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Instructions for Form FTB 3539
Payment for Automatic Extension for Corporations and Exempt Organizations
General Information
Use form FTB 3539, Payment for Automatic Extension for Corps and Exempt 
Orgs, only if both of the following apply:
•	 The corporation or exempt organization cannot file its 2012 California (C A) tax 

return by the original due date.
•	 The corporation or exempt organization owes tax for the 2012 taxable year.
If a limited liability companies (LLCs) elects to be taxed as a corporation for 
federal tax purposes, the LLC must file Form FTB 3539, and enter the California 
corporation number, Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), and 
California Secretary of State (CA SOS) file number, if applicable, in the space 
provided. The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) will (1) assign an identification 
number to an LLC that files as a corporation, and (2) notify the LLC with the 
identification number upon receipt of the first estimated tax payment, tax 
payment, or the first tax return. The LLC will be subject to the applicable 
provisions of the Corporation Tax Law and should be considered a corporation 
for purpose of all instructions unless otherwise indicated. 
Use the worksheet on the next page to determine if the corporation or exempt 
organization owes tax.
•	 If the corporation or exempt organization does not owe tax, do not file form 

FTB 3539. However, the corporation or exempt organization must file its return 
by the extended due date listed below.

•	 If the corporation or exempt organization owes tax and is required to 
pay electronically, see Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) section for more 

information. If the corporation or exempt organization will not pay the tax due 
electronically, complete form FTB 3539, make a check or money order, using 
black or blue ink, and mail them to the FTB by the original due date of the 
return to avoid late payment penalties and interest. For more information, see 
Penalties and Interest section on the next page. 

Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn against a 
U.S. financial institution.
If a corporation (including real estate investment trusts (R E I Ts), real estate 
mortgage investment conduits (R E M I Cs), regulated investment companies 
(R I Cs), L L Cs electing to be treated as corporations, or an exempt organization 
in good standing) cannot file its C A tax return by the original due date, a seven-
month extension to file is granted without submitting a written request. To qualify 
for the automatic extension, the corporation or exempt organization must file its 
CA tax return by the extended due date and its powers, rights, and privileges must 
not be suspended or forfeited by the FTB or the CA S O S as of the original due 
date.

Electronic Funds Transfer
Corporations or exempt organizations remitting an estimated tax payment 
or extension payment in excess of $20,000 or having a total tax liability in 
excess of $80,000 must remit all of their payments through EFT or Web 
Pay. Once a corporation or an exempt organization meets the threshold, all 
subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax type, or taxable year must be 

(Calendar year corporations — File and Pay by March 15, 2013)  (Fiscal year filers – See instructions)
(Employees’ trust and I R A — File and Pay by April 15, 2013)
(Calendar year exempt organizations — File and Pay by May 15, 2013)

DETACH HERE IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE OR PAID ELECTRONICALLY, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE 

Amount of payment

.,, 00

Payment of Tax Dates: To avoid late payment penalties and interest, 100% of the tax liability must be paid by the following dates (see item 4 below for exception):
Form Filed	 Calendar Year Filers	 Fiscal Year Filers: 15th day of the 
•	 Form 100, 100W, or 100S	 •	 March 15, 2013	 •	 3rd month following the close of the taxable year
•	 Form 100 for farmers’ cooperative	 •	 September 16, 2013	 •	 9th month following the close of the taxable year
•	 Form 199 or 109, generally	 •	 May 15, 2013	 •	 5th month following the close of the taxable year 
•	 Form 109 for employee’s trust	 •	 April 15, 2013	 •	 4th month following the close of the taxable year 
	 (IRC 401(a)) or IRA				  

Extended Filing Dates: The extended date for filing the return is as follows:
Form Filed	 Calendar Year Filers	 Fiscal Year Filers: 15th day of the
•	 Form 100, 100W, or 100S	 •	 October 15, 2013	 •	 10th month following the close of the taxable year
•	 Form 100 for farmers’ cooperative	 •	 April 15, 2014	 •	 16th month following the close of the taxable year
•	 Form 199 or 109, generally	 •	 December 16, 2013	 •	 12th month following the close of the taxable year 
•	 Form 109 for employee’s trust	 •	 November 15, 2013	 •	 11th month following the close of the taxable year 
	 (IRC 401(a)) or IRA
1.	 An extension of time to file the C A tax return is not an extension of time to pay the tax.
2. 	 When the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline to file and pay without penalty is extended to the next business day.
3.	 Save the completed worksheet, on next page, as a permanent part of the corporation’s or exempt organization’s tax records, along with a copy of the C A tax return.
4.	 The FTB may waive the late payment penalty based on reasonable cause if 90% of the tax shown on the return is paid by the original due date of the return, but 

not less than the minimum franchise tax if applicable.



continued on next page

If no payment is due or paid electronically, do not mail this form.
Caution: You may be required to pay electronically. See instructions.
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remitted electronically to avoid a 10% non-compliance penalty. Corporations 
required to remit payments electronically may use Web Pay and be considered 
in compliance with that requirement. Corporations can make payments 
online using Web Pay for Businesses. After a one-time online registration, 
corporations or exempt organizations can make an immediate payment 
or schedule payments up to a year in advance. Go to ftb.ca.gov for more 
information.
The FTB notifies corporations or exempt organizations that are subject to this 
requirement. Those that do not meet these requirements may participate on a 
voluntary basis. If the corporation or exempt organization pays electronically, 
complete the worksheet for the corporation’s or exempt organization’s records. 
Do not mail form FTB 3539. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search 
for eft, or call 916.845.4025. 

