Do | Have to File?

Steps to Determine Filing Requirement

Step 1: Is your gross income (all income received from all sources in the form of
money, goods, property, and services that are not exempt from tax) more than
the amount shown in the California Gross Income chart below for your filing
status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If
no, go to Step 2.

Step 2: Is your adjusted gross income (federal adjusted gross income from all
sources reduced or increased by all California income adjustments) more than the
amount shown in the California Adjusted Gross Income chart below for your filing

status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If
no, go to Step 3.

Step 3: If your income is less than the amounts on the chart you may still have a
filing requirement. See “Requirements for Children with Investment Income” and
“Other Situations When You Must File” on this page. Do those instructions apply
to you? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, go to Step 4.

Step 4: Are you married/registered domestic partner (RDP) filing separately with
separate property income? If no, you do not have a filing requirement. If yes,
prepare a tax return. If you owe tax, you have a filing requirement.

On 12/31/11, and on 12/31/11, California Gross Income California Adjusted Gross Income
my filing status was: my age was: Dependents Dependents
(If your 65th birthday is on January 1,
2012, you are considered to be age 65 on 2 2
December 31, 2011) 1 or more 0 1 or more
Single or Under 65 15,152 25,652 33,627 12,122 22,622 30,497
Head of household 65 or older 20,252 28,127 34,427 17,222 25,097 31,397
Married/RDP filing jointly Under 65 (both spouses/RDPs) 30,305 40,805 48,680 24,244 34,744 42,619
Married/RDP filing separately 65 or older (one spouse/RDP) 35,405 43,280 49,580 29,344 37,219 43,519
(The income of both spouses/RDPs must
b6 combied.both spveeuRbPe may pe | 82 OF older (both spouses/RDPs) | 40,505 48,380 54,680 34,444 42,319 48,619
required to file a tax return even if only one
spouse/RDP had income over the amounts
listed.)
Qualifying widow(er) Under 65 25,652 33,527 22,622 30,497
65 or older 28,127 34,427 25,097 31,397
Dependent of another person | Any age More than your standard deduction (Use the California Standard Deduction
Any filing status Worksheet for Dependents on page 9 to figure your standard deduction.)

Requirements for Children with Investment Income

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, California law conforms
to federal law which allows parents’ election to report a child’s interest and
dividend income from children under age 19 or a student under age 24 on their
tax return. For each child under age 19 or student under age 24 who received
more than $1,900 of investment income in 2011, complete Form 540 and form
FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Certain Children with Investment Income, to
figure the tax on a separate Form 540 for your child.

If you qualify, you may elect to report your child’s income of $9,500 or less (but
not less than $950) on your tax return by completing form FTB 3803, Parents’
Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. To make this election, your
child’s income must be only from interest and/or dividends. To get forms

FTB 3800 or FTB 3803, see “Order Forms and Publications” on page 63 or go to
fth.ca.gov.

Other Situations When You Must File

If you have a tax liability for 2011 or owe any of the following taxes for 2011, you
must file Form 540.

e Tax onalump-sum distribution.

« Tax on a qualified retirement plan including an Individual Retirement
Arrangement (IRA) or an Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA).

« Tax for children under age 19 or student under age 24 who have investment

income greater than $1,900 (see paragraph above).

Alternative minimum tax.

Recapture taxes.

Deferred tax on certain instaliment obligations.

Tax on an accumulation distribution from a trust.

Filing Status

Use the same filing status for California that you used for your federal income tax
return, unless you are in a same-sex marriage or a registered domestic partnership
(RDP). If you are a same-sex married individual or an RDP and file single for
federal, you must file married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately
for California. If you are a same-sex married individual or an RDP and file head

of household for federal purposes, you may file head of household for California
purposes only if you meet the requirements to be considered unmarried or
considered not in a domestic partnership.

Exception: If you file a joint tax return for federal purposes, you may file
separately for California if either spouse was:

e An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary military
branch during 2011.

e A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California sources
during 2011.

Community Property States: If the spouse earning the California source
income is domiciled in a community property state, community income will
be split equally between the spouses. Both spouses will have California source
income and they will not qualify for the nonresident spouse exception.

If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for California
that you would have used to file a federal income tax return.

If you filed a joint tax return and either you or your spouse/RDP was a
nonresident for 2011, file the Long or Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident
or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.

Single

You are single if any of the following was true on December 31, 2011:

e You were not married or an RDP.

e You were divorced under a final decree of divorce, legally separated under a final
decree of legal separation, or terminated your registered domestic partnership.

e You were widowed before January 1, 2011, and did not remarry or enter into
another registered domestic partnership in 2011.

Married/RDP Filing Jointly
You may file married/RDP filing jointly if any of the following is true:

e You were married or an RDP as of December 31, 2011, even if you did not live
with your spouse/RDP at the end of 2011.

e Your spouse/RDP died in 2011 and you did not remarry or enter into another
registered domestic partnership in 2011.

e Your spouse/RDP died in 2012 before you filed a 2011 return.

Married/RDP Filing Separately

e Community property rules apply to the division of income if you use
the married/RDP filing separately status. For more information, get FTB
Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status, FTB Pub. 737, Tax
Information for Registered Domestic Partners, FTB Pub. 776, Tax Information
for Same-Sex Married Couples, FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married/RDP
Filing Separate Returns, or FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military
Personnel. See “Order Forms and Publications” on page 63.

e You cannot claim a personal exemption credit for your spouse/RDP even if
your spouse/RDP had no income, is not filing a tax return, and is not claimed
as a dependent on another person’s tax return.

e You may be able to file as head of household if your child lived with you and you
lived apart from your spouse/RDP during the entire last six months of 2011.

Head of Household

For the specific requirements that must be met to qualify for head of household
filing status, get FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of Household Filing Status. In
general, head of household filing status is for unmarried individuals and certain
married individuals or RDPs living apart who provide a home for a specified
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https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_540bk.pdf#page=9

relative. You may be entitled to use head of household filing status if all of the For more information, get FTB Pub. 1540 at fth.ca.gov or see code 934 on

following apply: page 63 to order FTB Pub.1540 by telephone.

e You were unmarried and not in a registered domestic partnership, or you met Qualifying Widow(er) with Dependent Child
the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered not in a registered Fill in the circle on Form 540/540A, line 5 and use the joint return tax rates for
domestic partnership on December 31, 2011. 2011 if all five of the following apply:

* You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up your home for the year in * Your spouse/RDP died in 2009 or 2010 and you did not remarry or enter into
2011. another registered domestic partnership in 2011.

e For more than half the year, your home was the main home for you and one of e You have a child, stepchild, adopted child, or foster child whom you claim as
the specified relatives who by law can qualify you for head of household filing a dependent.
status. e This child lived in your home for all of 2011. Temporary absences, such as for

e You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year. vacation or school, count as time lived in the home.

For a child to qualify as your foster child for head of household purposes, the *You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for this child.

child must either be placed with you by an authorized placement agency or by * You could have filed a joint tax return with your spouse/RDP the year he or

order of a court. she died, even if you actually did not do so.
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