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Introduction

Taxes can be complex and confusing to your broadcast audience. We try to take the hassle out of tax time by offering 
new and innovative ways to get tax help and file via the Internet. We appreciate your help in getting this information to 
the people in your community who need it.

Frequently Asked Questions

The following questions might assist you in planning your interview. Feel free to use these questions frequently asked 
by the public, or choose your own.

Q. What’s new this year?

New state law allows you to exclude from income certain 
cancelled mortgage debt linked to your principal residence. 
Generally, when a lender forgives or cancels debt, taxpayers 
must include the debt as taxable income on their return. 

Quarterly estimated tax payments are no longer calculated 
as 25 percent each. The first and second quarter  
installments increased to 30 percent and the third and 
fourth quarter installments decreased to 20 percent. 
Taxpayers with adjusted gross income equal to or greater 
than $1 million (or $500,000 if married, registered  
domestic partner, or filing separately) must pay at least 
90 percent of their current year tax to avoid an  
underpayment penalty. 

For 2008 and 2009, for taxpayers with taxable income  
of more than $500,000, business tax credits are limited 
to 50 percent of the net tax before the application of  
any credits. Be sure to review our tax form instructions  
for specific details.  

Another new law for high-income earners requires  
individuals who make estimated tax or extension payments 
larger than $20,000 or with tax liabilities more than 
$80,000 to make all payments electronically. Taxpayers 
can meet this requirement using Web Pay.  

We are advising same-sex couples married on or after 
June 16, 2008, and before November 5, 2008, to file  
as married. However, the California Supreme Court  
has agreed to review the challenges to the passage of 
Proposition 8, which eliminated the right of same-sex 
couples to marry. The California Attorney General has 
stated he believes these marriages are valid and will 
defend these marriages in the court action. Same-sex 
married couples should follow the court action since 
the decision may impact their marital status. Check our 
website at ftb.ca.gov for updates following the Supreme 
Court decision.

www.ftb.ca.gov
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Taxpayers can contribute to 15 charitable funds featured on 
the tax form. New this year are: 

• California Ovarian Cancer Research Fund 
• Municipal Shelter Spay-Neuter Fund 
• California Cancer Research Fund 
• ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease Research Fund

Contributions reduce your refund or increase taxes you owe. 
Taxpayers who contribute can take a charitable contribution 
deduction on next year’s return if they itemize their deductions. 

Q. Who has to file? 

Surprisingly, not everyone has to file. Each year we get  
thousands of tax returns from people who have no filing 
requirements. We base our filing requirements on income 
amounts and exemption credits. For 2008, you will not  
have to file if: 

• You are single or head of household and your total income
was less than $14,845. 

• You are married or registered domestic partners and your
total combined income was less than $29,690. 

These income threshold amounts are higher if you have  
dependent or senior exemptions. Also, the rules differ if you 
can be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s return. 

Keep in mind that if you had withholding taken from your  
pay or you made estimated tax payments, you must file a  
tax return to get your refund. 

Q. What is ReadyReturn? 

ReadyReturn is our free direct-to-government filing option 
that provides a completed state income tax return to taxpayers 
who file simple returns. You will need to review the completed 
ReadyReturn and make any necessary changes before you file it. 

ReadyReturn is based on a simple premise: we use information 
we already have from you and your employers, such as W-2 
information and last year’s tax return, to provide you with a 
completed tax return. We do most of the work, so you benefit.

You are eligible if last year you filed as single or head of 
household, earned wages from one employer, and took the 
standard deduction. You are still eligible if you claimed up 
to 5 dependents, claimed the nonrefundable renter’s credit, 
or have been claimed as a dependent on another person’s 
return – typically college students. 

We estimate that 1.9 million California taxpayers qualify to use 
ReadyReturn. To see if we have a ReadyReturn waiting for 
you, check our website at ftb.ca.gov or call 800.338.0505. 

Q. What is CalFile?

Available to more than 6.4 million taxpayers, CalFile is our 
free direct-to-government filing option that allows you to  
complete and e-file your state income tax return. CalFile is 
also available in Spanish. 

