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Instructions for Form FTB 5805
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries
What’s New
Tax Increase – Beginning on January 1, 2009 the 
tax rate increased by .25%.
Dependent Exemptions Credits – Beginning 
on January 1, 2009, the dependent exemption 
credit decreased from $309 to $98 per dependent 
exemption.
Estimated Tax Payments – Beginning on or after 
January 1, 2009, you must make estimated tax 
payments if you expect to owe at least $500 ($250 
if married/RDP filing separately) in tax for 2009. 
Taxpayers with adjusted gross income equal to or 
greater than $1,000,000 (or $500,000 if married/
RDP filing separately), must figure estimated tax 
based on their tax for 2009.

General Information
Proposition 63, approved by voters on 
November 2, 2004, enacted the Mental Health 
Services Act, which imposes an additional 1% tax 
on taxable income over $1,000,000.
Effective for taxable years beginning 2005, 
Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT) is included in the 
calculation of estimated tax.
For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2005, the underpayment of estimated 
tax penalty shall not apply to the extent the 
underpayment of an installment was created 
or increased by any provision of law that is 
chaptered during and operative for the taxable 
year of the underpayment. To request a waiver 
of underpayment of estimated penalty, follow the 
directions under General Information C. 
Registered Domestic Partners (RDP)
RDPs under California law must file their California 
income tax returns using either the married/RDP 
filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately 
filing status. RDPs have the same legal benefits, 
protections, and responsibilities as married 
couples unless otherwise specified.
For purposes of California income tax, references 
to a spouse, husband, or wife also refer to a 
California registered domestic partner (RDP), 
unless otherwise specified. When we use the 
initials RDP they refer to both a California 
registered domestic “partner” and a California 
registered domestic “partnership,” as applicable. 
For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737, 
Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.
Estimated Tax Payments – For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2009, taxpayers 
are required to pay 30% of the estimated tax liability 
for the first and second required installments and 
20% of the estimated tax liability for the third 
and fourth required installments. Prior to this law 
change, installment payments were made in four 
equal (25%) payments, for more information get the 
instructions for Form 540-ES or Form 541-ES. 

A	 Purpose
Use form FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries, to see if you 
owe a penalty for underpaying your estimated tax 
and, if you do, to figure the amount of the penalty.

B	 Who Must File
Generally, you do not have to complete this form. 
If you owe a penalty, the Franchise Tax Board 
(FTB) figures the penalty for you and sends you a 
bill after you have filed your return. You must pay 

the penalty within 15 days of the billing to avoid 
additional interest charges.
Important: If you answer “Yes” to any of the 
questions in Part I (estates and trusts, see 
General Information E), complete this form and 
attach it to the back of your return.

C	 Waiver of the Penalty
You may request a waiver of the penalty if either 
one of the following apply:
•	 You underpaid an estimated tax installment 

due to a casualty, disaster, or other unusual 
circumstance and it would be inequitable to 
impose the penalty.

•	 You retired after age 62 or became disabled 
in 2008 or 2009 and your underpayment was 
due to reasonable cause.

To request a waiver do all of the following:
•	 Check “Yes” on form FTB 5805, Part I, 

Question 1, and in the space provided, explain 
why you are requesting a waiver of the estimate 
penalty. If you need additional space, attach a 
statement. Be sure to include your name and 
tax ID number to any statement you attach.

•	 Complete form FTB 5805 through Part II, line 12 
(Worksheet II, line 13 if you use the regular 
method) without regard to the waiver. Write the 
amount you want waived in parentheses on the 
dotted line next to Part II, line 13 (Worksheet II, 
line 14 if you use the regular method). Subtract 
this amount from the total penalty you figured 
without regard to the waiver, and enter the result 
on Part II, line 13 (Worksheet II, line 14 if you 
use the regular method).

•	 Fill in the circle on Forms 540/540A, line 113; 
Long Form 540NR, line 123; or Form 541, 
line 42.

•	 Attach form FTB 5805 to the back of your 
return.

D	 Annualized Income 
Installment Method

If your income varied during the year and you 
use the annualized income installment method to 
determine your estimate payment requirements, 
you must complete form FTB 5805, including 
Side 2. Attach it to the back of your return. Also 
fill in the circle on Forms 540/540A, line 113; 
Long Form 540NR, line 123; or Form 541, line 42 
for the underpayment of estimated tax.

