,850 3,689 1,932 2,295 | 73,751 73,850 4,340 2,352 2,903 | 80,751 80,850 4,991 2,772 3,554
66,851 66,950 3,698 1,938 2,303 | 73,851 73,950 4,349 2,358 2,912 | 80,851 80,950 5,000 2,778 3,563
66,951 67,050 3,708 1,944 2,311 | 73,951 74,050 4,359 2,364 2,921 | 80,951 81,050 5,010 2,784 3,572
67,051 67,150 3,717 1,950 2,319 74,051 74,150 4,368 2,370 2,931 | 81,051 81,150 5,019 2,790 3,582
67,151 67,250 3,726 1,956 2,327 74,151 74,250 4,377 2,376 2,940 | 81,151 81,250 5,028 2,796 3,591
67,251 67,350 3,735 1,962 2,335 | 74,251 74,350 4,386 2,382 2,949 | 81,251 81,350 5,037 2,802 3,600
67,351 67,450 3,745 1,968 2,343 74,351 74,450 4,396 2,388 2,959 | 81,351 81,450 5,047 2,808 3,610
67,451 67,550 3,754 1,974 2,351 74,451 74,550 4,405 2,394 2,968 | 81,451 81,550 5,056 2,814 3,619
67,551 67,650 3,763 1,980 2,359 | 74,551 74,650 4,414 2,400 2,977 | 81,551 81,650 5,065 2,821 3,628
67,651 67,750 3,773 1,986 2,367 | 74,651 74,750 4,424 2,406 2,986 | 81,651 81,750 5075 2,829 3,637
67,751 67,850 3,782 1,992 2,375 74,751 74,850 4,433 2,412 2,996 | 81,751 81,850 5,084 2,837 3,647
67,851 67,950 3,791 1,998 2,383 | 74,851 74,950 4,442 2,418 3,005 | 81,851 81,950 5,093 2,845 3,656
67,951 68,050 3,801 2,004 2,391 | 74,951 75,050 4,452 2,424 3,014 | 81,951 82,050 5,103 2,853 3,665
68,051 68,150 3,810 2,010 2,399 | 75,051 75,150 4,461 2,430 3,024 | 82,051 82,150 5112 2,861 3,675
68,151 68,250 3,819 2,016 2,407 75,151 75,250 4,470 2,436 3,033 | 82,151 82,250 5,121 2,869 3,684
68,251 68,350 3,828 2,022 2,415 | 75,251 75,350 4,479 2,442 3,042 | 82,251 82,350 5130 2,877 3,693
68,351 68,450 3,838 2,028 2,423 | 75,351 75,450 4,489 2,448 3,052 | 82,351 82,450 5140 2,885 3,703

Continued on next page.
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2015 California Tax Table _coninued

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately) 2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)

If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For
Income s ... Filing Status Income s ... Filing Status Income s ... Filing Status

At But Not 10r3 20r5 4 |At But Not 10r3 20r5 4 | At But Not 10r3 20r5 4
Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is | Least Over Is Is Is

82,451 82,550 5,149 2,893 3,712 | 88,951 89,050 5,754 3,413 4,316 | 95,451 95,550 6,358 3,933 4,921
82,551 82,650 5158 2,901 3,721 | 89,051 89,150 5763 3,421 4,326 | 95,551 95,650 6,367 3,941 4,930
82,651 82,750 5,168 2,909 3,730 | 89,151 89,250 5,772 3,429 4,335 | 95,651 95,750 6,377 3,949 4,939
82,751 82,850 5177 2,917 3,740 | 89,251 89,350 5,781 3,437 4,344 | 95,751 95,850 6,386 3,957 4,949
82,851 82,950 5186 2,925 3,749 | 89,351 89,450 5791 3,445 4,354 | 95,851 95,950 6,395 3,965 4,958

82,951 83,050 5196 2,933 3,758 | 89,451 89,550 5800 3,453 4,363 | 95,951 96,050 6,405 3,973 4,967
83,051 83,150 5,205 2,941 3,768 | 89,551 89,650 5,809 3,461 4,372 | 96,051 96,150 6,414 3,981 4,977
83,151 83,250 5,214 2,949 3,777 | 89,651 89,750 5,819 3,469 4,381 | 96,151 96,250 6,423 3,989 4,986
83,251 83,350 5223 2,957 3,786 | 89,751 89,850 5,828 3,477 4,391 | 96,251 96,350 6,432 3,997 4,995
83,351 83,450 5,233 2,965 3,796 | 89,851 89,950 5,837 3,485 4,400 | 96,351 96,450 6,442 4,005 5,005

83,451 83,550 5,242 2,973 3,805 | 89,951 90,050 5,847 3,493 4,409 | 96,451 96,550 6,451 4,013 5,014
83,551 83,650 5251 2,981 3,814 | 90,051 90,150 5,856 3,501 4,419 | 96,551 96,650 6,460 4,021 5,023
83,651 83,750 5261 2,989 3,823 | 90,151 90,250 5,865 3,509 4,428 | 96,651 96,750 6,470 4,029 5,032
83,751 83,850 5270 2,997 3,833 | 90,251 90,350 5,874 3,517 4,437 | 96,751 96,850 6,479 4,037 5,042
83,851 83,950 5,279 3,005 3,842 | 90,351 90,450 5,884 3,525 4,447 | 96,851 96,950 6,488 4,045 5,051

83,951 84,050 5,289 3,013 3,851 | 90,451 90,550 5,893 3,533 4,456 | 96,951 97,050 6,498 4,053 5,060
84,051 84,150 5298 3,021 3,861 | 90,551 90,650 5902 3,541 4,465 | 97,051 97,150 6,507 4,061 5,070
84,151 84,250 5,307 3,029 3,870 | 90,651 90,750 5912 3,549 4,474 | 97,151 97,250 6,516 4,069 5,079
84,251 84,350 5316 3,037 3,879 | 90,751 90,850 5921 3,557 4,484 | 97,251 97,350 6,525 4,077 5,088
84,351 84,450 5326 3,045 3,889 | 90,851 90,950 5930 3,565 4,493 | 97,351 97,450 6,535 4,085 5,098

84,451 84,550 5335 3,053 3,898 | 90,951 91,050 5940 3,573 4,502 | 97,451 97,550 6,544 4,093 5,107
84,551 84,650 5,344 3,061 3,907 | 91,051 91,150 5,949 3,581 4,512 | 97,551 97,650 6,553 4,101 5,116
84,651 84,750 5,354 3,069 3,916 | 91,151 91,250 5,958 3,589 4,521 | 97,651 97,750 6,563 4,109 5,125
84,751 84,850 5363 3,077 3,926 | 91,251 91,350 5967 3,597 4,530 | 97,751 97,850 6,572 4,117 5,135
84,851 84,950 5,372 3,085 3,935 | 91,351 91,450 5,977 3,605 4,540 | 97,851 97,950 6,581 4,125 5,144

84,951 85,050 5,382 3,093 3,944 | 91,451 91,550 5986 3,613 4,549 | 97,951 98,050 6,591 4,133 5,153
85,051 85,150 5391 3,101 3,954 | 91,551 91,650 5995 3,621 4,558 | 98,051 98,150 6,600 4,141 5,163
85,151 85,250 5,400 3,109 3,963 | 91,651 91,750 6,005 3,629 4,567 | 98,151 98,250 6,609 4,149 5,172
85,251 85,350 5409 3,117 3,972 | 91,751 91,850 6,014 3,637 4,577 | 98,251 98,350 6,618 4,157 5,181
85,351 85,450 5419 3,125 3,982 | 91,851 91,950 6,023 3,645 4,586 | 98,351 98,450 6,628 4,165 5,191

85,451 85,550 5,428 3,133 3,991 | 91,951 92,050 6,033 3,653 4,595 | 98,451 98,550 6,637 4,173 5,200
85,551 85,650 5437 3,141 4,000 | 92,051 92,150 6,042 3,661 4,605 | 98,551 98,650 6,646 4,181 5,209
85,651 85,750 5,447 3,149 4,009 | 92,151 92,250 6,051 3,669 4,614 | 98,651 98,750 6,656 4,189 5,218
85,751 85,850 5,456 3,157 4,019 | 92,251 92,350 6,060 3,677 4,623 | 98,751 98,850 6,665 4,197 5,228
85,851 85,950 5465 3,165 4,028 | 92,351 92,450 6,070 3,685 4,633 | 98,851 98,950 6,674 4,205 5,237

85,951 86,050 5475 3,173 4,037 | 92,451 92,550 6,079 3,693 4,642 | 98,951 99,050 6,684 4,213 5,246
86,051 86,150 5,484 3,181 4,047 | 92,551 92,650 6,088 3,701 4,651 | 99,051 99,150 6,693 4,221 5,256
86,151 86,250 5,493 3,189 4,056 | 92,651 92,750 6,098 3,709 4,660 | 99,151 99,250 6,702 4,229 5,265
86,251 86,350 5502 3,197 4,065 | 92,751 92,850 6,107 3,717 4,670 | 99,251 99,350 6,711 4,237 5,274
86,351 86,450 5512 3,205 4,075 | 92,851 92,950 6,116 3,725 4,679 | 99,351 99,450 6,721 4,245 5,284