CalFile accepts income up to $326,379, itemized deductions, 
and tax credits such as the nonrefundable renter’s credit and 
the child and dependent care expenses credit.

To see if you qualify to use CalFile, check our website at  
ftb.ca.gov.

Q. Why do we love e-file so much?

• You’ll get a quick refund, normally within seven days, if you
choose direct deposit. Note: if you mail your return in January 
or February, you’ll generally get your refund in a couple of 
weeks. However, if you wait until late March or April, expect 
to wait 6-8 weeks for your refund.  

• It’s safe, accurate, fast, and easy. e-filed returns have fewer
errors, which means you’re less likely to hear from us later.  

• You’ll know we got it. FTB sends a confirmation almost 
immediately when we receive your tax return. 

• It’s free if you use CalFile or ReadyReturn. And, some
commercial software companies offer free e-file for  
selected customers. 

It also reduces the cost of government. Last year, nearly  
10.5 million or 67 percent of California taxpayers filed their 
tax returns electronically. 

Besides CalFile, there are many e-file software packages 
available to help ease the tax filing process. The programs 
walk you through a virtual tax interview and prompt you to 
take advantage of relevant tax credits. Links to many software  
vendors can be found on our website. You can e-file from 
your home computer or through a professional tax preparer. 

Q. Does FTB split refunds? 

Yes. Individuals can request that we electronically deposit 
their refunds into more than one account. The purpose of  
allowing you to “split” your refund is to encourage you to  
save at least some of your refund money. Refunds can be 
split into two accounts such as: 

• Checking  
• Savings  
• IRA  
• Money Market 

Taxpayers should make sure their financial institutions accept 
deposits into certain accounts. 

www.ftb.ca.gov
www.ftb.ca.gov
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Q. What other online services are available at ftb.ca.gov? 

You can do many tax chores online including: 

• Get your refund status. 
• Check My FTB Account for your wage and withholding

data, plus your balance due or payments made—great for 
estimate paying taxpayers. 

• Use Web Pay to make payments via your bank account. 
• Use your credit card to make payments.  
• Apply for payment plans.  
• Email your tax questions.  
• Calculate the right amount of tax.
• Determine if you qualify for the Head of Household 

filing status.
• Respond to a Head of Household questionnaire.  
• Find answers to tax questions.  
• Report tax fraud.

Q. What’s new on tax forms? 

We added a “check-box” near the signature line for taxpayers  
to designate a family member, friend, or their tax professional  
as someone with whom we can discuss information needed to:
• Process the return. 
• Inquire about the status of a refund or payment made. 
• Respond to notices about math errors or other corrections.

The designated person is not authorized to: 
• Discuss any other tax year.  
• Receive any refund checks. 
• Bind you to anything (including additional tax liabilities).

Q. What is the tax gap? 

The tax gap is the difference between taxes owed and paid.  
It continues to receive a lot of attention at both the state and 
federal levels. We estimate it costs California $6.5 billion a 
year in lost tax revenue. Economists estimate that honest  
taxpayers pay nearly 15 to 20 percent more in taxes each 
year because of taxpayers who fail to pay what they owe. 

Most of the tax gap comes from people and businesses that 
underreport their income or overstate their deductions. 

You can now help solve the tax gap by reporting suspected 
tax fraud. Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and use our new 
online “Report Tax Fraud” service or call our Informant  
Hotline at 800.540.FILE (3453).

To encourage people to pay what they owe, we publish an  
annual list of the largest 250 tax debtors who owe $100,000  
or more. This list is updated each spring. 

We are also concentrating on conducting criminal investigations 
and prosecutions of tax evasion, fraud, and employee  
misconduct to encourage compliance and maintain the public’s 
trust. Approximately 98 percent of our criminal prosecutions 
resulted in convictions and included sentences to prison,  
jail, or probation.

