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Do I Have to File? 
Steps to Determine Filing Requirement
Step 1: Is your gross income (all income received from all sources in the form 
of money, goods, property, and services that are not exempt from tax) more 
than the amount shown in the California Gross Income chart on the next page 
for your filing status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing 
requirement. If no, go to Step 2.

Step 2: Is your adjusted gross income (federal adjusted gross income from all 
sources reduced or increased by all California income adjustments) more than the 
amount shown in the California Adjusted Gross Income chart on the next page 
for your filing status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing 
requirement. If no, go to Step 3.
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Important Due Dates
When the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline to file and pay without penalty is extended to the next business day.

April 15, 2009 Last day to file and pay the 2008 amount you owe to avoid penalties and interest.* See form FTB 3519 on page 41 for more information.
*If you are living or traveling outside the United States on April 15, 2009, the due dates for filing your return and paying your tax are different. See form FTB 3519 
on page 41 for more information.

October 15, 2009 Last day to file or e-file your 2008 return to avoid penalties and interest computed from the original due date of April 15, 2009.

April 15, 2009
June 15, 2009
September 15, 2009
January 15, 2010

Due dates for 2009 estimated tax payments. Generally, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if your California withholding in 
each payment period totals 90% of your required annual payment. Also, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if you will pay 
enough through withholding to keep the amount you owe with your return under $500 ($250 if married/registered domestic partner (RDP) 
filing separately). However, if you do not pay enough tax either through withholding or by making estimated tax payments, you may have an 
underpayment penalty. See Form 540-ES instructions on page 45 for more information.
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$$$ for You
Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) – EITC reduces your federal tax obligation, or 
allows a refund if no federal tax is due. You qualify if:
•	 You earned less than $38,646 ($41,646 if married filing jointly) and have 

qualifying children.
•	 You have no qualifying children and you earned less than $12,880 ($15,880 if 

married filing jointly).
Call the IRS at 800.829.4477, when instructed enter topic 601, see your federal 
income tax booklet, or go to the IRS website at irs.gov and search for eitc 
assistant. Currently, no comparable state credit exists.
Refund of Excess State Disability Insurance (SDI) – If you worked for at least 
two employers during 2008 who together paid you more than $86,698 in wages 
may qualify for a refund of excess SDI. See the instructions on page 15.

Common Errors and How to Prevent Them
Help us process your return quickly and accurately. When we find an error, 
it requires us to stop to verify the information on the return, which slows 
processing. The most common errors consist of:
•	 Claiming the wrong amount of estimated tax payments
•	 Claiming the wrong amount of standard deduction or itemized deductions
•	 Making tax computation errors
•	 Calculating the wrong amount of total credits
To avoid errors and help process your return faster, use these helpful hints when 
preparing your return.

Claiming estimated tax payments:
•	 Verify the amount of estimated tax payments claimed on your return 

matches what you sent to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) for that year. Go to 
our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for myftb account to view your total 
estimated tax payments before you file your return.

•	 Verify the overpayment amount from your 2007 tax return you requested to 
be applied to your 2008 estimated tax.

•	 If the FTB records do not match the amount of estimated tax payments 
claimed, a “Return Information Notice” will be sent explaining the difference.

Claiming standard deduction or itemized deductions:
•	 See Form 540/540A, line 18 instructions and worksheets for the amount of 

standard deduction or itemized deductions you can claim.

Computing your tax:
•	 Verify the total tax amount on Form 540/540A, line 34 is calculated correctly.
•	 Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for tax calculator to compute your 

tax with the tax calculator or with the tax tables.
•	 Locate the correct tax amount from the tax table (page 21) and transfer it to 

your return correctly.
•	 Verify any affected schedule to ensure that the total tax amount is correctly 

transferred over.

Calculating total credits:
•	 Verify the total credits on Form 540/540A, line 29 to ensure the amount is 

calculated correctly.
By using the helpful hints above, you assist in preventing delays in processing 
your return and unnecessary account adjustments.

(continued on next page)
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Requirements for Children with 
Investment Income
Federal law allows parents’ election to report a child’s interest and dividend 
income from a child 18 and under or a student under age 24 on their return. 
California allows you to report your child’s interest and dividend income on 
your return if they are under age 14. For each child under age 14 who received 
more than $1,800 of investment income in 2008, complete Form 540 and form 
FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children Under Age 14 with Investment Income, 
to figure the tax on a separate Form 540 for your child.
If you qualify, you may elect to report your child’s income of $9,000 or less (but 
not less than $900) on your return by completing form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election 
to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. To make this election, your child’s income 
must be only from interest and/or dividends. To get form FTB 3800 or FTB 3803, 
see “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67 or go to our website at ftb.ca.gov.

Other Situations When You Must File
If you have a tax liability for 2008 or owe any of the following taxes for 2008, you 
must file Form 540.
•	 Tax on a lump-sum distribution.
•	 Tax on a qualified retirement plan including an Individual Retirement 

Arrangement (IRA) or an Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA).
•	 Tax for children under age 14 who have investment income greater than 

$1,800 (see paragraph above).
•	 Alternative minimum tax.
•	 Recapture taxes.
•	 Deferred tax on certain installment obligations.
•	 Tax on an accumulation distribution from a trust.

Filing Status
Use the same filing status for California that you used for your federal income tax 
return, unless you are in a same-sex marriage (explained under What’s New on 
page 4) or a registered domestic partnership (RDP). If you are a same-sex married 
individual or an RDP and file single for federal, you must file married/RDP filing 
jointly or married/RDP filing separately for California. If you are a same-sex married 
individual or an RDP and file head of household for federal purposes, you may file 
head of household for California purposes only if you meet the requirements to be 
considered unmarried or considered not in a domestic partnership.
Exception: If you file a joint return for federal purposes, you may file separately 
for California if either spouse was:
•	 An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary military 

branch during 2008.
•	 A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California sources 

during 2008.
	 Community Property States: If the spouse earning the California source 

income is domiciled in a community property state, community income will 
be split equally between the spouses. Both spouses will have California source 
income and they will not qualify for the nonresident spouse exception. If you 
had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for California that 
you would have used to file a federal income tax return.

If you filed a joint return and either you or your spouse/RDP was a nonresident 
for 2008, file the Long or Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year 
Resident Income Tax Return.

Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) – RDPs under California law must file 
their California income tax return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or 
married/RDP filing separately filing status. RDPs have the same legal benefits, 
protections, and responsibilities as married couples unless otherwise specified.
If you entered into a same sex legal union in another state, other than a marriage, 
and that union has been determined to be substantially equivalent to a California 
registered domestic partnership, you are required to file a California income tax 
return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately 
filing status. For more information on what states have legal unions that are 
considered substantially equivalent, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search 
for rdp.
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, a husband, or a 
wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP), unless otherwise 
specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to both a California registered 
domestic “partner” and a California registered domestic “partnership,” as 
applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for 
Registered Domestic Partners. 

Single – If any of the following was true on December 31, 2008:
•	 You were not married or an RDP.
•	 You were divorced under a final decree of divorce, legally separated under a final 

decree of legal separation, or terminated your registered domestic partnership.
•	 You were widowed before January 1, 2008, and did not remarry or enter into 

another registered domestic partnership in 2008.

Married/RDP Filing Jointly – If any of the following is true:
•	 You were married or an RDP as of December 31, 2008, even if you did not live 

with your spouse/RDP at the end of 2008.
•	 Your spouse/RDP died in 2008 and you did not remarry or enter into another 

registered domestic partnership in 2008.
•	 Your spouse/RDP died in 2009 before you filed a 2008 return.

Married/RDP Filing Separately 
•	 Community property rules apply to the division of income if you use 

the married/RDP filing separately status. For more information, get FTB 
Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status, FTB Pub. 737, Tax 
Information for Registered Domestic Partners, FTB Pub. 776, Tax Information 
for Same-Sex Married Couples, FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married/RDP 
Filing Separate Returns, or FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military 
Personnel. See “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67.

•	 You cannot claim a personal exemption credit for your spouse/RDP even if 
your spouse/RDP had no income, is not filing a return, and is not claimed as a 
dependent on another person’s return.

•	 You may be able to file as head of household if your child lived with you and you 
lived apart from your spouse/RDP during the entire last six months of 2008.

Head of Household is for unmarried individuals and certain married individuals 
or RDPs living apart who provide a home for a specified relative. You are entitled 
to use head of household filing status only if ALL of the following apply:
•	 You were unmarried and not in a registered domestic partnership, or you met 

the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered not in a registered 
domestic partnership on December 31, 2008.

•	 You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up your home for the year in 
2008.

On 12/31/08,
my filing status was:

and on 12/31/08,
my age was: 
(If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 
2009, you are considered to be age 65 on 
December 31, 2008)

California Gross Income California Adjusted Gross Income
Dependents Dependents

0 1
2

or more 0 1
2

or more

Single or
Head of household 

Under 65
65 or older

14,845
19,795

25,145
27,520

32,870
33,700

11,876
16,826

22,176
24,551

29,901
30,731

Married/RDP filing jointly
Married/RDP filing separately
(The income of both spouses/RDPs must 
be combined; both spouses/RDPs may be 
required to file a tax return even if only one 
spouse/RDP had income over the amounts 
listed.)

Under 65 (both spouses/RDPs)
65 or older (one spouse/RDP)
65 or older (both spouses/RDPs)

29,690
34,640
39,590

39,990
42,365
47,315

47,715
48,545
53,495

23,752
28,702
33,652

34,052
36,427
41,377

41,777
42,607
47,557

Qualifying widow(er) Under 65
65 or older

25,145
27,520

32,870
33,700

22,176
24,551

29,901
30,731

Dependent of another person 
Any filing status

Any age More than your standard deduction (Use the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for
Dependents on page 11 or page 12 to figure your standard deduction.)

(continued on next page)

Step 3: If your income is less than the amounts on the chart you may still have a 
filing requirement. See “Requirements for Children with Investment Income” and 
“Other Situations When You Must File” on this page.  Do those instructions apply 
to you? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, go to Step 4.

Step 4: Are you married/RDP filing separately with separate property income?  If 
no, you do not have a filing requirement.  If yes, prepare a return. If you owe tax, 
you have a filing requirement.

Do I Have to File? (continued)
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What’s New and Other Important Information for 2008
Differences between California and Federal Law
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 
2005. However, there are continuing differences between California and federal law. 
When California conforms to federal tax law changes, we do not always adopt all of 
the changes made at the federal level. For more information, go to our website at 
ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. Additional information can be found in FTB 
Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for 
California Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), and the Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of California 
tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing their state income 
tax returns. We include information that is most useful to the greatest number 
of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is not possible to include all 
requirements of the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax 
booklets. Taxpayers should not consider the tax booklets as authoritative law.

2008 Tax Law Changes/What’s New
Electronic Payments – Taxpayers are required to remit their payments 
electronically if they make an estimated or extension payment exceeding $20,000 
for taxable year 2009 or the total tax liability shown on their original 2009 tax 
return exceeds $80,000. Once you meet the threshold, all payments regardless 
of amount, tax type or taxable year must be remitted electronically. Electronic 
payments can be made using Web Pay on FTB’s website, by using electronic funds 
withdrawal (EFW) as part of the e-file return, or by using your credit card. For 
more information go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for mandatory epay.
Any taxpayer required to remit a payment electronically who makes a payment by 
other means, shall pay a penalty of one percent of the amount paid, unless it is 
shown that the failure to make a payment as required was for a reasonable cause 
and was not the result of willful neglect.
Net Operating Loss – For taxable years beginning in 2008 and 2009, California 
has suspended the net operating loss (NOL) carryover deduction. Taxpayers 
may continue to compute and carryover an NOL during the suspension period. 
However, taxpayers with net business income of less than $500,000 or with 
disaster loss carryovers are not affected by the NOL suspension rules.
The carryover period for suspended losses is extended by:
•	 Two years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning before January 1, 2008.
•	 One year for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 

2008, and before January 1, 2009. 
Also, NOL carrybacks, NOL carryovers, and the number of taxable years to which 
the loss may be carried, are modified. For more information, see form FTB 3805V, 
Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss Limitations 
– Individuals.
Business tax credit limitation – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2008, and before January 1, 2010, there is a limitation on the application of business 
tax credits for taxpayers whose net business income is $500,000 or more. The 
limitation is equal to 50 percent of the net tax before the application of any credits.
Third Party Designee – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, 
you can designate a third party to discuss your tax return with the Franchise Tax 
Board (FTB). For more information, go to the instructions on page 19.
Conformity – For updates regarding the following federal acts, go to our website 
at ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity.
•	 Economic Stimulus Act of 2008
•	 Heroes Earnings and Assistance Relief Tax (HEART) Act of 2008
Rice Straw Credit – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, 
the Rice Straw Credit has expired. Unused carryover credits are taken on form 
FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary.
Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief – California partially conforms to the federal 
Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007 (P.L. 110-142) for the 2007 and 
2008 tax years. California limits the amount of qualified principal residence 
indebtedness to $800,000 ($400,000 for married/RDP filing separately)(the 
federal limit is $2,000,000/$1,000,000 for MFS) and debt relief to $250,000 

Do I Have to File? (continued)

($125,000 for married/RDP filing separately). For more information, go to our 
website at ftb.ca.gov and search for mortgage forgiveness.
Estimated Tax Payments – Installments due for each taxable year beginning 
on or after January 1, 2009 are now required to be 30 percent of the required 
estimated tax liability for the 1st and 2nd required installments and 20 percent of 
the required estimated tax liability for the 3rd and 4th required installments. Prior 
to this law change, installments were made in four equal (25%) payments.
Taxpayers with adjusted gross income over $1,000,000 ($500,000 for married/
RDP filing separately) may no longer compute estimate payments based on 100% 
of the tax shown on the return of the preceding year.
Taxpayers with a tax liability less than $500 ($250 for married/RDP filing 
separately) do not need to make estimated tax payments.
Voluntary Contributions – For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2008, you may contribute to the following new funds:
•	 California Ovarian Cancer Research Fund
•	 Municipal Shelter Spay-Neuter Fund
•	 California Cancer Research Fund
•	 ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease Research Fund
Same-Sex Married Couples – Married couples must file their California income 
tax returns using either the married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing 
separately filing status. Same-sex couple marriages performed in California on 
June 16, 2008 and before November 5, 2008 have been recognized as valid 
marriages for California purposes. For more information, get FTB Pub. 776, Tax 
Information for Same‑Sex Married Couples.
Proposition 8 was approved by the voters on November 4, 2008, and it provides 
that “only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in 
California.” Lawsuits challenging the Proposition have been filed. To find updates 
and information about the filing status to be used on your 2008 return, go to our 
website at ftb.ca.gov and search for same sex married couples or get FTB Pub. 
776, Tax Information for Same-Sex Married Couples.
Riverside County Wind Damage – For tax treatment information for victims of 
extremely strong and damaging winds that occurred in October 2007 in Riverside 
county, get FTB Pub. 1034, How to Claim a State Tax Deduction for Your Disaster 
Loss.  
Humboldt County Fire and California Wildfires 2008 – For tax treatment information 
for victims of the Humboldt county fire that occurred in May 2008 or wildfires that 
occurred in Butte, Kern, Mariposa, Mendocino, Monterey, Plumas, Santa Barbara, 
Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, and Trinity counties, get FTB Pub. 1034. 
Inyo Complex Fire – For tax treatment information for victims of the Inyo 
Complex Fire and subsequent damage that occurred as a result of severe 
rainstorms in July 2008, get FTB Pub. 1034.
Southern California Wildfires 2008 – For tax treatment information for victims 
of the Tea Fire in Santa Barbara county, the Sayre fire in Los Angeles county, 
and Triangle Complex (formerly named Freeway Complex) fire in Orange and 
Riverside counties that occurred in November 2008, get FTB Pub. 1034.

Other Important Information
Round Cents to Dollars – Round cents to the nearest whole dollar. For example, 
round $50.50 up to $51 or round $25.49 down to $25. If you do not round, the 
FTB will disregard the cents. This helps process your return quickly and accurately.
Direct Deposit Refund – You can request a direct deposit refund on your tax 
return whether you e-file or file a paper return. Be sure to fill in the routing and 
account numbers carefully and double-check the numbers for accuracy to avoid it 
being rejected by your bank. 
ReadyReturn – If you are single and your income is only from wages, you 
may qualify for ReadyReturn. It simplifies the filing process by pre-filling a tax 
return with information the state already has. For more information and to see 
if you qualify, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for readyreturn or 
call 800.338.0505.

(continued on page 7)

•	 For more than half the year, your home was the main home for you and one 
of the specified relatives who by law can qualify you for head of household 
filing status.

•	 You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.
Beginning in 2005, for a child to qualify as your foster child for head of 
household purposes, the child must either be placed with you by an authorized 
placement agency or by order of a court.
If you are unmarried, your unmarried child no longer qualifies you for head of 
household filing status if he or she is 19 years of age or older, is not a student, 
and has gross income equal to or greater than the federal exemption amount 
($3,500 in 2008). In addition, if you are unmarried, your unmarried child also 
no longer qualifies you for the status if he or she is under 19 years of age or a 
student under 24 and pays more than half of his or her own support.

For more information, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov or get FTB Pub. 1540, 
California Head of Household Filing Status. See code 934 on page 67 to order 
FTB Pub.1540 by telephone.
Qualifying Widow(er) with Dependent Child
Fill in the circle on line 5 and use the joint return tax rates for 2008 if all five of 
the following apply:
•	 Your spouse/RDP died in 2006 or 2007 and you did not remarry or enter into 

another registered domestic partnership in 2008.
•	 You have a child, stepchild, adopted child, or foster child whom you can claim 

as a dependent.
•	 This child lived in your home for all of 2008. Temporary absences, such as for 

vacation or school, count as time lived in the home.
•	 You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for this child.
•	 You could have filed a joint return with your spouse/RDP the year he or she 

died, even if you actually did not do so.



Which Form Should I Use?

Form 540 2EZ Form 540A Form 540

Filing Status

Dependents

Amount of Income

Sources of Income

Adjustments to 
Income

Standard Deduction
Itemized Deductions

Payments

Tax Credits

Other Taxes

Single, married/RDP filing jointly, head 
of household, qualifying widow(er)

0-3 allowed

Total income of:
•	 $100,000 or less if single or head of 

household
•	 $200,000 or less if married/RDP filing 

jointly or qualifying widow(er)

Only income from:
•	 Wages, salaries, and tips
•	 Taxable interest, dividends, and pensions
•	 Taxable scholarship and fellowship 

grants (only if reported on Form(s) W‑2)
•	 Capital gains from mutual funds 

(reported on Form 1099DIV, box 2a only)
•	 Unemployment compensation reported 

on Form 1099-G
•	 Paid Family Leave Insurance
•	 U.S. social security benefits
•	 Tier 1 and tier 2 railroad retirement 

payments
You cannot use Form 540 2EZ if you 
(or your spouse/RDP) can be claimed 
as a dependent by another taxpayer, 
and your TOTAL income is less than or 
equal to $12,242 if single; $24,434 if 
married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying 
widow(er); or $17,334 if head of 
household.

No adjustments to income

Allowed

No itemized deductions

Only withholding shown on 
Form(s) W-2 , CA Sch W-2, or 1099-R

•	 Personal exemption credit
•	 Up to three dependent exemption 	
	 credits
•	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit
•	 Senior exemption credit

Only tax computed using the 
540 2EZ Table

Any filing status

All dependents you are entitled to claim

Any amount of income

Only income from:
•	 Wages, salaries, and tips
•	 Taxable scholarship and fellowship grants
•	 Interest and dividends
•	 Unemployment compensation
	 reported on Form 1099-G
•	 Paid Family Leave Insurance
•	 U.S. social security benefits
•	 Tier 1 and tier 2 railroad 

retirement payments
•	 Fully and partially taxable IRA 

distributions, pensions, and annuities
•	 Alimony

Allowed if the amount is the same as your 
federal adjustments to income. 
If you claimed educator expenses or the 
tuition and fees deduction, do not file 
Form 540A. Instead file Form 540. 

Allowed

Allowed if the amount is the same as your 
federal itemized deductions (except for 
state, local, and foreign taxes paid)

•	 Withholding shown on Form(s) W-2, 
CA Sch W-2, and 1099-R

•	 Estimated tax payments
•	 Payments made with extension 

voucher
•	 Excess State Disability Insurance
	 (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability
	 Insurance (VPDI)

•	 Personal exemption credit
•	 Senior exemption credit
•	 Blind exemption credit
•	 Dependent exemption credit
•	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit
•	 Child and Dependent Care Expenses 	

Credit

•	 Tax computed using the tax table
•	 Mental Health Services Tax

Any filing status

All dependents you are entitled to 
claim

Any amount of income

All sources of income

All adjustments to income

Allowed

All itemized deductions

•	 Withholding shown on  
Form(s) W‑2, CA Sch W-2, W-2G, 
1099, 592-B, 593, and 594

•	 Estimated tax payments
•	 Payments made with 

extension voucher
•	 Excess State Disability 

Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary 
Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI)

All tax credits

All taxes:
•	 Tax computed using the tax table
•	 Alternative minimum tax
•	 Tax on early distributions from
	 IRAs or other qualified 

retirement plans
•	 Tax on distributions from MSAs 

and education IRAs
•	 Tax for children under age 14 

with investment income of more 
than $1,800

•	 Tax on lump-sum distributions
•	 Recapture taxes
•	 Deferred tax on certain 

installment obligations
•	 Tax on accumulation 

distributions of trusts
•	 Mental Health Services Tax 

Personal Income Tax Booklet  2008  Page 5

Were you and your spouse/RDP residents during the entire year 2008?
Yes.	Check the chart below to see which form to use. 
No.	 Use the Long or Short Form 540NR. To download or order the California Nonresident or Part‑Year Resident 

Income Tax Booklet, see page 7, “Where to Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

e-file and you won’t have to 
decide which form to use! 
The software will select the 
correct form for you.

If you qualify to use 540 2EZ or 540A, go to our website 
at ftb.ca.gov to CalFile or e-file. You qualify for free!

✓Tip

✓Tip

Form not included in this booklet. If you 
qualify to use Form 540 2EZ, see “Where To 
Get Income Tax Forms and Publications” 
on page 7 to download or order this form.
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Additional Information
California Use Tax General Information
The use tax has been in effect in California since July 1, 1935. It applies to 
purchases from out-of-state sellers and is similar to the sales tax paid on 
purchases you make in California. If you have not already paid all use tax due to 
the State Board of Equalization, you must report and pay the use tax due on your 
state income tax return. See the information below and the instructions for line 49 
of your income tax return.
In general, you should pay California use tax on purchases made from out‑of‑state 
(for example, by telephone, over the Internet, by mail, or in person) if:
•	 The seller does not collect California sales or use tax.
•	 You use, give away, store, or consume the item in this state.
Example: You live in California and purchase a dining table from a company in 
North Carolina. The company ships the table from North Carolina to your home 
for your use and does not charge California sales or use tax. You owe use tax on 
the purchase.
Complete the Use Tax Worksheet on page 17 to calculate the amount due.
Extensions to file. If you request an extension to file your income tax return, wait 
until you file your return to report your purchases subject to use tax and make 
your use tax payment.
Penalty. To avoid late payment penalties for use tax, you must report and pay the 
use tax with a timely filed income tax return.
Changes in use tax reported. Do not file an Amended Income Tax Return 
(Form 540X) to revise the use tax previously reported. If you have changes to 
the amount of use tax previously reported on the original return contact the State 
Board of Equalization.
For assistance with your use tax questions, go to the State Board of Equalization’s 
website at boe.ca.gov or call their Taxpayer Information Section at 800.400.7115 
or TTY/TDD 800.735.2929. Income tax information is not available at this number.

Collection Fees
The FTB is required to assess collection and filing enforcement cost recovery fees 
on delinquent accounts.

Deceased Taxpayers
A final return must be filed for a person who died in 2008 if a return normally 
would be required. The administrator or executor, if one is appointed, or 
beneficiary must file the return. Print “deceased” and the date of death next to the 
taxpayer’s name at the top of the return.
If you are a surviving spouse/RDP and no administrator or executor has been 
appointed, file a joint return if you did not remarry or enter into another registered 
domestic partnership during 2008. Indicate next to your signature that you are 
the surviving spouse/RDP.
You may also file a joint return with an administrator or executor acting on behalf 
of the deceased taxpayer.
If you file a return and claim a refund due to a deceased taxpayer, you are 
certifying under penalty of perjury either that you are the legal representative of 
the deceased taxpayer’s estate (in this case, attach certified copies of the letters 
of administration or letters testamentary) or that you are entitled to the refund 
as the deceased’s surviving relative or sole beneficiary under the provisions of 
the California Probate Code. You must also attach a copy of federal Form 1310, 
Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, or a copy of the 
death certificate when you file a return and claim a refund due.

Innocent Spouse Relief
You may qualify for relief from liability for tax on a joint return if (1) you were 
granted Innocent Spouse Relief by the IRS, (2) there is an understatement of tax 
because you are divorced, legally separated, terminated the registered domestic 
partnership or no longer living with your spouse/RDP, and (3) given all the facts 
and circumstances, it would be unfair to hold you liable for the tax. For more 
information, get FTB Pub. 705, Request for Innocent Spouse Relief Form and 
Brochure, by going to our website at ftb.ca.gov or calling 916.845.7072 (not 
toll‑free), Monday - Friday between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. except holidays.

Registered Domestic Partners
If you are an RDP and need more information on how to file your return, get FTB 
Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.

Military Personnel
If you are a member of the military and need additional information on how to 
file your return, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel. See 
“Order Forms and Publications” on page 67.

Homeowner and Renter Assistance
This California program provides a once-a-year State payment to qualifying 
homeowners and renters based on the property tax they paid in the prior year. 
Important update: The state budget approved for the 2008/2009 fiscal year 
deleted funding for the Homeowner and Renter Assistance Program. Since there 
is no funding in the state budget for this program, 2008 claims cannot be paid. 
The FTB will continue to accept 2008 claims and will hold them in the event that 
funding later becomes available. However, at this time there is no expectation that 
there will be any funds available to pay those claims. 
The filing period for filing a 2008 claim began July 1, 2008, and ends June 30, 
2009. For more information, call 800.868.4171 or go to our website at ftb.ca.gov.

Requesting a Copy of Your Tax Return
The FTB keeps personal income tax returns for three and one-half years from the 
original due date. To obtain a copy of your return, write a letter or complete form 
FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal Income Tax or Fiduciary Return. In most 
cases, a $20 fee is charged for each taxable year you request. However, no charge 
applies for victims of a designated California or federal disaster; or you request 
copies from a field office that assisted you in completing your return. See “Where To 
Get Tax Forms and Publications” on page 7 to download or order form FTB 3516.

Mello-Roos 
You cannot deduct Mello-Roos taxes if they are assessed to fund local benefits 
and improvements that tend to increase the value of your property. Mello-Roos 
taxes may appear on your annual county property tax bill with other deductible 
property taxes. You may only be able to deduct a portion of the total property tax 
shown on your bill. 
For more information, you can:
•	 Contact your Mello-Roos District.
•	 Get federal Publication 17, Your Federal Income Taxes-Individuals, Chapter 22.

Vehicle License Fees for Federal Schedule A
On your federal Schedule A, you may deduct the California motor vehicle license 
fee listed on your Vehicle Registration Billing Notice from the Department of 
Motor Vehicles. The other fees listed on your billing notice such as registration 
fee, weight fee, and county fees are not deductible.

Voting Is Everybody’s Business
You may register to vote if you meet these requirements:
•	 You are a United States citizen.
•	 You are a resident of California.
•	 You will be 18 years old by the date of the next election.
•	 You are not in prison or on parole for the conviction of a felony.
You need to re-register every time you move, change your name, or wish to 
change political parties. In order to vote in an election, you must be registered to 
vote at least 15 days before that election. To obtain a Voter Registration Card, call 
the California Secretary of State’s toll-free voter hotline at 800.345.VOTE or go to 
their website at sos.ca.gov.

It’s Your Right . . . Register and Vote

If You File Electronically
If you e-file your return, make sure all the amounts entered on the paper copy of 
your California return are correct before you sign form FTB 8453, California e-file 
Return Authorization for Individuals, or form FTB 8879, California e-file Signature 
Authorization for Individuals. If you are requesting direct deposit of a refund, 
make sure your account and routing information is correct. Your return can be 
transmitted to FTB by your preparer or electronic e-file service only after you sign 
form FTB 8453 or form FTB 8879. The preparer or electronic e-file service must 
provide you with:
•	 A copy of form FTB 8453 or FTB 8879.
•	 Any original Form(s) W-2, CA Sch W-2CG, W-2G, 592-B, 593 594, 1099-G, 

and other Form(s) 1099 that you provided.
•	 A paper copy of your California tax return showing the data transmitted to the FTB.
You cannot retransmit an e-filed tax return once we’ve accepted the original. You 
can correct an error only by completing Form 540X, Amended Individual Income 
Tax Return, and mailing the paper copy to us. See “Where To Get Income Tax 
Forms and Publications” on page 7.
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How To Get California Tax Information
Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications
By Internet – You can download, view, and print California income tax forms and 
publications from our website at ftb.ca.gov or you may have these forms and 
publications mailed to you. Many of our most frequently used forms may be filed 
electronically, printed out for submission, and saved for record keeping. 
By phone – To order 2006-2008 California tax forms and publications:
•	 Refer to the list on page 67 and find the code number for the form you want 

to order.
•	 Call 800.338.0505.
•	 Select “Personal Income Tax.”
•	 Select “Forms and Publications.”
•	 Enter the three-digit form code when you are instructed.
Allow two weeks to receive your order. If you live outside California, allow three 
weeks to receive your order.
In person – Many post offices and libraries provide free California tax booklets 
during the filing season.
Employees at libraries and post offices cannot provide tax information or 
assistance.
By mail – Write to:
	 TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT 
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
	 PO BOX 307 
	 RANCHO CORDOVA  CA  95741-0307.

Letters
If you write to us, be sure your letter includes your social security number or 
individual taxpayer identification number and your daytime and evening telephone 
numbers. Send your letter to:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO  CA  94240-0040

We will respond to your letter within 10 weeks. In some cases, we may call you 
to respond to your inquiry, or ask you for additional information. Do not attach 
correspondence to your tax return unless the correspondence relates to an item 
on the return.  

Your Rights As A Taxpayer
The FTB’s goals include making certain that your rights are protected so that 
you have the highest confidence in the integrity, efficiency, and fairness of our 
state tax system. FTB Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights, includes 
information on your rights as a California taxpayer, the Taxpayers’ Rights 
Advocate Program, and how to request written advice from the FTB on whether 
a particular transaction is taxable. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and 
Publications,” on this page.

Privacy Notice
Reasons for Information Requests – We ask for return information so that we 
can administer the tax law fairly and correctly.
Rights and Responsibility – You have the right to see our records that contain 
your personal information. To obtain information about your records, you may 
write to:
	 Franchise Tax Board 
	 Disclosure Officer  MS A181 
	 PO Box 1468 
	 Sacramento  CA  95812-1468
or call: 800.852.5711 within the United States, or 916.845.6500 (not toll-free) 
outside of the United States. 
Your Responsibility – California Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 18501 
and 18621 require you to file a return on the forms we prescribe if you meet 
certain requirements. It is mandatory that you furnish all requested information.  
You may be charged penalties and interest, and in certain cases, you may be 
criminally prosecuted if you do not provide the information we ask for, or you 
provide fraudulent information.
Information Disclosures – As provided by law, we may give your tax information 
to other tax officials to determine your tax liability or collect tax amounts 
you owe. If you owe the Franchise Tax Board money we may also give your 
information to employers, financial institutions, county recorders, or others who 
hold assets belonging to you.
For full text of Franchise Tax Board’s Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

The window to your information . . . MyFTB Account 
MyFTB Account is a secure online service allowing you to:
•�	 View estimated tax payments, recent payments made, and the total balance due on your account.  
•�	 Look up your California wage and withholding and FTB-issued 1099-G and 1099-INT records.
•�	 Link to additional services offered by FTB:

•�	Make payments online
•�	Apply for an installment agreement
•�	Check your refund status

•�	Check your e-file return status
•�	Request a paper copy of your filed tax return
•�	Sign-up for  estimated tax payment email reminders

Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for myftb account.

> MyFTB    ACCOUNT
The window to your info

ftb.ca.gov

Withholding on California Real Estate – For transactions occurring on or after 
January 1, 2007, that require withholding, a seller of California real estate may 
elect an alternative to withholding 3 1/3 percent of the total sales price. The seller 
may elect an alternative withholding amount based on the maximum tax rate 
for individuals, corporations, or banks and financial corporations, as applied to 
the gain on the sale. The seller is required to certify under penalty of perjury the 
alternative withholding amount to the FTB. For real estate installment sales, if a 
buyer receives a seller’s certification as to an alternative withholding election, the 
buyer would be required to withhold either the full alternative withholding amount 
at the time of sale or an alternative withholding percentage on the amount of each 
installment payment.
Tax Shelter – If the individual was involved in a reportable transaction, including 
a listed transaction, the individual may have a disclosure requirement. Attach 
federal Form 8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure Statement, to the back of 
the California return along with any other supporting schedules. If this is the first 
time the reportable transaction is disclosed on the return, send a duplicate copy 

of the federal Form 8886 to the address below. The FTB may impose penalties 
if the individual fails to file federal Form 8886, Form 8918, Material Advisor 
Disclosure Statement, or any other required information. A material advisor is 
required to provide a reportable transaction number to all taxpayers and material 
advisors for whom the material advisor acts as a material advisor.
	 ATSU 398  MS F385
	 Franchise Tax Board
	 PO Box 1673
	 Sacramento  CA  95812-9900
For more information, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for tax shelters.
Need help with your return? – We provide free assistance to individuals with 
limited income and/or over the age of 60 who need help in completing simple 
federal and state income tax returns. For more information, go to our website at 
ftb. ca.gov and search for vita.

What’s New and Other Important Information for 2008 (continued from page 4)
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Instructions for Form 540/540A — California Resident Income Tax Return
Reference to these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2005, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before You Begin
Complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040, Form 1040A, 
or Form 1040EZ) before you begin your California Form 540/540A. 
Use information from your federal income tax return to complete your 
Form 540/540A. Complete and mail Form 540/540A by April 15, 2009. If 
unable to mail your tax return by the due date, see page 2.

✓Tip
You may qualify for the federal earned income credit. See 
page 2 for more information. No comparable state credit 
exists.

Filling in Your Tax Return 
•	 Use black or blue ballpoint pen on the tax return you send to the 

Franchise Tax Board (FTB).
•	 Enter your social security number(s) (SSN) or individual taxpayer 

identification number(s) (ITIN) at the top of Form 540/540A, Side 1.
•	 Print numbers and CAPITAL LETTERS between the combed lines. Be 

sure to line up dollar amounts.
•	 Round cents to the nearest whole dollar. For example, round $50.50 

up to $51 or round $25.49 down to $25.
•	 If you do not have an entry for a line, leave it blank unless the 

instructions for a line specifically tell you to enter -0-. Do not enter a 
dash, or the word “NONE.”

Name(s) and Address
Print your first name, middle initial, last name, and address in the spaces 
provided at the top of Form 540/540A.
Private Mail Box
Include the Private Mail Box (PMB) in the address field. Write “PMB” 
first, then the box number. Example: 111 Main Street PMB 123.
Foreign Address
Enter the information in the following order: City, Country, Province/
Region, and Postal Code. Follow the country’s practice for entering the 
postal code. Do not abbreviate the country name.
Principal Business Activity Code (Form 540 only)
Enter the numeric principal business activity (PBA) code from federal 
Schedule C, line B.
Prior Name
If you or your spouse/RDP filed your 2007 tax return under a different 
last name, write the last name only from the 2007 tax return.

Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual 
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)
Enter your SSN in the spaces provided. To protect your privacy, your 
SSN is not printed on the tax booklet with your name and address. If 
filing a joint tax return, enter the SSNs in the same order as the names.
If you do not have an SSN because you are a nonresident or resident 
alien for federal tax purposes, and the IRS issued you an ITIN, enter the 
ITIN in the space for the SSN. An ITIN is a tax processing number issued 
by the IRS to foreign nationals and others who have a federal tax filing 
requirement and do not qualify for an SSN. It is a nine‑digit number that 
always starts with the number 9.

Filing Status
Line 1 through Line 5 – Filing Status
Fill in only one of the circles for line 1 through line 5. Enter the required 
additional information if you filled in the circle on line 3 or line 5. For 
filing status requirements see page 3.
Use the same filing status for California that you used for your federal 
income tax return.
Exception: If you file a joint tax return for federal, you may file separately 
for California if either spouse was:

•	 An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary 
military branch during 2008.

•	 A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California 
sources during 2008.

	 Caution – Community Property States: If the spouse earning the 
California source income is domiciled in a community property state, 
community income will be split equally between the spouses. Both 
spouses will have California source income and they will not qualify 
for the nonresident spouse exception.

If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for 
California you would have used to file a federal income tax return.
Same-sex married individual or registered domestic partners (RDPs) 
who file single for federal must file married/RDP filing jointly or married/
RDP filing separately for California.
If you filed a joint tax return and either you or your spouse/RDP was 
a nonresident for 2008, you must file the Long or Short Form 540NR, 
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.

Exemptions
Line 6 – Can be Claimed as Dependent


  601

Fill in the circle on line 6 if someone else can claim you or 
your spouse/RDP as a dependent on his or her tax return, 
even if he or she chooses not to.

Line 7 – Personal Exemptions
Did you fill in the circle on line 6?
No	 Follow the instructions on Form 540/540A, line 7.
Yes	 Ignore the instructions on Form 540/540A, line 7. Instead, enter in 

the box on line 7 the amount shown below for your filing status:
•	 Single or married/RDP filing separately, enter -0-.
•	 Head of household, enter -0-.
•	 Married/RDP filing jointly and both you and your spouse/RDP 

can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-.
•	 Married/RDP filing jointly and only one spouse/RDP can be 

claimed as a dependent, enter 1.
Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent 
on his or her tax return. 

Line 8 – Blind Exemptions
The first year you claim this exemption credit, attach a doctor’s 
statement to the back of Form 540/540A indicating you or your 
spouse/RDP are visually impaired. Visually impaired means not capable 
of seeing better than 20/200 while wearing glasses or contact lenses, or 
if your field of vision is not more than 20 degrees.
Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent 
on their tax return. 

Line 9 – Senior Exemptions
If you were 65 years of age or older by December 31, 2008,* you should 
claim an additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are married or an 
RDP, each spouse/RDP 65 years of age or older should claim an additional 
credit. You may contribute all or part of this credit to the California 
Seniors Special Fund. See page 60 for information about this fund.
*If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2009, you are considered to be 
age 65 on December 31, 2008.
Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a dependent 
on their tax return. 

Line 10 – Dependent Exemptions
To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents, write each 
dependent’s name and relationship to you in the space provided. If you 
are claiming more than three dependents, attach a separate schedule. 
Count the number of dependents listed and enter the total in the box 
on line 10. Multiply the number you entered by the pre‑printed dollar 
amount and enter the result.
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Instructions: Form 540/540A	 e-file at ftb.ca.gov

Line 11 – Exemption Amount
Add line 7 through line 10 and enter the total dollar amount of all 
exemptions for personal, blind, senior, and dependent.

Taxable Income
Refer to your completed federal income tax return to complete this section.

Line 12 – State Wages


  204

Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states 
from each of your Form(s) W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, or 
CA Sch W-2, Wage and Withholding Summary. This amount 
appears on Form W-2, box 16, or CA Sch W-2, line 3.

If you received wages and do not have a Form W-2, see “Attachments to 
your tax return” on page 19.

Line 13 – Federal Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) from 
Form 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21; or 1040EZ, 
line 4

Same-sex married couples (SSMCs) or RDPs who file a California tax 
return as married/RDP filing jointly and have no SSMC adjustments or RDP 
adjustments between federal and California, combine their individual AGIs 
from their federal tax returns filed with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). 
Enter the combined AGI on Form 540/540A, line 13.
SSMC adjustments and RDP adjustments include but are not limited to 
the following:
•	 Transfer of property between spouses/RDPs
•	 Capital loss
•	 Transactions between spouses/RDPs
•	 Sale of residence
•	 Dependent care assistance
•	 Investment interest
•	 Qualified residence interest acquisition loan & equity loan
•	 Expense depreciation property limits
•	 Individual Retirement Account
•	 Interest education loan
•	 Rental real estate passive loss
•	 Rollover of publicly traded securities gain into specialized small 

business investment companies
Same-sex married individuals filing as married/RDP filing separately, 
former spouses of a same-sex marriage filing separately, and SSMCs with 
SSMC adjustments will use the California SSMC Adjustment Worksheet in 
FTB Pub. 776, Tax Information for Same-Sex Married Couples or complete 
a federal pro forma Form 1040. Transfer the amount from the California 
SSMC Adjustments Worksheet, line 37, column D, or federal pro forma 
Form 1040, line 37, to Form 540/540A, line 13.
RDPs filing as married/RDP filing separately, former RDPs filing separately, 
and RDPs with RDP adjustments will use the California RDP Adjustments 
Worksheet in FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic 
Partners, or complete a federal pro forma Form 1040. Transfer the amount 
from the California RDP Adjustments Worksheet, line 37, column D, or 
federal pro forma Form 1040, line 37, to Form 540/540A, line 13.

Line 14 (Form 540) – California Adjustments – 
Subtractions [from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column B]
If there are no differences between your federal and California income 
or deductions, do not file a Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments 
— Residents.
If there are differences between your federal and California income or 
deductions, complete Schedule CA (540). Follow the instructions for 
Schedule CA (540) beginning on page 51. Enter on line 14 the amount 
from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column B. If a negative amount, see 
Schedule CA (540), line 37 instructions, page 56.