E	 Estates and Trusts
Estates and grantor trusts, which receive the 
residue of the decedent’s estate, are required to 
make estimated income tax payments for any year 
ending two or more years after the date of the 
decedent’s death. If you answer “Yes” to Question 
4, complete Part I only and attach form FTB 5805 
to the back of your return.
Exempt trusts should use form FTB 5806, 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Corporations.

F	 Nonresidents and New 
Residents

The penalty for the underpayment of estimated 
tax applies to nonresidents and new residents. 
See the conditions listed in the box labeled “Im-
portant” on Side 1 of form FTB 5805.
In 2001, California changed the method used to 
calculate loss carryovers, deferred deductions, 
and deferred income for nonresident and part-year 
resident taxpayers (AB 1115, Stats 2001, Ch. 920). 

This law changed the tax computation to recognize 
those items, and established a new method of 
determining percentages for computing tax for all 
nonresidents and part-year residents. California 
changed the nonresident tax forms (Long and 
Short Form 540NR) to more clearly show that 
nonresidents are taxed by California only on their 
California taxable income. For more information 
get FTB Pub. 1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and 
Individuals Who Change Residency.
California law is compatible with the 
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (Public Law 
108‑189). This means that servicemembers 
domiciled outside of California, and their  
spouses/RDPs, may exclude the servicemember’s 
military pay from gross income when computing 
the tax rate on nonmilitary income.

G	 Farmers and Fishermen
You are considered a farmer or fisherman if at 
least two-thirds (2/3) of your annual gross in-
come for 2008 or 2009 is from farming or fishing. 
Farmers and fishermen are required to make one 
estimate payment. For calendar year taxpay-
ers, the due date is January 15, 2010. If you file 
Form 540, Long Form 540NR, or Form 541 and 
pay the entire tax due by March 1, 2010, you do 
not owe a penalty for underpaying estimated tax. 
Use form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax by Farmers and Fishermen.

H	 Due Dates for Estimated Tax 
Installments

If you are a calendar year taxpayer, the estimated 
tax installment due dates for 2009 were:
•	 First quarter	 —	 April 15, 2009
•	 Second quarter	 —	 June 15, 2009
•	 Third quarter	 —	 September 15, 2009
•	 Fourth quarter	 —	 January 15, 2010
Fiscal year filers must pay estimated tax 
installments on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, and 
9th months of their fiscal year, and the 1st month 
of the following fiscal year.
The penalty is figured separately for each due 
date. Therefore, you may owe a penalty for an 
earlier installment due date, even if you pay 
enough tax later to make up the underpayment.
When the estimate due date falls on a weekend 
or holiday, the deadline to file and pay without 
penalty is extended to the next business day.

I	 Filing an Early Return in 
Place of the 4th Installment

If you file your 2009 tax return before 
February 1, 2010, and pay the entire balance due, 
you do not have to make your last estimate pay-
ment. Fiscal year filers must file their return and 
pay their tax before the first day of the 2nd month 
after the end of their taxable year.

J	 Amended Return
If you file an amended return:
•	 On or before the due date of your original 

return, use the tax, credit, and other amounts 
shown on your amended return to figure your 
penalty for underpayment of estimated tax.

•	 After the due date of the original return, you 
must use the amounts shown on the original 
return to figure the penalty.
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K	 Penalty Rates
The rates used to determine the amount of your 
penalty are established at various dates through-
out the year. If an installment of estimated tax 
for any quarter remained unpaid or underpaid for 
more than one rate period, the penalty for that 
underpayment will be figured using more than 
one rate when applicable.
The following rates apply to the 2009 computation 
period:
•	 5% 7-01-09 through 12-31-09
•	 4% 1-01-10 through 6-30-10
Fiscal year filers: the rates for the periods 
7/1/10 through 12/31/10 and 1/1/11 through 
6/30/11 will be determined by the FTB in 
March 2010 and September 2010, respectively.
Call the FTB’s automated phone service to get 
updated penalty rates. Call the number below, 
select “Personal Income Tax,” then select 
“General Tax Information.” Enter code number 
403 when instructed.
The automated phone service is available in 
English and Spanish to callers with touch-tone 
telephones 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Telephone:	 800.852.5711 from within the 