Q. If I want to prepare my own tax return, how do I get started? 

For many people, it’s not that hard. For those of you who 
want to prepare your own state tax return, remember: we are 
here to help. Some points to keep in mind are: 

• Gather the needed documents to prepare your state tax
return, such as W-2s and 1099s to report your income.  
If you have tax deductions, gather those documents as well, 
such as property tax payment records, mortgage interest 
expense, charitable contributions, etc. 

• Complete your federal tax return first. That’s because 
the California tax return starts with your federal adjusted 
gross income. 

Follow the instructions on the California tax return. To arrive at 
California taxable income, you start with your federal adjusted 
gross income and then make adjustments for differences 
between federal and state law. 

If you don’t know, don’t guess. Contact us for answers to your 
tax questions. 

Q. Where can I get tax help? 

Internet/Toll Free Phone Services  
Our web address is ftb.ca.gov. 

Our toll-free automated phone line is 800.338.0505.

If you need to speak with a customer service representative, 
call us at 800.852.5711. We are ready to answer your  
questions from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday, 
except state holidays. 

Field Offices  
If you want to see us in person, visit one of our six field offices 
located throughout California. Our office hours are Monday 
through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. We offer walk-in service in 
Los Angeles, Oakland, Sacramento, San Diego, San Francisco, 
and Santa Ana.

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance  
We also have lots of free help available through the  
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance and Tax Counseling for  
the Elderly programs. 

www.ftb.ca.gov
www.ftb.ca.gov
www.ftb.ca.gov
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Q. What is the volunteer program? 

This program is staffed with trained volunteers at more than 
1,000 sites throughout California. Our volunteers provide  
free help with electronic filing or completing tax forms for  
low-income, senior, disabled, and non-English speaking persons 
who need to file simple federal and state tax returns. 

Starting February 1 through April 15, you can search for  
the location closest to you online at ftb.ca.gov by zip code, 
city, or county.

Many military bases also provide this service for the U.S. 
Armed Forces. Check our website or call us to find a location 
nearest you. 

Q. What if I want to use a Tax Return Preparer?

If you decide to use an income tax preparer, you may want  
to read FTB Pamphlet 982 - How to Select an Income Tax 
Return Preparer. It offers tips from the IRS and us about 
selecting someone you can trust. Remember, it is you, the 
taxpayer, who is held responsible for the accuracy of your  
tax return information. 

Q. What tax credits are available to reduce my tax bill? 

We have several credits that many people can use to lower 
their taxes. 

Personal Exemption Credit  
This year’s credit totals $99 per person and $198 for married 
couples and registered domestic partners. Seniors who are 
65 years or older and blind individuals receive double the 
individual amount. 

Dependent Exemption Credit  
Families can reduce their tax bill by $309 for each dependent. 

Renter’s Credit  
Single renters can claim a $60 credit if their adjusted gross 
income is $34,936 or less. Married couples, registered  
domestic partners, or head of household filers can claim 
$120 if their adjusted gross income is $69,872 or less. 

Child & Dependent Care Expenses Credit  
For individuals who pay for dependent care to seek or  
maintain employment, this credit provides up to $1,050. 

Federal Earned Income Tax Credit  
This is a federal incentive for low-income individuals and 
families. Taxpayers earning less than $41,646 can qualify  
for a “refundable” credit that can total up to $4,824. 

“Refundable” means that you do not have to have a tax liability 
to get a refund check from the government. If you think you 
might qualify, visit the IRS’ Website at irs.gov and search for 
EITC Assistant. California has no comparable state credit. 

Q. What are the common errors and how do I avoid them? 

The most common errors are claiming the wrong estimated 
tax payments, exemption credits, and making tax computation 
errors. To avoid these errors, we suggest you: 

• Visit our website and select My FTB Account to verify the
amounts we have on record for your estimated tax payments, 
wage and withholding information, and your current  
balance due.  

• Accurately add and transfer your total exemption credits to
the correct line of the tax return.

• Double-check your math. 
• Have your refund deposited directly into your bank account.

It’s faster, safer, and more convenient than waiting for a check. 