Line 14a (Form 540A) – State Income Tax Refund
Enter the amount of any state income tax refund shown on your federal 
Form 1040, line 10. If you filed federal Forms 1040A or 1040EZ, enter -0-.

Line 14b (Form 540A) – Unemployment Compensation
Enter the total of any unemployment compensation and/or Paid Family 
Leave Insurance benefits reported on federal Form(s) 1099-G, Certain 
Government Payments, and shown on your federal return. These types 
of income are not taxed by California and should be included on line 14b 
and in the total for line 14g.

Line 14c (Form 540A) – Social Security Benefits (and 
Tier 1 or Tier 2 Railroad Retirement Benefits)
•	 Enter the amount of U.S. social security benefits or equivalent tier 1 

railroad retirement benefits reported on federal Form 1040A, line 14b 
or Form 1040, line 20b.

•	 Enter the amount of tier 1 (non-social security equivalent) and 
tier 2 railroad retirement benefits included in the amount on federal 
Form 1040A, line 12b or Form 1040, line 16b.

Do not include any other pension amounts on this line. If you filed 
Form 1040EZ, enter -0-.

Line 14d (Form 540A) – California Nontaxable Interest or 
Dividend Income
California does not tax interest earned from:
•	 United States savings bonds.
•	 United States Treasury bills, notes, and bonds.
•	 Bonds or obligations of United States territories, and government 

agency obligations specifically exempted by federal law.
Enter only the amount of interest that you received from these 
sources and that you included in the amount reported on your federal 
Form 1040A, line 8a; Form 1040, line 8a; or Form 1040EZ, line 2.
Interest from municipal or state bonds from a state other than 
California: This interest is taxed by California. You may not use 
Form 540A. Use Form 540, e-file, or CalFile.
Interest from Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) 
Bonds, Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) 
Bonds, and Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (FHLMC) 
securities: This interest is taxed by California. Do not enter it on line 14d.
Exempt-interest dividends from mutual funds: Certain mutual funds 
are qualified to pay “exempt-interest dividends” if at least 50% of their 
assets consist of tax-exempt government obligations. The portion of the 
dividends that are tax-exempt will be shown on your annual statement 
from the mutual fund. If the amount of California tax-exempt interest is 
more than the amount of federal tax-exempt interest, enter the difference 
on line 14d. If the amount of California tax-exempt interest is less than 
the amount of federal tax-exempt interest, you may not use Form 540A. 
Use Form 540, e-file, or CalFile.

Line 14e (Form 540A) – California Individual Retirement 
Arrangement (IRA) Distributions
Differences may exist between the taxable amounts of federal and 
California IRA distributions, pensions, and annuities. Enter any 
differences on line 14e and line 14f.
You cannot use Form 540A if you have Roth IRA conversions or 
distributions. Use Form 540, e-file, or CalFile.
The method of taxing IRA distributions is generally the same for California 
and federal purposes. However, there may be significant differences in the 
taxable amount depending on when you made your contributions.
The maximum IRA contribution allowed as a deduction for California 
was less than the maximum amount allowed for federal for years 1975 
and 1982 through 1986. If you made contributions during these years, 
report the difference between the deduction you took for federal and the 
deduction you took for California on this line. For more information, get 
FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines. See “Order Forms and 
Publications” on page 67.
Report the difference between your California and your federal taxable 
IRA distributions on line 14e. Attach Form 1099-R to your Form 540A if 
tax was withheld.



e-file is fast, easy, and secure!	 Instructions: Form 540/540A

Personal Income Tax Booklet  2008 (REV 02-09)  Page 11

Line 14f (Form 540A) – Non-taxable Pensions and 
Annuities
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. You should not 
make an adjustment solely because the pension was earned in another 
state. Federal and State tax laws require California residents to pay state 
income tax on all taxable pensions, regardless of where they were earned. 
However, California law treats railroad retirement benefits differently. If 
you received tier 2 railroad retirement benefits, tier 1 (non-social security 
equivalent) (included in the amount on federal Form 1040A, line 12b or 
Form 1040, line 16b), or partially taxable distributions from a pension 
plan, you may need to make the adjustment described on this page.
If you received a federal Form RRB-1099-R, Annuities or Pensions by 
the Railroad Retirement Board, for railroad retirement benefits and 
included all or part of these benefits in federal AGI on line 13, enter the 
taxable benefit amount on line 14f.
If you began receiving a retirement annuity between July 1, 1986, and 
January 1, 1987, and you elected to use the three-year recovery rule for 
California, make an adjustment because your federal taxable amount is 
less than your California taxable amount. Figure the difference between 
the gross distribution shown on your Form 1099‑R, box 1 and the 
taxable shown in box 2a. Enter the difference in parentheses on line 14f. 
For example: “(12,325).”
If you received a lump-sum distribution from a profit sharing or 
retirement plan and choose the 10-year averaging method you may pay 
less tax on the distribution. To use this method file Form 540. See the 
instructions for Form 540 and get Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum 
Distributions (not in this booklet), for more information. See “Order 
Forms and Publications” on page 67.
California law now conforms to certain provisions of the Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC) related to pension plans and deferred 
compensation, as those provisions apply for federal purposes including 
amendments to the IRC that may be enacted in the future.

Line 14g (Form 540A) – Total California Adjustments
Combine line 14a through line 14f. If the result is less than zero, enter 
the amount in parentheses. For example, “(13,325).”

Line 15 (Form 540) – Subtotal
Subtract the amount on line 14 from the amount on line 13. Enter the 
result on line 15. If the amount on line 13 is less than zero, combine the 
amounts on line 13 and line 14 and enter the result in parentheses. For 
example: “(12,325).”

Line 16 (Form 540) – California Adjustments – Additions 
[from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column C]
If there are differences between your federal and California income or 
deductions, complete Schedule CA (540). Follow the instructions for 
Schedule CA (540) beginning on page 51. Enter on line 16 the amount 
from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column C. If a negative amount, see 
Schedule CA (540), line 37 instructions, page 56.

Line 18 – California Itemized Deductions or California 
Standard Deduction
Decide whether to itemize your charitable contributions, medical 
expenses, interest paid, taxes, etc., or take the standard deduction. Your 
California income tax will be less if you take the larger of:
	 •	 Your California itemized deductions.
	 •	 Your California standard deduction.
California itemized deductions may be limited based on federal AGI. To 
compute limitations, use Schedule CA (540). RDPs use your recalculated 
federal AGI to figure your itemized deductions.
On federal tax returns, individual taxpayers who claim the standard 
deduction are allowed an additional deduction for state and local real 
estate taxes paid and disaster losses. For California, deductions for state 
and local real estate taxes paid and disaster losses are only allowed for 
those individual taxpayers who itemized their deductions.

If married or an RDP and filing separate tax returns, you and your 
spouse/RDP must either both itemize your deductions or both take the 
standard deduction.
Form 540 – If someone else can claim you as a dependent, you may 
claim the greater of the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. 
To figure your standard deduction, use the Form 540 – California 
Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on this page.
Form 540A – Use Form 540A – California Standard Deduction 
Worksheet for Dependents on the next page.
Form 540 – Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized 
deductions by completing Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 38 through 
line 44. Enter the result on Form 540, line 18. 
If you did not itemize deductions on your federal income tax return 
but will itemize deductions for your Form 540, first complete a sample 
federal Schedule A, Itemized Deductions. Then complete Schedule CA 
(540), Part II, line 38 through line 44. Attach both the federal Schedule A 
and California Schedule CA (540) to the back of your tax return.
Form 540A – Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized 
deductions by completing the Form 540A – California Itemized Deductions 
Worksheet on the next page. Enter the result on Form 540A, line 18. 
If you did not itemize deductions on your federal income tax return but 
will itemize deductions for your Form 540A, first complete a federal 
Schedule A, Itemized Deductions. Then complete the Form 540A – 
California Itemized Deductions Worksheet on the next page. Do not 
attach federal Schedule A to your Form 540A.
Standard deduction. Find your standard deduction on the California 
Standard Deduction Chart for Most People on this page. If you filled 
in the circle on Form 540/540A, line 6, use the California Standard 
Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on this page.

California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People
Do not use this chart if your parent, or someone else, can claim you 
(or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent on his or her tax return.
Your Filing Status	 Enter On Line 18
1 – Single . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                        $3,692
2 – Married/RDP filing jointly . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          $7,384
3 – Married/RDP filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      $3,692
4 – Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               $7,384
5 – Qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             $7,384
The California standard deduction amounts are less than the federal 
standard deduction amounts.

Form 540 – California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if your parent, or someone else, can claim 
you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent on his or her tax return. Use 
whole dollars only.
1.	Enter your earned income from: line 3 of the 

“Standard Deduction Worksheet’’ 
in the instructions for federal Form 1040; 
Form 1040A; or from line A of the worksheet 
on the back of Form 1040EZ.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 1

2.	Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  2	 $900.00
3.	Enter the larger of line 1 or line 2 here . . . . . . . . .           3
4.	Enter the amount shown for your filing status
	 •	 Single or married/RDP filing separately, 

	 enter $3,692                          	   4____________
	 •	 Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household,   

	 or qualifying widow(er), enter $7,384
5.	Standard deduction. Enter the smaller of 

line 3 or line 4 here and on Form 540, line 18  . . .     5____________

Form 540A – If you filled in the circle on Form 540A, line 6, enter your 
wages, salaries, and tips on the California Standard Deduction Worksheet 

}
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for Dependents, line 1 on this page. If you have earned income other than 
wages, then file Form 540 and use the standard deduction worksheet for 
that form. 

Form 540A – California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if someone else can claim you (or your  
spouse/RDP) as a dependent on his or her tax return. Use whole 
dollars only.
1.	 Enter your total wages, salaries, and tips from 

all your Form(s) W-2, box 1 or CA Sch W-2, 
line 3. (You may also refer to federal 
Form 1040EZ, line 1; Form 1040A, line 7; 
or Form 1040, line 7) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       1

2.		   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      2	 $300.00
3.	 Add line 1 and line 2. Enter total here . . . . . . . .           3
4.	 Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 4	 $900.00
5.	 Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4 here . . . . . . .          5
6.	 Enter the amount shown for your filing status:
	 •	Single or married/RDP filing separately, 

	enter $3,692	   6
	 •	Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, 

	or qualifying widow(er) enter $7,384
7.	 Standard deduction. Enter the smaller of 

line 5 or line 6 here and on Form 540A, line 18   7

Form 540A – California Itemized Deductions Worksheet 
Use whole dollars only.

  1.	 Federal itemized deductions: Add the amounts 
on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), 
lines 4, 9, 15, 19, 20, 27, and 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               1___________

  2.	 Add the following amounts from federal  
Schedule A (Form 1040) and enter on line 2

	 •	 Line 5, state and local 
income tax or general sales tax: __________

	 •	 State Disability Insurance (SDI): __________
	 •	 Line 8, foreign income taxes:	 __________	   2___________
  3.	Subtract line 2 from line 1. This amount is your 

total California itemized deductions . . . . . . . . . . .             3___________
  4.	 Is the amount on Form 540A, line 13, more than 

the amount shown below for your filing status? 
Single or married/RDP  
filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $163,187 
Married/RDP filing jointly or  
qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               $326,379 
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                $244,785

	 Yes	 Continue to line 5 of this worksheet
	 No 	 Enter on Form 540A, line 18, the larger of:
	 •	 The amount on line 3; or,
	 •	 Your standard deduction* shown below:
	 Single or married/RDP 

filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $3,692 
Married/RDP filing jointly, head of 
household, or qualifying widow(er) . . . .    $7,384

	 Do not complete the rest of this worksheet.
  5.	 Using California amounts, add the amounts on  

federal Schedule A, (Form 1040) lines 4, 14, 20,  
and any gambling losses included on line 28  . . .      5___________

  6.	 Subtract line 5 from line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     6___________
	 If zero, skip line 7 through line 12, enter 

the amount from line 3 on line 13 and 
continue to line 14.

  7.	 Multiply line 6 by 80% (.80)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   7___________
  8.	 Amount from Form 540A, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . . .               8___________

(continued on next column)

  9.	 Enter the amount shown below for your 
filing status . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                9___________

	 Single or married/RDP filing separately . .  $163,187   
Married/RDP filing jointly or 
qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               $326,379   
Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                $244,785 

10.	 Subtract line 9 from line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   10___________ 
If zero or less, skip line 11 and line 12, 
enter the amount from line 3 on line 13 and 
continue to line 14.

11.	 Multiply line 10 by 6% (.06)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 11___________
12.	 Compare line 7 and line 11. Enter the smaller 

amount here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             12___________
13.	 Total itemized deductions. Subtract line 12 

from line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               13___________
14.	 Enter on Form 540A, line 18, the larger of: 

The amount on line 13; or, 
Your standard deduction* shown below: 
Single or married/RDP filing separately . . .  $3,692 
Married/RDP filing jointly, head of 
household, or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . .     $7,384

*Standard Deduction for Dependents
If someone else can claim you as a dependent use the standard 
deduction amount from line 7 of the “Form 540A – California Standard 
Deduction Worksheet for Dependents” on this page instead of the 
standard deduction amount shown above.

Line 19 (Form 540) – Taxable Income
Capital Construction Fund (CCF). If you claim a deduction on your federal 
Form 1040, line 43 for the contribution made to a capital construction 
fund set up under the Merchant Marine Act of 1936, reduce the amount 
you contributed on line 19 by the amount of the deduction. Next to line 19, 
enter “CCF” and the amount of the deduction. For details, see federal 
Publication 595, Capital Construction Fund for Commercial Fishermen.

Tax
When figuring your tax, use the correct filing status and taxable income 
amount.

Line 20 (Form 540A) – Tax
If your taxable income on line 19 is:
•	 $100,000 or less, use the tax table beginning on page 21. Use the 

correct column for your filing status.
•	 Over $100,000, use the tax rate schedules on page 26. Use the 

correct tax rate schedule for your filing status.

Line 20 (Form 540) – Tax
To figure your tax, use one of the following methods and fill in the 
matching circle on line 20:
•	 Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 19 is $100,000 or less, 

use the tax table beginning on page 21. Use the correct filing status 
column in the tax table.

•	 Tax Rate Schedules. If your taxable income on line 19 is over 
$100,000, use the tax rate schedule for your filing status on page 26.

•	 FTB 3800. Generally, use form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for 
Children Under Age 14 with Investment Income, to figure the tax 
on a separate Form 540 for your child who was under age 14 on 
January 1, 2009, and who had more than $1,800 of investment 
income. Attach form FTB 3800 to the child’s Form 540.

•	 FTB 3803. If, as a parent, you elect to report your child’s interest and 
dividend income of $9,000 or less (but not less than $900) on your tax 
return, complete form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s 
Interest and Dividends. File a separate form FTB 3803 for each child 
whose income you elect to include on your Form 540. Add the amount 
of tax, if any, from each form FTB 3803, line 9, to the amount of your 
tax from the tax table or tax rate schedules and enter the result on 
Form 540, line 20. Attach form(s) FTB 3803 to your tax return.

}
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To prevent possible delays in processing your tax return or refund, enter 
the correct tax amount on this line. To automatically figure your tax or to 
verify your tax calculation, use our online tax calculator by going to our 
website at ftb.ca.gov and search for tax calculator.

✓Tip CalFile or e-file and you won’t have to do the math. Go to 
our website at ftb.ca.gov.

Line 21 – Exemption Credits
Exemption credits reduce your tax. If your federal adjusted gross income 
(AGI) on line 13 is more than the amount shown below for your filing 
status, your credits will be limited.
For purposes of computing limitations based upon AGI, SSMCs and 
RDPs recalculate their AGI using a federal pro forma, California SSMC 
Adjustments Worksheet (located in FTB Pub. 776), or California RDP 
Adjustments Worksheet (located in FTB Pub. 737). If your recalculated 
federal AGI is more than the amount shown below for your filing status, 
your credits will be limited.
If your filing status is: 	 And Form 540/540A, line 13
	 or RDP recalculated AGI is more than:
Single or married/RDP filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $163,187
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . .           $326,379
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   $244,785
	 Yes	 Complete the AGI Limitation Worksheet on this page.
	 No	 Follow the instructions on Form 540/540A, line 21.

AGI Limitation Worksheet 
Use whole dollars only.

a	 Enter the amount from Form 540/540A, line 13, or RDP 
	 recalculated AGI  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                a______
b	 Enter the amount for your filing status on line b:
	 •	 Single or married/RDP filing separately  . .  $163,187
	 •	 Married/RDP filing jointly or 

	qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 $326,379	 b______
	 •	 Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $244,785
c	 Subtract line b from line a  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        c______
d	 Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married/RDP filing 
	 separately). If the result is not a whole number, round it 
	 to the next higher whole number  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   d______
e	 Multiply line d by $6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             e______
f	 Add the numbers from the boxes on Form 540/540A,  
	 lines 7, 8, and 9 (not the dollar amounts) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             f______ 
g	 Multiply line e by line f . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           g______
h	 Enter the total dollar amount for lines 7, 8, and 9  . . . . . .      h______
i	 Subtract line g from line h. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . .      i______
j	 Enter the number from the box on Form 540/540A, 
	 line 10 (not the dollar amount) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      j______
k	 Multiply line e by line j  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           k______
l	 Enter the dollar amount (that you filled in) from 
	 Form 540/540A, line 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           l______
m	 Subtract line k from line l. If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . . .     m______
n	 Add line i and line m. Enter the result here and on 
	 Form 540/540A, line 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          n______

Line 23 (Form 540) – Tax from Schedule G-1 and 
Form FTB 5870A
If you received a qualified lump-sum distribution in 2008 and you were 
born before January 2, 1936, get Schedule G-1, to figure your tax by 
special methods that may result in less tax. 
If you received accumulation distributions from foreign trusts or from 
certain domestic trusts, get form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation 
Distribution of Trusts, to figure the additional tax.
To get these forms, see “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67. 

Special Credits and Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit
Form 540A – Did you pay rent for at least six months in 2008 on your 
principal residence located in California?
Yes	 You may qualify to claim this credit which may reduce your tax.

Complete the qualification record on page 58.
No	 Go to line 29.
Form 540 – A variety of California tax credits are available to reduce 
your tax if you qualify. To figure and claim most special credits, you 
must complete a separate form or schedule and attach it to your 
Form 540. (Note: If your net business income is $500,000 or more and 
you have business tax credits, complete Schedule P (540), Alternative 
Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations – Resident. See “Order Forms and 
Publications” on page 67.)
The Credit Chart on page 59 describes the credits and provides the 
name, credit code, and number of the required form or schedule. Many 
credits are limited to a certain percentage or a certain dollar amount. 
In addition, the total amount you may claim for all credits is limited by 
tentative minimum tax (TMT). Answer the following questions before 
you claim credits on your tax return.
1.	 Do you qualify to claim the nonrefundable renter’s credit? Complete 

the qualification record on page 58.
	 Check   Yes or  No, then go to Question 2.
2.	 Are you claiming any other special credit listed on the Credit Chart on 

page 59?
No	 If you checked “Yes” for Question 1 and entered an amount 

on Form 540, line 28, go to line 29. If you checked “No” for 
Question 1, skip to the instructions for line 30.

Yes	 Figure your credit using the form, schedule, worksheet, or 
certificate identified on the Credit Chart. Then go to Box A to 
see if the total amount you may claim for all credits is limited 
by TMT. If you checked “Yes” for Question 1, verify you entered 
your nonrefundable renter’s credit on line 28.

Box A –	Did you complete federal Schedule C, D, E, or F and claim 
or receive any of the following (Note: If your business gross 
receipts are less than $1,000,000 from all trades or businesses, 
you do not have to report alternative minimum tax (AMT). For 
more information, see line 31 instructions, on page 15.):

	 •	 Accelerated depreciation in excess of straight-line
	 •	 Intangible drilling costs
	 •	 Depletion
	 •	 Circulation expenditures
	 •	 Research and experimental expenditures
	 •	 Mining exploration/development costs
	 •	 Amortization of pollution control facilities
	 •	 Income/loss from tax shelter farm activities
	 •	 Income/loss from passive activities
	 •	 Income from long-term contracts using the percentage of 

	 completion method
	 •	 Pass-through AMT adjustment from an estate or trust
		  reported on Schedule K-1 (541)
	 •	 Excluded gain on the sale of qualified small business stock
	 Yes	 Complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and 

	 Publications” on page 67.
	 No	 Go to Box B.

Box B – Did you claim or receive any of the following:
	 •	 Investment interest expense & 226
	 •	 Income from incentive stock options in excess of the amount 

	 reported on your tax return & 225
	 •	 Income from installment sales of certain property
	 Yes	 Complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and 

	 Publications” on page 67.
	 No	 Go to Box C.

}
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Box C – If your filing status is:	 Is Form 540, line 17 more than:
	 Single or head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    $225,050
	 Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . . . .    $300,065
	 Married/RDP filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $150,031
	 Yes	 Complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and 

	 Publications” on page 67.
	 No	 Your credits are not limited. Go to the instructions for 

	 Form 540, line 25.

Line 25 through Line 27 (Form 540) – Additional Special 
Credits
A code number identifies each credit. To claim only one or two credits, 
enter the credit name, code number, and amount of the credit on line 25 
and line 26. To claim more than two credits, use Schedule P (540), 
Part III. See “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67. List two of the 
credits on line 25 and line 26. Enter the total of any remaining credits 
from Schedule P (540) on line 27.
Important: Attach Schedule P (540) and any supporting schedules or 
statements to your Form 540.
Carryovers: If you claim a credit with carryover provisions and the 
amount of the credit available this year exceeds your tax, carry over any 
excess credit to future years until the credit is used (unless the carryover 
period is a fixed number of years). If you claim a credit carryover for an 
expired credit, use form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary, to figure 
the amount of the credit. Otherwise, enter the amount of the credit on 
Schedule P (540), Part III, and do not attach form FTB 3540.

Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household — Code 170
You may not claim this credit if you used the married/RDP filing jointly, 
head of household, or qualifying widow(er) filing status.
Claim the credit if unmarried and not an RDP at the end of 2008 (or if 
married/or an RDP, you lived apart from your spouse/RDP for all of 2008 
and you used the married/RDP filing separately filing status); and if you 
furnished more than one-half the household expenses for your home that 
also served as the main home of your child, step-child, or grandchild for 
at least 146 days but not more than 219 days of the taxable year. If the 
child is married or an RDP, you must be entitled to claim a dependent 
exemption credit for the child.
Also, the custody arrangement for the child must be part of a decree of 
dissolution or legal separation or part of a written agreement between 
the parents where the proceedings have been initiated, but a decree of 
dissolution or legal separation has not yet been issued.
Use the worksheet below to figure the Joint Custody Head of Household 
credit using whole dollars only.
1.	 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 24 . . . . . . . . .        1
2.	 Credit percentage — 30%  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    2	 x    .30
3.	 Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Enter the result or $393, whichever is less . . . . . . . .        3
If you qualify for the credit for Joint Custody Head of Household and the 
Credit for Dependent Parent, claim only one credit. Select the credit that 
allows the maximum benefit. 

Credit for Dependent Parent — Code 173
You may not claim the Credit for Dependent Parent if you used the single, 
head of household, qualifying widow(er), or married/RDP filing jointly 
filing status.
Claim this credit only if all of the following apply:
•	 You were married/or an RDP at the end of 2008 and you used the 

married/RDP filing separately filing status.
•	 Your spouse/RDP was not a member of your household during the 

last six months of the year.
•	 You furnished over one-half the household expenses for your 

dependent mother’s or father’s home, whether or not she or he lived 
in your home.

To figure the amount of this credit, use the worksheet above for the Credit 
for Joint Custody Head of Household. If you qualify for the Credit for Joint 

Custody Head of Household and the Credit for Dependent Parent, claim 
only one. Select the credit that will allow the maximum benefit.

Credit for Senior Head of Household — Code 163
You may claim this credit if you:
•	 Were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 2008.*
•	 Qualified as a head of household in 2006 or 2007 by providing a 

household for a qualifying individual who died during 2006 or 2007.
•	 Did not have AGI over $63,831 for 2008.
*	If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2009, you are considered to be 

age 65 on December 31, 2008.
If you meet all the conditions listed above, you do not need to qualify to 
use the head of household filing status for 2008 in order to claim this 
credit.
Use this worksheet to figure this credit using whole dollars only.
1.	 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 19 . . . . . . . . .          1
2.	 Credit percentage — 2%  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      2	 x    .02
3.	 Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Enter the result or $1,203, whichever is less  . . . . . .       3

Credit for Child Adoption Costs — Code 197
For the year in which an adoption decree or an order of adoption is 
entered (e.g., adoption is final), claim a credit for 50% of the cost of 
adopting a child who was both: 
•	 A citizen or legal resident of the United States.
•	 In the custody of a California public agency or a California political 

subdivision.
Treat a prior unsuccessful attempt to adopt a child (even when the costs 
were incurred in a prior year) and a later successful adoption of a different 
child as one effort when computing the cost of adopting the child. Include 
the following costs if directly related to the adoption process:
•	 Fees for Department of Social Services or a licensed adoption agency.
•	 Medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance. 
•	 Travel expenses for the adoptive family.
Note: 
•	 This credit does not apply when a child is adopted from another 

country or another state, or was not in the custody of a California 
public agency or a California political subdivision.

•	 Any deduction for the expenses used to claim this credit must be 
reduced by the amount of the child adoption costs credit claimed.

Use the worksheet below to figure this credit using whole dollars only. 
If more than one adoption qualifies for this credit, complete a separate 
worksheet for each adoption. The maximum credit is limited to $2,500 
per minor child.
1.	 Enter qualifying costs for the child . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              1
2.	 Credit percentage — 50%  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    2	 x    .50
3.	 Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Do not enter more than $2,500 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                3
Your allowable credit is limited to $2,500 for 2008. Carry over the excess 
credit to future years until the credit is used.

Line 28 – Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit
Did you pay rent for at least six months in 2008 on your principal 
residence located in California?
Yes	 You may qualify to claim this credit which may reduce your tax. 

Complete the qualification record on page 58.
No 	 Go to line 29.

Line 30 (Form 540)
Subtract the amount on line 29 from the amount on line 24. Enter the 
result on line 30. If the amount on line 29 is more than the amount on 
line 24, enter -0-. If you owe interest on deferred tax from installment 
obligations, include the additional tax, if any, in the amount you enter on 
line 30. Write “IRC Section 453 interest” or “IRC Section 453A interest” 
and the amount on the dotted line to the left of the amount on line 30.
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Other Taxes
Attach the specific form or statement required for each item below.

Line 31 (Form 540) – Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)
If you claim certain types of deductions, exclusions, and credits, you 
may owe AMT if your total income is more than: 
•	 $80,017 married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widower(er)
•	 $60,014 single or head of household
•	 $40,007 married/RDP filing separately
A child under age 14 may owe AMT if the sum of the amount on line 19 
(taxable income) and any preference items listed on Schedule P (540) 
and included on the return is more than the sum of $5,500 and the 
child’s earned income.
AMT income does not include income, adjustments, and items of tax 
preference related to any trade or business of a qualified taxpayer who 
has gross receipts, less returns and allowances, during the taxable year 
of less than $1,000,000 from all trades or businesses.
Get Schedule P (540) for more information. See “Order Forms and 
Publications” on page 67.

Line 32 – Mental Health Services Tax
If your taxable income is more than $1,000,000, compute the Mental 
Health Services Tax below using whole dollars only:

A.	 Taxable income from Form 540/540A, line 19 . . . .   
B.	 Less  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    	 $(1,000,000)
C.	 Subtotal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
D.	Multiply line C by 1%  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       	 x    .01
E.	 Mental Health Services Tax – Enter this amount 

here and on Form 540/540A, line 32 . . . . . . . . . . .          

Line 33 (Form 540) – Other Taxes and Credit Recapture
If you received an early distribution of a qualified retirement plan and 
were required to report additional tax on your federal tax return, you may 
also be required to report additional tax on your California tax return. Get 
form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs) 
and Other Tax-Favored Accounts. If required to report additional tax, 
report it on line 33 and write “FTB 3805P” to the left of the amount.
California conforms to federal law for income received under IRC 
Section 409A on a nonqualified deferred compensation (NQDC) plan and 
discounted stock options and stock appreciation rights. Income received 
under IRC Section 409A is subject to an additional 20% tax plus interest. 
Include the additional tax, if any, on line 33. Write “NQDC” on the dotted 
line to the left of the amount.
If you used form(s)
•	 FTB 3501, Employer Child Care Program/Contribution Credit
•	 FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit Summary
•	 FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone Deduction and Credit 

Summary
•	 FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction and 

Credit Summary
•	 FTB 3808, Manufacturing Enhancement Area Credit Summary 
•	 FTB 3809, Targeted Tax Area Deduction and Credit Summary 
Include the additional tax, if any, on line 33. Write the form number on 
the dotted line to the left of the amount on line 33.

Payments
To avoid a delay in the processing of your tax return, enter the correct 
amounts on line 36 through line 43.

Line 36 – California Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total California income tax withheld from your:
•	 Form(s) W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, box 17
•	 CA Sch W-2, Wage and Withholding Summary
•	 Form(s) W-2G, Certain Gambling Winnings, box 14
•	 Form(s) 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous Income, box 16
•	 Form(s) 1099-R, Distributions from Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, 

or Profit Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. box 10

Do not include city, local, or county tax withheld or tax withheld by other 
states. Do not include withholding from Forms 592-B, Resident and 
Nonresident Tax Withholding Statement; Form 593, Real Estate Withholding 
Tax Statement; or Form 594, Notice to Withhold Tax at Source, on this line. 
For more details, see instructions for line 38 on this page.
Generally, tax should not be withheld on federal Form 1099-MISC. If you 
want to pre-pay tax on income reported on federal Form 1099-MISC, use 
Form 540‑ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals. 

Line 37 – 2008 CA Estimated Tax and Other Payments
Enter the total of any:
•	 California estimated tax payments you made using 2008 

Form 540‑ES or Web Pay
•	 Overpayment from your 2007 California income tax return that you 

applied to your 2008 estimated tax
•	 Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic 

Extension for Individuals
•	 California estimated tax payments made on your behalf by an estate, 

trust, or S Corporation on Schedule K-1 (541) or Schedule K-1 (100S)

✓Tip
To view payments made or get your current account 
balance, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for 
myftb account.

If you and your spouse/RDP paid joint estimated taxes but are now filing 
separate income tax returns, either of you may claim the entire amount 
paid, or each may claim part of the joint estimated tax payments. If you 
want the estimated tax payments to be divided, notify the FTB before 
you file the tax returns so the payments can be applied to the proper 
account. The FTB will accept in writing, any divorce agreement (or 
court-ordered settlement) or a statement showing the allocation of the 
payments along with a notarized signature of both taxpayers.
Send statements to:
	 JOINT ESTIMATED CREDIT ALLOCATION MS F225
	 TAXPAYER SERVICES CENTER
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
	 PO BOX 942840
	 SACRAMENTO, CA 94240-0040
If you or your spouse/RDP made separate estimated tax payments, 
but are now filing a joint income tax return, add the amounts you each 
paid. Attach a statement to the front of Form 540/540A explaining that 
payments were made under both SSNs.
You do not have to make estimated tax payments if you are a 
nonresident or new resident of California in 2009 and did not have a 
California tax liability in 2008.

Line 38 (Form 540) – Real Estate and Other Withholding
Enter the total of California withholding from the sale of real estate, 
Form 593 or California payments, Forms 592-B or 594 on this line. Attach a 
copy of Forms 592-B, 593, or 594, to the lower front of Form 540, Side 1.
Caution: Do not include withholding from federal Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 
1099, or CA Sch W-2 on this line.

Line 39 – Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld
You may claim a credit for excess State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) if you meet all of the 
following conditions:
•	 You had two or more California employers during 2008.
•	 You received more than $86,698 in wages.
•	 The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your Forms W-2 

or CA Sch W-2. Be sure to attach either your Forms W‑2 or CA 
Sch W-2 to your Form 540/540A.

If SDI (or VPDI) was withheld from your wages by a single employer, at 
more than 0.8% of your gross wages, you may not claim excess SDI (or 
VPDI) on your Form 540/540A. Contact the employer for a refund.
To determine the amount to enter on line 39, complete the Excess SDI (or 
VPDI) Worksheet on the next page. If married/RDP filing jointly, figure 
the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately for each spouse/RDP.
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Excess SDI (or VPDI) Worksheet 
Use whole dollars only.

Follow the instructions below to figure the amount of income tax to 
enter on Form 540/540A, line 39. If you are married/RDP and file 
a joint return, you must figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) 
separately for each spouse/RDP.

You
Your

Spouse/
RDP

1.	 Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld 
shown on your Forms W-2. 
Enter the total here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       1

2.	 2008 SDI (or VPDI) limit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   2 $693.58 $693.58

3.	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. Subtract 
line 2 from line 1. Enter the results here. 
Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter 
the total, in whole dollars only on  
Form 540/540A, line 39 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    3

	 If zero or less, enter -0- on line 39.

Line 40 through Line 43 – Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit
Claim this credit if you paid someone to care for your qualifying child 
under the age of 13, other dependent who is physically or mentally 
incapable of caring for him or herself, or spouse/RDP if physically 
or mentally incapable of caring for him or herself. The care must be 
provided in California. To claim this credit, your federal AGI must be 
$100,000 or less and you must complete and attach form FTB 3506, 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit, included in this booklet.

Line 40 and Line 41
Enter the qualifying person’s SSN. Do not enter more than one qualifying 
person’s SSN on line 40 or line 41 from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 2. 
If you have more than two qualifying persons, enter only the first two 
qualifying persons listed on form FTB 3506, Part III, line 2.

Line 42
Enter the amount from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 8. 

Line 43
Enter the credit amount from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 12.

Line 44 (Form 540)
For the Claim of Right credit, follow the reporting instructions in 
Schedule CA (540) under the Claim of Right. 
Claim of Right: If you are claiming the tax deduction on your California 
return, include the amount of the credit in the total for this line. Write in 
“IRC 1341” and the amount of the credit to the left of the amount column.
To determine if you are entitled to this deduction, refer to your prior 
year California 540/540A, 540NR Long Form, Schedule CA (540), or 
Schedule CA (540NR), column E, to verify the amount was included in 
your CA taxable income. If the amount repaid under a “Claim of Right” 
was not originally taxed by California, you are not entitled to claim the 
deduction.

Overpaid Tax or Tax Due
If you received a refund for 2007, you may receive a federal 
Form 1099‑G. The refund amount reported on your federal Form 1099-G 
will be different from the amount shown on your tax return if you claimed 
the Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. This is because the credit 
is not part of the refund from withholding or estimated tax payments.
To avoid delay in processing of your tax return, enter the correct 
amounts on line 45 through line 48.

Line 45 – Overpaid Tax
If the amount on line 44 is more than the amount on line 34, your 
payments and credits are more than your tax. Subtract the amount on 
line 34 from the amount on line 44. Enter the result on line 45. 

✓Tip Choose e-file and Direct Deposit and get your refund faster.

Line 46 – Amount You Want Applied to Your 2009 
Estimated Tax
Apply all or part of the amount on line 45 to your estimated tax for 2009. 
Enter on line 46 the amount of line 45 that you want applied to your 
2009 estimated tax.
An election to apply an overpayment to estimated tax is binding. Once 
the election is made, the overpayment cannot be applied to a deficiency 
after the due date of the return.

Line 47 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year
If you entered an amount on line 46, subtract it from the amount on 
line 45. Enter the result on line 47. Choose to have this entire amount 
refunded to you, make contributions to the California Seniors Special 
Fund (see page 60), or make other voluntary contributions from this 
amount. If you make a contribution, skip line 48 and go to the Use Tax 
section of the tax return.

Line 48 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 44 is less than the amount on line 34, subtract 
the amount on line 44 from the amount on line 34. Enter the result on 
line 48. Your tax is more than your payments and credits.
There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year. You may 
have to pay a penalty if:
•	 The tax due on line 48 is $200 or more ($100 or more if married/RDP 

filing separately).
•	 The amount of state income tax withheld on line 36 is less than 90% 

of the amount of your total tax on line 34.
If this applies to you, go to line 64.
Increasing your withholding could eliminate the need to make a large 
payment with your tax return. To increase your withholding, complete 
EDD Form DE 4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate, and give 
it to your employer’s appropriate payroll staff. Get this form from your 
employer or by calling EDD at 888.745.3886. Download the DE 4 at 
www.edd.ca.gov or use the online calculator by going to ftb.ca.gov and 
searching for de 4.
Form DE 4 specifically adjusts your California state withholding and 
is not the same as the federal Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding 
Allowance Certificate.

Use Tax
Line 49 – Use Tax. This is not a total line.
As explained on page 6, California use tax applies to purchases from 
out-of‑state sellers (for example, purchases made by telephone, over the 
Internet, by mail, or in person).
You may report use tax on your income tax return instead of filing a use 
tax return with the State Board of Equalization. To report use tax on your 
income tax return, complete the Use Tax Worksheet on the next page. 
For questions on whether a purchase is taxable, go to the State Board of 
Equalization’s website at boe.ca.gov, or call their Taxpayer Information 
Section at 800.400.7115 or TTY/TDD 800.735.2929.
If you owe use tax but you do not report it on your income tax return, 
you must report and pay the tax to the State Board of Equalization. To do 
so, download a copy of Publication 79-B, California Use Tax, from  
boe.ca.gov or request a copy by calling the State Board of Equalization’s 
Taxpayer Information Center.
Use Tax Penalty
Failure to timely report and pay the use tax due may result in the 
assessment of penalties.
Note: Businesses that have a California seller’s permit must continue to 
report business purchases subject to use tax on their sales and use tax 
returns.
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See page 6 for a general explanation of California use tax.

Use Tax Worksheet
Use whole dollars only.

1.	 Enter purchases from out-of-state sellers made  
without payment of California sales/use tax.  
See worksheet instructions below  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             $ ________.00

2.	 Enter the decimal equivalent of the applicable sales 
and use tax rate. See table on page 20 . . . . . . . . . .            ___________   

3.	 Multiply line 1 by the tax rate on line 2. 
Enter result here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           $ ________.00

4.	 Enter any sales or use tax you paid to another state for 
purchases included on line 1. See worksheet 
instructions below  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         $ ________.00

5.	 Subtract line 4 from line 3. This is the total use tax due. 
Enter the amount due on line 49. If the amount is 
less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    $ ________.00

Worksheet, Line 1, Purchases Subject to Use Tax
•	 Report items that would have been taxable in a California store. For 

example, you would include purchases of clothing, but not purchases 
of prescription medicine.

•	 Include handling charges.
•	 Do not include any other state’s sales or use tax paid on the 

purchases.
•	 Enter only purchases made during the year that corresponds with the 

tax return you are filing.
•	 If you traveled to a foreign country and brought items back to 

California, generally the use tax is due on the purchase price of the 
goods you listed on your U.S. Customs Declaration less the $800 
per‑person exemption. This $800 exemption does not apply to goods 
sent or shipped to California by mail or other common carrier.

•	 If your filing status is “married/RDP filing separately,” you may elect 
to report one-half of the use tax due or the entire amount on your 
income tax return. If you elect to report one-half, your spouse/RDP 
may report the remaining half on his or her income tax return or 
on the individual use tax return available from the State Board of 
Equalization (see discussion of Publication 79-B on the previous 
page).

	 Note: Report and pay any use tax you owe on the following purchases 
to the State Board of Equalization, not on your income tax return:

•	 Vehicles, vessels, and trailers that must be registered with the 
Department of Motor Vehicles.

•	 Mobile homes or commercial coaches that must be registered 
annually as required by the Health and Safety Code.

•	 Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.
•	 Aircraft.
•	 Leases of machinery, equipment, vehicles, and other tangible 

personal property.
Worksheet, Line 2, Sales and Use Tax Rate
•	 Enter the decimal equivalent of the sales and use tax rate applicable 

to the place in California where the property is used, stored, or 
otherwise consumed. For example, the decimal equivalent of 7.25% 
is 0.0725, and the decimal equivalent of 7.375% is 0.07375.

•	 If you do not know the applicable rate, see the table on page 20, 
“Sales and Use Tax Rates by County.” If you have questions 
regarding the use tax rate in effect in your area, please go to the State 
Board of Equalization’s website at boe.ca.gov or call their Taxpayer 
Information Section at 800.400.7115 or TTY/TDD 800.735.2929.

Worksheet, Line 4, Credit for Tax Paid to Another State
•	 This is a credit for tax paid to other states. You cannot claim a credit 

greater than the amount of tax that would have been due if the 
purchase had been made in California. For example, if you paid $8.00 
sales tax to another state for a purchase, and would have paid $6.00 
in California, you can claim a credit of only $6.00 for that purchase.

Contributions
You can make voluntary contributions to the funds listed on Form 540/
540A, Side 2. See page 60 for a description of the funds.

Amount You Owe
Add or subtract correctly to figure the amount you owe.

Line 62 – Amount You Owe
If you have an amount on line 48, add the amount on line 48, line 49, 
and line 61, if any. Enter the result on line 62.
If you have an amount on line 47, subtract line 49 and line 61 from 
line 47. If the combined amount of line 49 and line 61 is more than 
line 47, enter the difference on line 62.
To avoid a late filing penalty, file your Form 540/540A by the extended 
due date even if you cannot pay the amount you owe.
Payment Options 
•	 Electronic Funds Withdrawal – Instead of paying by check or money 

order, use this convenient option if you e-file. Simply provide your 
bank information, amount you want to pay, and the date you want the 
balance due to be withdrawn from your account. Your tax preparation 
software will offer this option.