United States
	 916.845.6500 from outside the 

United States
 TTY/TDD:	 800.822.6268 for persons with 

hearing or speech impairments

Specific Line Instructions
Part II — Computing the 
Required Annual Payment
Use this part to figure the amount of estimated 
tax that you were required to pay.
Line 1 –  Note: Due to the increased tax rate and 
the reduction of the dependent exemption credit, 
you may have an underpayment of estimated tax. 
You will not owe an underpayment of estimated 
tax penalty to the extent your underpayment was 
due to the increased tax rate and the reduction of 
the dependent exemption credit. 
Complete the Underpayment of Estimated Tax 
Worksheet on page 5 to determine your current 
year tax for figuring the underpayment penalty. 
Exclude all tax on lump-sum distributions.
Line 3 – Enter the amounts from your 2009 
Form 540, line 71 and line 73; Form 540A, 
line 71; Long Form 540NR, line 81 and line 82; or 
Form 541, line 29 and line 31.
Line 5 – Enter your tax liability (excluding any 
tax on lump-sum distributions) from your 2008 
Form 540, add line 30, line 31 and line 32, less 
line 39 and line 43; Form 540A, add line 30 and 
line 32 less the amount on line 39 and line 43; or. 

Long Form 540NR, add line 38, line 39 and line 40, 
less line 46 and line 50; or Form 541, line 28.
If the adjusted gross income (AGI) shown on your 
2008 California tax return is more than $150,000, 
or more than $75,000 if married/RDP filing a 
separate return, then enter 110% (1.10) of the tax 
liability from your 2008 return on line 5.
If the AGI on your 2009 California tax return is 
equal to or greater than $1,000,000/$500,000 if 
MFS, enter 90% (.90) of the tax liability from your 
2009 return on line 5.
If you did not file a return for 2008, or if your 
2008 taxable year was less than 12 months, do 
not complete line 5. Instead, enter the amount 
from line 2 on line 6. (If your California AGI is 
equal to or greater than $1,000,000/$500,000 for 
married/RDP filing separately, use line 2.
Short Method
You may use the short method only if you are 
a calendar year taxpayer and either one of the 
following apply:
1.	 You made no estimated tax payments or your 

only payments were California income tax 
withheld.

2.	 You paid estimated tax on the required due 
dates.

If any payment was made earlier than the due 
date, you may use the short method, but using it 
may cause you to pay a larger penalty than using 
the regular method. If the payment was only a few 
days early, the difference is likely to be small.
You may not use the short method if either of the 
following apply:
1.	 You made any estimated tax payment late.
2.	 You answered “Yes” to Part I, Question 3.
If you can use the short method, complete 
Part II, line 1 through line 10 to figure your total 
underpayment for the year, and line 11 through 
line 13 to figure the penalty.

Part III – Annualized Income 
Installment Method
If your income varied during the year, you may be 
able to lower or eliminate the amount of one or 
more required installments by using the annual-
ized income installment method. Use Part III to 
figure the required installment amount to enter 
on Worksheet II, Regular Method to Figure Your 
Underpayment and Penalty, line 1 (page 4).
Complete line 1 through line 16 to figure your 
current year tax, per quarter, based on your income 
as you earned it. Then, complete line 17 through 
line 23 to figure your required installment for each 
quarter. (The total of all amounts entered on line 23 
should equal the amount from Part II, line 6.)
If you use the annualized income installment 
method for any payment due date, you must use 
it for all payment due dates. To figure the amount 

of each required installment, Part III automatically 
selects the smaller of the annualized income 
installment or the regular installment (increased 
by the amount saved by using the annualized 
income installment method in figuring earlier 
installments).
If you are filing Long Form 540NR, see Long 
Form 540NR Instructions for Part III at the end of 
this section.
Line 1 – Figure your total income minus your 
adjustments to income for each period from 
01/09 to the ending date of each period (the 
amounts are cumulative). Include your share of 
partnership or S corporation income or loss items 
for the period.
Line 2 – Form 541 filers. Do not use amounts 
shown in column (a) through column (d). Instead, 
use 6, 3, 1.71429, and 1.09091, respectively, as 
the annualization amounts.
Line 6 – Multiply line 4 by line 5 and enter 
the result on line 6. Your annualized itemized 
deductions are limited if, in any quarter, federal 
annualized income (use Federal Annualized 
Income Worksheet below) is greater than:
•	 $321,483 (married/RDP filing jointly or 

qualifying widow(er)).
•	 $160,739 (single or married/RDP filing 

separately).
•	 $241,113 (head of household).
Use the following worksheet to figure the amount 
to enter on line 6, of Part III for each period federal 
annualized income reaches the above amounts.
 1	  Enter the amount from 