86,451 86,550 5521 3,213 4,084 | 92,951 93,050 6,126 3,733 4,688 | 99,451 99,550 6,730 4,253 5,293
86,551 86,650 5530 3,221 4,093 | 93,051 93,150 6,135 3,741 4,698 | 99,551 99,650 6,739 4,261 5,302
86,651 86,750 5540 3,229 4,102 | 93,151 93,250 6,144 3,749 4,707 | 99,651 99,750 6,749 4,269 5,311
86,751 86,850 5549 3,237 4,112 | 93,251 93,350 6,153 3,757 4,716 | 99,751 99,850 6,758 4,277 5,321
86,851 86,950 5,558 3,245 4,121 | 93,351 93,450 6,163 3,765 4,726 | 99,851 99,950 6,767 4,285 5,330

86,951 87,050 5,568 3,253 4,130 | 93,451 93,550 6,172 3,773 4,735 | 99,951 100,000 6,774 4,291 5,337
87,051 87,150 5577 3,261 4,140 | 93,551 93,650 6,181 3,781 4,744
87,151 87,250 5586 3,269 4,149 | 93,651 93,750 6,191 3,789 4,753
87,251 87,350 5595 3,277 4,158 | 93,751 93,850 6,200 3,797 4,763
87,351 87,450 5605 3,285 4,168 | 93,851 93,950 6,209 3,805 4,772

87,451 87,550 5614 3,293 4,177 | 93,951 94,050 6,219 3,813 4,781
87,551 87,650 5,623 3,301 4,186 | 94,051 94,150 6,228 3,821 4,791
87,651 87,750 5,633 3,309 4,195 | 94,151 94,250 6,237 3,829 4,800
87,751 87,850 5642 3,317 4,205 | 94,251 94,350 6,246 3,837 4,809
87,851 87,950 5,651 3,325 4,214 | 94,351 94,450 6,256 3,845 4,819

87,951 88,050 5,661 3,333 4,223 | 94,451 94,550 6,265 3,853 4,828
88,051 88,150 5670 3,341 4,233 | 94,551 94,650 6,274 3,861 4,837
88,151 88,250 5679 3,349 4,242 | 94,651 94,750 6,284 3,869 4,846
88,251 88,350 5,688 3,357 4,251 | 94,751 94,850 6,293 3,877 4,856
88,351 88,450 5,698 3,365 4,261 | 94,851 94,950 6,302 3,885 4,865

88,451 88,550 5,707 3,373 4,270 | 94,951 95,050 6,312 3,893 4,874
88,551 88,650 5716 3,381 4,279 | 95,051 95,150 6,321 3,901 4,884
88,651 88,750 5,726 3,389 4,288 | 95,151 95,250 6,330 3,909 4,893
88,751 88,850 5,735 3,397 4,298 | 95,251 95,350 6,339 3,917 4,902
88,851 88,950 5,744 3,405 4,307 | 95,351 95,450 6,349 3,925 4,912

OVER $100,000 YOU MUST COMPUTE YOUR
TAX USING THE TAX RATE SCHEDULES.
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2015 California Tax Rate Schedules

@ To e-file and eliminate the math, go to fth.ca.gov. To figure your tax online, go to fth.ca.gov and search for tax calculator.

Use only if your taxable income on Long Form 540NR, line 19 is more than $100,000. If $100,000 or less, use the Tax Table.

If the amount o

n

Form 540NR, line 19 is Enter on Form 540NR, of the
over — But not over — line 31 amount over —
$ 0 $ 7,850 $ 0.00 + 1.00% $ 0
Schedule X - 7,850 18,610 7850 + 2.00% 7,850
Use if your filing status is 18,610 29,372 293.70 + 4.00% 18,610
Single or Married/RDP Filing Separately 29,372 40,773 724.18 + 6.00% 29,372
40,773 51,530 1,408.24 + 8.00% 40,773
51,530 263,222 2,268.80 + 9.30% 51,530
263,222 315,866 21,956.16 + 10.30% 263,222
315,866 526,443 27,378.49 + 11.30% 315,866
526,443 AND OVER 51,173.69 + 12.30% 526,443
$ 0 $ 15,700 $ 0.00 + 1.00% $ 0
Schedule Y - 15,700 37,220 157.00 + 2.00% 15,700
Use if your filing status is 37,220 58,744 587.40 + 4.00% 37,220
Married/RDP Filing Jointly or Qualifying 58,744 81,546 144836 + 6.00% 58,744
Widow(er) with Dependent Child 81,546 103,060 2,816.48 + 8.00% 81,546
103,060 526,444 4537.60 + 9.30% 103,060
526,444 631,732 43,912.31 + 10.30% 526,444
631,732 1,052,886 54,756.97 + 11.30% 631,732
1,052,886 AND OVER 102,347.37 + 12.30% 1,052,886
$ 0 $ 15,710 $ 0.00 + 1.00% $ 0
Schedule Z - 15,710 37,221 157.10 + 2.00% 15,710
Use if your filing status is 37,221 47,982 587.32 + 4.00% 37,221
Head of Household 47,982 59,383 1,017.76 + 6.00% 47,982
59,383 70,142 1,701.82 + 8.00% 59,383
70,142 357,981 2,562.54 + 9.30% 70,142
357,981 429,578 29,331.57 + 10.30% 357,981
429,578 715,962 36,706.06 + 11.30% 429,578
715,962 AND OVER 69,067.45 + 12.30% 715,962

How to Figure Tax Using the 2015 California Tax Rate Schedules

Example: Chris and Pat Smith are filing a joint tax return using Long Form 540NR. Their taxable income on Long Form 540NR, line 19 is $125,000.

Step 1:

Step 2:  They subtract the amount at the beginning of their range f
their taxable income.

Step 3:  They multiply the result from Step 2 by the percentage for
their range.

Step 4:  They round the amount from Step 3 to two decimals (if

necessary) and add it to the tax amount for their income
range. After rounding the result, they will enter $6,578 on
Form 540NR, line 31.

rom

Using Schedule Y, they find the taxable income range that includes their taxable income of $125,000.

Example

$125,000
- 103,060
$ 21,940

$ 21,940
x .0930
$2,040.42

$4,537.60
+2,040.42
$6,578.02

Your Income

$

$

A+ &
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How To Get California Tax Information

Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications

By Internet — You can download, view, and print California income tax
forms and publications at fth.ca.gov or you may have these forms and
publications mailed to you. Our most frequently used forms may be filed
electronically, printed out for submission, and saved for record keeping.

By phone - To order California tax forms and publications:

e Refer to the list on the next page and find the code number for the
form you want to order.

Call 800.338.0505.

Select “Personal Income Tax.”

Select “Forms and Publications.”

e Enter the three-digit form code when you are instructed.

Allow two weeks to receive your order. If you live outside California,
allow three weeks to receive your order.

In person — Many post offices and libraries provide free California tax
booklets during the filing season.

Employees at libraries and post offices cannot provide tax information or
assistance.

By mail — Write to:
TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 307
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307

Letters

If you write to us, be sure your letter includes your social security
number (SSN), or individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN), and
your daytime and evening telephone numbers. Send your letter to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

We will respond to your letter within 10 weeks. In some cases, we may
call you to respond to your inquiry, or ask for additional information. Do
not attach correspondence to your tax return unless the correspondence
relates to an item on the tax return.

Your Rights As A Taxpayer

The FTB’s goals include making certain that your rights are protected
so that you have the highest confidence in the integrity, efficiency, and
fairness of your state tax system. FTB 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill
of Rights, includes information on your rights as a California taxpayer,
the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Program, and how you request written
advice from the FTB on whether a particular transaction is taxable. See
“Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

Privacy Notice

The Franchise Tax Board considers the privacy of your tax information to
be of the utmost importance.

Reasons for Information Requests — We ask for return information so
that we can administer the tax law fairly and correctly.

Rights and Responsibility — You have the right to see our records that
contain your personal information. To obtain information about your
records, you may write to:

DISCLOSURE OFFICER MS A181
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 1468

SACRAMENTO, CA 95812-1468

or call: 800.852.5711 within the United States, or 916.845.6500 outside
of the United States.

Your Responsibility — California Revenue and Taxation Code Sections
18501 and 18621 require you to file a return on the forms we prescribe
if you meet certain requirements. It is mandatory that you furnish all
requested information. You may be charged penalties and interest, and
in certain cases, you may be criminally prosecuted if you do not provide
the information we ask for, or you provide fraudulent information.

Information Disclosures — As provided by law, we may give your tax
information to other tax officials to determine your tax liability or collect
tax amounts you owe. If you owe the Franchise Tax Board money we
may also give your information to employers, financial institutions,
county recorders, or others who hold assets belonging to you.

For full text of Franchise Tax Board’s Privacy Notice, get FTB 1131 ENG/SP.

ftb.ca.gov and search for vita.

Need help with your tax return?

We provide free assistance to individuals with limited income and/or over the age of 60 who need
help in completing simple federal and state income tax returns. For more information, go to

[0 MyFTB | ACCOUNT

The window to your info
ftb.ca.gov

Update your mailing address and phone number
Pay online with Web Pay.
Link to additional services offered by FTB:

® File your tax return with CalFile
® Apply for an installment agreement
® Check your refund status

The window to your information . .. MyFTB Account
MyFTB Account is a secure online service allowing you to:

® View estimated tax payments, recent payments made, and the total balance due on your account.
Look up your California wage and withholding and FTB-issued 1099-G and 1099-INT records.

Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for myftb account.

® Request a paper copy of your filed tax return
® Sign-up for estimated tax payment email reminders
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Automated Phone Service

(Keep This Booklet For Future Use)

Automated Phone Service

Use our automated phone service to get
recorded answers to many of your questions
about California Taxes and to order current
year Personal Income Tax Forms and
Publications.