•	 Web Pay – Pay the amount you owe using our secure online payment 
service. Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for web pay.

•	 Credit Card – Use your Discover/Novus, MasterCard, Visa, or 
American Express card to pay your tax. If you pay by credit card, 
do not mail form FTB 3519 to us. Call 800.272.9829 or go to the 
Official Payments Corp. website at officialpayments.com, and 
use the jurisdiction code 1555. Official Payments Corp. charges a 
convenience fee for using this service.

•	 Check or Money Order – Make your check or money order payable 
to the “Franchise Tax Board.” Do not send cash. Write your SSN or 
ITIN and “2008 Form 540” or “2008 Form 540A” as applicable on the 
check or money order. Enclose, but do not staple, your payment with 
your tax return. 

	 Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution. Do not combine your 2008 tax 
payment and any 2009 estimated tax payment in the same check. 
Prepare two separate checks and mail each in a separate envelope.

	 A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your bank for 
insufficient funds.

Paying by Credit Card – Whether you e-file or file by mail, use your 
Discover/Novus, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card to 
pay your personal income taxes (tax return balance due, extension 
payment, estimated tax payment, or tax due with bill notice). There is 
a convenience fee for this service. This fee is paid directly to Official 
Payments Corp. based on the amount of your tax payment.
Convenience Fee
•	 2.5% of the tax amount charged (rounded to the nearest cent)
•	 Minimum fee: $1
Example:
Tax Payment = $754.00  Convenience Fee = $18.85
When will my payments be effective?
Your payment is effective on the date you charge it.
What if I change my mind?
If you pay your tax liability by credit card and later reverse the credit card 
transaction, you may be subject to penalties, interest, and other fees 
imposed by the FTB for nonpayment or late payment of your tax liability.
How do I use my credit card to pay my income tax bill?
Once you have determined the type of payment and how much you owe, 
have the following ready:
•	 Your Discover/Novus, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card
•	 Credit card number
•	 Expiration date
•	 Amount you are paying
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•	 Your and your spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN
•	 First 4 letters of your and your spouse’s/RDP’s last name
•	 Taxable year
•	 Home phone number (including area code)
•	 ZIP Code for address where your monthly credit card bill is sent
•	 FTB Jurisdiction Code: 1555
Go to the Official Payments Corp. online payment center at 
officialpayments.com or call their toll-free number 800.2PAY.TAX or 
800.272.9829 and follow the recorded instructions. Official Payments 
Corp. provides customer assistance Monday through Friday, 5:00 a.m. to 
5:00 p.m. PST.
Payment Date: __________________
Confirmation Number: ___________________
If you cannot pay the full amount or can only make a partial payment for 
the amount shown on Form 540, line 65 or Form 540A, line 62, see the 
information regarding Installment Payments on page 28.

Interest and Penalties
If you file your tax return or pay your tax after the due date, you may 
owe interest and penalties on the tax due.
Do not reduce the amount on line 45 or increase the amount on line 48 
by any penalty or interest amounts. Enter on Form 540, line 63 the 
amount of interest and penalties.

Line 63 (Form 540) – Interest and Penalties
Interest. Interest will be charged on any late filing or late payment 
penalty from the original due date of the return to the date paid. In 
addition, if other penalties are not paid within 15 days, interest will be 
charged from the date of the billing notice until the date of payment. 
Interest compounds daily and the interest rate is adjusted twice a year. 
The FTB website has a chart of interest rates in effect since 1976. Go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for interest.
Late Filing of Return. The maximum total penalty is 25% of the tax 
not paid if the tax return is filed after October 15, 2009. The minimum 
penalty for filing a tax return more than 60 days late is $100 or 100% of 
the balance due, whichever is less.
Late Payment of Tax. If you fail to pay your total tax liability by April 15, 
2009, you will incur a late payment penalty plus interest. If you have 
paid at least 90% of the tax shown on the return by the original due date 
of the tax return, we will waive the penalty based on reasonable cause. 
However, the imposition of interest is mandatory. If, after April 15, 2009, 
you find that your estimate of tax due was too low, pay the additional 
tax as soon as possible to avoid or minimize further accumulation of 
penalties and interest. If you do not file your tax return by October 15, 
2009, you will incur a late filing penalty plus interest from the original 
due date of the tax return. The penalty is 5% of the tax not paid when due 
plus 1/2% for each month, or part of a month, the tax remains unpaid.
Penalties. To avoid late payment penalties for use tax, you must report 
and pay the use tax with a timely filed income tax return, or California 
Individual Use Tax return.
Other Penalties. We may impose other penalties if a payment is 
returned for insufficient funds. We may also impose penalties for 
negligence, substantial understatement of tax, and fraud.

Line 64 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax
You may be subject to an estimated tax penalty if any of the following is 
true: 
•	 Your withholding and credits are less than 90% of your current tax 

year liability.
•	 Your withholding and credits are less than or 100% of your prior 

year tax liability (110% if AGI is more than $150,000 or $75,000 if 
married/RDP filing separately).

•	 You did not pay enough through withholding to keep the amount you 
owe with your tax return under $200.

The FTB can figure the penalty for you when you file your tax return and 
send you a bill. 

Is line 48 less than $200 ($100 if married/RDP filing separately)?
Yes	 Stop. You are not subject to an estimated payment penalty.
No	 Continue. You may be subject to an estimate payment penalty.
Is line 48 less than 10% of the amount on line 30? Form 540 filers: this 
excludes the tax on lump-sum distributions on Form 540, line 23.
Yes	 Stop. You are not subject to an estimated payment penalty.
No	 You may be subject to an estimate payment penalty; get form 

FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and 
Fiduciaries (or form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by 
Farmers and Fishermen).

The underpayment of estimated tax penalty shall not apply to the extent 
the underpayment of an installment was created or increased by any 
provision of law that is chaptered during and operative for the taxable 
year of the underpayment. To request a waiver of the underpayment of 
estimated tax penalty, get form FTB 5805 or form FTB 5805F.
If you complete one of these forms, attach it to the back of your Form 540/
540A. Enter the amount of the penalty on line 64 and fill in the correct 
circle on line 64. Complete and attach the form if you claim a waiver; use 
the annualized income installment method, or pay tax according to the 
schedule for farmers and fishermen, even if you do not owe a penalty.
See “Important Due Dates” on page 2, for more information on 
estimated tax payments and how to avoid the underpayment penalty.
See the instructions for Form 540, line 65 or Form 540A, line 62 for 
information about figuring your payment, if any.

Line 65 (From 540) – Total Amount Due
Is there an amount on line 62?
Yes	 Add line 62, line 63, and line 64. Enter the result on line 65. For 

payment options, see line 62 instructions.
No	 Go to line 66.
Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution.

Refund or No Amount Due
Line 66 (Form 540A) – Refund or No Amount Due
If you did not enter an amount on line 49 or line 61, enter the amount 
from line 47 on line 66. This is the amount that will be refunded to you. 
If it is less than $1, attach a written statement to your 540A requesting 
the refund.
Subtract line 49 and line 61 from line 47. If the result is zero or more, 
enter the result on line 66. If the combined amount of line 49 and line 61 
is more than line 47, enter the difference on line 62.

Line 66 (Form 540) – Refund or No Amount Due
Did you report amounts on line 49, line 61, line 63, or line 64?
No	 Enter the amount from line 47 on line 66. This is your refund 

amount. If it is less than $1, attach a written statement to your 
Form 540 requesting the refund.

Yes	 Combine the amounts from line 49, line 61, line 63, or line 64. If 
the result is:

	 •	 More than line 47, subtract line 47 from the sum of line 49, 
line 61, line 63, and line 64 and enter the result on line 65. This 
is your total amount due. For payment options, see line 62 
instructions.

	 •	 Less than line 47, subtract the sum of line 49, line 61, line 63, 
and line 64 from line 47 and enter on line 66. This is your 
refund amount.

Want a fast refund? Get your refund in 10 days or less when you e-file 
your tax return.

Direct Deposit (Refund Only)
Line 67 and Line 68 – Direct Deposit of Refund
Direct deposit is fast, safe, and convenient. To have your refund directly 
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on 
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e-file is fast, easy, and secure!	 Instructions: Form 540/540A

Form 540/540A, Side 2, line 67 and line 68. Fill in the routing and 
account numbers and indicate the account type. Verify routing and 
account numbers with your financial institution. Do not attach a voided 
check or deposit slip. See the illustration below.
Individual taxpayers may request that his or her refund be electronically 
deposited into more than one checking or savings account. This allows 
more options for managing your refund. For example, you can request 
part of your refund go to your checking account to use now and the rest 
to your savings account to save for later.
The routing number must be nine digits. The first two digits must be 01 
through 12 or 21 through 32. On the sample check, the routing number 
is 250250025. The account number can be up to 17 characters and 
can include numbers and letters. Include hyphens but omit spaces and 
special symbols. On the sample check, the account number is 202020.
Check the appropriate box for the type of account. Do not check more 
than one box for each line. 
Enter the portion of your refund you want directly deposited into each 
account. Each deposit must be at least $1. The total of line 67 and 
line 68 must equal the total amount of your refund on line 66. If line 67 
and line 68 do not equal line 66, the FTB will issue a paper check.
Caution: Check with your financial institution to make sure your deposit 
will be accepted and to get the correct routing and account numbers. 
The FTB is not responsible for a lost refund due to incorrect account 
information entered by you or your representative.
Some financial institutions will not allow a joint refund to be deposited to 
an individual account. If the direct deposit is rejected, the FTB will issue 
a paper check.

Sign Your Tax Return
You must sign your tax return in the space provided on Side 2. If you file 
a joint tax return, your spouse/RDP must sign it also. See below for more 
information on verifying and checking information on your tax return, 
attachments to your tax return, and assembling and mailing your tax return.
Joint Tax Return. If you file a joint tax return, both you and your spouse/
RDP are generally responsible for the tax and any interest or penalties due 
on the tax return. This means that if one spouse/RDP does not pay the tax 
due, the other may be liable. See “Innocent Spouse Relief,” on page 6.
Paid Preparer’s Information. If you pay a person to prepare your 
Form 540/540A, that person signs and completes the area at the bottom 
of Side 2 including an identification number (social security number, 
FEIN, or PTIN). A paid preparer must give you two copies of your tax 
return: one to file with the FTB, and one to keep for your records.
Third Party Designee. If you want to allow a friend, family member, or 
any other person you choose to discuss your 2008 tax return with the 
FTB, check the “Yes” box in the signature area of your tax return. Also 
print the designee’s name and telephone number. If you want to allow 
the paid preparer who signed your tax return to discuss it with the FTB, 
enter “Preparer” in the space for the designee’s name and print the 
preparer’s telephone number. 
If you check the “Yes” box you, and your spouse/RDP, if filing a joint 
tax return, are authorizing the FTB to call the designee to answer any 
questions that may arise during the processing of your tax return. You 
are also authorizing the designee to: 

•	 Give the FTB any information that is missing from your tax return.
•	 Call the FTB for information about the processing of your tax return 

or the status of your refund or payments.
•	 Receive copies of notices or transcripts related to your return, upon 

request.
•	 Respond to certain FTB notices about math errors, offsets, and tax 

return preparation.
You are not authorizing the designee to receive any refund check, bind 
you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise 
represent you before the FTB. If you want to expand or change the 
designee’s authorization, get form FTB 3520, Power of Attorney 
Declaration for the Franchise Tax Board.
The authorization will automatically end no later than the due date 
(without regard to extensions) for filing your 2009 tax return. This is 
April 15, 2010, for most people. If you wish to revoke the authorization 
before it ends, notify us by telephone at 800.338.0505 or by writing to 
Franchise Tax Board, PO Box 942840, Sacramento, CA 94240-0040, 
include your name, SSN, and the designee’s name.
Power of Attorney. If another person prepared your tax return, he or 
she is not automatically granted access to your tax information in future 
dealings with us. At some point, you may wish to designate someone to 
act on your behalf in matters related or unrelated to this tax return (e.g., an 
audit examination). To protect your privacy, you must submit to us a legal 
document called a “Power of Attorney” (POA) authorizing another person 
to discuss or receive personal information about your income tax records.
For more information, get form FTB 1144, Power of Attorney Pamphlet, 
and form FTB 3520, Power of Attorney Declaration, available at ftb.ca.gov. 
See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications” on page  67.

Filing Your Tax Return
Attachments to your tax return
Do I need to attach a copy of federal Form 1040?

Form 540A Filers:
Do not attach a copy of your federal 1040 return to Form 540A.

Form 540 Filers:
Other than Schedule A or Schedule B, did you attach any federal 
forms or schedules to your federal Form 1040?”
If No, do not attach a copy of your federal 1040 return to Form 540.
If Yes, attach a copy of your federal 1040 return and all supporting 
federal forms and schedules to Form 540.
Exception: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal tax return 
but will itemize deductions on your California tax return, complete and 
attach a copy of the federal Schedule A to Form 540.

Do not attach any documents to your tax return unless specifically 
instructed. This will help us reduce government processing and storage 
costs.
Federal Form(s) W-2, W-2G, and 1099, and CA Form(s) 592-B, 593, and 
594: Make sure to attach all the Form(s) W-2 and W-2G you received to 
the front of your tax return. If you completed CA Sch W-2, attach CA Sch 
W-2 behind Side 2 of the tax return.
If you do not receive your Form(s) W-2 by January 31, 2009, contact 
your employer or go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for 
myftb account. Only your employer can issue or correct a Form W-2. 
If you cannot get a copy of your Form W-2, you must complete form 
FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, or 
Form 1099-R, Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or 
Profit Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. See “Order Forms 
and Publications” on page 67 or go to our website at ftb.ca.gov.
If you forget to send your Form(s) W-2 or other withholding forms with 
your income tax return, do not send them separately, or with another 
copy of your return. Wait until the FTB requests them from you. 

John Doe
Jackie Doe
1234 Main Street
Anytown, CA 99999

1234
15-0000/0000

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF

ANYTOWN BANK
Anytown, CA 99999

I : 250250025 I : 202020 • 1234

DOLLARS

20

For

$

Do not include
the check number

Routing
number

Account
number




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Instructions: Form 540/540A	 e-file at ftb.ca.gov

Assembling Your Tax Return
Assemble your tax return in the order shown below.

Mailing Your Tax Return
Mail your tax return using the envelope provided in this booklet. If your 
tax return shows a refund or no amount due, be sure to attach the green 
label to the front of the envelope. The address is:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO  CA  94240-0002

If your tax return has an amount due, be sure to attach the white label to 
the front of the envelope. The address is:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942867 
SACRAMENTO  CA  94267-0001

Sales and Use Tax Rates by County
(includes state, local, and district taxes)

January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2008

  County	 Rate
Alameda.................................8.75%
Alpine.....................................7.25%
Amador..................................7.25%
Butte......................................7.25%
Calaveras...............................7.25%
Colusa1...................................7.25%
Contra Costa1.........................8.25%
Del Norte................................7.25%
El Dorado1..............................7.25%
Fresno1.................................7.975%
Glenn.....................................7.25%
Humboldt1..............................7.25%
Imperial..................................7.75%
Inyo........................................7.75%
Kern1......................................7.25%
Kings......................................7.25%
Lake1......................................7.25%
Lassen...................................7.25%
Los Angeles1..........................8.25%
Madera...................................7.75%
Marin1....................................7.75%
Mariposa................................7.75%
Mendocino1............................7.25%
Merced1..................................7.25%
Modoc....................................7.25%
Mono1....................................7.25%
Monterey1..............................7.25%
Napa.......................................7.75%
Nevada1................................7.375%

County	 Rate
Orange1................................. 7.75%
Placer.................................... 7.25%
Plumas.................................. 7.25%
Riverside............................... 7.75%
Sacramento........................... 7.75%
San Benito1........................... 7.25%
San Bernardino1.................... 7.75%
San Diego1............................ 7.75%
San Francisco....................... 8.50%
San Joaquin1......................... 7.75%
San Luis Obispo1................... 7.25%
San Mateo............................. 8.25%
Santa Barbara....................... 7.75%
Santa Clara............................ 8.25%
Santa Cruz1........................... 8.00%
Shasta................................... 7.25%
Sierra.................................... 7.25%
Siskiyou................................ 7.25%
Solano................................. 7.375%
Sonoma1............................... 7.75%
Stanislaus1.......................... 7.375%
Sutter.................................... 7.25%
Tehama................................. 7.25%
Trinity.................................... 7.25%
Tulare1................................... 7.75%
Tuolumne1............................. 7.25%
Ventura................................. 7.25%
Yolo1..................................... 7.25%
Yuba...................................... 7.25%

1.	 Many cities in California impose a district tax which results in a higher sales 
and use tax rate than in other parts of the county.  If you are reporting an 
item that was purchased for use in one of these counties, please check the 
following city list to see if a higher rate applies to your city. The tax rates 
shown apply if you live within the city limits of the listed community.

County	 City 	 Citywide Rate
Colusa . . . . . . . . . .          Williams . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            7.75%
Contra Costa . . . . .     El Cerrito (effective 7/1/08)5  . . . . . . . . . . .            8.75%
Contra Costa . . . . .     Pinole  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             8.75% 
Contra Costa . . . . .     Richmond  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.75% 
El Dorado . . . . . . . .        Placerville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          7.50%
El Dorado . . . . . . . .        South Lake Tahoe  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    7.75%
Fresno . . . . . . . . . .          Clovis (effective 10/1/08)9 . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.975%
Fresno . . . . . . . . . .          Reedley (effective 7/1/08)6 . . . . . . . . . . . .             8.475%
Fresno . . . . . . . . . .          Sanger (effective 7/1/08)7  . . . . . . . . . . . .             8.725%
Fresno . . . . . . . . . .          Selma (effective 4/1/08)1 . . . . . . . . . . . . .              8.475%
Humboldt . . . . . . . .        Trinidad . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8.25%
Kern . . . . . . . . . . . .            Delano (effective 4/1/08)2  . . . . . . . . . . . . .              8.25%
Lake . . . . . . . . . . . .            Clearlake  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.75%
Lake . . . . . . . . . . . .            Lakeport  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.75%
Los Angeles . . . . . .      Avalon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             8.75%
Los Angeles . . . . . .       Inglewood . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.75%
Los Angeles . . . . . .      South Gate (effective 10/1/08)10  . . . . . . . .         9.25%
Marin . . . . . . . . . . .           San Rafael . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.25%
Mendocino . . . . . . .       Fort Bragg . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          7.75%
Mendocino . . . . . . .       Point Arena . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         7.75%
Mendocino . . . . . . .       Ukiah . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              7.75%
Mendocino . . . . . . .       Willits  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             7.75%
Merced . . . . . . . . . .Los Banos . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          7.75%
Merced . . . . . . . . . .Merced . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7.75%
Mono . . . . . . . . . . .           Mammoth Lakes (effective 10/1/08)11 . . . .     7.75%
Monterey . . . . . . . .        Del Rey Oaks . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8.25%
Monterey . . . . . . . .        Pacific Grove (effective 10/1/08)12  . . . . . .       8.25%
Monterey . . . . . . . .        Salinas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             7.75%
Monterey . . . . . . . .        Sand City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.75%
Monterey . . . . . . . .        Seaside (effective 7/1/08)8 . . . . . . . . . . . . .              8.25%
Nevada . . . . . . . . . .          Nevada City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        7.875%
Nevada . . . . . . . . . .          Truckee  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.875%
Orange . . . . . . . . . .          Laguna Beach  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       8.25%
San Benito . . . . . . .       Hollister (effective 4/1/08)3  . . . . . . . . . . . .             8.25%
San Benito . . . . . . .       San Juan Bautista  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    8.00%
San Bernardino . . .   Montclair . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           8.00%
San Bernardino . . .   San Bernardino . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      8.00%
San Diego  . . . . . . .       El Cajon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8.25%
San Diego  . . . . . . .       National City  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8.75%
San Diego  . . . . . . .       Vista  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              8.25%
San Joaquin . . . . . .      Manteca . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8.25%
San Joaquin . . . . . .      Stockton  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           8.00%
San Luis Obispo  . .  Arroyo Grande . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       7.75%
San Luis Obispo  . .  Grover Beach . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        7.75%
San Luis Obispo  . .  Morro Bay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          7.75%
San Luis Obispo  . .  Pismo Beach (effective 10/1/08)13 . . . . . . .        7.75%
San Luis Obispo  . .  San Luis Obispo  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     7.75%
Santa Cruz . . . . . . .       Capitola . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8.25%
Santa Cruz . . . . . . .       Santa Cruz . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.50%
Santa Cruz . . . . . . .       Scotts Valley  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8.50%
Santa Cruz . . . . . . .       Watsonville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         8.25%
Sonoma . . . . . . . . .         Sebastopol . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.00%
Sonoma . . . . . . . . .         Santa Rosa  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         8.00%
Stanislaus  . . . . . . .       Ceres (effective 4/1/08)4  . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.875%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . .           Dinuba . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             8.50%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . .           Farmersville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         8.25%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . .           Porterville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.25%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . .           Tulare . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              8.25%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . .           Visalia  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             8.00%
Tuolumne . . . . . . . .        Sonora . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             7.75%
Yolo . . . . . . . . . . . .            Davis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              7.75%
Yolo . . . . . . . . . . . .            West Sacramento  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    7.75%
Yolo . . . . . . . . . . . .            Woodland  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          7.75%

  1.	 The tax rate in Selma prior to April 1, 2008 was 7.975%.
  2.	 The tax rate in Delano prior to April 1, 2008 was 7.25%.
  3.	 The tax rate in Hollister prior to April 1, 2008 was 7.25%.
  4.	 The tax rate in Ceres prior to April 1, 2008 was 7.375%.
  5.	 The tax rate in El Cerrito prior to July 1, 2008 was 8.25%.
  6.	 The tax rate in Reedley prior to July 1, 2008 was 7.975%.
  7.	 The tax rate in Sanger prior to July 1, 2008 was 7.975%.
  8.	 The tax rate in Seaside prior to July 1, 2008 was 7.25%.
  9.	 The tax rate in Clovis prior to October 1, 2008 was 8.275%.
10.	 The tax rate in South Gate prior to October 1, 2008 was 8.25%.
11.	 The tax rate in Mammoth Lakes prior to October 1, 2008 was 7.25%.
12.	 The tax rate in Pacific Grove prior to October 1, 2008 was 7.25%.
13.	 The tax rate in Pismo Beach prior to October 1, 2008 was 7.25%.

Copy of other state tax return (if required)

Copy of federal tax return (if required)
Supporting California Schedules

CA Sch W-2

Side
 2Side

 1

Form 540/540A

W-2
W-2G
1099
592-B
593
594

Enclose, but do not 
staple, any payment.

Form 540/540A



2008 California Tax Table
To Find Your Tax:
•	 Read down the column labeled “If Your Taxable Income Is . . .” to find the range that includes your taxable income from Form 540/540A, line 19.
•	 Read across the columns labeled “The Tax For Filing Status” until you find the tax that applies for your taxable income and filing status.

Continued on next page.

Filing status:  1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately)    2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er))    4 (Head of Household)
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If Your Taxable	 The Tax For
Income Is . . .	 Filing Status

At	 But Not	 1 Or 3	 2 Or 5	 4
Least	 Over	 Is	 Is	 Is

If Your Taxable	 The Tax For
Income Is . . .	 Filing Status

At	 But Not	 1 Or 3	 2 Or 5	 4
Least	 Over	 Is	 Is	 Is

If Your Taxable	 The Tax For
Income Is . . .	 Filing Status

At	 But Not	 1 Or 3	 2 Or 5	 4
Least	 Over	 Is	 Is	 Is

	 $1	 $50	 $0	 $0	 $0
	 51	 150	 1	 1	 1
	 151	 250	 2	 2	 2
	 251	 350	 3	 3	 3
	 351	 450	 4	 4	 4

	 451	 550	 5	 5	 5
	 551	 650	 6	 6	 6
	 651	 750	 7	 7	 7
	 751	 850	 8	 8	 8
	 851	 950	 9	 9	 9

	 951	 1,050	 10	 10	 10
	 1,051	 1,150	 11	 11	 11
	 1,151	 1,250	 12	 12	 12
	 1,251	 1,350	 13	 13	 13
	 1,351	 1,450	 14	 14	 14

	 1,451	 1,550	 15	 15	 15
	 1,551	 1,650	 16	 16	 16
	 1,651	 1,750	 17	 17	 17
	 1,751	 1,850	 18	 18	 18
	 1,851	 1,950	 19	 19	 19

	 1,951	 2,050	 20	 20	 20
	 2,051	 2,150	 21	 21	 21
	 2,151	 2,250	 22	 22	 22
	 2,251	 2,350	 23	 23	 23
	 2,351	 2,450	 24	 24	 24

	 2,451	 2,550	 25	 25	 25
	 2,551	 2,650	 26	 26	 26
	 2,651	 2,750	 27	 27	 27
	 2,751	 2,850	 28	 28	 28
	 2,851	 2,950	 29	 29	 29

	 2,951	 3,050	 30	 30	 30
	 3,051	 3,150	 31	 31	 31
	 3,151	 3,250	 32	 32	 32
	 3,251	 3,350	 33	 33	 33
	 3,351	 3,450	 34	 34	 34

	 3,451	 3,550	 35	 35	 35
	 3,551	 3,650	 36	 36	 36
	 3,651	 3,750	 37	 37	 37
	 3,751	 3,850	 38	 38	 38
	 3,851	 3,950	 39	 39	 39

	 3,951	 4,050	 40	 40	 40
	 4,051	 4,150	 41	 41	 41
	 4,151	 4,250	 42	 42	 42
	 4,251	 4,350	 43	 43	 43
	 4,351	 4,450	 44	 44	 44

	 4,451	 4,550	 45	 45	 45
	 4,551	 4,650	 46	 46	 46
	 4,651	 4,750	 47	 47	 47
	 4,751	 4,850	 48	 48	 48
	 4,851	 4,950	 49	 49	 49

	 4,951	 5,050	 50	 50	 50
	 5,051	 5,150	 51	 51	 51
	 5,151	 5,250	 52	 52	 52
	 5,251	 5,350	 53	 53	 53
	 5,351	 5,450	 54	 54	 54

	 5,451	 5,550	 55	 55	 55
	 5,551	 5,650	 56	 56	 56
	 5,651	 5,750	 57	 57	 57
	 5,751	 5,850	 58	 58	 58
	 5,851	 5,950	 59	 59	 59

	 5,951	 6,050	 60	 60	 60
	 6,051	 6,150	 61	 61	 61
	 6,151	 6,250	 62	 62	 62
	 6,251	 6,350	 63	 63	 63
	 6,351	 6,450	 64	 64	 64

	 6,451	 6,550	 65	 65	 65
	 6,551	 6,650	 66	 66	 66
	 6,651	 6,750	 67	 67	 67
	 6,751	 6,850	 68	 68	 68
	 6,851	 6,950	 69	 69	 69

	 6,951	 7,050	 70	 70	 70
	 7,051	 7,150	 71	 71	 71
	 7,151	 7,250	 72	 72	 72
	 7,251	 7,350	 74	 73	 73
	 7,351	 7,450	 76	 74	 74

	 7,451	 7,550	 78	 75	 75
	 7,551	 7,650	 80	 76	 76
	 7,651	 7,750	 82	 77	 77
	 7,751	 7,850	 84	 78	 78
	 7,851	 7,950	 86	 79	 79

	 7,951	 8,050	 88	 80	 80
	 8,051	 8,150	 90	 81	 81
	 8,151	 8,250	 92	 82	 82
	 8,251	 8,350	 94	 83	 83
	 8,351	 8,450	 96	 84	 84

	 8,451	 8,550	 98	 85	 85
	 8,551	 8,650	 100	 86	 86
	 8,651	 8,750	 102	 87	 87
	 8,751	 8,850	 104	 88	 88
	 8,851	 8,950	 106	 89	 89

	 8,951	 9,050	 108	 90	 90
	 9,051	 9,150	 110	 91	 91
	 9,151	 9,250	 112	 92	 92
	 9,251	 9,350	 114	 93	 93
	 9,351	 9,450	 116	 94	 94

	 9,451	 9,550	 118	 95	 95
	 9,551	 9,650	 120	 96	 96
	 9,651	 9,750	 122	 97	 97
	 9,751	 9,850	 124	 98	 98
	 9,851	 9,950	 126	 99	 99

	 9,951	 10,050	 128	 100	 100
	 10,051	 10,150	 130	 101	 101
	 10,151	 10,250	 132	 102	 102
	 10,251	 10,350	 134	 103	 103
	 10,351	 10,450	 136	 104	 104

	 10,451	 10,550	 138	 105	 105
	 10,551	 10,650	 140	 106	 106
	 10,651	 10,750	 142	 107	 107
	 10,751	 10,850	 144	 108	 108
	 10,851	 10,950	 146	 109	 109

	 10,951	 11,050	 148	 110	 110
	 11,051	 11,150	 150	 111	 111
	 11,151	 11,250	 152	 112	 112
	 11,251	 11,350	 154	 113	 113
	 11,351	 11,450	 156	 114	 114

	 11,451	 11,550	 158	 115	 115
	 11,551	 11,650	 160	 116	 116
	 11,651	 11,750	 162	 117	 117
	 11,751	 11,850	 164	 118	 118
	 11,851	 11,950	 166	 119	 119

	 11,951	 12,050	 168	 120	 120
	 12,051	 12,150	 170	 121	 121
	 12,151	 12,250	 172	 122	 122
	 12,251	 12,350	 174	 123	 123
	 12,351	 12,450	 176	 124	 124

	 12,451	 12,550	 178	 125	 125
	 12,551	 12,650	 180	 126	 126
	 12,651	 12,750	 182	 127	 127
	 12,751	 12,850	 184	 128	 128
	 12,851	 12,950	 186	 129	 129

	 12,951	 13,050	 188	 130	 130
	 13,051	 13,150	 190	 131	 131
	 13,151	 13,250	 192	 132	 132
	 13,251	 13,350	 194	 133	 133
	 13,351	 13,450	 196	 134	 134

	 13,451	 13,550	 198	 135	 135
	 13,551	 13,650	 200	 136	 136
	 13,651	 13,750	 202	 137	 137
	 13,751	 13,850	 204	 138	 138
	 13,851	 13,950	 206	 139	 139

	 13,951	 14,050	 208	 140	 140
	 14,051	 14,150	 210	 141	 141
	 14,151	 14,250	 212	 142	 142
	 14,251	 14,350	 214	 143	 143
	 14,351	 14,450	 216	 145	 145

	 14,451	 14,550	 218	 147	 147
	 14,551	 14,650	 220	 149	 149
	 14,651	 14,750	 222	 151	 151
	 14,751	 14,850	 224	 153	 153
	 14,851	 14,950	 226	 155	 155

	 14,951	 15,050	 228	 157	 157
	 15,051	 15,150	 230	 159	 159
	 15,151	 15,250	 232	 161	 161
	 15,251	 15,350	 234	 163	 163
	 15,351	 15,450	 236	 165	 165

	 15,451	 15,550	 238	 167	 167
	 15,551	 15,650	 240	 169	 169
	 15,651	 15,750	 242	 171	 171
	 15,751	 15,850	 244	 173	 173
	 15,851	 15,950	 246	 175	 175

	 15,951	 16,050	 248	 177	 177
	 16,051	 16,150	 250	 179	 179
	 16,151	 16,250	 252	 181	 181
	 16,251	 16,350	 254	 183	 183
	 16,351	 16,450	 256	 185	 185

	 16,451	 16,550	 258	 187	 187
	 16,551	 16,650	 260	 189	 189
	 16,651	 16,750	 262	 191	 191
	 16,751	 16,850	 264	 193	 193
	 16,851	 16,950	 266	 195	 195

	 16,951	 17,050	 268	 197	 197
	 17,051	 17,150	 272	 199	 199
	 17,151	 17,250	 276	 201	 201
	 17,251	 17,350	 280	 203	 203
	 17,351	 17,450	 284	 205	 205

	 17,451	 17,550	 288	 207	 207
	 17,551	 17,650	 292	 209	 209
	 17,651	 17,750	 296	 211	 211
	 17,751	 17,850	 300	 213	 213
	 17,851	 17,950	 304	 215	 215

	 17,951	 18,050	 308	 217	 217
	 18,051	 18,150	 312	 219	 219
	 18,151	 18,250	 316	 221	 221
	 18,251	 18,350	 320	 223	 223
	 18,351	 18,450	 324	 225	 225

	 18,451	 18,550	 328	 227	 227
	 18,551	 18,650	 332	 229	 229
	 18,651	 18,750	 336	 231	 231
	 18,751	 18,850	 340	 233	 233
	 18,851	 18,950	 344	 235	 235

	 18,951	 19,050	 348	 237	 237
	 19,051	 19,150	 352	 239	 239
	 19,151	 19,250	 356	 241	 241
	 19,251	 19,350	 360	 243	 243
	 19,351	 19,450	 364	 245	 245



2008 California Tax Table – Continued

Continued on next page.

Filing status:  1 or 3 (Single; Married/RDP Filing Separately)    2 or 5 (Married/RDP Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er))    4 (Head of Household)

Page 22  Personal Income Tax Booklet  2008

If Your Taxable	 The Tax For
Income Is . . .	 Filing Status

At	 But Not	 1 Or 3	 2 Or 5	 4
Least	 Over	 Is	 Is	 Is

If Your Taxable	 The Tax For
Income Is . . .	 Filing Status

At	 But Not	 1 Or 3	 2 Or 5	 4
Least	 Over	 Is	 Is	 Is

If Your Taxable	 The Tax For
Income Is . . .	 Filing Status

At	 But Not	 1 Or 3	 2 Or 5	 4
Least	 Over	 Is	 Is	 Is

	 19,451	 19,550	 368	 247	 247
	 19,551	 19,650	 372	 249	 249
	 19,651	 19,750	 376	 251	 251
	 19,751	 19,850	 380	 253	 253
	 19,851	 19,950	 384	 255	 255

	 19,951	 20,050	 388	 257	 257
	 20,051	 20,150	 392	 259	 259
	 20,151	 20,250	 396	 261	 261
	 20,251	 20,350	 400	 263	 263
	 20,351	 20,450	 404	 265	 265

	 20,451	 20,550	 408	 267	 267
	 20,551	 20,650	 412	 269	 269
	 20,651	 20,750	 416	 271	 271
	 20,751	 20,850	 420	 273	 273
	 20,851	 20,950	 424	 275	 275

	 20,951	 21,050	 428	 277	 277
	 21,051	 21,150	 432	 279	 279
	 21,151	 21,250	 436	 281	 281
	 21,251	 21,350	 440	 283	 283
	 21,351	 21,450	 444	 285	 285

	 21,451	 21,550	 448	 287	 287
	 21,551	 21,650	 452	 289	 289
	 21,651	 21,750	 456	 291	 291
	 21,751	 21,850	 460	 293	 293
	 21,851	 21,950	 464	 295	 295

	 21,951	 22,050	 468	 297	 297
	 22,051	 22,150	 472	 299	 299
	 22,151	 22,250	 476	 301	 301
	 22,251	 22,350	 480	 303	 303
	 22,351	 22,450	 484	 305	 305

	 22,451	 22,550	 488	 307	 307
	 22,551	 22,650	 492	 309	 309
	 22,651	 22,750	 496	 311	 311
	 22,751	 22,850	 500	 313	 313
	 22,851	 22,950	 504	 315	 315

	 22,951	 23,050	 508	 317	 317
	 23,051	 23,150	 512	 319	 319
	 23,151	 23,250	 516	 321	 321
	 23,251	 23,350	 520	 323	 323
	 23,351	 23,450	 524	 325	 325

	 23,451	 23,550	 528	 327	 327
	 23,551	 23,650	 532	 329	 329
	 23,651	 23,750	 536	 331	 331
	 23,751	 23,850	 540	 333	 333
	 23,851	 23,950	 544	 335	 335

	 23,951	 24,050	 548	 337	 337
	 24,051	 24,150	 552	 339	 339
	 24,151	 24,250	 556	 341	 341
	 24,251	 24,350	 560	 343	 343
	 24,351	 24,450	 564	 345	 345

	 24,451	 24,550	 568	 347	 347
	 24,551	 24,650	 572	 349	 349
	 24,651	 24,750	 576	 351	 351
	 24,751	 24,850	 580	 353	 353
	 24,851	 24,950	 584	 355	 355

	 24,951	 25,050	 588	 357	 357
	 25,051	 25,150	 592	 359	 359
	 25,151	 25,250	 596	 361	 361
	 25,251	 25,350	 600	 363	 363
	 25,351	 25,450	 604	 365	 365

	 25,451	 25,550	 608	 367	 367
	 25,551	 25,650	 612	 369	 369
	 25,651	 25,750	 616	 371	 371
	 25,751	 25,850	 620	 373	 373
	 25,851	 25,950	 624	 375	 375

	 25,951	 26,050	 628	 377	 377
	 26,051	 26,150	 632	 379	 379
	 26,151	 26,250	 636	 381	 381
	 26,251	 26,350	 640	 383	 383
	 26,351	 26,450	 644	 385	 385

	 26,451	 26,550	 648	 387	 387
	 26,551	 26,650	 652	 389	 389
	 26,651	 26,750	 656	 391	 391
	 26,751	 26,850	 660	 393	 393
	 26,851	 26,950	 666	 395	 395

	 26,951	 27,050	 672	 397	 397
	 27,051	 27,150	 678	 399	 399
	 27,151	 27,250	 684	 401	 401
	 27,251	 27,350	 690	 403	 403
	 27,351	 27,450	 696	 405	 405

	 27,451	 27,550	 702	 407	 407
	 27,551	 27,650	 708	 409	 409
	 27,651	 27,750	 714	 411	 411
	 27,751	 27,850	 720	 413	 413
	 27,851	 27,950	 726	 415	 415

	 27,951	 28,050	 732	 417	 417
	 28,051	 28,150	 738	 419	 419
	 28,151	 28,250	 744	 421	 421
	 28,251	 28,350	 750	 423	 423
	 28,351	 28,450	 756	 425	 425

	 28,451	 28,550	 762	 427	 427
	 28,551	 28,650	 768	 429	 429
	 28,651	 28,750	 774	 431	 431
	 28,751	 28,850	 780	 433	 433
	 28,851	 28,950	 786	 435	 435

	 28,951	 29,050	 792	 437	 437
	 29,051	 29,150	 798	 439	 439
	 29,151	 29,250	 804	 441	 441
	 29,251	 29,350	 810	 443	 443
	 29,351	 29,450	 816	 445	 445

	 29,451	 29,550	 822	 447	 447
	 29,551	 29,650	 828	 449	 449
	 29,651	 29,750	 834	 451	 451
	 29,751	 29,850	 840	 453	 453
	 29,851	 29,950	 846	 455	 455

	 29,951	 30,050	 852	 457	 457
	 30,051	 30,150	 858	 459	 459
	 30,151	 30,250	 864	 461	 461
	 30,251	 30,350	 870	 463	 463
	 30,351	 30,450	 876	 465	 465

	 30,451	 30,550	 882	 467	 467
	 30,551	 30,650	 888	 469	 469
	 30,651	 30,750	 894	 471	 471
	 30,751	 30,850	 900	 473	 473
	 30,851	 30,950	 906	 475	 475

	 30,951	 31,050	 912	 477	 477
	 31,051	 31,150	 918	 479	 479
	 31,151	 31,250	 924	 481	 481
	 31,251	 31,350	 930	 483	 483
	 31,351	 31,450	 936	 485	 485

	 31,451	 31,550	 942	 487	 487
	 31,551	 31,650	 948	 489	 489
	 31,651	 31,750	 954	 491	 491
	 31,751	 31,850	 960	 493	 493
	 31,851	 31,950	 966	 495	 495

	 31,951	 32,050	 972	 497	 497
	 32,051	 32,150	 978	 499	 499
	 32,151	 32,250	 984	 501	 501
	 32,251	 32,350	 990	 503	 503
	 32,351	 32,450	 996	 505	 505

	 32,451	 32,550	 1,002	 507	 507
	 32,551	 32,650	 1,008	 509	 509
	 32,651	 32,750	 1,014	 511	 511
	 32,751	 32,850	 1,020	 513	 513
	 32,851	 32,950	 1,026	 515	 515

	 32,951	 33,050	 1,032	 517	 517
	 33,051	 33,150	 1,038	 519	 519
	 33,151	 33,250	 1,044	 521	 521
	 33,251	 33,350	 1,050	 523	 523
	 33,351	 33,450	 1,056	 525	 525

	 33,451	 33,550	 1,062	 527	 527
	 33,551	 33,650	 1,068	 529	 529
	 33,651	 33,750	 1,074	 531	 531
	 33,751	 33,850	 1,080	 533	 533
	 33,851	 33,950	 1,086	 535	 535

	 33,951	 34,050	 1,092	 537	 537
	 34,051	 34,150	 1,098	 541	 541
	 34,151	 34,250	 1,104	 545	 545
	 34,251	 34,350	 1,110	 549	 549
	 34,351	 34,450	 1,116	 553	 553

	 34,451	 34,550	 1,122	 557	 557
	 34,551	 34,650	 1,128	 561	 561
	 34,651	 34,750	 1,134	 565	 565
	 34,751	 34,850	 1,140	 569	 569
	 34,851	 34,950	 1,146	 573	 573

	 34,951	 35,050	 1,152	 577	 577
	 35,051	 35,150	 1,158	 581	 581
	 35,151	 35,250	 1,164	 585	 585
	 35,251	 35,350	 1,170	 589	 589
	 35,351	 35,450	 1,176	 593	 593