Part III, line 4  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 1_______
 2	  Using California amounts, add 

the amounts on federal 
Schedule A, line 4, line 14, and 
line 20 plus any gambling 
losses included on line 28 . . . . . . .        2_______

  3	 Subtract line 2 from line 1 . . . . . . .       3_______
  4	 Enter the number from 

Part III, line 5  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 4_______
  5	 Multiply the amount on line 1 

by line 4  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     5_______
	 If the amount on line 3 is 

zero, stop here and enter the amount 
from line 5 on Part III, line 6.

  6	 Multiply the amount on line 3 
by the number on line 4  . . . . . . . .         6_______

  7	 Multiply the amount on 
line 6 by 80% (.80) . . . . . . . . . . . .             7_______

  8	 Enter the amount from 
Federal Annualized 
Income Worksheet line 3  . . . . . . .        8_______

1	 Enter your federal adjusted gross income* for each period 
(see instructions federal Form 2210, Schedule A1, Part I, 
line 1). (Estates and trusts, enter your taxable income 
without your exemption for each period.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 	 1

2	 Annualization amounts. (Estates and trusts, see instructions 
federal Form 2210, Schedule A1, Part I, line 2)  . . . . . . . . . . .            	 2	 4	 2.4	 1.5	 1

3	 Annualized federal income. Multiply line 1 by line 2 . . . . . . . .         	 3
*Note: If you are a military servicemember domiciled outside of California, subtract your military pay from your federal AGI.

Federal Annualized Income Worksheet
Estates and trusts do not use the period ending dates shown to the 
right. Instead, use the following: 2/28/09, 4/30/09, 7/31/09, 
and 11/30/09.

(continued on page 3)

(a) 
1/1/09-3/31/09

(b) 
1/1/09-5/31/09

(c) 
1/1/09-8/31/09

(d) 
1/1/09-12/31/09
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  9	 Enter the amount shown 
on page 2, line 6 instructions  
for your filing status  . . . . . . . . . . .            9_______

10	 Subtract line 9 from line 8 . . . . . .      10_______
11	 Multiply the amount on 

line 10 by 6% (.06) . . . . . . . . . . . .            11_______
12	 Enter the smaller of line 7 or 

line 11. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      12_______
13	 Subtract line 12 from line 5. 

Enter the result here and on 
Part III, line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                13_______

Line 7 – Enter the total standard deduction 
allowed for your filing status in each column even 
if you itemized your deductions.
Line 10 – Form 541 filers. Figure the tax on the 
amount in each column of line 9 using the tax rate 
schedule (Schedule X) on page 5. Also, include 
any tax from:
•	 Form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation 

Distribution of Trusts
•	 IRC Section 453A tax
Line 11 – If your exemption credits were limited 
by AGI, it may be to your advantage to make a 
separate computation for each period. If you 
choose, you may complete the exemption credit 
worksheet in your tax booklet for each period.
If you filed a Long Form 540NR, complete the AGI 
Limitations Worksheet found in your tax booklet 
and transfer the amount from line N to line 11 on 
form FTB 5805.
Line 13 – Enter the special credits you are entitled 
to because of events that occurred during the 
months shown in the column headings.
Credit Limitation – If your special credits were 
limited by tentative minimum tax (TMT), it may be 
to your advantage to make a separate computation 
for each period. If you choose, you may complete a 
separate Schedule P (540 or 541) for each period.
Line 14c– Enter the mental health services tax 
from your 2009 Form 540/540A, line 62; 2009 
Form 540NR, line 72; or 2009 Form 541, line 27.

Long Form 540NR Instructions for Part III
Use these instructions only if you are filing Long 
Form 540NR.
If you are a nonresident military servicemember 
domiciled outside of California, subtract your 
military pay from your federal AGI.
Line 1 – Enter your total AGI for each period. 
Your total AGI is your AGI for the period from all 
sources.
Line 12 – Long Form 540NR filers complete 
Worksheet 1 below. 
California AGI is all of the income you earned 
while you were a California resident plus any 
income received from sources within California 
while you were a nonresident, less applicable 
income adjustments. For more information, 
get the instructions for Schedule CA (540NR), 
California Adjustments – Nonresidents or 
Part‑Year Residents.
Line 13 – Refigure Long Form 540NR, line 51 
through line 62. Prorate the credits on line 51 
through line 53 using the ratio from Line N of 
Worksheet I.