You can also:

e (et current year tax refund information.
e Get balance due and payment information.

Have paper and pencil ready to take notes.

Telephone: 800.338.0505 from within the
United States

916.845.6500 from outside
the United States

Answers To Tax Questions

Call our automated phone service, select
“Personal Income Tax Information,” then
“Frequently Asked Questions,” and enter the
3-digit code.

Code Filing Assistance

100 Do I need to file a tax return?

111 Which form should | use?

112 How do [ file electronically and get a fast
refund?

201 How can | get an extension to file?

203 What is the nonrefundable renter’s credit
and how do | qualify?

204 | never received a Form W-2. What do |
do?

205 | have no withholding taken out. What do
| do?

206 Do | have to attach a copy of my federal
tax return?

209 | lived in California for part of the year.
Do | have to file a tax return?

210 I did not live in California. Do | have to
file a tax return?

215 Who qualifies me to use the head of
household filing status?

222 How much can | deduct for vehicle
license fees?

Penalties
403 What is the estimate penalty rate?

Notices And Bills

503 How do | file a protest against a Notice of
Proposed Assessment?

506 How can | get information about my
Form 1099-G?

Tax For Children

601 Can my child take a personal exemption
credit when | claim her or him as a
dependent on my tax return?

Miscellaneous
611 What address do | send my payment to?
619 How do | report a change of address?

Order Forms and Publications

If your current address is on file, you can order
California tax forms and publications. Call our
automated phone service, select “Personal
Income Tax,” then “Forms and Publications,”
and enter the 3-digit code.

Code California Tax Forms and Publications

900 California Resident Income Tax Booklet:
Form 540, Resident Income Tax Return

965 Form 540 2EZ Tax Booklet

903 Schedule CA (540), California
Adjustments — Residents, FTB 3885A,
Depreciation & Amortization
Adjustments, and Schedule D, California
Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

907 Form 540-ES, Estimated Tax for
Individuals

908 Form 540X, Amended Individual Income
Tax Return

909 Schedule D-1, Sales of Business
Property

910 Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum
Distributions

911 Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum
Tax and Credit Limitations — Residents

913 Schedule S, Other State Tax Credit

914 California Nonresident Income Tax
Booklet: Long and Short Form 540NR,
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident
Income Tax Return

917 Schedule CA (540NR), California
Adjustments — Nonresidents or Part-Year
Residents

918 Schedule P (540NR), Alternative
Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations
— Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents

932 FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care
Expenses Credit

938 FTB 3514, California Earned Income Tax
Credit

937 FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal
Income Tax or Fiduciary Tax Return

921 FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic
Extension for Individuals

922 FTB 3525, Substitute for W-2 Wage and
Tax Statement

923 FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense
Deduction

939 FTB 3532, Head of Household Filing
Status Schedule

940 FTB 3540, Credit Carryover and
Recapture Summary

949 FTB 3567, Installment Agreement
Request

924 FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Certain
Children with Investment Income

929 FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss
Limitations

925 FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income

928 FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes from
Qualified Retirement Plans

926 FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) —
Individuals

943 FTB 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of
Rights

927 FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated
Tax — Individuals and Fiduciaries

919 FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines
to California Adjustments

920 FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity
Guidelines

945 FTB Pub. 1006, California Tax Forms and
Related Federal Forms

946 FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments
and Your Notification Responsibilities

941 FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for
Determining Resident Status

942 FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for
Military Personnel

951 FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married/
RDP Filing Separate Returns

934 FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of
Household Filing Status

Current Year Refund Information

If you file by mail, wait at least 8 weeks after
you file your tax return before you call to find
out about your refund. You need your social
security number, the numbers in your street
address, box number, route number, or PMB
number, and your ZIP Code to use this service.

Balance Due And Payment
Information

Wait at least 45 days from the date you mailed
your payment before you call to verify receipt.
You need your social security number, the
numbers in your street address, box number,
route number or PMB number, and your ZIP
Code to use this service.

General Phone Service

Telephone assistance is available year-round
from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through
Friday, except holidays. Hours are subject to
change.

Telephone: 800.852.5711 from within

the United States

916.845.6500 from outside

the United States

800.829.1040 for federal

tax questions, call the IRS
800.822.6268 for persons with
hearing or speech impairments
Asistencia en espaiiol

Asistencia telefdnica esta disponible durante
todo el afio desde las 7 a.m. hasta las 5 p.m.
de lunes a viernes, excepto dias feriados. Las
horas estan sujetas a cambios.

Teléfono:  800.852.5711 dentro de los
Estados Unidos

916.845.6500 fuera de los
Estados Unidos

800.829.1040 para preguntas
sobre impuestos federales, llame
al IRS

800.822.6268 para personas con
discapacidades auditivas o

del habla

TTY/TDD:

TTY/TDD:
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	Short Form - Your first name: 
	Short Form - Your Initial: 
	Short Form - Your Last name: 
	Short Form - Your Suffix: 
	Short Form - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Short Form - If joint tax return, spouse's/RDP's first name: 
	Short Form - Spouse's/RDP's Initial: 
	Short Form - Spouse's/RDP's Last name: 
	Short Form - Spouse's/RDP's Suffix: 
	Short Form - Spouse's/RDP's SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Short Form - Additional information (See instructions): 
	Short Form - Primary business activity code: 
	Short Form - Street address (number and street) or PO box: 
	Short Form - Apt: 
	 no: 
	/ste: 
	 no: 
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	Short Form - State or country of domicile of yourself: 
	Short Form - Line 6: 
	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, check the box here: 
	 See inst: Off


	Short Form - Line 8: 
	 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both are visually impaired, enter 2: 
	 Blind equals (Whole dollars only): 

	Short Form - First Name (Dependent 1): 
	Short Form - First Name (Dependent 2): 
	Short Form - First Name (Dependent 3): 
	Short Form - Last Name (Dependent 1): 
	Short Form - Last Name (Dependent 2): 
	Short Form - Last Name (Dependent 3): 
	Short Form - Social Security Number, 9 digits (Dependent 1): 
	Short Form - Social Security Number, 9 digits (Dependent 2): 
	Short Form - Social Security Number, 9 digits (Dependent 3): 
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	Short Form - Dependent's relationship to you (Dependent 3): 
	Short Form - Line 10: 
	 Total dependent exemptions: 
	 Total dependent exemptions equals (Whole dollars only): 

	Line 11: 
	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10 ($): 
	 Alimony received: 
	 See instructions (A): 
	 See instructions (C): 
	 See instructions (D): 
	 See instructions (E): 

	 Alimony received (A): 
	 Alimony received (C): 
	 Enter the California gain from line 8 or (loss) from line 9: 
	 Number of days child lived with you in California during 2015: 
	 Do not enter more than 366 days: 
	 See instructions (Child 1): 


	 Number of days child lived with you in California during 2016: 
	 Do not enter more than 366 days: 
	 See instructions (Child 2): 
	 See instructions (Child 3): 


	 Subtract line 10 of this worksheet from line 9 of this worksheet: 
	 (If the result is less than zero, enter 0): 

	 California amortization of costs that began before 2015: 
	 Enter the smaller of business income (not less than zero) or line 5: 
	 Multiply line 9 by line 10: 
	 Student loan interest adjustment: 
	 Enter the result here: 
	 If line 1 is less than line 10, enter the difference on Schedule CA (540NR), line 33, column C: 



	Line 12: 
	 Total California wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 16: 
	 Business income or (loss) (A) (page 39): 
	 Business income or (loss) (B) (page 39): 
	 Business income or (loss) (C) (page 39): 
	 Business income or (loss) (D): 
	 Business income or (loss) (E): 
	 Business income or (loss) (A): 
	 Business income or (loss) (B): 
	 Business income or (loss) (C): 
	 Add the amounts on lines 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, and 11: 
	 Enter the total: 
	 This is your investment income: 


	 Total California amortization from this activity: 
	 Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11: 

	 Section 179 expense deduction for California: 
	 Add line 9 and line 10, but do not enter more than line 11: 
	 Also, enter the result on form FTB 3885A, line 2: 


	 Enter the lesser of the amount on line 11 or $1,317: 

	Line 13: 
	 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 37; Form 1040A, line 21; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040NR, line 36; or Form 1040NR-EZ, line 10: 
	 Capital gain or (loss): 
	 See instructions (A) (page 39): 
	 See instructions (B) (page 39): 
	 See instructions (C) (page 39): 
	 See instructions (D): 
	 See instructions (E): 
	 See instructions (A): 
	 See instructions (B): 
	 See instructions (C): 

	 Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation, subject to California withholding: 
	 See instructions: 

	 Total federal amortization from this activity: 
	 Enter amortization from federal Form 4562, line 44: 

	 Carryover of disallowed deduction to 2016: 
	 Add line 9 and line 10: 
	 Subtract line 12 from the result: 


	 Add line 4, line 8, and line 12: 
	 Enter the result here and on Long Form 540NR, line 55: 


	Line 14: 
	 Unemployment compensation and military pay adjustment: 
	 See instructions: 

	 Other gains or (losses) (A) (page 39): 
	 Other gains or (losses) (B) (page 39): 
	 Other gains or (losses) (C) (page 39): 
	 Other gains or (losses) (D): 
	 Other gains or (losses) (E): 
	 Other gains or (losses) (A): 
	 Other gains or (losses) (B): 
	 Other gains or (losses) (C): 
	 Prison inmate wages: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 17: 
	 Adjusted gross income from all sources: 
	 Subtract line 14 from line 13: 