	 35,451	 35,550	 1,182	 597	 597
	 35,551	 35,650	 1,188	 601	 601
	 35,651	 35,750	 1,194	 605	 605
	 35,751	 35,850	 1,200	 609	 609
	 35,851	 35,950	 1,206	 613	 613

	 35,951	 36,050	 1,212	 617	 617
	 36,051	 36,150	 1,218	 621	 621
	 36,151	 36,250	 1,224	 625	 625
	 36,251	 36,350	 1,230	 629	 629
	 36,351	 36,450	 1,236	 633	 633

	 36,451	 36,550	 1,242	 637	 637
	 36,551	 36,650	 1,248	 641	 641
	 36,651	 36,750	 1,254	 645	 645
	 36,751	 36,850	 1,260	 649	 649
	 36,851	 36,950	 1,266	 653	 653

	 36,951	 37,050	 1,272	 657	 657
	 37,051	 37,150	 1,278	 661	 661
	 37,151	 37,250	 1,284	 665	 665
	 37,251	 37,350	 1,291	 669	 669
	 37,351	 37,450	 1,299	 673	 673

	 37,451	 37,550	 1,307	 677	 677
	 37,551	 37,650	 1,315	 681	 681
	 37,651	 37,750	 1,323	 685	 685
	 37,751	 37,850	 1,331	 689	 689
	 37,851	 37,950	 1,339	 693	 693

	 37,951	 38,050	 1,347	 697	 697
	 38,051	 38,150	 1,355	 701	 701
	 38,151	 38,250	 1,363	 705	 705
	 38,251	 38,350	 1,371	 709	 709
	 38,351	 38,450	 1,379	 713	 713

	 38,451	 38,550	 1,387	 717	 717
	 38,551	 38,650	 1,395	 721	 721
	 38,651	 38,750	 1,403	 725	 725
	 38,751	 38,850	 1,411	 729	 729
	 38,851	 38,950	 1,419	 733	 733

	 38,951	 39,050	 1,427	 737	 737
	 39,051	 39,150	 1,435	 741	 741
	 39,151	 39,250	 1,443	 745	 745
	 39,251	 39,350	 1,451	 749	 749
	 39,351	 39,450	 1,459	 753	 753

	 39,451	 39,550	 1,467	 757	 757
	 39,551	 39,650	 1,475	 761	 761
	 39,651	 39,750	 1,483	 765	 765
	 39,751	 39,850	 1,491	 769	 769
	 39,851	 39,950	 1,499	 773	 773

	 39,951	 40,050	 1,507	 777	 777
	 40,051	 40,150	 1,515	 781	 781
	 40,151	 40,250	 1,523	 785	 785
	 40,251	 40,350	 1,531	 789	 789
	 40,351	 40,450	 1,539	 793	 793
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	 40,451	 40,550	 1,547	 797	 797
	 40,551	 40,650	 1,555	 801	 801
	 40,651	 40,750	 1,563	 805	 805
	 40,751	 40,850	 1,571	 809	 809
	 40,851	 40,950	 1,579	 813	 813

	 40,951	 41,050	 1,587	 817	 817
	 41,051	 41,150	 1,595	 821	 821
	 41,151	 41,250	 1,603	 825	 825
	 41,251	 41,350	 1,611	 829	 829
	 41,351	 41,450	 1,619	 833	 833

	 41,451	 41,550	 1,627	 837	 837
	 41,551	 41,650	 1,635	 841	 841
	 41,651	 41,750	 1,643	 845	 845
	 41,751	 41,850	 1,651	 849	 849
	 41,851	 41,950	 1,659	 853	 853

	 41,951	 42,050	 1,667	 857	 857
	 42,051	 42,150	 1,675	 861	 861
	 42,151	 42,250	 1,683	 865	 865
	 42,251	 42,350	 1,691	 869	 869
	 42,351	 42,450	 1,699	 873	 873

	 42,451	 42,550	 1,707	 877	 877
	 42,551	 42,650	 1,715	 881	 881
	 42,651	 42,750	 1,723	 885	 885
	 42,751	 42,850	 1,731	 889	 889
	 42,851	 42,950	 1,739	 893	 893

	 42,951	 43,050	 1,747	 897	 897
	 43,051	 43,150	 1,755	 901	 901
	 43,151	 43,250	 1,763	 905	 905
	 43,251	 43,350	 1,771	 909	 909
	 43,351	 43,450	 1,779	 913	 913

	 43,451	 43,550	 1,787	 917	 917
	 43,551	 43,650	 1,795	 921	 921
	 43,651	 43,750	 1,803	 925	 925
	 43,751	 43,850	 1,811	 929	 929
	 43,851	 43,950	 1,819	 933	 934

	 43,951	 44,050	 1,827	 937	 940
	 44,051	 44,150	 1,835	 941	 946
	 44,151	 44,250	 1,843	 945	 952
	 44,251	 44,350	 1,851	 949	 958
	 44,351	 44,450	 1,859	 953	 964

	 44,451	 44,550	 1,867	 957	 970
	 44,551	 44,650	 1,875	 961	 976
	 44,651	 44,750	 1,883	 965	 982
	 44,751	 44,850	 1,891	 969	 988
	 44,851	 44,950	 1,899	 973	 994

	 44,951	 45,050	 1,907	 977	 1,000
	 45,051	 45,150	 1,915	 981	 1,006
	 45,151	 45,250	 1,923	 985	 1,012
	 45,251	 45,350	 1,931	 989	 1,018
	 45,351	 45,450	 1,939	 993	 1,024

	 45,451	 45,550	 1,947	 997	 1,030
	 45,551	 45,650	 1,955	 1,001	 1,036
	 45,651	 45,750	 1,963	 1,005	 1,042
	 45,751	 45,850	 1,971	 1,009	 1,048
	 45,851	 45,950	 1,979	 1,013	 1,054

	 45,951	 46,050	 1,987	 1,017	 1,060
	 46,051	 46,150	 1,995	 1,021	 1,066
	 46,151	 46,250	 2,003	 1,025	 1,072
	 46,251	 46,350	 2,011	 1,029	 1,078
	 46,351	 46,450	 2,019	 1,033	 1,084

	 46,451	 46,550	 2,027	 1,037	 1,090
	 46,551	 46,650	 2,035	 1,041	 1,096
	 46,651	 46,750	 2,043	 1,045	 1,102
	 46,751	 46,850	 2,051	 1,049	 1,108
	 46,851	 46,950	 2,059	 1,053	 1,114

	 46,951	 47,050	 2,067	 1,057	 1,120
	 47,051	 47,150	 2,076	 1,061	 1,126
	 47,151	 47,250	 2,085	 1,065	 1,132
	 47,251	 47,350	 2,095	 1,069	 1,138
	 47,351	 47,450	 2,104	 1,073	 1,144

	 47,451	 47,550	 2,113	 1,077	 1,150
	 47,551	 47,650	 2,122	 1,081	 1,156
	 47,651	 47,750	 2,132	 1,085	 1,162
	 47,751	 47,850	 2,141	 1,089	 1,168
	 47,851	 47,950	 2,150	 1,093	 1,174

	 47,951	 48,050	 2,160	 1,097	 1,180
	 48,051	 48,150	 2,169	 1,101	 1,186
	 48,151	 48,250	 2,178	 1,105	 1,192
	 48,251	 48,350	 2,188	 1,109	 1,198
	 48,351	 48,450	 2,197	 1,113	 1,204

	 48,451	 48,550	 2,206	 1,117	 1,210
	 48,551	 48,650	 2,215	 1,121	 1,216
	 48,651	 48,750	 2,225	 1,125	 1,222
	 48,751	 48,850	 2,234	 1,129	 1,228
	 48,851	 48,950	 2,243	 1,133	 1,234

	 48,951	 49,050	 2,253	 1,137	 1,240
	 49,051	 49,150	 2,262	 1,141	 1,246
	 49,151	 49,250	 2,271	 1,145	 1,252
	 49,251	 49,350	 2,281	 1,149	 1,258
	 49,351	 49,450	 2,290	 1,153	 1,264

	 49,451	 49,550	 2,299	 1,157	 1,270
	 49,551	 49,650	 2,308	 1,161	 1,276
	 49,651	 49,750	 2,318	 1,165	 1,282
	 49,751	 49,850	 2,327	 1,169	 1,288
	 49,851	 49,950	 2,336	 1,173	 1,294

	 49,951	 50,050	 2,346	 1,177	 1,300
	 50,051	 50,150	 2,355	 1,181	 1,306
	 50,151	 50,250	 2,364	 1,185	 1,312
	 50,251	 50,350	 2,374	 1,189	 1,318
	 50,351	 50,450	 2,383	 1,193	 1,324

	 50,451	 50,550	 2,392	 1,197	 1,330
	 50,551	 50,650	 2,401	 1,201	 1,336
	 50,651	 50,750	 2,411	 1,205	 1,342
	 50,751	 50,850	 2,420	 1,209	 1,348
	 50,851	 50,950	 2,429	 1,213	 1,354

	 50,951	 51,050	 2,439	 1,217	 1,360
	 51,051	 51,150	 2,448	 1,221	 1,366
	 51,151	 51,250	 2,457	 1,225	 1,372
	 51,251	 51,350	 2,467	 1,229	 1,378
	 51,351	 51,450	 2,476	 1,233	 1,384

	 51,451	 51,550	 2,485	 1,237	 1,390
	 51,551	 51,650	 2,494	 1,241	 1,396
	 51,651	 51,750	 2,504	 1,245	 1,402
	 51,751	 51,850	 2,513	 1,249	 1,408
	 51,851	 51,950	 2,522	 1,253	 1,414

	 51,951	 52,050	 2,532	 1,257	 1,420
	 52,051	 52,150	 2,541	 1,261	 1,426
	 52,151	 52,250	 2,550	 1,265	 1,432
	 52,251	 52,350	 2,560	 1,269	 1,438
	 52,351	 52,450	 2,569	 1,273	 1,444

	 52,451	 52,550	 2,578	 1,277	 1,450
	 52,551	 52,650	 2,587	 1,281	 1,456
	 52,651	 52,750	 2,597	 1,285	 1,462
	 52,751	 52,850	 2,606	 1,289	 1,468
	 52,851	 52,950	 2,615	 1,293	 1,474

	 52,951	 53,050	 2,625	 1,297	 1,480
	 53,051	 53,150	 2,634	 1,301	 1,486
	 53,151	 53,250	 2,643	 1,305	 1,492
	 53,251	 53,350	 2,653	 1,309	 1,498
	 53,351	 53,450	 2,662	 1,313	 1,504

	 53,451	 53,550	 2,671	 1,317	 1,510
	 53,551	 53,650	 2,680	 1,321	 1,516
	 53,651	 53,750	 2,690	 1,326	 1,522
	 53,751	 53,850	 2,699	 1,332	 1,528
	 53,851	 53,950	 2,708	 1,338	 1,534

	 53,951	 54,050	 2,718	 1,344	 1,540
	 54,051	 54,150	 2,727	 1,350	 1,546
	 54,151	 54,250	 2,736	 1,356	 1,552
	 54,251	 54,350	 2,746	 1,362	 1,560
	 54,351	 54,450	 2,755	 1,368	 1,568

	 54,451	 54,550	 2,764	 1,374	 1,576
	 54,551	 54,650	 2,773	 1,380	 1,584
	 54,651	 54,750	 2,783	 1,386	 1,592
	 54,751	 54,850	 2,792	 1,392	 1,600
	 54,851	 54,950	 2,801	 1,398	 1,608

	 54,951	 55,050	 2,811	 1,404	 1,616
	 55,051	 55,150	 2,820	 1,410	 1,624
	 55,151	 55,250	 2,829	 1,416	 1,632
	 55,251	 55,350	 2,839	 1,422	 1,640
	 55,351	 55,450	 2,848	 1,428	 1,648

	 55,451	 55,550	 2,857	 1,434	 1,656
	 55,551	 55,650	 2,866	 1,440	 1,664
	 55,651	 55,750	 2,876	 1,446	 1,672
	 55,751	 55,850	 2,885	 1,452	 1,680
	 55,851	 55,950	 2,894	 1,458	 1,688

	 55,951	 56,050	 2,904	 1,464	 1,696
	 56,051	 56,150	 2,913	 1,470	 1,704
	 56,151	 56,250	 2,922	 1,476	 1,712
	 56,251	 56,350	 2,932	 1,482	 1,720
	 56,351	 56,450	 2,941	 1,488	 1,728

	 56,451	 56,550	 2,950	 1,494	 1,736
	 56,551	 56,650	 2,959	 1,500	 1,744
	 56,651	 56,750	 2,969	 1,506	 1,752
	 56,751	 56,850	 2,978	 1,512	 1,760
	 56,851	 56,950	 2,987	 1,518	 1,768

	 56,951	 57,050	 2,997	 1,524	 1,776
	 57,051	 57,150	 3,006	 1,530	 1,784
	 57,151	 57,250	 3,015	 1,536	 1,792
	 57,251	 57,350	 3,025	 1,542	 1,800
	 57,351	 57,450	 3,034	 1,548	 1,808

	 57,451	 57,550	 3,043	 1,554	 1,816
	 57,551	 57,650	 3,052	 1,560	 1,824
	 57,651	 57,750	 3,062	 1,566	 1,832
	 57,751	 57,850	 3,071	 1,572	 1,840
	 57,851	 57,950	 3,080	 1,578	 1,848

	 57,951	 58,050	 3,090	 1,584	 1,856
	 58,051	 58,150	 3,099	 1,590	 1,864
	 58,151	 58,250	 3,108	 1,596	 1,872
	 58,251	 58,350	 3,118	 1,602	 1,880
	 58,351	 58,450	 3,127	 1,608	 1,888

	 58,451	 58,550	 3,136	 1,614	 1,896
	 58,551	 58,650	 3,145	 1,620	 1,904
	 58,651	 58,750	 3,155	 1,626	 1,912
	 58,751	 58,850	 3,164	 1,632	 1,920
	 58,851	 58,950	 3,173	 1,638	 1,928

	 58,951	 59,050	 3,183	 1,644	 1,936
	 59,051	 59,150	 3,192	 1,650	 1,944
	 59,151	 59,250	 3,201	 1,656	 1,952
	 59,251	 59,350	 3,211	 1,662	 1,960
	 59,351	 59,450	 3,220	 1,668	 1,968

	 59,451	 59,550	 3,229	 1,674	 1,976
	 59,551	 59,650	 3,238	 1,680	 1,984
	 59,651	 59,750	 3,248	 1,686	 1,992
	 59,751	 59,850	 3,257	 1,692	 2,000
	 59,851	 59,950	 3,266	 1,698	 2,008

	 59,951	 60,050	 3,276	 1,704	 2,016
	 60,051	 60,150	 3,285	 1,710	 2,024
	 60,151	 60,250	 3,294	 1,716	 2,032
	 60,251	 60,350	 3,304	 1,722	 2,040
	 60,351	 60,450	 3,313	 1,728	 2,048

	 60,451	 60,550	 3,322	 1,734	 2,056
	 60,551	 60,650	 3,331	 1,740	 2,064
	 60,651	 60,750	 3,341	 1,746	 2,072
	 60,751	 60,850	 3,350	 1,752	 2,080
	 60,851	 60,950	 3,359	 1,758	 2,088

	 60,951	 61,050	 3,369	 1,764	 2,096
	 61,051	 61,150	 3,378	 1,770	 2,104
	 61,151	 61,250	 3,387	 1,776	 2,112
	 61,251	 61,350	 3,397	 1,782	 2,120
	 61,351	 61,450	 3,406	 1,788	 2,128
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	 61,451	 61,550	 3,415	 1,794	 2,136
	 61,551	 61,650	 3,424	 1,800	 2,144
	 61,651	 61,750	 3,434	 1,806	 2,152
	 61,751	 61,850	 3,443	 1,812	 2,160
	 61,851	 61,950	 3,452	 1,818	 2,168

	 61,951	 62,050	 3,462	 1,824	 2,176
	 62,051	 62,150	 3,471	 1,830	 2,184
	 62,151	 62,250	 3,480	 1,836	 2,192
	 62,251	 62,350	 3,490	 1,842	 2,200
	 62,351	 62,450	 3,499	 1,848	 2,208

	 62,451	 62,550	 3,508	 1,854	 2,216
	 62,551	 62,650	 3,517	 1,860	 2,224
	 62,651	 62,750	 3,527	 1,866	 2,232
	 62,751	 62,850	 3,536	 1,872	 2,240
	 62,851	 62,950	 3,545	 1,878	 2,248

	 62,951	 63,050	 3,555	 1,884	 2,256
	 63,051	 63,150	 3,564	 1,890	 2,264
	 63,151	 63,250	 3,573	 1,896	 2,272
	 63,251	 63,350	 3,583	 1,902	 2,280
	 63,351	 63,450	 3,592	 1,908	 2,288

	 63,451	 63,550	 3,601	 1,914	 2,296
	 63,551	 63,650	 3,610	 1,920	 2,304
	 63,651	 63,750	 3,620	 1,926	 2,312
	 63,751	 63,850	 3,629	 1,932	 2,320
	 63,851	 63,950	 3,638	 1,938	 2,328

	 63,951	 64,050	 3,648	 1,944	 2,336
	 64,051	 64,150	 3,657	 1,950	 2,345
	 64,151	 64,250	 3,666	 1,956	 2,354
	 64,251	 64,350	 3,676	 1,962	 2,363
	 64,351	 64,450	 3,685	 1,968	 2,373

	 64,451	 64,550	 3,694	 1,974	 2,382
	 64,551	 64,650	 3,703	 1,980	 2,391
	 64,651	 64,750	 3,713	 1,986	 2,400
	 64,751	 64,850	 3,722	 1,992	 2,410
	 64,851	 64,950	 3,731	 1,998	 2,419

	 64,951	 65,050	 3,741	 2,004	 2,428
	 65,051	 65,150	 3,750	 2,010	 2,438
	 65,151	 65,250	 3,759	 2,016	 2,447
	 65,251	 65,350	 3,769	 2,022	 2,456
	 65,351	 65,450	 3,778	 2,028	 2,466

	 65,451	 65,550	 3,787	 2,034	 2,475
	 65,551	 65,650	 3,796	 2,040	 2,484
	 65,651	 65,750	 3,806	 2,046	 2,493
	 65,751	 65,850	 3,815	 2,052	 2,503
	 65,851	 65,950	 3,824	 2,058	 2,512

	 65,951	 66,050	 3,834	 2,064	 2,521
	 66,051	 66,150	 3,843	 2,070	 2,531
	 66,151	 66,250	 3,852	 2,076	 2,540
	 66,251	 66,350	 3,862	 2,082	 2,549
	 66,351	 66,450	 3,871	 2,088	 2,559

	 66,451	 66,550	 3,880	 2,094	 2,568
	 66,551	 66,650	 3,889	 2,100	 2,577
	 66,651	 66,750	 3,899	 2,106	 2,586
	 66,751	 66,850	 3,908	 2,112	 2,596
	 66,851	 66,950	 3,917	 2,118	 2,605

	 66,951	 67,050	 3,927	 2,124	 2,614
	 67,051	 67,150	 3,936	 2,130	 2,624
	 67,151	 67,250	 3,945	 2,136	 2,633
	 67,251	 67,350	 3,955	 2,142	 2,642
	 67,351	 67,450	 3,964	 2,148	 2,652

	 67,451	 67,550	 3,973	 2,154	 2,661
	 67,551	 67,650	 3,982	 2,160	 2,670
	 67,651	 67,750	 3,992	 2,166	 2,679
	 67,751	 67,850	 4,001	 2,172	 2,689
	 67,851	 67,950	 4,010	 2,178	 2,698

	 67,951	 68,050	 4,020	 2,184	 2,707
	 68,051	 68,150	 4,029	 2,190	 2,717
	 68,151	 68,250	 4,038	 2,196	 2,726
	 68,251	 68,350	 4,048	 2,202	 2,735
	 68,351	 68,450	 4,057	 2,208	 2,745

	 68,451	 68,550	 4,066	 2,214	 2,754
	 68,551	 68,650	 4,075	 2,220	 2,763
	 68,651	 68,750	 4,085	 2,226	 2,772
	 68,751	 68,850	 4,094	 2,232	 2,782
	 68,851	 68,950	 4,103	 2,238	 2,791

	 68,951	 69,050	 4,113	 2,244	 2,800
	 69,051	 69,150	 4,122	 2,250	 2,810
	 69,151	 69,250	 4,131	 2,256	 2,819
	 69,251	 69,350	 4,141	 2,262	 2,828
	 69,351	 69,450	 4,150	 2,268	 2,838

	 69,451	 69,550	 4,159	 2,274	 2,847
	 69,551	 69,650	 4,168	 2,280	 2,856
	 69,651	 69,750	 4,178	 2,286	 2,865
	 69,751	 69,850	 4,187	 2,292	 2,875
	 69,851	 69,950	 4,196	 2,298	 2,884

	 69,951	 70,050	 4,206	 2,304	 2,893
	 70,051	 70,150	 4,215	 2,310	 2,903
	 70,151	 70,250	 4,224	 2,316	 2,912
	 70,251	 70,350	 4,234	 2,322	 2,921
	 70,351	 70,450	 4,243	 2,328	 2,931

	 70,451	 70,550	 4,252	 2,334	 2,940
	 70,551	 70,650	 4,261	 2,340	 2,949
	 70,651	 70,750	 4,271	 2,346	 2,958
	 70,751	 70,850	 4,280	 2,352	 2,968
	 70,851	 70,950	 4,289	 2,358	 2,977

	 70,951	 71,050	 4,299	 2,364	 2,986
	 71,051	 71,150	 4,308	 2,370	 2,996
	 71,151	 71,250	 4,317	 2,376	 3,005
	 71,251	 71,350	 4,327	 2,382	 3,014
	 71,351	 71,450	 4,336	 2,388	 3,024

	 71,451	 71,550	 4,345	 2,394	 3,033
	 71,551	 71,650	 4,354	 2,400	 3,042
	 71,651	 71,750	 4,364	 2,406	 3,051
	 71,751	 71,850	 4,373	 2,412	 3,061
	 71,851	 71,950	 4,382	 2,418	 3,070

	 71,951	 72,050	 4,392	 2,424	 3,079
	 72,051	 72,150	 4,401	 2,430	 3,089
	 72,151	 72,250	 4,410	 2,436	 3,098
	 72,251	 72,350	 4,420	 2,442	 3,107
	 72,351	 72,450	 4,429	 2,448	 3,117

	 72,451	 72,550	 4,438	 2,454	 3,126
	 72,551	 72,650	 4,447	 2,460	 3,135
	 72,651	 72,750	 4,457	 2,466	 3,144
	 72,751	 72,850	 4,466	 2,472	 3,154
	 72,851	 72,950	 4,475	 2,478	 3,163

	 72,951	 73,050	 4,485	 2,484	 3,172
	 73,051	 73,150	 4,494	 2,490	 3,182
	 73,151	 73,250	 4,503	 2,496	 3,191
	 73,251	 73,350	 4,513	 2,502	 3,200
	 73,351	 73,450	 4,522	 2,508	 3,210

	 73,451	 73,550	 4,531	 2,514	 3,219
	 73,551	 73,650	 4,540	 2,520	 3,228
	 73,651	 73,750	 4,550	 2,526	 3,237
	 73,751	 73,850	 4,559	 2,532	 3,247
	 73,851	 73,950	 4,568	 2,538	 3,256

	 73,951	 74,050	 4,578	 2,544	 3,265
	 74,051	 74,150	 4,587	 2,550	 3,275
	 74,151	 74,250	 4,596	 2,556	 3,284
	 74,251	 74,350	 4,606	 2,562	 3,293
	 74,351	 74,450	 4,615	 2,568	 3,303

	 74,451	 74,550	 4,624	 2,575	 3,312
	 74,551	 74,650	 4,633	 2,583	 3,321
	 74,651	 74,750	 4,643	 2,591	 3,330
	 74,751	 74,850	 4,652	 2,599	 3,340
	 74,851	 74,950	 4,661	 2,607	 3,349

	 74,951	 75,050	 4,671	 2,615	 3,358
	 75,051	 75,150	 4,680	 2,623	 3,368
	 75,151	 75,250	 4,689	 2,631	 3,377
	 75,251	 75,350	 4,699	 2,639	 3,386
	 75,351	 75,450	 4,708	 2,647	 3,396

	 75,451	 75,550	 4,717	 2,655	 3,405
	 75,551	 75,650	 4,726	 2,663	 3,414
	 75,651	 75,750	 4,736	 2,671	 3,423
	 75,751	 75,850	 4,745	 2,679	 3,433
	 75,851	 75,950	 4,754	 2,687	 3,442

	 75,951	 76,050	 4,764	 2,695	 3,451
	 76,051	 76,150	 4,773	 2,703	 3,461
	 76,151	 76,250	 4,782	 2,711	 3,470
	 76,251	 76,350	 4,792	 2,719	 3,479
	 76,351	 76,450	 4,801	 2,727	 3,489

	 76,451	 76,550	 4,810	 2,735	 3,498
	 76,551	 76,650	 4,819	 2,743	 3,507
	 76,651	 76,750	 4,829	 2,751	 3,516
	 76,751	 76,850	 4,838	 2,759	 3,526
	 76,851	 76,950	 4,847	 2,767	 3,535

	 76,951	 77,050	 4,857	 2,775	 3,544
	 77,051	 77,150	 4,866	 2,783	 3,554
	 77,151	 77,250	 4,875	 2,791	 3,563
	 77,251	 77,350	 4,885	 2,799	 3,572
	 77,351	 77,450	 4,894	 2,807	 3,582

	 77,451	 77,550	 4,903	 2,815	 3,591
	 77,551	 77,650	 4,912	 2,823	 3,600
	 77,651	 77,750	 4,922	 2,831	 3,609
	 77,751	 77,850	 4,931	 2,839	 3,619
	 77,851	 77,950	 4,940	 2,847	 3,628

	 77,951	 78,050	 4,950	 2,855	 3,637
	 78,051	 78,150	 4,959	 2,863	 3,647
	 78,151	 78,250	 4,968	 2,871	 3,656
	 78,251	 78,350	 4,978	 2,879	 3,665
	 78,351	 78,450	 4,987	 2,887	 3,675

	 78,451	 78,550	 4,996	 2,895	 3,684
	 78,551	 78,650	 5,005	 2,903	 3,693
	 78,651	 78,750	 5,015	 2,911	 3,702
	 78,751	 78,850	 5,024	 2,919	 3,712
	 78,851	 78,950	 5,033	 2,927	 3,721

	 78,951	 79,050	 5,043	 2,935	 3,730
	 79,051	 79,150	 5,052	 2,943	 3,740
	 79,151	 79,250	 5,061	 2,951	 3,749
	 79,251	 79,350	 5,071	 2,959	 3,758
	 79,351	 79,450	 5,080	 2,967	 3,768

	 79,451	 79,550	 5,089	 2,975	 3,777
	 79,551	 79,650	 5,098	 2,983	 3,786
	 79,651	 79,750	 5,108	 2,991	 3,795
	 79,751	 79,850	 5,117	 2,999	 3,805
	 79,851	 79,950	 5,126	 3,007	 3,814

	 79,951	 80,050	 5,136	 3,015	 3,823
	 80,051	 80,150	 5,145	 3,023	 3,833
	 80,151	 80,250	 5,154	 3,031	 3,842
	 80,251	 80,350	 5,164	 3,039	 3,851
	 80,351	 80,450	 5,173	 3,047	 3,861

	 80,451	 80,550	 5,182	 3,055	 3,870
	 80,551	 80,650	 5,191	 3,063	 3,879
	 80,651	 80,750	 5,201	 3,071	 3,888
	 80,751	 80,850	 5,210	 3,079	 3,898
	 80,851	 80,950	 5,219	 3,087	 3,907

	 80,951	 81,050	 5,229	 3,095	 3,916
	 81,051	 81,150	 5,238	 3,103	 3,926
	 81,151	 81,250	 5,247	 3,111	 3,935
	 81,251	 81,350	 5,257	 3,119	 3,944
	 81,351	 81,450	 5,266	 3,127	 3,954

	 81,451	 81,550	 5,275	 3,135	 3,963
	 81,551	 81,650	 5,284	 3,143	 3,972
	 81,651	 81,750	 5,294	 3,151	 3,981
	 81,751	 81,850	 5,303	 3,159	 3,991
	 81,851	 81,950	 5,312	 3,167	 4,000

	 81,951	 82,050	 5,322	 3,175	 4,009
	 82,051	 82,150	 5,331	 3,183	 4,019
	 82,151	 82,250	 5,340	 3,191	 4,028
	 82,251	 82,350	 5,350	 3,199	 4,037
	 82,351	 82,450	 5,359	 3,207	 4,047
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	 82,451	 82,550	 5,368	 3,215	 4,056
	 82,551	 82,650	 5,377	 3,223	 4,065
	 82,651	 82,750	 5,387	 3,231	 4,074
	 82,751	 82,850	 5,396	 3,239	 4,084
	 82,851	 82,950	 5,405	 3,247	 4,093

	 82,951	 83,050	 5,415	 3,255	 4,102
	 83,051	 83,150	 5,424	 3,263	 4,112
	 83,151	 83,250	 5,433	 3,271	 4,121
	 83,251	 83,350	 5,443	 3,279	 4,130
	 83,351	 83,450	 5,452	 3,287	 4,140

	 83,451	 83,550	 5,461	 3,295	 4,149
	 83,551	 83,650	 5,470	 3,303	 4,158
	 83,651	 83,750	 5,480	 3,311	 4,167
	 83,751	 83,850	 5,489	 3,319	 4,177
	 83,851	 83,950	 5,498	 3,327	 4,186

	 83,951	 84,050	 5,508	 3,335	 4,195
	 84,051	 84,150	 5,517	 3,343	 4,205
	 84,151	 84,250	 5,526	 3,351	 4,214
	 84,251	 84,350	 5,536	 3,359	 4,223
	 84,351	 84,450	 5,545	 3,367	 4,233

	 84,451	 84,550	 5,554	 3,375	 4,242
	 84,551	 84,650	 5,563	 3,383	 4,251
	 84,651	 84,750	 5,573	 3,391	 4,260
	 84,751	 84,850	 5,582	 3,399	 4,270
	 84,851	 84,950	 5,591	 3,407	 4,279

	 84,951	 85,050	 5,601	 3,415	 4,288
	 85,051	 85,150	 5,610	 3,423	 4,298
	 85,151	 85,250	 5,619	 3,431	 4,307
	 85,251	 85,350	 5,629	 3,439	 4,316
	 85,351	 85,450	 5,638	 3,447	 4,326

	 85,451	 85,550	 5,647	 3,455	 4,335
	 85,551	 85,650	 5,656	 3,463	 4,344
	 85,651	 85,750	 5,666	 3,471	 4,353
	 85,751	 85,850	 5,675	 3,479	 4,363
	 85,851	 85,950	 5,684	 3,487	 4,372

	 85,951	 86,050	 5,694	 3,495	 4,381
	 86,051	 86,150	 5,703	 3,503	 4,391
	 86,151	 86,250	 5,712	 3,511	 4,400
	 86,251	 86,350	 5,722	 3,519	 4,409
	 86,351	 86,450	 5,731	 3,527	 4,419

	 86,451	 86,550	 5,740	 3,535	 4,428
	 86,551	 86,650	 5,749	 3,543	 4,437
	 86,651	 86,750	 5,759	 3,551	 4,446
	 86,751	 86,850	 5,768	 3,559	 4,456
	 86,851	 86,950	 5,777	 3,567	 4,465

	 86,951	 87,050	 5,787	 3,575	 4,474
	 87,051	 87,150	 5,796	 3,583	 4,484
	 87,151	 87,250	 5,805	 3,591	 4,493
	 87,251	 87,350	 5,815	 3,599	 4,502
	 87,351	 87,450	 5,824	 3,607	 4,512

	 87,451	 87,550	 5,833	 3,615	 4,521
	 87,551	 87,650	 5,842	 3,623	 4,530
	 87,651	 87,750	 5,852	 3,631	 4,539
	 87,751	 87,850	 5,861	 3,639	 4,549
	 87,851	 87,950	 5,870	 3,647	 4,558

	 87,951	 88,050	 5,880	 3,655	 4,567
	 88,051	 88,150	 5,889	 3,663	 4,577
	 88,151	 88,250	 5,898	 3,671	 4,586
	 88,251	 88,350	 5,908	 3,679	 4,595
	 88,351	 88,450	 5,917	 3,687	 4,605

	 88,451	 88,550	 5,926	 3,695	 4,614
	 88,551	 88,650	 5,935	 3,703	 4,623
	 88,651	 88,750	 5,945	 3,711	 4,632
	 88,751	 88,850	 5,954	 3,719	 4,642
	 88,851	 88,950	 5,963	 3,727	 4,651

	 88,951	 89,050	 5,973	 3,735	 4,660
	 89,051	 89,150	 5,982	 3,743	 4,670
	 89,151	 89,250	 5,991	 3,751	 4,679
	 89,251	 89,350	 6,001	 3,759	 4,688
	 89,351	 89,450	 6,010	 3,767	 4,698

	 89,451	 89,550	 6,019	 3,775	 4,707
	 89,551	 89,650	 6,028	 3,783	 4,716
	 89,651	 89,750	 6,038	 3,791	 4,725
	 89,751	 89,850	 6,047	 3,799	 4,735
	 89,851	 89,950	 6,056	 3,807	 4,744

	 89,951	 90,050	 6,066	 3,815	 4,753
	 90,051	 90,150	 6,075	 3,823	 4,763
	 90,151	 90,250	 6,084	 3,831	 4,772
	 90,251	 90,350	 6,094	 3,839	 4,781
	 90,351	 90,450	 6,103	 3,847	 4,791

	 90,451	 90,550	 6,112	 3,855	 4,800
	 90,551	 90,650	 6,121	 3,863	 4,809
	 90,651	 90,750	 6,131	 3,871	 4,818
	 90,751	 90,850	 6,140	 3,879	 4,828
	 90,851	 90,950	 6,149	 3,887	 4,837

	 90,951	 91,050	 6,159	 3,895	 4,846
	 91,051	 91,150	 6,168	 3,903	 4,856
	 91,151	 91,250	 6,177	 3,911	 4,865
	 91,251	 91,350	 6,187	 3,919	 4,874
	 91,351	 91,450	 6,196	 3,927	 4,884

	 91,451	 91,550	 6,205	 3,935	 4,893
	 91,551	 91,650	 6,214	 3,943	 4,902
	 91,651	 91,750	 6,224	 3,951	 4,911
	 91,751	 91,850	 6,233	 3,959	 4,921
	 91,851	 91,950	 6,242	 3,967	 4,930

	 91,951	 92,050	 6,252	 3,975	 4,939
	 92,051	 92,150	 6,261	 3,983	 4,949
	 92,151	 92,250	 6,270	 3,991	 4,958
	 92,251	 92,350	 6,280	 3,999	 4,967
	 92,351	 92,450	 6,289	 4,007	 4,977

	 92,451	 92,550	 6,298	 4,015	 4,986
	 92,551	 92,650	 6,307	 4,023	 4,995
	 92,651	 92,750	 6,317	 4,031	 5,004
	 92,751	 92,850	 6,326	 4,039	 5,014
	 92,851	 92,950	 6,335	 4,047	 5,023

	 92,951	 93,050	 6,345	 4,055	 5,032
	 93,051	 93,150	 6,354	 4,063	 5,042
	 93,151	 93,250	 6,363	 4,071	 5,051
	 93,251	 93,350	 6,373	 4,079	 5,060
	 93,351	 93,450	 6,382	 4,087	 5,070

	 93,451	 93,550	 6,391	 4,095	 5,079
	 93,551	 93,650	 6,400	 4,103	 5,088
	 93,651	 93,750	 6,410	 4,111	 5,097
	 93,751	 93,850	 6,419	 4,119	 5,107
	 93,851	 93,950	 6,428	 4,127	 5,116

	 93,951	 94,050	 6,438	 4,135	 5,125
	 94,051	 94,150	 6,447	 4,143	 5,135
	 94,151	 94,250	 6,456	 4,152	 5,144
	 94,251	 94,350	 6,466	 4,161	 5,153
	 94,351	 94,450	 6,475	 4,170	 5,163

	 94,451	 94,550	 6,484	 4,180	 5,172
	 94,551	 94,650	 6,493	 4,189	 5,181
	 94,651	 94,750	 6,503	 4,198	 5,190
	 94,751	 94,850	 6,512	 4,208	 5,200
	 94,851	 94,950	 6,521	 4,217	 5,209

	 94,951	 95,050	 6,531	 4,226	 5,218
	 95,051	 95,150	 6,540	 4,236	 5,228
	 95,151	 95,250	 6,549	 4,245	 5,237
	 95,251	 95,350	 6,559	 4,254	 5,246
	 95,351	 95,450	 6,568	 4,263	 5,256

	 95,451	 95,550	 6,577	 4,273	 5,265
	 95,551	 95,650	 6,586	 4,282	 5,274
	 95,651	 95,750	 6,596	 4,291	 5,283
	 95,751	 95,850	 6,605	 4,301	 5,293
	 95,851	 95,950	 6,614	 4,310	 5,302

	 95,951	 96,050	 6,624	 4,319	 5,311
	 96,051	 96,150	 6,633	 4,329	 5,321
	 96,151	 96,250	 6,642	 4,338	 5,330
	 96,251	 96,350	 6,652	 4,347	 5,339
	 96,351	 96,450	 6,661	 4,356	 5,349

	 96,451	 96,550	 6,670	 4,366	 5,358
	 96,551	 96,650	 6,679	 4,375	 5,367
	 96,651	 96,750	 6,689	 4,384	 5,376
	 96,751	 96,850	 6,698	 4,394	 5,386
	 96,851	 96,950	 6,707	 4,403	 5,395

	 96,951	 97,050	 6,717	 4,412	 5,404
	 97,051	 97,150	 6,726	 4,422	 5,414
	 97,151	 97,250	 6,735	 4,431	 5,423
	 97,251	 97,350	 6,745	 4,440	 5,432
	 97,351	 97,450	 6,754	 4,449	 5,442

	 97,451	 97,550	 6,763	 4,459	 5,451
	 97,551	 97,650	 6,772	 4,468	 5,460
	 97,651	 97,750	 6,782	 4,477	 5,469
	 97,751	 97,850	 6,791	 4,487	 5,479
	 97,851	 97,950	 6,800	 4,496	 5,488

	 97,951	 98,050	 6,810	 4,505	 5,497
	 98,051	 98,150	 6,819	 4,515	 5,507
	 98,151	 98,250	 6,828	 4,524	 5,516
	 98,251	 98,350	 6,838	 4,533	 5,525
	 98,351	 98,450	 6,847	 4,542	 5,535

	 98,451	 98,550	 6,856	 4,552	 5,544
	 98,551	 98,650	 6,865	 4,561	 5,553
	 98,651	 98,750	 6,875	 4,570	 5,562
	 98,751	 98,850	 6,884	 4,580	 5,572
	 98,851	 98,950	 6,893	 4,589	 5,581

	 98,951	 99,050	 6,903	 4,598	 5,590
	 99,051	 99,150	 6,912	 4,608	 5,600
	 99,151	 99,250	 6,921	 4,617	 5,609
	 99,251	 99,350	 6,931	 4,626	 5,618
	 99,351	 99,450	 6,940	 4,635	 5,628

	 99,451	 99,550	 6,949	 4,645	 5,637
	 99,551	 99,650	 6,958	 4,654	 5,646
	 99,651	 99,750	 6,968	 4,663	 5,655
	 99,751	 99,850	 6,977	 4,673	 5,665
	 99,851	 99,950	 6,986	 4,682	 5,674

	 99,951	 100,000	 6,993	 4,689	 5,681

OVER $100,000 YOU MUST COMPUTE YOUR 
TAX USING THE TAX RATE SCHEDULES.
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2008 California Tax Rate Schedules

Use only if your taxable income on Form 540/540A, line 19 is more than $100,000. If $100,000 or less, use the Tax Table.

If the amount on Form 540/540A, 
line 19 is	 Enter on Form 540/540A,	 of the
over –	 But not over –	 line 20	 amount over –

Schedule X –
Use if your filing status is
Single or Married/RDP Filing Separately

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married/RDP Filing Jointly or Qualifying 
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

Schedule Z –
Use if your filing status is
Head of Household

How to Figure Tax Using the 2008 California Tax Rate Schedules
Example: Chris and Pat Anderson are filing a joint return using Form 540. Their taxable income on Form 540, line 19 is $125,000.

Step 1:	 Using Schedule Y, they find the taxable income range that includes their taxable income of $125,000. See the boxed range in the sample below.

$	 0	 $	 14,336	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.0%	 $	 0.00
	 14,336		  33,988		  143.46	 +	 2.0%		  14,336
	 33,988		  53,642		  536.40	 +	 4.0%		  33,988
	 53,642		  74,466		  1,322.56	 +	 6.0%		  53,642
	 74,466		  94,110		  2,572.00	 +	 8.0%		  74,466
	 94,110	 AND OVER		  4,143.52	 +	 9.3%		  94,110

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married/RDP Filing Jointly or Qualifying 
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

	 	 Example	 Your Income
Step 2:	 They subtract the amount at the beginning of their range from	 $125,000	 $
	 their taxable income.	 - 94,110	 -                  
		  $  30,890	 $

Step 3:	 They multiply the result from Step 2 by the percentage for	 $30,890	 $
	 their range.	         x .093	          x         
		  $2,872.77	 $

Step 4:	 They round the amount from Step 3 to two decimals (if	 $4,143.52	 $
	 necessary) and add it to the tax amount for their income	   + 2,872.77	 +                  
	 range. After rounding the result, they will enter $7,016 on	 $7,016.29	 $
	 Form 540, line 20. For information on rounding, see 
	 “Filling in Your Tax Return” on page 9.