Instructions for Worksheet II – 
Regular Method to Figure Your 
Underpayment and Penalty
Part I — Figure Your Underpayment
Line 1 – Enter in column (a) through column (d) 
the amount of your required installment. For most 
taxpayers, this is the amount shown on form 
FTB 5805, Side 1, Part II, line 6 multiplied by 30% 
for column a and column b and 20% for column c 
and column d. If you use the annualized income 
installment method, enter the amounts from form 
FTB 5805, Side 2, Part III, line 23.
Line 2 – Enter the estimate payments made by 
the date at the top of each column.
Include in column (a) any overpayment of tax 
from your 2008 return that you elected to apply to 
the 2009 estimated tax.

Enter in column (a) and column (b) the result 
of the amount shown on form FTB 5805, Part ll, 
line 3 multiplied by 30%, enter 20% of the 
amount on line 3 in column (c) and column (d).
For withheld California income tax, you are 
considered to have paid the required amounts 
on each payment due date unless you can show 
otherwise. If you can show that your California 
withholding was otherwise withheld, answer 
“Yes” to Part I, Question 3 and enter the uneven 
amounts withheld on the lines provided on Part I, 
Question 3.
If you file your return and pay the tax due before 
February 1, 2010, enter the amount of tax paid 
with your return in column (d). In this case, you 
will not owe a penalty for the estimate payment 
due by January 15, 2010.
Line 8 – If line 8 is zero for all payment periods, 
you do not owe a penalty. But if you answer “Yes” 
for any question on form FTB 5805, Side 1, Part I, 
you must file form FTB 5805 with your return.

Part II — Figure the Penalty
Figure the penalty by applying the appropriate rate 
against each underpayment shown on line 8. The 
penalty is figured for the number of days that the 
underpayment remained unpaid.
The rates are established at various times 
throughout the year. If an underpayment remained 
unpaid for more than one rate period, the penalty 
on that underpayment will be figured using more 
than one rate period.
Use line 10 and line 12 to figure the number of days 
the underpayment remained unpaid. Use line 11 
and line 13 to figure the actual penalty amount by 
applying the rate against the underpayment for the 
number of days it remained unpaid.

A	 Tax on annualized total taxable income from Part III, line 10  . . . . .    
B	 Annualized total taxable income from Part III, line 9  . . . . . . . . . . .          
C	 Annualized California tax rate: Divide line A by line B.  . . . . . . . . . .           	 .__ __ __ __	 .__ __ __ __	 .__ __ __ __	 .__ __ __ __
D	 California AGI. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540NR), 
	 line 45 that is applicable for the period . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     
E	 Annualization amounts . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   	 4	 2.4	 1.5	 1
F	 Annualized California AGI. Multiply line D by line E  . . . . . . . . . . . .           
G	 Annualized Total AGI. Enter the amount from Part III, line 3. . . . . .    
H	 Annualized itemized or standard deduction rate. Divide line F by 
	 line G. Do not enter more than 1.0000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       	 __ . __ __ __ __	 __ . __ __ __ __	 __ . __ __ __ __	 __ . __ __ __ __
I	 Enter the amount from Part III, line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      
J	 Prorated standard deduction or annualized itemized deductions. 
	 Multiply line I by line H . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 
K	 Annualized California taxable income. Subtract line J from line F . . 
L	 Annualized California prorated tax before exemption credit. 
	 Multiply line K by line C  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                
M	 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from Part III, line 11 . . . . . . .      
N	 Annualized credit rate. Divide line K by line B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  	 __ . __ __ __ __	 __ . __ __ __ __	 __ . __ __ __ __	 __ . __ __ __ __
O	 Annualized prorated exemption credits. Multiply line M by line N . . 
P	 Annualized California tax after exemption credits. Subtract 
	 line O from line L. Enter this amount here and on Part III, line 12  . 