	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc (A): 
	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc (B): 
	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc (C): 
	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc (D): 
	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc (E): 
	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc: 
	 See instructions (A): 
	 See instructions (B): 
	 See instructions (C): 

	 California EITC: 
	 Enter amount from California Earned Income Tax Credit Worksheet, Part III, line 6: 
	 This amount should also be entered on Form 540, line 75; Form 540NR Long, Line 85; Form 540NR Short, Line 85; or Form 540 2EZ, Line 23: 



	Line 18: 
	 Standard deduction for your filing status: 
	 If you checked the box on line 6, see instructions: 
	 If Single "$4,044": 
	 If Married/RDP filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) "$8,088": 



	 Farm income or (loss) (A) (page 39): 
	 Farm income or (loss) (B) (page 39): 
	 Farm income or (loss) (C) (page 39): 
	 Farm income or (loss) (D): 
	 Farm income or (loss) (E): 
	 Farm income or (loss) (A): 
	 Farm income or (loss) (B): 
	 Farm income or (loss) (C): 

	Line 19: 
	 Subtract line 18 from line 17: 
	 This is your total taxable income: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 


	 Unemployment compensation (A): 
	 Unemployment compensation (B): 

	Line 31: 
	 Tax on the amount shown on line 19, see line 31 instructions: 

	Line 32: 
	 CA adjusted gross income: 
	 Add wages from line 12 and California taxable interest (Form 1099, box 1): 
	 Military servicemembers see line 14 instructions: 


	 IRA deduction (A): 
	 IRA deduction (D): 
	 IRA deduction (E): 

	Line 33: 
	 CA Standard Deduction Percentage: 
	 Divide line 32 by line 17: 
	 If more than 1, enter 1: 
	0000: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 




	 Student loan interest deduction (A): 
	 Student loan interest deduction (C): 
	 Student loan interest deduction (D): 
	 Student loan interest deduction (E): 

	Line 34: 
	 CA Prorated Standard Deduction: 
	 Multiply line 18 by line 33: 

	 Tuition and fees (A): 
	 Tuition and fees (B): 

	Line 35: 
	 CA Taxable Income: 
	 Subtract line 34 from line 32: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 


	 Domestic production activities deduction (A): 
	 Domestic production activities deduction (B): 

	Line 36: 
	 CA Tax Rate: 
	 Divide line 31 by line 19: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 


	 Add line 23 through line 35 in each column, A through E (A): 
	 Add line 23 through line 35 in each column, A through E (B): 
	 Add line 23 through line 35 in each column, A through E (C): 
	 Add line 23 through line 35 in each column, A through E (D): 
	 Add line 23 through line 35 in each column, A through E (E): 

	Line 37: 
	 CA Tax Before Exemption Credits: 
	 Multiply line 35 by line 36: 

	 Total: 
	 Subtract line 36 from line 22b in each column, A through E: 
	 See instructions (A): 
	 See instructions (B): 
	 See instructions (C): 
	 See instructions (D): 
	 See instructions (E): 



	Line 38: 
	 CA Exemption Credit Percentage: 
	 Divide line 35 by line 19: 
	 If more than 1, enter 1: 
	0000: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 




	 Federal Itemized Deductions: 
	 Enter the amount from federal Schedule A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 15, 19, 20, 27, and 28 (or Schedule A (Form 1040NR), lines 1, 5, 6, 13, and 14): 


	Line 39: 
	 CA Prorated Exemption Credits: 
	 Multiply line 11 by line 38: 

	 Enter total of federal Schedule A (Form 1040), line 5 (State Disability Insurance, and state and local income tax, or General Sales Tax), and line 8 (foreign taxes only) (or Schedule A (Form 1040NR), line 1): 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 42: 
	 CA Regular Tax Before Credits: 
	 Subtract line 39 from line 37: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 


	 Combine line 40 and line 41: 

	Line 61: 
	 Nonrefundable renter's credit: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 74: 
	 Total tax: 
	 Subtract line 61 from line 42: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 



	Line 81: 
	 California income tax withheld (Form(s) W-2, box 17): 

	Line 85: 
	 Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC): 

	Line 86: 
	 Total payments: 
	 Add line 81 and line 85: 


	Line 103: 
	 Overpaid tax: 
	 If line 86 is larger than line 74, subtract line 74 from line 86: 


	Line 104: 
	 Tax due: 
	 If line 86 is less than line 74, subtract line 86 from line 74: 


	Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund: 
	Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program: 
	California Breast Cancer Research Fund: 
	California Firefighters' Memorial Fund: 
	Emergency Food for Families Fund: 
	California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund: 
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	California Cancer Research Fund: 
	Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund: 
	School Supplies for Homeless Children Fund: 
	State Parks Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase: 
	Protect Our Coast and Oceans Fund: 
	Keep Arts in Schools Fund: 
	California Senior Legislature Fund: 
	Habitat for Humanity Fund: 
	California Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund: 
	State Children's Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse: 
	Prevention of Animal Homelessness & Cruelty Fund: 
	Line 120: 
	 Add code 401 through code 435: 
	 This is your total contribution: 


	Your name (page 21): 
	Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits) (page 21): 
	Line 121: 
	 AMOUNT YOU OWE: 
	 Add line 104 and line 120: 
	 See instructions (8 digits): 



	Line 125: 
	 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE: 
	 Subtract line 120 from line 103 (8 digits): 


	Routing number (9 digits) (1): 
	Account number (17 digits) (1): 
	Line 126: 
	 Direct deposit amount (8 digits): 

	Routing number (9 digits) (2): 
	Account number (17 digits) (2): 
	Line 127: 
	 Direct deposit amount (8 digits): 

	Type (1): Off
	Your signature date (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Your email address (optional): 
	 Enter only one email address: 

	Daytime phone number (optional) (10 digits): 
	Firm's name (or yours, if self-employed): 
	PTIN (9 digits): 
	Firm's address: 
	Firm's FEIN (9 digits): 
	Print Third Party Designee's Name: 
	Do you want to allow another person to discuss this tax return with us? See instructions: Off
	Type (2): Off
	Telephone Number of Third Party Designee (10 digits): 
	Long Form - Enter month of year end: month (mm): 
	Long Form - Your first name: 
	Long Form - Your Initial: 
	Long Form - Your Last name: 
	Long Form - Your Suffix: 
	Long Form - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits) (page 35): 
	Long Form - If joint tax return, spouse's/RDP's first name: 
	Long Form - Spouse's/RDP's Initial: 
	Long Form - Spouse's/RDP's Last name: 
	Long Form - Spouse's/RDP's Suffix: 
	Long Form - Spouse's/RDP's SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Long Form - Additional information (See instructions): 
	Long Form - Primary business activity code: 
	Long Form - Street address (number and street) or PO box: 
	Long Form - Apt: 
	 no: 
	/ste: 
	 no: 



	Long Form - Private Mailbox number (6 digits): 
	Long Form - City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions): 
	Long Form - 2 letter State abbreviation: 
	Long Form - Zip code, maximum 9 digits: 
	Long Form - Foreign country name: 
	Long Form - Foreign province/state/county: 
	Long Form - Foreign Postal Code (10 digits): 
	Long Form - Your DOB (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Long Form - Spouse's/RDP's DOB (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Long Form - Taxpayer: 
	Long Form - Spouse/RDP: 
	123: Off
	Enter spouse's/RDP's SSN or ITIN (9 digits) above and full name here: 
	Long Form - Enter year spouse/RDP died (yyyy): 
	Long Form - If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, check the box here: Off
	Long Form - Line 6: 
	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, check the box here: 
	 See inst: Off


	Long Form - Line 7: 
	 Personal: Off
	 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box: 
	 If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2: 
	 If you checked the box on line 6, see instructions: 



	Long Form - Line 8: 
	 Blind: Off
	 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both are visually impaired, enter 2: 

	Long Form - Line 9: 
	 Senior: Off
	 Senior: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both are 65 or older, enter 2: 

	Long Form - First Name (Dependent 1): 
	Long Form - First Name (Dependent 2): 
	Long Form - First Name (Dependent 3): 
	Long Form - Last Name (Dependent 1): 
	Long Form - Last Name (Dependent 2): 
	Long Form - Last Name (Dependent 3): 
	Long Form - Social Security Number, 9 digits (Dependent 1): 
	Long Form - Social Security Number, 9 digits (Dependent 2): 
	Long Form - Social Security Number, 9 digits (Dependent 3): 
	Long Form - Dependent's relationship to you (Dependent 1): 
	Long Form - Dependent's relationship to you (Dependent 2): 
	Long Form - Dependent's relationship to you (Dependent 3): 
	45: Off
	Long Form - Line 10: 
	 Total dependent exemptions: 

	Long Form - Line 11: 
	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10 ($): 

	Long Form - Line 12: 
	 Total California wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 16: 

	Long Form - Line 13: 
	 Enter federal AGI from Form 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21; 1040EZ, line 4; 1040NR, line 36; or 1040NR-EZ, line 10: 

	Long Form - Line 14: 
	 California adjustments - subtractions: 
	 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), line 37, column B: 


	Long Form - Line 15: 
	 Subtract line 14 from line 13: 
	 If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses: 
	 See instructions: 



	Long Form - Line 16: 
	 California adjustments - additions: 
	 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), line 37, column C: 