If the amount on Form 540,
line 19 is:	 Enter on Form 540, line 20	 of the
over –	 But not over –	 amount over –	

$	 0	 $	 7,168	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.0%	 $	 0.00
	 7,168		  16,994		  71.68	 +	 2.0%		  7,168
	 16,994		  26,821		  268.20	 +	 4.0%		  16,994
	 26,821		  37,233		  661.28	 +	 6.0%		  26,821
	 37,233		  47,055		  1,286.00	 +	 8.0%		  37,233
	 47,055	 AND OVER		  2,071.76	 +	 9.3%		  47,055
			 

$	 0	 $	 14,336	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.0%	 $	 0.00
	 14,336		  33,988		  143.46	 +	 2.0%		  14,336
	 33,988		  53,642		  536.40	 +	 4.0%		  33,988
	 53,642		  74,466		  1,322.56	 +	 6.0%		  53,642
	 74,466		  94,110		  2,572.00	 +	 8.0%		  74,466
	 94,110	 AND OVER		  4,143.52	 +	 9.3%		  94,110
			 

$	 0	 $	 14,345	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.0%	 $	 0.00
	 14,345		  33,989		  143.45	 +	 2.0%		  14,345
	 33,989		  43,814		  536.33	 +	 4.0%		  33,989
	 43,814		  54,225		  929.33	 +	 6.0%		  43,814
	 54,225		  64,050		  1,553.99	 +	 8.0%		  54,225
	 64,050		 AND OVER		  2,339.99	 +	 9.3%		  64,050

✓ Tip Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov to e-file and eliminate the math. Or search our website for tax calculator to figure your tax online.



Schedule W-2  2008

Wage and Withholding Summary
TAXABLE  YEAR

2008
Important: Attach this schedule directly behind Side 2 of your tax return.

	

Attach your Form(s) W-2 to the front of your income tax return, or complete CA Sch W-2. Use this schedule to transfer information from your 
Form(s) W-2. If you need more space, complete a separate CA Sch W-2. If you complete a CA Sch W-2, do not submit your Form(s) W‑2. 
Keep them for your records. Transfer the amounts from your Form(s) W-2 to the appropriate boxes on this schedule. If Form(s) W-2 contain data 
from multiple states, you cannot use this form. The shaded areas need to be completed to ensure excess SDI/VPDI claims.

Taxpayer W-2 information. (Transfer amounts from your Form(s) W-2 to the appropriate boxes below.) Complete a box for each 
Form W-2 you receive.

8031083

CALIFORNIA  SCHEDULE

W-2

Spouse/RDP W-2 information. (Transfer amounts from your Form(s) W-2 to the appropriate boxes below.) Complete a box for 
each Form W-2 you receive.

2nd W-2

	Social Security Number (box a)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI/VPDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

4th W-2

	Social Security Number (box a)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI/VPDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

3rd  W-2

	Social Security Number (box a)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI/VPDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

1st  W-2

	Social Security Number (box a)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI/VPDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

2nd W-2

	Social Security Number (box a)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI/VPDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

3rd  W-2

	Social Security Number (box a)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI/VPDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

4th W-2

	Social Security Number (box a)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI/VPDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

1.	 Total state wages from the Form(s) W-2 for taxpayer (Add box 16 from all Form(s) W-2 for taxpayer)
	 For nonresidents or part-year residents, enter your total California wages from all your Form(s) W-2 for taxpayer  
	 (Add box 16 from all Form(s) W-2 for taxpayer). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                       $__________________
2.	 Total state wages from the Form(s) W-2 for spouse/RDP (Add box 16 from all Form(s) W-2 for spouse/RDP)
	 For nonresidents or part-year residents, enter the total California wages from all Form(s) W-2 for spouse/RDP  
	 (Add box 16 from all Form(s) W-2 for spouse/RDP).  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    $__________________
3.	 Total California Wages from all Form(s) W-2 . (Add line 1 and line 2, enter here and on Form 540 2EZ, 
	 line 9; Forms 540/540A, or Form 540NR (Long or Short), line 12. If completing Form 540X, 
	 report any W-2 income on line 1a, column B, that was not reported on the original tax return.) . . . . . . . .         $__________________

1st  W-2

	Social Security Number (box a)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI/VPDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

SSN or ITINName(s) as shown on return

- -
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Frequently Asked Questions 
(Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov for more frequently asked questions.)


112

  1.	 What if I can’t file by April 15, 2009, and I think I owe 
tax?
You must pay 100% of the amount you owe by April 15, 2009, to avoid 
interest and penalties. If you cannot file because you have not received 
all your Form(s) W-2, estimate the amount of tax you owe by completing 
form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals, on 
page 41. Mail it to the FTB with your payment by April 15, 2009, or pay on 
our website at ftb.ca.gov. Then, when you receive all your Form(s) W‑2, 
complete and mail your return by October 15, 2009 (you must use 
Form 540A or Form 540).

  2.	 I never received a Form W-2. What should I do?
If all of your Form(s) W-2 were not received by January 31, 2009, 
contact your employer. Only an employer issues or corrects 
a Form W-2. For more information, call 800.338.0505, select 
“Personal Income Tax,” then “Frequently Asked Questions,” and 
enter code 204 when instructed.

If you cannot get a copy of your Form(s) W-2, complete form FTB 3525, 
Substitute for Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, or Form 1099, 
Distributions from Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, or Profit Sharing Plans, 
IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and 
Publications” on page 7. For online wage and withhold information, go to 
our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for myftb account.

  3.	 How can I get help?
Throughout California more than 1,500 sites provide trained volunteers 
offering free help during the tax filing season to persons who need to file 
simple federal and state income tax returns. Many military bases also provide 
this service for members of the U.S. Armed Forces. Go to our website at 
ftb.ca.gov and search for vita to find a list of participating locations or call 
the FTB at 800.852.5711 to find a location near you.

  4.	 What do I do if I can’t pay what I owe with my 2008 
return?
Pay as much as possible when you file your return. If unable to pay your 
tax in full with your return, make a request for monthly payments. However, 
interest accrues and an underpayment penalty may be charged on the tax 
not paid by April 15, 2009, even if your request for monthly payments is 
approved. To make monthly payments, complete form FTB 3567, Installment 
Agreement Request, online or mail it to the address on the form. Do not mail 
it with your return.

The Installment Agreement Request might not be processed and 
approved until after your return is processed, and you may receive a 
bill before you receive approval of your request.
To order this form, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov or by phone, 
call 800.338.0505, select “Personal Income Tax,” then select 
“Forms and Publications,” and enter code 949 when instructed.
For information on how to pay by credit card, go to our website at 
ftb.ca.gov, or call 800.338.0505, select “Personal Income Tax,” 
then select “Frequently Asked Questions,” and enter code 610 when 
instructed.

  5.	 How long will it take to get my refund?
If you e-file, you get the fastest possible refund. Your refund check 
is mailed within seven to ten calendar days (or if you request direct 
deposit, the refund posts to your checking or savings account within 
five to seven banking days) from the time the FTB receives your e-filed 
return. For more information about e-filing, go to our website at 
ftb.ca.gov or call 800.338.0505, select “Personal Income Tax,” 
then select “Frequently Asked Questions,” and enter code 112 when 
instructed.

If you do not e-file your return, you will receive your refund check within 
six to eight weeks after you file your return. If you request direct deposit, 
the refund posts to your account within six to eight weeks after you file 
your return.

  6.	 I expected my refund by now. How can I check on the 
status?
Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for refund status. You will need 
your social security number (SSN) or individual taxpayer identification 
number (ITIN) and the refund amount from your return.
You can also call our automated phone service. See page 67 for more 
information.

  7.	 I discovered an error on my tax return. What should I do?
If you discover that you made an error on your California income tax return 
after you filed it (paper or e-filed), use Form 540X, Amended Individual 
Income Tax Return, to correct your return. Get Form 540X on our website 
at ftb.ca.gov or call 800.338.0505 and enter code 908. You cannot e-file 
an amended return.

  8.	 The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) made changes to my 
federal return. What should I do?
If your federal income tax return is examined and changed by the IRS and 
you owe additional tax, report these changes to the FTB within six months 
of the date of the final federal determination. If the changes the IRS made 
result in a refund due for California, claim a refund within two years of the 
date of the final federal determination. Either use Form 540X to correct the 
California income tax return you already filed, or send a copy of the federal 
changes to:

ATTN RAR/VOL MS F310 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1998 
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1998
or Fax the information to 916.843.2269.
If you have a question relating to the IRS audit adjustment 
call 916.845.4028 (not toll-free). 

Regardless of which method you use to notify the FTB, you must include a 
copy of the final federal determination along with all data and schedules on 
which the federal adjustment was based. Get FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax 
Adjustments and Your Notification Responsibilities to California, for more 
information. See “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67.
File Form 540X only if the change affected your California tax liability.

  9.	 How long should I keep my tax information?
Requests for information regarding your California income tax return 
usually occurs within the California statute of limitations period, which 
is usually the later of four years from the due date of the return or four 
years from the file date of the return. (Exception: An extended statute of 
limitations period applies for California or federal tax returns related or 
subject to a federal audit.)
Keep a copy of your return and the records that verify the income, 
deductions, adjustments, or credits reported on your return. Some records 
should be kept longer. For example, keep property records as long as 
needed to figure the basis of the property or records needed to verify 
carryover items (i.e., net operating losses) or records needed to track 
deferred gains on a 1031 exchange.

10.	 I will be moving after I file my return. How do I notify the 
FTB of my new address?
Notify the FTB of your new address by using form FTB 3533, Change of 
Address. This form is available on our website at ftb.ca.gov or you may 
call 800. 852.5711, select “Personal Income Tax,” then select option 6 to 
report a change of address.
After filing your return, report a change of address to us for up to four 
years, especially if you leave the state and no longer have a requirement to 
file a California return.

11.	 Are all domestic partners required to file joint or 
separate returns under the new law?
No, only domestic partners who are registered with the California Secretary 
of State are required to file using the married/RDP filing jointly or married/
RDP filing separately filing status.


949


204


610



 For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.             Whole dollars only
  7	 Personal: If you filled in 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you filled in 2 or 5, enter 2 in the box. 
	 If you filled in the circle on line 6, see page 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    7		X 	$99	= 	$__________________
  8	 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . .       8		X	 $99	= 	$__________________
  9	 Senior: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both are 65 or older, enter 2  . . . . . . . . .              9		X 	$99	= 	$__________________
10	 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse/RDP. _______________
	 ______________________  _______________________  Total dependent exemptions . . . . . . . . .              10		X	 $309= $_________________
11	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       11					      $_________________

12	 State wages from your form(s) W-2, box 16 or CA Sch W-2, line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           12
13	 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21; or 1040EZ, line 4 . . . . . . . . . . .           13
14	 California Income Adjustments. See pages 10 and 11 for line 14a through line 14f.

	 a	 State income tax refund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  14a
	 b	 Unemployment compensation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             14b
	 c	 U.S. social security or railroad retirement  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    14c
	 d	 California non-taxable interest or dividend income  . . . . . . . . . . .             14d
	 e	 California IRA distributions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               14e
	 f	 Non-taxable pensions and annuities . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        14f
	 g	 Total California income adjustments. Add line 14a through line 14f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            14g

17	 Subtract line 14g from line 13. This is your California adjusted gross income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        17

18	 Enter the	 Your California itemized deductions or standard deduction 
	 larger of:	 shown below for your filing status:
		  • Single or Married/RDP filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            $3,692
			   • Married/RDP filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . . . .    $7,384
			   If the circle on line 6 is filled in, STOP. (see page 11) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              18

19	 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 19

20	 Tax. See Tax Table.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                     20
21	 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11. 
	 If line 13 is more than $163,187, see page 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      21
28	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. (see page 14)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       28
29	 Total credits. Add line 21 and line 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
30	 Subtract line 29 from line 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                               30
32 	 Mental Health Services Tax. (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    32
34 	 Add line 30 and line 32. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             34

3121083

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

California Resident Income Tax Return 2008
FORM

540A C1 Side 1
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  1	  Single	 4	  Head of household (with qualifying person). (see page 3)
  2	  Married/RDP filing jointly. (see page 3)	 5	  Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse/RDP died  __________.
  3	  Married/RDP filing separately. Enter spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here____________________________________________
	 If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, fill in the circle here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           

P

AC

A

R

RP

Your first name	 Initial	 Last name	 Your SSN or ITIN

If joint return, spouse’s/RDP’s first name	 Initial	 Last name	 Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

Address (including number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.)	 Apt. no/Ste. no.

City (if you have a foreign address, see page 9)	 State	 ZIP Code
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am

e

- -

-

6	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, fill in the circle here (see page 9) . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 6 
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If you filed your 2007 tax return under a different last name, write the last name only from the 2007 tax return.
 Taxpayer _______________________________________________   Spouse/RDP_____________________________________________



Side  �  Form 540A  C1  2008

35	 Enter the amount from Side 1, line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            35
36	 California income tax withheld (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     36
37	 2008 California estimated tax and payment with 
	 form FTB 3519 and amount applied from 2007 return  . . . . . . . . . . . .              37
39	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. To see if you qualify, (see page 15) . .    39

Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit (see page 16). Attach form FTB 3506.

  40

  41

  42	   43		

44	 Total payments and credits. Add line 36, line 37, line 39, and line 43 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  44

45	 Overpaid tax. If line 44 is more than line 35, subtract line 35 from line 44 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              45
46	 Enter the amount of line 45 you want applied to your 2009 estimated tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              46
47	 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 46 from line 45  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       47
48	 Tax due. If line 44 is less than line 35, subtract line 44 from line 35. (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       48

49	 Use Tax. This is not a total line. (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . .   49 

- -
- -

3122083

IMPORTANT: See the instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that 
I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and 
complete.
Your signature	 Spouse’s/RDP’s signature (if filing jointly, both must sign)	 Daytime phone number (optional)

X	 X	 Date

( )

Paid preparer’s SSN/PTINPaid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours, if self-employed)	 Firm’s address
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61	 Add code 400 through code 414. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    61

62	 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 48, line 49, and line 61 (see page 17). Do not send cash. 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   62 
	 Pay Online – Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for web pay.
64	 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, fill in this circle  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     64

66	 REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 49 and line 61 from line 47 (see page 18). 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  66

Your name: _______________________________________Your SSN or ITIN: _______________________________	

FEIN




U
se

 
Ta

x

Fill in the information to authorize direct deposit of your refund into one or two accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip (see page 18).
Have you verified the routing and account numbers? Use whole dollars only.

All or the following amount of my refund (line 66) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   67 Direct deposit amount

The remaining amount of my refund (line 66) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   68 Direct deposit amount
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Do you want to allow another person to discuss this return with us (see page 19)? . . . . . . . . . . . . .             m Yes  m No

__________________________________________________________________    __________________________________
Print Third Party Designee’s Name                                                Telephone Number

Sign
Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s/RDP’s
signature.

Joint return?
(see page 19)

(                  )

Code         Amount Code         Amount
CA Seniors Special Fund (see page 60) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   E  400 00 CA Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund . E  408 00
Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               E  401 00 CA Military Family Relief Fund . . . . . . . . . . .           E  409 00
CA Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            E  402 00 CA Sea Otter Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     E  410 00
Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . .        E  403 00 CA Ovarian Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . .       E  411 00
State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . .  E  404 00 Municipal Shelter Spay-Neuter Fund  . . . . . .     E  412 00
CA Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       E  405 00 CA Cancer Research Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             E  413 00
CA Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         E  406 00 ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease Research Fund  . E  414 00
Emergency Food For Families Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      E  407 00



 For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.             Whole dollars only
  7	 Personal: If you filled in 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you filled in 2 or 5, enter 2 in the box. 
	 If you filled in the circle on line 6, see page 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    7		X 	$99	= 	$__________________
  8	 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . .       8		X	 $99	= 	$__________________
  9	 Senior: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both are 65 or older, enter 2  . . . . . . . . .              9		X 	$99	= 	$__________________
10	 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse/RDP. _______________
	 ______________________  _______________________  Total dependent exemptions . . . . . . . . .              10		X	 $309= $_________________
11	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       11					      $_________________

12	 State wages from your form(s) W-2, box 16 or CA Sch W-2, line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           12
13	 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21; or 1040EZ, line 4 . . . . . . . . . . .           13
14	 California Income Adjustments. See pages 10 and 11 for line 14a through line 14f.

	 a	 State income tax refund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  14a
	 b	 Unemployment compensation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             14b
	 c	 U.S. social security or railroad retirement  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    14c
	 d	 California non-taxable interest or dividend income  . . . . . . . . . . .             14d
	 e	 California IRA distributions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               14e
	 f	 Non-taxable pensions and annuities . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        14f
	 g	 Total California income adjustments. Add line 14a through line 14f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            14g

17	 Subtract line 14g from line 13. This is your California adjusted gross income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        17

18	 Enter the	 Your California itemized deductions or standard deduction 
	 larger of:	 shown below for your filing status:
		  • Single or Married/RDP filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            $3,692
			   • Married/RDP filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . . . .    $7,384
			   If the circle on line 6 is filled in, STOP. (see page 11) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              18

19	 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 19

20	 Tax. See Tax Table.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                     20
21	 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11. 
	 If line 13 is more than $163,187, see page 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      21
28	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. (see page 14)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       28
29	 Total credits. Add line 21 and line 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
30	 Subtract line 29 from line 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                               30
32 	 Mental Health Services Tax. (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    32
34 	 Add line 30 and line 32. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             34

3121083

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

California Resident Income Tax Return 2008
FORM

540A C1 Side 1
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  1	  Single	 4	  Head of household (with qualifying person). (see page 3)
  2	  Married/RDP filing jointly. (see page 3)	 5	  Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse/RDP died  __________.
  3	  Married/RDP filing separately. Enter spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here____________________________________________
	 If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, fill in the circle here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           

P

AC

A

R

RP

Your first name	 Initial	 Last name	 Your SSN or ITIN

If joint return, spouse’s/RDP’s first name	 Initial	 Last name	 Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

Address (including number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.)	 Apt. no/Ste. no.

City (if you have a foreign address, see page 9)	 State	 ZIP Code
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6	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, fill in the circle here (see page 9) . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 6 
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If you filed your 2007 tax return under a different last name, write the last name only from the 2007 tax return.
 Taxpayer _______________________________________________   Spouse/RDP_____________________________________________



Side  �  Form 540A  C1  2008

35	 Enter the amount from Side 1, line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            35
36	 California income tax withheld (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     36
37	 2008 California estimated tax and payment with 
	 form FTB 3519 and amount applied from 2007 return  . . . . . . . . . . . .              37
39	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. To see if you qualify, (see page 15) . .    39

Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit (see page 16). Attach form FTB 3506.

  40

  41

  42	   43		

44	 Total payments and credits. Add line 36, line 37, line 39, and line 43 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  44

45	 Overpaid tax. If line 44 is more than line 35, subtract line 35 from line 44 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              45
46	 Enter the amount of line 45 you want applied to your 2009 estimated tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              46
47	 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 46 from line 45  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       47
48	 Tax due. If line 44 is less than line 35, subtract line 44 from line 35. (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       48

49	 Use Tax. This is not a total line. (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . .   49 

- -
- -

3122083

IMPORTANT: See the instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that 
I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and 
complete.
Your signature	 Spouse’s/RDP’s signature (if filing jointly, both must sign)	 Daytime phone number (optional)

X	 X	 Date

( )

Paid preparer’s SSN/PTINPaid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours, if self-employed)	 Firm’s address
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61	 Add code 400 through code 414. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    61

62	 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 48, line 49, and line 61 (see page 17). Do not send cash. 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   62 
	 Pay Online – Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for web pay.
64	 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, fill in this circle  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     64

66	 REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 49 and line 61 from line 47 (see page 18). 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  66

Your name: _______________________________________Your SSN or ITIN: _______________________________	
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x

Fill in the information to authorize direct deposit of your refund into one or two accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip (see page 18).
Have you verified the routing and account numbers? Use whole dollars only.

All or the following amount of my refund (line 66) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   67 Direct deposit amount

The remaining amount of my refund (line 66) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   68 Direct deposit amount
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Do you want to allow another person to discuss this return with us (see page 19)? . . . . . . . . . . . . .             m Yes  m No

__________________________________________________________________    __________________________________
Print Third Party Designee’s Name                                                Telephone Number

Sign
Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s/RDP’s
signature.

Joint return?
(see page 19)

(                  )

Code         Amount Code         Amount
CA Seniors Special Fund (see page 60) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   E  400 00 CA Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund . E  408 00
Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               E  401 00 CA Military Family Relief Fund . . . . . . . . . . .           E  409 00
CA Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            E  402 00 CA Sea Otter Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     E  410 00
Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . .        E  403 00 CA Ovarian Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . .       E  411 00
State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . .  E  404 00 Municipal Shelter Spay-Neuter Fund  . . . . . .     E  412 00
CA Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       E  405 00 CA Cancer Research Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             E  413 00
CA Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         E  406 00 ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease Research Fund  . E  414 00
Emergency Food For Families Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      E  407 00



3101083

If you filed your 2007 tax return under a different last name, write the last name only from the 2007 tax return.
 Taxpayer _______________________________________________   Spouse/RDP_____________________________________________

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

California Resident Income Tax Return 2008
FORM

540 C1 Side 1
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 For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.               Whole dollars only
  7	 Personal: If you filled in 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you filled in 2 or 5, enter 2, in the box. 
	 If you filled in the circle on line 6, see page 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    7		X 	$99	 = 	$_________________
  8	 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . .       8		X	$99	 = 	$_________________
  9	 Senior: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both are 65 or older, enter 2  . . . . . . . . . . .             9		X 	$99	 = 	$_________________
10	 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse/RDP. ________________
	 ______________________  _______________________  Total dependent exemptions . . . . . . . . . . .              10		X	$309 = 	$_______________
11	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       11				    $_______________

Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month________ year 2009.

  1	  Single	   4	 Head of household (with qualifying person). (see page 3)
  2	  Married/RDP filing jointly. (see page 3)	   5	 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse/RDP died  _________ .
  3	  Married/RDP filing separately. Enter spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here____________________________________________
	 If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, fill in the circle here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          

12	 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 16 or CA Sch W-2, line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             12	 00
13	 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21; or 1040EZ, line 4  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          13	 00
14	 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     14	 00
15	 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses (see page 11) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             15	 00
16	 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column C  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       16	 00
17	 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  17	 00
18	 Enter the	 Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 44; OR
	 larger of:	 Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:
		  • Single or Married/RDP filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            $3,692
		  • Married/RDP filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . . . .    $7,384
			   If the circle on line 6 is filled in, STOP. (see page 11)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               18	 00
19	 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   19	 00
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20	 Tax. Fill in the circle if from:    Tax Table   Tax Rate Schedule   FTB 3800   FTB 3803  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    20	 00
21	 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11. If your federal AGI is more than $163,187, see page 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   21	 00
22	 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        22	 00
23	 Tax (see page 13). Fill in the circle if from:   Schedule G-1   FTB 5870A  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    23	 00
24	 Add line 22 and line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                  24	 00

25	 Enter credit name____________________________code no________and amount . . . . . . . . .            25	 00
26	 Enter credit name____________________________code no________and amount . . . . . . . . .            26	 00
27	 To claim more than two credits (see page 14) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    27	 00
28	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit (see page 14) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            28	 00
29	 Add line 25 through line 28. These are your total credits  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         29	 00
30	 Subtract line 29 from line 24. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         30	 00S
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Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint return, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Last nameInitial

Address (including number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.)

City (If you have a foreign address, see page 9)

Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

Your SSN or ITIN

P
ri

o
r 

N
am

e

- -

PBA Code

State ZIP Code

-

Apt. no./Ste. no.

{ {

31	 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     31	 00
32	 Mental Health Services Tax (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            32	 00
33	 Other taxes and credit recapture (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   33	 00
34	 Add line 30, line 31, line 32, and line 33. This is your total tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                   34	 00

6	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, fill in the circle here (see page 9) . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 6 

- -



Side 2  Form  540 C1  2008 3102083
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62	 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 48, line 49, and line 61 (see page 17). Do not send cash.
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                62
	 Pay online – Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for web pay.

63	 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 63	 00
64	 Underpayment of estimated tax. Fill in circle:   FTB 5805 attached   FTB 5805F attached  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    	 64	 00
65	 Total amount due (see page 18). Enclose, but do not staple, any payment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          	 65	 00

66	 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 49 and line 61 from line 47 (see page 18).  
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   66
Fill in the information to authorize direct deposit of your refund into one or two accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip (see page 18).
Have you verified the routing and account numbers? Use whole dollars only.
All or the following amount of my refund (line 66) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   67 Direct deposit amount

The remaining amount of my refund (line 66) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   68 Direct deposit amount

Your name: _______________________________________Your SSN or ITIN: _______________________________	
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61	 Add code 400 through code 414. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                              61

35	 Enter the amount from Side 1, line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                     35	 00
36	 California income tax withheld (see page 15)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          36	 00
37	 2008 CA estimated tax and other payments (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                37	 00
38	 Real estate and other withholding, Forms 592-B, 593, and 594 (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 38	 00
39	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. To see if you qualify (see page 15)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         39	 00
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit (see page 16). Attach form FTB 3506.
	 40  ______________________    41  _____________________
	 42  ______________________	     43	 00
44	 Add line 36, line 37, line 38, line 39, and line 43. These are your total payments (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            44	 00

45	 Overpaid tax. If line 44 is more than line 35, subtract line 35 from line 44 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             45	 00
46	 Amount of line 45 you want applied to your 2009 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  46	 00
47	 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 46 from line 45  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    47	 00
48	 Tax due. If line 44 is less than line 35, subtract line 44 from line 35.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 48	 00

    49  Use Tax. This is not a total line (see page 16)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     49	 00
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Sign
Here

IMPORTANT: See the instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return. Under penalties of perjury, 
I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, it is true, correct, and complete.

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours, if self-employed)	 Firm’s address

Paid preparer’s SSN/PTIN

Your signature	 Spouse’s/RDP’s signature (if a joint return, both must sign)	 Daytime phone number (optional)

X	 X	 Date

( )

FEIN




It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s/RDP’s
signature.

Joint return?
(see page 19)

- -

00

.,, 00

.,, 00

.,, 00

.,, 00

00

Do you want to allow another person to discuss this return with us (see page 19)? . . . . . . . . . . . . .             m Yes  m No

__________________________________________________________________    __________________________________
Print Third Party Designee’s Name                                                Telephone Number

(                )

Code         Amount Code         Amount
CA Seniors Special Fund (see page 60) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   E  400 00 CA Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund . E  408 00
Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               E  401 00 CA Military Family Relief Fund . . . . . . . . . . .           E  409 00
CA Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            E  402 00 CA Sea Otter Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     E  410 00
Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . .        E  403 00 CA Ovarian Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . .       E  411 00
State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . .  E  404 00 Municipal Shelter Spay-Neuter Fund  . . . . . .     E  412 00
CA Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       E  405 00 CA Cancer Research Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             E  413 00
CA Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         E  406 00 ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease Research Fund  . E  414 00
Emergency Food For Families Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      E  407 00
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If you filed your 2007 tax return under a different last name, write the last name only from the 2007 tax return.
 Taxpayer _______________________________________________   Spouse/RDP_____________________________________________

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

California Resident Income Tax Return 2008
FORM

540 C1 Side 1
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 For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.               Whole dollars only
  7	 Personal: If you filled in 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you filled in 2 or 5, enter 2, in the box. 
	 If you filled in the circle on line 6, see page 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    7		X 	$99	 = 	$_________________
  8	 Blind: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . .       8		X	$99	 = 	$_________________
  9	 Senior: If you (or your spouse/RDP) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both are 65 or older, enter 2  . . . . . . . . . . .             9		X 	$99	 = 	$_________________
10	 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse/RDP. ________________
	 ______________________  _______________________  Total dependent exemptions . . . . . . . . . . .              10		X	$309 = 	$_______________
11	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       11				    $_______________

Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month________ year 2009.

  1	  Single	   4	 Head of household (with qualifying person). (see page 3)
  2	  Married/RDP filing jointly. (see page 3)	   5	 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse/RDP died  _________ .
  3	  Married/RDP filing separately. Enter spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here____________________________________________
	 If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, fill in the circle here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          

12	 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 16 or CA Sch W-2, line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             12	 00
13	 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21; or 1040EZ, line 4  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          13	 00
14	 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     14	 00
15	 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses (see page 11) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             15	 00
16	 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column C  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       16	 00
17	 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  17	 00
18	 Enter the	 Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 44; OR
	 larger of:	 Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:
		  • Single or Married/RDP filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            $3,692
		  • Married/RDP filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . . . .    $7,384
			   If the circle on line 6 is filled in, STOP. (see page 11)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               18	 00
19	 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   19	 00
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20	 Tax. Fill in the circle if from:    Tax Table   Tax Rate Schedule   FTB 3800   FTB 3803  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    20	 00
21	 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11. If your federal AGI is more than $163,187, see page 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   21	 00
22	 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        22	 00
23	 Tax (see page 13). Fill in the circle if from:   Schedule G-1   FTB 5870A  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    23	 00
24	 Add line 22 and line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                  24	 00

25	 Enter credit name____________________________code no________and amount . . . . . . . . .            25	 00
26	 Enter credit name____________________________code no________and amount . . . . . . . . .            26	 00
27	 To claim more than two credits (see page 14) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    27	 00
28	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit (see page 14) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            28	 00
29	 Add line 25 through line 28. These are your total credits  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         29	 00
30	 Subtract line 29 from line 24. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         30	 00S
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Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint return, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Last nameInitial

Address (including number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.)

City (If you have a foreign address, see page 9)

Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

Your SSN or ITIN

P
ri

o
r 

N
am

e

- -

PBA Code

State ZIP Code

-

Apt. no./Ste. no.

{ {

31	 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     31	 00
32	 Mental Health Services Tax (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            32	 00
33	 Other taxes and credit recapture (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   33	 00
34	 Add line 30, line 31, line 32, and line 33. This is your total tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                   34	 00

6	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent, fill in the circle here (see page 9) . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 6 

- -
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62	 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 48, line 49, and line 61 (see page 17). Do not send cash.
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                62
	 Pay online – Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for web pay.

63	 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 63	 00
64	 Underpayment of estimated tax. Fill in circle:   FTB 5805 attached   FTB 5805F attached  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    	 64	 00
65	 Total amount due (see page 18). Enclose, but do not staple, any payment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          	 65	 00

66	 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 49 and line 61 from line 47 (see page 18).  
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   66
Fill in the information to authorize direct deposit of your refund into one or two accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip (see page 18).
Have you verified the routing and account numbers? Use whole dollars only.
All or the following amount of my refund (line 66) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   67 Direct deposit amount

The remaining amount of my refund (line 66) is authorized for direct deposit into the account shown below:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   68 Direct deposit amount

Your name: _______________________________________Your SSN or ITIN: _______________________________	
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61	 Add code 400 through code 414. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                              61

35	 Enter the amount from Side 1, line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                     35	 00
36	 California income tax withheld (see page 15)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          36	 00
37	 2008 CA estimated tax and other payments (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                37	 00
38	 Real estate and other withholding, Forms 592-B, 593, and 594 (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 38	 00
39	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. To see if you qualify (see page 15)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         39	 00
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit (see page 16). Attach form FTB 3506.
	 40  ______________________    41  _____________________
	 42  ______________________	     43	 00
44	 Add line 36, line 37, line 38, line 39, and line 43. These are your total payments (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            44	 00

45	 Overpaid tax. If line 44 is more than line 35, subtract line 35 from line 44 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             45	 00
46	 Amount of line 45 you want applied to your 2009 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  46	 00
47	 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 46 from line 45  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    47	 00
48	 Tax due. If line 44 is less than line 35, subtract line 44 from line 35.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 48	 00

    49  Use Tax. This is not a total line (see page 16)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     49	 00
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Sign
Here

IMPORTANT: See the instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return. Under penalties of perjury, 
I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, it is true, correct, and complete.

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours, if self-employed)	 Firm’s address

Paid preparer’s SSN/PTIN

Your signature	 Spouse’s/RDP’s signature (if a joint return, both must sign)	 Daytime phone number (optional)

X	 X	 Date

( )

FEIN




It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s/RDP’s
signature.

Joint return?
(see page 19)

- -

00

.,, 00

.,, 00

.,, 00

.,, 00

00

Do you want to allow another person to discuss this return with us (see page 19)? . . . . . . . . . . . . .             m Yes  m No

__________________________________________________________________    __________________________________
Print Third Party Designee’s Name                                                Telephone Number

(                )

Code         Amount Code         Amount
CA Seniors Special Fund (see page 60) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   E  400 00 CA Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund . E  408 00
Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               E  401 00 CA Military Family Relief Fund . . . . . . . . . . .           E  409 00
CA Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            E  402 00 CA Sea Otter Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     E  410 00
Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . .        E  403 00 CA Ovarian Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . .       E  411 00
State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . .  E  404 00 Municipal Shelter Spay-Neuter Fund  . . . . . .     E  412 00
CA Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       E  405 00 CA Cancer Research Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             E  413 00
CA Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         E  406 00 ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease Research Fund  . E  414 00
Emergency Food For Families Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      E  407 00



Schedule CA (540)  2008  Side �

Part I  Income Adjustment Schedule	 Federal Amounts	 Subtractions	 Additions
	 A (taxable amounts from	 B See instructions	 C See instructions
Section A – Income	 your federal return)

  7	 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions before making an entry in column B or C . . . . .    7
  8	 Taxable interest income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    8
  9	 Ordinary dividends. See instructions. (b) ________________________ . . . . . . . . . . .           9(a)
10	 Taxable refunds, credits, offsets of state and local income taxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11	 Alimony received . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        11
12	 Business income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                12
13	 Capital gain or (loss). See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       13
14	 Other gains or (losses)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                   14
15	 Total IRA distributions. See instructions. (a) ____________________ . . . . . . . . . . .           15(b)
16	 Total pensions and annuities. See instructions. (a) ____________________  . . . . . .      16(b)
17	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               17
18	 Farm income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    18
19	 Unemployment compensation. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . . . . .     19
20	 Social security benefits (a) ____________________ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         20(b)
21	 Other income.				    a _____________	 a _____________
	 a  California lottery winnings	 e  NOL from FTB 3805D, 3805Z,			   b _____________	 b _____________
	 b  Disaster loss carryover from FTB 3805V	      3806, 3807, or 3809	 21	 _______________	 c _____________	 c _____________	

c  Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21)	 f  Other (describe):			   d _____________	 d _____________
	 d  NOL carryover from FTB 3805V	   ________________________			   e _____________	 e _____________
		    ________________________			   f _____________	 f _____________
22	 Total. Combine line 7 through line 21 in column A. Add line 7 through line 21f in 

column B and column C. Go to Section B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      22	 _______________

Section B – Adjustments to Income

23	 Educator expenses  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                      23
24	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis 

government officials  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                     24
25	 Health savings account deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           25
26	 Moving expenses . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        26
27	 One-half of self-employment tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            27
28	 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               28
29	 Self-employed health insurance deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    29
30	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       30
31a	 Alimony paid. (b) Recipient’s:	 SSN ___ ___ ___ – ___ ___ – ___ ___ ___ ___ 

	
		  Last name ______________________________ . . . .    	 31a
32	 IRA deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                          32
33	 Student loan interest deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             33
34	 Tuition and fees deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 34
35	 Domestic production activities deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     35

36	 Add line 23 through line 31a and line 32 through line 35 in columns A, B, and C.  
See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         36

37	 Total. Subtract line 36 from line 22 in columns A, B, and C. See instructions . . . . . . . .  37

SSN or ITIN -Name(s) as shown on return

7731083

-
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California Adjustments — Residents
SCHEDULE

CA (540)
TAXABLE YEAR

2008
Important: Attach this schedule behind Form 540, Side 2 as a supporting California schedule.

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.



Side �  Schedule CA (540)  2008 7732083

Part II  Adjustments to Federal Itemized Deductions

38	 Federal itemized deductions. Add the amounts on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 15, 19, 20, 27, and 28  . . . . . . . . . .          	 38	 _________________

39	 Enter total of federal Schedule A (Form 1040), line 5 (State Disability Insurance, and state and local income tax, or 
General Sales Tax) and line 8 (foreign income taxes only). See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          	 39	 _________________

40	 Subtract line 39 from line 38 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                               	 40	  _________________

41	 Other adjustments including California lottery losses. See instructions. Specify _________________ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      	 41	  _________________

42	 Combine line 40 and line 41  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                               	 42	  _________________

43	 Is your federal AGI (Form 540, line 13) more than the amount shown below for your filing status? 
	 Single or married/RDP filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             $163,187 
	 Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             $244,785 
	 Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     $326,379

	 No. Transfer the amount on line 42 to line 43 
Yes. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in the instructions for Schedule CA (540), line 43  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        43

44	 Enter the larger of the amount on line 43 or your standard deduction listed below
		  Single or married/RDP filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               $3,692 

	 Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . .       $7,384
	 Transfer the amount on line 44 to Form 540, line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                             44



For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131. Schedule D (540)/FTB 3885A (REV 01-14)  20087761083

  1a

  1b
 
  2	 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (541, 565, 568, and 100S) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  	   2
  3	 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a minus box 2c)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   3
  4	 Total 2008 gains from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line 1a, line 1b, line 2, and line 3 . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   4
  5	 2008 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line 1a, line 1b, and line 2.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  	   5
  6	 California capital loss carryover from 2007, if any. See instructions.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  	   6
  7	 Total 2008 loss. Add line 5 and line 6. .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  	   7
  8	 Combine line 4 and line 7. If a loss, go to line 9. If a gain, go to line 10 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   8
  9	 If line 8 is a loss, enter the smaller of: 	(a) the loss on line 8.
			   (b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married or an RDP filing a separate return). See instructions . .  . 	   9
10	 Enter the gain or (loss) from federal Form 1040, line 13 . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 10
11	 Enter the California gain from line 8 or (loss) from line 9 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 11
12	 a	 If line 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540) line 13, column B . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 12a
	 b	 If line 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540), line 13, column C .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 12b

California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment
Do not complete this schedule if all of your California gains (losses) are the same as your federal gains (losses).

SCHEDULE

D (540)

TAXABLE YEAR

2008
--

SSN or ITINName(s) as shown on return

Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments
Do not complete this form if your California depreciation amounts are the same as federal amounts.

CALIFORNIA  FORM

3885A
TAXABLE YEAR

2008
Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates

(                  )

(                  )
(                  )
(                  )

(a)
Description of property (identify S corporation stock)

Example 100 shares of “Z” (S stock)

(b)
Sales price

(c)
Cost or other basis

(d)
Loss. If (c) is more than 
(b), subtract (b) from (c)

(e)
Gain. If (b) is more than 
(c), subtract (c) from (b)

Part I  Identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. (See instructions.)
  1	  This form is being completed for a passive activity.
	  This form is being completed for a nonpassive activity.
Part II  Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179).
  2	 Enter the amount from line 12 of the Tangible Property Expense Worksheet in the instructions .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   2
Part III  Depreciation (a) 

Description of property placed 
in service

(b) 
Date placed 
in service

(c) 
California basis 
for depreciation

(d) 
Method

(e) 
Life or 

rate

(f) 
California 

depreciation deduction

  3

  4	 Add the amounts on line 3, column (f)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   4
  5	 California depreciation for assets placed in service prior to 2008 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   5
  6	 Total California depreciation from this activity. Add the amounts on line 2, line 4, and line 5 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   6
  7	 Total federal depreciation from this activity. Enter depreciation from federal Form 4562, line 22 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   7
  8	 a	 If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   8a
	 b	 If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   8b
Part IV  Amortization (a) 

Description of cost
(b) 

Date placed 
in service

(c) 
California basis 
for amortization

(d) 
Code 

section

(e) 
Period or 

percentage

(f) 
California 

depreciation deduction

  9

10	 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 9, column (f)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 10
11	 California amortization of costs that began before 2008  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 11
12	 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 12
13	 Total federal amortization from this activity. Enter amortization from federal Form 4562, line 44 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 13
14	 a	 If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 14a
	 b	 If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 14b
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For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131. FTB 3519  20081221083

Your first name	 Initial	 Last name		  Your SSN or ITIN

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name	 Initial	 Last name		  Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

Address (including number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.)			   Apt. no./Ste. no.

City	 State	 ZIP Code

Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals
california  form

3519 (PIT)
TAXABLE YEAR

2008

Amount of paymentIF PAYMENT IS DUE, MAIL TO:
  F  RANCHISE TAX BOARD
    PO BOX 942867
    SACRAMENTO  CA  94267-0051

1	 Total tax you expect to owe. This is the amount you expect to enter on Form 540/540A, line 34; or Long Form 540NR, line 42 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              1	 00
2	 Payments and credits:
	 a	 California income tax withheld (including real estate and nonresident withholding) . . . . . . . . . . . . .             2a	 00
	 b	 California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 2007 tax return . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              2b	 00
	 	 (Check your estimated tax payments on our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for 
		  myftb account.)
	 c	 Other payments and credits, including any tax payments made with any previous
		  form FTB 3519  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                 2c	 00
3	 Total tax payments and credits. Add line 2a, line 2b, and line 2c  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         3	 00
4	 Tax due. Is line 1 more than line 3?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                               4	 00
	 •	 No. Stop here. You have no tax due. Do not mail form FTB 3519. If you file your return by October 15, 2009, the automatic extension will apply.
	 •	 Yes. Subtract line 3 from line 1 and enter on line 4. This is your tax due. Enter the tax due amount from line 4 as the “Amount of payment” on the form FTB 3519 

below. Fill in your name(s), address, and SSN(s) or ITIN(s), and separate form at the “DETACH HERE” line. Make a check or money order payable to the “Franchise 
Tax Board.” Write your SSN or ITIN and “2008 FTB 3519” on the check or money order. Enclose, but do not staple your check or money order with the form and 
mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051. For online payments, do not mail the form, simply go to ftb.ca.gov and search 
for web	pay, and schedule your payment.

TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET KEEP FOR YOUR RECORDS

Instructions for Form FTB 3519
Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals
General Information
Use form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals, only if both 
of the following apply:
•	 You cannot file your 2008 return by April 15, 2009.
•	 You owe tax for 2008.
When you file your 2008 return, you can e-file or Calfile. Go to our website at 
ftb.ca.gov and search for e-file options. If you use form FTB 3519, you may not 
file Form 540 2EZ or Short Form 540NR.
Use the worksheet below to determine if you owe tax. 
•	 If you do not owe tax, do not complete or mail form FTB 3519. However, file 

your return by October 15, 2009. 
•	 If you owe tax, choose one of the following payment options: 

•	 Web Pay: To make a payment online or to schedule a future payment (up 
to one year in advance), go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for 
web	pay. Do mail the form FTB 3519 to us.

•	 Credit Card: Use your major credit card. Call 800.272.9829 or go to 
the website officialpayments.com, use code 1555. Official Payments 
Corp. charges a convenience fee for using this service. Do not mail form 
FTB 3519 to us.

•	 Check or Money Order: Complete the payment form below and mail it with 
your check or money order to the FTB. Make all checks or money orders 
payable in U.S. dollars and drawn against a U.S. financial institution.

•	 Installment Agreement: Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search 
for installment agreement or get FTB 3567, Installment Agreement 
Request Booklet.

--

-

Penalties and Interest
If you fail to pay your total tax liability by April 15, 2009, you will incur a late 
payment penalty plus interest. If you pay at least 90% of the tax shown on the 
return by the original due date of the return, we will waive the penalty based 
on reasonable cause. However, the imposition of interest is mandatory. If, after 
April 15, 2009, you find that your estimate of tax due was too low, pay the 
additional tax as soon as possible to avoid or minimize further accumulation of 
penalties and interest. Pay your additional tax with another form FTB 3519. If you 
do not file your tax return by October 15, 2009, you will incur a late filing penalty 
plus interest from the original due date of the return.

Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Outside the USA
If you are residing or traveling outside the USA on April 15, 2009, the deadline 
to file your return and pay the tax is June 15, 2009. Interest will accrue from the 
original due date (April 15, 2009) until the date of payment. If you need additional 
time to file, you will be allowed a six-month extension without filing a request. To 
qualify for the extension, file your tax return by December 15, 2009. To avoid any 
late-payment penalties, pay your tax liability by June 15, 2009. When filing your 
tax return, attach a statement to the front indicating that you were “Outside the 
USA on April 15, 2009.”

If amount of payment is 
zero, do not mail form  } 

DETACH HERE
Save the stamp – pay online with Web Pay!

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE

Calendar year – File and Pay by April 15, 2009

 

--

.,, 00



Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Last nameInitial

Address (including number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.) Apt no./Ste. no.

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP Code

-

Your SSN or ITIN

- -
Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

- -

1201093

Estimated Tax for Individuals
california form

540-ES

TAXABLE YEAR

2009
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month:           Year  2010

Payment
Form

1
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2008.  Make your check or money order payable to the “Franchise 
Tax Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “2009 Form 540-ES” on it. Mail this form 
and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If no payment is due, do not mail this form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES  2008

File and Pay by April 15, 2009

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

.,, 00



Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Last nameInitial

Address (including number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.) Apt no./Ste. no.

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP Code

-

Your SSN or ITIN

- -
Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

- -

1201093

Estimated Tax for Individuals
california form

540-ES

TAXABLE YEAR

2009
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month:           Year  2010

Payment
Form

2
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2008.  Make your check or money order payable to the “Franchise 
Tax Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “2009 Form 540-ES” on it. Mail this form 
and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If no payment is due, do not mail this form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES  2008

File and Pay by June 15, 2009

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Last nameInitial

Address (including number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.) Apt no./Ste. no.

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP Code

-

Your SSN or ITIN

- -
Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

- -

1201093

Estimated Tax for Individuals
california form

540-ES

TAXABLE YEAR

2009
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month:           Year  2010

Payment
Form

3
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2008.  Make your check or money order payable to the “Franchise 
Tax Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “2009 Form 540-ES” on it. Mail this form 
and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If no payment is due, do not mail this form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES  2008

File and Pay by Sept. 15, 2009

DETACH HERE IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE 

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s/RDP’s first name Last nameInitial

Address (including number and street, PO Box, or PMB no.) Apt no./Ste. no.

City (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP Code

-

Your SSN or ITIN

- -
Spouse’s/RDP’s SSN or ITIN

- -

1201093

Estimated Tax for Individuals
california form

540-ES

TAXABLE YEAR

2009
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month:           Year  2010

Payment
Form

4
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2008.  Make your check or money order payable to the “Franchise 
Tax Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “2009 Form 540-ES” on it. Mail this form 
and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If no payment is due, do not mail this form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES  2008

File and Pay by Jan. 15, 2010

DETACH HERE IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE 

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

.,, 00

.,, 00

.,, 00
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2009 Instructions for Form 540-ES Estimated Tax For Individuals
What’s New
Electronic Payments – Taxpayers are required to remit their payments 
electronically if they make an estimate payment exceeding $20,000 for taxable 
year 2009 or the total tax liability shown on their original 2009 tax return exceeds 
$80,000. Once you meet the threshold, all payments regardless of amount, taxable 
type or tax year must be remitted electronically. Electronic payments can be made 
using Web Pay on FTB’s website by using electronic funds withdrawal (EFW) as 
part of the e-file return, or by using your credit card. For more information go to 
our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for mandatory epay.
Any taxpayer required to remit a payment electronically who makes a payment by 
other means, shall pay a penalty of one percent of the amount paid, unless it is 
shown that the failure to make a payment as required was for a reasonable cause 
and was not the result of willful neglect.  
Installment Payments – Installments due for each taxable year beginning on or 
after January 1, 2009 shall be thirty percent of the required annual payment for 
the 1st and 2nd required installments and twenty percent of the required annual 
payment for the 3rd and 4th required installments.
A  Purpose
Use Form 540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals, and the 2009 Estimated Tax 
Worksheet, to determine if you owe estimated tax for 2009 and to figure the 
required amounts. Estimated tax is the tax you expect to owe in 2009 after 
subtracting the credits you plan to take and tax you expect to have withheld.
If you need to make a payment for your 2008 tax liability or make a separate 
payment for any balance due on your 2008 tax return, use form FTB 3519, 
Payment for Automatic Extension for Individuals, or form FTB 3567, Installment 
Agreement Request, or call 800.338.0505.
Certain taxpayers are limited in their use of the prior year’s tax as a basis for 
figuring their estimated tax. See paragraph C below for more information. Check 
for estimated payments we’ve received on our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for 
myftb account.
Increasing your withholding could eliminate the need to make a large payment 
with your tax return. To increase your withholding, complete Employment 
Development Department (EDD) Form DE 4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance 
Certificate, and give it to your employer’s appropriate payroll staff. You can get this 
form from your employer, or by calling EDD at 888.745.3886. You can download 
the Form DE 4 at EDD’s website at www.edd.ca.gov or go to our website at  
ftb.ca.gov and search for de 4.
Form DE 4 specifically adjusts your California state withholding and is not the 
same as the federal Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate.
B  Who Must Make Estimated Tax Payments
Generally, you must make estimated tax payments if you expect to owe at least 
$500 ($250 if married/RDP filing separately) in tax for 2009 (after subtracting 
withholding and credits) and you expect your withholding and credits to be less 
than the smaller of:
1.	 90% of the tax shown on your 2009 tax return.
2.	 The tax shown on your 2008 tax return including AMT.
Note:
•	 You do not have to make estimated tax payments if you are a nonresident or new 

resident of California in 2009 and did not have a California tax liability in 2008, 
see Section C for more information.

•	 If you are a military servicemember not domiciled in California, do not include 
your military pay in your computation of estimated tax payments. For more 
information, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.

If you and your spouse/RDP paid joint estimated tax payments, but are now filing 
separate income tax returns, either of you may claim all of the amount paid, or you 
may each claim part of the joint estimated payments. If you want the estimated 
tax payments to be divided, notify the FTB before you file the income tax returns 
so that the payments can be applied to the proper account. The FTB will accept 
in writing, any divorce agreement (or court ordered settlement) or a statement 
showing the allocation of the payments along with a notarized signature of both 
taxpayers. The statements should be sent to:
	 Joint Estimate Credit Allocation MS F225, Taxpayer Services 

Center, Franchise Tax Board, PO Box 942840, Sacramento CA  
94240-0040

C  Limit on the Use of Prior Year’s Tax
Individuals who are required to make estimated tax payments, and whose 2008 
adjusted gross income is more than $150,000 (or $75,000 if married/RDP filing 
separately), must figure estimated tax based on the lesser of 90% of their tax for 
2009 or 110% of their tax for 2008 including AMT. This rule does not apply to 
farmers or fishermen.
Taxpayers with 2009 adjusted gross income equal to or greater than $1,000,000 
(or $500,000 if married/RDP filing separately), must figure estimated tax based on 
their tax for 2009.
D  When to Make Your Estimated Tax Payments
For estimated tax purposes, the year is divided into four payment periods. Each 
period has a specific payment due date. The payment periods and due dates are:
For the payment period:	 File and Pay by:
January 1 through March 31, 2009	 April 15, 2009

April 1 through May 31, 2009	 June 15, 2009
June 1 through August 31, 2009	 September 15, 2009
Sept. 1 through Dec. 31, 2009	 January 15, 2010
Filing an Early Return In Place of the 4th Installment. If you file your 2009 tax 
return by January 31, 2010, and pay the entire balance due, you do not have to 
make your last estimated tax payment. In addition, you will not owe a penalty for 
the fourth installment.
Annualization Option. If you do not receive your taxable income evenly during the 
year, it may be to your advantage to annualize your income. This method allows 
you to match your estimated tax payments to the actual period when you earned 
the income. You may use the annualization schedule included with the 2008 form 
FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries.
Farmers and Fishermen. If you are a farmer or fisherman, and at least two-thirds 
of your 2008 and 2009 gross income is from farming or fishing, you may do either 
of the following:
•	 Pay all of your estimated tax by January 15, 2010.
•	 File your tax return for 2009 on or before March 3, 2010, and pay the total tax 

due. In this case, you need not make estimated tax payments for 2009. Use 
the 2008 form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and 
Fishermen, to determine if you paid the required estimated tax. If the estimated 
tax is underpaid, attach the completed form FTB 5805F to the back of your return.

Fiscal Year. If you file your return on a fiscal year basis, your due dates will be the 
15th day of the 4th, 6th, and 9th months of your fiscal year and the 1st month of 
the following fiscal year. If the due date falls on a weekend, or legal holiday, use 
the next business day.
Mental Health Services Tax. If your taxable income or nonresident CA source taxable 
income is more than $1,000,000, compute the Mental Health Services Tax on the 
worksheet below.
  A.	Taxable income from Forms 540/540A, line 19, 

or Long Form 540NR, line 22 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         ____________
  B.	Less:  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               $(1,000,000)
  C.	Subtotal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          ____________
  D.	Multiply line C by 1% . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             x  .01
  E.	Mental Health Services Tax – Enter this amount on line 17 of 

the 2009 CA Estimated Tax Worksheet on the next page . . . . .     ____________

E  How to Use Form 540-ES Payment Form
Use the CA Estimated Tax Worksheet and your 2008 California income tax return as a 
guide for figuring your 2009 estimated tax. Be sure that the amount shown on line 21 
of the CA Estimated Tax Worksheet has been reduced by any overpaid tax on your 
2008 tax return which you chose to apply toward your 2009 estimated tax payment.
Note:
•	 Form 540-ES is not an application for an installment agreement. If you have a 

financial hardship and cannot pay your taxes in full, you may request to make 
monthly installment payments. Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for 
installment agreement.

•	 If you filed Form 540 2EZ for 2008, do not use the Form 540 2EZ instructions for 
figuring amounts on this worksheet. Instead, get the 2008 California 540 & 540A 
Personal Income Tax Booklet.

There is a separate payment form for each due date. Please be sure you use the 
form with the correct due date shown in the top margin of the form. Complete 
Form 540-ES using black or blue ink:
1.	 Print your name, address, and social security number (SSN) or individual 

taxpayer identification number (ITIN) in the space provided on Form 540-ES. If 
you have a foreign address, enter the information in the following order: City, 
Country, Province/Region, and Postal Code. Follow the country’s practice for 
entering the postal code. Do not abbreviate the country name.

2.	 Complete the amount of payment line of the form by entering the amount of 
the payment that you are sending. Your entry must match the amount you are 
sending. 

3.	 Paying your tax:
Web Pay – To make a payment online or to schedule a future payment (up 

to one year in advance), go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for 
Web Pay. Do not mail Forms 540-ES to us.

Credit card – Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for pay by credit 
card or call 800.272.9829. You will be charged a fee for this service.  
Do not mail the form if you pay by credit card.

Check or money order – Make your check or money order payable to the 
“Franchise Tax Board.” Write your SSN or ITIN and “2009 Form 540-ES” 
on it and mail to the address on the form. 

	 Make all checks and money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn against a 
U.S. financial institution.

4.	 Complete the Record of Estimated Tax Payments on the next page for your files.
5.	 Fiscal year filers: Enter the month of your fiscal year end (located directly 

below the form’s title).
F  Failure to Make Estimated Tax Payments
If you do not make the required estimate payments, if you pay an installment after 
the date it is due, or if you underpay any installment, a penalty may be assessed 
on the portion of estimated tax that was underpaid from the due date of the 
installment to the date of payment or the due date of your tax return, whichever is 
earlier. Refer to the 2008 form FTB 5805 for more information.
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2009 California Estimated Tax Worksheet  Keep this worksheet for your records.
  1	 Residents: Enter your estimated 2009 California AGI. Nonresidents and part-year residents: Enter your estimated 2009 

total AGI from all sources. If you are a military servicemember not domiciled in California, do not include your military pay . . . . .      	 1  _________________
 2	  a	 If you plan to itemize deductions, enter the estimated total of your itemized deductions . . . . . . . . . .          	2a  _________________
	 b	 If you do not plan to itemize deductions, enter the standard deduction for your filing status:
		  $3,692 single or married/RDP filing separately
		  $7,384 married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  	2b  _________________
	 c	 Enter the amount from line 2a or line 2b, whichever applies. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                      	 2c_________________
  3	 Subtract line 2c from line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                 	 3  _________________
  4	 Tax. Figure your tax on the amount on line 3 using the 2008 tax table for Forms 540/540A, or Long Form 540NR.  
	  Also include any tax from form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children with Investment Income; form FTB 3803, 
	 Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         	 4  _________________
  5	 Residents: Skip to line 6a. Nonresidents and part-year residents:
	 a	 Enter your estimated California taxable income from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 49 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             	 5a_________________ 
	 b	 Compute the CA Tax Rate:	Tax on total taxable income from line 4  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                	 5b___.___ ___ ___ ___
				       Total taxable income from line 3

	 c	 Multiply the amount on line 5a by the CA Tax Rate on line 5b  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    	 5c_________________
  6	 a	 Residents: Enter the exemption credit amount from the 2008 instructions for Forms 540/540A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          	 6a_________________	
	 b	 Nonresidents or part-year residents: Enter the CA credit proration percentage. Divide line 5a by line 3. If more than 1 enter 1.0000 . .   	 6b___.___ ___ ___ ___
  7	 Nonresidents: CA prorated exemption credits. Multiply the total exemption credit amount by line 6b. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        	 7  _________________
  8	 Residents: Subtract line 6a from line 4. Nonresidents or part-year residents: Subtract line 7 from line 5c. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   	    8  _________________
  9	 Tax on accumulation distribution of trusts. See instructions for form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts. . . . .     	    9  _________________
10	 Add line 8 and line 9. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                      	  10  _________________
11	 Credits for joint custody head of household, dependent parent, senior head of household, and child and dependent care expenses. 	11   _________________
	 Nonresidents and part-year residents: For the child and dependent care expenses credit, use the amount from your 2008 
	L ong Form 540NR, line 50. For the other credits listed on line 11, multiply the total 2008 credit amount by the ratio on line 6b.
12	 Subtract line 11 from line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                 	12   _________________
13	 Other credits (such as other state tax credit). See the 2008 instructions for Forms 540/540A, or Long Form 540NR. . . . . . . . . . . .             	1 3  _________________
14	 Subtract line 13 from line 12. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                 	1 4  _________________
15	 Interest on deferred tax from installment obligations under IRC Sections 453 or 453A. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    	1 5  _________________
16	 Alternative Minimum Tax. See Schedule P (540 or 540NR) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         	 16  _________________
17	 Mental Health Services Tax Worksheet, line E. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                    	1 7  _________________
18	 2009 Estimated Tax. Add line 14 through line 17. Enter the result, but not less than zero . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  	1 8  _________________
19	 a	Multiply line 18 by 90% (.90). Farmers and fishermen multiply line 18 by 66 2/3% (.6667). . . . . . . .       	19a_________________
	 b	Enter the sum of line 30, line 31, and line 32 from your 2008 Form 540; line 34 from Form 540A;  
		  or the sum of line 38, line 39, and line 40 from your Long Form 540NR. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      	19b_________________
	 c	 Enter the amount from your 2008 Forms 540/540A, line 17; or Long Form 540NR, line 21. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              	1 9c_________________
	 d	 Is the amount on line 19c more than $150,000 ($75,000 if married/RDP filing separately)? 
		  Yes. Go to line 19e.  No. Enter the lesser of line 19a or line 19b. Skip line 19e and 19f and go to line 20. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   	1 9d_________________
	 e	Multiply 110% (1.10) by the sum of line 30, line 31, and line 32 from your 2008 Form 540; line 34 from Form 540A; or the  
		  sum of line 38, line 39, and line 40 from your Long Form 540NR. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  	 19e_________________
	 f	 Enter the lesser of line 19a or line 19e and go to line 20 ( If your California AGI is equal to or greater than 
		  $1,000,000/$500,000 for MFS, use line 19a.). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                  	1 9f _________________
	 Caution: Generally, if you do not prepay at least the amount on line 19d (or 19f if no amount on line 19d), you may owe a 

penalty for not paying enough estimated tax. To avoid a penalty, make sure your estimated tax on line 18 is as accurate as 
possible. If you prefer, you may pay 100% of your 2009 estimated tax (line 18).

20	 California income tax withheld and estimated to be withheld during 2009 (include withholding on pensions, annuities, etc.). . . . . .       	 20  _________________
21	 Balance. Subtract line 20 from line 19d (or line 19f if no amount on line 19d). If less than $500 (or less than $250, 
	 if married/RDF filing separately), you do not have to make a payment at this time. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                        	21   _________________
22	 Installment amount. Multiply the amount on line 21 by 30%. Enter the result on the 1st and 2nd installments of your Forms 540-ES. Multiply the amount on 
	 line 21 by 20%. Enter the result on the 3rd and 4th installments of your Forms 540-ES. If you will earn your income at an uneven rate during the year, see  
	 Annualization Option in the instructions under paragraph D.

Record of Estimated Tax Payments
Payment form number (a) Date (b) Web Pay/Credit Card and confirmation number (c) Amount paid (d) 2008 overpayment applied (e) Total amount paid and credited add (c) and (d)

1 $ $ $
2
3
4
Total  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           $ $ $
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Instructions for California Schedule D (540)
California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2005, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC)

General Information
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of 
January 2005. However, there are continuing differences between California 
and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law changes, we 
do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal level. For more 
information, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. 
Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental 
Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California 
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), and the Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider 
the tax booklets as authoritative law.
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, a husband, 
or a wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP), 
unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to 
both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered 
domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, 
get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.

Purpose
Use California Schedule D (540), California Capital Gain or Loss 
Adjustment, only if there is a difference between your California and 
federal capital gains and losses.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, for more information about the following:
•	 Disposition of property inherited before 1987.
•	 Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before 1987.
•	 Gain on the sale or disposition of a qualified assisted housing 

development to low-income residents or to specific entities 
maintaining housing for low-income residents.

•	 Capital loss carryback.
California law does not conform to federal law changes in regards to the 
increase in the percentage of the gain exclusion for the sales of qualified 
small business stock acquired after February 17, 2009. California law 
allows an exclusion of 50% of any gain from the sale or exchange of 
qualified small business stock held for more than 5 years. For California 
purposes, 80% of the issuing corporation’s payroll must be attributable 
to employment located within California (at time of issuance) Also, at 
least 80% of the value of the corporation’s assets must be used by the 
corporation to actively conduct one or more qualified trades or businesses.
R&TC Section 18038.5 also provides for the deferral of gain from the 
sale of small business stock that has been held for six months or more, 
if qualified replacement stock is purchased within 60 days after the sale 
giving rise to the gain. Report gain deferred from the sale of qualified 
small business stock in accordance with the instructions contained in 
Revenue Procedure 98-48. 
For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for qsbs.
Installment Sales. If you sold property at a gain (other than publicly 
traded stocks or securities) and you will receive a payment in a tax year 
after the year of sale, you must report the sale on the installment method 
unless you elect not to do so. Get form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale 
Income. Also, use that form if you received a payment in 2008, for an 
installment sale made in an earlier year.
You may elect not to use the installment sale method for California by 
reporting the entire gain on Schedule D (540) (or Schedule D-1, Sale of 
Business Property, for business assets) in the year of the sale and filing 
your return on or before the due date.
At-Risk Rules and Passive Activity Limitations. If you dispose of (1) an 
asset used in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply, or (2) any part of 

your interest in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply, and the amounts 
in the activity for which you are not at risk, get and complete federal 
Form 6198, At-Risk Limitations, using California amounts to figure your 
California deductible loss under the at‑risk rules. Once a loss becomes 
allowable under the at-risk rules, it becomes subject to the passive activity 
rules. Get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations.

Specific Line Instructions
Line 1a – List each capital asset transaction.
Column (a) – Description of Property. Describe the asset you sold or 
exchanged.
Column (b) – Sales Price. Enter in this column either the gross sales 
price or the net sales price. If you received a Form 1099-B, Proceeds 
From Broker and Barter Exchange Transactions; Form 1099-S, Proceeds 
From Real Estate Transactions; or similar statement showing the 
gross sales price, enter that amount in column (b). However, if box 2 
of Form 1099-B indicates that gross proceeds less commissions and 
option premiums were reported to the IRS, enter that net amount in 
column (b). If you entered the net amount in column (b), do not include 
the commissions and option premiums in column (c).
Column (c) – Cost or Other Basis. In general, the cost or other basis 
represents the cost of the property plus purchase commissions and 
improvements, minus depreciation, amortization, and depletion. Enter 
the cost or adjusted basis of the asset for California purposes. Use your 
records and California tax returns for years before 1987 to determine the 
California amount to enter in column (c). If you used an amount other 
than cost as the original basis, your federal basis may be different from 
your California basis. Other reasons for differences include:
Depreciation Methods and Property Expensing
Before 1987, California law disallowed the use of accelerated cost 
recovery system (ACRS) and disallowed the use of an asset depreciation 
range 20% above or below the standard rate. Before 1999, California 
had different limits on the expensing of property under IRC Section 179. 
California law permits rapid write-off of certain property such as 
solar energy systems, pollution control devices, and property used 
in an Enterprise Zone, LAMBRA, Targeted Tax Area, or Los Angeles 
Revitalization Zone (LARZ).
Inherited Property – The California basis of property inherited from a 
decedent is generally fair market value (FMV) at the time of death.
S Corporation Stock – Prior to 1987, California law did not recognize 
S corporations; therefore, your California basis in S corporation stock 
may differ from your federal basis. In general, your California basis will 
be cost-adjusted for income, loss, and distributions received after 1986, 
while your stock was California S corporation stock. Your federal basis 
will be cost-adjusted for income, loss, and distributions received during 
the time your stock qualified for federal S corporation treatment. Effective 
for taxable years beginning on or after 1/1/02, any corporation with a 
valid federal S corporation election is considered an S corporation for 
California purposes. Existing law already requires federal C corporations 
to be treated as C corporations for California purposes.
Special Credits – California law authorizes special tax credits not allowed 
under federal law or computed differently under federal law. In many 
instances if you claimed special credits related to capital assets, you 
must reduce your basis in the assets by the amount of credit.
Other adjustments may apply differently to the federal and California basis 
of your capital assets. Figure the original basis of your asset using the 
California law in effect when the asset was acquired, and adjust it according 
to provisions of California law in effect during the period of your ownership.
Line 1b – R&TC Section 18152.5 Exclusion. If the gain qualifying 
for the IRC Section 1202 exclusion also qualifies for the California 
exclusion under R&TC Section 18152.5: Enter in column (a) “Section 
18152.5 Exclusion.” Complete column (b) and column (c) according to 
the instructions for line 1a. Enter in column (d) the amount of gain that 
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qualifies for the California exclusion. Enter in column (e) the entire gain 
realized. If the gain qualifying for the IRC Section 1202 exclusion does 
not qualify for the California exclusion: Complete column (a), Page 
Schedule D (540)/FTB 3885A  instructions 2008 column (b), and column 
(c) according to the instructions for line 1a. Enter -0- in column (d) and 
enter the entire gain realized in column (e). 
Line 2 – Net Gain or (Loss) Shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (541, 
565, 568, and 100S). Combine gain(s) and loss(es) from all California 
Schedule(s) K-1(541), Beneficiary’s Share of Income, Deductions, 
Credits, Etc.; K-1(565), Partner’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, 
Etc.; K-1( 568), Member’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, Etc.; 
and K-1(100S), Shareholder’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, Etc. 
See California Schedule(s) K-1 (541, 565, 568, and 100S) instructions for 
more information on capital gains and losses. Enter the net loss on line 2, 
column (d), or the net gain on line 2, column (e).
Line 3 – Capital Gain Distributions. If you receive federal Form 2439, 
Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains, from 
a mutual fund, do not include the undistributed capital gain dividends 
on Schedule D. If you receive federal Form 1099‑DIV, Dividends and 
Distributions, enter the amount of distributed capital gain dividends.
Line 6 – 2007 California Capital Loss Carryover. If you were a resident 
of California for all prior years, enter your California capital loss carryover 
from 2007. However, if you were a nonresident of California during any 
taxable year that generated a portion of your 2007 capital loss carryover, 
recalculate your 2007 capital carryover loss as if you resided in California 
for all prior years. Get FTB Pub. 1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and 
Individuals Who Change Residency, for more information. Enter your 
California capital loss carryover amount from 2007 on line 6.
Line 8 – Net Gain or Loss. If the amount on line 4 is more than the 
amount on line 7, subtract line 7 from line 4. Enter the difference as a 
gain on line 8.
If the amount on line 7 is more than the amount on line 4, subtract line 4 
from line 7 and enter the difference as a negative amount on line 8.
Use the worksheet on this page to figure your capital loss carryover to 2009.
Line 9 – If line 8 is a net capital loss, enter the smaller of the loss on line 8 
or $3,000 ($1,500 if you are married or an RDP filing a separate return).

Line 12a – Compare the amounts entered on line 10 and line 11 to figure 
the adjustment to enter on Schedule CA (540), line 13, column B.

For example: 
Loss on line 10 is less than loss on line 11. 
	 Federal loss on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($1,000) 
	 California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($2,000) 
	 Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $1,000
Gain on line 10 and loss on line 11. 
	 Federal gain on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             $3,000
	 California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($3,000)
	 Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $6,000
Line 12b – Compare the amounts on line 10 and 11 to figure the 
adjustment to enter on Schedule CA (540), line 13, column C.

For example: 
Loss on line 10 is more than loss on line 11. 
	 Federal loss on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($2,000)
	 California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($1,000)
	 Difference between line 11 and line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $1,000  
Loss on line 10 and gain on line 11. 
	 Federal loss on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($2,000)
	 California gain on line 11 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           $5,000
	 Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $7,000

California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet
 1.	Loss from Schedule D (540), line 11, stated as a 

positive number . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                1_________
 2.	Amount from Form 540, line 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    2 _________
 3.	Amount from Form 540, line 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    3 _________
 4.	Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less than zero, enter 

as a negative amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            4 _________
 5.	Combine line 1 and line 4. If less than zero, 

enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      5 _________
 6.	Loss from Schedule D (540), line 8  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 6 _________
 7.	Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  7 _________
 8.	Subtract line 7 from line 6. This is your capital loss 

carryover to 2009 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               8 _________

Instructions for Form FTB 3885A
Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2005, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Information
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of 
January 2005. However, there are continuing differences between California 
and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law changes, we 
do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal level. For more 
information, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. 
Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental 
Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions for California 
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), and the Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider 
the tax booklets as authoritative law.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information on differences between 
California and federal law for the following items:
•	 Amortization of certain intangibles (IRC Section 197)
•	 Qualified Indian Reservation property
•	 Grapevines subject to Phylloxera or Pierce’s disease
•	 Additional depreciation

For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, a husband, 
or a wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP), 
unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to 
both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered 
domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, 
get FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.

Purpose
Use form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments, only if 
there is a difference between the amount of depreciation and amortization 
allowed as a deduction using California law and the amount allowed 
using federal law. California law and federal law have not always allowed 
the same depreciation methods, special credits, or accelerated write-offs. 
As a result, the recovery periods or the basis on which the depreciation is 
figured for California may be different from the amounts used for federal 
purposes. You will probably have reportable differences if all or part of 
your assets were placed in service:
•	 Before 1/1/87. California disallowed depreciation under the federal 

accelerated cost recovery system (ACRS). Continue to figure California 
depreciation for those assets in the same manner as in prior years for 
those assets.

•	 On or after 1/1/87. California provides special credits and accelerated 
write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying assets. California 
did not conform to all changes to federal law enacted in 1993; therefore, 
the California basis or recovery periods may be different for some assets.
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•	 On or after 9/11/01. If you claimed the 30% additional depreciation 
for federal purposes, California has not conformed to the federal Job 
Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002 which allows taxpayers 
to take an additional first year depreciation deduction and Alternative 
Minimum Tax depreciation adjustment for property placed in service 
after 9/10/01.

•	 California generally conforms to the federal 2003 increase (IRC 
Section 280F) for the limitation on luxury automobile depreciation. 
However, California does not conform to the IRC Section 168(k) 
provisions (30% and 50% additional first year depreciation). In addition, 
SUVs and minivans built on a truck chassis are included in the definition 
of trucks and vans when applying the 6,000 pound gross weight limit.

Differences may also occur for other less common reasons, and the 
instructions for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) list them on the line for 
the type of income likely to be affected. Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more 
information about figuring and reporting these adjustments.
If reporting a difference for assets related to a passive activity, get form 
FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, for more information about 
passive activities.
Do not use form FTB 3885A to report depreciation expense from federal 
Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses. Instead, see the instructions 
for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 41.

Specific Line Instructions
Prepare and file a separate form FTB 3885A for each business or activity 
on your return that has a difference between California and federal 
depreciation or amortization. Enter the name of the business or activity in 
the space provided at the top of the form. If you need more space, attach 
additional sheets. However, complete Part II, Election to Expense Certain 
Tangible Property (IRC Section 179), only once.

Part I  Identify the Activity as Passive or Nonpassive
Line 1 – Check the box to identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. 
A passive activity is any activity involving the conduct of any trade or 
business in which you did not materially participate. Get form FTB 3801 
for more information.
If the activity is passive, use this form as a worksheet to figure the 
depreciation adjustment to carry to form FTB 3801. Beginning in 1994, 
and for federal purposes only, rental real estate activities of persons in 
real property business are not automatically treated as passive activities. 
California did not conform to this provision.

Part II  Election To Expense Certain Tangible Property
If you qualify, you may elect to expense part of the cost of depreciable 
personal property used in your trade or business and certain other 
property described in federal Publication 946, How to Depreciate 
Property. To qualify, you must have purchased property, as defined in 
the IRC Section 179(d)(2), and placed it in service during 2008, or have 
a carryover of unused cost from 2007. If you elect this deduction, you 
must reduce your California depreciable basis by the IRC Section 179 
expense. 
Although federal law increased the IRC Section 179 expense to $250,000, 
under California law, the maximum deduction allowed for 2008 is 
$25,000.
Complete the worksheet in the next column to figure IRC Section 179 
expense for California. Include all assets qualifying for the deduction 
because the limit applies to all qualifying assets as a group rather than to 
each asset individually. Refer to federal Form 4562, Depreciation and 
Amortization, for more information.

 Tangible Property Expense Worksheet
	 1	 Maximum dollar limitation for California . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 	   1    $25,000
	 2	 Total cost of Section 179 property placed in service . . . . . . . .         	  2 ________
	 3	 Threshold cost of Section 179 property before 

reduction in limitation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               	   3  $200,000
	 4	 Reduction in limitation. Subtract line 3 from line 2. 

If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             	   4 ________
	 5	 Dollar limitation for tax year. Subtract line 4 from line 1. 

If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             	   5 ________
	 (a) Description of property	 (b) Cost	 (c) Elected cost

    6
 

	 7	 Listed property (elected Section 179 cost) . . . . .     	 7________
	 8	 Total elected cost of Section 179 property.  

Add line 6 column (c) and line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        .   8 ________
	 9	 Tentative deduction. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 8 . . . . .     .   9 ________
	 10	 Carryover of disallowed deduction from 2007  . . . . . . . . . . . .             . 10 ________
	 11	 Enter the smaller of business income (not less than zero) 

or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          . 11 ________
	 12	 Section 179 expense deduction for California. 

Add line 9 and line 10, but do not enter more than 
line 11. Also, enter the result on form FTB 3885A, line 2  . . . .     . 12 ________

	 13	 Carryover of disallowed deduction to 2009.  
Add line 9 and line 10. 
Subtract line 12 from the result  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              	13________

Part III  Depreciation
Line 3 – Complete column (a) through column (f) for each tangible asset 
or group of assets placed in service during the tax year. Use the California 
basis for assets on which you elected to take the Section 179 deduction. 
It will be the difference between line 6, column (b) and line 6, column (c) 
of the Tangible Property Expense Worksheet in Part II.
Line 8a and Line 8b – Are you using this form as a worksheet in 
connection with form FTB 3801?
Yes	 Enter the amount from line 8a or line 8b on form FTB 3801, Side 2, 

California Passive Activity Worksheet, column (e).
No	 Include the amount from line 8a on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) 

in column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C, Profit or Loss 
From Business, activities; on line 17 for federal Schedule E, 
Supplemental Income and Loss, activities; and on line 18 for 
federal Schedule F, Profit or Loss From Farming, activities.

	 Include the amount from line 8b on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) 
in column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on 
line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal 
Schedule F activities.

Part IV  Amortization
Line 9 – Complete column (a) through column (f) for intangible assets 
placed in service during the tax year. Use the California basis and the 
California recovery period.
Line 14a and Line 14b – Are you using this form as a worksheet in 
connection with form FTB 3801?
Yes	 Enter the amount from line 14a or line 14b on form FTB 3801, 

Side 2, California Passive Activity Worksheet, column (e).
No	 Include the amount from line 14a on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) 

in column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on 
line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal 
Schedule F activities.

	 Include the amount from line 14b on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) 
in column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on 
line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal 
Schedule F activities.
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Instructions for Schedule CA (540)
References to these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2005, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

What’s New
Conformity
For updates regarding the following federal acts, go to our website at 
ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity.
•	 Economic Stimulus Act of 2008
•	 Heroes Earnings Assistance and Relief Tax (HEART) Act of 2008
Net Operating Loss – For taxable years beginning in 2008 and 2009, 
California has suspended the net operating loss (NOL) carryover 
deduction. Taxpayers may continue to compute and carryover an NOL 
during the suspension period. However, taxpayers with net business 
income of less than $500,000 or with disaster loss carryovers are not 
affected by the NOL suspension rules.
The carryover period for suspended losses is extended by:
•	 Two years for losses incurred in taxable years beginning before 

January 1, 2008.
•	 One year for losses incurred in taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2009. 
Also, NOL carrybacks, NOL carryovers, and the number of taxable years 
to which the loss may be carried, are modified. For more information, 
see form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL 
and Disaster Loss Limitations - Individuals.
Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief – California partially conforms to the 
federal Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007 (P.L. 110‑142) for 
the 2007 and 2008 tax years. California limits the amount of qualified 
principal residence indebtedness to $800,000 ($400,000 for married/
RDP filing separately)(the federal limit is $2,000,000/$1,000,000 for 
MFS) and debt relief to $250,000 ($125,000 for married/RDP filing 
separately). Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov for more information on 
claiming debt relief.
Same-Sex Married Couples (SSMCs) – Married couples must file 
their California income tax returns using either the married/RDP 
filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately filing status. Same-sex 
couple marriages performed in California on June 16, 2008 and before 
November 5, 2008 have been recognized as valid marriages for California 
purposes. For more information, get FTB Pub. 776, Tax Information for 
Same-Sex Married Couples.
Proposition 8 was approved by the voters on November 4, 2008, and 
it provides that “only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or 
recognized in California.” Lawsuits challenging the Proposition have 
been filed. To find updates and information about the filing status to be 
used on your 2008 return, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search 
for same sex married couples or get FTB Pub. 776, Tax Information for 
Same-Sex Married Couples.

General Information
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
as of January 2005. However, there are continuing differences between 
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law 
changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal 
level. For more information, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search 
for conformity. Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, 
Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, and the Business 
Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary of 
California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider 
the tax booklets as authoritative law.

Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) – RDPs under California law must 
file their California income tax returns using either the married/RDP filing 

jointly or married/RDP filing separately filing status. RDPs have the same 
legal benefits, protections, and responsibilities as married couples unless 
otherwise specified.
If you entered into a same sex legal union in another state, other than a 
marriage, and that union has been determined to be substantially equivalent 
to a California registered domestic partnership, you are required to file a 
California income tax return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or 
married/RDP filing separately filing status. For more information on what 
states have legal unions that are considered substantially equivalent, go to 
our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for rdp. 
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, a husband, 
or a wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP), 
unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to 
both a California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered 
domestic “partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get 
FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.
Military Personnel – Servicemembers domiciled outside of California, 
and their spouses/RDPs, may exclude the servicemember’s military 
compensation from gross income when computing the tax rate on 
nonmilitary income. Military servicemembers domiciled in California 
must include their military pay in total income. In addition, they must 
include their military pay in California source income when stationed in 
California. However, military pay is not California source income when a 
servicemember is permanently stationed outside of California. For more 
information, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.
Round Cents to Dollars – Round cents to the nearest whole dollar. For 
example, round $50.50 up to $51 or round $25.49 down to $25. If you 
do not round, the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) will disregard the cents. This 
helps process your return quickly and accurately.

Purpose
Use Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments – Residents, to make 
adjustments to your federal adjusted gross income and to your federal 
itemized deductions using California law.

Specific Line Instructions

Part I	 Income Adjustment Schedule
Column A — Federal Amounts
Line 7 through Line 21
Enter on line 7 through line 21 the same amounts you entered on your 
federal Form 1040, line 7 through line 21; Form 1040A, line 7 through 
line 14b; or Form 1040EZ line 1, line 2, and line 3. 
Same-Sex Married Couples and Registered Domestic Partners 
– SSMCs and RDPs will compute their limitations based on the combined 
federal adjusted gross income (AGI) of each spouse’s or partner’s 
individual tax return filed with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). 
For column A, line 7 through line 21, combine your federal amounts 
from each spouse’s or partner’s individual federal tax return. For more 
information on SSMCs, get FTB Pub. 776, or RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737.
The combined federal AGI used to compute limitations is different from 
the recalculated federal AGI used on Form 540, line 13. In situations 
where SSMCs have no SSMC adjustments or RDPs have no RDP 
adjustments, these amounts may be the same.

Line 22 – Total
Combine the amounts on line 7 through line 21.

Line 23 through Line 30 and Line 32 through Line 35
Enter the same amounts entered on your federal Form 1040, line 23 
through line 30 and line 32 through line 35 or Form 1040A, line 16 
through line 19.
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Line 31a and Line 31b
Enter on line 31a the same amount entered on your federal Form 1040, 
line 31a. Enter on line 31b the social security number (SSN) or individual 
taxpayer identification number (ITIN) and last name of the person to 
whom you paid alimony.

Line 36
Add line 23 through line 31a and line 32 through line 35. However, if you 
made any of the adjustments described in the instructions for federal 
Form 1040, line 36 or if you claimed the foreign housing deduction from 
federal Form 2555, Foreign Earned Income, or Form 2555-EZ, Foreign 
Earned Income Exclusion, enter the amount from Form 1040, line 36 on 
this line.

Line 37 – Total
Subtract line 36 from line 22.

Column B and Column C — Subtractions and Additions
Use these columns to enter subtractions and additions to the federal 
amounts in column A that are necessary because of differences between 
California and federal law. Enter all amounts as positive numbers unless 
instructed otherwise.
You may need one or more of the following FTB publications to complete 
column B and column C:
•	 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments
•	 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines
•	 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status 
•	 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel
•	 1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency
To get forms and publications, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov or see 
page 7 of your California 540 & 540A Personal Income Tax Booklet.

