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What’s New and Other Important Information for 2011
Differences between California and Federal Law
In general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, California law 
conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2009. However, 
there are continuing differences between California and federal law. When California 
conforms to federal tax law changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes 
made at the federal level. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
conformity. Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental 
Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California Schedule CA 
(540 or 540NR), and the Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of California 
tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing their state income 
tax returns. We include information that is most useful to the greatest number 
of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is not possible to include all 
requirements of the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax 
booklets. Taxpayers should not consider the tax booklets as authoritative law.
Conformity – For updates regarding federal acts, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
conformity.

2011 Tax Law Changes/What’s New
Tax Decrease – Beginning on January 1, 2011, the tax rate decreased by 0.25%.
Dependent Exemptions Credits – Beginning on January 1, 2011, the dependent 
exemption credit increased from $99 to $315 per dependent.
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit – For taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2011, the child and dependent care expense credit is 
nonrefundable.
Use Tax Table – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, you may 
be eligible to use the Estimated Use Tax Table  to estimate and report the use tax 
due on individual non-business items you purchased for less than $1,000 each.
Voluntary Contributions – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2011, you may contribute to the following new funds:
•	 Municipal Shelter Spay-Neuter Fund
•	 ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease Research Fund
•	 Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund
Community Development Financial Institutions Investment Credit – The 
Community Development Financial Institutions Investment Credit has been 
extended for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, and before 
January 1, 2017.

Other Important Information
Real Estate Tax Deduction
California law conforms to federal law regarding real estate tax deductions. You 
should use the same real estate tax deduction amount on both federal and state 
tax returns. Individuals who itemize deductions can claim deductions for real 
estate tax on Schedule A of their federal individual income tax return. You are 
allowed to deduct only the amount of real estate tax paid during the year that is 
based on the assessed value of your property (ad valorem taxes). You cannot 
deduct amounts shown on your property tax bill that are not computed based 
on the assessed value of your property, including special assessments, special 
taxes, Mello-Roos, fees, or charges, regardless of their purpose, with limited 
exceptions.
For information about the allowable real estate tax deduction, go to ftb.ca.gov 
and search for real estate tax or see the federal instructions for Schedule A 

(Form 1040), line 6, Real Estate Taxes. Also see federal Publication 17, Your 
Federal Income Tax – Individuals, and Publication 530, Tax Information for 
Homeowners.
Beginning with your 2012 tax return, the California tax return will add reporting 
requirements related to real estate tax deductions taken on your return. This will 
include the property parcel number, deductible and nondeductible amounts. You 
will need to retain a copy of your property tax bill(s) to complete this information.
Net Operating Loss – For taxable years 2010 and 2011, California suspended 
the net operating loss (NOL) carryover deduction. Taxpayers may continue to 
compute and carryover NOLs during the suspension period. However, taxpayers 
with modified adjusted gross income of less than $300,000 or with disaster loss 
carryovers are not affected by the NOL suspension rules. 
Also, California modified the NOL carryback provision. For more information, see 
form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster 
Loss Limitations — Individuals, Estates, and Trusts.
Tsunami Waves 2011 – For tax information for victims of the March 2011 
tsunami in Del Norte, Mendocino, and Santa Cruz Counties get Pub. 1034, 
Disaster Loss How to Claim a State Tax Deduction.
Mandatory Electronic Payments – You are required to remit all your payments 
electronically once you make an estimate or extension payment exceeding $20,000 
or you file an original tax return with a total tax liability over $80,000 for any taxable 
year that begins on or after January 1, 2009. Once you meet this threshold, all 
subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax type, or taxable year must be 
remitted electronically. The first payment that would trigger the mandatory e-pay 
requirement does not have to be made electronically. Individuals that do not send 
the payment electronically will be subject to a one percent noncompliance penalty.
You can request a waiver from mandatory e-pay if one or more of the following is 
true:
•	 You have not made an estimated tax or extension payment in excess of 

$20,000 during the current or previous taxable year.
•	 Your total tax liability reported for the previous taxable year did not exceed 

