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Differences between California and Federal Law
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of 
January 2005. However, there are continuing differences between California and 
federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law changes, we do not always 
adopt all of the changes made at the federal level. For more information, go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. Additional information can be found in FTB 
Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for 
California Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), and the Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of California 
tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing their state income 
tax returns. We include information that is most useful to the greatest number 
of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is not possible to include all 
requirements of the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax 
booklets. Taxpayers should not consider the tax booklets as authoritative law.

2009 Tax Law Changes/What’s New
Tax Increase – Beginning on January 1, 2009, the tax rate increased by 0.25%.
Dependent Exemptions Credits – Beginning on January 1, 2009, the dependent 
exemption credit decreased from $309 to $98 per dependent exemption.
Home Credit – For taxable years beginning on or after March 1, 2009, and before 
March 1, 2010, a home credit against net tax will be allowed for the purchase 
of a never been occupied home in an amount equal to the lesser of five percent 
of the purchase price of a qualified principal residence or ten thousand dollars 
($10,000).  For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for home credit or 
get FTB Pub. 3528, New Home Credit.
California Film and Television Tax Credit – For taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2011, a film and television credit against net tax will be allowed. 
The credit, which is allocated and certified by the California Film Commission, 
is 20% of expenditures attributable to a qualified motion picture and 25% of 
production expenditures attributable to an independent film or a TV series that 
relocates to California. The California Film Commission will accept applications on 
a first come, first served basis beginning on July 1, 2009. For more information, 
go to film.ca.gov and search for incentives.
New Jobs Credit – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, a new 
jobs credit against net tax will be allowed for a qualified employer in the amount 
of $3,000 for each qualified full-time employee hired during the taxable year that 
increases the employer’s number of full-time employees over the previous year. 
This is determined on an annual full-time equivalent basis. Any credits not used in 
the taxable year may be carried forward up to eight years. For more information go 
to ftb.ca.gov and search for new jobs or get form FTB 3527, New Jobs Credit.
Natural Heritage Preservation Credit – The funding for the Natural Heritage 
Preservation Credit is available beginning January 1, 2010, until June 30, 2015.  
Currently there is no funding available to award or claim credits for the period 
from July 1, 2008, to December 31, 2009.  However, carryover is not affected for 
previously awarded credits.
Mandatory Electronic Payments – You are required to remit all your payments 
electronically once you make an estimate or extension payment exceeding $20,000 
or you file an original tax return with a total tax liability over $80,000 for any 
taxable year that begins on or after January 1, 2009. Once you meet this threshold, 
all subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax type, or taxable year must be 
remitted electronically. The first payment that would trigger the mandatory e-pay 
requirement does not have to be made electronically. Individuals who do not send 
the payment electronically may be subject to a one percent noncompliance penalty.
You can request a waiver from mandatory e-pay if one or more of the following is 
true:
•	 You have not made an estimated tax or extension payment in excess of 

$20,000 during the current or previous taxable year.
•	 Your total tax liability reported for the previous taxable year did not exceed 

$80,000.
•	 The amount you paid is not representative of your total tax liability.
Electronic payments can be made using Web Pay on FTB’s website, electronic 
funds withdrawal (EFW) as part of the e-file return, or your credit card. For 
more information or to obtain the waiver form, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
mandatory epay.
Conformity – For updates regarding the following federal act, go to ftb.ca.gov 
and search for conformity.
•	 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009
Estimated Tax Payments – Installments due for each taxable year beginning on 
or after January 1, 2010, shall be 30% of the required annual payment for the 1st 
required installment, 40% of the required annual payment for the 2nd required 
installment, no installment is due for the 3rd required installment, and 30% of the 
required annual payment for the 4th required installment.