Where to File
If tax is due and the corporation or exempt organization is not paying electronically 
through EFT or Web Pay, make a check or money order using black or blue ink 
payable to the “Franchise Tax Board” for the amount of the tax due. Write the 
California corporation number, FEIN, or CA SOS file number and “2012 FTB 3539” 
on the check or money order. Enclose, but do not staple, the payment with the 
form FTB 3539 and mail to:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
	 PO BOX 942857 
	 SACRAMENTO  CA  94257-0531
Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn against a 
U.S. financial institution.

Private Mail Box (PMB)
Include the P M B in the address field. Write “P M B” first, then the box number. 
Example: 111 Main Street P M B 123.

Penalties and Interest
•	 If the corporation or exempt organization fails to pay its total tax liability 

by the original due date, the corporation or exempt organization will incur 
a late payment penalty plus interest. The FTB may waive the late payment 
penalty based on reasonable cause. Reasonable cause is presumed when 
90% of the tax shown on the return, but not less than minimum franchise 
tax if applicable, is paid by the original due date of the return. However, the 
imposition of interest is mandatory.

•	 If the corporation or exempt organization does not file its C A tax return by the 
extended due date, or the corporation’s powers, rights, and privileges have 
been suspended or forfeited by the FTB or the California S O S, as of the original 
due date, the automatic extension will not apply and a delinquency penalty plus 

interest will be assessed from the original due date of the C A tax return.
•	 If the corporation or exempt organization is required to remit all of its 

payments electronically and pays by another method, a 10% non‑compliance 
penalty will be assessed.

Combined Reports
•	 If members of a combined unitary group have made or intend to make 

an election to file a combined unitary group single return, only the key 
corporation designated to file the return should submit form FTB 3539. The 
key corporation must include payment of at least the minimum franchise 
tax for each corporation of the combined unitary group that is subject to the 
franchise tax in California.

•	 If members of a combined unitary group intend to file separate returns with the 
FTB, each member must submit its own form FTB 3539 if there is an amount 
entered on line 3 of the Tax Payment Worksheet.

•	 If any member of a combined unitary group meets the requirements for 
mandatory EFT, all members must remit their payments electronically, 
regardless of their filing election.

Exempt Organizations
•	 Form 100 filers:
	 The due dates for corporations also apply to the filing of Form 100, California 

Corporation Franchise or Income Tax Return, by political action committees 
and exempt homeowners’ associations.

	 Political action committees and exempt homeowners’ associations that file 
Form 100 should not enter the minimum franchise tax on line 1 of the Tax 
Payment Worksheet.

•	 Form 199 Filers:
	 Form 199, California Exempt Organization Annual Information Return, requires 

a $10 filing fee to be paid with the return on the original or extended due date.
	 Use form FTB 3539 only if paying the fee early. Enter the amount of the fee 

on line 3 of the Tax Payment Worksheet.
•	 Form 109 Filers:
	 The due dates for filing Form 109, California Exempt Organization Business 

Income Return, depend on the type of organization filing the return. 
Employees’ pension trusts and I R As (including education I R As) must file on 
or before the 15th day of the 4th month after the close of their taxable year. All 
other exempt organizations (except homeowners’ associations and political 
organizations) must file on or before the 15th day of the 5th month after the 
close of their taxable year.

TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET FOR YOUR RECORDS

1	 Total tentative tax. Include alternative minimum tax if applicable. See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             	 1	 00
2	 Estimated tax payments including prior year overpayment applied as a credit  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                	 2	 00
3	 Tax due. If line 2 is more than line 1, see instructions. If line 1 is more than line 2, subtract line 2 from line 1. 

Enter the result here and on form FTB 3539 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                           	 3	 00

How to Complete the Tax Payment Worksheet
Line 1
Enter the total tentative tax, including the alternative minimum tax if applicable, 
for the taxable year.
•	 If filing Form 100, Form 100W, or Form 100S, and subject to franchise 

tax, the tentative tax may not be less than the minimum franchise tax and 
Qualified Subchapter S Subsidiary (Q Sub) annual tax (S corporations only).

•	 If filing Form 100, Form 100 W, or Form 100 S, and subject to income tax, 
enter the amount of tax. Corporations subject to the income tax do not pay the 
minimum franchise tax.

•	 If a corporation incorporates or qualifies to do business in California on or 
after January 1, 2000, the corporation will compute its tax liability for the first 
taxable year by multiplying its state net income by the appropriate tax rate and 
will not be subject to the minimum franchise tax. The corporation will become 
subject to minimum franchise tax beginning in its second taxable year.

•	 If filing Form 109, enter the amount of tax. Form 109 filers are not subject to 
the minimum franchise tax.

•	 If filing Form 199, use form FTB 3539 only if paying the filing fee of $10 early. 
Skip line 1 and line 2, and enter the amount of the filing fee on line 3 of the Tax 
Payment Worksheet, and on form FTB 3539.

Line 2
Enter the estimated tax payments, including prior year overpayment applied as a 
credit. S corporations may include any Q Sub annual tax payments.

Line 3
Excess payments. If the amount on line 2 is more than the amount on line 1, 
the payments and credits are more than the tentative tax. The corporation 
or exempt organization has no tax due. Do not mail form FTB 3539. The 
corporation or exempt organization will automatically qualify for an extension 
if the CA tax return is filed by the extended due date and the corporation or 
exempt organization is in good standing with the FTB and CA S O S.
Tax due. If the amount on line 1 is more than the amount on line 2, the 
corporation’s or exempt organization’s tentative tax is more than its payments 
and credits. The corporation or exempt organization has tax due.
Subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter this amount on line 3 and on form FTB 3539.
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