$80,000.
•	 The amount you paid is not representative of your total tax liability.
Electronic payments can be made using Web Pay on FTB’s website, electronic 
funds withdrawal (EFW) as part of the e-file return, or your credit card. For 
more information or to obtain the waiver form, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
mandatory epay.
Estimated Tax Payments – Installments due for each taxable year beginning on 
or after January 1, 2011, shall be 30% of the required annual payment for the 1st 
required installment, 40% of the required annual payment for the 2nd required 
installment, no installment is due for the 3rd required installment, and 30% of the 
required annual payment for the 4th required installment.
Taxpayers with a tax liability less than $500 ($250 for married/RDP filing 
separately) do not need to make estimated tax payments.
Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Extended – California law conforms, with 
modifications, to federal mortgage forgiveness debt relief for discharges occurring 
on or after January 1, 2009 thru 2012. Federal law limits the amount of qualified 
principal residence indebtedness to $2,000,000 ($1,000,000 for married filing 
separate). See federal Publication 544, Sales and Other Disposition of Assets, 
and federal Publication 4681, Canceled Debts, Foreclosures, Repossessions, and 
Abandonment, for more information. California law limits the amount of qualified 
principal residence indebtedness to $800,000 ($400,000 for married/RDP filing 
separate) and debt relief to $500,000 ($250,000 for married/RDP filing separate).
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New Home/First-Time Buyer Credit – To claim the New Home/First‑Time Buyer 
Credit of 2010 you must have received a Certificate of Allocation from the FTB. 
The credits were available if you purchased a qualified principal residence on or 
after May 1, 2010, and on or before December 31, 2010. Additionally, the New 
Home Credit is available if you purchase a qualified principal residence on or after 
January 1, 2011, and before August 1, 2011, pursuant to an enforceable contract 
executed on or before December 31, 2010. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov 
and search for home credit or get FTB Pub. 3549, New Home/First-Time Buyer 
Credit.
Backup Withholding – Beginning on or after January 1, 2010, with certain limited 
exceptions, payers that are required to withhold and remit backup withholding 
to the IRS are also required to withhold and remit to the FTB. The California 
backup withholding rate is 7% of the payment. For California purposes, dividends, 
interests, and any financial institutions release of loan funds made in the normal 
course of business are exempt from backup withholding.
If the payee has backup withholding, the payee must contact the FTB to provide 
a valid Taxpayer Identification Number, which is either the social security number 
(SSN) or the individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN), before filing the 
tax return. Failure to provide the SSN or ITIN may result in a denial of the backup 
withholding credit. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for backup 
withholding.
Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) – Under California law, RDPs must file 
their California income tax return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or 
married/RDP filing separately filing status. RDPs have the same legal benefits, 
protections, and responsibilities as married couples unless otherwise specified.
If you entered into a same sex legal union in another state, other than a marriage, 
and that union has been determined to be substantially equivalent to a California 
registered domestic partnership, you are required to file a California income tax 
return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately 
filing status. 
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, husband, or wife 
also refer to a California RDP, unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials 
RDP they refer to both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California 
registered domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, 
get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.
Same-Sex Married Couples – Married couples must file their California income 
tax returns using either the married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing 
separately filing status. Same-sex couple marriages performed in California after 
5:00 pm on June 16, 2008, and before November 5, 2008, are valid marriages for 
California purposes. 
Beginning in taxable year 2010, persons who have entered into a same-sex 
marriage outside the State of California that is valid according to the laws of the 
jurisdiction in which the marriage was contracted must file their California income 
tax return using either the joint or separate filing status. For more information, get 
FTB Pub 776, Tax Information for Same-Sex Married Couples or go to ftb.ca.gov 
and search for same sex married couples.
Direct Deposit Refund – You can request a direct deposit refund on your tax 
return whether you e-file or file a paper tax return. Be sure to fill in the routing 
and account numbers carefully and double-check the numbers for accuracy to 
avoid it being rejected by your bank. 
ReadyReturn – If your filing status is single or head of household and your 
income is only from wages, you may qualify for ReadyReturn. It simplifies the 
filing process by pre-filling a tax return with information the state already has. 
For more information and to see if you qualify, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
readyreturn or call 800.338.0505.
Withholding on California Real Estate – For transactions occurring on or after 
January 1, 2007, that require withholding, a seller of California real estate may 
elect an alternative to withholding 3 1/3% (.0333) of the total sales price. The 
seller may elect an alternative withholding amount based on the maximum tax 
rate for individuals, corporations, or banks and financial corporations, as applied 
to the gain on the sale. The seller is required to certify under penalty of perjury 
the alternative withholding amount to the FTB. For installment sales occurring on 
or after January 1, 2009, the buyer is required to withhold on each installment 
sale payment if the sale of California real property is structured as an installment 
sale.

Tax Shelter – If the individual was involved in a reportable transaction, including 
a listed transaction, the individual may have a disclosure requirement. Attach 
federal Form 8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure Statement, to the back 
of the California tax return along with any other supporting schedules. If this 
is the first time the reportable transaction is disclosed on the tax return, send 
a duplicate copy of the federal Form 8886 to the address below. The FTB may 
impose penalties if the individual fails to file federal Form 8886, or fails to 
provide any other required information. A material advisor is required to provide 
a reportable transaction number to all taxpayers and material advisors for whom 
the material advisor acts as a material advisor.
	 TAX SHELTER FILING 

ATSU 398 MS F385 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1673 
SACRAMENTO CA 95812-9900

For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for tax shelters.