Q. What should I do if I find I cannot file by April 15?

No problem. All taxpayers get an automatic six-month filing 
extension to October 15. Note: The extension is only for filing 
the return and not for payment of any taxes that may be due. 
Be sure to pay by April 15 to avoid penalties and interest.  

Q. What if I owe and can’t pay? 

First, always file on time and pay as much as you can with 
the return. This will save you money in penalties and interest. 
We realize that unforeseen events occur that prevent you 
from paying your taxes on time. 

If you have a financial hardship and cannot pay your taxes in 
full, you can generally arrange to make monthly installment 
payments if you owe $10,000 or less and can repay it within 
three years. If you owe more than $10,000 and less than 
$25,000, call us at 800.689.4776 between 7:30 a.m. and  
6 p.m., Monday through Friday, except state holidays.  

You can apply online or by mail. Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov 
and search for “installment agreement.” We can approve 
most requests within a few days. 

For more information, call 800.689.4776. 

You may also want to consider paying by credit card. We accept 
Visa, MasterCard, Discover/NOVUS, and American Express. 

• Use your touch-tone phone to call toll-free 888.2PAY.TAX
or 888.272.9829. 

• Or, visit Official Payments Corporation’s website at: 
officialpayments.com. 

Keep in mind that service providers will charge you a  
convenience fee for this service based on the amount charged. 

We also have California and federal wage withholding calculators 
on our website; search for “withholding calculators.” It is a 
good idea to use these to help calculate the proper amount of 
withholding from your paycheck to ensure you don’t have too 
much or too little tax withheld. 

www.ftb.ca.gov
www.ftb.ca.gov
www.officialpayments.com
www.irs.gov
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Q. What do I do if I made an error on my return,forgot to
claim a deduction, or received a late W-2? 

You can correct your California tax return by filing Form 540X, 
Amended Individual Income Tax Return. Amended returns  
do take longer to process than original returns. 

For simple math errors or missing documents, you generally 
do not need to file an amended return, as we typically correct 
math errors when we process the return. We will contact you 
about any missing documents. 

Q. What should I do if I changed my address during the year? 

Notify us immediately! Either write or call, but be sure we 
have your current address, even if you leave the state. You 
can use Form 3533, Change of Address, to send us your  
new mailing address. 

Each year millions of dollars in refund checks are returned  
to us as undeliverable by the U.S. Post Office. This is  
generally because taxpayers have moved between the times 
they filed their taxes and the refunds were mailed. Refund 
checks are not forwarded by the Post Office.

Q. Why do I have to file separate federal and California returns? 

Federal tax laws differ from California tax laws, which is why 
you need to file separate tax returns for each government 
agency. To make it as easy as possible, California’s return 
starts with federal adjusted gross income and then makes 
adjustments for state differences. 

Q. Do I have to attach a copy of my federal return to my 
state return? 

If you file a 540 2EZ or 540A, the answer is always no. If you 
file a 540 and attach schedules other than Schedule A or B to 
your return, you must attach a complete copy of your federal 
return to the California Form 540. 

Q. What form do I file if I moved into or out of California? 

You need to complete a nonresident or part-year resident 
return for the year you moved. 

Nonresidents and part-year residents can use the 540NR 
long or short form. The short form is for those whose income 
is made up mostly from wages. 

Depending on the laws of the state that you moved to or  
from, you may have to file a return for that state too. If you  
are reporting the same income to two states, California has  
agreements with nearly all the states to allow a credit for the 
tax paid when the same income is taxed by both states. 

Q. When or why does the Franchise Tax Board do audits? 

We select returns for audit to verify the correctness of income, 
exemptions, credits, and deductions. Most returns are 
computer selected based on the information reported on the 
return and information we receive from third parties. 

Q. What do I need to do if the IRS audited me?

Once your IRS audit is done, you should let us know within six 
months. You have the option of filing an amended tax return 
or sending us copies of the federal changes. We eventually 
receive federal audit information, but notifying us as quickly as 
possible will save you money in interest and penalties. 

For more information, refer to FTB Publication 1008 - Federal 
Tax Adjustments and Your Notification Responsibilities to 
California, online or call 916.845.4028 for assistance.

