
Form 587 C2  2009

Withholding agent’s name

Address (number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.) 	 Apt. no./Ste. no.

City		 State	 ZIP Code

Part II	 Nonresident Vendor/Payee (Complete Part II through Part V and return this form to the above withholding agent)
Vendor/Payee’s name	 Owner’s full name if sole proprietor

Address (number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.)	 Apt. no./Ste. no.

City		 State	 ZIP Code

Part IV	 Income Allocation
Gross payments expected from the above withholding agent during the calendar year for:
			   (a)  Within California	 (b)  Outside California	 (c)  Total Payments
1	 Goods and Services:
		  Goods/materials (no withholding required) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .

	
___________________________		

Services (withholding required)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 ___________________________	 ___________________________	 ___________________________
2	 Rents on commercial or business property  .  .  .  .  . 	 ___________________________	 ___________________________	 ___________________________
3	 Royalties on natural resources .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 ___________________________	 ___________________________	 ___________________________
4	 Prizes and other winnings .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 ___________________________	 ___________________________	 ___________________________
5	 Other payments  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 ___________________________	 ___________________________	 ___________________________
6	 Total payments subject to withholding. 
	   Add column (a), line 1 through line 5 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 ___________________________	 ___________________________	 ___________________________

	 Withholding threshold amount: .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	                   $1,500.00                  

Withholding is optional, at the discretion of the withholding agent, on the first $1,500 in payments made during the calendar year. Withholding must begin as 
soon as the total payments of California source income for the calendar year exceed $1,500. If the FTB grants the withholding waiver, attach a copy of the FTB 
determination letter. See General Information E, Waivers.
Part V	 Certification Of Vendor/Payee
Under penalties of perjury, I certify that the information provided on this document is true and correct. If the reported facts change, I will promptly inform the withholding agent.

	 	 	 (        )
Authorized representative’s signature	 Title	 Daytime telephone number

	 	 	 (        )
Vendor/Payee’s signature	 Date	 Daytime telephone number

			 

Nonresident Withholding Allocation Worksheet
CALIFORNIA  FORM

587

7041103For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

Part I	 Withholding Agent

 SSN or ITIN   CA Corp. no.   FEIN Secretary of State (SOS) file no. Daytime telephone number

(            )

Nonresident Vendor/Payee’s Entity Type: (Check one)

 Individual/Sole Proprietor	  Corporation	  Partnership	  Limited Liability Company (LLC)
 Estate or Trust

Part III	 Payment Type

Nonresident Vendor/Payee: (Check one)
 Performs services totally outside California (no withholding required, skip to Part V)
 Provides only goods or materials (no withholding required, skip to Part V)
 Provides goods and services in California (see allocation in Part IV)
 Provides services within and outside California (see allocation in Part IV)
 Other (Describe)____________________________________________________________

If the vendor/payee performs all the services within California, withholding is required on the entire payment for services unless the vendor/payee is granted a 
withholding waiver from the Franchise Tax Board (FTB). For more information, get FTB Pub. 1017, Resident and Nonresident Withholding Guidelines.

TAXABLE YEAR

2010

-

-
-



Instructions for Form 587
Nonresident Withholding Allocation Worksheet
References in these instructions are to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

What’s New
Backup Withholding – Beginning on or 
after January 1, 2010, with certain limited 
exceptions, payers that are required to 
withhold and remit backup withholding 
to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
are also required to withhold and remit 
to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB).The 
California backup withholding rate is 7% 
of the payment. For California purposes, 
dividends, interests, and any financial 
institutions release of loan funds made in 
the normal course of business are exempt 
from backup withholding. For additional 
information on California backup 
withholding, go to ftb.ca.gov and search 
for backup withholding.

General Information
Beginning January 1, 2008, domestic 
nonresidents may use Form 589, 
Nonresident Request for Reduced 
Withholding, to request the reduction in 
the standard seven percent withholding 
amount that is applicable to California 
source payments made to nonresidents.
Private Mail Box – Include the Private 
Mail Box (PMB) in the address field. 
Write “PMB” first, then the box number. 
Example: 111 Main Street PMB 123.
Foreign Address – Enter the information 
in the following order: City, Country, 
Province/Region, and Postal Code. 
Follow the country’s practice for entering 
the postal code. Do not abbreviate the 
country’s name.