	Long Form - Line 17: 
	 Adjusted gross income from all sources: 
	 Combine line 15 and line 16: 


	Long Form - Line 18: 
	 Enter the larger of: Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540NR), line 44; OR Your California standard deduction: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 19: 
	 Subtract line 18 from line 17: 
	 This is your total taxable income: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 



	Long Form - Your name (page 36): 
	Long Form - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits) (page 36): 
	Long Form - Check the box if from: Off
	Long Form - Line 31: 
	 Tax: 

	Long Form - Line 32: 
	 CA adjusted gross income from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 45: 

	Long Form - Line 35: 
	 CA Taxable Income from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 49: 

	Long Form - Line 36: 
	 CA Tax Rate: 
	 Divide line 31 by line 19: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 



	Long Form - Line 37: 
	 CA Tax Before Exemption Credits: 
	 Multiply line 35 by line 36: 


	Long Form - Line 38: 
	 CA Exemption Credit Percentage: 
	 Divide line 35 by line 19: 
	 If more than 1, enter 1: 
	0000: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 





	Long Form - Line 39: 
	 CA Prorated Exemption Credits: 
	 Multiply line 11 by line 38: 
	 If the amount on line 13 is more than $178,706, see instructions: 



	Long Form - Line 40: 
	 CA Regular Tax Before Credits: 
	 Subtract line 39 from line 37: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 



	Long Form - Line 41: 
	 Tax: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 42: 
	 Add line 40 and line 41: 

	Long Form - Line 50: 
	 Nonrefundable Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Attach form FTB 3506: 



	Long Form - Line 51: 
	 Credit for joint custody head of household: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 52: 
	 Credit for dependent parent: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 53: 
	 Credit for senior head of household: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 54: 
	 Credit percentage: 
	 Divide line 35 by line 19: 
	 If more than 1, enter 1: 
	0000: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 






	Long Form - Line 55: 
	 Credit amount: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 58: 
	 Enter credit name: 
	 code: 
	 and amount: 

	Long Form - Line 59: 
	 Enter credit name: 
	 code: 
	 and amount: 

	Long Form - Line 60: 
	 To claim more than two credits: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 61: 
	 Nonrefundable renter's credit: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 62: 
	 Add line 50 and line 55 through 61: 
	 These are your total credits: 


	Long Form - Line 63: 
	 Subtract line 62 from line 42: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 


	Long Form - Line 71: 
	 Alternative minimum tax: 
	 Attach Schedule P (540NR): 


	Long Form - Line 72: 
	 Mental Health Services Tax: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 73: 
	 Other taxes and credit recapture: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 74: 
	 Add line 63, line 71, line 72, and line 73: 
	 This is your total tax: 


	Long Form - Line 81: 
	 California income tax withheld: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 82: 
	 2015 CA estimated tax and other payments: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 83: 
	 Withholding (Form 592-B and/or 593): 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 84: 
	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld: 
	 See instructions: 


	Long Form - Line 85: 
	 Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC): 

	Long Form - Line 86: 
	 Add lines 81 through 85: 
	 These are your total payments: 
	 See instructions: 



	Long Form - Line 101: 
	 Overpaid tax: 
	 If line 86 is more than line 74, subtract line 74 from line 86: 


	Long Form - Line 102: 
	 Amount of line 101 you want applied to your 2016 estimated tax: 

	Long Form - Line 103: 
	 Overpaid tax available this year: 
	 Subtract line 102 from line 101: 


	Long Form - Line 104: 
	 Tax due: 
	 If line 86 is less than line 74, subtract line 86 from line 74: 


	Long Form - Your name (page 37): 
	Long Form - Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits) (page 37): 
	Long Form - California Seniors Special Fund: 
	 See inst: 

	Long Form - Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund: 
	Long Form - Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program: 
	Long Form - California Breast Cancer Research Fund: 
	Long Form - California Firefighters' Memorial Fund: 
	Long Form - Emergency Food for Families Fund: 
	Long Form - California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund: 
	Long Form - California Sea Otter Fund: 
	Long Form - California Cancer Research Fund: 
	Long Form - Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund: 
	Long Form - School Supplies for Homeless Children Fund: 
	Long Form - State Parks Protection Fund/Parks Pass Purchase: 
	Long Form - Protect Our Coast and Oceans Fund: 
	Long Form - Keep Arts in Schools Fund: 
	Long Form - California Senior Legislature Fund: 
	Long Form - Habitat for Humanity Fund: 
	Long Form - California Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund: 
	Long Form - State Children's Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse: 
	Long Form - Prevention of Animal Homelessness & Cruelty Fund: 
	Long Form - Line 120: 
	 Add code 400 through code 431: 
	 This is your total contribution: 


	Long Form - Line 121: 
	 AMOUNT YOU OWE: 
	 Add line 104 and line 120: 
	 See instructions (8 digits): 



	Long Form - Line 122: 
	 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties: 

	Long Form - Check the box: Off
	Long Form - Line 123: 
	 Underpayment of estimated tax: 

	Long Form - Line 124: 
	 Total amount due: 
	 See instructions: 
	 Enclose, but do not staple, any payment: 



	Long Form - Line 125: 
	 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE: 
	 Subtract line 120 from line 103 (8 digits): 


	Long Form - Routing number (9 digits) (1): 
	Long Form - Type (1): Off
	Long Form - Account number (17 digits) (1): 
	Long Form - Line 126: 
	 Direct deposit amount (8 digits): 

	Long Form - Routing number (9 digits) (2): 
	Long Form - Type (2): Off
	Long Form - Account number (17 digits) (2): 
	Long Form - Line 127: 
	 Direct deposit amount (8 digits): 

	Long Form - Your signature date (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Long Form - Your email address (optional): 
	 Enter only one email address: 

	Long Form - Daytime phone number (10 digits): 
	Long Form - Firm's name (or yours, if self-employed): 
	Long Form - PTIN (9 digits): 
	Long Form - Firm's address: 
	Long Form - Firm's FEIN (9 digits): 
	Long Form - Do you want to allow another person to discuss this tax return with us? See instructions: Off
	Long Form - Print Third Party Designee's Name: 
	Long Form - Telephone Number of Third Party Designee (10 digits): 
	SCHEDULE CA (540NR) - Name(s) as shown on tax return: 
	SCHEDULE CA (540NR) - SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Line 1a: 
	 My California (CA) Residency (Check one) Myself: Off
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 
	 Has the IRS previously disallowed your federal Earned Income Credit (EIC)?: Off
	 Check one box below to identify your marital status: Not legally married/RDP during 2015: Off

	Line 1b: 
	 My California (CA) Residency (Check one) Spouse: Off
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 
	 Check one box below to identify your marital status: Widow/widower (my spouse/RDP died before 01/01/2015): Off

	Line 2a: 
	 I was domiciled in (enter two letter code, see instructions) (Yourself): 
	 I was domiciled in (enter two letter code, see instructions) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 Check one box below to identify the relationship of the person that qualifies you for the head of household filing status: Son, daughter, stepson, or stepdaughter: Off
	 California income tax withheld (including real estate and nonresident withholding): 

	Line 2b: 
	 I was in the military and stationed in (enter two letter code) (Yourself): 
	 I was in the military and stationed in (enter two letter code) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 Check one box below to identify the relationship of the person that qualifies you for the head of household filing status: Grandchild, brother, sister, half brother, half sister, stepbrother, stepsister, nephew, or niece: Off
	 California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 2015 tax return: 

	Line 3: 
	 I became a CA resident (enter state of prior residence) (Yourself): 
	 I became a CA resident (enter date (mm/dd/yy) of move) (Yourself): 
	 I became a CA resident (enter state of prior residence) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 I became a CA resident (enter date (mm/dd/yy)of move) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 Subtract line 2 from line 1: 
	 If the result is 0, stop: 
	 Enter the amount from line 1 above on Schedule CA (540NR), line 43: 


	 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a): 
	 Federal EIC (federal Form 1040, line 66a; Form 1040A, line 42a; or Form 1040EZ, line 8a): 
	 Dividends: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540 2EZ, line 11: 

	 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540) or Schedule CA (540NR), line 9(a), column A minus column B plus column C: 
	 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040, line 38; federal Form 1040A, line 22; or federal Form 1040EZ, line 4: 
	 First Name: 
	 Last Name: 
	 Social Security Number, 9 digits: 
	 DOB (MM/DD/YYYY): 
	 (a) Description of property placed in service (1): 
	 (b) Date placed in service mm/dd/yyyy (1): 
	 (c) California basis for depreciation (1): 
	 (d) Method (1): 
	 (e) Life or rate (1): 
	 (f) California depreciation deduction (1): 
	 (a) Description of property placed in service (2): 
	 (b) Date placed in service mm/dd/yyyy (2): 
	 (c) California basis for depreciation (2): 
	 (d) Method (2): 
	 (e) Life or rate (2): 
	 (f) California depreciation deduction (2): 
	 (a) Description of property placed in service (3): 
	 (b) Date placed in service mm/dd/yyyy (3): 
	 (c) California basis for depreciation (3): 
	 (d) Method (3): 
	 (e) Life or rate (3): 
	 (f) California depreciation deduction (3): 
	 (a) Description of property placed in service (4): 
	 (b) Date placed in service mm/dd/yyyy (4): 
	 (c) California basis for depreciation (4): 
	 (d) Method (4): 
	 (e) Life or rate (4): 
	 (f) California depreciation deduction (4): 
	 Amount from Long Form 540NR, line 18: 
	 Prior year loss carryover: 
	 (A): 
	 (B): 
	 (C): 
	 (D): 
	 (E): 