Line 7 – Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. If you did not 
receive any of the following types of income, make no entry on this line 
in either column B or column C.
Active duty military pay. Special rules apply to active duty military 
taxpayers. Get FTB Pub. 1032 for more information.
Sick pay received under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act and 
Railroad Retirement Act. California excludes this item from income. 
Enter in column B the amount of these benefits included in the amount in 
column A.
Ridesharing fringe benefit differences. Under federal law, qualified 
transportation benefits are excluded from gross income. Under the 
R&TC, there are no monthly limits for the exclusion of these benefits and 
California’s definitions are more expansive. Enter the amount of ridesharing 
benefits received and included in federal income on line 7, column B.
Exclusion for compensation from exercising a California Qualified 
Stock Option (CQSO). To claim this exclusion:
•	 Your earned income is $40,000 or less from the corporation granting 

the CQSO.
•	 The market value of the options granted to you must be less than 

$100,000.
•	 The total number of shares must be 1,000 or less.
•	 The corporation issuing the stock must designate that the stock issued 

is a CQSO at the time the option is granted. 
If you included an amount qualifying for this exclusion in federal income, 
enter that amount in column B.
Compensation of merchant seamen, military servicemembers, rail, 
motor, and aircraft carriers. Exclude the following from gross income: 
compensation for the performance of duties of certain merchant 
seamen, rail carriers, motor carriers, aircraft carriers, and military 
servicemembers.

Line 8 – Taxable Interest Income
If you did not receive any of the kinds of income listed below, make no 
entry on this line in either column B or column C.
Enter in column B the interest you received from:

•	 U.S. savings bonds (except for interest from series EE U.S. savings 
bonds issued after 1989 that qualified for the Education Savings Bond 
Program exclusion).

•	 U.S. Treasury bills, notes, and bonds.
•	 Any other bonds or obligations of the United States and its territories.
•	 Interest from Ottoman Turkish Empire Settlement Payments.
•	 Interest income from children ages 14 through 18, and students under 

age 24. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1001.
•	 Interest income from children under age 14, included on the parent’s 

or child’s federal return and reported on the California return by the 
opposite taxpayer.

Certain mutual funds pay “exempt-interest dividends.” If the mutual fund 
has at least 50% of its assets invested in tax-exempt U.S. obligations 
and/or in California or its municipal obligations, that amount of dividend 
is exempt from California tax. The proportion of dividends that are 
tax‑exempt will be shown on your annual statement or statement issued 
with Form 1099-INT, Interest Income.
Enter in column C the interest you identified as tax-exempt interest 
on your federal Form 1040 (or Form 1040A), line 8b, and which you 
received from:
•	 The federally exempt interest dividends from other states, or their 

municipal obligations and/or from mutual funds that do not meet the 
50% rule above.

•	 Non-California state bonds.
•	 Non-California municipal bonds issued by a county, city, town, or other 

local government unit.
•	 Obligations of the District of Columbia issued after 12/27/73.
•	 Non-California bonds if the interest was passed through to you from 

S corporations, trusts, partnerships, or Limited Liability Companies 
(LLCs).

•	 Interest or other earnings earned from a Health Savings Account (HSA) 
are not treated as taxed deferred. Interest or earnings in a HSA are 
taxable in the year earned.

•	 Interest on any bond or other obligation issued by the Government of 
American Samoa.

•	 Interest income from children under age 14, excluded on the parent’s 
or child’s federal return and reported on the California return.

Make no entries in either column B or column C for interest you 
earned on Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) Bonds, 
Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) Bonds, and 
Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporations (FHLMC) securities, or grants 
paid to low income individuals.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received interest income from the following 
sources:
•  Loans made in an enterprise zone (EZ) or the former Los Angeles 

Revitalization Zone (LARZ).
•	 Items listed above passed through to you from S corporations, trusts, 

estates, partnerships, or LLCs.

Line 9 – Ordinary Dividends
Generally, no difference exists between the amount of dividends reported 
in column A and the amount reported using California law. However, 
California taxes dividends derived from other states and their municipal 
obligations.
Add dividends received from the following and enter in column B:
•	 Dividend income for children ages 14 through 18, and students under 

age 24. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1001.
•	 Dividend income from children under age 14, included on the parent’s 

or child’s federal return and reported on the California return by the 
opposite taxpayer.

Add dividends received from the following and enter in column C:
•	 Controlled foreign corporation (CFC) dividends in the year distributed.
•	 Regulated investment company (RIC) capital gains in the year distributed.
•	 Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from an S corporation.
•	 Dividend income from children under age 14, excluded on the parent’s 

or child’s federal return and reported on the California return.
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Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received dividends from:
•	 Non-cash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or mutual 

associations.
•	 A CFC.
•	 Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from S corporations.
•	 Undistributed capital gains for RIC shareholders.

Line 10 – Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income 
taxes
California does not tax the state income tax refund received in 2008. 
Enter in column B the amount of state tax refund entered in column A.

Line 11 – Alimony Received
If you are a nonresident alien and received alimony not included in your 
federal income, enter the alimony on this line in column C. Otherwise, 
make no entry on this line.

Line 12 – Business Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal business income or loss you reported in column A 
generally are necessary because of the difference between California 
and federal law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and 
accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis used to 
figure California depreciation may be different from the amount used for 
federal purposes.
Adjustments are figured on form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and 
Amortization Adjustments, and are most commonly necessary because of 
the following:
•	 Before January 1, 1987, California did not allow depreciation under the 

federal accelerated cost recovery system. Continue to figure California 
depreciation for those assets in the same manner as prior years.

•	 On or after January 1, 1987, California provides special credits and 
accelerated write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying 
assets. Refer to the bulleted list below.

Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, to figure the total 
adjustment for line 12 if you have:
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss.
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule C, Profit or Loss From Business.
Use form FTB 3885A to figure the total adjustment for line 12 if you have:
•	 Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or 

combination of gains and losses).
•	 Passive activities that produce gains.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:

Income related to:
•	 Business, trade, or profession carried on within California that is an 

integral part of a unitary business carried on both within and outside 
California.

•	 Pro-rata share of income received from a CFC by a U.S. shareholder.

Basis adjustments related to:
•	 Property acquired prior to becoming a California resident.
•	 Sales or use tax credit for property used in an EZ, Local Agency 

Military Base Recovery Area (LAMBRA), Targeted Tax Area (TTA), or 
former LARZ.

•	 Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing grapevines replaced 
in a California vineyard on or after 1/1/92 as a result of phylloxera 
infestation; or on or after 1/1/97 as a result of Pierce’s disease.

•	 Expenditures for tertiary injectants.
•	 Property placed in service on an Indian reservation after 1/1/94 and 

before 1/1/08.
•	 Amortization of pollution control facilities.
•	 Discharge of real property business indebtedness.
•	 Employer-paid child care program.
•	 Employer-paid child care plan.
•	 Vehicles used in an employer-sponsored ridesharing program.
•	 An enhanced oil recovery system.
•	 Joint Strike Fighter property costs.
•	 The cost of making a business accessible to disabled individuals.

•	 Property for which you received an energy conservation subsidy from 
a public utility on or after 1/1/95 and before 1/1/97.

•	 Research and experimental expenditures.

Business expense deductions related to:
•	 Wages paid in an EZ, LAMBRA, Manufacturing Enhancement Area 

(MEA), or TTA.
•	 Certain employer costs for employees who are also enrolled members 

of Indian tribes.
•	 Abandonment or tax recoupment fees for open-space easements and 

timberland preserves.
•	 Business located in an EZ, LAMBRA, or TTA.
•	 Research expense.
•	 Employer wage expense for the Work Opportunity Credit and 

Welfare‑to-Work Credit.
•	 Pro-rata share of deductions received from a CFC by a U.S. shareholder.
•	 Interest paid on indebtedness in connection with company-owned life 

insurance policies.
•	 Premiums paid on life insurance policies, annuities, or endowment 

contracts issued after 6/8/97 where the owner of the business is 
directly or indirectly a policy beneficiary.

•	 Commercial Revitalization Deductions for Renewal Communities.

Line 13 – Capital Gain or (Loss)
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. California taxes long 
and short term capital gains as regular income. No special rate for long 
term capital gains exists. However, the California basis of the assets listed 
below may be different from the federal basis due to differences between 
California and federal laws. If there are differences, use Schedule D (540), 
California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment, to calculate the amount to 
enter on line 13.
•	 Gain on the sale of qualified small business stock under IRC 

Section 1045 and IRC Section 1202.
•	 Basis amounts resulting from differences between California and 

federal law in prior years.
•	 Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions.
•	 Installment sale gain reported on form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale 

Income.
•	 Gain on the sale of personal residence where depreciation was 

allowable.
•	 Flow-through gain or loss from partnerships, fiduciaries, 

S corporations, or LLCs.
•	 Capital loss carryover from your 2007 California Schedule D (540).

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
•	 Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before 1987.
•	 Capital gain exclusion for sale of principal residence by a surviving 

spouse.
•	 Gain on sale or disposition of qualified assisted housing development 

to low-income residents or to specified entities maintaining housing 
for low-income residents.

•	 Undistributed capital gain for RIC shareholders.
•	 Gain or loss on the sale of property inherited before 1/1/87.
•	 Capital loss carrybacks.
•	 Capital gain distribution for children ages 14 through 18, and students 

under age 24.

Line 14 – Other Gains or (Losses)
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, the California 
basis of your other assets may differ from your federal basis due to 
differences between California and federal law. Therefore, you may have 
to adjust the amount of other gains or losses. Get Schedule D-1, Sales of 
Business Property.

Line 15 – Total IRA Distributions
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, there may be 
significant differences in the taxable amount of a distribution (including 
a distribution from conversion of a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA), 
depending on when you made your contributions to the IRA. Differences 
also occur if your California IRA deductions were different from your 
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federal deductions because of differences between California and federal 
self-employment income.
If the taxable amount using California law is:
•	 Less than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in 

column B.
•	 More than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in 

column C.
Get FTB Pub. 1005 for more information and worksheets for figuring the 
adjustment to enter on line 15, if any.
If you have an IRA basis and were a nonresident in prior years, you may 
need to restate your California IRA basis. Get FTB Pub. 1100 for more 
information.
Coverdell ESA formerly known as Education (ED) IRA – If column A 
includes a taxable distribution from an ED IRA, you may owe additional 
tax on that amount. Get form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified 
Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored Accounts. Report only the 
taxable amount of the distribution on line 21f.

Line 16 – Total Pensions and Annuities
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, if you received 
Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits or partially taxable distributions from a 
pension plan, you may need to make the following adjustments.
If you received a federal Form RRB-1099-R, Annuities or Pensions by the 
Railroad Retirement Board, for railroad retirement benefits and included 
all or part of these benefits in taxable income in column A, enter the 
taxable benefit amount in column B.
If you began receiving a retirement annuity between 7/1/86 and 1/1/87 
and elected to use the three-year rule for California purposes and the 
annuity rules for federal purposes, enter in column C the amount of the 
annuity payments you excluded for federal purposes.
You may have to pay an additional tax if you received a taxable 
distribution from a qualified retirement plan before reaching age 59½ 
and the distribution was not rolled over into another qualified plan. See 
Form 540, line 33 instructions; or form FTB 3805P.

Line 17 – Rental Real Estate, Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations, 
Estates, Trusts, etc.
Adjustments to federal income or loss you reported in column A 
generally are necessary because of the difference between California 
and federal law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and 
accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis used to 
figure California depreciation may be different from the recovery period 
or amount used for federal. For more information, see the instructions 
for column B and column C, line 12.
California law does not conform to federal law for material participation 
in rental real estate activities. Beginning in 1994, and for federal 
purposes only, rental real estate activities conducted by persons in real 
property business are not automatically treated as passive activities. Get 
form FTB 3801 for more information.
Use form FTB 3801 to figure the total adjustment for line 17 if you have:
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss.
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule E.
Use form FTB 3885A to figure the total adjustment for line 17 if you have:
•	 Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or 

combination of gains and losses).
•	 Passive activities that produce gains.
LLCs that are classified as partnerships for California purposes and 
limited liability partnerships (LLPs) are subject to the same rules as 
other partnerships. LLCs report distributive items to members on 
Schedule K‑1 (568), Member’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, 
etc. LLPs report to partners on Schedule K-1 (565), Partner’s Share of 
Income, Deductions, Credits, etc.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about accumulation 
distributions to beneficiaries for which the trust was not required to pay 
California tax because the beneficiary’s interest was contingent.

Line 18 – Farm Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal income or loss you report in column A generally 
are necessary because of the difference between California and federal 
law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and accelerated 
write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis you use to figure 
California depreciation may be different from the amount used for federal 
purposes, and you may need to make an adjustment to your farm income 
or loss.
Use form FTB 3801 to figure the total adjustment for line 18 if you have:
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss.
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule F, Profit or Loss From Farming.
Use form FTB 3885A to figure the total adjustment for line 18 if you have:
•	 Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or 

combination of gains and losses).
•	 Passive activities that produce gains.

Line 19 – Unemployment Compensation
California excludes unemployment compensation from taxable income. 
Enter on line 19, column B the amount of unemployment compensation 
shown in column A.
Paid Family Leave Insurance (PFL) benefits, also known as Family 
Temporary Disability Insurance. Payments received from the PFL 
Program are reported on Form 1099-G, Certain Government Payments. 
Enter on line 19, column B the amount of PFL payments shown in 
column A. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1001. 

Line 20 – U.S. Social Security Benefits
California excludes U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 
railroad retirement benefits from taxable income. Enter in column B 
the amount of U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 railroad 
retirement benefits shown in column A.

Line 21 – Other Income
a. California Lottery Winnings. California excludes California lottery 
winnings from taxable income. Enter in column B the amount of California 
lottery winnings included in the federal amount on line 21 in column A.
Make no adjustment for lottery winnings from other states. They are 
taxable by California. California and federal laws allow gambling losses 
only to the extent of reported gambling income. If you reduced gambling 
income for California lottery income, you may need to reduce the losses 
included in the federal itemized deductions on line 38. Enter these losses 
on line 41 as a negative number.
b. Disaster Loss Carryover from form FTB 3805V, Part III, line 6. If you 
have a California disaster loss carryover from your 2007 form FTB 3805V, 
Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss 
Limitations – Individuals, Estates, and Trusts, enter that amount as a 
positive number in column B.
c. Federal NOL from Form 1040, line 21. If the amount on line 21 in 
column A includes a federal NOL, enter the amount of the federal NOL 
as a positive number in column C. Get form FTB 3805V, to figure the 
allowable California NOL.
d. NOL carryover from form FTB 3805V, Part III, line 5. The allowable 
NOL carryover under California law is different from the allowable NOL 
carryover under federal law. Use form FTB 3805V to figure the allowable 
California NOL and enter it as a positive number in column B.
e. NOL from form FTB 3805D, FTB 3805Z, FTB 3806, FTB 3807, or 
FTB 3809. Enter in column B the total NOL figured on the following forms.
•	 FTB 3805D, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and  

Limitation – Pierce’s Disease
•	 FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit Summary, line 5b
•	 FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone Deduction and Credit 

Summary, line 3b
•	 FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction and 

Credit Summary, line 5b
•	 FTB 3809, Targeted Tax Area Deduction and Credit Summary, line 4b
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f. Other (describe).

Reward from a crime hotline. Enter in column B the amount of a reward 
authorized by a government agency received from a crime hotline 
established by a government agency or nonprofit organization and that is 
included in the amount on line 21 in column A.
You may not make this adjustment if you are an employee of the hotline 
or someone who sponsors rewards for the hotline.
Federal foreign earned income or housing exclusion. Enter in column C 
the amount deducted from federal income on Form 1040, line 21.
Beverage container recycling income. Enter in column B the amount of 
recycling income included in the amount on line 21 in column A.
Rebates or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or 
energy supplier. California law allows an income exclusion for rebates 
or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or energy supplier 
for the purchase and installation of water conservation appliances and 
devices. Enter in column B the amount of this type of income included in 
the amount on line 21 in column A.
Original issue discount (OID) for debt instruments issued in 1985 and 
1986. In the year of sale or other disposition, you must recognize the 
difference between the amount reported on your federal return and the 
amount reported for California purposes. Issuers: Enter the difference 
between the federal deductible amount and the California deductible 
amount on line 21f in column B. Holders: Enter the difference between 
the amount included in federal gross income and the amount included for 
California purposes on line 21f in column C.
Foreign income of nonresident aliens. Adjust federal income to reflect 
worldwide income computed under California law. Enter losses from 
foreign sources in column B. Enter foreign source income in column C.
Cost-share payments received by forest landowners. Enter in column B 
the cost-share payments received from the Department of Forestry and 
Fire Protection under the California Forest Improvement Act of 1978 
or from the United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, 
under the Forest Stewardship Program and the Stewardship Incentives 
Program, pursuant to the Cooperative Forestry Assistance Act.
Foreign Income. If you excluded income exempted by U.S. tax treaties 
on your federal Form 1040 (unless specifically exempt for state 
purposes), enter the excluded amount in column C. If you claimed foreign 
earned income or housing cost exclusion on your federal Form 1040 
(under IRC Section 911), see the instructions for line 21.
Compensation for False Imprisonment. California excludes 
compensation for false imprisonment from income. Enter the amount of 
compensation on line 21f, column B.
Coverdell (ESA) Distributions. If you received a distribution from a 
Coverdell ESA, report only the taxable amount of the distribution on line 21f.
Grants paid to low-income individuals. California excludes grants paid 
to low-income individuals to construct or retrofit buildings to make them 
more energy efficient. Federal has no similar exclusion. Enter on line 21f, 
column B the amount of this type of income. 
Health Savings Account (HSA) Distributions for unqualified medical 
expense. Distributions from a HSA not used for qualified medical 
expenses, and included in federal income, are not taxable for California 
purposes. Enter the distribution not used for qualified medical expenses 
on line 21f, column B.  
California National Guard Surviving Spouse & Children Relief Act of 
2004. Death benefits received from the State of California by a surviving 
spouse/RDP or member-designated beneficiary of certain military 
personnel killed in the performance of duty is excluded from gross 
income. Military personnel include the California National Guard, State 
Military Reserve, or the Naval Militia. If you reported a death benefit on 
line 21, column A, enter the death benefit amount in column B.
Ottoman Turkish Empire Settlement Payments. If you received 
settlement payments as a person persecuted by the regime that was in 
control of the Ottoman Turkish Empire from 1915 until 1923 your gross 
income does not include those excludable settlement payments, or 

interest, received by you, your heirs, or your estate for payments received 
on or after January 1, 2005. If you reported settlement payments on 
line 21, column A, enter the amount of settlement payments in column B.
Mortgage relief upon sale or other disposition of principal residence. 
For taxable years 2007 through 2012, federal law allows an exclusion 
of income from discharge of indebtedness from the disposition of your 
principal residence. Federal limits the amount of qualified principal 
residence indebtedness to $2,000,000 ($1,000,000 for married filing 
separate). See federal Publication 544, Sales and Other Disposition of 
Assets, for more information. California partially conforms to the federal 
provisions. California allows debt relief for taxable years 2007 and 2008 
only. Also, California limits the amount of qualified principal residence 
indebtedness to $800,000 ($400,000 for married/RDP filing separate) 
and debt relief to $250,000 ($125,000 for married/RDP filing separate). 
If the amount of debt relief for federal purposes is more than the 
California limit, include the amount in excess of the California limit on 
Schedule CA (540), line 21f, column C.
Hokie Spirit Memorial Fund exclusion. Enter in column C the amount 
excluded from federal income. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1001.
Line 22 – Total
Add line 7 through line 21f in column B and column C. Enter the totals on 
line 22.
Line 23 through Line 31a and Line 32 through Line 35 – California law 
is the same as federal law with the exception of the following:
•	 Line 23 (Educator expenses) – Enter the amount from column A, 

line 23 to column B, line 23.
•	 Line 24 (Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, 

and fee-basis government officials) – If claiming a depreciation 
deduction as an unreimbursed employee business expense on federal 
Form 2106, you may have an adjustment in column B or column C. For 
more information, get FTB Pub. 1001.

•	 Line 25 (Health Savings Account (HSA) Deduction) – Federal law 
allows a deduction for contributions to an HSA account. California 
does not conform to this provision. Transfer the amount from 
column A, line 25, to column B, line 25.  

•	 Line 31a (Alimony Paid) – Enter the SSN or ITIN and last name of the 
person to whom you paid alimony.

	 If you are a nonresident alien and did not deduct alimony on your 
federal return, enter the amount you paid in column C.

•	 Line 32 (IRA Deduction) – If you are an active duty military 
servicemember domiciled outside of California, you may have an 
adjustment. See line 36.

	 California does not conform to the federal increase to the indexing of 
AGI requirements for IRAs. The phase-out for California remains at:

	 •  Single or Head of Household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                $50,000 - $  60,000
	 •  Married/RDP filing jointly or 

  qualifying Widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      $80,000 - $100,000
	 •  Individual not active, spouse/RDP participant  .  $150,000 - $160,000 
	 Federal amounts have increased to:  

•  Single or Head of Household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                $53,000 - $  63,000 
•  Married filing jointly/qualifying Widow(er) . . . . .      $85,000 - $105,000 
•  Individual not active, spouse participant . . . . . .       $159,000 - $169,000

	 Compute your federal IRA deduction following the federal instructions 
using the federal IRA worksheet. Compute your California IRA 
deduction using the federal IRA worksheet using California phase‑out 
amounts instead of federal amounts. Enter as an adjustment in 
column B, the difference between the amount determined for the 
federal IRA deduction and the California IRA deduction.
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•	 Line 33 (Student Loan Interest Deduction) – California conforms to 
federal law regarding student loan interest deduction except for a 
spouse/RDP of a non-California domiciled military taxpayer residing in 
a community property state. Use the Student Loan Interest Deduction 
Worksheet on this page to compute the amount to enter on line 33. For 
more information, get FTB Pub. 1032.

Student Loan Interest Deduction Worksheet
  1	 Enter the total amount from Schedule CA (540),  

line 33, column A. If the amount on line 1 is zero,  
STOP. You are not allowed a deduction for California . . . . .     1_________

  2	 Enter the total interest you paid in 2008 
on qualified student loans but not more than $2,500 here . .  2_________

  3	 From Form 1040, add line 33 
(student loan interest deduction) to 
line 37 (AGI). Enter the result here . . . . . . .       3  _________

  4	 Enter the total military income 
included in federal adjusted gross 
income (get FTB Pub. 1032) . . . . . . . . . . . .           4  _________

  5	 Subtract line 4 from line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . .             5  _________
  6	 Enter the amount shown below for 

your filing status. 
•	 Single, head of household, or 
	 qualifying widow(er) – $55,000

	 •	 Married/RDP filing jointly – $110,000 } 6  _________
  7	 Is the amount on line 5 more than the 

amount on line 6? 
m No.  Skip lines 7 and 8, enter -0- on 
            line 9, and go to line 10. 
m Yes. Subtract line 6 from line 5 . . . . . . .       7  _________

  8	 Divide line 7 by $15,000 ($30,000 if married/RDP filing   
jointly). Enter the result as a decimal (rounded to at least  
three places). If the result is 1.000 or more, enter 1.000 . .  8  _ . _ _ _ _

  9	 Multiply line 2 by line 8  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           9_________
10	 Student loan interest deduction. Subtract line 9  

from line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    10_________
11	 Student loan interest adjustment. If line 1 is less than  

line 10, enter the difference here and 
on Schedule CA (540), line 33, column C. . . . . . . . . . . . .            11_________

•	 Line 34 (Tuition and fees deduction) - Enter the amount from 
column A, line 34, to column B, line 34.

•	 Line 35 (Domestic production activities deduction) – California does 
not conform to the federal law regarding the domestic production 
activities deduction. If you made an adjustment on your federal return 
for domestic production activities, enter that amount in column B.

Same-Sex Married Couples and Registered Domestic Partners – 
SSMCs and RDPs will compute their limitations based on the combined 
federal adjusted gross income (AGI) of each spouse’s or partner’s 
individual tax return filed with the IRS. For column A, line 23 through 
line 35, combine your federal amounts from each spouse’s or partner’s 
individual federal tax return. For more information on SSMCs, get FTB 
Pub. 776, or RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737

The combined federal AGI used to compute limitations is different from 
the recalculated federal AGI used on Form 540, line 13. In situations 
where SSMCs have no SSMC adjustments or RDPs have no RDP 
adjustments, these amounts may be the same.

Line 36 – Add line 23 through line 31a and line 32 through line 35 in 
column B and column C.
If you claimed the foreign housing deduction, include that amount in the 
total you enter in column B, line 36. Enter the amount and “Form 2555” 
or “Form 2555‑EZ” on the dotted line next to line 36.
If you are active duty military and not domiciled in California and your 
IRA deduction was limited because of a federal AGI limitation, recalculate 
your deduction excluding your active duty military pay. If the recalculated 
amount is larger than the amount on line 32, column A, enter the 
difference between the two amounts in column C, line 36. Enter the 
amount and “MPA Adjustment” on the dotted line next to line 36.

Line 37 – Total
Subtract line 36 from line 22 in column B and column C.
Also, transfer the amount from:
•	 Line 37, column B to Form 540, Side 1, line 14 
If column B is a negative number, transfer the amount as a positive 
number to line 16.
•	 Line 37, column C to Form 540, Side 1, line 16 
If column C is a negative number, transfer the amount as a positive 
number to line 14.

Part II	 Adjustments to Federal Itemized Deductions
Line 38 – Federal Itemized Deductions
Enter the total amount of itemized deductions from your federal 
Schedule A (Form 1040), Itemized Deductions, lines 4, 9, 15, 19, 20, 27, 
and 28.
Important: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal tax return 
but will itemize deductions on your California tax return, first complete 
federal Schedule A (Form 1040). Then complete Schedule CA (540), 
Part II, line 38 through line 44.

Line 39 – State, Local, and Foreign Income Taxes; General Sales Tax
Add the following amounts from federal Schedule A (Form 1040) and 
enter on line 39:
•	 Line 5, state and local income tax (including limited partnership tax 

and income or franchise tax paid by corporations), and State Disability 
Insurance (SDI), or state and local general sales tax.

•	 Line 8, foreign income taxes.

Line 41 – Other Adjustments
Adoption-Related Expenses – If you deducted adoption-related expenses 
on your federal Schedule A (Form 1040) and are claiming the adoption 
cost credit for the same amounts on your Form 540, enter the amount of 
the adoption cost credit claimed as a negative number on line 41.
Mortgage Interest Credit – If you reduced your federal mortgage interest 
deduction by the amount of your mortgage interest credit (from federal 
Form 8396, Mortgage Interest Credit), increase your California itemized 
deductions by the same amount. Enter the amount of your federal 
mortgage interest credit as a positive number on line 41.
Nontaxable Income Expenses – If, on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), 
you claim expenses related to producing income taxed under federal law 
but not taxed by California, enter the amount as a negative number on 
line 41.
You may claim expenses related to producing income taxed by California 
law but not taxed under federal law by entering the amount as a positive 
number on line 41.
Employee Business Expense – If you completed federal Form 2106, 
Employee Business Expense, or Form 2106-EZ, Unreimbursed Employee 
Business Expense, prepare a second set of forms reflecting your 
employee business expense using California amounts (i.e., following 
California law).
Generally, California law conforms with federal law and no adjustment is 
needed. However, differences occur when:
•	 Assets (requiring depreciation) were placed in service before 1/1/87. 

Figure the depreciation based on California law.
•	 Federal employees were on temporary duty status. California does 

not conform to the federal provision that expanded temporary duties 
to include prosecution duties, in addition to investigative duties. 
Therefore, travel expenses paid or incurred in connection with 
temporary duty status (exceeding one year), involving the prosecution 
(or support of the prosecution) of a federal crime, should not be 
included in the California amount.

Compare line 10 on the federal form and the form completed using 
California amounts. If the federal amount is larger, enter the difference as 
a negative number on line 41. If the California amount is larger, enter the 
difference as a positive number on line 41.
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Investment Interest Expense – Your California deduction for investment 
interest expense may be different from your federal deduction. Use form 
FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense Deduction, to figure the amount 
to enter on line 41.
Gambling Losses – California lottery losses are not deductible for 
California. Enter the amount of California lottery losses shown on federal 
Schedule A (Form 1040) as a negative number on line 41.
Federal Estate Tax – Federal estate tax paid on income in respect of a 
decedent is not deductible for California. Enter the amount of federal 
estate tax shown on federal Schedule A (Form 1040) as a negative 
number on line 41.
Generation Skipping Transfer Tax – Tax paid on generation skipping 
transfers is not deductible under California law. Enter the amount of 
expenses shown on federal Schedule A (Form 1040) as a negative 
number on line 41.
State Legislator’s Travel Expenses – Under California law, deductible 
travel expenses for state legislators include only those incurred while 
away from their place of residence overnight. Figure the difference 
between the amount allowed using federal law and the amount allowed 
using California law. Enter the difference as a negative number on line 41.
Charitable Qualified Contributions – Your California deduction may be 
different from your federal deduction. California limits the amount of 
your deduction to 50% of your federal adjusted gross income. Figure the 
difference between the amount allowed using federal law and the amount 
allowed using California law. Enter the difference as a negative number 
on line 41.
Charitable Contribution Carryover Deduction – If deducting a prior year 
charitable contribution carryover, and the California carryover is larger 
than the federal carryover, enter the additional amount as a positive 
number on line 41.
Health Savings Account (HSA) Distributions – If you received a tax-free 
HSA distribution for qualified medical expenses, enter the qualified 
expenses paid that exceed 7.5% of federal AGI as an adjustment to 
itemized deductions. To determine the amount of the itemized deduction 
adjustment:
•	 Calculate the medical expense deduction for California.
•	 Calculate the medical expense deduction for federal.
•	 Subtract the federal amount from the California amount. Enter the 

amount on line 41, as a positive amount.
Carryover Deduction Appreciated Stock Contributed to a Private 
Foundation prior to 1/1/02 – If deducting a charitable contribution 
carryover of appreciated stock donated to a private operating foundation 
prior to 1/1/02, and the fair market value allowed for federal purposes is 
larger than the basis allowed for California purposes, enter the difference 
as a negative number on line 41.
Interest on loans from utility companies – Taxpayers are allowed a 
tax deduction for interest paid or incurred on a public utility company 
financed loan that is used to purchase and install energy efficient 
equipment or products, including zone-heating products for a qualified 
residence located in California. Federal law has no equivalent deduction. 
Enter the amount as a positive number on line 41.
Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) – If you took the deduction on federal 
Schedule A (Form 1040), line 13, then subtract the same amount on 
line 41.
Claim of Right – If you had to repay an amount that you included in your 
income in an earlier year, because at the time you thought you had an 
unrestricted right to it, you may be able to deduct the amount repaid from 
your income for the year in which you repaid it. Or, if the amount you 
repaid is more than $3,000, you may take a credit against your tax for the 
year in which you repaid it, whichever results in the least tax.

If the amount repaid was not taxed by California, then no deduction or 
credit is allowed.

If you claimed a credit for the repayment on your federal return and are 
deducting the repayment for California, enter the allowable deduction as a 
positive amount on Schedule CA (540), line 41. Deductions of $3,000 or 
less are subject to the 2% federal AGI limit.

If you deducted the repayment on your federal return and are taking 
a credit for California, enter the amount of the federal deduction as a 
negative amount on Schedule CA (540), line 41. To help you determine 
whether to take a credit or deduction, see the Repayment section of 
federal Publication 525, Taxable and Nontaxable Income. Remember to 
use the California tax rate in your computations. If you choose to take 
the credit instead of the deduction for California, add the credit amount 
on line 44, the total payment line, of the Form 540. To the left of the total, 
write “IRC 1341” and the amount of the credit.

Certain Disaster Losses – Federal law allows an exception for casualty 
and theft losses within certain disaster areas. For federal, these losses 
are not subject to the $100 and 10% of federal AGI limitations. California 
does not conform. Figure the difference between the amount allowed 
using federal law and the amount allowed using California law. Enter the 
difference as a negative number on line 41.

Line 43 – California Itemized Deductions
Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the amount shown below 
for your filing status?
Single or married/RDP filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $163,187
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   $244,785
Married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . .           $326,379
NO	 Transfer the amount from line 42 to line 43. Do not complete the 

worksheet.
YES	 Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet below.
Note:
•	 If married or an RDP and filing a separate return, you and your 

spouse/RDP must either both itemize your deductions or both take the 
standard deduction.

•	 Also, if someone else can claim you as a dependent, claim the 
greater of the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. See 
the instructions for “California Standard Deduction Worksheet for 
Dependents” on page 11 or page 12 of the California 540 & 540A 
Personal Income Tax Booklet to figure your standard deduction.

Itemized Deductions Worksheet
  1.	 Amount from Schedule CA (540), line 42 . . . . . . . . . . .             1 _______
  2.	 Using California amounts, add the amounts on federal 

Schedule A (Form 1040), line 4, line 14, and line 20 
plus any gambling losses included on line 28 . . . . . . . .          2 _______

  3.	 Subtract line 2 from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        3 _______
	 If zero, STOP. Enter the amount from line 1 on 

Schedule CA (540), line 43.
  4.	 Multiply line 3 by 80% (.80) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       4 _______
  5.	 Amount from Form 540, line 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    5 _______
  6.	 Enter the amount shown above for your filing status  . .    6 _______
  7.	 Subtract line 6 from line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        7 _______
	 Note: If zero or less, STOP. Enter the amount from line 1 

on Schedule CA (540), line 43.
  8.	 Multiply line 7 by 6% (.06) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8 _______
  9.	 Compare line 4 and line 8. Enter the smaller 

amount here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  9 _______
10.	 Total itemized deductions. Subtract line 9 from line 1. 

Enter here and on Schedule CA (540), line 43 . . . . . . . .       10 _______
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1. Were you a resident of California for the entire year in 2008?
Military personnel. If you are not a legal resident of California, you do not qualify for this credit. However, your spouse/RDP may claim this credit if he or she was a 
resident, did not live in military housing during 2008, and is otherwise qualified.
YES.	 Go to question 2.	 NO.	 Stop. File the Long or Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year
			   Resident Income Tax Return. See “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67. 

2. Is your California adjusted gross income the amount on Form 540/540A, line 17:
	 •	 $34,936 or less if single or married/RDP filing separately; or
	 •	 $69,872 or less if married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er)?
YES. Go to question 3.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

3. Did you pay rent, for at least half of 2008, on property (including a mobile home that you owned on rented land) in California, which was your 
principal residence?
YES. Go to question 4.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

4. Can you be claimed as a dependent by a parent, foster parent, legal guardian, or any other person in 2008?
NO. Go to question 6.	 YES. Go to question 5.

5. For more than half the year in 2008, did you live in the home of the person who can claim you as a dependent?
NO. Go to question 6.	 YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

6. Was the property you rented exempt from property tax in 2008?
You do not qualify for this credit if, for more than half of the year, you rented property that was exempt from property taxes. Exempt property includes most 
government-owned buildings, church-owned parsonages, college dormitories, and military barracks. However, if you or your landlord paid possessory interest taxes for 
the property you rented, then you may claim this credit.
NO. Go to question 7.	 YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

7. Did you claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2008? 
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from 
your spouse/RDP for the entire year and your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if 
you are otherwise qualified.
NO. Go to question 8.	 YES. If your filing status is single or married/RDP filing separately, stop here, you do not 
	          qualify for this credit. If your filing status is married/RDP filing jointly, go to question 9.

8. Were you single in 2008?
YES. Go to question 11.	 NO. Go to question 9.

9. Did your spouse/RDP claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2008?
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from 
your spouse/RDP for the entire year and your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if 
you are otherwise qualified.
NO. Go to question 11.	 YES. If both you and your spouse/RDP claimed the homeowner’s property tax exemption, 
	          stop here, you do not qualify for this credit. Otherwise, go to question 10.

10. Did you and your spouse/RDP maintain separate residences for the entire year in 2008?
YES. Go to question 11.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

11. If you are:
	 •	 Single, enter $60 on Form 540/540A, line 28.
	 •	 Head of household or qualifying widow(er), enter $120 on Form 540/540A, line 28.
	 •	 Married/RDP filing separately: if you and your spouse/RDP lived in the same rental property and both qualify for this credit, one spouse/RDP may claim the full 

amount of the credit ($120), or each spouse/RDP may claim half the amount ($60 each). If you and your spouse/RDP lived apart for the entire year and you 
qualify for this credit, you may claim half the amount of the credit ($60). Enter your credit amount on Form 540/540A, line 28.

	 •	 Married/RDP filing jointly, enter $120 on Form 540/540A, line 28. (Exception: If one spouse/RDP claimed the homeowner’s tax exemption and you lived apart 
from your spouse/RDP for the entire year, enter $60 on Form 540/540A, line 28.)

Fill in the street address(es) and landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2008, which qualified you for this credit.

  Street Address 	 City, State, and ZIP Code	 Dates Rented in 2008 (From______to______)

a_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
b_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Enter the name, address, and telephone number of your landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above.
  Name	 Street Address	 City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number

a_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
b_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit Qualification Record
e-file and skip this page! The software you use to e-file will help you find out if you qualify for this credit and will figure the correct amount of the credit 
automatically. Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov to check your e-file options.

If you were a resident of California and paid rent on property in California, which was your principal residence, you may qualify for a credit that you can use to reduce 
your tax. Answer the questions below to see if you qualify. For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, a husband, or a wife also refer to a California 
Registered Domestic Partner (RDP), unless otherwise specified. When we use the initials (RDP) they refer to both a California Registered Domestic “Partner” and a 
California Registered Domestic “Partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737. Do not mail this record. Keep with your tax records.

✓ Tip
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CREDIT CHART
Credit Name	 Code	 Description
Child Adoption – Worksheet on page 14	 197	 50% of qualified costs in the year an adoption is ordered
Child and Dependent Care Expenses – FTB 3506	 None	 Similar to the federal credit except that the California credit amount is based on a
  See the instructions on page 63		  specified percentage of the federal credit and is refundable
Community Development Financial Institution	 209	 20% of each qualified deposit made to a community development financial institution 
  Deposits – Certification Required		  Obtain certification from: California Organized Investment Network (COIN), Department of Insurance, 

300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1600, Sacramento CA 95814, or go to their website at insurance.ca.gov.
Dependent Parent – See page 14	 173	 Must use married/RDP filing separately status and have a dependent parent
Disabled Access for Eligible Small Businesses –	 205	 Similar to the federal credit but limited to $125 based on 50% of qualified expenditures
  FTB 3548		  that do not exceed $250
Donated Agricultural Products Transportation –	 204	 50% of the costs paid or incurred for the transportation of agricultural products donated
  FTB 3547		  to nonprofit charitable organizations
Employer Child Care Contribution – FTB 3501	 190	 Employer: 30% of contributions to a qualified plan
Employer Child Care Program – FTB 3501	 189	 Employer: 30% of cost for establishing a child care program or constructing a child care facility
Enhanced Oil Recovery – FTB 3546	 203	 One third of the similar federal credit and limited to qualified enhanced oil recovery projects located 

within California.
Enterprise Zone Employee – FTB 3553	 169	 5% of wages from work in an enterprise zone
Enterprise Zone Hiring & Sales	 176	 Business incentives for enterprise zone businesses
  or Use Tax – FTB 3805Z
Environmental Tax – FTB 3511	 218	 Five cents ($.05) for each gallon of ultra low sulfur diesel fuel produced during the taxable year by a 

small refiner at any facility located in this state
Farmworker Housing – Certification required	 207	 50% of new construction or rehabilitation costs for farmworker housing 

Obtain certification from: Farmworker Housing Assistance Program, California Tax Credit Allocation 
Committee, 915 Capitol Mall, Room 485, Sacramento CA 95814, or go to the Treasurer’s website at 
treasurer.ca.gov.

Joint Custody Head of Household –	 170	 30% of tax up to $393 for taxpayers who are single or married/RDP filing separately, who have a 
  Worksheet on page 14		  child and meet the support test
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area	 198	 Business incentives for LAMBRAs
  (LAMBRA) Hiring & Sales or Use Tax – FTB 3807
Low-Income Housing – FTB 3521	 172	 Similar to the federal credit but limited to low-income housing in California
Manufacturing Enhancement Area (MEA)	 211	 Percentage of qualified wages paid to qualified disadvantaged individuals
  Hiring – FTB 3808		
Natural Heritage Preservation – FTB 3503	 213	 55% of the fair market value of any qualified contribution of property donated to the state, any local 

government, or any nonprofit organization designated by a local government
Nonrefundable Renter’s – See page 58	 None	 For California residents who paid rent for their principal residence for at least 6 months in 2008 and 

whose AGI does not exceed a certain limit
Other State Tax – Schedule S	 187	 Net income tax paid to another state or a U.S. possession on income also taxed by California
Prior Year Alternative Minimum Tax – FTB 3510	 188	 Must have paid alternative minimum tax in a prior year and have no alternative minimum tax liability 

in 2008
Prison Inmate Labor – FTB 3507	 162	 10% of wages paid to prison inmates
Research – FTB 3523	 183	 Similar to the federal credit but limited to costs for research activities in California
Senior Head of Household –	 163	 2% of taxable income up to $1,203 for seniors who qualified for head of household in 2006 or 2007 
  Worksheet on page 14		  and whose qualifying individual died during 2006 or 2007
Targeted Tax Area (TTA) Hiring & Sales or	 210	 Business incentives for TTA businesses
  Use Tax – FTB 3809
Repealed Credits:	 The expiration dates for these credits have passed. However, these credits had carryover provisions. You may claim these credits only if there is a 

carryover available from prior years. If you are not required to complete Schedule P (540),  Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations – 
Residents, get form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary, to figure your credit carryover to future years. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and 
Publications” on page 7.