Worksheet I – Prorated Tax for Long form 540NR Filers 1/1/09 to 
3/31/09

1/1/09 to 
5/31/09

1/1/09 to 
8/31/09

1/1/09 to 
12/31/09
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Maximum days in a rate period per quarter:

Installment Days in Rate
Period 1 Period 2

1 260 105
2 199 105
3 107 105
4 90

Payment Application. Your payments are applied 
to any underpayment balance on an earlier 
installment. It does not matter if you designate a 
payment for a later period.
Example: You had an underpayment for the 
April 15th installment of $500. The June 15th 
installment required a payment of $1,200. On 
June 10th, you sent in a payment of $1,200 to 
cover the June 15th installment. However, $500 of 

Worksheet II  Regular Method to Figure Your Underpayment and Penalty.

	 Payment Due Dates

this payment is considered to be for the April 15th 
installment. The penalty for the April 15th 
installment is figured to June 10th. The amount 
of the payment to be applied to the June 15th 
installment is $700.
Subsequent Payments. For purposes of 
computing the penalty, it may be helpful to make 
a list of any payments that you made after the 
timely payments entered in Part I, line 2. If you 
made no other payments, follow the line-by-line 
instructions for Part II.
If you made subsequent payments, you may 
need to make additional computations for the 
applicable column on the worksheet. However, if 
the payment reduced the underpayment to zero, 
there are no further computations to make for 
that column. In that case, you count the number 
of days from the installment due date to the date 
paid.

If a subsequent payment does not reduce the 
underpayment to zero, you will need to make an 
additional computation in the column.
•	 First, count the number of days from the 

due date to the date paid and use the 
underpayment amount from Worksheet II, 
line 8. 

•	 Second, count the number of days from the 
payment date to the end of the rate period, 
and subtract the amount of the subsequent 
payment from the underpayment amount from 
Worksheet II, line 8. 

•	 Third, apply the rate for the applicable period.

	 1	 Required Installments. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    	 1
	 2	 Estimated tax paid and tax withheld. See instructions. For column (a) only, 

also enter the amount from line 2 on line 6. (If line 2 is equal to or more than 
line 1 for all payment periods, stop here; you do not owe the penalty. Do not 
file form FTB 5805 unless you answer “Yes’’ to a question in Part I)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               	 2

COMPLETE LINE 3 THROUGH LINE 9 OF ONE COLUMN BEFORE GOING TO THE
NEXT COLUMN.

  3		 Enter amount, if any, from line 9 of previous column . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           	 3
	 4	 Add line 2 and line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    	 4
	 5	 Add amounts on line 7 and line 8 of the previous column  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       	 5
	 6	 Subtract line 5 from line 4. If zero or less, enter -0-. For column (a) only, 

enter the amount from line 2  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             	 6
	 7	 If the amount on line 6 is zero, subtract line 4 from line 5. Otherwise, enter -0-  . . . . .      	 7
	 8	 Underpayment. If line 1 is equal to or more than line 6, subtract line 6 from 

line 1. Then go to line 3 of next column. Otherwise, go to line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                	 8
	 9	 Overpayment. If line 6 is more than line 1, subtract line 1 from line 6. 

Then go to line 3 of next column  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          	 9

Part II  Figure the Penalty. Complete line 10 through line 13 of one column before going to the next column.

Rate Period 1:	 4/15/09	 6/15/09	 9/15/09
	 April 15, 2009 — December 31, 2009	 Days:	 Days:	 Days

10		 Number of days from the date shown above line 10 to the date the 
 amount on line 8 was paid or 12/31/09, whichever is earlier . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     	 10

	11	 Underpayment		  Number of
		  on line 8	 X	 days on line 10	 X	 .05
		  (see instructions)		  365			   	 11	 $	 $
Rate Period 2:	 1/01/10	1 /01/10	1 /01/10	1 /15/10
	 January 1, 2010 — April 15, 2010	 Days:	 Days:	 Days:	 Days:

12		 Number of days from the date shown above line 12 to the date the 
 amount on line 8 was paid or 4/15/10, whichever is earlier . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     	 12

	13	 Underpayment		  Number of
		  on line 8	 X	 days on line 12	 X	 .04
		  (see instructions)		  365			   	 13	 $	 $	 $	 $

14		 PENALTY. Add all amounts on line 11 and line 13 in all columns. Enter the total here, on form 
FTB 5805, Side 1, Part II, line 13, and on Forms 540/540A, line 113; Long Form 540NR, line 123; 
or Form 541, line 42, and fill in the circle on that line . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                               	 14  $