	 Credit amount: 
	 Multiply line 1 by line 2: 
	 Do not enter more than $2,500: 
	 Enter on this line the result or $1,317, whichever is less: 
	 Enter this amount on Long Form 540NR, line 53: 



	 Subtotal: 
	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld: 
	 Subtract line 2 from line 1: 
	 Enter the results here: 
	 Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter the total, in whole dollars only, on Long Form 540NR, line 84 (You): 
	 Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter the total, in whole dollars only, on Long Form 540NR, line 84 (Your Spouse/RDP): 



	 From Form 1040, add line 33 (student loan interest deduction) to line 37 (AGI): 
	 Enter the result here: 

	 Total tax payments and credits: 
	 Add line 2a, line 2b, and line 2c: 

	 Enter the larger of line 1 or line 2 here: 
	 Add line 1 and line 2: 
	 Multiply line 1 by line 2: 
	 Contribution amount: 
	 Multiply line 1 by line 2: 
	 Enter the result (rounded to the nearest whole dollar) here: 



	Line 4: 
	 I became a CA nonresident (enter new state of residence) (Yourself): 
	 I became a CA nonresident (enter date (mm/dd/yy) of move) (Yourself): 
	 I became a CA nonresident (enter date (mm/dd/yy) of move) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 I became a CA nonresident (enter new state of residence) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 Multiply line 3 by 80% (: 
	80): 

	 Total 2015 gain from all sources: 
	 Add column (e) amounts of line 1, line 2, and line 3: 

	 Investment Income: 
	 See instructions for Step 2 - Investment Income: 

	 Capital gain net income: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540 2EZ, line 13: 

	 Enter any amounts from form FTB 3803 for child's interest and dividends included on Schedule CA (540) or Schedule CA (540NR), line 21, column A minus line 21(f) column B plus line 21(f) column C: 
	 Enter qualifying person's gross income in 2015: 
	 See instructions: 

	 Add the amounts on line 3, column (f): 
	 Reduction in limitation: 
	 Subtract line 3 from line 2: 
	 If zero or less, enter 0: 


	 Subtract line 3 from line 2: 
	 If less than zero, enter as a negative amount: 

	 Combine line 1 through line 3: 
	 (A): 
	 (B): 
	 (E): 

	 Enter the total military income included in federal adjusted gross income (get FTB Pub: 
	 1032): 

	 Tax due: 
	 Is line 1 more than line 3?: 

	 Enter the amount shown for your filing status: Single or married/RDP filing separately, enter $4,044 or Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er), enter $8,088: 
	 Enter the lesser of the amount from line 3 or $431: 

	Line 5: 
	 I was a CA nonresident the entire year (enter state of residence) (Yourself): 
	 I was a CA nonresident the entire year (enter state of residence) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 13: 
	 2015 loss: 
	 Add column (d) amounts of line 1 and line 2: 

	 First name (Child 1): 
	 First name (Child 2): 
	 First name (Child 3): 
	 Investment Income: 
	 Add line 1, line 2, line 3 and line 4: 
	 Enter the amount here: 


	 Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540) or Schedule CA (540NR), line 13, column A minus column B plus column C: 
	 If the result is less than zero, enter 0: 

	 If you have: No qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than $3,290?, 1 qualifying child, is the amount on line 3 less than $4,940?, or 2 or more qualifying children, is the amount on line 3 less than $6,935? Yes Leave line 5 blank; enter the amount from line 2 on line 6: 
	 No Look up the amount on line 3 in the EITC Table to find the credit: 
	 Be sure you use the correct column for the number of qualifying children you have: 
	 Enter the credit here: 



	 Number of days your qualifying person lived with you during 2015: 
	 See instructions: 

	 California depreciation for assets placed in service prior to 2015: 
	 Dollar limitation for tax year: 
	 Subtract line 4 from line 1: 
	 If zero or less, enter 0: 


	 Combine line 1 and line 4: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 

	 Enter the smaller of the loss on line 4 or $3,000 ($1,500 if married or an RDP filing separately): 
	 (A): 
	 (B): 
	 (E): 

	 Standard deduction: 
	 Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 4 here and on the Short or Long Form 540NR, line 18: 

	 Credit amount: 
	 Multiply line 3 by line 4: 
	 Enter on this line the result or $431, whichever is less: 
	 Enter this amount on Long Form 540NR, line 51: 



	 Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 52: 
	 Mental Health Services Tax - Multiply line 3 by line 4: 
	 Enter this amount here and on Long Form 540NR, line 72: 

	 Subtract line 4 from line 3: 

	Line 6: 
	 The number of days I spent in CA for any purpose was (maximum 3) (Yourself): 
	 The number of days I spent in CA for any purpose was (maximum 3) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 Enter the amount from line 43 instructions on the previous page for your filing status: 
	 California capital loss carryover from 2014, if any: 
	 See instructions: 

	 Last name (Child 1): 
	 Last name (Child 2): 
	 Last name (Child 3): 
	 Enter the gain from Schedule D-1 Sales of Business Property, line 7: 
	 If the amount on that line is a loss, enter 0: 
	 (But, if you completed Schedule D-1, line 8 and line 9, enter the amount from line 9 instead): 


	 This is your California earned income tax credit: 
	 Enter this amount on form FTB 3514, line 17: 

	 Total California depreciation from this activity: 
	 Add the amounts on line 2, line 4, and line 5: 

	 (b) Cost (1): 
	 (c) Elected cost (1): 
	 (a) Description of property (2): 
	 (b) Cost (2): 
	 (c) Elected cost (2): 
	 (a) Description of property (1): 
	 Enter loss from Schedule D (540NR), line 8 as a positive number: 
	 Credit Percentage from Part I, line 1: 
	 Enter: 
	 the amount shown below for your filing status: 
	 Single, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) - $60,000 or Married/RDP filing jointly - $120,000: 



	Line 7: 
	 I owned a home/property in CA (enter Y for Yes, N for No) (Yourself): 
	 I owned a home/property in CA (enter Y for Yes, N for No) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 Wages, salaries, tips, etc: 
	 See instructions before making an entry in col: 
	 B or C (A): 
	 B or C (B): 
	 B or C (C): 
	 B or C (D): 
	 B or C (E): 


	 Subtract line 6 from line 5: 
	 Wages, salaries, tips, etc (A): 
	 Wages, salaries, tips, etc (B): 
	 Wages, salaries, tips, etc (C): 
	 Total 2015 loss: 
	 Add line 5 and line 6: 

	 Social Security Number, 9 digits (Child 1): 
	 Social Security Number, 9 digits (Child 2): 
	 Social Security Number, 9 digits (Child 3): 
	 Subtract line 6 of this worksheet from line 5 of this worksheet: 
	 (If the result is less than zero, enter 0): 

	 Total federal depreciation from this activity: 
	 Enter depreciation from federal Form 4562, line 22: 

	 Listed property (elected Section 179 cost): 
	 Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5: 
	 Multiply line 5 by line 6: 
	 Subtract line 6 from line 5 (page 46): 

	Line 8: 
	 Before 2015: I was a CA resident for the period of (to) (mm/dd/yy) (Yourself): 
	 Before 2015: I was a CA resident for the period of (from) (mm/dd/yy) (Yourself): 
	 Before 2015: I was a CA resident for the period of (from) (mm/dd/yy) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 Before 2015: I was a CA resident for the period of (to) (mm/dd/yy) (Spouse/RDP): 
	 Multiply line 7 by 6% (: 
	06): 

	 Combine line 4 and line 7: 
	 If a loss, go to line 9: 
	 If a gain, go to line 10: 


	 Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	 If born after 1996 and the child is younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b; go to line 10 (Child 1): 
	 If born after 1996 and the child is younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b; go to line 10 (Child 2): 
	 If born after 1996 and the child is younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly), skip line 9a and line 9b; go to line 10 (Child 3): 

	 Enter the total of net income from passive activities included on Schedule CA (540) or Schedule CA (540NR), line 17, column A minus column B plus column C: 
	 Total elected cost of Section 179 property: 
	 Add line 6 column (c) and line 7: 

	 Subtract line 7 from line 6: 
	 This is your capital loss carryover to 2016: 

	 Divide line 7 by $15,000 ($30,000 if married/RDP filing jointly): 
	 Enter the result as a decimal (rounded to at least three places): 
	 If the result is 1: 
	000 or more, enter 1: 
	000: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 





	 Enter the lesser of the amount on line 7 or $431: 

	Line 8b: 
	 Taxable interest: 
	 If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions: 

	Line 9b: 
	 Ordinary dividends: 
	 Was the child permanently and totally disabled during any part of 2015? If yes, go to line 10: 
	 If no, stop here: 
	 The child is not a qualifying child (Child 1): Off
	 The child is not a qualifying child (Child 2): Off
	 The child is not a qualifying child (Child 3): Off



	Line 15a: 
	 IRA distributions: 

	Line 16a: 
	 Pensions and annuities: 

	Line 20a: 
	 Social security benefits: 

	Other (describe) (line1): 
	Other (describe) (line2): 
	Line 8a: 
	 Taxable interest: 
	 (A): 
	 (B): 
	 (C): 
	 (D): 
	 (E): 

	 Taxable interest (A): 
	 Taxable interest (B): 
	 Taxable interest (C): 
	 If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions: 