A	 Purpose
Use Form 587, Nonresident Withholding 
Allocation Worksheet, to determine if 
withholding is required on payments to 
nonresidents.
The vendor/payee completes, signs, and 
returns Form 587 to the withholding 
agent. The withholding agent relies on the 
certification made by the vendor/payee 
to determine if withholding is required, 
provided the completed and signed 
Form 587 is accepted in good faith. Retain 
the completed Form 587 for your records, 
and provide a copy to the FTB upon 
request.
Do not use Form 587 if any of the 
following applies:
•	 Payment to a nonresident is only for 

the purchase of goods.

•	 You sold California real estate. Use 
Form 593-C, Real Estate Withholding 
Certificate.

•	 The vendor/payee is a resident of 
California or is a non-grantor trust that 
has at least one California resident 
trustee. Use Form 590, Withholding 
Exemption Certificate.

•	 The vendor/payee is a corporation, 
partnership, or limited liability 
company (LLC) that has a permanent 
place of business in California or is 
qualified to do business in California. 
Use Form 590.

•	 The payment is to an estate and the 
decedent was a California resident. Use 
Form 590.

B	 Requirement
Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) 
Section 18662 and the related regulations 
require withholding of income or 
franchise tax on certain payments made 
to nonresidents of California for personal 
services performed in California and for 
rents and royalties on property located 
in California. The withholding rate is 
seven percent (.07) unless the FTB grants 
a waiver. See General Information E, 
Waivers.

C	 When to File This Form
The withholding agent requests that the 
vendor/payee completes, signs, and 
returns Form 587 when a contract is 
entered into or before payment is made to 
the vendor/payee.
Form 587 remains valid for the duration 
of the contract (or term of payments), 
provided there is no material change 
in the facts. By signing Form 587, the 
vendor/payee agrees to promptly notify 
the withholding agent of any changes in 
the facts.

D	 Withholding Requirements
Payments made to nonresident 
vendors/payees (including individuals, 
corporations, partnerships, LLCs, estates, 
and trusts) are subject to withholding. 
However, no withholding is required 
if total payments of California source 
income to the vendor/payee during the 
calendar year are $1,500 or less.

If the California resident, qualified 
corporation, LLC, or partnership is 
acting as an agent for the nonresident 
vendor/payee, the payment is subject to 
withholding if the nonresident vendor/
payee does not meet any of the exceptions 
on Form 590.
Payments subject to withholding include 
the following:
•	 Payments for services performed in 

California by nonresidents.
•	 Payments made in connection with a 

California performance.
•	 Rent paid to nonresidents if the rent is 

paid in the course of the withholding 
agent’s business.

•	 Royalties paid to nonresidents from 
business activities in California.

•	 Payments of prizes for contests 
entered in California.

•	 Distributions of California source 
income to nonresident beneficiaries 
from an estate or trust.

•	 Other payments of California source 
income made to nonresidents.

Payments not subject to withholding 
include payments:
•	 To a resident of California or to a 

corporation with a permanent place of 
business in California.

•	 To a corporation qualified to do 
business in California. 

•	 To a partnership or LLC that has 
a permanent place of business in 
California.

•	 For sale of goods.
•	 For income from intangible personal 

property, such as interest and 
dividends, unless the property has 
acquired a business situs in California.

•	 For services performed outside of 
California.

•	 To a vendor/payee that is a tax-exempt 
organization under either California or 
federal law, use Form 590, Withholding 
Exemption Certificate.

•	 Representing wages paid to employees. 
Wage withholding is administered 
by the California Employment 
Development Department (EDD). For 
more information, contact your local 
EDD office.
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•	 To reimburse a vendor/payee 
for expenses relating to services 
performed in California if the 
reimbursement is separately accounted 
for and not subject to federal 
Form 1099 reporting. Corporate 
vendor/payees, for purposes of this 
exception, are treated as individual 
persons.

E	 Waivers
A nonresident vendor/payee may request 
that withholding be waived. To apply 
for a withholding waiver, use Form 588, 
Nonresident Withholding Waiver Request. 
If the FTB has granted a waiver, you must 
attach a copy of FTB’s determination letter 
to Form 587.