Agricultural Products . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      175
Commercial Solar Electric System . . . . . . . . . . . .            196
Commercial Solar Energy . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   181
Employee Ridesharing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     194
Employer Ridesharing:	 Large employer  . . . . .     191
		  Small employer  . . . . .     192
		  Transit passes  . . . . . .      193
Energy Conservation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      182
Joint Strike Fighter Wages . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  215

Joint Strike Fighter Property Cost  . . . . . . . . . . . .            216
Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ)
  Hiring & Sales or Use Tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                159
Low-Emission Vehicles  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    160
Manufacturers’ Investment  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 199
Orphan Drug  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            185
Political Contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     184
Recycling Equipment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      174
Residential Rental & Farm Sales  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             186

Rice Straw . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               206
Ridesharing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              171
Salmon & Steelhead Trout Habitat 
  Restoration  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            200
Solar Energy  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             180
Solar Pump . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              179
Solar or Wind Energy System  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                217
Water Conservation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        178
Young Infant  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             161

Owe Money?
Web Pay lets you pay online, so you can schedule it and forget it!

Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for web pay.
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Voluntary Contribution Fund Descriptions
Make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole dollar amounts to the funds listed below. To contribute to the California Seniors Special Fund, use 
the instructions for code 400 below. The amount you contribute either reduces your overpaid tax or increases your tax due. You may contribute only 
to the funds listed and cannot change the amount you contribute after you file your return. For more information, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and 
search for voluntary contributions. 

Code 400, California Seniors Special Fund  – If you and/or your 
spouse/RDP are 65 years of age or older as of January 1, 2009, and 
claim the Senior Exemption Credit on line 9, you may make a combined 
total contribution of up to $198 or $99 per spouse/RDP. Contributions 
made to this fund will be distributed to the Area Agency of Aging 
Councils (TACC) to provide advice on and sponsorship of Senior 
Citizens issues. Any excess contributions not required by TACC will be 
distributed to senior citizen service organizations throughout California 
for meals, adult day care, and transportation. 

Code 401, Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund – 
Contributions will provide grants to California scientists who study 
Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders. This research includes basic 
science, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, behavioral problems, and 
caregiving. With one‑half million Californians living with the disease 
and another 2 million providing care to a loved one with Alzheimer’s, 
our state is in the early stages of a major public health crisis. Your 
contribution will ensure that Alzheimer’s disease receives the attention, 
research, and resources it deserves. 

Code 402, California Fund for Senior Citizens (CSL) – Contributions 
will provide support to the California Senior Legislature (CSL). The CSL 
is made up of volunteers who develop statewide senior related legislative 
proposals in areas of health, housing, transportation, and community 
services to be presented to the State Legislature. Please go to the 
California Senior Legislature’s website at 4csl.org.

Code 403, Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program – 
Contributions will be used to help protect and conserve California’s 
many threatened and endangered species and the wild lands that 
they need to survive, for the enjoyment and benefit of you and future 
generations of Californians. 

Code 404, State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of 
Child Abuse – Contributions will be used to fund programs for the 
prevention, intervention, and treatment of child abuse and neglect. 

Code 405, California Breast Cancer Research Fund – Contributions 
will fund research toward preventing and curing breast cancer. Breast 
cancer is the most common cancer to strike women in California. It kills 
4,000 California women each year. Contributions also fund research 
on prevention and better treatment, and keep doctors up-to-date on 
research progress. For more about the research your contributions 
support, please go to the California Breast Cancer Research Program’s 
website at cbcrp.org. Your contribution can help make breast cancer a 
disease of the past. 

Code 406, California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund – Contributions will 
be used for the repair and maintenance of the California Firefighters’ 
Memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol, ceremonies to honor the 
memory of fallen firefighters and to assist surviving loved ones, and for 
an informational guide detailing survivor benefits to assist the spouses/
RDPs and children of fallen firefighters.

Code 407, Emergency Food For Families Fund – Contributions will be 
used to help local food banks feed California’s hungry. Your contribution 
will fund the purchase of much-needed food for delivery to food banks, 
pantries, and soup kitchens throughout the state. The State Department 
of Social Services will monitor its distribution to ensure the food is given 
to those most in need. 

Code 408, California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund – 
Contributions will be used to preserve the memory of California’s fallen 
peace officers and assist the families they left behind. Since statehood, 
over 1,300 courageous California peace officers have made the ultimate 
sacrifice while protecting law-abiding citizens. The non-profit charitable 
organization, California Peace Officers’ Memorial Foundation, has 
accepted the privilege and responsibility of maintaining a memorial for 
fallen officers on the State Capitol grounds. Each May, the Memorial 
Foundation conducts a dignified ceremony honoring fallen officers and 
their surviving families by offering moral support, crisis counseling, and 
financial support that includes academic scholarships for the children 
of those officers who have made the supreme sacrifice. On behalf of 
all of us and the law-abiding citizens of California, thank you for your 
participation. 

Code 409, California Military Family Relief Fund – Contributions will 
be used to provide financial aid grants to members of the California 
National Guard who are California residents, and have been called to 
active duty. 

Code 410, California Sea Otter Fund – The California Coastal 
Conservancy and the Department of Fish and Game will each be 
allocated 50% of the contributions. The California Coastal Conservancy 
will use the contributions for research and programs related to the 
near-shore ecosystem, including sea otters. The Department of Fish 
and Game will use the contributions to establish a sea otter fund within 
the department’s index coding system for increased investigation, 
prevention, and enforcement action. 

Code 411, California Ovarian Cancer Research Fund – Contributions 
will be used to conduct research relating to the cause, cure, and 
prevention of ovarian cancer.

Code 412, Municipal Shelter Spay-Neuter Fund – Contributions 
will be used to provide low cost or free spay-neuter services and for 
administrative costs.

Code 413, California Cancer Research Fund – Contributions will 
be used to conduct research relating to the causes, detection, and 
prevention of cancer and to expand community-based education 
on cancer, and to provide prevention and awareness activities for 
communities that are disproportionately at risk or afflicted by cancer.

Code 414, ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease Research Fund – Contributions 
will be used to conduct research relating to the cause, cure, and 
prevention of ALS.
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  3	 Add the amounts in column (e) of line 2. Do not enter more than $3,000 for one qualifying person or $6,000 for two 
	 or more qualifying persons. If you completed Part IV, enter the amount from line 35  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          	 3	 00
  4	 Enter YOUR earned income. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        	 4	 00
	 Nonresidents: Enter only your earned income from California sources. If you do not have earned income from 
	 California sources, stop, you do not qualify for the credit. Military servicemembers, see instructions. 
	 Part-year residents: Enter the total of (1) your earned income from California sources received while you were a 
	 nonresident and (2) all earned income received while you were a resident. Military servicemembers, see instructions.
  5	 If married or an RDP filing a joint return, enter YOUR SPOUSE’S/RDP’s earned income. (If your spouse/RDP was a 
	 student or was disabled, see the instructions.) If not filing a joint return, enter the amount from line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . .             	 5	 00
	 Nonresidents: Enter only your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income from California sources. If your spouse/RDP does not have 
	 earned income from California sources, stop, you do not qualify for the credit. Military servicemembers, see instructions. 
	 Part-year residents: Enter the total of (1) your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income from California sources received while he or 
	 she was a nonresident and (2) all earned income your spouse/RDP received while he or she was a resident. Military  
	 servicemembers, see instructions.
  6	 Enter the smallest of line 3, line 4, or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                          	 6	 00
  7	 Enter the decimal amount shown in the chart on page 66 of the instructions for line 7  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         	 7	 X. ___ ___
  8	 Multiply line 6 by the decimal amount on line 7. Enter the amount here and on Form 540/540A; line 42; 
	 or Long Form 540NR, line 49 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                     	 8	 00
  9	 Enter the decimal amount listed in the chart on page 66 of the instructions for line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          	 9	 X. ___ ___
10	 Multiply the amount on line 8 by the decimal amount on line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           	 10	 00
11	 Credit for prior year expenses paid in 2008. See instructions for line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    	 11	 00
12	 Add line 10 and line 11. Enter the amount here and on Form 540/540A, line 43; or Long Form 540NR, line 50 . . . . . . . . . . .           	 12	 00

Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit
TAXABLE  YEAR

2008
Name(s) as shown on return

7251083

CALIFORNIA  FORM

3506
SSN or ITIN

-

Part II	 Persons or Organizations Who Provided the Care in California – You must complete this part. See instructions.
1	 Enter the following information for each person or organization that provided care in California. (Only care provided in California qualifies for the credit). 

If you need more space, attach a separate sheet.
	 	 Provider	 Provider
a.	 Care provider’s name	 	 	

b.	 Care provider’s address 
(number, street, apt. no., city, state, and 
ZIP Code)	 	 

c.	 Care provider’s telephone number	  (      )	  (      )

d.	 Is provider a person or organization?	   Person    Organization	   Person    Organization
e.	 Identification number (SSN or FEIN)	 	 
f.	 Address where care was provided 

(number, street, apt. no., city, state, and 
ZIP Code) PO Box not acceptable.

g.	 Amount paid for care provided	 	 

Part I	 Unearned Income and Other Funds Received in 2008. See instructions.
SOURCE OF INCOME/FUNDS	 AMOUNT	 SOURCE OF INCOME/FUNDS	 AMOUNT

	 	 	 
	 	 	 
	 	 	 	

Attach to your California Form 540, 540A, or Long Form 540NR.

-

 DOB:_____________ 
 Disabled   Yes

 DOB:_____________ 
 Disabled   Yes

 DOB:_____________ 
 Disabled   Yes

Part III	Credit for Child and Dependent Care Expenses
2  Information about your qualifying person(s).  See instructions.
	 (a)	   (b)	 (c)	 (d)	 (e)
	 Qualifying person’s name	   Qualifying person’s	 Qualifying person’s 	 Percentage of physical	 Qualified expenses you
		  social security number (SSN)	 date of birth 	 custody	 incurred and paid in 2008 for
		  (See instructions)	 (DOB - mm/dd/yyyy) 	 (See instructions)	 the qualifying person’s
First                        Last		  or if disabled		  care in California

Did you receive dependent care benefits?      	 No	 Complete Part III below.
	 Yes	 Complete Part IV before Part III.





	 	 	 

	 	 	 

	 	 	 

	 

	 

	 	  	
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Part IV	Dependent Care Benefits
13	 Enter the total amount of dependent care benefits you received for 2008. This amount should be shown in box 10 of 
	 your Form(s) W-2. Do not include amounts that were reported to you as wages in box 1 of Form(s) W-2. Include 
	 amounts you received under a dependent care assistance program from your sole proprietorship or partnership  . . . . .      	 13	 00
14	 Enter the amount, if any, you carried over from 2007 and used in 2008 during the grace period . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    	 14	 00
15	 Enter the amount, if any, you forfeited or carried forward to 2009 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           	 15
16	 Combine line 13 through line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                     	 16	 00
17	 Enter the total amount of qualified expenses incurred in 2008 for the 
	 care of the qualifying person(s). See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           	 17	 00
18	 Enter the smaller of line 16 or line 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     	 18	 00
19	 Enter YOUR earned income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            	 19	 00
20	 If married or an RDP filing a joint return, enter YOUR SPOUSE’S/RDP’s earned 
	 income (if your spouse/RDP was a student or was disabled, see the instructions 
	 for line 5); if married or an RDP filing a separate return, see the instructions for the 
	 amount to enter; all others, enter the amount from line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    	 20	 00
21	 Enter the smallest of line 18, line 19, or line 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             	 21	 00
22	 Enter the amount from line 13 that you received from your sole proprietorship or partnership. If you did not receive 

any amounts, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 22	 00
23	 Subtract line 22 from line 16  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                       	 23	 00
24	 Enter $5,000 ($2,500 if married or an RDP filing separately and you were required to enter your spouse’s/RDP’s earned 

income on line 20)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                               	 24	 00
25	 Deductible benefits. Enter the smallest of line 21, line 22, or line 24. Also, include this amount on the  

appropriate line(s) of your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                    	 25	 00
26	 Enter the smaller of line 21 or line 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                 	 26	 00
27	 Enter the amount from line 25 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                       	 27	 00
28	 Excluded benefits. Subtract line 27 from line 26. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     	 28	 00
29	 Taxable benefits. Subtract line 28 from line 23. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      	 29	 00
30	 Enter $3,000 ($6,000 if two or more qualifying persons)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  	 30	 00
31	 Enter the amount from line 25 and line 28  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                             	 31	 00
32	 Subtract the amount on line 31 from the amount on line 30. If zero or less, stop. You do not qualify for the credit. 

Exception – If you paid 2007 expenses in 2008, see instructions for line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 32	 00
33	 Complete Side 1, Part III, line 2. Add the amounts in column (e) and enter the total here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         	 33	 00
34	 Enter the amount from your federal Form 2441, Part III, line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             	 34	 00
35	 Enter the smaller of line 32, line 33, or line 34. Also, enter this amount on Side 1, line 3 on the front of this form and 

complete line 4 through line 12  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                     	 35	 00
Worksheet – Credit for 2007 Expenses Paid in 2008
  1.	 Enter your 2007 qualified expenses paid in 2007. If you did not claim the credit for these expenses on your 2007 

return, get and complete a 2007 form FTB 3506 for these expenses. You may need to amend your 2007 return. . . . . . . . . . . . .                1.____________________
  2.	 Enter your 2007 qualified expenses paid in 2008 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                2.____________________
  3.	 Add the amounts on line 1 and line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                         3.____________________
  4.	 Enter $3,000 if care was for one qualifying person ($6,000 for two or more). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           4.____________________
  5.	 Enter any dependent care benefits received for 2007 and excluded from your income 

(from line 28 of 2007 form FTB 3506). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                         5.____________________
  6.	 Subtract amount on line 5 from amount on line 4 and enter the result. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                6.____________________
  7.	 Compare your and your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income for 2007 and enter the smaller amount. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            7.____________________
  8.	 Compare the amounts on line 3, line 6, and line 7 and enter the smallest amount. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       8.____________________
  9.	 Enter the amount from your 2007 form FTB 3506, Part III, line 6. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    9.____________________
10.	 Subtract amount on line 9 from amount on line 8 and enter the result. If zero or less, stop here. You cannot increase 

your credit by any previous year’s expenses. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                  10.____________________
11.	 Enter your 2007 federal adjusted gross income (AGI) (from your 2007 Form 540/540A, line13; 

or Long Form 540NR, line 13). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                             11.____________________
12.	 2007 federal AGI decimal amount (from 2007 form FTB 3506, instructions for line 7). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  12.____________________
13.	 Multiply line 10 by line 12. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                13.____________________
14.	 2007 California AGI decimal amount (from 2007 form FTB 3506, instructions for line 9). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                14.____________________
15.	 Multiply line 13 by line 14. Enter the result here and on line 11 of your 2008 form FTB 3506. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             15.____________________

X.

X.

(                   00)
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Instructions for Form FTB 3506
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit

General Information
Attach the completed form FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care Expenses 
Credit, to your Form 540/540A, California Resident Income Tax Return, or 
Long Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax 
Return, if you claim the child and dependent care expenses credit.
Registered Domestic Partners (RDP)
RDPs under California law must file their California income tax returns using 
either the married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately filing 
status. RDPs have the same legal benefits, protections, and responsibilities 
as married couples unless otherwise specified.
If you entered into a same sex legal union in another state, other than a 
marriage, and that union has been determined to be substantially equivalent 
to a California registered domestic partnership, you are required to file a 
California income tax return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or 
married/RDP filing separately filing status. For more information on what 
states have legal unions that are considered substantially equivalent, go to 
our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for RDP.
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, a husband, 
or a wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP), unless 
otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP, they refer to both a 
California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered domestic 
“partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737, 
Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners. 
Round Cents to Dollars 
Round cents to the nearest whole dollar. For example, round $50.50 up to 
$51 or round $25.49 down to $25. If you do not round, the Franchise Tax 
Board (FTB) will disregard the cents. This helps process your return quickly 
and accurately.

A	 Purpose
You may qualify to claim the 2008 credit for child and dependent care 
expenses, if you (and your spouse/RDP) paid someone in California to care 
for your child or other qualifying person while you worked or looked for 
employment. You must have earned income to do so. If you qualify to claim 
the credit, use form FTB 3506 to figure the amount of your credit.
If you received dependent care benefits for 2008 but do not qualify to claim 
the credit, you are not required to complete form FTB 3506. For additional 
definitions, requirements, and instructions, get federal Form 2441, Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses.

B	 Differences in California and Federal Law
The differences between California and federal law are as follows:
•	 California allows this credit only for care provided in California.
•	 If you were a nonresident, you must have earned wages from working in 

California or earned self-employment income from California business 
activities. 

•	 Federal adjusted gross income must be $100,000 or less to qualify for 
the California credit. 

•	 The California credit is a percentage of the federal credit as modified by 
California law.

•	 The California credit is refundable.
•	 Same-sex married couples (SSMCs) and RDPs may file a joint California 

return and claim this credit. For more information, get FTB Pub. 776, Tax 
Information for Same-Sex Married Couples, or FTB Pub 737.

C	 Qualifications
You may take the credit if all eight of the following apply.
1.	 If you are married or an RDP, you must file a joint return. For an 

exception, see Section E, Married Persons or RDPs Filing Separate 
Returns, on page 64.

2.	 Care must be provided in California for one or more qualifying persons. 
See Section D, Qualifying Person Defined, on this page.

3.	 You paid for care so you (and your spouse/RDP) could work or look for 
work. However, if you did not find a job and have no earned income, 
you do not qualify for the credit. If your spouse/RDP was a student or 
disabled, see the instructions for Part III, line 5, on page 66.

4.	 You (and your spouse/RDP) must have earned income (wages or self-
employment income) during the year. See the instructions for Part III, 
line 4, on page 65 for more information on earned income.

5.	 You and the qualifying person(s) live in the same home for more than 
half the year.

6.	 The person who provided care was not your spouse/RDP, the parent of 
your qualifying child, or a person for whom you can claim a dependent 
exemption. If your child provided the care, the child must have been 
age 19 or older by the end of 2008.

7.	 You report the required information about the care provider(s) in Part II, 
line 1, and the information about the qualifying person(s) in Part III, line 2.

8.	 Your federal adjusted gross income is $100,000 or less.

D	 Qualifying Person Defined
Rules for Most People

A qualifying person is:
1.	 A child under age 13 who meets the requirements to be your dependent 

as a Qualifying Child. A child who turned 13 during the year qualifies 
only for the part of the year when he or she was 12 years old.

2.	 Your spouse/RDP who was physically or mentally incapable of self‑care.
3.	 Any person who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care and 

either:
	 a.	 Was your dependent.
	 b.	 Would have been your dependent except that:

i.	 He or she received gross income of $3,500 or more.
ii.	 He or she filed a joint return.
iii.	 You, or your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return, could be claimed 

as a dependent on someone else’s 2008 return.

Qualifying Child
A Qualifying Child is a child who meets all of the following tests:
•	 Relationship Test – The child must be your son, daughter, stepchild, 

adopted child, eligible foster child, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, 
stepbrother, stepsister, or a descendant of one of these. An adopted child 
includes a child who has been lawfully placed with you for legal adoption 
even if the adoption is not yet final. An eligible foster child must be 
placed with you by an authorized placement agency or by a court.

•	 Age Test – The child must be under 19 years of age or a full-time student 
under 24. (For the purposes of qualifying for the Child and Dependent 
Care Expenses Credit, the child must be under 13.)

•	 Residency Test – The child must live with you for more than half the 
year.

•	 Support Test – The child must not have provided more than half of his or 
her own support.

•	 Joint Return Test – The child must not have filed a joint federal or state 
income tax return with his or her spouse/RDP.

•	 Citizenship Test – The child must be a citizen or national of the U.S. or a 
resident of the U.S., Canada, or Mexico.

Qualifying Child of More Than One Person -- Tie-Breaker Rules

If… Then the child will be treated as the qualifying 
child of the…

Only one of the 
persons is the child’s 
parent

Parent.

Both persons are the 
child’s parent

Parent with whom the child lived with for the longer 
period of time. If the child lived with each parent 
for the same amount of time then the child will be 
treated as the qualifying child of the parent with the 
highest adjusted gross income.

None of the persons 
are the child’s parent

Person with the highest adjusted gross income.

Divorced, RDP terminated, Separated, or Never Married Parents
For divorced, RDP terminated, separated, or never married parents, special 
rules apply in determining if your child meets the requirements to be your 
qualifying person. When parents file separate returns, only one parent 
qualifies to claim a child as a qualifying person. 
Even if both parents pay for child care for the same child, both parents 
cannot qualify for the credit. Some custody agreements designate which 
parent is entitled to the credit. However, the designated parent must meet all 



Page 64  FTB 3506 Instructions  2008

the qualifications in Section C, Qualifications, to claim the credit. To verify 
that your child meets the requirements to be your qualifying person, use the 
table below.

RULES FOR DIVORCED, SEPARATED, OR NEVER MARRIED PARENTS
IF AND THEN

ALL four of the following apply:
1.	 Your child was under 13 

and/or physically or mentally 
incapable of self-care when 
the care was provided. 
Children turning 13 during 
the year qualify only for the 
part of the year they were 
12 years old.

2.	One of the following applies
	 a.	 You are divorced, legally 

separated, or have 
terminated a registered 
domestic partnership.

	 b.	 You are separated under 
a written separation 
agreement.

	 c.	 You and the other parent 
lived apart at all times 
during the last 6 months 
of the year. (This includes 
parents never married to 
each other.)

3.	One or both parents had 
custody of the child for more 
than half the year.

4.	One or both parents provided 
more than half the child’s 
support for the year.

You were the 
custodial parent and 
you can claim the 
dependent exemption 
credit for the child.

The child 
is your 
qualifying 
person.

You were the custodial 
parent and under 
the provisions of a 
decree of divorce, 
legal separation, 
termination of 
registered domestic 
partnership, or a 
written separation 
agreement, the 
noncustodial parent 
claimed the dependent 
exemption credit, 
or you signed a 
statement releasing 
the dependent 
exemption credit 
to the noncustodial 
parent.

The child 
is your 
qualifying 
person.

You are not the 
custodial parent.

The child 
is not your 
qualifying 
person.

One or more of the four 
statements above do not apply.

Use the 
“Rules for 
Most People” 
on page 63, 
Section D.

Custodial parent. You are the custodial parent if you had physical custody 
of your child longer than the other parent during the calendar year. On days 
where custody is shared, the parent having custody of the child for more 
than 12 hours is considered to have custody for that day.

E	 Married Persons or RDPs Filing Separate 
Returns

Generally, if you are married or an RDP, you must file a joint return to claim 
the credit. However, you can take the credit on your separate return if:
1.	 You meet all three requirements below:

•	 You lived apart from your spouse/RDP at all times during the last six 
months of 2008.

•	 The qualifying person(s) lived in your home more than half of 2008.
•	 You provided over half the cost of keeping up your home.

2.	 You meet all the other qualifications in Section C, Qualifications.

F	 Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents
1.	 You must complete and attach Schedule CA (540NR), California 

Adjustments – Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, to your tax 
return, Long Form 540NR. If Part I of Schedule CA (540NR) is not fully 
completed, we may disallow your credit.

2.	 Nonresidents must have earned income from California sources to 
qualify for the credit. A nonresident servicemember’s military wages are 
considered earned income from a California source for the purpose of 
qualifying for the credit.

3.	 Part-year residents must have earned income while a California resident 
or earned income from California sources while a nonresident to qualify 
for the credit.

G	 Military Personnel
For the purposes of this credit, active duty pay is considered earned income 
from California sources, regardless of whether the servicemember is 
domiciled in California.
Example: Sgt. Miller is domiciled in California, but stationed all year in 
Virginia. Sgt. Miller’s only source of earned income is his military pay. His 
wife, Ann, and their child remained in California. Ann worked in California 
and they incurred childcare expenses for care provided in California. To 
qualify for the credit on their joint return, both spouses must have California 
earned income. Because Sgt. Miller’s military pay while serving in Virginia is 
considered California earned income for purposes of computing the credit, 
they qualify for the credit on their joint return.
Military Personnel Domiciled Outside of California.
This is additional information you need to complete form FTB 3506.
1.	 Under California Law, your military pay for service in California is 

considered California earned income for purposes of computing the 
credit. See instructions for line 4.

2.	 Modified federal adjusted gross income – Use the federal adjusted gross 
income less your military pay to determine:

	 •	 If your federal adjusted gross income is $100,000 or less.
	 •	 The decimal amount to use on form FTB 3506, line 7 and line 9.
If using modified federal AGI to compute the Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit, write “MPA” to the left of the credit amount on line 12 or 
include it according to your software’s instructions.
For more information on Military Personnel, get FTB Pub 1032, Tax 
Information for Military Personnel.

Specific Line Instructions
Part I, Unearned Income and Other Funds 
Received in 2008
List the source and amount of any money you received in 2008 that is 
not included in your earned income (line 4 and line 5) but that was used 
to support your household. Include child support, property settlements, 
public assistance benefits, court awards, inheritances, insurance proceeds, 
pensions and annuities, social security payments, workers’ compensation, 
unemployment compensation, interest, and dividends.

Part II, Persons or Organizations Who Provided 
the Care in California

Line 1
Complete line 1a through line 1g for each person or organization that 
provided the care in California. Only care provided in California qualifies for 
the credit. Use federal Form W-10, Dependent Care Provider’s Identification 
and Certification, or any other source listed in the instructions for Form W-10 
to get the information from your care provider. If your provider does not give 
you the information, complete as much of the information as possible and 
explain that your provider did not give you the information you requested. 
If you do not give correct and complete information, we may disallow your 
credit unless you can show you used due diligence in trying to get the 
required information.

Lines 1a through Line 1c
Enter your California care provider’s complete name (or business name), 
address, and telephone number (including the area code). If you do not give 
complete information, we may disallow your credit. We may contact your 
care provider to verify the information you provide.
If you were covered by your employer’s dependent care plan and your 
employer furnished the care (either at your workplace or by hiring a care 
provider), enter your employer’s name on line 1a. Next, enter “See W-2” on 
line 1b. Complete line 1c through line 1f. Then leave line 1g blank. But, if 
your employer paid a third party (not hired by your employer) on your behalf 
to provide care, you must provide information on the third party on line 1a 
through line 1g.
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Line 1d
For each care provider, check one box indicating whether the care provider is 
a person or organization.

Line 1e
If your care provider is Then enter on line 1e
An individual The provider’s social security 

number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer 
Identification Number (ITIN)

Not an individual The provider’s federal employer 
identification number (FEIN)

A tax-exempt organization “Tax-exempt”

Line 1f
Enter the complete physical address where the care was provided. A post 
office box is not acceptable. If you do not provide correct or complete 
information, your credit may be disallowed. Only care provided in California 
qualifies for the credit.

Line 1g
Enter the total amount you actually paid in 2008 to your care provider for 
care provided in California. Also include amounts your employer paid to 
a third party on your behalf. It does not matter when the expenses were 
incurred. Do not reduce this amount by any reimbursement you received.
We may ask you to provide proof of payment. Cash payments without 
documentation may not be accepted.

Part III, Credit for Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses

Line 2
Complete column (a) through column (e) for each qualifying person for 
whom care was provided in California. If claiming more than three qualifying 
persons, attach a sheet of paper to your return with the required information 
and write “see attached.” Write your name and SSN or ITIN on the sheet. 
Column (a)
Enter each qualifying person’s name.
Column (b)
Enter each qualifying person’s SSN. Verify that the name and SSN match 
the qualifying person’s social security card to avoid the reduction or 
disallowance of your credit. If the person was born in, and later died in, 
2008, and does not have a SSN, enter “Deceased” in column (b) and attach a 
copy of the person’s birth and death certificates.
Enter the SSNs of the first two qualifying persons on Form 540, line 40 and 
line 41; Form 540A, line 40 and line 41; or Long Form 540NR, line 47 and 
line 48.
Column (c)
Enter the qualifying person’s date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) in the space 
provided or if the qualifying person is disabled (physically or mentally 
incapable of self-care), check the “Yes” box. Incomplete information could 
result in a delay or disallowance of your credit.
Column (d)
If you shared custody of the qualifying person(s), enter the percentage of 
time you possessed physical custody during 2008. If you have 50% or less 
physical custody of your child, you don’t qualify for the credit.
Column (e)
Enter the qualified expenses you incurred and paid in 2008 for the qualifying 
person(s). Include only the qualified expenses for care provided in California. 
If the child turned 13 years old during the year, include only the qualified 
expenses for the part of the year the child was under 13.
Do not include in column (e) qualified expenses: 
•	 You incurred in 2008 but did not pay until 2009. You may be able to use 

these expenses to increase your 2009 credit.
•	 You incurred in 2007 but did not pay until 2008. Instead, see instructions 

for line 11.
•	 You prepaid in 2008 for care to be provided in 2009. These expenses 

may only be used to figure your 2009 credit.

A qualified expense does not include the amount you paid for education 
(school tuition) or the amount you received through a subsidy program.
Qualified Expenses are amounts paid for the care of your qualifying person 
while you worked or looked for work.

Qualified expenses include: Qualified expenses do not include:
•	 The cost of care for the 

qualifying person’s well-being 
and protection. If care was 
provided by a dependent care 
center, the center must meet 
all applicable state and local 
regulations.

•	 Cost of pre-school or similar 
program below the kindergarten 
level.

•	 Day camp, even if it specialized 
in a particular activity, such as 
soccer.

•	 Child support payments.
•	 Payments made to the parent of 

your qualifying child.
•	 Payments made to your spouse/

RDP.
•	 Payments made to your child 

who is under age 19 at the end 
of the year, even if he or she is 
not your dependent.

•	 Payments made to a dependent 
for whom you (or your spouse/
RDP) can claim a dependent 
exemption.

•	 Expenses paid by or reimbursed 
through a subsidy program.

•	 Cost for education (school 
tuition) at the kindergarten level 
and above.

•	 Overnight camp.

Line 4
Earned income Includes: Earned income does not include:
•	 Wages, salary, tips, and other 

taxable employee compensation, 
as well as, military compensation 
including compensation for service 
in a combat zone.

•	 Net earnings from 
self‑employment.

•	 Strike benefits.
•	 Disability payments you report as 

wages.
•	 Active duty pay received by 

servicemembers of the armed 
forces is considered earned 
income regardless of whether the 
servicemember is domiciled in this 
state or elsewhere.

•	 Pensions or annuities
•	 Social security payments
•	 Workers’ compensation
•	 Interest
•	 Dividends
•	 Capital gains
•	 Unemployment compensation.
•	 Public assistance
•	 Homeowner and Renter 

Assistance

Nonresidents and Part-Year 
Residents Only: Earned income 
from California sources includes: Earned income does not include:

•	 Wages, salary, tips, and other 
taxable employee compensation 
for working in California, as 
well as, military compensation 
including compensation for 
service in a combat zone.

•	 Net earnings from 
self‑employment from California 
business activities. 

•	 Strike benefits related to 
California employment.

•	 Disability payments you report 
as California wages.

•	 Active duty pay received by 
servicemembers of the armed 
forces is considered earned 
income regardless of whether 
the servicemember is domiciled 
in this state or elsewhere.

•	 Pensions or annuities
•	 Social security payments
•	 Workers’ compensation
•	 Interest
•	 Dividends
•	 Capital gains
•	 Unemployment compensation
•	 Public assistance
•	 Homeowner and Renter 

Assistance
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Line 5
Spouse/RDP Who Was a Student or Disabled
Your spouse/RDP was a student if he or she was enrolled as a full-time 
student at a school during any 5 months of 2008. A school does not include 
a night school or correspondence school.
Your spouse/RDP was disabled if he or she was not capable of self-care. 
Figure your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income on a monthly basis.
For each month your spouse/RDP was a full-time student or disabled, enter 
on line 5 the larger of the following:
•	 Your spouse’s/RDP’s actual earned income for that month.
•	 $250 ($500, if you have 2 or more qualifying persons).
If, in the same month, both you and your spouse/RDP qualified as either 
full-time students or disabled, only one of you receive treatment as having 
earned income of $250 (or $500) in that month. For any month that your 
spouse/RDP was not a full-time student or disabled, use your spouse’s/
RDP’s actual earned income for that month. 

Line 7
Use the chart on this page to determine the decimal amount to enter on 
line 7. Your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) is on Form 540, line 13; 
Form 540A, line 13; or Long Form 540NR, line 13. For military personnel 
domiciled outside of California, use your federal AGI less your military pay to 
determine the decimal amount to enter on line 7.

  If your Federal AGI is:		  The decimal amount
	 Over	 But not over 	 on Line 7 is:
	 $0	 $15,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .35
	 15,000	 17,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .34
	 17,000	 19,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .33
	 19,000	 21,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .32
	 21,000 	 23,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .31
	 23,000 	 25,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .30
	 25,000	 27,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .29
	 27,000	 29,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .28
	 29,000	 31,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .27
	 31,000	 33,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .26
	 33,000	 35,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .25 
	 35,000	 37,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .24 
	 37,000	 39,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .23 
	 39,000	 41,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .22 
	 41,000	 43,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .21 
	 43,000	 No limit  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   .20

Line 9
Use the chart below to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 9. For 
military personnel domiciled outside of California, use your federal AGI less 
your military pay to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 9.

If your federal AGI from Form 540, 
line 13; Form 540A, line 13;	 The decimal amount to 
or Long Form 540NR, line 13 is:	 enter on Line 9 is:
  $40,000 or less  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               .50
  Over $40,000 but not over $70,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                .43
  Over $70,000 but not over $100,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               .34
  Over $100,000 . . . . . . . . . . .           Stop. You do not qualify for this credit.

Line 11
If you had qualified expenses for care that was provided in 2007 that you 
paid for in 2008, you may be able to increase your credit for 2008. Complete 
the Worksheet on Side 2 of form FTB 3506. See Worksheet instructions on 
this page.

Part IV, Dependent Care Benefits

Line 13
Dependent care benefits are:
•	 Amounts an employer paid directly to you (or your spouse/RDP), or to 

your care provider for the care of your qualifying person(s), while you 
worked.

•	 A day-care facility provided by your employer.
•	 Generally deducted from your salary.
•	 Shown in box 10 of your 2008 Form(s) W-2.

Line 14
Enter the amount from federal Form 2441, line 15.

Line 15
If you had a flexible spending account, any amount included on line 13 that 
you did not receive because you did not incur the expense is considered 
forfeited. Do not include amounts you expect to receive at a future date.

Line 17
Enter the total of all qualified expenses incurred in 2008. It does not matter 
when the expenses were paid.
A qualified expense does not include the amount you paid for education 
(school tuition) or the amount you received through a subsidy program.
Example: You received $2,000 cash under your employer’s dependent 
care plan for 2008. The $2,000 is shown in box 10 of your Form W-2. You 
incurred $900 of qualified expenses in 2008 for the care of your 3-year-old 
dependent child. Enter $900 on line 17, but report the entire $2,000 on 
line 13.
For all other lines, follow specific line instructions on the form. For additional 
information, get federal Form 2441 or federal Publication 503, Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses.

Line 20
If you are married or an RDP filing a separate return and you meet the 
requirements of Section E, Married Persons Filing Separate Returns, item 1, 
then enter your earned income from line 19. On line 24, enter $5,000. If you 
were married or an RDP and filed a separate return but did not meet the 
requirements of Section E, Married Persons Filing Separate Returns, item 1, 
then enter your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income. If your spouse/RDP was a 
student or disabled in 2008, see the instructions for line 5. On line 24, enter 
$2,500.

Worksheet – Credit for 2007 Expenses Paid  
in 2008
You will need a copy of your 2007 California tax return to complete the 
worksheet.

Line 12 and line 14
You need the 2007 form FTB 3506 instructions to complete the Credit for 
2007 Expenses Paid in 2008 Worksheet, on Side 2. Forms are available from 
our website at ftb.ca.gov or by calling 800.338.0505.

Line 12 
Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 7 instructions of the 
2007 form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2007 federal adjusted gross 
income. 

Line 14 
Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 9 instructions of the 
2007 form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2007 California adjusted 
gross income.



 Automated Toll-Free Phone Service	 (Keep This Booklet For Future Use)
General Toll-Free Phone Service
Telephone assistance is available year-round from 
7 a.m. until 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, except 
holidays. 
From within the United States . . . . .     800.852.5711
From outside the United States 
  (not toll-free) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                916.845.6500
For federal tax questions, 
  call the IRS at . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               800.829.1040
Assistance for persons with disabilities
We comply with the Americans with Disabilities 
Act. Persons with a hearing or speech impairment 
call: 
TTY/TDD  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     800.822.6268
Large-print forms and instructions – The 
Resident Booklet is available in large print 
upon request and is also available on audio 
CD. See ‘’Where To Get Income Tax Forms and 
Publications’’ on page 7.
Asistencia bilingüe en español
Asistencia telefónica esta disponible todo el año 
durante las 7 a.m. y las 6 p.m. lunes a viernes, 
excepto días festivos.
Dentro de los Estados Unidos, 
  llame al  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    800.852.5711
Fuera de los Estados Unidos,  
  llame al (cargos aplican)  . . . . . . .       916.845.6500
Para preguntas sobre impuestos 
  federales, llame el IRS al . . . . . . .       800.829.1040
Sitio web  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        ftb.ca.gov
Asistencia para personas discapacitadas: 
Nosotros estamos en conformidad con el 
Acta de Americanos Discapacitados. Personas 
con problemas auditivos o de habla, pueden 
llamar al 800.822.6268 con un aparato de 
telecomunicación TTY/TTD. 
Use our automated toll-free phone service to get 
recorded answers to many of your questions 
about California Taxes and to order current year 
Personal Income Tax Forms and Publications. You 
can also: 
•	 Get current year tax refund information.
•	 Get balance due and payment information. 
Have paper and pencil ready to take notes.
Call from within the 
  United States . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                800.338.0505
Call from outside the 
  United States  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                916.845.6500

(not toll-free)

Order Forms and Publications
If your current address is on file, you can order 
California tax forms for the current and previous 
two years. See the instructions on page 7. 

Code  California Tax Forms and Publications
900	 California Resident Income Tax Booklet: 

Form 540, Resident Income Tax Return 
Form 540A, Resident Income Tax Return

965	 Form 540 2EZ Tax Booklet
903	 Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments 

– Residents, FTB 3885A, Depreciation and 
Amortization Adjustments, and Schedule D, 
California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

969	 Large Print Resident Booklet
970	 Resident Booklet on Audio CD
907	 Form 540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals

908	 Form 540X, Amended Individual Income 
Tax Return

909	 Schedule D-1, Sales of Business Property
910	 Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum 

Distributions
911	 Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax 

and Credit Limitations – Residents
913	 Schedule S, Other State Tax Credit
914	 California Nonresident Income Tax Booklet: 

Long and Short Form 540NR, Nonresident 
or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return

917	 Schedule CA (540NR), California 
Adjustments – Nonresidents or Part‑Year 
Residents

918	 Schedule P (540NR), Alternative Minimum 
Tax and Credit Limitations – Nonresidents 
or Part-Year Residents

932	 FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit

937	 FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal 
Income Tax or Fiduciary Return

921	 FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic 
Extension for Individuals

972	 FTB 3520, Power of Attorney form and FTB 
Pub. 1144, Power of Attorney Frequently 
Asked Questions

922	 FTB 3525, Substitute for W-2 Wage and Tax 
Statement

923	 FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense 
Deduction

940	 FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary
949	 FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request
924	 FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children 

with Investment Income
929	 FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations
925	 FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income
928	 FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes from Qualified 

Retirement Plans
926	 FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) 

– Individuals
927	 FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax 

by Individuals and Fiduciaries
919	 FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to 

California Adjustments
920	 FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity 

Guidelines
945	 FTB Pub. 1006, California Tax Forms and 

Related Federal Forms
946	 FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments 

and Your Notification Responsibilities
943	 FTB Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of 

Rights
941	 FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining 

Resident Status
942	 FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military 

Personnel
951	 FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married/

RDP Filing Separate Returns
934	 FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of 

Household Filing Status

Current Year Refund Information
If you file by mail, wait at least 8 weeks after you 
file your tax return before you call to find out 
about your refund. You need your social security 
number, the numbers in your street address, box 
number, route number, or PMB number, and your 
ZIP Code to use this service.

Balance Due and Payment 
Information
Wait at least 45 days from the date you mailed 
your payment before you call to verify receipt. You 
need your social security number, the numbers in 
your street address, box number, route number, 
or PMB number, and your ZIP Code to use this 
service.

Answers To Tax Questions
Call our automated phone service, select 
“Personal Income Tax,” then “Frequently Asked 
Questions,” and enter the 3‑digit code.

Code  Filing Assistance:
100	 Do I need to file a return?
111	 Which form should I use?
112	 How do I file electronically and get a fast 

refund?
201	 How can I get an extension to file?
203	 What is the nonrefundable renter’s credit 

and how do I qualify?
204	 I never received a Form W-2. What do I do?
205	 I have no withholding taken out. What do I 

do?
206	 Do I have to attach a copy of my federal 

return?
209	 I lived in California for part of the year. Do I 

have to file a return?
210	 I did not live in California. Do I have to file a 

return?
215	 Who qualifies me to use the head of 

household filing status?
222	 How much can I deduct for vehicle license 

fees?

	 Penalties
403	 What is the estimate penalty rate?

	 Notices And Bills
503	 How do I file a protest against a Notice of 

Proposed Assessment?
506	 How can I get information about my 

Form 1099-G?

	 Tax For Children
601	 Can my child take a personal exemption 

credit when I claim her or him as a depen-
dent on my return?

	 Miscellaneous
611	 What address do I send my payment to?
619	 How do I report a change of address?

ReadyReturn
If you are single and your income is 
only from wages, you may qualify for 
this free service. We provide you with a 
pre-filled 2008 tax return. To see if you 
qualify:
•	 Call 800.338.0505 or
•	 Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 

readyreturn

Recycled
Recyclable
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