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    1.	 Do I have to file?
In general, you must file a California return if:
Single, or head of household, and either of the following apply:
•	 Gross income is more than $14,845
•	 Adjusted gross income is more than $11,876
Married/RDP filing jointly and either of the following apply:
•	 Gross income is more than $29,690
•	 Adjusted gross income is more than $23,752
Qualifying widow(er) and either of the following apply:
•	 Gross income is more than $25,145
•	 Adjusted gross income is more than $22,176
Can be claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer and either 
your gross income or adjusted gross income is more than your 
standard deduction.
You cannot use Form 540 2EZ if your total wages, salaries, and 
tips are less than the following amounts based on your filing 
status:
Single . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                        $3,392
Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, 
or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           $7,084
(the amounts above represent the standard deduction minus 
$300)
Get Form 540A or Form 540 from our website at ftb.ca.gov or file 
online through CalFile or e-file.
See page 4 for Steps to Determine Filing Requirements.

    2.	 How can I get help?
Throughout California, more than 1,500 sites provide trained 
volunteers offering free help during the tax filing season to 
persons who need to file simple federal and state income tax 
returns. Participating locations are listed on our website from 
January 2 through April 15. Call the FTB at 800.852.5711 to find a 
location near you or go to ftb.ca.gov and search for vita for more 
information.

    3.	 When do I have to file?
File and pay by April 15, 2009, but if you can’t file by that date, you 
get an automatic, paperless extension to file by October 15, 2009. 
Any tax due must be paid by April 15, 2009, to avoid penalties and 
interest. See form FTB 3519 on page 23. You cannot use Form 540 
2EZ if you make an extension payment with form FTB 3519. You 
can CalFile, e‑file, or use Form 540A, Form 540, or the Long or 
Short Form 540NR when you file your return. 
If you are in the military, you may be entitled to certain 
extensions. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax 
Information for Military Personnel.

    4.	 I don’t have my W-2s. What do I do?
If all your Forms W-2 were not received by January 31, 2009, 
contact your employer. Only an employer issues or corrects 
a Form W-2. Wage and withholding information is available 
on MyFTB Account at ftb.ca.gov. For more information, call 
800.338.0505, select personal income tax, then frequently asked 
questions, and enter code 204 when instructed.

    5.	 Is direct deposit safe and faster?
Direct deposit is fast, safe, and convenient. To have your refund 
directly deposited  into your bank account, fill in the account 
information on Form 540 2EZ, Side 2, line 29 and line 30. Fill in the 
routing and account numbers and indicate the account type. For 
the fastest refund file electronically and use direct deposit.

   6.	 I discovered an error on my tax return. What 
should I do?
If you discover an error on your California income tax return after 
you filed it (paper or e-file), use Form 540X, Amended Individual 
Income Tax Return, to correct your return. Get Form 540X online 
at ftb.ca.gov or call 800.338.0505 and enter code 908. You 
cannot e-file an amended return.

   7.	 I owe tax, but don’t have the money. What can I 
do?
If you cannot pay on or before the due date, you may request 
approval to make monthly installments. You may pay using Web 
Pay or a credit card. See page 9, for Web Pay and Credit Card 
information, or page 10, Request Monthly Installments.

   8.	 How can I find out about the status of my refund? 
Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for refund status or 
call 800.338.0505. 

   9.	 How long do I keep my tax records?
Generally, keep your California income tax records for at least 
four years from the due date of the return or four years from the 
date the return is filed, whichever is later. However, an extended 
period may apply for California or federal tax returns related or 
subject to federal audit.

 10.	 I will be moving after I file my return.
	 How do I notify the FTB of my new address?

You can notify the FTB of your new address by using form 
FTB 3533, Change of Address. This form is available on our 
website at ftb.ca.gov. 

 11.	 The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) made changes
	 to my federal return. What should I do?

If your federal income tax return is examined and changed by the 
IRS and you owe additional tax, report these changes to the FTB 
within six months of the date of the final federal determination. 
If the changes the IRS made result in a refund due for California, 
claim a refund within two years of the date of the final federal 
determination. Either use Form 540X to correct the California 
income tax return you already filed, or send a copy of the federal 
changes to:
		  ATTN RAR/VOL MS F310
		  FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
		  PO BOX 1998
		  RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1998

Regardless of which method you use to notify the FTB, you 
must include a copy of the final federal determination along 
with all data and schedules on which the federal adjustment was 
based. Get FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments and Your 
Notification Responsibilities to California, for more information. 
See Automated Phone Service on page 14.
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