F	 Requirement to File a 
California Tax Return

A vendor’s/payee’s exemption 
certification on Form 587, Form 590, 
or a determination letter from the FTB 
waiving withholding does not eliminate 
the requirement to file a California tax 
return and pay the tax due. For return 
filing requirements, see the instructions 
for Long or Short Form 540NR, California 
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income 
Tax Return; Form 541, California Fiduciary 
Income Tax Return; Form 100, California 
Corporation Franchise or Income 
Tax Return; or Form 100S, California 
S Corporation Franchise or Income 
Tax Return.

Specific Instructions
Part I – Withholding Agent
The withholding agent must complete 
Part I before giving Form 587 to the 
vendor/payee.

Part II – Nonresident Vendor/Payee
The vendor/payee must complete all 
information in Part II including the FEIN, 
social security number, or individual 
taxpayer identification number, and entity 
type. 

Part III – Payment Type
The nonresident vendor/payee must check 
the box that identifies the type of payment 
being received.
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No withholding is required when vendors/
payees are residents or have a permanent 
place of business in California.

Part IV – Income Allocation
Use Part IV to identify payments that are 
subject to withholding. Only payments 
sourced within California are subject 
to withholding. Services performed in 
California are sourced in California. In the 
case of payments for services performed 
when part of the services are performed 
outside California, enter the amount paid 
for performing services within California 
in column (a). Enter the amount paid 
for performing services while outside 
California in column (b). Enter the total 
amount paid for services in column (c).
If the vendor’s/payee’s trade, business, 
or profession carried on in California 
is an integral part of a unitary business 
carried on within and outside California, 
the amounts included on line 1 through 
line 5 should be computed by applying the 
vendor’s/payee’s California apportionment 
percentage (determined in accordance 
with the provisions of the Uniform 
Division of Income for Tax Purposes 
Act) to the payment amounts. For more 
information on apportionment, get 
California Schedule R, Apportionment and 
Allocation of Income.
Withholding agent. Withholding is 
optional, at your discretion, on the first 
$1,500 in payments made during the 
calendar year. Withholding must begin as 
soon as the total payments of California 
source income for the calendar year 
exceed $1,500. If circumstances change 
during the year (such as the total amount 
of payments), which would change the 
amount on line 6, the vendor/payee must 
submit a new Form 587 to the withholding 
agent reflecting those changes. The 
withholding agent should evaluate the 
need for a new Form 587 when a change 
in facts occurs.

Part V – Certification of Vendor/Payee
Enter your name, title, and daytime 
telephone number, including area code. 
Sign and date the form and return it to the 
withholding agent.

Additional Information
For additional information or to speak 
to a representative regarding this form, 
call the Withholding Services and 
Compliance automated telephone service 
at: 888.792.4900 or 916.845.4900, 
Fax: 916.845.9512.
OR write to:
WITHHOLDING SERVICES AND
COMPLIANCE MS F182
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0651
You can download, view, and print 
California tax forms and publications at 
ftb.ca.gov.
OR write to:
TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT MS F284
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 307
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307
For all other questions unrelated to 
withholding or to access the TTY/TDD 
numbers, see the information below.
Internet and Telephone Assistance
Website:	 ftb.ca.gov  
Telephone:	 800.852.5711 from within the 

United States
	 916.845.6500 from outside 

the United States
TTY/TDD:	 800.822.6268 for persons 

with hearing or speech 
impairments

Asistencia Por Internet y Teléfono 
Sitio web:	 ftb.ca.gov 
Teléfono:	 800.852.5711 dentro de los 

Estados Unidos 
	 916.845.6500 fuera de los 

Estados Unidos  
TTY/TDD:	 800.822.6268 personas con 

discapacidades auditivas y del 
habla

By Automated Phone Service: Use this 
service to check the status of your refund, 
order California forms, obtain payment 
and balance due information, and hear 
recorded answers to general questions. 
This service is available 24 hours a day, 
7 days a week, in English and Spanish.
From within the 
  United States	 800.338.0505
From outside the 
  United States	 916.845.6600
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