Part I  Figure Your Underpayment (a) 
4/15/09

(b) 
6/15/09

(c) 
9/15/09

(d) 
1/15/10
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2009 Underpayment of Estimated Tax Worksheet  Keep this worksheet for your records.
  1	 Enter total taxable income from your 2009 Forms 540/540A or Long/Short Form 540NR, line 19, Form 541, line 20. . . . . . .      1___________________
 2	  Forms 540/540A and Form 540NR filers figure the tax on the amount on line 1 using the tax rate schedule below, 

unless form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children with Investment Income, is attached. If form FTB 3800  
is attached, complete a second form FTB 3800 using the tax rate schedule below and enter the recalculated  
amount from the second form FTB 3800, line 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                          2___________________

	 If form FTB 3803 is attached, complete a second form FTB 3803 using the tax rate schedule below. Add the amount 
of tax from each Form FTB 3803, line 9, to any tax you entered on line 2.

  3	 Form 541 filers use the single tax rate schedule below.
	 a	 Figure the tax on the amount on line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          3a_ __________________
	 b	 Enter the amount from Form 541, line 21b and 21c. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                3b_ __________________
	 c	 Add line 3a and line 3b, enter the total here and on line 6, below . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     3c_ __________________
  4	 Nonresidents
	 a	 Enter your California taxable income, Long/Short 540NR, line 35. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      4a___________________
	 b	 Compute the CA Tax Rate:	 Tax on total taxable income from line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    4b ___.___  ___  ___  ___
	 Total taxable income from line 1
	 c	 Multiply the amount on line 4a by the CA Tax Rate on line 4b. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                4c__________________

  5	 Enter the amount from Forms 540/540A, line 11 (add $206 for each dependent claimed on line 10) or 
Long/Short Form 540 NR, line 11 (add $206 for each dependent claimed on line 10, multiply that amount by 
your exemption credit percentage, Long/Short Form 540NR, line 38). If your federal AGI is more than $160,739 
your credits may be limited. Complete the AGI Limitation Worksheet on page 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  5___________________

  6	 Residents subtract the amount on line 5 from line 2, Nonresident subtract the amount on line 5 from line 4c. . . . . . . . . . . .           6___________________
  7	 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 47, 540A, line 47, Long Form 540NR, line 62, or  

Short Form 540NR, line 61, Form 541, line 24 (total credits). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 7___________________
  8	 Subtract the amounts on line 7 from line 6. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                               8___________________
  9	 Alternative Minimum Tax, Form 540 filers, multiply the amount on Sch P, line 24 by .9655, less line 2, above. 

Form 540NR filers, recompute your Sch P, multiply line 24 by .9655. Subtract line 4c, above,from line 43 of your 
recomputed Sch P. Form 541 filers, multiply the amount on Sch P, line 8 by .9655, less line 3a, above. 
If less than zero, enter zero. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                          9___________________

10	 Enter the amount from Forms 540/540A, line 62 or Long Form 540NR, line 72, 
Form 541, line 27(Mental Health Services Tax). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                           10___________________

11	 Add the amounts on line 8, line 9, and line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            11___________________
12	 Enter the amount from Forms 540/540A, line 74 or Long Form 540NR, line 84 (Excess SDI or VPDI). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 12___________________
13	 Enter the amount from Forms 540/540A, line 78 or Long Form 540NR, line 88 (Child and Dependent Care Expense Credit) . . .  13___________________
14	 Add the amounts on line 12 and line 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                14___________________
15	 Subtract line 14 from line 11. Enter the amount here and on FTB Form 5805, Part II, line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         15___________________

If the amount on line 1 above is		  of the
over –	 But not over –	 Enter on line 2	 amount over –

Schedule X –
Use if your filing status is
Single or Married/RDP Filing Separately

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married/RDP Filing Jointly or Qualifying 
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

Schedule Z –
Use if your filing status is
Head of Household

$	 0	 $	 7,060	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.00%	 $	 0.00
	 7,060		  16,739		  70.60	 +	 2.00%		  7,060
	 16,739		  26,419		  264.18	 +	  4.00%		  16,739
	 26,419		  36,675		  651.38	 +	 6.00%		  26,419
	 36,675		  46,349		  1,266.74	 +	 8.00%		  36,675
	 46,349	 AND OVER		  2,040.66	 +	 9.3%		  46,349