	Line 9a: 
	 Ordinary dividends: 
	 See instructions: 
	 (A): 
	 (B): 
	 (C): 
	 (D): 
	 (E): 

	 See instructions (A): 
	 See instructions (B): 
	 See instructions (C): 

	 Was the child under age 24 at the end of 2015, a student, and younger than you (or your spouse/RDP, if filing jointly)? If yes, go to line 10: 
	 If no, go to line 9b: 
	 See instructions (Child 1): Off
	 See instructions (Child 2): Off
	 See instructions (Child 3): Off



	Line 10: 
	 Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes (A): 
	 Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes (B): 
	 Total itemized deductions: 
	 Subtract line 9 from line 1: 
	 Enter the result here and on Schedule CA (540NR), line 43: 


	 Enter the gain or (loss) from federal Form 1040, line 13: 
	 Child's relationship to you: 
	 See instructions (Child 1): 
	 See instructions (Child 2): 
	 See instructions (Child 3): 

	 Enter any expenses related to the rental of personal property included as a write-in adjustment on Schedule CA(540) or Schedule CA (540NR), line 36, column A minus column B plus column C: 
	 Total California amortization from this activity: 
	 Add the amounts on line 9, column (f): 

	 Carryover of disallowed deduction from 2014: 
	 Credit Percentage from Part I, line 1: 
	 Student loan interest deduction: 
	 Subtract line 9 from line 2: 
	 Enter the result here and on, Schedule CA (540NR), line 33, column D: 



	Line 15b: 
	 IRA distributions: 
	 See instructions: 
	 (A): 
	 (B): 
	 (C): 
	 (D): 
	 (E): 

	 See instructions (A): 
	 See instructions (C): 


	Line 16b: 
	 Pensions and annuities: 
	 See instructions: 
	 (A): 
	 (B): 
	 (C): 
	 (D): 
	 (E): 

	 See instructions (A): 
	 See instructions (C): 


	Line 20b: 
	 Social security benefits: 
	 (A): 
	 (B): 


	Line 21: 
	 Other income: 
	 (A): 
	 (D): 
	 (E): 

	 Other income (A): 
	 Other income (B): 
	 Other income (C): 

	Line 21a: 
	 California lottery winnings (B): 

	Line 21b: 
	 Disaster loss deduction from FTB 3805V (B): 

	Line 21d: 
	 NOL deduction from FTB 3805V (B): 

	Line 21e: 
	 NOL from FTB 3805D, FTB 3805Z, FTB 3806, FTB 3807, or FTB 3809 (B): 

	Line 21f: 
	 Other (B): 
	 Other (C): 

	Line 21c: 
	 Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21) (C): 

	Line 22a: 
	 Total: Combine line 7 through line 21 in each column: 
	 Continue to Side 2 (A): 
	 Continue to Side 2 (B): 
	 Continue to Side 2 (C): 
	 Continue to Side 2 (D): 
	 Continue to Side 2 (E): 

	 Totals: Combine line 7 through line 21 in column C: 
	 Transfer the amounts from column C, line 7 through line 22a, to Schedule CA (540NR), column E, line 7 through line 22a (C): 


	Line 22b: 
	 Enter totals from Side 1, line 22a, col: 
	 A through col: 
	 E (A): 
	 E (B): 
	 E (C): 
	 E (D): 
	 E (E): 



	Line 23: 
	 Educator expenses (A): 
	 Educator expenses (B): 

	Line 24: 
	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials (A): 
	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials (B): 
	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials (C): 
	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials (D): 
	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government officials (E): 

	Line 25: 
	 Health savings account deduction (A): 
	 Health savings account deduction (B): 

	Line 26: 
	 Moving expenses (A): 
	 Moving expenses (D): 
	 Moving expenses (E): 

	Line 27: 
	 Deductible part of self-employment tax (A): 
	 Deductible part of self-employment tax (D): 
	 Deductible part of self-employment tax (E): 

	Line 28: 
	 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans (A): 
	 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans (D): 
	 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans (E): 

	Line 29: 
	 Self-employed health insurance deduction (A): 
	 Self-employed health insurance deduction (D): 
	 Self-employed health insurance deduction (E): 

	Line 30: 
	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings (A): 
	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings (D): 
	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings (E): 

	Line 31b: 
	 Enter recipient's Social Security Number, 9 digits: 
	 Enter recipient's Last name: 

	Line 31a: 
	 Alimony paid: 
	 (A): 
	 (C): 
	 (D): 
	 (E): 


	Line 40: 
	 Subtract line 39 from line 38: 

	Specify Other adjustments including California lottery losses: 
	Line 41: 
	 Other adjustments including California lottery losses: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 43: 
	 Is your federal AGI (Long Form 540NR, line 13) more than the amount shown below for your filing status? Single or married/RDP filing separately "$178,706", Head of household "$268,063", and Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) "$357,417": 
	 No: 
	 Transfer the amount on line 42 to line 43: 
	 Yes: 
	 Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in the instructions for Schedule CA (540NR), line 43: 





	Line 44: 
	 Enter the larger of the amount on line 43 or your standard deduction: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 45: 
	 California AGI: 
	 Enter your California AGI from line 37, column E: 


	Line 46: 
	 Enter your deductions from line 44: 

	Line 47: 
	 Deduction Percentage: 
	 Divide line 37, column E by line 37, column D: 
	 Carry the decimal to four places: 
	 If the result is greater than 1: 
	0000, enter 1: 
	0000: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 








	Line 48: 
	 California Itemized/Standard Deductions: 
	 Multiply line 46 by the percentage on line 47: 


	Line 49: 
	 California Taxable Income: 
	 Subtract line 48 from line 45: 
	 Transfer this amount to Long Form 540NR, line 35: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 




	Line 1: 
	 Amount from Schedule CA (540NR), line 42: 
	 Taxable interest: 
	 Enter the amount from Form 540 2EZ, line 10: 
	 Short Form 540NR filers add and enter the amounts from federal Form 1099-INT, box 1: 


	 Add and enter the amounts from Schedule CA (540) or Schedule CA (540NR), line 8(a), column A and line 8(b): 
	 Enter your California earned income from form FTB 3514, line 16: 
	 Identify the Activity as Passive or Nonpassive: Off
	 Loss from Schedule D (540NR), line 11, stated as a positive number: 
	 Gains (A): 
	 Gains (B): 
	 Gains (C): 
	 Gains (D): 
	 Gains (E): 
	 Enter qualifying costs for the child: 
	 Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld shown on your Forms W-2: 
	 Enter the total here (You): 
	 Enter the total here (Your Spouse/RDP): 

	 Total tax you expect to owe: 
	 This is the amount you expect to enter on Form 540, line 64; or Long Form 540NR, line 74: 

	 Enter your earned income from: line 1 of the "Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents" in the instructions for federal Form 1040; Form 1040A; or from line A of the worksheet on the back of Form 1040EZ: 
	 Subtract line 11 from line 31 on Long Form 540NR and enter the result here: 
	 Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 19: 
	 Divide Long Form 540NR, line 35 by line 19: 
	 Enter the result here and on Long Form 540NR, line 54: 
	 If more than 1, enter 1: 
	0000: 
	 Enter 6 digits including decimal: 




	 Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 51: 
	 CA Taxable income from Long Form 540NR, line 35: 
	 If you contribute, enter $109; if you and your spouse/RDP contribute, enter $218: 
	 Enter the total amount from Schedule CA (540NR), line 33, column A: 
	 If the amount on line 1 is zero, STOP: 
	 You are not allowed a deduction for California: 



	Line 2: 
	 Using California amounts, add the amounts on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), line 4, line 14, and line 20 plus any gambling losses included on line 28 (or on Schedule A (Form 1040NR), line 6 plus any investment interest expense included on line 9 and any gambling losses on line 14): 
	 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568) (d): 
	 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (100S, 541, 565, and 568) (e): 
	 Federal AGI (federal Form 1040, line 38; Form 1040A, line 22; or Form 1040EZ, line 4): 
	 Nontaxable interest: 
	 Add and enter the amounts from federal Form 1099-INT, box 3 and box 8, and the amount from federal Form 1099-DIV, box 10: 

	 Enter the amount from form FTB 3803, Parents' Election to Report Child's Interest and Dividends, line 1b: 
	 Look up the amount on line 1 in the EITC Table to find the credit: 
	 Be sure you use the correct column for the number of qualifying children you have: 
	 Enter the credit here: 


	 Enter the amount from line 12 of the Tangible Property Expense Worksheet in the instructions: 
	 Total cost of Section 179 property placed in service: 
	 Amount from Long Form 540NR, line 17: 
	 Losses (A): 
	 Losses (B): 
	 Losses (C): 
	 Losses (D): 
	 Losses (E): 
	 Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 41: 
	 Credit Percentage from Part I, line 1: 
	 Enter the ratio from Long Form 540NR, line 38: 
	 Enter the total interest you paid in 2015 on qualified student loans but not more than $2,500 here: 

	Line 9: 
	 Compare the amounts on line 4 and line 8: 
	 Enter the smaller amount here: 

	 If line 8 is a loss, enter the smaller of - (a) the loss on line 8: 
	 (b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married/RDP filing separate): 
	 See instructions: 


	 Enter any income from the rental of personal property included on Schedule CA (540) or Schedule CA (540NR), line 21, column A minus line 21(f) column B plus line 21(f) column C: 
	 If the result is zero or less, enter 0: 