Q. What do I do when I receive mail from FTB? 

Most notices you receive from us are to inform you of changes 
we made. You do not need to do anything. However, if we are 
asking for information, be sure to respond. 

Information notices include:
• Notice of Tax Change 
• Return Information Notice

We send these notices after we find and correct one or more 
errors while processing your tax return.

Q. What is use tax and how do I know if I owe it? 

California residents are required to pay California use tax on 
purchases made from out-of-state sellers, such as by telephone, 
over the Internet, by mail, or in person if: 

• The seller does not collect California sales or use tax.
• You use, give away, store, or consume the item in California. 

Visit the Board of Equalization’s website at boe.ca.gov for 
more details. 

Q. What can I do if I think the FTB is being unreasonable? 

Contact us. We equip our employees to help you with your 
problems. If you feel that you are unable to resolve your  
problem through normal channels, we have a Taxpayers’ 
Rights Advocate. You can contact the advocate’s office by: 

Mail: TAXPAYERS’ RIGHTS ADVOCATE 
EXECUTIVE LIAISON SECTION 
PO BOX 157 
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0157 

Phone: 800.883.5910
Fax: 916.845.6614

www.boe.ca.gov
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Q. Any last minute thoughts you want to leave with us today? 

ReadyReturn—Your free California tax return may already be 
done! Check our website to see if we have one waiting for you. 

e-file and use direct deposit to get your tax refund fast—generally 
within seven days. FTB’s ReadyReturn and CalFile are no-cost, 
easy-to-use filing options.

If you owe tax, consider using Web Pay, which allows you  
to authorize a payment from your bank account on a specific 
date to satisfy a return balance due or extension payment. 
Pay on or before April 15 to avoid penalties and interest. 

After you file, be sure to keep a copy of your tax return and 
all supporting records. We may request information from you 
regarding your tax return at any time within the California 
statute of limitations period, which is generally four years from 
the due date of the return. 

Tax Trivia: Did you know?

Californians file more than 16 million tax returns annually and 
contribute nearly $55 billion toward the state’s general fund. 

Last year 10.5 million Californians received refunds  
averaging $800. 

The most common tax error concerns estimated tax payments, 
followed by calculating the number of exemptions incorrectly, 
and picking up the incorrect amount of tax from the tax tables. 

Last year 10.5 million California returns, or about 67 percent 
of the total, were filed electronically. 

FTB was established in 1929 to administer the new Bank 
and Corporation Franchise Tax Act. The first year California 
taxpayers had to file a state tax return was 1935. 

Tax Assistance Telephone Numbers  
Automated Toll-Free Phone Service: 800.338.0505

• Listen to recorded answers to frequently asked tax questions.
• Order state tax forms. 
• Find out about your refund status. 
• Verify your balance due/payments made. 
• Check to see if you qualify for ReadyReturn.

Taxpayers can refer to the back of their tax booklet for  
instructions on using our automated phone service. 

General Toll-Free Phone Service: 800.852.5711

If you prefer to speak to someone, call us on our general  
toll-free tax assistance line open Monday through Friday  
from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. 

Federal Tax Questions: 800.829.1040

Website: ftb.ca.gov 

• E-file your tax return for free using ReadyReturn, CalFile,
or other online filing service. 

• Check your refund status. 
• Check your account status for payments made or a

balance due. 
• Choose a payment option, including WebPay. 
• Apply for an installment payment plan. 
• Request an email reminder to file or to make estimated 

tax payments. 
• Find answers to frequently asked questions. 
• Get tax forms and publications. 
• Research legal rulings, reports, statistics, and much more. 

Field Offices 

Los Angeles ................................300 S. Spring St. 
Oakland .....................................1515 Clay St. 
Sacramento ................................3321 Power Inn Rd. 
San Diego ..................................7575 Metropolitan Dr. 
San Francisco .............................121 Spear St. 
Santa Ana ..................................600 W. Santa Ana Blvd. 

Field office hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
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www.ftb.ca.gov