Taxpayers with a tax liability less than $500 ($250 for married/RDP filing 
separately) do not need to make estimated tax payments.
Same-Sex Married Couples – Married couples must file their California income 
tax returns using either the married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing 
separately filing status. On May 26, 2009, the California Supreme Court ruled that 
the Proposition 8 constitutional amendment is valid and only marriage between 
a man and a woman is recognized in California. However, the court also held that 
same-sex couple marriages performed in California after 5:00 p.m. on June 16, 
2008, and before November 5, 2008, are valid marriages for California purposes. 
For more information, get FTB Pub. 776, Tax Information for Same-Sex Married 
Couples or go to ftb.ca.gov and search for same sex married couples.
Same-Sex Marriages Outside the State of California – On October 11, 2009, 
the Governor signed Senate Bill 54, which provides that a marriage between 
two persons who have entered into a same-sex marriage outside the State of 
California prior to November 5, 2008, that was valid by the laws of the jurisdiction 
in which the marriage was contracted, is valid in California. The bill also provides 
that a marriage between two persons who have entered into a same-sex marriage 
outside the State of California on or after November 5, 2008, that was valid by 
the laws of the jurisdiction in which the marriage was contracted have the same 
rights and responsibilities as spouses with the sole exception of the designation 
of “marriage.” 
Consequently, beginning in taxable year 2010, persons who have entered into 
a same-sex marriage outside the State of California that is valid according to 
the laws of the jurisdiction in which the marriage was contracted must file their 
California income tax return using either the joint or separate filing status.
Southern California Wildfires 2008 – For tax treatment information for victims 
of wildfires in Los Angeles and Ventura counties that commenced in October 
2008 or November 2008 and wildfires in Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, and 
Santa Barbara counties that commenced in November 2008, get FTB Pub. 1034, 
Disaster Loss How to Claim a State Tax Deduction.
Santa Barbara Wildfires – For tax treatment information for victims of the Santa 
Barbara county wildfires that commenced in May 2009, get FTB Pub. 1034.
Group Nonresident Returns (also known as Composite Returns) – For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2009:
•	 Group nonresident returns may include less than two nonresident individuals. 
•·	 Nonresident individuals with more than $1,000,000 of California taxable 

income are eligible to be included in group nonresident returns. An additional 
1% tax will be assessed on their entire California taxable income if they elect 
to be part of the group return.

See FTB Pub. 1067, Guidelines for Filing a Group Form 540NR, for more 
information.

Other Important Information
Net Operating Loss – For taxable years beginning in 2008 and 2009, California 
has suspended the net operating loss (NOL) carryover deduction. Taxpayers may 
continue to compute and carryover an NOL during the suspension period.
However, taxpayers with net business income of less than $500,000 or with 
disaster loss carryovers are not affected by the NOL suspension rules.
The carryover period for suspended losses is extended by:
•	 Two years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning before January 1, 

2008.
•	 One year for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 

2008, and before January 1, 2009.
Also, NOL carryovers and the number of taxable years to which the loss may be 
carried, are modified. For more information, see form FTB 3805V, Net Operating 
Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss Limitations – Individuals.
NOL carrybacks shall not be allowed for any net operating losses attributable to 
taxable years beginning before January 1, 2011. For more information on NOL 
carrybacks, see form FTB 3805V.
Business Tax Credit Limitation – For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2010, there is a limitation on the 
application of business tax credits for taxpayers whose net business income is 
$500,000 or more. The limitation is equal to 50 percent of the net tax before the 
application of any credits.
Round Cents to Dollars – Round cents to the nearest whole dollar. For example, 
round $50.50 up to $51 or round $25.49 down to $25. If you do not round, the 
FTB will disregard the cents. 
Direct Deposit Refund – You can request a direct deposit refund on your tax 
return whether you e-file or file a paper return. Please be sure to fill in the routing 
and account numbers carefully and double-check the numbers for accuracy to 
avoid it being rejected by your bank.
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What’s New and Other Important Information for 2009 (continued)
Withholding on California Real Estate – For transactions occurring on or after 
January 1, 2007, that require withholding, a seller of California real estate may 
elect an alternative to withholding 3 1/3 percent of the total sales price. The seller 
may elect an alternative withholding amount based on the maximum tax rate for 
individuals, corporations, or banks and financial corporations, as applied to the gain 
on the sale. The seller is required to certify under penalty of perjury the alternative 
withholding amount to the FTB. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2009, the buyer is required to withhold on each installment sale payment if the sale 
of California real property is structured as an installment sale.
Tax Shelter – If the individual was involved in a reportable transaction, including 
a listed transaction, the individual may have a disclosure requirement. Attach the 
federal Form 8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure Statement, to the back of 
the California return along with any other supporting schedules. If this is the first 
time the reportable transaction is disclosed on the return, send a duplicate copy 
of the federal Form 8886 to the address below. The FTB may impose penalties if 
the individual fails to file federal Form 8886 or fail to provide any other required 
information. A material advisor is required to provide a reportable transaction 
number to all taxpayers and material advisors for whom the material advisor acts 
as a material advisor.
	 ATSU 398 MS F385 

Franchise Tax Board  
PO Box 1673 
Sacramento CA 95812-1673

For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for tax shelters.