	 (a) Description of cost (1): 
	 (b) Date amortization begins mm/dd/yyyy (1): 
	 (c) California basis for amortization (1): 
	 (d) Code section (1): 
	 (e) Period or percentage (1): 
	 (f) California amortization deduction (1): 
	 (a) Description of cost (2): 
	 (b) Date amortization begins mm/dd/yyyy (2): 
	 (c) California basis for amortization (2): 
	 (d) Code section (2): 
	 (e) Period or percentage (2): 
	 (f) California amortization deduction (2): 
	 (a) Description of cost (3): 
	 (b) Date amortization begins mm/dd/yyyy (3): 
	 (c) California basis for amortization (3): 
	 (d) Code section (3): 
	 (e) Period or percentage (3): 
	 (f) California amortization deduction (3): 
	 (a) Description of cost (4): 
	 (b) Date amortization begins mm/dd/yyyy (4): 
	 (c) California basis for amortization (4): 
	 (d) Code section (4): 
	 (e) Period or percentage (4): 
	 (f) California amortization deduction (4): 
	 Tentative deduction: 
	 Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 8: 

	 Multiply line 2 by line 8: 
	 Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 53: 

	Identify other income: 
	SCHEDULE D (540NR) - Name(s) as shown on return: 
	SCHEDULE D (540NR) - SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Line 1c: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 
	 Check one box below to identify your marital status: Marriage/RDP was annulled: Off

	Line 1d: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 
	 Check one box below to identify your marital status: Received final decree of divorce, legal separation, dissolution, or termination of marriage/RDP by 12/31/2015: Off

	Line 1e: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 
	 Check one box below to identify your marital status: Legally married/RDP and did not live with spouse/RDP during 2015: Off

	Line 1f: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 
	 Check one box below to identify your marital status: Legally married/RDP and lived with spouse/RDP during 2015: 
	 List the beginning and ending dates for each period when you lived together: Off


	Line 1g: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1h: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1i: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1j: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1k: 
	 (a) Description of property Example: 100 shares of "Z" Co: 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1l: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1m: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock) (m): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1n: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1o: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1p: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1q: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1r: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1s: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1t: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1u: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 1v: 
	 (a) Description of property Identify S corporation stock Example: 100 shares of "Z" (S stock): 
	 (b) Sales price: 
	 (c) Cost or other basis: 
	 (d) Loss If (c) is more than (b), subtract (b) from (c): 
	 (e) Gain If (b) is more than (c), subtract (c) from (b): 

	Line 12a: 
	 If line 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, line 13, column B: 
	 Child's physical address during 2015 (number, street, and apt: 
	 no: 
	/ste: 
	 no: 
	): 
	 See instructions (Child 1): 
	 See instructions (Child 2): 
	 See instructions (Child 3): 






	Line 12b: 
	 If line 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540NR), Part II, line 13, column C: 
	 City (Child 1): 
	 City (Child 2): 
	 City (Child 3): 

	FORM 3514 - Name(s) as shown on tax return: 
	FORM 3514 - Social Security Number, 9 digits: 
	Line 12c: 
	 2 letter State abbreviation (Child 1): 
	 2 letter State abbreviation (Child 2): 
	 2 letter State abbreviation (Child 3): 

	Line 12d: 
	 ZIP code, maximum 9 digits (Child 1): 
	 ZIP code, maximum 9 digits (Child 2): 
	 ZIP code, maximum 9 digits (Child 3): 

	Line 15: 
	 Pension or annuity from a nonqualified deferred compensation plan or a nongovernmental IRC Section 457 plan: 
	 See instructions: 


	Line 16: 
	 California Earned Income: 
	 Subtract line 14 and line 15 from line 13: 


	Name(s) as shown on tax return: 
	SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	The beginning date for each period when you lived together From (mm/dd/yyyy) (1): 
	and ending date for each period when you lived together To (mm/dd/yyyy) (1): 
	The beginning date for each period when you lived together From (mm/dd/yyyy) (2): 
	and ending date for each period when you lived together To (mm/dd/yyyy) (2): 
	Line 2c: 
	 Check one box below to identify the relationship of the person that qualifies you for the head of household filing status: Eligible foster child: Off
	 Other payments and credits (including any tax payments made with any previous form FTB 3519): 

	Line 2d: 
	 Check one box below to identify the relationship of the person that qualifies you for the head of household filing status: Father, mother, stepfather, or stepmother: Off
	 Check one box below to identify the relationship of the person that qualifies you for the head of household filing status: Grandfather, grandmother, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, uncle, or aunt: Off

	CALIFORNIA FORM 3885A - Name(s) as shown on tax return: 
	CALIFORNIA FORM 3885A - SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates: 
	Line 14a: 
	 If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions: 

	Line 14b: 
	 If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions: 

	Short Form - State of residence of yourself: 
	Short Form - State of residence of spouse/RDP: 
	Short Form - Dates of California residency of Yourself to (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Short Form - Dates of California residency of Spouse/RDP from (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Short Form - State or country of domicile of spouse/RDP: 
	Short Form - Line 7: 
	 Personal: If you checked box 1 or 4 above, enter 1 in the box: 
	 If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2 in the box: 

	 Personal equals (Whole dollars only): 

	Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits) (page 20): 
	Your name (page 20): 
	Enter the number of days during the year you were a CA resident: 
	Enter the number of days during the year you were a nonresident: 
	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet - Line 1: 
	 Enter the total loss from the Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet, line 5, as a positive number: 

	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet - Line 2: 
	 Amount from Long Form 540NR, line 17: 

	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet - Line 3: 
	 Amount from Long Form 540NR, line 18: 

	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet - Line 4: 
	 Subtract line 3 from line 2: 
	 If less than zero, enter as a negative amount: 


	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet - Line 5: 
	 Combine line 1 and line 4: 
	 If less than zero, enter 0: 


	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet - Line 6: 
	 Enter the total loss from Schedule D (540NR) Worksheet, line 4, as a positive number: 

	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet - Line 7: 
	 Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5: 

	Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet - Line 8: 
	 Subtract line 7 from line 6: 
	 This is your capital loss carryover to 2016: 


	Dates Rented in 2015 - From (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Dates Rented in 2015 - to (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Street Address (a): 
	Street Address (b): 
	City, State, and ZIP Code (a): 
	City, State, and ZIP Code (b): 
	Dates Rented in 2015 (mm/dd/yyyy) (a): 
	Dates Rented in 2015 (mm/dd/yyyy) (b): 
	Landlord(s)' or the person(s)' Name (a): 
	Landlord(s)' or the person(s)' Name (b): 
	Landlord(s)' or the person(s)' Street Address (a): 
	Landlord(s)' or the person(s)' Street Address (b): 
	Landlord(s)' or the person(s)' City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number (a): 
	Landlord(s)' or the person(s)' City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number (b): 
	Amount of your credit ($) (3 digits): 
	Short Form - Filing Status: Off
	and ending (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Step 2: 
	 Your taxable income: 
	 Result after subtracting the amount at the beginning of your range from your taxable income: 
	 Amount at the beginning of your range: 

	Step 3: 
	 Percentage for your range: 
	 Enter 5 digits including decimal: 

	 Result of Step 2: 
	 Result after multiplying the result of step 2 with the percentage of your range: 

	Step 4: 
	 Tax amount of your income range: 
	 Round the amount from Step 3 to two decimals: 
	 Result after adding the amount from step 2 and tax amount of your income range: 

	Line a: 
	 Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 13: 

	Line b: 
	 Enter the amount for your filing status on line b: Single or married/RDP filing separately $178,706, Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er), and Head of household: 

	Line c: 
	 Subtract line b from line a: 

	Line d: 
	 Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married/RDP filing separately): 
	 If the result is not a whole number, round it to the next higher whole number: 


	Line e: 
	 Multiply line d by $6: 

	Line f: 
	 Add the numbers from the boxes on Long Form 540NR, line 7, line 8, and line 9 (not the dollar amounts): 

	Line g: 
	 Multiply line e by line f: 

	Line h: 
	 Add the total dollar amounts from Long Form 540NR, line 7, line 8, and line 9: 

	Line i: 
	 Subtract line g from line h: 
	 If zero or less enter 0: 


	Line j: 
	 Enter the number from the box on Long Form 540NR, line 10 (not the dollar amount): 

	Line k: 
	 Multiply line e by line j: 

	Line l: 
	 Enter the dollar amount from Long Form 540NR, line 10: 

	Line m: 
	 Subtract line k from line l: 
	 If zero or less, enter 0: 


	Line n: 
	 Add line i and line m: 
	 Enter the result here: 


	Line o: 
	 Multiply the amount on line n by the CA Exemption Credit Percentage on Long Form 540NR, line 38: 
	 Enter the result here and on Long Form 540NR, line 39: 


	Is the amount on line 5 more than the amount on line 6?: Off
	For calendar year 2015 or fiscal year beginning (mm/dd/yyyy): 
	Your first name: 
	Your Initial: 
	Your Last name: 
	Your SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	If joint payment, spouse's/RDP's first name: 
	Spouse's/RDP's Initial: 
	Spouse's/RDP's Last name: 
	Spouse's/RDP's SSN or ITIN (9 digits): 
	Address (number and street, PO box, or PMB no: 
	): 

	Apt: 
	 no: 
	/ste: 
	 no: 



	City: 
	2 letter State abbreviation: 
	ZIP code, 9 digits: 
	Amount of payment (9 digits): 