$	 0	 $	 14,120	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.00%	 $	 0.00
	 14,120		  33,478		  141.20	 +	 2.00%		  14,120
	 33,478		  52,838		  528.36	 +	 4.00%		  33,478
	 52,838		  73,350		  1,302.76	 +	 6.00%		  52,838
	 73,350		  92,698		  2,533.48	 +	 8.00%		  73,350
	 92,698	 AND OVER		  4,081.32	 +	 9.3%		  92,698

$	 0	 $	 14,130	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.00%	 $	 0.00
	 14,130		  33,479		  141.30	 +	 2.00%		  14,130
	 33,479		  43,157		  528.28	 +	 4.00%		  33,479
	 43,157		  53,412		  915.40	 +	 6.00%		  43,157
	 53,412		  63,089		  1,530.70	 +	 8.00%		  53,412
	 63,089		 AND OVER		  2,304.86	 +	 9.3%		  63,089

2009 California Tax Rate Schedule for Computing the Underpayment Penalty ONLY



Page �  FTB 5805 Instructions  2009 (REV 01-2010)

RESIDENTS

AGI Limitation Worksheet 
Use whole dollars only.

a	 Enter the amount from Form 540/540A, line 13 . . . . . . . .        a________

b	 Enter the amount for your filing status on line b: 
	 •	 Single or married/RDP filing separately	$160,739
	 •	 Married/RDP filing jointly or 

	qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               $321,483	 b________
	 •	 Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                $241,113

c	 Subtract line b from line a, if zero or less your credits 
are not limited. Enter your total credits on line 5 
of the worksheet.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               c________

d	 Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married/RDP filing 
separately). If the result is not a whole number, round 
it to the next higher whole number  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 d________

e	 Multiply line d by $6  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            e________

f	 Add the numbers from the boxes on Form 540/540A,  
lines 7, 8, and 9 (not the dollar amounts) . . . . . . . . . . . . .             f________

g	 Multiply line e by line f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            g________

h	 Enter the total dollar amount for lines 7, 8, and 9 . . . . . .      h________	

i	 Subtract line g from line h. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . .      i________

j	 Enter the number from the box on Form 540/540A, 
line 10 (not the dollar amount) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      j________

k	 Multiply line e by line j  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            k________

l	 Enter the dollar amount (that you filled in, add $206 
for each dependent exemption claimed) from  
Form 540/540A, line 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           l________

m	 Subtract line k from line l. If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . .    m________

n	 Add line i and line m. Enter the result here and on the 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax Worksheet, line 5 . . . . . .     n________

NONRESIDENTS

AGI Limitation Worksheet 
Use whole dollars only.

a	 Enter the amount from Long Form 540NR, line 13 . . . . . .     a________ 

b	 Enter the amount for your filing status on line b 
	 •	 Single or married/RDP filing separately	 $160,739
	 •	 Married/RDP filing jointly or 

	qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                $321,483	 b________
	 •	 Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 $241,113

c	 Subtract line b from line a, if zero or less your credits 
are not limited. Enter your total credits on line 5 
of the worksheet.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               c________ 

d	 Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married/RDP filing 
separately). If the result is not a whole number, round 
it to the next higher whole number  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 d________

e	 Multiply line d by $6  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            e________

f	 Add the numbers from the boxes on  
Long Form 540NR, line 7, line 8, and line 9  
(not the dollar amounts)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         f________ 

g	 Multiply line e by line f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          g________

h	 Add the total dollar amounts from Long Form 540NR, 
line 7, line 8, and line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          h________

i	 Subtract line g from line h. If zero or less enter -0-   . . . .    i________

j	 Enter the number from the box on Long Form 540NR,  
line 10 (not the dollar amount)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    j________

k	 Multiply line e by line j  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           k________

l	 Enter the dollar amount (that you filled in, add $206 for  
each dependent exemption claimed) from 
 Long Form 540NR, line 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       l________

m	 Subtract line k from line l. If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . .    m________

n	 Add line i and line m. Enter the result here . . . . . . . . . . . .            n________

o	 Multiply the amount on line n by the CA Exemption Credit  
Percentage on Long/Short Form 540NR, line 38.Enter 
the result here and on the Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax Worksheet, line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            o________

} }




